When eggs are all you have left

Posted on August 29, 2014 by

Earlier today we bemoaned some chump throwing an egg at Jim Murphy this week during his Shouting At Old Ladies In Shopping Centres Tour of Scotland, thereby enabling the Scottish press to enjoy an easy orgy of hypocritical “cybernat”-baiting. Murphy has unsurprisingly made the most of the incident, suspending the tour and bizarrely alleging that Yes Scotland is directly co-ordinating the abuse.

Egg-throwing is of course an act of protest rather than violence, and reactions to it tend to depend on whether you support the politics of the “victim” or not. (After all, the entire point of using an egg is that it’s fragile and breaks on impact, making a mess but doing no damage – insult rather than injury.)

This long-standing form of protest was treated as a national joke when someone did it to John Prescott – as was his actually violent reaction – and we don’t seem to remember anyone minding too much when it happened to Nick Griffin.

prescottpunch

(For all his vileness, Griffin was a democratically elected politician just as Murphy is.)

Now, we actually have no way of knowing that this week’s culprit was a real Yes supporter rather than a stooge – it seems odd that with Murphy surrounded by so many Labour goons at every event and in a very public place, nobody managed to apprehend or photograph the assailant. But let’s apply Occam’s Razor and assume for the purposes of this piece that they were a genuine disgruntled opponent.

Because the question that then arises is “What else could they do?”

One of the things that’s come as a surprise to us during the last three years has been the remarkable lack of accountability of politicians. For an ostensibly democratic country with a free press, we’ve been genuinely startled to realise how infrequently our elected representatives have to actually answer for their comments and actions.

Particularly once you get below the level of party leaders or front-bench ministers, there’s astonishingly little in the way of scrutiny or challenge. If you’re a backbencher (or a spindoctor or similar low-status apparatchik), you can pretty much get away with saying and doing whatever you like, secure in the knowledge that nobody will make you explain yourself to the electorate.

Some of that, as we’ve seen in the referendum campaign, is down to outright media bias. The example that shocked us most was perhaps Liberal Democrat MP Alan Reid being allowed to abrogate his legal duty to a constituent resident in Scotland for 20 years because she was a “foreigner” without a single newspaper or broadcaster taking him to task.

But really the problem is far more systemic than that. For most MPs and a fair few MSPs, the only difficult aspect of getting elected is winning your own party’s internal selection process. Votes can then largely be taken for granted in the safe seats that make up two-thirds or more of the UK parliament.

(A phenomenon often described in Scotland in terms of the “monkey in a red rosette”.)

labkirkcaldy

With no reason to feel accountable to anyone but party selectors, MPs can afford to treat the people who elect them with barely-disguised contempt. Many respond to only a tiny fraction of constituents’ communications – in 2013, Labour’s Alan Meale, from the comfort of his safe Mansfield seat (Labour since 1923), replied to just ONE out of 51 letters recorded by WriteToThem.com.

badmps

A month ago, we posed 11 reasonable and legitimate questions that readers might like to ask their own MPs, MSPs and MEPs. Scores of you wrote to your representatives. In doing so, the people who did signalled that wherever those questions had originated they wished, reasonably, to know their own elected member’s position on them.

To date, only a small handful have received responses. We’ll be publishing them soon. But first we thought we’d share with you some of the replies that didn’t even pretend to attempt to address the questions.

—————————————————————————————————————–

JIM HOOD MP (Labour)

“It is not my normal practice to answer questionnaires as there usually can be no short answer.”

LEWIS MACDONALD MSP (Labour)

Thank you for your email regarding the upcoming referendum. I would suggest that you visit the Better Together website at http://bettertogether.net which will have the answers to your questions on independence.

MARK LAZAROWICZ MP (Labour)

“Thank you for your email with a number of questions about the implications of the referendum.

You raise a number of important questions, which I do not think I could do justice to in an email.

I would therefore refer you to two sources of information where I think you should be able to find answers to most, if not all, of your queries:

Firstly, the Scotland Office series of detailed analysis papers on the referendum issues, which you can find here:
https://www.gov.uk/government/collections/scotland-analysis

Secondly, the Scottish Labour Party Devolution Commission proposals on further devolution for Scotland, which you will find here:
http://www.scottishlabour.org.uk/campaigns/entry/devolution-commission

I do hope you will be able to find the answers to your queries in these documents, but if you would like more information, you would be welcome to come along to one of my regular weekly surgeries to discuss the issues with me.”

GREGG McCLYMONT MP (Labour)

“Many thanks for your email – I have received several emails listing these ‘questions’. Sadly they are not impartial questions but partisan pseudo ‘questions’ from the Yes side. I am sure you as an undecided voter were unaware of this fact but thought it best to let you know.”

ELAINE SMITH MSP (Labour)

“Dear [constituent]

I am well aware that you are a member of Yes Langholm and I also know that these questions originate from Wings over Scotland – therefore I decline to respond.

Yours sincerely

Elaine”

RICHARD BAKER MSP (Labour)
CARA HILTON MSP (Labour)
GORDON BANKS MP (Labour)
DREW SMITH MSP (Labour)
JIM McGOVERN MP (Labour)
PAMELA NASH MP (Labour)
FIONA O’DONNELL MP (Labour)
CATHY JAMIESON MP (Labour)
MICHAEL McMAHON MSP (Labour)*
IAN MURRAY MP (Labour)**

The above 10 Labour politicians all sent the same (ironically-first-person) form letter:

“Thank you for getting in touch and expressing such a detailed interest in the referendum campaign. I am delighted to take this opportunity to explain to you why I think Scotland currently has the best of both worlds by remaining in the United Kingdom.

Here are just 5 reasons why I think it is best for Scotland to remain in the UK:

– It will be best for jobs as 1 in 5 people in Scotland are employed by UK-wide companies

– Best for schools and hospitals with more to spend on the services you value

– Best for business as two thirds of Scottish goods and services are sold within the UK

– Best for pensions which will be supported by all UK taxpayers

– Best of both worlds with Scotland, making its own decisions, but keeping the pound and backed by the strength and security of the UK

The Labour Party is proud to be the party of devolution. The Scottish Parliament already has the power to create jobs, run our NHS and hospitals, educate our children in our schools, colleges and universities, keep our communities safe by operating our police and courts, running our transport system and building houses.

A UK Labour Government will put into law the powers proposed by Scottish Labour’s Devolution Commission, which include:

– Income tax rates will be set by a Scottish Finance Secretary in Holyrood including the flexibility to increase the top tax rate

– Holyrood will take full control of housing benefit to stop the hated bedroom tax

– The work programme will be devolved to allow our communities to set their own job-creating plans

– We will pass more control to local government and the communities that they represent”

*added a personalised attack on “the discredited Wings Over Scotland”.

**even though his constituent hadn’t actually sent him the Wings questions at all, but a completely different letter which just included three of them.

—————————————————————————————————————–

We don’t think it’s an accident that all of the non-reply “replies” come from Labour MPs and MSPs. The party has long come to take Scottish seats, and especially Westminster ones, for granted, and the arrogant, dismissive sarcasm that drips from much of the above is all too characteristic of people who feel they’ve got jobs for life.

And it’s not just us – other people asking polite questions get similarly blanked.

lamontnoresponse

slabnoresponse

With the media failing dismally to challenge politicians, and attempts at contact through the proper channels ignored or even sneered at, it’s understandable that people sometimes feel driven to more direct confrontation.

This site does NOT condone egg-throwing or any other form of aggressive conduct. But having spent much of the last three years trying fruitlessly to get straight answers out of Unionist politicians and No campaigners, we empathise with the frustration that leaves people feeling they have no other way of expressing their anger.

3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 29 08 14 15:19

When eggs are all you have left | Scottish Independence News

2. 01 09 14 00:47

As The Cookie Crumbles | A Greater Stage

3. 02 09 14 18:57

BetterTogether’s hypocrisy over violence and intimidation is profound – and is going unreported. - Political Deviants

469 to “When eggs are all you have left”

1. donald anderson

Please read my response here.

Debate ‘has divided Scotland’ – Douglas Alexander

http://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/top-stories/debate-has-divided-scotland-douglas-alexander-1-3524029

2. Chris Silver

So they don’t answer questions if you support independence ? Are they not our representatives in parliament whether you are a Labour voter or not or indeed a supporter of the Union or Indy, their role is to represent all or are they rewriting their participation in our so called democratic process.

People need to wake up these people are public servants and should be answerable whether they like the question or not. This highlights the ingrained attitude of Labour fiefdoms.

3. heedtracker

Scotland belongs to the Labour party, end of.

4. Findlay Farquaharson

Right on.

5. Claire McNab

Stu, a correction is needed. The MP is Alan Reid, not Alan Beith

6. Jim Thomson

Jim Murphy “suspends tour” – well, knock me over with a feather duster.

Someone, can’t recall who, did suggest that he’d find a way of dipping out of the Glasgow city centre gig. I smell hydrogen sulphide (amongst other whiffy things).

Very convenient, egg throwing followed by “Ah cannae dae it Jim”.

Drawing my own conclusions.

7. Murray McCallum

The democratic deficit is at the core of the UK’s woes. We must and can do better.

8. Luigi

Ach, I was looking forward to the very first peaceful movement to independence in history, without a single egg being fired.

9. Illy

The root cause of this is the *party* political system.

Because no-one votes for their local rep, if the local rep they’re voting for is a member of a political party, they’re voting for the party. And the local reps *know* this. Hence the concept of “safe seats”.

So the local reps feel perfectly comfortable simply towing the party line, and not actually representing their constituents at all, they’re representing their party, because that’s what the system encourages them to do.

10. Ron Wilson

Alan Reid MP for Argyll & Bute, not Alan Beith, who has a cushy billet in the Lords now, Stu.

11. heedtracker

Ignored by Labour in Scotland, sneering condescension from progressive liberal England?

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/aug/29/scotland-catalonia-nationalism-difference-without-much

“But unexpected victory meant that the promised referendum had to be called, eventually. So here – with gritted teeth – we go for the last round of tartan lite bitter.

Independence patrolled by the Bank of England that keeps the Queen in Balmoral, EastEnders on the telly, and the pound in your sporran? European directives as usual? Freedom with a faint-heart fringe? Catalonia and Scotland have many differences under the skin.”

12. Bigbricks

Blog site Eezypeesylemonsqueezy has a side on face photo of the egg-chucker, which, given wide enough circulation, would lead to an ID by people who know him. Unless, of course, he isn’t a local.

13. Brian Fleming

So Jim Murphy’s not just a lout; he’s a cowardly lout.

14. Paul

It seems that Murphy can’t finish anything. 9 years at uni and still no degree, now this. This Labour shower’s chickens are about to come home to roost. The electorate have been asleep but no more we are watching what you politicians do or don’t and now that Labour has betrayed it’s core vote by out Torying the Tories they are a dead party walking.

15. Socrates MacSporran

Never forget the motto of the Labour Party in Scotland:

Don’t dae whit we dae – dae whit we tell ye and vote Labour.

The late Willie Ross, later Lord Marnock,used to have a wee hustings speech, all about his pair auld mither up there in her single end in the centre of Kilmarnock.

Never a mention of Willie Ross, in his bungalow in one of the smartest parts of Ayr and with a daughter at the fee-paying Wellington School. And he was the virtual dictator of Scotland.

Hypocrites, the lot of them.

16. Proud Cybernat

Has a single person been arrested for any law-breaking at any of Murphy’s soapbox events? No? Then what’s his problem?
    He obviouslt doesn’t like people hurling the truth at him to deconstruct and lay waste his bare-faced lies. Scared of the truth and of the public hearing the truth. The same old Project Fear tactic of shut down debate at all costs. Big fearty.

17. JLT

Egg throwing …and Murphy’s spitting the dummy.

Sorry, Jim …this isn’t Parliament …what you have decided to do is participate in the old fashioned way of doing things, and that is street politics. However, there is a price that comes with such bravery. The mob.

If you can’t handle the heat; stay the f*** out of the kitchen.

18. alex skinner

Brilliant stuff as usual.
    Am licking my lips at the prospect of an IScotland where politics is much closer to the people than in the imperialistic, centralized UK.
    But Alan Reid, not Beith.

19. Fiona

Interesting that some of them decline to answer points raised by members of yes groups or from Wings. This from the people who present their activists as “ordinary people”. If it is not legitimate for members of yes groups to raise questions then clearly we should take not a bit of notice of those they put forward to make the “grass roots” case for the union since precisely the same problem attaches to all of them.

Hypocrisy thy name is Labour

20. Alex Smith

“Suspends tour for 72 hours”? Izzat no jist “Ach, ah’ll hae a lang weekend…ah’ve worked pure dead hard fir ma 66,000 plus expenses this week”….

bumhole….

21. Juteman

I really wish some journalist would pick up wee Duggie Alexanders lie the other morning on GMS. When a caller asked him if Westminster could take back any powers from Holyrood, I expected the usual waffle. I was actually shocked when he told a flat out lie, and said No.
    The Labour mafia in Scotland really are untouchable.

22. Stewart Jones

I got the standard reply from Jim McGovern, more than a month after having contacted him. Strangely, nearly all Tory representatives responded quickly, personally and with some detail – the most detailed response was from Alex Johnstone. One Lib Dem representative sent me a Better Together booklet. To date I have received six replies, only one from Labour. I don’t expect to get any more. I also contacted Green and SNP politicians, and none of them have replied.

23. Tony Little

Rev. STV have a short video of the “incident”. The man is clearly identifiable. I can only assume that he didn’t realise someone was recording it.

http://news.stv.tv/east-central/290026-labour-politician-jim-murphy-mp-egged-while-campaigning-for-no-vote/

24. G H Graham

The implication here is much wider; it is one of the main reasons if not THE reason, we are having a referendum at all.

The ratio of council & parliamentary (MSP & MP) representatives to the electorate is so small, it’s almost meaningless.

When so few people of the community actually participate in local, regional & national government, we should not be surprised that many think voting is a waste of time. And they are correct when demonstrably so few MPs or MSPs can even be bothered to respond.

Westminster likes it like this because it suits its elitist style of top down management where monstrously large departments are steered by just a few toffs or millionaires or both.

I see the referendum as more than a cry for autonomy, it is also a rejection of the current way our democracy operates. One massive gap in the SNP/YES strategy is to articulate a detailed proposal for completely reorganising and democritising national & local government.

Yes, the list system & Holyrood voting system is miles better than the one at Westminster but there remains a huge deficit in local democracy.

Monlithic clubs like Labour’s self serving Strathclyde Regional Council is definitely not the answer either.

25. G. Campbell

It’s always the way, isn’t it. Starts raining eggs on the one day you forget to put your cape on.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-eFDuNtOWkgg/VACRqUiO8CI/AAAAAAAAAUc/Lz8Wzc-dR0M/s1600/Penelope-Pitstop-Slams-Salmond.jpg

26. Ian Brotherhood

Hate to have to say, ‘told-ye-so’, but I did.

He’s not just a nawbag. He’s a sadly predictable nawbag.

27. wee_monsieur

No surprise that my local MP, well-known trougher Jimmy Hood is at the top of the list there. I wrote to him after the incident at the Labour Party conference where Walter Wolfgang was thrown out for shouting ‘nonsense’ at Jack Straw trying to justify the invasion of Iraq. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walter_Wolfgang

Three times I had to write to ask for a response which eventually came – ‘please come and see me in my surgery to discuss this’!

28. Taranaich

This frustration is endemic to the political nature of the UK: any legitimate protest or argument is dismissed, and the current government are making great pains to make sure even demonstrations and marches are rendered illegal. Do they not realise the fire they are playing with when you suppress a people’s right to self-expression?

Here in my hometown of Gourock, I’ve noticed some Yes graffiti on the walls. Our red-rosette MSP Duncan McNeil has naturally expressed his disgust at this disgraceful defacement of public property and called upon Stuart MacMillan & Yes Inverclyde to condemn such actions.

What Duncan fails to note at any point is that, as is quite clear in the photographs in the Greenock Telegraph, at least one of the Yes graffiti was painted over existing graffiti – “Vote No” graffiti. So in at least one instance, this Yes graffiti was a reaction to existing “Vote No” graffiti.

What Duncan also neglects to mention is that the residents of the Midton area have been forbidden from displaying any “political” material in their homes – which extends to Yes (or No) posters in their windows. Several have tried, but people have come around ordering them to be taken down – not sure if it’s the housing association or what, but I know at least one person who just keeps putting their sign back up after they’ve left.

When people who feel strongly enough about something that they want to display it to the world, and they are actively prevented from doing that in a legal manner, then of course there are going to be people who feel like they have no other option but to respond with illegal activities like this. Because the people will make their voice heard regardless – so why fight them, and force them into such a situation as this?

