Last Call

Posted on May 13, 2019 by
Click the image or here to go to the fundraiser page.
Click here to donate directly by other means.

Total at 9am, 18 June: £169,266. Last 24 hours: £6,357
(Includes donations from all sources)

When we launched our 2018 crowdfunder, more than 14 months ago, we said “this is probably the last time we’re going to ask you to put your hands in your pockets”. This is one of the very rare occasions that one of our predictions has turned out wrong.

We said it because Brexit was supposed to be signed off by the UK Parliament last October, giving the EU a few months to ratify the withdrawal agreement and have the UK leave by March 29 this year, and so we expected that one way or another the chips would be down and we’d all know where we stood regarding a second independence referendum (and hopefully be campaigning in it).

Alert readers may have spotted that that didn’t happen.

The UK government’s monumental incompetence has now postponed the withdrawal agreement by (at least) a full year to THIS October, which has had the knock-on effect of delaying the Scottish Government’s independence strategy by the same amount of time. So here we all are again.

We’ve been putting off the crowdfunder in the hope of some clarity arriving, but as deadline after deadline has passed and Westminster has failed and failed again to reach any sort of conclusion, we’ve come to a point where neither we nor Scotland can afford to wait any longer, and we need to get on with it.

Because the clock is very much ticking, folks. At the time of writing this, the current Scottish Parliament with its pro-independence majority has under two years to run, and polling suggests that hanging onto that majority past 2021 is at best on a knife-edge.

(Readers fostering a sense of complacency over recent polls might do well to ponder significant events due to happen later this year which are, to put it delicately, unlikely to play out in a manner helpful to the SNP.)

Despite these facts, no steps have been taken in the three years since the Brexit vote to secure the legal right for Holyrood to hold a referendum, a process which would almost certainly be a lengthy one.

(Particularly if you also factor in the amount of time that would be needed to organise a vote should the right be obtained. The Scottish Government has at least announced its intention to have the legislation ready in advance, but you still need time to arrange the vote and have a campaign, which means several months more.)

So what we certainly can’t afford to do is just sit around and blindly hope for the UK government to have an inexplicably magnanimous change of heart. Because clearly, the higher that support for independence grows the less likely they are to concede a referendum voluntarily. They only gave us the last one because they were confident they’d win it, and they aren’t confident any more.

We also need to be prepared to act swiftly should circumstances change suddenly, such as in the event of a UK general election.

——————————————————————————————-

So there it is. You know what we do and how we work by now. Wings Over Scotland is the most-read Scottish politics website on the planet (we get more traffic* than the next FIVE biggest sites combined), the only one that Unionists fear and the only one they constantly smear.

There are no cosy regular punditry gigs on BBC or STV for us, no nice respectable newspaper columns. We get arrested, harassed, threatened, smeared and defamed by politicians and the Unionist media, and we have our web presences shut down. We get attacked with a ferocity and in ways that no other pro-independence voice does. We can only carry on because of your incredible support.

Any money you send us will be split as usual between running costs, commissioning polls, a wage for myself and contributors like our magnificent near-weekly cartoonist Chris Cairns, and the building up of the Wings Fighting Fund with the aim of printing a million-plus copies of a new Wee Blue Book when a second referendum comes along, along with other major secret campaigning projects we’re working on.

Some will also have to be used in respect of our court case against Kezia Dugdale, either to pay costs or to file an appeal against the judgement, but that decision will only be taken after consultation with readers.

(As always, we have some tokens of gratitude for our donors, seen in the image below – an engraved credit-card-sized multipurpose tool in metal, a handy mini tin perfect for carrying earphones or charging cables (and delivered to you full of tasty mints), a mug, a sturdy weekend bag, a stylish engraved hip flask set and this year’s Wings enamel badge in a rather classy white, black and silver design.)

As always, whether Wings Over Scotland continues for another year rests entirely in your hands. We’re ready to keep fighting for you. Let us know if that’s what you want.

*stats from SimilarWeb, April 2019.

716 to “Last Call”

1. Abulhaq

Ms Davidson aka R2D2, said a vote for her party would “respect the result of referendums”, pledging “to honour the voices of millions of people who told us Scotland should stay in the UK, and that the UK should leave the EU”.
    She said: “Nicola Sturgeon wants to use these elections to selfishly push her own case for separation.
    “Another independence referendum would reopen old wounds and plunge Scotland into another period of division and uncertainty.
    “It’s time to move on – and only a vote for the Scottish Conservatives can ensure we do exactly that.”
    Vote Unionist, for harmony, unity, modernity, honesty, dynamic and logic….Core British values,
    Sanatogen anyone?

