Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

Don’t know exactly when, but isn’t the next one in Brechin?

2. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Quinie.

You have pre-empted me. The next Wings get-together is Invergowrie on 24th October – and I was gonna do a post, collating all the questions for info from last night, and all the travel opportunities to Invergowrie, and so on.

Looks like if you are coming, the best thing is to book accommodation, because the last trains to Edinburgh and Glasgow leave Dundee around 10.30. The buses aren’t much better.

More info will follow tomorrow…

However, the next public Wings presence will be at the Dundee City Square rally next Sunday, 4th October. The Bikers For Yes are putting together a convoy from Strathclyde Park, to Queensferry, then up to Dundee.

Here’s the graphic that tells you what’s organised, so far…

http://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/Dundee-4thOctober2015.jpg

Also, ‘Hope Over Fear’ are putting on two 50-seater buses from George Square Glasgow to Dundee (and return) free of charge for the 4th October rally.

See this Facebook page for further info. Seats have to be booked by FB PM. Gail Morrow is taking the bookings.

https://www.facebook.com/morrow.gail?fref=ts

See you there?

3. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a wee historical oddity to kick-off a new page:

Jim Garrison (the dude played by Kevin Costner) on NBC re the JFK assassination.

Curious to know – anyone seen this before?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hqo2c_SxQag

4. Ghillie

Thank you all for a great night!!

Crazycat, thank you for recognising us straight away! Really enjoyed talking to you and hope you got home safely =)

Ronnie, thank you for introducing us to all these famous Wingers! And for making us so welcome =) Thank you Pete the Camera(did I get that right?)for the lovely badges!

A ‘stroke’ form Paula Rose…heaven =) And a badge to keep for my grandchildren!

AND ‘strawed’ by Jock Scot! (it’s his new craze!)

Great chats and good times! Hey there X Sicks,Catus, Heather,Thepnr,Briandoonthetoon and son,Lyn,Tam Jardine,Maggie and Bettyboop and the lovely folk who’s names I didn’t catch!

Can we do this again soon please!? =)

5. Thepnr

Ian Brotherhood says:

@Quinie frae Angus –

Don’t know exactly when, but isn’t the next one in Brechin?

Funny you should say that, stranger things have happened and coincidentally I was talking to a well known winger today….

6. AnneDon

Great to meet fellow wingers in Edinburgh last night. Hope you all got home safely!

7. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

I was only joshing, but hey, curiouser and curiouser, who knows indeed?

One of these days I may announce a getthegither in The Three Towns – if I build it they will come…or they may choose not to. 🙂

8. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi John King & Capella.

“Four Yorkshiremen”

It was actually a pre Monty Python sketch, from the TV show “At Last The 1948 Show”, starring Tim Brooke-Taylor, John Cleese, Graham Chapman and Marty Feldman, from 1967. Aimi MacDonald provided the tottie interest.

Here’s the original.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKHFZBUTA4k

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/At_Last_the_1948_Show

9. Cactus

Cheers for having us Edinburgh, great to be with you all again, braw times 🙂

Congrats aussi to Monsieur Doonthetoon on winning top spot.
    (see above)

10. Jim Thomson

@Lanarkist

what night is the regular meeting in the Bellrock?

Betty and I will be there over the next couple of days (not in the pub ALL the time though 😉 )

11. Lanarkist

Hi Jim, thanks for the heads up on the main thread.

Yes Social is on this Wed. Starting at 8pm.

Nice timing, be great to see you and welcome you in!

12. Jim Thomson

Thanks for the reminder Lanarkist. I couldn’t recall if it was Tues, Wed or Thurs.

I blame old age, and too many Wings nights out …

13. Rigmac7

Random question about power generation – been out the loop a wee bit.

What does the demolishing and decommissioning of Longannet mean in real terms for Scotland’s ability to power itself? Do we currently provide a surplus to UK (for which we were paying a surcharge) or are we in a position that means we need to “buy” power from Ruk?

If we are in position of needing to “buy” power, how long will it be before we are able to be self sufficient? (on current plans, developments etc).

Looking at figures online, from 2008 to 2011, Scotland generated between 49,992 and 51,223 Gwh P.A. but used between 40,973 and 42,466 Gwh P.A. This made it a net exporter to England of between 7,998 and 11,597 Gwh P.A. (Gov.uk figures). Since Longannet produced approximately 9,525 Gwh P.A. (wikipedia), does that put us in the position of having to rely on power imports from Ruk or have we established enough green energy etc since 2011 to maintain a healthy surplus?

Is Longannets closure as simple as being an attempt to make us beholden to Ruk?

14. Jim Thomson

@Rigmac 7

Not sure if it helps but here’s the Scottish Govmnt pages on the topic

http://www.gov.scot/Topics/Statistics/Browse/Business/TrendElectricity

In terms of your final sentence, That seems to be the plan. All the crap about high carbon generation could have been mitigated if the UK gvmnt hadn’t pulled the plug on the Carbon Capture & Storage development plant that was going to be installed at Longannet.

Instead of the extra £500M that was needed to develop the technology, they decided to allocate that money elsewhere (can’t recall details atm, but I’m sure it was just another pre-planned nail in Longannet’s coffin.

15. Rigmac7

@Jim Thomson

Thanks Jim, looks like we are pretty much self sufficient then on recent figures.

I’m guessing that the cuts in green energy subsidies by Ruk is simply another attack on a country which produced 16,974 Gwh in green energy in 2012.

I think the £500M was probably used for Anglo/Chino relations purposes in the funding of their shiny new nuclear power plant 🙂

16. Taranaich

Hello all,

I recently posted an article that isn’t really to do with Scottish independence, but linked to my past life as a Robert E. Howard scholar. Basically, the editor of a site I used to work for has come out as a supporter of a controversial author who, among other things, denounces women’s suffrage, women in the workplace, equal opportunities, gay rights, and other things. If you’ve ever encountered Gamergate or Rabid Puppies, you’ll know who they are.

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/09/23/matters-of-importance/

A fairly large number of commenters came by. I hadn’t encountered most of them before. Most of them didn’t even go to the effort of reading the blog in favour of flinging non-sequiturs and accusations eerily similar to the lying, projecting and doubling-down they accuse their enemies of. I closed the comments, and they still come, because apparently refusing to give them a platform makes me a “coward” and not granting them their “right” to rant on my blog means I’m censoring them, and thus making me a “hypocrite.” I also notice that a lot of hits come from the author’s personal blog. They clearly have a greater interest in me than I do them.

The funny thing is, I’m sure a lot of people can see the similarities all trolls seem to exhibit: ad hominems galore, appeals to emotion, and all sorts of logical fallacies. It’s been a most educating experience.

But as I say on the blog, I’m used to much sterner stuff.

17. X_Sticks

@Taranaich

Good for you Al. Stick to your guns. You have right on your side on that one.

Just out of interest is the sterner stuff a consequence of the referendum?

18. Brian Doonthetoon

Can one be ‘O/T’ on ‘off-topic’?

I’ve just found out, via FB email notification, that ‘Hope Over Fear’ are increasing their free buses from George Square to Dundee on Sunday, to three 50-seaters.

Looks like it’d gonna be a busy day – and there WILL be a speaker from the SNP on stage.

See my earlier post:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-29/#comment-2062214

19. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s the update – note the change of departure location…

———————————————-

Change of plan for Sunday, HOPE OVER FEAR will now run three 50 seat coaches to Dundee Yes city, all departing Buchannan bus station 09.15am – Only 15 spaces left!!! Holytown will car share into Glasgow ><

20. Ghillie

Taranaigh @4.43pm

Oh gee whiz! Those trolls were an especialy dim bunch.

Even I got that it was about the blog owner speaking for all the members.

Vox Day’s thoughts sound vile. That Leo supported him speaks volumes.

They do not share your values.

Well done for standing your ground. (what X sticks said, wise man) That takes an emmense amount of courage, especialy when up until now you thought you were amongst like-minded folk and friends and colleagues. That hurts. But many came away with you, Again speaks volumes.

I always tell my sons to trust their instincts. You did. Well done pet.

21. Jim Thomson

@Taranaich

You know that you can selectively block trolls on WordPress?

Would that be a workable proposition?

22. Taranaich

@X_Sticks: Just out of interest is the sterner stuff a consequence of the referendum?

It is indeed. Time was this sort of thing would upset me: I took everything deeply personally, and I always had that seed of doubt, wondering if they were right and I was wrong. The referendum experience makes such things look almost child’s play in comparison.

@Ghillie: Well done for standing your ground. (what X sticks said, wise man) That takes an emmense amount of courage, especialy when up until now you thought you were amongst like-minded folk and friends and colleagues. That hurts. But many came away with you, Again speaks volumes.

I always tell my sons to trust their instincts. You did. Well done pet.

Thanks Ghillie. Truth be told it was four of us who collectively decided to make the stand, so I was not alone through this, though I am glad more people left than stayed given Leo’s behaviour, and of those remaining, one has passed away.

@Jim Thomson: You know that you can selectively block trolls on WordPress?

Would that be a workable proposition?

I wrestled with this for a bit. I admire the Rev’s zero-tolerance approach to trolls, but I always shied away from it, figuring that readers could make their own judgements. But the way I see it, I’m not stopping them from expressing themselves: I’m just not giving them the platform to do it. They can start their own blogs, or comment on others, and people can come to them.

I’m leaving the comments that have already been published, but I’m looking at various guidelines for abuse, and have decided just not to publish ones that contain personal attacks. “Repugnant fascist” that I am, apparently.

23. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Taranaich.

On the page where I offered the link to “Soldats De Robert Bruce”, I supplied another link, due to your interest in the first.

Don’t know if you saw it, because it was towards the end of that page’s activity.

Onnyhoo, here’s the follow-up again for you, in case you missed it.

http://www.maidofheaven.com/joanofarc_scots_guards.asp

24. Taranaich

Brian, sorry, I did miss it: thanks very much! I knew about the Scots guard, but I always appreciate more detail & sources.

25. Jim Thomson

Good to meet Lanarkist again tonight. We might just have convinced a few others to have a gander at Wings, and we will be watching for their loss of wings’ virginity.

Voyeurism is what it’s all about 😉

26. Paula Rose

*finishes filing nails and glances around*

27. Ian H

QT tonight, a line was used to justify trident
    ‘A last line of defence’

Nuclear weapons are not defensive weapons, they are weapons of attack. If some psycho in charge of these weapons decides to use them then nothing you can do to stop that. All you can do is respond in kind.

NO winners

28. Archie [not Erchie]

What news of Dundee on Sunday? Wings presence? I intend to attend but will wear mah breeks this time instead of the kilt. [Sorry Paula, Gillian, Quine frae Angus, Betty Boop, Nana, Heather, Morag, Shona, etc etc] 🙂

Thanks for all the birthday wishes last week – fair turned mah heid. Oh I hear you gasp? You all forgot? 🙂 I should have mentioned it but I am very shy.

Ok responses on a postcard please to Auchenshoogle House of Correction and Leather Lashes. Ouch!

29. Carol Jardine

@ianbrotherhood

I remember the ad fine.

I think it might have been one of the big banks. HSBC? Apologies if I’m havering.

30. Jim Thomson

@Lanarkist

just wondering how the lappy’s doing?

I’d suggest also uninstalling chrome and re-installing it but you need to strip out all the extras that are bolted on first to get rid of that unwanted thingy.

have a look at chrome settings (those three wee bars at top right) and in the menu on the left click on “Extensions” and see what comes up. Anything you don’t need/recognise … bin it.

31. Jim Thomson

@Archie – just for you (a wee bit late)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EqolSvoWNck

32. Paula Rose

I’m going to Inverwotsit *skips around garden* I’m going to stay with my favourite Wingers!

33. Ian Brotherhood

@Carol Jardine –

One of the Wingers posted this on main thread earlier. Can you guess how long ago it was broadcast? 🙂

Hanson Trust Ad –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GnMCuwYiWDQ

34. Paula Rose

So many favourite Wingers btw xx

35. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Archie [not Erchie].

Yes, there will be a Wings presence in Dundee’s City (Indy) Square on Sunday. We will be assembled under Ronnie’s transportable shed.

Latest news…
    SNP councillor Jimmy Black has pulled out as a speaker. However, SNP members Bob Costello (Team YES Bus) and Craig Murray will be saying a few words. Bob Servant was invited but, regretfully, had to decline, as he has a previous engagement at an awards ceremony in Edinburgh – something to do with cheeseburgers, I believe.

Trongate Rum Riots had to pull out for personal reasons but their place on the bill has been taken by The Howlin’ Wolves, an excellent Dundee band, who appeared on stage at the last rally on 9th May.

Lastly, the original YES Bus ‘The Dragon’ is aff work seek (broken spring) so its younger sibling, ‘The Phoenix’, will be at the square. The Dragon is a 92 seater; The Phoenix is a 91 seater.

36. Paula Rose

Polishing my nails and checking off-topic to see if any handsome knights will be passing my door on Sunday en route to the other Yes city.

37. Ian Brotherhood

Wee bit of Scottish hip-hop. Sure I know this guy’s voice, from a band one of my pals was in years ago called Sentinalez.

Anyone know anything about this dude?

miSTAh bOhZE – Soul U Got Z?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9qUD7975-LU&list=PL308EE63AF494CF59

38. Ian Brotherhood

Talk about a captive audience?

Johnny Cash, in San Quentin, ‘A Boy Named Sue’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6pex_ASYQPM

39. Grouse Beater

I think Sam Smith’s Bond song is bloody terrible. Can’t stand all that falsetto. A manly potter throwing a vase one minute, Grayson Perry in a frock the next.

There, I’ve said it.

Don’t care if it’s a runaway success in every territory on the planet except St Kilda. It’s so limp wristed.

40. Paula Rose

*rolls up sleeves*

41. Grouse Beater

Was a sound engineer giving Smith a wedgie while he sang?

42. Ian Brotherhood

Lemar, ‘If There’s Any Justice In The World’ (acoustic) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A5VMqgzwJLc

43. Paula Rose

Finally I have to admit defeat – this pumice stone is now not fit for purpose.

