Just Good Friends
It seems like almost every time somebody gets accused of rape, sexual harassment or any kind of horrible creepy sex-based sleaze in Scotland these days, the same face is always lurking around grinning in the background somewhere.
Can you guess who it is yet?
How many’s a trend again?
Now of course, First Ministers and such get their photographs taken with all manner of people. But there was little disguising Sturgeon’s genuine affection for most of the SNP members in the pics above, as they were all protected by the party hierarchy she led from allegations that would have seen less-favoured figures suspended immediately on suspicion alone (as the likes of Neil Hay, Michelle Thomson or Mark McDonald and many more would attest).
Although as far as we know she never went quite so far as to publicly describe any of them as “a force for good”, as she did in 2021 of the revolting violent racist misogynist transwoman drug-dealer Leeze Lawrence.
But Iain Robertson is a step up in every way, both in terms of the crimes he’s accused of and his closeness to Sturgeon. We thought the name rang a bell when we read yesterday’s story, and we were right – a few years ago he was a particularly strident and nasty trans activist on Twitter, although his account has now been deleted and not many of his tweets survive.
But Sturgeon and Robertson didn’t just coincidentally happen share an avowed hatred of women standing up for their sex-based rights. They were good enough pals that he could make her do stuff.
If you can’t quite make it out, Sturgeon’s personally handwritten PS on that thank-you note to an SNP fundraiser says “Iain [Robertson] made me write the first para – I loved your Selkirk Grace. X.”
The paragraph in question, in which Sturgeon suggests that the recipient’s rendition at a Burns supper was “spectacularly dreary”, is banter of the sort you have to have to be very good friends with all the people involved to write.
(There was quite the turnout of Sturgeon’s showbiz pals that night.)
It wasn’t the first Burns Supper that Robertson and Sturgeon had shared. Two years earlier he’d put another on for the same SNP branch, at which he gave a remarkable “Toast To The Lassies”, expounding at some length on sexism and misogyny and the darkness in men’s minds along the way.
Readers can choose their own favourite sections from the speech.
Robertson, ironically, played the main role in a public information film from the Health Education Board for Scotland back in the 90s, warning about young men drunkenly sexually harassing women.
And it’s tempting to wonder where he draws his character “Stevie the baddie” from.
But of course we don’t know if he’s guilty of anything. Like another former associate of Sturgeon’s once charged with awful sex crimes, he might be completely innocent.
But it’s not really the same thing when you’re the one orchestrating the false trumped-up charges in the first place. And it’s terribly hard not to notice the recurring theme, over many years, of Sturgeon’s very different treatment of victims and perpetrators, depending on how they view gender ideology.
Maybe the latter are just her type.

Surely not another case of hiding in plain sight.
“Think about it”.
You can understand why the Swinney’s of this world did not speak up.
She must have beed an absolute bitch to work for. A nasty bit of stuff.
Still they all gad plenty of chances to do the right thing.
Swinney is the last person we would need negotiating independence. He would blow iver on the first gust.
“same face grinning in the background…”.
“Foreground”, surely, Rev?
Of course, Iain famously laid on a Burns Supper for the SNP in Glasgow where Nicola was the guest of honour, no less…
link to broadcastingscotland.scot
Oh my word that’s extraordinary. Just grabbing it before it vanishes, will edit it in when I’ve got it.
In a remarkable coincidence, Sturgeon (acipenseridae) are also bottom feeders. Fancy that!
Haha! Excellent, robertknight!
For starters, we do not know that Iain Robertson is actually guilty of anything. Innocent men have been arrested and charged before.
However, putting that aside, let’s look at the whole picture in relation to the SNP: these men who pretend to be women, as evidenced by the likes of Ray Blanchard and J Michael Bailey, sexologists, are more or less wholly immersed in sexual fetishes. We all knew them to be transvestites just yesterday, and we all knew that they were getting sexual kicks out of pretending to be women. Most of them today – in the past, many were homosexual transvestites who are attracted to other men – are heterosexual men who are attracted to women and girls. Autogynephilia came later, and many still struggle to understand this particular paraphilia.
Let’s think about that: Iain Robertson, in common with many men and women, believe that these men are just harmless, wee, misunderstood craiturs who just want to pee – in female spaces, that is. Would any man who is not a sexual deviant wish to force himself into female spaces? No, because societal conventions precluded any such behaviour, and men would, in the past, have been arrested and charged with any number of crimes of deviancy. In the interim, especially in Scotland, these men have been lauded by the SNP, the Greens, the Lib Dems, Labour, as being ‘stunning and brave’ to show their ‘authentic selves’. Their authentic selves, of course, are almost certainly their ‘deviant selves’ although, perhaps not all of them. Whatever, women and girls should not have to put up with men like this in their midst, in their own private public spaces, breaching their boundaries and making them feel threatened, at worst, and uncomfortable, at best.
It is way past the time when these men – and the stupid, wee lassies who mutilate themselves in obeisance to this sexual religion, from which they cannot possibly benefit in any way at all, and the innocent children who are at the mercy of Munchausen’s-by-proxy parents or who are terrified of their child’s suicide or of losing them to this religion forever – are told the truth about what this is. It is and always was, a sexual rights movement for men of all sexual persuasions and perversions to indulge their fantasies and fetishes in public and force the public to comply.
While Alex Salmond’s life was being torn to shreds – and, by proxy, his wife’s and family’s – on charges that veered from the petty and spiteful to the laughable, the SNP was busily paving the ground for heinous and blatant removal of women’s and girls’ rights, for the deviant sexualization of our children, from nursery to secondary, on to university, paving the way for public institutions, tax-payer funded, to milk the public purse in the name of sexual deviancy. The leadership and numerous MSPs deliberately tried to change society itself. Anyone who still does not believe that our governments – and I include Westminster – are infested with sexual enablers who, for their own reasons, and people have to decide for themselves what those reasons are – is not firing on all cylinders.
Well analysed and informative, Lorn. Thank you.
Well said. It has failed. The backlash is yet to come.
Can’t argue with a single word, Lorn.
If you’d seen the 2 trannies on the plane yesterday you’d not be saying TWAW. No self respecting woman would ever wear such a shit wig.
I would love to get the full story on Leeza Lawrence demise; total radio silence.
I am thinking … chemsex weekender, meets swimming with barrymore, meets past the elbow … with selected scenes from the rocky horror show.
Birds of a feather…….
WE, THE PROGRESSIVES’ — runs the argument — ‘are the wise and good; we know what reforms the world needs; if we have power, we shall create a paradise.’ And so, narcissistically hypnotised by contemplation of their own wisdom and goodness, they proceeded to create a new tyranny, more drastic than any previously known.”
BERTRAND RUSSELL. «The Impact of Science on Society»
In always looking to punish non-conformists and other non-believers, woke-ism seems another form of fascism which divides the working class and also as we see liberation movements.
I was at one of those Burns suppers back in the day.
I’m sure one of the guest comedians was Nathan Sparkle, although I’m not 100%
In drag, of course
Iain Robertson did Tam O’Shanter and it was abysmal
Couldn’t indrstand a word he was saying
The Myra Hindley of Politics.
I very seldom agree with anything you post Mark unionist Beggan but that comment is right on the money
You still here, TH?
I thought you were near the head of the queue for “assistance”.
“If you choose bad companions, no one will believe that you are anything but bad yourself.”
Aesop’s Fables.
Those who slip justice in this life are first in line for justice in the next.
I will repeat this until y’all get it.
The modern western structures of power are the perfect environment for the worst, most abhorrent people (and I struggle to include them in that group) to succeed.
The way to power is full of opportunities for backstabbing, gaslighting, abuse, violence, blackmail, sexual deviance and debauchery, exploitation and betrayal.
Power is often untrammeled, unchecked, absolute and unlimited, and it comes with money by the bucket load and a lavish lifestyle.
Who do you think all this is going to attract and facilitate, and is more likely to be successful at obtaining it?
Narcissists, sociopaths, psychopaths, sadists and Machiavellians. The lesser of us.
Of course these mentally insane defectives are also sexual deviants: it’s part and parcel of their illnesses.
They are indifferent to cruelty and often revel in it.
While power and the benefits that come with it are not counterbalanced with immediate consequences and accountability for any misgiving, we won’t have a safe society.
Bring back the guillotines.
The guillotines would be operated by the abusers. What we need is direct democracy where the people have direct and immediate power over the politicians.
That’s just daft, sarah.
If the people have direct and immediate power, then there is no need for politicians at all.
We could easily set up, using modern communications and social media, backed up by an executive arm of government, a means by which citizens would have direct and immediate power over all institutional decision making.
That triumph of mass idiocy, ignorance and prejudice, constantly blown hither and thither by the vagaries of whim, fashion and whatever people are talking about on Love Island, would provide us with a chaotic shambles on stilts.
It’s difficult for me to believe you haven’t worked this out for yourself.
I agree Sarah.
Hatey Mc. That’s where we are now!
