Seeing it coming a mile off

Posted on May 08, 2015 by

The media might be shocked. But readers of Wings aren’t.

edpm1

Because there’s simply no excuse for anyone acting surprised.

From the middle of 2012, we tried and tried to tell everybody:

edpm20

edpm21

edpm2

edpm19

edpm15

edpm10

edpm5

edpm16

edpm6

edpm17

edpm14

edpm18

edpm24

edpm22

edpm9

edpm12

edpm13

edpm7

edpm11

edpm8

Almost three solid years. But what do us vile cybernats know, eh?

1. 08 05 15 20:32

Seeing it coming a mile off | Speymouth

124 to “Seeing it coming a mile off”

1. Stoker

Oooooo, get you, Rev!

2. Croompenstein

Linked this on the other post..

http://wingsoverscotland.com/dead-duck-walking/comment-page-1/#comment-442750

They can try and blame ‘nationalism’ all they want but we all know it was Ed that lost it. and creepy jim 🙂

3. Indigo

Haha, well done 🙂
    So what happens next Stu?

4. cearc

Stuart,

You deserve your ‘nah-nah-told-you-so’ moment!

5. Marcia

I am just off the phone to a friend in London and he said that Labour picked the wrong Miliband to be leader, he may not have done any better but he would have made a better effort at the General Election.

6. Joemcg

Kicking myself for not betting because I knew he was unelectable in England but thought our 50 odd mps would bolster him but he got gubbed by too much darn sarf.

7. Swami Backverandah

… aaaaand told McTernan and pals that Jim Murphy would be great for the SNP vote.
    But would they listen. 😀

8. heedtracker

But what do us vile cybernats know, eh?

If they cant beat austerity blue tory boy government, from food banks and the bedroom tax to zero hour contracts and juicy tax cuts for the very rich, what do Labour know eh?

9. Ken500

It’s kind of bitter sweet. Great massive SNP win but the Tories Toffs are still there. Clones. People in Scotland want change.

It’s no great win for Tories. Small majority. MSM nonsense. At least there will be no more Unionists MP’s in Scotland for MSM nonsense.

10. Helena Brown

Have to agree with every word. A Politician who allows others to run his campaign is not fit for the highest office, specially when they are the opposition.
    I am quite pleased he is not about to enter no 10, not happy with the one who is but Miliband would have just continued with Cameron’s policies so what would be the difference.

11. James Forrest

Depressingly accurate mate.

And what’s worse for Labour is that towards the end even guys like me, who grew up in the party and came over to the Yes cause after a lot of soul searching, even we weren’t sure we could stomach the prospect.

That pretty much made it inevitable.

My sad, but determined, response to this result …

http://www.commentisntfree.com/a-country-on-our-own/

12. Findlay Farquaharson

good call, and just to make it sweeter, goo galloway got pumped

13. Training Day

Indeed so, Rev.

He looked weak.

Because he IS weak.

14. caz-m

If a majority, extreme right wing, Tory Government don’t drive us towards Scottish Independence, then I don’t know what will.

We must vote for an Indy leaning Holyrood Parliament next year. SNP, Greens and the Socialist Parties, with Nicola Sturgeon adding a Referendum to her Manifesto.

I would say that yesterday’s outcome was similar to when Thatcher won in the 1980’s when she was out to destroy Scotland.

The difference this time is that we will have the power to do something about it.

15. Wulls

Labour in England & Wales gain 16 seats, ed miliband accepts responsibility and resigns.
    Labour in Scotland loose 40 seats, Jim Murphy makes excuses and stays on.
    Go figure who has most (or any) integrity.

16. Richardinho

Labour seem to know how to pick losers. It’s almost as if they want to lose.
    David Miliband was clearly a better option for them and for that reason the tabloid press got behind Ed with the obvious intent of spiking Labour’s electability. For some weird reason Labour party members imagined that this support would continue after the leadership election. What fools they are!

I feel a bit bad for Ed because his general awkwardness and social ineptness ARE things that most of us can identify with to some degree, but it’s blatantly obvious that you try and avoid these things in a party leader.

17. Ailybee

So why do you think every poll except the exit poll predicted it pretty much neck and neck? Shy conservatives isn’t a characteristic I buy. Any thoughts?

18. John O

Yep you told them about Ed Millibund you live in England, but labour up never listen to anyone but themselves, hence why they did very badly.

And will they listen in the future, well by what I have heard from them so far I would say big NO they are so far up their own bum’s thier nickname should be toenails.

19. Jim McIntosh

I think it might have been different if during the opposition debate when Nicola offered to stand with him to lock the Tories out of No 10 he’d said:

“I will do everything in my power to keep Cameron out of No 10. Even discuss with you how we can achieve this, on the understanding that nothing I give you will, in my opinion, further the cause of the breakup of the UK”.

Ball back in Nicola’s court and he sounds strong.

The “I’ll do no deals with the SNP” nonsense was believed by no one, and allowed the Tories to capitalise on English voter fears of ‘Ajockalypse’.

20. Robert Graham

Anyone know the whereabouts of the ED Stone ? I wonder if the daily record has it hidden along with the VOW somewhere in the basement of the BBC

21. geeo

My mate asked around 5am, is this small majority a bad thing or a good thing ?

