Better Together leaked posters #8

Posted on June 26, 2012 by

33 to “Better Together leaked posters #8”

1. Appleby

Aren’t you so glad that the Tory and Labour parties decided to cut back on frills like hospitals and old folks homes/care for the elderly? So much better to have people running in circles in incredibly expensive buildings around London on the back of the Scottish (and other’s) money!

With any luck they’ll shut down the local A&E centre so that I’m certain to die should an emergency happen. That way they can pass the money saved from the A&E’s usual care to opening up a new bar for the staff and athletes to enjoy. A Union dividend.

2. R Louis

This poster in particular, hits the nail on the head in exposing the utter nonsense of ‘better together’.

Scottish taxpayers are funding the London Olympics, yet two years later in 2014, the Commonwealth games in Glasgow are being funded entirely by the Scottish Government.   No London money involved.   ‘Better together’????  Dinnae think so.

Keep this up revstu, as you are clearly hitting the NO campaign where it hurts, which is clear from all the web based hysteria from the ToryLabour NO camp.   The faux ‘outrage’ of Willie Rennie exposes for all to see, the utter hypocrisy of these self serving unionistas in the NO campaign.

3. Tris

Spot on. If I feel like a game of hockey after this is over, I can always travel 600 miles at around £110, stay in a London hotel at £150 a night, make use of the facilities, which will doubtless be as expensive as the ticket for the Olympics, and return in the region of £600-£700 worse off and feel that the Olympics were for me too.

If this is better, I dread to think what is worse… 

4. Arbroath1320

Quick query.
    What part of the London 2012 Olympics buildings do we get after Independence in 2014? 😆

Oh and who pays to transport it to Scotland? 😆

5. Arbroath1320

Just found this story over on the BBC website.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-18592762

How about a poster along the lines of:

MOD Nuclear Waste
    Scotland’s Beaches!

6. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Ooh, good one. I’ll get onto that.

7. Arbroath1320

Can I just do a wee link to Albannach here Rev. They are offering a FREE copy of
    Albannach: The Independence EP [2012]
    Just the sort of thing we need to be playing full pelt when the Bitter Together gang are in the vicinity I think.
    http://www.albannachmusic.com/independence.html

8. Juteman

Excellent stuff, Stu.

How about adding to the notes how many nurses/policemen etc each facility could have funded in Scotland?

Labour, Tory, better together.

9. Arbroath1320

Oops!

I wonder if dear old Russell has asked his “dear leader” whoever that is if he could run this poll. 😆

http://www.russellbrownmp.com/

Currently running at YES 139 NO 18.

10. John White

http://polemic.easyweb.co.uk/the-better-together-argument

Tweeted by Rev Stu

That table is a brilliant summary of our times and the Scottish dilemma. It should be flyposted everywhere!

11. Appleby

@Arbroath

It will be interesting to see if that poll is suddenly reset or tweaked.

On another note I managed to get a copy of “The Eclipse of Scottish Culture” by Craig Beveridge and Ronald Turnbull after seeing it mentioned on independence related sites, it had come up while talking about the “Scottish cringe”.

12. Arbroath1320

I’ve just had a wee peek over on our “friend’s” site Appleby. The latest scores on the1 doors are:

NO  541  (83%)
    Yes  111  (17%)
    D.K. 1

Must admit, that is quite an impressive increase in numbers in only 2 hours!

I think if they even try the old hootsmon trick of switching the results they may very well find a small riot occurring at a site near them soon. 😆

13. Appleby

Interesting. It is now:

No (64%, 736 Votes)
    Yes (36%, 410 Votes)
    Not sure (0%, 5 Votes)

I think someone’s either been passing the link around all the unionist sites and newspaper sites (one and the same, I suppose) or fudging the vote bit by bit to lessen the impact of that poll’s pro-indy result. It was very much a larger ratio for “No” before and in the results you gave.

14. Arbroath1320

I suspect a wee bit of “Hootsmon fiddling” is going on Appleby.

It does seem rather suspicious that there has been such a large disparity  between the NO and YES votes until now where we have a drastically reduced difference.

What’s that you say, conspiracy theory, who me? Little old me. never. 😆

15. Appleby

It seems a bit hard to swallow that all this time the poll has been showing a steeper and steady climb for “No” and a very clear lead for that result…only for the “Yes” votes to magically quadruple(!) in an hour or so…a period of voting faster than any other moment and swinging all one way.

Quite the miraculous rally…hmph.

16. Appleby

Now it is:

No (56%, 746 Votes)
    Yes (43%, 576 Votes)
    Not sure (1%, 21 Votes)

I smell B.S.

17. Morag

I think they’ve just been passing the link round among themselves.  How many of them are there, anyway?

18. Appleby

No (55%, 747 Votes)
    Yes (44%, 594 Votes)
    Not sure (1%, 23 Votes)

Seems to be an awful lot of people up on a wednesday morning after midnight, rushing to the poll.

19. Appleby

I find it odd that if they were passing it between them that it’d all shoot up at this time and that they’d rush there to vote “Not sure”.

