Bigots Together

Posted on August 18, 2014 by

It’s a fact – and we imply only correlation, not causation – that most of Scotland’s least pleasant people are to be found on the No side of the independence debate. The BNP, the SDL, Britannica, Holocaust denier Alistair McConnachie, the Orange Order and all manner of other Loyalist nasties cling to the Union Jack and a distaste for “foreigners” that they share with the most senior levels of Scottish Labour.

yhama1

So far, however, it must be noted that “Better Together” has been pretty diligent about disassociating itself, at least publicly, from such groups. But as the referendum draws closer and pressure increases, it’s getting tougher and tougher to keep a lid on the nasty underbelly of the Unionist movement.

yhbt1a

This page appeared on the official No campaign website and Facebook page yesterday. It features Yvonne Hama, a “single mum” from Airdrie with an uncanny knack for imitating Alistair Darling’s writing style (a trait she shares with every other ordinary member of the public who ever appears in BT literature, invariably repeating the full range of catchphrases from “best of both worlds” and “pooling and sharing” to the strength security and stability of the wider United Kingdom”).

She perhaps picked it up while appearing with him on a recent “No Thanks” platform.

hamadarling

And the reason we suggest that the style might be a new development is because Ms Hama didn’t used to write like that.

yhbt2

The tweets above come from one of several Twitter accounts of Ms Hama’s, all of which have been deleted or locked down since last night. Other than likening the SNP to Nazis – something which again puts her in good company at Scottish Labour – she hasn’t said anything particularly offensive herself, so far as we can tell.

But the tweets do provide a context suggesting that when Yvonne retweets the likes of the bankrupt and recently-deposed BNP leader Nick Griffin (and others) saying “No Surrender!” and suggesting that they’d like to see Celtic fans hanged from trees, it’s not because she wants to highlight how unacceptable they are.

yhbt3

We couldn’t help noticing BT’s last poster girl, “ordinary mother” Clare Lally, leading a team of “United With Labour” canvassers on BBC Breakfast this morning. But Ms Lally is a woman of impeccable character who was simply misrepresented by the No camp as being something she wasn’t. (Or rather, as not being something she was.)

But in their increasing desperation to present voters with “grassroots” No voices who aren’t Scottish Labour MPs scrabbling frantically to save their own cushy Westminster jobs, expense accounts and gold-plated pensions, the Unionist parties and “Better Together” are having to scrape ever lower into the bottom of the barrel.

It’s only a few weeks since Labour candidate Kathy Wiles had to resign for likening some Yes-supporting children to the Hitler Youth. Now we’ve got a bigoted, sectarian BNP fan appearing on platforms with the leader of the official No campaign and being prominently featured on its website. There’s still another month to go and the polls are tightening ominously. How far will they sink next?

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 18 08 14 11:16

Bigots Together | Scottish Independence News

2. 19 08 14 00:35

Nailing Our Colours | A Greater Stage

144 to “Bigots Together”

1. AllyBally

When will they ever learn?

2. David

Jim Murphy and Tom Harris appeared in Shawlands, Glasgow on Friday night with their lovely group of activists which included a UKIP/EDL/Orange Order activist amongst other recognisable faces, at least three from campaign materials including the woman from the ‘pensions’ poster. I never thought I’d see the day when a labour MP stood with UKIP and their ilk.

3. Doug Daniel

And to top it all off, she’s a fan of James Arthur off The X-Factor. It doesn’t get much worse than that.

4. Hewitt83

They are the people

5. malcontent

Are some people actually making the most important political decision of their lives based on what football team they support? Really???? I despair.

6. Hewitt83

I know five Sevconians in real life who are voting Yes.

Sadly, they are a minority.

Every other Poll amongst fans of other clubs in the country put Yes in a comfortable lead, however.

7. the Penman

Ew, a Jake Bugg fan.

8. Christian Wright

Bigot does as bigot tweets. Sectarian bigotry oozes to the surface of the Unionist campaign in the person of Ms Hama. Clearly, another reason why we are better together.

9. MikeF

For all the sports commenters there. They had better get used to singing ” ….god save the queen….rebellious scots to crush… because if they sing …Oh flower of Scotland……..rise and be the nation again…. Opposing teams will laugh them off the park.

10. heedtracker

Ordinary mum’s and inaudible mumbles. Yvonne likes bears though which is nice but what ever does she mean by “doubt septic fans know what a lather is”

11. James Caithness

I saw a reference in the tweets comparing SNP to nazis. The tweeters should be looking at a campaign closer to home. A campaign that uses the media and TV to promote its propaganda while suppressing any views that contradicts its position. It’s a worry to me and should worry every person.

12. Murray McCallum

When you look at their donors, registered campaigners and the increasing number of people with extreme views that support better together no thanks, it is little wonder that decent, reasonable people are moving over to the more positive Yes vision for Scotland.

13. Ken500

The bigots love wasting £Billions of public money and support (foreign) multinationals tax evasion. People being sanctioned and walking to food banks. They are not the ‘people’. Fund education to get rid of the bigots.

14. malcontent

Has anyone asked Mr Darling if he condones her twitter comments linking the terms SNP and Nazi? That should get him blinking.

