Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
@Ian Brotherhood
LOL a tonic for a poor soul. Liked it, I’ll raise with this.
@Thepnr –
You last comment is the ‘first’ on a new page.
At 15,292?
What’s that all about?
Anyway, YT wouldn’t let me open your link. I know it’s X-Factor stuff, but it won’t play…
đ
Total strop
No worries Ian, this one is for Lesley Anne and her partner if they look in sometime. I think most will like like it but I dedicate it to Lesley Annes partner.
Congrats Alex..top o’ the page.
Hey Jock Scot glad to see you man.
Congratulations to Thepnr for heading the page – now that it is a random affair, I suppose we have to allow for the fact that it is a lottery and anyone can be there *sobs – a life’s work ruined*
I’m in one of they moods, you know “want to hear a true story”
Almost done it, but I’m not a complete idiot so I’ll save for face to face. Here’s a clue though.
Cryptic eh! but you guys are smart.
Roxy Music Virginia Plain
Yes I like Michael, link please đ
Missed your chance Michael, I offer you this.
@ Thepnr I have posted twice since my last post but they have not shown up yet. Anyway All the best for the year Ahead to you and yours.
Waves at Michael McCabe – Happy New Year Honey xx
The Last Resort. link to youtube.com
Virginia Plain without the http. Happy new year to you too Paula Rose. link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe
That simply has to be the best version of Virginia Plain on the webernot. Thanks for sharing đ
Just about to check out your Eagles link (secretly hoping it’s crap) LOL
If at first you don’t Succeed. link to youtube.com
This is the most mental song to be played on OT. If you think about it.
Stick with it until you see the gulping fish. Only then will you have got it.
A Song for all the Tyrants out there. link to youtube.com
Here’s my contribution…
Or maybe…
Hi Paula Rose.
You lot were busy last night! Re: your Grace Jones link.
One evening in 1978, Pete the Camera and I had been somewhere in my Austin 1100 and we were sitting blethering in the car, across from my house.
John Peel played a record and I thought, “YES!” Had to get it. Unfortunately, at that time, my regular vinyl emporium, Chalmers & Joy, only dealt with the majors, not the indie labels.
So I toddled into I&N Records in Crichton Street and ordered it, the first release on the Mute label, with the number Mute 001. Eventually, after 6 weeks, I got my mitts on it.
Played it regularly over the years, in the Bowlin’ Alley and various rock clubs. Preferred it to Grace Jones…
——————————————————–
BTW: Have you all taken part in the Uni of Glasgow media/referendum research study I gave the link for on Thursday? I know Andrew McLean and Michael McCabe have.
link to wingsoverscotland.com
Hi Jock Scot.
I was speaking to Sand Holmes on Thursday (you met her at Wings Over Helensburgh) and she was asking how you were, and how you got on in respect of the thing you discussed with her, because she hadn’t seen your name cropping up in the comments on Wings.
Good to see you posting!
One for all you fans of early Pink Floyd…
BDTT, that link to the survey you kindly provided says the survey is “not currently active”.
Must be finished?
@Quinie frae Angus –
The lass was probably inundated after Rev tweeted her original appeal – that’s how I noticed it, and there must be a good few ‘lurkers’ completed and passed it on too. Hopefully we’ll get to see the results one day.
‘The hope that springs eternal springs right up your behind…’
Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘This Is What We Find/Uneasy Sunny Day Hotsy Totsy’ –
Hi Quinie.
As Ian types, she was probably inundated. It was active last night but off today, when I checked in the afternoon.
Nelly, ‘Just A Dream’ –
I’ve been trying to remember a kids’ programme theme tune that I loved when I was wee (maybe 5 or 6, nay younger). My old man bought me the single. I thought it may have been The Flashing Blade, but it isn’t…have a vague idea it involved the desert, and there was a dude on a horse at the start…help!
Anyway, in the meantime, here’s the theme from ‘The Water Margin’ (with the wee talky bit by Bert Kwok, who used to have a monopoly on every Chinese-related gig going…)
Went to see Star Wars last week, hadn’t read anything about it beforehand and I’m not a huge fan, had no idea what to expect – could not believe Max Von Sydow was in it. He looks the same as he did in The Exorcist, and that was, wait for it, forty-three years ago!
Turns out he was born in 1929. What a guy –
link to en.wikipedia.org
Mike Oldfield, theme from ‘The Exorcist’ –
This is very obviously staged, and is an ad for a bank, but something about it makes me think of the whole Yes movement and what we’re doing, one wee step at a time…
Hi Ian B.
Typing about flashmobs and “the whole Yes movement”…
There’s a pretty little thing waiting for the king down in the jungle room…
One of my all time favs…
PS where is Nana???
@BDTT –
đ
Cheers for that, hadn’t seen it before. Something very moving about it, even if it is a bit cheesy. At least the people are real.
And what did BTUKOK have? Jim Murphy on his crate, talking pish and annoying people at ‘100’ venues across the country.
Here he is, the fekking eejit himself, ‘impressing’ the people of Carnoustie –
We fired our guns and the British kept a comin….
@Ian Brotherhood
You surely don’t know it but you have been in the company of at least 4 of the people in the video from BDTT at the first WOS night in Jolly’s.
There you go đ
Hi Ian B.
I was sitting here, rattling off names to my son, while we were watching that video. The wee guy with what looks like a Superman t-shirt, is Frankie Cosgrove, singer/guitarist with “Independence” (they’ve had that name since the 80s).
The guitarist with the beard is Graham Brown, from his band. Their singer, Kieran, wanders in from the right with a saltire sticking out of his left trouser pocket. The piper was the piper with the Graham Brown Band at the time.
@Thepnr –
Hoots mon.
I was going to ask BDTT if he knew any as Wingers, but forgot. Must go back and look again…
@Ian Brotherhood
You can find it all here if you fancy a trip down memory lane. See if you can spot the four.
link to livestream.com
@BDTT –
Brilliant stuff.
LOVE the Graham Brown track, soo-perb.
@Thepnr – will do, but I’m a bit skee-wiff to do it right now…very intrigued though, just the idea of having possibly meet these people but not able to identify them? Weird…
đ
Great stuff guys, fair cheered me up awthegither.
Hi Ian B.
Heather McLean is, probably, the highest profile Winger in that clip. She posts regularly.
She is the lady with the long blond hair, who makes a fleeting appearance right at the start, coming in, and leaving, from the right, with the bluey/green jacket. She then starts the singing at around 30 seconds.
Hi Ian B.
You can see Heather (and others) at this page, which has pics and video from the WOS get-together in Invergowrie, on 24th October, 2015.
link to sites.google.com
@BDTT & Thepnr –
I’ve just realised why I can’t remember any of the people in the videos.
I was bastarding stone-cold sober the whole effing night!
Next time I visit Dundee I’ll have a bed booked. For sure.
đ
Ian Darling I need a real man.
Watch a baby day be born…
Croopie Sweetie – you read my mind.
Strike up the band and make the fireflies dance,
Silver moon’s sparkling
Hi kids,
What’s the craic re the Aberdeen meet up?
@ Croompenstein you should drop into off topic more often you play some great music. link to youtube.com
Heavy. link to youtube.com
A Wee song for the delectable Paula Rose. link to youtube.com
Cheers Michael.. I’m just going through my collection and post on here.. usually when I’ve had a few LOL.. but here’s one of my fav singers…
Mealer in Aberdeen? *rings dress designer*
Mealer in Aberdeen? *books beauty salon*
Mealer in Aberdeen? I’m going!
Mealer in Aberdeen.
Better get the 22 Year Old bottle of malt at the ready.
Shall I start playing my entire Dusty collection?
@Michael McCabe
Well done with “Rare to be Alev” a classic and really is rare. Doffs cap.
Thepnr Honey – I have played that on off-topic before.
@Paula Rose
? ????
Ya Znio or I know was what I tried to say.
I well remember you playing that. My brain is now like a sponge, some parts still work though đ
Thepnr Honey – have you been stuck out in the cold Dear? *grabs coat and massage oils – rushes to the Thepnr’s side*
We march on.
Rush out now before the shops close and get that fabulous CD that’s in today’s Sunday Herald
@Dave McEwan Hill –
đ
Listening to it right now. Good stuff.
@ BDTT hiv you put ma name doon fur Aberdeen ,I will be contacting Irene King this week re Hotels.
looking forward to seeing you,s guys.
A bit weird. We brought forward a bucket list item to visit St Petersberg last Autumn because it looked like that might not be possible soon and now we have a series on the Romanovs on TV, War and Peace and Billy Kaye’s radio series on the Russo-Scottish connection on radio all at the same time.
Putin me on?
Hi Ronnie A.
You’re on the list, after your blether with Pete, earlier in the week.
No National Digital edition yet?
Digital edition did not appear till the back of nine, by which time I had bought a tree version.
Ryuichi Sakamoto, ‘Rain’ –
Jon And Vangelis – I’ll Find My Way Home
Same singer, different era.
Yes – Wonderous Stories
Wonder if this is the only place where you will hear this today…
@Paula Rose
Of David Bowies earlier “silly” songs I preferred this.
Uncle Arthur.
Crazy thing is I had this album from 1967 and gave it away in the eighties, it was Bowies first album and I’d bet I’d get a grand for it now.