I’d also say it’s a bit rich for Duncan to single out a bit of paint as “despicable” considering the horrendous deprivation and dilapidation of the Midton area: if anything, the graffiti brings a splash of colour to the depressing grey ruin which still lingers after decades of decline under a Labour council – the same council, of course, which was so poorly-led and unaccountable that extreme action needed to be taken:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/4481526.stm

Not to mention Inverclyde having the third lowest life expectancy for men in the entire UK, almost 1,000 children in extreme poverty, and having 1 in 4 of all young people leave, while five Councillors enjoy £100,000+ salaries and recently awarded themselves a lovely 2% pay rise – aye, it’s the GRAFFITI which is the scandal in Inverclyde, all right…

This is why I’m embarrassed beyond belief when people assume I’m a Councillor when I’m volunteering at the Yes Inverclyde shop. Maybe it’s because I wear a blazer and carry myself with authority, or maybe I look like one of them, but there’s a reason I don’t want to get involved in politics on an official level.

29. North chiel

So “brave heart”Jim Murphy packs in his “tour” over a “splattered egg”
    Is this the “shadow DEFENCE secretary”? Methinks that John Prescott
    Would have made a”better fist of that job”. ?

30. Marcia

The delicate flowers of today’s politicians would not fare very far in the 1950’s & 60’s when heckling was a given thing at public meeting and events. Churchill just before the Great War put up with a lot of heckling and in one of his meetings one women climbed the roof of the Kinnaird Hall to shout ‘Votes for Women’ through the ventilation opening.

31. Macart

Newsflash for politicians of all persuasions – You do not own us. We do not ‘belong’ to you and you have no divine right to expect our vote.

You have to earn it.

If you treat us like property. If you lie to us. If you misrepresent us. If you fail us and our democracy. If you fail in your charge to care for the communities you represent, then your position is forfeit. The days of voting for any donkey wearing a rosette of preference are coming to a close. You’re going to have to earn your bread.

That is what happens when your parliament is directly accountable.

32. galamcennalath

My own view of Murphy’s egging is, given BT’s tactics to date, it was a false flag operation.

Funny how Scotland came into the Union under the power of a few Members of Parliament who didn’t give a rat’s arse for the common people, and at the time it could leave the Union is similarly governed.

33. Black Douglas

Posted this on the last thread but seems more appropriate for this one.

Just watched eggate on the EBC, looks staged and Murphy did not look surprised or even react(unlike Prescott).

Also how many cameras was he caught on?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28986714

34. Roboscot

Egg thrown, media outrage, job done, end tour.

35. Ian Brotherhood

@Tony Little –

Oh goody – nothing like a manhunt.

The assailant’s coupon could hardly be clearer:

http://news.stv.tv/east-central/290026-labour-politician-jim-murphy-mp-egged-while-campaigning-for-no-vote/

36. Scot Finlayson

Jim Murphy probably did not know that his own side were going to use him to try and discredit the Yes campaign .
    I just hope the Astroturfers/ Black Flagers stop at throwing eggs.

37. galamcennalath

What’s the betting the egg thrower is never identified?

38. Nana Smith

Anyone remember this elderly gent who had his wrist broken but he carried on campaigning.
    Murphy and the rest of them are pure marshmallow.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/scottish-independence-campaigner-80-attacked-1-3077094

39. liz

@Tony Little – indeed there’s a big fake outcry by No supporters on the Herald accusing the guy of being SNP/Yes.

It would be great if someone could identify him because even if he is a yes we could put this to rest,

I believe Jim Murphy called a halt because he was heckled mercilessly in traditional Labour strong holds and was shown up ignoring genuine questions.
    Maybe he was honestly surprised by that

His red faced shouting and ranting made him look a complete fool.

40. heedtracker

The Murphy egg tradgedy is a setup and the same protestor that shouted at Brown was doing the same thing to Murphy in Dundee. 41 very desperate right to reign over you MP’s on they’re way out with nothing to lose.

41. Dan Lee

Murphy really is a despicable human being. He riles up a crowd, insults them and wonders why things like this happen. I stated that Jim Sillars got death threats and he kept on trucking. Some cheeky NO voter tweeted me saying it was a perfect example of Yes’ lack of democratic spirit.

That made me crack (no pun intended). I explained that Mr Sillars being threatened and his late wife being insulted was from the NO camp. Alongside a Yes voter being in a coma and an MSP being assaulted.

They honestly think they are on the right side. The mindset of a cult if ever I saw one. We can see our flaws and embrace them and attempt to fix them. They just ignore theirs and change topic.

Needless to say, that bloke blocked me for telling him the truth. Apparently it was too hard to hear.

42. joe kane

Demonising the working class people of Motherwell, many of whom are furious to this day about what was allowed to happen to their local steelworks, as drunks is definitely when things are getting out of hand for the Scottish Labour Party. Nothing like doing the Tories dirty work for them twice over.

Scottish Labour’s Feeble 50 allowed Scotland’s heavy industry to get massacred by the Tories. Now Scottish Labour and its supporters are demonising working class Scots on behalf of the Tories whom they’re now in an open, public alliance with in order to keep the Tories ruling over Scotland and its people.

Everywhere Labour go in and everywhere they’re seen in public in Scotland they’re getting heckled, booed, jeered and laughed at.

Labour aren’t even safe at public non-indy events, such as a Palestine solidarity rally in Glasgow city centre –
    Anas Sarwar MP getting booed and heckled at Palestine protest in Glasgow 19/7/14.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7oRglZm7Ecs&sns

43. turnip_ghost

Much of that frustration may be channeled into this referendum. As people realise what’s going on they’ll wake up. And hopefully not go back to sleep!

As a slightly O/T I noticed the paper headlines were all about this except for The Sun…they went down a pro-Indy-ish article…

44. Dcanmore

Jim Murphy – I have suspended my #indyref #100Streets tour awaiting police advice on public safety & guarentees from @YesScotland to call off their mobs.

Why do I get this strange feeling that the ‘egging’ was staged? :/

45. annie

I get the impression Jim Murphy is actually hoping that Police Scotland will “advise” him to cancel his tour as he knows himself it is not getting the results he hoped for and he doesn’t want to waste another 20 days shouting at his own supporters in the street.

46. bunter

If only he had thought to borrow his Israeli friends’ Iron Dome system to protect himself from these lethal eggings.

47. Onwards

Why is this even headline news on the BBC?

Oh wait..

48. B.Bomb

Here’s the link to the blog with the picture of the alleged egg hurler

http://eezypeezylemonsqeezy.com/

49. Tamson

Actually, I think this might backfire on Murphy big-time. He looks to a lot of people like a greetin’ wean, whining that ‘sumbdy frew an egg at mi’. And it’ll have a Streisand effect on that video of him hurling abuse at that old lady.

50. Tamson

Actually, I think this might backfire on Murphy big-time. He looks to a lot of people like a greetin’ wean, whining that ‘sumbdy frew an egg at mi’. And it’ll have a Streisand effect on that video of him hurling abuse at that old lady.

51. joe kane

The local guy who heckled Miliband during his visit a few months ago to Muirhouse community centre (also called the Isa Money centre), Motherwell, challenged Miliband to visit Motherwell Cross, so recently the scene of Jim Murphy being subjected to impromptu chants of “red tory, red tory, red tory”.

Miliband heckled in Motherwell.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ktMt0b15GuM

52. edward robinson

Hopefully it was not a YES supporter that threw the egg.

Looking at it , there is something not quite right about how it was dine. No rush, no anger by the perpetrator, no reaction for Murphy. lets find him and see if he is real and if not it is then we have seen the last of Mr Murphy.

53. Joseph

Inside my fridge i have a load of rotten eggs each of them with a mps name on it,

nah im only kidding but i wish i did have cause i like many in here am sick and tired of the way politicians act when we ask valid questions. We elect then then for some unknown reason we become ignored and im really sick of it, but looking at the video of him getting egged, the guy that did it walked off at pace not looking back and down a side street, it has all the hallmarks of being a setup, i guess if i were jim murphy id be sick and tired of the abuse that i was getting and would look for any excuse to back off from his big commitment, yeah ye got his “get out”.

54. Free Scotland

As one commenter says over on the Herald website, “It did seem odd that the incident just happened to be captured by someone who was busily engaged filming Jim Murphy’s back.”

55. Dr Jim

My lady wife has just told me of a newspaper piece about the First Minister being tailgated by some nut, and seemingly and arrest has been made, as we don’t buy newspapers for all the obvious reasons, can anybody shed light coz no sign of anything in MSM

56. galamcennalath

That STV video is pretty clear. In these video and internet times, he must have been known he would end up being displayed for all to see.

If no one recognises him, we can assume he was flown in for the mission 😉

57. Tediustantrums

A successful Yes vote would provide many opportunities including the development of a more direct and accountable democracy.

Dare I suggest that political parties could be removed and replaced with a parliament of independent MSPs who would have to carry out the wishes of their constituents… This would remove the whip and could also support a localism approach.

Representative democracy is no longer viable and does not work. Politicians presently only represent their parties and their own agendas.

Get the P34s ready!,,,,

58. Elaine Colliar

“Shouting at Old Ladies in Shopping Centre Tour” – did the Stu just call me an auld wummin?

Off to tell his Mum so I am!!!

Actually off to check my photos of yesterday to see whether the chap in question showed up earlier in the day.

59. Andy-B

Jim Murphy has just cancelled his 100 tours of Scotland, he’s considering whether or not to keep going, with the help of bouncers to back him up. Here’s hoping he’s chucked the towel in, after all even Murphy can only tell so many lies.

60. Big Jock

I dont care who through the egg. Its a piece of nonsense to lie to people and expect no consequences. The problem for Jim is that it’s the message the abuse is aimed at not necessarily him. If he actually cared about Scotland he wouldn’t be shouting on empty street corners. He would try and create a civil debate around the currency and Europe etc.Instead of trying to scare us into voting no. Yes people don’t shout on street corners they hold conversations.

61. dennis mclaughlin

Where’s ‘Deepthroat’ when you need them?!

This abominable,and violent incident will be shown up for the SHAM it really was,but we await the truth crawling from the shadows of Central Scottish politics.

Puts Nixon’s Watergate into perspective 😉

62. Karmanaut

Personally, I doubt it’s a set up. I mean, what a foolish risk to take. If it came out you’d set up your own egging for political gain, then your campaign would be over and you’s look like a tool.

It’s probably just some disgruntled guy who disagreed with Murphy. I don’t condone it, but at the same time it’s hardly a big deal. We’ve seen politicians get egged before. He wasn’t physically injured – just had to change his shirt.

But, whatever the truth, Murphy is milking it for all it’s worth. “Telling YesScotland to call their mobs”. “Coordinated abuse”. FFS. That’s just a playground reaction.

63. donald anderson

Talk aboot overegging the pudding;?

64. Grouse Beater

I trust the egg used was free range.

65. Zen Broon

Scottish Labour is enacting a strange fantasy world where they are fighting for ‘freedom’ against a ‘Nazi’ ‘dictator’, and in their own mind folk like like Jim are ‘bravely’ standing up to ‘nationalist’ ‘mobs’.

The reason for this rather sad role playing is simply that Scottish Labour are now the Tory-hugging reactionary establishment.

The SNP and independence movement is far more radical than Scottish Labour have been for generations and have long since inherited its progressive ethos and popular support.

Jim and his chums need the fantasy. The truth, that they are now only fit to run errands for the Tories and London spiv capitalism, is just too painful to bear.

66. yerkitbreeks

@ Socrates The phrase at the time was ” Willie Ross, dead loss “.

67. Grouse Beater

The soap box he stand upon is a plastic crate, thus in one simple gesture he expresses what we should think and how modern is the Labour party.

68. heedtracker

Also, Murphy heckler and Brown heckler saying, or shouting rather exact same stuff, with exact same reaction from Murphy and Brown. Did they expect it o happen? Yes, Did they set it all up? Who cares. Have all UKOK news rooms used it to attack Scottish democracy and so on.

69. paul gerard mccormack

The quality polis advised him to take a break. The truth is, otherwise they would have had to arrest him for a breach of the peace. I have seen ugly and loud hectoring Christian ‘preachers’ arrested for a lot less. Jim Murphy’s stunt wasn’t a political hustings. It was pure agit-prop designed to goad the audience to a reaction.

70. donald anderson

yerkitbreeks says:

@ Socrates The phrase at the time was ” Willie Ross, dead loss “.

One of Morris Blythman. aka Thurso Berwick’s ditties was,

Ross is dross, Ross is dross
    Harold Wilson still the boss.

71. Another Union Dividend

David Cameron has upgraded the terrorism threat from bad eggs.

The No campaign must realise its struggling as Murphy is milking this for all his worth on BBC Radio Scotland Newsdrive at circa 4.20 pm claiming that his constant harrassment is co-ordinated by Yes Scotland.

72. heedtracker

@ Grouse Beater, Murphy stands on two bottle crates, his weight is too much for just the one, also a good allegory:D

73. heedtracker

Be nice to see Murphy getting lifted for breach of the peace though. Incitement is a serious offence.

74. goldenayr

Anyone else catch skull murphy on Newsdrive?

75. fred blogger

Tamson
    he caused all of his own troubles with his nasty attitude towards others when the ask a perfectly reasonable question he sets out to humiliate the person in question and every one else, with his response to humanity.
    patronize, patronize, patronize.
    a perfect example of, as you sow so shall you reap!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zji4dTx-j8w
    ps i remembered to get my eggs today.

76. heedtracker

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28986714

UKOK spin machine in action. Acheived pretty much everything they could have hoped from it all.

“In the past 10 days or so, the Yes Scotland campaign has organised mobs to turn up at every meeting that I’m taking part in to try and silence undecided voters and to try and intimidate me,” said the Scottish MP, who pointed to evidence on social media sites to support his claims.

BBC knows no depths to attack the future of democratic Scotland.

77. Lochside

Checked out ‘I am the Eggman Murphy’ on Wikipedia…9 years at uni and didnae graduate?…Only job was as ‘Director’ of Endsleigh Insurance whilst NUS big shot?

This guy is a lazy self-seeking parasite. He’s never had a real job, he insults people in the street by bellowing lying crap wrapped in a Union Jack. This pseudo Irish republican/Brit Nat charlatan participates in a set up ‘assault’ on himself in order to give the Unionist msm more shite to print.

He epitomises in the true sense the archetypal Slab Judas with his claw permanently held out for Westminster’s 30 pieces of silver.

78. a supporter

This Vid of about 1 min long shows the “egging” and if you go through the first 8 secs, frame by frame, up to the actual PLACING of an egg on Murphy’s back the face of the egger is clearly visible. It all looks very suspicious to me from the moment about 2/3 secs in when a photographer has been called over by someone. There has clearly been some editing just after to allow him (the photographer) and the videocamer to get into position behind Murphy.

Someone is bound to know who the egger is from the vid.

79. heedtracker

“In the past 10 days or so, the Yes Scotland campaign has organised mobs to turn up at every meeting that I’m taking part in to try and silence undecided voters and to try and intimidate me,” said the Scottish MP, who pointed to evidence on social media sites to support his claims.

Even that’s a bare face lie. Murphy wasn’t “taking part” in meetings at all, obviously. The sociopathology of Westminster liars like Murphy and the liggers at Pacific Quay must be a worth a doctorate or ten.

80. Chitterinlicht

It’s a distraction. We should get back to being positive and enabling people to be confident enough (not feart) to vote yes.

The very fact that it will put poor wee Jim Murphy, Douglas and Danny Alexander out a job is a bonus. If they stand for election in an independent Scotland we get a chance to get them to prove their worth properly.

We are all very aware of how much Labour believe themselves to be untouchable up here ..until SNP stole their toy. This is personal for them but this is more important than that as it effects an entire nation. And that is why they disappoint me so much as they just do not care what is best for Scotland.

Eyes
    Wide
    Open

81. heedtracker

Murphy’s egger is a professional. He places it on Murphy’s shoulder incase he threw, missed and got charged with common assault or breach of the peace if he a member of the public.

82. Mealer

The egg hurler looks nothing like me.Pity.I could have dined out on it for years.

83. Marcia

Murphy eggsagerates as per usual – seems to be a bit fishy.

At least it jogged my memory. Go to work on an egg.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bGr5y2tNoqM

84. boris

BBC Scotland – Post the Referendum and a No Vote.

After more than a decade since devolution and the establishment of a Government in Edinburgh there were early signs that BBC Scotland had intent to cover the referendum debate in a balanced format. It soon became evident this would not be the case amid reports of major ructions at the BBC in Glasgow. In recent months it seems to have been plummeting, out of control towards meltdown. It has also been accused, by a large cross section of Scottish society citing anti-independence bias and outright incompetence.

Scottish based journalists and staff, (many of whom have spent years working for BBC Scotland) do not get any respect or consideration from senior management in terms of support and recognition and are routinely undermined by senior management. Staff and management have become increasingly polarised due to a lack of dialogue, management have reverted to managing the business through notice board announcements and other distanced forms of communication.

