Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Michael McCabe

Somebody played this on off topic months ago. thought it deserved another Airing. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1iAYhQsQhSY&feature=player_detailpage

2. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s an American in a tetchy mood.

George Carlin, ‘List Of People Who Ought To Be Killed’ (2001)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tVlkxrNlp10

3. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood. Here is an Australian dealing with his Anger. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-GIK-4Tawc0&feature=player_detailpage

4. CameronB Brodie

Gooble Gobble. Gooble Gobble.
    One of us. One of us.

On the subject on neverections.

The Dickies – The Incredible Shrinking Dickies
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJXp_nWPgsg

5. Ian Brotherhood

Michty!

What a sugary stramash ower oan main thread, eh?

Never mind.

Here’s some sweet O/T stuff…

Hot Chocolate, ‘Every 1’s A Winner’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JQsg6XXGxXQ

6. Croompenstein

Grab me a kitten in tight blue jeans… Hang Loose 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sreNKYqPwFQ

7. Nana

@Croompenstein

Left a wee tune on here for you last week.

8. Croompenstein

Maybe from the outside things look alright!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YTysUrnNEc

9. Croompenstein

Aw nice one Nana, still gutted that I missed you in George Square. Will meet you one day up around the bend…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLrUuE83JVM

10. Nana

@Croompenstein

Aye one day hopefully before I go completely round the bend or I’m too old to boogie!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZagCklvj1E

11. Dave McEwan Hill

And another great live version of Brown Sugar by the greatest band of all time
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C0bxMWdOMbs

12. Croompenstein

Nice one Nana.. hadn’t heard Nathaniel before..

this boy can sing…. Tennessee Whiskey..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=StduTVvCHOU

13. Nana

Here’s a version of an old classic you might not have heard before, just superb.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=scTqpfL9WMA

Goodnight all.

14. Dave McEwan Hill

And what about this (with a fabulous Lisa Fischer)
    45 years on and this band is till in a differet league to the overproduced, over promoted shite that we get fed as popular music today

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kxPoCgk7A90&list=RDkxPoCgk7A90

15. Brian Doonthetoon

My first and last offering tonight.

Back around 1970/71, I was a regular at the ‘JM Ballroom’ in Dundee. One of the bands who played there regularly was a ‘beat combo’ from Embra, known as ‘The Bay City Rollers’.

They were a fine band. That was the time when Archie was their organist. They introduced me to some fine music.

The links below are songs they were playing at that time. Sad that they went downhill, in a poppy direction, after Nobby left.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1PpTXtlnb0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rMbATaj7Il8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-mgOAZUfuAA

16. Ian Brotherhood

Robbie Shepherd just played this, haven’t heard it for yonks.

Dick Gaughan, with Bain/Cunningham, ‘Both Sides The Tweed’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3pkCiSQjkDo

17. Ian Brotherhood

This is mental.

‘The Giants Of Rock & Roll’, Rome 1988 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DofQHvU_6oo

18. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

re the BCR links/inspirations. Any footage or images at all from when you first saw them? Interesting stuff.

A lot of folk were giving them such a hard time over all the ‘reunion’ palaver. If they need to get a few bob in and can enjoy themselves and make a lot of folk happy into the bargain, who could hold that against them?

Anyway, after the success of the Glasgow gigs you can quite easily imagine them grabbing the lucrative Christmas ‘event’ that used to be property of a certain Gary Glitter, eh?

Shang-a-lang, ya bass!!!

19. Dave McEwan Hill

Brian Doonthetoon

Agree entirely. Saw them in Hamilton around 1970. A good band doing good rock’n’roll

20. Dave McEwan Hill

Ian Brotherhood

Mental indeed. Fabulous. The greatest band of all time on stage.
    Jerry Lee Lewis, Fats Domino, James Brown, Little Richard, B.B. King, Bo Diddley, Mahalia Jackson, Ray Charles and a dozen others.

Show it to the weans so they know what real music was like

21. Dave McEwan Hill

Ian Brotherhood

Was that Bruce Springstein right at the beginning?

22. Paula Rose

Bugger the Panda has just sent me this early footage of me and him dancing…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S98-BIpzZuk

23. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

If you can dance like that when in the company of Bugger the Panda, why, every time you got a tad squiffy at Invergowrie, did you dance more like this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bq7DGvfnr3U

At least you shaved off your moustache for BtP…

—————————————————–

I posted this right at the end of the “think-of-another-number” page last night but it may be of more use here.

Typing about Scots dictionaries…

I’ve been using this online resource for years – ‘The Dictionary of the Scots Language’. It can be found at:-

http://www.dsl.ac.uk

24. Paula Rose

Very droll Dear – not.

25. Paula Rose

Australia Day – why not…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXDJneVbEC8

26. yesindyref2

Mmm, in honour of Danny Boy being sent to China to wreck their economy and the UK’s:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ta-Z_psXODw

27. Ronnie

BDtt,

Well, there’s a thing.

I didn’t know about the DSL, nor your ‘Last Post’, and jimnarlene go and put me onto it just minutes before you did here.

What a resource!

The only person I ever heard using the term ‘chackie’ was my Granda.

I don’t remember what I thought that was back then, but I know now!

See you Sat.

28. Brian Doonthetoon

Remember, peeps – if you want a named souvenir badge of the Wings get-together in Aberdeen on Saturday, at the Archibald Simpson (7pm), stick a post in ‘Quarantine’ (link at the bottom left of this page), before 11.59pm tonight.

Here’s the up to date list of those who have asked for badges:-

Pete the Camera
    Brian Doonthetoon
    maureen
    Wuffing Dug
    carjamtic
    X_Sticks
    Ronnie
    Ronnie Anderson
    Paula Rose
    cearc
    Fiona
    Julia Blechenden-Roe
    Capella
    Quinie frae Angus
    Mal Bremner
    Kenny Nicol
    Jim Dewar
    Thepnr
    Caroline
    Luigi
    Mr Malky
    Neil
    Hanii Puppy (my son)

29. Bittie Glakit

I’d like to come along on Saturday. Mostly a lurking learner, but I have posted now and then,- usually my ‘altered images’.
    I haven’t been to a get together and y’all seem to know each other. I’ll ask for a badge on quarantine, OK?

30. kendomacaroobar

@BDTT Julia can’t make it now – passing on the message –

31. Paula Rose

Hi Bittie Glakit – love your work, looking forward to meeting you.

32. Bittie Glakit

Hello Paula Rose, I’m looking forward to meeting you as well.
    Cheers, BG

33. Ronnie

Bittie Glakit,

Be pleased to meet you, as long as you leave the stirk at hame. ;0)

34. tartanpigsy

For BDTT, its only 11.46 on this laptop, if you can an extra badge ‘d be magic

35. Dave McEwan Hill

Some entertainment

http://www.facebook.com/tronovitch/

36. Dave McEwan Hill

Better

phrecordings.com/releases/sarahpalindonaldtr/

37. Michael McCabe

Steve Earle Emmylou Harris Sharon Shannon Donal Lunney Goodbye http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=7nb2JmcBuEo

38. Paula Rose

Yay!

39. Michael McCabe

The Waterboys Purple Rain From Princes Street Gardens. Edinburgh. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=H9Kta6f6-s4

40. Paula Rose

You’re spoiling us.

41. Michael McCabe

Taj Mahal & Bonnie Raitt Done changed my way of Living. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=VpsRV4A-0jM

42. Michael McCabe

Never seen this on the bbc before the Referendum. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=GF9amPncOus

43. Michael McCabe

Rachael Yamagata You wont let me. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=y_0GbrmMxXI

44. X_Sticks

@tartanpigsy & Bittie Glaikit

Lokk forward to seein you guys there.

@Kendo

Have you managed to get in touch with Fiona? I haven’t had any reply to my email?

45. Nana

Hope all who are going to Aberdeen have a great time.
    Would have gone along but hubby is in hospital at the moment.

If anyone sees or hears from Finlay please let him know I was asking for him as I’ve not seen him on the threads for a while.

46. Betty Boop

@ Nana

Hope your husband is okay. Take care. x

47. Paula Rose

Why are you and the other one not coming to Aberdeen?

48. kendomacaroonbar

@X_STicks,

No response to my mails either and I’ve asked her to drop us an email just to let us know she’s ok.

49. Quinie frae Angus

Woo hoo, TartanPigsy’s coming. Haven’t seen you since I made your acquaintance at Belladrum two months before the referendum.

It’s all thanks to you I availed myself of a big Yes flag to flap away outside my windae.

50. X_Sticks

@Kendo

Getting a ‘number not recognised’ when trying Fiona’s number you gave me too.

I do hope she is ok.

51. maureen

Sorry guys, not going to make it to the aberdeen do after all, maybe next time!

52. Ian Brotherhood

Ever wondered what it would be like to hear Telly Savalas telling you about a ghostly experience he had?

Wonder ye no more…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Axdkv0_kJZQ

53. cearc

Nana,

Sorry to hear that. I hope he is back soon.

54. X_Sticks

@Nana

Sorry to hear your better half (oops) is poorly. Please pass on my best wishes and hope he recovers quickly.

55. X_Sticks

Anyone coming to the do please drop by Quarantine..

56. Chic McGregor

Xword took longer than usual today.

stonYhearted????

Anyone have the link to this puzzle that was on the news?

57. Ian Brotherhood

@Chic –

My old Collins has ‘stony-hearted’, so it looks like a wee hyphen has gone amiss somewhere along the line.

(Wisny me BTW!

58. cearc

Plants dug-up (get your nail-protectors ready, Paula-Rose!)
    Clothes slung in bad etc.

Just need to shove it all in the car and I’m on my way down.

59. Chic McGregor

Thanks IB

60. Ian Brotherhood

@Chic –

Hoots mon.

When I’m in, anyone heard from Thepnr? Long time since he’s posted in here, and haven’t noticed him much on’t main threads either.

61. Paula Rose

Ian – he’s OK.

62. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Cool.

I’ve got some 12-inchers lined up for later this evening, so perhaps they’ll tempt him out.

63. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ll nip in quick with a 12 incher.

I used to get a perverse pleasure when playing this one, because everybody seems to know the song so you could hear the crowd singing along, in the sneaky pause that was in the hook line.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PPhxPjNKNQ

64. Brian Doonthetoon

Another 12 incher from the mid 80s. Wasn’t a massive hit, as far as I can remember but I liked it, because it was a totally different cover of the original.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_Cwlid_0zw

65. Brian Doonthetoon

My last one, for the moment.

Not a 12 incher. A single that wasn’t a hit, from around 1967. I think it must have been the first single to rip off the riff from “The Planet Suite”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ApQO0Q74fs8

66. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

🙂 Good stuff.

Here’s a little-aired Dury tune from the dodgy ‘Lord Upminster’ album.

Ian Dury, ‘Funky Disco Pops’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CPUjlF1frlw

67. Paula Rose

I really am busy boys – stop tempting me.

68. CameronB Brodie

Careful lads. 😉

The Contours – Baby Hit & Run
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dCD8CSdONCQ

69. Ian Brotherhood

Isley Brothers, ‘Who’s That Lady?’ (and something else) on Soul Train –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CkCNZeJlII

70. Ian Brotherhood

Curtis Mayfield, ‘Here But I’m Gone’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vZzFwR4rVE

71. CameronB Brodie

Al Green – Love and Happiness
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqqAnjY2Rmo

72. Ian Brotherhood

Gil Scott-Heron, ‘I’m New Here’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eV_astp3BjM

73. CameronB Brodie

That’s me done I’m afraid, Ian. I simply can’t match the quality of that last one. Cheers.