I’m making a Vow. No more Bowie tonight from me. To be honest I’ve mor important things on my mind even though at one time I liked some of the guys music. It’s irrelevant.
Becoming a favourite word of mine it seems, disractions, well just distract me so I tend to ignore them.
@Paula & Thepnr –
I only have one vaguely interesting Bowie story. Back in 199? he was playing Glasgow Barrowland, on whatever tour where he was doing all his drum ‘n bass stuff. I was asked to go by a ‘friend’, and gladly did so. Great gig – he did loads of old stuff and the place was hopping – only time I was ever in that venue.
Many years later the ‘friend’ let slip that ‘my’ ticket was actually that of a freelance journalist who had actually accompanied us and verified my access – turns out I’d been recommended as a replacement writer to do a review of that gig. Unfortunately, the ‘friend’ didn’t tell me. It was only when he was properly stoned, approx five years later, that he blurted it all out, finding it highly amusing. I’ve avoided him ever since. đ
Nice story Ian, I went to see Bowie in 1978 at the Apollo, got half pished on the bus as we all did, then fell asleep in the pub next door before the concert started.
Had sensible pals though and finally did make it there and got through the whole night. Good laugh though looking back.
@Thepnr –
Total kudos to you mister for your compliment to GB over in’t current thread. Soo-perb.
đ
Hi Thepnr.
I’ve posted this all over the web tonight.
I guess it’s a case of this is what is fed to English children by their parents and reinforced by the various media. Because it is fed to them by those they have been brought up to trust, it must be true.
The truth is that the island of Great Britain is made up of England. There’s an area called “Scotland” but it is in the far north and has mountains and ‘locks’, which may never be visited. It doesn’t really matter…
Glasgow is in greater England and that’s it. I don’t blame Bowie – I blame the whole rotten propaganda system dan sarf.
Cheer the fuck up peeps, I was a Bowie fan as well.
Here is a wee vid that might do the trick and knock the ‘Germans have no sense of humour.’ meme on the heid to boot.
@Chic
Yes, very good!
Hello. Can you hear me ? Can you see me ? link to youtube.com
Hi Michael Honey – big man xx
Good Morning Paula Rose.
Back off you lightweights – hunky snuggly Michael McCabe is on the scene!
Re. David Bowie. Meh, apparently his ‘inspiration’ for the name Ziggy “Stardust”, was the avant-garde ‘country’ artist known as the “Legendary Stardust Cowboy”.
How about some incongruous kittens? Fear separatist-kitty totalitarianism! It’s alive and it’s coming for you. đ
link to rathergood.com
We’re Scottish right? This is why, I play this for my brother who loved to sing it at karaoke even though his singing was crap lol.
We wouldn’t take a bribe, right? We wouldn’t shame ourselves for money, right? We will not be bought, right?
I know I wouldn’t, I’d just save my money for when. Like this.
It’s not the watching, it’s the listening. Same for all my picks.
Mind blowing and fabulous.
link to pharside.co.uk
The Mix of Music you find on off topic is Fabulous. link to youtube.com
An old one from the Corries. link to youtube.com
Hi Ronnie/Wuffing Dug.
Maybe time for a post to remind peeps about ‘Wings Over Aberdeen?
If you want a souvenir badge of the event, stick a post in ‘Quarantine’. (Link at bottom left of this page.)
There are currently 14 names on the badge list for Aberdeen.
BDtt,
Yes, I was intending slipping an O/T into one of Stu’s posts.
I’ve got 21 on my list – 19 if jdman and Irene don’t make it.
Badges essential for me as I only know three by sight.
As we seem to be more than I first thought, I think Wuffer’s idea of meeting up initially in the Archibald Simpson is a good one.
It’s more open and better for ‘meetin’ and greetin’.
I understand that ‘Brewdog Castlegate’ (was the Athenaeum), is now open, although I haven’t been in it, so we have a neat triangle for groups to visit.
Hey! Ian Brotherhood.
Here’s some auld gadgies wie a song especially for you đ
Deacon Blue this Hogamany singing Chocolate Girl. No bad for an auld guy.
@Paula Rose
I hope you like this, I really hope you like my wee gift đ
Yippee – proper music – 10cc pffft
@Thepnr –
Here’s one for you, Paula, and a’body else…
Bowie, ‘The Secret Life Of Arabia’ (Rudy Valentino Mix) –
I was going to say something so profound that you would remember it for the rest of your life.
There I’ve said it, so never forget. Goodnight.
for insomniac bowie completists.
://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yeigs-ypMj0
Just helping you out Mike, remove everything before the www.
@mike cassidy
Well that was a surprise, Bowie singing in Italian. Might have been more to him than I thought. Certainly surprised me.
@Thepnr –
This one here:
Faithless, ‘Mass Destruction’ –
Great find Ian. Some get it, we know that. Wish more Scots did!
Following the gripes over on main thread last night about Question Time, here’s a wee example of a programme which can be entertaining and enlightening.
It’s an Al-Jazeera production, sometime in 2014 – Mehdi Hasan interviewing Norman Finkelstein. 45-mins long, but even a swift toe-dip provides quite a contrast to the bilge served up by the BBC.
Isn’t it time we had some more Dusty?
If you like the idea of seeing one academic accusing another of plagiarism on live radio, this might float yer boat.
It’s Finkelstein again, this time vs Alan Dershowitz, one of O.J. Simpson’s lawyers.
@Ian Brotherhood
20 minutes into the first Finkelstein link and just 5 minutes into the second. Will watch both of them fully tomorrow, this type of stuff is best watched when your alert rather than a lert đ
Good stuff though, so thankful for the internet.
@Paula Rose
I hope this from Pulp Fiction satisfies your thirst.
@Paula Rose –
Let me guess…this is what you started humming, first time you clapped eyes on Thepnr…
‘NO TITLE REQUIRED’ –
Did “someone” mention “Dusty”?
Trawled through the comments to see who had been missing me after Ken told me this morning I’d been asked after.
So this one is for Croompenstein!
and for everyone else link to youtube.com
Sticking in the 60s ‘babe’ groove…
Or this…
This will take up another 12 minutes of your life…
Is it worth it?
Do something else…cook a pizza, at least in part…
Isaac Hayes, ‘Walk On By’ –
Probably my favourite girl group from the 60s…
A classic piece of film, featuring Arsenal from 1933, playing in black and white, against Liverpool, from 1991, in colour.
A good laugh BDTT.
Thanks for post Nana, you should drop by more often đ
@Thepnr
Don’t encourage me!
I’m just *sob* overwhelmed *sob* by your *sob* thoughtfulness – such dear friends – *waves at Nana with big smile on face*
@Paula Rose Honey
This one for you, and for my hubby who is a big Van fan.
Hope this doesn’t appear twice. But a wee clip of REAL Scottish humour đ
Another piece of ‘real’ Scottish humour…
Nana – why do these boys have no real taste?
@Paula Rose, best not go analysing the boys!
I know Dusty is your favourite diva but here’s mine. I like the rebel singers.
My pal Robbie! The stories I could tell!
@BDTT
What a great Dusty find at 10:39, don’t tell paula but I’m not a big fan, than was OK though đ
More REAL Scottish comedy then. Hahahaha
Two more before I turn in,
the wonderful Nick Lowe
and the fantastic guitarist Walter Trout
Good night all.
OK another Chewin the fat, this time with Ronald Villiers. Not too bad, I laughed.
Nick Lowe – gosh that takes me back, I remember that night when…
@Nana
I saw Walter Trout play in the Lemon Tree in Aberdeen back in the 90s. Absolutely fabulous guitarist. I think I actually saw him twice there if I recall correctly. The other outstanding guitarist I saw there at that time was Dick Dale:
I’m green with envy X_sticks.
This album Battle scars is brilliant, his bluesy sounds are achingly good. From the heart I guess after his health scare.
So glad he is recovering and hopefully some day I might also see him play live.
Bowie on the Dick Cavett Show, 1974 –
hahaha got you now. Here’s a surprise đ
The Rankin Family. link to youtube.com
A bit of Celtic Electric. link to youtube.com
Aw maaaann, so pissed off with main threads, all the ‘tactical voting’ shite…
Wish I could sing, and then I’d sing THIS song:
Cee Lo Green, ‘Fuck You’ –
@Michael McCabe
Now that last post Sharon Shannon, never seen her before but she made an auld mans heart pump harder. Wish I was 30 again LOL.
@Ian Brotherhood
Me too, so hard to know what to do. I think you did alright, might make some think. Nothing is ever clear cut, we just soldier on.
Now bare with me LOL, watch this. Doesn’t it make you feel REALLY old đ
@ Ian Brotherhood if they had an untouchable face you could sing this. link to youtube.com
@Ian Brotherhood
Just clicked your link from 11:55 I’m bogeying in the living room. Fucking brilliant đ
Get it on man LOL
None of you are showing any sympathy for the gnomes, who lost one of their greatest champions and heroes this week.
Shame on you.
@MMcC –
‘Fuck you for existing in the first place’
đ đ đ
Best line of all time?
It is, for me anyway, right now. Soo-fucking-perb
đ
@ Thepnr that Warriors thing took me back. Made me think about the Eagles Heartache Tonight. tried to find it. no luck. Hope this does instead. link to youtube.com
Bowie night…
htt/
Right that’s me for the night. Thanks Michael and Ian for the unusual tunes.
