The Rev withoot his beard,dancin πŸ˜‰
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hYO1lSUspXA

6. David

@ Smithie, no, I’m not asking, not yet, too early, not drunk enough. πŸ˜‰
    I have a foolproof method of knowing when I’ve had enough to drink: it’s when I find myself dancing & doing all the moves to this –

Black Lace – “I Am The Music Man”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTZZjemferM

#FearOfABlackLacePlanet

7. Thepnr

@StevieMcB

LOL been played before here on Off Topic. Though without the Rev association, I liked πŸ™‚

8. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

That WAS a party last night, just out of bed and I clicked on your link. Ouch! πŸ™‚

9. Ian Brotherhood

Where’s the new page?

No ‘newer comments’ button…

10. Ian Brotherhood

Maybe it’s now a 1000-comment page, elsewise we done broke the thing with a flood of dodgy music links… πŸ™

11. Thepnr

Thanks for the Xmas card Chic. Was wondering if I might get any this year πŸ™‚

12. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Yes, we broke the darn thing πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3T1c7GkzRQQ

13. Ian Brotherhood

Computers ‘dreaming’?

This is from the Google AI project, allowing computers to do their own thing with basic images. Some of the stuff they come up with is properly creepy…

This vid is approx 5 mins long – see how far you get before clamouring for the return of some old disco music!

‘Journey on the Deep Dream’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SCE-QeDfXtA

14. Brian Doonthetoon

London Calling: How the BBC stole the Referendum is a book written by G.A.Ponsonby. The book chronicles BBC Scotland output with respect to the broadcaster’s coverage of Scottish politics and the independence referendum.

The book was published in April 2015, seven months after the referendum on Scottish independence. The cost per copy was Β£9.99 for a paperback and Β£1.99 for the Kindle version.

It was always the author’s hope that as many people as possible would read the book, which was the culmination of six years monitoring of BBC Scotland political output. In order to achieve this, a free PDF version of each of the twelve chapters has been made available for download.

I’ve read the first two chapters of this and it is eye-opening and mind-blowing, specially the revelation that the BBC is our state broadcaster, broadcasting the interests of the state, rather than being the “Auntie Beeb” we thought we grew up with.

Here’s one extract from the first chapter…
    “Despite this, survey after survey found Labour voters were increasingly attracted to Yes. Now a survey showed Yes in front. Within 24 hours of the Yes campaign taking the lead in the polls, a pro-Union speech from former Labour party leader Gordon Brown was broadcast live by the BBC into homes throughout Scotland. TV sets and radios were relaying apparent pledges of Home Rule from the former Labour leader.

In his speech, the Kirkcaldy MP made a series of pledges to the Scottish people. Two key guarantees were made. That legislation for new powers would be drafted within a timetable set out by Brown himself and that these new powers would amount to Home Rule. Brown’s pledges were broadcast unchallenged. His speech was, in essence, a state broadcast to the nation.”

http://www.ponsonbypost.com/index.php/news/56-london-calling-how-the-bbc-stole-the-referendum-read-for-free

15. Ian Brotherhood

Paula Rose once gave me a good skelping for posting a Gary Numan link.

I won’t make that mistake again.

Sugababes, ‘Freak Like Me’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGSajAGg9h4

16. Ian Brotherhood

What a chanter this guy was/is…

Go West, ‘Don’t Look Down’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUgYXsk5CAo

17. Thepnr

So bit of a rap night tonight. Don’t just don’t look down on this one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5-yKhDd64s

18. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a splendid example of a dude who has looked after himself pretty well.

Rick Astley, ‘Uptown Funk’ (Live, 2015)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b6HAIueUK9U

19. Croompenstein

Back to sanity with the King…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L9-PN1sftaI

20. Free Scotland

Sanity is like maturity: some people have it, and some people are working towards it.

http://www.elfyourself.com/?mId=67005539.3

21. yesindyref2

Reminds me for some reason back then, when I was in my first class commuter compartment heading for Waterloo with a punk band in the other seats. In comes the ticket collector takes a disgusted look at them, turns to me in my city suit and tie with a shake of his head. I produce my 2nd class ticket and pay the difference (you got away with it 9 out of 10 times). Turns to the punks and they produce their 1st class season tickets.

What a laugh we had when he was gone! Tears down cheeks.

22. Brian Doonthetoon

Typing about rap…

When this came out, I bought the 12″ version. It features a rap in the middle, most of which was missing from the 7″ version.
    It’s like they’ve gone into a totally different song. No’ bad for a ‘white man’ rap.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zs940Bsu5Es

Typing about Squeeze…

This is my favourite Squeeze single. Early issues of it came in a 3D sleeve.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f67jc-se1V0

23. yesindyref2

Just found this one by accident: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZiJQL9OLqI

but this used to be a cosntant one for me, still gives the goosebumps: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2rYYecQN3VM

mmmmm, dancing.

Hey, dozed off after tea and woke up to the intro to Strictly and thought it was a fantastic routine. Someone give me my brain back I mean, Strictly, seriously?

24. Ian Brotherhood

YT is doing that fucking infuriating thing where I click a link and it gives me a big fat exclamation mark in the centre of the screen – I can see associated links etc down the right-hand side, but can’t play whatever’s been linked…

What’s that all about?

FRO!

(Just made that new acronym – can anyone guess what it means?)

Angry-faced smiley. ;(

25. Croompenstein

The old green square back in old Maybole.. πŸ˜€

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YdFmsURncFg

26. Thepnr

That was easy Ian. Fuck Right Off!

You still compiling crosswords by the way πŸ™‚

27. yesindyref2

I like the rap bit.

28. yesindyref2

Music, that’s what I needed. Passing through http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oG2ixYJ79iE made me think of http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L87DDH3pWN0 for some reason.

When you think back it’s amazing how much music changes your meme unconscious uncaring surround sound attitudes so you just don’t care. I’d love to see Indy won through music. It’s just sooooooo subversive. Like the music? Who gives a shhhh about anything else.

29. Croompenstein

Harmony everyone..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6uBHxCwdek

30. Croompenstein

If wishes were fishes…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEY9kA3OYNE

31. yesindyref2

Probably favourite band iswas Queen, right from when I heard this one pushed by just one radio station when I was working in London http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JofwEB9g1zg

part of me still thinks it’s their best, probably resent all the come-latelys who “discovered” Queen years later.

32. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Yes indeed.

‘FRO’ could function as an occasional alternative for ‘GTF’, which everyone knows.

XW’s? Aye…constantly at it mister. Me is a bit slow, takes long-time doing that stuff.

πŸ™‚

33. Thepnr

@yesindyref2

Queen/Freddie Mercury were simply brilliant throughout. No matter when you “found” them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8Eg-mWdDLc

34. yesindyref2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPudE8nDog0
    And I’ve forgotten her name, good grief. Bet she regrets it, whoever she was!

35. Thepnr

I can’t help myself. Nor stop. I love this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oB4K0scMysc

36. Croompenstein

Right Jimmy we need more yeahs than no’s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWd0hT4bkOE

37. Thepnr

Feck it. 20 minutes of pure magic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A22oy8dFjqc

38. yesindyref2

Thing about Freddie Mercury was he was classically trained on the piano and it showed in his approach to everything he wanted to do, and did.

Anyway, time to get banned off off-topic, so there’s this one the kids managed to teach us to do at the time:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMT698ArSfQ

39. Croompenstein

We’re captive on the carousel of time….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9VoLCO-d6U

40. gus1940

Dansette was cheap crap – mine was a Regentone and I’ve still got it up in the attic.

41. Thepnr

Get it out the attic Gus. Bring it along to the next OFFI meeting.

It would be awfie good. Old Farts For Independence πŸ™‚

42. Stoker

To independence supporters the world over, wherever ye bide.

I sincerely wish you all the very best for 2016 when it comes.
    Relax, party and let off some steam but come back fighting fit with all guns blazing in January.

We have another important battle to be fought and won in May in our fight for independence. Lets aim to rid Holyrood of as many London gophers as we can.

Re-charge your batteries, stay safe and prepare for battle.
    Meanwhile, i’m off to concentrate on some private legal matters.
    See you all come January.

BTW, a special mention for The Rev, thank you for everything and all the very best for 2016 when it comes. Lang may yer lum reek!

Lets give the gophers the new-year from hell.
    SNP x 2

43. Ian Brotherhood

Hoots to the bold Stoker – orraverybestest tae you and yours, and have a tip-top 2016.

πŸ™‚

‘Welcome Christmas Morning’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PLFtQJI0RdQ

44. Ian Brotherhood

‘Jimmy Shand vs 50 Cent’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MnxO9XnZq_Y

45. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood says:

β€˜Jimmy Shand vs 50 Cent’

Intriguing, dying to click the link but the missus is sitting next to me so I’m within beltin distance. Catch it later πŸ™‚

46. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Please do. It’s a guid yin. I believe the technical term is ‘a juxtaposition of the incongruous’.

47. Ian Brotherhood

Sunday Night Tickler –

Click the link and listen to the music, eyes shut. You’ll know the tune, but what show was it?!

Nae Buster Keatin’!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t99QQIXez4M

48. Ian Brotherhood

Theme tune from ‘The Flashing Blade’, which I propose as a national anthem: ‘It’s better to have fought and lost than not have fought at all!’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-ZEDNkZ2L4

49. Michael McCabe

Here is a Bob Dylan song that more than likely be the Christmas Number 1. Not Bob Singing this version But still pretty good. Dedicated to all the wingers I have met and the ones I have still to meet. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTrsB4t_Avs&feature=player_detailpage May You.

50. Ian Brotherhood

@M McC –

Good one, and I’ve seen it before – did you post it a while back?

What do you mean, it’ll be number one, has someone covered it? Little Minx or someone like that? πŸ™‚

51. Michael McCabe

@ Ian B Yes I have posted it before. The winner of the X Factor has just brought it out as a single. Dissapointed Bob let Cowell Cover it. I would not give Simon Cowell permission to empty my Bins. Saying that the wee lassie who won has got a great Voice.

52. Ian Brotherhood

@M McC –

Cheers for explanation. Now it all makes sense.

Few years ago, the lass who won that did ‘Allelujah’, remember? Then the Cohen and Buckley versions charted as well, all at the same time.

Suppose I won’t have long to wait to hear this new one then. πŸ™‚

53. Ian Brotherhood

Some of these YT ‘mash-up’ vids are great.

Stevie Wonder vs The Clash, ‘Uptight’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXdfKUbS-0c

54. Brian Doonthetoon

“Keep Yourself Alive” was my introduction to Queen.

Mind you, the whole “Larry Lurex” thing bypassed me…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y5tr6O1XvjM

Typing about signature tunes, (“Theme From The Persuaders”), anyone remember the signature tune of Radio North Sea International, who were broadcasting from off the Dutch coast in the very early 70s?

From the Les Reed Orchestra…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezHmLpJakYU

Further info here:-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radio_North_Sea_International

55. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Re RNSI, honestly never heard of them before.

Was it pick-uppable on normal radios? I used to find Luxembourg, and remember hearing Dury’s ‘Rhythm Stick’ on it, but wasn’t even aware that similar channels were out there.

56. Thepnr

OK something completely Off Topic. A video about a brilliant racehorse called Zenyatta. Won her first 19 races and someone made this video of them.

Trust me on this one, stick with it and you will hear the commentators getting louder and louder as their excitement builds. Funny thing is, I showed this to my daughter years ago as she is really into horses and was looking to get a job with horses.

Anyway, she helped deliver Zenyattas second foal at Lanes End Farm in Kentucky. Even got a picture, true story that πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQ6wLLKtZcg

If you watch this then you’ll enjoy my next post. Enjoy may not be the right word but I loved it.

57. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

It was known as “RNI”.

Yes, it was pick-uppable on a bog standard trannie. When I wasn’t recording from Radio 1 at the time, I was tuned into RNI.