2. Brian Powell

These folk must have been reading Wings!

https://excell5.weebly.com

3. Abulhaq

Forget the Sanatogen, R2D2 and her politically constipated Unionist palls need a megapack of max strength INDILAX. Guaranteed to shift any unwanted obstruction.

4. jfngw

Any independence person that goes to protest at Farage is just feeding the monster. He will then get a five minute piece on the news about how he was corralled by the SNP beasts. He wants you to demonstrate, playing the voice of the peoples underdog is how he has achieved his position.

We are now at the point where the more you demonstrate the more his support see him as The Leader. He has already had his beer hall incident, now he plans to take the country (England that is).

5. Abulhaq

@Breeks 08:38
    Truly, the UK is systemically rotten to the core, the SNP and Scottish nationalism ought to be its worst enemy. No more compromise!

6. Ottomanboi

BREXIT PARTY …..The British Union of Faragists……

7. Terry callachan

Every now and then “CommonSpace” which I think is ,on the whole very good, comes along with something stupid and this is one of those stupid ideas.
    A report suggesting that the Scottish government cease to support the extraction of oil and gas from Scottish waters.
    In the last two years we have had the biggest oil field and the biggest gas field discovered and now a report says just leave it forget about it and move to green energy, as if that is ever likely or a possibility anywhere in the world.
    There is a huge dependency on oil and gas across the world ,wars are started to protect supplies to far off countries ,other countries are invaded or suffer political interference because of their reserves of oil and gas and now a group of people are suggesting that Scotland should just abandon its oil and gas.
    Where do they get these people ?
    Why does CommonSpace give them credibility ?
    Any transition from oil and gas across the world will be gradual over many many years as supplies run out and Scotland’s oil and gas will run out or become too expensive to extract but we don’t need to wait for that to happen indeed we already know this and have begun our transition way ahead of most countries in the world by having a modern progressive wind water and wave power industry that already supplies UK with about a fifth of its needs, Scotland once independent will have more power than it can possibly use so it will sell it, the easiest to sell overseas will be the oil and gas because it’s transportable a great pipeline between Scotland and Norway undersea is in progress already thinking and preparing for the future.

Scotland just needs to make sure that it is Scotland that is in control of it all and not Westminster.
    Scotland had benefited zero from forty years of huge oil and gas wealth because it all went to England.

We don’t need stupid advice like this ridiculous report contains.

https://www.commonspace.scot/articles/14241/elephant-room-report-finds-scotland-must-choose-between-north-sea-industry-collapse

A CHOICE is not needed
    Scotland can and should HAVE BOTH

Continue to extract oil and gas
    Continue to expand wind wave and hydro power

8. Jomry

O/T a shout-out for John Robertson’s Talking up Scotland blog at https://www.scoop.it/topic/talking-up-scotland.

It’s a much under-used resource which should be visited regularly, de-constructing current MSM and BBC reportage with hard analytical precision, turning many “negatively spun” stories into a positive narrative for Scotland. Something that every wavered or soft NO should be directed to.

Robertson’s output is quite prolific, forensically researched and drawing on many research reports and alternative sources you’ll see very few other places. But it’s laid out in a ”scoop-it” template like news-stand which allows you to scan the headlines and home in on what catches your attention for further detailed content and analysis. (The established MSM technique).

I personally have learned much from his site – stuff you are unlikely to find anywhere else. And it’s an almost daily running commentary on current media scare stories – an up-to-date informative rebuttal service “talking up Scotland” as the blog title says. If you don’t already use it – give it a go!

By the way, I am a fan….

9. McBoxheid

Last night on Pointless a question was asked: Roughly which REGION of Britain was known as Caledonia by the Romans?

Answer Scotland.

More drip drip Scotland is only a region by English TV

10. Dan

@Welsh Sion at 10:42 pm

Ach, ce n’est pas un muckle problemio mon bonnie ami gallois.

– Member of the Celtic Nations
    – Disgruntled at potentially being a non-Member of the EU*

*That’s not to say the EU is perfect, but I’d hope our rights might have more protection within their jurisdiction than under UK control by an unfettered Westminster.