74. CameronB Brodie

BTW, Ian. Any idea when there might be another Glasgow bash?

75. Paula Rose

Can we just get the Aberdecadent one out of the way first Honey?

76. CameronB Brodie

Worth a try. 😉

77. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

That GSH track was a first for me too, just stumbled across it earlier.

Glasgow bash? Nowt planned I know of. It would be good to do another May Day knees-up, but things seem to be a bit doldrumish right now…sure it won’t last though!

Best wishes to all at Aberdecadent…full salacious details in due course if you please.

78. Ian Brotherhood

‘Gil Scott-Heron’s dad played for Glasgow Celtic.’

Urban myth?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gil_Heron

79. Paula Rose

No

80. cearc

That was nice, Ian, thanks.

81. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

How are you finding the time to post messages here?

Why aren’t you dancing?

Aberdecadent IS happening now, right?

Don’t even bother penning excuses – pick up that fan, dust it off, click yer heels and get back out there!

82. Ian Brotherhood

…er, this is Friday, right?

Sorry Paula…

🙁

83. CameronB Brodie

Cheers again Ian. I’ve not managed to get through to a Glasgow bash yet, so fingers crossed.

84. Paula Rose

I look up from washing up and keeping the place tidy and wonder why I FUCKING BOTHER.

85. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Brother, if anything’s in the pipeline, I shall ensure you are amongst the first to know.

We never did finish that conversation in Dundee, and I still feel bad about glancing at my watch as you were talking – you weren’t boring me man, I was just trying to get the timing right so I could drive back home and get a couple of cans before dawn!

Hoots mon!

86. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    What are you blethering about man? Did I catch you checking your watch? How rude. 🙂

87. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Such moments are what history is made of, eh?

And besides, I’m in Paula’s bad books, so it’s definitely time for the sack.

Hoots mon!

88. Ronnie

Wings over Aberdeen

Message for all attendees to tonight’s bash over in Quarantine.

89. X_Sticks

@liz g

Liz, in case you haven’t seen quarantine I can confirm Fiona will be coming tonight.

90. cearc

Has anybody heard from Quinie?

I have no idea when she is expecting to be here.

91. Cactus

Hey, I wish I could’ve joined you all tonight, but no can do this time around. Look forward to seeing yous at the next one 🙂

Have a great night in Aberdeen!

92. Jock Scot

Hi. Hope all the Wingers who made it to Aberdeen are having/have had a great time. Cheers.

93. Ian Brotherhood

To all Wingers in Aberdeen – sure I speak for many in saying wish ‘we’ could be there.

Have a dance for us all eh?

Simple Minds, ‘Up On The Catwalk’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T7b27t7lxCw

94. Ian Brotherhood

Associates, ‘Skipping’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uH7lwGZm7x4

95. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Where e’er ye be brother, this is for you.

We need you mister!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYrEhXJXPNQ

96. Ian Brotherhood

Big Country, ‘Look Away’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpWIz3kWmC0

97. Ian Brotherhood

The Corries, ‘Killiecrankie’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2_PK1twEAs

98. Ian Brotherhood

Blondie, ‘The Tide Is High’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ppYgrdJ0pWk

99. Ian Brotherhood

George Benson, ‘Never Give Up On A Good Thing’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNPRwMpt6Ao

100. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Come on man – where are ye?

You’re the one who posted this to O/T, many months ago, so here it is again –

Johnny Cash, ‘Man In Black’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t51MHUENlAQ

101. Ian Brotherhood

Thin Lizzy, ‘Don’t Believe A Word’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v54n4-gzHck

102. Ian Brotherhood

Posted this last night, but doing so again because it’s a beautiful work of art from someone who found a way of talking about ‘revolution’ that needn’t frighten the bejaysus out of Daily Mail readers.

Please spread it.

Gil Scott-Heron, ‘I’m New Here’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eV_astp3BjM

103. Dave McEwan Hill

Cracking. Dick Gaughan and 5 Hand Reel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GI-ShJft9Bc

104. Brian Doonthetoon

Not long back from a successful get-together in Aberdeen so I thought I would offer this one from my youth:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QZh4GMr4rEU

And to get the context, here’s the badge design we came up with for tonight.

http://imgur.com/92CN2Da

My pics from the bash will be uploaded sometime late(r) today (Sunday).

105. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    He made another one, the title of which fits very well with the BBC “news blackout” on any independence related events back in 2014:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGaoXAwl9kw

Also, I’ll just leave this one here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVKLmpALMFc

Peace, Love and Oreos…

106. Iain Hamilton

*very* off topic but for those that don’t do facebook there’s an interesting post doing the rounds.

Go to Google and type into the search bar any political part followed by the word “are” eg: labour are, snp are, Lib Dems are…

Google will drop down suggestions for finishing the search phrase. Not what happens when you type tories are or conservatives are.

I’ll just leave that for you to think about.

107. pete the camera

Another braw wings night out, met a load of German students outside they asked me to take a group photo of them, after seeing my badge hat all I got out of them was William Wallace anyway gave them some unicorn, spider and other badges after taking the photo they left chanting FREEDOM for Scotland wonder what Union street made of it as they went on their way down.

108. jdman

Just got back from Aberdeen,
    met a lovely lady called Fiona who saved my life (literally) I stupidly forgot to take my asthma inhalers with me and she very kindly gave me her rescue inhaler, which kept me from flying into a blind panic and racing down home,

Apart from that, what a great night, thanks for organising it Ronnie, and it was nice to have met you, Luigi, Capella (who looks just as charming as her picture), Bitte Glaiket,wuffing dug, carjamtic, and all the other friends I had already met, and not forgetting the delightful Fiona, I never fail to be awed by the people I meet at Wings evenings,

A special shoutout for Luigi who has a stabilising influence and certainly put my despondency (who doesn’t feel it at times?)into perspective, so thanks for listening to my sobbing Luigi, I hope I didn’t ruin your shirt collar?

All in all a great night and Ronnie should be thanked for sticking his neck out for organising a meet at what could have been a difficult time of the year, we, in particular, were almost driven back at (“sunny”)Brechin by Heavy driving snow, not looking at anyone in particular for the (ahem) positive weather reports Paula Rose, who as always was a pleasure to meet again 🙂

Alex,you look after yourself, Pete, thanks for ensuring Irene and I got a badge in spite of the fact I (quite rudely) didn’t respond to BDtt’s shout out for a response, (I didn’t see it until Saturday morning to be fair)Colin a real pleasure to meet you again, cearc, Quine frae Angus, no night is really complete without your smiling faces in attendance, and to any others who I forgot to mention, thanks for making it a great night out.

109. Chic McGregor

Sorry Rev

I forgot to strip the tube url.

110. Luigi

Aye, it was a truly great WoS mini-convention in Aberdeen last night. I was a bit apprehensive meeting so many of you evil cybernats all in one place at the same time (you do have a bad press, after all. :)), but what can say? Low and behold, the papers were wrong!

Seriously, I couldn’t have met a nicer, lovely bunch of people. It was a pleasure to meet you all. Sorry I did not manage to chat with you all, but I had a great time.

No problem about feeling negative at times, Jdman. Wev’e all been there! As you know, we are all still fighting – this is amazing and this is why we will win!. 🙂

111. X_Sticks

That was a really enjoyable night last night. You lot are great company to spend some time with.

Special thanks to Irene for saving Ronnie from embarrassment by taking control of the raffle. Big thanks to Ronnie for organising the event.

Thanks to, to tartanpigsy for making sure Fiona got to the do – she texted me to let me know she got home safe and says “Huge thanks to all for a great night! x”

Canny say better than that. When’s the next one? 😀

112. carjamtic

What a great night WoS Aberdeen,thanks for a fine welcome and superb hospitality,first pintage of the new year so a wee bit fragile this morning 🙂

Delighted to have a blether to lots of wingers,learned loads,a big shout out cearc,the pnr and Pete you guys are brilliant #inspirational.

113. Thepnr

Still here Ian, been a bit unwell and under the weather, fighting fit now though.

114. CameronB Brodie

jdman
    We’re just getting serious John, a fact that some of the more ‘influential’ Unionists appear to appreciate, hence the SNPbad trope being spun. 😉

Noisettes – Don’t Give Up
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-RI8-eSQoQ

115. Bittie Glakit

I walked into the pub last night to meet some people I had only imagined.
    There was a group of folk standing in a bunch in front of the bar so I approached them and said, “ I’m looking for some wingers.”

‘Ah, swingers! You want some swingers?” I quickly retreated and moved round the corner. There I spotted a fellow nursing a bag of badges, and I knew I’d arrived.

I met a bunch of lovely people with whom I felt right at home. Thanks for the banter, wingers, I hope we can do it again some time.

Here’s an image I made today.

http://mistygee4.wix.com/-page-altered-images

116. mealer

I’m glad you all had a great time last night.Seriously disappointed I couldn’t make it.

117. Thepnr

@Bittie Glakit

Was wonderful to meet you last night and the other Wingers I had never met before. Loved the rainbow and sums it up for me.

We are a diverse bunch but I’ve yet to meet a sad or unhappy Wingers.

Sticking with Cameron B Brodie’s topic of “don’t give in” I offer this. To you and all that believe we can do that wee bit better.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntuqTuc6HxM

118. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Hoots mon!

119. cearc

Great night, lovely to meet more new faces.

Brave people all, who walked into a busy pub to look for a bunch of people who they had never met before and especially Bittie Glakit who didn’t run straight out after her first unfortunate attempt at finding us!

120. Thepnr

Fancy your chances? LOL

No excuses for playing this a second time. Hear it and Feel it.

Man I’m in a mood, a winning mood and that’s good cos we are winning.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5-yKhDd64s

121. Ian Brotherhood

Jimi Hendrix, ‘Hey Joe’ (live)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W3JsuWz4xWc

122. Capella

So this where everbody’s hiding! I posted a comment on the other thread about the night out at Aberdeen. Enjoyed it very much and great to meet the commenteers and put some faces to names.

Sorry to have missed ronnie anderson but hope he has recovered.

Jdman has tidied up his hairdo and Paula Rose is as charming as expected. Which reminds me of:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xrOgYjp20j0

123. Ronnie

Evening All,

Finally got down to mustering my thoughts on last night’s Wings over Aberdeen event.

Well, as some of you know, I was keen that there should be one, but I was very unsure of the strength of support from the guid folk o’ Aiberdeen, nor did I want to persuade folk from further afield that they should do so, as time, travel, and accommodation are all precious commodities.

And as jdman has pointed out, perhaps not the best time of year to attempt this. Fortunately, a’ the sna’ disappeared, though it was a bitterly cold night.

All the more reason to feel extremely grateful to all Wingers who attended, particularly those who battled the elements to get here, as well as those who wanted to, but for a variety of reasons couldn’t, and those who posted their good wishes for the get-together.

I was well rewarded for my minor involvement.

What a great bunch! Too many names to mention, (although I did try to keep track wi’ ma wee list.)

Everyone there contributed something to the evening’s success, including donations to the raffle, and I thank you all for helping to make it so.

However, I must express my special thanks to Brian Doonthetoon and Pete the Camera for the named badges, without which we’d have forgotten most names, (brilliant choice of the Northern Lights, btw), Irene King for so readily taking over the raffle, thus allowing me to blether to so many others, and jdman, for the advertising T-shirt – (and for the key!)

Bittie Glaikit (who isn’t at all, but turns out to bide jist doon the road fae me), X-Sticks, for his valued advice, and of course, the enigma that is Paula Rose.

And finally, the lovely Fiona, who has fallen on extremely hard times, and who was the beneficiary of the generous raffle takings.