44. Cactus

Howdy, taking y’all through the night with some classic Bob Seger:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mCJQN9zjEo0

45. Archie [not Erchie]

Thanks Jim and just for a fleeting second I was wishing it was Paula ainging.

@ Paula Rose – Sorry my dear, no car this time so I am coming to Dundee on the bus.

46. X_Sticks

@Paula & Archie

Last minute as usual, but I’m probably going to take the car down to Dundee tomorrow. Anyone like a lift?

47. Paula Rose

Yes please!

48. Proud Cybernat

I wrote this novel (political black comedy) Something Went Bump back in 2006. Big-wig Tory comes up to Scotland intent on putting an end to the devolved Scottish Parliament. Suffice to say, things don’t quite go according to plan.

Here’s the book blurb:

Post devolution Scotland never had a politician quite like Sir David Thorn – New Labour’s first defector to the Tories and now the Shadow Minister for Constitutional Affairs. There’s also the small matter of Thorn being something of a psychotic megalomaniac whose entire raison detre is to bring the whole devolution experiment to an abrupt and cataclsymic end. Corrupt politicians, bent cops, assassins, bigamists, Teletubbies and a horny Great Dane called Monty. Murder, mystery and mayhem in one sleazy bound – so what’s new in the wild west of Scotland?

And Here’s the book link (PDF format):

http://www.scottcreighton.co.uk/GE2015/Something-Went-Bump.pdf

(Note: Not for the faint-hearted. Industrial language throughout).

Any feedback appreciated.

Enjoy.

49. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Proud Cybernat.

Thanks for the link. I actually downloaded the pdf earlier in the week, when you gave the link on one of the main pages.

Have read the preamble and am now at the start of “it started with a piss”…

8=)

50. Lanarkist

Hi Jim, thanks for the advice. I will attempt what you suggest but fear it may be beyond my modest knowledge of the workings of tech.

So far however, the laptop is behaving itself and although not on chrome we haven’t seen the thing in a couple of days.

Will hopefully see some of you in Dundee tomorrow!

51. Archie [not Erchie]

@ X-Sticks – Thanks for the offer but I am visiting friends after the rally. Paula will look after you 🙂 See you there. 🙂

52. Brian Doonthetoon

Wingers heading to City Square tomorrow…

It would be great if you could get there around tennish, to help with setting up the gazebo and so on, for the Wings stall.

53. CameronB Brodie

Will Podmore
    Remember how I described hardcore Scottish Unionist as cargo-cult devotees, bamboozled by the ‘droppings’ of a foreign press and the cargo-cult science it fertilizes? I bet these punters would consider culturalism to be a creation of the devil. Which cultural lens would they using to view the evidence though?

Florian Znaniecki is the author of an original program of philosophy called “culturalism” by him. When in around 1922 he relinquished the pursuit of philosophy for sociology, basic concepts of culturalism were comprised in the language of his sociological theory. Among them the concept of value plays a fundamental role. The sociological System of Znaniecki is thus exceptionally solidly grounded in the ontological and epistemological reflection upon culture.

http://www.horst-helle.de/zand.htm

#neverenoughsemiotics #oraxiologicalsignification

54. Cactus

Have a great day in Dundee tomorrow off-topickers, aye be unable to attend, may the weather be with you.

55. CameronB Brodie

Will Podmore
    Does axiology as a science, provide a systematic methodology which unifies thought with reality? Note it avoids idealism and culturally contrived metaphysics.

http://www.hartmaninstitute.org/axiologyasascience/

56. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Brian DTT – Is that senior waistrel R.Anderson of the disappearing shed and dubious legal advice gonna be there?

I will endeavour to be there to help out.

57. ronnie anderson

@ Archie[not Erchie] whit dey you mean dubious legal advice, you goat it Pro Bono, ur you complainin about getting sumthing fur nuthin. Advice by appointments today Sun tripple time, I,ll squeeze you in between Magazines N Badges lol.

58. Stoker

The Hamshankers well and truly shafted at Twickers, oh my!

LMAO and partying hard!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EG3fou1E6os

59. Chipmonkey

Hello O/T gang. Stranger here. Kicking myself I can’t come to Dundee today to meet up again (especially since I’m there every work day). I’m hoping you guys take prodigals back… Inverwotsit …is it the 24th now? Hope to see you soon. Have a good day in Dundee.

60. CameronB Brodie

From Russia with love, making sure Rock’N’Roll never dies. Those damn pesky Russkis

Messer Chups – War Party
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGWAVc66JpY

61. Chic McGregor

Anybody get 12 across?

_D_U_T

62. Archie [not Erchie]

Ok here with Wings and Things – A rather small collection of photos from the Hope Over Fear rally at Dundee today. Please note the rather swish Wings flag at the stall. Ahem!

https://www.flickr.com/photos/archiescollection/sets/72157659402997436

63. Ian Brotherhood

This is (gulp) TWENTY years old. 🙁

Pulp, ‘Disco 2000’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJS3xnD7Mus

64. James Caithness

Never got a pic of me.

65. Ian Brotherhood

Dandy Warhols, ‘Bohemian Like You’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CU3mc0yvRNk

66. Archie [not Erchie]

@ James Caithness – Sorry but every time I tried to get a sneaky photo the Page 3 model of Esquire magazine [aka Ronnie A] exposed his builder’s bum and the emmissions were worthy of a dodgy VW engine.

We will meet again Jim and happy to oblige with a montage of weel kent faces. 🙂

67. Ian Brotherhood

The Verve, ‘Rolling People’ (Glastonbury, 2008) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyOvsP8BFuw

68. Ian Brotherhood

Sunday Night Teaser –

How many ‘O-Jays’ were there?

Nae cheatin’!

The O’Jays, ‘Back Stabbers’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwZciH3hx-A

69. Ian Brotherhood

Rare footage of an early Wings social, where some of the lads paid musical tribute to Paula Rose:

Tavares, ‘More Than A Woman’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UI3YcjKBhQQ

70. Still Positive.

Chic McGregor @ 1.30.

You probably have the answer by now but if you don’t it’s ‘adjust’, Present AD and fair = just.

71. Paula Rose

Well darlings – another fabulous day with lots of my favourite wingers!

High points, the drive in X_Sticks’ Maserati, the guided tour of Pete the Camera’s new leather clad mobile home (not to mention a quick sit on his knee as and when required) and singing along to Shang-A Lang as performed by the Twa Tenners.

Low point – I missed meeting Craig Murray as I was away powdering my nose, but I left an “I’ve been stroked by Paula Rose” badge for him in case I missed him – he turned it down – the absolute rotten cad.

72. handclapping

@call me dave

Tuesday 6th looks best for me. I’ll stand you coffee in the Costa on the High Street ( between Boots and M&S ) at 1115.

At least we know what the other looks like and I dont have to carry a rose between my teeth as the first time I met Paula Rose.

73. Paula Rose

*giggle* – suited you xx

74. Ian Brotherhood

This is what happens when you drink too much Red Bull.

Dr. Feelgood, ‘Live In Finland’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aVAVuHLH3vg

75. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood are you determined to make me love you?

76. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Yes.

77. Paula Rose

*hottest of the hottest red flushes ever*

78. Paula Rose

Ian brotherhood honey – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fASRDQ6QQA

79. call me dave

@Handclapping

Tuesday 6th is OK for me. But I’ll stand you coffee in the Costa on the High Street at 1115.
    See you there!

I’m running a course Wed and Thurs so I’ll need to get away about 12:00..ish to get my prep done Tues PM. 🙂

Kind regards.

80. Chic McGregor

@Still Positive.

Thanks. I had ADJUST as a possible fit but just could not see how.
    I was stuck on ‘Doctor’ being of the medical variety.

Kicking myself.

81. Chic McGregor

A few weeks ago I heard on the radio that some companies now offer a ‘free’ egg freezing and storage package to their female staff.

I assume the commercial interest for them is to keep a female in the workplace during her most productive years and defer childbirth until later. Thus minimising disruption to the company.

At first I balked at such a procedure becoming routine and purely for career and commercial reasons but then I considered that the option of late life progeny has always been open to men so why should that not also be the case for women?

Apparently modern techniques mean that there is now little more risk than for in vitro.

While I still have doubts on the ethicacy of a creation of a ‘granny-mum’ class (as they were called on the programme) as a matter of routine just to suit a company’s commercial interests I can now see a contra more altruistic argument where disruption of a normal pregnancy could otherwise result in great cost or jobs to a company. Even more justification would be in the case of avoiding disruption of great service to the community by say a specialist surgeon or a political leader.

Thoughts?

82. Paula Rose

Hi Chic – the idea is preposterous at the present time, a quick check through the medical reports suggest that the best chance of a successful pregnancy using in vitro techniques is the age at which most women have children i.e. 23 -29. Secondly the successful spermatozoon in a natural fertilisation has overcome immense obstacles – this does not always result in a healthy baby, statistics show that defects in in vitro births are higher.

The health of the mother and the baby are not helped by the unnecessary use of such methods especially as there are plenty of reasons for having children when young – it is a very demanding job.

83. cearc

Putting off having babies for career is generally not a good idea (biologically).

There’s a good reason why fertility starts to reduce after 30. and it is not just the energy to look after babies.

It always strikes me that these ideas always talk about ‘having babies’, rather ignoring the fact the babies will turn into adolescents.

Having a baby in one’s 40’s may sound rather nice and ‘do-able’ but having a stroppy adolescent in your 60’s may not be so jolly.

84. caz-m

Archie [not Erchie] 8.27pm

Thanks for the pics from Dundee Archie. Hope it all went well.

85. Brian Doonthetoon

This is inspired by Jim Thompson’s “AR$E!” comment on the “A swing and a miss” page.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcKyWIie3Oc

86. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Caz-m – It was fine. Not such a big crowd as Glasgow but nevertheless it made its point. Music was way better and not so much droning on by less than inspiring platform speakers.

It got really chilly mid afternoon and Paula was visibly shaking but that might have been the sight of the kilted piper. Unfortunately eagle eyed ‘Quine frae Angus’ spotted said piper, fluffed her feathers, and us Wingers manning the stall were left waiting for the cursory hug. In her defense she did arrive but disappeared soon after, last seen on a rowing boat singing ‘Over The Sea to Skye’ while clutching a bottle of Gordon’s best gin.

Paula was distressed. However Ronnie A. treated her to a big hot sausage [roll] or two. It seemed to help.

I had a great chat with Ronnie which covered everything from the Jurassic period to date. One of his gems was the observation that Wingers are innovative and multi-talented in all aspects. A wonderful mix of history buffs, artistic & creative nutcases with pleasant attitudes. Then the groupies like me and others on the edges and for some reason it works.

It was funny, sometimes Pythonesque as the Wings gazebo went up and down like….emmmmm….thinking. However a strong erection was achieved eventually. It looks so stable in the photos of course.

Hope we meet soon

87. X_Sticks

I Got caught good at Dundee by Mal Bremner fae Aiberdeen!

https://twitter.com/fitlikemin01/status/650909024112799744

Mr Anderson’s braw new Wings banner. Just add an engineer and they’ll be up in a minute!

88. Finlay

I’ve been shamefully absent from O/T. Catch up time.

@Archie [not Erchie]

Great job with the Wings flag! Your pole is looking a wee bitty floppy though. Maybe Paula can give you a hand with it next time.

@Ian Brotherhood

I did notice the song you dedicated my way the other week. Thank you, and brownie points for well-chosen lyrics! I messed up the hyper-links in my reply and my post was censored along with the links. In light of me losing all my words, here is a wee song for you which I often find relates to my encounters with those “gettaefuck” folk.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tv5fyy1KYfk

Another Floyd song relating to today’s article on the Tory’s intent to commit first degree mass murder.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AX_Fu6JW0fM

Here is a link to an article by AAV which I thought was particularly good.

anotherangryvoice.blogspot.co.uk/2015/10/david-cameron-talking-rubbish-syria.html

89. Finlay

http://anotherangryvoice.blogspot.co.uk/2015/10/david-cameron-talking-rubbish-syria.html

Reposting link.

One day I’ll manage to post something correctly…

Am I right in saying it is only YouTube links which I have to remove the “http://” part of the link from?

90. CameronB Brodie

Finlay
    That’s correct. WordPress insists on replacing the deleted characters.

91. CameronB Brodie

I’m not discounting the point Robert is making but there is this…

The Craigiehall estate near Govan was purchased in 1783 by the merchant and cashier of the Glasgow Arms Bank, John Robertson. Robertson and his brothers owned sugar and cotton plantations in the West Indies, and he may have changed the name of the estate to Plantation in recognition of his business interests (and the primary source of his fortune).

Whatever the reason, it appears Govan would have been dominated by the “Plantation” estate.

http://www.theglasgowstory.com/image/?inum=TGSB00308

92. CameronB Brodie

I meant to post the above on a main thread, as an OT, in relation to “Plantation Quay” (location of BBC in Scotland).

93. CameronB Brodie

Finlay
    I thought I’d answered you earlier but my reply must not have posted. You are correct.

94. Brian Doonthetoon

The next Wings get-together is ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 3′, on Saturday, 24th October, in the Invergowrie Inn’s lounge.

Jenny, the manager, is reserving the tables in the dance floor area for us. You can book a table, if you’re having a meal, up till 7pm. Mention that you’re attending the Wings get-together.

There’s a decent chance we may have a couple of turns on stage, in the course of the evening and we’ll have the usual pro-Scotland, pro-indy videos.

The buses and trains back to “other” locations from Dundee do not suit an event finishing at midnight. The last whatever from Dundee seems to be around 10.30pm from the city centre.

So, here’s a handful of suggestions for those who want to make a weekend of it. You can always check out Travelodge Central and Holiday Inn for accommodation but there are always these.

