Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Thepnr

Looking for some light relief? Me too, this is alright but there is better. Your turn.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWB1u4Ej2wc

2. Ian Brotherhood

How’s this for a send-off?

‘Thousand of students perform haka for beloved teacher’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=alIRaSxL59I

3. Wuffing Dug

Test – tried to put up some links earlier but post hasn’t appeared.

4. Thepnr

@Wuffing Dug

Hi Mr Dug, if any were Yewchoob links try taking off everything before www.

5. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Not your fault but that was too much for me. I both love you and hate you for inviting me to watch that.

Still, I’m glad I did.

6. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Sorry man. Didn’t intend to upset anyone.

7. Brian Doonthetoon

Did anyone else notice today, on the BBC Remembrance Day coverage, that a number of the royals had ‘Scottish’ poppies?

8. Wuffing Dug

@Thepnr 9.35

Cheers, wasn’t yewchoob links but Aberdeen bars for consideration r.e. proposed Wings night in the Granite City.

9. Ian Brotherhood

This is a bit cheerier – stretcher-bearer chaos:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uflk5Ub6rMk

10. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Hey, not to worry, each of us has their own wee foibles and there is no way that you could know them all. It was a GREAT video and now that I’ve stopped greeting (for personal reasons) I loved it, everyone on Wings should watch it!

Cheers Ian.

@Wuffing Dug

I’d be up for that, you do the leg work and I’m sure a few will make it along. I’m really happy to see this sort of thing continue. Ian Brotherhood started it by the way lol.

I would to see a few from the Aberdeen area there, they know who they are. The balls in your court now, just give us the time and place.

11. Ian Brotherhood

More stretcher-bearer shenanigans…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AcPH8NFujuk

12. Wuffing Dug

@Paula, Ronnie, X-Sticks & Thepnr

Here are a few options for Aberdeen, I’ve been to these places – there’s a lot more on offer but don’t go out much any more :(.

As for time, we can sort that out once we know it’s a goer.
    I’m good for pretty much any Fri or Sat night, having recently become a ‘lone wolf’ again :).

My fave – a bit wee though

http://www.oldblackfriars-aberdeen.co.uk/

Kind of same

http://www.illicit-still.co.uk/

More nobby

http://www.amicusapple.com/

Beer lovers

http://www.cascbar.co.uk/about/

Cocktails

http://www.orchidaberdeen.com/

Still can’t get links to work….

13. Paula Rose

*crosses names off Christmas card list*

14. Wuffing Dug

@Paula, Ronnie, X-Sticks & Thepnr

Site is no liking my links so you will have to google I’m afraid.

Here are a few options for Aberdeen, I’ve been to these places – there’s a lot more on offer but don’t go out much any more :(.

As for time, we can sort that out once we know it’s a goer.

I’m good for pretty much any Fri or Sat night, having recently become a ‘lone wolf’ again :).

My fave – a bit wee though
    oldblackfriars-aberdeen.co.uk

Kind of same
    illicit-still.co.uk

More nobby
    http://www.amicusapple.com

Beer lovers
    cascbar.co.uk

Cocktails
    orchidaberdeen.com

15. Thepnr

@Wuffing Dug

Hmmm. Your favorite, Blackfriars I know that pub very well, on the corner of Union St. and King St.

It is a VERY good choice for a Wings night out, however I would suggest that if you want it for a Fri or Sat might be an idea just to book it for a night of your choosing.

In saying that. we don’t need to and eventually we get the seats, pretty small venue though and might be worth asking about reserving the back room for a Fri or Sat.

Get in there anyway Mr Dug, this is a goer and a first for Aberdeen 🙂

16. Thepnr

So I ask myself, just why is it New Zealand are the rugby World Champions? They are too wee, even too poor and stupid?

Yet, New Zealand is strongest on Personal Rights in the world, became nuclear free decades ago and told the West where to stick their Nukes.

Can you see the pride of those paying tribute to their teacher in the video above? Yes, it’s a sad occasion but their respect and pride is immeasurable.

That is both for their teacher and wee country. I feel like that.

17. Michael McCabe

I was hoping to go to court to see Carmichael the liar in the Flesh on Monday. Just found out at Midnight that I cant make it. So I have the Midnight Blues. Hope you don’t mind if I Share. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=BlrtrP72Gdk Will be at the Court on Tuesday Though.

18. Chic McGregor

@#!!!$&## weird #@*$# weather here in Kirrie. Rained for the past 5 days and I need to get my garden wall mortar coated for plastering. The weird bit is the past 4 nights walking the dog it has been clear with all the stars showing and I’m thinking good I’ll get out there tomorrow but no chance. Sun popped out today but by the time I had m ladders and cement mixer ready it had started raining again. Grrrr!

19. cearc

Ronnie A.

Sorry to hear that you didn’t make it to Edinburgh today. I hope you are well?

20. Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dug, Thepnr.

re- Aiberdeen Wings Nicht.

I only know Blackfriars (sad, or what?).

But, yeah, good central location, good range of beer.

I’m ok for any night – aul age has some advantages!

Any more interested parties?

21. Wuffing Dug

@All up for W.O. Aberdeen

I’ll get in contact with Blackfriars just in case and report back.

@Ronnia

Best pub in Aberdeen I reckon, a lot of the others are all a bit soulless.

@Chic

Weather forecasters also made a royal erse of it on Saturday, headed out on the mountain bike to meet up with a few like minded individuals.

Decided to ride the bike to the meet instead of being lazy and putting it on the car, ended up getting soaked, battered by the wind and covered in gritty, sandy mud. Canned it after a hour and headed home.

It was right cold too, hands got frozen and I could hardly put the brakes on.

Apparently Sat morning was meant to be dry up here….

Good luck with yer wa’

BTW knew that bloody post would appear twice.

22. Paula Rose

Aberdeen? – need to wear my fur-lined boots so no high-heels, will definitely come as long as I’m not the only one.

23. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi cearc.

Ronnie had…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=moyoi0ysiE8

24. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

You typed,

“…as long as I’m not the only one.”

No, you’re not the only one. Peter Perrett was, with a wee bit of help from Pauline Murray.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GOaX4vheh80

25. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wuffing Dug.

All you can do is the same as for every other Wings get-together.

Define the date (Saturdays are better, from a work point of view) and the time (usually 7pm onwards), spread the word on social media, be there to receive guests, and enjoy the night.

Hope that helps…

8=)

26. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wuffing Dug.

And, of course, the venue.

8=)

27. Paula Rose

Not the only band I met that realised they were not up for the big time.

28. Paula Rose

(being very carful about spelling tonight)

29. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to BBC Labour in Scotland and associated commentariat. Beware of monsters from the Id.

The Centuries – 4th Dimension
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=axSA1Mu8KJ0

30. Wuffing Dug

@All for W.O. Aberdeen

Richt,

Just off the phone to Blackfriars it’s looking good – can even get us tables if anybody peckish on the night, they are even clear of bookings next couple of weeks (ATM).

Saturday nights do get busy in there though.

How does Sat 21st sound? 7pm?
    Once it’s sounded out on here will get back to them.

@BDTT
    Does that mean ah huv tae go on Facebook?
    Have been resisting up till now but local SNP group are twisting my arm as that’s their main means of information sharing.

My dugs have their own Twitter account though….
    Their owner is known to make an appearance on it here and there :).

31. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wuffing Dug.

There are others on Facebook who can spread the word, if you don’t want to dip your toe into the Facebook water.

However, the 21st (November?) is a tad short notice. Me and Pete already have a potential ‘nicht oot’ that night. In the past, the minimum notice has usually been around 6 weeks, to allow peeps to plan.

Maybe sometime December would work? Give people time to plan AND create a ‘Wings Over Christmas’ party?

32. Wuffing Dug

@BDtt

Already had a discussion with Blackfriars about December, it’s going to get tight then with other peoples Christmas bookings.

Bit of ‘mission creep’ here – it’s gone from a meet up to a Christmas party already!

The dugs and me have joined facebook noo so we can talk to our local SNP branch.

33. Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dug

As before, I’d be up for 21st.

Only went on Facebook during Yes campaign for dates, places and times of meetings and stalls.

Now deactivated.

If there’s a push for a later date, we could have a ‘dry’ run?

Badjee lookin’ fur a good home…

34. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wuffing Dug.

Have you thought about Wetherspoon? Glasgow has had a number (4?) of get-togethers in The Counting house; Dundee has had one, in Jolly’s in Broughty Ferry, as has Edinburgh, in the Alexander Graham Bell, in September.

All we do is gradually take over a corner of the pub…

I see, from Google, that Aberdeen has a couple of centrally located Wetherspoons…

https://www.jdwetherspoon.com/pubs/all-pubs/scotland/aberdeen/the-archibald-simpson-aberdeen

https://www.jdwetherspoon.com/pubs/all-pubs/scotland/aberdeen/the-justice-mill-aberdeen

35. Ronnie

@ BDTT

The Archibald Simpson is just across the road from the Blackfriars.

We could dae baith!

36. Paula Rose

Another party to clear up after – girls we need to gather.

37. cearc

– or ruffle?

38. Finlay

Anyone heard from Nana Smith recently? Her input is missed!

39. Wuffing Dug

@Bdtt & Ronnie

I’m up for that, would save hassle, been in the Justice Mill but not in Archibald’s. Justice Mill is big enough, think Archie’s would be too.

Either would be fine I think – I’ve got a couple of work nights out in December so will check dates.

@Ronnie
    Aye, baith sounds good to me!
    Am still up for a ‘pilot’ run – nice one.

That badge will have a good home here if you are willing to part with it, very much appreciated BTW.

40. X_Sticks

@Finlay

Nana’s been posting loads of links on the main threads.

@Ronnie

So it’s gone fae I dinna get oot much to LETS GO FOR A PUB CRAWL in aboot 3 posts 😉

If I can make it I will *of course* be up for some beers in Aberdeen 😀

41. Paula Rose

Definitely not wearing heels to Aberdeen.

42. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie.

‘The Archibald Simpson’ sounds like the germ of a plan. Peeps could go out for a fag and then nip into the other pub to see what the crack is.

Aberdeen could, possibly, host the first two venue Wings get-together…

How decadent!

43. Paula Rose

I like the sound of Aberdecadent.

44. Ronnie

Sorry, Paula, but I’m here now.

45. Ronnie

@ X-Sticks

Ah, you know me too well.

(Hides light under a bushel, etc.)

But ‘crawl’ – wi my knees?

Na, l’ll need a taxi – baith wyes.

But I’ve always fancied participating in a ‘duet’.

46. john king

Ive got to say the story about being detained at an airport due to non payment of the tv licence has put the wind up me, since we’re off on holiday for my birthday to get away from the fact the same day should have been Scotlands independence day, 🙁

Anyone know if there’s any truth in that story?

47. Chic McGregor

The crossword page for digital readers is clueless again.

Same solution as before, download a pdf of the page, ctrl + to zoom in, use Snip to capture and fill in as per usual.

48. Thepnr

@john king

Sounds like shite John. Unless there is a warrant out for non payment after a failure to turn up in court. Did you ignore a summons? If not forget it, you have not broken any law.

So wouldn’t worry, make sure though that you have informed the license people that you have cancelled yours, not just stopped paying else you could get visitors or a (slight) possibility of a summons.

After cancelling directly with them I got an email saying they would not be in touch again for two years.

Enjoy your holiday, you’ll be fine.

49. Chic McGregor

At least it has stopped raining during the day in Kirrie – it’s snowing now.

Last night walking the dog, yet again clear star filled skys, that has happened every night for 8 days with cloud and rain during daylight ours.

Beyond weird now.

50. Ronnie

Question:

Is Abigail really a storm – or just ‘a big gale’?

51. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to Dishface, who also appears to be a fan of extra-judicial murder. Even the Nazis got a trial you psychotic fucker.

Nanine – Souie baby souie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PvEJf7Ew-rY

52. Wuffing Dug

@Ronnie et al

Still up for Sat 21st?

* bump *

53. Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dog.

Yup!

Blackfriars, circa 7 pm?

54. Wuffing Dug

@Ronnie,

Nice One 🙂

55. CameronB Brodie

About time the north got involved. 😉

Jimmy Dee & his Universals – IF IT WASN’T FOR PRIDE
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xOtJzsA0xoc

56. Paula Rose

My opening track of the night – listen Labour stalwarts…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yV-bFdf6yu8

57. Kelpie

This week too much sci-fi watching and not enough sleep…

What I heard the crowd at Wembley chanting today was ‘Maud’Dib, Maud’Dib, Maud’Dib’!

58. Ian Brotherhood

The ‘Godzilla’ Song…

Automatic, ‘What’s That Coming Over The Hill?’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETN7Rw8S9dg

59. CameronB Brodie

Hope you don’t mind Paula, here’s one from Allen’s ‘backing band’.

The Meters – Ain’t No Use
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc8g41fB28k

60. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Continuing your theme of down, here are Status Quo with their only number one from 1975.

The video though is 38 years later, still the same as 75 lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9gVqPIvPkgs

61. Thepnr

Here’s another “downer” though it lifts me.

Johnny Cash – I Won’t Back Down
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUQCmDfKFac

62. Paula Rose

Can’t get lower than this Babes – the Labour Street blues

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0nMHBFZc_E

63. Paula Rose

Thepnr Honey – that is always on my mind now whenever I think of you.

64. Thepnr

Just watch this, you won’t regret it. Promise.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wG0fS4DoGUc

65. Paula Rose

*looks at Thepnr. flutters eyelids, swoons*

66. Ian Brotherhood

*Sees Paula Rose swooning at Thepnr. finishes can of Special Brew. passes out.*

67. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one for you Thepnr.

Mac Rebennack – Mac’s Boogie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fvJayA5sDY&list=PLiVNmkdRthaMQXO5ruy0gd9BJzEKvBUzf

68. CameronB Brodie

And here’s one for all the Mod hipsters.

Mac Rebennack – The Point
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Tsuek2O2dg

69. Paula Rose

Oh no! Ian Honey! *rushes to rescue*

70. Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

Thanks for that my friend. That was extraordinary, I’m a naff. not interested in classical music or jazz. Bur hey!

I think you may just have changed my mind, never heard piano playing like that ever. I listened all the way through and think right now I’ll go and listen again.

Cheers CBB

71. Ian Brotherhood

*hears Paula Rose’s heels clattering louder. bolts into garden. hides behind hydrangea. finds forgotten plank of Lambrini.*

72. Paula Rose

CBB it is mwoah!

73. Thepnr

Haha Ian I can just picture that, mind boggling!

OK I’ve calmed down, here’s a wee song from the Quo I played once before, Much, much better than that last one.

Do you remember this? If so you must be and cnut lol,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUOAtDU5yFY

74. CameronB Brodie

Aw shucks.

75. Ian Brotherhood

@CameronB Brodie –

I never ever got used to not-calling you CamB.

