The unplucky 13

Posted on June 29, 2017 by

Pictured below are Ruth Davidson and her 13-strong* cohort of Scottish Tory MPs.

When they were elected earlier this month, the group rushed to tell anyone who’d listen that they were ready and willing to “defy” the UK leadership and act (ironically) as an independent party, standing up bravely for the people of Scotland.

They would be able to do so, they said, from a position of “unprecedented influence”, because without the Scottish Tory group Theresa May cannot get a majority to pass any legislation, even with the support of the DUP. It could be reasonably argued, then, that for that reason Ruth Davidson’s 13 are at least in theory the most powerful group of Scottish MPs in Westminster history.

So what concessions have they extracted with all that power?

Today sees the key debate and vote on the Queen’s Speech. Theresa May needs the votes of both the “independent”, “defiant” Scottish Tories and the DUP to win. And here’s what the respective groups have achieved from that negotiating position:

DUP: £2bn over two years, and very likely more to come
SCOTTISH TORIES: £0.00

Top defiance and influence there.

Readers may like to speculate on whether the spectacular absence of a single extra penny for Scotland – even after David Mundell bullishly and very explicitly promised lots more money just four days ago – is attributable to:

(a) the Scottish Tories simply being pathetic, snivelling lapdogs about as likely to actually stand up to the PM as set fire to their own testicles,

(b) their never actually intending to secure any money for Scotland at any point in the next five years at all, because that would in practice be money for the SNP to spend, or

(c) both.

As for us, all we’re saying is, don’t hold your breath for the Scottish Tory revolution.

*Alert readers will have noted that there are in fact 15 people in the picture. For some reason MSP Rachel Hamilton also gets in – we can only assume it’s in a desperate attempt to make the whole thing look like a bit less of a sausage-fest.

567 to “The unplucky 13”

1. Ian Brotherhood

@Still Positive –

Sorry, but I really don’t know Brookmyre’s work well enough to have any opinion.

2. schrodingers cat

https://iscot.scot/appeal/ really important, pls donate , if this crowd fund fails the iscot will fold

3. Cactus

SO with Holyrood on summer-recess (pending any necessary call-backs.)

Parliament rests.

It’s our turn, now is the time for us, summer begins here.

One of the best ways to gather and re-ignite positive momentum for freedom is in holding events. The most recent and most excellent March For Independence, is the way to do it. Cheers to AUOB, we kicked ass!

But there could be an additional and more obvious thing we should be doing…

Let’s just March For Scotland.

Let’s keep it AUOB.

All Under One Banner X.

There’s some other folks MARCHING today in my HOME city, but they ain’t marching for Scotland with smiling faces, no no they’re marching for something entirely different.

March for Scotland ~ xx/xx/17 (tbc)

Let’s celebrate ourselves!

BYOFlag X

4. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus –

Hail tae ye brother – the ‘IBees’ must stick thegither.

Have a blast there big yin!

X

5. Cactus

That’s the first half of 2017 gone, that flew by, SO much has happened.

Here’s to the second half of seventeen, cheers to ye Scotland.

It’s summer!

The unplucky 13:

Q. Can you identify the object at the bottom LHS of the image above?

Is it?

a) A hat
    b) A bean-bag
    c) An anaconda

6. Cactus

Aye aye IBro ~ the IBee’s click ra-gither 🙂

This summer time is ours Scotland.

Let’s do something with it!

Let’s give our Scottish Government something positive to talk about when they get back from their break. It all begins with us. We are the go to… cue us.

Let’s go like wild in the streets:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbGyTlST1mw

7. Cactus

I wonder if Chris is crafting as we speak…

How’s ur Hamish been?

8. Cactus

Maybe today’s marchers will be pleasured by rivers of rain.

Therefore, dedication.

Here’s a Riverdance:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FoHlrQScWl0

(With 8,844,702 current watchings)

Soak it up.

9. Big Phil

You might wonder through,
    And give yer bobs worth,
    you might disagree ,
    And say we’re jobsworth.

Wingers are varied ,
    sometimes the’re bawbags,
    Its almost certain,
    They aint no Nawbags.