15. James Sneddon

What can add except to say lately I’ve been ‘debating’ with lots of NO supporters online who appear to come from out with Scotland. even if some are pretending the’re in Scotland. ‘Debating’ mostly about the threat to Scottish NHS. Which according to them doesn’t exist. Some of them are using the same sub-SDL/EDL language used by Yvonne. Is it a sort of secret club? They strip away the ability of members to use grammar and punctuation? Add a dollop of casual bigotry, mix with cognitive dissonance and stir vigorously voila! one Better Together grassroots activist.

16. heedtracker

“single mum” with an uncanny knack of imitating Alistair Darling’s writing style (a trait she shares with every other ordinary member of the public who ever appears in BT literature, invariably repeating the full range of catchphrases from “best of both worlds” and “pooling and sharing” to “the strength security and stability of the wider United Kingdom”).

Is also quite creepy.

17. Socrates MacSporran

At least this lassie is consistent – she supports a Tribute Act fitba team; and Captain Darling is a tribute act to a politician.

Although which particularly-nasty piece of right-wing shite he is paying tribute to I cannot quite decide.

While JoLa and Jackie Baillie are vying to be the best Daphne Broon tribute act in Scotland.

18. Capella

Another glimpse into the dark and unpleasant recesses of the unionist mind. Well spotted Stu. Darling will want to draw a veil over this asap.

19. Capella

…and Borgen was Danish, not German, so wrong on so many counts. Neil Kinnock’s son is married to the current Danish Prime minister.

20. WantonWampum.

Despicable bigots like those portrayed above are beyond contempt when they promise to March with the Orange Order on Sept 13th – to Surrender Scottish Jobs to Belfast in Ulster.

Scottish Passports – Processed in Belfast.
    Ancient Scottish Border – Controlled by Belfast.
    Clyde Coastguard HQ – Shifted to Belfast.
    Scots pay tax to build, man and equip a brand new RAF Base outside Belfast.
    The oldest Scottish Regiment in the British Army – to be permanently Based in Ulster.

Thousands of jobs that should be in Scotland – in Ulster.
    Scots MP`S and MSP`s, all Unionists – Silent.?

What part of their anthem about “NO SURRENDER” do these bigoted, idiotic Muppets apply in Scotland – to Scotland.?

SLAB scabs – hang your heads in shame.

21. gavin lessells

I am confident that the majority of Scots are reasonable fair minded people and that the natural majority should prevail at the Referendum and vote YES

My only doubt is the likely possibility that the corruption widely accepted by self seekers will try to interfere with natural justice at the polls. Infact I have no doubts that they will if they have`nt already started.

Wemust use all means at our disposal to try to prevent this.

22. heedtracker

I often have Kinnock senior in my heed

“If Margaret Thatcher is re-elected as prime minister on Thursday, I warn you. I warn you that you will have pain – when healing and relief depend upon payment. I warn you that you will have ignorance – when talents are untended and wits are wasted, when learning is a privilege and not a right. I warn you that you will have poverty – when pensions slip and benefits are whittled away by a government that won’t pay in an economy that can’t pay. I warn you that you will be cold – when fuel charges are used as a tax system that the rich don’t notice and the poor can’t afford.
    I warn you that you must not expect work – when many cannot spend, more will not be able to earn. When they don’t earn, they don’t spend. When they don’t spend, work dies. I warn you not to go into the streets alone after dark or into the streets in large crowds of protest in the light. I warn you that you will be quiet – when the curfew of fear and the gibbet of unemployment make you obedient. I warn you that you will have defence of a sort – with a risk and at a price that passes all understanding. I warn you that you will be home-bound – when fares and transport bills kill leisure and lock you up. I warn you that you will borrow less – when credit, loans, mortgages and easy payments are refused to people on your melting income.

If Margaret Thatcher wins on Thursday, I warn you not to be ordinary. I warn you not to be young. I warn you not to fall ill. I warn you not to get old”

It’s teamGB really in a very big nutshell but it’s not something future not PM Milliband is ever going to say out loud, offends the City chaps and the Daily Heil/Torygraph types.

23. galamcennalath

It all proves that, contrary to oft held opinion, the Nae side actually have grassroots. The fact that those grassroots are largely drawn from the nastier elements of society is their problem. Further, that may turn out to be a benefit to Yes. Perhaps BT/NT/VNB might have been best to stick to astro turf!

If Yes win then it will have been down to grassroots and a positive message.

However, history will also undoubtedly say that Yes was assisted by the many negative elements of the NaeSayers.

24. Leo Foyle

Probably the way my mind works, but Yvonne’s Twitter avatar reminds me of the armband of a notorious German political party.

25. eezy

This is all they have….
    We’re winning this.

26. heedtracker

I don’t memorise Neil Kinnock speeches, just cut n paste from http://en.m.wikiquote.org/wiki/Neil_Kinnock

The army of brokers, jobbers and other quaintly named parasites.
    On the City of London, Labour Monthly (December 1974)

But he’s not a Yes Wales voter

Devolutionary reform will not provide a factory, a machine or jobs, build a school, train a doctor or put a pound on pensions.
    South Wales Echo (November 1, 1975)

Otherwise, Brown and Bliar and the Flipper pretty much lived down to Kinnockios every last prophecy and all aimed at Snatcher Thatcher.