I’ve tried to put a few words together in the past to form decent chants or reworded songs for the marches but disappointingly couldn’t get much take up.
    I watch the passion and power a crowd can display in unified voice (the Welsh rugby fans being a fine example), and I also posted a vid from Catalonia on here a week or so ago where 1,000s of folk were involved and choreographed to work together to produce a fine display and expression of what they want.
    Seeing the link was easy to grab from my search history, here it is again for those that may have missed it.(It’s 6min long)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7nPvfqn2hhI

@Patrick Roden at 8.34am

Have to say that post looks like attacking the man rather than the ball. I’ll occasionally take a look at some of the links CBB posts to read and consider. I wouldn’t have found those articles if they weren’t served up to me here.
    Scroll by his posts if you want, but don’t try to shut down debate please.

11. galamcennalath

Electoral Calculus suggesting Scotland might be a Tory free zone, again, if there were a GE.

https://www.electoralcalculus.co.uk/area_scot.html

Bring it on!

IMO right now would be a good time for any voting! Perhaps next Thursday will confirm that view 🙂

12. Patrick Roden

@ dan,

“Scroll by his posts if you want, but don’t try to shut down debate please.”

Perhaps you can scroll by my posts and not try to stop me giving my opinion on CBB?

Also, I always scroll past his posts, I was responding to geeo, who seemed to be bothered by CBB responding to another comment.

13. Terry callachan

Westminster only ever wanted to record income tax paid by people in Scotland so that it could falsify the figures to bolster its discredited GERS .
    Having worked for HMRC I can confidently say that it is so disorganised (purposely disorganised) that it could never ever supply dependable figures of how much income tax people in Scotland pay because its records are not up to date and are not reliable.
    That had been the case for many many years.
    HMRC has a terrible record for losing people’s documents and making errors.

Here is another report showing how careless understaffed and inept HMRC actually is.

https://www.taxresearch.org.uk/Blog/2019/05/15/hmrcs-errors-on-scottish-tax-revenues-suit-westminster-dont-expect-any-corrections-any-time-soon/

You can be assured that there will be many many people who’s address on HMRC records is incorrect.
    A Tory government does not want an HMRC they hate taxation they believe in a free for all fight to the bottom with no social security no nhs no state provision at all they want privatisation of everything and for those who have nothing their answer is “charity” by charity what they mean is a modern “poor house “ a place where poor people go to be assessed for a paltry handout from the rich of the town they live in, we are half way there with food banks.

HMRC top staff come and go between the accountancy firms that help the rich to avoid paying tax its handy to know the rules and practices on both sides of the fence.

GERS and HMRC work hand in hand on behalf of England’s Westminster to fool people in Scotland
    into thinking that England subsidises Scotland in some way when in reality Scotland has all the big hitters in tax revenues and wealth creation in UK oil gas electricity water fish whisky etc etc

Come on Scotland take back control

14. Abulhaq

McBoxheid 10:00
    Aside from the slighting usage of region, Caledonia was the territory north of the Antonine wall and was not part of the Roman province of Britannia ie Britain.
    Britain and its variants have been used to sequestor and expropriate the non anglosaxon parts of these islands. Time to stop employing the term in contemporary usage. Ancient Britons yes, modern Britons NO.

15. Robert Kerr

@Dan

I met a Winger on the Glasgow March who was carrying a WoS flag.

He said he was CBB and I have no reason to doubt him. He admitted no one likes a smart ass/know-all.

My instinct told me he was genuine.

Please cut him some slack. He is one of us.

16. Welsh Sion

Dan,

Maybe we should get together sometime with regard to these ‘reworded songs for marches.’ This is what I have done, too (in English and Scots – not Welsh, my mother tongue) – they are essentially parodies of well-worn classics.

Let me know what you think, and maybe we can continue this conversation ‘Off topic’ or elsewhere.

Regards,

17. DerekM

Folks need to stop getting carried away with predicting EU seats share,the SNP like last time will get 2 seats there is a possibility they could get 3 and a very very slim chance of 4 and for that to happen then the yoons need to split all over the place.

Not saying its impossible as the right conditions for it to happen are in play,if anything we will see if the tories and labour parties can keep their remain/brexit voting yoons from jumping ship to the libdems and brexit parties.

How to vote if you are not a yoon well simple vote for the party you support and stop telling each other how to vote.

We cant tactical vote the system only the yoons can hand it to us on a plate by fracturing.

Now i am off to put on my brexit party disguise and be a very naughty cybernat lol

18. Reluctant Nationalist

Did you fuck, Robert Kerr. Lol

19. Baldeagle58

galamcennalath says:

16 May, 2019 at 10:24 am

Electoral Calculus suggesting Scotland might be a Tory free zone, again, if there were a GE.

https://www.electoralcalculus.co.uk/area_scot.html

Bring it on!

