Pete’s Big Win

Posted on December 15, 2022 by

The National must have been enormously proud when it successfully fought off all the other newspapers to secure this stunning exclusive today.

We must admit, when we had a good look in the “Pete Wishart Victories” section of our extensive archives we drew a blank. So we were excited to read on and find out.

The answer in fact turned out not to be any sort of victory for Pension Pete personally at all, but for the SNP Westminster group as a whole.

It’s a weird one to highlight as your biggest win, even if there aren’t many choices. Why would SNP MPs even want to interfere in exclusively English matters? It used to be a matter of firm and principled party policy NOT to do that, even when they were allowed to. So why suddenly fight it so hard? Why make it a crusade? What changed?

Oh. NOW we get it.

When EVEL was the justification for a second indyref, the SNP went all out with guns blazing to overthrow EVEL.

When Brexit was the justification for a second indyref, the SNP made “STOP BREXIT” the centrepiece of their election campaign.

When the cost-of-living crisis was the justification for a second indyref, the SNP made ending the cost-of-living crisis (“EASE THE SQUEEZE”) the centrepiece of the election campaign, with a swift repainting of what their candidates called “the gravy bus”.

Are you seeing the pattern yet?

87 to “Pete’s Big Win”

1. Graham Lamont

Well fcuk me sideways with a broom handle. ,

My man Pete, the freedom fighter for Scotland, with his face painted blue, charging head long at those hated Tories and Labour Unionists who’ve kept Scotland in a constitutional prison, there he was, at the front line over 2 decades

And he achieved the square root of absolutely fcuk all

Except get very, very, very well paid….

2. Christopher Pike

Despite Alba being a political failure, Kenny Macaskill’s speech in the House of Commons last night was riveting stuff. I recommend everyone watches it on YouTube and pay close attention to the facial reactions of Wishart, Nicholson and Blackman. Macaskill will lose his seat at the next UK election but he certainly won’t deserve it.

3. Luke Warm Dave

He seems to have missed out securing a fat pension for doing SFA.

4. Al-Stuart

By far, PETE’S BIGGEST WIN is that the havering clown irritated enough Wings Over Scotland site members, that a vast amount of money was raised to BRING WINGS OVER SCOTLAND BACK OUT OF RETIREMENT,

Well done Pension Pete. You are not much use for anything, but credit where it is due. You brought back the best political website in the UK.

5. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Well done Pension Pete. You are not much use for anything, but credit where it is due. You brought back the best political website in the UK.”

Well, if the Twitler Youth succeed in getting our Ko-Fi page shut down permanently, don’t get too attached to it 🙁

6. Woodside Wullie

I always remember John Redwood banging on about the English democratic deficit ever since the establishment of Holyrood; notwithstanding, Westminster has 533 English constituency MPs that can pass any law at any time about what ever they want which made wee Willie Hague’s EVIL a farce. Anyway, it may have been dropped now; nevertheless, the English Parliament still has 533 MPs and increasing, that can pass any law at any time it cares to and there’s nothing Pete Wishart and his colleagues can do about it apart from pension building.

7. Jo

I think Petes biggest achievement was setting himself up for life financially meanwhile the rest of us haven’t got a pot to piss in.

Wish I had £100k sitting around that I could loan out at a moments notice and not be bothered about getting back

8. Cherrybank

Kenny MacAskill’s speech can be seen via the Alba Party website.

9. robertkknight

There’s something almost Trumpesque about the SNP’s Westminster Group…

Amongst themselves and their sycophants they’re the best thing since sliced bread, but once you scratch beneath all that bluster and bulls**t, it’s all just so much smoke and mirrors.

Point out their shortcomings and you’ll be met with cries of “fake news” followed by claims of battles won and speeches made, plus that all important and time consuming committee work.

The only “victory” I can recall was against BawJaws and his illegal proroguing of Parliament, in which the SNP MP who is also a KC formed the spearhead in that particular skirmish, not the part-time musician with his cozy feet.

I suspect someone’s proudest victory is actually being paid handsomely from the public purse for over two decades and getting accustomed to a lifestyle few can even dream of.

Meanwhile, 21 years later, Scotland remains firmly within the UK and firmly without the EU, so the net result being worse than the state of play back in 2001!

Well done Pete, well done…

10. Vivian O’Blivion

Must admit I caught that front page this morning and wondered if some mischievous, Machiavellian trolling was afoot.
    Wet Pishfart is the universal figure of contempt within the movement. Naebd’y respects the parasitical, carpetbagging, cnut, not even the Nicophants on WGD.

11. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Kenny MacAskill’s speech can be seen via the Alba Party website.”

Never hurts to actually post a link:

12. robertkknight

Rev Stu…

“Well, if the Twitler Youth succeed in getting our Ko-Fi page shut down permanently, don’t get too attached to it ?”