Sorry so O/T

27. Gillie

Bigots Together

28. Chris Silver

The meeting she spoke at was secretly filmed by some Yessers , love them like independanista ninjas. So the usual schtick an undecided complained about legitimacy as it wasn’t a public meeting he was shouted down only questions, 2 questions later it was a whole lets go out their and get campaigning

29. joe kane

I loved the introduction given by red tory MP Tom Harris, of the British Nationalists Together campaign, for his fellow expense account subsidy junkie and Labour war criminal MP Jim Murphy at Shawlands last week.

Like Murphy himself in his vacuous ginger crate speeches, Harris didn’t mention a single word about socialism in one of the heartlands of the British Labour Party. He made a hyperbolic claim that the referendum was the most important vote in our lifetime which pretty much sums up the Labour Party’s view of “international socialism” when it comes to British nationalism. As every one knows, Labour are even going so far as threatening to attack the interests of working class people in an independent Scotland if they dare vote YES. So much for Labour Party socialism. So much for Labour Party international socialism.

jim murphy @ Shawlands 15/8/14
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NJmWOLlI–E&feature=youtu.be

30. galamcennalath

gavin lessells says:
    My only doubt is the likely possibility that the corruption widely accepted by self seekers will try to interfere with natural justice at the polls.

In this referendum campaign everything boils down to only one dynamic, one variable, one question – just how far will the British Establishment go to circumvent the democratic process?

31. Tartan Tory

I got a ‘Referendum News’ shoved through my door at the weekend. The disheveled chap responsible for this unwelcome intrusion was not of these parts and I have to admit to thinking he looked a bit unkempt.

If I’m honest, my first thoughts were that he’d been taken off the streets where he’d been sleeping rough and bussed over the border with a promise of a few pieces of silver and a bed for the night. If that were the case then I couldn’t blame him.

However, skimming through this piece of unionist propaganda, I was struck with the realisation that:

a) Nobody had a surname (akin to Readers Digest winners)

b) Their ‘quotes’ were suspiciously similar in style and tone.

c) None of them meant anything to me, as I simply didn’t know them. They could easily have hailed from another planet!

The rag ended with a wider view from mainly non-indigenous personalities who, once again, meant very little to me, although it seems that a ‘personality’ has the benefit of a Surname on their birth certificate.

“I want the strength and security of the pound” “Pooling and sharing”, “Better Together”, “Delighted to be United”. One thing that was glaringly missing from this publication was a vision for Scotland. A sense of what could be achieved with a No vote. Everyone was offering something of what has been. The same old, same old, without a single suggestion of how things could improve in years to come. There was not a single answer to the questions that face us in Scotland today, other than “NO”.

There was one benefit I found though….. With the nights drawing-in and a bit of a stiff northerly breeze, it came in very handy as a base for lighting the fire last night! 🙂

32. joe kane

By the way, MP Jim Murphy mentions Wings Over Scotland website at 7.50 minutes in that Shawlands video, prophesying his Shawlands ‘100 lies in 100 minutes’ performance will be making an appearance on its hallowed webpages.

33. Croompenstein

Jackie Bird has let herself go.. 🙂

34. Tattie-bogle

O/O are as i have been told telling the drones that dictator alic sammin will ban the walk and their religion in an independent scotland. In an Independent Scotland they can still hate but it will be frowned upon.

35. Lochside

This woman embodies cognitive dissonance amongst Unionist lumpen proles. Another Orangetta fae Airdrie…how many like her will vote?

36. Flower of Scotland

I feel the mood on the BBBC and among NOs becoming desperate and nastier! Noted Gavin Esler , committed NO, has been shipped up to BBC Scotland in Edinburgh to take over. Oh NO! As I speak the wonderful Prof Curtice is being interviewed! He even recognises that YES are on the up! According to him it’s going to be difficult!!!

Still think that they are worried! YES!

37. Jimbo

Some-one voting based on sectarian fanaticism says a lot about their intellect.

I pity the kid.

38. Peter Macbeastie

O/T… After Blair Jenkins and Alex Salmond on Radio Scotland this morning, we’ll get Blair Macdougall and Alasdair Darling tomorrow.

Would anyone like to start a book on how many times between them the words pool resources and share risks, and any reference to shoulders being wide or broad, get used?

Also the eternally annoying ‘punching above our weight.’ Don’t know why, but I truly hate that phrase.

39. Jimbo

@ Peter Macbeastie:

I note the BBC are giving the NO camp the final say – again.

40. Giving Goose

Labour, Tory and LibDems are like the three witches from Macbeth, adding unsavoury ingredients to their cauldron and stirring up the brew to poison Scottish Society.
    Instead of Eye of newt, and toe of frog, Wool of bat, and tongue of dog, they add bogotry, lies, misinformation, more lies and hatred.

Double, double toil and trouble;
    Fire burn, and caldron bubble.

Never was a phrase so apt to describe the actions of the Unionists.

41. MappingMum

Bit disappointing this article. It’s lowering ourselves to the negative campaigning of the No campaign. Let’s just stick to the positives of independence and the opportunities independence presents rather than attacking the Naw supporter’s behaviours, associations and twitter feeds.

42. heedtracker

@ Giving Goose, but Macbeth’s witches were spot on, so not that much like the Flipper and co.

