The Obsessives

Posted on December 09, 2020 by

This site and other gender-critical voices are regularly accused of being “obsessed” with trans issues, even though the subject has been mentioned in fewer than 0.7% of Wings posts. But this week the SNP’s transgender faction – when it hasn’t been STILL raging about its battering in the NEC elections – has been swamping social media with organised complaints about a tiny prospective legislative change that they themselves insist doesn’t actually matter at all.

But wait a minute – that’s not true, is it?

Because barely a year ago, the Scottish Government was being very clear that sex and gender were different things and shouldn’t be conflated.

This position was backed by the self-described “Scottish Women’s Sector”, a grouping of all the supposed women’s organisations funded by the Scottish Government and who tend to support it on all transgender issues. The grouping issued a collective response to the gender-reform consultation in 2018, which specifically mentioned their discomfort with “sex” and “gender” being used interchangeably.

But such is the cult’s complete obsession with the “rights” of trans people that they cannot bear to allow a single thing to pass that might conceivably upset them, so that position has just flipped overnight and now the two words DO mean the same thing.

(Yet despite that we apparently still can’t switch one for the other in the legislation, and instead they have to kick up a massive fuss about it and call everyone who wants the change bigots and transphobes guilty of foul thoughtcrimes.)

We can’t tell you, readers, how fervently we wish that so much of the current SNP’s behaviour didn’t keep reminding us of passages from “1984”.

“On the sixth day of Hate Week, after the processions, the speeches, the shouting, the singing, the banners, the posters, the films, the waxworks, the rolling of drums and squealing of trumpets, the tramp of marching feet, the grinding of the caterpillars of tanks, the roar of massed planes, the booming of guns – after six days of this, when the great orgasm was quivering to its climax and the general hatred of Eurasia had boiled up into such delirium that if the crowd could have got their hands on the 2,000 Eurasian war criminals who were to be publicly hanged on the last day of the proceedings, they would unquestionably have torn them to pieces – at just this moment it had been announced that Oceania was not after all at war with Eurasia. Oceania was at war with Eastasia. Eurasia was an ally.

There was, of course, no admission that any change had taken place. Merely it became known, with extreme suddenness and everywhere at once, that Eastasia and not Eurasia was the enemy.

Winston was taking part in a demonstration in one of the central London squares at the moment when it happened. It was night, and the white faces and the scarlet banners were luridly floodlit. The square was packed with several thousand people, including a block of about a thousand schoolchildren in the uniform of the Spies. On a scarlet-draped platform an orator of the Inner Party, a small lean man with disproportionately long arms and a large bald skull over which a few lank locks straggled, was haranguing the crowd.

A little Rumpelstiltskin figure, contorted with hatred, he gripped the neck of the microphone with one hand while the other, enormous at the end of a bony arm, clawed the air menacingly above his head. His voice, made metallic by the amplifiers, boomed forth an endless catalogue of atrocities, massacres, deportations, lootings, rapings, torture of prisoners, bombing of civilians, lying propaganda, unjust aggressions, broken treaties.

It was almost impossible to listen to him without being first convinced and then maddened. At every few moments the fury of the crowd boiled over and the voice of the speaker was drowned by a wild beast-like roaring that rose uncontrollably from thousands of throats. The most savage yells of all came from the schoolchildren.

The speech had been proceeding for perhaps twenty minutes when a messenger hurried on to the platform and a scrap of paper was slipped into the speaker’s hand. He unrolled and read it without pausing in his speech. Nothing altered in his voice or manner, or in the content of what he was saying, but suddenly the names were different.

Without words said, a wave of understanding rippled through the crowd. Oceania was at war with Eastasia! The next moment there was a tremendous commotion. The banners and posters with which the square was decorated were all wrong! Quite half of them had the wrong faces on them. It was sabotage! The agents of Goldstein had been at work!

There was a riotous interlude while posters were ripped from the walls, banners torn to shreds and trampled underfoot. The Spies performed prodigies of activity in clambering over the rooftops and cutting the streamers that fluttered from the chimneys.

But within two or three minutes it was all over. The orator, still gripping the neck of the microphone, his shoulders hunched forward, his free hand clawing at the air, had gone straight on with his speech. One minute more, and the feral roars of rage were again bursting from the crowd. The Hate continued exactly as before, except that the target had been changed.

The thing that impressed Winston in looking back was that the speaker had switched from one line to the other actually in midsentence, not only without a pause, but without even breaking the syntax.”

But hey, we suppose at least that means it might change back tomorrow.

1. 09 12 20 13:57

The Obsessives | speymouth

98 to “The Obsessives”

1. P

Well said Stu
    New SNP are building a very unhealthy “new and progressive young country”
    Who in their right mind would want to live there?

2. Ross

They’ve painted themselves into such a corner they feel they can’t back down. More concerned with how they’re seen by a loud but small faction on twitter than able to keep their story straight.

3. Bob Mack

How on earth could I build my life around the females in it and suddenly deny them everything I have sought to provide them personally. How do I justify voting for a party that wants to diminish the rights of those I love and care most about in the world.

I would endure anything to protect them. Anything.

I would be betraying that commitment by simply putting an x in the box of ANY party who would deny them that same outlook.

4. newburghgowfer

Lost !! Backbone & Spinal cords missing from SNP MSP,s & Mp’s in the vicinity of Holyrood, Westminster & Bute House.
    If found can it be returned to the deluded SNP membership who are lapping up this shit ?

5. Astonished

If I was a SNP MSP I would think very carefully before voting against Johanna Lamont’s amendment. Because that vote will be thrown in your face by your constituents come May.

Genderwoowoo is so utterly bonkers that ordinary folk, with little interest in politics, have no idea what it entails. Do not worry though the BBcollabarators will make sure its front and centre in May. And shirley -anne and the Mhairis will never be off your screen explaining why you are soooo wrong and deserve to be silenced. All the while pretending they are kind.

I am surprised the new NEC have not done anything yet. If genderwoowoo and the stasi hate crime bill are not dealt with then the yoons may re-take holyrood.

I accept a yoon holyrood would be a disaster. However the question is would it be more of a disaster than the thought-crime genderwoowoo nonsense ?

If the thought-crime genderwoowoo gang would “wheesht for indy” and get independence first then I would at least have some respect for them. That they are still trying to push this nonsense before all else speaks volumes.

I can see a surge in ISP membership.

6. Daisy Walker

That is a very wonderful, skilful, photograph/portrate of Shirley Anne Summerville – the eyes have it – a true reflection of her soul, and the way the light plays over her thin, pinched lips – a true reflection of the seriousness of how she confronts life – never knowingly finding anything joyful in life to smile at.

Some people have their character written all over their faces. It is impossible to look at Gove and not see a sneaky, nasty wee bampot, or at Not so Pretty Pattel and not see a bullying psychopath.

7. Johnny McNeill

“Propaganda must facilitate the displacement of aggression by specifying the targets for hatred.” Joseph Goebbels

‘And this toxic concoction being psychologically and emotionally seeded within the subject population(s) is – upon #ToryAnalytica’s own militarisation trigger – is to result in many of these ‘PC’ & ‘leftist’ minorities; from black, brown to LGBT, from Muslims to gypsies to the ‘wrong’ type of Jocks, Welsh and Jews – as ‘legitimised’ targets to be at the forefront of the backlash meted out by a demographic who are themselves being mass emasculated – white heterosexual males – gaslight-acting on behalf of – and to Krystallnacht divert the masses attention away from the underpinning cause of it all; the UK Government and their mainstream media…’

‘Brexit’s Herded Ego’s: Feeding The Illusion Of A Functioning Democracy’ by #GaslightingGilligan https://wp.me/p94Aj4-29D

#ToryAnalytica militarisation is *inevitable*.