The power struggle within the BBC in Scotland, is really about accountability It should be to the Scottish taxpayers, who pay their salaries through the licence fee, but management looks south to the BBC Trust, for the nod of approval and authority. The ongoing dilemma causes much heart searching on the part of journalists and staff, much less in the case of senior managers, who often have their eyes on other pastures.

In direct consequence of the foregoing shambles, poor leadership, lack of vision, control of agendas from other places and bending, “like straws in the wind” to the will of the BBC Trust the referendum debate is riddled throughout with anti-independence bias instructed from the BBC Trust in England.

BBC Scotland, established, on a wave of optimism in 1999 promised so much , The. “Scottish News at Six” soon died a death replaced with the National (English), “News at Six” covered at Six Thirty by, “regional local news” and at the tail end of this by a few last minute fillers providing brief snippets of titbits from a few areas in Scotland. Then there was, “Newsnight Scotland” promised as a cutting edge programme covering newsworthy aspects of events of particular interest to Scotland. This was soon dumped, to be replaced with a tail-end 10 minutes at the end of the, (now discredited) English Newsnight programme.

Despite release, from London of £5million, headed up by John Mullin (another London Scot, “headhunted” north)to be used specifically in the provision of referendum coverage, BBC Scotland somehow decided there was a need to reduce Scotland based political journalists and support staff. Their solution to the, “self created” under employment of staff, at such an important time for Scotland was to parachute in, “professionals on sizeable six figure salaries, Jim Naughtie and Sarah Smith from England” thereby ensuring a clear run with their anti-independence biased agenda. So there it is, the creation of BBC Scotland seemed to be a good idea at the time, but, it seems the idea has gone sour and BBC Scotland is nothing more than a brass plate on a door of a building in Glasgow. In recent times BBC Scotland has been increasingly classed as a fictional entity similar to the Labour Party in Scotland.

The very expensive employment of, Naughtie and Smith, is surprising since both have spent almost their entire political reporting careers away from Scotland. Additionally both are unashamed labour party supporters and have oft been known to express dismissive views of the SNP. Naughtie has done this several times since his arrival in Scotland. Sarah Smith, (clearly unsuited to live television presentation) presents the anti-referendum biased, car crash programme, “Scotland 2014”.

Summary

It is common knowledge the BBC is completing an internal review in anticipation of major financial reduction in the block grant. In the event of a, “no” vote BBC Scotland will be wound down retaining only a bare bones skeleton staff in place. This achieves a number of objectives including major financial savings through major reductions in staff. The sell-off of estate properties throughout Scotland will also ensure major savings for the organisation. Programme making, in Scotland will be shut down, no more, “River City”. The contracted BBC will return to it’s roots being a London based organisation and Scotland will once more revert to being a media backwater. But there is another way. Vote, “yes” for independence. Scotland will then be able to create it’s own national broadcaster representing the modern society that is Scotland. Take heed of the warning, it is happening as I write.

https://www.opendemocracy.net/ourbeeb/gerry-hassan/bbc-and-referendum
    http://www.theguardian.com/media/2014/jun/02/bbc-scottish-independence-accused-pro-union-bias-good-morning-scotland-gary-robertson

85. Luigi

A welcome distraction to end BT’s awful week, and also something to let cream puff Murphy, with his embarrassing soapbox effort, off the hook. With a little help from the BBC, of course.

Wonderful things, eggs.

86. Ally McEwen

Wade into the Clutha like a hero. No problem. That’s the type of guy am urr.
    Egg on shirt. Mwaaaa!

87. R Knight

YouTube’s “Jim Murphy gets egged during pro union speech” from SWNS TV clearly shows the face of the loon concerned between the 9 and 10 second mark on the clip, as he pops into shot whilst launching an egg.

It is hard enough chapping doors and persuading the DK’s to come over without idiots like that making the task harder.

If I knew who he was I’d offer up his details to both Plod and press alike. Hopefully someone will persuade him to hand himself in.

88. Proud Cybernat

Somebody had Murphy’s back covered, that’s for sure.

89. Grouse Beater

The Great British Fake Off.

90. Ali

For what it’s worth Willie Rennie, while my MP, answered every email sent him no matter how tongue in cheek and dealt with all issues that were seriously raised. Not only that, but he voted in parliament 100% how I would have voted – truly remarkable. He was, of course, then ousted by a MIARR. Regardless of what else I might disagree with him about he was apparently a more standout MP than I thought at the time.

91. MajorBloodnok

I was thinking that if only I could find some way to apply an electrical charge to a boiled egg so that it would stick to a Labour MP without breaking, then I’d be eggstatic.

92. Mad Jock McMad

In some Asian countries the assassination of political candidates during election periods is the norm.

In many South American countries violent riots are derigeur.

In Africa candidates get bits lopped off by machete when they annoy the ‘wrong folk’ or disappeared and fed to crocodiles in one party state ‘democracies’ like Zimbabwe.

Poor Little Jim has merely had to stand up to folk heckling him (some rather repetitively and unoriginally to be honest) or calling him names (poor lambikins) and it appears the violent ova attack was what finally egged the pudding – so to speak – and made him run home to the bosom of John Smith House.

If folk in Labour strongholds like Kirkcaldy are reduced to throwing eggs to get their message across, what does that actually say about the Labour Party?

93. SquareHaggis

Update on the ebay referendum ballot paper selling.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28968927

Having checked out the user quoted in the article l can find no evidence that this account has ever been used for selling anything, only buying.

If you go to ebay and search for the users profile there’s nothing there under the ”
    Show completed listings only” section. Anything listed for sale (whether it sells or not) should appear on this list for 60 days but there’s nothing.

Now unless ebay have deleted all trace of this listing (and not banned the user at the same time) then it’s highly likely to have been nothing more than a rather half ar5ed hoax.

94. No no no...yes

Big Jim has suspended his tour pending advice from the police on public safety. AYE right, this from a former Shadow Secretary for Defence,which deals with weapons of mass destruction and all other aspects of military hardware!

The allegation that the YES campaign are arranging the protests a serious one to make. He really is a desperate and dangerous man. I’m confident the egg plant will be identified as having nothing to do with yes.

95. heedtracker

This is real cunning from the Grauns sneaky shits

“Murphy said that he had contacted the police earlier this week, and would be suspending his tour for 72 hours in order to take further police advice and offer training on personal safety to his staff.

He said that Blair McDougall, the chief executive of Better Together, would be writing to Blair Jenkins, his counterpart in Yes Scotland, later on Friday. “It also gives 72 hours to the Yes Scotland campaign to call off their mobs. The blame for this is at Yes Scotland’s door.

“It’s not about an egg. I’m not a coward, I won’t be silenced and I won’t surrender the streets to them.”

Maybe we will need the church to do their peace and goodwill stuff. It all just shows how spin machines work harder and harder, the closer they come to losing.

96. Harry McAye

Interesting discussion on the referendum on a Canadian station. One of the guys sounds just like Harry Shearer but I don’t think it’s him. They are all mostly very clued up on the issues, more clued up than many Scots, sadly.

http://www.cfru.ca/recordings/1

97. Golfnut

That was a stunt. Guy far to calm. Little or no reaction from the BT minders or Murphy.

98. heedtracker

It’s getting busier for al kinds of fakes and phoneys, especially this one at Glasgow

https://id.theguardian.com/profile/abiesalba/public?activity-stream=comments

99. JWil

“you can pretty much get away with saying and doing whatever you like, secure in the knowledge that nobody wll make you explain yourself to the electorate.”

However, as we saw in the 1st and second debates, Darling was asked several pertinent questions, but just refused to answer them.

The thing I remember most about Murphy was him completely ignoring the wee wummin’s question, even although she asked it several times and she was within touching distance of Murphy on his soapbox, so well within his earshot. I was just disappointed that no one in the crowd drew his attention to her and said ‘answer the question Jim’.

100. heedtracker

Daily Record piling in http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/david-cameron-condemns-protesters-who-4129152

Daily Record prostrated itself to Tory boy No.1. What very next

101. Fred

Sammy Dreep, big Jessie that he is, is just looking for cheap publicity and playing the victim. He has nothing else to offer.

Fred

102. heedtracker

Martin kettle taking a break from wishing violence would at least have a try in Scotland.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/aug/28/douglas-carswell-defection-ukip-realignment-british-politics

It’s interesting watching BBC in Scotland con artists just not report any of this UKIP defection in England, anywhere in Scotland and yet they gave UKIP and Farage blanket coverage in the run up to the last EU elections.

Whatever can BBC liggers in pacific quay be up to

103. Ann

All this palaver about an egging.

I personally think it’s dodgy for the simple reason, that if I were going to show my disgust and anger and him (not that I would), I would have chucked the egg at his face.

104. Grouse Beater

Wasn’t so long ago Farage was screaming assassination when atempting to sell himself as saviour of Scottish politics.

105. G H Graham

Jim Murphy has decided he can’t be arsed wasting another 20 days of his taxpayer funded lifestyle shouting at lamposts so has used this petty incident to make an excuse for quitting his 100 day tour early.

This narcissistic, self serving MP is more transparent than a casserole dish wrapped in clingfilm.

106. donald anderson

Huffy Murphy stood on a crate
    He wis terrified a Yes vote would seal his fate
    All the Queen’s hoarses and all the Queen’s men
    Couldn’t put auld new Labour back again

No more for auld Scotia tae crawl or to beg
    Nae broadswords nae bullets just a wee egg.
    Scotland nae merr a lookalike British Grim Reaper
    Just a wee St Andrew’s Cross on a wee bit o’ paper.

107. Quentin Quale

Maybe Jim is just having his birthday celebrations a week late.

108. Edward

Just reading the Wings Twitter feed
    There is a tweet from Caledonia, showing what Caledonia claims to be the guy that is supposed to have thrown the eggs at Murphy

What is noticeable in one pic is the guys communications ear piece as worn by all security and bodyguard services

Actually I’ve seen this guy before on the video of Murphy in Motherwell and I think another at an Asda store.
    Yes Murphy does have security as well as interns to look after him as well as local ‘Labour’ activists

109. Marcia

The Rev on his twittery thing has this:

https://twitter.com/Caledonia_1/status/505380961790349312

on the face of it the press have been duped by Murphy. Discuss. Egg on their faces?

110. heedtracker

“So you come up behind me, slap, don’t throw, an egg on my back and I’ll do the rest”
    “Won’t it look a dodgy Jim?” Big laughs all round.

As long as this is bad as UKOK black ops get, it’s probably not going to change minds, just divert, smear, worry, all that grand old teamGB rules Scotland forever stuff.

111. Krackerman

Marcia – compare that to the picture on http://eezypeezylemonsqeezy.com/

That’s NOT the same guy….

112. Black Douglas

@Marcia

That does not appear to be the same person who did the deed.

Doesn’t seem to match, sorry 🙁

113. gus1940

Contrary to what our wonderful media have been telling us since Monday’s slaughter of Darling there will be at least one further TV debate as I have just received an STV ScotPulse survey re the referendum which concluded with an invitation to apply for an audience place for their debate to be held on 2/9.

Yesterday I received the latest YES Newspaper. Would it not have been an idea to insert a YES Window Poster or Car Sticker. Hopefully any further deliveries might take up that suggestion.

114. Stevie boy

HERE WE GO…

Just been on BBC news about the security alert being raised and they said that the last time it was raised Glasgow airport was attacked (and showed the footage).

I smell a RAT!!!

I fear the referendum won’t happen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

115. heedtracker

Their egger was wearing standard issue iPhone5 ear buds and not standard issue radio connects for special branch protection cops.

116. Graeme Doig

Seems to me like the guy had to manufacture a situation that gave him the opportunity to cancel the tour.
    Think the heat was getting to him and he didn’t like the fact that he wasn’t getting things all his own way.
    Here’s a wee tip from the top Mr Murphy,
    If your going to stand on a soap box and shout unionist rubbish expect the response of those that disagree to be just as vociferous.
    And if you cannae handle it give up … oh that’s what you’ve done.

117. Dan Huil

Murphy is certainly coming across as a greetin’-faced wimp. His protestations will backfire.

118. Edward

Does anyone have the link for the good video taken of Motherwell
    Not the one that starts sideways ;o

119. Marcia

Back to inputting!

120. Stevie boy

I would say that it might seem extreme to threaten and postpone our referendum but USA went to the lengths of blowing up their own Trade Centre to spark a war which was about oil!

God knows the lengths Westminster will stoop to.

121. Paul

Surely if you are going to throw something at somebody would you not shout at them also. This was a set up Murphy can’t even do that right.

122. Colin mccartney

Breaking egg news
    The egg has put in a formal complaint to police Scotland regarding the state of murphy’s manky shirt

123. Black Douglas

@edward

Murphy run outta town. 😀

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPL1tbjD_lM

124. les Wilson

The egg guy looks to me to be a security man, how many ordinary people have concealed ear pieces in? Complete with coil cable going under has jacket at the neck?

This is a BT set up.

Further. “It also gives 72 hours to the Yes Scotland campaign to call off their mobs” Said by Blair McFuddle. Is this some kind of threat? What happens after 72hrs?
    Maybe he should tell us?

125. WantonWampum.

LEST WE FORGET – craw jim invited the public to all his 100 x Corners Tour.
    Not just one or two.

Having invited ALL of the Public, Craw Jim ensures he cannot be questioned by anyone because he surrounds himself with Bigots Together Minders who are there to protect their wee wilting flower and to ensure only he gets to RANT at his INVITED guests.?

SLAB scab democracy at it`s sleekitest best.

IT WAS ONE EGG. !

According to BBC Teletext – he was pelted by many.?

Poor wee wallflower soul – only eats when we pay.

126. big jock

Murphy is right something sinister is going on.First a random heckler shouts at Gordon Brown.Then guy is allowed to swear at Alexander live on air yet they have filters to stop swearing,now a guy throws an egg with an earpiece on.We are onto you better together.Something very sinister going on.Think about it the last time no lost round they started all the JK Rowling pish and that was quickly buried and never fully investigated.Darling loses the fight and suddenly 3 random nutters patsies appear!

127. heedtracker

Murphy’s egger might be hard of hearing and still uses the aides that strap to your belt?

More dreary progressive liberal twaddle down ye olde misery guts Scotchland. Headline writer says it’s all about who’s voting what down the A9 but I can’t see any in this

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/aug/29/scottish-independence-my-way-and-the-highway

Could it be the Gruan ligger couldn’t find a NO vote in the Highlands.

128. Alastair Wright

Personally, I think The entire ‘tour’ was over egged.

129. heedtracker

@ big jock, that’s spot on about the broadcast delay for all BBC phone in shows. It’s at least a five second delay so the producer of Call Kaye made the decision to broadcast the swearing. Wonder why they let that go out the fraudsters.

130. R Knight

Its started…

Multiple No Thanks boards at roadside being trashed and left to swing in the wind or litter the streets.

Just more ammo to be fired at those nasty Nats.

Bring on the dirty tricks dept.

131. heedtracker

http://www.bbc.co.uk/editorialguidelines/page/guidance-live-output-full

Introduction; Overview; Editorial Policy Knowledge; Editorial Policy and …. to implement a short delay to allow time to dip strong language when broadcast …

132. Edward

Thanks Black Douglas
    A few characters of interest in the video 🙂

133. Weedeochandorris

Had eggsactly the effect they wanted it to. More diversion away from the real news and Murphy gets to duck out from his silly circus act.

O/T Andy Murray would play for Scotland if there was a Yes vote. https://archive.today/c3qoQ

134. CameronB Brodie

So Jim Murphy’s DEFENSE of Britain’s continuation, is broken by the force of an egg. Not even hard-boiled mind. Well, if that is what he wants us to believe.

135. Chic McGregor

If I were him. I’d have been looking for an out as well. That “Red Tories out” chant would chime with an awful lot of Labour support and it is the Labour support voting Yes which is they’re bigger concern.

I think he was losing them votes.

Whether the plug was pulled by contrivance or by fortunate coincidence, I’m sure there will be sighs of relief from the SLAB apparatchiks.

136. 01010111

Because it’s never happened before…

The prime minister added: “It’s a vigorous debate with lots of argument, there’s nothing wrong with a bit of heckling but throwing things isn’t necessarily part of the democratic process.”

Interesting use of the word “necessarily”.

Of course when it was Nick Griffin (an elected MEP at the time) being pelted by Labour supporters it was ok and “served him right”.

Ah the moveable feast that is freedom of speech.

http://www.itv.com/news/2014-05-01/politicians-hit-by-eggs-a-brief-history/

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/10242748/Eggs-paint-and-custard-politicians-attacked-by-protesters.html?frame=2643761

http://www.buzzfeed.com/jimwaterson/a-short-history-of-politicians-being-egged-in-britain#mmrphg

137. WantonWampum.

Walter Wolfgang was arrested under New Labour Terrorism Legislation because, as a lifelong member of the party, this 80 year old had the audacity to heckle HIS OWN at a Labour Party Conf.?

And Walter paid to be there.