My sort of guy – Mr Bowie…
@ Paula Rose Not all the Gnomes took it badly. I heard one was Laughing. Mind you 6 of them said they were not Happy. Anyway This Song is for You. Enjoy. link to youtube.com
Oh, not more bowie. It’s getting like radio 4 in here!
Cearc Honey – neither of mine are music – want to lead the debate, are we alone?
Seem to be…
cearc tea Dear?
and one for you Michael Honey?
Keep it clean Dears I’m expecting visitors….
I’m onto the cocoa now.
Have you (or anyone else) got Quinie’s email? If so can you send her mine. I need to get her name for a hotel booking. Ms. Q Fraeangus would look a bit odd!
Are you and Thep staying over?
@ Paula Rose and cearc. link to youtube.com
That’s cool Michael, goodnight to you too.
@cearc
I’ve advised Quinie via twitter that you are trying to get hold of her. Hopefully she’ll get back to you.
Hi Ian B.
Re your Cee Lo Green/Daryl Hall link.
That title was used for a track on the double-single pack issued by Albertos Y Lost Trios Paranoias in the 70s.
Here’s another track from the pack – their tribute to Status Quo:-
Incredible female guitar players
Did anyone stick with it long enough to see the wee 8-year old?
You wouldn’t want to live next door to any of that little lot, eh!
Well…..maybe Kiana Shotgun đ
(((((HELP)))))
Anyone know where i can get a 25mm “vote SNP” button badge?
I’ve been hunting for yonks and found hee-haw.
You can get them on ebay but i don’t do ebay.
The SNP (online) shop is next to useless.
With the elections coming up in May i need one for my tammy,
to temporarily retire my “yes2” badge i got from caz-m.
Any pointers very much appreciated.
I’ve got “see me I’m SNP” if that’s any help.
Hi Cearc
X Sticks got me on Twitter. I use a different pseudonym for Twitter but he, Thepnr and Paula Rose know that it’s me – they also all have my email address. Could one of these dear peeps please give Cearc my email address?
Cearc I can definitely only now do the Saturday night as I have another night out in Glasgow on the Friday.
Ta muchly!
Quinie,
Both Thep and PR have my address so I expect I’ll have it soon.
Too late to get the bargain price at Premier Inn that x-sticks touted weeks ago.
Have others booked somewhere? Let us know.
The best deal I spotted yesterday seemed to be Doubletrees on the Boulevard offering 1 room for 1 or 2 people, B&B for 59. They also have there own free parking.
@BDTT –
đ !
Good stuff.
Love the fact it was 75p to buy a single…
For TWO singles Ian!
8=)
BTW peeps: there’s an up to date list of names for badges for ‘Wings Over Aberdeen’, over in Quarantine. If you’re going and want a badge, leave a post there.
(Link at bottom left of this page.)
Cearc and other Wingers for Aberdeen
I have seen rooms available at Travelodges in Aberdeen Central (ÂŁ49 per room) and Aberdeen Justice Mill (ÂŁ39 per room).
I’m assuming this means that with a sofa bed in the rooms (which there have been in any Travelodge I’ve stayed in lately) you can use it as a twin room?
Anyway I am not sure of the location of the pubs in relation to either of these hotels but I know the Justice Mill one will only be a short walk to the town centre?
@Quinie frae Angus
Please send me an email and I’ll forward you address to cearc, new computer as last one packed in is the issue.
Also remind me, are we looking at the 23rd or 30th for the night out. Sorry but I have lost touch đ
Thepnr,
Paula Rose has already obliged.
She’s very obliging!
What was that dear? Oh yes, always.
Travelodge central is full and neithert have free onsite parking and they don’t include breakfast which is why I thought that doubletree was a better deal.
Paula Rose and cearc, you can stay with me. I have the ideal location LOL. Nobody has bothered to tell me yet if it’s the 23rd or the 30th!
30th Thepnr Dear – and we’ve got wee QfA as well.
C.mon, Alex – keep up! Yir no’ that senile!
It’s the 30th, meeting in the Archibald Simpson at 7pm. Possibly using Blackfriars, across the road, as a light relief.
(See Quarantine.)
Well it would be very nice.
It’s the 30th.
So you’re not drinking and driving back?
My plan is to drink and drive cearc not at the same time of course đ
So I will be coming home on the Sunday, there is room for you and Paula right on the same square as the venue(s). Let me know if you want it.
I can’t be absolutely certain of making it at this time but expect to, you both of course would still have it if I can’t make it.
Ach feck it, I’m in the mood for some Smiths. Yes, I’m charming đ
PR @ 6.56pm:
Thank you but i really want the “vote SNP” one.
Oanyhoo, that’s a bit much on a 25mm badge, is it not?
Most people round my way will have trouble seeing the “vote SNP” never mind what yours says.
Thanks again, i’ll just need to keep looking and hopefully get one pretty soon. Maybe the SNP online shop is due some in.
Plenty of 59mm but no 25mm, i would be as well sticking a satellite dish tae ma heed.
Please forgive the directness but I’m trying to generate some funds for long time Winger Fiona who is living in a clapped out Caravan in Huntly and I’m trying to help her get power and heat into unit by selling some items that would allow us to buy a Gen set, Deep cycle battery and 1000w invertor.
First offer of 500 gets all the below goodies. e mail me at kenmcdonald1(at)btopenworld.com
OFFER
———-
1 x Limited Edition Gold Wings Badge Cost ÂŁ 450
1 x Limited Edition (20 made) Wings Poker Weight Worth minimum ÂŁ 50+
1 x Limited Edition Wings Blue on White Button Badge 30 mm dia
1 x White on Blue Wings Ceramic L/E and numbered badge (Nr 120)
1 x original Ver 1 – Wee Blue Book (stapled cover) – Priceless
3 x Ver 2 Wee Blue Book (Bound Cover)
1 x 12 months digital version of iScot Magazine worth 29.99
Needs must
@Kendo
Hi Ken, I can’t go to ÂŁ500, but I will pledge ÂŁ100 to that worthy cause. Don’t need any perks.
I can vouch for the awful conditions Fiona is currently living in. I’ve been there and seen for myself.
Part of her problem is that she has 7 recued dogs living with her and she is desperate to keep them with her, so she needs somewhere that will accept dogs.
Anyone who can help even with a little can help by donating here:
link to generosity.com
@X_Sticks
Colin, thank you and to Alex too.
@Thepnr
Hiya, please check your emails!
(On behalf of myself, Cearc and Paula Rose….) x
@QfA
I’ve replied.
Thanks Thepnr!
See you on the 30th!
Yeah Okey. link to youtube.com
Excellent tune Michael, never heard her before.
That’s going on my playlists. Might even make up a list of her stuff when i get a chance to listen to more.
Thanks!
đ
@ Stoker Glad you liked the tune. I first heard her Covering this Bob Dylan Song. link to youtube.com You play some great Music when you pop into off topic.
Dreamers/Jack Savoretti link to youtube.com
Hi peeps.
The cut-off point for requesting a named badge for the Aberdeen get-together is 11.59pm, on Wednesday, 27th January, ie a week on Wednesday.
If you want a badge, stick a post in Quarantine. (Link at bottom left of this page.)
I Will bide you all a good night. And leave you with a bit of Burns. link to youtube.com
Brian doonthetoon unfortunately neither Rab C nor myself will be able to attend the Aberdeen doo on the 30th , one of our Pals passed away and Funeral on 29th in Arran so I won’t be going to Aberdeen that weekend and Rab will be travelling down here.
Hopefully make the next one, have a ball.
@ Lenny Hartley
Sorry to hear you have sad news and won’t make it/ Maybe we will meet you at the next one.
@Cearc
Hi Cearc, am wondering if you’ve got my emails? One of them has bounced back so not sure if you’ve got any. Let me know on here if you want me to book something, if you haven’t already!
Hi Lenny Hartley.
Sorry to read your news. BTW: you hadn’t actually asked for badges.
Hi Quinie.
I thought you were all being entertained at Chez Thepnr?
I think Kenny Farquharson needs filling under pulp fiction.
The Hustlers – Inertia
@Lenny
Sorry to hear your news and that I won’t see you and Rab at the do.
Please pass on my regards to Rab and tell him I will get around to catching up soon.
BDTT:
Couldn’t happen on this occasion but no worries, that’s myself and Cearc all booked up and rarin’ tae go!
We’re gonna boogie, boogie.
I’ve got an all new outfit for Aberdecadent!
Well just try to keep it on this time!
That fan dance shocked the good burghers of Glasgae, indeed!
Oops – must stop doing that.
A Classic 1977 link to youtube.com
Have we ever played any Springsteen?
This is great fun…
‘Glory Days’ (Live, 2013) –
@ Ian Brotherhood. Here is my wee bit of Springsteen. For all red heads out there. link to youtube.com
American stuff? Prime time…
@M McC –
đ
That’s a first for me.
Here’s a ‘Black Magic Woman’ – interesting ‘long’ live version, from 1970, with John McVie looking about as stoned as it’s possible for anyone to be.
Somebody played this on off topic months ago. thought it deserved another Airing. link to youtube.com
Here’s an American in a tetchy mood.