But perhaps most thanks are due to the man who, although absent, drew us together and whose skill and dedication to the common cause we all appreciate – Rev Stu Campbell.

Now, since War and Peace has started (on TV, not the domestic version,) I bid you all goodnight!

124. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I’m in the process of trying to upload pics of the Aberdeen bash to imgur but I’m getting the message that imgur is over capacity.

The upload of pics seems to have stalled; I’m not sure. If I don’t get them up tonight, I’ll try again tomorrow evening.

125. tartanpigsy

Hey folks,
    I’d a great night last night. Fantastic meeting a few more of you.
    Need to do it again sometime.
    Cheers

126. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Finally managed to get the pics uploaded. Apropos what Ronnie typed about the badge design, you can see what he was typing about in my post of early this morning.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-31/#comment-2108732

Onnyhoo, as I typed, it was a bra’ get-together – good to meet more than the usual reprobates who have been at the other get-togethers in Glasgow, Dundee, Edinburgh, Invergowrie and Helensburgh.

I was chuffed to be able to have a blether with one of the more influential campaigners from 2014, the man who provided the brains and motivation behind the “10,000 flags for Yes” fundraiser, ‘tartanpigsy’ (Mark). His anecdotes of the campaign were inspiring.

The pics at this link are ‘untagged’ (by request). You all know who you are! What I did was went round with my ‘dress’ Wings hat, propping it on heads for a pic. Apologies for the couple that are out of focus.

http://imgur.com/a/F1KEY

Oh, Mark – here are the SNP flag designs that I suggested to Chris Law, months before the 2015 GE. The solid black one was the one they produced.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/SNP-Saltire-1000g.jpg

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/SNP-Saltire-Black-1000g.jpg

Lastly, here’s the full version of the “Try praying’ graphic I showed you on the wee iPhone.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/Last-Solution-1000.jpg

127. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I think my last post has gone into moderation – It had 4 links in it.

You can check back later for the other links. Here’s the gallery link from it:-

http://imgur.com/a/F1KEY

128. cearc

Ronnie,

‘…for so readily taking over the raffle,’

There wasn’t a chance of you running it with ‘Raffles’ in town.

129. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Here’s the post that seems to have disappeared.

———————————————-

Finally managed to get the pics uploaded. Apropos what Ronnie typed about the badge design, you can see what he was typing about in my post of early this morning.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-31/#comment-2108732

Onnyhoo, as I typed, it was a bra’ get-together – good to meet more than the usual reprobates who have been at the other get-togethers in Glasgow, Dundee, Edinburgh, Invergowrie and Helensburgh.

I was chuffed to be able to have a blether with one of the more influential campaigners from 2014, the man who provided the brains and motivation behind the “10,000 flags for Yes” fundraiser, ‘tartanpigsy’ (Mark). His anecdotes of the campaign were inspiring.

The pics at this link are ‘untagged’ (by request). You all know who you are! What I did was went round with my ‘dress’ Wings hat, propping it on heads for a pic. Apologies for the couple that are out of focus.

(Link provided in the post @ 11.23pm.)

Oh, Mark – here are the SNP flag designs that I suggested to Chris Law, months before the 2015 GE. The solid black one was the one they produced.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/SNP-Saltire-1000g.jpg

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/SNP-Saltire-Black-1000g.jpg

Lastly, here’s the full version of the “Try praying’ graphic I showed you on the wee iPhone.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/Last-Solution-1000.jpg

———————————————-

I hope this will post – I give up otherwise.
    So I’ll try this again…

130. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut (3.06 am, Sat) –

Hey! Welcome back mister. Long time no see. Hope all well.

131. jdman

Bitte Glaiket @7.03
    Eh kin Aa hiv ma car keys back?

132. CameronB Brodie

Please pardon my indulgence but here’s one for all trash enthusiasts.

THE TRADITIONAL FOOLS – PLEASE
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MQAcscJn90

133. David Smith

Like a Detroit garage band from 1968 that! 🙂

134. CameronB Brodie

David Smith
    Thank Jebus there at least one person of taste out there. 😉

135. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    Oops. That wasn’t meant as a dig Michael. 😉

136. Bittie Glakit

jdman says: @ 9.30

So you’re a winger with an S? Awa an’ behave yersel min.
    Seriously though, is colouring Jakay R’s face green defamation of character? Should I be worried?

Click the start button on here
    http://mistygee4.wix.com/-page-altered-images

137. Oneironaut

@Bittie Glakit
    Yep, it’s a sign of evil cybernattery, and you should be deeply ashamed of yourself!

Meh, who am I kidding? It’s hilarious and awesome, end of story! 😉 hehe.

138. Ian Brotherhood

Remember when the famous female novelist visited Craggy Island?

Jakey has never written anything to touch this:

Father Ted, ‘Feckin Mrs Doyle’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogrfAgbIfFo

139. CameronB Brodie

Perhaps a certain person is naive and poorly advised? Doesn’t matter, I’ve finally got an excuse. 🙂

Dolly Parton – The Company You Keep
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snIAVUYHWi0

140. Chic McGregor

Ziko virus.

Keep waiting to hear a Papal encyclical allowing contraception in Central/South America but nothing so far.

Especially with Mardi Gras and the World Cup coming along.

Also reports of partners transmitting the virus sexually in North America.

141. cearc

Chic,

Don’t hold your breath!

142. fionan

Huge thanks to all Wingers for all their help, and especially Xsticks, the wonderful TJenny and TartanPiggsy (got it right)and for a wonderful Wings night in Aberdeen. It was great to meet everyone, tho I will need reminding of names, I think.

Paula Rose it was a great honour to meet you at last and I would have liked to have more chance to speak to you xxx

And sorry, cant remember your name or comments name, but you have two pugs, I would like to speak more with you re Faithful Not Forgotten and your energy experience and knowledge. Thank you so much everyone, and hey, I’m old, I’m wee, and although I had expected to be pretty frail after a Wings night, it did me the world of good and I am still laughing out loud. Roll on the next Wings Night!

143. Quinie frae Angus

I still haven’t written my wee account of Wings over Aberdeen, but I will.

In the meantime, what is much more pressing is this: Are any Wingers – particularly Edinburgh ones – planning to go to this tonight? This is the Yes Hub Cafe that’s been vandalised the other day. I was hoping to go but Edin pal can’t make it.

I’d brave it out and go alone if I thought a wee Winger might chum me….but it’s Fri afternoon and no-one comes on here till night-time so I am not hopeful….

https://twitter.com/IanIwrussell/status/695253554832007169/photo/1

144. Paula Rose

Put it on the main thread Dear it reads like off-topic at the moment anyway.

145. Quinie frae Angus

OK, Paula, will do x

146. Michael McCabe

@ Quinnie frae Angus If you can give me details of where to meet up I would go. All for a good cause.

147. Oneironaut

This is why I never read main threads any more.

Everyone’s inability to ignore and not even respond to the trolls makes me lose what few tattered shreds of faith in humanity I have left…

148. Paula Rose

QfA you make sure you take good care of Michael if you go together – I want him back in one piece… Hi Oneironaut *waves* coffee?

149. Chic McGregor

Not sure about 1 Ac today, got the rest.

Is it DASH ?

150. Quinie frae Angus

HI Michael

Thank you so much for your chivalry! The scunner is that because I kind of wrote it off because I didn’t think anyone would want to go, I’ve now roped myself into babysitting tonight instead.

Would also be driving from Dundee and back anyway so maybe not the ideal idea in the first place.

Are you already in the vicinity? I.e. do you live in Edinburgh and know where Mayfield Road is?

151. Quinie frae Angus

Ach weel, some things are just not meant to be. Went back to sister to take back my babysitting offer, in the light of kindly Michael’s offer to chum me to the Race Night.

But so desperate is she for babysitters she’d already bitten my hand off and made plans for going out.

Never mind. I am sure next time there is such a thing we’ll be able to give more notice and get a wee bunch of Wingers from whichever town or area to go along.

Thanks anyway, Michael McCabe, for your kind offer.

152. michael mccabe

@Quinnie frae Angus I Am from Edinburgh and know where Mayfield Road is. I am from the other side of town though. I will probably give it a miss as well but drop into the Yes café in the next few days with a donation. Looking Forward to Meeting up with you Wonderful Wings people at the next Edinburgh Night out. Or further afield if I can make it.

153. Quinie frae Angus

Hi Michael

Yes I think we on Off-topic should start discussing where the next Wingy night out could be, and when.

They are such good fun, and help us keep up our spirits in the face of the relentless Corporate Media onslaughts….

154. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Quinie.

At the end of the ‘A Penny For Labour’ page, I suggested Inverness.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-penny-for-labour/comment-page-1/#comment-2110210

Mentioned this to Ronnie A last night and we agreed that Inverness could be a grand weekend away. Problem is, we can’t think of any Wingers in the Inverness area.

There is a Wetherspoons, however.

https://www.jdwetherspoon.com/pubs/all-pubs/scotland/highland/the-kings-highway-inverness

155. cearc

Bddt,

Tartan Piggsy has a shop in Inverness.

156. Michael McCabe

A Wee Birdy told me to play this. Wings (Live) http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=eBKfy0FwUC8

157. Thepnr

Doubt if Jeff Wayne ever envisaged this. Bravo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_5oSYlUoI2M

158. Thepnr

Check out this street performer with an electric violin. This is seriously good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MSO4xdu0V2A

159. Paula Rose

That’s made my evening xx

160. Paula Rose

I suppose you want a pat on the back as well?

161. Michael McCabe

The Lyrics of this song Deserve a pat on the Back. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=pUaqkp2xMzY

162. Paula Rose

*looks up from tweeting to give Michael a big smile*

163. Thepnr

gently pats Michael McCabe on the back 🙂

Hey drum ho! That was excellent, brought a wee smile to my face.

164. Michael McCabe

Good Morning Thepnr and Paula Rose. Here is another song with Lyrics that Rhyme only a bit Angrier.

165. Paula Rose

More gentle stuff boys.

166. yesindyref2

and now for something completely different

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_A7Hu0uKNw

167. Michael McCabe

Here is a mellow song from 35 years ago. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3R7Op1oufA&feature=player_detailpage

168. Michael McCabe

@ yesindyref2 That was something completely different. and good. Do they do a version of Putin on the Style ?

169. yesindyref2

Mellow? I’ll give you mellow:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2cBT8–7tA

170. yesindyref2

@Michael McCabe
    Newer version of Kalinka plus others at the Eurovision in 2009 apparently!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-jsXGLysCU

Looks like they’re still going. I remember them performing in the UK, even at the height of the Cold War. Makes you think, if everyone just listened to or played music there’d be no need for war.

171. yesindyref2

Bu***r. From basket of light full album to liege and lief I should have been in bed ages ago. If I’m not careful it’ll be steeleye span next and I’ll see dawn.

Again.

Even worse I might start diggin out the vinyl and LP12 from the attic. Help me Rona!

Maybe just listen to Matty Groves a while …

Strange day yesterday, had to put down the anti-Swinney (and Sturgeon) brigade, Firmly. I was in the mood for it. Almost vicious at times, not like me. They really don’t understand percentages, or what’s a tax, and what’s something else like a benefit (£100, probably taxable as income and tax credit losing).

Ah well, to finish of, honest:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7goifK_2qY

172. Croompenstein

For Eric Joyce and Dim Jim…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZo88P1Ie94

173. Croompenstein

There’s a thousand pretty women waitin’ out there
    And they’re all livin’ devil may care

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ui0EgRsFVN8

174. Croompenstein

I want all the time…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SdJIpyiupJo

175. Thepnr

@Croompenstein

The Elvis one was the best, Steve Millar wasn’t too bad either 🙂

Here’s a wee blast from the past, for those that were present and all those that were there in spirit.