What about this CBB then?

You okay with that?

PR seems quite enamoured of it, and you know what she’s like…

<': (Is that a 'confused' smiley?…I'll hit 'submit' and see how it works out…)

76. Paula Rose

*nonchalantly puts on a disc – ignores tussle – returns to dishes*

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-s0S2lxnvAA

77. cearc

Whoah, quite a party in here tonight.

78. Patrician

@Ian try this:

😕

79. Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

Well I did go and listen again. Amazing. Ta.

80. Paula Rose

Cearc honey how lovely to see you – big hug – I heard your voice from out there!

81. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Whatever is easy, I’m not fussed. I just added the B to Cameron, so I didn’t think folk were slagging me when they were slagging Dave. Paranoid perhaps but then you asked for folk to disclose their identity. So whatever, so long as you don’t start calling me Ron. 🙂

82. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Hey! Are you at the wind up 🙂

83. Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

This is just for you buddy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v-qqi7-Q19k

84. CameronB Brodie

Ha ha. Suppose I asked for that. 😉

85. Ian Brotherhood

@Patrician (11.53) –

Yes.

Thank you.

That’s precisely what I’m after.

And how, pray tell, am I supposed to do that?

:::(

86. Patrician

😯

😆

💡 follow the link at the bottom of the page but not this one ➡

87. Ian Brotherhood

@Patrician –

No-one likes a smart-arse, but that was good!

88. Patrician

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wISNCbuLm5Q#t=14

Trying, I can never get youtube links to work.

89. Thepnr

@Patrician

I know I’m a dolt, Ian worked it out but he compiles crosswords and stuff.

I’m lost so please help me out.

90. Thepnr

@Patrician

Nice choice for a song.

91. Patrician

@Thepnr

Go to Quarantine and scroll up the page. All will be revealed.

92. john king

Thepnr @8.57 12/11

I had a feeling it was nonsense but the prospect of being hauled out of the queue to board,
    like some war movie filled me with the heebie jeebies
    Kinda like this.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o0wNl66tT3Q, 🙁

93. Cadogan Enright

@Ian Brotherhood 13 November, 2015 11:25pm

Hoping to catch your eye when you’re hereabouts.

Would you be interested in attending a ‘Friends of WOS’ seminar somewhere in central Scotland, if one is organised, say Easter-ish next year?

my Facebook is Councillor Cadogan Enright and my email is cadogan@enright.ie

If I was to go then I would need to plan well ahead to clear space in diary and minimise costs.

94. Swami Backverandah

Not sure if the link will work, but on a sad and difficult day, this brought a smile.

Whose kid is this?

http://imgur.com/gallery/lLQhNd9

95. AuldA

If some still remember me, I just wanted to check in and say I’m fine.
    Maybe I should show up more often, and not just on such occasions.

96. Paula Rose

Darling! kisses and strokes!

97. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

I’m sure I was asking about you at least a month ago; if not on an actual Wings page, then in my mind.

Get back in here!

I don’t speak French so all I will offer for the moments is this from Monsieur Google…

Écosse/Francais – Vive l’alliance la plus ancienne!

98. Brian Doonthetoon

moments = moment.

8=)

99. AilB

for Glesga Keelie

Good ideas for a list of Scottish Products.
    But – Thorn needles for 78’s where find?

100. AuldA

@Paula: how could I ever turn down your cuddles? 🙂 Paula you’re definitely the sweetest Scottish lass I ever “met”.

@Brian: thanks for your kind words. I feel like having my tail between my legs for going away without any real motive. I failed you (I mean, the WOS people) and I’m really sorry for that because you’re all nice. On the brighter side, I took the opportunity of these months off to polish my English. I hope you’ll notice the difference!

101. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

Aye, like yir English wiz bowfin’ afore, iye? We’ll just have to work on your various Scottish dialects now.

Y’ken?

8=)

102. AuldA

@Brian: aye sir! Just learnt the word ‘divot’ which, if I reckon correctly, means ‘turf’.
    Something that grows over your braes and in the swards round your crofts. 😉

103. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

A’divot’ is that which has to be placed back in situ, after swinging your #9 iron a tad too deeply, or after you have created a depression for your rugby ball, prior to kicking it.

It does, indeed, consist of turf, but has been detached from the greater whole. Etiquette requires that the divot be put back, from whence it came.

104. AuldA

@Brian. Yeah I got it was a golf term, and had to do with the mangling of the fairway/green. However, my dictionary misled me into thinking the word derived from a Scottish ancestor meaning ‘wet turf’. Soggy & sodden sod, so to say.

105. cearc

I’ve also heard of peat pieces (for burning) referred to as divots.

106. Ian Brotherhood

Welcome back AuldA…kick yer shoes off, have a wee seat and pour yourself a generous dram – you’ve plenty of catching-up to do by the sounds of it. (And we want to know where you’ve been and what you’ve been up to…)

107. Ian Brotherhood

Jimi Hendrix, ‘The Star Spangled Banner’ (Woodstock, 1969) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjzZh6-h9fM

108. Thepnr

Hey AuldA you have been missed. Glad to have you back and glad to see you announcing your return here on Off Topic.

I hope you will stick around for a while, voices such as yours are needed more than ever. Anyway, nice to hear from you again.

109. Thepnr

@cearc

There was peat in the fields behind Easterhouse, My Uncles Alex and Billy used to dig it up and sell it around the scheme.

They were called divots.

110. kendomacaroobar

@ AiIB re 78 needles. check out these guys http://www.windupgram.co.uk/needles.htm

111. cearc

I wasn’t sure how widespread that use of divot was as one also hears just peats or turfs but I tend to say divots.

Not so many people bother with such a hard task for their fuel these days so it is rarely mentioned at all!

112. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

Before I leave the web, to prepare my self/Lidl Jalfrezi…

The difference between ‘aye’ and ‘iye’.

‘Aye’, is usually taken as an affirmative grunt. As in this interchange.

“It’s fell windy the day, iye?”

“Aye.”

Now, the “aye” can be taken as meaning “Yes”, or “I agree”.

However, when you look at “iye” (which seems to be a uniquely Dundee utterance, although I stand to be corrected), it is pronounced differently and has a different meaning. “Aye” rhymes with the “i” sound in “eye” (the optical apparatus), or “high”; however, “iye” rhymes with the “i” sound in “tight”, or “right”, or “$hite” and has a different meaning.

It is usually uttered as meaning “don’t you agree?”, or “Isn’t that so?” In Dundee, it (‘iye’) can be replaced by “ken?”

Isn’t language wonderful?

8=)

113. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

iye! LOL

114. Paula Rose

Is that iye as in “quite”?

115. Michael McCabe

Is that iye as in this

116. Brian Doonthetoon

Aye, Paula Rose.

“$hite” rhymes with “quite”, iye?

8=)

117. Paula Rose

Just like old times *settles back*

118. Brian Doonthetoon

Now, Mr McCabe, you are comin’ the çün†, uryi no’?

Come to the front of the class and hud yir wheesht!

8=)

119. Brian Doonthetoon

My self/Lidl Jalfrezi now needs its second bout in the microwave, with rhe added creamed coconut and coriander leaves and I have to fry my nan in butter. The samosas, bhajis and pakoras, in the oven, should be ready, so, I think that’s me for tonight.

Catch yiz all anon.

8=)

120. Ronnie

@ BDTT, et al, (faivver he is)

I’ve iye taen ‘iye’ tae mean always, and ‘aye’ tae mean ‘yes’.

Subtle difference.

Ony agreement?

Onywye, is there ony mair cummin tae The Aul Blackfriars, Aiberdeen, on 21 November?

121. Ronnie

As an aid to my pronunciation, I say ‘iye’ as in ‘ile’ (North Sea, caster or enjin).

And ‘aye’ as in…

‘I’.

122. Paula Rose

AuldA – there is a certain amount of naughtiness going on here.

123. AuldA

@All: thanks for your warm welcome!

@Paula: I said aye and lo! They’re all n‘aye’t-picking!

124. CameronB Brodie

Here’s some music to dig too, for the BBC in Scotland. You’re doing a braw job. 😉

The Shotgun Express – Curtains
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIG5Tc_aVJ8

125. Quinie frae Angus

Hi all

I would have loved a Wings night out in the Granite City but unfortunately I am already double-booked that night.

Hope I can make the next one.

126. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Aberdeen peeps.

I think you’ve sprung this on us at too short notice, as I think I suggested a week or so ago.

Pete and I already have a function in place next Saturday in Dundee.

Why not have a wee Aberdeen Wings conflab, next week, to organise a BIG ‘Wings Over Aberdeen’ for the end of January / start of February?

As I typed before, the Wings get-togethers are usually set up around 6 weeks before the event, to allow peeps to clear their diaries.

Give us enough notice and we’ll be there!

8=)

127. cearc

i doubt that i will make it to Aberdeen.

As I no longer have handy family there it would be an hotel job and I had already rather set my heart on an hydraulic log splitter this month.

Need a bit more notice really.

128. X_Sticks

I’d suggest we postpone an Aberdeen get-together until after Xmas as it looks like there would be just three of us able to make it.

Much as I really like you guys I’d rather wait until more of the mob can make it. It is an expensive night for me as I have to taxi in and out of town if I’m drinking.

As Brian suggests maybe around the end of Jan or beginning of Feb. It’s usually a quiet time so would give us something to look forward to.

129. Proud Cybernat

Here’s a much shorter version of the 2015 B4FTA (Before & After) Awards.

The video is also much snappier and punchier with no annoying commentary from me. I think this version is a lot better so please share.

http://tinyurl.com/nqmas48

The batte for Indy Ref2 has already begun. There are loads of wavering NO voters, devo-max voters who need educated about how London Gvernments operate. This wee video is all part of that on-going education. We have probably 5 or 6 years so let’s use that time constructively. It won’t happen overnight, of course, but if these videos can win over some voters then it all helps.

Please help spread the new link (above) far ‘n’ wide.

130. Proud Cybernat

Helps if I actually post the correct video link:

http://tinyurl.com/o6rrhh3

Please share.

131. Wuffing Dug

@X Sticks & BDTT

Was thinking the same thing….

Would help to chase away the January blues :).
    Will def be there on Sat night though.

Aff tae sort oot mah avatar, need tae ditch the ‘minecraft’ look.

132. Thepnr

@Wuffing Dug

Good luck with the change of avatar. A wee song for you and all those that have yet to learn that Scotland is a nation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZmNhWoIlPAE

133. Wuffing Dug

@Thepnr

Cheers

See Gravatar is meant to align your image across multiple sites, don’t want that.

Might huv tae stick wi’ the blocks.

134. Paula Rose

Calling all Wingers Wuffing Dog needs nerd advice – don’t worry Dear they’ll be along in a minute, here have a cup of tea.

135. Michael McCabe

Hope this link works. Somebody put this up on twitter. Labours big day out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=yKchy6YtflQ

136. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

That’s aah we need, mere litter on the streets.

137. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie & Wuffing Dog.

As I typed, there are two routes – we do the well travelled ‘take over a corner of Wetherspoon’s’ or, the other route, like the Clyde Bar (Helensburgh) or Invergowrie Inn (Dundee), where we find a YES friendly bar with a function suite, where we can have the pro-indy videos and facilities for ‘turns’ (like Yew Choob and Cactus/Dixie at Helensburgh).

It’s up to the local organiser(s). But remember – you should NOT have to pay for a function room if you’re putting bums on seats in a pub.

Give Wingers enough notice and you could be looking at 40-60 bums on seats for ‘Wings Over Aberdeen’. People need to organise their leisure time… timely…

138. Paula Rose

BDTT Dear – he wants to know about gravie things, please read the message.

139. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Since when were you the ‘off-topic’ police?

Wie them heels? I think not…

8=)

140. Paula Rose

*polishes truncheon, sips tea, awaits moment… *

141. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Truncheon? At least you’re not threatening me with the crotchless balaclava.

I couldn’t go through that again…

142. Paula Rose

*sighs*

143. AuldA

@Paula:
    It’s “poliCes truncheon”
    Prepares her escutcheon
    Slouches against a stanchion
    Looking at the puncheon.

144. Michael McCabe

HELP Has anyone got a link for the first series of Outlander ? Cheers in Anticipation. Here is a old Song for Peter. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=tEAPbjcvsww

145. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Here’s a link, can’t possibly imagine what you need it for.

http://www.watch-tvseries.net/series760/Outlander/season-01-episode-01-Sassenach

146. Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dug

You’ll need to be carrying a copy of The National, and say ‘You’re Ronnie (the good-lookin’ one) and I claim my Wings badge’.

147. X_Sticks

@Paula

Is that the ‘electronic’ truncheon?

148. Paula Rose

No dear – don’t be naughty you know that is for special duties.

Have you seen this…

http://tinyurl.com/pugzzxe

149. cynicalHighlander

@Michael McCabe

If the Thepnr link doesn’t work try

http://www.couchtuner.la/watch-outlander-online/

150. AuldA

@Paula:
    An electronic truncheon.
    That’s a tazzercheon?

151. Thepnr

@cynicalHighlander

Mine works fine, try it. Then try the link you left, believe me I know you were helping out so not having a dig.

For me at least the link you provided gives an advert that lasts minutes and it is so bad I wouldn’t want to listen to then end.

Go try it 🙂

152. Thepnr

That last song I put on was great in representing the 80’s it was poor in representing reality. Here’e the lead singer talking 25 Years later. My point though is just the same.

Everybody must learn sometime.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LRPuvg30MQ

153. cynicalHighlander

@Thepnr

That’s interesting as different sites seem to work differently to different people as I don’t get any adverts with Couchtuner yet your link wanted me to register with them before viewing. I wasn’t trying to be awkward just giving another link to the Outlander series for those with similar issues..

154. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, at least, Ronnie will get acquainted with Wuffing Dug next week. I wonder if Tartan Tory will take a wee ride up?

Two/three heads are greater than one. Looking forward to your organisation of ‘Wings Over Aberdeen’ early next year.

155. Brian Doonthetoon

‘watchoutlander.com’, the site I downloaded all the first series from, seems to have been obliterated.

So thanks for the other links, in advance of series 2.

156. Wuffing Dug

@Ronnie

Tell you what, I’ll have an Iscot magazine on me – October’s has been read cover to cover and is ready for ‘distribution’.
    Or you could nab it if your not a subscriber.

If I don’t spot you I’ll just ask one of the patrons, ‘have you seen that rakish Ronnie’ – he’s got a badge fur me 😉

I’ll be the wan rockin the Bruce Willis look.

157. Thepnr

@cynicalHighlander

Hey I know that, all our computers are different. I use Adblock Plus so mine will react differently from yours dependent on what site we vist.

I’m sure now though that between the two of us we have found Michael what he needs.

All the best CH.

158. Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dug.

I’ll be the wan wi the Zimmer.