The small majority means cameron is now committed to an in out EU referendum, his party are notoriously and historically split over europe, so that will create division internally.

If the 56 are ignored then there is the threat of the constitution being revisited.

As i said to him, imagine the tory majority with all 56 SNP seats not there, we would be in deep trouble as a nation.

Guess the answer is, we done the right thing for Scotland and now will take it from here.

22. John Fern

Well they huffed and they puffed but ran out of breath.

23. Effijy

Many congratulations to the Rev, his team, and all the contributors on their part in securing this history making day in Scottish politics!

P.S. All the failed party leaders who had an ounce of decency have resigned. Dim Jim is away to get his neck re-brassed before his next round of excessive expenses. Wonder if Labour can afford him?

24. Brian Powell

And some woman reporter on ITV News saying it was down to the SNP MPs being elected.

25. desimond

Cybernat stalks Miliband!

26. Graham MacLure

At this level in society there are hunters and hunted. Milliband, Ed falls into the latter category. He always reminded me of a pair of eyes caught in the spotlight unblinking and waiting for a Winchester .243 right between them.

27. Grouse Beater

No tough political leader has to proclaim he is tough.

28. caz-m

Breaking news:

Jim Murphy tells “Friends of Israel” to ram their membership card right up their “Ronson lighter”.

29. DerekM

hehe yea we always knew Ed was a fud and was not PM material ,but if he had agreed to work with the SNP i think he would have captured the English left which might have made a difference.

as it was he failed to convince them with his move to the right and turned them off and i think a lot never bothered voting ,quite mad when you think about,i really do think English labour is about to find out what their Scottish branch has just went through as the English electorate clearly do not trust them.

30. Simon Chadwick

My partner tells me the stone is on eBay.

31. Jim McIntosh

___________***WARNING CONSPIRACY THEORY***______________

Anyone else thinking no exit polls for the referendum looking even more suspicious now.

32. jimnarlene

You are a soothsayer sir, and I am glad you’re on Scotland’s side.

33. Alan

FUCKIN wankers on BBC news still saying they subsidise us….just gie us oor FUCKIN freedom n we’ll see ya durty bastards!!!!!dirty English fucks voting to attack the poorest *takes a breather*

34. Ravelin

Rev, I assume you’ll be picking up your winnings from Ladbrokes tomorrow, or have you already? 😉

35. galamcennalath

Yup, the Rev was right …. Again.

caz-m says:
    “If a majority, extreme right wing, Tory Government don’t drive us towards Scottish Independence, then I don’t know what will.”

To paraphrase something I saw online …. Independence is too big for Scotland to achieve alone, we’ll need Tory help to get there.

Croompenstein says:
    “They can try and blame ‘nationalism’ all they want but we all know it was Ed that lost it. and creepy jim”

Perhaps not Scottish nationalism, but I reckon Tory successful appeals to English nationalism have played a part in Labour’s defeat.

36. JLT

I don’t know about anyone else, but since early this morning, I’ve noticed Jackie Bird is chirping away quite merrily. Seems very happy with Nicola Sturgeon too!

A bit of an ‘Eh!’ moment.

Then I wondered. Since we assume Jackie to be a big fan of Labour, and Labour are supposed to be the opposite of the Tories, and of course today, Labour have just been wiped out of existence in Scotland, which then may have Jackie asking the question ‘who will protect us from the Tories’.

And then the light bulb switches on in her head. She sees Nicola.

Are we looking at a case, ‘the enemy of my enemy is my friend‘ LOL!

37. Grouse Beater

Putting aside the geek image, Miliband shafted his own brother. In the Jewish community that is a heinous crime.

38. plglbrth

You vile cybernat, you! Ed still has a million years to prove you wrong, though. Careful now.

39. heedtracker

Ian Davidson winds up C4 news interview with “Calamity Jim must go and SNP won on grievances.” If he had just said that last night’s end of empire was all down to the people of Scotland want devo-max, SLabour might have actual learnt something fundamental. No chance.

40. Petra

Did anyone notice that postal votes were mentioned on BBC news for the first time the day before the Election and again on the actual day for the first time in the run up to the Election. Something along the lines of 9 (or 7) million votes submitted previously but then the announcement remained somewhat incomplete by not telling us how many postal votes had been submitted this time round. I found that strange at the time.

I also find it strange that up until last night numerous polls had highlighted that Labour and Tories were neck and neck in England (33 / 34%), but today we find that there is a hundred seats of a difference.

I was concerned about the 800,000 postal votes submitted during the Referendum in light of Judge Mawrey QC highlighting that postal voting is open to fraud on an industrial scale. He identified at least 14 ways that the vote could be rigged. We’re now also being told that the postal votes are mixed with the regular votes so there is no means of checking validity.

Just a thought!

41. Free Scotland

Ed got one thing right, then, when he told Nicola there would be no deals between labour and the SNP. “Ain’t gonna happen.”

On reflection, it’s probably a blessing in disguise that the SNP are not in cahoots with the Blairites, as it would be too easy for the anti-Scottish media to blame SNP and labour in the same breath for every labour gaffe.