Can you not just do a simple Craig Murray-type subscription button somewhere on the site, independent of Ko-Fi, PayPal etc. and stick two fingers up to the Twitler Youth?

13. robertkknight

DOH!…ignore above. The “Donate” button takes you to it I see. Perhaps a change to the button title from “Donate” to “Subscribe” might still be worth a punt. I’ll get me coat…

14. Mr Jinks

The Rev said at 11:18 am “Well, if the Twitler Youth succeed in getting our Ko-Fi page shut down permanently, don’t get too attached to it ?”

Having read about PayPal closing down some accounts, is yours still OK? And as an alternative, can we still make direct bank transfers? I would rather make a bank standing order, and not be at the whim of PayPal.

15. FionaN

Another excellent speech by Kenny MacAskill. Here’s hoping the nusnp politicians listen at long last and ACT instead of just spouting more words. Thank you for the link.

16. robbo

Thon John Nicholson wan. What a chube. The Poundshop Liberace. Clown o a man.

17. DaveL

According to the article linked, wetfart was there when Otis Redding was wrestled to the ground by some sergeant or other…Otis Redding, son of Bryan Ferry…really?

18. Willie John

If the twitler yoof manage to close down Ko-Fi just open a bank account which will only transfer funds to your own (anonymous – not known to anyone else) account. Let’s see them try and close down a bank!

19. Astonished

Christopher Pike -“Despite Alba being a political failure”.

I disagree, a substantial, well paid group (and you might be among them) are trying to silence Alba and make sure the public hears what Sturgeon wants. And only what Sturgeon wants.

Alba have definitely forced the nuSNP to start making excuses for their utter failure to deliver independence. And there are only so many lies the public will stomach.

The nuSNP serial failures (Cosyfeet playing a large part) to get Scotland out of the union are being noticed. The non-delivery of a referendum in 2023 will only hasten Sturgeon’s demise. And then, I think things will change significantly.

It reminds me of the almost universal ignoring of the SNP (When it was a member-led party) in the nineties. Hopefully Scottish political change will be quicker this time.

What is certain is that the SNP cannot expect to maintain their voter numbers if they continue to fail to deliver independence or good government.

Alba are going nowhere until independence is delivered.

20. Vivian O’Blivion

Regards the Speaker’s intervention during that tour de force speech by Kenny MacAskill. How is Kenny expected to refer to John Nicolson as “the Right Honourable Member for Ochil & South Perthshire” when Nicolson himself cannie remember which fucking constituency he represents.

21. douglas leighton

It is surely blindingly obvious that Scotland’s politicians are not of a calibre that can inspire or motivate the population.This problem is not new or unique to the SNP. It is blindingly obvious that the Tories are dismantling public services by the slow financial strangulation of the workforce , allowing inflation to erode the viability of the NHS. At some point the nhs will be radically altered to an ‘insurance system'(privatised) and be hailed as a great innovation for all the useless work it will provide.The Tories are ideologically motivated. This process is being ‘nursed’ by Starmer’s and Streeting’s flaccid uselessness.Its only a few days ago that Streeting was on TV virtually endorsing tory government (in)action in relation to the NHS and by inference-the rail strikes.
    History will surely record Starmer and Streeting and others in Labour as conspirators in the continued destruction of any sense of communitarianism or collective action .Surely these are the most useless pair of gutless,craven ("Quizmaster" - Ed)s imaginable.
    What I am saying is that the Wishart/Sturgeon/ Blackford problem is not unique to the SNP. We are witnessing the stealthy destruction of Democracy and the advance of plutarchy. If there is any consolation it is that the leadership(the US) of the “west’s” drift into a neoliberal
    nightmare is probably worse than what is going on here.
    The Leadership of the SNP are caught in a poisonous political stasis but are merely the
    ineffectual players in a much bigger process. They are no worse than their peers in the other parties.
    We are all stuck in this dilemma. The phenomenon of Corbynism was an attempt to escape the political dead-end but as we all know that small eruption of radicalism or political wriggling in our bonds was quickly suppressed-mainly on the complex pretext of anti-semitism.
    I think the small scale of Scottish politics means that we can explore ways of escaping our political chains more effectively than bigger entities (England?). Wales and NI may also be trailblazers in this process and provide insights into the way forward.
    I think it is essential that we who are ‘independence minded’ need to move away from the narrow parameters of a ‘national(ist)’ movement guided by individuals such as Sturgeon who allow themselves to be diverted by an intellectually unsupportable creed such as transgenderism. By pursuing this absurd ideology with her poorly defined zealotry reveals her unsuitability fo her role as a party leader.

22. stuart mctavish

@robert Knight

Fingers crossed on the Trumpian bit – plays to win that one.