I reckon the lovely Carol trumps your Bruce.

159. Ronnie

Oh… and the hair, btw.

160. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr and cynicalhighlander The link was for my pal Lynn who is a W O S Lurker to shy to Comment. She is Chuffed with the links and told me to post this song for you Both. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXn8naS6Zuo&feature=player_detailpage

161. Paula Rose

*waves at Lynn and blows a kiss*

162. Thepnr

Here’s one for Lynn, you Michael and cynicalHighlander. xxx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sdsevtSO_FU

163. Thepnr

Right! That’s enough of that.

Here’s what I really meant to play for you Michael and Lynn.
    Lots of love and kisses 🙂 You’ll like this,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsdBXJyAo0E

164. Michael McCabe

Cheers For that Thepnr. that song takes me back to my youth. Here is a song for you. This will be. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=DKAjcCW_jWQ

165. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s the ONE pic I took at Wings Over Edinburgh. A blatant lurker!

http://imgur.com/a/n997A

166. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

I hope Lynn forgives you and I hope anyone appearing in the following pics from WOS Edinburgh forgives me too.

http://s804.photobucket.com/user/Thepnr/library/WOS%20Edinburgh?sort=3&page=1

167. Wuffing Dug

@Ronnie

Just looked up Carol Willis on Google.

Take it we are talking Playboy model here – have similar tastes when it comes to the ladies – bravo! 🙂

She was only 21 when she died, Jesus.

168. Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dug,

Cover of Nov iScot.

169. Wuffing Dug

Wee bit less racy…. 🙂

170. Thepnr

As if we need to be reminded, but I’ll remind you anyway 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yni2xwx62dc

171. Ian Brotherhood

This was on the radio earlier.

Some eighties cool catchy stuff!

Roachford, ‘Cuddly Toy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sbscx0S3jcY

172. Ian Brotherhood

Good.

As planned, Roachford has cleared the room.

Now I can put on this cheerful ditty, which, nowadays, I imagine to be about IDS and his gangsters…

Radiohead, ‘We Suck Young Blood’ (Live)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IG_FP1TEaTQ

173. Wuffing Dug

2nd attempt;

Used to get my old BMW fixed roon the corner from where he was born.

Just recently started listening to his stuff.
    Latent memories from years past….

Night hawks.

//www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vTnff0pkgs

174. cearc

Excellent, Ian!

175. Ian Brotherhood

Just discovered this wee gem.

Arabesque, ‘Friday Night’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60a6LpB4zZ8

176. CameronB Brodie

FUCK the warmongers!

Asian Dub Foundation – Take Back The Power
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9DccDYoJwSQ

177. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to DT. 🙂

Asian Dub Foundation – Burning Fence
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lul9HkOpUKk

178. CameronB Brodie

How are the markets responding to all this slavering war rhetoric?

Jackie Mittoo – Wall Street
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQrPITatfYA

179. CameronB Brodie

De-Phazz – Nightmare
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q7t4O3AYov0

And I’m not describing PTSD.

The 97-page report by the Nobel Peace Prize-winning doctors’ group is the first to tally up the total number of civilian casualties from US-led counter-terrorism interventions in Iraq, Afghanistan and Pakistan.

The PSR report is authored by an interdisciplinary team of leading public health experts, including Dr. Robert Gould, director of health professional outreach and education at the University of California San Francisco Medical Center, and Professor Tim Takaro of the Faculty of Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University.

Yet it has been almost completely blacked out by the English-language media, despite being the first effort by a world-leading public health organisation to produce a scientifically robust calculation of the number of people killed by the US-UK-led “war on terror”.

http://www.middleeasteye.net/columns/unworthy-victims-western-wars-have-killed-four-million-muslims-1990-39149394

180. Wuffing Dug

@Ronnie

You still up for braving the cauld the night?

Anybody else?

* bump * * bump *

181. Stoker

Chris Curtis – Aggravation
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HqMFhdK2Ao

OR

The Searchers – Aggravation
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85eZbhfRmYM

182. Stoker

RIP Jonah Lomu – A giant and a gentleman – Thanks for the memories.

Jonah Lomu – The Legend – Tribute
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DfsDjm6xvAA

183. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Great link. Cheers. 🙁 and 🙂

184. Ian Brotherhood

I’d forgotten Tina Charles was such a powerful wee chanter.

Tina Charles/5000 Volts, ‘I’m On Fire’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5QKP9eP1BI

185. Ian Brotherhood

Pure memory-lane stuff.

Great wee video – they look as if they’re really enjoying themselves.

Chris Norman & Suzi Quatro, ‘Stumblin’ In’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGaF4tKUl0o

186. Ian Brotherhood

Never realised how much Tommy Cooper ‘borrowed’ from Chic Murray, but it’s very obvious in this collection of jokes. Still great right enough, but the ‘landlady’ gag at 16 mins is definitely Chic M material.

Tommy Cooper Jokes –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nepFgR-PI0A

187. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You stimulated my investigative gland with your “I’m On Fire” link.

I remember seeing 5000 Volts doing that on Top Of The Pops – with a blonde singer! I never knew that it was Tina Charles doing the vocals. The miming vocalist on TOTP was Luan Peters.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASYezboBQWw

Luan Peters had been a singer since the 60s but was known more as an actress:

“Peters is known for her appearances in Hammer horror films of the 1970s such as Lust for a Vampire and Twins of Evil. Other film credits include Man of Violence, Freelance, Not Tonight Darling, The Flesh and Blood Show, Vampira, Land of the Minotaur, The Wildcats of St Trinian’s and Pacific Banana.”

“She was also active on television in series such as: Z-Cars, Public Eye, Doctor Who (in the serials Frontier in Space and The Macra Terror), Target, The Professionals and the Fawlty Towers episode The Psychiatrist playing Raylene Miles, an Australian tourist.
    Her last known television role was in an episode in The Bill in 1990. In 2005 she was interviewed for the documentary Fawlty Towers Revisited.”

The emboldened info is from:-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luan_Peters

Interesting thing is, although, in the UK, Tina Charles’ contribution was kept undercover, she seems to have performed with 5000 Volts on the continent, hence your video.

“5000 Volts is the name of a British disco recording act that achieved success throughout Europe during the 1970s. The group consisted of vocalists Tina Charles and Martin Jay, with a changing group of session musicians.”

(The above info from the 5000 volts Wikipedia page.)

Tina Charles left the band and launched her solo career in 1976 with “I Love To Love”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ToZMiLBkemg

188. Brian Doonthetoon

Onnyhoo, Ian B.

You’re to blame for the fact that looking into the mid 70s reminded me of the piece of cinematic nonsense that was “Never Too Young To Rock”.

The title song was released as a single by Scott Fitzgerald, who had a hit with Yvonne Keeley with “Words”, a few years later. “Words” used the melody from Saint-Saen’s Symphony No.3 in C minor (Symphony with organ), as used, most famously, in the film “Babe”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KBDxKxp1eDg

Onnyhoo, to get back to “Never Too Young To Rock”. This film featured most of the big ‘glam’ bands from the early/mid 70s, wrapped up in a ridiculous plot. Bands featured included Mud, The Rubettes, Glitter Band (no Gary), Bob Kerr’s Whoopee Band and our own Slik, performing “The Boogiest Band In Town”. (Dig the cool Midge Ure, in the double-breasted suit.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a0PfOFsKnK8

Here’s the finale from the film, featuring the assembled company performing “Never Too Young To Rock”. Spot the different bands making up what is probably the biggest ‘rock’ band ever seen, including what looks like five drum kits!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fU0QWnab7Ns

189. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Soo-perb.

As it happens, I did recognise the tune, but I’ve never ever seen any of the movie – tbh, I didn’t even know it existed.

The canned screaming is fantastic. I wonder why Gazza Glitter didn’t appear? Too big an ego for the others to handle perhaps? Anyway, it’s a great bit of footage. Not sure if I’d sit through the whole thing right enough.

But who’s grumbling? It’s all good.

Hoots mon!

190. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

The Glitter Band, in addition to being GG’s backing band, had their own string of hits. (I’ll give you a couple of links at the bottom.)

They were a decent band – a brass section and TWO drummers. I liked ’em.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZb7-iDzc88

They’re still on the go. Here they are Oldham, earlier this year, showcasing the drummist.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKiVrmjlllk

191. Brian Doonthetoon

Further on Scott Fitzgerald…

He never really had a first division solo career but popped up now and again.

Here he is fronting “The Congregation” in 1971; “Softly Whispering I Love You”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0iSrnZ3Q-B8

192. CameronB Brodie

I told you these guys were like André Rieu, sort of. 🙂

Asian Dub Foundation – Truth Hides
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KJtx3qZCZc0

193. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one to celebrate the recent management tie-up between BAE and the BBC.

Circle Jerks – Making the Bombs
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KkuONI6qyA

Iraq’s Minister of Human Rights, Wijdan Mikhail Salim, reportedly told the Assabah newspaper that the lawsuit will be based on reports from the Iraqi
    ministries of science and the environment. These reports allege that the U.S. and the U.K. used nearly 2,000 tons of depleted uranium bombs during the early years of the the Iraq war.

http://gulfwarvets.com/du_greatest_enviomental_horrors.htm

194. CameronB Brodie

Sorry for leaving things on a downer.

I find it helps if you’re a weirdo. 😉

The Weirdos – Break On Through
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fccz1sFEDOo

195. AuldA

Did you ever see Scottish dancers performing in an Austrian decor on a French music?
    (Warning: short & classical)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSFUaVKGc0Y

196. CameronB Brodie

Ronnie, all that jaw, jaw exercise is called the Bla, Bla, Bla, Cha Cha Cha. 😉

Titus Turner – Bla, Bla, Bla, Cha Cha Cha (part 1)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTMsnMitPF8

197. CameronB Brodie

Sorry AuldA, I didn’t mean to talk over you. I posted before refreshing and wasn’t aware you were there.

198. CameronB Brodie

Morning. The situation in the middle-east must highlight how golden the opportunity spurned. Not simply to shape a post-colonial future for ourselves, but to have the opportunity to do so without bloodshed.

Change isn’t always voluntary.

Una Mae Carlisle – There’ll Be Some Changes Made
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0JyyQVVH9s

199. AuldA

@CameronB Brodie: No offense taken. With the current temperatures, I understand you hesitate to refresh your browser. Keep it warm and snug.

200. Thepnr

Had enough of politics for one day, I’ll leave this before hitting the sack.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q96ylFiQK_I

If you do watch that, then watch the reply to an attempted smear.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9r2HF5uHtNE

Heard it all before LOL.

201. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

If you have a liking for 50s rock & roll / doo-wop / ballads, you’ll probably appreciate this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7dGXd7QPcYY

202. Ian Brotherhood

Earlier tonight, going out the door en route to the local Morrison’s for some cans and a rummage in the bargain bin, this song popped into me heid. Haven’t heard it for god only knows how long but I could recall the chorus.

Halfway round the Morrison’s, wandering aimlessly, it came on the in-store piped sounds.

What’s that all about?

Clout, ‘Substitute’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZtVOhqarpVo

203. Ian Brotherhood

Having applied some lateral thinking to the question I posed above, have come to the conclusion that the tune was probably already in my heid after subconsciously registering it the last time I was in Morrison’s for some cans.

Which was last evening. 🙂

204. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

The lead singer in Clout had a great voice.
    Not a lot of people know this but Clout released the first single version of this song (after Russ Ballard’s original), a year before Rainbow.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mu_NTgbat4I

205. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s the original…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_v0bDfZytwk

206. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

207. john king

Jings,
    Whit did Rikki ken?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMecf6jUhAU

208. Patrician

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2015/11/24/cyber_terror/ for a laugh and to see who the real cyber terrorists are. Worth reading the comments too.

Warning: may contain nuts (and squirrels)

209. Ian Brotherhood

Where’s Paula Rose?

That’s a full week with nothing to say or play on O/T?

210. Patrician

@IanB

PR is on active on twitter, no doubt ahe will be back soon enough.

211. cearc

Maybe she’s got a zit and doesn’t want us to see?

212. CameronB Brodie

A zit? Gawd. Just let me get my devices. 😉

Chromatics – Looking for Love
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jBWfQ6C1qY

213. AuldA

A zit?
    A zit file?
    Paula.zit

214. Paula Rose

Darlings you missed me!

Zuch
    Interesting
    Times!

Thought I’d go back in time to the very first Off-topic page (took me ages to work out how to do that quickly) anyway – I was hooked, read the lot, listened and watched everything and took copious notes.

I now think I know you better than I know myself – which means that you’re probably all through with me.

P.Rose xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_RZAGnFcI4

215. Thepnr

@AuldA

I’m sure you have found it by now but just in case, a “zit” is an American term for a “plook”.

216. Paula Rose

Perplexing
    Look
    Over
    Other
    Konundrums

Yes – I’ve also been on twitter – trying to update, anyone know Angra Mainju’s @? Realised I’m missing hers.

217. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

It turns out that the spelling is actually “plouk”. I know; I had a virtual raised eyebrow also.

http://www.dsl.ac.uk/entry/snd/plouk

But when you look at the definitions, you’ll find ‘plookiness’, plooky’, ‘plook’ and ‘plooks’ cited. I wonder why they make the main heading ‘plouk’, as opposed to ‘plook’, when the ‘oo’ spelling seems to have been more prevalent?

AuldA may get a hang on things if we mention “pustule”.

218. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Turning back time…

I did the same with ‘Quarantine’ last year, when I finally got round to exploring it.

Fascinatin’ stuff!

219. Paula Rose

Excuse me Dears – strikes another name off the Christmas card list, btw how do you spell doonthetoon?

220. Paula Rose

* sigh – BDTT back on the list, sexy beau*

221. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

You have a Christmas card list?

How bourgeois! And you bidin’ in Brechin an’ a’…

222. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I feel we are posting one post behind each other. We’ll have to watch that; nothing worse than a post in the rear…

223. Paula Rose

*sharpens stake – sings favourite song – pities *

224. Patrician

@BTTD, you and Paula Rose are a bit like this tonight:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0C59pI_ypQ

225. Paula Rose

Patrician honey – I only mention BDTT in the hope that we may get an appearance by Pete the Camera cos he is my hero!

226. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I TALKED to Pete The Camera tonight, via the telephonic apparatus. Bet that’s got you leaking…

8=)

227. Paula Rose

I am not talking to BDTT any more – for your information.

228. David

Nobody does it better than Wingers.
    Carly Simon singing the theme tune for the James Bond film “The Spy Who Loved Me”, ‘Nobody does it better’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gUEl9eXaEMo

Beautiful song, great film, and the opening parachute stunt is so good, I can overlook them using a Union Jack parachute!