42. Ken500

It was the Unions who chose Ed. His brother is another Blair, war criminal. Labour are just Tories. There is no choice. Blair/Brown destroyed the Labour Party.

43. IAB

A word of warning – Holyrood elections – we must organise to follow every box enroute to the count

44. Thepnr

The Edstone, a fitting epitaph for the death of Labour.

45. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“So why do you think every poll except the exit poll predicted it pretty much neck and neck? Shy conservatives isn’t a characteristic I buy. Any thoughts?”

They didn’t. The polls for months put the parties on 33% plus or minus 3. That’s within the margin of error, but the lead moved around or was tied. Last night’s 37-31 was within that range, within the margin of error. Individual seats are always at the whim of fate.

46. Ken500

The Tories have just picked up the poison chalice with a small majority. Ed is well out of it. Wait till the cuts come. More riots? It was a worrying SNP being contaminated with Labour/Unionists in Westminster. Rent controls, price freezes? They tried that before. It didn’t work. The ‘winter of discontent’. 1979. They still blame the SNP for their downfall, when it was Labour/Unionists own fault that Thatcher came in six months early.

47. BrianW

much lol @ Stoker 6:27pm..

I think you should get all those tweets carved in stone Rev and stuck in your rose garden..lol (and stop it – it’s NOT intended to be a euphemism.. oh, ok it did make me titter a wee bit lol)

48. Ken500

MSM have problems with the map of Britain. Scotland is 2/3 of the rest of the UK. Not 1/6

49. Grouse Beater

Heedtracker: If he had just said that last night’s end of empire was all down to the people of Scotland want devo-max, SLabour might have actual learnt something fundamental.

You’re right, Heedtracker. After what seem like a modest start he couldn’t stop himself swallowing any humility he might still possess.
    (My ‘What a Night’ essay has gone international. There has to be other essayists writing positively (not brief blogs) about Scotland’s ambitions – yes?)

50. Kelpie

JLT

I saw that Jackie Bird is still harping on with the ‘largest party’ nonsense.

The Tories didn’t win because they have a parliamentary majority but because they are the largest party.

Doesn’t sound like she has changed sides just yet.

51. handclapping

Off target. Labour won the Lab Con battle. Where they failed was in not tearing bleeding hunks out of the LibDem dripping roast. That is the real story of GE15.

52. Petra

‘IAB at 7:57 pm

A word of warning – Holyrood elections – we must organise to follow every box enroute to the count.’

I think we should also be encouraging people to give up voting by post unless it’s really necessary by pointing out how open it is to fraud. We should also ensure there are exit polls at every polling station next year.

Someone should also be putting a stop to people with holiday homes in Scotland being allowed to vote.

53. Broch Landers

Well done, Rev

I knew from the moment he became Labour leader that Ed was never going to fly.

It’s simple.

The conservative-minded middle Englanders turn to Cameron and Osborne because they do what it says on the tin: Old Etonian, capitalist statesmen who are as English as cricket and cucumber sandwiches. In a frightening world full of bleeding foreigners, that’s as comforting as a sturdy Victorian chest of drawers. With a doily.

Ed, on the other hand, is an overgrown private schoolboy (who unlike the aforementioned feels like he’s still actually at school) champagne socialist in the say-anything-to-get-elected mould of New Labour but lacking the basic ingredient that allowed Blair to pull it off; namely, charisma. Instead, Ed presents us with his bacon-sandwich face.

We Jocks have an escape route, and it looks like we are increasingly ready to take it.

Pity the genuine English left and the folk of the north in particular.

54. caz-m

galamcennalath 7.31pm

We’ll get by with a little help from our friends.

I have a feeling that Boris Johnston and his fellow Tories will want to slap down the rebellious Scots at every opportunity.

The question is, do we accept five years of the Tories slapping us around?

55. Effijy

In earlier posts, I was a bit concerned that too many people were
    pushing and rushing towards another Independence referendum.

It is what I would like, and indeed what I voted for, but we need to recognise that a significant number of yesterday’s SNP voters would not vote Yes.

We need to move carefully and not scare them off from the party and make this a fleeting embrace.

If we get “true” powers to govern ourselves, many people would be
    happy with that, as shown in the Rev’s recent survey.

If we run headlong for another referendum, in this parliament,
    there would be plenty who will called SNP liars, as we pledged to make this election all about a stronger voice in Westminster.

We really must ensure that we are in an extremely strong position
    with undeniable justification that we will be stronger as an independent country.

Again I believe that we do need to remain within the EU, if we are independent, but from my circle of family, friends and colleagues, a small majority claim that they would vote to leave?
    If the English do vote to breakaway from Europe, I can’t see
    an outcry for Scots to grasp this as a catalyst for another referendum.

I’d like to hear other opinions on what the Tories intend doing with the Scots. I fear that Labour’s mismanagement, apathy, and
    lurch to the right of centre has now killed them off as a major party for the long term.

My thoughts are that the Tories will give Scotland further powers, caveat emptor, but only as a means of securing EVEL.

Through EVEL, the Tories would ensure any future resurgence
    of Scottish Labour MPs would not influence any constitutional
    changes that they wish to make in England, that would entrench
    their cause, i.e. no minimum wage, Zero Hours Contracts as a Standard, no council houses, no welfare payments, etc.