IMO right now would be a good time for any voting! Perhaps next Thursday will confirm that view

Hi galamcennalath.
    As someone who will be working in a polling station next Thursday, I can tell you that your view won’t be confirmed until Monday 27th.
    This is because the rest of the EU will be voting on Sunday 26th.
    ‘Our’ ballot boxes will be opened and counted at the same time as the rest of the EU.

20. Dan

Patrick Roden says at 10:25 am

“Perhaps you can scroll by my posts and not try to stop me giving my opinion on CBB?

Also, I always scroll past his posts, I was responding to geeo, who seemed to be bothered by CBB responding to another comment.”

I won’t scroll by anyone’s posts and limit my exposure to the differing opinions and insight those folk offer.
    If you gave your opinion on what CBB posts rather than him as an individual, that would be more playing the ball rather than the man.
    But as you state you don’t read his posts I suppose you can’t do that…

Geeo, does post some excellent stuff, but on occasions, does seems bothered by quite a number of folks’ posts.
    They can come across as a little hair triggered at times and they’ve definitely misfired at wrong targets in the past. I’ve had it myself from them but am robust enough to keep going and not get drawn into protracted arguments. Others may be less inclined to put up with wrongful accusations and btl brawls, and that is a loss to the diversity of the pool of commenters btl.

21. HandandShrimp

I agree, three seats is a realistic potential target but four would require an absolute blood bath amongst the other parties.

If the SNP were to get 4 the mad Colonel would be ever so cross……Vote SNP, Do It Do It Do It

22. Ken500

Keep up the good work Mr Cameron B. Thanks for all the well thought out posts. Really informative,

Mr Peffers thanks for your excellent information and well thought out posts,

A real credit to the site

Unlike some petty infighting getting people down.

Thank Rev Stu for all you do. Funding going well.

All out campaigning. Join, donate. Do everything anyone can. For success

Get out and vote SNP/SNP. Vote for Independence. Get one other to vote too. Job done,

23. Dorothy Devine

HandandShrimp ,I will wish for a bloodbath as it sounds delightful , but I keep remembering that strange old adage ,
    “if wishes were horses beggars would ride’

Ach! reality!

24. Frank Gillougley

Just an insight, on media and its corrosive effect.

Now that i am deemed unemployable due to age, i spend a lot of time painting – walls, that is. During this relative bliss, I listen to Classic FM for white noise as Radio 3 is way too grim and the operatic stuff is literally like listening to extracting teeth.

So, I am well familiar with CFM’s playlist by now and have been so over the years. But, THE POINT IS, during the whole Brexit farrago I have noticed a significant increase in the output of what can only be described as English Nationalist music – you know the kinda stuff – Elgar, Walton and Eric Coates etc. All basking in England’s (Jerusalem’s) green and pleasant lands with the odd spitfire performing a victory roll overhead etc.

If you lived in China and listened to the equivalent same stuff over and over as you worked, you might well think you lived in a totalitarian state, such is the subliminal, yet effective brainwashing. No wonder Nige Goebbel’s giving it big licks.

Just sayin…

25. Scozzie

‘The truth is like a lion, you don’t have to defend it. Let it loose, it will defend itself’…not sure where this proverb originates from but it sums up Wings forensic analysis and deconstruction of state propaganda.
    This really is about truth vs. state propaganda. All of us who support independence need to fund Wings’ work – we don’t have anything else in our arsenal. Please donate.

26. Dan

@Robert Kerr at 10:29 am

Just for clarity and the less observant. The post that started this is on the previous older comments page.
    It isn’t me that needs to cut CBB some slack.

@Welsh Sion at 10:31 am

Aye, that could be a possibility, though up here and from my experience creating good songs and chants is the easy bit. It’s trying to get the dour Scots to sing ’em, that’s the issue!
    I’ve tweaked lyrics for songs ranging from folk to heavy metal but it seems you cannae please everyone / anybody.

Think it would be easier if I moved to Catalonia, look at the attractive expressions on the faces of those folk in the vid I posted. I don’t think I’ve seen that many smiles in years living up here…

I’ll keep an eye on OT for further chat if you want.

27. Scott Cameron

I would have donated but you blocked me for some inexplicable reason 🙁

28. CameronB Brodie

Patrick Roden
    So you doubt my understanding and object to my attempts to share my knowledge? You appear to have a particularly narrow and closed mined. Away and take your face for a walk.