8. Ross

see they’re trying to deflect to the definitely more pressing issue of a lack of female consultants.

Sure, agreed. Obvious deflection from this debate. Focus can be on both.

9. AnneMarie D

I can’t believe I am having to thank a Tory for his support whilst being ignored by SNP MSP. Liam Kerr in NE replied on behalf of his colleagues to confirm support for the motion. Mike Rumbles says he will “listen” to all the arguments and vote accordingly based on that. Aye Right!! That’s how Scottish politics works isn’t it? No response from Maureen Watt. The annoying thing is she is not standing again so there is no real pressure to be put on her about lost votes. I am still upset that I had to thank the Tories. What a sad state of affairs.

10. Kenny

What a dangerous arrogance they possess, quite the entitled Party, aren’t they? The New SNP seem to have a problem with the very simple, one-fix solution of fulfilling the needs of millions of Scots? – you know, what we voted them in for? Okay, we’ll see how a drastic drop in votes suits this new Party, or maybe they don’t give a toss about losing votes?

Off topic, but.. I wonder how Douglas Chapman’s getting-on with finding that money – our money – that’s been woven into this-and-that? – I’d be absolutely raging if it’s gone to defending bent MPs and the like?
    I see a political race against the clock going on within the New SNP’s corridors: those who wish to represent the people, genuinely serve, expose the corruption, and those scorched earth extremists who wish to f*ck the people over before they’re hunted by them.

Excellent work, Stuart.

11. Dave Beveridge

The solution is pretty obvious: just employ gender fluid consultants who at the time of examination will be classing themselves as cisgender.

This stuff messes wi’ yer heid. I’m off to self ID asd a Trans Pennine

12. Sharny Dubs

It would make an entertaining movie if only it was fiction.

But Christ!

13. Dave Beveridge

…Express and become a train.

14. Bob Mack

Personally I have had enough. I have for better or worse, just joined the ISP. At least I know what they want.

15. John

Bob Mack says:
    9 December, 2020 at 12:59 pm
    Personally I have had enough. I have for better or worse, just joined the ISP. At least I know what they want.

Welcome, did the same a few months ago.I am in the Highlands and Islands branch, growing all the time.

16. dramfineday

Well said Bob Mack at 12.34. Plus one for that.

17. Jason Smoothpiece

In my opinion the problem is there is too much madness going about. I have said it before and I say it again the solution to this nonsense is to whip the tackle from the bearded ladies the minute they identify as a lady.

Problem solved.

Is it just me or did everyone get a lift in spirits in seeing the royal couple visit Edinburgh. You don’t get this bearded lady stuff in the Royal household you know.

Who shouted Prince Andrew?

18. CameronB Brodie

Yep, these zealots of anti-foundational ideology posse a real threat to the potential for justice in and for Scotland. So here’s a look at “Why Cognitive Linguistics Requires Embodied Realism”.

https://escholarship.org/uc/item/2pv0z6cm

19. Effijy

In general we all hope the Trans community have happy healthy lives,
    But when their demand to have more than equal rights that would endanger
    Those born female I turn against them.

There are shallow individuals who would berate these people and wrongly so
    but as we see how selfish and aggressive these people are and their distain
    for the female population I don’t like them, I don’t want to listen to them or
    Help them.

I did see one Trans person now female agree with this on TV.
    I can work with this Lady and try to help people with this attitude, it’s not
    all about them.

They reap what they sow.

20. WhoRattledYourCage

Mhairi Hunter is a 20th century woman spewing 21st century American extremist ideological dross she doesn’t understand or care aboot (tell me the plight of trans people was ever on her oh-so-concerned radar before the last year or two as a pressing concern if hers), and she’s not the only one in the SNP doing that.

Some want to appear hip (as opposed to hip replacement) and trendy and up-to-date on the vapid yank gibberish being spewed by the younger middle class women in the party. But all are doing it because they have been told to, maybe not even in words, but they know their careers in the boring arsehole cabal at the top of the SNP coconut tree depend on vomiting up these American social media-imported logic-free doctrine traps.

The young Scottish female media are much the same,too, especially the manhaters who write for the papers, a wee preening backslapping clique who all reinforce their deranged yankeedoodledandy gorgings on social media as well, like Twitter matters worth a fuck to anybody outside a tiny reality-burst bubble. It’s very much an amusing, intelligence-free Old (and Young) Girls network, where political and literary types who were not popular in high school can now strut round virtually and crow that they rule the roost that once so cruelly scorned them.

The arts are no different. The grant-paid-and-celebrated anti-white racist agitprop dripping from the poison pens of some of the young female poets and playwrights and writers would give anybody looking upon it the boak…if more than five people in the country, including our own esteemed wannabe-fiction-and-poetry-writing, mentor-assailing First Minister gave a fuck about this bitter niche shite.

A large swathe of this tragic country’s media and politics and arts truly are filled by a pack of absolute bams of the highest order. Tide’s finally beginning to turn, though, and not before time. This particular society-damaging, braindead middle class circus has gone on for far too long.

21. Grouser

No reply yet apart from a formal acknowledgement from my constituency MP (SNP) but Patrick Harvie has replied to say he will not support the amendment. It was a very civil reply with reasons but still not going to support the amendment.

22. Yes I too have had answers from the tories. No response from any other politician. I feel I’m in a nightmare and unable to wake up

23. MaggieC

I’ve come to the conclusion that there’re only two reasons for all of this gender nonsense over sex based rights . It’s either money or blackmail or a combination of both .

24. John H.

I left the SNP two weeks ago, with a heavy heart, because for many years I had pinned my hopes on NS getting us independence, but it now looks as though she has not only betrayed the membership of the party, she has betrayed all women as well. In fact, she has betrayed her entire country which she had sworn to set free.

Even if much of what she and the rest of the SNP hierarchy have said and done in the last few years turns out to have been a smokescreen, and she really intends to get us independence next year, that doesn’t explain away the woke madness, or the betrayal of Alex Salmond. We would still get a “new” Scotland that most of us want no part of. As this article shows, a topsy turvy world where black is white, and words mean whatever Big Sister says they mean.

I had intended to give the SNP my first vote now I don’t think I can even do that.

25. Annie 621

The bit where you said you ‘wish’ that you didn’t need to keep referring back to Nineteen Eight-Four.,
    You hope that you’re imagining all this, it’s like a kind of grief, it’s so bloody wearing,every morning awakening to what feels now like a threat, this obsessive ‘nonsense’, children/ grandchildren indoctrinated with this.
    An insult to our minds. Nothing good in this. They strip the beauty out of life.
    I can’t help thinking it’s a dead cat.
    ‘Having’ to state the obvious, that 2+2 will always, Always amount to 4.
    Ask a child.