George Carlin, ‘List Of People Who Ought To Be Killed’ (2001)
@ Ian Brotherhood. Here is an Australian dealing with his Anger. link to youtube.com
Gooble Gobble. Gooble Gobble.
One of us. One of us.
On the subject on neverections.
The Dickies – The Incredible Shrinking Dickies
Michty!
What a sugary stramash ower oan main thread, eh?
Never mind.
Here’s some sweet O/T stuff…
Hot Chocolate, ‘Every 1’s A Winner’ –
Grab me a kitten in tight blue jeans… Hang Loose đ
@Croompenstein
Left a wee tune on here for you last week.
Nice one Reg…
Maybe from the outside things look alright!
Aw nice one Nana, still gutted that I missed you in George Square. Will meet you one day up around the bend…
@Croompenstein
Aye one day hopefully before I go completely round the bend or I’m too old to boogie!
And another great live version of Brown Sugar by the greatest band of all time
Nice one Nana.. hadn’t heard Nathaniel before..
this boy can sing…. Tennessee Whiskey..
Here’s a version of an old classic you might not have heard before, just superb.
Goodnight all.
And what about this (with a fabulous Lisa Fischer)
45 years on and this band is till in a differet league to the overproduced, over promoted shite that we get fed as popular music today
My first and last offering tonight.
Back around 1970/71, I was a regular at the ‘JM Ballroom’ in Dundee. One of the bands who played there regularly was a ‘beat combo’ from Embra, known as ‘The Bay City Rollers’.
They were a fine band. That was the time when Archie was their organist. They introduced me to some fine music.
The links below are songs they were playing at that time. Sad that they went downhill, in a poppy direction, after Nobby left.
Robbie Shepherd just played this, haven’t heard it for yonks.
Dick Gaughan, with Bain/Cunningham, ‘Both Sides The Tweed’ –
This is mental.
‘The Giants Of Rock & Roll’, Rome 1988 –
@BDTT –
re the BCR links/inspirations. Any footage or images at all from when you first saw them? Interesting stuff.
A lot of folk were giving them such a hard time over all the ‘reunion’ palaver. If they need to get a few bob in and can enjoy themselves and make a lot of folk happy into the bargain, who could hold that against them?
Anyway, after the success of the Glasgow gigs you can quite easily imagine them grabbing the lucrative Christmas ‘event’ that used to be property of a certain Gary Glitter, eh?
Shang-a-lang, ya bass!!!
đ
Brian Doonthetoon
Agree entirely. Saw them in Hamilton around 1970. A good band doing good rock’n’roll
Ian Brotherhood
Mental indeed. Fabulous. The greatest band of all time on stage.
Jerry Lee Lewis, Fats Domino, James Brown, Little Richard, B.B. King, Bo Diddley, Mahalia Jackson, Ray Charles and a dozen others.
Show it to the weans so they know what real music was like
Ian Brotherhood
Was that Bruce Springstein right at the beginning?
Bugger the Panda has just sent me this early footage of me and him dancing…
Hi Paula Rose.
If you can dance like that when in the company of Bugger the Panda, why, every time you got a tad squiffy at Invergowrie, did you dance more like this?
At least you shaved off your moustache for BtP…
—————————————————–
I posted this right at the end of the “think-of-another-number” page last night but it may be of more use here.
Typing about Scots dictionariesâŚ
Iâve been using this online resource for years â âThe Dictionary of the Scots Languageâ. It can be found at:-
http://www.dsl.ac.uk
Very droll Dear – not.
Australia Day – why not…
Mmm, in honour of Danny Boy being sent to China to wreck their economy and the UK’s:
BDtt,
Well, there’s a thing.
I didn’t know about the DSL, nor your ‘Last Post’, and jimnarlene go and put me onto it just minutes before you did here.
What a resource!
The only person I ever heard using the term ‘chackie’ was my Granda.
I don’t remember what I thought that was back then, but I know now!
See you Sat.
Remember, peeps – if you want a named souvenir badge of the Wings get-together in Aberdeen on Saturday, at the Archibald Simpson (7pm), stick a post in ‘Quarantine’ (link at the bottom left of this page), before 11.59pm tonight.
Here’s the up to date list of those who have asked for badges:-
Pete the Camera
Brian Doonthetoon
maureen
Wuffing Dug
carjamtic
X_Sticks
Ronnie
Ronnie Anderson
Paula Rose
cearc
Fiona
Julia Blechenden-Roe
Capella
Quinie frae Angus
Mal Bremner
Kenny Nicol
Jim Dewar
Thepnr
Caroline
Luigi
Mr Malky
Neil
Hanii Puppy (my son)
@BDTT Julia can’t make it now – passing on the message –
Iâd like to come along on Saturday. Mostly a lurking learner, but I have posted now and then,- usually my âaltered imagesâ.
I havenât been to a get together and yâall seem to know each other. Iâll ask for a badge on quarantine, OK?
Hi Bittie Glakit – love your work, looking forward to meeting you.
Hello Paula Rose, I’m looking forward to meeting you as well.
Cheers, BG
Bittie Glakit,
Be pleased to meet you, as long as you leave the stirk at hame. ;0)
For BDTT, its only 11.46 on this laptop, if you can an extra badge ‘d be magic
Some entertainment
link to facebook.com
Paul Simon link to youtube.com
Even better
Better
phrecordings.com/releases/sarahpalindonaldtr/
Steve Earle Emmylou Harris Sharon Shannon Donal Lunney Goodbye link to youtube.com
Yay!
The Waterboys Purple Rain From Princes Street Gardens. Edinburgh. link to youtube.com
You’re spoiling us.
Taj Mahal & Bonnie Raitt Done changed my way of Living. link to youtube.com
Never seen this on the bbc before the Referendum. link to youtube.com
Rachael Yamagata You wont let me. link to youtube.com
@tartanpigsy & Bittie Glaikit
Lokk forward to seein you guys there.
@Kendo
Have you managed to get in touch with Fiona? I haven’t had any reply to my email?
Hope all who are going to Aberdeen have a great time.
Would have gone along but hubby is in hospital at the moment.
If anyone sees or hears from Finlay please let him know I was asking for him as I’ve not seen him on the threads for a while.
@ Nana
Hope your husband is okay. Take care. x
Why are you and the other one not coming to Aberdeen?
@X_STicks,
No response to my mails either and I’ve asked her to drop us an email just to let us know she’s ok.
Woo hoo, TartanPigsy’s coming. Haven’t seen you since I made your acquaintance at Belladrum two months before the referendum.
It’s all thanks to you I availed myself of a big Yes flag to flap away outside my windae.
@Kendo
Getting a ‘number not recognised’ when trying Fiona’s number you gave me too.
I do hope she is ok.
Sorry guys, not going to make it to the aberdeen do after all, maybe next time!
Ever wondered what it would be like to hear Telly Savalas telling you about a ghostly experience he had?
Wonder ye no more…
Nana,
Sorry to hear that. I hope he is back soon.
@Nana
Sorry to hear your better half (oops) is poorly. Please pass on my best wishes and hope he recovers quickly.
Anyone coming to the do please drop by Quarantine..
Xword took longer than usual today.
stonYhearted????
Anyone have the link to this puzzle that was on the news?
@Chic –
My old Collins has ‘stony-hearted’, so it looks like a wee hyphen has gone amiss somewhere along the line.
(Wisny me BTW!
đ
Plants dug-up (get your nail-protectors ready, Paula-Rose!)
Clothes slung in bad etc.
Just need to shove it all in the car and I’m on my way down.
Thanks IB
@Chic –
Hoots mon.
When I’m in, anyone heard from Thepnr? Long time since he’s posted in here, and haven’t noticed him much on’t main threads either.
Ian – he’s OK.
@Paula Rose –
Cool.
I’ve got some 12-inchers lined up for later this evening, so perhaps they’ll tempt him out.
I’ll nip in quick with a 12 incher.
I used to get a perverse pleasure when playing this one, because everybody seems to know the song so you could hear the crowd singing along, in the sneaky pause that was in the hook line.
Another 12 incher from the mid 80s. Wasn’t a massive hit, as far as I can remember but I liked it, because it was a totally different cover of the original.
My last one, for the moment.
Not a 12 incher. A single that wasn’t a hit, from around 1967. I think it must have been the first single to rip off the riff from “The Planet Suite”.
@BDTT –
đ Good stuff.
Here’s a little-aired Dury tune from the dodgy ‘Lord Upminster’ album.
Ian Dury, ‘Funky Disco Pops’ –
I really am busy boys – stop tempting me.
Careful lads. đ
The Contours – Baby Hit & Run
Isley Brothers, ‘Who’s That Lady?’ (and something else) on Soul Train –
Curtis Mayfield, ‘Here But I’m Gone’ –
Al Green – Love and Happiness
Gil Scott-Heron, ‘I’m New Here’ –
That’s me done I’m afraid, Ian. I simply can’t match the quality of that last one. Cheers.
BTW, Ian. Any idea when there might be another Glasgow bash?
Can we just get the Aberdecadent one out of the way first Honey?
Worth a try. đ
@CamB –
That GSH track was a first for me too, just stumbled across it earlier.
Glasgow bash? Nowt planned I know of. It would be good to do another May Day knees-up, but things seem to be a bit doldrumish right now…sure it won’t last though!