Labour have been incompetent for decades.
    Their only “success” over the piece has been to make themselves alternative Tories, make Blair and Brown into multi-millionaires and their merry band of henchmen spongers in the house of Lords.

The South of England has most of the population, most of the money, infrastructure investment, and the jobs.
    They are happy to be Tories and if they can suppress the rest
    of the country in order to keep them in the manner to which they have become accustomed, who among them is going to dream of voting for Labour?

Sorry as I am for the working classes in the North of England, I cannot see a way out for them.
    Like the Scots who voted for anything in a Red Rosette for 60 years, in hope of a fairer society, they are not going to find a party in England who are going to take from the Southern movers and shakers in order to give to the economically depressed.

Anyone think that the BBC, the Daily Mail, Guardian, Telegraph, or Sun newspapers will be outraged at the gap between the poor and the rich widening to the most sickening proportions?

Westminster Labour have lost their soul and they can only see themselves succeeding if they work toward being more Tory than the Tories.

I have great respect for the founding fathers of the Labour party and what they achieved for the working classes in the 50’s and 60’s but they have imploded and no longer fit for purpose.

Things are in such a mess at Labour HQ, that I cannot see anyone worthy of being their next leader, deputy leader, shadow chancellor, North British Accounting Unit Leader etc.

The real scary conclusion that I’ve come up with is that Boris Johnston, a buffoon who doesn’t know how to comb his hair or what size he takes in a suit, will, in 5 years time, be the next Prime Minister of the UK.

Your own thoughts please!

56. Airdrieonian

So what happens if the Tories just ignore the 56?

They ignored Scotland when we returned Labour MPs and was also an obviously different political country.

It took a Labour Govt for devolution.

I fear a return to the situation that was the 80s and early 90s.

57. Petra

Ken500 says at 8:18 pm

‘MSM have problems with the map of Britain. Scotland is 2/3 of the rest of the UK. Not 1/6.’

Ken the MSM have a problem highlighting anything positive about Scotland such as:

SCOTLAND WITH ONLY 9% OF THE UK POPULATION HAS:

32% of the land area.
    61% of the sea area.
    90% of the fresh water.
    65% of the natural gas production
    96.5% of the crude oil production.
    47% of the open cast coal production
    81% of the untapped coal reserves
    62% of the timber production
    46% of the total forest area
    92% of the hydro electric production
    40% of the wind wave and solar energy production
    60% of the fish landings
    30% of the beef herd
    20% of the sheep herd
    9% of the dairy herd
    10% of the pig herd
    15% if the cereal holdings
    20% of the potato holdings
    90% of the whisky industry

SCOTLAND WITH ONLY 1% OF EUROPES POPULATION HAS:

25% of Europes tidal energy
    25% of wind power
    10% of wave energy
    Over 60% of EU oil production (largest oil reserve in the EU)
    33% of the EUs total hydrocarbon production

58. glenfalloch

Labour’s big mistake down south was to refuse to differentiate themselves from the Tories. They should’ve realised that when all the comments/tweets/whatevers after the first UK debate appeared where English people first encountered Nicola and said they wished they could vote for her because of her anti-austerity, anti-Trident renewal policy! Couldn’t Labour see that people were crying out for hearing these messages in English Labour heartlands? Instead, Labour went for Tory Lite, like a frit and gormless bunch, and look where it got them. David M. would’ve been just as much of a disaster as his bro, because he was a left-over Blairite. Ed wasn’t effective enough, but he was also completely vilified and ridiculed by the MSM, as was Nicola, but Nicola had all of us behind her, where Labourites were too jittery and insecure because so many of their politicians lie to them – main example, Mr Murphy.

59. Marcia

Wonder what Frances Barbour is thinking today? 🙂

60. Brian Powell

I wonder if Jim Murphy is a kind of political ‘stalker’. Rejected but keeps hanging around.

‘it will be better next time’! I guess we could watch for him sitting outside Holyrood in his car!

61. Effijy

ITN News explaining that SNP got just over 50% of the vote, but need to realise that just under 50% didn’t vote for them.

In other words your history making success must be frowned on
    and you must stay in your box when told.

I look forward to hearing that the the Tories got 36.9% of the vote so almost 2 out of voters didn’t want them.

Why are you whooping and hollering at what the Tories have achieved when it’s a fraction of what the SNP have done?
    I fear it’s just blatant bigoted bias from Johnny English!

62. Alastair Wright

I guess “there Ain’t no cure for the summertime blues” on planet Labour.

63. Rob James

I could never quite picture Miliband in the company of Angela Merkel, Obama or Hollande, And could you honestly imagine him standing up to Putin –
    “Look! Let me say this to you. Hell yeah I’m tough.”
    Thwack!!!!
    “Call an ambulance, Ed’s out cold.”

I hoped that the leftish labour support in England, would vote him in with the belief that Nicola would keep him on the straight and narrow, but ‘Tough Ed’ bottled it.

Hell Yeah!

64. heedtracker

Grouse Beater, keep them coming, this is just a another phase towards Scotland running Scotland.