Craw jim has a less than proud history to maintain, but I doubt he`s keeping his end up.

He is like Dracula`s anorexic sister.
    Except she gets her ain grub.

138. Monkey in a red rosette? Down here it’s donkey in a red rosette.

Must have been lost in translation. (Video game gag there just for the Rev).

139. Rod Robertson

I do not know if this 100% kosher ,however doing the rounds in Twitter and FB this is allegedly the guy that did the business with the egg.
    If it is why suited ,and booted and wearing a covert earpiece?
    I am cynical to believe BT and Murphy would set something like this up,after all his tour is not exactly setting the heather on fire is it?
    pic.twitter.com/HZp4on1q7f

140. Grendel

Rev Stu, you ask what else the egg thrower could have done. Not thrown it is the answer. Mr Murphy was ripe for pelting with facts, not eggs.

As to MPs replies, Pamela Nash has sent me the cut and paste garbage above. I’ve yet to word a reply.

141. Seasick Dave

He was lucky it wasn’t dog’s eggs.

142. Ken500

Another one hits the dust. Poor wee Murphy, too stupid, not too poor because of public money.

Another cretin. Danny Alexander has the Cheek to mention the fall in Oil tax revenues, when he caused it. Increases Oil tax revenues 11% (£2Billion) now up to 90%, in the 2011 Budget. Killed the goose that laid the golden egg. What a loser.

143. Cyborg-nat

Two eggs. One that was seen to be wholesome on a shirt. The other egg in the shirt?

144. Wullie B

After a lengthy investigation the police concluded that it was certainly wrong to throw eggs at Mr. Murphy. ‘They are too fragile, break on impact and cause minimal damage’ a police spokesman said, before suggestion bricks in future

145. IcySpark

You can clearly see the egg thrower in this video, full frontal closeup from 7:14.

youtu.be/bDi1OXJn4Vw?t=7m14s

146. IcySpark

Unfortunately it’s a BT video but should help. 7m14s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDi1OXJn4Vw#t=438

147. liz

There is an absolutely brilliant letter that a person on FB has sent to all the celebrities who begged us to stay in the UK which you can read even if you don’t have a FB account on the Rev’s.

148. les Wilson

Seeing that guy’s earpiece and coil cable, just reminded me of the last time I saw someone with one on, and that was on the Calton Hill March in Edinburgh.He was carefully watching the crowd, looking around yet speaking to no one.

Not same guy, as that one had short gray hair about 6Ft3″ and looked fit.

The only other place I saw one was on “Spooks” on BBC. Funny that.
    Point is, these are used by security people of different kinds, I wonder what we are dealing with?

149. les Wilson

That is the same guy, no earpiece in this time, so just a plant to cause trouble for YES. Media obliged of course.
    They are rumbled.

150. les Wilson

Sorry last post was for
    IcySpark says:

151. joe kane

I quite agree Chic McGregor. The “red tory” jeer that meets Labour everywhere they go in public in Scotland is corrosive. Murphy’s ‘100 lies in 100 minutes’ tour of Scotland is only spreading and popularising it.

The only place Labour are safe and warmly welcomed in Scotland these days seems to be in venues like this –
    Scots Tories give Alistair Darling standing ovation
    08 June 2013

152. Sombrero

I don’t think it’s the same guy. The fella in the video’s hairline is far more receded than the one in the picture. It’s probably just some bam with an egg.

153. Dr Jim

Death threats to the First Minister,a nutter charged with driving his car at the First Minister,death threats to the ‘Wee Yin’ [Nicola Sturgeon]…but it’s all about Jim Murphy’s co-ordinated egg.
    After we win this referendum,all, certainly will not be forgiven,for in the words of the great Alan Cochrane, we shall go forth as the devil incarnate that we are,in the dark of night and remove all trace of every no poster we can find, and if it wont come off, we might deface it
    ‘SO THERE’….

154. CameronB Brodie

IcySpark
    I shared a flat with the fake Yes supporter, shown at 7:20, 20 odd years ago. For the life of me I can’t remember his name, but I can assure you he is no Yes supporter. A racist, bigoted unionist prick would be an accurate description. The only time we had words was when he had a half dozen mates at his back. He still lost the argument. An idiot and a cowardly bully, IMO.

155. CameronB Brodie

P.S. I wouldn’t be surprised if he was SDL rather than SLabour.

156. Brian Mchugh

This isn’t a bad clip from C4…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uumRFJea8AE&feature=youtu.be&app=desktop

…as an old SubClubber myself 😀

157. Giving Goose

In the English Edition of the Sun, Katie Hopkins compares Yes leaning Scots to Monkeys with fleas. I’ve got the pic of the cutting if anyone is interested.

158. CameronB Brodie

Slow on the uptake. He was the egg thrower. If this is so, I am now 99% certain the incident is a set-up.

159. CameronB Brodie

He was into photography back then and had attende/was to attend Stevenson college. He was fond of listening to violent extremely violent and misogynistic hardcore rap music. At high volume.

160. Jim Thomson

OK folks – another on-line opportunity to show how you’d like to vote. This one is against postcodes.

Again, it’s a bit of fun because it’s self-selecting, so mind and have that pinch o’ salt handy 😉

http://games.usvsth3m.com/scotchland-postcode-referendum/

161. CameronB Brodie

P.S. I am prepared to expand on the above, as an official statement, if required.

162. bunter

What’s the chance that the egger was a Lab activist on a day return from darn sarf and will never be seen again.

163. Free Scotland

Why would Jim Murphy abandon his tour at this point in the campaign? Did Flipper and Johann help to convince him that people are easily turned off by a shouty, incoherent style, especially when what you are shouting incoherently could easily be neutralised by a few simple reminders of the fact that your past record removes your right to lecture the people of Scotland on their democratic choice?

164. CameronB Brodie

bunter
    He’s a racist from Edinburgh. It might have been a long time since I shared a flat with him, but he was an extremist then and looks like he is still an idiot.

165. ayetalks

That earpiece is for a radio.
    You get the exact same kit for radio microphones.

Special Branch / security services – Jim Sillars isn’t looking so paranoid now is he?

166. Jim Thomson

@Free Scotland – simple, because he is desperate to avoid the Glasgow city centre gig.

167. Douglas Macdonald

In one video I watched, two eggs were thrown. The first landed to the right of Jim Murphy and you will see that he bent down to say something to the person, who had been hit. At this stage, you would have thought that he would have turned round to see who was throwing the egg, but no, he carried on with his rant. A few seconds later, another was thrown and this time, Murphy ducked even though he had his back to the egg-thrower. When his assailant eventually went up to Murphy and smashed the eggs directly on to his back and walked away, I was most surprised to see no reaction whatsoever from Murphy. That was very strange indeed. Most normal people would, at least, turn round to face his attacker. In my mind, this whole affair was stage-managed in order to smear the Yes Campaign. What can be done about it? Well two things – firstly send all the videos to Police Scotland for investigation, including photo-shots of the suspect in any other locations, where the Murphy bandwagon has been. The clips are better than CCTV, but this could be used to discover, where the man went to after this incident. Secondly, get the Sunday Herald to do a piece on it. Their journalists(?) might be able to dig up a bit more. As others have commented above, given that Murphy has hired some security men, then why did none of them react to the incident or even bother to pursue the assailant?

168. Quinie frae Angus

Here’s Derek Bateman’s take on the egg-thrower.

http://derekbateman.co.uk/2014/08/29/the-rabble-rouser/

@CameronB
    How fantastic it would be if you could remember the guy’s name, so the Rev can dig about and check out his provenance!! It would be sooooooo good to actually prove that this is a stunt by Jim Murphy.

Maybe a hypnotherapist could help you retrieve the guy”s name from your memory?!!

169. Boorach

And all this on the same day as the Times carries a piece ‘Eggs and insults fly as referendum mood turns ugly’ detailing a list of supposed incidents in towns around the country.

No I don’t buy the Times but was visited by a very excited libdem councillor brandishing a complimentary copy for me early this morning. He was absolutely eggstatic that Tain had got a mention in such an illustrious tabloid.

Seems all the nasty Nats had been bussed in in the back of my van which, at most, would provide standing room for no more than six people and we were all dressed in black. Apparently in mourning for Scotland’s lost 300 years.

Now, there was no press representation on Tain High St during the event so one wonders where the Times got their information from.

170. a supporter

Don’t know about claims and counter claims above ABOUT WHO IS AND WHO ISN’T THE EGGER. BUT THIS IS THE 30 SEC VID WHERE THE EGGERS FACE IS CLEARLY VISIBLE AT 4 SECS IN. He’s your man.

171. Nuada

Well done, Stu, for bringing up a question which I, as a Johnnie Foreigner, had pondered for some time, but thought I was misunderstanding because nobody – absolutely nobody – in the British media ever questioned it. Two hundred years ago, the British parliament was a bent as a docker’s hook because almost all the seats were so-called “rotten boroughs”, the MPs sitting for them appointed directly by the local squire, or earl or whatever. The problem is that, despite the extension of the franchise, Parliament is STILL bent as the aforesaid implement because most of the seats are STILL rotten boroughs; all that’s changed is that instead of Lord Thingummybob appointing the MP, the selection committee of the dominant party does it. In central Manchester, that’s Labour, in rural Buckinghamshire it’s the Tories, but either way, the voters aren’t consulted. The point is that the SYSTEM hasn’t changed one scintilla, and what’s more, it seems most British people don’t want it to change, going by the result of the AV referendum. Ok, I’ll grant you, of all the possible systems of PR, AV is the worst, but it’s still got to be better than what’s happening now, so what gives?

172. CameronB Brodie

Quinie frae Angus
    Maybe a hypnotherapist could help you retrieve the guy”s name from your memory?!!

I now remember I used to shorten his name to Stu, ’cause he hated me doing it. So Stewart, I think. I’ll contact the Rev directly if I remember his second name. 😉

P.S. Hope you spot the age the Union and Britain’s democracy apparently were, in that yahoo article the other day.

173. Dan Huil

@ Douglas Macdonald. Blimey Douglas. Everything but the Grassy Knoll. But seriously, there is something very fishy about the whole episode.

174. Nigerian Pirate

Not sure how clear the photo is but just seen this on Facebook.

It appears to show that the guy who egged Murphy was indeed one of his own team.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10153085851044056&set=a.447905259055.227304.757784055&type=1&theater

175. Free Scotland

@Jim Thomson … “because he is desperate to avoid the Glasgow city centre gig.”

Thanks, Jim. I was unaware of that detail. Make’s sense.

176. kendomacaroonbar

Apologies for the advert, but this is for those readers who don’t do Twitter. Wings Limited Edition goodies !

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/friends-of-wings-over-scotland-2

177. big jock

Jim still time time clean!We know you or your spies read this.Its bad but will only get worse for you if you continue the charade.Amateurs.

178. Donald Urquhart

Murphy voted to invade Iraq. In the face of the tens of thousands who died, and are still dying, there a wee bit egg is surely not too much to bear for such a supporter of violence.

179. Nana Smith

Now the torygraph are screeching, no surprise really.
    I would say this whole episode has been staged and the media were primed.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/scottish-independence/11064971/Scottish-independence-Yes-campaign-accused-of-coordinating-Nationalist-mobs-to-disrupt-pro-UK-events.html

180. IcySpark

@Nigerian Pirate

So not him. It’s clear as day on the video I posted earlier. Up close and personal.
    Here he is for all the world to see:

Watch it to the end. There is no question.

181. CameronB Brodie

Nigerian Pirate
    That’s not the guy that threw the egg. Completely different body shape. I shared a flat with the egg thrower, for a year or so.

182. Andy smith

A real shame that Murphy’s suspended his tour, I was really looking forward to reports of his visit to effin village .
    ( with respect to Matt McGinn )

183. Davidb

@ Nuada

The system of PR proposed and voted down would only have benefited the party proposing it. The Libdems.

I voted against the change despite supporting PR, because I saw through the troughing carpetbagging bas#ards.

184. donald anderson

Don’t know how to load the attachment here but the billboard has Mel Gibson as Braveheart and Solidarity with the Scots for Yes vote the 18th.

Lord Reid’s Parkheid loyalists and Jim Murphy aint gonny like that.

The Rock Bar on the Falls Road in Belfast have paid for a full advertising hoarding on the main Andersonstown Road in a display of Celtic solidarity with the Scots.

Rock Bar Says YES.zip Rock Bar Says YES.zip
    856K Download

185. fred blogger

they BT continue to try to set the MSM agenda, who are very happy to oblige.
    the whole frustration is caused @root, by the FACT that WM has full powers over spending in scotland.
    holyrood now only gets pocket money, devolved powers can be and are removed by WM/peers, holyrood can be shut down anytime WM desires.
    those who control our vitals of life, control our lives.
    in other words the sterile system, we now occupy causes us to feel impotent.
    that feeling will pass after indy is won.
    not long folks.
    try to make their provocations, as if, water off a ducks back.
    shout by all means, but imho IGNORE them in these “set up” street arenas, from now on, will work best.
    they soon will have no power over our souls.
    i know that is easier said than done.
    only a few days left and we will be free of WM, imagine the sheer joy, and relief/release.
    a few days in hundreds of years of oppression.
    they know they have lost.
    put all energy into winning vital votes.

186. liz

We have to try to identify this guy as the MSM are having organisms over this egging.

187. john king

I tried lord knows I tried, I told a guy in a yes tshirt the Murphy mob would be looking for an opportunity to use any yes people as an excuse and I was proved right, he had the sense to take off his tshirt but I could not persuade the folk at the yes shop to go without yes banners,
    but what is done is done,
    I am pretty much certain that (egg man) man was not in the crowd of people I was mixing with before Murphys arrival, and I went up the high street loosly in their company, keeping a distance from my wife who went up the street in front of me by a couple of hundred yards,
    now this is where it gets interesting, because before the great mans apperance (Murphy), we (seperately) took shelter from a heavy shower of rain and the doorway the wife ran to shelter in just happened to be the doorway Murphys advance guard also took shelter in and the wife had a conversation with an English guy who clearly was with the Murphy entourage,this man dissapeared after that conversation never to be seen again, where did he go?
    I think he went to the no shop,
    when Murphy had riled the crowd up enough to set his dogs loose and cause a false flag occurence, and a riot would have been even better,

The egg man in question looked suspisciously like a
    military/ex military man and his gait, (arms swinging away from his body) implys he was amost marching away from the scene of the crime,

Whats more interesting is the direction he marched away in,
    the lane he entered was the lane that takes you up to the bus station a few yards away from Hunter street, and what do we have on Hunbter street? a NO SHOP, yards from the lane he left from,
    A few doors along is none other than The Courier newspaper, that bastion of unionist bias!
    Now its fair to say he could have gone anywhere after exiting that lane but its interesting what was in the direction of travel thats all Im saying!

Thinking about it, how many times has Jim Murphy sent out pre notices of his appearances?
    My wife was sent an email from Better together advising of his visits to St Andrews, Cupar, and Kirkcaldy with accurate times!

188. X_Sticks

Can I suggest our strategy if they come out on the street should be Coventry. Turn up, turn your back and remain silent. Let him make a fool of himself with the ranting.

189. liz

Sorry – orgasm — oh dear.

190. Harry McAye

CameronB – go through some common Scottish surnames in your head, you never know, you may strike gold. It worked for Mrs Doyle in Father Ted, eventually! Looks like this could be a huuuuuuuuge embarrassment for Murphy..

191. Nigerian Pirate

Icy Spark,

totally agree – I never seen your close up earlier but its defo not the same guy. The guy who originally posted it on FB reckons he got his photos mixed up but he was sure that the guy who egged Murphy was part of the team. Will see if he comes back with any more pics but it does seem like a set up.

192. Grouse Beater

The egg patter man – an angry person throws an egg not place it on the intended victim – egg patter man has an earpiece and a walk like a policeman.

Suspicious? You bet!

193. Trick

I need to ask a question , and to be honest for the life of me can’t seem to find an answer anywhere , so Rev to you and the regulars here at Wings , a simple question . If we vote YES , and I hope we do vote YES , thus ending the union , does that mean that England becomes independent by default ? After all the union is between Scotland and England , or is there something I’m missing ? Thanks .

194. JWil

If we had been in mediaeval times, most of these characters would have been put in the stocks on the village green to get pelters from all and sundry.

If it had been America they would have been tarred and feathered and ridden out of town on a rail (ref: Mark Twain).

195. Gary

Thank God the egger was helpfully wearing a YES beanie to dispel any thought that he may not have been a yesser. As we all know YES beanies are unavailable to the general public and only to be had a secret initiation ceremonies where Sammin makes them swear to devote their lives to being a splittist!!

196. john king

Liz says
    “Sorry – orgasm — oh dear.”

I didnt think I had that a powerful effect on women, — eh?
    oh! 🙂

197. big jock

Also D Cameron very quick to condemn the yes campaign.God these guys are desperate and you know what happens when liars get desperate….they fuck up.The net is closing Jim just how shallow and deceitful are you prepared to go!If you come down my street shouting about the glorious union you will get short shrift from me you weasel!

