Down the tubes

Posted on July 01, 2017 by

A very brief stat post, as our “regular” cartoonist is on holiday YET AGAIN.

Wings had just over 300,000 unique readers in June, despite taking the last couple of weeks off ourselves, bringing the monthly average readership for the first half of 2017 to 346,226. That’s 55,532 up on the same period last year, or a 19% increase.

Rarely can a flush have been more busted.

57 to “Down the tubes”

1. Brian Doonthetoon

Well done Rev Stu, contributors and readers!

2. Breeks

I dunno. More days off than Santa Clause. Lol.

But he is so terribly, terribly, good. – Forgiven.

3. Proud Cybernat

More and more coming over to WoS and coming back for more.

Why?

‘Cause it gives the facts the SMSM simply will not give you. WoS speaks the truth. And that’s the truth.

Well done, Rev. Campbell.

4. Phil

+1

5. Bootsy81

“first half of 2016”

2017 surely? 😉

6. Geronimo

Congratulations…..the MSM would relish such an increase in their popularity

7. David

As the vicar said to the actress, that’s a very nice figure you have lol

8. Dan Huil

Excellent news – it all senses.

9. Proud Cybernat

WoS +19%, SMSM -19%.

Oh dear.

10. Miss Babington

I blame the naked feet picture personally.

11. gerry parker

Great stats Stu, onwards and upwards.

12. Peter McCulloch

It appears Mr Hague arrogantly has a very high opinion of himself, but then what else can you expect from unionists.

13. gerry parker

Are you not going to do a wee cartoon yourself this time Stu? there’s plenty material available today. 🙂

14. mike d

Well done rev,more power to your elbow.

15. shug

We need wings more than ever

Yesterday the bbc was full of promotions for today’s orange walk. Today same again but disguised as road diversion warnings

All for possibly 2000 people

Reflect on the total silence for 25000 yesers

16. Old Pete

Enjoy all the information and comments. Keep up the good work.

Sadly it’s raining again in Prestwick, again!

17. Bill Hume

Congratulations Rev 300,000, that’s very impressive. It rather neatly reinforces something I was thinking about last night.

I was watching a programme on BBC I-Player about the history of graffiti and it’s role in politics.

Now, I’m not suggesting that we Wingers rush off to B&Q and buy spray paint and write SNP Ya Bas on the nearest wall, but I was thinking about posters (the physical, paper ones). One of the great strengths of this site are the numbers who read and contribute here, but one of it’s (our) weaknesses is that we are so often preaching to the converted. This is a weakness the dead tree press does not have.

Go into any supermarket and the headlines of the newspapers are all telling us how bad the SNP are. Even people who don’t buy these rags are still influenced by these headlines, simply by glancing at them.

I am aware that printing and distributing posters is expensive but there is a solution.

Assuming a mere 10% of Wings readers are motivated enough and have a printer, if each printed off 5 posters a week, that would be 150,000 posters. Even if only 4 people glanced at each one before they were vandalised/removed/washed out by the rain, that would be 600,000 people at least partly influenced towards independence every week. I would see it as a slow drip, drip of information which can’t be found in the MSM.

Now I don’t mean that these posters should be simply facts and figures, and I’m not talking a Saltire with freedom plastered on top but hopefully would be created by the many talented young artists, cartoonists (when not on holiday!) and graphic designers who believe in our journey to independence.

Our strength on Wings is our numbers, our opportunity is our ability to use the internet but our weakness is that we only get our message out to, mostly, like minded Scots.

Comments welcome and I do hope my maths is correct.

18. David McCann

Bill Hume.
    I think that is a great idea, and I for one am up for it.
    Lets do it.

19. IAB

Good news after a Deerin article in the New Statesman which cited ‘says a thoughtful observer from the opposition benches’ and ‘Election campaigners report’ plus ‘one Tory source’ We know Deerin is just a hack but the NS used to have standards.

20. Smallaxe

Bill Hume;

I saw a man on a bike yesterday towing an 8×4 poster advertising Tesco, he was travelling at about 10mph and a bicycle towing something made people look and obviously read his billboard.

The simple ideas are always the best.

Peace Always

21. HandandShrimp

May your bust continue to be so flush.