23. Geoff Anderson

I will send you money by mail, direct to your bank account, bit coins or store vouchers to keep this site open.

24. Christopher Pike

Astonished says:
    15 December, 2022 at 12:10 pm
    Christopher Pike -“Despite Alba being a political failure”.

I disagree, a substantial, well paid group (and you might be among them) are trying to silence Alba and make sure the public hears what Sturgeon wants. And only what Sturgeon wants.

——-

Election results would prove otherwise. I was looking to be swayed by Labour’s plan for further devolution, but I have been left completely underwhelmed. I was hoping for the devolution of everything besides defence and foreign policy, but that seems like a pipe dream now. I would probably vote for independence now.

If the independence movement contained more people like Kenny Macaskill and Philippa Whitford, then I’m sure you’d be converting more undecided voters.

25. Chas

Robbo

Looking at the drivel you ALWAYS post it is patently clear that you have more than a passing acquaintance with shite!

Perhaps I should have written this in the childish Scottish vernacular you like to use. Of course, written English language is maybe beyond your understanding!

26. Mike Fenwick

Consider – to whom do the Scottish MPs and MSPs currently swear allegiance? An alternative?

” … any Oath of Allegiance to be sought from, and given by, a potential Member of the Scottish Parliament recognises the Sovereignty of the Scottish People in the following terms: “By this oath, I acknowledge that IF ELECTED as a Member of the Scottish Parliament, it will be as a result of votes cast by Sovereign Scots, and I do solemnly swear and affirm that my allegiance is, and will remain, to the Sovereign people of Scotland.

Those words are an extract from “The Declaration of a Sovereign Scot”. An initiative started just short of two years ago, with support, and individually signed Declarations, being gained in ever increasing numbers at EVERY rally held in Scotland since the initiative started.

The originals have been, and will continue to be lodged at the HQ of the United Nations in New York, as the beginning of the process of international rcognition.

A scanned copy of each signed Declaration is retained, with the intention that eventually they will all be combined into one, as a modern day equivalent of the Declaration of Arbroath.

The opening paragraphs of the Declaration read:

Exercising my Claim Of Right as a Sovereign Scot, I declare:

I do not consent to the terms of, nor the continuation of, the Treaty of Union established through the Acts of Union in 1707.

27. James

Dont tell him Pike! “…I was looking to be swayed by Labour’s plan for further devolution…”

ROTFLMFAO!!

Ah, young Pike is a Labour Yoon then?

28. Al-Stuart

Hi Stuart,

Your rejoinder to my comment above is disturbing. You mention the Twatler Youth. They, or someone of their ilk appear to have ALREADY caused the REMOVAL of the Wings Over Scotland funding page at Ko-Fi?

When I looked for it a few minutes ago, the IT/algorithms via Google to Ko-Fi seem to NOW direct your Ko-Fi page to their homepage. No explanation of where the Wings Over Scotland’s Ko-Fi page has gone, or disappeared to?

Stuart, this is appalling.

You will have much more brain-smarts on IT than I, but I have not yet donated to WoS on this latest fundraiser due to sustaining a similar medical event to your father (both are private matters and I would prefer not to dwell).

BUT, I would like the OPTION to send funds to support excellent WoS journalism when my own situation permits.

On this point (please forgive the troglodyte type question), is there a way to bypass the excremental Twatler Youth and their OCD efforts to remove you and decent journalism from the internet?

Stuart, your PayPal page DOES seems to work…

https://wingsoverscotland.com/donate/

But like Ko-Fi, it is open to third-party TWATLER YOUTH abuse and possible removal.

Will PayPal be able to resist the Twatler Youth desperate efforts to take you down? They seem incontinent in themselves to get you offline.

Interrupting interrupting the financial process that is part of WoS lifeblood is the most effective disruptor.

Maybe routing WoS funding pages via the Icelandic Modern Media Initiative where it can be VERY difficult to remove websites and funding is the answer (again you will know more about that than a I).

Buddy, I am NOT asking for disclosure on a public thread that may help the TWATLER YOUTH..

What I am respectfully asking is…

(a) Is there a back-up plan if Ko-Fi run away and the WoS page they host is permanently removed?

(b) PLEASE can you have a humongous BIG RED BUTTON on every page, so that persons of a certain generation (no-computer) and eyesight issues can DONATE TO WINGS OVER SCOTLAND EASILY?

Many thanks Stuart.

29. Hatuey

Kenny’s speech was good but, and I know how popular it’ll be to say this, Blackford actually nailed a pretty good one too. I’d go so far as to say it’s the best I’ve ever seen from him which is pretty odd — if he spoke like that when he was leader, things might have turned out differently. I don’t know what to make of it really, he seemed to speak very sincerely, from the heart and all that.

Weird times.