198. JWil

When Prescott was assaulted by an egg thrower and threw a punch, it was treated as a joke by the media and the public thought he deserved it.

199. CameronB Brodie

Harry McAye
    I’m wracking my mind but don’t hold out much hope of my remembering more that my calling him Stu. He hated that. 🙂

IMO GB, he doesn’t have a sufficient IQ to join either the police or services.

200. JWil

‘Orgasms’ and ‘the pubic’. Have to be careful without a spell checker.

201. big jock

Cameron he might be just a patsie so wouldn’t necessarily be brought in for his intellect!

202. North chiel

How coincidental moving into the final phase of the referendum
    Countdown that Westminster raises the security threat to severe
    Is this eventually (whatever transpires during the coming 3weeks) going to result
    In Cameron appearing on Better together TV on the eve of poll
    Making a direct appeal with the security and defence of Scotland
    And the UK cited in a last ditch attempt to save the union .
    What are mi5 /mi6 “plans” for defence of “UK” against terrorism?

203. john king

Beat me to it North Chiel
    I thought it was very fortuitous that they felt the need to raise the security threat alert just at this moment in time ,

But lets not forget, they have the means to manipulate a REAL security threat by making the right noises in the the diplomatic arena, I wouldn’t put it past them to put the guard down to allow a repeat of the glasgow airport incident, wouldn’t they just love that?

204. ronnie anderson

there was a vidio I watched that show ed the guy slaping the egg on Murphy,we need colate all the photo’s & vidio footage ,sombody must know this guy, who walks up to a (politician with plain clothed Policemen in attendance)& slaps egg on him. Set up most definetely.

205. Harry McAye

Everyone on twitter should post a link to the clip Icy Spark flagged up, starting at about 7.14, he’s probably called Stewart or Stuart, possible unionist bigot. Someone, somewhere must know him.

206. CameronB Brodie

ronnie anderson
    I shared a flat with him, a good whole back. Not a particularly nice individual. A racist bigot then, so I’m very surprised he is now supporting Yes.

207. creag an tuirc

Normally protesters that throw eggs have something to say and are honoured to be seen. This guy shouts nothing, hits Murphy from behind with an egg and then skuttles away. Something is not right here. I’m sure social media will get to the bottom of it.

208. David Stevenson

As I said earlier, when Murphy was in Blantyre one of his “mob” tried to intimidate the Yes supporter who was recording him being ignored and then booted out of Asda. I don’t recall Murphy reigning him in or apologising to the guy. His concern over the issue seems to be unidirectional. Funny that. Does anyone on here know the guy who videoed Murphy’s trip to the Tyre? If so, encourage him to contact the press.

209. Jim Thomson

O/T anyone of a betting sort might be interested that you can get 8/1 from this lot for your first bet after registering with them 🙂

http://promotions.betfred.com/affiliates/sports/football/doubleodds/

210. ronnie anderson

@ John King as you say nobody notice him in the crowd before hand,since he entered the lane afterwards it more than likely thats where he came from in the first place.

211. Famous15

My wife,with her usual excellent and intuitive grasp of human behaviour stated flatly,”It’s all wrong,Murphys reactions are all wrong,it is clearly a setup”

The perpetrator ,the one who “threw” the egg,should be easily identified. My guess a cheap security company or bouncer for hire.He will be identified!

212. tinyzeitgeist

Black ‘ops’ in which the MSM are complicit. But there is always blowback in these false flag events. That much will be evident on the 19th September 2014.

213. ronnie anderson

@CameronB, git the auld rent books oot lol,hows you doing BTW.

214. Alastair Wright

Apparantly Archie McPherson exclaimed “oeuffff!” when he saw this on tv.

215. Ally McEwen

From here on when engaging the opposition we will be walking on eggshells

216. BB

As far as I am aware the chap with the earpiece is a different one to the egg thrower. It does seem rather strange though for undercover police/special branch/some other group to be present at such an event and it is also strange for them to do nothing at all when this minor assault happens right in front of them. Not much point in the undercover security then, is there? Jim was surrounded by supporters and they commonly film the event. No one caught the egg thrower or seems to know him or get a decent image of him, etc.

217. john king

” John King as you say nobody notice him in the crowd before hand,since he entered the lane afterwards it more than likely thats where he came from in the first place.”

I think your right Ronnie, because as you may have seen from the video the time it took him to vanish up the lane which was only a few yards from Murphys postion suggests strongly to me thats where he came from in the first place.

this is starting to feel like “the grassy knoll”
    nobody died, happily. 🙂

218. BB

I’d have thought we’d have dozens of photos of the true egg thrower (again, not the same guy as the security one as quite different hair for the two, AFAIK).

219. Nana Smith

Brian Wilson in the Scotsman

Forget the falsehoods,face the facts.

http://www.scotsman.com/news/brian-wilson-forget-the-falsehoods-face-the-facts-1-3525474

220. Quinie frae Angus

@Nigerian Pirate
    Forgive me but I don’t think the man circled in your photograph is the egg-placer. He looks a little older and not as “thuggish” looking as the one who can be clearly seen in the STV video, placing the egg.

@X-Sticks:
    I think you’re right. Sending the likes of Murphy to Coventry with our backs turned to him would be a much better idea than trying to ball him out – which is NEVER going to win us any converts. However, I can’t see this Coventry tactic working at this late stage unless we get a message out to all those Yessers who will be at every such event over the next few weeks! Maybe Wingers could take the lead, though. I am sure others will follow our example.

@Cameron B
    Yes, I did notice the writer’s lack of knowledge on these details. What an ill-informed poison-dripper he is, eh? And I am sure I recognise HIS name (same spelling) as a troll from a previous evening on here recently. Hence the cause and effect principle. If he’s on here reading Stu’s posts and Wingers’ follow-up comments, he will know EXACTLY what a well-informed and capable bunch we are. Hence the only tactic available to him – smear and tar us all as Nazis. It’s the same old story. The Godwin’s Law effect. I am getting it on Facebook too. I am sure we are all getting this kind of crap. We just have to sally on regardless, and show these people up to be the ill-informed shit-stirrers that they are.

221. john king

“this is starting to feel like “the grassy knoll”
    nobody died, happily. :)”

Well the egg didnt come out of it too good richt enough. 🙂

222. Thepnr

@Alastair Wright

Classic hahaha!

223. bunter

If Murphy returns to his soapbox to rant and shout at folk, just call the polis re breach of the peace.

224. IcySpark

@BB

There is no mistaking the egg thrower. This is a BT video, but it clearly shows who he is. Someone must know him. CameronB used to share a flat with him. His first name is Stuart or Stewart, but it was a long time ago so does’t remember his second name.

225. mr thms

After many attempts to post the links to the earlier clips provided by IcySpark and Tony Little, I’m giving up. If someone else can do it. Great. I just wanted know your opinion about the photographer seen in both clips

226. Jim Bob Mctavish

Just a distraction. Both the Murphy nonsense and this 🙂 youtube.com/watch?v=CZDRNJ6kg5k&feature=youtu.be

227. heedtracker

We’ll singing Flower of Scotland at Wembley and Hampden if you lose, just been told by my English drinking buddies. Its funny coz its true.

228. john king

Andy Smith says
    “A real shame that Murphy’s suspended his tour, I was really looking forward to reports of his visit to effin village .
    ( with respect to Matt McGinn )”

Eh? does the big Effen Bee keeper still live there, wi his wee effen wife?

229. heedtracker

Bet carpetbagger George Galloway is kicking himself he didn’t think of this cunning egg stunt. He will though.

230. Croompenstein

Thank God Scottish current affairs closes down on a Friday or this would be prime headline for McKay and Sarah. Let’s hope we uncover the truth of the phantom egg thrower of auld Kirkaldy toon before Sunday’s Scottish put downs on EBC

231. heedtracker

Front page of today Times has “unacceptable face of Scottish separatism” or some such grot with a big photo of a dude wearing a Yes hat and giving the camera the finger. Its a long way from the Bullingdon Berties to a bunch of egg throwing thugs playing the ukok game at the Tron Gate.

232. BB

***AYRSHIRE FOLK***

Gals and guys, in a couple of days have to consider adding the last names to the volunteer forms for people intersted in being counting agents (supervising the ballot count on the big day) postal opening (supervising the opening of the postal votes and checks that signatures are okay, etc.) and polling station agents (supervising at polling stations, possibly your own local one for security reasons mostly) and get them sent off to make sure they get in on time. You can be one or more than one of these things. This will happen in the South Ayrshire area for this list, but if you’re not in SA and don’t mind travelling I’m okay with that if you’re comitted to putting some time into it.

I want to make sure everyone interested from the Wings side gets a chance at involvement if they want to do it. It is first come first serve but Wings are coming first on the lists if they want to. 😉 If you’re not sure of times, etc. or what’s involved feel free to ask in the off-topic thread, same place is ideal to put yourself forward and then I can get details via email, etc. Don’t be shy! Jim and others are there too and happy to answer questions. I’ll bribe you with a Wings badge if you help out on the day. 🙂

I’m in touch with the other agents too, so we’ll be coordinating efforts to cover everything in SA.

233. Harry McAye

Just to re-iterate, the egger is definitely the guy at 7.20 onwards in this clip, threatening an English No supporter.

234. mr thms

#Harry McAye

That’s the photographer.

Watch his behaviour in the clip provided earlier by Tony Little

235. john king

“Just to re-iterate, the egger is definitely the guy at 7.20 onwards in this clip, threatening an English No supporter.”

And your point is caller?

236. Nigerian Pirate

Quinie frae Angus,

You are correct and I’m wrong with the picture. I hadn’t seen the video posted earlier and after viewing it they are definitely different people. Cameron B Brodie and Icy Spark confirmed it earlier.

Apologies on my part.

237. Croompenstein

I think the baldy guy is whispering to the Skull “right skull get ready for the eggs ya big Slab bastirt”

238. IcySpark

@John King

We want him outed. There is no place for egging someone no matter who it is.

239. mr thms

The photographer seen arguing with the egg man in BT clip, appears, in the Tony Little clip, to move into position before the incident happens..

240. CameronB Brodie

ronnie anderson
    Sorry for the delayed reply. Doing away and just popped out to the shops. Apparently, staff are banned from discussing politics. As I still considered the shop assistants to be in full possession of their human rights, I informed four of them about the WBB. Every little helps. 🙂

Quinie frae Angus
    Yep. I also cam across another article by the same chap, in another publication on the same day. Same tripe, though I think the age of the Union bit had been edited out. I didn’t bother raising it’s profile. 😉

241. BB

While people are in hysterical fear and rage over an egg as if it was the reason for the threat level increase, remember the wee lass with her head cut from having a bottle smashed into it by unionists. Do we lay that blame at Darling or Blair McDougalls feet or the offical BT campaign organising bottling sessions for little girls as Murphy’s logic would? Of course not, as we know that is ridiculous. Sillars got egged without shedding tears, and a lot worse too. If only the BT side (and I include the media in that) would have similar perspective.

I predict a lot more noise in the media will be made about Murphy’s cry baby antics than Sillar’s far worse experiences or that poor girl’s actual bleeding wounds and potetnially far more serious injuries from that incident. But then we can’t have the unionist side blackened…so it’s tidily swept under the carpet or under reported as a wee aside in a corner or reported in a way to make it arms length from “their” side to wash the story away. While at same time they hypocritically attach every misfortune or lone nutter directly to Alex or Yes side and it’s dragged out in the media and every interview for ages after.

I’ll be glad to see the back of the Scottish media, tbh. I expect a slump in their sales after the vote. No longer any reason then to read it or find out what they are saying.

242. Thepnr

@Harry McAye

Isn’t it amazing that the only people to capture this clip of both the argument with the English No supporter and the egg assault were those videoing for Better Together.

He will be identified in time.

243. Quentin Quale

Flooplepoop – and in keeping with the trend of BTNT not allowing right of reply I see comments have been disabled for this clip.

244. Dunx

Is it just me or has anyone else noticed that Lord Jim always wears the same (cheap?)clothes in all these “public meetings” right from the start. Almost as if he had “anticipated” this type of incident.(Same shirt, same trousers).
    On the BBC vid there are 3 egg incidents. First is at 15secs which hits him on the left pocket of those ‘shiny’ trouser and Jim says “Ha…” and launches into “..This is what you get in a modern Nationalist Scotland….”
    The second is at 28-29 sec which is thrown from the left and Jim ducks it ( at this point I would be turning to confront the egg thrower, but maybe that’s just me.)
    Then the third one Jim turns his back on the direction of the ‘egger’ and gets one “placed” on his shoulder. Strangely enough in all the other Jim videos there are normally at least 2 big “NO” backdrop/posters (almost like a little stage set) They don’t seem to be here in this video and seem to have left Jim rather exposed to this outflanking manoeuvre.
    As for the BT video it start with the one in Ayr (i think) just before his nemisis (the wee wummin in blue appears) Somebody of to the left calls him “Traitor” and it is Jim that uses the term “Quisling” before going of on what sounds like a “Blood and soil” rant “I was born here…I will never ever be called a foreigner in my own country…”!
    Later on in the video at another meeting someone calls Jim “A Quisling” and Jim helpfully explains that a Quisling is a collaborator and asks “…who am I a collaborator with…?”(No prizes for any suggestions!)
    Also the if the ‘egger’ is the same guy who “allegedly” threatens the ‘official photographer’ isn’t it a strange gesture to make what looks almost like an old communist party salute when threatening someone?
    Anyway I’m beginning to think there are already a lot of “Plants” out there.

245. Thepnr

That BT video was the whole purpose of Jim Murphy’s 100 day tour culminating with the beaten egg. Hope he ends up with egg on his face.

246. Thepnr

@Dunx

Sums up the whole sorry saga for me.

247. heraldnomore

We really have to identify this loon. He has to be held to account.

Especially as the former SofS is still persisting with his ‘organised Yes attack-dogs’ line. Presumably we can rely our media to pool their resources of the footage from his hugely successful tour, and eventually to put a name to his face.

Any comments from the police yet?

And if said loon turns out to be something other than James Murphy MP is suggesting where then lies his career in public office? Bateman is spot on. If you lived in East Ren would you be happy with this nonsense being portrayed by your elected member?

248. Brian Mchugh

North Chiel is 100% spot on above.

…the timing of this is so opaque…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSt1EbsJzS4&feature=youtu.be&app=desktop

249. David Stevenson

At 2.10 on this and beyond, an auld BT git tries to intimidate the guy with the camera/phone. Murphy and a Labour South Lanarkshire cooncillor are within 5-6 yds of him. No intervention by the defenders of freedom of speech….

At 4.30 and beyond, the auld git, having just chatted to James Kelly MSP, wanders over to try it again. Kelly is there but funnily enough doesn’t notice his auld pal trying to intimidate the intrepid Yesser. There is also another Labour SLC cooncillor and an MP (Tom Greatrex) hanging around like a bad smell by now. The auld git craps it at the threat of police involvement, but the five elected representatives don’t seem worried by the tactics of their pal.

Labour in action in South Lanarkshire…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JTvGcOq59OU

250. Indy_Scot

So Jim Murphy’s plan to save his cushy Westminster funded life style is to get his mate to hit him with an egg, and then blame the Yes campaign.

The man’s a rocket.

251. Black Douglas

It all appears to be stage managed and contrived, very similar to the Obama posters proliferated by UKNOTHANKER’s immediately after his meeting with Cameron earlier this year.

252. heedtracker

@ Nana Smith, its like a bucket of iced water poured over you reading a hard Labour unionist Like Brian Wilson rage against Scotland running Scotland.

Its because of troughing buffoons like Wilson that Scotland has been deindustrialised. Norway has a booming ship and rig building industry for starters but this bizarre character’s wild with fury at just the concept of Scotland reindustrialising.

Could Scotland be any more badly run than the way our friends in the south do it.

More slave wage poverty anyone?

253. heedtracker

@ X_Sticks, yup Galloway straight in and leaps on the Eggs Murphy bandwagon. George is such a phoney, he’ll egg himself.

254. Harry McAye

john king – my point should be bloody obvious! This is a very clear look at the guy responsible. Some earlier commenters seemed a bit confused, still thinking the egger was the guy with an ear-piece when it’s clearly not him. The guy threatening the photographer is wearing the same dark jacket, has the same distinctive nose, it’s the same man!

255. Dunx

@ Thepnr
    Agreed that whole BT Video needs de-constructed.
    But the one that gets him (as others have noted) is “Red Tory”

256. Dunx

@ Thepnr
    Agreed that whole BT Video needs de-constructed.
    But the one that gets him (as others have noted) is “Red Tory”

257. CameronB Brodie

heedtracker
    Re-industrialisation will lead to Scotland filling up with skilled workers. This is an anathema to neo-liberals, who prefer there workforce dumb and unrepresented.