43. Edward

Lochside
    Was thinking the same, would not be surprised if there is more to her than Better Together would like, especially since they have taken down the ‘news’ item about her support from their page

Would even suggest that perhaps her ‘surname’ isn’t real and perhaps a background leaning towards one of the groups that were mentioned above
    Hate generalising, but she does look the type

44. IanBuchanan82

For goodness sake blur the image of the wee lassie’s face

45. Cuilean

Please keep exposing these charlatans for what they really are. To quote the song, ‘I see your true colours shining through’, Ms Hama. The dirty colours of ‘sectarianism’, ‘bigotry’, ‘intolerance’ etc. All these colours can be mixed into that one grimy, muddy, colour called ‘FEAR’. Everything on the NO side of the debate distils back down to that one element, FEAR. Was the American War of Independence decided upon currency? No! Was Ghandi’s war for Indian independence hinged upon a currency? No! Has any country not voted for independence because it was concerned about what currency it will use? No! Scotland will become a laughing stock in the world after a NO vote, based on CUrrency! It is a non-issue really in the greater scheme of things. We have to get that through to folks. Currency is a means to an end; not an end in itself. Get the debate onto POwers, NHS, childcare, bedroom tax, Trident, standard of living, poverty, opportunities, education. That is where the hearts and minds lie; not currency. Forget currency, please.

46. Edward

Just reading a tweet that Stu has on twitter
    that was ‘retweet’ (sorry if I’m getting the jargon wrong)
    from a Rob Murray, who is a No supporter, quoting Yvonne Hama “I don’t want to risk my children’s future on ginger bottles”

Ok so what will happen in the future regarding Ginger Bottles? Are we not going to have any? is there going to be a glass shortage? We really should be told

47. Jim

Oh, and here is the picture which made her go WOW:
    http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=29m7l1j&s=7#.U_HSumP4JMY

48. Paul Kelly

Are you working as a Private Detective when not writing Wings articles Stu?

49. Tony Hendrix

Hi guys,great reading your comments,I noticed you have a Facebook and Twitter link but none for Google+.
    Is there any chance you can add it as I want to get YES promoted as much as possible,I know there’s a Yes Scotland on Google+ but the more the merrier,thanks.

50. Jim

@Edward
    Apparently someone said they didn’t care about currency, they would still vote yes even if we used ginger bottles for cash.

51. Dan Huil

Cameron is itching to send in the troops into Iraq once again. Just think of the propaganda value: Plucky Brits in it Together killing over people, the union flag flying over other countries once again, don’t criticise our brave lads over there because to do so means you’re a SNP nazi, the united kingdom has the power, wee pathetic Scotland couldn’t do all that killing on its own, God save the Queen.

52. FergusMac

Giving Goose,

I expect the “No Thanks/No Surrender/No Pope in Airdrie” lot will be having

Bubble, bubble,toilet trouble

as the results are announced.

53. goldenayr

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/referendum-news/latest-indyref-poll-43-yes-57-no.1408356017

They appear to have a,worrying,hope that the postal votes are important.The content of their recent press releases have been focused on the “million”?(that can’t be right surely).

54. Evelyn

I was just in the middle of taking screenshots when the twitter account was closed down at precisely 10.33am this morning. Bigots Together eh!

55. Evelyn

No doubt Yvonne will be attending George Galloways ‘Just Say Naw’ this week at Airdrie. Now, I wonder if George will amend his speech for his Airdrie audience because he told the people in Coatbridge that an independent Scotland will shut down all the Catholic schools, although North Lanarkshire Council have had complaints that Catholic schools are currently being shut down within the union!

56. Doug Daniel

Capella says: “…and Borgen was Danish, not German, so wrong on so many counts. Neil Kinnock’s son is married to the current Danish Prime minister.”

Pfft! Details, details! It’s foreign, and that’s good enough for Yvonne.

57. WantonWampum.

Sling the sectarian shoe to divide and fool – seems to be accorded the fool backing from BT, Flipper Darkling, Krash, Tom Harris and all the tory mannequins strung-up in SLAB.?

I seem to recall an old man being ejected from a Labour party conference for having “An Opinion”, but here we have a sectarian bigot sharing the same platform as Harris and Darkling.?

Put them all in a Lambeg Drum and nudge them down the slope of Ben Nevis.

58. Douglas Kinloch

To be honest, I wouldn’t trust the main parties at Westminster with anything to do with economics as far as I could throw them Do you know what the current chancellor’s qualification is to run the 6th biggest economy in the world? A degree in history; just let that sink in

59. Macart

They’ll never learn.

Preaching intolerance and social division for political gain. Analogue politics in a digital age.

60. Edward

Thanks Jim

Now to stock up on Ginger Bottles – you never know 😉

61. Socrates MacSporran

Lochside @ 10.45am.

I hate to be pedantic, but: Mason Boyne’s daughter was named Orangina, rather than Orangetta.

62. Pam McMahon

Dan Hull – Has Cameron suddenly discovered Weapons of Mass Destruction then? (Apart from the Scottish media, I mean)

63. heedtracker

WoS tweet there from Falmouth and Trident bases under Cornwall with charming local news headline-

“THE people of Falmouth, and more specifically Flushing and Mylor, have more to fear than most if Scotland gains its independence in September, according to a new report from the Royal United Services Institute”

BetterTogether gains and fears. £100+bn TeamGB nuke strike missiles are safe and nothing to worry about, 20 minutes from Sauchiehall Street.