We have our lads,
    And ladies that cus,
    They most certainly can ,
    But not OOR CACTUS.

Just for you CACTUS. 😉

10. Big Phil

Today , I helped a ukrainian, maybe russian( me bad), showed a Kiwi a few sites, caught one fish off the shore in largs , and thought , I’m proud to be Scottish.Big Smiles here,( and the missus put a dozen tinnies in the fridge.) 😉 HIC

11. Cactus

Aweright Big Phil, cheers back to ye bro.

It’s all the good wee things that happen ra gither that make the big difference, especially the tinnie bonus. Fishing time is good thinking time.

They’re gonna be talkin’ about the Summer of ’17!

Have an excellent summer y’all!

LSX.

12. galamcennalath

Ian Brotherhood says:

Does anyone know any of the dozen or so innocent ‘questions’ which reveal which foot one kicks with?

Intriguing.

Name, first and surname, is the obvious query.

What school did you go to? I’ve heard that one being used. That’s obvious too.

Asking about employment must be another. Journeymen were unlikely to be Catholic. In shipyards and engineering works, apprenticeships would have been exclusively for Protestants.

What about the The Boys’ Brigade? Was it open to Catholics historically?

In Lanarkshire 100 years ago, the town you came from dictated religion. The same was true of some Scottish fishing villages, I believe.

Almost certainly there would have been some more subtle ones, though.

13. Macart

@galamcennalath

Yeah, growing up in the coal belt you came across all those questions and more besides. Being a bit bookish and then more of a traveller (eyes on the hills kinda thing), I never got into it. You were surrounded by it all the time. Family, friends, school, work (if you were lucky)… everywhere.

It NEVER made sense to me. Even and especially, the terminology and labelling each used for the other. I simply saw poor Scots. People shit on from a great height, who at best were taught to mistrust each other one generation to the next and at worst, openly and nakedly hate each other. Yet they were all poor Scots. Scots who lived and worked (or not) in the same area. They lived in the same conditions, under the same governments, through good times and bad. During the last war they joined the same regiments and died together too. Their God didn’t ask which foot they kicked with near as I can tell.

Yet here they were, with generations of institutionalized hatred and mistrust. Each one passing those attitudes to the next in turn. Who did it benefit? Certainly not the folks who lived in those communities.

Kids aren’t born to hate each other. They don’t care about skin colour or creed. They see a room full of other kids and a box of toys and just go for it. No, these attitudes get taught. Parents teach their kids to hate, to mistrust and in some cases cause harm. They put their own kids on the path to potential harm, conflict and suffering.

I got sick of it all and left on my wanders soon as I could. TBF, Thatcher helped a lot with that. You either went where the work was, or you joined the 4mil club and fell through the cracks. That however, was an excuse. I refused to hate or lift my hand to another Scot because … reasons.

There is an enemy common to all more worthy of enmity and it doesn’t have a skin colour, a nationality or a religious creed. Those things are the tools of choice for the real enemy. Maybe someday the majority of folk will realise this and take a look in the mirror. (shrugs)

The day that happens, they’ll mibbies also realise they stand a chance of truly making a difference that counts.

14. Smallaxe

Good morning Macart, well said, my Friend;

“Until the philosophy which holds one race superior and another inferior is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned, everywhere is war and until there are no longer first-class and second-class citizens of any nation, until the colour of a man’s skin is of no more significance than the colour of his eyes. And until the basic human rights are equally guaranteed to all without regard to race, there is war. And until that day, the dream of lasting peace, world citizenship, the rule of international morality, will remain but a fleeting illusion to be pursued, but never attained… now everywhere is war.”

Haile Selassie I

Peace Always

15. Ken500

Scotland was guaranteed to be treated equally under the terms of the Act of Union. That did not happen. The Westminster unionists crooks have shafted the whole world. Caused death. destruction and misery the world over. They are parasites. Psycho bustards. All they care about is themselves and their cronies. Lining their own pockets with public money. They are a disgrace to humanity. The lowest of the low.