It’s a racket but a fond memory. Next time eh! 🙂

BBC Blah Blah – Yew Choob Live @ Pacific Quay

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25qlvO09-aE

176. Dave McEwan Hill

Just a wee tonic
    youtu.be/rLx4xJdCcZ4

177. Paula Rose

Dusty Springfield on the iPod.

178. Dave McEwan Hill

This might be even better. U2, the Stones and Fergie with “Gimme Shelter”

youtu.be/o42zmYN2_-k

179. Paula Rose

No U2 Dear please.

180. Patrician

@thepnr

I hadn’t seen that video before and it threw me until I remembered that protest didn’t actually happen outside PQ but some way to the side closer to the marina.

I can see a few well kent faces in that crowd, and a brief cameo of the wings gazebo near the end.

The numbers being held up by some members of the audience were an attempt to put an official number on the attendance.

181. CameronB Brodie

Croompenstein
    The regular band on a Friday, at the Carnarvon Castle (Kentish Town/Camden Town?), used to do a blinding version of “The Joker”. Thanks for the memories.

The Canarvan Castle: the only time I have experienced physical hostility for being Scottish. Tried to pay for a round with a Scottish note and got a swift poke in the eye for my troubles. As my neural network resembled scrambled eggs at the time, I don’t think the injury registered (I’m reliably informed that I neither blinked or flinched). To say the bar manager’s resolve evaporated, would be putting things very kindly indeed. 🙂

I won’t tell you what my considered response was but we stayed as long as we wanted. 😉

182. Patrician

thepnr’s BBC bias piece remided me of this. A wee present for Paula Rose, keep watching until the middle of the clip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Hk1o2Apa_Q

183. Stoker

@ Thepnr – Good to see you back contributing and fighting fit.

Merle Haggard – Silver Wings
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ROA21n2zxmQ

184. Stoker

Ireland v Wales today.
    The winner of today’s game will take the tournament this year, imo!
    Would not want to pick but if shoved i’d put my cash on Wales.

185. Stoker

Ireland 16 v 16 Wales
    Not as good a game as i thought we’d see but still entertaining.
    Still think one of those 2 will win the tournament and i’ll stick with Wales but only just. Decent game but must do better.

186. Clapper57

Is there going to be a Wings Edinburgh night out ???

RSVP.

187. Paula Rose

If someone organises it *subtle hint*

188. Clapper57

Paula Rose says:
    7 February, 2016 at 6:12 pm

“If someone organises it *subtle hint* ”

Ah the *subtle hint* encased in asterisks , prefer direct approach myself.

Alas , I cannot organise a P**s Up in a Brewery ( No pun intended )…..my query was really more along the lines of ….Is there one ?

Have fabby dabby evening Ms Rose

189. Brian Doonthetoon

An Inverness ‘weekend away’ is also in the frame. Tartanpigsy, reporedly, has a shop up there but the bonus is that they have a Wetherspoons.

http://www.jdwetherspoon.com/pubs/all-pubs/scotland/highland/the-kings-highway-inverness

Also, Ian Brotherhood put forward his excitement at the idea of another ‘May Day’ bash in Glasgow. I’m keeping Invergowrie’s tinder dry…

So, who’s gonna step up to the urinal and make meaningful emissions?

190. Brian Doonthetoon

Or sit on the chanty, to make an appropriate deposit, of sorts?

(To negate any accusations of sexism, re ‘urinal’…)

191. Paula Rose

BDTT Honey – put the shovel down, step away from the shovel.

192. Clapper57

This sounds familiar ………….

“put the shovel down, step away from the shovel “.

I tried to put my shovel down once but the vet said he could save it.

Never step away from a shovel , it’ll sense your fear and attack you.

193. Stoker

Where is Ian (Bro)?

194. Stoker

The Temptations – My Girl
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6IUG-9jZD-g

195. Stoker

Remember Then – Showaddywaddy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHPI5o5zPhM

196. Stoker

kenny logins – footloose
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFWDGTVYqE8

197. Stoker

Paper lace – Billy don’t be a wanker
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6cdFuMgMkBM

198. Stoker

Bitty McLean – It Keeps Rainin
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ehhhJOPvLE

199. Stoker

@ Michael (12.50am)
    Well done buddy, keep them coming.

200. Stoker

UB40 & Pato Banton – Baby, Come Back
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pSywtiAirKE

201. Michael McCabe

I Think Lesley Anne likes this chap. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=fj9h9urA90g

202. Stoker

fuckin hell, Michael, cheers buddy, i forgot about them.
    The Sweet, Scottish, thank’s, very long time no hear!

203. Michael McCabe

My Favourite UB40 song. Well one of them. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=CDzpWOfWN0M

204. Stoker

Apache Indian – Boom-Shack-A-Lack
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kZzBd41NuZw

(PS-Anyone know what’s happened to caz-m?

205. Michael McCabe

My Favourite Scene from one of my Favourite films. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=DfkT3ngH08s

206. Stoker

Every Witch Way But Loose
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVRXen-JLaA

207. Michael McCabe

@ Stoker Good choice. did the song not get to number 1 this song reminds me of the Waltzers at the Shows. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=TTwJr2NJmJQ I am away to Waltz of to my bed. Thanks for the Entertainment Stoker.

208. Paula Rose

Wandering star – I wonder.

209. Stoker

Good choice, i remember that getting played regular at the shows at Saltcoats.

210. Stoker

Behave, Paula!

211. Michael McCabe

I had to think twice about playing this. but I thought what the heck. Good Night. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=wZuggIaNZGw

212. Dave McEwan Hill

Stoker at 1.40 am

Cracker. For the archives

213. Stoker

You’re welcome Dave!
    Right folks, didn’t get to say last night, i blame Michael & Paula but we may be getting some new visitors fae Kelso and Gala.
    Be gentle!

Michael, talking of ‘shows’ – couldn’t get this one out my head all day today, different era but just as good.

Kelly Marie – Feels Like I’m In Love
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3lAgTpqXvk

214. Stoker

Garth Brooks – Friends In Low Places
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mvCgSqPZ4EM

215. Stoker

Marty Robbins – El Paso
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BIRL_iu3eQM

216. Stoker

Eddie Rabbit – Every Which Way But Loose
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JP2PgaLG7dA

217. Stoker

Freddy Fender – Before The Next Teardrop Falls
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ay5ciplY4Pg

218. Stoker

Right, folks, i’m cream crackered, i’m off to my pit, enjoy!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFMFRXJa7VI

219. Brian Doonthetoon

Inverness, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Dunfermline, Stirling or Invergowrie?

220. Thepnr

Any or Dundee?

221. Cactus

Mornin’ everybuddy, how y’all dayin’? I’d be up for Glasgow’s next gig.. maybe some evening thereaboots mid to late March.. a Thursday or a Friday possibly? 😉

Anything else could happen in between then.

222. liz g

X STICK’S
    Hi so sorry I took so long to get back to you.Have been popping over here to see if you’re on but always seem to miss you.
    I made it to Aberdeen but had a bit of an emergency (don’t ask still mad) so didn’t get to the night out to meet Fiona.
    Anyhoo… As it turned out the solution I had in mind was a non starter.
    I am currently boarding a dog for my son who is working in Aberdeen and also tried hard to find accommodation that would take dog’s, so I thought it worthwhile exploring the possibility that they could help each other out as that would increase their budget for rent with dog sitting thrown in.
    But asking on line…. you don’t know me but…will I put you in touch with a Glasgow man you don’t know either to tell him what you’re plan’s are with a view to living together… well I couldn’t find a way to type it that didn’t sound…weird.
    Almost as weird as telling your son you’ve found a woman for him and the dug to live with but you don’t actually know her.
    Discussions in a pub are always a better option anyway IMHO.
    Turns out he’s locked into his current lease and would most liklely leave Aberdeen in the autumn.
    Hope everything work’s out for her and will you explain it all to her and give her my best

223. Thepnr

Now I want you to know I am not being sexist when I say this, I’m just being a man and this is the best pair of legs I’ve ever seen, carrying the body of one of the best singers I’ve ever heard.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vORDUnh-icw#t=112.706

224. Brian Doonthetoon

Yes, Thepnr, her pins were ‘ship-shape fashion’. Which takes me to the first of my favourite vids featuring the young(?) lady.

I first saw this vid on ‘The James Whale Show’, which used to be on around 1am on STV/Grampian.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=scnnTwPOS84

And then my first exposure to her, when I was around 13/14. Loved the sheepskin(?) waistcoat!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BERd61bDY7k

225. Brian Doonthetoon

Then this one came up next on YouTube…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOSZwEwl_1Q

226. Ian Brotherhood

Talking Heads, ‘Cities’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJMxwBmQWHA

227. Brian Doonthetoon

By the time 1968 came around, these were a bunch of my favourite ‘tottie’ singers on TOTP. I think I may have linked to this vid before but it covers two bases – fine looking women and trains, albeit German trains…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXUtmwpLDHQ

228. Paula Rose

*coughs politely*

229. Brian Doonthetoon

Paula Rose: Do I detect jealousy – because you didn’t dance on a train, when you were in your pomp?

230. Brian Doonthetoon

She’s gonna reply, “I’m still in my pomp”…

231. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Well where do I start, Bravo will probably do to begin with.

Ruthie the tank commander has nothing on Cher, Ruthie will never straddle a gun as big as that. Thankfully.

Now, I’ve got you babe, knew it from my childhood but to see it now more than 50 years later, yes more that 10 decades later is amazing.

Finally Gypsies, tramps and thieves, this is the one I remember most as i think it was about 1970 or 71. Anyway I’ve always liked Cher songs since about then, I can’t remember exactly but it was around 10 or a bit more years ago that Cher was doing a farewell tour concert at the SECC in Glasgow.

My wife bought two tickets and even though I was at home at the time I didn’t go because they were “standing” tickets!

What a twat! Probably one of my biggest ever mistakes.

Thanks for the memories 🙂

232. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

“Picture this…”

Never mind that – this one was one of the tracks on the first piece of Blondie vinyl I bought, a three track 12″. Still one of my faves…
    I think the other tracks were ‘X Offender’ and ‘Rip Her To Shreds”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmONePejIIA

233. Paula Rose

As per usual at the moment I’m multi-tasking, I’ll have a look through my rare vinyl another time.

234. Thepnr

OK been getting carried away, I promise this is my last on this topic on off topic 🙂

This woman was very talented, here she shows it. I think I may have got myself a bit carried away. that was Brian Doonthetoons fault 🙂 Will try to behave, until the next time>

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCpKQjqb8Y4

235. Thepnr

Sugar!

My last post addressed to Paula Rose never appeared, most cheesed off as it contained this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6GlJMKkkjZo

Can anyone point to a better duet, Laural and Hardy don’t count Paula 🙂

236. Ian Brotherhood

Was just sorting out my Randy Vanwarmer records and came across this misplaced item:

Randy Edelman, ‘Uptown Uptempo Woman’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bTDBjpWExJc

237. Ian Brotherhood

Awww man, my ‘R’ section’s a mess, just found another one…come on, who left this in here? It’s no mine…

Come to think of it, what wouldn’t you give to hear Sydney Devine covering this?

Randy Travis, ‘Three Wooden Crosses’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4HPl9Dlox00

238. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

All this typing about Cher has reminded me of a previously forgotten episode from my teenage years.

One Saturday night, I was in the Hong Kong in the Seagate, ‘with mah best girl bah mah side’, enjoying our Chinese. While we were eating, ‘mah best girl’ said to me, “Here, izzat no’ Cher just come in?”