The history is quite interesting.

“The Labour government in Britain began jamming Mebo II’s MW signal at 2030 hours on 15 April 1970.
    RNI responded with pro-Conservative political messages for the general election on 18 June 1970. On 13 May 1970, RNI responded to complaints about interference by changing its MW channel to 1230 kHz (244 metres).
    This improved reception but was adjacent to the pop music service of BBC Radio One on 1214 kHz (247 metres).

Jamming followed five days later, causing interference to BBC Radio as well as RNI, especially in Kent, south-east England.”

and

“On 12 August 1970, Kees Manders, a nightclub owner involved with Radio Veronica, became commercial director of RNI. But RNI’s managing director, Larry Tremaine, said nothing had been agreed.

Bollier and Meister had invited Manders to start a Dutch service from the Mebo II, and offered him a directorship in RNI, but withdrew when Manders leaked the story.
    A few weeks later, on Saturday, 29 August 1970, a salvage tug named Husky approached Mebo II at about 13:30. Accompanying the tug was a launch, the Viking, aboard which were Kees Manders with a woman and a child. In the studio, DJ Andy Archer interrupted his programme with appeals to listeners to tell RNI’s offices of what appeared a threatening situation:”

The quotes are from the Wikipedia link.

58. Fran

@ Brian Doonthetoon

I’m interested in the wings over Aberdeen.

Keep me posted

59. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Fran.

It’s Ronnie, Wuffing Dug and X_Sticks who are organising it.

Just keep popping in here for updates.

60. Paula Rose

I’m not talking and I don’t care and I’m never speaking to any of you ever again and I hate you all and I’m going away for ever and I hate Queen and everything else.

61. Thepnr

20th and last race for Zenyatta.

Reminds me of September 2014.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pj-uegbEew

62. Thepnr

Here’s what the jockey had to say after losing. I know how he felt.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zPKp3NfmVcA

63. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

That was fantastic!

My heart was going like the clappers. Races 12, 14 and 17 were just astonishing, and as for the last one?!?!

Great stuff man, cheers aplenty and thanks amuch. You must be very proud of your lass and I’ll bet she has some great stories.

πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

64. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s one for Paula Rose, seeing as she’s in a strop…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9atMZfHyhhs

65. X_Sticks

@Paula

What’s pettit your lip hen? Needin a wee hug?

@Brian Doonthetoon

“It’s Ronnie, Wuffing Dug and X_Sticks who are organising it.”

Can you provide documentary evidence for that statement? I never signed a thing guv.

66. Thepnr

Ali G Interview – Jacob Rees Mogg 1999

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szGxq3pvJPQ

67. yesindyref2

Here’s one for Paula to cheer her up

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pejQAaj7MDM

68. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi X_Sticks.

I’m sure, as an experienced Wings get-together attendee, your advice will be lapped up by Wuffing Dug and Ronnie.

Typing about them, they’ve been awfie quiet of late…

69. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

Keeping with your theme – one from my tender youth, via “Children’s Favourites”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7_IMEvr9ek

And a classic loco, for anoraks…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7qV5_dc26vo

70. X_Sticks

@Brian

Awfie.

Not much to it really. Date, time, pub.

Some little hitler ruled out the 23 Jan, so the suggested date was, I think, the 30th.

Pub and time were mentioned back up the thread somewhere. If fact were there not two pubs across the road from each other. Pub crawling was also mentioned…

Ronnie? Wuffing?

71. Ian Brotherhood

Not everyone likes John Martyn, but if you do like him you’ll love this.

Big Muff (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btRv4MnPOBE

72. Thepnr

There are some that would say that this is the world’s very first Rock n Roll song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LvKDr8AgvK8

73. Ian Brotherhood

And this Martyn track’s just magical, something shamanic about it, especially at this time of year.

Includes Aly Bain, and other well-kent folk.

‘Don’t Want To Know’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=stRmPH0PbPs

74. Wuffing Dug

Bdtt – Xsticks – Paula

Sorry not been posting got pre-Christmas fatigue.
    Family coming here, work busy, nights out, no shopping done – need to get my shit together.

Aye, 30th Jan sounds good – Archibald Simpson / Blackfriars combo.

Archibalds – your typical big witherspoon kinda place.
    Blackfriars – small, intimate – a quieter ‘pub goers pub’.

Personally, will be sampling both on the nite.

7pm or thereabouts everybody?

No heard from Ronnie in a good while, hope he ok.

75. Thepnr

@Paula

Slow down there girl πŸ™‚

I said there “were some that would say” I wasn’t one of them LOL.

“Ida Red” by Bob Wills and the Texas Playboys, recorded in 1938 by a Western swing band, featuring electric guitar by Eldon Shamblin. The tune was recycled again some years later by Chuck Berry in “Maybellene”.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Origins_of_rock_and_roll

How about Bob Wills and “Smoke on the Water” from 1945?

76. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

‘Pfft’

What’s up?

You sound a bit deflated.

77. Paula Rose

Feeling better now.

78. Thepnr

Just for you Paula and Ian. See what that last beer is gone, this is what you resort too! Just ask Stan the man πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z3ftzUsBfac

79. Ronnie

Hi, BDDT, X-S & Wuffers.

Still here, tho’ haven’t checked in for a while.

Yep, I’m still up for a bash at the suggested venues on Jan 30.

But as I said to Wuff, I don’t see much Wings support in Aberdeen. So it seems kinda cheeky expecting folk fae a’ the airts to go to so much time and travel if we can’t represent the Hame team very well.

But let’s see if one or two ‘Church Notices’ slipped into the threads get a few more bites.

Aye, would definitely be looking at you, X-Sticks, for any tips and ideas.

Strippers and the like?

80. Clapper57

Looking through Amazon under books …minding ma own business… as yae do… …..and oh my God I started to read reviews by one William Podmore ….name familiar….on none other than Alex Salmond’s book…yae know the one… and also ZE Cochrane Diaries.

Surprisingly he only gave Alex’s book 1 star and The Cochrane Diaries 4…..I did not expect that…no sir I did not.

Jeezo he likes to Spread the word…..and Jeezo he disnae half get aroond ….man with a mission is he no…..he’s like a feckin Dalek…exterminate…exterminate….oh the negative banter…..Nil stars tae u podmeister …..yir reviews were boggin !!!

81. Paula Rose

Where is Aberdecadent? Is it near Brechin?

82. Quinie frae Angus

I am up for Wings over Aberdeen on 30th Jan. Looking forward to it already.

83. Paula Rose

Quinie Honey xxx

84. Capella

I could probably get to a WoS do in Aberdeen – weather permitting I.e. not blin’ drift. Will check back for venue.

85. Lenny Hartley

Was planning a visit to Aberdeen end Jan to pick up some motorbike bits so will try and schedule that trip to coincide with Wos night out.

86. X_Sticks

Wuffing Dug says:
    “Aye, 30th Jan sounds good – Archibald Simpson / Blackfriars combo.
    Archibalds – your typical big witherspoon kinda place.
    Blackfriars – small, intimate – a quieter β€˜pub goers pub’.
    Personally, will be sampling both on the nite.
    7pm or thereabouts everybody?”

Cheers WD – looks like the plan is made. Spread the word.

@Ronnie – This? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GzdfYUiivEQ and ye cannae whack Nitromors. Best idea I ever had was an independent Scotland πŸ˜‰

@Paula Rose – Oop norf dear, a fair walk in heels..

Look forward to seeing you too Quinie πŸ™‚

@Lenny – I hope you’ll drag that auld wastrel Collinson along. Huvnae seen him fur a whiley.

87. Ronnie

Right! We’re on then!

Wings over Aberdeen.

30 January 2016

Venue(s);

Old Blackfrairs.

http://www.oldblackfriars-aberdeen.co.uk/gallery

Cosy, good for meeting up, but likely to create small groups.

Diagonally opposite, we have…

The Archibald Simpson.

Used to be the Clydesdale Bank. Spacious. Maybe better if we are a crowd.

https://www.jdwetherspoon.com/pubs/all-pubs/scotland/aberdeen/the-archibald-simpson-aberdeen

I’ve started a list of ‘interested’ persons-

Wuffing Dog
    X-Sticks
    BddT
    Paula Rose
    Quinie frae Angus
    Fran
    Capella
    Lenny Hartley

And, of course, yours truly.

I’ll add to this as necessary, and we can confirm nearer the day (night).

Say 7pm as a starting time?

BTW, X-Sticks – I’ve nae idea fit yer on aboot wi’ the Nitromors.

Personally I find a combination of TCP and Germoloids works for me.

BddT – I’ve ticked the email box below, thanks.

(Fit am I lettin masel in for?)

Hope you can do some of your famous badges!

88. Thepnr

@Ronnie

Hurrah! Will try my best to be there and very happy with your choice of venues. Blackfriars ideal for a smaller crowd and the option to cross over the road if we get a bit full is ideal.

Hope to see you there.

89. Ronnie

Thepnr,

et tu, Brute!

Yer ‘On the List’.

90. jdman

count me and Irene in Ronnie (I’ll have to try and get the Sunday off)

Anybody like piano
    this guys the dogs bollocks
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9fAZIQ-vpdw&list=RD9fAZIQ-vpdw#t=5

91. Ronnie

jdman,

Gotcha!

btw, I enjoy your early morning ‘reviews’.

So, looking forward to meeting you and the formidable Irene.

92. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie.

You typed,
    “Strippers and the like?”

I guess this is what you meant? We’ve never had them at a Wings get-together before but I’m willing to immerse myself in your strange Loon ways…

http://www.clasohlson.com/medias/sys_master/8872568913950.jpg

BTW: add ‘Pete The Camera’ to your ad hoc list. No badges without Pete.

93. X_Sticks

Just had a look for reasonable accommodation in the vicinity and you can get a double room in Premier just a five (if that) minute walk away for Β£29. Hmmmm…

http://www.premierinn.com/gb/en/hotels/scotland/grampian/aberdeen/aberdeen-city-centre.html?ARRdd=23&ARRmm=12&ARRyyyy=2015&ROOMS=1&ADULT1=1&CHILD1=0&COT1=0&INTTYP1=DB

94. Luigi

Count me in, Ronnie.

It’s about time I met some of you jokers. πŸ™‚

95. X_Sticks

@Ronnie

Lord Muck of Byre @fitlikemin01 just tweeted me that he would like his name added to the ABZ BeeZA list.

I’m sure I should know Lord Muck but can’t think. I suspect I’ll regret it πŸ˜€

96. X_Sticks

Haha. fitlikemin01. Mal B. Cracked it! See ya there Mal πŸ˜€

97. Capella

@ jdman
    I like piano – all kinds. Here’s Bugge Wesseltoft “Stille Nacht” from It’s Snowing on My Piano – seasonal. So laid back it falls off the edge.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfszuSNfoHQ

98. Thepnr

Did Ian Brotherhood once play this?

Black Lace – I Am The Music Man

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTZZjemferM

99. Thepnr

This is how you win battles against oppression. It’s done with sarcasm, humour and a wee bit of bravery thrown in.

This is how Mel Brooks took on the established thinking (racism) of the time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZT7xLjxuhs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=boO4RowROiw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L7QF32mxftE

First two are only 2 min and 1 min long, last one is the best though 4 min, reminds me of our idiot media. Enjoy because this is how we win!

100. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr (10.23) –

‘Did Ian Brotherhood once play this?’

No.

He did not.

101. Paula Rose

Hand-bags down boys.

102. Ian Brotherhood

But I may have once played this…

…aaah! The Best of British!

Black Lace, ‘Conga’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0V6N4elMVX4

103. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Was probably me then eek πŸ™‚

104. Ronnie

Re-WoA.

We are 15 – so far.