I agree Sarah. I think that we could have a check on the politicians by using a citizens assembly as a second house. And as in Switzerland major issues are decided by referenda. Under no circumstances should politicians have ultimate power . They have shown us often that they are the deviants and the self serving fraudsters nowadays peddling influence and open to any financial opportunity. The people are sovereign and the politicians should answer to them.
It has been 40/50 years in development and in my opinion is still developing/degenerating but I agree with your assessment.
You lost me at ‘y’all’. Yank idiocy.
Orchestrating a conspiracy against an innocent man, is, in my opinion; on par with the most heinous of crimes of the accused.
It’s just a different type of evil. And she’s not got away with it. Because we know the truth. Salmond was innocent.
Where as Sturgeon and Murrell swindled Independence, drove him into an early grave with the stress.
I’m still hoping David Davis will one day reveal all the details.
David Davis? The Westminster English Tory? That David Davis?
Isn’t WM the pit of Hell, and aren’t Tories the devil’s spawn, and shouldn’t all English be gassed, incinerated, ground to dust and then gassed again just tae mak siccar?
Asking on behalf of the usual Wings BTL suspects.
It would solve a lot of problems. Just saying.
I agree Sarah.
I’d argue that Stuegeon is indeed in prison. She’s lied about who she is her entire life. And now’s she’s into her twilight years. A haggered, allegedly perceived to be corrupt and, what the 6,000 Alba Party members know to be fact – the ringmaster of the failed conspiracy to jail innocent Alex Salmond.
I love for Sturgeon to be locked up. And it won’t happen soon. But it is coming.
Hackit.
I slag Sturgeon the Judas off further.
Her marriage – failed!
Her political legacy – tainted!
Gender self ID – failed!
Criminal conspiracy to jail innocent man, Scotland’s greatest ever politician – she failed!
Sturgeon – failed at everything she touched – while riding the former vehicle to Independence.
Now is not the time said Theresa May – because you’re a total fake Nicola. The secret meeting in the Crown Plaza Glasgow. Stugeon the Judas bent the knee to the British Government. A nasty nasty woman.
Just seeing Nicola Sturgeon with her Covid mask on. Deleted WhatsApps from the Covid protocol inquest. We’ll never get the truth. But the Shipman Sisters – Jean Freeman and Nicola Sturgeon. Sent the plague into the homes by clearing the hospitals.
No one will admit it or take liability. But she loved controlling us. She loved locking us away. And ultimately. Her policies have cost human life.
God will have the final say, when her day of judgement comes.
I’ve been triggered by this post. She recently said that transgenders must feel unsafe about the Supreme Court ruling.
Get it right up her. That’s all I can say. I really, passionately dislike her. And with glee: I’m enjoying the collapse of her failed woke ideology.
Get it right up her. Awful Judas bastard.
David: why would so-called ‘trans’ identified people of either sex feel unsafe? They have been offered gender neutral toilets and changing areas but, consistently and persistently, refuse them. They have been offered their own categories in sports. They have even been offered gender neutral wards in hospitals. Refused. Sorry, but they can’t feel all that unsafe, then, so it is something else and we all know, or should, what they is, and it is not just validation, but sexual exploitation.
They are parasites and deliberately provocative in pursuit of their aims which is to relieve others of any opportunity to have their own human rights and long understood and accepted social conventions. No reason on Earth can account for the way they behave. None. Except rampant and out-of-control sexual deviancy which, as any police officer would tell you, is all but I’m possible to put back into the bottle once it has been released. Many of these men will never commit crimes, sexual or otherwise, but, in comparison to the male population at large, and even in comparison to male sexual offenders, trans identified males in prison for crimes against society are there for sexual offences at well over 50% Again, these offences might not all be at the extreme end of the scale, such as sexual assault and rape, but they are on the fairly serious scale of sexual offences.
How could any so-called civilized person – and I include my own sex here, think it is fine and dandy for women, girls and children to live their lives under this constant strain from both the ‘trans’ offenders and male sexual offenders in general? Not asking you, David, as I can see where you stand, but the general public, and, particularly those who support TWAW. They are enabling sexual exploitation. Two options exist for females and their children: 1) put up with it and stay silent while mental health deteriorates as safety, dignity and privacy are removed; 2) speak out at the very least; take court action; and/or defend by lawful means, pointing out that the Scottish government is breaching the law of the land. Over and over again. Call for anyone who calls for the breaching of the UKSC ruling to be deselected or start up a campaign to lose them votes. Be as absolutely relentless in pursuit of justice, as the ‘trans’ lobby has been in pursuit of fem ale rights.
And THAT is where a REAL people’s assembly would EXPOSE and destroy the REAL purpose of these deviants and perverts who are REFUSING to comply with the law of the land
Every politician of whatever political party who voted for the illegal GRB against the wishes of their constituents should and would be SACKED if we had a people’s representation body
That’s blethers, TH, even for you.
If we have a People’s Assembly to sack politicians who don’t do as the People’s Assembly says, then we don’t need the politicians at all. Save money and get the People’s Assembly to do everything. If they disagree internally, they can sack themselves.
Why don’t you take the time to think things through before posting? Think of your environmental responsibility! Stop wasting resources.
Despite his belief that transwomen are women, he isn’t accused of raping a transwoman.
Odd that they know what a woman is when it suits their desire (allegedly).
A vox populi was carried out in London some months ago, and it asked passing young men whether they believe that TWAW. Some looked uncomfortable, but all said, yes. Next, they were asked if they would sleep with a trans-identifying man, particularly if he had had the op. All said, no. When asked why, they all, to a man, looked sheepish and shuffled their feet. Nuff said – or, rather, not said. Too feart! Many people although the numbers are dwindling – are afraid to stand up to these empty vessels who shout the loudest.
The disgusting SNP! Only the most cowardly and idiotic still support them.
They sure aint for independence.
“Only the most cowardly and idiotic still support them”
Yet they are predicted to do well in 2026. Because a majority of Scots of a certain type continue to support them.
Are they cowards and idiots then? Your words, not mine.
Hatey: It is because they believe that independence will come only via the SNP. They are entirely wrong. Independence will never come via the SNP. That has been evident to those with eyes to see for at least ten years now. EDI/woke is so widespread and embedded in all institutions, and these people are congenitally unable to distinguish between what is good for minorities and what is good for the majority of the people of Scotland to the extent that they are unable to contemplate plate an independent Scotland. They have become parallel beliefs – except that the overwhelming amount of evidence shows that most DEI/woke is inherently harmful to most humans while independence is now the only way that Scotland can hope to thrive at all in the future.
Many English people, believe it or not, would wish us well, as they, too understand that even England would be better off as an independent country. The days of the Union are numbered now, although it will take a while yet, and independence for us might well come via England’s anger with its own politicians rather than anything done for our benefit by us, although that is no reason not to continue our efforts to try and achieve independence for ourselves. I worry, sometimes, that we simply do not understand England and the English except as a bête noire and it blinds us to what is happening there, and, by extension, what could happen here, and has happened.
The reality of a colonial society such as in the Scottish context provides for a more complex picture in regard to DEI policies imposed on what is already a subordinated group, i.e. the Scots, viz:
‘Diversity: The representation of minority groups in a workplace’
In the ‘UK’ DEI approach the Scots-speaking minority are not considered as an oppressed ethnic minority (or subordinate/ disadvantaged) either in Scotland or in the UK, hence they remain outwith the scope of DEI policy and therefore continue to be discriminated against due to colonial rule;
‘Equity: Equal access to opportunities and fair or impartial treatment’
A colonial society is aimed at widening inequality between colonized and colonizer with the less assimilated native population lacking in opportunity or access to their own resources, and whose socio-economic subordination becomes institutionalised and obscured;
‘Inclusion: A feeling of belonging and respect’
The Scots deprived o thair ain mither tung and lacking opportunity and/or access to their own resources leads to their feeling of alienation with colonialism resulting in ‘a people’ becoming bystanders and ultimately considered foreign in their own land.
On the matter of ethnic oppression in a colonial society:
link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com
@Lorn
That’s another reasoned, eloquent and sane post from you. Beats me how you manage to post on here without ranting and raving like an unemployable, bevvied up Auld Firm supporter, cursed with a morbid obsession about bum sex 🙂
Yes, there are plenty English who would wish us well, many of them here in Scotland. The English in England will no more want a failed state on their border than we rational Scots will want a failed state with ten times our population, jihadis and nukes south of us. Particularly when the bulk of our trade will be with England and probably for some years will transit through England too.
And what about those serious Indy people who say we will use the GBP? Are we going to be celebrating its crash, when that means our economy will have crashed too?
As for the English who have made their homes in Scotland, it’s bloody obvious they will want what all immigrants seek everywhere – a stable existence with the potential to enjoy material comfort. It’s in their interest for Indy to succeed, and to hell with what their great, great, great, great grandfather did in a redcoat after Culloden.