Says I, “Eh, I think it is.” Says she, “Eh’m a big fan o’ Cher.” Says eh, “Eh’m a buht pally wie ‘er – yeh wahnt ‘er ti come ower?” “Eh.”, says the burd.

So, I wandered over to Cher’s table and introduced myself. “Me an’ meh burd are big fans – wid yi come ower ti wir table an’ say ‘hello’?”

“Sure”, says Cher, “I’ll be over in five minutes.”

So I went back to our table and continued eating the Chinese. Sure enough, five minutes later, Cher came across to our table, and said, “Hi Brian, nice to see you!”

I said, “Fuck off Cher, I’m wie mah burd…”

239. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Re ‘duets’…

Sorry man, but I think I’ve got you here.

Bonnie Tyler & Shakin Stevens, ‘A Rockin’ Good Way’

FEATURING SURPRISE APPEARANCE BY REV STU AT THE END!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wsv4cQXhhI

240. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Found myself smiling all the way through your link to Uptown Tempo Woman, I knew the song but had never seen the singer before or heard of him, enjoyed it though.

Now your next “pick” LOL your definitely at the wind up that was fucking awful. When I was 11 my granny bought me a cassette player for my birthday and one cassette. Sydney Devine FFS I came to love that man it was the only music I could ever play by myself as I NEVER bought another cassette in my puff. True that LOL.

Anyways, what about this?

“I’ll never break my promise or forget my vow”

One of the best pieces of pop theater ever, it’s Meatloaf again but if you can stick it to the second half you will see what I mean about theater. Only so many artists had this, Freddy mercury obviously did, this is not quite in the same league but still great compared to that Randy shite you just subjected me too.

Take your medicine and watch this 🙂 Mind wait for the vow quote!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C11MzbEcHlw#t=471.905241

241. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Fuck! I can’t keep up here. That was a brilliant story, I met Cher in the Hong Kong as well one weekend, gave her short shrift same as you.

Let’s face it who would ever walk away wie the likes eh Cher when you huv a fine Dundee lassie tae tak hame. LOL

Nice one Brian.

242. Brian Doonthetoon

That Meatloaf track takes me back to very pleasurable night I spent, after the Bowlin’ Alley, with a young lady, parked at the pavilion in Baxter Park.

We spent around 4 hours bletherin’, and all the time my sap was rising. The radio was on – God knows what station – but it brings back fond memories.

Yes, it was ‘paradise by a dashboard light’.

243. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I’m going to give you 10/10 for that Shakin Stevens and Bonnie Tyler duet. Didn’t think I’d like it but my shoulders started to move from side to side, then my head started nodding.

Next my feet started to tap and I found myself smiling 🙂 Finally my arms started to do the locomotion, WTF I was dancing on the couch. Then it finished. Close call TF.

244. Ian Brotherhood

What about the worst duet?

I nominate Stevie Wonder and Paul McCartney for ‘Ebony & Ivory’. A dire object for which neither of them have ever, so far as I’m aware, received a proper slap. Thank fuck they didn’t ‘develop’ it into a big gatefold concept album and/or musical.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CmALA8miQY8

245. Brian Doonthetoon

One more, before I turn in.

Saw this performed live on TOTP and he really does play the guitar at that speed.

One of the more under-rated guitarists of all time, an’ thah’… Dave Edmunds…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k30kLVsWivU

And this, to finish off…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2gxmWHXZ9Lg

246. Thepnr

Dave Edmunds hmm been around a long time and had a lot of influence. This is his first and only number one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTwJr2NJmJQ

247. Thepnr

Guys and Paula

Thank you one and all, great night reminiscing, off to bed now. Will catch up later. Cheers.

248. Brian Doonthetoon

I remember being in The Unicorn (now No 57) in Dock Street when ‘Knocking’ was No 1.

We were in a foursome – two women who were 18 and the two guys who were 17. And the lassies got asked their age…

249. Thepnr

Promise me you will watch this to the end, there is a wee surprise for you in the middle.

This song I think represents us, you are welcome to correct me, first you must watch and listen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-TPRdzHZDU

250. Paula Rose

Off you go to bed now boys *sighs at mess*

251. CameronB Brodie

Talk about a mess.

John Pilger on Paris, ISIS and Media Propaganda
    http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article43539.htm

252. Michael McCabe

A Wee Guitar tune for Nana. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=blp7hPFaIfU The Bass player is something else.

253. CameronB Brodie

‘Mon the Bern.

Cal Tjader – Soul Sauce (1964)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YuQbuMO_O18&feature=youtu.be&t=188

254. CameronB Brodie

Sorry about that.

Cal Tjader – Soul Sauce
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bjek8Rod9O4

255. Ian Brotherhood

I see this place is being traduced over on’t main thread.

Vile, frankly.

Never mind.

Marvin Gaye, ‘Inner City Blues’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDckI2P_DPA

256. Paula Rose

Don’t fret Ian Dear – I am guarding the door.

257. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Glad to hear it – I’d have you over a couple of bouncers any day.

258. cearc

The mind boggles!

There was me thinking that Ian was such a proper gent an’all.

259. Paula Rose

(Quiet Ian Dear – we don’t want to upset the other boys)

260. Dave McEwan Hill

Thepnr at 11.58 (last night)

Dave Edmunds recorded that in his garage and did all the parts himself which explains the almost total lack of a drum track

How about this fabulous piece
    youtu.be/WsHBV7WZ6wk

261. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Nice wee package here about Wilko, if you haven’t seen it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyECf2_bP_Y

262. cearc

The mind boggles, Ian.

How wild!

263. Nana

@Michael McCabe

Thank you for that tune,just awesome. I was given the croossroads dvd a few years ago, blown away by Jeff Beck playing Nessun dorma. So here it is

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZXIVMdXsVU

264. Paula Rose

Someone does it right…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIXP889rLBQ

265. Dave McEwan Hill

Or this great piece. Is “The Wanderer” the best ever rock’n’roll song?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7aSb92wHKs

266. Thepnr

Going to go totally retro on you all, but I am that age, this 40 year old song was Freddie Mercurys favourite.

This is the song which Freddie loved the most and it stands among his finest moments as a vocalist and songwriter. Peter Freestone reveals: – “Freddie was asked many times about this [about which was his favorite song] in interviews and most of the time he avoided the answer, mainly because he didn’t want his words to be turned around in print. He told me his favourite song was ‘Somebody To Love’. The reason he didn’t want to say this was because it was one of his own songs, and he didn’t want it said that he only liked his own music and not any of the other band members”.

Class act, doubt many would disagree.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4L6pQBHCSy4

267. Dave McEwan Hill

Changed my mind again. Is “Not Fade Away” the best ever rock’n’roll song.
    Here’s Stevie Nicks with it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UbndfXPU6AU&list=RDUbndfXPU6AU

268. Quinie frae Angus

Evening Wingers, just calling in to say hello. Am in bed with phone and not enough battery left to play your tunes tonight. However it’s all about the banter and I enjoy reading yours.

269. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Quinie.

Thepnr – here’s a Freddy Mercury track you may not have heard before…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y5tr6O1XvjM

270. Thepnr

Hello Quine

Shame you are unable to share the music 🙂

I’ve watched that Queen song four times now because tonight was the first time I’d saw that video. You know what? I am not in the least surprised that it may have been Freddy Mercurys favourite.

Hard to beat to be honest.

271. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Queen. what have you started. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=HgzGwKwLmgM

272. Michael McCabe

its Nearly Valentines day so I thought here is another Queen Song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=xxGcuVKa-go

273. Michael McCabe

Last Queen song from me Today. A bit more Rockier. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=c0DR9IJ9050

274. Thepnr

Hey Michael

I enjoyed them, promise that this will be my last ever Freddie Mercury video, tonight at least, who knows what the future holds?

Anyway check out the difference in this video between the beginning, the middle and the end. Not many could do that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qPsNM9jV36w

275. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Had you heard Larry Lurex before? (1.36am this morning.)

276. Oneironaut

Not quite sticking with the Queen topic on here, but close enough. I can never resist an excuse to post this one up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1X9kajEHAwo

“My spirit is weeping
    For freedom it cries.
    Been scraping my living
    In the valley of lies.”

277. Stoker

The Johnny Cash Memorial Tribute:

Rosanne Cash – Tennessee Flat Top Box
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLwocVPaGsE

278. Stoker

Jamey Johnson – Who’s Gonna Fill Their Shoes
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqAdJxFwFsQ

279. Michael McCabe

Good track with some Lovely Photos. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=RWIgPif4EQo

280. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Good one! Never heard that before.

Sorry I missed you last night, but Paula Rose had sent some of us packing with fleas in our ears.

281. Ian Brotherhood

We could do worse than have these dudes DJ the first Independence Day ‘disco’ –

Daft Punk, ‘Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x84m3YyO2oU

282. Ian Brotherhood

Bowie, ‘Valentine’s Day’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4R8HTIgHUU

283. Dave Robb

definitely o/t – I don’t want to login to any TV or newspaper site, but having had to sit through 2 depressing episodes of the latest Scandanavian noire (my wife is a fan of any detective type stuff), I would just like a brief rant.

I HATE all “rubber gun” memes – the hero’s gun is always knocked out of his hand, the plod in the station always does something stupid to let the nasty guy escape, torches always go out in the tunnel/mine/cave/dark scary place, radios and mobile phones always fail when you need them, the bad guy always gets back up for a final dramatic arm round the girl moment.

I imagine writing a script where the hero is assembling his task force to take on the villains: “Don’t any guns guys, you’ll just lose them – Oh,leave your torches behind – they don’t work in the dark – don’t take your radios – they only work in the precinct/station”.

Just once I would like a bit of sophistication in the drama.

Deutschland 83 stretches credibilty to the limit, but at least it does so with a bit of black humour.

Just once I would like to see the heroine not only hit the bad guy to make her escape, but to kick him in the nuts, hit him 2-3 times over the head with a very heavy object, and dance on/break all his fingers so that he won’t be able to pick up the knife/gun, put her in a headlock and waste another couple of minutes of my life.

Sorry – rant over!

284. Ian Brotherhood

@Dave Robb –

Hear ye mister –

It’s all shite, no matter how stylishly produced, and is the equivalent of Victorian ‘penny-dreadfuls’ – nothing more than titillation for the dim-witted and those who consciously enjoy being temporarily frightened as a respite from endless boredom.

No-one in Scotland should be proud of what we’ve produced to assist the persistent spread of this genre, in whatever medium – it mirrors and bolsters broader mainstream narratives aimed at terrorising ‘ordinary’ citizens. And it works – they wouldn’t waste so much talent and cash on it otherwise.

285. Ian Brotherhood

Valentine’s Day pressie for Paula Rose –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=imkwjAdpHwg

286. Paula Rose

I’m wiping tears from my eyes – you are all so lovely, Ian I have a special something for you when next we meet. Oi the effing thread has effing done it again!

287. Paula Rose

I’ve just found all my Dusty Springfield singles down the back of the sofa! I wonder how they got there – now which shall I play first?