105. Thepnr

Last one ever from Blazing Saddles and if you didn’t watch the earlier ones you should feel ashamed for visiting Off Topic in the first place πŸ™‚

This guy reminds you of anyone?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tr9xVmCL0bA

106. Thepnr

OK I lied, I lied because this is too good to miss

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNC3OciAF3w

Guess you know now what of of the films that shaped my life were. We all need to get REAL.

107. Paula Rose

Thepnr – BEDTIME honey, off you pop, busy day tomorrow xx

108. Thepnr

Night Paula xx LOL

109. X_Sticks

Off to Edinburgh to spend Xmas with the kids, so just in case I don’t get an opportunity due to ‘over-carousing’, as those who know me know I am wont to do, I’d just like to wish all you lovely O/T anarchists an especially wonderful Xmas and a happy, prosperous and peaceful New Year.

It’s funny how the twists and turns of life bring such a bunch of disparate folk together. So glad I have managed to meet most of you. An unexpected but welcome payback from our fight for control of our country.

I know some have had their losses this year and I hope you pain is not too great and that you manage to put it behind you and look forwards to the New Year. It’ll be an uphill struggle to the May election but we need to stay strong and not let the british establishment wear us down. There’s only their media to beat now, the unionist politicians have lost the plot and are becoming increasingly irrelevant. Onwards and upwards.

Peace and love to you all.
    Colin

110. cearc

Well done Colin for the Premier Inn link. I had been looking up hotels in the evening before I went to sleep and that is cheaper than the Ibis.

So I’ll probably be there unless we get loads of snow and ice.

111. Ian Brotherhood

@X_Sticks –

Have a richt guid yin buddy – will raise one to you this evening!

πŸ˜‰

112. Lenny Hartley

Put Rab Colinson do on fur the ever deid shindig.

Here’s wishing all fellow wossers a good Christmas and even better new year.

113. Lenny Hartley

Bloody predictive txt sorry that should be Aberdeen no ever deid!!!

114. Thepnr

@Lenny Hartley

I quite like the idea of an “ever deid” shindig for wossers though having had this discussion before I think most preferred the term Wingers πŸ™‚

115. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Merry Christmas to all ‘off-topickers’. Here’s my Christmas musical offering – one you can all join in with, while quaffing your tipple of choice.

HIC!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=peTbq1IRx2E

116. Brian Doonthetoon

And if you want to see something hilarious, watch this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BRp7ezUqbI

When I showed my son this, he opined that, perhaps, they thought they were snakes. Thick, green snakes…

117. Thepnr

@BDTT

That last video was funny as hell. The Rev would love that. Cheers πŸ™‚

118. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ™‚ Good stuff.

I suspect your son may be right – makes sense.

Here’s a wee foot-tapper to help whittle down these hours of wrapping and imbibing…

Cheers all!

The Pogues, ‘White City’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BJIoDTcPGds

119. smithie

Get dancing an prove em Tories wrong Lolz.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbM9Qa4nE3g

120. kendomacaroobar

Wishing me old wings muckers a very happy christmas and peaceful and prosperous new year.

I wonder if I may take the liberty of asking you to spread the word about a fellow winger who is going through a bit of a tough time at the moment and is currently living in an old caravan without power, heat or toilet facilities.

Fiona looks after rescue dogs and recently came home to Scotland from France with the dogs having had digs already sorted. Suffice to say that that plan fell through and she is now living in cold damp conditions which she is putting a brave face on.

If you can help with her fundraiser that would be brilliant, if you can promote it – even better. Thank you. Fiona is in Forgue near Huntly.

Here’s the link : https://www.generosity.com/animal-pet-fundraising/people-with-pet-dogs-who-become-homeless

121. X_Sticks

@kendo

Contributed a wee bit to that worthy cause. I hope Fiona gets some backing to get back on her feet.

Special thanks to you too kendo for that wee thing you did for the December issue of iScot. Much appreciated.

Have a really good one Ken.

Raising a glass to all the Wingers today, yer a fine bunch πŸ˜€

122. kendomacaroonbar

@X_Sticks Thank you for your help. Fiona deserves a break, she never complains and is always upbeat – but nobody should have to settle for these conditions and having the responsibility for the dogs meant that her options for accomodation were severely curtailed.

@Ronnie, if you’re organising a WoS ‘Hale & Hearty’ in Aberdeen, you’re not a million miles away from our Fiona. She is digging out holes for fence posts to create a secure area for the animals at the same time trying to keep body and soul together. Invite her to the doo, she’d be delighted to meet with you guys. One small snag is that she’s no e mail access unless she gets to the library. She’s one of us – we look after our own. Apologies for the emotional blackmail but I need to help the lassie any way I can.

123. X_Sticks

@Kendo

DM’d you on twitter…

124. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Trust you are all enjoying Christmas Day, in whatever way? What would you say – I’ll ask, if I may.

Gonna do two posts here…

Just caught, on BBC News’ review of the year, that “Twinkle” died in 2015. When I checked on Wikipedia, she died on 21st May. I think I may have missed the news due to post-election result euphoria. From her Wikipedia page:-

“Lynn Annette Ripley (15 July 1948 – 21 May 2015), better known by the stage name Twinkle, was an English singer-songwriter. She had chart successes in the 1960s with her best known songs, “Terry” and “Golden Lights””
    and
    “Her song “Terry” was a teenage tragedy song about the death of a boyfriend in a motorcycle crash. Big Jim Sullivan, Jimmy Page and Bobby Graham were among the high profile star session musicians who played on the recording, which conjured up a dark mood with its doleful backing vocals, spooky organ, 12-string guitar and slow, emphatic rhythm arranged by Phil Coulter.”

Some big names in there. So, just for a change, here’s “Golden Lights”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S76TECd53dc

125. Brian Doonthetoon

Bought a rare ‘Tully” last night, because it has a TV guide for right up to Sunday. BBC1 is crap tonight, after Doctor Who.

Onnyhoo, I noticed that at 8.50pm, Channel 5 is showing “Chas & Dave’s Xmas Knees Up!”. This is well worth watching, as it features their old pals Albert Lee and Eric Clapton, from the days before they became known for their cheeky, Cockney ditties.

It’s repeated at 8.05pm tomorrow (Saturday), if you miss it tonight.

Here’s a preview:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGU63KqXuZk

126. Brian Doonthetoon

And if you like to dip into ‘country rock’, search for,

“Heads Hands & Feet”

in YouTube and you’ll hear what Chas Hodges was up to with Albert Lee. Like this one (with a fleeting glimpse of Chas on violin, right at the start):-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mn4is2Lv2Rc

127. Al Dossary

@Brian Doonthetoon

Chas & Dave ? I would sooner walk barefoot across broken glass. I had the misfortune of sitting through an hour of them, live at Rebellion festival in Blackpool 2 years ago.

Picture the Empress ballroom in Blackpool Winter Gardens with some 2,000 assorted punks and skins all singing along to “Rabbit, Rabbit…..” in their best cockney accent.

For a bloody hour I put up with it – all because I needed decent seats in the area above to see the Cockney Rejects followed by Cocksparrer to close out the Saturday night (my wife and 12yo kid were with me and we were all knackered on day 3 of a 4 day festival event !)

128. Ian Brotherhood

Bizarre Boxing Day Leftovers:

William Shatner, ‘Rocket Man’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hARDXYz2io

129. smithie

Ian @ 8.21pm,
    lucky i found the off button or i would have to saw my ears off.
    Please, gonnae no dae that.
    This is much more soothing
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bTNLYeaL7No

130. Ian Brotherhood

@Smithie –

Fair do’s. πŸ™‚

But give this one a chance – surprisingly good methinks – you know it makes sense!

Leonard Nimoy, ‘I Walk The Line’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9NSpAdGxgU

131. smithie

As Monty would say,
    and now for something completely different.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpuMXRlLiQI

132. Smithie

Ian, NNNOOOOOOOOOO, i aint even gonna click it Lol,heard it ya bug**r.
    I got two choices here, shoot ma’sel or you bud lol.

133. smithie

P.S Ian don’t even bother putting up “Wandering Star” by Lee Marvin. LOLZ

134. Smithie

T’is the season to be Merry
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUSd_RYnxAY

135. Ian Brotherhood

@smithie –

Okay, I promise…no more Star Trek people singing. Not tonight anyway… πŸ˜‰

Here’s an interesting version of ‘Danny Boy’, as being listened to by Robert Shaw’s character in Miller’s Crossing. He has a unique method of dealing with cold-callers (not good quality but best I could find) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x20TMRnPR40

136. smithie

Err Em Ian please don’t be offended if i say i can’t manage your “Family Gathering”, A bit “Busy” for me. A wee bit loud lol

137. smithie

Heartfelt condolences go out to those that are in danger of flooding tonight no matter where you may be

138. Brian Doonthetoon

Nah, Chas & Dave were fine live. Saw them three or four times at the ‘Bowlin’ Alley’ Students’ Union in Dundee. They were always entertaining.

If they could work in Dundee, they must have being doing something right.

After all, we ran Churchill out of town…

139. smithie

Yea Brian, but he was still a UKOK fucker in the long run, just like the rest of them, and that was what? 70/90 years ago?, nothings changed

140. smithie

Positive thoughts folks, WE will win

141. Ian Brotherhood

Motorhead, ‘Eat The Rich’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OvzePsDYv7k

142. Brian Doonthetoon

RE: Lemmy.

I’ve always liked this one, from ’75 or there aboots…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6OuyJKnIyU

(Got the 12″, on the ‘Flicknife’ label…)

143. Brian Doonthetoon

I find it ‘interesting’, that the BBC transferred both James Cook (he who pursued Nicola in George Square) and Laura Bicker (BBC London’s ‘Scottish correspondent’ – just seen her reporting from Washington DC) to the USA, subsequent to the referendum vote.

Perchance they had been discovered to be reading from the wrong hymn book?

Makes you wonder…

144. Ian Brotherhood

Where’s Cameron B Brodie these days?

Haven’t seen him around for a bit…

‘Broadsword calling CamB…come in CamB..come in CamB…’

145. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Aye, it’d be interesting to see what’s happened to the new intakes BBC Scotland had for indy-ref…how are they faring?

Will we see some of them, in the fullness of time, replacing the ageing Bird, Taylor et al (whoever he is)?

That crop may, at the very least, throw-up a potential replacement for Jamie McIver – a more unlikely choice for radio would be hard to imagine, given that he always sounds like he’s speaking through one nostril.

146. Ian Brotherhood

This tune always gives me the proper skin-crawling creeps, but it’s still awesome, and would make a suitably impressive fanfare for Lemmy as he goes through the pearly gates (or t’other ones?!)

Andre Rieu, ‘O Fortuna’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GD3VsesSBsw

147. smithie

Jeezus Ian FFS. Your’e weird man lol.
    Out of curiosity (if your married) what the fu*k was your wedding song?

148. Ian Brotherhood

@smithie –

No wedding song.

Gretna Green.

Pair of by-passing old-dears as witnesses…

Lake District for honeymoon, six bottles of champagne…lorra lorra laughs…scant but happy memories.

πŸ™‚

149. smithie

Ah cool Ian, my daughter did that also, good times/memories

150. Ian Brotherhood

When Paula Rose goes amiss, like a moody cat, the only way to get her back is to put out a wee bit of her favourite dish.

So, here goes:

The White Stripes, ‘I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fC7PEQnjKl4

151. Ian Brotherhood

Not exactly a ‘wedding song’, but one we were playing a lot at the time. πŸ˜‰

Reef, ‘Come Back Brighter’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdjTMPENylo

152. Paula Rose

I can’t come out – it’s too embarrassing, that quiz thingie – ruined I am ruined.

153. smithie

Not bad at all, (never heard that). They should probably come down here (Earth) and they might sell some records

154. Ronnie

Ian Brotherhood.