22. Betty Boop

LOL – looks like the handle for the flush is bust! We’re still here 🙂

23. Betty Boop

@ Smallaxe, 2:00pm

Floated that idea with a local campaign in recent years. It was ignored but might have some more support in future. Like the idea of the posters though.

If nowt else, WoS keeps raising the bar.

24. Daisy Walker

Indy Poster Boy has plenty to get started with.

Every car is a billboard.

It just isn’t going to happen, unless we start doing it. The SNP – and I’m not knocking them – but for whatever their reasons, have not done so, and are not likely to do so as far as I can see.

The Yes Movement can ‘reach the parts’ of the argument that grown up Political Parties cannot. It can, and it must cover ALL the ground – including dare i say it, some of the less positive arguments.

For example, there is no way the SNP are going to put a poster up with a picture of one of their political opponents on it – no matter how satirical. They just cannot. It is totally unprofessional from where they are.

But the YES Movement can and should.

Brexit, some will think its not part of the argument, some will think the positive case for YES should be pushed. I say both need pushed.

Because of Brexit – Project Fear AND Rainbow/Butterfly YES belong to us now… and we have to use them.

And if your going to try and educate on what a complete economic and human rights disaster Brexit is likely to be. No-one, no-one is going to listen until you blow the Immigration Issue out the water.

May went to India for a Trade Deal, the crux of it being, free movement of people. Anyone thinking Brexit will curb / control immigration is being completely mislead. The Tories don’t care about immigration, they want lots of cheap labour with shit workers laws to protect them. Brexit means More Immigration, not less. Tories Lie.

I’m really bad for reading all the links and then forgetting the details and the location of the articles. I’m now printing them off x 2. One for a folder, the other copy to give to someone currently NO… and I’m printing it of in larger font;)

We need to box a little clever too. A bit of divide and conquer. I am disgusted with our farmers. Even the ones who are not Tories, think it’s funny when the tories get ahead and their farmer neighbours are involved/connected… time they got called up about it.

I work with a farmers son called Jock, as is his dad, his uncles, his brothers… only they all use their middle names (anything other than Jock). Its a tax dodge. How he laughs. Greedy farmers. Bunch of Chancers. If you visit the farmers market, maybe start asking, how much is this going to cost come brexit,
    will it still be as healthy if America starts importing all their steroid stuffed food,
    how many foreign workers do they have on their farm,
    How much has it helped, by having to provide them with a minimum wage,
    how much do they make providing them with caravan accommodation for the season
    how many local jobs were created as a result of the soft fruit industry going from 6 weeks to 5 months – and do they really want to go back to getting the bairns from the school, the unemployed mill workers and the travellers back to do it.
    how much are they set to loose on EU subsidies.
    Have they had any answers, or anything like a plan from the Tories.

Lets start making them face up to the consequences of their actions. It is no longer funny, and they cannot be passengers in this. If they actually don’t want Brexit they need to start campaigning for it. If they don’t believe Scotland can stand on its own too feet, they need to be challenged on their disloyalty… sons and daughters of the soil, and they thinks its someone else’s job / don’t stand up for their country. Just awful.

Keep on keeping on folks. One bit of decency at a time.

25. Paula Rose

Miss Babington you may well be correct.

26. Bekay

I have only recently discovered Wings and I must say for me it is a beacon of forensic examination in comparison with most UK mainstream media. I am female, (should boost the numbers!), and a supportive longterm “guest”to these shores. Keep up the good work!

27. shug

Bill Hume
    I have a better idea
    Get in touch

28. Bill Hume

Shug
    I’d love to, but not sure how I can do that via Wings.

29. Smallaxe

Betty Boop says:
    1 July, 2017 at 3:07 pm
    @ Smallaxe, 2:00pm;

Hi, Betty Boop, I thought that the bicycle idea was very effective, as it was travelling slowly everyone got time to read his billboard.

Thanks for your reply.

Peace Always

30. Sarah

@ BillHume, Smallaxe and all

Posters are a very good idea – a visual image, like cartoons, can speak better than words. We in Yes Ullapool and Lochbroom had an event last night [Robin McAlpine speaking] and on our tables of badges, booklets etc the posters we’d printed off were popular.