20. albaman

Rev Stuart,
    I beleave A Darling has unwittingly  favoured us with the use of the phrase “there is no turning back” I think that the “YES”campaigners should use that as one of their slogans 
    such as “yes there is NO turning back ” to an unjust society, illegal wars, nuclear
    dumping grounds (subs and power station waste),to told what to do,when to do it,
    and how to do it, ect ect.
    Regarding the Union flag,as you may know it was designed at the Union of the crowns
    coming into use in 1607, (even then Scotland had its own version of the flag for a
    while)but it did settle down to be the flag we know today, to be flown from a “Jack- Staff) hence the name Union jack, the White represents England, Blue for Scotland
    Red for Ireland,(now the northern part) Wales? sorry Wales, but at the time of
    designing Wales was considered to be part of England!.
    as that was fully one hundred years before the union of the parliaments,which is
    the union we all want to be dissolved,more than anything, why cant some people
    split the two in their comments,after all they are 100yrs apart!!. 
    Regarding the use of the phrase “yes there is NO turning back”, I am confident
    that some of the posters here will work a more meaningful message using that
    phrase,       

21. Appleby

Now:

No (54%, 760 Votes)
    Yes (44%, 628 Votes)
    Not sure (2%, 25 Votes)

Apparently the “Yes” and “Not sure” camps were simply waiting until midnight to rush there in their hundreds, increasing their percentages massively.

22. Arbroath1320

In my last post I suggested the possibility of a conspiracy.

You know what, I’ve changed my mind. There is absolutely no doubt in my mind. I am convinced that there is definitely a conspiracy going on at the poll. An increase in 50 NO votes  and only 14 YES votes in the space of 20 minutes. Hmmm! Pass the clothes peg please! There is a definite stench around here!

23. Pete

So the no campaign have stolen our song: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-18594520.

Is this an Orwellian ploy, or are they just completely incompetent?

24. Appleby

This sudden rush is completely changing the percentages and likely results. Why 24 people rushed in at midnight to tell us they weren’t sure, when after hundreds of voters and all the hours previously only one person said they were seems to me like someone was simply fudging the poll to spread it out a bit, percentage-wise.

I’m sure by the time I look at this tommorrow it’ll have gone so far as to totally reverse the percentages of a few hours ago.

I find it hard to believe that in the space of twenty minutes (11:46 to 12:04) 1.6x as many people voted “Not sure” (16 votes) as for No/pro indy (10 votes) while a whopping 16.6x  people voted for Yes/unionist (166 votes). Really? The not sure camp is motivated enough to whip up support in the wee hours and increase their vote like that?

25. TYRAN

Vote NO to Scottish Independence because of sausage rolls and wee dogs

Better Together video, since removed. 

26. Appleby

I know sausage rolls are close to my heart when dwelling on all political matters.

27. Arbroath1320

I can’t believe that video has been removed Tyran.

That video was the video that turned me over the edge to decide that I will vote NO in 2014! 😆

O.K. only joking. Don’t Panic!

That video was an ideal candidate to show the undecideds. It would have turned them all into YES voters in an instant! 😆

28. Appleby

What is really mind-blowing is not this sorry example of a student dribbling about sausage rolls and wee dogs (you’ll get numpties everywhere if you look for them), but that someone spent the money to send out a crew to interview him on camera, took that time to get this awful footage after he presumably passed some sort of sniff test, looked through the results back at the campaign HQ/media centre and decided that it was actually worthwhile(!) and then edited this to be “the best” of the footage and to top it all worthy of putting on their site above other voices in Scotland, no less! All those points where someone could have stopped it and said “Hang on, this is pish…toss it in the bin”.

An astonishing collision of ineptitude from every corner of the unionist camp and supporters.

If they are scraping the bottom of the barrel to the extent that these people are the best they have then it’s good news for WOS regulars.

29. Arbroath1320

I’m quite sure any one of us could have taken a video camera out into our local street and made a far superior video than the whole lot of garbage, not just our sausage roll loving student, that allegedly shows “support” for the union!

30. Scott Minto (Aka Sneekyboy)

@Appleby

All those points where someone could have stopped it and said “Hang on, this is pish…toss it in the bin”.

Except taht the people running the etter Together Campaign are actually a professional American campaigning company that used to work for Obama.

Bet you they were cheap!!!! ER… well probably not. How much money does the NO camp have again??? Oh, they havent told us.

Anyway, the Americans probably just didnt know what the boy was saying but he said “Better Together” so thats ‘on message’.

31. Scott Minto (Aka Sneekyboy)

@Appleby
    All those points where someone could have stopped it and said “Hang on, this is pish…toss it in the bin”.

Except taht the people running the Better Together Campaign are actually a professional American campaigning company that used to work for Obama.
    Bet you they were cheap!!!! ER… well probably not. How much money does the NO camp have again??? Oh, they havent told us.
    Anyway, the Americans probably just didnt know what the boy was saying but he said “Better Together” so thats ‘on message’.

32. Appleby

Eeek. So that is what big money and big media/campaigning companies gets you now? Awful.

Makes me wonder how much cash they’ve got and where it is coming from. I’d bet they’ve got a near-bottomless pit of brown envelopes to keep it going. All the more reason why passion and the individuals pushing independence matter. With positive, informed reason backed by passion and effort we should be able to beat the liars, cheats and big money backers.

The Magical Poll now stands at:

Yes (50%, 1,334 Votes)
    No (49%, 1,314 Votes)
    Not sure (1%, 36 Votes)

Surprise, surprise.

33. Just wish we could all realise that the Westminster party is what encompasses Tories and pretend Labour,surely enough people can see the real state of the place.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.