People in Scotland can break their power. Break the cycle of despair. Vote SNP, SNP. Vote for Independence. Show the world what good people in Scotland can do. Scotland the land of discovery and invention shaped the modern world. Now is the time to stand up against the tyrannical liars, the Unionists spivs and speculaters at Westminster, who are just a international disgrace. A laughing stock for all rational people. Just vote SNP, SNP. Vote for Independence. Nothing could be more easy. To bring the Unoonidt crooks to heel. Most of them should be in jail. They hide their crimes under the Official Secrets Act. They are despicable. Not fit for public Office.

16. Smallaxe

LINKS; From the Lady!

This is not a dating site;
    https://www.snp.org/the_single_market_explained

If you lay down with the De’il, you’ll wake up in Hell;
    http://calumcashley.blogspot.co.uk/2017/06/when-ye-lay-doon-wi-deil.html

From the 55% to the 45%;
    https://politicsmeanspolitics.com/from-the-55-to-the-45-1157b206ed8b

Peace Always

17. Smallaxe

LINKS;

Liberty gets go-ahead to challenge Snoopers’ Charter in the High Court;
    https://www.liberty-human-rights.org.uk/news/press-releases-and-statements/liberty-gets-go-ahead-challenge-snoopers%E2%80%99-charter-high-court

Farming subsidies: This is the most blatant transfer of cash to the rich;
    http://archive.is/l2X3P

Free trade talks with the US are NOT starting next month, despite what Tory Liam Fox said on Question Time;
    http://archive.is/VFtQt

Peace Always

18. Smallaxe

LINKS;

UK economy officially EU’s worst performer;
    http://www.politico.eu/article/uk-economy-officially-eus-worst-performer/

CONFIRMED: Britain is officially the worst performing major economy on earth right now;
    http://uk.businessinsider.com/uk-economy-q1-gdp-third-estimate-brexit-2017-6

‘EU pension’ planned for people who move between countries;
    http://www.bmmagazine.co.uk/newswire/eu-pension-planned-people-move-countries/

Peace Always

19. Smallaxe

LINKS;

Why Brexit could spell a financial tragedy for farmers as they eye new income streams;
    http://www.insider.co.uk/special-reports/brexit-could-spell-financial-tragedy-10715293

Scotland’s leaders urge Northern Ireland to introduce same-sex marriage;
    http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2017/06/30/news/scotland-s-leaders-urge-northern-ireland-to-introduce-same-sex-marriage-1072279/

Goldman’s see British Pound Sharply Lower v Dollar, Sideways Grind v Euro;
    https://www.poundsterlinglive.com/gbp-live-today/7077-goldman-sachs-pound-to-euro-and-dollar-exchange-rates

Peace Always

20. Capella

BBC item on Justice Committe at Holyrood asking for public views on the OBFA.

Committee calls for views on Football Act repeal bid – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-40459120

21. Smallaxe

LINKS;

The Repeal Bill
    Legal and Practical Challenges of Implementing Brexit;
    https://www.scer.scot/database/ident-2836

Sturgeon Consults the Calendar;
    http://www.centreonconstitutionalchange.ac.uk/blog/sturgeon-consults-calendar

Brexit negotiations;
    https://ec.europa.eu/commission/brexit-negotiations_en

Peace Always

22. Fred

Thanks for the linx Smallaxe, Ian Bro raises the subject of the glass-ceiling for RC’s in industrial apprenticeships etc’ very largely this is explained by vacancies being filled by applicants being “taken in by the haun!” The railway in particular favoured this system, if your faither was a railwayman you were a shoe-in for a start, it was regarded as an entitlement. Now this has changed somewhat & the academically favoured get to the head of the queue. This has its faults also as boys who are good with their hands & not afraid to get them dirty are often passed over.

23. Lenny Hartley

Ian B, Concur about C Brookmyre, he is about the only fiction author I read, don’t read in public unless you can stand strangers looking at you funny as you convulse herself in laughter, especially the early ones. As Still Positive says the later ones are darker but still brilliant.
    If you cant get a local library, I’ve got most if not all which your welcome to have.