I have long believed that a study of Scottish history and an examination of contemporary voting patterns suggests that the “artificial” geographical construct that is Scotland may well not hold together post-Indy if the nutters in the Central Belt fail to get their act together. It’s an idea that is utter anathema to those Indy supporters, predominately from Glasgow and its surrounds, who are “into” Indy only because they expect to live high on the hog from other Scot’s local resources and other Scot’s graft. But the unemployed socialist of Govan (say) has little in common with the Tory self-employed business woman of Orkney, or the oil & gas professional of Shetland. There is no reason for the latter to carry the former if the former won’t see reason.
Tribal is the correct adjective to describe the SNP die hards. Tribalism is perhaps Scotland’s biggest single problem. Tribal countries are inherently artificial and hold together only as long as an external imperial hegemon uses a greater or lesser amount of force to that end. History is very clear about this.
Manipulation, divide and rule, paternalistic colonialists, and finally partition when all else fails – all are part of the colonizer’s toolkit, Hatey. Ye’ve shuirly lat yer veil doun thair.
@Alf
I must hae colonised masel!
Partition is a possibility if the kind of eejits currently ruling the roost at HR are still mismanaging Scotland after Indy.
Nowt tae dae wi me if it happens, Alf. But to repeat what I said earlier, look at Scotland’s history and look at voting preferences against geographical areas in recent times.
Finally, look in the mirror. There’s nobody more contemptuous of the Gaels and their culture/language than yourself. If your attitude is widely shared amongst the Scots speakers you claim to represent, who’s to blame if the Gaelic speaking heartlands choose to go their own way?
Yes Hatey, if we “look at voting preferences against geographical areas in recent times” what we find is that the strongest anti-independence areas all have experienced significant in-migration from England over the past 30+ years, which means the ‘No’ vote is to a large extent an English speaking and hence ethnic vote. This includes Borders, D&G, East lothian, Edinburgh, NE Fife, Perthshire, Aberdeenshire, Highland, Orkney and Shetland.
There are relatively few “Gaelic speaking heartlands”. Scotland is still in large part a Scots-speaking nation and Scots speakers form the basis of the Yes vote (language giving us our identity).
All in all this just goes to prove that oor Scots language is a key determinant of independence and withoot hit thar widna be ony cry fer oor leeberation. This further demonstrates that, as with all peoples in self-determination conflict, independence reflects a linguistic divide (i.e. ‘British/English or Scottish’ identifying), which is what Edin Uni post-referendum research found.
Alf, if Scotland is still in large parts a Scots speaking nation, there’s precious little evidence for it on here.
I don’t believe it’s “colonialism” holding people back either.
It’s lack of ability, and a complete absence of any interest, desire or drive to learn a secondary and effectively useless language.
And all the fulminating against that claim (mostly in English, natch) just makes my point for me. Because it’s in English.
” if Scotland is still in large parts a Scots speaking nation, there’s precious little evidence for it on here.”
There is obviously little evidence of the latter because of the inability of maist Scots to write in Scots due to our colonial education system, but plenty of evidence that Scots fowk speak Scots. Such is ‘the torture of colonial bilingualism’ (Fanon).
Ah kent ye’d say that, Alf.
Remarkable, no?, hoo muckle fowk pick up ootside o formal education when they’re interested themselves.
Corrado Mella @ 14.09.
I do believe that we’ve all got it, Corrado. It’s achieving independence and sorting out the bourach which is presenting the challenge.
Another winner from the BBC.
It’s amazing how obvious it is to other men when a certain type of right-on “anti-misogynist” guy is a wolf in sheep’s clothing.
Genuinely decent men don’t go on about how much they go to battle against casual sexism, they just treat women like human beings.
Progressive = Predatory
Defo something rotten in the state of Scotland.
I’m grateful and relieved we still have the institutions of the UK to protect ordinary Scots from the worst excesses of our own, home-grown, Scottish abusers of women, power and privilege.
I know somebody will be along shortly to accuse me of being a Yoon or to blame all of this deviant behaviour on the evils of colonialism.
But I am confident the correct response to that is exactly the same response normal, sane, rational Scots will give:
Ach, that’s shite and ye ken that fine.
U.K. has given Scotland Thatcher, Major, Blair, Cameron, May, BoJo, Truss, Sunak, Starmer and possibly Farage. That represents institutional idiocy.
Yoon (definition): A Unionist who argues that Scots are Too Wee, Too Stupid and Too Poor to govern themselves.
Cheers, Callum.
I’m defo not a Yoon by that definition.
I think Scots are too corrupt, too perverted and too paranoid to govern themselves. This article by Rev Stu very obviously covers the corrupt and perverted accusations.
BTL posts by the usual suspects demonstrates the too paranoid (77th brigade, Da Dews, etc).
Why don’t you take up with the EU fan club the too wee, too stupid jibes? I mean, if we’re not too wee and too stupid, why do they want us to be governed from Brussels?
The whole Scottish government is corrupt to it’s core. Our future must have a different political system. Party politics is a dead horse surrounded with flies.
She really seems to gravitate towards the worst people.
Don’t forget Nicola’s refugee pals.
According to Police Scotland’s Operation Cerrar, they’ve raped a load of weans in Glasgow. Silence from the Scottish Parliament:
The gang preyed on vulnerable young girls in the city, and had at least 44 victims, including a core group of six youngsters who were all known to each other.
It’s believed one may have been abused by 28 men, with another linked to 23.
55 suspected members of the vile group were identified by officers, with 46 positively identified.
All were asylum seekers from the Kurdish, Afghani, Egyptian, Moroccan, Turkish, Pakistani or Iraqi communities.
Operation Cerrar was kept under wraps by Police Scotland, and has now come to light after an investigation by the Daily Express.
Embdy think it’s just Glasgow? Embdy think this isn’t going on today?
Embdy think Scotland is our home, not a doss house for foreign paedophiles?
Embdy had enough?
I’ve had more than enough of that lot.
Strangely enough though, the people in the ME who really understand what the subjects of your post are all about, consistently get a raw deal on here.
While the co-religionists of those you mention get cheered on.
All is not what it seems.
“Crime writer Val McDermid has branded the current political landscape an “absolutely cesspit of misogyny.”
The best-selling author suggested the current generation of female politicians in Scotland were “trashed and traduced”.”
link to heraldscotland.com
———————————–
I can’t read more because it is a paid for article.
McDermid is best pals with Sturgeon.
“The Scottish government has confirmed it will not bring forward planned legislation to criminalise misogyny before next year’s Holyrood election.
A new misogyny law was promised after an expert group in 2022 backed separate legislation rather than incorporating abuse and violence against women into Scotland’s hate crime law.”
They won’t bring it forwards because it was only ever intended as a Trojan Horse to protect men who masquerade as women.
They don’t care about real misogyny because they don’t care about real women.
Hatey: you are absolutely correct. It was never about the women and girls. Always about the men in frocks. Personally, I would sweep away all the hate crime legislation and bring back the Common Law into full use. The Common Law recognizes males and females by sex; it can be extended and expanded to take in any crime, including racism, misogyny, misandry, anti disability, sexism, anti homosexuality, etc.
I believe that the Common Law was deliberately undermined in order to bring in legislation, partly to make the Scottish government look good (just being different even if that amounted to nothing at all) and partly to ensure that it would not be used to fight against real hate crimes rather than perceived slights. Legislation, although often necessary, can be too rigid and too rigidly applied, and full of loopholes that were never intended to arise, but are exploited by the unscrupulous.
We will not see a Misogyny Bill any time soon, not when huge swathes of social media pumps it out like carbon dioxide and methane in one and sucks in the oxygen of normality. Rampant, horrible, disgusting misogyny is now de rigeur for the likes of the huge extreme porn industry, not just as a by-product, but as a lifeline used by very sick men whose weaknesses are deflected on to women.
Not saying female people are perfect, far from it, but I have never heard a female use the kind of dehumanizing language about males that is commonplace in some male quarters. I think that any kind of extreme dehumanizing and/or hatred of any group of people is a form of mental illness. Yet, societies across the globe encourage it in many males everywhere and women and girls live their lives in a kind of distorted facsimile of normality that is far from normal. It is almost certainly b both a mental illness and a contagion that has been allowed a free rein.
“partly to make the Scottish government look good (just being different even if that amounted to nothing at all)”
Damned right. That was never more obvious than during the Covid Years. In order to predict what ScotGov was going to decree, all we had to do was listen to BoJo and then imagine things a little bit worse.
One day somebody serious will investigate the unholy alliance between our own home-grown misogynists (with the fake women in the vanguard) and the more traditional misogynists of the Religion Of Peace. It’s a textbook example of the trope that politics makes for strange bedfellows. At present, the aims of both are, I think, broadly aligned. If they jointly get their way, they will obviously soon be at each other’s throats, and it will not end well for the boys in frocks.
But right now, they won’t be thinking things through.
@Lorn says :
“I think that any kind of extreme dehumanizing and/or hatred of any group of people is a form of mental illness.”