30. Josef Ó Luain

A good number of SNP MPs, including more able colleagues within their local constituencies, never thought they’d be elected. As a result, many in the parliamentary group are but paper-candidates who got ‘lucky’.

31. Ross

Well said Kenny McAskill.

Somebody needs to work out how we attract soft Nos over and unite the Yes.

It won’t be partisan, itll be a convention or umbrella campaign that will do it.

Coupon election of 1918 or something of that mode.

Leaving to the SNP only is folly. Needs green, Alba and non party feeling that, despite differences, we can vote ourselves into independence.

32. Scotsrenewables

I am sure you will let us all know as soon as you have the lowdown on the Ko-Fi shenanigans.

I for one am happy to make a one-off donation for 12x my monthly sub, and then the same in 12 months time, and I am sure most of the rest of us are happy to do either do the same or set up a standing order.

In the meantime, good luck exposing and shaming the Twitler Youth brainfarts involved. How fucking dare they bleat on about democracy then pull this shit.

33. alwi

“Well, if the Twitler Youth succeed in getting our Ko-Fi page shut down permanently, don’t get too attached to it ?”

I assume that the Ko-Fi subscriptions are OK? Happy to re-subscribe using another method if they are cancelled.

34. Christopher Pike

What is the movement’s opinion on indy-car Gordon Ross? He seems to flip-flop between being an SNP fanboy to occasionally flirting with Alba, only to get slapped down by his followers causing him to change his mind again within 24 hours.

His predictions are always wrong. For years he’s been telling his followers that the UK Supreme Court could never block an independence referendum. He also has some pretty whack ideas about having future lockdowns in order to fight climate change. He seems like an eccentric oddball.

35. 100%Yes

Did anyone notice blackford walking out at the start of Kenny speach.

36. Al-Stuart

Stuart,

“Peter Murrell” is trending on Twitter.

Would I be technically correct to say you are to blame for that (the word “blame” is deployed in its constructive and amusingly ironic meaning).

Stuart, it looks very much down to the work you do and the funds + moral support many Wingers have sent, that the PETER MURRELL dodgy loan story has broken and in such a way as to register in the Twitter trending system (the fact it is UK and not just the Scottish colony makes this all the more notable).

37. Desimond

Given his over 2 decades there and so many elections, I expected a long list of achievements for his constituency would be his highlight..not an Engerland thing

The crawling “Och Ah was only kidding!” Backtrack at being The Speaker was the klaxon for many of us regards Wishart.

We know he is a no user but what exactly is the point of The National?.. remember folk fighting go get it front and centre on newstands?.. seems only yesterday yet also a million miles away

38. Alf Baird

Josef Ó Luain @ 1:20 pm

“many in the parliamentary group are but paper-candidates who got ‘lucky’”

Indeed Josef, neither Stephen Flynn nor Mhairi Black appear to have had a real job or even a stab at a profession before being handed a nice wee political opportunity after uni. Mebbe that maks thaim ‘political opportunists’?

Obviously both must be ideal candidates to be selected to lead our nation to its liberation, whenever ……..or rather, if ever. (Nae hurry Stephen, Mhairi, tak yer time, gaun yersels an aw that, oor liberation can aye wait till ye get yer colonial pension pots up tae Pete an Nikla level)

39. Viscount Ennui

Ross says:
    15 December, 2022 at 1:25 pm

“Somebody needs to work out how we attract soft Nos over and unite the Yes.”

The SNP cannot do it and are actually the main obstacle. Why would anyone want to transfer considerable power from the degenerates in WM to an even bigger bunch of degenerates at Holyrood? Until we get a semblance of good governance, it ain’t gonna happen.

40. Republicofscotland

Twenty-one years of troughing from Wishart, who was/is desperate to be the Speaker of the House, in reality Wishart is a parasite feeding off the people of Scotland’s hopes for independence.

AS for the SNP MPs, by remaining at Westminster all they are doing is giving an air of legitimacy to an undemocratic parliament, it wouldn’t matter if there were fifty-nine SNP MPs, they are outnumbered and can do nothing of any real significance.

The SNP MP MUST walk out of Westminster never to return, anything else is just play acting by them.

Meanwhile Sturgeon MUST resign and collapse Holyrood to trigger a snap election which will be used as a de facto indy vote, we can be out of this prison of a union next year if Sturgeon does the right thing by Scots and resigns.

41. George Ferguson

Even if Ko-Fi and PayPal decide to stop subscriptions. You can go to the donate page on WoS and pay by credit or debit card or an alternative method like bank transfer or direct debit. But you have to be concerned about the thought processes of the people that are trying to close the blog down. Apparently transparency or facts, aren’t in vogue in SNP Scotland. A story that should also be covered by the Scottish MSM.