24. Smallaxe

LINKS;

LIBDEMS BEND OVER FOR THE TORIES TO MAINTAIN AUSTERITY!
    https://skwawkbox.org/2017/06/30/libdems-vote-with-the-tories-to-maintain-austerity/

TORY ELECTION FRAUD! Channel 4 Reveals Conservative Party have broken data protection & election laws with Blue Telecoms
    Video here;
    https://twitter.com/Corbynator2/status/880146899273211904

Bournemouth University’s Nigel Jump in Brexit warning: ‘Our productivity is poor and we’re going into a world of trade barriers;
    http://www.bournemouthecho.co.uk/news/15381273.Academic__39_s_Brexit_warning____39_Our_productivity_is_poor_and_we__39_re_going_into_a_world_of_trade_barriers__39_/

That’s All Folks, Have a great weekend. 🙂
    Peace Always

25. Achnababan

galamcennalath

Catholic boys in the boys brigade.

I was in the BB from around 6 years to 16 years – I joined mainly cause of the opportunity to play organised fitba, although my faither was a Church elder.

I had a good friend at primary school who was Catholic and a very useful right winger. I persuaded him to join the BB to help the team!

After the Kirk Minister came to our house to thank me for recruiting him – he was genuinely delighted that that his church now had a Catholic in the BB. He was a very progressive man who introduced a lot of innovations and modern thinking. Sadly he was kicked out of the Kirk by reactionary conservative elders (Old testament types) …..

26. Smallaxe

Doctors without Borders;
    If nothing else, spare a thought for these our fellow humans and how desperate their predicament;

“You’ve got to be in a really, really awful situation to think ‘yes, I’m going to put my nine-month-old child onto this rubber boat because that’s the best option to me at the moment’.”
    https://www.msf.org.uk/article/podcast-how-we-rescued-560-people-mediterranean?utm_source=June+newsletter+2017&utm_medium=Email&utm_content=Nickbodylink&utm_campaign=5592458

Peace Always

27. gus1940

It’s interesting to listen to Radio PQ this morning.

Their reporting of today’s Glasgow OO March and the accompanying street closures is just so upbeat anybody visiting from Mars would think they were talking about some sort of festive street party.

Aye – the Ulsterisation campaign continues.

28. daodao

Readers of this website might care to read the following article:

https://reaction.life/tide-gone-nicola-sturgeon-struggling-snp/

Sadly, the prospect of independence now appears to have receded for many years.

29. Brian Powell

daodao

LOLZ, you’re too obvious.

30. ScottieDog

Very much a move to normalise the OO by the bigoted broadcasting corp.
    John Beattie played at Glasgow accies and I think west of Scotland. I don’t believe he’s that naive but the decision probably came from above.
    I got harassed at school by some of these maniacs shouting King Billy and don’t want my son to have to endure the same.

We must remember that the uk establishment excels at creating division. They’ve been doing it across the planet for decades.

31. Socrates MacSporran

Clicked on Cactus’s middle of the night Riverdance link.

I always felt Gene Kelly’s ethos was: “Look at me and admire how wonderful I am”, while Fred Astairs’s was: “Imagine getting paid to have this much fun”.

I reckon Michael Flatley combined both ethoses (if that’s the right plural).

How big might Dixie Ingram have been with the same level of pr promotion? That boy could dance.

32. galamcennalath

daodao says:

Readers of this website might care to read the following article:

Nah, right wing propaganda from the former policy adviser to Michael Forsyth when he was Secretary of State for Scotland. It’s the narrative they themselves would like to believe. Reality is going to bite them hard when their Brexit driven lunacy triggers IndyRef2.

33. Capella

From the Scottish Parliament Justice Committee website. How to submit your view on OBFA to the Justice Committee. Closing date 18th August.