258. R Knight

A screen grab from the BT/Youtube vid on here please Rev so the racist thug that he is can be ‘outed’. Don’t care if he’s ‘Yes’, ‘No’ or ‘couldn’t give a 4X either way’ this clown needs named and shamed!

259. CameronB Brodie

Harry McAye
    I used to shorten his name to Stu, especially in fron of his girlfriend. 🙂 I suspect an SDL link rather than SLabour.

260. James Caithness

Flooplepoop says:
    29 August, 2014 at 9:44 pm
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDi1OXJn4Vw&feature=youtu.be

The guy who egged JM is on the Ayr part of this film walking from right to left a approx 46 secs.

261. john king

Icy Spark says
    “We want him outed. There is no place for egging someone no matter who it is.”

eh?

262. biecs

Murphy is on BBC radio 4 now, 10.20pm, broadcasting a load of lies about Yes Scotland organising mobs to intimidate his supporters.

263. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I got the standard reply from Jim McGovern, more than a month after having contacted him. Strangely, nearly all Tory representatives responded quickly, personally and with some detail – the most detailed response was from Alex Johnstone. One Lib Dem representative sent me a Better Together booklet. To date I have received six replies, only one from Labour. I don’t expect to get any more. I also contacted Green and SNP politicians, and none of them have replied.”

Can you forward them? I’ve already got Johnstone’s.

264. IcySpark

CameronB said the guys names was bunter.

Well here’s a post regarding the egging by someone called bunter. Related?

http://derekbateman.co.uk/2014/08/29/the-rabble-rouser/#comment-24385

265. ScottieDog

Well maybe folks should appeal to murphy to continue his campaign and stand in silent respect whilst being ever vigilant of this horrible ‘yes’ person. Funnily enough I reckon he wouldn’t appear again.
    Plant if ever there was.

266. CameronB Brodie

James Caithness
    Correct body shape but perhaps a little tall. I’m not certain though and couldn’t make his face out. Sorry.

267. heedtracker

@ CameronB Brodie, Wilson’s protecting the power of the Labour party in Scotland and they cant believe that after 70 years, its all coming to an end. Maybe if just one of these Labour bastards ever went out and did a job of work that took skill and experience and got their soft white hands dirty… but thats just never going to happen.

268. Karmanaut

The egg throwing guy is definitely the guy in the other video fro BT, which means he’s going to be named fairly soon. When that happens, the No camp will probably try to make him the poster boy of the entire Independence movement. The newspapers will go dirt digging. And so on.

I’d even put odd on the Sun getting the guy on the front page with some sort of “Nationalist Thugs” type headline.

Anything to distract people from the real issues.

269. James Caithness

Flooplepoop says:
    29 August, 2014 at 9:44 pm
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDi1OXJn4Vw&feature=youtu.be

Watched it again It is the egger from 41 secs in to about 58 secs.

He first walks left to right brhind JM then he walks right to left behind JM . What does the rest of you think

270. CameronB Brodie

We are looking for someone approx. 5’10”-6′ (in old money).

271. Abaron Nomore

O/T Can anyone help me with information to reassure employees of either Amazon or Hewlett Packard who say they have been told by their respective bosses they will lose their jobs if we vote Yes?

272. Edward

Strange that the egger is totally devoid of any YES badges, stickers and doesn’t really fit the profile of a Yesser.
    In addition that only BT cameras were the only ones in the right place and the right time was lucky

It WAS a put up job, make no mistake about it, with the aim of discrediting Yes supporters and to get Murphy off the hook in ending is flop of a tour

273. Thepnr

@James Caithness

Looks like him to me.

274. CameronB Brodie

Sorry, hadn’t spotted you get a better view when he is walking right to left. I think that’s Stu.

275. Edward

Abaron Nomore
    Do they have anything in writing from either employer?

276. Edward

Abaron Nomore
    Do they have anything in writing from either employer?

277. Edward

That’s weird I pressed the submit comment button once and it repeated my comment ?

278. James Caithness

CameronB Brodie

Its him. He’s wearing the same jacket. Its him.

In Ayr and Kirkcaldy????

Wish I could see the pictures for Cupar.

When I get back home to Cupar from Liverpool on Monday nI intend going through all footage of Murphy;s tour venues.

It is him

279. Karmanaut

@James Caithness

Looks like the same guy to me, too. Which means he was in Ayr and Kirkcaldy and Dundee. So he’s following Murphy around. That’s a bit weird, I have to say.

280. Minty

This Murphy thing is a sideshow, we should rise above it and move on. The MSM are under the misapprehension that they are relevant to this debate, they weren’t relevant in the last Holyrood election and they certainly aren’t now.

Reminding myself of purpose by watching the Iain MacWhirter ‘Road to Referendum’ doc, which someone has kindly put up on YaChoob.

281. CameronB Brodie

If Stu is following Murphy around so obviously, Murphy needs a new security team. No?

282. Thepnr

@Karmanaut

Haven’t saw anything saying he was in Dundee. Where’d you get that from?

283. Black Douglas

While the BT mob get all het up over an egg! and egg ffs

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-28989953

This happens to the FM without a complaint in the media from the Yes campaign.

Kind of puts things into perspective.

284. Abaron Nomore

@Edward

I don’t know but I’d guess not. In the case of Amazon, I gather it is something supervisors are saying. The HP thing I know the company is cutting jobs worldwide, can’t see why SCotland being independent and in EU wouldn’t make it a place to stay in case rUK leaves. But I’m getting this second hand myslef and just wanting to help. These are people who should naturally vote yes (shouldn’t everyone?)

285. Ian Brotherhood

@CameronB –

No. Not if he’s one of the team.

286. James Caithness

No if we expose Murphy and this guy, it damages Murphys credibility.
    am not technically gifted with computers but surely someone can isolate that guys face.
    Then we get police to do something.

287. CameronB Brodie

Doh! 🙂

288. Dave McEwan Hill

The egg thrower is very clearly photographed in today’s Sun – actually before he throws any eggs. He has no YES insignia on him of any sort and the first photograph is not of him throwing eggs but of him of him with an egg in his hand which suggests very firmly to me that the photographer was primed about what was about to happen.

It must be very easy to identify him and if this is not so he is not local.

289. Grouse Beater

A Warning

The British establishment is ramping up the terrorist threat with the keen assistance of BBC, of course. Old newsreel of bombed buses in London and an SUV on fire at Glasgow airport – none related to ISIS.

Plan B in the event of a likely Yes vote is activated on learning the poll difference is negligible – push fear all the way up to 11 and then appeal to the Scots for unity in the face of looming attack from unknown, unseen, and unlocated ‘terrorists.’

290. Hood

James Caithness says:
    “but surely someone can isolate that guys face.”

eezypeezy already has I think, see here.

http://eezypeezylemonsqeezy.com/

291. Edward

Abaron Nomore
    Sounds like its not the official line from either company

Realistically in the bigger scheme of things, companies like Amazon and HP are not bothered either way about Scotland becoming independent.

Sounds like supervisors are No supporters and trying to spread false information

If anything these companies wold be more concerned about England voting to leave the EU. The EU with a handy market of some 600 million

292. Thepnr

Absolute set up, most likely he threw all 3 eggs.

Pathetic.

293. Black Douglas

@James Caithness

I agree James but the fact that no one on wings or within the Yes campaign can identify him speaks volumes.

Either he is a lone wolf or nothing to do with the Yes campaign.

Make up your on mind!

294. Ian Brotherhood

If it transpires that Murphy knew about this ‘assault’ prior to it happening – then feigned ignorance – would any criminal charges be applicable?

295. CameronB Brodie

I’ve heard Hong Kong Phooey is busy, so do you think SLabour’s ‘Truth Team’ can help? Or possibly Officer Bah Brady? Oh, I forgot, the indyref isn’t Fiona Apples.

296. thedogphilosopher

I think I saw one egg come from the grassy knoll.

297. IcySpark

Evidence so far:

CameronB said his name is bunter (Stuart or Stewart)

A post by bunter today (one of 27 comments) on the egging story by Derek Bateman:

“You know the empire is dead when an egging causes the stiff upper lip to be replaced with a quivering upper lip, and that of a former defence secretary to boot. The over the top coverage of this by the media damages them and I notice the BBC is all quiet on the front page story in The Sun about a road rage incident concerning the FM and a NO supporter.

But then the FM has class and doesn’t run squealing to the media at the drop of a hat.”

http://derekbateman.co.uk/2014/08/29/the-rabble-rouser/#comment-24385

298. heedtracker

@thedogphilosopher, I knew J F. Kennedy, Eggs Murphy is no John Kennedy.

299. Hood

IcySpark,
    I think CameronB was replying to Bunter rather than saying the guy was called Bunter.

300. Abaron Nomore

@Edward

Thanks, that’s pretty much what I’ve been saying. Just trying to find if there is some specific threat to reassure them on. When people are told they’ll lose their jobs they want pretty definite reassurances.

I’m told that they say Amazon may well move head office to England if we go indy according to their bosses. I don’t know if that is in any way true and if it might just be a case of brass plate moves but staff stay put anyway. It’s frustrating not being able to find facts.

301. CameronB Brodie

IcySpark
    I’m not sure but I think lines are getting crossed. The guy is called STU and I think bunter is alright btw. I think he is a bonafide good guy.

302. gudge

just bought 25 saltires to be placed about a few shires on the evening of the 17th of september for the morning commuters. got them for £37.50 off amazon. anyone else doing similar?

303. IcySpark

Oh bollocks you are right. My upmost apologies to Bunter. So very sorry.

304. Thepnr

@IcySpark

That is not evidence, it is heresay.

305. IcySpark

*Utmost

306. James Caithness

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3LeeGx1baU

Look at the guy in the maroon jumper not far from the front.

307. Thepnr

@Abaron Nomore

I don’t think Amazon have a head office in Scotland that can be moved to England, I’m sure their head office is in Seattle the US?

Why worry?

308. Grouse Beater

Andy Murray says he is happy to play for Scotland if it’s a Yes vote.

309. CameronB Brodie

Almost certainly a different guy, James. Sorry.

310. Harry McAye

James Caithness – could be him but I think he looks a bit younger in that one. The chucker is very heavy set and has a rounder face imo.

311. Edward

Abaron Nomore
    Actually Amazon’s head office in Europe is in Luxembourg
    not Scotland
    Its presence in Scotland is purely its distribution warehouses
    It has a corporate centre in Slough (of all places)
    http://www.amazon.com/Locations-Careers/b?ie=UTF8&node=239366011

312. BuckieBraes

@Grouse Beater
    If the UK Government is ramping up the terror threat level for the reason you suggest, it stands to backfire; for we have a simple response available to us:

‘Would this be happening to Scotland if it was already independent?’

313. Black Douglas

O/T slightly

Gorgeous George

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-28992601

Apparently someone threw an ostrich egg at him 🙂

314. Grouse Beater

I don’t think Amazon have a head office in Scotland

There’s a large Amazon distribution centre off the M90 near Edinburgh. I think it employs over 1000 staff.

It was built with a £2.5 million state grant – more accurately described as welfare support from the state.

It has a smaller distribution center near Gourock with over 1,000 temporary staff at peak sales times.

Amazon, you’ll recall, doesn’t pay much tax or consider recycling its profits in local society.

Salmond is quoted saying, “These jobs are a welcome boost to the economy,” which is factually correct, however, the SNP has a long way to go to overthrow neo-con policies and supplant them with something more beneficial to us all.

315. Abaron Nomore

@Thepnr

Yeah, of course, just quoting what an employee said. Possibly she meant their Development Centre in Edinburgh. I’m asking her for more information on the threat to her job. If employees, even in a single department, are being told a Yes vote will cost them their jobs then it would be really useful to be able to categorically show that this is untrue. That’s why I’m bothering.

316. CameronB Brodie

I thought it was a Stilt egg. 🙂

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stilt

317. Democracy Reborn

@Ian Brotherhood 10.45pm

1.Wasting police time.
    2. Attempting to pervert the course of justice.

318. Black Douglas

@CameronB Brodie

Nonsense 😀

319. tinyzeitgeist

I don’t think a witch hunt is helpful here. This will be interpreted the wrong way, and to UKOK advantage.

320. CameronB Brodie

James Caithness
    You get a perfect full-frontal face shot at 1:49. Different jawline, different nose, different eyebrows, different haircut and colour. Not him.

321. Andy A

@Abaron Nomore

I used to work for HP in Scotland but was made redundant a few months ago – part of a worldwide staff reduction exercise and totally unrelated to local politics. No management in HP would ever express views about job prospects in the event of a Yes vote. They don’t operate like that. HP operate directly in 70-80 countries worldwide. Why would one more make any difference ?

322. thedogphilosopher

Chanced upon Alex Salmond being ‘interviewed’ by Craig Ferguson in America … On YouTube …. AS very up for a laugh, even at his own expense, but still some very wise statements …. Sorry, can’t do the link thing …

323. Black Douglas

@tinyzeitgeist

Surely you mean an egg hunt 🙂 but in all seriousness how so?

If we out the egg chucker he will be either one of two things.

An over excited idiot or a false flag agitator.

324. Abaron Nomore

@Andy A

Thanks, that confirms what I thought I knew about HP’s worldwide cuts. I hope I can get more background to the apparent threat that this guy’s job would definitely go on independence but I can’t tonight. Thanks for your background info, it will be helpful I think.

325. CameronB Brodie

test

326. CameronB Brodie

The BT film has a perfect full frontal of my ex-flatmate at 7:33. I’m sure it won’t be long until he is being interviewed by Police Scotland. Sleep well Stu and Jim.

327. Liquid Lenny

Just back in the door from the Isle of Man, the Manx Government sprung a poo tax on the population this year £50 a skull, said they had to do it due to overspend the year before.

I was in a shop in Douglas today, talking to the owner, he saw my YES wrist band, and commented that he hoped we would go for it, most Manx are on our side. Anyways I mentioned that it would be good to be close to the politicians. He said that Alan Bell the Chief Minister of the Manx Government came into his shop the other week and picked up a toy with a price tag of £7.99 The shopkeeper said its not actually £7.99 anymore its now £12.99, I overspend on my budget last year and have put up the prices without notice to cover for my incompetent budgeting. Apparently Mr Bell was not amused and walked out. I thought that was brilliant still puts a smile on my face thinking about it several hours later

328. Ian Brotherhood

@Democracy Reborn –

Cheers.

Is there such an offence as ‘impersonating a public servant’?

“‘ello, ‘ello, ‘ello…”

329. BigAL

Hey Guys first post, grabbed this off Reporting Scotland on iplayer.

https://imageshack.com/i/ipUc7TB0p

330. fairmersloon

I have flown throgh the comments, but in in case someone has not already said this, can someone not plead with Jim to keep up the good work? I think that his contribution to the debate is invaluable, and there is possibly nobody else who could perform the task better than he.

331. ronnie anderson

Ave run oota Irn Bru ah think a’ll hiv a EggNog.

332. CameronB Brodie

I don’t want to get folks hopes up, but I think I’ve just remembered Stu’s second name. The Rev. has been dully informed. Never felt so happy before, about being a clipe. 🙂

333. HandandShrimp

I get the impression that Murphy has been actively touting for abuse simply so he can get air time and act the prissy prima donna. It is pathetic. I have no idea whether the egg thrower is a Yes supporter, a straight forward ned or a plant. Murphy seems so desperate to play the “abuse” card that the latter seems wholly likely. Generally speaking egg lobbers are clocked and lifted. It seems odd that this one melted into thin air.

Murphy says the first 70 days have been fine, perhaps my mind is playing tricks but I thought he was mumping about Yes hecklers from the off.

It may sound harsh but I think Murphy is an intemperate chancer.

334. Karmanaut

@Thepnr

I thought the egging was in Dundee. My mistake if it was Kirkcaldy.

335. Thepnr

Here Ronnie an Irn Bru for yeh.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-OvpaDIBWQ

336. R Knight

Tinyzeitgeist

If an individual wishes to act in a manner which has adverse consequences for the entire Yes movement then I’m afraid a “witch hunt” is exactly what is to be expected.

The motivation of this individual, who also exhibits threatening behaviour towards the photographer in addition to the actual assault on JM, is highly questionable, and I for one want him outed irrespective of his politics.

If anything, by exposing this individual to both the full force of the law and to wider public opinion, the Yes movement will be rightly seen as not being prepared to tolerate such knuckle-draggers supposedly acting on behalf of us all.

Name and shame I say!

337. Harry McAye

CameronB – Just what I was staying up for! If he turns out to be a Yes, all well and good but if…if it’s a put up job, well, we can go to town on it.

338. HandandShrimp

Just read about the attack on Galloway in London, makes the Murphy stuff look like kindergarten.