I suppose yesterday’s men like Davidson might have a point, if he meant the giant grievance was Scottish voters being taken for mugs with THE VOW fraud. And world class politics from people like Nicola Sturgeon!

They cant stop this now. They just cant accept that and until they do, all the red and blue tories, BBC, Scots media you name it, all will fail.

You’d have thought the penny would have dropped today even, but creepy Jim’s still there, playing keepy up, running up and down that Clyde path outside Pacific Quay in his Scotland kit, raging his addled head off in debates, all on expenses.

65. Croompenstein

Holy Fuck Ed moves fast, I’ve just spotted him in the Sean the Sheep movie playing the part of a waiter… 30 secs in then 1:14

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQeI4i2Nzw8

66. Iain MacDonald

@Marcia
    “Which wax jacket will I wear today?”

As for Frances Barber, I have no idea 😉

67. Tam Jardine

Petra 

… so when we are told Scotland can’t manage alone it is not because we are materially unable to sustain ourselves. They think we as a people are unable to function. They are wrong.

The UK result is a reminder of our power inWestminster . England was terrified we’d have a say in running the union. And now we have another government which we did not vote for – even less representative. One sixth as representative in terms of seats.

Great night, but I’m heading up to Holyrood for a wee walk and a beer feeling exhausted, in turn elated and depressed. The struggle for us to regain our independence continues.

Night all – well done to all Wingers. Thanks Stu

68. john j

Here’s my guess for the future:
    The imagined (lied about) so-called recovery is a mirage built on consumer debt and house price inflation;
    as the ‘recovery’ founders the Tories will screw down on welfare spending and probably Union Rights to try to appease English right wingers;
    The promised EU referendum will take place, the Europhobes will win.
    Social unrest, riots, troops on the streets, Financial institutions deserting the UK for European headquarters;
    Nicola and the Scottish Parliament hold a plebiscite without the approval of Westminster;
    Crisis of power and consent in the UK.
    Meltdown.
    Scottish Independence!

69. Wuffing Dug

Petra & Ken500

A comprehensive set of stats showing Scotland’s true worth.
    Have been aware of this for years.

The unionist wankers were giving it all away for nothing but ridicule, phoney titles and a bit of cash on the side.
    The filthy hoors.

No more.

I want my taxes to go straight to Edinburgh, for the good of Scotland.

70. Kevin Evans

I still maintain this GE outcome was England not willing to vote labour to stop the Scottish having real political clout in Westminster. Pure and simple the English aided by Tory and labour, lib and UKIP fear tactics that the scots will control the UK and steal there money.

How can logic in anyway shape or form think England voted for £30 billion in cuts to the poorest while still talking about people begging for food.

Add to that the blatant media broadcasts of programs such as “benefits street” or “bad immigrants or something like that”.

This is a mix of media brainwashing down south coupled with political scaremongering of us nasty jocks.

I can’t believe the English conscience turned down an end to people going with out food in the 6th riches country in the world coupled with the end of the NHS.

71. Robert Louis

This new Tory Government is heading into one unholy mess, within just a few weeks. For the last five years, the pro EU and anti EU Tory factions have been kept at bay, with the promise of a referendum after the election.

Now, with a majority, those who want out of the EU within the Tories will be pushing very hard for the referendum, whilst others will be wanting it delayed. In 1995, John Major eventually resigned as Tory Party leader due to the problems he was having over the EU within his own party. Of course he was re-selected and resumed his position, but we must bear in mind he had an even bigger majority than Davey Boy.

There is one almighty schism right at the heart of the Tory party regarding the EU, and my guess is that so far David Cameron has stalled doing anything about it by blaming his coalition partners. That excuse no longer exists.

If I were in opposition in Westminster, I’d be talking of nothing but the EU.

As for the Labour party, make no mistake, there will be the most almighty stooshie going on in Scotland regarding Murphy right now. Just think back to why Lamont resigned – she couldn’t have been clearer – Westminster Labour interference was the problem. Now the new problem is people like Magrit, Douglas Alexander and all the rest, will they want to be candidates for Holyrood? If so what will the current candidates do? Then the election losing and unelected Murphy says he is going to stay as leader. Oh boy.

Aye fun times for both Tory and Labour ahead.

Meanwhile, we need to prepare for Holyrood 2016, a YES alliance and the next referendum. Some say a referendum is a long way off, but I don’t agree. The Tories in London don’t do morality, so they are not about to give Scots ANY meaningful new powers, regardless of 56 SNP MP’s.

By the time of Holyrood 2016, Tory savage cuts, and ignorance of Scotland will be once again biting deep, and my honest opinion, is by then Scots will be literally pleading for another referendum.

The union is over, it’s just a matter of timing.

72. caz-m

Brian Powell 8.30pm
    “I guess we could watch for him sitting outside Holyrood in his car.”

Had a wee chuckle at that Brian.

You can just imagine Murphy telling Kezia Dugdale to meet him in the Holyrood car park every Thursday at 11.30am to discuss the weekly rants at FMQs. lol.

73. candyman

Surely a logical step is to create a sister party in England such as the Progressive Party in England to offer left of centre politics and align itself with the SNP. Its leader would obviously be the Rev Stu.