Issues for consideration

The Committee welcomes written evidence on any aspect of the Bill. It would be helpful if respondents could address any of the following questions in their submissions:
    1. Do you agree with the proposal in the Bill to repeal the 2012 Act? What are your reasons for coming to this view?
    2. Did you support the original legislation?
    3. Do you consider that other existing provisions of criminal law are sufficient to prosecute offensive behaviour related to football which leads to public disorder? If so, could you specify the criminal law provisions? Or does repeal of section 1 risk creating a gap in the criminal law?
    4. Do you have a view on the focus of section 1 of the 2012 Act, which criminalises behaviour surrounding watching, attending or travelling to or from football matches, which may not be criminalised in other settings?
    5. Do you consider that other existing provisions of criminal law are sufficient to prosecute threats made with the intent of causing a person or persons fear or alarm or inciting religious hatred? If so, could you specify the criminal law provisions? Or does repeal of section 6 risk creating a gap in the criminal law?
    6. Do you have a view on the proposed transitional arrangements in the Bill: that there should be no further convictions for section 1 and 6 offences from the date on which the repeal of those offences takes effect; and that the police will cease issuing fixed penalty notices at least from the point at which the Bill is passed?
    7. To what extent do you consider that the 2012 Act has assisted in tackling sectarianism?
    The Committee expects to begin taking evidence on the Offensive Behaviour at Football and Threatening Communications (Repeal) (Scotland) Bill later this year.

How to submit written evidence

Before making a submission, please read the Scottish Parliament’s policy on treatment of written evidence. In line with that policy, submissions will normally be published on our website. We recognise that in some circumstances people may have reasons for preferring their evidence to be published anonymously. If you wish to do this, please make this request clear when submitting your evidence, and explain why you are making this request.

Please use the template below to prepare your written submission. Written submissions should be brief and typewritten in Word format (preferably no more than 6 sides of A4 in total). Very long submissions may be refused.

Offensive_Behaviour_Repeal_Bill_-_proforma_for_written_evidence.docx

The deadline for receipt of written submissions is Friday 18 August 2017.

Owing to the timescales normally required for the processing and analysis of evidence, late submissions will only be accepted with the advance agreement of the clerk.

The Committee prefers to receive submissions electronically. These should be e-mailed to: justicecommittee@parliament.scot

You may also send a hard copy of written submissions to:
    Justice Committee, Scottish Parliament, Holyrood, Edinburgh, EH99 1SP

We welcome written evidence in any language.

http://www.parliament.scot/parliamentarybusiness/CurrentCommittees/105570.aspx

34. Gary45%

If you want to see the “Banjo squad” in action, try crossing there “peaceful??” march.
    Many years ago (early eighties) in my home town, some friends and I tried to get across the main road to get into town, the march had been going on for a while, so we just thought enough’s enough.
    The girlfriend stepped onto the road and was physicaly handled by some of the “female!!” eastern star? inbreds, we were then told by plod that you had to wait for an official break in the march before you could cross.This was a small town in central Scotland, I pity the residents of Glasgow today.
    Scotland “a country living in the bigoted dark ages”

Watch the film “Just Another Saturday”

35. manandboy

The Orange Order – a New Dawn in Scotland.

_________________________T. May. By Order.

36. Robert Peffers

Cactus says:
    1 July, 2017 at 2:13 am

“Q. Can you identify the object at the bottom LHS of the image above?
    Is it?
    a) A hat
    b) A bean-bag
    c) An anaconda”

It is the top of someone’s who is standing closer to the photographer.

37. Gary45%

AHH “their” my bad.
    Raging that we are having to discuss the OO in 2017 Scotland.

38. uno mas

@ schrodingers cat 1.20am

Regarding the fundraiser for iscot magazine, what I have done recently is take out a couple of subscriptions on behalf of third party email addresses (with their permission) of people who´s intelligence and intellectual integrity I respect and who I believe are willing to listen to new ideas and reasoned debate but who´s opinion of politics and current affairs is formed entirely by the msm. We all know them!

Could be that they will never open the link to the magazine and read any articles but at least in any future, discussions and debates we have I will be able to point to a common source of information and opinion which is available to them at the click of the appropriate button on the key board of their own computer.

I wouldn’t´ do that with this site for example as WOS puts the fear of God to most uninformed neutrals (frightens the life out of me at times!) but iscot mag is so professional and slick that it´s difficult for any reasoned person not to be impressed and possibly influenced to some extent at least by the arguments expressed by the various contributors.

Plus their´s always lots of bonny photos. What’s not to like!