You can get a private room in the Backpackers’ hostel for £25 a night.

http://www.hostelbookers.com/hostels/scotland/dundee/32491/

There’s also the Ashton Guest House, at around £27-£35 per person per night. It’s just to the Invergowrie side of the city centre.

http://www.ashtondundee.co.uk/

And there’s also this one, the Cloisterbank Guest House, but it’s around 10 minutes by car or taxi from the city centre. 20 minutes by bus.

http://www.hostelbookers.com/property/prp/69767/arr/2015-10-24/ngt/1/ppl/2/

OOPS! Nearly forgot… There’s always the Doubletrees by Hilton, where much fun was had by Paula Rose and various Wingers, after an Invergowrie get-together, previously.

http://doubletree3.hilton.com/en/hotels/united-kingdom/doubletree-by-hilton-hotel-dundee-DNDKWDI/index.html

95. Quinine fare Angus

Hello Wingers, especially the hardy few manning the stall in Dundee on Saturday

Apologies once again if I appeared bad-mannered by not making a beeline to my dear Wingy friends as I usually do. it’s just that the gorgeous kilted piper and I go back quite a long way and this was the first we’d seen of each other “in some considerable time”. There was a heap of stuff to talk about and I just had to make the most of him in that short cold afternoon, lest he disappear in a puff of smoke.

I calculated that my trusted Wingers would understand once they knew the circumstances! You were in my line of sight which made me feel all warm and cosy.

Plus I couldn’t risk the delectable Paula encroaching on my patch.

Well, not on this occasion, anyway. Xx

I will make up for it with more hugs to you all the next time we meet.

96. Jim Thomson

@CameronB Brodie

here’s an excellent resource for historical detailed maps (free to view)
    http://maps.nls.uk/about.html

And here’s a link to one from 1795 covering Glasgow and surrounds
    http://maps.nls.uk/view/74400272

It is quite detailed when you zoom in and has Govan shown but I didn’t see anything relating to Plantation (didn’t spend too long looking ..)

97. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Angus (Quinine fare Angus).

You seem to be relating events that ‘Quinie frae Angus’ experienced on Sunday afternoon. Some sort of parallel universe, perchance? Onnyhoo, welcome to ‘off-topic’!

But, I need to know – how much is the ‘Quinine fare’, Angus?

8=)
    ———————————————–

Hi Jim Thomson.

Did you see my post that you inspired last night? (5.53pm)

98. CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
    Cheers Jim. I’ve had a look myself but couldn’t spotted the Plantation estate. I found Craigiehall Street and Place, on Google Maps but don’t know the area (Govan – Harper Memorial Baptist Church).

If Plantation Quay was in operation in 1783, then I reckon it is a good bet the Robertson brothers conducted their trade with the West Indies, from there.

99. Brian Doonthetoon

“Plantation” gets regular mentions on Radio 2’s traffic reports, usually in conjunction with the M77.

100. Archie [not Erchie]

@ X_sticks 5th Oct – Your bonny photo added to the ALBUM at

https://www.flickr.com/gp/archiescollection/Y2G94y

@ Quinine fare Angus – Totally delirious with fever. 😉

101. caz-m

@Archie [not Erchie]

Cheers for that description of sunny Dundee.

I haven’t heard from Ronnie Anderson on Wings for a few days.

You don’t think Paula Rose has kidnapped him and tied him to her big four-poster bed do you?

Paula Rose, If you have got Ronnie Anderson tied up, please be gentle with him.

102. Betty Boop

@ Brian Doonthetoon, 6:17pm, 6/10/15

“Plantation” gets regular mentions on Radio 2’s traffic reports, usually in conjunction with the M77.

Aye, Brian, it’s where you get stuck trying to join the M8 from the M77 anytime between 4:30 and 6:00pm!

103. Ian Brotherhood

@Jim & CamB –

Radio traffic reports used to mention ‘Plantation’ as a junction, but I’m not sure if they still do.

Then, of course, there’s the Kingston Bridge, Jamaica Street etc (but which came first?!)

http://www.scottish-places.info/features/featurefirst11180.html

104. Brian Doonthetoon

Plantation/M77 was mentioned on Radio 2 yesterday afternoon, Ian B.

105. Ian Brotherhood

Sorry about the repeat info – I hadn’t refreshed the page since last night and didn’t see all the new comments about ‘Plantation’.

106. Jim Thomson

@Ian B was there a Kingston Bridge before the current motorway version?

107. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim T.

No Kingston Bridge in 1912. You may enjoy comparing these two maps – the first is the 1912 version and the second is Google Maps, of the same location.

Use the river and Washington Street, to the north of the river, to get your bearings on both maps.

On both maps, you can explore in a seaward direction and, on the 1912 map, you’ll see Plantation Quay. It’s handy to have each map in a separate tab, so you can click between them for comparison.

http://maps.nls.uk/view/74400475#zoom=5&lat=3482&lon=4305&layers=BT

https://goo.gl/maps/V11PPVKVUuR2

108. kendomacaroonbar

@BDTT Dinnae forget the Finnieston Tunnel?

109. Brian Doonthetoon

It’s on the 1912 map, Ken, as “Subway”.

110. Paula Rose

The excitement here on this thread is at fever pitch – I’m on tenterhooks for the next instalment, popcorn at the ready – Dari-on!

111. Kendomacaroonbar

Cheers BDTT should have looked at th map before I opened mah geggie.

Is Father Ronald on his holliers btw ?

112. Jim Thomson

@Paula there are even bathy maps here: http://maps.nls.uk/bathymetric/index.html better not tell @cearc unless that leads to another flashback to ‘gowrie

113. Jim Thomson

change of tack – anyone with an interest in WW1 and the anzac involvement might be interested in this new project that landed in my in-box today:

Hey there,

It’s my absolute pleasure to let you know that there is another amazing Zooniverse project that really needs your help. It’s called Measuring the ANZACs.

The ANZACs were the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps during World War I. Despite being a long way from the theater of war, both Australia and New Zealand sent significant numbers of troops to fight in World War I. From a population of just over one million, New Zealand sent 104,000 men and women to Europe, and Australia sent 375,000 from a population of 4.5 million. Casualty rates among ANZAC soldiers were high, with more than half of the soldiers being killed or wounded, leaving an enduring impact on these people and their compatriots.

We need your help to recover the stories of all those who served, from their lives before the war, through their wartime service, and what happened to them afterwards. We want to know more about who enlisted in the war, how healthy they were, what happened to them in service, and how their experiences affected them afterwards.

Putting together thousands of stories of early life experiences, wartime service, and post-war life will help us understand New Zealand’s changing society in the twentieth century, and broader international understanding of changes in health, well-being and aging.

Get involved right now at http://www.measuringtheanzacs.org

Cheers,

Grant and the Zooniverse Team

There are a few projects like this and can be quite immersive once you start.

114. Paula Rose

But I’ve not had enough maps yet.

115. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, Paula Rose, this’ll probably get you releasing bodily fluids…

http://maps.nls.uk/view/74400013#zoom=3&lat=5847&lon=6061&layers=BT

116. Paula Rose

*reaches for kleenex*

117. Quinie frae Angus

Hello, I’d just like to confirm that Quinine fare Angus and myself are one and the same! I am not a sneaky troll.

As my trusty laptop has finally gasped its last, I am reduced to grappling with my brother’s I-pad and I am not managing this typing very well.

Think the auto-correct facility changed me to Quinine fare Angus without me noticing!

118. Nana Smith

Poetry day. So many lovely wingers so little time to mention everyone.

Oh wings over scotland is calling to me
    Up pops a new post damn I’ll miss my tea
    Each day when I waken I pass on my links
    And some of the stories sure cause a stink

Rev Stu is the the boss man & up for the fight
    Slabour & tory can’t take on his might
    He disects their nonsense and all of their lies
    “that keyboard cybernat” the media cries

Our regular posters are sharp and so witty
    Here comes oor Ronnie with a biting wee ditty
    John King keeps us merry and up on our toes
    With his comedy sketches and avatar big nose

There are so many wise trusted and true
    Macart, Taranaich, xsticks & Thepnr just a few
    Robert Peffers keeps us right on historical matters
    Lesley Anne makes us smile with occasional banter

We long for the cartoon on Saturday morn
    Hamish kicking John Bull, Chris Cairns has drawn
    A politicial cartoonist with a mighty fine skill
    A few master strokes & Chris aims for a kill

Watch oot for oor Paula strutting in on her heels
    Best keep on her good side for she’s the real deal
    Her dungeon is stocked up in darkest off topic
    She’s there with some handcuffs holding Ian Brotherhood hostage.

119. Ian Brotherhood

@Nana Smith –

120. Betty Boop

@ Nana Smith

Ooooh, you are naughty – but, we like you! 😉

121. Ian Brotherhood

Friday!!

Yeeeee-ha!

Here we go…

Ray Charles & Van Morrison, ‘Crazy Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyCAZRKXaQk

122. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Thepnr to limber-up to before we dance our way out of the Hampden blues…

Red Hot Chili Peppers, ‘The Zephyr Song’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fcRa5Z6LmU

123. Michael McCabe

Christy Moore. Brilliant Guitar 4 minutes in from Declan Sinnott. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=uTgD-QveQrU

124. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe (8.55) –

That was braw. We’ve had clips from the same concert before, but that’s a first for me. Superb.

Here’s Rod The Plod with The Faces, ‘Maybe I’m Amazed’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SLhoLkTyNkM

125. Ian Brotherhood

Ike & Tina Turner, ‘Baby Get It On’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-WuEbDZoc6I

126. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood The Faces sure takes you back a few years. Are we the only folk on here tonight ? Stay with Me. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=JtqF0qBqzZo

127. Kishorn Commando

Here’s one for the black trades, not many of us left. Much unheard song about our too poor, to wee and to useless laddies (and lassies)and how they managed to build one of the wonders of the world.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9-etJ3KmaA

128. cearc

I’m here (in my highland idyll!)

It’s hard to imagine how mind-blowing the Forth Bridge must have been when it was built.

129. Michael McCabe

@ Kishorn Commando 9:57pm Cheers for a wee song I have never heard before.

130. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

‘Ten Years After’?!

Honestly, I’ve never even heard of them – that was great. Sounded a lot like Fleetwood Mac ‘Shake Your Moneymaker’, and the singer’s good at doing all that girning stuff, as if he’s holding a giant slug. (Did you see that Tweet on WOS recently? Superb.)

I guess a lot of these guys knew each other and were listening to the same stuff. (Wish I’d kept all those mad Pete Frame pages from the NME!)

And now Cearc’s here – a real rock ‘chick’! (See what I did there?)

It’s all happening in O/T. 🙂

131. Ian Brotherhood

Here it is – ‘SlugSolos’

Please beware, if you don’t like slugs and/or guitarists girning.

http://slugsolos.tumblr.com/

132. Norman Smith

SWMBO – says he sings with razor blades.

But I would cut my throat to sing just one song like this!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJCL48LOILU

133. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Ten years after played at the original Woodstock. @ Norman Smith Loved the Frankie Miller song. Here is a Brilliant television Debut for KT Tunstall. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYEU91d8ngc&feature=player_detailpage

134. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You constantly cause me to raise a metaphorical eyebrow. Never heard of Ten Years After? You must have been hingin’ oot at the Northern Soul clubs, iye?

“I’m Going Home” – when I was doing the rock clubs in Dundee in the 80s and 90s, that track was one I would stick on in the last half hour to get the dance floor filled.

Check out this full length version from the “Woodstock” fillum…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bW5M5xljdCI

Also, there were the ‘hit’ singles…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpVBC_MYBD4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ar79E8eXVI8

135. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Honestly mister, hand on heart, never registered their existence until this evening.

Some things just pass us by…so it goes. 🙁

PS- I didn’t understand what ‘Northern Soul’ actually meant until an SSP buddy explained it to me on the train en route to the Glasgow Central Labour Gala Dinner (almost a year ago) at which we gave Jim Murphy fair warning of the fate to befall him…

Life’s a strange thang awthegither, eh?!

PPS – Here’s a wee ‘kismet’ test…have just been thinking how few people have ever heard of The Shakin’ Pyramids. Have you?

In any event, hoots ablaw! full-blast tae ye’s an’ aw.

🙂 🙂

136. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: RE Wings Over Invergowrie on 24th October.

If you’re going, and want a badge with your name on it, stick a post in Quarantine, stating what name you want on the badge.

If you want to see what’s been typed already about this get-together, do a control-F (command-F on a Mac) on this page, type Invergowrie, and you’ll see the posts where it’s mentioned, including the very first post on this page.

137. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Here’s a CLASSIC Northern Soul track, which you will probably recognise.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NSehtaY6k1U

138. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

I always veered towards rock but was aware of the concept of Northern Soul. If you want to learn a wee bit, have a look at this documentary from the BBC, on the subject of Northern Soul and the Wigan Casino, an a’ thah’…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMtaEASd2LI

139. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

A great quote from that documentary…

“No one wants to be spoon fed $hite from the charts”

140. David

@ Nana Smith, good poem!

141. Michael McCabe

Here is Ike and Tina Turner with a bit of Northern Soul. With the Blues Song Dust My Broom. Love the Dancers by the way http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=AE8GYvEdwd0

142. cearc

Ian,

Or ‘cnoc’ chick, even. As I am perched on a wee cnoc.

143. yesindyref2

A bit of mood music from the album:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wD5J-NtLekA

or a live version same song:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PxYU7A6qCnc

144. Chic McGregor

Paula & cearc.

Sorry for late reply, I forgot I had posted this here.

As to the viability, the expert on the radio said that the new freezing techniques added little or no risk to ‘normal’ in vitro but did advise gathering them from earlier rather than later pre menopausal years.

Of course, the ethical difference is that in vitro is currently done when the couple cannot conceive normally and is not simply a matter of choice.

Agree that there would be issues like unruly adolescents perhaps bullying elderly parents. Also there is the greater possibility of the parents dying before they have seen their progeny ‘settled’, married, grandkids etc.

There may be some positives too, like the parents having greater experience to aid their child raising and it might have benefits in keeping them ‘younger’ themselves.

And there is the financial consideration for elderly new parents, where the woman is not working and, due to ageism unlikely to regain employment after birth. That could impact on the financial well being of the children.

Re the obstacle course filter. I’ve often wondered about that myself and whether the in vitro folk set one up to select healthy sperm but do not know if that is the case. But that is a slightly different issue.

145. Thepnr

Very sorry to hear that Jim Diamond passed away today. A favourite of mine first played here in the run up to the referendum was this.