74. yesindyref2

Well, if we’re blowing our own trumpets, I posted after the third result came in, that the Tories were going to have an overall majority. Swing from Labour there, a key seat, and a high UKIP vote in two Sunderland seats. Simples. After another couple of results I switched to the BBC Scotland one cos I couldn’t bear to see any moe rUK ones.

Anyway, congratulations and thanks to all those Wingers who worked so hard to get 56 SNP MPs. It’s been a long 3 or 4 years, all in all.

75. Valerie

Swinney on QT, very different mood, he is being treated with respect.

SNP in all the rags, lots of talk now about respecting the SNP!! Yikes, now they love us, can hardly believe it.

76. Ian Brotherhood

Holyrood SLabs will be next up for shaving, so expect to see them taking early retirement. The likes of Gray and Baillie won’t fancy hanging about to get ‘the treatment’.

We need to envisage what the opposition benches may look like this time next year. The SSP and Greens will be represented. That much seems certain. And they may well form the backbone of a meaningful opposition. So, if you want to get involved, the SSP will be in Ayr Main St tomorrow, between 11 and 1-ish. Come along and talk to us, see if you fancy getting involved. There’s a lot of work to do between now and next May. One thing’s for sure – it’ll fly in.

77. Robert Louis

Glenfalloch,

I think much of what you say of Labour is true, however, to my mind their failure is a longstanding one. You see, with the rise of the right, the entire Labour movement should have been arguing and shouting day in, day out, that it did not have to be like this, we did not need to blindly accept this neo-liberal consensus.

Labour needed to be bold, and it wasn’t. Do people REALLY prefer privatised railways and power companies? Really?? I’m old enough to remember when such things were sold off, we were told privatising railways would mean the taxpayer would no longer need to subsidise them, yet now the taxpayer pays them more than was ever the case with state run British Rail.

Why don’t Labour puruse such things? Simple, because the people at the top of Labour do not hold such things as principles. They do not truly stand for what they believe in. A good example is the fact that over half of the new Labour candidates were opposed to trident, yet they were standing as candidates for a party which fully supported keeping trident. It’s the ‘new’ Labour way.

Labour just does not have the courage of its convictions anymore. If they say anything which the right wing media doesn’t like, they back down, instead of arguing and making their case. Making that left wing narrative, making the right wingers defend their brutal behaviour, is what Labour should have been doing EVERY DAY for the past five years, instead they merely nodded like donkeys.

England is literally crying out for an alternative rational left wing narrative, and Miliband did not offer it. Instead of persuading people, he merely capitulated at every turn, accepting cuts were “necessary” and that ‘he needed to be tough on benefits’. The voters simply looked at Labour and thought, why vote for these pathetic red Tory lite wets, when we might as well just have the real tories instead.

78. Quentin Quale

Anybody else think Ashdown on QT is hurting just a little bit?

79. Petra

If any unhappy Labour supporters are visiting this site tonight these videos are a ‘must watch’, may help you to understand where you went wrong and how to make positive change now: Starting with getting rid of people like Jim Murphy the Vice President of the UK branch of the Henry Jackson Society, ASAP.

The Rise of Labour – Timelines.tv History of Britain B15

https://youtu.be/0TYNwgoIXGc

And this brilliant youtube video: A Parting Hymn: Lies, Deceit and the Death of the Labour Party

‘’A Parting Hymn’ is in some respects a tribute to the political party that was once a voice for the poor and the working classes, the embodiment of fairness and solidarity. On the other, it recognises the very real death of the Labour party, whilst unashamedly making the case for Socialism (however lonely a voice that might be in a post Thatcher/Blair era).

Labour’s core supporters along with the party’s deepest held principles have long since been sold down the river – and this film will explain just how the electorate have been deceived, used and ignored in the interests of power, and the holding of office at almost ANY cost.’’

(If you can’t watch all of it watch from 21:32).

https://youtu.be/8yw10xAvzXI

80. caz-m

That’s the beauty of this site, it doesn’t take long before someone turns a wee negative into a big positive.

81. Ian Brotherhood

Talking about seeing things coming a mile off, what on earth is Murph playing at?

‘See me, I’m pure hard by the way. I drink straight bru, I’ve got hairy baws and I play fitba, and I can run about. No-one tells me what to do or what to think and I stick the nut on bits of cardboard – boosh! – just like that. No danger. Pure hard by the way, and don’t you forget it. What’s that you’re saying?’

‘You’re fired.’

82. Haggis Hunter

It still hasn’t sunk in that Labour were obliterated in Scotland, I am so pleased that Murphy, Davidson and Curran were shown the red card.
    All thanks goes to my fellow SNP workers and especially the Rev for being so informative and a focal point for analysis and truth.
    Rev, you have made all the diference

83. mike cassidy

Still too close to the events for me to start suggesting this or that —

but I will make one comment directly connected with the topic —

Is it just me or is there something very strange about the idea of being very sure Ed Milliband was never going to be acceptable Prime Minister material down south– and yet the idea of Boris Johnson being acceptable down south is not strange at all.

Am I about to experience a five year nightmare of anticipation?

84. Dave the Contented Squirrel

My god.

Screw the UK and its rigged, dial-a-Tory system for a minute.