42. Breeks

Hatuey says:
    15 December, 2022 at 1:14 pm

Kenny’s speech was good but, and I know how popular it’ll be to say this, Blackford actually nailed a pretty good one too.

I’ve never had a problem with what Blackford said. He often said precisely what needed to be said. The problem with Blackford has been his consistent impotence in backing up the rhetoric with meaningful action.

The correct assertion that Scotland should not have been dragged out of Europe is accurate, correct, and concise, but lacked the loaded ultimatum… “or else”.

The missing component from whatever Ian Blackford said was the consequence which closed the trap on the Union. Without an ultimatum, the Union was never put in the jeopardy it should have been. Something like, “Scotland won’t be removed from Europe, or if it is, then the Treaty of Union will be deemed breached and at an end”. – And of course, actually mean it!

When you stake your position on the assertion Scotland will not be removed from Europe against it’s will, then you MUST be prepared to do something when that was precisely what happened.

It’s the “doing nothing” part which reveals the bluffing and turns Iain Blackford into Blowhard Blackford. He’s all mouth, and fine well Scotland’s enemies in the Westminster Establishment knew it.

Cometh the hour and all that… Blackford’s hour came and went when Scotland actually was removed from Europe and Blackford crumpled up like a packet of crisps. The least he could have done was resign, but he didn’t even do that. He just kept supping up his gravy while the Tories shat all over Scotland’s constitutional integrity and Sturgeon sold out Scotland’s rights. Fuck the pair of them, or better yet, impeach the pair of them and their respective Westminster and Holyrood administrations.

If we don’t step up to the plate, then we are as feckless and impotent as they are. Scotland’s sovereign integrity MUST BE DEFENDED!

The disgusting thing is that Scotland hasn’t been defended “by” the SNP, but actually needs defended “from” the SNP and their craven wee capitulations and unconstitutional betrayals.

43. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Chas, Wilson McBride: your offending comments have been deleted and both of you are one more personal attack away from the pre-moderation list.

44. Merganser

Stu.

Bombshell leak of budget details derails Swinney’s Speech.

Nothing to do with you I trust!

45. Effijy

You are absolutely right Rev!

I never looked at it that way before but yes, bring back Boris, make Liz Truss Chancellor,
    under cut Scottish Farmers with cruelty produced and transported beef and lamb,
    send Scotland’s HMRC jobs to England, and document why Scotland must never be given
    permission to have a special trade agreement with the EU such as booming N Ireland
    or the Channel Islands or Isle of Man or Gibraltar.

The greater the abuse from Westminster the better but I wish we had a political party who could point out these things.

46. David Ferguson

Pete Wishart:
    5 years in Big Country…
    15 years in Runrig…
    21 years in Status Quo…

47. Vivian O’Blivion

PayPal Paul is on the cadge again. A new laptop this time. FFS, he has a paid gig writing for McPrävda, his various side grifts and his annual begging letter.
    Surely replacing a defunct computer falls within routine expenses.

48. Alf Baird

Breeks @ 2:35 pm

“Something like, “Scotland won’t be removed from Europe, or if it is, then the Treaty of Union will be deemed breached and at an end”. – And of course, actually mean it!”

And that is precisely what pro-independence voters expected because we voted in a majority of indy MP’s on the basis of that precise promise and statement of intent, which could only mean one thing – that the Treaty of Union when breached would therefore be ended. Every single one SNP MP is therefore complicit in holding Scotland in the union against the will of the people. Thay shuid aw hing thair heids in shame haein selt oot oor naition.

49. Desimond

Wow… from Leslie Riddoch on Twitter

John Swinney tells @scotparl that in light of Supreme Court verdict, money set aside for #indyref2 will be spent combatting fuel poverty instead. But promises that if/when Indyref opportunity arises money will be found

50. Breeks

Alf Baird says:
    15 December, 2022 at 3:45 pm

And that is precisely what pro-independence voters expected because we voted in a majority of indy MP’s on the basis of that precise promise and statement of intent, which could only mean one thing – that the Treaty of Union when breached would therefore be ended. Every single one SNP MP is therefore complicit in holding Scotland in the union against the will of the people. Thay shuid aw hing thair heids in shame haein selt oot oor naition.

Absolutely Alf.

But more than that, Scotland had a due cause to declare the Union treaty breached and at an end, but furthermore, cite the unconstitutional misadventures of Westminster as being responsible for it. In other words, be “forced” into collapsing the Treaty.

I’ll be honest, I don’t know to what extent unilaterally ending the Union by the choice of one or other party would entitle the other party to reparations and entitlements, but had the Scottish Government seized the opportunity presented by Brexit, Scotland was holding ALL of the advantages.

Independence was right there, within our grasp.

51. Wilson McBride

I didn’t know I offended anyone.