26. CameronB Brodie

WOKE practice is not gibberish, as those who are awake to social reality do not deny the significance of biological boundaries. Nor national boundaries, for that matter. So here’s a look at “Embodied Realism as Interpretive Framework for Spirituality, Discernment and Leadership”.

https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-319-98884-9_8

27. dramfineday

Picture the scene at a point in the future. A woman lies traumatised, raped, badly damaged and ill with grief and fear. The medical examiner is self ID trans. The woman reacts to their presence adversely. The examiner objects and reports the woman. She is then subsequently charged under the proposed hate crime legislation.

She now faces two trials – the sexual assault trial (and her attacker) and a hate crime trial for rejecting the examiner.

Okay some of you may think this scenario is too far fetched, it would never happen etc. Well, if the laws are in place you can bet your bottom dollar that someone will use them – even if it is only to “test” the law – it’ll happen alright.

What then? Fewer woman coming forward to report and testify would be my guess.

Its monstrous and I certainly didn’t vote SNP for our woman folk to be further tortured just so the SNP could shout “equality are us”. This needs stopping and our legislators better get on with it.

PS As mentioned in another thread I’ve contacted all my MSPs. I’ve received some responses but am awaiting the bulk.

28. Kenny J

Well,
    I’ve just had a personal reply from Johann —
    “Thank you for your email supporting my amendment to the Forensics bill. It is very much appreciated.”
    I mentioned I had been speaking to Maria Fyfe, standing outside a school, 3 years ago. Thanked me for that as well.
    I’m humbled, just never expected that.

29. Kenny J

CameronB Brodie says:
    9 December, 2020 at 1:44 pm

“WOKE practice is not gibberish, as those who are awake to social reality do not deny the significance of biological boundaries. Nor national boundaries, for that matter. So here’s a look at “Embodied Realism as Interpretive Framework for Spirituality, Discernment and Leadership”.

https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-319-98884-9_8

Well, Cameron, sorry, you’d better call me an auld red-neck here. I had a look at that recommendation, and gibberish it is, and gibberish on top of that. Did you read the synopsis. And the Intro.
    If you don’t believe in God, your f******, I see. So, I’m f******, sorry.

30. Stuart MacKay

WOKE practice is not gibberish, as those who are awake to social reality do not deny the significance of biological boundaries.

Sorry Cam but that is utter gibberish. If the woke recognise the significance of biological boundaries why are they so keen to demean or eliminate them and appropriate “Woman” and demote females to “people who menstruate” – right alongside “people have bushy eyebrows”, “people who are left-handed”, etc.

Until Woke Pharma can usher in their Brave New World and industrialize all the biology out of humans, being a “man” or “woman” is a fundamental, defining characteristic of all adult humans. There’s no NewSpeak that is ever going to change that.

31. Willie

If Sturgeon and her Wokes get their way on this then they can forget securing an SNP majority in May.

The members, the rank and file have spoken. And the electorate will speak too. Sturgeon’s tenure is fading and soon she will be an electoral liability. The economic fall out from Brexit and COVID will see to that.

And so, either the SNP changes course, changes its leader or a new party, and no5 just a list party will emerge. Sturgeon and her ilk must go, and they must go soon.

32. CameronB Brodie

It really is a sad day for Scottish politics, when we have to defend our democracy from legal AUTHORITARIANISM by ‘our’ team. Which started with ‘our’ civil service being instructed to stop following a gender=critical approach to the law. So here’s a look at “An Introduction to Forensic Linguistics – Language in Evidence.”

https://pasca.uns.ac.id/s3linguistik/wp-content/uploads/sites/44/2016/10/Malcolm_Coulthard__Alison_Johnson.pdf

33. Easyblues

I could not give a flying f… who has tits and who does not.
    I want my country and all the resources with it back.

34. Corrado Mella

There’s a parallel running between the Twitler beardwokes and the Five Star movement in Italy.

As a native of the “Sole Mio” land, I can tell you that when a suddenly popular political party erupts on the stage, all determined sociopaths with a thirst for power will jump on the bandwagon to hijack it as a vehicle for their own personal agendas and profit.

Some of them have been lurking in the bowels for a while, well camouflaged, but with the influx of entryists will feel bolstered and reveal themselves for the mentally insane enemies of humanity they are.

Root them out, old and new, or your life will be so devastated by these defectives that you’ll rue not heeding my warning.

35. Robert graham

Given that the SNP management and SNP government employees access this site on a regular basis I ask if any of them have the moral courage to make themselves known and others who are uncomfortable with the direction of their party or government , I believe it’s unquestionable a majority of members who see what’s happening would be right behind you , looking the other way isn’t helping and just delaying the inevitable ,
    A final warning to any SNP party or government employees who won’t get a grip of this faction who because of their actions all in secret because the electorate won’t buy into this gender bending rubbish that turns Nature on its head and actually removes girls and woman’s protected rights , think very carefully because this electorate are very Fickle and will withdraw any and all support .
    You have been warned don’t say people haven’t voiced their objections what most people will remember is deafness and inaction, people have memories don’t make them remember your actions , a clear explanation and move to fix a very serious problem.
    The SNP have spectacularly failed in the main objective , we the voters have nothing to lose because nothing has happened in the last 5 Years so we have nothing to lose but the SNP do

36. Breeks

MaggieC says:
    9 December, 2020 at 1:33 pm

I’ve come to the conclusion that there’re only two reasons for all of this gender nonsense over sex based rights . It’s either money or blackmail or a combination of both .

You’re forgetting a third vital component MaggieC… the sheer stupidity of gullible people politicians.

37. Stuart MacKay

Time for a Wee Pink Book that lists all the prospective candidates in next May’s election and their voting record on issues that affect Women? That would not be hard to put together and I’m sure would make interesting reading.

38. Jason Smoothpiece

From the BBC

Time is running out to “save the United Kingdom,” more than forty local leaders in England have warned Boris Johnson.

The group of mainly Labour politicians said support for Scottish independence should be a wake-up call for the PM to examine the constitutional status quo.

The signatories, led by South Yorkshire Mayor Dan Jarvis and including Greater Manchester’s Andy Burnham, called for a review of how power is distributed.

This is good news perhaps some senior Unionist politicians could come together examine the constitutional situation then promise Scotland more powers and jobs and…. things.

I know they could call it the VOW.

Laugh I almost peed my pants. We should write to them informing them it’s too late.

39. Strathy

A quick mention of yesterday –

Murrell will be back in front of the committee and Stuart’s investigation was mentioned in the reasons why.

‘His [Murrell’s] answers were sleekit from start to finish. One minute he was in the house for a crunch showdown with Alex Salmond, then he wasn’t. He knew about the meeting beforehand, then he didn’t.

He told the committee he is one of the few people not to have WhatsApp – only for it to emerge he used it a few weeks ago.

He tied himself in knots answering the simplest of questions and spoke in riddles.