Scotland last night. That. Was. Barbaric.

Fifty-fecking-six seats. Jesus Christ. I winced at some of those Labour guys dropping like flies. Almost felt bad.

Then I didn’t, because I remembered they’re complacent, lying, greedy bastards who fell on their own swords in the end.

We said we’d boot you out, and we did. And with that, I’m off to forget about politics for just a wee while.

85. Fergus Green

It was Wings wot won it.

86. Macart

Right, you’re just showing off now.

Ah, gwan then. 😀

Seriously though, not a shock, not even a raised eyebrow. I can’t believe that the massed meeja and punditry didn’t see it coming, yet all we’ve heard, pretty much all day, is ‘shock result’.

No, no it really wasn’t.

87. caz-m

Ian brotherhood 9.08pm

I agree with you Ian.

Get ready for Holyrood. A full house of Pro-Indy Parties.

Do you have any plans for standing as an MSP next year Ian?

It’s a good time to stand as a Pro-Indy MSP.

Get in there.

Next year’s options on the ballot paper,

1st choice, Pro-Indy party.
    2nd choice, Pro-Indy Party.

Result:-

Pro-Indy landslide.

88. Gary

As a Cybernat I can honestly say I was completely taken in by the polls!

Despite Ed looking weird, acting weird, talking weird, being too left wing for England, too right wing for Scotland, constantly missing open goals against Cameron, always being on the back foot and having no vision I um….what was I going to say?

89. Louis B Argyll

Whos up for a 500 000 signature petition…

DEMANDING AN ENQUIRY INTO THE DEMONISATION OF THE SNP BY THE BBC..

Still raging.. This result MUST give us leverage..

90. Paul

@Airdrieonian 8:36 pm

“So what happens if the Tories just ignore the 56?

They ignored Scotland when we returned Labour MPs and was also an obviously different political country.

It took a Labour Govt for devolution.

I fear a return to the situation that was the 80s and early 90s”

There has NEVER been a Westminster government with so little representation from Scotland as this one (surprised more hasn’t been made of this fact). The coalition government had 12 representatives from Scotland and even in the dark days of the 80s/90s the tories had 10 or 11 Scottish MPs.

For this reason alone, Cameron can’t ignore the SNP MPs, or at least he can’t without risking a rapid rise in support for independence. Expect an improved devolution offer (but short of FFA). Then the negotiations can begin.

91. caz-m

Has Murphy got a contract with Irn Bru or what?

Who else would pull out a can of the stuff and start drinking it, just when you are about to be kicked out of your job. (And the world’s media have their camera’s rolling)

The guy is a total chancer.

92. Sinky

Despite Labour’s smear tactics in Edinburgh South, aided by the Tory press, the main reason Labour held on to one seat in Scotland was due to the fact that 25% of Tory voters tactically voted Labour.

93. john king

Kevin Evans says
    “I can’t believe the English conscience turned down an end to people going with out food in the 6th riches country in the world coupled with the end of the NHS.”

Your assuming these are sentient beings Kev.

94. K1

Valerie, Realpolitik will kick in. The mood will change now, this is reality not campaign mode. Respect is now essential, watch this space…the shock will dissipate.

95. Rock

A big thank you to the Rev. Stuart Campbell for tirelessly exposing the lies of the unionist politicians and media which led to a very well informed Scottish electorate delivering a stunning result.

I am delighted that my fears of massive vote rigging were not proved right.

But think about the result. The Tories got a majority and Scotland’s only Tory MP survived.

Could it be that the British Establishment was too busy rigging the vote in the Tories’ favour to care much about rigging it in Scotland in Labour’s favour?

Two of the three unionist MPs who survived did so by playing extremely dirty, aided as always by the media, especially Pravda GB.

The Scottish Tory MP’s 798 vote majority could have easily been rigged (Morag?). I am also unhappy that Green voters didn’t see it right to vote SNP to unseat a Tory MP in a seat in which they themselves had no chance.

A Tory government will be harsh but will lead to independence much faster than any government led by that total plonker Milliband (with SNP support).

It would have been very harmful to the SNP for getting involved with Labour in any way – Labour is the most corrupt of the formerly three, now two “main” unionist parties.

96. john king

The elephant in the room is Ian Murray,
    If the public can be so gullible as to be led by the wafer thin attack on Neil Hay, how long before the MSM can draw their attention away by some bright shiny beads and mirrors?

97. john king

Ian Brotherhood says
    “There’s a lot of work to do between now and next May. One thing’s for sure – it’ll fly in.”

How many sleeps is it? 🙂

98. Fireproofjim

I believe that a Tory government in Westminster is a great advantage because it sharply defines who is our opposition.
    A Labour government in a loose coalition with 56 SNP members would have resulted in endless disagreements as to how far they could compromise, and a hostile press would have exploited every minor hiccup. ( “Chaos” “Shambles” “Tartan Wreckers”). You can imagine the insults.
    The Tories will inevitably slip up and our chance will come. Soon I hope.
    Meanwhile, remember to buy the first Saturday edition of the National tomorrow.

99. candyman

Can see another split in labour between left and right. Seen Jeremy Corbyn and Ben Bradshaw literally almost fighting each other on Sky News tonight. Hearing that Milliband was too left wing kinda makes me wonder if labour will ever recover!