Listening back then it was all about the relationship between Scotland and rUK. Quality.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4nmUArwssFw

146. Ian Brotherhood

So long Jim Diamond – left some great tunes and memories, and few do much more than that. Hoots tae ye mister…

Here’s a happy one –

Bonnie Tyler and Shakin Stevens, ‘A Rockin Good Way’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hp9D04pcyV0

147. Ian Brotherhood

Teardrop Explodes, ‘Reward’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dNHc56y0POU

148. Ian Brotherhood

Big Audio Dynamite, ‘E=MC2’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHTDkJ-bQqM

149. Ian Brotherhood

The Clash, ‘Bankrobber’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttJBdr6eBuo

150. Michael McCabe

Any old hippies tuning in tonight ? If so then this is for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=eJOA_vLwevA

151. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

I only watched the first minute of the hippie music as it makes me cry. 🙁

But this was an ‘associated’ video on the YT list right beside it, and it made me laugh. 🙂

John Cooper Clarke telling ‘tight Yorkshireman’ jokes.
    (I didn’t even know Yorkshiremen had a reputation for being mean…you learn something every day.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5J1xPU8GOH8

152. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood. Cheers for that Made me Chuckle. Here is a wee bit of a guy I went to see last year. Jim eoin

153. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Err, a ‘wee bit’?

Couldn’t be any wee-er! 🙂

Never mind, I’ll look ‘im up…

154. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Sorry forgot to put the link up. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9gZcFdKZXsM&feature=player_detailpage

155. Ian Brotherhood

@M.McC –

Just watched the top three YT, and they included the one you just posted. Great. Never saw the dude before.

156. Ian Brotherhood

Can’t have a full day with nowt on O/T…will this make it in time??

Hot Chocolate, ‘Every I’s A Winner’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J-GkwIRbLw8

157. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to dakk. 🙂

Ricky Nelson – Lonesome town
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1sv-vo3ptRo

158. Michael McCabe

@ Ronnie Anderson 9th of November Ronnie. See You in Court. Hope you are having a great Holiday.

159. ronnie anderson

@ Michael McCabe Part holiday part working Micheal ,that BrianDTT & PeteTC gave me Saltire/Catalan badges am awe er Salou wie them ,making friends wie Independenistas lol.

160. ronnie anderson

The Independestas are putting it on the ballot paper Aye Aye Aye.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FHwIlg6-gis

161. Brian Doonthetoon

Just to remind you all…

The “Wings Over Invergowrie” get-together takes place Next Saturday, 24th October, in the lounge at the Invergowrie Inn, from 7pm onwards.

If you want a named badge as a souvenir of the night, stick a post in Quarantine, claiming your badge.

If you want to book seats to have a meal beforehand, mention “Wings Over Scotland get-together” when booking your seats.

The phone number is (01382) 562686.

You can book seats up to 7pm.

You can find info on accommodation in my previous post at:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-29/#comment-2065925

162. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Nice one Michael, loved it :o)

Looks fairly quiet here the past few days 🙁 Was really sorry to hear of the passing away of Jim Diamond a favorite of many of us.

This is the first I heard of him singing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_XtzuY-nb2Q

163. Ian Brotherhood

@MichaelMcCabe –

Nice one. Knew the tune, could never have guessed the artist.

Stray Cats, ‘Rock This Town’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zk_WpqVFYZg

164. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Nice one Michael, loved it :o)

Looks fairly quiet here the past few days 🙁 Was really sorry to hear of the passing away of Jim Diamond a favorite of many of us.

This is the first I heard of him singing.

youtube.com/watch?v=_XtzuY-nb2Q

165. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

SNAP! 🙂

166. Ian Brotherhood

Hey, Thepnr, hoots to ye mister!

The Ruts, ‘Babylon’s Burning’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LAcEWMAqEM

167. Paula Rose

*pops head round door* Keep the noise down boys I’m studying.

168. Thepnr

Hey Ian

I’ve been quiet for too long, no more. The new me just doesn’t work lol.

No slacking!

Once sung by Tom Petty but the originals are the best.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUQCmDfKFac

169. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Great stuff there mister. Hoots aplenty.

The Stranglers, ‘No More Heroes’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6yTRq_rJg4

170. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Are you gonna be providing carriage for Paula Rose next weekend? Do you have your flippers looked out?

171. Theprr

@Ian Brotherhood

Yes, it’s time to get off our knees, stand tall and hold them to account.

This song has nothing to do with anything, other than I like it 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SR6iYWJxHqs

172. Brian Doonthetoon

Typing about The Stranglers…

Probably my favourite Stranglers track in the world ever…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_4-PpVK8yE

173. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Aye, Bruno’s good.

Here’s his most recent one, with Mark Ronson. Over a billion views. Cool dancing.

We must try to do that routine at the Brechin WOS getthegither. (You can be Mars if I can be the dude in the white suit. Deal?)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPf0YbXqDm0

174. Michael McCabe

Here is Bruno Mars with a Reggae mix. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=K4DOm0j3sPU It is good to see the off topic mob are here again. I thought Ronnie Anderson had taken you all on holiday with him this past week. Missed all the tunes.

175. Thepnr

See you in Brechin then. That’s where it’s at!

176. cearc

Evening all.

Just posted a comment, did stuff, came upstairs and hey, it’s not there.

Wrong thread of course, so,

Hmm, Inverwotsit, that’s next week.
    Don’t things creep up suddenly when one is busy doing sod-all?

177. Paula Rose

Hi Hen xx

178. Michael McCabe

Nanci Griffith Old Land (Road to Aberdeen) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8agI6p7kORM&feature=player_detailpage

179. Brian Doonthetoon

If you want a named badge for the Invergowrie get-together next Saturday, stick a post in Quarantine. The cut-off point is 11.59pm on Wednesday night.

180. Stoker

An Englishman walks into a bar and says:
    “hey, where’s the Scotsman and Irishman?”

“STILL AT THE RUGBY WORLD CUP,” came the reply.

181. Stoker

Half-time at the rugby: Australia 15 Scotland 16

ffs, it’s tighter than a ducks erse an ma fingernails have disappeared.

182. Stoker

Full-time at the rugby: Australia 35 Scotland 34

Och well, maybe next time boys.

Played some lovely stuff Scotland and let the Aussies know they were in a game. Need more work on the basic mistakes.

Proud of all involved.

((((( C’MON THE ARGIES )))))

Can you imagine, folks, the winners of the 2015 World Cup held in England is…..drumroll…..(((((ARGENTINA)))))

183. Stoker

btw, The late shoulder charge challenge on Hogg was the EXACT same tackle one of the Argies were binned for in the earlier game. The officials responsible should never be allowed near another rugby stadium never mind a game of rugby. Useless chiantis!!!

Well played Scotland.

184. Jim Thomson

Jings @BDtt yer badges get everywhere

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-34565619

185. Brian Doonthetoon

Yeah, Jim. I see at least 5 of ours there.

186. Cherry

Hi would like to ask a stupid question..last night around 2am yesindyref2 and me were aware of a troll. Why would our posts disappear? Not being paranoid honest.. I congratulated indy2 for what I only suspected and not being a big contributor to any threads was afraid to voice my opinion for fear of outing wrongly. Now on my tablet the posts from Indy and me to each other are missing. Anyone know why or is my tablet having an off day!

187. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cherry.

Above the comment text box, on every page, it says,
    Comment – new users please read this page first for commenting rules.

“this page” is a link which takes you to this page:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/About/

On that page, under ETIQUETTE AND FORMATTING, you’ll see,

2. Play the ball, not the man (or woman).

And by all means disagree, by all means disagree forcefully – but argue with people’s views, don’t insult them personally. And that includes calling them “trolls” or implying they’re undercover Unionists. We’ll decide if someone’s trolling or not. But in the meantime, if you think they are, ignore them.

If you know what a “troll” is, then you’ll also know that getting you angry and talking about them, derailing the conversation off the subject, is exactly what they want.

Email us about suspected trolls if you want. But don’t engage them in debate if you doubt their motives, and DEFINITELY don’t engage in on-thread discussions about whether they’re a troll or not.

So your posts may have been deleted for overuse of the “t” word.

188. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW Cherry.

You never typed which page you were meaning.

On this page,
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/with-permission/
    there are posts, starting with yesindyref2 at 2.36am, where you answer him, typing,

“I spotted the inconsistent posts but wasn’t sure. Sneaky wee buggers aren’t they! Funny how they always get that wee bit too cocky .. well played!”

189. Ian Brotherhood

Too much mad and sad stuff going on today. Time for a musical interlude.

Here’s a brass band playing Hamish Mccunn’s ‘Land of the Mountain and the Flood’, and doing it very nicely too (just try not to imagine a rugby ball tumbling down a stream, with brief periods of calm as it floats across deep dark pools of doom – now that I’ve mentioned it, you won’t be able to…sorry):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFdiTkAUK54

190. Cherry

Yes Brian but that is the post that is missing, then Indy replied to me

191. Cherry

Don’t think I wrote the t word until it was confirmed by Indy but that post is still there!

192. Ian Brotherhood

Main threads and WOS Twitter are scenes of carnage.

This quiet place must exude calm…so…(breathe out)…

Van Morrison, ‘I’m Tired Joey Boy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2RkjdYNvbVI

193. cearc

Fairey Engineering, eh? I remember the company but didn’t know of the brass band.

194. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Indeed. Good job though, eh? There is a Glasgow Philharmonic version on YT, but it doesn’t sound anywhere near as good, despite having all the strings etc.

I suppose it’s all in the ear of the behearer – I’d listen to a comb-and-bronco version of it, if it was done well enough. 🙂

195. cearc

Yep, those aviating people sure made it fly.

196. Stoker

Looks like our incompetent Mr.Joubert is no stranger to controversy:

“Last year, SA’s Craig Joubert apologised to Crusaders captain Richie McCaw and coach Todd Blackadder for awarding a last-minute penalty the Waratahs turned into a championship-winning three points.”

“A phone call a week later is hardly any consolation for a decision that would determine the championship winner in the 81st minute of the final.”

“Joubert was ridiculed on social media, but there was no official sanction.”

Read the rest here:
    About time inept referees are kicked into touch
    https://archive.is/z7JAl
    18th May 2015

OR, for those with the inclination to do so just google the words – craig joubert corrupt cheat – and see what gems you uncover.

197. Nana Smith

Sabhail mor ostaig in Sleat [Skye] may be able to help. They may know of folks who use skype and would be prepared to converse with the lady. Could also prove to be a good way to learn for those starting out.

I can imagine being unable to chat in gaelic being really hard and especially so when elderly. My mum in her last years was surrounded by non gaelic speakers and she missed it so.

I don’t use skpye myself and right now I’m getting used to a new computer. If I did use skpye I would chat with the lady. I will ask around.

198. Nana Smith

Gings help ma boab, that last post was for Paula Rose, forgot to say!

199. Paula Rose

Thank you Nana Smith

200. Paula Rose

I have come across an elderly lady from Skye who is in a nursing home near Sheffield. She has no-one to speak Gaelic to.

If you can help by being able to speak to her via Skype or know anyone who does who lives in that area – please leave me a message here.

201. Nana Smith

@Paula Rose

Sent a message to admin at Sabhail mor Ostaig. Also will ask a friend to enquire through her highland dancing club and church members, soon as I can pin her down.

Have you thought of tweeting a request? That way you may find someone in Sheffield or close by.

202. Paula Rose

Yes – have tweeted and will do so again xx

203. Paula Rose

Lots of re-action to my request on twitter – Radio Sheffield and Edinburgh University helping amongst others.

204. Nana Smith

@Paula Rose

The power of twitter, someone is bound to come forward.
    Will post here if I have any info for you.

205. Ghillie

Paula Rose, you have a heart of gold = )

206. Ghillie

Rev Stu, I am guessing from your twitter post that wee Jura has passed away. I am so sorry. Thinking of you xxx

207. Paula Rose

Well a member of her family asked me and a couple of others if we could help – though I wasn’t expecting to have to wade through several hundred notifications!

208. Marianne

@ Paula Rose

Have messaged a couple of people, but see you have a big response already – still I’ll get back to you if anyone is able to help.

209. Paula Rose

Thanks Marianne xx

210. Thepnr

Right I’m trying to think of the best song ever we played on here. Can’t do it, too many good ones.

What’s your best?

I’ll dump this on you, one of the best but not THEE best. I can assure you that you have not seen this yet.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rn8R1iQ1JQI

211. cearc

Nice. No, I hadn’t seen it before.

212. Jim Thomson

Another wee reminder that if you want an Invergowrie 3 personalised badge you need to let Brian Dtt know across in Quarantine.

213. Ruby

Topic:Got here with help from Paula Rose

Thank you Paula Rose. Would you like a Nespresso? The light is on and my machine is ready to brew.
    I have a couple of special editions Palermo & Milano.

214. Paula Rose

No thank you dear – I’m rather busy at the moment, please don’t make a mess – there’s milk in the fridge.

215. Ruby

Question No1 for Dr Jim & ‘uno mas’ well dos mas, tres mas or however many more decide to attend my evening class

Do you know how to copy and paste?

216. Paula Rose

Oh and by the way – here’s some nice music while you wait for your pupils…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3MzZgPBL3Q

217. Ruby

Is that your church Paula Rose?

218. uno mas

Hi Ruby,
    Sorry i´m late for class was out for the messages.

Yes I do know how to copy and paste.

219. Ruby

Great uno mas.

Do you see the comment above the box where you post.

do you see where it says HTML tags like ….. and ……

copy and paste either one of these wee signs that look like a v on its side with and i or b in the middle into notepad or whatever text editor you use.

Do you know how to hightlight text and right click? Do you use Firefox?

220. Ruby

The wee signs that look like a v on its side are on the keyboard next to the m. When you type them into a post they dont show. I will call the first one next to the m with a comma underneath vcomma and the one next to that vfull stop to type these you need to use the shift key otherwise you will get a comma or fullstop. However if you have copied and pasted the one from the comment box you wont have to do that. Think of these little tags as being similar to quotation marks you need to put one at one side of the text you want to bold and another at the end of the text. The one at the end needs to have a forward slash before the b.

you would have vcomma b vfullstop text you want bold vcomma /b vfullstop

221. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie A.