29. Robert J. Sutherland

Dan @ 10:58,

I appreciate your consideration, but Patrick’s core point, which you have rather overlooked, is nevertheless correct: the literature that CBB quotes at considerable length is indeed intended for a very different audience. In addressing the general public, a different approach is needed. That’s not to patronise, it’s simply a question of finding the best way to reach the intended audience, which is precisely the art of the professional didact.

The prime aim here should surely be to promote the cause of independence tout court, not conduct an ongoing review of the relevance of various sociological theories to modern life in Scotland. (There may well be room in the internet for a website devoted to the latter, and CBB would evidently be well able to provide it, but it’s not this one.)

I can’t presume as to why CBB persists in what he is doing, but I fear his many efforts are resolutely skipped by the vast majority of readers. Easy enough to do, but it does leave me with a residual concern that some visitors may run aground on his numerous postings and never come back.

Which would be a pity. I find that when CBB posts pithy personal observations like the rest of us, they are invariably worth reading.

30. CameronB Brodie

Patrick Roden
    Why don’t you explain internal colonisation from the perspective of post-modern critical social theory?

‘Decommonising the mind’: historical impacts of British imperialism on indigenous tenure systems and self-understanding in the Highlands and Islands of Scotland
    https://www.thecommonsjournal.org/articles/10.18352/ijc.814/

31. CameronB Brodie

Robert Kerr
    Thanks Robert, that was indeed myself you met. I’m definitely genuine. 😉

32. CameronB Brodie

Robert J. Sutherland
    I don’t think I know it all Robert but I’m doing what I’m trained to do, i.e. educate. I’m rusty and lack social capital, so I deffer to academic insight. Have you got better technique you can suggest?

33. Giving Goose

Frank Gillougley

Yes I noticed that re music. In fact there was a request during the “school run” from some cello student kid for something celloesque – the presenter read it out, ignored the request and played the theme from “The Great Escape”!

34. ronnie anderson

Wee Wullie Rennie ( in Holyrood ) stating that a GP told him he had stopped referring Patients to mental health services as they dont get seen or its to long a wait . Willie Rennie should be made to name that GP ( i take it its a GP in his constituency ) as his constituants are being denied a health service , the GP should be reported to the Health Board .

I hope that any residents in Wee Wullie’s constituency ( Robert Peffers + ) contact their health board & complain .

35. Robert J. Sutherland

CameronB Brodie @ 12:22,

For here on the main thread, the “door-step test”. Put yourself in the shoes of the ordinary reader, Cam, for whom academic sociological theory is not a voyage of discovery as for you but an impenetrable turn-off, and just say it in your own words.

Off-topic for the rest. Or even start your own specialist blog. Fame beckons!

36. HYUFD

Dramatic new Yougov Welsh European Parliament elections poll has the Brexit Party surging to first on 33% with Labour second on 18% and Plaid third on 16%

https://mobile.twitter.com/PaulBrandITV/status/1128985186404884481?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

37. Rick H Johnston

Edinburgh update.. FARADGE is the headline in the local press. He’s charging folk to attend his event. Pure radge.

38. CameronB Brodie

Robert J. Sutherland
    I hear what you’re saying but I don’t agree, sorry. How do you know what nugget might prove useful or challenge opinion? Why would I waste time learning how to blog when the Rev. appears happy for me to do what I do here?

—–

I’m not the most prolific poster, so why am I being singled out? Could it be that my ‘expertise’ defines me as Other from the “in-group”? Am I experiencing a “need for closure”? 🙂

39. Robert J. Sutherland

me @ 12:43,

I’m getting well off-topic myself now (apologies!), but for me the exemplar in another field is Jameel “Jim” Al-Khalili, who is a professor of theoretical physics – about as impenetrable a subject to everyman as it gets! – yet is able to deliver a variety of TV programmes on science topcs which are models of clarity and interest that reach a wide audience.

‘Nuff said.

40. CameronB Brodie

Why are folk so resistant to new knowledge that is helpful to their predicament? The observant will know I went in to that a while back. 🙂

Robert J. Sutherland
    I learned this stuff shortly after sustaining serious brain damage. It isn’t rocket surgery. 😉

41. Robert J. Sutherland

CameronB Brodie @ 12:56:

I’m not the most prolific poster

Well, that’s objectively simply untrue. Just out of curiosity one time I did an analysis on one random thread, and in an accumulated live period of 12 or 24 hours (I forget which) you produced a stonking 27% of the word count. No-one else is anywhere near. And that was a typical thread, nothing special.

(What’s more, most if not all of it was entirely unrelated to the thread topic. You have even admitted as much sometimes in a kind of quasi-apologetic way.)