Best wishes to all at Aberdecadent…full salacious details in due course if you please.
‘Gil Scott-Heron’s dad played for Glasgow Celtic.’
Urban myth?
link to en.wikipedia.org
No
That was nice, Ian, thanks.
@Paula Rose –
How are you finding the time to post messages here?
Why aren’t you dancing?
Aberdecadent IS happening now, right?
Don’t even bother penning excuses – pick up that fan, dust it off, click yer heels and get back out there!
…er, this is Friday, right?
Sorry Paula…
đ
Cheers again Ian. I’ve not managed to get through to a Glasgow bash yet, so fingers crossed.
I look up from washing up and keeping the place tidy and wonder why I FUCKING BOTHER.
@CamB –
Brother, if anything’s in the pipeline, I shall ensure you are amongst the first to know.
We never did finish that conversation in Dundee, and I still feel bad about glancing at my watch as you were talking – you weren’t boring me man, I was just trying to get the timing right so I could drive back home and get a couple of cans before dawn!
Hoots mon!
đ
Ian Brotherhood
What are you blethering about man? Did I catch you checking your watch? How rude. đ
@CamB –
đ
Such moments are what history is made of, eh?
And besides, I’m in Paula’s bad books, so it’s definitely time for the sack.
Hoots mon!
Wings over Aberdeen
Message for all attendees to tonight’s bash over in Quarantine.
@liz g
Liz, in case you haven’t seen quarantine I can confirm Fiona will be coming tonight.
Has anybody heard from Quinie?
I have no idea when she is expecting to be here.
Hey, I wish I could’ve joined you all tonight, but no can do this time around. Look forward to seeing yous at the next one đ
Have a great night in Aberdeen!
Hi. Hope all the Wingers who made it to Aberdeen are having/have had a great time. Cheers.
To all Wingers in Aberdeen – sure I speak for many in saying wish ‘we’ could be there.
Have a dance for us all eh?
Simple Minds, ‘Up On The Catwalk’ –
Associates, ‘Skipping’ –
@Thepnr –
Where e’er ye be brother, this is for you.
We need you mister!
Big Country, ‘Look Away’ (live) –
The Corries, ‘Killiecrankie’ –
Blondie, ‘The Tide Is High’ –
George Benson, ‘Never Give Up On A Good Thing’ (live) –
@Thepnr –
Come on man – where are ye?
You’re the one who posted this to O/T, many months ago, so here it is again –
Johnny Cash, ‘Man In Black’ –
Thin Lizzy, ‘Don’t Believe A Word’ –
Posted this last night, but doing so again because it’s a beautiful work of art from someone who found a way of talking about ‘revolution’ that needn’t frighten the bejaysus out of Daily Mail readers.
Please spread it.
Gil Scott-Heron, ‘I’m New Here’ –
Cracking. Dick Gaughan and 5 Hand Reel
Not long back from a successful get-together in Aberdeen so I thought I would offer this one from my youth:-
And to get the context, here’s the badge design we came up with for tonight.
link to imgur.com
My pics from the bash will be uploaded sometime late(r) today (Sunday).
@Ian Brotherhood
He made another one, the title of which fits very well with the BBC “news blackout” on any independence related events back in 2014:
Also, I’ll just leave this one here:
Peace, Love and Oreos…
*very* off topic but for those that don’t do facebook there’s an interesting post doing the rounds.
Go to Google and type into the search bar any political part followed by the word “are” eg: labour are, snp are, Lib Dems are…
Google will drop down suggestions for finishing the search phrase. Not what happens when you type tories are or conservatives are.
I’ll just leave that for you to think about.
Another braw wings night out, met a load of German students outside they asked me to take a group photo of them, after seeing my badge hat all I got out of them was William Wallace anyway gave them some unicorn, spider and other badges after taking the photo they left chanting FREEDOM for Scotland wonder what Union street made of it as they went on their way down.
Just got back from Aberdeen,
met a lovely lady called Fiona who saved my life (literally) I stupidly forgot to take my asthma inhalers with me and she very kindly gave me her rescue inhaler, which kept me from flying into a blind panic and racing down home,
Apart from that, what a great night, thanks for organising it Ronnie, and it was nice to have met you, Luigi, Capella (who looks just as charming as her picture), Bitte Glaiket,wuffing dug, carjamtic, and all the other friends I had already met, and not forgetting the delightful Fiona, I never fail to be awed by the people I meet at Wings evenings,
A special shoutout for Luigi who has a stabilising influence and certainly put my despondency (who doesn’t feel it at times?)into perspective, so thanks for listening to my sobbing Luigi, I hope I didn’t ruin your shirt collar?
All in all a great night and Ronnie should be thanked for sticking his neck out for organising a meet at what could have been a difficult time of the year, we, in particular, were almost driven back at (“sunny”)Brechin by Heavy driving snow, not looking at anyone in particular for the (ahem) positive weather reports Paula Rose, who as always was a pleasure to meet again đ
Alex,you look after yourself, Pete, thanks for ensuring Irene and I got a badge in spite of the fact I (quite rudely) didn’t respond to BDtt’s shout out for a response, (I didn’t see it until Saturday morning to be fair)Colin a real pleasure to meet you again, cearc, Quine frae Angus, no night is really complete without your smiling faces in attendance, and to any others who I forgot to mention, thanks for making it a great night out.
Sorry Rev
I forgot to strip the tube url.
Aye, it was a truly great WoS mini-convention in Aberdeen last night. I was a bit apprehensive meeting so many of you evil cybernats all in one place at the same time (you do have a bad press, after all. :)), but what can say? Low and behold, the papers were wrong!
Seriously, I couldn’t have met a nicer, lovely bunch of people. It was a pleasure to meet you all. Sorry I did not manage to chat with you all, but I had a great time.
No problem about feeling negative at times, Jdman. Wev’e all been there! As you know, we are all still fighting – this is amazing and this is why we will win!. đ
That was a really enjoyable night last night. You lot are great company to spend some time with.
Special thanks to Irene for saving Ronnie from embarrassment by taking control of the raffle. Big thanks to Ronnie for organising the event.
Thanks to, to tartanpigsy for making sure Fiona got to the do – she texted me to let me know she got home safe and says “Huge thanks to all for a great night! x”
Canny say better than that. When’s the next one? đ
What a great night WoS Aberdeen,thanks for a fine welcome and superb hospitality,first pintage of the new year so a wee bit fragile this morning đ
Delighted to have a blether to lots of wingers,learned loads,a big shout out cearc,the pnr and Pete you guys are brilliant #inspirational.
Still here Ian, been a bit unwell and under the weather, fighting fit now though.
jdman
We’re just getting serious John, a fact that some of the more ‘influential’ Unionists appear to appreciate, hence the SNPbad trope being spun. đ
Noisettes – Don’t Give Up
I walked into the pub last night to meet some people I had only imagined.
There was a group of folk standing in a bunch in front of the bar so I approached them and said, â Iâm looking for some wingers.â
âAh, swingers! You want some swingers?â I quickly retreated and moved round the corner. There I spotted a fellow nursing a bag of badges, and I knew Iâd arrived.
I met a bunch of lovely people with whom I felt right at home. Thanks for the banter, wingers, I hope we can do it again some time.
Hereâs an image I made today.
link to mistygee4.wix.com
I’m glad you all had a great time last night.Seriously disappointed I couldn’t make it.
@Bittie Glakit
Was wonderful to meet you last night and the other Wingers I had never met before. Loved the rainbow and sums it up for me.
We are a diverse bunch but I’ve yet to meet a sad or unhappy Wingers.
Sticking with Cameron B Brodie’s topic of “don’t give in” I offer this. To you and all that believe we can do that wee bit better.
@Thepnr –
đ
Hoots mon!
Great night, lovely to meet more new faces.
Brave people all, who walked into a busy pub to look for a bunch of people who they had never met before and especially Bittie Glakit who didn’t run straight out after her first unfortunate attempt at finding us!
Fancy your chances? LOL
No excuses for playing this a second time. Hear it and Feel it.
Man I’m in a mood, a winning mood and that’s good cos we are winning.
Jimi Hendrix, ‘Hey Joe’ (live)
So this where everbody’s hiding! I posted a comment on the other thread about the night out at Aberdeen. Enjoyed it very much and great to meet the commenteers and put some faces to names.
Sorry to have missed ronnie anderson but hope he has recovered.
Jdman has tidied up his hairdo and Paula Rose is as charming as expected. Which reminds me of:
Evening All,
Finally got down to mustering my thoughts on last night’s Wings over Aberdeen event.
Well, as some of you know, I was keen that there should be one, but I was very unsure of the strength of support from the guid folk o’ Aiberdeen, nor did I want to persuade folk from further afield that they should do so, as time, travel, and accommodation are all precious commodities.
And as jdman has pointed out, perhaps not the best time of year to attempt this. Fortunately, a’ the sna’ disappeared, though it was a bitterly cold night.
All the more reason to feel extremely grateful to all Wingers who attended, particularly those who battled the elements to get here, as well as those who wanted to, but for a variety of reasons couldn’t, and those who posted their good wishes for the get-together.
I was well rewarded for my minor involvement.
What a great bunch! Too many names to mention, (although I did try to keep track wi’ ma wee list.)