When are you gonna share your holiday experiences – with the independenistas? (SP?)

We’re all on hecklepeens here, waiting for you pithy anecdotes.

Or, are you keeping all your stories for Invergowrie on Saturday?

222. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ruby.

I have got into the habit of formatting a reply to someone else’ comment like this, below:-

——————————————

Hi Ruby.

You typed,
    The wee signs that look like a v on its side are on the keyboard next to the m.
    And so on…

This might be helpful.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/BOLD&ITALICS.png

223. uno mas

Hi Ruby,
    Sorry for delayed response, i´m in and out tonight!!!

I´´m with you so far.

Anything else I need to know.

Don´t know what happened to Dr Jim I was expecting him.

224. uno mas

Ruby,
    I don´t use Firefox I use Google Chrome.

Is that a problem?

225. Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose

Thanks, Paula, for again posting the link to the Gaelic psalms. Loved the filmed scenes too.

Brings back memories of the time(s) we lived in the Hebrides… aaahhh, nostalgia time. Can almost smell the peat burning.

See y’all at the weekend. Nearly Hallowe’en, good time to give your red and black stilletos an airing perhaps? x

226. Paula Rose

Hi Betty Boop have you seen what I’ve been up to on twitter over the last couple of days? Check out hash tag SkyeLady – part of the story, tell you the rest on Saturday – give Quentin a squeeze from me xx

227. Paula Rose

Darling – you are so sweet xx

228. Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose

Not on the Tweetosphere too often, but, was aware of #Skyelady and your lovely efforts.

Hope the lady’s new chums speak Skye Gaelic! 😉 Recall folk in Uists shaking their heads and tutting when someone mention a word not used in Uist Gaelic, “och that’s not right, they’d be from Skye!”

No matter though, I’m sure talking in her native tongue will bring great joy and comfort. Good on you. :-)) xx

229. liz g

Askin a Wee favour from any wingers in the Bellshill area
    My elderly (widowed) mum lost her wedding ring there on Monday
    As you can imagine she is very upset.
    Could any of you keep an ear out for it or maybe even ask on you’re own Facebook for any news.
    I know it’s a long shot but still worth giving the power of wings a try.
    Thanks in advance X

230. Brian Doonthetoon

Remember, if you want a personalised named badge for the Wings get-together at the Invergowrie Inn on Saturday stick a post in Quarantine before 11.59pm tonight.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/quarantine/comment-page-2/#comment-2072064

231. Paula Rose

@ liz g – do you have a twitter account? Far more likely to get greater coverage.

232. liz g

Unfortunately no Paula Rose twitter baffles me.

233. Paula Rose

@ liz g – you have 140 characters to describe the situation – e.g. start with “my friends elderly widowed mum…..” Then all of us with titter accounts can do our best.

234. liz g

My elderly widowed mum lost her wedding ring on Mon in or around Morrisons in Bellshill used Maxis taxi home.
    She is devistated.
    Can anyone help get it back for her.. thanks

Hope that will do Paula Rose .,…you are a star X

235. Paula Rose

Tweeted this – A pal’s widowed mum lost her wedding ring Mon in or around Morrisons, Bellshill used Maxis taxi home.She’s devastated. Let’s find it Pls RT

236. Paula Rose

Anything special about the ring or is it just a plain band?

237. liz g

Sorry Paula Rose was on the other thread trying to figure out all those figures.
    No it’s not a plain band it has a pattern cut all the way round and is also a broad/deep ring,there is no engraving on the inside.

238. Jim Thomson

@Paula Rose 21 Oct 12:56am

I know you have a busy lifestyle my sweet but, you really need to get your address book re-organised.

Don’t want any marital issues now do we 😉

239. Paula Rose

@ Jim Thomson – I know honey, spotted my mistake this morning (memo to self – not good to do interwebby after too many drinkies) was hoping no-one would notice (blushes delightfully again).

240. cearc

Oooh, scandal!

What does Paula Rose know that Jim and Chipmonkey don’t!

241. Paula Rose

😳 😳 😳

242. Paula Rose

@ liz g – If you’re still around, lady on twitter points out that rings can slip off cold fingers – was your mum rummaging in the freezer section?

Anyone reading this without having the comment at 6:37 – that is what this refers to :rolls:

243. Patrician

🙄

244. Betty Boop

@ cearc, 10:02pm

Oooh, scandal!

What does Paula Rose know that Jim and Chipmonkey don’t!

I was wondering that myself… I have a reputation to consider after all 😉 Boo boop de doo

245. Paula Rose

Eek 😳 yes 🙄

246. Betty Boop

😆

247. cearc

It should be a lively meet on saturday!

248. Paula Rose

Stop it or I’m not coming 😥

249. Betty Boop

Night Quentin 😉

oh,oh 😳

250. Paula Rose

Right that does it I’m not coming – I expect I thought my delightful FRIEND Chipmonkey was coming and got carried away – if she is I’ll change my mind *flounces out*

251. Betty Boop

Dry your eyes, Paula. We need all the flounce we can get on Saturday and we’ll make up for teasing you so. Feather up and put on the happy feet 🙂

252. Paula Rose

All that hoo-haa made me very upset and now poor Tartan Tory won’t be able to sit down for a week instead of just a day – he’s livid.

253. Quentin Quale

Aha, now I know why I was sent to the garden shed last night. That’ll cost you a special stroke, Paula.

254. Jim Thomson

Betty was in your garden shed?

255. Chic McGregor

Stuck on 21 Ac again today.

256. Paula Rose

Enough of this smut!

Chic McGregor dear – clue and any letters etc please.

257. Chipmonkey

Paula Rose, thank goodness someone is looking after the standards and stopping the smut.

Honey, I have been a very busy monkey and time has shot past. I will definitely come to Inverwotsit on Saturday so long as you will be there. I need my best pal.

I’ve been so slow I’ll be badgeless and no-one else will know who I am.

QQ will come too if I have decided I’m taking to him with the garden shed issue coming so soon after the pool incident.

See you Saturday

xx

258. Paula Rose

Me and my pal – xxx

259. Paula Rose

Guaranteed I’ll be there now xx

260. Paula Rose

Oops hold on – Quinie frae Angus where are you? *stern severe look*

261. CameronB Brodie

So Dishface has hatched a bold and dastardly scheme to effectively gag Scotland whilst continuing to milk our resources. At the same time, the Scotch themed Corporate Media is out to stop the SNP, at all costs? It’s almost as if Britain is a dystopian and overly centeralised neo-Fascist wonderland. No, you’ve not been Tango’d but it looks like you might be about to be disenfranchised. Of course, only if you live in Scotland.

The Anthill Mob – The Hooded Claw (Tango Mix)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QIjCqDMnIU

For all of those who don’t understand what just happened there. 🙂

Maldroid – Heck No! (I’ll Never Listen to Techno)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qkrMIn0xWMQ

262. Quinie frae Angus

Hi Paula dear

I’m here…still hoping to come along on Saturday although family duties may prevail. Would love to see everyone though. In the midst of the insanity out there in the Twittersphere and the resultant media feeding frenzy where we are all now being portrayed as unhinged psychopaths, I am in desperate need of some kindly, rational and good-humoured camaraderie within the bosom of the Wingfold.

263. CameronB Brodie

In other news.

Moving Staircases – Dog Eats Robot
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vqFQZaUf1rE

264. CameronB Brodie

So Scotland can’t become an independent state because we face a demographic time-bomb. Well China may not be a long-term solution to ‘English Red & Blue Tory profligacy’, as they may have broken the world’s economy in order to escape neo-colonial exploitation enter the global market.

China’s ability to continue increasing the quality of social services in line with the expectations of its people depends on its capacity to increase taxes. Even existing levels of service provision will soon become impossible within China’s current fiscal framework, thanks to rising costs and population aging. The proportion of the population aged 65 and over will increase from ten percent to nearly 21 percent between 2015 and 2035, according to U.S. Census Bureau projections. The elderly are expensive users of government services, and after four decades of one-child families, there just aren’t enough younger people to care for them all.

https://www.foreignaffairs.com/articles/china/2015-08-16/china-hits-wall

265. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to the Scottish themed Corporate Meeja.

The Quakes – I don´t come from nowhere (with equality of representation)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xsmP2G2uh8E

266. CameronB Brodie

I think this one was inspired by those behind Project Fear. You know who you are.

Phantom Creep Radio #13
    http://garagepunkpirateradio.com/phantom-creep-radio-13/

267. Chic McGregor

Apologies Paula, I had forgotten I asked the question here untill I opened today’s Xword.

The clue was

“Treacherous place to the west after solid ground (8)”

D_S_O_A_

An on line Xword solver dictionary threw up the answer.

Apart from a fit to one word, I still don’t get it although there seems to be a partial anagram involved.

Answer was:
    DISLOYAL

268. Jock Scot

To celebrate EVEL day..from my favourite Scottish schizo son.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LH1kRTd_Xdw

269. Paula Rose

Chic honey – solid ground up gives dislo and if you put lay to the west you get yal.

270. CameronB Brodie

Oggythegooner
    #giggles 🙂

271. Chic McGregor

Thanks Paula, never heard that expression ‘putting something to the west’ meaning reverse it, you live and learn.

I had thought yal might have been some nautical or aeronautical term or something but nothing on Google.

272. Paula Rose

To the north is used for down clues.

273. Jim Thomson

@Paula & @Chic … you people have waaaay too much time on your hands.

Just back at the interweb-face after shifting and stacking a ton and a half of firewood. Paula, I might need you to walk up and down my back tomorrow night [groans as shifts position in chair]

Now, what did I do with my to-do list …

274. Paula Rose

With or without heels?

275. Ian Brotherhood

Radiohead, ‘Bodysnatchers’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cAIHRIO73e8

276. Thepnr

It doesn’t get any easier eh!

How about BTO?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cia_v4vxfE

277. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Re your query on main thread, I did not watch the programme but here is a few comments from twitter

Shameful and embarrassing watching Ruth Davidson laugh on BBC about her hypocrisy on tax credits. Game show disgrace.

RuthDavidsonMSP doing a grand 2nd class girly job of laughing at all the boys crap jokes – she knows her place

she is laughing like Ted Heath. R. Davidson having a great laugh on BBC while Scot’s face TaxCredCuts

Ruth Davidson there, stealing jokes from @AngrySalmond on HIGNFY

HIGNFY Is this Ruth trying to get her job back with the BBC after she loses in 2016 Scottish elections

278. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good one. When we form the BTO WOS Tribute band, I bags to be the dude with the orange suit and fur-trim. Cool.

We seem to be getting a bit of a theme here – BTO singing about a devil-woman, right after Bodysnatchers.

So here’s Bonnie Tyler in a scary video, to get us in the Halloween mood. Quite apt, what with all this EVEL patter going on…

Bonnie Tyler, ‘I Need A Hero’ (or a Woodbine, whichever becomes available first…)-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bWcASV2sey0

279. Ian Brotherhood

@Nana Smith –

Can’t remember the last time I saw HIGNFY ‘live’ so-to-speak. Someone mentioned earlier it’s now 25 years they’ve been at it?!

No wonder it’s dog-tired.

280. Ian Brotherhood

This is toe-curling pish, but, by the sounds of it (after hearing reports from my many spies) a sight better than tonight’s HIGNFY.

Bobby Pickett, ‘Monster Mash’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNuVifA7DSU

281. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

HIGNFY well dead, even then Yong Ones had to go at some time and they had the likes of this with Madness.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QYp52dqOAZ8

282. cearc

Hiya, alls. see yous tomorrow.

283. Ian Brotherhood

@Cearc –

That was very this:

Soft Cell, ‘Say Hello, Wave Goodbye’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qR-wKt3tiIg

284. Nana Smith

@Ian

25yrs, crikey I feel old! and bloody tired. Night night

285. Paula Rose

Thank you Chipmonkey for your generous offer – Quentin is so delicate and lovely with his caring approach to pedicurism – lie back and swoon.

286. cearc

Thepnr,

While you’re lurking in the lounge, I’m wrecking your kitchen.

287. Lanarkist

Looking forward to Invergowrie tonight, see some of you there!

288. Ian Brotherhood

Severe lack of Inverwotsit-related reports in here.

Very disappointing.

Until we get some form of update, I will post Andrew Lloyd Webber songs and/or toe-curling pop-songs featuring child choirs.

I’m serious.

Here’s a ‘gentle’ introduction to the thumb-screws:

Michael Ball, ‘Love Changes Everything’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pb63CxqzCwA

289. Ian Brotherhood

Don’t say you weren’t warned:

Clive Dunn, ‘Grandad’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KJGJRd8pGE

290. Ian Brotherhood

Now 23.41, and still no updates…

ABBA, ‘I Have A Dream’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r82fyOb8F5w

291. Ian Brotherhood

Brian & Michael, ‘Matchstalk Men And Matchstalk Cats And Dogs’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PVR-PyRC4io

292. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s Lloyd Webber’s missus, giving it laldy before he tamed her a la Citizen Kane and made her an opera ‘star’ –

Sarah Brightman & Hot Gossip, ‘I Lost My Heart To A Starship Trooper’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kii8Zsuo3_c

293. David

Next DJ please!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vaLi9W6HRc

Sensational Alex Harvey Band – ‘Next’

294. David

Indeep – ‘Last night a DJ saved my life’

295. Ian Brotherhood

Okay.

It’s now 1.12.

Time for the big guns.

Elaine Paige, Susan Boyle, & Several Hundred Candles, ‘I Know Him So Well’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sF1hIaHKANk

296. David

Indeep – ‘Last night a DJ saved my life’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GtfZbj4J71A

297. cearc

Sorry Ian, it was getting so wild the high spot of course being when Jim took Quentin Quale outside.

Fight club had nothing on it.

Thepnr’s looking for a song for you right now.

298. Thepnr

It’s late I know. I liked this song but not sure if it’s due a turn on off topic? It is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G333Is7VPOg

299. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc, Thepnr, David –

Thanks be to all known gods, the cavalry has arrived…

Now I can sleep, knowing this place is back in safe hands.