Me and Mrs Ronnie have loved ‘O Fortuna’ for many years, but we’ve not seen/heard Andre’s version before.

I note it’s had over 31 million views.

Absolutely superb – thanks!

155. smithie

Paula, shush, we know you are only trying to make us mortals feel better. Thanks anyway.

156. Ian Brotherhood

Okay, so she’s still not coming out?

Hmm…

Let’s try this…

Susan Cadogan, ‘Hurts So Good’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fASRDQ6QQA

157. Ronnie

Wiki link, for anyone interested…

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/O_Fortuna

158. smithie

Ah Ian, now that brings back good memories, youth/innocence/hope/invincobility/we know best.

159. smithie

Those times are as clear as day. Sometimes i wish??, naw prob not, but hey ho they were good

160. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Aha!

(She hath emerged, but only sniffed at the bowl in a cynical style…)

Did you do worse than 45%?

If so, begone with ye, and never darken O/T again!

Only joshing!

:0 πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

161. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie –

Cheers for the Wiki link.

Not sure why that tune is so scary. I associate it with the mid-70’s, when I still hadn’t seen The Exorcist, but had seen The Omen, and it definitely evokes both, although it may not have even featured in either. There was a cassette-tape of it in the house, and I would play it when my parents weren’t about – must’ve felt subversive in some way?

And there’s something about the way the players all stand so still…waaaaah!

Still gives me the heebies big-time. πŸ™

162. smithie

Ian Brotherhood says:
    29 December, 2015 at 10:49 pm

@Paula Rose –

Aha!

(She hath emerged, but only sniffed at the bowl in a cynical style…)

Did you do worse than 45%?

If so, begone with ye, and never darken O/T again!

Only joshing!
    Well Jeez Paula good luck on that one Lol, get those heels polished

163. Paula Rose

Kicked off heels danced round room to Ian’s choices, collapse on sofa – put on spangly DMs and pogo!

youtube.com/watch?v=yo7hAyonWqE … …

164. Smithie

Ach Paula shoulda kent better, no sweat, you rock

165. Paula Rose

Can’t even put a link up properly anymore *sobs inconsolably*

166. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B & Ronnie.

You’ve both probably forgotten that you know ‘O Fortuna’ from this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rbZr7YoqK0

167. smithie

Sorry that i even had the audacity to doubt you (telt)

168. smithie

hi paula scared in a way to say IanPaula little finger wrap around, naw shurely naw Lol

169. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula –

I’ll polish the heels if you stay up for one more?

Nina Simone, ‘Revolution’ (live, Harlem, 1969) =

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4BTNjeKqpEk

170. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B & Ronnie.

Going back to my post at 11.08…

I’ve been digging. That ad I linked to is probably the reason why I bought the album at the link below, at the end of the 70s. I subsequently bought the same album on CD.

It was the first (and only) LP I bought that was quadraphonic, ie 4 channel stereo.

http://www.discogs.com/Carl-Orff-AndrΓ©-Previn-London-Symphony-Orchestra-London-Symphony-Orchestra-Chorus-St-Clement-Danes-/release/2486751

171. Paula Rose

@ Smithie Honey Ian and I go back a long way – we have had our ups and downs along the way – but I always have a special place for him.

172. Ronnie

Bddt..

Sharp chap, you could well be right. I don’t know for sure that I would have heard it before then, although I had been into the classics for years.

But the ad had no effect on me – never drank ‘Old Spice’.

I was more of a Newkie Broon back then.

173. Paula Rose

Getting late – feeling much better, thank you for your kind words – I’m off to play with my pussy for a few minutes then sleepy-byes.

174. yesindyref2

In honour of the weather

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=def3ob2h-1s

175. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie.

I never drank Old Spice either – in those days, vodka & coke was my tipple of choice.

However, I did find that if you slabbered Old Spice a’ ower yir puhss, a satisfactory proportion of ladies of the opposite gender expressed a preference for its odour.

Which was nice…

176. Brian Doonthetoon

Brut was its equal…

177. Ian Brotherhood

If Thom Yorke rocks yer boat, here’s some new stuff, recorded at the Paris climate change summit a few weeks ago…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgpyF6PDrEw

178. Ronnie

Bdtt,

Well, what used to work for me was Badedas. Nae complaints!

Hey! I just checked – apparently it’s still available.

Hmm…

179. Ian Brotherhood

Betcha Jools Holland won’t have anything like this!

πŸ™‚

James Brown, live in Kinshasa, Zaire, 1974 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4N-NrucQcB8

180. Ian Brotherhood

…and definitely nothing like this!

Shooglenifty and the Dohl Drummers of Rajasthan –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kwbRk_0dfsA

181. Ian Brotherhood

Bay City Rollers, ‘Bye Bye Baby’ (live, 2015) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cYcpcPvGHZ0

182. Ian Brotherhood

Sydney Devine, ‘Old Shep’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=juaTJobdtWY

183. Ian Brotherhood

Someone’s gonny hufty stop me!

Fran and Anna, ‘Scottish Singalong Montage’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNGFJMJaqGU

184. Ian Brotherhood

This is ‘Last Call’, with ‘The Rev David Goodchild’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fuw6lYVAlaI

185. Ian Brotherhood

Fulton’s final ‘Last Call’, from 1999 (Did he know? He says goodbye at 6.02)-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CPSDatGhmMo

186. Ian Brotherhood

‘Outlander’ theme –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GOVF1dSFhqk

187. Paula Rose

Happy New Year Folks xx

188. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

You too.

Hoots!

189. cearc

Happy New Year all.

Fran and Anna, eh? Makes me feel five years old!

190. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Fond bestest to you, yours, and all the wee birdies.

πŸ™‚ X

191. Ian Brotherhood

Black, ‘Wonderful Life’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uERD1heDU_Q

192. Ian Brotherhood

If you can’t dance to this, even at this time of night, you’re as well as deid:

Talking Heads, ‘Life During Wartime’ (live)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obAtn6I5rbY

193. Ian Brotherhood

Magazine, ‘Shot By Both Sides’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDWOegU5rps

194. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I suppose, Paula Rose, that you’ve seen this already – if not, please accept it as a New Year Pressy:

Kilburn & The High Roads, ‘Vidiot’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i6SxxjnAr2c

195. Ian Brotherhood

Aaaah, too late, too little time to get it all in..

But this?

Live Stiffs, Big Finale

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iUXL93XvCXQ

196. Ghillie

HAPPY HAPPY NEW YEAR FOLKS!!!

Wishing you all joy and peace in this new hopeful year 2016!

Another year closer to Independence!

Thank you Rev Stu and fellow Wingers for being there for me.

197. maureen

Put me down as a definite for wings over aberdeen!

198. Brian Doonthetoon

Happy New Year to all off-topickers and visitors to Quarantine!

Re: Wings Over Aberdeen, 30th January.

No doubt Ronnie and/or Wuffing Dug will posting here regularly with the details to keep the info fresh. In the meantime; as usual, Pete and I will be producing ‘Wings Over Aberdeen’ badges, for those there on the night.

If you’re going, and you want a badge, nip over to Quarantine (link at bottom left of this page) and leave a post saying so.

I think the Aberdeen badges will be quite special…

199. Ronnie

Maureen, you’re on the list.

Details upthread at 23 December, 7.31pm.

See you there!

200. Ronnie

BDtt,

Wot – nae Doric?

201. Brian Doonthetoon

I have reclaimed this post from the ‘/the-slightly-tubby-quiz-of-the-year/’ page, coz I posted it there in error, by mistake, accidentally.
    —————————————–

Consistency of design, Ronnie.

We use the same form of English for the badges, that Rev Stu uses for his posts.

Previous ideas that got the bum’s rush were β€˜Wings Ower Gowrie, Iye?’, β€˜Wings Ower Weegieland, no?’ and β€˜Wings Uvva Embra, Dentcha Know”.

β€œWings Over Somerset” made the cut but I understand there was only one Winger and several separats at that get-together.

8=)

202. Ronnie

BDtt,

Roger, Bajeeman.

Ower & oot.

203. Thepnr

First off a Happy New Year to all that frequent Off Topic. I hadn’t checked in for a few days and just spent the last half hour catching up with all the links.

Ian Brotherhood you have excelled yourself πŸ™‚ all of that was pure magic even had me close to tears at some points. Loved it though!

You people are amazing, amazingly different.

I don’t feel I can better anything musical that appeared earlier, I’ll try this as my new year treat to you all.

“Lawson goes bonkers”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BX3tr8uGYuI

204. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Hoots mister.

One way or another, an ‘interesting’ year stretches before us…

πŸ™‚

205. Ian Brotherhood

James Brown, quelling a potential riot on the night after Martin Luther King was assassinated –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZ2PEJGeNHw

206. Thepnr

My God! My Fucking God!

Maybe Lawson wasn’t bonkers after all? I’d forgotten just why I hated Thatcher so much.

Now can someone please get a ladder and peel me off from the ceiling.

Ta very muckle.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vu7kZdbI2sg

207. Thepnr

Ian Brotherhood

Another excellent find, I love this place. Their is nothing els like it in the world.

208. Paula Rose

I just love the way we allow people who can’t spell to feel at home.

209. Brian Doonthetoon

I feel @ ohm hear…

210. Thepnr

Hey Paula Rose you better apologise els your dead πŸ™‚

Happy New Year honey xxx

211. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers for link to the Walden interview.

‘Strong leadership will continue.’

What a telling wee sentence, appealing to her core audience, who haven’t changed a jot.

I have relatives who (I now know) voted Tory in the 80s and 90s – curiously, not one of them was a party member, was ‘active’ in any way, or even admitted it at the time.

Those are the ‘No’ voters who did for us and will never ever change – they admired the ‘strong leader’ and secretly enjoyed what her party was doing, even when they knew (post-Miners strike) that it was ripping the heart out of our own communities.

I’ll never forget that beast and I’ll never ever forgive the ‘Scots’ – relatives or not – who voted for the interests she served.

212. Ian Brotherhood

Aye fell art hemm here *sniff* an ah pure loveyouseaw so ahdoo…*hic*

Anyway, we saw upthread (11.54) how James Brown dealt with a dodgy situation involving race riots.

Here’s how the BBC’s flagship rolling news programme, with its most experienced anchors, dealt with a quite-big one in 2011:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biJgILxGK0o

213. cearc

What! Only peeple who can speel are allowed a quick feel in public?

Equal rights for non-spellers, or els!

214. Patrician

Better late than never, Happy New Year to all.

215. Thepnr

Ian

Still laughing, but you’ve got to.

“Have some respect” Indeed.

216. Thepnr

This is not a joke, and I’m not losing my mind. You know that link I put up where “Lawson goes bonkers”?

The number of views since I put it up have gone DOWN from 7006 to 7005 LOL. Twats, can’t even get the manipulation of the media right FRO.

217. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

πŸ™‚

If we keep re-posting it, who knows? It may have no views at all by Sunday.

Anyway, good stuff the nicht, given that many must be getting a bit jaded…and delighted to see that you’re using ‘FRO’ – it may catch on. There’s plenty to apply it to!

Hoots, as ever.

218. Thepnr

This is for my very good friend Paula Rose.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I93ySM-PNKM

219. Wuffing Dug

Bit late here but happy new year everyone.

Thought I was going to have a quiet one but it’s been the opposite.

Just starting to feel vaguely human again, too much beer and bad food – can’t handle it any more.

This Wings Over Aberdeen thing is really gathering pace!

Bdtt – nice one r.e. the badges – superb.

Just so everyone knows here’s the details again:

Sat 30th January, Archibald Simpson and Blackfriars Aberdeen pub double bill. 7pm meeting time. Probably better everyone meets in Archibalds – more room, then we could visit Blackfriars which is a great wee place just across the road.

I would post links but they never seem to work for me although I might have managed to further up the thread.

Hey Ronnie – how’s things with you? All good I hope.