64. Minty

When I advertise a post, I run basic social media checks and web searches on anyone I intend to interview.

Very rarely, it brings up an issue, most people are as clean as a whistle. However, I’m not running a massive multi million pound political campaign which determines the future of the country.

Is it me?

65. galamcennalath

@heedtracker
    The people of Falmouth, Flushing and Mylor, will basically go bananas when they realise what is coming to a base near them sometime soon. NIMBY for sure.

And yet, we Scots have accepted it for decades! Wake up and vote Yes, you DKs and softNOs.

66. Dan Huil

@ Pam McMahon. He will do – any minute now. Well, 45 minutes maybe.

67. chalks

Having an ongoing argument with some idiot trying to say that the NHS in England isn’t being privatised, that it is all SNP lies…I’ve posted up numerous articles, mainly from the Guardian, written by English doctors saying that it is.

Yet still nothing from the boy, then he has commented that GP practices are run privately, which yes, they are, but the point I am making is that this is inherently different from companies running hospitals.

Companies aim for profit
    GP’s (vast majority) aim for care

Just a head’s up in case any zoomer tries the same pish.

68. donald anderson

The whole of the Celtic Board are also Labour Unionists, bar Desmond Dermott who is a registered Tory donor Unionist. Labour numpties frae the wilds of Lanarkshire have previously met the LOL to vote against Independence and save the Evil Empire. Galloway. Clark. McMahon MSP family all play the Green Brit card.

Saw a wumman this morn’s EBC foray into Moravia. She is voting No because everything has been taken aff us.

Can’t beat Team GB logic.

69. Douglas Kinloch

Scots Better Together campaign removes blog post after writer’s ‘unacceptable’ BNP tweets cause indyref storm

http://www.thedrum.com/news/2014/08/18/scots-better-together-campaign-removes-blog-post-after-writers-unacceptable-bnp

well done wings keep it going we will get there

70. Peter Sneddon

Heard it said on Bateman broadcasting yesterday that 44% of Rangers fans are already voting Yes, this is consistent with what is happening in my rather large Rangers supporting (in the main)family who are ALL voting YES with the exception of one thick Celtic supporting niece (ex army). Only the ignorant on both sides of the football divide will vote no.

71. heedtracker

@ galamcennalath, a Trident missile goes off on the Clyde? What does teamGB actually lose, almost no industrial base, no real teamGB transport/communication hubs, that sort of thing, some nice scenery get the Chernobyl effect plus a million Scottish types. Whats the point of a union if you cant use it?

You need to think like a teamGB planner in Whitehall at the MOD, not even Dr Strangeglove, just planning and launching nuclear strikes/attacks and where’s the best place in teamGB etc

72. goldenayr

Nevermind the fact they can’t get the date right.They have now destroyed their own arguments about a “race to the bottom”.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/scottish-vote-key-to-camerons-decision-30514488.html

73. Edward

snap Nana Smith – great minds think alike lol 😀

74. Nana Smith

Aye Edward aren’t we snappy! Wish I was every day…..

75. Oneironaut

I think people like this only support the UK because the UK is the only place that happily allows them to openly be the bigots they truly are on the inside.

After all, they’re just following the fine example set by their fearless leaders, right? 😉

76. Scav

@Macbeastie

Yeah, I hate that too. ‘Punching above our weight’ – WTF? I don’t want to punch anyone. What’s wrong with these people?

Scotland is already educating, researching, innovating and generally *thinking* above its weight, and can certainly continue to do so even better as an independent country, without pissing away billions on a nuclear dick-waving contest.

77. chalks

Edward/Nana Smith

Great stuff, thanks very much, it’s actually a pretty hilarious conversation.

I’ve posted that up, but I doubt he will respond. I’ve provided facts to go with my opinion on it and he has failed to respond.

78. scunnered

she retweets about rod stewart being an englishmen pretending hes scottish…celtic were formed in ireland thats where the irish thing comes in…but coming from people who boo there own countries national anthem and sing well known english songs at football matches is hypocrisy at the highest level…im not trying to turn this into a football thing but i just cant get away with the hypocrisy….thanks for highlighting this and everything else you have pointed out…without this website i would be up in the hills with a tent to live out my days without having to listen to all the lies..which ill still be doing if theres a no vote because i just couldnt live here under more tory rules and cuts

79. desimond

That poor lassies heid must be birling, one minute she is sucking up to John Reids protege Pamela “I Cant vote against Bedroom tax as Im actually away to a Jobs in Space Convention that just happens to be next to a lovely Austrian Xmas Market” Nash and next shes lambasting folk of the same persuasion.

Sounds exhausting.

80. James Caithness

I have just watch this you tube vid. I swear I saw the very woman from the article ”When is a pot not a pot”, showing on the front of the BT poster, on this you tube video.

81. laukat

O/T – not often I will say this but I think John Curtice’s write up on the YouGov poll is not far from being balanced. Link is here http://blog.whatscotlandthinks.org/2014/08/one-month-to-go-yougov-post-record-high-yes-vote/

Who would have thought that No focusing on currency was such a bad move? Did Salmond play the best ever political rope-a-dope trap at the STV debate?