288. Brian Doonthetoon

For Paula Rose…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1z5DZEse3I

289. Paula Rose

BDTT xxx

290. Brian Doonthetoon

Another for Paula Rose…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AeBmdDPdrR4

291. Oneironaut

*whistles innocently, waves at Paula Rose and posts up a music link before rushing out the door…* 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QR4vE9xL3yk

292. yesindyref2

I think I’ve had enough posting against idiots for days so this is probably relevant to stupid attacks on SLPs as though tax havens are all Scotland’s fault, including the uninformed idiot who wrote the article.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VLs09J_x6-c

And here’s something old making full use of stereo which I didn’t have at the time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DCYmDqsJjvk

Again for that stereo side to side when I did (best I could find and you need to push the bass down and the treble up):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fwHiNN1alrc&list=PLFE2364405D02B8C2

And finally best heard with a pair of Celestion Dittons clamped to the ears lying on the ground with the volume up, some good friends, wine, and the door locked so the neighbours can’t get in and annoy you:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cMp57bUzOB8

293. Michael McCabe

@ yesindyref2 Good sounds you linked there. Cheers. Just thought I would Leave a wee mellow track here. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BP8tGyUL6zU&feature=player_detailpage

294. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Watched your Darren Brown chess trick over on the main thread. Was like, absolutely no way! But when he explained how he done it, you have to admire the guy.

This one came up next, even more extraordinary in my view. More than than extraordinary, simply unbelievable and mind boggling.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1-69AnA_To

295. yesindyref2

That’s done it, got rid of my narkiness at last. Nothing to do with Valentines’s that was fine though I guess some people’s wasn’t. Yes, that was a whole album you could just put on without ever feeling the need to get up and skip a track. Hard even to pick a favourite, it just flowed.

For some odd reason I never bought an album by these though I can’t think of any songs I don’t like offhand:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lS-af9Q-zvQ

296. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Didn’t have time to watch that last night, but just have – fantastic stuff. 🙂

297. Brian Doonthetoon

Following on from yesindyref2’s most recent post…

I’ve always been a sucker for organ/keyboards (‘Down In The Glen’ by Robert Wilson was probably my first exposure to the sound of the organ) and yesindyref2’s Doors post led me to this…

Staying with The Doors: listen to the organ work in this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LY1l8T2Lcl0

Then two from around 10 years later, showing the keyboard influence from 1967. Here’s the first:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nnBE8dC3ck

Lastly, an offering from a Dundee band, from around the same time as the previous link:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqIWcxsOGug

298. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: here’s the Robert Wilson offering, from the mid/late 50s:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b5TRTiC63eY

299. Stoker

Goodbye folks. Love you all. Look after our Rev!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VdGMkYFTTrg

300. Stoker

I know most of you will not get this but if you’re a Scottish football fan, try and pay attention to this, only 2 clubs really wanted to sink these feckin cheats and CELTIC wasn’t one of them, Here’s to the Dons and the Arabs.

“Scottish” football is rank rotten…..FACT!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ugVw4xhvbU

301. Stoker

I really now have to go…take care Wingers and look after our Rev.
    Rev, thanks for everything and Christoon, thank you.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZvpHwoQfqk

302. Thepnr

Hey Stoker your going nowhere! At least I hope not.

This is a wee family here on Wings and especially on Off Topic. You stick around so as you reap the reward you efforts are due.

Long way to go and we can’t afford anyone to fall by the wayside.

Be seeing you soon.

303. Stoker

Take care folks! Love you all!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sVWbPbeiztg

304. Stoker

Thanks ‘A’ but i have to. I appreciate your words, thank you.
    Look after yourself and keep the fires burning.
    I’ll keep my end up, take care pal.

305. Thepnr

@Stoker

Wee tune for you buddy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6szT5NnwTY

306. Stoker

Thank you ‘A’ – i really appreciate that and Michael’s on 9th Feb @ 2.19am – love you all, thank you, take care.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=usYgf8cVfvU

307. yesindyref2

@Stoker
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyP407UnUWw

All the best

308. yesindyref2

On the theme of the last one, my favourite of his

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_vab7uJ8FIE&list=PLC574938B3A97978D&index=4

309. Michael McCabe

@ Stoker I don’t know where you are off to? But until you are back among us. I hope this link will make you Smile and Warm your Heart. And Everyone a Scotsman. Haste ye Back. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=RXsFpb-OdU8 Aye till I die.

310. Paula Rose

Stoker Dear I’m keeping a chair empty for you xx

311. CameronB Brodie

Best of luck Stoker.

Presbyterian Wahhabis….from a chicken? Here’s one for all the civil servants and party apparatchik behind Project Fear. Talk about evil! All for a good utilitarian cause?

The Cramps – God Monster
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=srRTFXvQ6cs

#neverenoughfuzz 🙂

312. Thepnr

A theme might be good?

Since the Rev has just tweeted that we can look forward tomorrow to THE SNPBAD FILES, I thought #BAD might be a good theme.

Something for starters and not something you might expect normally from me. Full of surprises eh! 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4SQ20tuAuw0

313. Thepnr

That first link was for a Scottish band, in the interest of balance here’s a #BAD one from North London LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEodnsNlzj8

314. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    I’ll not cow-tow to your arbitrary authoritarianism.

New to me but still kind of on theme though. 😉

#Badada

Altitude – Badada
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZDbHwqzpDk

Well, what do you expect from a separatist who chooses to break from the center and willfully become “other”?

315. Thepnr

Hey CameronB

I would never dream of you cow-towing to anyone 🙂

Who was that band, never heard them before. The sound is a bit young for me now but something I’m sure I’d have liked in my twenties.

316. CameronB Brodie

I ain’t got a Scooby, mate, I just though, nah and went looking on youtube. 🙂

Bit young for me as well but I thought they did well to make a sad song sound up-beat. It’s a happy sound about bad feelings. That’s gotta work. 😉

Anyway, I didn’t want to be accused of being one dimensional. Next step Yooonery….

317. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Well WTF! What can I say? That started with a wee smile on my face then the grin just got bigger and bigger until I was laughing 🙂

The guy that put the music together with the video deserves a 10/10 so do you. Just excellent. Thanks LOL.

318. Michael McCabe

It is always Good Company in here. Aint it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=TeZqjZ_kvLY

319. CameronB Brodie

Alternatively. 🙂

#Badada

Gray – Badada
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C4cXHTlJmA8

OK, I’ll stop now. Honest. It’s a solemn vow.

320. Thepnr

Now this is BAD very BAD but that was the point of the song and it makes a change from An American Werewolf in London.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K-DkyMXTo5Q

321. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, I’ll dip my bad toe in.

A Dundee/Perth band, members of which went on to form the Average White Band.

BTW: ALP Records was the label of ‘Andy Lothian Promotions’. This is from 1966, a Paul Simon song…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ElzYZEbADKk

322. Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

Hahahaha you twat!

323. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    Takes one to ken one. 😉

324. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

You really are a fount of knowledge when it comes to music from the 60’s 70’s and 80’s especially with Scottish connections. I’m surprised that song wasn’t a hit.

Before its time I’d guess.

325. Michael McCabe

I usually get stuck after 2 songs. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=k5hWWe-ts2s

326. Paula Rose

Away to feed the hens – ridiculous.

327. Michael McCabe

Last one on the Bad theme from me. Hoping CameronB Likes this one. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=uACs5f43wRU

328. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Hey, if he can become a superstar then it’s certain Scotland can become Independent.

Here’s a BAD video directed by Martin Scorsese, I’m sure you know already who the singer is? Oh! and watch out for “undiscovered” actor Wesley Snipes.

OK for those with a short attention span Part 1 is the “story” no music just a story and it’s 8 minutes long.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2iwbFqzHO_U

If you don’t have much better to do then watch it, the film is by Scorsese after all and chances are you have never seen it before.

if you just want the music then straight to part 2 would be best 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HdGvGZQqGw4

I watched both, plenty time on my hands.

329. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Whatsup? Never been bad?

330. CameronB Brodie

You have impeccable taste Michael and I so wish I could move like that. 😉

331. Thepnr

Looks like we have given up the #BAD theme. Suits me.

Here is something to consider, it is really bad but doesn’t mention bad. We have all this footage from the past but none from the present.

Why is that I ask myself? Well I know the answer as well as you reading here do, we are being robbed of the truth of what is going on and there is not much we can do about it while we are still part of the UK.

Independence is a must if we want change from this. Don’t think Vietnam, just think Syria, Iraq and Libya.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QslV5asj_yM

This is not just about fighting for Independence, it’s bigger than that.

332. CameronB Brodie

Syria: The Final Act Begins

By John Wight
    It bears emphasizing: the only moderates fighting in Syria are the troops of the Syrian Arab Army, made up of Sunni, Shia, Alawite, Druze and Christians. They and their allies comprise the forces of non-sectarianism in the country and the region, engaged in a pitiless conflict against the most reactionary and retrograde current of extremism the world has seen since Pol Pot and the Khmer Rouge were rampaging across Cambodia.

Of course, it should never be forgotten that Thatcher sent the SAS to Cambodia, to train the Khmer Rouge in how to be good terrorists. Just like what they did with the ‘moderate Jehadies’ in Libya.

http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article44229.htm

333. Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

I’m ignorant and if I am I guess there are more who are even more ignorant.

All I know is that bombing is wrong and solves nothing. Nothing.

334. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    Nothing at all, other than yo satisfy the shareholder demands of weapons manufacturers, such as BOAE/BBC.

Until 1989, the British role in Cambodia remained secret. The first reports appeared in the Sunday Telegraph, written by Simon O’Dwyer-Russell, a diplomatic and defence correspondent with close professional and family contacts with the SAS. He revealed that the SAS was training the Pol Pot-led force. Soon afterwards, Jane’s Defence Weekly reported that the British training for the “non-communist” members of the “coalition” had been going on “at secret bases in Thailand for more than four years”. The instructors were from the SAS, “all serving military personnel, all veterans of the Falklands conflict, led by a captain”.

http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/politics/2014/04/how-thatcher-gave-pol-pot-hand

….Arms and other other aid only went to the non-communist groups, they said. The Khmer Rouge had changed and was now genuinely popular in some areas, they ventured. While the film “The Killing Fields” made many people aware of the horrors of Khmer Rouge rule, British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher told a British children’s TV show in 1988 “There’s a much, much reasonable grouping within that title, Khmer Rouge…who will have to play some part in the future government.”

The British elite military unit the SAS were later revealed to have trained their fighters.

http://blogs.reuters.com/global/2010/07/30/cocktails-with-khmer-rouge-killers/

335. Macart

Will there be a Wings gethigither before the election?

336. Thepnr

@Macart

Definitely, why don’t you arrange one? Just kidding, there will be one though of that I’m sure. See you there hopefully.

337. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    “…we can’t afford anyone to fall by the wayside.”

Hey, I’ve lived by the wayside all my life and I’m not about to move. Got a very nice little hermit’s cave here…

Anyways, thought I’d post up another music link.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRGSHvlu9Ss

We’re all just the cracks in this castle of glass… 😉

338. Thepnr

Hello Oneironaut

Nice to see you back, can’t be sure but it may be that we are all getting together again for a reason. Looking forward to May 🙂

339. Macart

@Thepnr

Good to know. I’ll keep my eye on O/T. 🙂

340. Paula Rose

Macart dear do remember to bring some music next time – this lot are driving me mad with their heavy metal and obscure yodelling.

341. Macart

Okeedokee

A taster. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGb5IweiYG8

342. Paula Rose

Sanity restored.

343. Nana

It’s great to see all the new names on the main thread these last few weeks.
    Sometimes it’s difficult to keep up with all the comments.

Nice to sit back and relax with a wee tune in off topic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNx2rH6hHog

344. Paula Rose

Put your feet up Nana Dear – have a glass of wine.

345. yesindyref2

@Macart
    And on that theme …
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=drGx7JkFSp4

Doncha just love it?

Time for the guys just to sit back, chew some baccy, have an ice cold, and let them get on with it.

346. cearc

Nice one, Macart.