229. AuldA

@ThePNR — Zit was part of the big mouthful of words I learnt while I was away, so yes, that one wasn’t a pickle to me (I prefer pickle to Paula’s konundrum that sounds too… Muppetshowical? “—I like the pigs’ steel drums! —What? —THE PIGS’ STEEL DRUMS! —Incredible! They take anything that is not nailed down!”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aFenm6JG17c

230. john king

Does anyone know what’s happened to yesguy, I can’t remember his real name, I haven’t seen a post for him for quite a while,
    I’m a wee bit worried about him.

231. AuldA

@David:
    James Bond with Rossignol skis? Yeah! The best!

232. X_Sticks

@Paula

“anyone know Angra Mainju’s @?”

@Fate_Avenger

233. Paula Rose

Thanks John – must be the right account, over six and a half thousand followers – good to see that fellow wingers have such influence.

234. Brian Doonthetoon

I have the BBC4 ‘Easy Listening’ programme on just now and Barry Manilow came on.

I remarked to son that Mr Manilow always reminded me of Toppo Gigio, so I had to explain who Toppo Gigio was, then go exploring on YouTube.

When I showed him the Toppo Gigio video, while Manilow was still on, he saw what I meant. You too can make up your own minds.

Toppo Gigio:-
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4GhYgwDJAMc

Barry Manilow:-
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-MES1xlB1nA

235. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

2015 at end of Mr Mainyu name, d’ye think that’s when he signed up?. Anyway, impressive six and a half thousand followers as an “ordinary member of the public”? Maybe that is something to brag about, I’ve got sixty seven LOL.

My take on this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vqmgLRGkdk

236. Ian Brotherhood

Saw a documentary many years ago about a Barry Manilow fan club somewhere in England, middle-aged ladies, all very nice. They’d have get-togethers in each others houses, play Bazza’s records all night, get pished on sherry and take turns dancing with a life-sized Manilow which they’d KNITTED.

It was cool.

237. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Now that was funny, can’t express in words how funny, still laughing. So hoping not to upset the politically correct among us will just say.

Funny haha 🙂

238. Ian Brotherhood

William Shatner, ‘Common People’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ainyK6fXku0

239. Thepnr

Brilliant ya bastirt LOL.

Now I’ll need to spend an hour on youtube to usurp your effort LOL.

240. Patrician

@thepnr, what is your twitter name, let’s see if I can get it to 68, I’ll leave it to Paula Rose to do 69 😈

241. Thepnr

@Patrician

Simple @Thepnr

I’ll ignore the 69 reference 🙂

242. Thepnr

Just checked, I’ve got 68. You, Patrician will be 69 LOL.

243. Ian Brotherhood

@Patrician & Thepnr –

Blimey!

Nelly, ‘Hot In Here’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPj5IhATZ7k

244. Patrician

@thepnr, ah well hoist by my own petard or something. 69 it is 😥

I haven’t been on here much lately, but when did the flag for the Sealand Gazette turn brown?

245. Thepnr

On a much more serious note this has really pissed me off, read it this morning then went looking again as a response to Ian’s post at 11:10.

It’s about the child abuse inquiry:

“That could take 10 years. No one really believes the official estimate, that it could take five.”

Let’s wait until all those we could prosecute are dead then we an ignore it. The public are IGNORANT why hang our washing out!!

Swear words do not come close to what I think of these people.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-34940723

246. David

Regarding the ongoing child abuse inquiry, I believe it now has its best ever chance of uncovering the truth. Why – because the inquiry chairwoman IS NOT BRITISH.

She, judge Lowell Goddard, is from New Zealand. She is unlikely to have any links to ‘high-profile’ people here, so she will be immune to any pressure that people in the UK might want to exert on her to cover up some unpleasant facts.

I really hope she succeeds.

247. Thepnr

@David

I’m glad that the judge is not from the UK. Only concern is it was she that said it could take 10 years?

No way, no fucking way could any investigation take this long. It’s already been going on for years. It’s a cover up disguised as a long term investigation so as “they” get to the bottom of it.

The very “they” that were the perpetrators. Think about Chilcott why hasn’t that been published? It’s all bullshit and these liars are no longer pulling the wool over my eyes.

I don’t seek revenge. Just the shaming and punishment of the guilty.

248. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr/David –

I’m not going into any detail, but my own family has been affected by institutional sexual abuse of children. (I wasn’t one of them.)

So, if ‘averages’ mean anything at all, it’s a massive issue and we’re nowhere near realising how widespread it is.

Last week, on BBC Radio Scotland, Kaye Adams had Edwina Currie as a guest.

The week before, she had Esther Rantzen as a guest.

You may not feel the need to watch these clips, but I’m putting them in here anyway:

Edwina Currie, being interviewed on RTE re Saville:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uxZ_On7Z6CQ

Esther Rantzen, on ‘This Morning’, re Saville, three years ago:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSyaWxciTTo

Janet Street Porter, on Question Time, three years ago:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9s6RxcNJKms

249. X_Sticks

Damn, thought I was following the right Angra Mainyu!

Sorted now. Thanks John.

@ThePNR – I’d have given you a follow but I found I already was 😀

250. Thepnr

Conspiracy theories, well questioning the establishments reporting of events is alright with me.

Regarding 9/11 though, surely there can be no doubt that two Boeing 767’s first hit the North Tower of the World Trade Center and the second hit the South Tower just under 20 minutes later.

I watched the events, of course that was real. I was in New York later, in December of that year with my family, a long planned holiday. I was very reluctant to visit that site but did nonetheless.

Nothing to see only boarding around the entire site. There is no doubt though that both buildings collapsed and were destroyed, they just weren’t there anymore.

Here’s my point, I’m a structural engineer, I understand steel in particular and there is no doubt in my mind at all that the number of columns removed or damaged by the initial impact seriously weakened the strength of the structure. It MAY have managed to stay up if that was the only destruction.

However, the eventual collapse was due to the raging fire caused by the explosion of the 767’s fuel tanks. Heat reduces the yield strength of steel. Once a single floors columns failed the impact of the weight of that above that floor crashing on those below was enough for total failure.

More than enough in fact.

How does a Blacksmith make a horseshoe? He heats the steel until it is easy to shape. Bend it cold? Nah. Make it hot, easy.

251. CameronB Brodie

Hello newbies. Might as well start you off in the deeeep end. 🙂

The Legendary Stardust Cowboy – “Relaxation” & “I Ride a Tractor”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1F9Nzzc9YYU

252. liz g

Thepnr @5.46
    Hi Thepnr glad you brought the subject over here,as it seems to annoy people and is off topic.
    Can I ask what you think happened to building 7.
    I have always wondered about it as I said but not enough to argue over or sit through hours of conspiracy films.

253. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    Sorry, I’ll need to remember to refresh.

Did you know the twin towers were ‘over-engineered’ to withstand impact from aircraft? The architect who designed the buildings claimed each building could possibly tolerate airstrike by two aircraft.

There was no forensic examination of the crime scene. In fact, the crime scene was unceremoniously cleared of all evidence, with undue haste. I think that might be a Federal Offense but hay ho, extenuating circumstances and all that.

Wouldn’t this topic be better in Qt? It’s just inviting tit-for-tat conspiracy-theory advocacy. One of them just happens to have official backing and was the instigation for the “War On Terror”.

254. Ian Brotherhood

@liz g –

If you haven’t yet seen it, this may be of interest. Pretty concise.

Since this video was made some very high quality footage of WTC 7 collapsing has emerged.

The very fact that the official Kean/Hamilton report doesn’t even MENTION WTC 7 speaks volumes – almost as much as Shyam Sunder’s embarrassing inarticulacy when confronted with a simple physics question:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J_mqJUsqeLA

255. liz g

Ian Brotherhood @ 6.42 PM
    Thanks you’re timing is spot on,just poured a Wee hauf and needed something to watch.
    Will go watch it and stop annoying the others.

256. Ian Brotherhood

@liz g –

Slainte!

I think I’ll do likewise…

Here’s a much more recent video by Chandler. Some repetition, but excellent footage of the collapses and some proper analysis which will be of interest to engineers familiar with the terms he’s using.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7HNIIdpMhFg

257. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B & Thepnr.

“William Shatner, ‘Common People’”

I’m guessing, from this, that you have a penchant for unusual musical fusions?
    How about some easy listening/metal?
    Pat Boone – ‘Smoke On The Water’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xFDIrwOUdrw

Or there’s his version of ‘It’s a long way to the top (if you want to rock n roll)’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KW44a3ujZw8

Here’s the original, complete with bagpipes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uIXV0cir4-E

258. Thepnr

@liz g

I have no idea why building 7 collapsed but am just about to watch the videos posted by Ian B.

259. CameronB Brodie

Cheers Brian.

L.E.J – Hip-Hop Mashup
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvoz-fSze8s

260. Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

I’m being a wee bit pedantic here but architects do not “design” any buildings, they draw them. Engineers are the designers who work with the architects plan.

“the twin towers were ‘over-engineered’ to withstand impact from aircraft?”

Well that really is a surprise to me, before a design job begins the engineering company will be given a design brief. The brief simply states the parameters that the design is expected to meet most of which is based on published standards.

For example, an oil rig in the North Sea must be capable of withstanding the “100 year wave”. So you design it to suit.

If an architect handed an engineering firm a design brief in the 1960’s that included a clause “must tolerate airstrike by two aircraft”. I’d be saying Hmm, do we want this job?

Seriously Cameron, why not a strike by a meteorite instead of two airplanes? You need to ask yourself that question.

261. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Just watched “David Chandler’s – WTC7 NIST Finally Admits Freefall”.

Ve-e-e-e-r-r-ree eenteresting…

Will watch your second later.

Ta.

262. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

That AC/DC video is fantastic – thought the singer was going to do himself a damage with that chanter right enough, but what a great tune. Soo-perb.

263. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    OK, so my language was not technically robust. Pedant. 😉

It can’t be helped. I watched a clip of the architect describing the “design spec.” and the reasoning. BETTER. 🙂

264. liz g

Ian Brotherhood …..or anyone still around, when the Americans are talking about Kerosene do they mean Parriffan?

265. Ian Brotherhood

@liz g –

Paraffin, aye.

266. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi liz g.

Kerosene is, indeed, paraffin.

Not to be confused with ‘firewater’, a Scottish produce which native Americans found to be to their taste.

267. Thepnr

Oh well, seriously but half an hour of my life wasted, seriously does that clown not know that steel is 99% iron at a minimum?

So steel has to melt before it weakens? Horseshit, for every degree rise in temperature there is a reduction in yield strength.

Education, education, education.

268. liz g

Thepnr probably about to waste another few minutes of your life but if you wouldn’t mind…..
    Is the “nest” of my coal fireplace made of iron or steel and would the frame’s of the 9/11 buildings be similar?
    Also….if you don’t mind……How accurate /or ridiculous is the statement… “A plane full of fule is like a coke can full of paraffin on a much smaller scale”?

269. liz g

Briandoonthetoon @ 8.28
    Hi as you can tell I am confused about many things but my whisky isn’t one of them.

270. cynicalHighlander

Following on from Building 7.

http://www.wtc7.net/background.html

One of the most interesting tenants was then-Mayor Giuliani’s Office of Emergency Management, and its emergency command center on the 23rd floor. This floor received 15 million dollars worth of renovations, including independent and secure air and water supplies, and bullet and bomb resistant windows designed to withstand 200 MPH winds.

livestream.com/IndependenceLive/TonyRooke

In February 2013 documentary maker Tony Rooke took the licence fee to court under Article 3, Section 15 of the Terrorism Act 2000 on the basis that the BBC were complicit in the 9/11 cover-up and had deliberately misled the public in their broadcasting. Tony was given the opportunity to demonstrate to the judge that the BBC had quite deliberately lied to the British public about the events of that day, in particular their ‘Conspiracy Files’ programme. The fact that the BBC had foreknowledge and had reported on the collapse of WTC7 20 minutes before it happened formed the basis for his case that the licence was not appropriate. Tony was not fined and was allowed to walk away on a conditional discharge. killingauntiefilms.co.uk

271. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

No way am I falling out with you or anyone else over this stuff.

It’s out there, and it has been since 2008. The ‘official’ 9/11 report has been out even longer, and virtually no-one has bothered their arse to read either. If Bush had got his way, there would’ve been NO investigation, and when he was eventually forced to commission one he wanted it to be headed-up by Henry fucking Kissinger.

Belief in the ‘official’ version (which is also a ‘conspiracy theory’ involving a guy orchestrating things from a cave) defies rationality and the laws of science. It’s that simple. People can argue all they like over this or that solitary point, and that suits those who don’t want us seeing the bigger picture – some regular and respected commenters on WOS have made fools of themselves in recent days with lazy parroting of clichés and cod-science presented as ‘expertise’.

‘High-rise steel framed buildings are designed to collapse if they are ‘punctured”?! I won’t name who wrote that in a recent thread. One of the most astonishingly stupid comments I’ve seen on this or any other blog, 9/11-related or not.

This issue enrages people, and for good reason, but there’s no fucking way I’m going to say I see an apple when someone holds up a banana. I got into a wild BBC-related thread about this stuff, years ago, 2010/11, and it went on for a full year. I’ve lost friends over it. I’m not an architect, an engineer, a philosopher, a theologian. I’m not an ‘expert’ on anything, but I know that Newton wasn’t having a laugh – the laws he ‘discovered’ are sound. The Scottish enlightenment was based on ‘reason’, and if we abandon faith in the most basic truths of science then we deserve all we get.

I’m no crusader. I want friends, same as anyone else. I want to believe that Western Democracy is fundamentally ‘good’, that our representatives are, by and large, decent, well-motivated citizens who have a vocation to assist their fellows. Yes, I do want to believe that.

But I will not be told who to hate, and allow myself to be force-fed ‘reasons’ for hating them. I refuse to live in constant fear of bogey-men created by clever people who’ve been seduced into prostituting their talents for a fast buck.

And I refuse to lose any more friends over it. Period.

272. Thepnr

@Liz g

OK, absolutely my last post on this subject, I’ll answer you questions and give a bit more.

1. “Is the “nest” of my coal fireplace made of iron or steel and would the frame’s of the 9/11 buildings be similar?”

Yes, they are most likely identical. Mild steel, nothing special.

2. “A plane full of fule is like a coke can full of paraffin on a much smaller scale”

No idea as to the reality of that statement, personally I find the comparison ridiculous.

Here’s the extra bitty, buildings or oil rigs made from steel frames are designed to resist fire. Of course they are, but it is only anticipating a “normal” fire. The steel is always fireproofed, at least these days it is because it’s in the design standards, the codes that the engineers have to work to.

Doesn’t mean that unanticipated events such as 9/11 or the Piper Alpha disaster will result in that design failing. The design hasn’t really failed, the circumstances were exceptional and not included in the design brief.

See how a structure may collapse without reference to 9/11. Do you suspect a conspiracy for Piper Alpha?