Trouble with that is that you are responding to a completely disingenuous trolling entity that fits neatly into your description of someone with a mental illness, because they have continually displayed abhorrent behaviour and used derogatory language to describe other fellow humans…
But when the opportunity came to be supportive of and promote women that took the significant step to stand for election to begin to put an end to the insanity of genderwoowoo, there was little if any support proffered.
I guess some folk just like living in perma-outrage, instead of actually working to address and correct the matters that they are outraged about…
“continually displayed abhorrent behaviour and used derogatory language to describe other fellow humans”
Check out the synthetic outrage from Dan.
A sage word of advice in your shell-like, Dan.
If you intend to clamber onto the moral high ground, to strut, preen and virtue signal while shouting “Look at me!”, you need to call out every poster employing abhorrent behaviour and derogatory language.
Not just the posters you have a personal beef with.
It’s gonna be a big job for you, and I don’t think you have what it takes, but, hey, here’s your chance to show you’ve earned your right to the moral high ground and prove me wrong.
Go to it, champ!
I absolutely agree on the alignment. Both groups utilize the exact-same tactics and their aims are very similar. The official pandering is also more or less identical. However, Hatey, the second will swallow the first and, of the first, only those who know what it is all about will be left standing.
We should never forget that Christianity was once very similar to Islam, hundreds of years before human rights were ever heard of – with women veiled and covered and refused their voice, free movement, financial autonomy, etc. – and way before democracy and liberalism. Extreme Christianity was opposed within Christianity just as extreme Islam is probably opposed by many within it. Humanity, no matter its religious beliefs, no matter its location, no matter its sex, no matter its era will eventually rise up against extremism and oppression, whether religious, political, social or anything else.
That seems to be the message that no politician or authoritarian ever learns. Thank God, in whatever religion you like, or thank you, if you are an atheist. I still adhere to the observation that such hatreds are a definite sign of mental illness because they go way beyond rationality and way beyond any real grounds for such irrationality. I believe that, one day, such people as psychopaths, sadists, sociopaths, narcissists, etc. will be recognized for what they are way before they are in a position to do mass harm.
” I think that any kind of extreme dehumanizing and/or hatred of any group of people is a form of mental illness.”
Scots fowk hiv haed tae leeve wi hit for ower chree hunner year, aka ‘the colonial condition’:
Of course the exact opposite is the case – the women are firmly in charge – no middle-aged white male dare put their head above the parapet!
“I can’t read more because it is a paid for article”
Go to your device’s “settings” and disable javascript for the Herald website.
Works for me !
@ insider
Many thanks – it worked for me.
I’ve been swithering, x. Should I claim there’s a typo in your post? An extra pair of letters on the end of “trash”?
Decision made! Humour must always come first 🙂
I’ve slogged my way through a couple of Val’s dreary efforts (50p in the charity shop). They’re trash all right.
DfE SAFEGUARDING GUIDANCE PROTECTING GENDER-QUESTIONING PUPILS FINALLY PUBLISHED
« Safeguarding guidance which recognises the risks of ‘social transitioning’ has finally been published by the Westminster Government after a year in limbo.
« When the Department for Education (DfE) published the 2024 version of ‘Keeping Children Safe in Education’ (KCSIE) last year, it included helpful statements on how schools in England should respond when faced with a child who says they are LGBT. But rather than making this section statutory, a disclaimer stated that those paragraphs remained under review.
« That statement has now been removed, meaning that from 1 September, schools and colleges across England must have regard to the guidance. It also stated that the long-awaited guidance on ‘Gender Questioning Children’ and Relationships, Sex and Health Education is expected to be released before September. »
VULNERABLE
« Stonewall-inspired paragraphs were introduced to KCSIE in the 2022 guidance, claiming: “The fact that a child or a young person may be LGBT is not in itself an inherent risk factor for harm.”
« However, this phrasing meant that schools were being prevented from acting on the risk that children who adopt a trans identity might harm themselves.
« Evidence shows that children who identify as transgender are much more likely to self-harm than children who don’t, and some may also self-medicate with puberty blockers or irreversible cross-sex hormones obtained through the internet from the likes of GenderGP.
« The discredited organisation suggests evading the UK’s ban on puberty blockers for children by ‘getting the prescription made up in the name of someone over 18.’ »
CASS REVIEW
« The 2024 guidance no longer claims that being ‘transgender’ is “not in itself an inherent risk factor for harm”, and drew attention to the Cass Review’s recommendations on social transitioning, emphasising the need for clinical advice, especially for younger gender-questioning children.
« LGBT activist groups demanded Stonewall’s input be reinstated, but in response, The Christian Institute co-ordinated a letter signed by over 100 education professionals urging the DfE to maintain those changes and make the guidance statutory.
« KCSIE now emphasises that “caution is necessary for children questioning their gender as there remain many unknowns about the impact of social transition and children may well have wider vulnerabilities, including having complex mental health and psychosocial needs, and in some cases additional diagnoses of autism and/or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder”. »
‘MASSIVE STEP FORWARD’
« The Christian Institute’s Head of Education John Denning commented: “This guidance, though it is not perfect, is a massive step in the right direction. I think it will really do what it should be doing, which is to safeguard children while they are in school.”
« He explained that “dressing and behaving as if you are the opposite sex is profoundly significant psychologically.
« “It really cements the child in that belief, and it’s a false belief, and that ultimately could lead to them pursuing all sorts of things that would cause permanent harm to their bodies, like taking hormones, even future surgery.”
« He welcomed that the guidance now advises schools to be aware of such safeguarding risks, after it previously told them “not to be concerned”. »
‘AUTOMATICALLY AFFIRMATION’
« Last year, over 100 teachers, head teachers, school governors and other educationalists joined The Christian Institute in urging the Education Secretary to protect pupils from transgender ideology.
« The letter told Bridget Phillipson that schools needed both KCSIE and the ‘Gender Questioning Children’ guidance as some schools were still operating “a policy of automatic ‘affirmation’” and many were “uncertain and disempowered in the absence of this guidance”.
« In December 2023, after months of delays, draft guidance on ‘Gender Questioning Children’ was published for consultation, recommending that schools respond cautiously to children who identify as the opposite sex.
« Though roundly condemned by trans activist groups at the time, its approach has since been exonerated by the Cass Review. »
(Published on Christian Institute site, 10 July 2025)
DOOYEWEERD: NORMS AND NORMATIVITY
« No doubt there occur female feelings in men, and male feelings in women. But this cannot be established without a standard for male and female feeling.
« To point out effeminacy in a man’s emotional life, implies a normative structural principle lying at the foundation of this statement.
« The whole social reality as such, what we call social facts, can only be ascertained by the application of norms and lines of responsibility. For example, if I say that there is a marriage between A and B, then I undoubtedly have a social relationship in view, which also has its juridical aspect. But it is a real social relationship. It is a social fact that this is a marriage. But I cannot establish that fact without the application of norms. How else would I be able to distinguish marriage from concubinage or from a relationship of free love? And so on.”
« Actually, whenever one speaks of the contrast between “historical” and “unhistorical” and calls unhistorical action “reactionary,” one accepts the existence of truly historical norms. When one characterizes a certain political trend as “reactionary” one makes a historical value judgment that presupposes the application of a norm for historical development.
« The contrast between historical and unhistorical action refers back to the opposition found in the logical aspect of reality between what agrees with the norm for thought and what conflicts with this norm. If a person contradicts himself in a logical argument, we accuse him of arguing illogically. The logical/illogical contrast presupposes that our thought function is placed under logical norms that can be transgressed.
« Among the various aspects of reality the aspect of logical distinction is the first that displays a contrast between what ought to be and what ought not to be. The divine ordinances or laws for all subsequent aspects are normative in character. Norms are standards of evaluation, and as such they can be employed only by creatures who, endowed with a logical function, are capable of rational distinction.
« A norm exists only for creatures who are responsible for their own behaviour and who are accountable for conduct that transgresses norms. Our ability to give account in this way is possible only on the basis of the faculty of logical judgment. Surely, no one would hold a sick plant or animal responsible for the abnormal functioning of its organism. No one would blame it for its sickness. Yet, we do hold someone accountable for arguing illogically.
« Accountability is also at stake when we blame a political movement for its reactionary attitude toward historical development, or when we say of someone that he behaves antisocially, expresses himself ungrammatically, runs his business uneconomically, writes poor poetry, acts unjustly, conducts himself immorally, or lives in unbelief. »
(Herman Dooyeweerd, from ‘A New Critique of Theoretical Thought’, & ‘Roots of Western Culture’)
The company some people keep..
The MSM has a lot to answer for in covering this up over all the years.
And bodies/ careers aplenty lying strewn in her wake like a slugs slimy trail.
She’s toast though; it really is just a matter of time..
People tend to gravitate towards those who share similar values, interests, and prejudices.. They choose to surround themselves and give succour to those who are a reflection of their own character. The SNP priesthood under Sturgeon characterised themselves as progressive, and we have come to understand with growing alarm what that actually meant. As for Swinney who oversaw all this, who simply obeyed orders and said nothing, he must know more.