Lastly I reason that I am going to send the money to the appeal in any case so i might as well try to increase the readership with the same cash.

Worth a punt I reckon.

We cannot lose iscot magazine!!!!!!!!!!!!

39. Old Pete

Getting rid of the Orange Order, too me another excellent outcome of Scottish Independence.

Beautiful day in sunny Prestwick.

40. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Lenny Hartley 7:30am – Local postie (A Wings lurker), lent me his copy of C.Brookmyre ‘Be my Enemy’ last week. Neighbours are threatening me with an ASBOS due to excessive noise. Guffaws, hoots and constant giggling.

41. jfngw

At least I see the ladies have got the May memo, Orange is the New Black.

42. ronnie anderson

When will the Peoples of England wake up to the thieves & conmen/women of the Tory Party.

http://www.facebook.com/ktf.kath/posts/764526590382649

43. Legerwood

galamcennalath says:
    1 July, 2017 at 4:58 am
    Ian Brotherhood says:

“”Does anyone know any of the dozen or so innocent ‘questions’ which reveal which foot one kicks with?

Intriguing.

Name, first and surname, is the obvious query.

What school did you go to? I’ve heard that one being used. That’s obvious too.””
    ………

I would say ‘Which school did you go too?’ was and still is the most commonly used method of determining religious leanings by those for whom that sort of thing is important. And that sort if thing is not confined by any means to the ‘lower orders’.

A number of years ago I worked in what was considered a prestigious organisation. A new member of staff had joined my department. The president of the organisation visited the department and I introduced him to the new member of staff – a lady in her late 30s.

His 1st question: ‘where do you come from?’ His second: ‘which school did you go to?’

We could not believe our ears. It was the most crass display anyone could imagine and could only have been asked with one purpose in mind and asked moreover of a woman in her 30s!!!!

I have known some Catholic parents send their children to state schools so that their future CV will not have the name of a school on it that identifies them as Catholic and thus blight their chances of a job if they come up against those for whom religion would be the deciding selection criteria for employment. And, sadly, they still exist at all levels.

44. Valerie

Here we go, the winner on OO

https://twitter.com/raylupton/status/881074912991039490

Succinct and clever

45. galamcennalath

Legerwood says:

A number of years ago I worked …

My first real job was in Glasgow. I submitted an application form and was interviewed. Two interviews, one with personnel, one with the appropriate department.

I had left the box for religion blank, which was an honest answer. The personnel guy asked why, so I gave him my honest answer – I have no religion. He said something had to be entered so asked what religion my parents were. I answered honestly saying, “Protestant”. That was good enough.

I got the job. Hopefully based on skill, but I still had to pass ‘the test’.

46. Col

Well that’s the orange walk going past my work in Glasgow city centre. Already seeing them urinating in doorways which will be the case all along the route. Feel sorry for anyone trying to get past this lot. You get a punch in the face for attempting to get through. Lovely people

47. Dr Jim

In Scotland 2017 today we have intolerant folk marching to demand they are tolerated
    Police Scotland will flank these marchers as they always do, not to protect them from us the people but to protect us the people from them

In conversation with a Martian earlier this morning I had difficulty explaining this concept to the eight legged twelve eyed stranger from that planet

A note to any English folk in Scotland reading this
    The Orange Lodge are not just a music band (I use the word “Band” advisedly)
    I should also point out, it’s not JUST Roman Catholics they despise, if you’re not one of them you’re against them

So that means YOU!

48. Robert Peffers

@daodao says: 1 July, 2017 at 8:56 am:

“Readers of this website might care to read the following article:”

Nah! We generally don’t read pish!

“Sadly, the prospect of independence now appears to have receded for many years.”

In your dreams, daodao, in your dreams.

There is very good reason why the Westminster Establishment mouthpieces are dribbling pish all down their collective bibs, dancing on the spot and chanting their mantras in unison of, “Take the referendum off the table”, and such like.

Care to venture a guess what that reason might be?

49. galamcennalath

Col says:

urinating in doorways

What is it about doorways of all things which attract wild urinators? They are entrances to buildings for heaven’s sakes. Thoroughfares.