347. Paula Rose

Business as usual Indyref2 then?

348. yesindyref2

Too right Paula, with all these vastly superior women around, what’s a man to do?

Know his place! Shame for those that don’t …

349. Paula Rose

Lift your legs I need to hoover round here.

350. yesindyref2

OK, sorry, I was just putting on a track for calm down dear Dave.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5t3_9ZrZFRs

351. Macart

@Yesindyref2

Gets my vote.:)

352. Nana

Goodnight everyone, the latest poll sure looks good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UUWkr4FUlo

353. Quinie frae Angus

Hi peeps

Just calling in here for two minutes to TOTALLY SOUND OFF about the fact that I am absolutely DISGUSTED and INCREDULOUS with the hating, hypocritical, sneering contempt that so many Scottish journalists hold us in (by “us” I mean Indy supporters, SNP voters, Wings readers. Oh, they sneer and show the palm of their hands to Wings readers most of all).

Twitter tonight is going mad with the bile and sneering.

I can hardly stand it. Feel like throwing in my NUJ membership, I really really do.

Thanks everyone. I needed that.

354. Paula Rose

QfA Honey – calm calm breathe deeply, RT any I’m free for the next 1/2 hour.

355. yesindyref2

@Quinie frae Angus
    (Mattie’s) What a Rag (apologies to Gerry Rafferty and daughter)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CUTpleHFH-E

356. yesindyref2

QfA
    They’re losing, they know it, it’s going to get worse, and the more we mess with their heads, the better.

357. Quinie frae Angus

@yesindyref2
    Thanks for that – lovely and calming. Had forgotten all about that song.

@Paula Rose
    Thanks honey, would do but am off to bed now. Have an early rise to spend the day with that extremely elderly man I think I told you about? Want to be up sharp and bushy-tailed because he’s a gentleman – and an ardent independence supporter – and deserves nothing less.

Night night all. Love my Wingy comfort zone! xxx

358. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    Well I’m mostly here because Ian kept asking me to come back to Off Topic. And the nearest I can get to that is posting occasional music links.

Otherwise, back to living my previous hermit-like existence again…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zFro2hBsp1Y

359. yesindyref2

This one’s for me because I need it. Two small mistakes posting today nearly losing the bigger point. AG cleaned up after me on one thread, but the other’s sitting there. DDM’s done it the odd time but doesn’t post so often. What a pain.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXW-sL5gzHQ

I need a break!

360. Thepnr

@yesindyref2

Good tune, do what your brain is telling you. Have a wee break, nothing will have changed before you come back. Fact is you can work too hard and you can be burnt out.

At times, that’s important. You just need to recognise those times. Have had the odd blue day myself.

361. Brian Doonthetoon

You’re right enough there, re: burn out, Thepnr.

The past couple of weeks, I’ve been reading all the comments btl but posting rarely, except for ‘off-topic’.

There are so many Wingers now, that whatever you feel you want to type, has already been typed.

A ‘watching brief’ keeps one sane…

362. Brian Doonthetoon

Watching the prog on BBC2 about Liverpool and the lady organiser mentioned the ‘goosebumps’ as the military band played “Sailing” with no vocals.

Yep, another Scottish Song, written by Gavin Sutherland, appropriated for UKOK. Here’s the original from 1972…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=poDjuRlaNAg

363. yesindyref2

@Thepnr
    Thanks for that. Had a cup of tea, I always admit when I’m wrong, so went back and posted like “I’m wrong and you’re wrong” with an explanation. Sorted 🙂

Yes, fiscal framework probably done one way or another tomorrow, so I’ll try to stay off the weekend or more. Help!

The odd post here maybe, feet up, bit company, tunes ..

364. Thepnr

Here’s one you may not have seen yet.

Elton John, Queen and Axle Rose?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czch1XrKSgU

365. yesindyref2

That turned out well, he still wouldn’t admit being wrong at all so I win, even got an upvote already. End of that. Sutherland Brothers I’d forgotten them. Can’t say one version’s better, Rod Stewarts’s is different. like two tunes.

For some reason I thought of this one, be prepared to eject not everyone’s taste

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gS3v4VZjxm8

366. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good to see that one with auld Axl giving it big licks, whirling about like a dervish in his kilt.

Good too to see the bold Oneironaut back in town.

Have been trying to catch up – what’s the story with Stoker?

Hoots all.

367. Thepnr

Ian the songs have went right downhill since you and the lovely rose have been missing.

We need something, anything. (I’d like one of the old ones) 🙂 🙂

368. Paula Rose

I’m bloody well having to re-paint the place, now put those effing fags out.

369. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

‘Put those effing fags out’

🙁

That is extraordinary.

I always smoke in the garden – or in the greenhouse if the weather happens to be inclement – but was just having a fly one in the room when I checked-in there…

Please tell me you’re not staring into a big glass ball with a paisley-patterned scarf ower yer heid, watching me every move…

*SHIVERS*

370. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

How bout dis?

T-Rex, ‘Jeepster’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VPHKVWCxHtI

371. Paula Rose

*kicks off heels and bops*

372. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Bliss, sleep easily tonight 🙂

@Paula Rose

Ah? you just don’t want me to wake up eh? Love it 🙂

373. Paula Rose

I remember seeing Bazooka Joe.

374. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “Good too to see the bold Oneironaut back in town.”

Well, like I said, I’m not so much back in town, as just strolling in for an occasional visit, bringing music links with me.

As for today’s link…
    I was going to dedicate “Strumpet” by My Life Story to JK Rowling, but thought if I did she’d probably throw another tantrum and sue me.

So instead, something a bit more mellow, dedicated to someone else in my life whom I consider more worthy of having things dedicated to them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lf5DU4gGgE

Peace, Love and Oreos to all…

375. Ian Brotherhood

Cameron in Europe, Battle For Britain etc.

Aw man, let’s just get this one right out of the way:

Team America, ‘I’m So Ronery’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UEaKX9YYHiQ

376. yesindyref2

Scotland Bill more than Cameron Dave, not easy finding a good recording.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uA05cULpFmk

Here’s to Scotland Bill, when will we see your like again.

377. Ian Brotherhood

The Black Keys, ‘Lonely Boy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_426RiwST8

378. Ian Brotherhood

They’re calling it a ‘Four Shirt’ mission for Cameron. Fair do’s, but how many pairs of Y’s will he go through?

Gorillaz, ‘All Alone’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ri0TkHCXoE

379. DerekM

this one is my message to styfumbler(sorry woosie im pinching that one)

Warning this song contains bad language

Alberto Y Lost Trios Paranoias

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RIYi0D_m4o

lol one from my youth

380. Ian Brotherhood

Can anyone imagine what David Cameron might possibly have in common with Group Captain Douglas Bader?

Here’s a snippet of an interview with the latter, from the very early sixties. Feeling my age after watching that cause I recognise the interviewer! 🙁

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dnle6YPDaUs

381. Paula Rose

More Y Los Trios – thank you xx

382. Thepnr

An old favourite. Dancing don’t get much better than this!

Soul Train. James Brown SEX MACHINE 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QrFGzthZeSo

383. Ian Brotherhood

Dem mainland Europeans think Cameron’s just so coooool…

Jay Hoad, ‘Island Boy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPhhIHbhALY

384. DerekM

lol glad you liked it Paula their other stuff was a bit dark even for me 🙂

Here is another that sums up the moment just fine i think

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCkNu9OxThc

The Ruts – Babylons Burning

385. yesindyref2

(retread) Almost makes you want to vote for him

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0YBumQHPAeU

386. Ian Brotherhood

‘I’m no good at chatting-up and I always get rebuffed…’

No, not Cameron!!

Visionary artist Jona Lewie, on the eternal appeal of his music and post-modernist symbolism etc etc…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RCtLrVihFhQ

387. DerekM

oh no Brandy and youtube a bad combination now im gonna spam you all silly lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FhkFdlmnhrk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DRbLhoAphdo

One of my fav bands and boy did they hit the nail on the head with the second one i give you The Chords

388. yesindyref2

OK, now this just over the top and I hang my head in shame

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFs5wZ-lhCE

389. DerekM

lol yesindyref2 i just spat brandy all over my computer lmao

i was going to put up speedealer but it would seem that lots of people are already finding it by typing in the PM`s name into youtube roflmao

so here is The Specials instead 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mke8Zqii3z8

390. Ian Brotherhood

@yesindyref2 –

‘Squeeze him a bit harder and he shits gold!’

?!?

Soo-perb.

391. Ian Brotherhood

‘…I’m doing the best that I can…I’m ashamed of the things I’ve been put through…I’m ashamed of the person I am…’

Joy Division, ‘Isolation’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Mz5AEgE24o

392. Ian Brotherhood

If you’re going to break all sorts of Health & Safety Regs, might as well do it with a bit of soul…

Martha Reeves & The Vandellas, ‘Nowhere To Run’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17yfqxoSTFM

393. DerekM

Brilliant Ian Joy Division were well ahead of their time such a shame what happened to Ian Curtis man had so much talent and so much pain.

On a lighter note here is a catchy wee number this song is contagious lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ngNcmRfyBo

Skankin Pickle – My Hair

Dont blame me if you are whistling this for a week lol

394. Ian Brotherhood

Seriously – this is who Cameron thinks he is:

Winston Churchill, ‘Now We Are Masters Of Our Fate’ (live, 1942)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SOQwa73KXbs

395. Dave McEwan Hill

Friday night meanderings through my past
    Three guys,an electric guitar,a slap base and drum set played on cardboard boxes. Genius

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AyTtFNGzFsE

396. Paula Rose

Love this – Elvis Costello track…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C9GlC9GyF4Y

397. Oneironaut

Hmm, trying to find a music link with a “Euro” connection…
    But this is the only one that pops into my somewhat addled head right now.

At least it’s by a Scottish band 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_06W2zTh9ds

Peace, Love and Oreos!

398. DerekM

Yea Paula Elvis Costello rocks 🙂

Here is guy that shares his first name though i do think he outsold Costello in record sales lol

The King – Suspicious Minds

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxOBOhRECoo

399. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

That was braw, never seen it before.

Here’s another Scottish band sounding off about ‘Europe’. Cheeky wee scamps!

Simple Minds, ‘I Travel’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6MwzSaBBQY

400. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    How was the ‘national’ CCTV (Cargo Cult TV), a.k.a. the BBC in Scotland?

The Kills – Future Starts Slow
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NwudqTCkBis

401. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

?

Didn’t understand your message last night as I was pished.

Now, sober, I still don’t understand it.

I’ll try getting pished again and read it later…

402. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ll kick off the music tonight, with three I don’t think have been featured in ‘off-topic’. From the 60s, 70s and 80s.

Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddcIunulJi4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FuFSYMK87X8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9CCdhCOFj74

403. Paula Rose

No dad dancing like last night PLEASE!

404. Ian Brotherhood

This may be a bit serious for a Saturday night, but does anyone have thoughts/feelings about a WOS night in Glasgow before/after the SP election?

This is just to sound out general interest. Many pros and some cons, but all these can be thrashed out. A wee birdie told me there are similar stirrings about another Dundee-ish gig?

Let’s at least get a wee discussion going, and try to think of ways we can make it a wee bit different i.e. not just a few crammed hours of manic swallying…

405. Ian Brotherhood

P.S. – it would be nice to hear from those who’ve attended previous Glasgow gigs – is the CH still the favoured venue, or was the Clutha better?

406. Macart

@Ian Brotherhood

RE: Glasgow

I’d be interested Ian. That an Mrs M would never pass up the chance for a night in the toon. 🙂

407. Ian Brotherhood

@Macart –

Cool.