I post this reluctantly, I knew someone who died that night. It doesn’t tell the whole story but you will get the gist. North Sea platforms could probably survive a 767 flying directly into them. No steel structure though will survive the heat if intense enough.

Oil platforms are designed to be much stronger than buildings on land. They have to be. By the next day two thirds of Alpha had disappeared beneath the waves? Think about it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDgn-eFCnRg

273. Thepnr

Ian

Never saw your post before I sent my other. A view is just that. You can have yours and me mine, it is certainly not a personal issue.

It is an opinion, and thank fuck we do have differing opinions or what would be the point?

I doubt I will let myself either be told who to hate, nor do I live in fear. In fact, the opposite, I want to strike back. But against who?

All I can do from my comfy couch is strike back verbally, with a few choice words now and then. All I have left is words.

274. liz g

Thepnr @ 9.49pm
    Thank you for answering my questions,and I will not ask anymore, I do not think the Piper Alfa tragedy or 9/11 attacks were a conspiracy.
    My questions were only pertaining to an analogy I had heard of, that reduced the explanation to the familiar, ie, “a coke can full of paraffin couldn’t melt the metal bar’s of the nest of a coal fire all at the same time.
    That seemed to make sense.
    I really was only wondering.
    Although I do admit to being more than a little curious about building 7 but that’s more to do with the BBC’S role than anything else.
    Anyway thank you for you’re time.
    Also thanks to the other’s who took the time to humour me and respond.

275. Quinie frae Angus

Good evening Wingers

I came on here for some good cheer after a hellishly depressing evening reading my Facebook posts.

Apart from the harrowing awfulness of children being killed and maimed from bombing by hawks and other assorted bast***s, an old Uni friend and her husband are having one of their regular “Smash the SNP” rants, spewing out hatred and venom about the “hatred and venom” that Alex S and Nicola S have created in “our once peaceful, tolerant country”. How Scotland has been ruined for ever by the SNP; how WWII grandfathers would turn in their graves, etc etc. How they have “lost countless friends” because of the SNP. I was desperate to get on there and say that it is actually their own unhinged fury and bitterness that is probably losing them their friends…….and what a nasty shithole of a regime they have landed us all in with their fecking No vote, but, heck, life is too short and I cannot be arsed getting into such a pointless barney on there this evening.

Sigh.

So I come on here and find my nearest and dearest Wingers argy-bargy-ing about 9/11 “conspiracy” theories!!

Oh well, may as well add my tuppence worth:

I utterly appreciate ThPNR’s tangible engineering expertise, and Cameron B’s links do intrigue me. Two of my other old pals from Uni (sensible, reasonable, non-hate-fuelled Yes ones) are also scientist/engineery types.

And they are both completely convinced that it was all planned in the USA/Israel.

I guess my own feelings chime most with Ian Brotherhood’s on this.

Anyway, where is Paula Rose for some sweetness on this dreary night?

And as I haven’t been on Off-T for a while I am behind on the Wings’ social calendar. Are we having a Christmas night out?

276. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Indeed. Agreed.

Unfortunately, our views/opinions count for nothing.

The self-declared masters of the universe have taken it upon themselves to decide what we should think/believe/’understand’, and have powerful means of ensuring that critical thinkers are identified and effectively ‘removed’ (e.g. dissident voices in academia).

What’s more, they see it as a ‘duty’ – same idea as ‘white man’s burden’, but enlarged to encompass the whole globe. Why is our NHS under such threat? Why has New Labour’s enthusiastic acceptance of PPP/PFI all-but fucked any chance of real sustainable infrastructure development in this country? Who made them enthusiastic about it in the first place? Why is it that people here STILL can’t see that the Labour Party is about as ‘socialist’ as Jacob Rees-Mogg?

The shite John McTernan’s been coming out with this week sums it all up – no ‘credible’ UK PM can be a ‘pacifist’. We have to be relied upon to provide leaders who will do the US’s bidding. Tories? Nae probs. Labour was also reliable, until Corbyn got the gig. Make no mistake about it – that wretched man will be hounded out by the McTernans, one way or another.

That’s why we pesky Nats are such a pain up the hole for them – we present an existential threat to the ‘UK’. As such, we will not be permitted to exercise any power which threatens the status quo. That status quo centres on the ‘Clash of Civilisations’ myth which, in turn, falls apart without the 9/11 narrative. If 9/11 is a provable false-flag then the whole ‘Project for a New American Century’ hubris is exposed and cannot be maintained. The stakes are too high for any such exposure, hence the complicity of the MSM and the importance of self-censorship in supposedly ‘alternative’ voices.

Some on the main threads have angrily shouted-down new commenters who (perhaps naively) posted links to 9/11 material in good faith, not understanding that there is a permanent groundswell of reaction against any mention of the subject lest it taint WOS and all involved as ‘conspiracy nutters’. But that reaction has to be examined closely. It has to be treated as dispassionately as any scientist or engineer or thinker would approach a specific problem, picking it apart and dealing with the constituent parts.

Right now we’re still a long way from being able to assess ourselves with anywhere-near the required levels of rigour and honesty to be able to undertake such analysis – what does it mean that even you and I, friends, can, apparently, hold such contrary opinions about an event which has been subjected to intense scrutiny? Who performs the scrutiny? Where is the truth? Who has an interest in making us believe this, that or t’other? Are there no identifiable, scientifically irrefutable facts?

I said on a main thread, day before yesterday (in reply to Robert Peffers) that this subject is taboo. I meant that, and mean it still. It is virtually impossible to discuss it without people getting angry at whoever brought it up. That, to me, qualifies as ‘taboo’. Thirty, forty years ago, it could’ve been ‘cancer’ (The Big C) or child abuse (Eh? What?).

We just don’t know how to approach it, how to get into a real discussion about what happened that day. It may take a long time to find a way of doing so, and in the meantime, as we bicker? The evil bastards who rely on that one event to secure our ‘permission’ for yet more war and mayhem are merrily maximising their profits and power.

277. Quinie frae Angus

@Ian Brotherhood, 10.45

Absolutely agree with everything you’ve said there.

278. cynicalHighlander

911 was designated a crime and just basic crime investigations don’t involve removal of the evidence before it is removed under any circumstances. Was this basic rule of any investigation followed? No.

279. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

Sorry.

You came in here for some light relief, and ended-up reading heaviness.

You up for a dance?

Specifically, a Line Dance a la Soul Train?

(Seems like ages since we last met, but you’ll recognise me – I’m in the red shirt, approx. 1.20)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEI85hYB_IE

280. Ian Brotherhood

I’ve only got two cans left, so I am now, officially, concentrating on dancing:

Daft Punk, ‘Get Lucky’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h5EofwRzit0

281. liz g

Ian Brotherhood
    Well said
    As someone pointed out on the main thread 9/11 was an off topic subject.
    Even although I had already said as much.
    Then someone else was effin and jeffin about it.
    While it’s true there are many places on the internet to discuss this issue.
    There aren’t many places like here,where anyone can run an idea past someone with a bit of knowledge and still make up there own mind
    So I do not apologise for “askin stuff” but I am sorry for disrupting the main thread.

I AM SO TERRIBLY AFRAID OF HAMMERS.

282. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

We are friends, friends can disagree. In fact doesn’t that make a friendship all the stronger? I believe so.

@Quinie frae Angus

Nice to hear from you, don’t worry. Just a Wingers’s tiff 🙂

Here’s a wee song for Ian and Lyndsay, no it’ for all of you that venture here. Been played before, but what hasn’t?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UrIiLvg58SY

283. Ian Brotherhood

@liz g –

Fair do’s.

Nae hammers here, just Bee-Gee sounds and cool outfits…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c9u4Su0J4Zg

284. Quinie frae Angus

@Ian Brotherhood

Oh, thanks so much for the Soul Train vid – how fab was that. Fair cheered me up, so it did. And yes, I did recognise you there – you haven’t changed a bit.

@LizG

No need to apologise for anything – the Wings comment threads are an unprecedented repository of excellent well-researched information provided by a friendly (on the whole) community and personally I don’t think any topic should be off-limits. Particularly if it relates to our communal quest for Independence.

And if anything relates to Scots Indy, 9/11 does. It’s all about the military-industrial complex, and last year we very nearly derailed the fenders.

Next time.

But we’ll only do it by educating one another. Opening eyes, wars and minds.

285. Thepnr

One of my favs and it always makes me think of Ian.

No offence buddy, it’s meant as a compliment 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2xwwkX2T4c

286. liz g

Bee Gee’s…. sound and fashion….
    All is well

287. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr, Quinie & liz –

It’s all good.

I sign off now, sending y’all much love. Sadly, I put out my back during that last line dance… 🙁

Here’s one which pushes buttons for all sorts of reasons and is pure kitsch, but hey, who cares?

If you’re not in tears at the end of this you’re not human, let alone Scottish.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-GD-5mRyaJw

288. Thepnr

Cheers Ian.

My sign off, one from when I was in the prime of life. Oh, memories of those days LOL!

Adam & The Ants – Stand And Deliver

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4B2a6l6wM2k

289. CameronB Brodie

This book introduces students to the challenges of media ethics and socially responsible media practice. Using US and international case studies based on real-life experiences of journalists, newsmakers, policy makers, and consumers, Valerie Alia invites readers to examine the pressing ethical and moral questions faced by the media and develop strategies for ethical problem solving and decision-making.

http://www.amazon.com/Media-Ethics-Social-Change-Valerie/dp/0415971993/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1448758084&sr=1-1&keywords=Alia%2C+Valerie+%282004%29.+Media+Ethics+and+Social+Change

You know you want to be the first to review this item, informed by a post-indyref1 perspective. :0

Apparently inspired by Akira Kurosawa’s 1950 film Rashomon, or did I remember incorrectly.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rashomon_effect

290. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    Here’s a cool cover. That’s my perspective though. 🙂

Matumbi – Brother Louie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hE7Uax4Y29A

291. K1

Sometimes I wish there was an off topic off topic where some of these off topics could be discussed openly without rancour.

How come all the people convinced that 9/11 wasn’t an inside job are so fucking angry at those who provide information to the contrary?

Had enough of that crap from No voters…shouted down, told I must be a ‘complete idiot’ by my own mother. Watch yer attitudes Wingers with others, some come across like yer typical No voters, utterly dismissive and quite frankly rude beyond the pale. Just because someone has a different take.

You’d think we’d learned something about closed mind’s…turns out yer mind is only ‘open’ if ye agree is it? Scunnered.

I wouldn’t reveal my innermost thoughts to anyone on Wings…on this subject or any other subject that had any meaning for me. I’ve watched this happen too often.

Kindness should be the byfeeling. Always.

(except wi pricks…of course…they need balloons burst).

292. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Hearing ye pal.

Just popped in for final scan before shutting-down.

Don’t let it get to ye.

‘Truth will out’ an ‘aw that jazz!

Tomorrow’s another day…

I can’t think of any more platitudes!

Oh,

We’ll get there!

That’s another one…

293. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi K1.

My last offering before I turn in tonight; specially for you, the original German version, just to be internationalist.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=La4Dcd1aUcE

294. K1

Cheers Ian, and Brian…genuinely made me laugh…thanks 🙂

295. yesindyref2

@K1
    Just say your opinion K1, and never mind what people think. If you get “taunted” by the likes of “did your mummy know you’re up late”, or “are you thick or what”, it just shows whoever has to resort to such rubbish has no argument, nothing to contribute.

296. john king

I can’t see any responses to my question about yesguy,
    cumon yesguy if your out there let us know your ok,

He’s one of us we need to check and see if he’s ok, Tam do you or Jenny have any info on him?

297. Quinie frae Angus

@Ian B, 12. 25 am

Wow, thanks for that link! If anyone hasn’t already clicked Iain’s music link here yet, please do. Tear in my eye as I make my way through my porridge this morning.

Thanks to ThePNR too and all the Wingers I have met and known (so far) for keeping me sane and encouraged.

Freudian slip in my last post though: I meant “open eyes, EARS and minds”. Somehow it came out as “open eyes WARS and minds”!!

This is what comes of having a new smartphone and trying to write a comment on Wings on it, while lying in my bed.

Onwards and upwards.

@John King
    Sorry, can’t help you with any info about YesGuy.

@K1
    I agree, the vehement shutting down of anyone who wants to raise the “taboo topics” is surprising, to say the least, on a site that is massively flushing out truths as it is. I don’t know nearly enough about it to be able to make any meaningful contribution but I think it is important to read and digest the research and analysis done by others.

298. K1

That’s not really my point yesindyref, I’m not disinclined to engage with those of differing views, at all. I mean sensibledave has been appalling in his descriptions of me in our exchanges. So what? I agree with you that this reveals a fixed mind and that when threatened resorts to insult. Mair tae be pitied than scorned.

No, my point is this ‘anger’ approach amongst ouselves, I was merely noting the exact similarity of that angry rejection out of hand, there is no discourse with the 9/11 subject.

I was comparing like for like on the mindset of No voters.

I was stating that I would not disclose what was close to my heart, on subjects that had meaning for me, on Wings. I think that’s just common sense, I’m not for being ’rounded on’ or ’rounding on’ for the sake of ‘debate’.

So much gets lost in interpretation and whilst forums provide an excellent outlet for debate, much of what passes for debate is actually reduced to arguing opinions with little room for what I would term as the ‘back story’s’ of the protagonists.

Personally I prefer one on one discussions, in real world situations for genuine engagement, the totality of the person is available there and warmth is possible.

I’m not for dismissing anyone out of hand, god love me I even ventured discourse wi mr ‘yer aw anti-english dave’, and believe me he wis easy compared to my mother. These types of exchanges, the difficult ones, are what challenge me to become more sensitive to those with completely different outlooks.

I do literally go away and attempt to put myself in their perspective, I contemplate, research where I can, find out more about them if possible, as a means to better understand the ‘others’ perspective. And that is why I was moaning about the outright angry dismissals when it comes to 9/11, especially from those whose openness has been a pre requisite to their political stance regarding Scotland’s Independence.

We are now living in a post referendum culture where we are ‘othered’ universally by our ‘UK state’. And no doubt by those who voted No, too. I don’t want my emotional development to be hindered by adopting the exact same mentality of those who reject out of hand alternative approaches and perspectives to some ‘fixed’ reality, by angrily lashing out because my world view is threatened by that differing outlook.

It’s not just an ‘external’ shift in perspective that accounts for the altering of ones outlook on any given subject (anyone can bandy facts and figures about, which are important) but, there is of necessity an internal shift, that to my mind, is of far more significance when it comes to the opening of a mind to alternative view points.

To reach others we have to touch hearts, if the heart can be touched the mind naturally opens. It’s very ‘freeing’ not to be bound by ‘conventional wisdom’.