I been stating this for months now that next years election isn’t going to be about Independence and even if the SNP win power, Independence just will not happen. Although all the Indy party’s will make it about Independence and the reality is Scotland is in the union until 2031.
I am hoping that while ISP, Sovereignty, I4I etc, that’s these Indy parties attack the SNP on the doorstep because the fast majority of Scotland haven’t a clue whats been going by Sturgeon and her sycophants and the sad fact is Sturgeon is entirely to blame for everything including the reason Scotland isn’t Independent and the sole reason the SNP is deny Scotland right to be Independent. Simply because she got a target on by back and her are friends is denying us in order to protect her and the trouble is if the rolls were reversed she wouldn’t protect them just ask Peter.
I actual believe 2031 is a excellent time to become Independent because we will be decolonized, to go into 2031 election with the argument that the union is fake and Scotland has been robed I’d love to see these so called unionist try and defend that.
To the extent that global politics will affect Scotland, I think we will find the world of 2031 will be unrecogniseable.
The whole mechanism of International Relations is changing, and changing profoundly. It’s a tough thing to predict. I don’t even know if there will still even be a UN.
The Chinese aptly describe BRICS not as Anti-Western, but Post-Western, and what that means is a new World Order will be in the ascendancy, as Western hegemony and dominance wanes and declines. It is already happening.
Mid to late 21st Century Global Politics will be dominated by BRICS Nations, and the extent to which the West survives or flounders is essentially in their own hands.
The BRICS assembly in Rio has just adopted as policy, an initiative to come together and counter Western Propaganda and false narrative, and at a time when that very Western Media has never looked more corrupt and rotten. The BBC as a potent media currency is in open freefall, – and not before time.
The extent to which Western Politics has been infiltrated and corrupted by Zio-nist dirty money has never been so rudely exposed, and married to the West’s unhealthy prediliction for war and extrajudicial assassination. (Let’s not forget its active complicity in genocide). Apparently, we’re not even ashamed of it. Apparently.
If the Western people do not collectively topple these corrupt Western Imperial “Governments”, then by default, their fates will be inextricably bound to them. Please yourselves, but I’m not standing in the dock beside those warmongering murderous shites.
I think, given time, Europe will make its peace with BRICS, but that Europe I describe may or may not be the EU styled Europe. I think the EU may fracture first; the NeoCons infesting the EU cannot be trusted.
But for America and the UK? The future in my crystal ball looks bleak. Together with “Iz” (if it still exists), we will all be ostracised as the axis of evil, and long term sponsors of global instability, misery and death; embarrassingly, a cap that fits us very well.
However, in my opinion, BRICS won’t physically attack us, because BRICS will not have to. We have nothing they want. Besides, BRICS isn’t military.
The US seems to be in a hell of a mess, and that too needs to purge its corrupting infiltrators and spend some time putting the pieces back together. It’s hard to see that being painless.
The balance of power in this World is changing, and it’s already too late to reverse it. Our Western “strengths”; our militarism, our duplicity, our pefidious manipulation and plunder are fast running out of potency, and the World that was forced to put up with it says not before time.
And I mean the World, because already, over half the World’s population live in BRICS nations. If they seek a global majority, they already have it, but BRICS is still growing.
The strategic failure of the West has been its increasingly casual attitude toward militarism. Sure, nations can be bullied and intimidated by threat, but once that threat is acted upon and used, and worse, is then defeated or proven impotent, then you’ve just thrown the first punch in a bar fight, but your adversary is still standing and has all the initiative. Oh!-Oh!
Did you hear? (they kept it quiet). In that spat between India and Pakistan, 3 x Indian Rafale 4.5 Generation / French state of the art Jets were shot down by Paxistan’s J-10 -C, the Chinese state of the art fighters. Seems our “best” isn’t quite good enough.
In the immediate UK context, what do we have to sell in this new world, and to whom exactly are going to sell it? And Scotland? Whatever we have is swiped already. Until we take it back, we’re not selling anything to anybody.
My advice to people is to start learning. Learn about planting and growing things, fixing things and making things. Learn mechanics. Learn how to fish. Learn to look after chickens, especially chickens, because there are a number of them coming home to roost.
See all those “how to” videos on YouTube? Might want to download the good ones, or at least start writing down some notes. (Can’t watch videos if there’s a power cut).
The problem isn’t people having to physically do this; the problem is people who think doing this would be “Sarah Connor” style radical. Ok, so it might not be Skynet behind it, but a storm is coming…
Let me repeat myself, “If the Western people do not collectively topple these corrupt Western Imperial Governments…”, and therein Scotland is much better placed than most to ahem, “Regime-Change” the fk out of the United Kingdom, and break it back down into its component parts of Scotland and England.
Then, we can play our own hand, and introduce BRICS and Europe to our new Port and mega Container facility in Scapa Flow.
Have you done any polling on how important the issue of the formation of the union in 1707 is to voters?
Once the Yoons and the rest of the world stop laughing at your well planned strategy….
Let’s just recap shall we ..
” we’ve been robbed and this all fake!”
Well that’s 2031 in the bag.
The Royal Navy saves the Scottish government. Bastard English! Coming up here and saving the shipyard. I hope we don’t need battle ships anytime soon if Ferguson marine have got anything to do with it!
Kate Forbes can wear her sailor suit and cap for the launching.
That’s a very fetching picture you conjure up there 🙂
It’s 4-5 years until Chairman Murray returns from the UN with a wee scrap of paper in his haun. On that historic paper, eventually to be displayed alongside the genocidal Declaration of Arbroath, will be written both “Independence” and “Freedom”.
Perhaps there will be a Scots translation on the reverse.
Sorry, getting a bit carried away by my hallucinogens today. The point I wanted to make is that we have 4-5 years to get these ships built and into RN service. We will need to then pay the RN to deploy them in protection of our offshore resources post-Indy.
I expect that in 4-5 years time, The War will have hotted up considerably, to the point where we all be looking back to those halcyon, care-free days of 2025.
Is that a first for “halcyon” on Wings BTL? Where’s NC when you need him?
Is that a first for that second question too?
Craig Murray? wasn’t he one of the Merry Pranksters in the Koolaid Acid Test.
“Scottish Government to consult on changing minimum marriage age
THE Scottish Government has confirmed it will launch a consultation on raising the minimum age for marriage and civil partnerships.
In a written question, Alba MSP Ash Regan highlighted to the Scottish Government that the UN defines any formal marriage or informal union between a child under the age of 18 and an adult, or another child, as child marriage, and asked what action it intended to take.
Scottish Minister for Victims and Community Safety Siobhan Brown has confirmed in response that the Government intends to look into raising the minimum marriage age from 16 to 18.
The Scottish Government will also consult on whether to legislate to extend the existing forced marriage or forced civil partnership offence so that any conduct with the intention of causing a person under 18 to marry or enter a civil partnership would be a criminal offence, including where there is no evidence of coercion.
Regan said she is concerned about girls being left vulnerable to coercion and grooming in Scotland’s current marriage system.
She said: “Child marriage is a hidden crime, but I am concerned that it is very much a live issue in Scotland and across the UK.
“In Scotland, the legal age is 16 and no parental consent is needed. Campaigners have previously highlighted that this leaves girls vulnerable to grooming and coercion.”
link to thenational.scot
———————————————————
It’s amazing That the SNP are consulting this yet the Gender Recognition Reform (Scotland) Bill carried by the Scottish Gov actually wanted to The bill to lower the age people can change their legal gender from 18 to 16, removes the requirement of a medical diagnosis of gender dysphoria, and reduces the waiting time from two years to six months of living in an acquired gender.
16 year old James could start his school year as a boy – decide to call himself Jane and wear a skirt – and then use the girls toilets and changing rooms.
Thank God that the bill was blocked by the UK Government.
The SNP might also like to consider whether sixteen year old children are mature enough to vote in any future Indy ref.
Deviants are blackmailable. Makes them easy to control. They go to “young leaders” shindigs all round the world and are picked out for their “potential” and “given help”. This is what they call “managing political risk”.
“Political Risk” is what the spooks and corporates call “democracy”. They also “back all the horses”.
– and then you wonder why none of the parties represents your interests.
Nicola Sturgeon was an agent of the british state and one day will take ermine and a seat in the lords for her “services to democracy”.
Leslie Evans was her handler. MacKinnon, LLoyd and others were her dike cabal of flying monkeys.
Nikki was blackmailed, at first; her closet lesbianism was known, as was her lavender marriage – revealing this would have destroyed her credibility and her career. No one actually gives a shit about the carpet munching, just the lying about it.