Maybe you’re simply unaware of how much these days the volume of your output predominates.

42. ronnie anderson

fife.communications@nhs.net

I’ve sent a E Mail to the above Health Board , lets hold Willie Rennie to account for his statement .

43. jfngw

My next door neighbours told me my prospects would be better if I allowed them to to manage my finances. Now they have complete control of my banking and give me what they believe I need to live on. Strangely I feel poorer whilst they have just had major refurbishments to their house. When I query this they inform me of course I receive the dividend of their house improvements by it enhancing the value of my house and obviously I need to contribute to these improvements as I’m reaping the benefits.

They told me they have based this financing on a government system called GERS, so how could I complain of a system that is UK government approved.

I asked for the return of all my financial controls but it would seem despite this being a mutual agreement they say they have a veto over me leaving their control. What do I do?

44. CameronB Brodie

Robert J. Sutherland
    I am very conscious Robert, that’s why I’m “being responsive to circumstances”.

45. CameronB Brodie

As the full-English Brexit fundamentally alters the legal personality of those living in Scotland, here’s some stuff to help folk learn to become Brexitanians.

Principles of Social Psychology – 1st International Edition
    3. The Self
    The Cognitive Self: The Self-Concept

Self-Complexity and Self-Concept Clarity

As we have seen, the self-concept is a rich and complex social representation of who we are, encompassing both our internal characteristics and our social roles. In addition to our thoughts about who we are right now, the self-concept also includes thoughts about our past self—our experiences, accomplishments, and failures—and about our future self—our hopes, plans, goals, and possibilities (Oyserman, Bybee, Terry, & Hart-Johnson, 2004). The multidimensional nature of our self-concept means that we need to consider not just each component in isolation, but also their interactions with each other and their overall structure. Two particularly important structural aspects of our self-concept are complexity and clarity….

https://opentextbc.ca/socialpsychology/chapter/the-cognitive-self-the-self-concept/

46. Jack Murphy

Off Topic.TODAY. Breaking news about the Tories:

“Boris Johnson will run for Conservative leadership when Theresa May goes, saying “of course I’m going to go for it”.”

Rees-Mogg next perhaps?

47. Bob Mack

@Jfngw,

Are you in a Union by any chance?

48. Ghillie

Robert J Sutherland @ 1.12 pm

Does it matter?

The bulk of Cameron’s word count is in the abstracts and links to information (which I for one find useful and interesting and relevant).

There doesn’t seem to be any limit to the length of Wing’s threads.

Many of our posters DO come back with comments that support and argue repeatedly for their particular point of interest and I don’t mind that. I can see why they feel the need to stay true to their stance.

In contrast, Cameron B offers many different angles from which to view the current political scene, through academic articles, which we are free to look up…or not.

And I like the variety of different styles of posting here. Even our pet trolls have something to offer, even if only as a barometer of unionist panic 🙂

49. ronnie anderson

CamB ah hope you’ve followed suit with me in sending E Mails re Wullie Rennie’s statement in Holyrood today to

Fife Health Board
    Presiding officers Scottish Parliament
    Jeanne Freeman MSP

50. Clapper57

@Welsh Sion says: @ 15 May, 2019 at 5:22 pm

Hi Welsh Sion….re your response to me ….Diolch

Have a good day/evening

51. CameronB Brodie

ronnie anderson
    Not yet Ronnie but will do now. 😉

52. CameronB Brodie

ronnie anderson
    Have you got a link to the comment so I can add to my e-mail? Ta.

53. boris

Tory Party strategists list the following constituencies as, “swing seats” to be given extra resources at the time of an election.

North East Fife
    Edinburgh South
    West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine
    Paisley and Renfrewshire South
    Central Ayrshire
    Ross, Skye & Lochaber Conservatives
    Edinburgh West
    Argyll and Bute
    East Lothian
    Aberdeen South

54. Patrick Roden

@ dan,

Fair enough points, but if you look again at what I said to Geeo i concluded that it was best to ignore CBB rather than get bothered by him (as I do)

BTW It’s not the information that CBB posts that is an issue, if he understands these things why wont he simplify the stuff and post his own opinions, because if he repeatedly posts the links to academic papers, people begin to suspect he is trying to disrupt wings. (although I do take on board what Robert has said above)

55. CameronB Brodie

Patrick Roden
    I haven’t looked at this stuff in almost thirty years, so my approach is kind of influenced by self-doubt, among other things. Really, what is your problem with learning and why would you want to restrict an educational opportunity for others?