I’m getting another dug at the end of the month, looks like I’ll have to re-arrange pick up after WOA now. Can’t wait to get her but priorities n that πŸ™‚

Going for curry the night and there’s still beer left Hmmmm nom nom. Weather shite up here in Aberdeen so why not….

Don is really high, hope there aren’t more scenes like a couple of days ago.

220. carjamtic

Ronnie

Please add my name to WoS in Aberdeen

Blackfriars at 7pm ( poss. plus one,working on it :-))

Cheers
    Brian

221. Thepnr

Have always liked this tune.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44zix8j-8UE

222. Thepnr

Or even this. So good I played it thrice πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTBl-Xq2auY

223. Al Dossary

Well folks, enjoy your wee night on the 30th January. Neither of your venues are on my top 10 in Aberdeen, but they are well known and easy to find.

I spent most of my drinking time in the Granite City in the dive bar just around the corner – The Moorings ! Interesting pub, with one of the most varied clientele in the city – not to mention a Pinball machine. Incidentally it was a Mod pub back in the 1960’s I hear which fits with some of your musical choices.

224. Thepnr

Have you lot all fell asleep? Ach, lightweights!

225. Dave McEwan Hill

Always get a bit maudlin at the New Year remembering the thousands of good friends that I have marched with over the last half century on the road to independence and who are no longer with us. I dedicate this aptly named great record to them

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MH_wHuM0JEA

226. cearc

Zzzzzzzz…..

227. Ian Brotherhood

@Dave McEwan Hill –

Nice one!

P.S. @Thepnr – You still up? πŸ™‚

228. Thepnr

Sumdae say something, what? Hi Ian πŸ™‚

229. Ian Brotherhood

Richard Burton, ‘Court Scene’ in ‘The Medusa Touch’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLDmyP2g8Oc

230. Ian Brotherhood

Richard Burton, ‘The Medusa Touch’, final scene…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUGhEbuptxU

231. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I hear you brother, since we’re on the subject of actors. I’ll bet you didn’t know this guy could sing. Well sort of πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHNekNDO5wM

232. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

πŸ™‚

Soo-perb. Never seen it before…

What about this one?

I’ve definitely posted it before, but not sure if you’ve seen it – Harris and Peter O’Toole, out for the day to see the rugby.

Imagine the stories this pair must’ve swapped after a few?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cOU3gDncP4k

233. smithie

Gosh you peeps stay up late.
    Is this where we remini–remona-, anyway, think back to our youth?.
    This has to up there on my list (still hoping she will give me a call)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4bD1GVT-WIk

234. Smithie

Ooops sorry, happy new year to you all, may you all be blessed with good health and a free Scotland in the future.

235. smithie

Lolzs just getting the hang of this new year party doings.
    Somebody stop me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aO5GWJJP3FM

236. Smithie

This song only had 3 words to it.Think i’ve got it now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aO5GWJJP3FM

237. smithie

This is easier to learn with one,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQQ5sEOhbjQ

238. Ian Brotherhood

Marlon Brando in interview with Dick Cavett, 1973.

This is part 4 of 6, but it’s all good stuff –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_nXWeMFEt4

PS – HNY smithie! πŸ™‚

239. smithie

Awe ra best Ian, cheers

240. smithie

For those with insomnia and also like to dance, this will keep you going to 7am tomorrow.
    Gaun yersel’s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-iYBIsLFbKo

241. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi smithie.

You must like Lieutenant Pigeon – you posted it twice!

So you may find this mash-up I put together in the 70s of interest.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reemeYrAjus

242. smithie

Oops sorry Brian. Enjoyed your mash up though cheers

243. smithie

Brian, does that jacket of many buckles come in many colours or just white?

244. smithie

Breaking news.
    A sneaky peek for winner of Perth races tomorrow ( keep it to yersells)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEOpX8tmiUI

245. Ian Brotherhood

Indulge me people…one more Peter O’Toole clip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=usNndc8NthA

246. Brian Doonthetoon

Rev Stu tweeted this:-

“Dear Unionists, we’re all boycotting eating rusty nails.”

Somebody did point out that they are drunk, rather than eaten. I was introduced to the “Roostie Nail” by my first wife’s brother, in the Highwayman (now gone) on Dundee’s Hilltown.

In the early 80s, as suggested to me, it consisted of one measure of Drambuie and two measures of Glenfiddich. Actually any whisky works. I spent a pleasant Friday night making steak pies, while quaffing ‘Roostie Nails’, which were 50/50 Drambuie and Bell’s.

After avoiding Bell’s for decades, I actually find I quite like its subtle hint of peatiness, that other blends, like Grant’s, don’t have.

247. Betty Boop

It’s a wee bit late, but, to all friends on Wings, a guid new year.

248. smithie

Ian@ 10 49pm. yea he was a great drinker etc but not a great roll model. i would love to know if he thought Scotland should be free. i tell you what, i bet he couldnt give a shit. Funny yeah but does us no good

249. Paula Rose

Hi folks just popped in for a wee rest – silly Rev’s gone and been really daft now, I’ve got lots of lovely little yessers crying on my shoulder over on Twitter because they are on his list and losing followers or getting nasty abuse.

250. smithie

All the best Betty Boop

251. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

Happy New Year to you and Jim! Yooz twa making the trip to Wings Over Aberdeen? Cearc’s found a cheapish hotel…

252. Thepnr

Hi Betty

A Happy New Year to you and Jim.

253. Betty Boop

Thanks smithie and Bdtt.

A/deen kinda unlikely, Brian. Good on Cearc though! πŸ™‚

254. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

Only “kinda unlikely”? That’s promising! How could there be a ‘Wings Over…’ that doesn’t have the Troon input?

255. smithie

Guys i would love to be there, my daughter is QHSE manager of a company there in Aberdeen and travels the world( and a yesser) I’m just a bit shy, sorry

256. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi smithie.

We could get Paula Rose to take you under her Wings. She’s particularly good with shy boys but her Wings work with girls as well – or so I’ve heard…

257. cearc

Betty Boop,

Happy New Year to you and Jim as well.

Not coming? First bad news of the new year,

258. Ronnie

What? This is Monday, Jan4?

Good grief!

Reviewing posts…

carjamtic (aka Brian?) On the list. Look forward to meeting you. (Plus one?).

smithie, Aw, come on, you know you want to, you’ll be amongst friends. I’ve not been to a WoS do either. As a retired QM myself, I’d enjoy a chat about your daughter’s success in her chosen field.

Alternatively, you could always ask your daughter to represent you?

Yes?

259. CameronB Brodie

The new year already getting too much for you? Gin not your thing? Well, here’s an alternative remedy.

I’ll see you there Paula. πŸ˜‰

The Weirdos – Helium Bar
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mV0W5YUVqB8

260. CameronB Brodie

I’m so tempted to post an Electric Six track but know it will probably be misconstrued as homophobic. Bummer. πŸ™

261. X_Sticks

The Main thread on Wings right now is “Towards a better, kinder 2016”

In the spirit of that I’m reposting Ken’s posts from 24/25th Dec. I went to visit Fiona today and Ken isn’t kidding about the conditions. She’s surviving, but not much more. Similar conditions to some of the refugee camps in Calais & Dover. She’s now at least got a gas heater and a camping stove so she can boil water. No running water or electricity at her caravan.

Some of you will know Fiona’s work from the iScot magazine, the article about bees comes to mind. She has a plan to get herself out of her predicament, but is really in need of help to get her over this current hump.

Anything you can contribute will be gratefully received.

kendomacaroobar says:

24 December, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Wishing me old wings muckers a very happy christmas and peaceful and prosperous new year.

I wonder if I may take the liberty of asking you to spread the word about a fellow winger who is going through a bit of a tough time at the moment and is currently living in an old caravan without power, heat or toilet facilities.

Fiona looks after rescue dogs and recently came home to Scotland from France with the dogs having had digs already sorted. Suffice to say that that plan fell through and she is now living in cold damp conditions which she is putting a brave face on.

If you can help with her fundraiser that would be brilliant, if you can promote it – even better. Thank you. Fiona is in Forgue near Huntly.

Here’s the link : https://www.generosity.com/animal-pet-fundraising/people-with-pet-dogs-who-become-homeless

kendomacaroonbar says:

25 December, 2015 at 11:23 am

@X_Sticks Thank you for your help. Fiona deserves a break, she never complains and is always upbeat – but nobody should have to settle for these conditions and having the responsibility for the dogs meant that her options for accomodation were severely curtailed.

@Ronnie, if you’re organising a WoS β€˜Hale & Hearty’ in Aberdeen, you’re not a million miles away from our Fiona. She is digging out holes for fence posts to create a secure area for the animals at the same time trying to keep body and soul together. Invite her to the doo, she’d be delighted to meet with you guys. One small snag is that she’s no e mail access unless she gets to the library. She’s one of us – we look after our own. Apologies for the emotional blackmail but I need to help the lassie any way I can.

262. liz g

@ X stick’s would you find out and confirm if Fiona will make it to the night out please.
    Don’t mean to be criptic and I am not the answer to her difficulties by any stretch of the imagination but would like a chat with her that shouldn’t be done online.
    Thanks

263. X_Sticks

@liz g

Yes, Liz, she does intend to come. Not sure what her plan is for that, but I’ll try and make sure the gets there one way or another.

I did amend the post I put on the main thread when I realised I hadn’t mentioned she was coming on this one.

264. liz g

@ X stick’s
    Well in that case hope to see you both there.

265. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

If you’re going to ‘Wings Over Aberdeen’ and want a personalised badge on the night, stick a post in ‘Quarantine’ (link at bottom left of this page).

266. Paula Rose

Right that’s it no smithie then I’m not coming – I need a new winger to take under my wing, I like the shy ones – I make them blossom.

267. kendomacaroobar

@X_Sticks, Thank you for making the time to visit Fiona. She was delighted to see you and was overwhelmed by your kindness and generosity. You are a good man.

268. X_Sticks

@Kendo

My pleasure Ken.

Have to say I’ve been underwhelmed by the lack of response from Wings regarding Fiona’s crowdfunder. I know it’s not a good time for folk financially, but even a little does make a difference.

Even if a few of the O/T hardcore team could help by pushing her crowdfunder a bit more on here (main thread), facebook and twitter it might make a difference.

269. kendomacaroonbar

@X_Sticks

Even if we can collectively get a few grand in the kitty there is a good possibility of Fiona buying a second hand static home from a local supplier which gets her out of the 6 x 12 caravan and access to integral toliet and shower facilities – that in itself would be a godsend.

If anybody has or knows of a cheap static that could be delivered to aberdeen area – or anyone with a suitcase power generator that they would be prepared to sell off cheaply or donate – please e mail me at kenmcdonald1(at)btopenworld(dot)com

Thank you

Thank you

270. James Caldwell

Interesting article on BBC news website today. Basically a rant from former Labour MP Tom Harris stating that Politicians should be ruder to constituents. He obviously didn’t hear Brian Donohoe’s closing remarks to his former constituents.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/uk-politics-35220243
    at 13.24

271. Wuffing Dug

@X_Sticks

Have donated for Fiona and the dugs.

Must be hellish out there in this weather.
    Will post on my Twitter.

272. kendomacaroonbar

@Wuffing Dug Thank you ! e mail me with your contact details and I’ll give you 1 month free access to iScot Magazine digital library fopr your kindness. Fiona’s articles are contained within. Same offer for any other Wings family members that chip in to Fiona’s fund.

Yours aye

Ken Ken(at)iscot(dot)scot

273. Wuffing Dug

@Kendo

Thank you, will delve into the archives!

Got back in tonight to find your excellent magazine at the door.

Reading something of such quality in actual print is a revelation. I don’t buy any other traditional publications.

A refreshing change from staring at at a laptop or a phone :).

274. kendomacaroobar

@WD Thank you !