But it wasn’t really blackmail as she wasn’t all that into it anyway and just wanted to be a big shot in the international scene; she may have been promised a good job later on, but this was scuppered when the petty, and fairly incompetent, fraud was investigated by the ordinary cops. Spooks try not to mess with the ordinary cops, unless they have to. But it looks like the UN, or NATO, or some big charity/NGO is not on the horizon anymore (she wants to be a writer, her first work of fiction, a no holds barred autobiog where she amazingly now, remembers all the things she couldn’t before).
Nikki drove the indy bus off the cliff, broke the steering wheel, set fire to it and threw the keys at useless, who fumbled them, landing in the lap of the mogadon don, swinney.
Being blackmailed teaches you a lot of things; having gotten yourself into a position, well that is too bad, but it doesn’t mean you can’t apply the lesson; now consider all the people Nikki gave nice jobs to – the word “meritocracy” doesn’t jump out, does it? More like “kakistocracy”. So, all these useless people who are in good jobs, owe it all to Nikki; so where do their loyalties lie? Well, loyalty is still not good enough – people throw each other under the bus all the time in politics – no, you need more than that. I reckon Nikki “has the goods” on all of these people, going right across politics, the quangoes, the judiciary – she knows it and they know it. Which makes her untouchable, and poor old Peter will “take one for the team”, likely “cop a plea”, no messy court disclosures, a fine and a tag.
Dorothy Bain, for example, makes me think “somewhere, a tea urn is lacking its operator” – she really gave it to the UK at the Supreme Court, didn’t she? Was that the best lawyer in Scotland??
Of course, the world champs for deviancy are the english – we have the term “le vice anglais” for the bumming – and we think of Jimmy Saville, Cambridge, the public schools, the royal navy, the grand tour, the marsh arabs (closet case Maxwell with an otter Thesiger gave him), tangiers, sir richard burton, gordon of khartoum, leggy mountbottom – all as bent as a dog’s hind leg with a 3 bob note tied to it. Naturally, sexual blackmail becomes the weapon of choice for the british spookocracy –
link to villagemagazine.ie
“getting shafted by the state” is no mere metaphor. Makes you wonder just how sick in the head these folks are:
– “we need to run an intelligence operation … ”
– “great … let’s start a paedo brothel … ”
– eh, whut?!
How does that follow?
I was confident you were going to morph onto Da Dews there, Confused, but you didn’t.
Well done you.
Bit haud oan … Aw naw … Hae they goat something on ye noo?
Ye’re gonna hae tae agree a signal for when ye’re posting under duress. Then we’ll ken for sure.
What the fuck are you talking about? What’s a ‘Da Dews’? I’ve never heard of it. While I’m here you mentioned earlier a Chairman Murray, who’s that?
I think you may need a carer or something similar to help you get your message across in a more understandable form.
Stick around, Dave, all will become clear.
OK, maybe not the posts in Scots.
Thanks for the link
Naebody wid hae thocht hit possible tae uise ersecheeks tae blaff oot Inglis lees oan a keybuird an hae whit be creautit approach meaninfu sentences… but thon uniounists hiv pruived it kin be duin in the daein o’ it shuir enouch.
Anither tryumphe o’ leeterar innovatioun fir the unioun nae dout.
“It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you into trouble. It’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so.”
One thing many people who know about this quote “know” about this quote is that it was first uttered by Mark Twain… except that just ain’t so – ironically.
As some anonymous humourist once observed about those folk certain of what they know… (see the above quote).
But there are some things the unionist knows for sure:
The unionist knows with absolute certainty that the Treaty of Union is an equitable partnership between consenting kingdoms; they know that the Treaty of Union is the happy marriage of two very different peoples and that the Scots people entire benefit just as much – if not more – from the arrangement as do the English.
The unionist also knows, paradoxically, that Scotland was extinguished as a sovereign nation and became part of England.
A new name was cleverly coined for this Frankensteinian amalgamation of incompatible parts… the United Kingdom; a name meant to encapsulate the combined kingdoms of Scotland and England but which in practice refers solely to England. A United Kingdom that is, perhaps, no less a monster than Mary Shelley’s.
The unionist knows for sure that things would be worse for the Scots without the great benefits they derive from being a partner in the ToU.
The unionist knows that Scotland is not an illegally annexed territory fraudulently acquired by an imperial England and is therefore definitely not a colony.
The unionist knows their assertions on how the union benefits the Scots are unassailable; they know there is no argument that can ever be constructed that could possibly succeed in disproving their unshakeable faith in the huge benefits the ToU delivers for Scotland and the Scots.
The unionist knows all of these things because… well, the unionist ‘argues’, because they just know; and that’s all those folk who support Scottish independence need to know, or deserve to know, perhaps, about what the unionist knows.
The unionist knows their argument in support of the ToU can never be defeated. They know it can never be defeated because it doesn’t exist and because it doesn’t exist is never presented.
The great problem with what the unionist knows is this… it just ain’t so.
Good post NC.
One small correction, the construct was first called Great Britain. The United Kingdom came along later when they formalised what they’d been doing to the Irish for centuries.
I would suggest the term UK doesn’t exist any more as the Irish in the main left, and those in Pale in the north are officially deemed a “province”.
Logically therefore the UK no longer exists, it’s back to GB, unless, as you point out, them and those “know something”.
If “logically” the UK no longer exists, you’ll have burned your passport and your driving license.
Looking forwards to your confirmatory post, with perhaps some clarifying detail on what happens when you try to travel abroad, or are stopped by traffic police.
Logically, you’ll have no need to mention glory holes or any other sexual perversions in your reply, so please try to remember that.
In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface @ 4.04pm
The sexual perversion thing is all yours, just trawl back through your posts, so own it.
That said your pointless reply adds absolutely nothing to the matter being discussed, as usual..
Epic fail there, YL Sah!
Mind and keep your UK passport and your UK driving license safe.
It’s the “logical” thing to do.
Not too bad a post, NC, but it lacks fundamental clarity.
Which union are you discussing? The UK or the EU?
In the context of Indy, both are pertinent. Plus, obviously, you run into the conundrum that plenty of Indy supporters will tell you that one union is baaaddddd, whilst the other union is gooodddddd.
Yet for a truly Independent Scotland, surely all unions must be off the table. So perhaps you could re-work your post to clarify?
Many thanks in advance.
Things going on in Scotland… (Not that anybody here seems to give a shit)
link to isp.scot
A lot of us do, Dan – just not speaking up much nowadays. I shall mention, again, several things that people who want to restore Scotland’s rightful status can sign/do:
http://www.liberation.scot – sign the Edinburgh Proclamation to show the UN how many of us want to be out of the Union. The more signatures the better chance of getting the petition to be recognised as a colony accepted. The effect of this would be that any vote on our constitution would be outwith the UK’s hands!
http://www.manifestoforindependence – Sign, share, and tell your current MSPs about it. This would make the 2026 election a real independence decider.
link to petitions.parliament.scot – Implement the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights [ICCPR] in Scottish legislation – Sign, share, and tell your MSPs about this petition that would give us the right to hold a referendum AND introduce an element of direct democracy [people power] into Scotland.
link to petition.parliament.uk Transparency and Review of the free zones and ports impacts – Sign, share, and tell your MP that the free zones are an undemocratic and economic disaster.
Enjoy this day – find somewhere cool to sit, sign these 4 sites, and know that you have done something to help make it possible to improve Scottish lives.
http://www.manifestoforindependence
link to petition.parliament.uk
those links don’t work for me.
So a whopping 675 signatures on the petition now?
I wonder what explains that given you constantly advertise it on Scotland’s most popular pro indy blog Sarah?
Could it be that folk just think we’re not going to win independence via petition?
@Andy – and to put that in context, a petition to secure the release of a dog from a dog pound in British Colombia currently has 20x more signatures. A cause that I also foresee that the United Nations will not becoming involved with.
There is also a similar case of a dog in Doncaster, and unfortunately for this dog it only enjoys a mere 3x the level of support for the Edinburgh proclamation.
However, perhaps this is down to interference from MI5, and the apparent press embargo Alf was telling us all about.
@Aidan 😀
I’ve heard the expression “great oaks from small acorns” but this really does take the biscuit, good old Bonzo from the pound bringing home the bacon whilst “oor Alf” enviously looks on!
It’s almost as though sensible, working Scots see the whole “Ancient Guff” thing as exactly that – guff. Who knew eh?
Still, everyone needs a hobby! Bless.
“…The UK government is working to rescue an English oil refinery where hundreds of jobs are at risk. The Lindsey refinery in North Lincolnshire, owned by Prax Group and parent company State Oil, have 620 jobs at stake. The SNP’s Graham Leadbitter pointed out the hypocrisy of the UK ‘pulling out all the stops’ to help the English firm when they refused to help Grangemouth…”
You mean aside from the £200m already committed to Grangemouth?
“Aidan”;
Fuck off ya Yoon bampot.
They closed Grangemouth.
There is no longer an oil refinery in Scotland.
Who is “they”? The UK government who neither owned nor operated it?