When caught short, why not a drain, or soil at the base of bushes, or even the gutter? Common sense should be applied, never mind common hygiene.

These knuckle-draggers take their illmanners and uncouthness to extraordinary lengths!

50. Robert Peffers

@ScottieDog says: 1 July, 2017 at 9:00 am:

… Very much a move to normalise the OO by the bigoted broadcasting corp.”

And hardly anyone believes a word they say anymore.

“We must remember that the uk establishment excels at creating division. They’ve been doing it across the planet for decades.”

Actually they have been doing so for centuries, ScottieDog

51. Socrates MacSporran

I thought I would do daodao the courtesy of reading the article which he/she referenced, so, I clicked on the link.

I immediately spotted the by-line: ‘Gerard Warner’ and returned to Wings. Seeing the bold Gerard’s name above it, I instantly knew it would be pish, so, I saved myself some grief there.

52. galamcennalath

The late 17th and early 18th centuries were blighted by a pan European struggle between the Bourbons and the Hapsburgs. Its effects are still felt.

In one corner was Louis XIV with whom James VII sided. In the other corner was the Pope and King Billy, among many others. The fabled Battle of the Boyle was part of the Europe wide power struggle.

Also, the Bourbons placesd a relative on the Spanish throne provoking the War of Spanish Succession. An Anglo Dutch force captured Gibraltar and we continue to live with this fallout too.

53. Chick McGregor

I’ll take a shot Robert.

1) They believe it is more democratic not to let Scots have a say on this.

2) They believe a post Brexit Scotland in the UK will receive all the powers promised in the Vow and many more.

3) They believe the UK will be much better off post Brexit and it would be unfair to let Scotland lose out.

4) They believe that there is no chance whatsoever of a Yes vote in an indyref2, so it would just be a waste of time and money.

5) The believe that Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy will stuff two crocks full to the brim with gold, put one in England and one in Scotland and create the biggest money rainbow the World has ever see.

54. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“trying again, sorry if this appears more than once!”

HOW MANY FRIGGING TIMES do I have to tell people NOT TO POST THE SAME COMMENT REPEATEDLY? If it’s bumped by the filters for some reason it’ll get approved when I see it in the moderation queue. Posting it another six fucking times won’t change that, but it WILL make me extremely pissed-off and likely to delete all seven of them.

55. Robert Peffers

@Socrates MacSporran says: 1 July, 2017 at 11:04 am:

“I thought I would do daodao the courtesy of reading the article which he/she referenced, so, I clicked on the link.”

Another one of the desperate Westminster propagandists to scroll on past. It is though, rather a good sign that Wings is being targeted by so many utterly useless would be unionist trolls. It highlights the Establishment desperation.

These numpties are of little consequence as they are so very obvious but there are a few, not so obvious, who also need to be scrolled past, (for the most part). An occasional point can be made, though, to draw attention to the less obvious trolls.

56. Proud Cybernat

Paul Simon hates oranges…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HAVYZLUxaEw

57. gus1940

Socrates at 11.04

Is loathesome Gerald Warner by any chance related to the Warner who works for the Torygraph? – His arrogant looking down his nose pose in the photo accompanying all the fascistic articles he excretes on the paper would suggest that he may be the spawn of Gerald.

58. Lochside

Characterizing the OO as comical colonial clowns who are an absurd anachronism is really dangerous and stupid.
    As I pointed out John Beattie’s wee tete a tete with the grand master was no one off. It’s part of the programme. Ian B..pointed out ordinary folk are terrified of these people. Many of the band’s are para military in style and organization. They are not the ill assorted bowler hatted jokes of yesteryear.

More importantly they are no longer just catholic baiters, they are solid anti Scottish loyalists and prepared to fight …literally. .to keep us British.Hence the BBC continuing it’s ‘Ulsterisation’narrative.

59. Breeks

I grew up in the country, but at 16 found myself working at a petrol station in the central belt. I didn’t think I’d had a sheltered upbringing, but the accountant and the forecourt foreman were running about saying things like “watch out! The Orangemen are coming today”.