299. Andrew McLean

My first and last post re 9:11
    I have worked in construction engineering for about 17 years, that’s steel buildings, not conventional or timber framed building. During that time I was involved in accident incident investigation when framework moved or very rairley toppled.
    When 9:11 happened I was watching it at work in the company of managers and engineers. Before the first tower collapsed in our structural engineer said it’s going to collapse. He could see the stresses were to great.
    As for the fire that alone would have severely damaged the colum,s , most probably the engines took out a few, and as the fire burned the week and twisted structure couldn’t take the weight from above, so slowly at first collapsed.
    Now demolition theory, to take down a building you need to open up the structure, put directional charges round the columns and run miles of detination cord through the building. I think the thousands who worked there would have noticed! And when the towers fell the noise of the charges would be considerable as obvious as the blowout around the structure!
    However there was a problem during construction of one of the towers that necessitated the strengthening of the structure, I remember seeing a documentary about it.
    Did the government bring down the towers, absoluty not, sometimes I think conspiracy theorists are posting to tarnish the rest of us! Or are just gullible.

300. K1

So Andrew you haven’t looked at the body of evidence since that day, from engineers and architects who are at the forefront of questioning and investigating 9/11?

Fine, as long as you’re sure and you have your credentials that strengthen your conclusions and you are secure in your own position.

No need then to call others gullible then, is there? Or is that a bit of ‘superiority’ creeping in?

By all means have yer own views but why is it those who are adamant about this always have to to do the ‘backhand’ slap afore they go?

No need tae answer Andrew. It was afterall your first and last comment on this.

301. Tony Little

A few brief observations about 911.

@Thepnr asks why the design brief for the Twin Towers referenced airplane hits. Several years earlier a light plane hit the Empire State Building (If I recall correctly, it may have been the Sears Tower) and as a consequence the designers had to ensure that these massively high building could withstand the largest aircraft in service. They have repeatedly stated that in their view, the planes by themselves should not have been able to bring down the towers.

A number of people hare are suggesting that the fire from the aircraft fuel was sufficient to weaken the steel girders. A kerosene fire will burn at between 800 – 1500F depending on the exact circumstances of the blaze. As anyone can recall the videos of the planes hitting the towers show a massive fireball which would have burned off the majority of the kerosene on that initial blast. The question remains, was the resulting fire sufficiently strong enough to weaken the steel – it clearly was not strong enough to melt it (steel melts at approximately 2700F).

Observation of the fires that “raged” in the WTC 1, 2 (and importantly WTC7) would suggest fires are various places, but within the sections of the buildings that were initially struck. So why would the building eventually collapse on its own footprint, rather than toppling sideways (the point of least resistance)?

Now I am prepared to concede that WTC 1&2 may have collapsed at virtual free-fall speed on its own footprint due to the spontaneous weakening of ALL the necessary Central and Outside steel girders at the same time. But no one has yet ‘proved’ that this could realistically happen when a strict application of the laws of physics are applied. However …

WTC7 was NOT hit by a plane, was seen to have limited small fires, and showed NO external damage of weakening of the structure. In the entire history of high rise steel cased buildings only three have even collapsed due to fire – all three were on 11 September 2001 at the WTC. There are hundreds of examples of steel frame buildings on fire – some fires raging for hours if not days – and in NO CASE has the building collapsed into dust, as happened on 911. That alone should give anyone cause to pause.

And finally re: WTC7, the BBC announced that the building had collapsed before it came down. WTC7 is actually seen behind the BBC commentator even as she is telling the world that it had also collapsed. Strange, or just one of those things?

I have no idea exactly what happened on 911. I suspect very few people do. The events that day provided one of the major catalysts that actually brings us right up to today. The justification for the “War on Terror” which has driven the UK to follow in the footsteps of the USA and its Industrial-Military Complex was forged in the fires of the WTC buildings that raged for months afterwards.

I will close with a well known quotation:

“If you tell a lie big enough and keep repeating it, people will eventually come to believe it. The lie can be maintained only for such time as the State can shield the people from the political, economic and/or military consequences of the lie. It thus becomes vitally important for the State to use all of its powers to repress dissent, for the truth is the mortal enemy of the lie, and thus by extension, the truth is the greatest enemy of the State.”

We live in dangerous times, and remaining skeptical about what our Governments tell us would seem to be a wise position to keep.

302. X_Sticks

9/11

I don’t hold with the conspiracy theories regarding the destruction of the WTC.

The buildings were brought down by the impact of well fuelled aircraft hitting them at 300+ MPH. I don’t think they were blown up by the CIA or anyone other than the (mostly) Saudi terrorists in the planes.

Where I think the conspiracy lies is that the American government and it’s intelligence agencies knew a major attack was imminent and did not attempt to stop it.

They probably didn’t know what that attack was going to be and they probably didn’t know exactly where or when it was going to happen. What they did know was that an attack would give them all the excuse they required to perpetrate the biggest fraud in the history of the world.

The American government and Unocal was in negotiations with the Taliban to build a pipeline through Afghanistan https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trans-Afghanistan_Pipeline prior to 9/11. They could not get the Taliban to agree the building of the pipeline. They badly wanted access to Afghanistan.

They got it. That’s initially what it was all about. Right wing America made a fortune out of the Afghan war.

It then allowed them to create their ‘war on terror’ which they have used to erode all our civil liberties and privacy. It was used as the excuse to perpetrate the illegal invasion of Iraq. Right wing America made a fortune out of the Iraq war.

The ‘war on terror’ is regularly trotted out whenever there is a need for the west to ‘protect it’s interests’.

Who is profiting from the Syrian conflict? The Palestinian conflict? The Yemen conflict? The Libyan conflict? The global arms trade. Largely right wing America.

Beginning to see a trend here?

I think that is the conspiracy. New World Order? Perhaps some truth in there.

303. Tony Little

X_Sticks

IF the planes caused WTC 1 & 2 to collapse (I remain somewhat skeptical given the volume of contradictions in the science as presented by international architects, physicists, engineers etc.) how do you explain WTC 7?

I don’t know the answer to the question who planned and executed this operation (The USA Govt is no stranger to Black Ops) but this incident was the “New Pearl Harbor” that the exponents of the Project for a New American Century wanted.

I remain highly skeptical of the ‘official’ 911 conspiracy theory.

304. X_Sticks

@Tony

WTC7 only appears to have some questions about it. There was no direct impact on the building and the building should have been able to withstand the fires provided the sprinkler system worked. It didn’t. I think it may just come down to poor building quality and uncontained fires burning over a long period.

I do think WTC7 was where the American government monitored (spied on) the global transactions that took place in the WTC. There was a CIA office in that building and I suspect that is why it was there. Osama bin Laden saw the WTC as the heart of the globalisation of capitalism. He had tried to bomb it before. Some people in American intelligence may have had an inkling that WTC was the intended target. I remember watching when Bush was advised about the attack (while visiting a primary school). He looked like a man being told that something he already expected had just happened.

I find it strangely ironic that others of the bin Laden family along with some of the Saudi royal family were hastily evacuated from the US right after 9/11 before any other flights were allowed.

305. Alan Mackintosh

As Tony said, in the entire history of steel framed buildings, only 3 have ever fallen down as a result of fire. And they all happened on Sept 11. And even if WTC7 was the exception and fell due to structural failure of heat weakened steel, it fell at freefall speed, ie there was no resistance below it. For their to be no resistance, it had to be removd in some way. A fire is not going to give you instantaneous failure leading to freefall acceleration

306. Ian Brotherhood

Please check out this Amazon review page of David Ray Griffin’s ‘The New Pearl Harbor’ (2004).

Despite this book being published more than a decade ago, most Americans still don’t know that WTC 7 came down on 9/11, and upwards of 60% of them believe Saddam Hussein had a hand in the whole thing.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/New-Pearl-Harbor-Disturbing-Administration/dp/1844370364/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1448823433&sr=1-1&keywords=the+new+pearl+harbor

307. ahundredthidiot

Re 9/11 and engineering, construction, fire etc

China airways engine fire is an excellent example of jeta1 fuel on fire and the immense heat (around 800 to 1000 degrees, depending on several factors, not least ambient air temp) anyway, the fuel only generates this immense heat for short periods of time, that is, until it is consumed by fire. So the aircraft suffered structural collapse.

Impressive, yes. But aircraft are built to be light using thin alloy metals or composite materials, which both suffer badly in high temperatures.

Buildings are built to last. It is not the same. Burn time and conducted heat all play their part in dissipating heat from source and spreading fire to other areas.

To suggest building 7, from simple office fires, could free fall collapse, is simply nuts. Even if part of the building had been hit by falling structure, the result would’ve been disintegrating floor levels on corners or isolated areas.

And ‘sprayed with jet fuel’ this would’ve burned out as it atomised in the air.

308. ahundredthidiot

Andrew MacLean

I watched it on telly on the day, all day, and I was convincing myself that all the explosions I was hearing was back up generator supply rooms, or cylinders trapped inside building on fire, but something just didn’t ring true.

I only saw building 7 footage many years after believing the official story amid a growing suspicion of flight 93 ‘disappearing’ into the earth. I think a marble in sand was the theory…..a thin skinned aircraft hitting the solid earth at high speed with no wreckage…..c’mon man!

309. Alan Mackintosh

Ian B, Tony, 100th, you may be interested in this view of the WTC. It refreshed my high school chemistry somewhat.
    http://www.veteranstoday.com/2015/05/01/mystery-solved-the-wtc-was-nuked-on-911/

310. MrObycyek

I can recommend this book as well. The author has written quite a few books on the subject including one that deals specifically with WTC7 and one rather brilliantly called Debunking 9/11 Debunking.

Another book on 9/11 that is worth reading is The 9/11 Mystery Plane by Mark H. Gaffney which features a foreword by David Ray Griffin. This is about the Doomsday plane used by the US military which was in the air on 9/11 during the attack on the Pentagon. It was actually caught on camera flying over Washington.

311. ahundredthidiot

Alan

I will give your recommendation my attention tomorrow, because I believe in ruling nothing out, unlike those who just can’t help themselves from refuting anything other than their established beliefs.

Spanish inquisition anyone!

Now, this is a way out conspiracy, what if western governments took a German approach and made questioning the official version as illegal. Not that I am for one second being disrespectful of the holocaust mind. I am just making reference.

Appointment with rioja and food awaits.

312. a

100th, Nobody expects the Spanish Inquistion…

Enjoy the Rioja! (Topical choice…)

313. Tony Little

@Alan Macintosh

Thanks for that. I recently came across a different nuclear option which was a devise panted in the base of each tower (due to 1960s building regulations requiring new high buildings to be able to be ‘safely’ demolished!) which would have pulverised the building from the ground up.

If correct (note I am NOT suggesting this is correct) the properties of such an explosion would fit some of the characteristics of the WTC building anomalies.

1. Almost everything in the buildings turned to dust
    2. Melted steel found in the basements still burning months later
    3. the physical nature of the demolition. i.e. the dust clouds being projected UP
    4. The free-fall speed of collapse
    5. Parts of the building structure being hurtled hundreds of yards away.

I do not know what I believe DID happen on 911, but I know what didn’t and that’s the ‘official’ conspiracy theory. It doesn’t stand up to basic scientific argument.

314. john king

Thanks for the response Quine
    I don’t think he was/is in the best of health.
    kinda worried about his complete disappearance, I can’t even remember when I last saw a post from him he tended to post a lot on Derek Batemans blog.

315. Thepnr

Just settling in for the second half. Looking pretty even so far.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NjxNnqTcHhg

Somethings gotta give though.

316. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi John King.

When you first queried Yesguy’s whereabouts a couple of days ago, I did a site-specific (Wings) search at Google.

Looks like the last time he posted here was in the middle of July.

317. Thepnr

Can anyone believe this?

There is a song on you tube called popcorn that is 10 HOURS long. Yes 10 hours, it repeats over and over again the original hit.

Deary me, and we thought we were sad LOL. Searching now for a Slab one saying SNP BAD, SNP BAD, SNP BAD for 10 hours, must be there.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0DQOufpjKs

318. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

RE: your 10 hour ‘Popcorn’.

Back in my early days of deejaying, I reckoned that “Race With The Devil” by The Gun was just too short. So I put together a version that lasted for 15 minutes – just to make the point, dentcha know?

Here’s the short version, featuring one Adrian Gurvitz…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hj716pc1fC0

319. Brian Doonthetoon

For those of you who feel the need to make a short, pithy comment, now and again, I have uploaded this clip for yooz.

Feel free to copy and save the link and use as you see fit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHVuPhOUDH4

320. Ian Brotherhood

Darts, ‘Come Back My Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3q3eKVBuoo

321. Thepnr

@BDTT

322. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Darts was a band whose career I followed, because it was formed by two members of ‘The John Dummer Band”, of whom I had been a fan since 1969. The two members were drummer John Dummer and bassist Thumper Thomson.

The John Dummer (Blues) Band featured as members Dave Kelly (Blues Band), his sister Joanne Kelly and Tony McPhee (Groundhogs).

This is a classic piece of blues instrumental guitar, featuring Tony McPhee and Dave Kelly, from the first John Dummer album, ‘Cabal’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NCGoUVdtnfo

BTW: I’ve mentioned this before but Status Quo’s album “Ma Kelly’s Greasy Spoon” was named in honour of Dave & Joanne Kelly’s mum, who ran a transport cafe, that all the muso’s in the London area used apres gig.

323. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Was wondering myself where she had got to.

324. Thepnr

Tonight was shite. I am angry and sad, but I’m just one small insignificant person. I’m carrying on, they won’t depress me to the extent that I refuse to carry on fighting them. Fuck them.

Here I am stuck in the middle with you clowns. You know, the horrible version. Our governments version where they slowly torture us. IDS style.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XIMg2Xw4_8s

325. Paula Rose

I am me and this is my pal…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALxA3TV3xGQ

326. Brian Doonthetoon

No comment required from me for this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j57DuqI22JU

327. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Suited my mood perfectly. Great wee tune.

328. CameronB Brodie

Re. organs. Stands up well for it’s age, don’tcha think? 😉

??????? ??????????? – ???? ???????
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7NNjSH-KXE

329. CameronB Brodie

Apparently that was all Greek to WordPress. 🙂

330. David

This one’s for the Cybernat General:

Ukelele Orchestra of Great Britain – Should I Stay or Should I Go

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-s0b7Wyp0g&index=26&list=PLaTHu3iypnIKBMh1hY-Raf4qRC2p9HuD0

331. Paula Rose

David Honey – theme for the night xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pLgJ7pk0X-s

332. CameronB Brodie

Not quite the Ukelele Orchestra of Great Britain.

Some dude on a mandolin/kazoo – I want to break free
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HKo8rHOvkcs

333. Andy S

Blog piece about why we should not go to war. Worth a read.

https://strengthtodoallthings.wordpress.com/

334. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Haha, I know why you chose that one.