339. CameronB Brodie

I suppose we should perhaps be a bit more caefull about what we say on the subject. Pitty. 🙂

340. Thepnr

@CameronB

Pity is spelt with one t. I’ll be keeping an eye on your posts in future. 🙂

341. CameronB Brodie

342. Twenty14

Someone tweeted that there seemed to be a hellava lot of cameras and cameramen when JM was bludgeoned with the egg. Is this amount of camera people the norm for his crate speeches around the country

343. Karmanaut

Another couple of the egg guy.

http://imgur.com/cLdLmo4,Lz6PsLN#0

344. Twenty14

hee hee we have more Police and Detectives than Scotland yard

345. Ian Brotherhood

Not sure if this link should include the http bit or not, but hopefully it’ll take you to the real ‘money-shot’ for the Murphy team’s ‘eggstravaganza’.

Derek McKay (sp?) is the speaker for Yes.

Their overview of indy-ref related matters starts at 8 mins 30 secs. They discuss Murphy’s travails from 12 mins 50 secs until 18 mins 30 secs, then do a Punch/Judy routine until 22.30.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04fc9qk

346. CameronB Brodie

I told No Better Together Thanks, that I was watching them. We all are. 🙂

347. creag an tuirc

Maybe the egg thrower thought Jim Murphy was a YES activist (there were lots of YES stuff around him) and you know how some of the no persuaion are not open to listening to the Yes argument. just saying 🙂

348. Dunx

Sorry to obsess about this but my earlier observation about the ‘Egger’s’ strange gesture that I thought resembled an old communist party salute (in the BT video) actually isn’nt. It’s a ‘..don’t take my photo…’ gesture towards the “baldy proper photographer” who seems to be objecting to one random bloke(Egger) with camera/phone. When half the folk (including himself) are doing the same( hey reportage, historic times , citizen journalism ,Art even). Also ‘Egger’ seems to have no fall out with “Real” photographer who is capturing all this, on film.
    Then “proper baldy photographer”runs up to Jim saying “He called me English…and and….” !!!
    And Jim launches into the “…this is racism…” spiel .
    Result ‘Egger’/’Plant’ moves on to phase 2 and delivers Coup de Grace with eggs.
    Job done, oxygen of publicity for Jim and new Saville Row suit trimmed with ermine to replace Tesco’s white shirt and off the peg trousers.
    But I’ll agree with that word Jim used at the start of the BT video “Sinister”

349. Dunx

Sorry to obsess about this but my earlier observation about the ‘Egger’s’ strange gesture that I thought resembled an old communist party salute (in the BT video) actually isn’nt. It’s a ‘..don’t take my photo…’ gesture towards the “baldy proper photographer” who seems to be objecting to one random bloke(Egger) with camera/phone. When half the folk (including himself) are doing the same( hey reportage, historic times , citizen journalism ,Art even). Also ‘Egger’ seems to have no fall out with “Real” photographer who is capturing all this, on film.
    Then “proper baldy photographer”runs up to Jim saying “He called me English…and and….” !!!
    And Jim launches into the “…this is racism…” spiel .
    Result ‘Egger’/’Plant’ moves on to phase 2 and delivers Coup de Grace with eggs.
    Job done, oxygen of publicity for Jim and new Saville Row suit trimmed with ermine to replace Tesco’s white shirt and off the peg trousers.
    But I’ll agree with that word Jim used at the start of the BT video “Sinister”

350. Morag

I’m sure Cameron is right. He’s unerringly picked the right guy out of the two videos and rejected the suggestions of people who clearly weren’t the same guy on further examination.

Names come to you if you just give your subconscious time to sort through the filing cabinet and hand it over to the conscious mind. Sounds as if Cameron’s subconscious has done the trick.

If he can remember the address of the flat and the time when he lived there it might be possible for the authorities to get his identity from the voters’ roll or something like that. This is important enough to make the effort.

The guy looks like a complete thug and as someone says he doesn’t fit the profile of a Yes activist. No badges either. I’m SURE it was a set-up to discredit Yes, the only question being whether Murphy and/or his team knew about it or whether it was independently organised.

Even if the guy does appear to be a Yes supporter, that proves nothing. Anyone could have pretended to support Yes at a couple of meetings to pave the way for something like this. If he’s long-term SDF with no connection to Yes Scotland that would prove Murphy is lying in his teeth.

351. Deontas

Folks

I have just looked at the video posted by Icyspark @ 7.09pm & the video posted by James Caithness @ 9.44pm, Look at the footwear and jacket…….To me the footwear is very similar……….yes proves nothing BUT……

All the best folks.

352. Marco McGinty

The video shown on the Scotsman website, clearly shows 4 eggs being thrown before the one is splattered on Murphy’s back. The first three come from the right hand side, near the blue umbrella, at approximately 10 seconds, 14 seconds and 18 seconds, with the third one hitting Murphy. The egg thrower then moves to the other side of the Yes banners, and throws the fourth egg at approximately 34 seconds, then casually walks up to Murphy and plants an egg on his back.

So you would have to question the security issue. This person can throw four eggs within the space of twenty four seconds, he walks up to Murphy for the final splattering and walks away without any challenge whatsoever from Murphy’s supporters? It does seem a bit unusual.

CameronB, the person you believe it to be, his surname wouldn’t happen to be Boyd by any chance?

353. CameronB Brodie

I could quite easily identify the address. I’m going back to about 2001-2002, so not quite twenty years. I will testify in court, that the egg thrower is an ex-flatmate of mine. At that time, his views were not those of a Yes supporter, let alone activist.

354. boris

OK OK an egg for goodness sake. Poor old George Galloway is in hospital in LONDON suffering a broken jaw after being attacked this evening

355. CameronB Brodie

Marco McGinty
    That wasn’t the name I’ve suggested.

356. Thepnr

@boris

Why has him being attacked in relation to events in Palastine anything to do with the referendum?

357. Adrian B

Everyone should take part in this:
    http://games.usvsth3m.com/scotchland-postcode-referendum/

358. Flooplepoop

Murphy needed a get out a jail card before getting to Glasgow.
    He knew that he’d be torn apart in Glasgow by Labour supporters, this was his way out.
    If this was an actual Yes person, the police would’ve got him by now, like the firebomb threat on the BT shop, nothing happened there as well.

359. Morag

The whole tour is bizarre. A senior MP, over three months on the road, standing on street corners talking to nobody but his own supporters. He’s not even hiring halls and advertising meetings to attract the undecided. It’s senseless. Did they ever think this was a good use of anybody’s time?

The way he shouts and bullies people is pretty much asking for trouble. I do wonder if that wasn’t in the back of someone’s mind when this whole gig was devised. But they only got shouting, not violence.

The telling thing for me was that the Yes heckling was most certainly not organised. It was individuals and small groups who didn’t have the sense to restrain themselves and showed up off their own bat. The ones in Motherwell were obviously disaffected Labour supporters. It was genuine local grass-roots feeling.

But then someone on Twitter tweets Murphy’s next couple of stops and says, let’s go along and make it memorable. I saw the tweet and didn’t think much of it beyond “oh I do wish you wouldn’t”. But now that tweet is forming part of the BT case that Yes Scotland is orchestrating these “mobs”.

What the hell do they think? That Blair Jenkins is emailing us all telling us to go and attack Murphy? If Blair Jenkins could strike these guys down with a thought, he’d do it. The heckling and so on is obviously only going to damage Yes – it’s just that some people are so riled by by Labour’s behaviour they go on and do it anyway.

Now the egg. No way was that a regular Yes activist. Put up job by Murphy? Or by someone else, just using Murphy to get the desired effect? Whoever it is, I’ll just bet that no connection can be established to any organised Yes group. I mean, honestly. Can anyone imagine going happily out leafleting with that Neanderthal?

360. Marco McGinty

@CameronB

OK, cheers. The reason I asked because there was a neo-Nazi jailed in the Lothians this year, and he bore a resemblance to the egg-thrower (to my eyes, anyway). Obviously not the same person, as the jailbird is much younger, but considering the perceived similarity, and the racist connotations, I thought it was worth pursuing.

361. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    Pardon me butting in, but I’ve commented in OT about Jim’s involvement with the Friends of Israel, for a few reasons that could really be boiled down to two biggies, IMO.

– Jim and Anas sharing the same platform is perhaps an example of Labour plurality, but I’d call it hypocrisy. Particularly as the issue at hand is of such critical importance for the Palestinians. Should SLabour not have a more principled stance?

– I see this hypocrisy as emblematic of a deeper crises, i.e. creeping fascism.

Have a read of this and see if you can spot any parallels.

Signs of fascism in Israel reached new peak during Gaza op, says renowned scholar

Israel Prize laureate and renowned scholar Zeev Sternhell fears the collapse of Israeli democracy, and compares the current atmosphere with that of 1940s’ France. The time we have left to reverse this frightening trend is running out, he warns

http://www.haaretz.com/news/features/.premium-1.610368

Fascism Grips Israel
    http://www.globalresearch.ca/fascism-grips-israel/5397588

362. Ian Brotherhood

@Morag –

Some have suggested that Murphy’s being groomed to take over from Lamont.

I don’t know enough about inner SLab machinations to offer any insight on that, but his strategy is suitably narcissistic – ‘Look, I went on the road, got on my Irn Bru crates, took them on face to face. Okay, we lost, but at least I tried…’ etc etc…

That post-Yes scenario would allow SLab to jettison Lamont, install The Murph, and claim they were doing so because the latter demonstrated the ‘street-cred’ expected of genuine Scottish Labourites.

The dogs in the street (across at least 82 Scottish cities and towns at the last count) know that Jim Murphy is about as ‘socialist’ as Edwina Currie, albeit slightly more attractive to Scots in general. But that won’t affect his stock so far as Miliband HQ is concerned – they have to get rid of Oor Johann, but cannot do so until they have a replacement lined-up.

Murphy – for reasons which will perhaps never be known – appears to have volunteered for the job. And he’s making ‘the most of it’, so to speak.

Go figure…

363. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    I picked you up wrong. Night night. 😉

364. Balaaargh

This stinks. The individual hangs around unchallenged for too long and then no-one goes after him? His stooges are more than happy to get in the face of genuine opposition but this guy walks in and out without a whisper? Past the Fife labour mafia? Aye, right!

365. Footsoldier

BBC website tonight.

“Labour MP Jim Murphy suspends his Scotland-wide tour ahead of the independence referendum, citing “co-ordinated abuse” from “Yes” voters.”

The inverted commas at the beginning and end of the quote are mine. Note the Yes also in inverted commas. What does this mean? Yes or not Yes are responsible for egg throwing?

I think the egg thrower should be outed. If from Yes condemned if from No condemned.

366. Morag

Ian, good point. Doing it for his own career rather than any minimal effect it might have on the vote.

367. Ian Brotherhood

@Morag –

You supporting CamB on this Murph-stuff is fantastic.

Love is all around.

A tiny, but important example of how united we are.

The blessings of all known gods be upon youse both, and all the rest of us.

Breathe in…breathe out…

Almost there people…almost there.

368. chossy

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-28989953

When you share this story on facebook it gives you a thumbnail of alex salmond looking a bit silly.

369. Rob

Mr Murphy does however appear to have answered the age-old conundrum. The egg clearly came first, the chicken followed thereafter.

370. Morag

I’m not convinced Murphy’s crew would be so stupid as to use someone who could be identified as one of his group to wield the eggs. It’s more likely the egg-man was an independent operator also intent on discrediting Yes.

Still doesn’t mean there couldn’t have been some collusion though.

371. Paula Rose

Chossy dear – who’s “alex salmond” – gosh I wish people would concentrate on the main item – Should Scotland Be An Independent Country.

372. Ian Brotherhood

@Morag –

Agreed. It would signify extraordinary stupidity.

But then again, when you consider the arrogance and sheer chutzpah of many SLabbers?…

Regardless of how many ‘wheels within wheels’ are operating here – if Murphy gets nailed on this, he’s nailed good and proper.

373. Paula Rose

Are we agreed that all eggs must be free range, organic and not wasted on silly people’s clothing? Can we have that written into our Constitution?

374. CameronB Brodie

How aware have No Better Together Thank shown themselves to be, with regard to how social media works? Or the internet for that matter? Or even the 21st century, if you want to get picky? 🙂

375. CameronB Brodie

Sorry fols…..

How aware have No Better Together Thank shown themselves to be, with regard to understanding how social media works? …….

376. Paula Rose

CameronB honey – how are you doll! Music Maestro Magician!

377. CameronB Brodie

I’m well Paula and hope you are as well. I thought I should put the records away as we’ve got more important things to take care of. Hope you spotted the radio station I posted in OT. I thought you might enjoy it.

378. Ken

Something is very rum indeed about the No campaign, mainly because it is hardly to be seen apart from on the TV. Yet the polls all show that the Unionists are ahead in the polls – so why are they not strutting their stuff?

My take is that they are embarrassed by their own supporters.

379. Defo

Is the Egg now the biological equivalent of Woody Guthrie’s guitar ?

Lion branded, and a ridiculous granny deafier !
    Come the telling of The Tale, is this how the contribution of Eastwood’s warmonger of choice , Le Grande Tour, be known ?
    What sort of psychopathy can resolve voting for a clearly career enhancing, undeniably illegal act,which would result in untold misery & death for millions , and which is still bearing dire consequences today, and on our behalf mind, with keeking his kecks at an egging,or using it as an excuse to bale out of his embarrassing failure ? A Freudian field day.

British lion Murphy.
    Clearly, the ‘wank’, in the good guy, good guy , wank sketch.
    Many schadens will be utterly freuded, if this turns out to be a false flag.
    And was it Fifi, in drag !

Come on Murphy. Get back over the top. England expects.

380. Paula Rose

Ken dear – don’t give them any clues.

381. Betty Boop

@ Morag. 12.37am

The way he shouts and bullies people is pretty much asking for trouble. I do wonder if that wasn’t in the back of someone’s mind when this whole gig was devised. But they only got shouting, not violence.

T’other half said, after seeing Murphy in one of our streets, then his performance in Ayr a few weeks back, that his impression was that he was out to incite people. He also reckoned that he would “manufacture” something to tarnish Yes supporters.

He had a conversation with one of our group before getting on his soap box, agreed with her view of how our block grant would end up being cut because of policies such as privatising NHS England (we could just raise taxes instead according to Jim M) and took a leaflet from her about NHS. Then when he started shouting through his precious microphone and yelled that the leaflet was full of lies, despite his prior conversation. Continually shouted about “they”, “them”, “nationalists”. Screaming like a banshee the entire time, even though there was only a small group around.

As far as the “egg man” is concerned, I find it odd that people barely looked round or that anyone attempted to follow him. Murphy has minders.

I saw John King post that he thought the man might be ex-military or similar because of the way he walked swinging his arms, but, looking at videos, I reckon he is more “ned”. Military,in my experience, swing arms forward and back; this guy’s arm swings seemed bowed and sloppy. The images are clear and I hope he is found.

As for Murphy, he knows exactly what he is doing and I am surprised that the police haven’t lifted him for incitement to violence/hatred or, at the very least, just for being a public nuisance.

All is probably not as it appears here.

382. Michael McCabe

Good Morning Defo. Hope you are keeping well mate. Tam says Hi. Its Funny watching Murphy trying to Climb up the Greasy pole again. He knows he is finished in westmidden and that is why he has been despatched to Scotland. to take over from Lamont as soon as the independence party kicks of on the 19th of September. Vote Yes.

383. Fast Eddy

The whole egg thing stinks IMHO.

384. Malcontent

I do condemn the egg thrower, whatever his motives. But poor old George Galloway is in hospital tonight with a broken jaw. Meanwhile Mr Murphy has to send a minion to the laundrette. The seething OUTRAGE, have you seen the cost of a boil wash these days?
    Any truth that Murph has been hospitalised with a bad case of shell shock?

Man up, Jimbo.

385. donald anderson

Was Galloway attacked by Labour Friends of Israel?

Makes the Smurph look like a storm in a dinosaur egg cup.

386. Malcontent

Apparently the alleged attacker was shouting something about holocaust denial. Obviously coordinated by Mr Salmond and the YES campaign. Must rush out and buy the Telegraph……

387. Calgacus

Jim Murphy is a big girls blouse and everyone sees right through his childish antics.

388. Ken500

Murphy is scared to go to Glasgow.

Murphy supports Israel. It is Russian fascists who hold the balance of power in Israel. Israel is an apartheid, facist State. Israel should have been sanctioned years ago, but US politicians want the support of the Jewish vote and money. 1 in 6 Americans is of Jewish descent. 5 in 6 aren’t.

389. john king

Harry Mcaye says
    “The guy threatening the photographer is wearing the same dark jacket, has the same distinctive nose, it’s the same man!”

Sorry very tired last night, the impression I was getting from your comment was that the guy arguing with the photographer wes proof he was a yes man, I heard Murphy leap into that argument shouting about English people having as much right as anyone else who lives here to have a vote, I thing that argument was staged to let him go on about how racist (which he did) the yes campaign were.