275. Brian Doonthetoon

Yooz must take part in this Uni of Glasgow research study, about the media, before and after the referendum.

Doesn’t take much time. Remember to put “Wings Over Scotland” in the “Other” box, where appropriate!

https://qtrial2015q4az1.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_6KjQCOBc47zkki9

276. Michael McCabe

Brian Doonthetoon 10:12pm Thanks for the heads up about the Study. Duly taken. And I let them know of WINGS OVER SCOTLAND. OH. Brian. Happy new year by the way.

277. Andrew McLean

Brian Doonthetoon 10:12 pm

Done!
    I will be interested in the result!

278. Thepnr

Something interesting from last night. I put up a post ‘re Lesley Riddoch article in the National. I had to go look for the article before posting.

It was not in the top 10 for that day, 20 mins after posting it was top of the board. There are MANY more readers than posters.

Wings is pretty big now, mind yer manners LOL.

279. Paula Rose

Released today in 1968 – Otis Redding and a certain seaside…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyxLaHmOaYM

280. Ian Brotherhood

Laurel & Hardy, ‘The Boxing Match’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0nR0FUzyRI

281. Thepnr

@Paula Rose
    You B’stard one of my favourite ever songs, getting weepy now.

I hate being weepy!

@Ian Brotherhood

That was seriously great, all cheered up again πŸ™‚

282. Paula Rose

Thepnr Honey – the thought of you being stuck out there in the cold all on your own apart from those huge oil workers causes me sleepless nights.

283. Thepnr

Holly Shit! No fecking joke.

I thought yours Ian was brilliant because of the music tracks backing the action.

There are no music tracks backing the action!!!

I watched Paula Roses “Sitting at the dock of the bay” first then clicked on yours. Unknown to me the Paula link rolled on to the next tune and the next it was brilliant. So good I’m away to try it again.

Give it a go if it works your gonna be shocked.

Play Paula first, then go back to wings play Ians, pure class πŸ™‚

284. Thepnr

I thought Friday was song night. Here’s a revolutionary song in it’s own way. I think it’s a great song. Defy me if you dare πŸ™‚

Do remember this is now 40 year old. FRO

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_p5GptScNE

285. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good shout.

Here’s one with Rod (looking a bit peaky, has to be said) on a show called ‘Your Face Sounds Familiar’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BYkqalZ5Xeg

286. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

LOL a tonic for a poor soul. Liked it, I’ll raise with this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrrHxzWNzhY

287. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

You last comment is the ‘first’ on a new page.

At 15,292?

What’s that all about?

Anyway, YT wouldn’t let me open your link. I know it’s X-Factor stuff, but it won’t play…

πŸ™

288. Paula Rose

Total strop

289. Thepnr

No worries Ian, this one is for Lesley Anne and her partner if they look in sometime. I think most will like like it but I dedicate it to Lesley Annes partner.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aLT_jGrLD4c

290. Jock Scot

Congrats Alex..top o’ the page.

291. Thepnr

Hey Jock Scot glad to see you man.

292. Paula Rose

Congratulations to Thepnr for heading the page – now that it is a random affair, I suppose we have to allow for the fact that it is a lottery and anyone can be there *sobs – a life’s work ruined*

293. Thepnr

I’m in one of they moods, you know “want to hear a true story”

Almost done it, but I’m not a complete idiot so I’ll save for face to face. Here’s a clue though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OKMKlzDL3pU

Cryptic eh! but you guys are smart.

294. Michael McCabe

Roxy Music Virginia Plain

295. Thepnr

Yes I like Michael, link please πŸ™‚

296. Thepnr

Missed your chance Michael, I offer you this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXOgQN1a7bE

297. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr I have posted twice since my last post but they have not shown up yet. Anyway All the best for the year Ahead to you and yours.

298. Paula Rose

Waves at Michael McCabe – Happy New Year Honey xx

299. Michael McCabe

Virginia Plain without the http. Happy new year to you too Paula Rose. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDULlMa8Hxc&feature=player_detailpage

300. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

That simply has to be the best version of Virginia Plain on the webernot. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

Just about to check out your Eagles link (secretly hoping it’s crap) LOL

301. Michael McCabe

If at first you don’t Succeed. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uiCRZLr9oRw&feature=player_detailpage

302. Thepnr

This is the most mental song to be played on OT. If you think about it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3OdanjBYoM

303. Thepnr

Stick with it until you see the gulping fish. Only then will you have got it.

304. Michael McCabe

A Song for all the Tyrants out there. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lyiYEJcXwn4&feature=player_detailpage

305. Paula Rose

Here’s my contribution…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qwhK-y6ox6k

306. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

You lot were busy last night! Re: your Grace Jones link.

One evening in 1978, Pete the Camera and I had been somewhere in my Austin 1100 and we were sitting blethering in the car, across from my house.

John Peel played a record and I thought, “YES!” Had to get it. Unfortunately, at that time, my regular vinyl emporium, Chalmers & Joy, only dealt with the majors, not the indie labels.

So I toddled into I&N Records in Crichton Street and ordered it, the first release on the Mute label, with the number Mute 001. Eventually, after 6 weeks, I got my mitts on it.

Played it regularly over the years, in the Bowlin’ Alley and various rock clubs. Preferred it to Grace Jones…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5QErPDNcj4

——————————————————–

BTW: Have you all taken part in the Uni of Glasgow media/referendum research study I gave the link for on Thursday? I know Andrew McLean and Michael McCabe have.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-30/#comment-2101162

307. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jock Scot.

I was speaking to Sand Holmes on Thursday (you met her at Wings Over Helensburgh) and she was asking how you were, and how you got on in respect of the thing you discussed with her, because she hadn’t seen your name cropping up in the comments on Wings.

Good to see you posting!

308. Paula Rose

One for all you fans of early Pink Floyd…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6zf7P8eTRI

309. Quinie frae Angus

BDTT, that link to the survey you kindly provided says the survey is “not currently active”.

Must be finished?

310. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

The lass was probably inundated after Rev tweeted her original appeal – that’s how I noticed it, and there must be a good few ‘lurkers’ completed and passed it on too. Hopefully we’ll get to see the results one day.

311. Ian Brotherhood

‘The hope that springs eternal springs right up your behind…’

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘This Is What We Find/Uneasy Sunny Day Hotsy Totsy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATEFMphUoy0

312. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Quinie.

As Ian types, she was probably inundated. It was active last night but off today, when I checked in the afternoon.

313. Ian Brotherhood

Nelly, ‘Just A Dream’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N6O2ncUKvlg

314. Ian Brotherhood

I’ve been trying to remember a kids’ programme theme tune that I loved when I was wee (maybe 5 or 6, nay younger). My old man bought me the single. I thought it may have been The Flashing Blade, but it isn’t…have a vague idea it involved the desert, and there was a dude on a horse at the start…help!

Anyway, in the meantime, here’s the theme from ‘The Water Margin’ (with the wee talky bit by Bert Kwok, who used to have a monopoly on every Chinese-related gig going…)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PLWe_Ip-k9o

315. Ian Brotherhood

Went to see Star Wars last week, hadn’t read anything about it beforehand and I’m not a huge fan, had no idea what to expect – could not believe Max Von Sydow was in it. He looks the same as he did in The Exorcist, and that was, wait for it, forty-three years ago!

Turns out he was born in 1929. What a guy –
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Max_von_Sydow

Mike Oldfield, theme from ‘The Exorcist’ –
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1PH_Y8Xn4g

316. Ian Brotherhood

This is very obviously staged, and is an ad for a bank, but something about it makes me think of the whole Yes movement and what we’re doing, one wee step at a time…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fj6r3-sQr58

317. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Typing about flashmobs and “the whole Yes movement”…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C9COb6Zgkwc

318. Croompenstein

There’s a pretty little thing waiting for the king down in the jungle room…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KK5YGWS5H84

319. Croompenstein

One of my all time favs…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cm2YyVZBL8U

PS where is Nana???

320. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ˜‰

Cheers for that, hadn’t seen it before. Something very moving about it, even if it is a bit cheesy. At least the people are real.

And what did BTUKOK have? Jim Murphy on his crate, talking pish and annoying people at ‘100’ venues across the country.

Here he is, the fekking eejit himself, ‘impressing’ the people of Carnoustie –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ODNlFyzbxnQ

321. Croompenstein

We fired our guns and the British kept a comin….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=50_iRIcxsz0

322. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

You surely don’t know it but you have been in the company of at least 4 of the people in the video from BDTT at the first WOS night in Jolly’s.

There you go πŸ™‚

323. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

I was sitting here, rattling off names to my son, while we were watching that video. The wee guy with what looks like a Superman t-shirt, is Frankie Cosgrove, singer/guitarist with “Independence” (they’ve had that name since the 80s).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mr-7d0o3Mns

The guitarist with the beard is Graham Brown, from his band. Their singer, Kieran, wanders in from the right with a saltire sticking out of his left trouser pocket. The piper was the piper with the Graham Brown Band at the time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_Gr1KxLEBY

324. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Hoots mon.

I was going to ask BDTT if he knew any as Wingers, but forgot. Must go back and look again…

325. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

You can find it all here if you fancy a trip down memory lane. See if you can spot the four.

http://livestream.com/accounts/6163639/events/2977503

326. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Brilliant stuff.

LOVE the Graham Brown track, soo-perb.

@Thepnr – will do, but I’m a bit skee-wiff to do it right now…very intrigued though, just the idea of having possibly meet these people but not able to identify them? Weird…

πŸ™‚

Great stuff guys, fair cheered me up awthegither.

327. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Heather McLean is, probably, the highest profile Winger in that clip. She posts regularly.

She is the lady with the long blond hair, who makes a fleeting appearance right at the start, coming in, and leaving, from the right, with the bluey/green jacket. She then starts the singing at around 30 seconds.

328. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You can see Heather (and others) at this page, which has pics and video from the WOS get-together in Invergowrie, on 24th October, 2015.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-invergowrie-24th-october-2015

329. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT & Thepnr –

I’ve just realised why I can’t remember any of the people in the videos.

I was bastarding stone-cold sober the whole effing night!

Next time I visit Dundee I’ll have a bed booked. For sure.

πŸ™‚

330. Paula Rose

Ian Darling I need a real man.

331. Croompenstein

Watch a baby day be born…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5MI2mm6ojnE

332. Paula Rose

Croopie Sweetie – you read my mind.

333. Croompenstein

Strike up the band and make the fireflies dance,
    Silver moon’s sparkling

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3YcNzHOBmk8

334. mealer

Hi kids,
    What’s the craic re the Aberdeen meet up?

335. Michael McCabe

@ Croompenstein you should drop into off topic more often you play some great music. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-rTkqn-4qg&feature=player_detailpage

336. Michael McCabe

A Wee song for the delectable Paula Rose. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWOFK7M0QBM&feature=player_detailpage

337. Croompenstein

Cheers Michael.. I’m just going through my collection and post on here.. usually when I’ve had a few LOL.. but here’s one of my fav singers…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DYweHGwASKU

338. Paula Rose

Mealer in Aberdeen? *rings dress designer*

339. Paula Rose

Mealer in Aberdeen? *books beauty salon*

340. Paula Rose

Mealer in Aberdeen? I’m going!

341. Thepnr

Mealer in Aberdeen.

Better get the 22 Year Old bottle of malt at the ready.

342. Paula Rose

Shall I start playing my entire Dusty collection?

343. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Well done with “Rare to be Alev” a classic and really is rare. Doffs cap.

344. Paula Rose

Thepnr Honey – I have played that on off-topic before.

345. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

? ????

346. Thepnr

Ya Znio or I know was what I tried to say.