82. bjsalba

A little off topic but:

Did anyone listen to Naughtie at the Edinburgh Festival last evening on Radio 4?

Now who was it that was mentioning violence repeatedly throughout the program. (Hint, it was not the interviewees.)

83. joe kane

British Nationalists Together grassroots fitness to survive regime –
    Goosestep Master
    https://www.facebook.com/VizComic/photos/a.115083725219750.14844.115082048553251/731672336894216/?type=1

84. Appleby

I’m sure we can all look forward to the “honest, fair and balanced” BBC writing an article on this, just as they write one instantly when there’s anything negative about the Yes campaign.

Biased BBC – prove us wrong by finally being what you claim you are.

85. Hobbit

Yeah, but Yes Scotland should look at who they have for company as well – because any incoming Government which looks like it wants to tax the middle class(es) more heavily will not get a warm welcome from those same middle classes:

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/referendum-news/the-middle-classes-in-scotland-are-complacent-they-pay-lip-service-to-pover.25053495

86. willie fae kilwinning

Sorry, O/T.

Just spotted a nice, new shiny Saltire flying as you come into Kilwinning from Irvine.

(just past the nursing home)

Well done.

87. Gary

It can’t be helped when Better Together claim to be something they’re not – popular!

88. Robert Peffers

@Douglas Kinloch says: 18 August, 2014 at 11:41 am:

“Do you know what the current chancellor’s qualification is to run the 6th biggest economy in the world? A degree in history.

Well actually it is a degree in MODERN History.
    Now are not the terms modern & history the very epitome of an oxymoron?

89. Andy-B

My my what an embarrassment, this must be for Better Together, they do however attract the most, unsavoury of characters, to be found in the UK.

What must be more disheartening for them though is the fact they just can’t seem to find any ordinary and unprejudiced people to agree with their unjust mantra.

I was always under the impression Borgen is a Danish programme, Miss Hama seems to think its German.

90. Jim Duthie

Laukat @12.48

I think you are absolutely correct – Mr Salmond set the trap and the dopes blundered into it with eyes wide shut!!!

91. Andy-B

Talking of undesirables, here’s Kezia Dugdale, doing what she does best, attacking Alex Salmond, why? well its because Labour don’t have any good ideas of their own.

Give it a rest Kezia its way beyond tedious now.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/kezia-dugdale-yes-camp-must-4068047

92. James Caithness

15,000 Orangemen marching in Edinburgh on 13th September hahahaha. One of the world leaders recruited by the UK Gov to convince us to ”vote no”, was The POPE.
    15,000 Orangemen with their flute bands blaring and the drumbeg beating all to The POPE’s tune. Hahahahahahahahahaha.

93. HandandShrimp

A couple of friends, one Rangers and the other Celtic, are both Yes voters. I think too much can be made of the team thing. Yes appeals across the board and there are undoubtedly also Tory and Liberal voters who on the day will also tick Yes (OK a minority view in those camps I concede).

There would also seem to be diehard Unionists on all sides for reasons that I can’t actually follow. We have the Kellys for example and Yvonne looks like she is very much on the Loyalist wing that Better Together try to pretend doesn’t exist but is often the most vocal representation on Facebook and Twitter. I think we are going to see greater visibility of the more extreme views expressed on social media, especially now Yes is moving forward. That is Better Together’s problem not ours.

94. Auld Rock

I was under the impression that sectarian bigotry in any form and on any media was an offence under Scottish Law? Some legal hotshot help out please?

Auld Rock

95. heraldnomore

Oh look, BBC on the case

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28837313

.. and descending into JKR abuse, ordinary Mum stuff etc

96. Gary

It is disgusting that the media will not highlight this in any balanced or impartial way. Thank goodness for wings and other pro indy sites that can help out thses bigots.
    My plea to the public re the orange order hate march due in Edinburgh is to avoid them and not give them oxygen. The public are fed up of sectarianism and it could back fire on the unionists!

97. Clanger

heraldnomore Indeed, one line for the latest ‘ordinary mum’ and then launch straight into ‘look how bad the nats are’

98. Glenn

BBC News Scotland webpage featuring a story on this. It talks about “How both sides of the independence debate have attempted to distance themselves in the past from supporters who post abuse on social media”, but illustrates its point only with the Rowling and Lally incidents. How typical.

99. Hewitt83

Bad timing Gary, it’s on the BBC site!

100. Robert Peffers

@scunnered says: 18 August, 2014 at 12:42 pm:

“Celtic were formed in ireland thats where the irish thing comes in…”
    O/T (kinda).
    Well actually Celtic were NOT formed in Ireland and here comes a wee bit of Scottish Football history they don’t want you to know.

In 1875 a football club was set up in the Cowgate in Edinburgh by a Roman Catholic lay-brother. The object was to keep the many recent young Irish immigrants out of trouble. That team was Hibernian FC.

Celtic Football Club was instituted by Irish Marist Brother Walfrid, in 1887, with the purpose of alleviating poverty in the East End of Glasgow. He was inspired by the example of Hibernian who were formed out of the immigrant Irish population a few years earlier in Edinburgh. Walfrid’s own suggestion of the name ‘Celtic’ was intended to reflect the club’s Irish and Scottish roots. Believe it or not the original suggested name that was proposed was …

Wait for it

Glasgow Hibernian. are Hibs wee brother.