The SNP chief executive must return to the committee to clear up the contradictions in his evidence and this time, provide entirely truthful answers.’

https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/alex-salmond-inquiry-likely-recall-snp-chief-exec-and-nicola-sturgeons-husband-peter-murrell-3062334

40. CameronB Brodie

Stuart MacKay
    I’ve been linking folk to the theoretical substance of WOKE practice, in case you’ve not twigged yet. Those who support the GRA amendments are pushing legal change that denies the nature of human embodiment. So here’s a look at “WHY FORENSIC LINGUISTICS NEEDS CORPUS LINGUISTICS”.

https://pressto.amu.edu.pl/index.php/cl/article/view/6897

41. Scot Finlayson

@Annie 621,

according to Humza`s Hate Thought Bill if you believe 2 + 2 = 1/9/an apple you should have the right to say so without any criticism or admonishment or sideways looks from anyone,

cause you are a rainbow unicorn,

this will not play well in the design and construction industry if some bricklayer expresses his belief that 2 bricks plus 2 bricks equals 7 bricks and vise a versa,

but then again John Swinney is doing away with exams and leaving qualifications up to the feelings of teachers so most kids wouldn`t know what the f@ck 2+2 even means but get a pass cause they are rainbow unicorns.

42. James Che.

Johnny McNeill I have realised most of what you say is appropriate to the situation we live in today.
    If you wouldn’t mind though may I add to your list, by listing fear and scaremongering.
    In todays headlines on the iPad we have the following,
    Avein flu, Christmas turkeys.
    Covid.
    Royal Mail scam.
    Universal credit payments would make certain people worse off.
    Mount Everest grows a metre.
    Brexit trade deals.
    Cars won’t be built in Britain.
    Higher exams to be cancelled in Scotland.
    Government scrapping affordable start homes.
    Government looking to raid pensions and property to raise £260 billion.
    Covid teirs management even with vaccines for the future.
    60 thousand on benefits warned to check bank accounts.
    Westminster debate human rights.
    Internal market bill breaking treaties.
    Don’t visit your granny and grandad cos you could kill them, and it would be your fault.
    Oh And there’s a new mysterious virus ( illness) killing people in India.
    You might lose your job, but your not allowed to go to work,
    You may have to get rid of your car that is in perfectly good working order, without being compensated, and fork out for an electric one,
    Etc etc.
    We are being subjected into a state of constant fear, on a massive scale, no matter what topic, and the governments are aiding and abetting these fears by introducing many new laws and legislation, that deter the average every day person from leading a normal life. Along with the media.
    When we add the two lists together, we realise there is a saturation of subtle and not so subtle psychological messaging aimed at the public on a scale that is previously unheard of In the last centuries.
    I couldn’t find the asteroid one, that the media have been running with this last year, that is so close to skimming earth that we should all live in fear,
    There are a multitude of people whom show kindness to others, there are a multitude of people rescuing animals, there are a multitude of people that picking up rubbish, there are a multitude of people in mixed race relationships, there are a multitude of of people whom make the planet greener by planting flowers and trees, people whom used to smile and say hello, before face masks made it a sin. Whom used to hug, before being taught to fear such advances.
    Why are there no more reports of family get togethers, laughing at a barbecue, birthday party or Christmas,
    Meeting in a cafe, chatting to your neighbour,
    Where is the good news gone. That used to make us smile or warm our hearts.
    The news is very intimidating, and perhaps this is a new media and method of control over the public, psychological warfare.
    We must not allow ourselves to be instigated and propelled towards this pattern of distrust towards everyone and everything, remember to smile to day, tell a joke to someone, phone a relative or neighbour to cheer them up, say hello to everyone you meet, while doing the dutiful safe distance thing, even if it is not returned, sing and play your favourite tunes( at Lowish ) decibels, pamper yourself. Make sure everyone around you does not feel down or isolated, plant cheerful flowers, indoors or outdoors, take up a new hobby,turn a grey world into colour, paint bright colours in your house.
    All these efforts have excellent results on your own sense of well-being and mentally uplift those feeling down or depressed.
    We do not have to endure this media assault on our senses.

43. David

Hunter & Somerville.
    2 people I would love to see get dumped ASAP.
    Although I suppose their mate Nicola would invent a position for them.

44. Graeme

The first step in solving a problem is recognising you have one

Trans people need to understand and recognise that they are not born in the wrong body nobody is born in the wrong body, they have a mental condition or abnormality that makes them believe they’re born in the wrong body.

We need to find a way to include them in society in a fair and consensus way, pandering to their every whim, denying scientific and biological fact, trashing womens rights and mutilating children is not the answer.

45. Effijy

Just heard that Nicola Sturgeon announced that Scots should not book
    a foreign holiday quite yet?

That is absolutely thoughtless!

The Travel Industry has been decimated by the Covid Virus
    more than any other industry.

At least pubs and restaurants have been open fully for periods
    or for restricted use periods.
    Travel Agents have had the government warm against travelling, added 2 weeks
    Quarantine on to 2 week holidays, Airlines and Cruise Companies have cancelled trips to
    areas where you could travel too as so many had cancelled anyway.

Thousands of jobs have been lost and many Travel Agency business’ closed for good and she
    has just hammered another nail in their coffin.

She has no idea of Covid levels here or anywhere next Summer.

Some travel agencies were just beginning to get bookings again
    and some brought staff back who had found temporary jobs or who
    we’re unemployed.

This announcement just put them back on Universal Discredit.

What’s next, don’t plan to drink or eat outside your home, don’t travel
    in your own country, forget about theatres and cinemas, etc.

Is she covering dumb announcements for Boris while he goes off to Brussels?

46. Gregor

re. 1984: ‘This BANANA 1984’ is even worse…

47. Willie B

John says:
    9 December, 2020 at 1:03 pm
    Bob Mack says:
    9 December, 2020 at 12:59 pm

Welcome, did the same a few months ago.I am in the Highlands and Islands branch, growing all the time.

Did the same John, the week Alex Salmond was found not guilty at the show trial made sure Portree CA knew what I was thinking, and that I wasn’t happy with Ian Blawhard and the stitch up, along with the genderwoowoo, I will still vote Kate Forbes as she does not subscribe to the whole debate by all accounts, doesn’t sit well with her religious leaning by all accounts, but I hope the ISP stand candidates on both votes next time, not sure if I want them in Wastemidden, maybe go on the voteing card but refuse to take office as Sinn Fein doesn’t, mind you that would suit the onionist parties down south

48. Allium

@David 2.42

Both are untouchable, and they know it.

49. Margaret Lindsay

I’ve emailed my 8 msps, to the sad effect of 3 automated responses, 4 dingies, and 1 actual, a tory no less, who will vote in favour of the amendment. Why are we paying the ones who haven’t bothered their arses to reply to us wages? I’ll be watching very closely as to who voted against Johann Lamont’s amendment.

50. John H.

The comments on this thread alone should set off alarms at SNP headquarters. Or do they have no self awareness at all?

51. Willie B

Had one proper reply , 4 4 automated ones and three not bothered, but Edward Mountain is voting for Johannas amendments, All I have hade from Kate Dorbes is the generic automated email,nothing from Maree Todd, both SNP, and nothing from John Finnie, the ex SNP and now Green MSP who had morals regarding NATO but hasn’t bothered to reply either

52. Robert graham

Totally agree with the comment about being subjected to a government directed PSYOP operation directed at the whole population of the UK a state of fear and uncertainty is actively being pursued everyone is on edge , every single day we are being subjected to the same Covid mantra every hour on the hour on every media people access ,any thought of any questions about this Vaccine is akin to heresy a crime against humanity , you notice this on any phone in show be it TV or Radio bare in mind that the presenter can’t upon fear of being sacked and the station they work for closed down within literally minutes of raising questions about allergic reactions , don’t blame the presenters they patsies are following instructions ,Where have we heard that before ? It was used in a defence of those individuals on trial for War Cimes in 1946 Nuremberg we were following orders.
    Everything you see and hear on every media outlet has to be Government approved and we are told not to trust North Korea aye they really are taking the Piss

53. robertknight

Breeks @ 2:31

Don’t forget the supposed UN career ambitions of someone…

What better credentials on your CV to have been seen to steer GRA and Anti-Hate legislation through your own domestic legislature, and then be able to sell your ‘expertise’ to the UN in order to tour the globe telling other governments all about it and how they should follow Scotland’s “progressive lead”.