I well remember you playing that. My brain is now like a sponge, some parts still work though πŸ™‚

347. Paula Rose

Thepnr Honey – have you been stuck out in the cold Dear? *grabs coat and massage oils – rushes to the Thepnr’s side*

348. Dave McEwan Hill

Rush out now before the shops close and get that fabulous CD that’s in today’s Sunday Herald

349. Ian Brotherhood

@Dave McEwan Hill –

πŸ™‚

Listening to it right now. Good stuff.

350. ronnie anderson

@ BDTT hiv you put ma name doon fur Aberdeen ,I will be contacting Irene King this week re Hotels.

looking forward to seeing you,s guys.

351. Chic McGregor

A bit weird. We brought forward a bucket list item to visit St Petersberg last Autumn because it looked like that might not be possible soon and now we have a series on the Romanovs on TV, War and Peace and Billy Kaye’s radio series on the Russo-Scottish connection on radio all at the same time.

Putin me on?

352. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie A.

You’re on the list, after your blether with Pete, earlier in the week.

353. Chic McGregor

No National Digital edition yet?

354. Chic McGregor

Digital edition did not appear till the back of nine, by which time I had bought a tree version.

355. Ian Brotherhood

Ryuichi Sakamoto, ‘Rain’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kf0HYeQp760

356. Thepnr

Jon And Vangelis – I’ll Find My Way Home

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T9Y3m7fisOU

Same singer, different era.

Yes – Wonderous Stories

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-BMlq_zyko

357. Paula Rose

Wonder if this is the only place where you will hear this today…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZyQxTWDLZ8o

358. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Of David Bowies earlier “silly” songs I preferred this.

Uncle Arthur.

Crazy thing is I had this album from 1967 and gave it away in the eighties, it was Bowies first album and I’d bet I’d get a grand for it now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2MxWVrVnoY

359. Thepnr

I’m making a Vow. No more Bowie tonight from me. To be honest I’ve mor important things on my mind even though at one time I liked some of the guys music. It’s irrelevant.

Becoming a favourite word of mine it seems, disractions, well just distract me so I tend to ignore them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6szT5NnwTY

360. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula & Thepnr –

I only have one vaguely interesting Bowie story. Back in 199? he was playing Glasgow Barrowland, on whatever tour where he was doing all his drum ‘n bass stuff. I was asked to go by a ‘friend’, and gladly did so. Great gig – he did loads of old stuff and the place was hopping – only time I was ever in that venue.

Many years later the ‘friend’ let slip that ‘my’ ticket was actually that of a freelance journalist who had actually accompanied us and verified my access – turns out I’d been recommended as a replacement writer to do a review of that gig. Unfortunately, the ‘friend’ didn’t tell me. It was only when he was properly stoned, approx five years later, that he blurted it all out, finding it highly amusing. I’ve avoided him ever since. πŸ™

361. Thepnr

Nice story Ian, I went to see Bowie in 1978 at the Apollo, got half pished on the bus as we all did, then fell asleep in the pub next door before the concert started.

Had sensible pals though and finally did make it there and got through the whole night. Good laugh though looking back.

362. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Total kudos to you mister for your compliment to GB over in’t current thread. Soo-perb.

πŸ™‚

363. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

I’ve posted this all over the web tonight.

I believe the main problem affecting the Scots/English relationship is a cultural psyche that has endured in England, since the UK was created.

The short clip below provides a CLASSIC example. It’s taken from tonight’s ‘Reporting Scotland’, right at the end.

I guess it’s a case of this is what is fed to English children by their parents and reinforced by the various media. Because it is fed to them by those they have been brought up to trust, it must be true.

The truth is that the island of Great Britain is made up of England. There’s an area called “Scotland” but it is in the far north and has mountains and ‘locks’, which may never be visited. It doesn’t really matter…

Glasgow is in greater England and that’s it. I don’t blame Bowie – I blame the whole rotten propaganda system dan sarf.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21LngmrJfas

364. Chic McGregor

Cheer the fuck up peeps, I was a Bowie fan as well.

Here is a wee vid that might do the trick and knock the ‘Germans have no sense of humour.’ meme on the heid to boot.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKezUd_xw20

365. yesindyref2

@Chic
    Yes, very good!

366. Michael McCabe

Hello. Can you hear me ? Can you see me ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1HvDeKrKkMo&feature=player_detailpage

367. Paula Rose

Hi Michael Honey – big man xx

368. Michael McCabe

Good Morning Paula Rose.

369. Paula Rose

Back off you lightweights – hunky snuggly Michael McCabe is on the scene!

370. CameronB Brodie

Re. David Bowie. Meh, apparently his ‘inspiration’ for the name Ziggy “Stardust”, was the avant-garde ‘country’ artist known as the “Legendary Stardust Cowboy”.

How about some incongruous kittens? Fear separatist-kitty totalitarianism! It’s alive and it’s coming for you. πŸ˜‰

http://www.rathergood.com/laibach/

371. Thepnr

We’re Scottish right? This is why, I play this for my brother who loved to sing it at karaoke even though his singing was crap lol.

We wouldn’t take a bribe, right? We wouldn’t shame ourselves for money, right? We will not be bought, right?

I know I wouldn’t, I’d just save my money for when. Like this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MRUk9R3QNqg

372. Thepnr

It’s not the watching, it’s the listening. Same for all my picks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbX87g7wzJI

373. Michael McCabe

The Mix of Music you find on off topic is Fabulous. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cPHaalXq_-4&feature=player_detailpage

374. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie/Wuffing Dug.

Maybe time for a post to remind peeps about ‘Wings Over Aberdeen?

If you want a souvenir badge of the event, stick a post in ‘Quarantine’. (Link at bottom left of this page.)

There are currently 14 names on the badge list for Aberdeen.

375. Ronnie

BDtt,

Yes, I was intending slipping an O/T into one of Stu’s posts.

I’ve got 21 on my list – 19 if jdman and Irene don’t make it.

Badges essential for me as I only know three by sight.

As we seem to be more than I first thought, I think Wuffer’s idea of meeting up initially in the Archibald Simpson is a good one.

It’s more open and better for ‘meetin’ and greetin’.

I understand that ‘Brewdog Castlegate’ (was the Athenaeum), is now open, although I haven’t been in it, so we have a neat triangle for groups to visit.

376. Thepnr

Hey! Ian Brotherhood.

Here’s some auld gadgies wie a song especially for you πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fI2FC36lXXQ

377. Thepnr

Deacon Blue this Hogamany singing Chocolate Girl. No bad for an auld guy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJz2XEAFWjg

378. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

I hope you like this, I really hope you like my wee gift πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3hCn8kS2Ps

379. Paula Rose

Yippee – proper music – 10cc pffft

380. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Here’s one for you, Paula, and a’body else…

Bowie, ‘The Secret Life Of Arabia’ (Rudy Valentino Mix) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RD8q4URb6ZE

381. Thepnr

I was going to say something so profound that you would remember it for the rest of your life.

There I’ve said it, so never forget. Goodnight.

382. mike cassidy

for insomniac bowie completists.

://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yeigs-ypMj0

383. Thepnr

Just helping you out Mike, remove everything before the www.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yeigs-ypMj0

384. Thepnr

@mike cassidy

Well that was a surprise, Bowie singing in Italian. Might have been more to him than I thought. Certainly surprised me.

385. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

This one here:

Faithless, ‘Mass Destruction’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzgBD2wysuI

386. Thepnr

Great find Ian. Some get it, we know that. Wish more Scots did!

387. Ian Brotherhood

Following the gripes over on main thread last night about Question Time, here’s a wee example of a programme which can be entertaining and enlightening.

It’s an Al-Jazeera production, sometime in 2014 – Mehdi Hasan interviewing Norman Finkelstein. 45-mins long, but even a swift toe-dip provides quite a contrast to the bilge served up by the BBC.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EKAb8Rd_8E

388. Paula Rose

Isn’t it time we had some more Dusty?

389. Ian Brotherhood

If you like the idea of seeing one academic accusing another of plagiarism on live radio, this might float yer boat.

It’s Finkelstein again, this time vs Alan Dershowitz, one of O.J. Simpson’s lawyers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sy9S6hVJk-o

390. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

20 minutes into the first Finkelstein link and just 5 minutes into the second. Will watch both of them fully tomorrow, this type of stuff is best watched when your alert rather than a lert πŸ™‚

Good stuff though, so thankful for the internet.

@Paula Rose

I hope this from Pulp Fiction satisfies your thirst.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dp4339EbVn8

391. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Let me guess…this is what you started humming, first time you clapped eyes on Thepnr…

‘NO TITLE REQUIRED’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vifw3aQbrlY

392. Brian Doonthetoon

Did “someone” mention “Dusty”?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilqKtJrs12w

393. Nana

Trawled through the comments to see who had been missing me after Ken told me this morning I’d been asked after.

So this one is for Croompenstein!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ubtER-ECMwg

and for everyone else http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rMUX_4B-Hr4

394. Brian Doonthetoon

Sticking in the 60s ‘babe’ groove…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w3bTmq72olg

395. Ian Brotherhood

This will take up another 12 minutes of your life…

Is it worth it?

Do something else…cook a pizza, at least in part…

Isaac Hayes, ‘Walk On By’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iqR4CZj0mJQ

396. Brian Doonthetoon

Probably my favourite girl group from the 60s…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXUtmwpLDHQ

397. Brian Doonthetoon

A classic piece of film, featuring Arsenal from 1933, playing in black and white, against Liverpool, from 1991, in colour.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y4CXY6TVBMc

398. Thepnr

A good laugh BDTT.

Thanks for post Nana, you should drop by more often πŸ™‚

399. Paula Rose

I’m just *sob* overwhelmed *sob* by your *sob* thoughtfulness – such dear friends – *waves at Nana with big smile on face*

400. Thepnr

Hope this doesn’t appear twice. But a wee clip of REAL Scottish humour πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iMinLmhP4Hw

401. Nana

@Paula Rose Honey

This one for you, and for my hubby who is a big Van fan.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eq3YLhtuzTQ

402. Brian Doonthetoon

Another piece of ‘real’ Scottish humour…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_Xbs_WaIlw

403. Paula Rose

Nana – why do these boys have no real taste?

404. Paula Rose

My pal Robbie! The stories I could tell!

405. Thepnr

@BDTT

What a great Dusty find at 10:39, don’t tell paula but I’m not a big fan, than was OK though πŸ™‚

More REAL Scottish comedy then. Hahahaha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xIQg1ZP3lqE

406. Nana

@Paula Rose, best not go analysing the boys!

I know Dusty is your favourite diva but here’s mine. I like the rebel singers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kpcXMWYMhFQ&list=PL2681A4500B087F64

407. Nana

Two more before I turn in,

the wonderful Nick Lowe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dUHWh810L0M

and the fantastic guitarist Walter Trout

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DmRdM5Z9Z6s

Good night all.

408. Thepnr

OK another Chewin the fat, this time with Ronald Villiers. Not too bad, I laughed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8S9Z5ANuT4

409. Paula Rose

Nick Lowe – gosh that takes me back, I remember that night when…

410. X_Sticks

@Nana

I saw Walter Trout play in the Lemon Tree in Aberdeen back in the 90s. Absolutely fabulous guitarist. I think I actually saw him twice there if I recall correctly. The other outstanding guitarist I saw there at that time was Dick Dale:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GuHs_mhg9Nk

411. Nana

I’m green with envy X_sticks.

This album Battle scars is brilliant, his bluesy sounds are achingly good. From the heart I guess after his health scare.
    So glad he is recovering and hopefully some day I might also see him play live.

412. Ian Brotherhood

Bowie on the Dick Cavett Show, 1974 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8TnXRBkYt8

413. Thepnr

hahaha got you now. Here’s a surprise πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qe-lxChxF1g

414. Ian Brotherhood

Aw maaaann, so pissed off with main threads, all the ‘tactical voting’ shite…

Wish I could sing, and then I’d sing THIS song:

Cee Lo Green, ‘Fuck You’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QodGtTU69uQ

415. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Now that last post Sharon Shannon, never seen her before but she made an auld mans heart pump harder. Wish I was 30 again LOL.