English Ellis started the ball rolling today with his abusive comment regarding Grouse Beater

I have not been abusive to anyone that can think of

English Ellis and his sidekicks are the most abusive shower on Wings.

I think you should aim your threats at that lot .

52. Republicofscotland

Holyrood parliament suspended today due to someone leaking the budget to the BBC.

https://12ft.io/proxy?q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.thenational.scot%2Fnews%2F23193354.holyrood-suspended-budget-leak-bbc-scotland-investigated%2F

53. stuart mctavish

@Desimond

Wow indeed.

Stupid is as stupid does of course but not sure which is worse, the possibility that they colluded with Lord Reed to put the negative spin on the actual SC decision, the fact they appear unable to refer to that decision without putting negative spin on it or the fact they’ve now scrapped indyref2 in favour of subsidized price gouging from SSEB, etc.

54. Doug

The National reporting Swinney and the SNP is now diverting the millions set aside for an indy referendum to be used against recent fuel increases instead.

55. Alf Baird

Breeks @ 4:22 pm

“Independence was right there, within our grasp.”

It sure was Breeks, and the ‘international community’ that a certain someone here always refers to would have quickly and rightly recognised the Scots democratic right and will to remain within the EU.

The SNP has most likely moved Blackford because he is a constant and damaging reminder of their misleading and betrayal of the Scottish people and nation.

56. Republicofscotland

Desimond.

Here is that story.

https://12ft.io/proxy?q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.thenational.scot%2Fnews%2F23194105.independence-referendum-budget-diverted-fuel-poverty-scheme%2F

In my opinion there was never £20 million quid to fight an indyref in the first place.

We know the SNP government isn’t interested in independence, if they were they would be planning to collapse Holyrood which would lead to a snap election used as a de facto indy vote and we could be out of this prison of a union by next year, but Sturgeon the Judas and her troughing treacherous MSPs have stabbed us in the back.

I find it more difficult by the day to distinguish the SNP from the Westminster branch office parties at Holyrood namely, the Tories, BLiS and the Lib/Dems. The Greens are just utterly unelectable.

57. gregor

Status Quo (2009): Down down (Live):

“…I have found you out you see
    I know what you’re doing – what you’re doing to me
    I’ll keep on and say to you
    Again again again again…

Down down deeper and down
    Get down…”:

https://tinyurl.com/2p89ysav

58. Effijy

Regarding the Nurse’s strike-
    Their picket line reports they are also taking action to help the general public who cant get
    an ambulance a reasonable treatment time at A & E, and English waiting times for treatment now affecting over 7 million in England.

Nurses having to do the work of 2 nurses due to staff shortages.
    When an Agency Nurse can be brought in how well must it be received to find out they cost double what you earn and you put your life at risk without PPE during Covid.

Why are there such acute shortages of nurses especially in England.
    Could it be because Westminster stopped bursaries for training them?
    A Degree course in England can rack up £30,000 in debt.
    What for long and late shifts where you work on for free because there would no one to care for a patient in need otherwise, for a job that consistently pays under annual inflation rates.

Potential recruits can see they need to pay for parking or taxis if a shift ends in the middle of the night. Nurses employer pension contributions have also been cut.

We lost thousands of nurses with Brexit making it clear England doesn’t like foreigners.

Now with Foodbanks in hospitals specifically for

59. Republicofscotland

So, Trougher Tommy Sheppard SNP MSP had his attempt to amend the Scotland Act to allow the SNP government to hold an indyref soundly defeated 42 for 265 against.

This is a prime example as to why there’s absolutely no good reason why Scotland should send MPs to this foreign undemocratic parliament, the supposedly independence minded SNP MPs have no power whatsoever at Westminster. Sheppard must’ve known his attempt would be soundly thrashed, which leads me to believe that it was staged in the first place for our benefit.

Which only confirms what we know that the SNP MPs are at Westminster to further THEIR careers, and independence doesn’t come into it.

They need to walk out of Westminster never to return again.

60. Republicofscotland

Watching Kenny MacAskill in the HoC on here.

https://twitter.com/ChrisMcEleny

I noticed that in front of him the SNPs MPs were not listening to a word he said about standing up for Scotland, instead they sat gawping into their mobile phones, what a shower of treacherous c*nts.

61. Frazerio

Hahaha, the budget was leaked was it??? (I’ve typed & deleted from this point & have decided not to name any alleged leaker & am off to do a jigsaw instead!!!)

62. Andy Ellis

It sure was Breeks, and the ‘international community’ that a certain someone here always refers to would have quickly and rightly recognised the Scots democratic right and will to remain within the EU.

Utter tosh. The international community will only recognise an independent Scotland, or indeed any other people seeking independence, under particular sets of circumstances and after a process is followed. In our case, that will involve demonstrating a clear majority in favour of independence, in response to a clear question in either a referendum or plebiscitary election.