Everyone there contributed something to the evening’s success, including donations to the raffle, and I thank you all for helping to make it so.
However, I must express my special thanks to Brian Doonthetoon and Pete the Camera for the named badges, without which we’d have forgotten most names, (brilliant choice of the Northern Lights, btw), Irene King for so readily taking over the raffle, thus allowing me to blether to so many others, and jdman, for the advertising T-shirt – (and for the key!)
Bittie Glaikit (who isn’t at all, but turns out to bide jist doon the road fae me), X-Sticks, for his valued advice, and of course, the enigma that is Paula Rose.
And finally, the lovely Fiona, who has fallen on extremely hard times, and who was the beneficiary of the generous raffle takings.
But perhaps most thanks are due to the man who, although absent, drew us together and whose skill and dedication to the common cause we all appreciate – Rev Stu Campbell.
Now, since War and Peace has started (on TV, not the domestic version,) I bid you all goodnight!
Hi peeps.
I’m in the process of trying to upload pics of the Aberdeen bash to imgur but I’m getting the message that imgur is over capacity.
The upload of pics seems to have stalled; I’m not sure. If I don’t get them up tonight, I’ll try again tomorrow evening.
Hey folks,
I’d a great night last night. Fantastic meeting a few more of you.
Need to do it again sometime.
Cheers
Hi peeps.
Finally managed to get the pics uploaded. Apropos what Ronnie typed about the badge design, you can see what he was typing about in my post of early this morning.
Onnyhoo, as I typed, it was a bra’ get-together – good to meet more than the usual reprobates who have been at the other get-togethers in Glasgow, Dundee, Edinburgh, Invergowrie and Helensburgh.
I was chuffed to be able to have a blether with one of the more influential campaigners from 2014, the man who provided the brains and motivation behind the “10,000 flags for Yes” fundraiser, ‘tartanpigsy’ (Mark). His anecdotes of the campaign were inspiring.
The pics at this link are ‘untagged’ (by request). You all know who you are! What I did was went round with my ‘dress’ Wings hat, propping it on heads for a pic. Apologies for the couple that are out of focus.
link to imgur.com
Oh, Mark – here are the SNP flag designs that I suggested to Chris Law, months before the 2015 GE. The solid black one was the one they produced.
Lastly, here’s the full version of the “Try praying’ graphic I showed you on the wee iPhone.
Hi peeps.
I think my last post has gone into moderation – It had 4 links in it.
You can check back later for the other links. Here’s the gallery link from it:-
link to imgur.com
Ronnie,
‘…for so readily taking over the raffle,’
There wasn’t a chance of you running it with ‘Raffles’ in town.
Hi peeps.
Here’s the post that seems to have disappeared.
———————————————-
Finally managed to get the pics uploaded. Apropos what Ronnie typed about the badge design, you can see what he was typing about in my post of early this morning.
Onnyhoo, as I typed, it was a bra’ get-together – good to meet more than the usual reprobates who have been at the other get-togethers in Glasgow, Dundee, Edinburgh, Invergowrie and Helensburgh.
I was chuffed to be able to have a blether with one of the more influential campaigners from 2014, the man who provided the brains and motivation behind the “10,000 flags for Yes” fundraiser, ‘tartanpigsy’ (Mark). His anecdotes of the campaign were inspiring.
The pics at this link are ‘untagged’ (by request). You all know who you are! What I did was went round with my ‘dress’ Wings hat, propping it on heads for a pic. Apologies for the couple that are out of focus.
(Link provided in the post @ 11.23pm.)
Oh, Mark – here are the SNP flag designs that I suggested to Chris Law, months before the 2015 GE. The solid black one was the one they produced.
Lastly, here’s the full version of the “Try praying’ graphic I showed you on the wee iPhone.
———————————————-
I hope this will post – I give up otherwise.
So I’ll try this again…
@Oneironaut (3.06 am, Sat) –
đ
Hey! Welcome back mister. Long time no see. Hope all well.
Bitte Glaiket @7.03
Eh kin Aa hiv ma car keys back?
Please pardon my indulgence but here’s one for all trash enthusiasts.
THE TRADITIONAL FOOLS – PLEASE
Like a Detroit garage band from 1968 that! đ
Would that be Joe’s Garage ? link to youtube.com
Here is a wee Toe Tapper. link to youtube.com
David Smith
Thank Jebus there at least one person of taste out there. đ
Michael McCabe
Oops. That wasn’t meant as a dig Michael. đ
jdman says: @ 9.30
So youâre a winger with an S? Awa anâ behave yersel min.
Seriously though, is colouring Jakay Râs face green defamation of character? Should I be worried?
Click the start button on here
link to mistygee4.wix.com
@Bittie Glakit
Yep, it’s a sign of evil cybernattery, and you should be deeply ashamed of yourself!
Meh, who am I kidding? It’s hilarious and awesome, end of story! đ hehe.
Remember when the famous female novelist visited Craggy Island?
Jakey has never written anything to touch this:
Father Ted, ‘Feckin Mrs Doyle’ –
Perhaps a certain person is naive and poorly advised? Doesn’t matter, I’ve finally got an excuse. đ
Dolly Parton – The Company You Keep
Proud?
Ziko virus.
Keep waiting to hear a Papal encyclical allowing contraception in Central/South America but nothing so far.
Especially with Mardi Gras and the World Cup coming along.
Also reports of partners transmitting the virus sexually in North America.
Chic,
Don’t hold your breath!
Huge thanks to all Wingers for all their help, and especially Xsticks, the wonderful TJenny and TartanPiggsy (got it right)and for a wonderful Wings night in Aberdeen. It was great to meet everyone, tho I will need reminding of names, I think.
Paula Rose it was a great honour to meet you at last and I would have liked to have more chance to speak to you xxx
And sorry, cant remember your name or comments name, but you have two pugs, I would like to speak more with you re Faithful Not Forgotten and your energy experience and knowledge. Thank you so much everyone, and hey, I’m old, I’m wee, and although I had expected to be pretty frail after a Wings night, it did me the world of good and I am still laughing out loud. Roll on the next Wings Night!
I still haven’t written my wee account of Wings over Aberdeen, but I will.
In the meantime, what is much more pressing is this: Are any Wingers – particularly Edinburgh ones – planning to go to this tonight? This is the Yes Hub Cafe that’s been vandalised the other day. I was hoping to go but Edin pal can’t make it.
I’d brave it out and go alone if I thought a wee Winger might chum me….but it’s Fri afternoon and no-one comes on here till night-time so I am not hopeful….
link to twitter.com
Put it on the main thread Dear it reads like off-topic at the moment anyway.
OK, Paula, will do x
@ Quinnie frae Angus If you can give me details of where to meet up I would go. All for a good cause.
QfA you make sure you take good care of Michael if you go together – I want him back in one piece… Hi Oneironaut *waves* coffee?
This is why I never read main threads any more.
Everyone’s inability to ignore and not even respond to the trolls makes me lose what few tattered shreds of faith in humanity I have left…
Not sure about 1 Ac today, got the rest.
Is it DASH ?
HI Michael
Thank you so much for your chivalry! The scunner is that because I kind of wrote it off because I didn’t think anyone would want to go, I’ve now roped myself into babysitting tonight instead.
Would also be driving from Dundee and back anyway so maybe not the ideal idea in the first place.
Are you already in the vicinity? I.e. do you live in Edinburgh and know where Mayfield Road is?
Ach weel, some things are just not meant to be. Went back to sister to take back my babysitting offer, in the light of kindly Michael’s offer to chum me to the Race Night.
But so desperate is she for babysitters she’d already bitten my hand off and made plans for going out.
Never mind. I am sure next time there is such a thing we’ll be able to give more notice and get a wee bunch of Wingers from whichever town or area to go along.
Thanks anyway, Michael McCabe, for your kind offer.
@Quinnie frae Angus I Am from Edinburgh and know where Mayfield Road is. I am from the other side of town though. I will probably give it a miss as well but drop into the Yes cafĂŠ in the next few days with a donation. Looking Forward to Meeting up with you Wonderful Wings people at the next Edinburgh Night out. Or further afield if I can make it.
Hi Michael
Yes I think we on Off-topic should start discussing where the next Wingy night out could be, and when.
They are such good fun, and help us keep up our spirits in the face of the relentless Corporate Media onslaughts….
Hi Quinie.
At the end of the ‘A Penny For Labour’ page, I suggested Inverness.
Mentioned this to Ronnie A last night and we agreed that Inverness could be a grand weekend away. Problem is, we can’t think of any Wingers in the Inverness area.
There is a Wetherspoons, however.
link to jdwetherspoon.com
Bddt,
Tartan Piggsy has a shop in Inverness.
A Wee Birdy told me to play this. Wings (Live) link to youtube.com
Doubt if Jeff Wayne ever envisaged this. Bravo.
Check out this street performer with an electric violin. This is seriously good.
That’s made my evening xx
I suppose you want a pat on the back as well?
The Lyrics of this song Deserve a pat on the Back. link to youtube.com
*looks up from tweeting to give Michael a big smile*
gently pats Michael McCabe on the back đ
Hey drum ho! That was excellent, brought a wee smile to my face.
More gentle stuff boys.