As a matter of interest Hibs were also instrumental in the formation of Dundee United FC. Formed in 1909 and originally named as Dundee Hibernian, the club changed to the present name in 1923.

You learn something new every day here on Wings.

101. Juan P

@Hewitt83

It’s on the BBC site but they’ve somehow managed to crowbar in references to Claire Lally and JK Rowling.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28837313

Headline is very innocuous also.

102. dramfineday

Wanton Wampum @ 11.40. Steady now, what did Ben Nevis do to be polluted like that? Would rolling it into the local sewage farm not suffice? Though I don’t suppose the good folks of Lochaber would be too pleased about my suggestion either!

103. Andy-B

@Robert Peffers.

Aye Robert and just to let you know @Scunnered.

The oldest documented football club in the world is Scottish, not English as we keep, getting told, with the “Football’s coming home” ditty.

http://www.ed.ac.uk/news/2014/football-030614

And guess what @Scunnered we’ve still got the “Baw” to prove it.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-15348386

104. Wings Over Reality

Silly for anyone on this thread to take one idiot and claim they represent an entire campaign, or indeed the 50% or so Scots likely to vote No.

105. heraldnomore

troll; feed; don’t

106. Maid_in_Scotland

In what other country would a young woman be so lacking in vision for the future of herself and her little daughter? What is it about these people? Labour really do a good job on them. Negativity rules OK? Here am I, and several others on this site of a certain age, yes – with some trepidation and a few worries about some issues to do with going it alone, but full of enthusiasm for a vibrant, exciting new country ready to join the family of nations and in which young people, particularly, can thrive and flourish and make their country a place to be happy and confident in, brimming with new ideas and encouraged by a Government which cares for Scotland first and foremost. I also think that a new Scotland, untied from the weight of Westminster will be a magnet for new ventures. (The idea that the rest of the world will look on in horror and turn its back on us is, frankly, tripe.) If all she’s worried about is the future of some public services and whether she’ll still get her tax credits, then shame on her.

107. Andy-B

Wings Over Reality says:
    18 August, 2014 at 4:30 pm
    Silly for anyone on this thread to take one idiot and claim they represent an entire campaign, or indeed the 50% or so Scots likely to vote No.

——————————-

I must say your pessimisim, is very optimistic, as for the “One idiot”, it wasn’t literal, was it?

108. Auld Rock

Come, come why should we pollute the sewage works? LOL.

Maybe it’s time to think about ‘proscribing’ certain organisations and London based political parties in an Independent Scotland.

Auld Rock

109. farrochie

Did I just see Yvonne on the Better Together referendum broadcast on STV?

110. Dougie

Wee Douglas Alexander getting interviewed as the BT lot sing along to flower of Scotland
    The irony

111. farrochie

Folks, try to watch/copy the Campaign Referendum Broadcast by Better Together, 18:55 BBC One, and on Alba etc schedule. Pretty sure that’s Yvonne Hama making an appearance.
    Anyone confirm?

112. Ken500

Yvonne, Lally and the rest all have their vacant coupons, displayed on BT adverts.

113. James Caithness

Yvonne has just been speaking on the BBC on a Bettertogether campaign broadcast. As was Ms Lally. and the auld fossil on their poster.

114. clashcityrocker

Have just watched a Bitter Together Referendum Broadcast on BBC Scotland. I’m sure this woman was featured.!! (As well as “Ordinary Mother” Claire L).

115. Ken MacColl

Farrochie,

That is certainly who I thought it was and have been referring back to the Wings article.

116. Ken MacColl

Douglas Alexander does not begin to understand the concept of irony. He must be the only member of the estimable Iona Community that is an enthusiastic supporter of upgrading Trident. Described elsewhere accurately as a
    “shark in a suit.”

117. Jim Jackson

Yes, I reckon the wumman pictured above was given a prominent spot in the BT broadcast on BBC just now.

118. James Caithness

The auld fossil was also on a Jim Murphy you tube vid over the weekend.

119. thedogphilosopher

Perhaps BT will put out a leaflet now with her mugshot on it, quoting her attitude towards the Catholic community (‘Tims’).

Should be a vote winner, me thinks! For us!!!!!!!!!

120. Jim

@farrochie
    The old lady from the pensions thread was there aswell.

121. Robert Peffers

What else can you expect from these people when their leaders are historically guilty of crass abuse? They have accused the First minister of being akin to almost every dictator living or dead. Most have also accused the SNP and/or the YES campaign of being NAZIs. Now facts, as always, being facts that means they are insulting a majority of the electorate of Scotland who elected the SNP in a democratic election.

Furthermore, to the best of my knowledge, the only known real violent assault was upon an old man who supported YES. Strange that the media, including the BBC, seem to not have heard, seen or read about that little criminal act.

Aye!
    Richt!

The really sad part of all this is that there is no way that anyone in the SNP can dictate to anyone as everyone in the party from the leader to the old lady who joined the party today has exactly the same number of votes ONE. Unlike the other parties, and in particular the Labour Party who have card votes for trade unions and such. These do indeed often dictate. As, for example in the selection process that saw Johann Lamont elected leader.