Sarah Brightman & Andrea Bocelli, ‘Time To Say Goodbye’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3ENX3aHlqU

300. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

What can I say other than than that was absolutely brilliant?

So cheers, I loved it.

One day, ALL music will be like this :0)

301. Smiley Face

~_^

😀

😀

Testing

302. Brian Doonthetoon

Some pics and a short video showing those who were there, taken last night at the Invergowrie night out.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-invergowrie-24th-october-2015

303. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Great to see so many old faces together!

Aye, CyberNats in the flesh are properly terrifying, eh?

304. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Saw your comment about foodbanks on main thread.

Justice served would to have IDS, Danny Alexander, and all the other BTUKOK bawbaggers locked in a cell with Susan Boyle belting out the entire Rice/Webber back catalogue full-pelt on an endless loop until they succumb, one by one. And I don’t mean recordings – I mean her, in there with them, so close that her eyebrows graze their cheeks.

305. Ian Brotherhood

‘This ain’t no foolin’ around!’

Talking Heads, ‘Stop Making Sense’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obAtn6I5rbY

306. Ian Brotherhood

Tonight’s ‘compare & contrast’ exercise:

Toyah Wilcox in 1977:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5NT9akGdsfg

Toyah Wilcox in 2006:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zfdb_syzJSo

Aye, it’s a fucking ‘mystery’ right enough…

307. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Hey come on now Ian Toyah in 77 was of course very different in 06. She was fat in 76 and skinny in 06? Who really cares though I did enjoy the cafe scene, reminded me of this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6iqzi7N2Ds&list=RDu6iqzi7N2Ds

Can I tell you something else for free? This is one fight we will win.

Easy, we have right on our side.

308. Ian Brotherhood

Old Favourite –

Dexy’s Midnight Runners performing ‘Jackie Wilson Said’ on TOTP, with big giant screen showing oor very ain Jocky Wilson in the background…

Postmodernist cross-cultural fertilisation, with a dash of kismet thrown in for good measure, and ye can even dance tae it? – result!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Ao9p3ou7-U

309. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

your mentions of ‘Toyah’.

You may enjoy this episode of ‘Shoestring’, which features the said lady. I liked ‘Shoestring’ and found this episode ‘aw right’.

It’s just under 50 minutes so get a drinkie or three, and popcorn, or your favourite snack.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O9rcQPbv_BE

BTW: I posted this originally at around 5 past 10 but it seems to have been chah’d up by the system. I’m not sure if this is exactly the same as the first attempt (which returned a “duplicate message detected” message when I clicked on ‘submit’ again, after around 10 minutes) so two versions of this post may eventually appear.

I haven’t known, in the past, for it to take over 25 minutes for a post to appear.

A-A-ARGH! I’ve just realised what’s wrong. I forgot to strip out the h-t-t-p-s-:-/-/ before I submitted.

Mea culpa…

310. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Great video.

If we ever do meet up, please remind me to tell you a story about that song. (It’s a belter but not for public consumption.)

311. Thepnr

Ian you do know that the band is from Arbroath? I have a story or two mesell 🙂

312. Michael McCabe

For all those who cant keep there feet on the Ground. and look out for the Bagpipes. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=im3saZsxvqY

313. Proud Cybernat

I suppose this should go here. BBC and Corporate Media crap debunked:

http://tinyurl.com/ps5trcb

Enjoy.

Oh – and spread it far ‘n’ wide. Let’s take these truth-benders, these liars, down.

314. Iain Hamilton

Just copied this from Baroness Moan of Playboy’s Wiki page.

“In January 2012, she gave an interview to The Sunday Times stating her intention to move to England were Scotland to become independent following the 2014 Referendum.[14] Such was the hostility by Scottish National Party (SNP) for her expressing a pro-Union viewpoint, Mone concluded relocating to England was favourable to facing further recrimination; this was despite the 2014 Scottish Independence Referendum vote being decided in favour maintaining the Union.”

UNbefeckinglievable!

315. Michael McCabe

A Song for Rev Stu on his Birthday. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=8-WFNbMohTQ From the off topic Posse.

316. Proud Cybernat

‘Kez – The Blunder Years’

http://tinyurl.com/okobcb3

Spread it far ‘n’ wide.

317. Michael McCabe

@Proud Cybernat Cheers for your links. That’s 2 of them I have seen now. Keep them Coming.

318. Paula Rose

Time for some all time brilliance…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0c4l_T3KRNo

319. Paula Rose

More genius – from the Tay Bridge bar courtesy of Michael Marra…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1X0rqVVAmXw

320. Quentin Quale

Paula, it was great to catch up at Inverwotsit. Another great night. Thinking about your dance moves had me playing Zappa’s Sheik Yerbouti(geddit?)which led to me dusting off my copy of Hot Rats. Hearing Willie the Pimp made me rush to my cd of St Andrew’s Word on the Pavey to play Wullie thon Mink – well, well. Find and listen. Michael Marra’s a genius richt enough.

321. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Quentin Quayle.

“Peaches En Regalia” has always been one of my fave tracks.

But my fave Mothers track is “Do You Like My New Car?/Happy Together”, from the “Live At The Fillmore East” (1971) album. Brilliant the way they lead up to Happy together – ‘The big hit record – with the bullet!’ Here’s an updated version of it, featuring Dweezil Zappa.
    “Roger Daltry never laid a hand on me.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3YP7IYTj74

322. Quentin Quale

Hi Brian, the spirit of Frank lives on in Dweezil. My top Zappa track would be The Torture Never Stops but for novelty value how about his Variations on the Carlos Santana Secret Chord Progression?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0nIlJKSrVg
    Still miffed with Zappa for driving past me and my mate hitching to Knebworth. Those were the days. Probably.

323. frogesque

Testing:

😛 :p

324. frogesque

^ note to self, use upper case P

325. Paula Rose

😛 ?

326. Paula Rose

It wouldn’t be an Off-topic page without…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUqXM7D2Lsg

327. yesindyref2

Something mellow for the time out of night.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vmDDOFXSgAs&list=PL3FCC0A6CB27D4F6A

328. john king

Hands up everyone who hates cover songs?
    think again,
    some are better than the orginals
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HsC_SARyPzk

329. john king

Or fit aboot this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_kTffgdNhNw
    beautiful

330. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi John King.

You typed,
    “some are better than the orginals”

True – but I still prefer The Mindbenders’ original of “Groovy Kind Of Love”. I found the Phil Collins version insipid. I have a memory of singing, in unison, with mah best girl bah mah side, “Groovy Kind Of Love” at a party at Bob Costello Snr’s house, around 1970.

Ah, memories. Aren’t they the stuff of dreams?

Onnyhoo, to continue with your premise, I offer you these covers:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POaaw_x7gvQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7V7TqDt1wXg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1jeyCX6oE8

331. john king

Right Im going to test peoples patience now with a “test peice” which by its very name is a “test” of a brass bands capabilities and not always were they very entertaining (for the audience), this one I have a special fondness for, since my band played severalyears ago in the Scottish championships, its called Year of The Dragon -the peice between 6.40 and 9.0 minutes still has the ability to raise every hair on my body.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X6-76ep0XfM

332. john king

I couldnt have described this better than the conductor
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4A4It5Bt34U
    absolutely fantastic.

333. cearc

Liked the dragon.

334. Ian Brotherhood

Saturday Night SLab Tributes, please!

Status Quo, ‘Down Down’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dfmML62x1Oo

335. Ian Brotherhood

Two-For-The-Price-Of-One, aka SLab BOGOF Special:

Talking Heads, ‘Burning Down The House’ (from ‘Stop Making Sense’) live, 1984 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVv94T5LF0c

336. Ian Brotherhood

‘But if you close your eyes…’

Bastille, ‘Pompeii’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F90Cw4l-8NY

337. Ian Brotherhood

The Doors, ‘The End’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSUIQgEVDM4

338. Ian Brotherhood

‘Monstrous and empty luck, your wheel turns…everybody, cry with me!’

Carl Orff, ‘O Fortuna’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-QYwf73wZTM

339. Bob Mack

Think this one is apt
    “Ooh I like to dance a little side step”

From the best little whore house in Texas.

340. Ian Brotherhood

‘If I was richa I’d still be wit ya, now ain’t that some shit?’

Cee Lo Green, Daryl Hall, ‘Fuck You’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QodGtTU69uQ

341. Ian Brotherhood

‘Goodbye father, I’m going to die,
    It sucks to die in the Springtime, ye know?
    But I’m leaving Peace’s flower in my soul.’

Jacques Brel, ‘Le Moribond’ (Seasons In The Sun)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Jl-R2NhUiI

342. Paula Rose

*dancing spookily in Brechin*

343. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You mentioned “The Best Little Whorehouse In Texas” but didn’t paste a link.

From the same fillum, I still think this beats Ms Houston’s cover version hands down.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZ_dn3swCVU

344. Brian Doonthetoon

Sorry, Ian B. It was Bob Mack who mentioned it.

345. ronnie anderson

And the winning entries in the songs competition goes to BDTT,
    it wiz the Cocker what swayed ma vote.

346. clochoderic

A couple of Del Amitri numbers:

Driving with the brakes on

Kiss this thing goodbye

Nothing ever happens

347. Paula Rose

New game – Duncan for apples.

348. Brian Doonthetoon

And keeping to the theme of cover versions…

Around 1967/68, every band in Dundee who had an organist, featured this in their repertoire. I remember seeing a band from Alloa, The Oryx, doing this at a Girl Guide dance in the hall of the middle one of the City Churches.

How to make a cover version into something entirely different. Still one of my favourite singles/album tracks, in the world, ever… (And the other covers on the album are just as epic.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdLRoOYk50o

349. clochoderic

This one is for Kezia :-

George Thorogood – Get a haircut and get a real job

350. CameronB Brodie

As it’s Hallowe’en, here’s one for Macart (long overdue).

The Frantics – Werewolf
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kKhmH0qZ3Xw

351. Ian Brotherhood

Sam & Dave, ‘I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RzU10C5dNpg

352. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for wur ain Paula which also addresses the subject in-hand:

The Damned, ‘New Rose’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTfyUqVqX-0

353. Ian Brotherhood

Ah, Kezia…

‘I’m sure in her you’ll find the sanctuary…’

The Cult, ‘She Sells Sanctuary’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8I8mWG6HlmU

354. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

No more happy clappy for Labour. But how some about happy talk?

Captain Sensible
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=291ET6Py6H8

355. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

I’ve just read tonight’s latest page and that, along with your mention of Kezia, a couple of posts ago (She Sells Sanctuary), caused me to remember this.

“You’re trapped in the web of her lies…”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeDBJquB2WY

356. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Never heard that song before. Liked it, great video and made me smile. Loved the dancers 🙂

357. Chic McGregor

@Wuffing Dug

Here are two recent pdf’s on the pressure vessel problem for the European Pressure Reactor.

It is basically a material flaw stemming from the manufacturing process of the pressure vessel. Casting/pouring methodology has resulted in a segregation of carbon and as you know high concentrations of carbon increase the brittleness/fracturability of the steel.

The first is the status report and proposed testing regime proposed by AREVA and submitted to the safety committee, the second is their opinion on that proposal.

Aside from making some additional test recommendations, the committee, not surprisingly, has said we need to wait and see the results.

Still squeaky bum time for AREVA, EDF and Hinkley Point.

file:///C:/Users/Me/Downloads/Report+to+the+Advisory+Committee+of+Experts+for+Nuclear+Pressure+Equipment.pdf

file:///C:/Users/Me/Downloads/Opinion+of+the+Advisory+Committee+for+nuclear+pressure+equipment.pdf

358. Wuffing Dug

@Chic McG 10.36 & 10.39

Thanks for the links, have copied your posts and e mailed them to myself so I can read at work tomorrow (at lunch time!) 😉

My broadband is still down, using my phone – it’s a nice big phone but still finding I’m straining my eyes sometimes while reading and typing on it.

Material composition & processing problems, oh dear oh dear. Bloody hell, wonder who approved the material concession – the test results must have been way out.

359. Ian Brotherhood

‘You should put me in a home or you should put me down…’

Radiohead, ‘Myxomatosis’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fpk835d1K7U

360. Ian Brotherhood

Van Morrison, ‘So Quiet In Here’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aGJOVPnLB1o

361. Paula Rose

How dare you – I’ve spent hours cleaning up the over-used brass and now have you making a noise – pipe down.

362. Ian Brotherhood

Like the heroic John McTernan, I shall never be silenced, nor put my pipe down – he who puffs last puffs longest!

And who, pray tell, is this ‘brass’ you refer to? Does s/he have any say in the matter?

363. Paula Rose

Oh I despair – away with you play your repetitive beat music in the corner.

364. yesindyref2

A couple of the best guitarists in their world, in their way

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2cBT8–7tA

365. Chic McGregor

@yesindyref2

Bert Jansch taught me his version of Angie, or at least the first half of it at a party way back then.

366. Finlay

[Copy+Pasted from a post I made today on Facebook. Thought I’d be as well posting it here.]

I’m going to give the other side of this story as the BBC and TV licensers are massive fannies in my book.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-34696365

Firstly, I find it amusing how this has been branded as Scotland based news by the BBC when most of the assaults weren’t even in Scotland. Most of the incidents, organisations or quotes taken are from non-Scottish sources or didn’t happen in Scotland! It seems ‘criticism of the BBC’ is now a Scottish matter. Anyway, that isn’t my main point.

Here is another article I recall reading last year based around roughly the same period of time reported in the BBC article.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/tvandradio/bbc/10621833/BBC-pays-100000-compensation-to-viewers-harassed-by-licence-fee-officers.html

This tells another side of the story!

Looking at the stats, we have the BBC claiming that between 2011 and 2014 there were 455 “verbal assaults” and 124 “physical assaults” on TV licensing staff – a total of 579 incidents.

According to the Telegraph article, the BBC paid out compensation to around 2500 victims of aggressive TV licensing agents from about the same time. Almost FIVE TIMES more people being assaulted by TV licensers than the other way around!

There are two interesting questions I will leave for you to think about:

1. Why didn’t the BBC mention this in their article today?

2. How many reported incidents of assault on TV licensing agents involve the same victims who were paid compensation?

Perhaps today’s BBC article is extremely misleading and the TV licensing agents may be the aggressors in many of the cases reported by the BBC.