Of course, it helps if you can surround yourself with like-minded folk in your legislature and behave in a manner agreeable to the British State; who, after all, being the Member State will be approached by the UN for a personal reference to support your job application. Can’t be seen to rock that ‘constitutional boat’ too much now can we…

54. Nally Anders

Graeme@2.42
    Under current legislation they already are included in society in a fair way.
    The Equalities Act specifically lists transgender as a protected characteristic and the Gender Reassignment Act 2004 allows people to transition in a safe and humane way. The process takes two years though and this seems to be an issue. Took me 4 years to get a honours degree in Engineering. A trade apprenticeship is fours years so two is nothing.
    They believe they’ve been born into the wrong body, the problem is we are required to deny science and buy into their delusion.
    Nicola Sturgeon could stop all this now but is nowhere to be seen so I’m inclined to agree with Maggie C, there is money behind this. I say money because I don’t believe she’s that stupid.
    Might have mentioned before, when asked Mhairi Hunter confirmed to my pal that transpeople have the same rights as you or I. Perhaps I shouldn’t say but I reckon she’s got a vested interest in the trans issue. Nuff said.

55. Lorna Campbell

There is no way now to get out of this SNP-inflicted mess except to deconstruct the trans ideology and to fight every transgression in the law courts – just as there is no way to accommodate holocaust deniers or anti evolutionists who believe that the Earth is only a few thousand years old. People who believe the patently untrue are far harder to shift that those who have an open mind or who are willing to do the work to discover the truth/facts. Scientifically, as science/biology stand today, there is no way to prove that people are actually living in the wrong body. In fact, I’d expect that to be disproved completely, seating the dissonance in the brain.

Everyone has a male/female duality with one being the dominant sex, and the opposite one only ever showing occasionally, but harmlessly, and, if we accept that boys can show their feelings, but are still boys, and that girls can be so-called ‘tom-boys’, but still be girls, that will go some way to making those who do not fit the gender stereotypes, be at ease with society.

We are living in an age of unprecedented television and other exposure to rigid gender roles, and they are damaging, very damaging. However, we have to ensure that trans people are not marginalized, and that will take good will. The fundamental difference between, for example, being gay and being trans, in terms of understanding, is that gay people never claimed to be the opposite gender or sex, so that no one else’s rights were affected when they were granted equal rights with everyone else. That is not the case with trans people and that is why it is so contentious – albeit the 2004 GRA afforded trans people equal rights and the 2010 Act gave them equal protections. That is the point: these pieces of legislation did not, emphatically did not, afford them their own rights and women’s sex-based rights, too, although some are convinced that the EHCR did award them women’s rights, too.

Basically, that is the real reason they have to actually BE women, not ‘feel’ as if they are women, but actually ARE women. Only by redefining womanhood to include manhood – a patent biological absurdity – can trans women legally and with impunity, trespass on natal women’s sex-based spaces and rights, regardless of how damaging that is for natal women, their sense of self or their dignity and privacy. They and their supporters simply deny that there is any trespass and you are not allowed to dissent from that orthodoxy.

It is estimated that around 80% or more of trans women will be male-bodied persons. Therefore, deconstructing transgenderism/transsexualism and to strip away its pretensions is the only way to deal with it. The trans lobby has left us no choice – either societally or politically. The only answer in the end will be third spaces, trans spaces. There simply is no other way to accommodate trans people in society without injuring another vulnerable group irreparably. It is analogous to saying that we must allow a Westminster demand to share all of our resources when we are independent as if we matter not a scrap, or have any autonomy. It is not going to happen. It cannot happen or natural justice goes out of the window, and, with it, any hope of conciliation for the future. Open ‘warfare’ will ensue.

56. Willie

Meanwhile in the real world where folk work to pay for the GRA focussed dossers the good folks in the Honda car plant are having their Ho Ho Ho Britannia moment.

Seems that Honda have today suspended all car production due to supply difficulties arising from what has been described as Brexit port congestion difficulties. Indeed with the German owned luxury car maker Bentley having recently announced that they were airlifting parts in to their UK car assembly plant one doesn’t have to think to hard about the flood of Ho Ho Ho Britannia moments yet to come.

And whilst my sentiment is that not enough of the Brexiteer bastards have not yet lost their jobs it is no consolation for those of us in Scotland who will suffer job loss and economic hardship.

And the SNP focus on GRA and Hate Crime Legislation ………….

57. Karen

It used to be sex and gender were same, male and female. Then they tried to say they were different, and there is a “spectrum” of genders. Now they try to say they are the same again, hence there is a “spectrum” of sexes. Enough!

58. James Che.

Are there isp members in northeast Scotland and if so does anyone know who they are. it would be good if they weren’t just in list seats.

59. Willie

In fact maybe the more people who lose their jobs through Brexit deserve to do so. Certainly make em think about the importance of politics and who they elect.

And I say that think about both here in Scotland and down south in England. We voted to stay but the useless SNP let us down whilst in England the voted to go so they’re getting what they wanted.

Poverty, economic blight for the many, riches for the few. It’s our birthright!

And when we can’t fund an NHS ………whooee, the trans brigade who demand free as a matter of right gender reassignment surgery, hormone treatment, breast enlargement, vocal chord surgery et al, will just have to pay for it privately. That’s if they’ve got a job.

60. tricia young

Margaret Lindsay – Me too. A Tory response, extremely polite and in favour of the amendment. Nil from everyone else, including my local MP Shona Robison. She can sing for my vote now. I am so furious, I don’t have the words to express it.

61. Nally Anders

Very well argued, Lorna @ 3.34.

62. North chiel

“ Daisy Walker @1240 “ Was it the same Shirley Anne Somerville that couldn’t accept additional devolved Social Security powers from Westminster until 2024 ?? It appears to me that with people who cannot “ strategically” see past the “ end of their noses” as regards the imminent requirement for Independence for our country apparently and supposedly leading our “ Independence “ campaign , it’s little wonder they would appear to have little or no inclination to “ take the bull by the horns” and CONFRONT Westminster.
    Where is the strategic thinkers in our Hollywood government ? Why haven’t we at the very least got “shadow “ ministries in place for ALL RESERVED POWERS currently held by London using teams drawn from Westminster & Holyrood members ? Where is the ambition ? Moves such as these would at least show our people that we were preparing for Independence.
    Its high time that we saw some ambition & strategy from some of these “ leaders” . Time they saw the bigger picture like the “ Brexit train wreck “ about to hit Scotland ?

63. winifred mccartney

PINK BOOK is a great idea – I for one will never vote for anyone who buys into this complete nonsense – not only women are being harmed but all those males who buy into the idea they can be a woman and that it makes no difference. Any SNP msp who votes against this amendment should be named and shamed. I too have emailed my msp’s and apart from one automatic response – nothing. I have nothing against trans persons – they can wear what they like, and do what they like with a consenting adult but they must not be allowed to erode the rights of women.