Good Morning Thepnr and Paula Rose. Here is another song with Lyrics that Rhyme only a bit Angrier.
and now for something completely different
Here is a mellow song from 35 years ago. link to youtube.com
@ yesindyref2 That was something completely different. and good. Do they do a version of Putin on the Style ?
Mellow? I’ll give you mellow:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2cBT8–7tA
@Michael McCabe
Newer version of Kalinka plus others at the Eurovision in 2009 apparently!
Looks like they’re still going. I remember them performing in the UK, even at the height of the Cold War. Makes you think, if everyone just listened to or played music there’d be no need for war.
Bu***r. From basket of light full album to liege and lief I should have been in bed ages ago. If I’m not careful it’ll be steeleye span next and I’ll see dawn.
Again.
Even worse I might start diggin out the vinyl and LP12 from the attic. Help me Rona!
Maybe just listen to Matty Groves a while …
Strange day yesterday, had to put down the anti-Swinney (and Sturgeon) brigade, Firmly. I was in the mood for it. Almost vicious at times, not like me. They really don’t understand percentages, or what’s a tax, and what’s something else like a benefit (ÂŁ100, probably taxable as income and tax credit losing).
Ah well, to finish of, honest:
For Eric Joyce and Dim Jim…
There’s a thousand pretty women waitin’ out there
And they’re all livin’ devil may care
I want all the time…
@Croompenstein
The Elvis one was the best, Steve Millar wasn’t too bad either đ
Here’s a wee blast from the past, for those that were present and all those that were there in spirit.
It’s a racket but a fond memory. Next time eh! đ
BBC Blah Blah – Yew Choob Live @ Pacific Quay
Just a wee tonic
youtu.be/rLx4xJdCcZ4
Dusty Springfield on the iPod.
This might be even better. U2, the Stones and Fergie with “Gimme Shelter”
youtu.be/o42zmYN2_-k
No U2 Dear please.
@thepnr
I hadn’t seen that video before and it threw me until I remembered that protest didn’t actually happen outside PQ but some way to the side closer to the marina.
I can see a few well kent faces in that crowd, and a brief cameo of the wings gazebo near the end.
The numbers being held up by some members of the audience were an attempt to put an official number on the attendance.
Croompenstein
The regular band on a Friday, at the Carnarvon Castle (Kentish Town/Camden Town?), used to do a blinding version of “The Joker”. Thanks for the memories.
The Canarvan Castle: the only time I have experienced physical hostility for being Scottish. Tried to pay for a round with a Scottish note and got a swift poke in the eye for my troubles. As my neural network resembled scrambled eggs at the time, I don’t think the injury registered (I’m reliably informed that I neither blinked or flinched). To say the bar manager’s resolve evaporated, would be putting things very kindly indeed. đ
I won’t tell you what my considered response was but we stayed as long as we wanted. đ
thepnr’s BBC bias piece remided me of this. A wee present for Paula Rose, keep watching until the middle of the clip.
@ Thepnr – Good to see you back contributing and fighting fit.
Merle Haggard – Silver Wings
Ireland v Wales today.
The winner of today’s game will take the tournament this year, imo!
Would not want to pick but if shoved i’d put my cash on Wales.
Ireland 16 v 16 Wales
Not as good a game as i thought we’d see but still entertaining.
Still think one of those 2 will win the tournament and i’ll stick with Wales but only just. Decent game but must do better.
đ
Is there going to be a Wings Edinburgh night out ???
RSVP.
If someone organises it *subtle hint*
Paula Rose says:
7 February, 2016 at 6:12 pm
“If someone organises it *subtle hint* ”
Ah the *subtle hint* encased in asterisks , prefer direct approach myself.
Alas , I cannot organise a P**s Up in a Brewery ( No pun intended )…..my query was really more along the lines of ….Is there one ?
Have fabby dabby evening Ms Rose
An Inverness ‘weekend away’ is also in the frame. Tartanpigsy, reporedly, has a shop up there but the bonus is that they have a Wetherspoons.
link to jdwetherspoon.com
Also, Ian Brotherhood put forward his excitement at the idea of another ‘May Day’ bash in Glasgow. I’m keeping Invergowrie’s tinder dry…
So, who’s gonna step up to the urinal and make meaningful emissions?
Or sit on the chanty, to make an appropriate deposit, of sorts?
(To negate any accusations of sexism, re ‘urinal’…)
BDTT Honey – put the shovel down, step away from the shovel.
This sounds familiar ………….
“put the shovel down, step away from the shovel “.
I tried to put my shovel down once but the vet said he could save it.
Never step away from a shovel , it’ll sense your fear and attack you.
Where is Ian (Bro)?
The Temptations – My Girl
Broken Glass. link to youtube.com
Remember Then – Showaddywaddy
kenny logins – footloose
Paper lace – Billy don’t be a wanker
I can do it link to youtube.com
This song could blow your mind. link to youtube.com
Bitty McLean – It Keeps Rainin
@ Michael (12.50am)
Well done buddy, keep them coming.
đ
Robert Palmer & UB40
Hell Yea. link to youtube.com
UB40 & Pato Banton – Baby, Come Back
I Think Lesley Anne likes this chap. link to youtube.com
fuckin hell, Michael, cheers buddy, i forgot about them.
The Sweet, Scottish, thank’s, very long time no hear!
My Favourite UB40 song. Well one of them. link to youtube.com
Apache Indian – Boom-Shack-A-Lack
(PS-Anyone know what’s happened to caz-m?
My Favourite Scene from one of my Favourite films. link to youtube.com
Here’s mine:
Wandering star – I wonder.
Every Witch Way But Loose
@ Stoker Good choice. did the song not get to number 1 this song reminds me of the Waltzers at the Shows. link to youtube.com I am away to Waltz of to my bed. Thanks for the Entertainment Stoker.
Good choice, i remember that getting played regular at the shows at Saltcoats.
Behave, Paula!
đ
I had to think twice about playing this. but I thought what the heck. Good Night. link to youtube.com
I promise…
Stoker at 1.40 am
Cracker. For the archives
You’re welcome Dave!
Right folks, didn’t get to say last night, i blame Michael & Paula but we may be getting some new visitors fae Kelso and Gala.
Be gentle!
Michael, talking of ‘shows’ – couldn’t get this one out my head all day today, different era but just as good.
Kelly Marie – Feels Like I’m In Love
Garth Brooks – Friends In Low Places
Marty Robbins – El Paso
Eddie Rabbit – Every Which Way But Loose
Freddy Fender – Before The Next Teardrop Falls
Right, folks, i’m cream crackered, i’m off to my pit, enjoy!
Inverness, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Dunfermline, Stirling or Invergowrie?
Any or Dundee?
Mornin’ everybuddy, how y’all dayin’? I’d be up for Glasgow’s next gig.. maybe some evening thereaboots mid to late March.. a Thursday or a Friday possibly? đ
Anything else could happen in between then.
X STICK’S
Hi so sorry I took so long to get back to you.Have been popping over here to see if you’re on but always seem to miss you.
I made it to Aberdeen but had a bit of an emergency (don’t ask still mad) so didn’t get to the night out to meet Fiona.
Anyhoo… As it turned out the solution I had in mind was a non starter.
I am currently boarding a dog for my son who is working in Aberdeen and also tried hard to find accommodation that would take dog’s, so I thought it worthwhile exploring the possibility that they could help each other out as that would increase their budget for rent with dog sitting thrown in.
But asking on line…. you don’t know me but…will I put you in touch with a Glasgow man you don’t know either to tell him what you’re plan’s are with a view to living together… well I couldn’t find a way to type it that didn’t sound…weird.
Almost as weird as telling your son you’ve found a woman for him and the dug to live with but you don’t actually know her.
Discussions in a pub are always a better option anyway IMHO.
Turns out he’s locked into his current lease and would most liklely leave Aberdeen in the autumn.
Hope everything work’s out for her and will you explain it all to her and give her my best
Now I want you to know I am not being sexist when I say this, I’m just being a man and this is the best pair of legs I’ve ever seen, carrying the body of one of the best singers I’ve ever heard.
Yes, Thepnr, her pins were ‘ship-shape fashion’. Which takes me to the first of my favourite vids featuring the young(?) lady.
I first saw this vid on ‘The James Whale Show’, which used to be on around 1am on STV/Grampian.
And then my first exposure to her, when I was around 13/14. Loved the sheepskin(?) waistcoat!
Then this one came up next on YouTube…
Talking Heads, ‘Cities’ –
By the time 1968 came around, these were a bunch of my favourite ‘tottie’ singers on TOTP. I think I may have linked to this vid before but it covers two bases – fine looking women and trains, albeit German trains…
*coughs politely*
Paula Rose: Do I detect jealousy – because you didn’t dance on a train, when you were in your pomp?
She’s gonna reply, “I’m still in my pomp”…
Picture this…
@Brian Doonthetoon
Well where do I start, Bravo will probably do to begin with.
Ruthie the tank commander has nothing on Cher, Ruthie will never straddle a gun as big as that. Thankfully.
Now, I’ve got you babe, knew it from my childhood but to see it now more than 50 years later, yes more that 10 decades later is amazing.
Finally Gypsies, tramps and thieves, this is the one I remember most as i think it was about 1970 or 71. Anyway I’ve always liked Cher songs since about then, I can’t remember exactly but it was around 10 or a bit more years ago that Cher was doing a farewell tour concert at the SECC in Glasgow.