That’s a provisional list started – ‘Macart & Mrs’.

Sounds like a TV show in an independent Scotland! 🙂

408. Croompenstein

The bacon worrier brings us closer to independence and he doesn’t know it….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQBoeBgb0uk

409. Ian Brotherhood

@Macart –

It could be a winner!

Strangely, I was thinking of McMillan & Wife (how un-PC is that?) and was thinking it starred Robert Wagner and that lovely woman whose name I can’t remember (how un-PC is that?) but then I looked it up…nah, wisny them.

So, before clicking, do you remember who starred in McMillan & Wife?

Nae Buster Keaton!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wyiinQoUlTY

410. Ian Brotherhood

Just asked my lad (16yr old) to recommend good upbeat song, so he suggested this:

One Republic, ‘Counting Stars’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hT_nvWreIhg

411. Macart

McMillan & Wife?

Jeez, that’s goin’ back a bit. Rock Hudson I think and Susan (fill in blank). I can see her face, but blanking on the name.

Off to google then.

412. Macart

Susan St James.

Purty lady (sigh).

413. Thepnr

Politics has never been so interesting. We in Scotland that support Independence have our third important vote coming up in less than 7 weeks time. Great stuff.

Followed shortly by our fourth important vote just weeks later. Isn’t life exciting 🙂

Many of us try when we play a tune to get something new and original, we’ve been here so long that it’s getting difficult. How about a blast from the past?

This is what the votes are about, well in my way of thinking they are.

This is original as far as the singers go but not the song. I don’t doubt the young folks singing sincerity, those in the audience though, think they’d run a mile LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vHcAPBNOuWg

414. Ian Brotherhood

@Macart –

Give that man a coconut!!

Well done indeed!

415. Croompenstein

They don’t want your name… just your number..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=viOAiUH0T1Q

416. Cactus

Hi aye Ian, I’m all for the next Glasgow gathering.

We could meet at the world famous Clutha bar and take it from there (they got live music happening most evenings for entertainment).. then maybes a walk up to our square to check out the festivities.

Oh and I happen to be free on the 24th March, if that’s suitable for other folks too? Wait a minute, was there not supposed to be something else happening then. 🙂

A live song from the auld Clutha:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDB01xTkzoU

Enjoy yer swally!

417. bob sinclair

Definitely up for another Glasgow WOS meet & the Clutha would be a great idea.

418. carjamtic

Im’e in…..nae bevvy…?

419. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus & Bob S –

Hoots ye’s both, duly added.

Clutha getting thumbs-up so far…

420. Paula Rose

*checks out new shoes*

421. Ian Brotherhood

@carjamtic –

You on da list bruvva…

422. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    No worries, I find I have that effect on the sober. 😉

I was just a bit surprised you were consuming BBC ‘news’. I now appreciate you were somewhat anesthetised but is that not a risky way of getting your kicks on a Saturday night. 🙂

423. ronnie anderson

Hi Peeps ah wee song of BamCam

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5kBj_SiZIrA

424. Paula Rose

An old favourite – hurts so good…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fASRDQ6QQA

425. Paula Rose

Ronnie huggie mwah mwah.

426. cearc

Ian,

Sounds like a plan!

427. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose Big Hugs was in Dundee today ,picking up Food for Maryhill foodbank had a pint with Bddt & Ptc well Bdtt hud ah pint lol.

428. Macart

Seems right somehow. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7Hy7uAb_eU

429. ronnie anderson

Nae takers fur Inverness or Edinburgh I,ve missed two night out Helensburgh & Aberdeen so,s am up fur a Glesga nite oot.

430. Paula Rose

I want a hug from ronnie anderson cos he is lovely.

431. jimnarlene

We’re up for a wings night in Glesga.

432. Lenny Hartley

Depending on when it is as I’m awa in NI for ten days at the end of April.

433. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie A & Jim’n Arlene –

Hoots all, youse are added, Glesga list now 8.

434. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

A few weeks ago, you put forward the idea of a Glasgow get-together on May Day.

For those of us, who have to travel 80+ miles to get to Glasgow, this, being a Saturday, would be IDEAL. No running out of time after work on a Friday…

RE: the venue. The Counting House has the advantage of no music, ie it is conducive to chat, without having to shout to be heard. And we’ve always been able to take over that corner…

If we could commandeer the outside tables at the Clutha, that would allow chat, with the freedom to go inside to listen to music, if required. How feasible is that?

435. Brian Doonthetoon

ßüGG€R! Misread the calendar – May Day is actually on Sunday!

Saturday comment still stands…

436. fionan

Having enjoyed the Aberdeen night and finally met some of the Wings stars, I would be interested in another night in Glasgow, Inverness, Dundee, Aberdeen, Edinburgh or wherever. Venues – my preference is somewhere where there is at least a quiet chat corner which isn’t drowned out by music, though of course some music is also welcome.

on a more personal level, are there any legal experts here who would be willing to give me some advice on civil matters? If so, I wonder if you could email me privately please?

437. crazycat

@ Ian

I would almost certainly go to a Glasgow meet-up, and could probably bring some of the lurkers as I’ve done before – no preference for date.

438. Ian Brotherhood

@Crazycat –

I’ve listed you as C/Cat + 2?

Cheers!

439. Thepnr

Count me in too Ian. For now, as not clear on dates. Guess the details can be ironed out in the coming days.

440. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Hoots.

List now at 14 +/- 2

441. Paula Rose

Um – can I come?

442. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Just added ‘P. Rose + heels’

443. X_Sticks

@Ian

“+ heels”

That’ll be me then…

444. cearc

I,ll be there, whenever, probably.

445. Quinie frae Angus

Yes please to the list for Glasgow night out, Ian B. Hoping it’s not 30th April though as Yes Bikers Ceilidh on that night and I have tx. Is any other Winger going to that? If so it would be nice to chum ye.

But I suppose 30th April is obvious choice for Wings Night Out and we’ll all be at fever pitch (as usual, ha) given it’s so near the Scottish election.

Anyway best pick whichever night suits the maximum number of Wingers and if I can come to it I’ll be there in a shot. Love ma Wingers!

446. Ian Brotherhood

@Cearc & QfA –

Noted, both, with thanks.

Quinie – no-one’s pinned a date yet…all up for grabs.

Should we make it post-election in the hope it’ll be some kind of knees-up?

Thoughts, please…

447. CameronB Brodie

Here’s a bit of soul for the Scottish themed press. Well, I wouldn’t want them to think we don’t appreciate their endeavor. 😉

Jo Ann & Troy – Same Old Feeling
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GPBio7k7md4

448. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    I already made noises but consider yerself telt now, re. Glasgow bash. 😉

449. Oneironaut

I’ve always found the title of this one to be more appropriate for the press.

(Though the song lyrics are too upbeat and not quite “blood and soil, fire and brimstone” enough to be compared to the media’s deranged rantings…)

Hope it raises some spirits at least.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=46dcQE2mzPI

Peace, Love and Oreos!

450. ross

Hello everyone! Im looking for some help.
    If you have a smart phone and use the app Whatsapp then have a look at the Emoticons in the flags section. Youll find a Union Jack aaaannndd a St georges flag but no other home nations are represented. I have sent a couple of emils to their ‘contact us address’ asking why and received a couple of feeble responses.

If we all get behind this and complain en masse we can get them to add them or at least remove the St Georges one as a sign of respect to the millions of customers they have in the rest of the country.

I love using whatsapp and would love to be able to use the Saltire in my messages the same as our English neighbours can. But really its just annoying that Scotland isnt seen as good enough to have an Emoticon flag but England is and that just gets on my t**s.

Come on Wingers!!! Lets get this sorted. Complain complain complain

451. Thepnr

Hi ross

I understand your disappointment, so create your own emoticon of a Saltire for Whatsapp!

Step by step directions below on how to do this, does not seem difficult though haven’t tried it myself, just a wee bit patience. Fairly confident this will sort out your problem without waiting on Whatsapp doing anything.

Worth a try.

http://www.loudtechie.com/how-to-add-or-edit-whatsapp-custom-emoticons/

452. ross

Thanks thepnr!!

I never knew you could do that. Ill definetly have a look.
    Im going to keep complaining though…the squeakiest wheel n aw that lol

453. Thepnr

@ross

Before you try that it might be worth updating to the latest version 2.12.441 released last week which supposedly includes new flags.

You never know the Saltire might be included though maybe no 🙂

454. Thepnr

Here’s another oldie from the days of Doc Martins, Ben Sherman shirts and dare I say skinheads LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CFAd-zpqWiU

455. Paula Rose

Couldn’t resist – here they are Ambrose Slade…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fAS1bgKAFno

456. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Never heard that before, didn’t know that a skinhead had ever played the violin either 🙂

457. Paula Rose

Amazing what you can learn on Wings isn’t it!

458. Dave McEwan Hill

Here is the original version of The Sash My Father Wore
    It was composed to be sung at St Patrick Day’s parades in New York

http://www.tobarandualchais.co.uk/en/play/56064;jsessionid=3F0D7D56C858FF976FE4CCB178A7E517

459. Thepnr

Right! Fuck it.

Hows this for a Flash Mob with a no bad song either.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wh3i3vWgPyk

460. TJenny

Ian B – count me in too, please, for a Wings night in Glasgow – haven’t managed to get to one since last May/June? in the CH. 🙁

Can’t wait to see you all again. (weeexcitedfacedthingy)
    xx

461. Paula Rose

Hi TJenny *waves*

462. TJenny

Paula Rose – ‘waves’ back and sends hugs. 🙂

463. Thepnr

TJenny is gonna come. Yah Scotland is saved 🙂

464. TJenny

Thepnr – if only that was all it took. 🙂

Really looking forward to seeing everyone again. Do you think Rock, complete with large boulders on his shoulders, will deign to attend? Image calling you a tory hugger – mind you, if all it took was a hug to convince a yoon to indie, we could maybe give them a group hug? 😉

465. yesindyref2

Mmm, “Hug a Tory” campaign. I’ll buy that for a dollar YES.

466. yesindyref2

One for “Hug a Tory” before I away to my pit. No idea why it seems appropriate but hey, who cares? That’s music for you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MYPBF4s8m_Y

467. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

🙂 Done

Does anyone remember last time we heard from AuldA?

468. Almannysbunnet

Someone mentioned on one of the threads yesterday that Whatsapp doesn’t have a Scottish flag in their flag emoticoms and asked people to contact them. I emailed them:-
    In the flag emoticons there is a UK flag, the Union Jack, an English flag, the St George cross but no Scottish flag, the St Andrews cross. Why is this? Why only one of the United Kingdom countries? I want to be able to choose my country’s flag which is not the “butchers apron” and certainly not the St George Cross. Can you please add the Scottish flag.

I received the following reply today:
    Hi,
    Thanks for your message.
    We appreciate your suggestion!
    We may not implement your idea immediately, but we value your feedback. It helps us to build a great product.
    Rachel
    WhatsApp Support Team

If anyone else would like to help chip away at the union please contact. It may seem a minor thing but over 1 Billion people use whatsapp so let’s get the flag out there. 🙂

support@whatsapp(dot)com

469. yesindyref2

Yay, Smith, blinder Swinney and Sturgeon, Treasury reduced to saying “now Scotland will have to be responsible mutter mutter unionist junk talk”.

Gonna have a leftover Xmas beer with my liver and mash 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GwjfUFyY6M

470. Thepnr

This was the first time I ever saw a Cat sing! Have a laugh.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRxRX6Mr3Lk

471. Betty Boop

@ IanB, 12:51pm

Think AuldA was about for a wee while just after the Paris attacks.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.