To appreciate this Ukelele tune then first you must watch this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7why8Xo_RQ

Now, not great I’ll admit. The first one is pretty good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wyinJyWUhas

I prefer the banjo, and if you can’t be arsed? Then this is the one for you 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gNuj8UkyC4

335. David

OK, I’m going to turn it up to eleven, and call on the inbred redneck moonshiners who are Hayseed Dixie to rock the uke with their version of “Ace Of Spades”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cYJUywl7CFw

GCHQ is gonna get rocked tonite fo’ sure!

336. David

And this one is for MI5/MI6:
    Ukulele and Kazoo Original: “The Spy with the Blue Kazoo”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kx7Asel2WxA

337. Paula Rose

If anyone needs to know listen to all of this –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3MzZgPBL3Q

338. X_Sticks

Been a bit of a depressing week all in all.

I think this from Gil Scot Heron kinda sums it up for me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nSpBs1ghyoo

and that made me think of this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KMI2LRujUXM

My kind of drumming, probably Paul Robinson. So just to keep the rule of three and to keep it in the groove I came to this. The only answer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vus8JrnI4cM

Couple of heavy weeks coming up for me so I’ll be thin on the ground. But don’t think that means I won’t be keeping an eye on you lot 😉

339. Thepnr

A wee reminder of the Carmichael fundraiser.

“Help me Rhonda” – The last ever performance by the original Beach Boys in the UK. Knebworth 1980

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyVSIdLGL10

Now the reality:

“As ever we are so appreciative of the unwavering support you have all given us so far. As the petitioners are still in an ongoing legal situation there is unfortunately still little detail we can provide at this time. We are relying on trust.”

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-people-versus-carmichael#/

I’ve trusted them this far and they have done us proud. I’ll be sticking with them until it’s over, hope we all do.

I very much doubt Mr Carmichael has a spare £200,000 down the back of the settee. He is being funded by those that wish to keep the boot on our human face.

Let’s prove we have their measure, bad time of year I know but £1 or £2 between many goes a long way, we will match them.

We fight on, just as they are doing on our behalf.

340. Thepnr

Well that was a mistake. I started off just wanting to invite you to listen to the Beach Boys, then realised I might use it to promote the Carmichael fundraiser.

Had it on two threads at the same time and posted here first. Oops.

Have copied it to the other thread.

341. Thepnr

razzle in my pocket ian dury

The lyrics are great. Be warned not PC, sense of humour required 🙂

342. Thepnr

Bedtime. The missing link LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yxW10ygAs9M

343. Robert Peffers

Re the Orkney Fighting fund.
    I’ll be donating a wee puckle more than a fiver to both them and the SNP when I can get out to by bank.

I started putting a wee bit by every week for them a good while back but will need to put it into my bank account to transfer it to them.

Likely Monday or Tuesday.

344. Brian Doonthetoon

Mention of ukeleles up above…

I’ve been following this pair for a year or three. Rather entertaining.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PDVDkSW0-I

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cxjWaRcilsk

345. Thepnr

“Boring” was the third episode of The Young Ones, a British sitcom. Madness performing “House of Fun” 1982

This is the clip where The Young Ones do their Beatles Abbey Road style walk over the zebra crossing.

Why don’t we make comedy like that anymore?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QYp52dqOAZ8

346. Ian Brotherhood

wtf is going on with the main threads? Keep kicking back to 11.04 this morning, with nothing posted thereafter showing…strange. 🙁

347. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

“80s comedy”. See here, 6 December, 2015 at 10:24 pm:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/altered-states/comment-page-1/#comment-2091296

348. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

This is my 4th attempt to post this comment – the first was last night; the other three were tonight. Been changing the text each time with no success.

For this attempt, I will use no links (one of my attempts returned the error message that I wasn’t allowed to access “comments”(?). I had included a link back to my post in “Altered States”.

Onnyhoo, re: 80s comedy. Go to my comment at 10.24pm last night, on the “Altered States” page, and you’ll find the link, with the context.

349. Thepnr

Hey Brian

Got the message mate, cheers 🙂

350. sandra

Is this a First ????

Was scrolling on a drop down menu for countries . I was looking for the UK on the the US Postal Service (USPS )site to calculate postage to the UK. The UK was missing !!

Saw Wales under W

Scotland under S

England under E

N.Ireland under N

I’ve never seen this anywhere before always UK for the 4 countries.

351. Paula Rose

This should amuse some of you – are you clever enough to work for GCHQ?

https://archive.is/VHEC9

352. Paula Rose

Something for all you aspiring spies to enjoy –

https://archive.is/VHEC9

353. Brian Doonthetoon

Re: Wings Over Aberdeen 2016.

Can I suggest to Ronnie, Wuffing Dug and X_Sticks, that you avoid the weekend of 23rd January?

That’s when all the Burns Suppers will be happening – and I’ll be going to my first, in the world, EVER!

354. JLT

Alright guys, how you all doing?

Been extremely busy with work and studies (was working every weekend for the last 6 weeks, which then took all my spare time away to catch up on studying. However …it’s done!!!). And I finally go on holiday for 3 weeks come this Tuesday! Yeah!!!!

Anyway …’Wings over Aberdeen’ sounds good? Will keep a wee eye on the off-topic. A wee weekend away up the North-East could be a great occasion!

355. Paula Rose

Wings over Aberdecadent was the preferred option.

356. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Alistair, Alistair and Danny.

Linkin Park, ‘LIES GREED MISERY’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Dq9q6afIP8

357. Ian Brotherhood

Blimey, it’s quiet in here tonight…Friday too..

Never mind – the whole place will busy-up when the main threads get close to the half-millionth comment!

358. Thepnr

Wee change from the normal for me.

Ace of Spades. Heavy man!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eBIa0o36pPo

359. Stoker

Status Quo – Burning Bridges
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vC5TfrAHa8k

360. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr & Stoker –

Gerry Rafferty, ‘Get It Right Next Time’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXW-sL5gzHQ

361. Stoker

John & Jacob – Be My Girl
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfqmmkM9nMo

362. David

@Thepnr, back in November 1979, a schoolmate went to a Hawkwind concert on Sunday 18th, then a Motorhead concert on Mon 19th, both at the Glasgow Apollo.

All our school year then had hearing tests (no idea why) on Tueday 20th. He failed the test. Badly. 🙂

Hawkwind – “Shot down in the night”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E6aA4hp1pSQ&list=PLWfGw2maX1M6JNrraR25kMSGIN8hdQYnj&index=9

(God bless t’internet for providing band tour dates from 36(!) years ago to refresh my memory.)

363. Stoker

Mia Zapata was lead singer with the punk band The Gits. In July 1993 she was brutally murdered and to this day her killer has never been caught. Joan Jett wrote this song with Kathleen Hannah in memory of Mia:

Joan Jett & The Blackhearts – Go Home
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCeUiR3TT9o

364. Thepnr

Great tunes guys, checking them all out. Friday night seems to be party time 🙂

Right, a song that to my knowledge has never been played on Off Toptic and I never thought I’d be the one playing it.

Why? I ask myself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yG07WSu7Q9w

365. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi David.

Here’re the two combined – Hawkwind doing the original version of ‘Motorhead’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6OuyJKnIyU

366. Stoker

Here’s a wee bit of Country for all you WOS CROFTERS out there keeping the flock together, our day will come.

Radio Sweethearts – Crazy Heart
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WCiqcohtxQ8

WOS CROFTERS = CRazy OFf TopicERS.

367. Paula Rose

Keep the noise down dears.

368. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

If you’re gonna offer $h¡† like that, I’ve got to hit back with this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bkbnw82Vcss

369. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr (11.48) –

Good shout there mister, and I think you’re right – don’t recall ever seeing it here. TBH, I’ve never seen that video.

Brings back fond memories. I used to sing it as ‘Hold Me By The Ears’.

370. Thepnr

Hello Paula

Posted bang on midnight. Was that planed? LOL

This is for you and you alone. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KFYUJ63nk8

371. Stoker

Blue Swede – Hooked on a Feeling
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NrI-UBIB8Jk

George Baker Selection – Little Green Bag
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4b1wt3-zpzQ

372. Thepnr

@BDTT

Well thanks for that, I got as far as the first Ding Dong Ding Dong. Then I gave up LOL.

373. Stoker

This dude is a dead ringer for that antiques dealer David Dickinson

Al Bano & Romina Power – Felicita
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q0wZQbK938Y

374. Thepnr

Michael great choice again. My hero 🙂

375. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Here is the Original Version of a song you played Earlier. Without the chorus. I only post now and again now. But I still check wings every day. and off topic for the great mix of music and people who frequent there. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeQb_V2W-JA&feature=player_detailpage Where would we be Without Wings ?

376. Stoker

My last contribution for the night.
    Time to chuck another log on the fire.
    Golden Earring – She Flies On Strange Wings
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PW-Ys53hcIg

And i’ll dedicate that one to ma wee sister who suddenly and unexpectedly passed away a few days ago. Take care one and all.

377. Thepnr

@Stoker

Very sorry to hear of your loss, I understand how you are feeling. Take care.

378. Stoker

Cheers ‘A’ – All things considered, she had a good innings.

Chris Farlowe – Out Of Time
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpDjbul0WyE

379. Ealasaid

“Gone to the dogs”.

Somebody on Wings was looking for the origin of this phrase sometime ago. I don’t know if they found it, but I followed a recommendation on Wings to read Neil M. Gunn’s novels. While reading the ‘Silver Darlings’ I came across the origin and thought I should pass the favour on.

While hunting for herring in their boats, with sail and oar, the fishermen could lose a precious catch of herring because of dogfish (of the shark family) biting through their nets to get at the herring. The catch was not only lost through large holes in the nets but they then had to mend their ragged nets before they could fish again. They said their fishing ‘had gone to the dogs’, i.e. dogfish.

Hope this helps.

380. X_Sticks

@Stoker

My condolences Stoker. A sudden and unexpected loss of a loved one is always very difficult to deal with. My thoughts are with you and your family.

Kate & Anna McGarrigle & family “Hard Times Come Again No More”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e5OiMfM3txk

381. Wuffing Dug

@Bdtt, Paula et al

Had a busy few weeks but not forgot about W.O.A. aka ‘Aberdecadent’ twin venue extravaganza.

Good point Bdtt – we could aim for the 30th poss?

I was out last night for work Christmas do. Managed 3pm till 1.30am. STILL GOT IT…. Naw ahve no, just starting to feel human the noo……

Think I’ll go to Tesco and get a few beers and a film to watch 🙂

382. X_Sticks

@WuffingDug

30th sounds good to me. What about the rest of the team?

383. Paula Rose

*clears diary*

384. David

@Stoker

Condolences for your loss. Hope your sister did not suffer much.

Turning to the music, yer man Al Bano has an excellent Wiki biography –
    “Al Bano is an Italian singer, actor, and winemaker.” 🙂
    La Dolce Vita!

385. Brian Doonthetoon

Sorry to read about your sister Stoker.

Wuffing Dug – 30th sounds fine!

I’m just about to leave for the Team YES Bus Christmas party – on board the Dragon. Going over to Fife first and ending up at Mennies later on.

If I’m on later, I may be the worse for wear…

386. Thepnr

@BDTT

Have a good night, while your away we have to prepare for the unexpected.

“The Unicorn Invasion of Dundee”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VlhQZFTvAn4

387. Thepnr

Just a wee reminder of what Scotland voted for. Gies me the Boak.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sArFksxhV-0

388. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

I lasted until 1.51, then mentally banjoed him with a huge frying pan.

Fanny.

389. Thepnr

Hey Ian

Been meaning to ask you. Where did your avatar disappear too, you know the one that made you look intelligent 🙂

I kinda miss it LOL

390. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

I’m not intelligent enough to work out what happened to it.

I know the one you mean though – it made me look mean and moody and preoccupied with something philosophical requiring profound reflection. In fact, it was a highly cropped snap taken when I was four sails to the wind and trying to focus on rolling a fag.

Never mind…let’s get some tunes going.

391. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s the intro to a famous BBC children’s programme which, for some reason, was in the news this week.

I have a suspicion that there was a popular anti-Tory chant based on this same tune, but cannot remember where, when and why it was deployed. You can probably have a fair stab at what it suggested…

Jackanory, ‘Opening Titles’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WUIe7SAHJaM

392. Ian Brotherhood

Over-egged video, but a great tune.

The Doors, ‘Roadhouse Blues’ (live, 1970) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kE32pvvaDT8

393. Ian Brotherhood

Ten years ago it was well-nigh impossible to get this track. Youtube is an amazing thing…

Who’s first to identify the song Lennon made this tune famous with in a later solo?

The Beatles, ‘Child of Nature’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZFVC0DOrRU

394. Thepnr

This is great. Nuff said.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDrBw8zIHFw

395. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Jealous Guy of course, here’s a weepy, brilliant lyrics.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGDA0Hecw1k

396. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Franklin footage soo-perb.

Treble hoots for that one mister.

397. Croompenstein

The Barnsley nightingale…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ZwxCIzCCXE

398. Croompenstein

The Manchester nightingale…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=13rGKUJmqJg

399. Thepnr

@Croompenstein

I don’t get the Barnsley connotation but I did like the song and the pictures. Nice one.

400. Ian Brotherhood

The Glasgow Doomcrow…

Sydney Devine, ‘Nobody’s Child’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dM_QcDlS-3s

401. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Why did you need to remind me of that!

When I was 12 my granny gave me a cassette recorder together with a Sydney Devine tape.

I still have nightmares 🙂

402. Thepnr

hmm mind you Gary Glitter was No 1 at the time. I guess grannies know best.

403. Thepnr

Time I think for a bit of MUSIC.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AE1ct5yEuVY

404. Thepnr

I don’t mind if you’ve never clicked on a link to a song that I’ve posted before but I implore YOU to watch and listen to this.

He gets it. This IS how I feel.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t51MHUENlAQ

405. Thepnr

This video is truly astonishing.

OK it’s just a mad Scotsman riding a bike, but there truly can’t be another person alive that can ride a bike like him!

How to beat the traffic in the Canary Islands 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GL0rbxB9Lqg

Link via Bella Calednia.

406. Brian Doonthetoon

I was the worse for wear…

BTW: in case anyone notices the wee change in my gravatar.

This is my Saturnalia/Solstice/Yule version, with the wee holly leaf. It will be in place till just after Hogmanay.

In advance of Hogmanay, I’ll offer this; a track I used to play around 10 to midnight at any Hogmanay gig I had.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-36xdi-7NxA

407. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Ahhh, that was nice you auld romantic you 🙂

How about this? GIRFUY! Watch and understand LOLOLOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLRgdKV0lmE

408. Thepnr

Specially for TheHistoryWoman hope your reading 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Ah1JM9mf60

409. Stoker

Brian, David & X_Sticks – thanks for the kind words and thoughts.