I had some personal experience with some TV licensing agents in late 2014 who demanded entry to my house to inspect my property regarding TV licensing and my lack thereof. I intentionally hadn’t informed them that I didn’t require a TV license because I had heard reports of their aggression and wanted to see what they are like first-hand.

At the time I had, next to my front door, a printed copy of the law regarding TV licensing agents requiring a police warrant to enter my house. (And some select quotes from the likes of Sir Malcolm Bruce – but that is a different story entirely!)

I handed it over and explained to them what it was; to which I was told untruthfully: “We do not require a warrant.” I argued for maybe 5 to 10 minutes and eventually they left without the need for physical violence, though when I said “I know your job better than you do” it didn’t go down particularly well, and if you count sheer idiocy as a ‘verbal assault’ then maybe I’m a victim…

I’ll conclude much as I began; the BBC and their TV licensing goons are fannies!

367. yesindyref2

@Chic
    I did try the guitar but, being a piano player (classical) I didn’t want to strum but pick, but my fingers weren’t hard enough and I didn’t have the patience to “toughen up”. Nor a good enough guitar!

Considering the Trident thread, this seems somehow appropriate:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pklr0UD9eSo

368. Brian Doonthetoon

As I see it, we already have two Wingers, who can be referred to as “CG”.

There’s Ian B – Cybernat Godfather, and Ronnie A – Cybernat Grandfather.

Now we have Rev Stu as Cybernat General. Maybe we should all adopt a ‘CG’ moniker. For example, Paula Rose could be Cybernat Guddler.

Huvvnae thought o’ ane for mehsel’ yit…

369. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Must dig out me cotton-wool balls and bow-tie…

370. Ian Brotherhood

Was hoping to meet Thepnr sometime this year to have a blether about an idea I’ve had stewing in my ginormous heid for a few years, but it’s not going to happen. Before we know it it’ll be 2016 and the countdown to the May election will start.

We’ve just had a very brief exchange of e-mails and the man suggested I put it out there for general thoughts, so here goes…

I’ll probably break this into a series of messages as they seem to get lost if you spend too long on one before sending it.

Essentially, the idea is to harness the talent here in WOS to work together on a real project. Many of us first met one another via the WBB adventure, and there’s no doubting what a success that was, right?

But what about us doing something else, while we’re waiting for the next referendum? Something solid and useful and non-‘political’?

I can’t, off the top of my head, think of any specific field of expertise which isn’t represented by someone who posts here regularly, and, as Rev has pointed out many times, it’s only a wee toty percentage of readers who ever comment.

So, that’s why I want to float this idea – it’s all well and good having a seminar, but we need something to do when we’re there. Yeah, we can talk about all sorts of stuff, have debates, invite guests, ask KG to Livestream it, and have a proper good swally into the bargain. That’s a given. But we could also use it to produce something very special.

371. Ian Brotherhood

So, my dear missus got a new job, about eight years ago – it involves support work for people with special needs, many of whom are confined to wheelchairs or have other mobility problems. I won’t name who she works for, or any of the people she works with, or where any of this happened, so there’s no privacy issues…

She called me one day, asked me to help her. She’d been out with a service-user, a wheelchair-bound guy, and decided to take him to a local park where there’s a nice (fairly big – maybe two football-pitches worth) pond and a path going all the way around it. She had wheeled him there all the way from his home and was due to get him back to his parents for such-and-such a time. She thought she’d allowed plenty of time to get around the pond, but right at the end of the circuit which would take her back to the path she’d used to get into the park, there was a sudden rise and she couldn’t get the chair up. The guy was, I’m guessing, eleven or twelve stones, and the gradient didn’t look steep at all – it was barely visible from where she’d started. But she just couldn’t get the chair up, and going back all the way around the pond would’ve made her late.

So I got there, and even with both of us pushing it wasn’t easy to get him up the slope, perhaps seven or eight metres.

It wasn’t until she mentioned it to colleagues, long after the actual event, that she realised why so many service users and their relatives/carers didn’t use the place. If it wasn’t the gradient at that part of the path, it was the potholes in other parts, or ‘sunken’ patches which were under a semi-permanent layer of mud.

So this is a local park – a really beautiful, quiet place, with deer, buzzards, foxes etc – and many local people simply cannot get the chance to enjoy it.

Can you see yet where I’m going with this? 🙂

372. Paula Rose

Yes Ian dear – have you checked your email box?

373. Ian Brotherhood

It’s not exactly rocket-science, and doesn’t need spelled-out, so…

Hands-up who owned something like this:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Hot-Wheels-RARE-ORIGINAL-VINTAGE-TRACK-ETC-RED-LINE-ERA-L-K-/201456969713?hash=item2ee7c567f1:g:puoAAOSwhcJWJinY

374. Paula Rose

You expect me to remember that?

375. cearc

Bdtt,

Tut, tut! Ronnie is Cybernat GREAT-Grandfather!

376. Thepnr

Hello Ian

I loved the Hot Wheels cars, never owned any. I got lego. My cousin did though, he loved his hot wheels which was a whole lot hotter than lego.

Mind you I was saddened when he got 10 years as the driver of the getaway car and I got a degree as an engineer and helped build all kinds of shit all over the world. He would have liked that too, my cousin. Hot Wheels though was his passion.

Stay away from Hot Wheels is the message. Be a good boy and stick to lego.

377. Brian Doonthetoon

“HOT WHEELS”?

Toys for kids! What you want is the real slot car deal:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHfh72fJMO8

Can we have a Wings Over Scotland Slot Car Racing Section please? I have a couple of cars – a Scalextric Ford GT40 and a Revell ’63 Corvette that I haven’t raced in anger… yet…

378. Ian Brotherhood

Imagine being stuck in a wheelchair, and whenever you do get the chance to get outside you’re taken, by someone else, to the café in Asda (again), or the Shopping Mall (again) because they’re the safest places in town.

Imagine being able to freewheel, at your own speed, away from roads and pavements and snarky shoppers?

This isn’t about us actually constructing such routes – it’s about creating a rock-solid case for their construction. One that the usual talking-heads would eagerly approve, ‘knowing’ that planning permissions and/or quality-standard controls would put the mockers on it further down the line. But we cover all those details too – because we have expertise spanning all of these areas.

And who pays for it? The charities who would make use of it, and the Councils who treat such charities as de facto suppliers of services they’ve jettisoned and don’t want back any time soon.

If we do a lot of the donkey-work right here, we could have a get-the-gither, over say two, three days (early next year?) and thrash this into a viable plan – designed, costed, the works.

I would happily get up on my trotters and sell this to anyone, anywhere, and I know there are other Wingers who are more than capable of covering the sales/PR side of it. It doesn’t really need much selling – who wouldn’t want it to work?

But what about the other aspects? There must be many I haven’t even considered. Is anyone else, at least in principle, up for a discussion about it all?

379. Paula Rose

Ian yes, I know how to do it – hot wheels, my sister and I made a thirty foot track complete with a cable car from odds and sods – had to cover the gaps in the track we had, she’s now an engineer!

380. Chic McGregor

@Yesindyref2

Aye, to play the guitar tolerably well (which I do not) you need to develop callouses on the finger tips and strength in the wrist and first finger (for barres) of the left hand. Requires regular practice.

Back then being in a short-lived folk group ‘The Colonials’ I was keen, but an all-consuming career in semiconductors put paid to that (and the group).

However I have returned very irregularly to it and have even composed a few tunes, the last, which started out as an attempt to encapsulate the clearances but ended up as a personal record of the referendum result.

My wife is the pianist, grade 7 before she too succumbed to the lure of physics.

381. cearc

Ian,

This sort of thing is pretty good

http://www.culagwoods.org.uk/featurela.htm

382. Paula Rose

You know we have such geniuses amongst us – Chic honey – a recording?

383. Paula Rose

Sorry Chic – not you the genius but moi, to have the foresight to build and furnish this space for loveliness, now please settle and play.

384. cearc

Many, many years ago, I worked for a year or two doing recreational therapy (jaunts and parties) with severely physically and mentally disabled adults. The man who ran it insisted that all his staff spent a whole day each year in a push-only wheelchair. It was most enlightening.

385. Chic McGregor

@Paula
    I suppose I could use the computer mic to record a tune but I doubt if my amateur efforts would be of any great interest to those here. My compositions were purely for my own personal satisfaction although sometimes inflicted on members of my immediate family.

Genius they are not I fear.

386. Paula Rose

Chic – you are a hero in the echelons – please be amongst friends (and fiends) and allow us the chance to sit quietly.

387. Paula Rose

Chic

388. Paula Rose

Chic – no more the cringe – if I had what I see in you the English would have a chance (irony) – in tiny letters – please play us your tune.

389. Proud Cybernat

The new Glasgow super hospital is doing just fine, despite the BBC rubbish. See here:

Another Proud Cybernat Production:

BBC Lies versus Spanish Ayes

http://tinyurl.com/qbhlxnn

And for those who missed the earlier vid:

‘The Vow’ A Promise Broken

http://tinyurl.com/p5oryrc

As ever folks, spread far ‘n’ wide.

390. yesindyref2

@Chic
    I guess I was somewhere between a grade 5 and 8, not great at the sight reading though. Having packed up on the idea of the guitar I got back to piano and wanted to be able to get to the end of the 3rd movements of some Beethoven sonatas without tiring and getting inaccurate.

So I slung together this kind of scale and arpeggio thing, going through the keys, sounded not bad. And I did them until my wrists burned and my fingers hurt – and kept going, thought I was doing good. It’s probably why I got RSI, that and being far too long on UseNet 🙂

RSI’s under control for years now I can detect the signs and desist, still a fast typer though not as accurate as I used to be. But haven’t bothered with the piano since.

391. Paula Rose

The ole jo’anna is in the lounge just down the hall on the left – help yourselves.

392. yesindyref2

Musing away before doing a bit of work. A lot of musicians owed their origins to classical music, from Lady Gaga, Adele, KT Tunstall back to Moody Blues, Rick Wakeman, ELO naturally and Sandy Denny, amongst hundred of others. They made the crossover, perhaps it’s not too late for me when I can afford the time …

393. Chic McGregor

@yesindyref2

My main gripe (unexpressed of course) is that my wife only plays be sight reading although I love hearing her play. But innovation or playing by ear is not her bag, I understand that.

@Paula
    Not quite sure if you are calling me a wimp or genius. Pretty certain I am neither.

But as explained above, other-than-strumming guitar playing requires pretty much a prolonged period of daily practice.
    Having not picked up a guitar in anger since indyref1 the finger tips of my left hand are currently as soft as a baby’s bottom and due to my working through a backlog of long postponed tasks (due to indy commitments) that is a situation unlikely to change for some months at least.

Bottom line is I couldn’t do any tunes, even my own, justice at this moment in time.

394. Paula Rose

polishes keyboard

395. Cactus

How do we do regulars? Liking your ideas Ian Brotherhood, especially the getting the peoples togethers again, would be good to have a series of all-day events.

In the meantime, whose next up for the seasonal session.. Glasgow, Edinburgh, Bath, Aberdeen, Helensburgh, your place?

p.s. Thought the fireworks display at Glasgow Green pretty darn good last night, noticed a few new braw bangers too! Point of interest.. noticed lots and lots of red rocket ka-booms and few blue ones by comparison.

Merry Guy Fawkes day.

396. Cactus

“For Fawkes ache” 🙂

397. Cactus

Hi aye Chic McGregor & yesindyref2, fair play to yee’s, playing the musical instruments for pleasure is a groovy. Maybe next time at The Clyde Bar..

I wonder what Scottish songs are gonna be written for Scotland’s next series of big votes?

If I owned a bar, I’d have at the very least a house guitar.

398. Dave McEwan Hill

On a previous little conversation on O/T a few day ago I tried to put one of the better and most interesting covers I have heard – Joe Cocker’s version of Marley’s “Could You Be Loved” but I couldn’t post up somehow. To which I would add Peter Tosh’s “Johnny Be Goode”, currently my favourite piece.

I maybe an ancient old fecker now. But I still find myself doing what I did when I was 20. Playing the same number over and over till I get every little nuance. I remember in a cafe at Burnbank Cross playing “Good Vibrations” six times on the juke box (and I was a teacher at a local high school at the time).
    Tell me I’m not mad.
    Just wondering if Little Richard wrote “She’s Got It ” with Nicola in mind

399. Ian Brotherhood

@Dave McEwan Hill –

You’re not mad.

Saw your letter in National yesterday. Do you just e-mail them, or hand-write? Just wondering. My granddad used to write a letter to the (Glasgow) Herald every day, and did it for decades. When he died they published a nice wee obituary for him.

400. David

Labour thingmy Blair McDougall Tweeted two hours ago, writing:

“proud to announce my new column for the Herald on a Thursday.”

Dear oh dear. Giving him another corporate media platform to spout his lies, mis-statements, and near-truths about Proud Labour.

401. David

Just found this one for the ‘Where Are They Now’ Dept.:
    Rob Shorthouse, ex Director of Communications for Better Together, has been a Client and Communications Director at ScotRail since May. I hope it pays his mortgage.

Bing-bong! Stand clear of the edge, please!

402. john king

Cardinal sin now
    Im going to play a “wind band” (spit) version of “Aetearoa” (The Land of the Long White Cloud) by Philip Sparke because the only brass Band effort I could find was quite frankly shit
    this is about the discovery of New Zealand.

I played this many years ago (second trombone) in the eighties and loved playing it.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zldrvbtiMQw

403. Paula Rose

Yippee – more brass!

404. john king

Harumph!

405. john king

well how about this one then?
    they actually play the spoons on IDS’s head
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qhxUpPWEJIs

I was only thirteen years old when I first played this
    sniff.