Ghillie
    Thank you, please keep watching this space. 😉

56. ronnie anderson

CamB contact them directly from their E Mails addy’s

57. CameronB Brodie

Why am I not simplifying things and expressing my opinion? Believe me, I’ve been extremely selective in the scope of material I’ve posted. I’m also aware of the limited value of my “opinion” compared with the consideration of established academy. I’ve done my best to combine a postmodern and critical theory perspective, through umpteen academic disciplines. I can’t see what more can I do, frankly. Btw, feminist theory is produced by combining Critical Theory with the postmodern perspective.

Postmodernism & Critical Theory; the Good, the Bad, the Traumatic.
    My personal experience of the theory. How it drove me crazy and saved me. . . +Some shit about Jordan Peterson.

https://medium.com/@joshuaburkhart/postmodernism-jordan-peterson-critical-theory-4759dbcd3729

58. CameronB Brodie

ronnie anderson
    Sorry Ronnie, I’m getting myself muddled. I see now that his statement was made in Holyrood,so I presume will have been recorded. Okay dokey.

“It was alleged by MSP Wullie Rennie in Hollyrood today, that he has been advised by a Fife based GP, that patients were no longer being referred to mental health services in Fife, as they are over-subscribed. Can you please confirm or deny? “

59. Scotspine

Seems that Radio “Scotland” have totally taken the mask off. Open season there on FM Nicola Sturgeon on the news.

Blatant.

60. ronnie anderson

Cam B He didn’t say a Fife based GP Im surmising it was but the point being both the GP ( if he exists ) or Wullie Rennie is not representing Patients/Constituants .

61. North chiel

“ jfngw@0117” . Might I suggest that you close/ change bank accounts to ensure your income is redirected to an Independent bank , thus depriving them of your income which they have control over. If for some reason you cannot do this , it may be because possibly your neighbours have obtained” Power of Attorney “ over you through the courts ( used by themselves). They have probably cited reasons such as you being too poor, wee or stupid or similar to look after your finances and consequently this POW ( not prison or of war “ you see”) , has in all probability been granted. I can only suggest if this is the situation, that you initiate court action through ( your own or higher court) to revoke POW ? If you take the drastic action of “ moving away” from them , ( this is probably what they want) as you would only be able to take “ moveable” items with you ( including the clothes you stand in ie “shirt on your back” etc. , and not your heritable property , which thereafter they would in all probability “ move in” . If you have a supply of heating oil or gas in your “ back garden” , you would probably have to leave it as well unfortunately. Possibly the local “ food bank” might be able to help you and the local council might provide some temporary accommodation ? Unfortunately, many people over the years in your situation have actually had to emigrate . Possibly another solution would for you to get paid “ cash in hand” and thus not use this bank account for your income , or return to the old style “ Barter system “ for local “ trading” or even set up your own currency / bank as a means of exchange / deposit and forget about your “ old bank account” which you don’t have any control over?? as Court action to recover your “ seized” assets could be a lengthy process.

62. Effijy

ITV at 6.30 announcement
    This is a Party Politcal Broadcst on behalf of the Brexit Party
    But yet the caption read by the UKIP Party?

Same again at the end, announce Brexit Party but the slide read UKIP Party?

I know the are both cheeks on the same Arse but not the same party? Are they?

63. CameronB Brodie

ronnie anderson
    Thanks for the correction. 😉

64. Colin Alexander

Craig Murray has an interesting new article oot, if youse fancy a wee read.

https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/

65. Terry callachan

To CameronB Brodie….
    I see you are being singled out ,many have been before you, there are a few regulars here who think they own the place.
    They get rude and objectionable but ignore them, persevere and they move on to their next target.?

66. Phydaux

Delighted to donate…Stuart is an outstanding journalist who has had to wade through so much shite, on our behalf, he could sell it as fertiliser! He deserves our loyalty and gratitude and support. Politics is at a standstill, with peoples lives on hold. England seems to have come together in what was essentially an act of self-harm.

Where the shouty Farage is now feasting on people’s anger, fears and ignorance. Welcome to the proto-fascist scenario in England….the generation of civil unrest in order to attack civic society.

“ I can still remember Goebells shouting every time he spoke on the radio because he was the Propaganda Minister”. That’s a quote from my late father, who was Polish and a young adult when he ended up in a forced labour camp in Germany during World War 11.

We know we have to end this fetid and predatory Union. Please wake up Scotland before it’s far too fucking late.