64. CameronB Brodie

Kenny J
    I’m not one to be punting religiosity, though a sense of spirituality, how ever that is practiced by the individual, is a functional component of pluralistic democracy, and the potential for freedom of thought.

https://openscience.com/cognitive-linguistics-perspectives-elucidate-religious-beliefs-ethical-arguments-and-ideological-constructs/

65. Nally Anders

Willie @ 3.52
    With Stonewall being such a hugely well funded organisation, you’d think they might be offering grants or donations to help transfolk access augmentation etc.

66. crazycat

@ Lorna Campbell at 3.34

I rarely disagree with you, but this

Everyone has a male/female duality with one being the dominant sex, and the opposite one only ever showing occasionally, but harmlessly, and, if we accept that boys can show their feelings, but are still boys, and that girls can be so-called ‘tom-boys’, but still be girls, that will go some way to making those who do not fit the gender stereotypes, be at ease with society.

is surely wrong. Every person has one and only one sex.
    Whether a person does or not display emotions is not a function of sex.

I think you have, unusually, conflated sex and gender in the first sentence of that paragraph. It’s easily done because it is so prevalent in our environment. To my great annoyance I catch myself doing it from time to time. But it does matter in this instance, because that is what we are discussing.

67. Daisy Walker

@ ‘Graeme says:
    9 December, 2020 at 2:42 pm
    The first step in solving a problem is recognising you have one

Trans people need to understand and recognise that they are not born in the wrong body nobody is born in the wrong body, they have a mental condition or abnormality that makes them believe they’re born in the wrong body.’

I actually think Graeme, that I may have been born in the wrong life, the wrong timeline and definitely the wrong body – In my head I am definitely much more successful, wealthy, popular, intelligent, witty – not to mention better looking, thinner, taller, and with longer legs and a better complexion.

Coming to terms with my shortcomings and playing the hand life dealt me, as opposed to the one I wished I’d had – would appear to me to be the foundations of growing up, and also the start of appreciating life as it is and not as some fantasy, with a never ending wish list that I will never achieve.

But then again, what do I know.

68. Saffron Robe

I think you have caught them out here, Stuart. They have changed their tune to “sex and gender are interchangeable” because they want to keep the word “gender” in the legislation. This reveals that their intent is actually to allow the opportunity for abuse to take place.

One of my best friends is a trans woman and it was she who explained to me that sex and gender are not the same thing. In my opinion, gender is transitive and therefore indeterminable in legal terms, whereas sex is scientifically determinable.

69. CameronB Brodie

I tend to agree with crazycat, in that we only have one sex. Though we display a vast variety of bodily expressions of that biology. So here’s a look at “Spanning our differences: moral psychology, physician beliefs, and the practice of medicine”.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4304047/

“Moral pluralism is the norm in contemporary society. Even the best philosophical arguments rarely persuade moral opponents who differ at a foundational level. This has been vividly illustrated in contemporary debates in bioethics surrounding contentious issues such as abortion and euthanasia. It is readily apparent that bioethics discourse lacks an empirical explanation for the broad differences about various topics in bioethics and health policy.

In recent years, social and cognitive psychology has generated novel approaches for defining basic differences in moral intuitions generally. We propose that if empirical research using social intuitionist theory explains why people disagree with one another over moral issues, then the results of such research might help people debate their moral differences in a more constructive and civil manner. We illustrate the utility of social intuitionism with data from a national physician survey.”

70. Daisy Walker

@ North Cheil at 4.00 pm

Agreed. Where are the strategic thinkers in the SNP?

AWOL and for a very long time.

Alex Salmond gave the Yes movement a game plan (keep it positive, all the way) and then step back and let them get on with it.

Nicla gives us a rigged question to which we already know the answer, a blind ally to drive into, and … well you know the rest.

71. CameronB Brodie

Sorry, that wasn’t particularly clear. There are two sexes obvs, male and female, but we each only posses one of them. So here’s a look at “Rethinking Legal Realism: Toward a Naturalized Jurisprudence”. 😉

https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/234134318.pdf

72. Muscleguy

@Crazy Cat
    You are right in your reply to Lorna. She assumes, wrongly, that some traits are inherently male or female. This is bogus and reflects Victorian thinking. There are just males and females of different types.

I’m physically very male, broad shoulders, long limbs, barrel chest. I’m very good at English, a Biologist, I cook well, like growing and making things including cooking.

My wife is a bit stocky, not waif like at all. When we met in uni halls her room was paperded entirely in F1 Cars through the ages. She still owns the fastest time up the drive (in Doug’s car) by a woman (they tarsealed it so all records are set in stone). She has degrees in Maths and CompSci which i encouraged her to get. She is a fantastic mother. Even though we are not together any more I still recognise that fact.

Some would trans both of us hearing the above, did i mention I write poetry? But to what end? We were happy for over 30 years as husband and wife, supporting each other. Our eldest went through a tomboy phase, before puberty hit then that faded as it often does. Her sister is a Cheek, a Geek who is still a Chick. She’s in Bioinformatics, channeling both her parrents in mashup. She likes pink. She’s married to another Geek who is an absolutely lovely guy.

The truly vast majority of people were happy being different sorts of people before the Woke arrived with their anti categorising mission and proceded to categorise different behaviours as inherently male or female, transpobic (everything apparently) in ways the Victorians would have recognised except for them pink was a manly colour and girls were dressed in sky blue. the woke claim that stuff is inherent. it very clearly is not.

73. CameronB Brodie

My last comment may appeared exclusionary to those who don’t conform with a binary schema and corresponding world view, but the interests of justice are not served by abandoning the legal doctrine of proportionality. There is no point in claiming to support diversity if you are determined to disable the law’s ability to respect biological difference. So here’s a look at “A Realistic View on Law and Legal Cognition”.

https://journals.openedition.org/revus/3304

74. MorvenM

This is the conclusion of a lengthy email Andy Wightman will be sending round enquirers. I haven’t been able to reply yet, I’m so furious.

“The legal effect of Section 9 is to allow a female complainer to request to be examined by a female examiner, and for a male complainer to make a similar request. There was no discussion or debate at Stage 2 or 3 as to the meaning of the word “gender” as it was clear what it meant. The rules of statutory interpretation are well established and mean that the meaning of words are determined by their ordinary meaning, any statutory meaning and/or the meaning intended and made explicit when the legislation as passed.

The meaning of the term “gender” in Section 9 is as a synonym for “sex” and there is no doubt that it provides for a complainer to request a female or a male examiner.

I accept that gender and sex are different concepts but they have historically been used interchangeably in statutes over the decades. Contemporary debates over sex and gender in relation to the rights of transgender people have brought this distinction into sharp focus and there is little doubt that if the 2014 Act were to be drafted today, more attention would be paid to language.

But in 2014 there was no debate and there remains no debate over the meaning of Section 9 and for that reason I am uneasy about retrofitting language to one section only of the 2014 Act in the context of a contemporary debate over language that is not relevant to the ongoing successful application of Section 9 for almost 7 years.

For that reason I shall be voting against amendment 28.

Best wishes

Andy Wightman MSP

Scottish Green Party”

Have you ever read a more self-serving, contradictory piece of heartless pish? Sex is synonymous with gender, yet they’re different concepts?