I swear, I didn’t know at 16 what an Orange man was. We didn’t sell fruit, so it wasn’t that kind of orange, so I wondered if this was some kind of Hare Krishna thing with guys all dressed in orange clothes. I asked a tentative question, not wishing to make myself look like an idiot for not knowing something I evidently should have. “It’s the orange men! The Orange Order”.

The orange order? Right thinks me. Some Hare Krishna thing right enough.

Just went about my work, serving customers and forgot all about it.

Later in the day, a bus stopped, and these guys with pale blue faux military uniforms started getting off and coming in to the shop to buy “ginger”. I swear, my first impression was that these guys looked like the bands of little girls who did the cheer leading thing with Pom poms and twirled battens and stuff, but these guys were grown men.

No incidents. They bought their juice. Off they went. Then there were a couple more buses, and still no penny dropped. I honest to God thought there must be a Pom Pom type marching band twirling battens competition on somewhere.

When the buses left, the accountant came into the shop and asked if there’d been any problems. I just looked blank and shook my head. She said “I saw the Orangemen coming in”.

“You did??? I never did. Shit. I must have missed them. Hadn’t seen a Hare Krishna type all day.

“On the buses! The Orange Order. It’s marching season,”.

Finally, the penny dropped. Ahhhh! Now I understood. It still meant nothing to me, just naff uniforms and lame wannabe militarism, and an undercurrent of disappointment that the “Orange” men were not dressed up in Orange at all. It was all some Glaswegian thing, an unpleasant brew of bitterness, religion, football and a shortage of brain cells,, and if you weren’t one of us you had to be one of them, and I have never felt so pure and blessed to be neither.

I knew about Celtic and Rangers, and how it was a thing best kept at arms length, but I was 16 before I knew what an Orangeman was. What can I say? Born lucky. Thanks Dad.

60. Dan Huil

Murdo Fraser marching with orange order today? It’s what the queen would want.

61. Ken500

It is an affront to Democracy. That an secretive, exclusive. non democratic, bigoted, unequal, devisive organisation is allowed to march the streets of any country, never mind parts of Scotland. That pubic money is being wasted supporting this, ruining the economy, is illegal and a affront to democracy and should not be tolerated. These Marches should be banned everywhere as they are banned in most parts of Scotland. For peace and harmony and prosperity.

Brexit is an absolute disgrace. Appalling. Some people do not seem to realise any contribution comes back in multiple benefits.

5% of migrants did not cause the problems. The Westminster Unionsts caused the migration crisis in illegally bombing the Middle East to bits for years and taking their resources.

Illegal wars, financial fraud and tax evasion.

Murdoch Fraser doesn’t know the difference between a GE and a Ref. Different % . Different electoral systems. Bring different outcomes. Unionists have trouble with analysis. They can’t count or read a balance. They do not compare like with like.They are either totally ignorant or they do it deliberately. Probably both. They are not fit for public office. No wonder few people join unionist parties, especially in Scotland. 3rd rate rejects. They even illegally manipulate the electoral system to get elected. To ruin the world economy. They are despicable. Ignorant and arrogant. Criminals, most of them should be in jail.

62. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    LOL, that’s funny. Almost makes me want to join them.

63. Smallaxe

yesindyref2;

That’s a march, I’d love to see!

Peace Always

64. ronnie anderson

Smallaxe here’s ah anither march not covered by the Bbc.

http://www.facebook.com/RTUKnews/videos/1795305150759360/

65. Smallaxe

Aye, Ronnie, an’ that’s the march wer’ they ur, it’s no the march wer’ we ur! It’s a disgrace so it is.

Peace Always Ronnie, hope you n’ yours are well ma friend

66. Smallaxe

Here’s a couple of links to some Scottish history, I don’t know exactly how good they are because I just learned about 1066 and some king or other burning cakes when I was at school!

http://www.unknownscottishhistory.com/articlefive.php
    http://www.electricscotland.com/history/1820/1820_rising.htm

Ah’m a dunce so ah um.

Peace Always

67. Rock

Robert Peffers,

“Nah! We generally don’t read pish!”

We only write it.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.