@Ian Brotherhood

Me too, so hard to know what to do. I think you did alright, might make some think. Nothing is ever clear cut, we just soldier on.

Now bare with me LOL, watch this. Doesn’t it make you feel REALLY old πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MMioYmZE2vU

416. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood if they had an untouchable face you could sing this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=rc4eYOhNnU8

417. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Just clicked your link from 11:55 I’m bogeying in the living room. Fucking brilliant πŸ™‚

Get it on man LOL

418. Paula Rose

None of you are showing any sympathy for the gnomes, who lost one of their greatest champions and heroes this week.

Shame on you.

419. Ian Brotherhood

@MMcC –

‘Fuck you for existing in the first place’

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Best line of all time?

It is, for me anyway, right now. Soo-fucking-perb

πŸ™‚

420. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr that Warriors thing took me back. Made me think about the Eagles Heartache Tonight. tried to find it. no luck. Hope this does instead. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5_11Ao4UIY&feature=player_detailpage

421. Thepnr

Right that’s me for the night. Thanks Michael and Ian for the unusual tunes.

422. Paula Rose

My sort of guy – Mr Bowie…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TajCh41y17I

423. Michael McCabe

@ Paula Rose Not all the Gnomes took it badly. I heard one was Laughing. Mind you 6 of them said they were not Happy. Anyway This Song is for You. Enjoy. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZlQW4O4NpI&feature=player_detailpage

424. cearc

Oh, not more bowie. It’s getting like radio 4 in here!

425. Paula Rose

Cearc Honey – neither of mine are music – want to lead the debate, are we alone?

426. cearc

Seem to be…

427. Paula Rose

cearc tea Dear?

428. Paula Rose

and one for you Michael Honey?

429. Paula Rose

Keep it clean Dears I’m expecting visitors….

430. cearc

I’m onto the cocoa now.

Have you (or anyone else) got Quinie’s email? If so can you send her mine. I need to get her name for a hotel booking. Ms. Q Fraeangus would look a bit odd!

Are you and Thep staying over?

431. cearc

That’s cool Michael, goodnight to you too.

432. X_Sticks

@cearc

I’ve advised Quinie via twitter that you are trying to get hold of her. Hopefully she’ll get back to you.

433. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Re your Cee Lo Green/Daryl Hall link.

That title was used for a track on the double-single pack issued by Albertos Y Lost Trios Paranoias in the 70s.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RIYi0D_m4o

Here’s another track from the pack – their tribute to Status Quo:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojufSzByheE

434. Stoker

Incredible female guitar players
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgdRoBluNPk

Did anyone stick with it long enough to see the wee 8-year old?
    You wouldn’t want to live next door to any of that little lot, eh!

Well…..maybe Kiana Shotgun πŸ™‚
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5FjwJTEN0mA

435. Stoker

(((((HELP)))))

Anyone know where i can get a 25mm “vote SNP” button badge?
    I’ve been hunting for yonks and found hee-haw.

You can get them on ebay but i don’t do ebay.
    The SNP (online) shop is next to useless.

With the elections coming up in May i need one for my tammy,
    to temporarily retire my “yes2” badge i got from caz-m.

Any pointers very much appreciated.

436. Paula Rose

I’ve got “see me I’m SNP” if that’s any help.

437. Quinie frae Angus

Hi Cearc

X Sticks got me on Twitter. I use a different pseudonym for Twitter but he, Thepnr and Paula Rose know that it’s me – they also all have my email address. Could one of these dear peeps please give Cearc my email address?

Cearc I can definitely only now do the Saturday night as I have another night out in Glasgow on the Friday.

Ta muchly!

438. cearc

Quinie,

Both Thep and PR have my address so I expect I’ll have it soon.

Too late to get the bargain price at Premier Inn that x-sticks touted weeks ago.

Have others booked somewhere? Let us know.

The best deal I spotted yesterday seemed to be Doubletrees on the Boulevard offering 1 room for 1 or 2 people, B&B for 59. They also have there own free parking.

439. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ™‚ !

Good stuff.

Love the fact it was 75p to buy a single…

440. Brian Doonthetoon

For TWO singles Ian!

8=)

BTW peeps: there’s an up to date list of names for badges for ‘Wings Over Aberdeen’, over in Quarantine. If you’re going and want a badge, leave a post there.
    (Link at bottom left of this page.)

441. Quinie frae Angus

Cearc and other Wingers for Aberdeen

I have seen rooms available at Travelodges in Aberdeen Central (Β£49 per room) and Aberdeen Justice Mill (Β£39 per room).

I’m assuming this means that with a sofa bed in the rooms (which there have been in any Travelodge I’ve stayed in lately) you can use it as a twin room?

Anyway I am not sure of the location of the pubs in relation to either of these hotels but I know the Justice Mill one will only be a short walk to the town centre?

442. Thepnr

@Quinie frae Angus

Please send me an email and I’ll forward you address to cearc, new computer as last one packed in is the issue.

Also remind me, are we looking at the 23rd or 30th for the night out. Sorry but I have lost touch πŸ™‚

443. cearc

Thepnr,

Paula Rose has already obliged.

She’s very obliging!

444. Paula Rose

What was that dear? Oh yes, always.

445. cearc

Travelodge central is full and neithert have free onsite parking and they don’t include breakfast which is why I thought that doubletree was a better deal.

446. Thepnr

Paula Rose and cearc, you can stay with me. I have the ideal location LOL. Nobody has bothered to tell me yet if it’s the 23rd or the 30th!

447. Paula Rose

30th Thepnr Dear – and we’ve got wee QfA as well.

448. Brian Doonthetoon

C.mon, Alex – keep up! Yir no’ that senile!

It’s the 30th, meeting in the Archibald Simpson at 7pm. Possibly using Blackfriars, across the road, as a light relief.
    (See Quarantine.)

449. cearc

Well it would be very nice.

It’s the 30th.

So you’re not drinking and driving back?

450. Thepnr

My plan is to drink and drive cearc not at the same time of course πŸ™‚

So I will be coming home on the Sunday, there is room for you and Paula right on the same square as the venue(s). Let me know if you want it.

I can’t be absolutely certain of making it at this time but expect to, you both of course would still have it if I can’t make it.

451. Thepnr

Ach feck it, I’m in the mood for some Smiths. Yes, I’m charming πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fxMKttfVqvk

452. Stoker

PR @ 6.56pm:

Thank you but i really want the “vote SNP” one.

Oanyhoo, that’s a bit much on a 25mm badge, is it not?

Most people round my way will have trouble seeing the “vote SNP” never mind what yours says.

Thanks again, i’ll just need to keep looking and hopefully get one pretty soon. Maybe the SNP online shop is due some in.

Plenty of 59mm but no 25mm, i would be as well sticking a satellite dish tae ma heed.

453. Kendomacaroonbar

Please forgive the directness but I’m trying to generate some funds for long time Winger Fiona who is living in a clapped out Caravan in Huntly and I’m trying to help her get power and heat into unit by selling some items that would allow us to buy a Gen set, Deep cycle battery and 1000w invertor.

First offer of 500 gets all the below goodies. e mail me at kenmcdonald1(at)btopenworld.com

OFFER
    ———-

1 x Limited Edition Gold Wings Badge Cost Β£ 450

1 x Limited Edition (20 made) Wings Poker Weight Worth minimum Β£ 50+

1 x Limited Edition Wings Blue on White Button Badge 30 mm dia

1 x White on Blue Wings Ceramic L/E and numbered badge (Nr 120)

1 x original Ver 1 – Wee Blue Book (stapled cover) – Priceless

3 x Ver 2 Wee Blue Book (Bound Cover)

1 x 12 months digital version of iScot Magazine worth 29.99

Needs must

454. X_Sticks

@Kendo

Hi Ken, I can’t go to Β£500, but I will pledge Β£100 to that worthy cause. Don’t need any perks.

I can vouch for the awful conditions Fiona is currently living in. I’ve been there and seen for myself.

Part of her problem is that she has 7 recued dogs living with her and she is desperate to keep them with her, so she needs somewhere that will accept dogs.

Anyone who can help even with a little can help by donating here:
    https://www.generosity.com/animal-pet-fundraising/people-with-pet-dogs-who-become-homeless

455. Quinie frae Angus

@Thepnr

Hiya, please check your emails!

(On behalf of myself, Cearc and Paula Rose….) x

456. kendomacaroonbar

@X_Sticks

Colin, thank you and to Alex too.

457. Thepnr

@QfA

I’ve replied.

458. Quinie frae Angus

Thanks Thepnr!

See you on the 30th!

459. Stoker

Excellent tune Michael, never heard her before.
    That’s going on my playlists. Might even make up a list of her stuff when i get a chance to listen to more.
    Thanks!
    πŸ˜‰

Elsewhere, just heard on the radio that former Eagles member, Glenn Frey, is dead?

Eagles – Peaceful Easy Feeling
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WwqHarJnQP8

460. Michael McCabe

@ Stoker Glad you liked the tune. I first heard her Covering this Bob Dylan Song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ts6gZFEiMkM&feature=player_detailpage You play some great Music when you pop into off topic.

461. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

The cut-off point for requesting a named badge for the Aberdeen get-together is 11.59pm, on Wednesday, 27th January, ie a week on Wednesday.

If you want a badge, stick a post in Quarantine. (Link at bottom left of this page.)

462. Michael McCabe

I Will bide you all a good night. And leave you with a bit of Burns. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y5hYA2lHEtw&feature=player_detailpage

463. Lenny Hartley

Brian doonthetoon unfortunately neither Rab C nor myself will be able to attend the Aberdeen doo on the 30th , one of our Pals passed away and Funeral on 29th in Arran so I won’t be going to Aberdeen that weekend and Rab will be travelling down here.

Hopefully make the next one, have a ball.

464. Quinie frae Angus

@ Lenny Hartley

Sorry to hear you have sad news and won’t make it/ Maybe we will meet you at the next one.

@Cearc

Hi Cearc, am wondering if you’ve got my emails? One of them has bounced back so not sure if you’ve got any. Let me know on here if you want me to book something, if you haven’t already!

465. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Lenny Hartley.

Sorry to read your news. BTW: you hadn’t actually asked for badges.

Hi Quinie.

I thought you were all being entertained at Chez Thepnr?

466. CameronB Brodie

I think Kenny Farquharson needs filling under pulp fiction.

The Hustlers – Inertia
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLYFO7tNCYo

467. X_Sticks

@Lenny

Sorry to hear your news and that I won’t see you and Rab at the do.

Please pass on my regards to Rab and tell him I will get around to catching up soon.

468. Quinie frae Angus

BDTT:

Couldn’t happen on this occasion but no worries, that’s myself and Cearc all booked up and rarin’ tae go!

469. cearc

We’re gonna boogie, boogie.

470. Paula Rose

I’ve got an all new outfit for Aberdecadent!

471. cearc

Well just try to keep it on this time!

That fan dance shocked the good burghers of Glasgae, indeed!

472. Paula Rose

Oops – must stop doing that.

473. Ian Brotherhood

Have we ever played any Springsteen?

This is great fun…

‘Glory Days’ (Live, 2013) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bxut7e5I4yQ

474. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood. Here is my wee bit of Springsteen. For all red heads out there. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QvXpEb_YWzI&feature=player_detailpage

475. Paula Rose

American stuff? Prime time…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6bdIkQZgiQ

476. Ian Brotherhood

@M McC –

πŸ™‚

That’s a first for me.

Here’s a ‘Black Magic Woman’ – interesting ‘long’ live version, from 1970, with John McVie looking about as stoned as it’s possible for anyone to be.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRu7Pt42x6Y

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.