Cunning plans for independence just won’t cut it. Being removed from the EU doesn’t confer an automatic or immediate right to declare UDI, however hard some folk in here insist otherwise. The prospect of using short cuts or silver bullets to deliver independence faster than just doing the work of building a majority for independence is remote: it MIGHT work if we’ve tried all other available routes and convince the international community of bad faith on the part of Westminster, or if we could demonstrate the use of violence or colonial status. Good luck with either of those!

For those that want back in the UK, we need to gain independence, then apply. I doubt the EU will do anything other than fast track our application and welcome us with open arms given their recent history with Westminster.

63. twathater

It just shows everyone how moronic and deluded an individual can be when they BOAST continuously about FAILING at the job they were employed to do , BOASTING about being the longest serving independence mp and most proficient mp twatter user

BOASTING about being in wm for 21 years when any SANE individual looking at your record would realise just how shite you are at the job you were elected to do and mibbe consider booting your arse in to touch , I can think of only one reason people would vote for this arrogant failure , they must be english unionists frightened of voting tory because they are so evil but willing to vote for wet pishfart because looking at his record they know the union is safe in his hands

I noticed during Kenny MacAskills speech nicolson took great pains to CLAIM the MASSIVE (HAHAHA) swing to yes was due to the work of the snp, THAT work consisting of taking a NON BILL to a foreign SC by a CROWN advocate who didn’t even believe in it and that court trampled it into the ground and pished on it, THAT WORK, if the clown nicolson was not desperate to claim credit for the snp he might realise that the MASSIVE swing wasn’t due to ANYTHING the snp done, it was done as an outrage against THE SC belittling Scotland , but there again both wet pishfart and nicolson don’t know the meaning of irony

64. Robert Hughes

” John Swinney tells @scotparl that in light of Supreme Court verdict, money set aside for #indyref2 will be spent combatting fuel poverty instead. But promises that if/when Indyref opportunity arises money will be found ”

‘kin hell ! £35 is not going to do much to alleviate Scots’ fuel poverty .

What a bunch of frauds they are . Everything they touch turns to shite / is contorted to serve their incessant lies ; in this instance …..as a sop to people’s frustration at the lack of progress towards Indy , they fabricate some fantasy Referendum in ’23 , when that wheeze meets it’s absolutely inevitable fate , create a failure smokescreen by saying the ( imaginary ) campaign funds will now be used to subsidise those struggling to keep warm – IN ENERGY RICH SCOTLAND . Let’s see how well this ploy works-out .

The unmistakable fact is , they’ll use any/every possible – plausible or implausible – excuse to avoid doing what they should be doing ..eg .. bringing about the unavoidable confrontation with the Brit State that MUST happen if Independence is ever to become a reality .

65. DaveL

@Effijy

They’ll be even less nurses (and midwives and specialist doctors) pretty soon.

New Zealand has just announced fast track residency for those in the above professions. It starts from today, well placed timing on their part eh. I imagine quite a few will take it up and nobody could blame them.

https://www.globaltimes.cn/page/202212/1281673.shtml

66. DaveL

@Effijy

They’ll be even less nurses (and midwives and specialist doctors) pretty soon.

New Zealand has just announced fast track residency for those in the above professions. It starts from today, well placed timing on their part eh. I imagine quite a few will take it up and nobody could blame them.

https://globaltimes.cn/page/202212/1281673.shtml

67. DaveL

Oops, apologies for the double post there. I thought for a link to work the www in the address had to be removed. I noticed I had’nt done this when I hit submit so stopped the operation and removed the www then again hit submit.

It looks like they are both live.

Death by hammers…oh no

68. Scot Finlayson

At Cabinet Office questions on 8 July 2021, Michael Gove, the Chancellor of the
    Duchy of Lancaster and Minster for the Cabinet Office, told the House that:

My Department, along with the Leader of the House, has been reviewing
    the English votes for English laws procedure. The procedure has been
    suspended since April 2020 and, having reflected on the procedure, the
    Government believe that it has not served our Parliament well and that
    removing it would simplify the legislative process. It is a fundamental
    principle that all constituent parts of the United Kingdom should be
    equally represented in Parliament. Any changes, of course, would be for
    the House to decide and we will bring forward a motion in due course.

69. Republicofscotland

John Swinney the king of winning VONCs (due to the Greens backing) has finally confirmed what we all knew ages ago, that in their eye’s independence is no longer on the cards.

We elected Swinney and Sturgeon and the SNP MSPs on the premise that they deliver independence, they have failed miserably to do so, and have decided to push their own agenda and take independence off the table.

The sooner we vote this shower of b*stards out of office the better, give your votes to the Alba party and not the NuSNP.