“Aidan”
That’s the whole point, prick, they can find money (our money) to save English refineries (a country with no oil) and blast furnaces but they wouldn’t lift a finger to save Grangemouth. Talk about taking the piss. They’re not even hiding it any more. Aye your fcucking ‘union’ is just great.
You mean apart from the aforementioned £200m? Scotland is a declining market for oil products, due to policy choices that I assume YOU voted for. There’s no particular advantage to refining oil where it is produced vs where it is consumed, so the fact that oil is produced closer to Grangemouth really has no bearing, the English market is 10x the size of the Scottish market and the Scottish market is a declining market due to Scottish government policy and higher taxes. I love it when people support policies that cause people to lose well paid employment and then wail like a banshee when people lose well paid employment. Of course I’d imagine you aren’t looking for your local A&E or police station to close to fund huge losses at the site, but I’d guess you’re very happy for that to happen to other people.
What an unending stream of pish.
Away and lie in yer water.
Yeah you don’t like people calling out your hysterical drivel do you little man
@Aidan
In the interests of fairness and balance, Aidan, Fatso is anything but “little”. The twat can barely squeeze into his 42″ waist crusty Y-fronts.
Best leave him alone to his dry Frosties and gummed up keyboard.
Large in size, small in intellect
You boys spooning again? How sweet.
“They’rrrrre grrrrreat!” 😀
link to frostedflakes.us
FALSE FRIENDS.
DEMOCRATIC SYSTEMS fail when people with ability don’t have authority and people with authority don’t have ability
What is to be done?
«So we march on, following our leaders, toward an Armageddon of our own making»
Noam Chomsky: Failed States: The Abuse of Power and the Assault on Democracy
There is little doubt the Scots are currently trapped in a bubble of exhaustively monitored British State control with American backing. Historically it was just one more successful exercise in ever-expanding English hegemony but now unfortunately for us it has become of vital geopolitical consequence.
Salmond gave us a real chance but it could never have been allowed to actually happen. The consequent destabilisation of England was simply unthinkable. The reasons have been well-rehearsed. The left-wing anti-trident track record of Scotland. The oil. The military control of northern reaches towards Russia and the Arctic. We are strategically placed, a backyard goldmine, a training ground for so many things besides air, land and sea manoeuvres, eg intelligence gathering, consciousness-influencing, agents provocateurs. Though maybe these days lifting the pot lid for the occasional check and nod is all that is required.
Even if our winning of the 2014 referendum hadn’t been stolen from us by the BBC and other State agencies, England had already planned key annexations of our territory:
link to gobha-uisge.blogspot.com
Sturgeon, Swinney etc are manipulated manipulators. Hireling shepherds. Untouchable. Unconscionable. Maybe we shouldn’t be too hard on the sheep.
A ‘mediocre meritocracy’ is the inevitable reality within a colonial society (Memmi), much as we see. But this is not a democratic failure, it reflects a subordinated people and nation subject to a racist and exploitative system of governance by an alien political ideology and culture.
PILE it HIGH, sell it cheap in POUNDLAND.
link to archive.is
Everything must go!
This infernal heat has driven me mad and in my madness I’ve been forced to transcribe the first few paragraphs of a novel written in English into Scots – each must cope with global warming in their own way.
Anyway, I share the result here:
Naebody wid hae thocht at the tail-end o’ the nineteenth century this warld wis keenly watchit by wits faur yont oor ain an yit as mortal as oor ain; that as fowk bussied thairsels wi thair ain effairs thae wir speerd oot an studied, mibbe e’en as a body wi a microscope micht vizzy the transeunt craiturs that swairm an multyply in a drap o’ watter.
Wi infineet complacens fowk gaed tae an frae ower this globe aboot thair ain effairs, lown in thair ashuirance o’ thair empire ower maiter. Hit is a possibeelity that the infusoria unner the microscope dae the same.
Naebody gied a thocht tae the aulder warlds o’ space as soorces o’ human danger, or thocht o’ thaim anely tae cast oot the idea o’ life bein oan thaim as unpossible or Improbabill.
It be cuirious tae mind some o’ the mentall haibits o’ yon depairtit days. At maist terrestriall fowk fancied ther micht be ither fowk oan Mars, * mibbe inferiour tae thairsels an reedie tae weelcome a meesionary enterpreese.
Yit endlang the gulf o’ space, wits that tae oor wits be as oors tae those o’ the beasts that perish, intellects vast an cuil an unsympethietic, regairdit this earth wi envious een, an slow an shuir drew thair plans agin us.
An arely in the twentieth century came the gret lat doun.
I think it translates quite nicely masel.
* – It looks like the empire was strong in this 19th century author.
Inspirational stuff, NC.
Do The Collected Speeches Of Nicola Sturgeon next.
War of the Worlds? It’s a guess as I’ve not read it.
In case you are unaware (and for comparison):
WAR O THE WARLDS By H. G. Wells
– Owerset intae NOR-EAST SCOTS by Sheena Blackhall. Illustratit by Mathew Staunton. (First edition, 2021. Dundee: Evertype. ISBN 978-1-78201-271-9)
– First furthset in 1898, The War o the Warlds is thocht tae be the first “fremmit invasion” tales, an it’s bin ane o the maist influential science fiction novels iver screived. It’s bin fittit fur radio, stage, an screen, an its inspired an influenced mony warks o fiction, takkin in comics an graphic novels. Alangside The Time Machine, The Inveesible Chiel, an The Island o Dr Moreau, Wells’ The War o the Warlds stauns oot as mebbe his maist weel-likit wark.
“Naebody wid hae believed in the hinmaist years o the nineteenth century that this warld wis bein watched keen an close bi harns greater than man’s an yet as mortal as his ain… Yet ben the gap o space, harns that are tae oor harns as oors are tae thon o the breets that dee, intellects muckle an cweel an cauld, regairded thon erd wi jealous een, an slaw an siccar drew their plans agin us.”
[ORIGINAL ENGLISH: “No one would have believed in the last years of the nineteenth century that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man’s and yet as mortal as his own… Yet across the gulf of space, minds that are to our minds as ours are to those of the beasts that perish, intellects vast and cool and unsympathetic, regarded this earth with envious eyes, and slowly and surely drew their plans against us.”]
[COGADH NA REANN (Irish 2015): “Ní chreidfeadh duine ar bith i mblianta deirich an naou céad déag go raibh súil ghéar grinn ar imeachtai an domhain seo ag neacha ar mhó a n-intleacht ná intleacht an duine, ach dá ainneoin sin, a bhí chomh básmhar linn féin… Ach, thar dhuibheagán an spáis, bhí ag breathnú anuas orain go santach créatúir a raibh an oiread difriochta idir a meabhair agus ár meabhairne agus atá idir meabhair an duine agus meabhair an ainmhí, créatúir a raibh intleacht bhalmhór fhuar chrua acu, agus bhí siad ag beartú seifteanna go mall lenár mbascadh.” (COGADH NA REANN, Leon Ó Broin a d’aistrigh, 2015.)
INNEAL NA TÌME / THE TIME MACHINE
A Scottish Gaelic translation by Moray Watson of HG Wells’ ‘The Time Machine‘ — and also a bilingual (facing pages),Scottish Gaelic-English edition of the same — have just been published. Available from Gaelic Books Council and from Blackwells etc.
It is very telling that the BBC is not making hay with this material.
They will when that are ready right enough
She is protected for the moment but must live with the knowledge that any of the Vietnam group might claim whistleblowers rights and DOB her in it.
Could be good money in it for them!!
OK, WE ALL GET IT that union treaty was total gruel, cauld kale, and by today’s standards probably illegal, but so many Scots still appear to relish that same insipid offering dished up with condescention by mother Britannia in her rickety molly house.
The national independence movement ought to be the wrecking ball aimed at a structure with severe structural displacement problems whose demolition few but the money launderers, snobbish privileged and living-in-the-past Brits would regret.
Does the SNP actually understand the psyche of the country it supposedly governs let alone the parlous state of the entity it makes too modest effort to quit?
Like the other «British» parties in Scotland it seems to function as an enabling branch office for those same money launderers, privileged and superannuated exceptionalist fossils and appears comfortable with that.
In century 21, Britannia’s ugly farded minions and the stale reek of victorian mothballs should make Scots wretch and clamber for the exit.
A QUHEIN LETERATOUR,
«We have a new type of rule now. Not one-man rule, or rule of aristocracy or plutocracy, but of small groups elevated to positions of absolute power by random pressures, and subject to political and economic factors that leave little room for decision. They are representatives of abstract forces who have reached power through surrender of self. The iron-willed dictator is a thing of the past. There will be no more Stalins, no more Hitlers. The rulers of this most insecure of all worlds are rulers by accident, inept, frightened pilots at the controls of a vast machine they cannot understand, calling in experts to tell them which buttons to push»
extrait frae
Interzone
bi William S. Burroughs.
Northcode.
12 july, 9:52 pm,
Excellent post.
@ agent x at 7.47 on 12th July “those links don’t work for me”.