And then he gives the game away by acknowledging the importance of this distinction in the trans rights debate. So there you have it. “Trans rights” trump everything else, even the safety of women and support for victims of crimes.

Despicable.

75. CameronB Brodie

Gender and sex may be used interchangeably, but that does not mean they mean the same things in law. To suggest otherwise is indicative of sharp legal practice that is ambivalent to the existing fabric of equality legislation and protections. Gender and gender-identity do not always correspond, at least according to the Office of National Statistics.

https://www.ons.gov.uk/methodology/classificationsandstandards/measuringequality/genderidentity

“Gender identity is a personal internal perception of oneself and, as such, the gender category with which a person identifies may not match the sex they were registered at birth. In contrast, sex is biologically determined.”

76. Margaret Lindsay

Tricia Young have you seen the email RCS sent out to msps this morning, urging them not to vote for the amendment?
    https://twitter.com/campervanwoman/status/1336635685076398082?s=19

77. Lorna Campbell

Crazycat: apparently, we all display traces of the opposite sex (gender is just a stereotype that we impose to corral aspects of sex characteristics) but that does not mean we are the opposite sex. For example, boys like to climb trees and watch football or most boys like to do these things, and we know because these are observable behaviours that are far more frequent in males than in females. However, many young males will show a tendency to be cautious and less dominant, which are, to a large degree female characteristics, and young females will show tendencies, such as tree-climbing and watching/playing football that are less observed behaviours in females, but also perfectly natural.

That may be why even when we have equality of opportunity, we, nevertheless, still don’t have equality of outcome. There also seems to be a discrepancy in causal effects on men and women, the reasons for female transition being far less studied, and we do not hear so much from women about the subject, while trans men, not all, but many, are in your face about it. In other words, women are more reticent and there may be very different societal reasons for women wishing too transition than for men. The trans condition needs to be studied a great deal more and separate studies done on men and women because the default position is almost invariably male, and women have to fit in around that, when they might require a very different approach.

I listened to a trans women the other day and I would have passed her in the street and not realised she was trans – in fact, most of probably have. However, as she talked to the interviewer, something about her mannerisms were calculated and exaggerated – a caricature of a women. At first, it just puzzled me what it was, but that was it. It wasn’t really female, but a very over the top feminine woman who had obviously watched women closely, but had exaggerated the natural movements, hand gestures, facial expressions of a composite ultra ultra ultra feminine woman. I really do think that we need the appliance of stringent scientific research and study here.

Corrado Mella: I agree that there is something very odd about all of this at this time. I, too, have been thinking about psychopathy and sociopathy, how manipulative these conditions can be. The 2008 financial crash was a good example of people without real emotions or remorse bringing society to its knees for kicks and bucks, getting their rocks off on hurting people. There does seem to be something like that going on, with not all trans people themselves, and rather more with their petulant, vicious and nasty supporting cast, the trans lobby. I also think that there is another agenda, if not more than one, at play, that we are not being allowed to see right now. I can’t help feeling that both the public at large and the trans community, too, to an extent, are being played by vested interests and by those who have an axe to grind that might be less than wholesome on a number of levels.

78. CameronB Brodie

I think it’s reasonable to suggest we’ll not resolve this schism unless there is some reasonableness shown towards the gender-critical. So here’s a bit of legal semiotics, with a look at “Planning Facts Through Law: Legal Reasonableness as Creative Indexicality and Trans-categorical Re-configuration.” Sorry. 🙂

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs11196-020-09702-z

79. Lorna Campbell

Muscleguy: I was responding to observed behaviours studied over many years in the field of sexual development. I am well aware of the difference between gender and sex, and I consider gender to be imposed and learned, while sex is innate. Perhaps both you and crazycat have misunderstood me? The two sexes do display, to a degree, characteristics of observed, a priori behaviour which is predominantly displayed by each, that is all. Neither you nor your wife is actually claiming to be in the wrong body, even though your body shapes might not correspond with the (again, imposed) ideal for that sex. Throughout our evolution, we have developed in ways that reflect where we were born, what we ate, how we related to our natural environment, and so on.

That has nothing to do with gender, and sex and gender should never be conflated. Our sex is determined by our physiology, our genes, our chromosomes, etc. and is immutable (unless we belong to the intersex category, which is recognized as such). The problem is in the legal definitions of male and female that the trans lobby wants to change, and this has never been mooted before in our history, and nor has it ever been the case in the history of human rights and sex-based rights that one group of people has sought to trespass on the rights of another. The way that the Scottish government (or elements within it) has sought to square the circle is by riding roughshod over existing laws that do not match those laws it wishes to introduce for the benefit of trans women and to the detriment of natal women/females. It is an utter disgrace in a democracy with a modern, developed legal system.

80. Christian Schmidt

I have just read this article translated into German by google translate. It is really quite funny, because German has only one word for sex and gender (Geschlecht)…

81. Margaret Wilson

I really think the SNP are so arrogant now because their ratings and independence support is so high. Do they not see that the grass roots of the party are the very people they should be listening to. There are many people on Twitter telling us to zip it because we could harm our chances for Indy. What chances? I see none.

I believe tomorrow is a very important day for the future of the SNP. They’ve had a good run but a vote is not guaranteed just because they’re high in the polls today. Half the voters are women and they’re just not listening. I’m a woman, my two daughters are women and two of my grandchildren are now women and all have a vote. Watch this space.

82. Ellie

I have received replys from list MSPs, Torys are supporting JL amendment as are Labour, Green is not unsurprisingly but at least had manners enough to reply. Not a murmur from Constituency MSP (SNP). He may think he can sidestep and avoid answering but he will need to remember that we will note how MSPs vote and our own votes will be cast accordingly in May.

83. CameronB Brodie

There is obviously a need for reasonableness concerning a number of moral schisms within Scottish society, or else they will fester and further harm Scottish culture. So we’re pretty much stuffed, as Scots law is on the point of being harmed in such a way that prevents it from respecting biological difference. Which isn’t particularly reasonable, and will have serious harmful social effects that will undermine the potential for indy. Then there’s hardcore English Torydum and expansionist English nationalism to consider. So here’s a look at the “The philosophy of personal epistemology”, which you might as well burn as ‘our’ legal officer appear determined in their hostile towards cognitive law.

https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/78566241.pdf

“In higher education, personal epistemology is today a significant research area. PE has been seen as promising particularly because it focuses on one of the general learning aims of many contemporary universities, namely, the development of students’ creative and critical thinking.

The article identifies serious conceptual problems in the theoretical framework of PE. Firstly, we argue – contrary to many promoters of PE – that PE’s theoretical models are not based merely on empirical data from developmental psychology, but clearly feature normative philosophical elements.

Secondly, we consider the acceptance of relativism in the theoretical framework of PE. We argue that the concept of fallibilism has been overlooked, which has forced PE theorists to choose between naïve realism and relativism. Their choice of relativism has led – in addition to other philosophical problems – to a loss of adequate definitions for the epistemological notions of objectivity and certainty. The recognition of epistemological fallibilism would be beneficial both to PE’s theoretical framework and to PE-based university pedagogy.”