I agree the bike towing a billboard is a very good idea.

31. Smallaxe

Sarah;

Thanks, Sarah, when the bike went past me I read the whole Tesco ad, it can’t be helped the eyes read what they see whether you intend them to or not.

Peace Always

32. mike d

We need punchy pics that speak a thousand words,to stick on bus shelters,pub loos,etc. Get people’s brains engaging.

33. Smallaxe

mike d;

Good ideas, mike, especially the loos, cubicle or urinal it would be right in front of your face.

Peace Always

34. george wood

Sorry, but I have to disagree with using bikes towing billboards.
    You are going to irritate people who are cheesed off with cyclists and their lack of consideration for their own safety and their lack of consideration for other road and pavement users.

35. velofello

I agree, posters are a viable way of informing the public, and can be usefully used to unpick the impending Brexit disaster, bit by bit.No need to wait for the done deal, provide a running commentary to the public. Source? Well probably the EU negotiators, the Tories will tell us zilch.

36. Smallaxe

george wood;

There’s no need to be sorry george, everyone is entitled to their opinion, we need differing views to bring out the best ideas.

Peace Always

37. Paula Rose

We should have posters on prams and pushchairs – after all it is the wee ones within that will benefit.

38. jk.scobie

George wood says,
    I think its a great idea with bikes , because so many people are pissed off then they are going to say to themselves…o futt what is this one saying, so they are going to read it, and , hopefully take it in

39. Liz g

As for advertising this site..
    What about some doggy fashion
    Everyone looks at the dogs especially if they are wearing something a bit different
    As you say Smallaxe the eyes read what they see and the wings logo on the local mutt who has a (usually soggy) harmless and likely familiar human on the other end of the lead.

Puts the narrative the msm and Kezzia try to push for wings about it being full of nutters into doubt , and every one talks to dog owners
    It’s no an option that works very well for the SNP as their colours are too close to Dogs Trust,and as for Yes I would only use that at yes events so as not to make my dog a target for negativity.
    But the wings logo I would quite happily use out and about

40. Breeks

Chris Cairns ‘toons on Billboards, and Lorna Millar for when he’s on holiday.

Get them everywhere. Go, go, go, let’s do it.

41. Smallaxe

Paula Rose;

Great idea, Paula, something like, “It’s my Future you’re voting for” “Vote for Scotlands Future” etc. designed appropriately.

Peace Always

42. Smallaxe

liz g & Breeks;

These ideas as we all know are needed now! I’m all for it because a lot of these ideas will not only be highly visible but inexpensive also.

Peace Always

43. Ghillie

Bill Hume @ 1.34 pm

Re making and displaying posters ourselves – Great idea !

What about Wingers posting suggestions, Chris Cairns and other cartoonists contributing too, that we could print off as many as could be used where we are each week or two.

Peraps someone could edit out anything dodgy?

A sort of poster art collective = )

44. Ghillie

REV STU, WELL DONE !! AGAIN = )

And well done all Wingers for contributing and reading 🙂

I have learned SO much here !

And have so very much enjoyed the company. Thank you = )

45. Breeks

Here’s another idea… bit tricky, but it’s an idea, is to get ourselves corporate and co-ordinated.

Chris Cairns cartoons on Billboards, but ask Chris nicely about Hamish becoming an official mascot for ScotRef. Instead of posters on a Push chair, give the wee fella or lass a stuffed cuddly Hamish toy, backed up with a load more Hamish themed merchandising, Tee Shirts, caps, jackets etc. Get a Hamish suit made like the mascots with a man inside like at football games, and get Hamish going to rally’s and marches.

Don’t ask me why, but I’m suddenly seeing the Banana Splits driving their little six wheel buggies, and one of them is Hamish. Tra la la, lala la la…

Get every right minded toddler in the land wanting a Hamish cuddly toy.

Lion rampant flags with Hamish in silhouette.

Pantone 300 Nodding dogs for cars with a YES logo. Nodding Duggie Dugs?

I still like the Declaration of Arbroath themed open letter to Michel Barnier requesting devolved broadcasting as a Brexit condition, and use the signatures as a petition. Get hundreds of thousands of signatures, and make little “seal tapers” like the seals on the Declaration as pledge rewards for fund raising.