122. Jim

LMAO, one woman saying we are guaranteed our Hospitals and Schools if we stay in the union! Do they think people believe we wont have Schools or Hospitals in an Independent Scotland?

123. Hobbit

Yeah, well, let’s hope the rest of the MSM don’t pick up Colin Fox’s comments about the middle class and his keen desire to tax them rather sharply(repeating myself I know, but see above).

124. David

James Caithness, it was the old fossil from the pensions poster. She seemed to be with two other people who I vaguely recognise from other BT propaganda. I think one of the blokes was a member of the Salmond-Darling debate audience also. There was also a UKIP activist who was going to set fire to the yes saltires but one of the other activists pulled him away before he could. I remember him from early in the summer and the European elections and he was trolling all over yes pages spouting UKIP rubbish. He has connections with the orange lodge and EDL.

125. wilma mcewan

No MS Hama not all “teddy bear” fans support BT not by a long shot I resent you and your ilk presuming to speak for us,if I had my way every secertarian commenter would have the vote taken off them ,this is our future and should not be in the hands of blinkered religious fanatics.I also read your comment ,you are voting for the future of your child ??? hope you are putting by a uni fund ,and hope you are looking for medical insurance ,because in your blinkered world ,the real issues of staying in this god forsaken union have passed you by

126. Jimbo

Stu
    Here we go again comments section full of inverted bigots
    “its ok for me to be a bigot but not the other side”
    its ok to make snide bigoted comments about RANGERS as if they are the enemy,(highest in a poll for yes amongst Scottish clubs) if this referendum was about religion as some on here see it, then GDC would surely be a yes vote, surely the pope would say yes most Celtic fans would say yes, but let me tell you its not like that in the real world RCs say no, RCs say YES, Muslims say no Muslims say YES, Protestants say no Protestants say YES. Atheists say no Atheists say YES
    CoTF Stu, if we are trying to attract yes voters, how would an undecided Rangers supporter looking at this site for info see some of the comments on here, I always believed this site to be impartial in religious aspects of the debate, one body fighting for Scotland. Maybe living in Bath you don’t understand the fickle nature of religion and it association with daily life in Scotland.(with a pinch of salt) When the Roman Catholic church said it was backing a no vote, I did not see any detective work in searching priests emails trying to find the churches view on food banks, get my point, to use someone’s religion and belief as a means to mock them because they are on the other side of the debate, is not in my plans or our governments for a future Scotland and I am sure articles like this can persuade many undecided voters over to no with this line of attack and such demeaning one-sided comments.
    RANGERSFORYES

127. Grendel

Rev Stu,
    I was Jim Murphy’s 100 Lies in 100 Towns tour today in Airdrie. I have most of it on video, I’ll have a check and see if Ms Hama was present.

I managed to get Jim Murphy to admit today in Airdrie that yes, an independent Scotland can use the pound and that indeed is Mr Salmonds Plan B.
    Fast forward to his next soapbox gig and I’m sure he’ll have conveniently forgotten that he said this and will be coming out with “What’s Plan B” and “What will the currency be?”
    I’d be delighted if someone would remind him that “..but yesterday in Airdrie you said you do know what it is, and you actually explained it to the people there!”

128. Rock

galamcennalath,

“In this referendum campaign everything boils down to only one dynamic, one variable, one question – just how far will the British Establishment go to circumvent the democratic process?”

As far down into the sewer as it takes. Nothing is beneath them.

The democratic vote will most definitely be a substantial Yes.

Hopefully, our grassroots volunteer observers will remain extra vigilant in minimising the rigging as much as possible.

129. James S

Archive of original page

Archive of archive page

I feel sorry for those people who can’t access social media and might believe the political broadcast from BT shown today.

130. thedogphilosopher

@Jimbo 9.29

It would be good to see a show of YES solidarity at Ibrox. I know the RIC folk were canvassing at Celtic Park on Saturday, and handing out Yes posters to both sets of fans (Dundee Utd).

Perhaps you could get in touch with RIC and organise something similar for a match day at Ibrox? You could help indicate where best to set up stalls etc. Also maybe an idea to suggest to fans not to wave any Union Jacks as that might mix the message somewhat. A rendition of Flower of Scotland would also be brilliant, but let’s not get too carried away!

131. JimnArlene

Couldn’t read all those tweets, I could feel my IQ dropping, after each one.

132. Qaisar Rashid

My contribution to your blog is my latest column on the topic which is based on my observation and experience that I gathered while I was an MRes student at the Uni of Glasgow in 2007/08. The link of the column is the following:

Scotland: the post-referendum phase — Daily Times

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/opinion/24-Sep-2014/scotland-the-post-referendum-phase

I hope you will enjoy reading this piece.

Regards,
    Dr Qaisar Rashid
    Lahore, Pakistan.

133. Kilsally

Sorry to disappoint you but the Orange Order has lodges around the world including Ghana and Togo and Mohawk lodges in Canada.

134. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Sorry to disappoint you but the Orange Order has lodges around the world including Ghana and Togo and Mohawk lodges in Canada.”

Um, so?

135. donald anderson

So bigotry is not confinend to Scotland and the North of Ireland?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.