84. CameronB Brodie

Damn it, almost managed a comment without a typo. I think I’ve already posted “RECONCEIVING BIOETHICAL PROCEDURALISM:
    AN ONTOLOGICAL PERSPECTIVE”, but I think it worth a re-post. As defense of bounded rationality anyway.

http://aebioetica.org/revistas/2019/30/99/135.pdf

85. Ellie

Margaret Wilson: Seems SNP MSPs are avoiding answering the question and hoping we will forget!

86. crazycat

@ Lorna Campbell

Thank you for your replies to me and to Muscleguy. I will ponder them – I think there are things I still disagree with, but these are not important enough to justify what would be a diversion from the general issue, on which we do agree. I might interact with you again later about them if they acquire salience.

87. McDuff

emailed Alyn Smith telling him neither I or my family will be voting for him in May unless there is a massive change at the top of the SNP.
    I have waited my whole life for independence only to see it deliberately squandered on insane polices which if continued will eventually see them unelectable.
    I am seething with anger at what seems a deliberate betrayal not only by Sturgeon but by all the MSP/MP`s who have remained silent.
    My vote goes to the ISP and if they do not stand in Stirling I will not vote.

88. Don’t Voke Woke

@mcduff, you won’t be voting for Smith in May, he is an MP, and it’s MSPs that we will be voting for, check to see who is list candidates before May just in case it’s one of Sniths Acolytes trying to get in through the back door, as Constituency Associations don’t have a choice and this is where I fear the trans activists will find the entrance to Holyrood

89. maxxmacc

In 2019, Mhairi Hunter in her official capacity as a member of the Glasgow City Council social care committee, was due to visit a day centre with regards to discussing the crucial topic of funding. It took months to get the visit arranged, and her communication throughout could only be described as ‘patchy’.

Guess what? On the day of the visit she cancelled with a sore throat, and didn’t even send a subordinate, or arrange another visit.

An oxygen thief. I never rated her mother either, and saw plenty of evidence to suggest her loyalties lay elsewhere.

90. Daisy Walker

@ MorvenM re Andy Wightman’s reply.

So, he’s not going to be penning another book entitled –

‘The poor wimen had no female lawyers’

Any time soon then.

Agree with your conclusion.

@ Lorna Campbell

Your comment was very interesting. Layers within layers, multiple agendas working in tandem.

I think one agenda is to hijack the means by which ‘the common people’ advocate and protest for change, and totally discredit the whole process, and I completely think it is orchestrated and engineered.

I was struck by a link Craig Murray put up with regards Linda Evans previous role in Edinburgh Council – and the antics she got up to with regards spiking a local training charity initiative (by all accounts a really good and effective one).

Once you get a few chosen folk doing that deliberately then the initiative prevents any talent from coming up, and the folk applying for the job to dish out the grants, soon start playing by the crooked rules – very soon the whole thing becomes a game of saying one thing and delivering the exact opposite.

Family members live in a village outside Edinburgh and were members of a local community greenhouse/garden. Council owned.

Like any such organisation folk get fed up being on the committee. A new bloke came and got himself elected as Chair. Total bully, obnoxious, right from the get go.

Within a year club closed down. Family suspected he was doing it deliberately for that very purpose so the council could sell the land.

91. Sue Varley

Willie B.

You’ve done better than me. Of the Highland MSPs, Edward Mountain’s office replied to my husband’s e-mail, but only on behalf of himself not the tory group, and not one of them has yet replied to me. Not even the aotomated acknowledgement.

Surely they must all have some staff member capable of looking for e-mails with Forensic Medical in the subject. They know that lots of us are contacting them about this, they could get a staff member to send a link to a statement as Mountain did.

I am particularly disappointed in Kate Forbes.

92. Sandra Nel

I left the SNP in May after 15 years. AFI have the policy l’ll vote for – Independence ???????

93. Saffron Robe

I think it all boils down to the following: In those cases, such as this one, where trans rights and women’s rights are not mutually inclusive, then it is the duty of our elected representatives to put women’s rights before trans rights. Why? Because they are representing their constituencies which are comprised of approx. 51% women. To give precedence to the rights of such a small minority over the rights of the majority is quite plainly wrong, suspect and, indeed, dangerous.

94. Graham

I have just reported a woman on Twitter who posted the following:

Joanne Lamont is trying to hijack the Forensic Medical Services Bill this week to pursue a transphobic agenda. Here’s an execellent peice from Rape Crisis Scotland showing what we really need to do to protect women and girls. https://scotsman.com/news/opinion/columnists/forensic-medical-services-bill-important-step-forward-treatment-rape-survivors-scotland-gender-row-misses-point-sandy-brindley-3061543

It’s less than a week since an ‘open letter’ that slandered two female lawyers as transphobic (resulting in them indicating – quite rightly IMO – that they may take legal action). Yet this person, who works in the Scottish Parliament, thought it appropriate to slander Johann Lamont.

95. Graham

Sorry, for clarity I should have put quotes “”
    from before “Joanne [sic]
    to after -brindley-3061543”

96. Seoras Liath

For 53 years I worked on Highland sporting estates for members of the Establishment,their families and associates and I learned to dislike their attitudes of arrogance and entitlement. Their lickspittle underlings were often worse.

I can’t believe I’ve just written a letter of thanks to one of the Lochiels !!.

Dear Mr
    Thank you for your email.
    This long-overdue Bill aims to improve forensic medical services for victims of sexual crime, who have been repeatedly failed by the SNP Government.
    In their ‘Stage 1’ report, the Scottish Parliament’s Health and Sport Committee recommended that the Bill be amended to guarantee an individual’s right to choose the sex of the forensic medical examiner, in preference to the word ‘gender’.
    In line with this recommendation, the Scottish Conservatives will support the amendment in the name of Johann Lamont MSP which seeks to change ‘gender’ to ‘sex’ in regards to the request of a forensic medical examiner.
    Victims of sexual crime go through the most appalling circumstances, and the system that is meant to support them often makes things worse.
    This Bill is an important first step, but the SNP Government must do more to create a justice system that finally puts victims first.

Yours sincerely,

Donald Cameron MSP
    Member for the Highlands and Islands

97. Annie 621

Scot Finlayson..spot on.,
    ..can’t help thinking it’s a ‘dead cat’, this shit is a magnificent diversion from the Murrell’s et Al’s crimes, ourselves ‘having’ to put off 2 seconds on this.
    The insult, staggering.
    Elliot got it;

“…Distracted from distraction by distraction,
    filled with fancies and empty of meaning,
    tumid apathy with no concentration,
    men and bits of paper, whirled by the cold wind,
    that blows before and after time,
    wind in and out of unhealthy lungs..
    eructation of unhealthy souls…
    this twittering world…”

From the four quarters.
    Astounding!

98. Saffron Robe

I just wanted to add a couple of further points to the debate:

As politicians are dependent on the votes of the electorate, why do they want to alienate 51% of the population to appease a small minority? Is this the SNP’s strategy under Nicola Sturgeon – to throw the vote against independence by using the trans lobby as saboteurs?

I am fully supportive of trans women who have fully transitioned. I watched my friend transition to a woman, and although it wasn’t an easy process by any means, I could see that, for her, it was the right thing to do. And because she has fully transitioned (i.e. lost her tackle), I don’t consider her a threat to women or children even in their safe spaces (not that she was ever a threat, a gentle soul really). The problem arises from those who do not fully transition and are therefore susceptible to predatory behaviour, especially if given the opportunity.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.