Get Chris Cairns a whole packet of shiny new marker pens as a big thank you for letting us steal his multi million Euro Hamish franchise.

I also liked the look of those German float makers for parades, like the one with Theresa May putting the Brexit gun in her mouth. Maybe we can start a similar tradition of here. Get some advice and support from the organisers. Between a few of those satirical floats and Hamish, YES rally’s could be like carnival events.

Get Hamish into the ITunes Charts singing Caledonia, or 500 miles, or something else…

For all the “Hamish” mentions above, there’s a similar marketing potential for a CyberNat / Scottish Midge. You could have Aussie style corked hats with little CyberNats instead of corks.

Speak to Scottish and European food and drinks producers and enquire about incorporating Hamish / Cyber Nat themes in limited edition merchandise. Approach EU exporters about limited edition “I’m backing Scotland” product labels, like when Mars sponsors the Olymics etc. Euro companies might be glad to “sponsor” ScotRef if only to do it as a mark of EU solidarity… Maybe Evian bottles of water with a wee saltire, or that kind of thing. Bottles of Becks with a wee saltire on the label. Maybe they won’t, maybe they will, If we don’t ask, we’ll never know.

How long have you got?

46. Smallaxe

Breeks;

All great ideas and remember we have a thriving computer game industry in Dundee in particular, surely they could come up with an “Indy or Bust” game or something along those lines.

As you say, “How long have we got” I can only hope that we have got long enough to change the perceptions of a lot of people.

Peace Always

47. Smallaxe

Ghillie;

Many of us have enjoyed the pleasure of your company also, thank you.

Peace Always

48. sarah

@Breeks

Hamish as our mascot would be perfect – he is SO appealing. Might Business for Scotland have a contact in the cuddly toy-making world who could help? Once Chris has agreed, of course!

But there needs to be a co-ordinating indy body to run all these projects. Does one exist yet? I thought it was a mistake to disband the last one as the aim hasn’t been achieved yet.

49. Ghillie

Smallaxe = )

Breeks ! I really really like the idea of a cuddly Hamish !

Sarah, good suggestion re someone from Business for Scotland helping with the making and marketing.

Loads of good ideas coming through.

Feels like we are getting re-energised = )

50. Jockanese Wind Talker

I think the “Are you YES yet?” short, sharp, factual and punchy images a A5 stickers on bus stops, toilet walls etc. would be very effective.

51. Smallaxe

JWT;

The same idea would work with “Are you STILL NO?” with appropriate images or quotes.

Peace Always

52. Breeks

Smallaxe says:
    1 July, 2017 at 10:07 pm
    Breeks;

All great ideas and remember we have a thriving computer game industry in Dundee in particular, surely they could come up with an “Indy or Bust” game or something along those lines….

Ha ha. Hamish in a Zombie shoot-em-up shooting zombie Yoons with a deadly ray gun of optimism and lobbing in hope grenades. Lol

53. Jockanese Wind Talker

Lovin’ it @Smallaxe says at 10:58 pm 🙂

The same idea would work with “Are you STILL NO?”

Use of both depending on ‘target audience’ and location.

it’s the Zarkwan ones I’m on aboot.

54. Smallaxe

Breeks;

Patent that thought!

Peace Always

55. Smallaxe

JWT;

This is what I have to put up with!
    https://twitter.com/DavidMundellDCT/status/881123815824162816

A fluffy junior march, on horseback.
    🙁

Peace Always

56. gus1940

Stu

Could you clarify what you mean by unique readers/

Does it mean:-

a) The number of individual accesses to the Wings site in a month

b) The number of different individuals accessing the site.

I hope that it is (b).

57. Song42

I was at the Glasgow Mela today, it was cold and pissing of rain so i went to a coffee shop. I had forgotten how many posters there were either on the walls of the cafe itself or the walls of the toilets, not just advertising bands but therapy events, yoga, secc etc.

I was thinking that this is perhaps the kind of place in Glasgow either on the south side or west end (all directions) that posters could be put up that isn’t likely to be pulled down so quickly.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.