70. Vestas

@ DaveL

I think you’ll find NZ gets few takers for that offer. Housing costs there make London look ultra-cheap. That’s why they need nurses from abroad.

71. Joe

Christopher Pike says:15 December, 2022 at 1:33 pm
    What is the movement’s opinion on indy-car Gordon Ross? He seems to flip-flop between being an SNP fanboy to occasionally flirting with Alba, only to get slapped down by his followers causing him to change his mind again within 24 hours.
    His predictions are always wrong. For years he’s been telling his followers that the UK Supreme Court could never block an independence referendum. He also has some pretty whack ideas about having future lockdowns in order to fight climate change. He seems like an eccentric oddball.
    ———————————
    He has said in the past that He drives to different places then sits in His Car to upload stuff to the Internet because MI5 are supposedly monitoring His Internet in his House. “eccentric oddball” ? I think you can take that as read.

72. Inverclyder

There’s only one thing for it.

Fundraiser and campaign to get a Peerage for Pension Pete.

73. robertkknight

The SNP at Westminster have once again proven themselves to be about as impotent as the placebo group in a clinical test for Viagra.

Useless feckers!

74. Graf Midgehunter

Sorry for asking but what has happened to the Twitter account of Lukewarm Dave, it doesn’t exist anymore.

Lukewarm and Shauny Boy belong to the “keep us sane” crew.

75. stuart mctavish

@Robert Hughes

£35?

My understanding of 20 million divided by 5 the million (still) waiting is more in the order of £4 – which seems as good a metaphor as any for that cap in hand stuff Kenny referred to.

That point being applauded, despite the unfair reference to the brilliant lord advocate, his subsequent notion that its the democratically elected representatives of the people of Scotland, rather than the people of Scotland (or indeed their King), that are sovereign sounds a lot like something he needs to urgently thrash out with SALVO – unless and to extent he was referring to parliamentary sovereignty in so far as it applied to the specific debate in question, in which case everyone can agree such that it therefore passed 42 – 4*, and Swinney can relax!

*Jack and Mundell having abstained together with the ladies and gents from libdem and labour’s Scottish constituencies (constituency) 🙂

76. Doug

Will Swinney be using some of the money to keep open the East Lothian winter wonderland?

77. Big Jock

Swinney is now using the £20m for the referendum on mitigating Westminster austerity. If anyone in the SNP still thinks this government are pursuing independence. WAKE THE FUCK UP SHEEP!!

78. Robert Hughes

Stuart mctavish says:
    15 December, 2022 at 8:11 pm

” @Robert Hughes

£35? ”

That was meant to be in reference to how much the * Indy Ref ’23 Fund * consisted of , Stuart . Joke fail 🙂

79. Merganser

Beware of buses Peter.

Murrell that is.

Didn’t cover the tracks properly over the ‘executive loan’. Nicola will want to put as much distance between the two of them as possible. She’s already calling it a ‘party matter’, and running up stairs to avoid questions.

Could be the party’s over between those two. Incompetence will not be tolerated – where it is discovered that is.

Odds on a separation (brought about by the ‘terrible pressures of office’) look to be narrowing.

80. msdidi

Robert Hughes
    I got the joke. Sadly you’re probably right tho’ 🙂

81. A bloke called Gerald

He did start a rock band (MP4) down at Westminster with some of his fellow unionist MPs, so surely that’s also worthy of being considered as a worthwhile achievement in his 21 years as an SNP MP? Fair’s fair

82. Chas

Wow-looks like I have been placed on the ‘naughty step’ for responding to another post!

Must try harder!

83. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Wow-looks like I have been placed on the ‘naughty step’ for responding to another post!”

No, you’ve been WARNED about it.

Policy has been clearly stated numerous times: if someone engages in a personal attack, you bring my attention to it via the Contact form and I deal with it. “He started it, I was just responding” is not acceptable.

84. Chas

Rev Stu

I have written to you twice recently on different issues, neither connected with any ‘personal attacks’. I generally like to fight my own battles. It appears that this is no longer possible!
    Whilst I have not checked my Emails today I have not even received an acknowledgement that they have been rec’d yet alone read.

Your blog-your rules.

85. Arthor49

Unbelievable!

We send SNP MPs down to Westminster as part of securing self-determination and independence and he thinks warming the green benches for 21 years is something to be proud of and to celebrate!

Can he not see the irony??

86. Geri

Kenny’s nae nonsense statement was excellent.

Nicolson’s intervention I’d have said ‘aye, & what’s yer fkn boss doing about the rise in support for Independence – squander it as usual?’

I really hope he isn’t removed. Him & Neale are the only two there that’s not been seduced by the pay packet.

I liked the idea someone had on here a while ago of sending independents to that place rather than one political party.
    It’d certainly eradicate the chieftain mentality.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.