My wife bought two tickets and even though I was at home at the time I didn’t go because they were “standing” tickets!
What a twat! Probably one of my biggest ever mistakes.
Thanks for the memories đ
Hi Paula Rose.
“Picture this…”
Never mind that – this one was one of the tracks on the first piece of Blondie vinyl I bought, a three track 12″. Still one of my faves…
I think the other tracks were ‘X Offender’ and ‘Rip Her To Shreds”.
As per usual at the moment I’m multi-tasking, I’ll have a look through my rare vinyl another time.
OK been getting carried away, I promise this is my last on this topic on off topic đ
This woman was very talented, here she shows it. I think I may have got myself a bit carried away. that was Brian Doonthetoons fault đ Will try to behave, until the next time>
Sugar!
My last post addressed to Paula Rose never appeared, most cheesed off as it contained this:
Can anyone point to a better duet, Laural and Hardy don’t count Paula đ
Was just sorting out my Randy Vanwarmer records and came across this misplaced item:
Randy Edelman, ‘Uptown Uptempo Woman’ –
Awww man, my ‘R’ section’s a mess, just found another one…come on, who left this in here? It’s no mine…
Come to think of it, what wouldn’t you give to hear Sydney Devine covering this?
Randy Travis, ‘Three Wooden Crosses’ –
Hi Thepnr.
All this typing about Cher has reminded me of a previously forgotten episode from my teenage years.
One Saturday night, I was in the Hong Kong in the Seagate, ‘with mah best girl bah mah side’, enjoying our Chinese. While we were eating, ‘mah best girl’ said to me, “Here, izzat no’ Cher just come in?”
Says I, “Eh, I think it is.” Says she, “Eh’m a big fan o’ Cher.” Says eh, “Eh’m a buht pally wie ‘er – yeh wahnt ‘er ti come ower?” “Eh.”, says the burd.
So, I wandered over to Cher’s table and introduced myself. “Me an’ meh burd are big fans – wid yi come ower ti wir table an’ say ‘hello’?”
“Sure”, says Cher, “I’ll be over in five minutes.”
So I went back to our table and continued eating the Chinese. Sure enough, five minutes later, Cher came across to our table, and said, “Hi Brian, nice to see you!”
I said, “Fuck off Cher, I’m wie mah burd…”
@Thepnr –
Re ‘duets’…
Sorry man, but I think I’ve got you here.
Bonnie Tyler & Shakin Stevens, ‘A Rockin’ Good Way’
FEATURING SURPRISE APPEARANCE BY REV STU AT THE END!!!
@Ian Brotherhood
Found myself smiling all the way through your link to Uptown Tempo Woman, I knew the song but had never seen the singer before or heard of him, enjoyed it though.
Now your next “pick” LOL your definitely at the wind up that was fucking awful. When I was 11 my granny bought me a cassette player for my birthday and one cassette. Sydney Devine FFS I came to love that man it was the only music I could ever play by myself as I NEVER bought another cassette in my puff. True that LOL.
Anyways, what about this?
“I’ll never break my promise or forget my vow”
One of the best pieces of pop theater ever, it’s Meatloaf again but if you can stick it to the second half you will see what I mean about theater. Only so many artists had this, Freddy mercury obviously did, this is not quite in the same league but still great compared to that Randy shite you just subjected me too.
Take your medicine and watch this đ Mind wait for the vow quote!
@Brian Doonthetoon
Fuck! I can’t keep up here. That was a brilliant story, I met Cher in the Hong Kong as well one weekend, gave her short shrift same as you.
Let’s face it who would ever walk away wie the likes eh Cher when you huv a fine Dundee lassie tae tak hame. LOL
Nice one Brian.
That Meatloaf track takes me back to very pleasurable night I spent, after the Bowlin’ Alley, with a young lady, parked at the pavilion in Baxter Park.
We spent around 4 hours bletherin’, and all the time my sap was rising. The radio was on – God knows what station – but it brings back fond memories.
Yes, it was ‘paradise by a dashboard light’.
@Ian Brotherhood
I’m going to give you 10/10 for that Shakin Stevens and Bonnie Tyler duet. Didn’t think I’d like it but my shoulders started to move from side to side, then my head started nodding.
Next my feet started to tap and I found myself smiling đ Finally my arms started to do the locomotion, WTF I was dancing on the couch. Then it finished. Close call TF.
What about the worst duet?
I nominate Stevie Wonder and Paul McCartney for ‘Ebony & Ivory’. A dire object for which neither of them have ever, so far as I’m aware, received a proper slap. Thank fuck they didn’t ‘develop’ it into a big gatefold concept album and/or musical.
One more, before I turn in.
Saw this performed live on TOTP and he really does play the guitar at that speed.
One of the more under-rated guitarists of all time, an’ thah’… Dave Edmunds…
And this, to finish off…
Dave Edmunds hmm been around a long time and had a lot of influence. This is his first and only number one.
Guys and Paula
Thank you one and all, great night reminiscing, off to bed now. Will catch up later. Cheers.
I remember being in The Unicorn (now No 57) in Dock Street when ‘Knocking’ was No 1.
We were in a foursome – two women who were 18 and the two guys who were 17. And the lassies got asked their age…
Promise me you will watch this to the end, there is a wee surprise for you in the middle.
This song I think represents us, you are welcome to correct me, first you must watch and listen.
Off you go to bed now boys *sighs at mess*
Talk about a mess.
John Pilger on Paris, ISIS and Media Propaganda
link to informationclearinghouse.info
The Mau Maus – Warbaby
A Wee Guitar tune for Nana. link to youtube.com The Bass player is something else.
@Michael McCabe
Thank you for that tune,just awesome. I was given the croossroads dvd a few years ago, blown away by Jeff Beck playing Nessun dorma. So here it is
‘Mon the Bern.
Cal Tjader – Soul Sauce (1964)
Sorry about that.
Cal Tjader – Soul Sauce
I see this place is being traduced over on’t main thread.
Vile, frankly.
Never mind.
Marvin Gaye, ‘Inner City Blues’ –
Don’t fret Ian Dear – I am guarding the door.
@Paula Rose –
đ
Glad to hear it – I’d have you over a couple of bouncers any day.
The mind boggles!
There was me thinking that Ian was such a proper gent an’all.
(Quiet Ian Dear – we don’t want to upset the other boys)
Thepnr at 11.58 (last night)
Dave Edmunds recorded that in his garage and did all the parts himself which explains the almost total lack of a drum track
How about this fabulous piece
youtu.be/WsHBV7WZ6wk
@Paula Rose –
Nice wee package here about Wilko, if you haven’t seen it.
The mind boggles, Ian.
How wild!
Someone does it right…
Better this way
Or this great piece. Is “The Wanderer” the best ever rock’n’roll song?
Going to go totally retro on you all, but I am that age, this 40 year old song was Freddie Mercurys favourite.
This is the song which Freddie loved the most and it stands among his finest moments as a vocalist and songwriter. Peter Freestone reveals: – “Freddie was asked many times about this [about which was his favorite song] in interviews and most of the time he avoided the answer, mainly because he didn’t want his words to be turned around in print. He told me his favourite song was ‘Somebody To Love’. The reason he didn’t want to say this was because it was one of his own songs, and he didn’t want it said that he only liked his own music and not any of the other band members”.
Class act, doubt many would disagree.
Changed my mind again. Is “Not Fade Away” the best ever rock’n’roll song.
Here’s Stevie Nicks with it
Evening Wingers, just calling in to say hello. Am in bed with phone and not enough battery left to play your tunes tonight. However it’s all about the banter and I enjoy reading yours.
Hi Quinie.
Thepnr – here’s a Freddy Mercury track you may not have heard before…
Hello Quine
Shame you are unable to share the music đ
I’ve watched that Queen song four times now because tonight was the first time I’d saw that video. You know what? I am not in the least surprised that it may have been Freddy Mercurys favourite.
Hard to beat to be honest.
@ Thepnr Queen. what have you started. link to youtube.com
its Nearly Valentines day so I thought here is another Queen Song. link to youtube.com
Last Queen song from me Today. A bit more Rockier. link to youtube.com
Bebe-Cocaine link to youtube.com Goodnight All.
Hey Michael
I enjoyed them, promise that this will be my last ever Freddie Mercury video, tonight at least, who knows what the future holds?
Anyway check out the difference in this video between the beginning, the middle and the end. Not many could do that.
Hi Thepnr.
Had you heard Larry Lurex before? (1.36am this morning.)
Not quite sticking with the Queen topic on here, but close enough. I can never resist an excuse to post this one up.
“My spirit is weeping
For freedom it cries.
Been scraping my living
In the valley of lies.”
The Johnny Cash Memorial Tribute:
Rosanne Cash – Tennessee Flat Top Box
Jamey Johnson – Who’s Gonna Fill Their Shoes
Good track with some Lovely Photos. link to youtube.com
@Oneironaut –
Good one! Never heard that before.
Sorry I missed you last night, but Paula Rose had sent some of us packing with fleas in our ears.
We could do worse than have these dudes DJ the first Independence Day ‘disco’ –
Daft Punk, ‘Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger’ –
Bowie, ‘Valentine’s Day’ –