406. Brian Doonthetoon

Going from brass to wind…

I bought this single when it was released, decades ago.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hXH0NPi5iU

Then, the same melody turned up last year, with a new title…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6UabZV94is

407. Thepnr

FFS John brass is OK but thirteen minutes? A bit too much for me. Anyway you might recognise this, a REAL spoon player.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POvLaziUsTo

408. john king

Okay
    youve made me bring out the big guns
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHMyrhilkdo
    this guys frigging amazing

409. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, keeping on the “spoons” vibe.
    What about the track that had Billy Butlin on spoons and Eric Clapton on ukekele?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8DUEAG5eO6c

410. Thepnr

Haha John

Tuba player was amazing but where the fuck were the spoons 🙂

411. john king

those are “test peices” and in their own right are mini symphonies Alex, 13 minutes is average for the duration of these copositions, and some can be 18 (or more) minutes, a real test of a brass band (and in some cases the audience) but consider they are generally broken into three movements to allow for the listener (and the band) to take enjoyment from the piece.

412. Paula Rose

Well that’s us well and truly put in our place *turns away unconcerned*

413. john king

why dont we just “take five”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT9Eh8wNMkw

414. Brian Doonthetoon

John King – Well caught!

415. john king

Well aint it a good thing your not obliged to click on the link,
    eh Paul?

416. Thepnr

No sweat John, I know you love your brass. Give mine to Irene xx

417. Dave McEwan Hill

Peter Brotherwood at 12.57

I email letters all over the place. Oddly that letter in the National was also printed verbatim in the Sun

Got it this time I hope

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q8WRzdN43BI

418. Dave McEwan Hill

And I meant to post this one as well

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=miICIMmfEOM

419. yesindyref2

Now here’s a find, no George sadly, but reminds me of Sunday lunchtimes in the Charleston in Largs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8DyHYejySs

Mmm, I’m in the mood for muzak, frustrating day yesterday. FMQ watching was the high point!

420. cearc

Well if we’re talking about playing stuff on different instruments, I take it that you all know these guys.

/www.youtube.com/watch?v=PH68Z6ysqZs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x97f-_y93a0

Chic,

You cannot be a WIMP, you interact too strongly.

421. john king

Ok you lot win,
    I’ll play some of your “modern” music”
    cant stand the stuff meself,
    well this ones ok I suppose.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gp5JCrSXkJY

422. Paula Rose

Don’t you dare – I love your choices – real music.

423. john king

I particulary dislike this one,
    all noise if you ask me
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZQxH_8raCI
    and they need a haircut
    A spell in the army would do them good if you ask me.

424. Paula Rose

All that repetitive beat music…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKQhB9Z5Jxg

425. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex Thepnr.

Just watched the “Empire strikes back” video you gave the link for last night. (I know, it’s becoming increasingly difficult to keep up to speed with all the comments on the current pages.)

It was good to watch it again. Scottish humour – ARF ARF!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiMXuEmqAHA

426. john king

Dont even get me started on what this sounds like,
    well now that you ask,
    Its like coming out of the novocaine at the dentists
    (and not in a good way)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SCNeVHv3Mlg

427. john king

I shouldnt eat cheese before bedtime
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5BmEGm-mraE
    It’ll keep me up all night now.

428. john king

A wee bit o fusion
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASgaVOoOAmA

Whit wid Mrs Pachelbel say?

429. Ian Brotherhood

Aye, guitars eh?

‘The Return of the Angriest Guitar Player in The World’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vms_6_TSQuc

430. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi john king.

Re: Pachelbel. Did you ever listen to “Funtwo” doing the Canon?

Here’s an updated version:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilOwXH5p1R0

Type Funtwo into YouTube’s search box to see what happened to him after the first YouTube video, in 2008, like this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fsyeYtC2SHw

BTW: here’s the original video, Uploaded on 17 Nov 2008, and now with a total of 4,163,743 views.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TF6cnLnEARo

431. yesindyref2

Just watching the Imperial Masters one. How that didn’t win for YES I don’t know.

Glasgow have banned rickshaws now.

432. JLT

Bonjour folks!

How’s it going? Hope everybody is well.

Now don’t all punch me at once (I’ve been very busy this last week and half, and have been nowhere near Wings), but is there any new gathering approaching fast …especially with Christmas and all its festivities only a month away?

433. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

If nothing else, campaigning for YES was fun, wiz it no’?

The optimism and hope was there. I can’t guess what was going through the minds of BT…

434. Paula Rose

Yes – Brechin, just me and you JLT *flutters*

435. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi JLT.

The last get-together was Invergowrie so it’s up to another toon to pick up the baton.

We haven’t had a “Wings Over Aberdeen” yet…

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-invergowrie-24th-october-2015

436. Brian Doonthetoon

Or a “Wings Over Inverness”…

437. Paula Rose

Wings over anywhere – to have another badge hand-crafted by Pete the Camera is a price beyond compare,

438. JLT

Paula …LOL (shake my head with a wee chuckle)

Brian …how you doing?

Inverness or Aberdeen would be good …but that might have to be a weekender …as in …all weekend!!!! With the distance …we would have to make the most of it!

439. Paula Rose

*puts on flouncey skirt*

440. Ian Brotherhood

@JLT –

Dare I presume you’ve been ‘busy’ with essay deadlines?

If so, SNAP!

And if you’ve got them over-with? ‘BIG REASSURING MAN-CUDDLE’

One hurdle at a time big-yin…we’re getting there, one way or another.

441. JLT

Ian mate …hello!!!

And yes. Just submitted my first for the year this week. Two part question; one part on royal government ship in the 15th century (War of the Roses in other words) and symbolism and meaning in the Catholic Church pre-Reformation. Both …500 words. Brutal. I could have written pages but the OU just wanted a summary within 500 words. Must have re-written both parts about half a dozen times each over a week and a bit LOL

How’s you anyway matey?

442. Paula Rose

awe-struck

443. Ian Brotherhood

@JLT –

Hingin’ in there buddy, by the proverbials.

Don’t much like the sounds of your preoccupations au moment. Mine are revolving around 18th-C coffee houses, New Zealand novelists and the likes of yer Joyce and Eliot. A fearsome cocktail to be sure, to be sure…

More power to ye – it’ll be worth it in the end-up. (For the Student Loans Company at any rate!)

444. JLT

Paula …LOL

I hope you are also keeping well, Paula. Need to have a good old blather again LOL

445. Michael McCabe

Beanfields. Check out the Birds.

446. Michael McCabe

Sorry forgot the Link. Beanfields Check out the Birds.

447. JLT

Hi Ian (or rather …morning! LOL)

Yep, up and back at the studying again. To be honest, your field of study does look rather interesting. Put it this way, you are definitely getting to read the classics, and even getting into the mindset of some of the greatest writers in the Western World.

Yeah …the last assignment was brutal. Two small essays where you are trying to define the key elements of those periods with not only quotes from the OU material, but also backing those quotes up from historical evidence from other works. Seriously (and as said) …I must have started both essays half a dozen times over the week …growled …and begun again. Honestly, some TMA questions ask a simple question …and they just end up having you cursing and swearing within a very short period of time LOL. However, my knowledge on both has gone stratosphere and I would be happy to answer both if they appeared as questions in the Exam next June.

However …new week …new topic. This next month or so is actually on the Civil War of the 1700’s. Episcopalian England v’s Presbyterian Scotland v’s Catholic Ireland v’s Charles I v’s Cromwell. Seriously …what is there not to like when learning this? LOL. Certainly one of the highlights of this years course.

Anyway, keep the faith Ian. As you say …one step at a time. We’ll get there, mate ..we’ll get there.

448. Wuffing Dug

Bdtt @11.19

Wings over aberdeen, now there’s an idea I like.

BTW how do you get a wings badge, is it like a blue Peter badge but for bad cyber nats?

449. Ronnie

Wings over Aberdeen?

Definitely on for that!

Perhaps get to meet the ‘Blue Angel’?

(See my post on ‘Big Girls Shoes’ – probably more appropriate here.)

450. Ronnie

@Wuffing Dog.

Rarer than rocking horses’.

Got mine from Rev Stu ootside The Albanach during the 2013 March & Rally.

There were only 100 of those.

Wear it daily – with pride, tho’ folk think it has military connections.

But there may be more to come during crowdfunders.

451. kendomacaroobar

@Ronnie. Faither, I have found 3 blue on white ceramic badge if that helps?

452. Ronnie

@ kendo.

Thanks, Ken. I automatically tend to think of the original.

Your design is, of course a work of art.

I also have a spare of these ‘ceramic beauties’.

So if Wuffing Dog wants to contact me, I’ll gladly part with it.

If there’s a demand for more locally, I’ll get back to you?

453. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wuffing Dug.

We started doing the Wings ‘get-together’ badges for the first ‘Wings Over Invergowrie’, in September, 2014. We continued to do them for subsequent get-togethers, changing the background colours, for a bit of variety.

You can see an example here:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs/Named-Single-crop.jpg

454. X_Sticks

@Ronnie

Wings over Aberdeen?

Definitely on for that!

Sounds like a volunteer there Ronnie. 😀

455. Paula Rose

Hint to Ronnie and Wuffing Dug – find a reasonably priced cocktail bar, fix a date and then tell us.

456. Wuffing Dug

Ronnie @ 4.18

That’s a very kind offer, I was kind of thinking I would have to ‘earn’ one though :).

As for the badges ‘military connections’ you could have a laugh with that if you weren’t dealing with shrill unionists.

@Paula R
    I’m sure I’ve been to a cocktail bar in Aberdeen. … Think it was ‘Orchid’.

As for the reasonably priced bit, we are talking aberdeen here, everything’s a mickey take.

Will do some digging.

457. Paula Rose

Now – which heels for Aberdeen?

458. Ronnie

@ X-Sticks, Wuffing Dog & Paula,

I was thinking along the lines of an afternoon Tea Dance at the ‘Beach’?

I have no experience of anything seedy, you see…

459. Ronnie

…other than tomatoes, sweet pees, etc.

460. Paula Rose

Ronnie how sweet!

461. Ronnie

and I need to be home before dark….

462. Paula Rose

*whistles whilst making torches*

463. Ian Brotherhood

Happy P.S. to my 9.24 post last night. If in any doubt about how hard-won this little victory was, go back and check out what the guy put himself through trying to learn it. Awesome.

The Angriest Guitar Player in the world finally gets ‘Magic Man’ right –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KL3gyX2VmWU

464. Ian Brotherhood

Brilliant compilation of old Public Information Films.

Wee Saturday Night Teaser for those of a certain vintage –

Can you remember the film containing the line ‘My Dad! In our new car!’

When you see these, they come back instantly, even if it’s forty years or more since you last saw them. Brilliant stuff.

P.S. Answer to teaser can be found approx. 7.30.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uUjhmBDUjFE

465. Stoker

These b@st@rds feast as the peasants go hungry and cold.
    https://archive.is/gYVaZ

466. Wuffing Dug

@Paula, Ronnie & X-Sticks

Tea and dancing during the day, beer and cocktails at night. Nice. BTW I can’t dance will leave that to yous.

Alas, it is winter, daylight I barely knew thee….

I’m still a ‘relatively’ ahem ‘partyer’ or so I like to think – so 2am limit for me, ‘medium’ and no shots or jagermeisters.

I too have no experience of anything seedy.

Aye right.

@Paula

Heels – Fur lined (if such a creation exists), baltic here got soaked and frozen while out biking today and it’s only going to get worse.

467. Ronnie

Apropos Aiberdeen Tea Dance, and not having been able to attend previous Wings ‘occasions’, can I take it that there will be no singing of sinful ditties?

Or other distasteful practices?

Paula?

468. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie –

Tread carefully friend…

Cliff Richard, ‘Devil Woman’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tuAkdlLhTE

469. cearc

‘ can I take it that there will be no singing of sinful ditties?

Or other distasteful practices?’

It wouldn’t be a Wings knees-up without them!

470. Paula Rose

Snake and I are having a close encounter.

471. Ian Brotherhood

La Fontaines, ‘Canny Get Ma Granny Aff The Drugs’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NEGsgqsoidw

472. Ronnie

‘Knees-Up’ ?

Sounds a trifle vulgar.

473. Paula Rose

*cuddles up with snake, smiles sweetly*

474. Ronnie

@Ian B.

Mrs R is a ‘Cliffy’ fan.

You’ve no idea what I’ve had to succumb to all these years…

475. cearc

Trifle is vulgar.

476. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

‘Trifle is vulgar’.

Hey, that’s profound! :O

477. Ronnie

‘Sir, you have custard coming out of your ear’.

‘Could you speak up, please, I’m a trifle deaf’.

478. Stoker

I wonder if this is a part of our “development” as a country!
    https://archive.is/OcX7u

479. Chic McGregor

@Stoker

The wags commenting on that are clearly oblivious to Clyde Space’s record in the cubesat satellite field.

Around 40% of those satellites deployed has used Clyde Space hardware and there are courrently about 60 projects in development worldwide.

see:

http://www.clyde-space.com

480. Wuffing Dug

Chic @4.10

Hi Chic,

Broadband is back up and running so looking at those reactor vessel reports.

Am actually dealing with something similar at the minute but thankfully material testing has verified that an error in heat treatment has not adversely affected material strength or toughness.

Thanks for the links, it’s good to be able to see this sort of stuff and gain some knowledge / perspectives from other industries.

481. Paula Rose

Very occasionally in here there are topics of which I have very little knowledge – always impressed by our skill base and expertise.

482. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I refer you to Faraday’s Law:-

“When the flux linking a circuit changes, an emf is induced. The magnitude of the induced emf is directly proportional to the rate of change of flux linkage.”

The ‘flux linkage’ that changed was the relationship between us plebs and the corpmedia. The emf that was induced was our increasing distrust of the veracity of what we were being fed, more and more, AS FACT. The more that corpmedia cranked up the propaganda, the greater was the breakdown in what had been trust.

The end result is defined by Lenz’s Law:-

“The induced emf acts in such a manner to oppose the cause to which is was due.”

That distrust (the ’emf’) in the corpmedia’s output has now evolved into a situation where we are actively opposing the corpmedia, with every tool at our disposal; Wings, Facebook, Twitter, Commonspace, Wee Ginger Dug, Bella Caledonia and so on.

Physics is useful…

8=)

483. Paula Rose

I know all sorts of things about physiques – some of the applications are though are new to me.

484. Paula Rose

damn auto-correct

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.