Surely there are progressives on labours left who will feel that their party bears no resemblance to traditional Labour.

100. Sinky

Ffs

Why is the BBC going on about UKIP , whom they have boosted for the last couple of years, winning more votes than the SNP.

3.7 million votes from 55 million population in no ways compares with 1.4 million voters out of 5.5 million or 50% of all those who voted in Scotland.

101. Fireproofjim

Rock
    I think it is safe to say there was no rigging. Let’s put this suspicion of to bed.

102. john king

Gary says
    “As a Cybernat I can honestly say I was completely taken in by the polls!”

REALLY?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vt0Y39eMvpI

103. Rob James

Robert Louis @ 9:02

William Hague on QT suggested that the EU referendum would probably be brought forward to 2016

104. G H Graham

Milliband’s failure is rather easy to summarize –

When the choice is between a right wing party & another pretending to be right wing, why vote for the fake one?

105. Grouse Beater

Quintin: Anybody else think Ashdown on QT is hurting just a little bit?

Pomposity personified. A jerk.

106. Thepnr

@john king 9:54

Yah Nutter 🙂

107. Ian Brotherhood

@caz-m –

Nice thought mister, but I’m far too lazy for that gig, and too undisciplined – if was ever in a position to give someone like The Baillie a piece of my mind I would make it worth my while and end up getting a straight red from the PO. Mind you, I can think of a few folk – even in SSP Ayrshire alone – who would be great reps for the country as well as our party.

We’ll probably attend to all this stuff at our conference, but I’m not even sure when/where that is this year.

It’s exciting stuff though, eh? A world of possibilities. I wouldn’t bet against there being a ‘Winger’ in the running for the 2016 elections.

108. Grouse Beater

I watched pretendy democrat Murphy in the street surrounding by minders, Clegg surrounded by security, Cameron swept from car to safe house and back again, and Miliband well away from the general public.

Then I looked at Nicola and she was surrounded by well wishers in the street, the general public, Joe Shmo, no minders between her and the people she wanted to meet.

PS: Englishman interviewed doesn’t like one party government – erm, there’s NONE in Scotland or England, you moron – so he will ‘have to consider his position if he wants to stay in Scotland.’ Are we concerned?

Jackass media STILL concentrating on what influence SNP will have on Westminster over and over again, still no bloody discussion on what new powers would help the nation prosper. The shallow media continue as before.

109. K1

Rob James, William Hague wasn’t on QT, Ashdown, I think suggested this?

110. Grouse Beater

David Miliband tweets, “My heart goes out to Ed” – and adds, Please, now can you remove the effing knife?

111. Louis B Argyll

Question to EXPENSIVE Labour strategists…

WAS IT NO WIN, NO FEE…?

You had the opposition leaders debate..

A perfect opportunity to snub Tory fear mongering and build bridges with some of the progressive parties on this island…
    An alternative debate would have taken place within families, workplaces etc..

YOU SOLD POOR ED A DUD OPTION..
    “Ed.. just copy the Tories, offend Scotland, and use yours’ and Ball’s charisma to carry the day..
    Oh, and we’ll send Eddie Izzard to Glasgow and hope someone punches him, or even better Jim.

112. Paula Rose

I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts.

113. Legerwood

I have never been able to understand why people, some anyway, think David Milligan’s would have been a better, less gaff prone, leader than his brother. Remember the photo of David with the banana? The banana looked embarrassed!

Now just think how many times that would have been reprinted if David had become leader?

Slightly O/T, but now that the SNP is the 3rd largest party in Westminster does that mean that it will routinely have a representative on Question Time? It should shouldn’t it.

114. X_Sticks

Oops, put this on the wrong thread *beamer*.

So, Stu, how long does your crystal ball say the minority Con govt will last?

115. Louis B Argyll

Not Milliband 2 yet..

Labour will have a female leader next.

116. Jamie Arriere

Didn’t see this at the time, but it appears the BBC ticker captioneer might have been a bit disappointed at Dougie Alexander’s result 🙂

https://twitter.com/scottreid1980/status/596778339483918336/photo/1

117. Morag

Pointless question as we don’t have a minority Conservative government. Cameron went and got himself an overall majority.

118. mike cassidy

Here’s one bookmaker’s odds on the next PM after Cameron.

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/politics/other-politics/uk-politics?ev_oc_grp_ids=366114

Boris Johnson the favourite at 2/1

My nightmare begins!

119. Rob James

K1 @ 10:25

My apologies. I’ve not been to bed since yesterday morning, so my cognitive capabilities are failing. I don’t think it was Ashdown because he was on the far left of the panel. In fact I’m sure it was a Tory. It will come to me in the morning. Need sleep.

120. K1

France Maud Rob, no apologies required, I think I was just testing ‘my own’ memory too, as you see I was off the mark, for exactly the same reason as you…beyond tired 🙂

121. K1

Frances Maude, just to correct ma due to exhaustion, spellin’ error.

122. yesindyref2

@ Fergus Green says – It was Wings wot won it.

I’d say it had a big effect. Even the likes of Iain McWhirter on the Herald clearly does his research here.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.