Ian Bro – thanks a bunch, (12.15am), now i’ve got images of Aliar Carbuncle swirling round the empty dancefloor, solo, with auld Steak & Kidney screeching through the fake smoke into the deserted seating areas beyond.

410. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

That Johnny Cash link was brilliant.

I knew his nickname was ‘the man in black’ but I didn’t even know there was a song of the same name. That’s the first time I’ve heard it.

Brilliant. IMO, your best link yet brother.

Hoots, hoots, and thrice I say it – HOOTS! 🙂

411. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

First time I heard it was last night too. Amazing. I aim to please 🙂

412. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

And I should mention that for some inexplicable reason I can’t stop watching it. WTF?

413. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Dunno…there’s something very special about seeing a ‘real’ artist, in whatever genre, at work.

Perhaps it’s because he was honest in telling the audience that he’d just completed the song and was delivering it for the first time. Not that anyone would know, eh?

A very special dude, much-loved for good reason.

414. Thepnr

I absolutely hated this song when it first came out. I was wrong.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R6GDdKrQ8EI

415. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, here’s my wee musical offering for tonight.

I bought my first reel-to-reel tape recorder in 1969 and started recording Radio 1 and TV music programmes. This track is one I still have on a tape, somewhere in my hovelhold.

It features Demis Roussos on vocals and bass, with Vangelis on keyboards.

Never a hit in the UK, like a lot of singles I have liked over the years…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JBLXi3PjWB8

416. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for James Kelly, yon dude wi’ the well-skelped arse:

Mauri Clash, ‘I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ve-Flrvbts

417. Ian Brotherhood

James Brown, ‘I Can’t Stand It’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UdtmOsdggo

418. Ian Brotherhood

James Brown, ‘I Got Ants In My Pants’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SBhzxbr1bc0

419. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, after my much ignored musical post from last night, I thought I would try again. I found this rather interesting…

A member,”scottish charlie”, of http://dundee3js.freeforums.org posted this YouTube link last night.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=baCnAC5bbww

Eh thocht, “Eh ken thah!” So I did a bit of digging. Turns out it uses the same tune (first recorded as “Loch Lomond” in 1841) but with words written by the German folk-metal (?) band “Die Höhner” as “Mer stonn zo dir FC Kölle”, which roughly translates as – A-A-ARGH! – I can’t remember what my workmate told me this afternoon. I’ll update yooz tomorrow…

The title in Ripuarian is “Mer stonn zo dir FC Kölle”.

Onnyhoo, it’s the hymn of FC Cologne and is sung as the players go onto the pitch and the game starts, as the above link shows. The lyrics are in the Ripuarian dialect/language.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ripuarian_language

I found another YouTube video, showing the band performing the song at an open-air concert. Shades of Runrig…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ct1YVAHXVMA

420. cearc

Ahh, fitting tributes Ian.

421. Patrician

I put this on one of the main threads but it looks like it got caught between some petty squabbling going on at the time and as we get a better class of people here, some food for thought:

An interesting article by Duncan Campbell

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2015/12/16/big_brother_born_ntac_gchq_mi5_mass_surveillance_data_slurping/

Especially for the more paranoid among us

422. Thepnr

@Patrician

I quite sure your not surprised, neither am I. It’s been going on for years. Everyone, everywhere and everything they do is being spied on.

Welcome to 2015.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ai0pnjDoLn0

David Bowie 1984 it’s pretty crap, wish he had wrote a better one LOL.

423. Patrician

@thepnr

I’m not surprised at all, and that is a problem. This is what we have come to expect now, with it being slowly drip fed to us what is going on. It is so insidious that we are hardly shocked by it anymore.

It makes you wonder what was arrayed against us in the run up to the referendum.

424. cearc

Not surprised at all by that.

Such a handsome building, shame about the contents!

425. Thepnr

Why would an elected government feel they had to spy on ALL it’s citizens?

i can understand that with evidence judges can grant warrants to spy and record on the activities of potential criminals or terrorists. But for the rest of us?

Are they afraid of dissent against the established doctrine?

It would seem so, but who will be the judge at the end of the day, the people or the establishment?

426. Patrician

@thepnr

“Why would an elected government feel they had to spy on ALL it’s citizens?”

Because we are all potential thought criminals. Who knows what information they will need in future to shut someone up or dissuade them from a course of action? So it is all stored away, ready to be used against you if your name is tagged or you speak to the wrong person or are in the wrong place.

427. Thepnr

Thought criminals hmmmm?

Sounds about right.

428. Michael McCabe

Paranoid ? Who me. Who said that. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=cen1SvpTsYk

429. Paula Rose

I’m getting some friends to join me – time’s up boys, girlie time soon.

430. Ian Brotherhood

The Bee Gees, ‘Alone’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBwqiq1PN0E

431. Thepnr

Your up early Ian, “Morning” all old one from john king 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j1kftCx5-tA&list=PL8355CB934CE412E5

432. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers.

Up early rather than late right enough…

Let’s have a special disco tonight – seeing as we’re nearing a new page (15k!) that should draw out PR and her entourage.

433. Thepnr

I’m up for that!

434. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, something that rattles my cage…

Why do so many English-speaking people say something along the lines of, “I could of died!”, when what they actually mean is “I could have died!”?

I just heard an actress from Downton uttering the “of” phrase on “The One Show”. You’d think that correct diction would be a qualification for becoming an ACTOR or an ACTRESS.

435. Brian Doonthetoon

Onnyhoo, “Disco”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhRN-O0VakI

436. Ian Brotherhood

This popped into my heid today, out walking the dogs, as it does from time to time, and what a total joy, even remembering it. Loved it at first listen. Can’t think of anything else quite like it.

This version uses the original video.

Sparks, ‘This Town Ain’t Big Enough For Both Of Us’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUJ_ifjKopM

437. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

No comment on my “disco” track then? Efter you and Thepnr gittin’ a’ gushy aboot “disco” this moarnin’…

Onnyhoo, this is probably my most favourite Sparks track in the world… EVER!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Y4W9yVA00c

438. Ian Brotherhood

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘Sweet Gene Vincent’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J3kpIUDddKc

439. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

I always watch the links you put up, but sometimes no comment is necessary!

Demi Roussos was just too sad, as if he knew he was soon to outgrow his favourite kaftan. The German football one was just TOO Runriggish for them to go changing the words like that, and the Massacre of Glencoe one has been up before – surely ’twas yer good self who posted it? cause I can’t imagine two separate folk knowing about that and posting it here.

Never fear BDTT, I always click your links with a mixture of curiosity and trepidation, but click them all the same!

Hoots!

Rave on!

440. Paula Rose

I remember the first time Frank Sinatra sang this to me…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_yNeT2FL0bk

441. Ian Brotherhood

This is for Paula Rose.

Check out the dudes dancing, showing how it was done back in ’77.

Cool!

Baccara, ‘Sorry I’m A Lady’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MgX84NR7x0

442. Paula Rose

Continuing the “rose” theme…
    (I’ve got another 50)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AuPOwe-2EYA&list=RDAuPOwe-2EYA#t=120

443. Ian Brotherhood

If anyone knows of a lead singer with a more spectacular barnet than this dude, please don’t share. It does, however, have the considerable merit of drawing attention away from his coupon.

Hi-NRG (*see what they’ve done there, eh? dae ye?*)& Silent Circle, ‘Touch In The Night’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XAvd5x0KpU8

444. Paula Rose

Classic tracks tonight…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEhS9Y9HYjU

445. Ian Brotherhood

WTF…this has had over 14 millions views, all by people drinking mushroom-tainted perry.

Alphaville, ‘Sounds Like A Melody’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mO3IEDRsP2Q

P.S. I see Miss Rose has deigned to join us… 🙂

446. Paula Rose

Have I played a Dusty track yet?

447. Paula Rose

Oh – before I play my entire Dusty collection…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fLb213lak5s

448. Ian Brotherhood

Ah, Paula, with the Montand song you’ve reminded me of this brilliant movie, and – as I’m sure you know – the book is even better.

‘The Wages Of Fear!’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vPuO14OgTEc

449. Paula Rose

All Dusty 45s now in piles of ten ready to load on the dansette – will play the lot unless…

450. Paula Rose

You are warned, I have many more. Back in two hours – off to watch a movie.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxm1FlLSfe4

451. Ian Brotherhood

It may be communicating a brutally simple message, but hey, it’s funky! And it’s got an invisible moothie player!

Funk on Friday! 😉

Bad Boys Blue, ‘You’re A Woman, I’m A Man’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xh_1pYNabc0

452. Ian Brotherhood

Aretha Franklin, ‘Rock Steady’, Soul Train Line 1971 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83sN1GBzUDc

453. Ian Brotherhood

When Don Cornelius (presenter of ‘Soul Train’) died, a flash-mob happened in New York.

This isn’t some advertising stunt. Check out the cops – they don’t know what to do.

Hopefully, this is a wee foretaste of what our own independence day will feel like. 🙂

Here’s a wee bit of it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SO-TaxTRe8

454. David

Lipps, Inc. – “Funkytown” (1980)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJEmb5wqDbU

Meco – “Star Wars – Galactic Funk” (A long long time ago)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhg2OuE7ef4

Hmm, “Originally not inclined toward pop music, Meco’s heart changed when he heard Petula Clark’s “Downtown.” 🙂

455. Thepnr

Brilliant music, thanks for the laughs. I’m handing out medals.

OK here are the results:

Gold Medal: BDTT for Sparks Never Turn Your Back on Mother Earth

Silver Medal: David for Lipps Inc. and Funkytown

Bronze Medal: Ian for Baccara and Sorry I’m A Lady

The just missed out prize is for Paula Rose for her favourite song.

Dusty Springfield I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself

Thanks to all, I watched everyone of them, was entertained and had a good laugh in the process. Cheers!

456. Thepnr

Hope you are OK with this. My contribution to the Disco theme 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1_b6GdrjNI&list=PLuBXVkMStHrrCJil87aFLZ2-Y_bdM_gox

457. Paula Rose

Disco circa late seventies is for wimps… typical

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZyXGblps64M

458. Thepnr

Paula that was great, methinks you lived on the other side of the street.

Listen to this, give it 90 seconds at least or you’ll miss the magic. It’s the voice that is magic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d15MBSwHoa4

459. smithie

Thepnr how the hell they sang that high?.Made me think way back to the first ever “Pop” record (45) my mother bought, and it also links into what Paula mentioned earlier re Dansette player lol.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwrHCa9t0dM

460. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Okay by me mister.

Last night I got wind that I may be spending Christmas Day with my brother for the first time in over 30 years. It’s not definite yet, but if it comes off it’ll be a belter.

That’s why I posted the Bee Gees track so early, just after hearing from him. Made me think about Barry Gibb – the guy still gigs, but it’s so wrenching seeing him onstage without his brothers. Doesn’t matter how loaded or famous the dude is, he must miss them terribly, and it just doesn’t seem ‘right’, him having to see them all off.

I love the Bee Gees, and always will – they provided a soundtrack to so many lives, whether we liked them or not!

🙁 🙂

461. David

Silver medal, yes! I’m First Runner-Up! Hmm, that could be a slogan for Kezia’s gang. 🙂

And now, because it’s December, and Santa comes but once a year…

The Goodies – “Father Christmas Do Not Touch Me”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hC3AphnJLbE

462. smithie

Ian @ 10.58pm
    Don’t know the circumstances ( your business), but that sounds good, make it happen, lifes short.

463. Thepnr

@ian

I really hope you meet up with you brother this Xmas. Mine sadly passed away this year, I miss him. We have but one life.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5Ni-HBsOhY

464. ahundredthidiot

Time Peake is a scamming conartist

Nae science, none, Nada, all gimmicks, tricks and state propaganda ‘being an astronaut is like being in the army’ – Jesus wept.

All PR, all bullshit.

Pilots are limited to how many times they can fly over polar caps due to increased radiation. At 36,000 feet.

Humans 400 miles above earth in space my arse.
    People just keep sucking it up though.

465. David

“Now That’s What Wingers Call Music, Vol 1”

From Funky hits to punky Slits;

French kiss to a Jamaican miss;

Sparks will fly for the Hi-NRG guys;

From smooth soul to a Pogue’s tooth-hole;

Sarstedt’s histrionics to Goodman’s symphonics;

Windmills to space thrills;

Three men on a bike, all the songs we like!

466. call me dave

Ah! Dusty Springfield got all her LPs in the vinyl and newer CDs for the car. Great voice ‘Colouring book’ is one I often play.

Dropped in for a look and have enjoyed all the posts thanks for the memory jerkers. 🙂

Can I leave these.

Disco Hmm!

Branigan. (short version)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdlyEC2wcQQ

Heard this sung by the school choir tonight

Carly Simon version.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cv-0mmVnxPA

467. smithie

ahundredthidiot, we ken that, dinnae fash yersell.
    It don’t register at all wi me.

468. Paula Rose

For every man I’ve ever met through Wings…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByqXqz7Tvqo

469. Thepnr

@smithie

Loved My Boy Lollypop, truly it was a brilliant reminder of my youth.

No idea what ahundredthidiot is on on about either but he is starting to get on my tits.

You listening?

470. smithie

Thepnr, cant speak for him/her but i have been there as we all have, “Frustration”. We see a clear path ahead and why do naysayers vote the way they do ffs. Letting off a bit of steam i suppose. Thank God for Wings.

471. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

I hear you, the words of that song, for how you say you feel were brilliant. I feel the same.

I’m going to listen again, just to get it right in my head. Though I know I got it right first time.

Slàinte!

472. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose ah wisht you hud telt me you liked Lollypops ,ah keep a jar at the door of Maryhill Foodbank fur the bairns mind, but ah kin make a exception fur you n Thepnr VIMTO WANS lol

473. David

Everyone get on the Wings dancefloor!

Jock Scot of Yew Choob – “On the underground”
    (Parody version of The Jam’s “Going underground”)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttH8BND1BzY

474. smithie

Lolz here’s how Kevin Bridges looks at it,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRIQL4lvIqU

475. Thepnr

@ronnie anderson

Welcome back Ronnie. Where did you disappear to you old cnut LOL.

476. smithie

David, You asking?

477. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr ah didna disappear anywhere ah lookin aw the time Im very busy with Maryhill Foodbank aw week, an a lookin at Indycamp at weekend .KNackered but still gon.

Al shows you who cracks the whip ,its no jist Paula Rose you,s know lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wGICPpr2pXA

478. Paula Rose

Kicks off heels – bops to Yew Choob – flings arms around ronnie anderson.

479. smithie

Ronnie, respect for what you do.

480. Paula Rose

Gosh – that was fun – love dancing with ronnie anderson.

481. Paula Rose

Back off babes xx

482. Paula Rose

Warning – I have 50 Dusty tracks…

483. Paula Rose

Ho

484. Paula Rose

Hum

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.