Sorry agent x, IT isn’t my forte! Try googling. I’ve just tried the UK parliament one and it says ” not available” – v strange. The Manifesto for Independence has a stand alone site.
Alf Baird,
While busy clearing out the house, I came across a book titled ,The White Country by David D Ogston, gifted and signed to my late spouse in July 1986,
Have ever you had the opportunity to read it?
link to archive.ph
why doesn’t england shut down its 5 oil refineries and just import the refined products from amsterdam.
– doesn’t matter where it is refined. The markets sort all that out.
Or is there some reason they are not sharing? Surely it is “commercial decisions”?
Being an oil producer with no refinery is almost uniquely stupid in the world, for the biggest profits are on the refined stuff.
Not being able to produce your own petrol means you are at the mercy of external forces, other countries and market supply shocks, plus “commercial decisions” made in foreign boardrooms, who have no conception of national, strategic interest.
It is deliberate policy to make Scotland wholly dependent on England; this is why we have no proper ferry services to the continent – all must come through England on a lorry.
Sensible countries have national energy monopolies – Aramco, Statoil – we could do the same, but by combining the renewables with hydro storage, have the cheapest and most stable supply in the world. You could also make the export of energy illegal; this means it is cheap in Scotland, but if you want it, you come here. You setup your AI datacentre, here. The energy will not be wasted, you can always use it to e.g. mine for bitcoin.
– none of this can happen while in the union. England’s plan is to take all our cheap leccy, pay us peanuts for it (shit deals brokered by the SNP) and then use all that lovely stuff to build their bright new tomorrow – a UK silicon valley between Oxford and Cambridge. Fuck you Scotland, you dim cunts!
The english have stolen too much from our country, not just in money but in blood.
If it’s such a cracking idea, why hasn’t the private owner of Grangemouth realised it?
link to archive.ph
we go backwards, the “backward” nations go forwards.
Nigeria also subsidises energy prices for its citizens.
And English consumers subsidise Scottish renewables. Your point is ?
Scotland’s renewable energy production will soon be worth £100 billion a year, not that us Scots will see any benefit – we lose that wealth through colonial plunder AND are forced to pay the highest electricity prices in the world, four times higher than Norway.
Yes – if the English were forced to pay the highest possible retail rate (the figure you use is above the current price cap) for every kWh capable of being produced by Scottish renewables, even during the middle of the night when demand is low. . .
norway has relatively high oil prices for its citizens but this hides a number of things
– the duty goes straight into the stupendously successful sovereign wealth fund, where it is invested all around the globe, but not in hydrocarbons
this means norway’s people have productive assets all round the world working for them and the oil duty is really just them investing in their own future; the UK would never invest like that, it wants to piss it up a wall with dozens of shit projects it cannot afford or do – the nukes, the high speed rail, the nuke power stations, everything, but blank cheques for stupid foreign wars no business of ours
As for the prices itself; it is actually very cheap because – the average norweg earns double what the UK citizen does, so has far higher disposable income.
norway has one refinery, but it already produces 4 times its domestic need
Norway’s support per capita for our fighting friends in Eastern Europe is the highest in the world.
I guess that when it comes down to knowing what Independence really means, there’s more than one lesson they can teach Scotland.
Or at least that part of Scotland over-represented on Wings BTL.
The only relevant benchmark for Scotland’s ECONOMIC POTENTIAL is with our small nation peers, most of whom are in EFTA.
Ireland (no oil), Norway (oil), Switzerland (banking) have GDPs in the range of 600-800B USD. Ours is 200B USD. Liechtenstein and Iceland are much smaller than us but have incredible GDP per capita.
Last years profit (the annual profit, not the worth) on the Norway Sovereign Wealth Fund was larger than our GDP and over 3 times our annual budget.
This is not “better together” it is – seriously fucked. Either way you look at it :
– either Scotland and its people are being looted massively
or
– our economy is chronically underdeveloped due to the UK’s London/South East/Golden Triangle obsession.
i.e. we are dealing with Grand Theft Scotland or utter incompetence. Pick one, but there is no argument for the union in each.
Most foreigners think we are insane to be a “member” of this union, this r4pe pretending to be a love affair.
as for England, well …
England doesn’t make anything anymore (Thatcher, remember?) – it imports things.
Because they are cheap.
This includes 44% of its food. Not just cheap shit from amazon, made in china.
Things are “cheap” because the currency, the pound, is “strong”.
Far stronger than it should be, for some reason. Many reasons will be given for this, all except the right reason.
– it is a de-facto “oil backed” currency. Like the dollar. But there is no comparison between the US and UK in global power.
UK – Scotland = England without a pot to piss in, no seat on the security council and a currency which should more rightly be about 80 cents to the dollar. Such a vicious devaluation of the pound (if we have our own currency) would likely lead to massive social unrest in England, boo fucking hoo. It is not enough that we succeed, others must fail. Indy is great, but England needs to go down in the process.
All paper needs collateral; only “real wealth” matters, not “claims on wealth” = paper we can print at will. Consider the americans – what do they do when they smash up a country? Do they grab the regime’s old banknotes? No, they seize the oil fields and the gold bullion in the central bank. That has value.
Gordon Brown sold the gold, so what is left?
oh the anglos want it WANT IT
link to archive.ph
want it so much …
money
link to archive.ph
there are only 3 currencies that matter, the pound is not one of them and is much stronger than it should be. The oil provides, at base, the collateral for the whole “financial services” house of cards to hang from, otherwise London provides nothing more than a collection of scams, the clever alchemy being this ability to print paper and make people believe it is worth something.
Do you want to be poor forever, shackled to this lot? – the backend of a pantomime horse, getting constantly farted on?!
and time for a national water grid, eh
link to archive.ph
– my better together, pooling and sharing, shared history, broad shoulders, chums
“Ireland (no oil), Norway (oil), Switzerland (banking) have GDPs in the range of 600-800B USD. Ours is 200B USD. Liechtenstein and Iceland are much smaller than us but have incredible GDP per capita.”
Yes, this reality is the inevitable consequence of the 300+ year colonial plunder of Scotland in which we are left with a GDP-per-capita less than half our near neighbours, i.e. a less developed economy and people.
Fact: The UK ‘Union’ hoax makes Scots the poorest people in NW Europe.
Liberation is the only remedy for the colonial condition, Mr. Swinney. All your colonial administration are doing is helping keep the racket going.
Ireland’s GDP is distorted by base erosion and profit shifting, and by the impact of depreciating assets (like aircraft) that are based in Ireland only for tax purposes. When you look at consumption per head, a better comparator measure, Ireland is both poorer than the U.K. and Scotland.
You also of course exclude Finland, similar in population size to Scotland and around the same GDP, higher GDP per capita than France. Then of course the Baltic states, around 60% of the GDP per capita of Scotland. It’s a very odd methodology to include Litcheinstein (a tax haven micro state) but exclude the countries above. It’s almost like cherry picking . .
Clutching at straws there. Baltic states do not have the resources or exclusive economic zone Scotland has, and is deprived of.
Do tell me about the huge resources and EEZ that have allowed Luxembourg and Lichtenstein to become so fabulously wealthy. Conversely Russia and Chile, both with huge EEZ’s, must also be far richer than say Denmark, which has few “resources” and a small EEZ.
906. Getting close Alfie Boy. How exciting!
Don’t refute them, Alf.
These are the geniuses that will tell you that GERS is bespoke economics.
James 12:47…
Do you know what the words “refute” and “bespoke” mean ???
Apparently not !
I know exactly what these words mean, smart arse.
Knew that highers exam would come in handy someday.
James at 2:34
If you know “exactly what they mean” why do you misuse them ?
Another post from Confused enthusing over the idea of a bankrupt and socially fractured England just south of our unprotected border.
While we all live high on the hog from (checks notes) the wind blowing hundreds of miles out to sea on our unprotected offshore turbines.
And the Islamics continue to flood in, driven by over population, climate change and the drive to implement the caliphate.
Anybody see the flaws in Confused’s witterings? Anybody at all?
I also recognise the scratchings of a supercilious c**t when I see them…..
Wow the yoonies are out in force trying as usual to undermine anything about Scotland ,they’re like wee yapping dugs snapping around people’s ankles, unfortunately they are all toothless because all their teeth have been removed by WM arseholes , YET still they crawl on their knees tae get a wee pat on their heid for trying to protect engerland fae the jocks, but they are that stupid they don’t realise that engerland has already been bought and sold by blackrock and its owners
“trying as usual to undermine anything about Scotland”
You should read Rev Stu’s articles and not just jump straight to the BTL comments. He does a better job of undermining Scotland (deservedly) than any comment.
Aw weel, I guess that for you time is short …
Of course, Rev Stu is not in the same league in comparison to the HR incumbents. They’ve undermined Scotland so much I’m surprised we’re not sinking beneath the waves.
Liking your mental image of Scottish teeth removed by WM arseholes though. My dear, departed mammie always claimed sweets and fizzy drinks were to blame. Such innocent times back then 🙂