390. mr thms

# John King

In the STV link provided by Tony Little, the same photographer sees the man he argued with (off camera) and quickly positions himself behind Jim Murphy just before the man hits him on the back with egg. Does this mean they knew each other? Also noticeable is the way the egg man marched off afterwards.

391. CameronB Brodie

Head down and a brisk march away. No fleeing as that might draw attention. Almost as if he has been coached. 🙂

Seriously, I have no inside knowledge and I think further speculation, other than as to his present location, might prove counter productive. When I knew him he was just a daft radge. I wonder what the silly man has gotten himself involved in. This could be huge, if collusion is established.

392. Malcontent

Lots of clear mug shots of the egg thrower, has anyone named him yet?

393. CameronB Brodie

I might have, last night.

394. CameronB Brodie

In a private e-mail to the Rev.

395. john king

“Never felt so happy before, about being a clipe. :)”

Its no like ye CameronB, I thought you got great pleasure oot o bein a clype? 🙂

396. Malcontent

i am just surprised his name is not all over social media by now, very clear photo. Just a little odd, Kirkcaldy is no that big after all.

397. CameronB Brodie

Malcontent
    He’s from Edinburgh. Pilrig or around about originally, I think. Perhaps Leith or Ferry Road. The north side anyway.

398. CameronB Brodie

Sorry, Ferry Road isn’t exactly specific. Maybe Bonnington or the surrounds. 😉

399. highseastim

Let’s put things in perspective, Murphy got a soiled shirt and a massively hurt ego, and although I don’t agree with the egg throwers actions, he got off likely compared to the thousands of Iraqi, innocent men, women and children, who were slain thanks to Murphy and his ilk voting for an illegal war on the back of lies. The man should be in front of a war crimes tribunal along with the majority of the main players in the “bitter together” campaign!!

400. CameronB Brodie

Might publishing his name not prejudice further legal action?

401. CameronB Brodie

…any future legal action. Sorry.

402. john king

We can all come to any conclusion we like to fit our suspicions but thats the way I see it as well mr thms,

I just wish we (the wife and I ) had had the foresight to follow that guy because the lane he dissappers up takes him to first of all the bus station, but walk through the bus station and turn down Hunter street and a few doors along ,what do we have? a NO SHOP. walking distance from the scene of the attack probably about 500 yards.

403. john king

“Sorry John but also.”

CLIPE

404. mr thms

The same photographer who had an altercation with the ‘egg’ man before the egg incident took place, is also seen in this clip from earlier in the day in Leven..

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/news/politics/jim-murphy-egged-in-kirkcaldy-1.547723

405. john king

Malcontent says
    “Man up, Jimbo.”

Cumon Mal you do know Jim was in Afghanistan?
    he told us so he said “when I was in Afghanistan” see?

406. BigRik

Hopefully he will now be silent… after saying he would not be silenced. Usual SLAB logic at work 🙂

407. john king

Lochside says

Checked out ‘I am the Eggman Murphy’ on Wikipedia…9 years at uni and didnae graduate?…Only job was as ‘Director’ of Endsleigh Insurance whilst NUS big shot?

This guy is a lazy self-seeking parasite. He’s never had a real job, he insults people in the street by bellowing lying crap wrapped in a Union Jack. This pseudo Irish republican/Brit Nat charlatan participates in a set up ‘assault’ on himself in order to give the Unionist msm more shite to print.

He epitomises in the true sense the archetypal Slab Judas with his claw permanently held out for Westminster’s 30 pieces of silver.”

Apart from that a good egg! 🙂

408. john king

paul gerard mccormack says

Jim Murphy’s stunt wasn’t a political hustings. It was pure agit-prop designed to goad the audience to a reaction.

Exactly the feeling I was getting from him,
    this guy was going out of his way to stir up the crowd,
    no doubt about it, and as such should have been arrested for breach of the peace!

409. CameronB Brodie

John, collusion has not yet been established. It definitely looks set up though.

410. john king

Ian Brotherhood says
    “Oh goody – nothing like a manhunt.”

What?
    like this you mean?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_cczIWvBq4&list=PLYklBovQQP5RBptHTW7XOpPKYcEAp0Z46

411. BigRik

As i said before.. he tried to get me involved in an argument because i was walking by with a saltire t-shirt on. Of course he was quite right , how dare someone wear their own country’s flag… i must be a nazi.

412. john king

Im not even talking about collusion CameronB
    his behavour from the get go, the minute he stood on those crates was a man who was totally determined to stir the yes crowd up into a frenzy, and beleive me he KNEW that would not have taken much,

Dissapointingly the atmosphere before his appearace was pretty febrile and I found myself getting caught up in the sense of anticipation which was one of the reasons I distanced myself from the other yes people because I wanted to keep a steady head so I could land a telling blow on his arguments and no one listens to a wild eyed nutcase,
    hence why my wife never listens to me. 😉

413. CameronB Brodie

Sorry John, I picked you up wrong there. I should remember it’s always by the tail. 🙂 Right, time for bed now the early shift has turned up. I just thought I should hang around and make sure the story didn’t get distorted.

Only joking John, virus don’t have tails as far as I’m aware. 😉

414. john king

Galloway gets six bells knocked out of him in London
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4uivPpzCGo

Thank Christ the security guys didnt get a chance to get him in the back of a helecopter and dump him groaning in pain in the middle of Possilpark. 😉

415. Free Scotland

When ranting at Ayr a few weeks back, egg-head said: “I will never, ever be made to feel like a foreigner in my own country.” How can he sleep at night, knowing that he was complicit with Bush and Blair in instigating an illegal war which left uncounted thousands unable to feel either a sense of being foreign or a sense of belonging in their own country, because they are now dead? Oh, I forgot, he’s too busy organising contrived eggings with the rent-a-thug agency to worry about such trivial details.

416. T222Deracha

Daily Record today, with hysterical banner headlines “CALL OF THE MOB” on pages 4 and 5. Various other hysterical musings on the two page spread.
    On page 35 on a small side banner, six small paragraphs describing a death threat to the First Minister of Scotland as a “joke”. It actually went to court and the “joker” was admonished.
    These people really make no secret of their bias against democracy, despite the protestations of Jim Murphy, the media are their sock puppets.
    Just wondering why Jim Murphy is encroaching on other MP’s constituencies, when it should be “Scottish” Labour MSP’s who should be out on the campaign trail. Imagine the reaction if the YES folks decided to campaign in England for the General Election. If Jim Murphy is screeching for anything it is Westminster NOT Scotland.

417. john king

T222Deracha says
    “On page 35 on a small side banner, six small paragraphs describing a death threat to the First Minister of Scotland as a “joke”. It actually went to court and the “joker” was admonished.”

Yea and the little idiot instead of hiding his face under a hoodie stands there smiling for the camera’s
    If he had tried the with the presedent of the United States, he wouldn’t be smiling for the cameras he would be dead.

418. T222Deracha

Sorry, “CALL OFF THE MOB”, blood pressure rising, hopefully the voters will decide to try a different way of doing things and vote a resounding “Yes” on 18th September.

419. JWil

It’s nice to see that ‘nice’ Douglas Alexander getting his comeuppance from his own party over the insulting, Better Together broadcast.

There is one word that exactly describes Douglas. A word which exemplifies very well the power of everyday Scottish language, sleekit.

420. JWil

There is an article about the egg throwing event in the Independent today, accompanied by a picture. Here is what a poster has said about the picture:

“By the way the photo at the top of the page does not relate to the egging of Mr Murphy incident. Perhaps it relates to the visit of Alistair Darling to a Scottish Mosque where he was accused of having blood on his hands?”

421. Andy Nimmo

From today’s Daily Comic sorry Record..

‘A police spokesman said “We sent an email to Mr Murphy’s office to advise that while no complaint had been received we were treating the egg-throwing incident as a criminal act and asking him to get in touch.
    So far we have not had a response”

To me that translates into “We now know what you and your Better Together cronies are up to Murphy. Do it again and we’ll do you for wasting police time.”

422. Greannach

– What do you call a right-wing unfunny comedian who supports the Labour Party?
    – Eggie Murphy

423. Greannach

I see Sincerity Jim is dismayed by the anti-English sentiment expressed by vile hecklers. Is he English? Has he left any box unticked?

424. les Wilson

john king says:

I was genuinely sorry for old matter hatter Galloway. Cough,Cough,Cough, sorry need to go, something stuck in my throat!

425. Colin Church

400+ posts..? Time to get out canvassing.

426. HandandShrimp

Poor Jim Murphy

I posted this on the Guardian last night…Arnie the Govenator was egged in Calafornia. Did Arnie rant and rave like Murphy? Did Arnie invoke Godwin + infinity?

No, Arnie said, “he still owes me the bacon to go with the egg”.

Jim you are a fud.

427. Free Scotland

George Galloway tells us aw tae just say naw,
    But he didnae tak his ain advice when asked aboot his jaw,
    The nurse said: “Tell me, George, does it hurt there when I press?”
    With a voice that would have roused the dead, George yelled: YES!!

428. Chic McGregor

A couple of things.

I noticed on the video that there were guys there with some pretty high-end looking cameras. Press photographers? Didn’t notice any in the videos of other Murphy rabble rowsings. If so, how come?

Also Murphy’s whol;e tactics seem to me analogous to those used in professional football. You know, the diving specialist whose main aim is to invite tackles and at the first hint of a leg being left in throws himself to the ground looking for a penalty. The worst ones will writhe about in faux agony trying to get the miscreant/suckered defender sent off. A tactic which infuriates lovers of the beautiful game. Can’t recall any player with the brass neck to complain about the management of the other team though. Very occasionally, after a long string of ‘incidents’ another manager might hint at the managing ethos of another team, but even these are few and far between incidents and have always created controversy.

Suppose, in a way, 70+ ‘matches’ without any such incident demonstrates remarkable discipline from the opposing teams.

CameronB I assume you have thought about contacting old co-associates who might remember the guy’s name?
    Funnily enough, our large student flat had a guy called Stewart and I cannot remember his surname.
    Mind you, he left after about a term and a half. Us other three guys and a girl all had girlfriends and a boyfriend who more or less co-resided, so the poor chap must have had pretty bad gooseberry syndrome. He wasn’t an asshole by the way.

429. CameronB Brodie

Chic McGregor
    I’m afraid our only other long-term flatmate is no longer with us Chic, and I’ve not kept in touch with anyone from that period, who would be able to help.

430. fittie

Murphy flys under false colours —never a union jack at his “hustings “

431. KenC

Jim Murphy is a rabble rouser of the old brigade. All heat, no light. He has a box and a microphone, but still feels the need to shout. Like all his BT buddies, his delivery is the vocal equivalent of a coked up hamster on a wheel.

If YES groups could organize something meaningful, I would suggest silence, en masse. Let him exhaust his repertoire as he slowly stews in his own bile. Saying nothing, contributing less.

432. Chic McGregor

Too bad.

433. Chic McGregor

Stevenson College have an on line graduates/alumni list?

434. Brian Doonthetoon

For the benefit of those not on Facebook, this is from the “SCOTLAND’S DRAGON FOR INDY” FB page. It’s about Jim Murphy’s appearance in Dundee a couple of days ago.

I leave it to the reader to work out if Murphy was trying to be deliberately confrontational.

—————————————-

Harry Marshall Snr?
    28 August

Well what can I say?

I was out doing my bit for scotlands independence. I Started my day of with a wee trip to Wormit to spend the morning with Simon Sword. We had a great stroll around the village getting information to my fellow Scots.

In the afternoon I came back into dundee and joined up with Deb Campbell Brown and the team to help people register for the vote.

AND THEN!

the most vile disgusting man I have ever met turned up JIM MURPHY.

I decided to go forward and ask a question that is very close to my heart. My question was simple and after a few attempts of shouting it Jim Murphy pointed to me and asked me what my question was.

It was this…..

JIM

I served for my country and Westminster sent me and my fellow Scottish soldiers to fight in illegal wars. We where sent in first and we were under equipped for the job in hand.

What do YOU make of that?

The man looked right into my eyes whilst still poining at me, sniggered and this is what he said.

IS THAT THE BEST YOU HAVE GOT

as you can imagine I was severely disgusted by this to the point that I actually wanted to cry with anger.

I have lost so many friends and hundreds more permanently maimed for life due to these illegal wars and this man a fellow Scot dispersed of us like we where nothing.

IS THAT THE BEST YOU HAVE GOT!! I personally hope you choke on them words Jim.

Let’s fight hard for independence and show this horrible man that we care for the young scottish men and women fighting for Scotland to be a safe place to live by bringing them under Scottish control and never having to fight an illegal war again.

RIP MY FRIENDS
    —————————————-

435. Malcolm

No one knows this guy??? Seriously? Just too odd, the whole thing.

436. Chic McGregor

Shocking Brian.

437. CameronB Brodie

Malcolm
    I think there are plenty of folk with that info, but it isn’t the sort of thing to post publicly.

438. Jim Thomson

This just appeared on Twitter:

https://twitter.com/billbanjos/status/505645479716487168

I thought that “ear-piece” bloke and “egg” bloke were already identified as NOT being the same person.

The Tweeter seems to think otherwise.

439. CameronB Brodie

Smoke and mirrors. 100% misdirection.

440. Jim Thomson

Now that I read the entire thing – others agree that it’s not the same bloke.

[note to self – READ THE WHOLE EFFING THING BEFORE POSTING IN FUTURE]

441. gillie

Eggie Murphy – love it.

442. Archibald the Grim

Eggs may be dressed in a multiplicity of ways, but seldom more relished in any form than in a well made, expeditiously served omelette.’ So says Victorian cookery writer Jim Murphy, and things have not changed. He has said everything I want to say. If I can teach you how to master the well made, expeditiously served omelette then I will have served you well, because you’ll never be short of one of life’s simplest, quickest and most pleasant dishes.

443. donald anderson

Could it be Israeli Murphy that attacked the gorgeous one in his Holy City of London.?

444. BornOptimist

The STV clip clearly shows the egg thrower so someone must be able to identify him. Who is he? Is he a disgruntled voter, possibly a Yes supporter, or simply a provocateur?

445. Suzanne Bosworth

“Jim, we’ve had a think and we’re not sure your tour is doing us any favours on the No side. You’re alienating people.”

” … But …”

“It’s probably best if you stop doing them.”

” … But … ”

“Don’t worry. You won’t lose face. We’ll just blame it on the Yes side. Now, here’s the plan …”

446. Peter Mirtitsch

Jim Murphy – “I will not be silenced by a nationalist mob”. Only a few things wrong there;

It wasn’t a mob – they were a legal assembly, not breaking the law
    It wasn’t all nationalists – poeple of all political flavours were there
    A short time after this he scrapped the rest of his tour.

So let’s just review this;

He WAS silenced by one guy who may or may not have been part of a legally convened, non violent assembly of people from across the political spectrum…:)

447. gus1940

According to Murphy speaking on Murnaghan his meetings have been attacked by mobs of hundreds of intimidsting YES thugs.

Given the number of photos available of of his ‘Ranting Around Scotland Tour’ I have yet to see one with more than a couple of dozen people in the audience and that includes his own travelling circus of fans, any YES supporters intimidatory or otherwise and the few members of the public curious enough to witnes his ranting provocation.

It is no surprise that the media both Scottish and National have leapt with glee on the EggGate Bandwagon shouting it from the rooftops with Murphy all over the papers, TV and Radio including a nearly uninterupted 10 minute rant and pack of lies on Murnaghan this morning.

The whole thing seems far to convenient and coordinated as to be other than a deliberately planned Project Fear stunt

I feel, however, that it will backfire spectacularly on Mr. Sincerity Murphy and that he will be left with egg on his face – this time metaphorical egg.

448. biecs

Watched the clip on Youtube.
    It does not make sense.

Murphy does not travel alone – no politician does nowadays.

Three eggs are thrown.
    Murphy dodges the second one and the thrower manages to get close enough to plant the third on his back and then walks away with no-one even attempting to stop him.

The whole thing screams ‘phony set up’ and if anyone on the ‘Yes’ side had attempted something as stupid the MSM would have been all over them like a rash and analysing every frame of the film.

As it is none of them seem to have made any attempt to investigate, just accepted what BT said as if it was incontrovertible fact.

449. gus1940

3 eggs thrown all from the back yet Murphy never even attempts to turn round to see what is going on – he just carries on with his provocative ranting – that on its own should give rise to suspicion that the whole thing was a set-up – and boy did it achieve its aim with the expected saturation nedia coverage – job done.

450. Paul Miller

Big Jimbo is back tomorrow in Princes Street, 11am. I’m going, if anyone else does go then lets try and keep it sensible and just ask him pertinent questions. Don’t fancy another few days of hysterical headlines emanating from Jim.

451. Paul Miller

Sorry, forgot to say, I’m a long time lurker, first time poster. Keep up the good work people!

452. donald anderson

Just heard that Orange Gentlemen with Butcher’s Aprons on their cars were harassing a Yes stall in Prestonpans today.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.