67. Terry callachan

To CameronB Brodie…

I just came across a conversation you had with geeo here earlier where he told you I am a bilious anti English bigot.
    I don’t hide my identity or my opinions.
    I do in fact believe that English people should not be allowed a vote on Scottish independence.
    I believe this not because I am anti English or hate English people or believe they should be treated unfairly .
    I think English people are as nice and as good as any other people in the world.

I think it is wrong for people who are from the country that Scotland seeks independence from to have a vote on the matter , I believe this should be the case no matter where those English people live.
    I think it is particularly important that English people are not allowed to vote in a Scottish independence referendum because England is a country with a population ten or twelve times the size of Scotland’s.

It’s nothing to do with hate , I have friends who are English I lived there in several towns for fifteen years and enjoyed my life.

There are always rules about who is allowed to vote, all countries have them.

In fact three quarters of a million British people were not allowed a vote in the 2016 brexit referendum because they were out of the country working in the EU etc there is actually a rule that if you have been out of the UK for 15 yrs you lose your right to vote in all UK elections.

EU citizens living in UK were not allowed to vote in the brexit referendum.
    Exception being citizens of Malta Cyprus and Southern Ireland who were living in UK at the time of the referendum were allowed to vote in the brexit referendum even though they were not British .

Governments around the world set rules about who should be allowed to vote .

I’m no bigot I just think it’s wrong that England can vote for England to keep control of Scotland.
    I shout it loud and clear.
    Some here on wings call me a bigot for doing so.

68. ScottieDog

@Colin Alexander

This is spot on by Craig wrt to the financial crisis. The veil of ideology survived but only because the financial establishment controlled the narrative and that’s because it controls the media.

We are still brainwashed into thinking the the city of London is the goose that lays the golden egg. Infact that label goes to the currency issuing state.

The city and its banks are nothing more than public sector entities.

Bank liquidity is guaranteed by the state controlled Bank of England (no it is not independent). Banks do not need deposits or reserves to make loans. It’s the opposite way around. Banks create deposits when they lend and the Bank of England has no option but to fill any shortfall of reserves (or risk a failure)
    Bank deposits are guaranteed by the state via fscs.
    Banks are able to survive as businesses with far less equity than any other business purely because of state guarantees and ultimately as we discovered the state remains on hand to bail out the banks when they fail due to fraudulent behaviour.

Despite all of the above, banks do no lend to fund production. They lend mostly to inflate the price of existing assets involving real estate or financial products. This is why GDP can never keep up with (what I call ) real debt.

69. CameronB Brodie

Terry callachan
    Though I do support a minimum residency as criteria for participation, I most certainly can’t support any ethnically based restrictions.

‘Direct Democracy in the United Kingdom: Reflections from the Scottish Independence Referendum’
    https://www.research.ed.ac.uk/portal/files/26627811/Tierney_Referendum_paper.pdf

I was trying to access “The Scottish independence referendum and the participatory turn in UK constitution making”, but none of the links I’ve found will open. Another CORE issue at Cambridge Uni., but possibly a bit too hot for public consumption.

70. pipinghot

Look at Wings, CBB says: Yawn, FFS have been reading his stuff for a while but he is up to no good.

71. CameronB Brodie

pipinghot
    Care to explain your reasoning, or are you here just to smear?

72. pipinghot

CBB is trying to poison this debate the same way as the resident troll on Scot goes Pop does. Up to no good, really.

73. shiregirl

Off Track – apologies, but Question Time is from Elgin tonight. There will be a few people I know attending…never usually watch it but will try to tonight.

74. Terry callachan

To CameronB Brodie…

I do not support ethnically based restrictions either

I do support nationality based restrictions

people of English nationality should not be allowed to vote in a Scottish independence referendum

It’s easy to determine nationality
    Just use current Westminster rules

75. Cubby

Terry Callahan@9.36pm

It’s been a long time since you went back to your anti English POV. Shall I tell my son to order his armband with a Morris dancer on it? Why just the English? Why not other UK citizens Welsh Irish or even EU citizens.

“I’m no bigot I just think it’s wrong that England can vote for England to keep control of Scotland.”

When did that happen? Shout it loud and clear please.

76. CameronB Brodie

pipinghot
    That’s not an explanation, you’ve simply repeated your smear and added an accusation. In what way do you think I poison the debate?

Terry callachan
    By seeking to block English participation, you are supporting ethnic restrictions. Sorry bud but that appears to be a little more than a tad prejudiced and authoritarian.

77. Mountain shadow

Looks like another planted Yoon QT audience

78. Terry callachan

To cubby…

You ask why just England ? And why not other UK citizens welsh Irish EU citizens too.
    My reasoning is simple.
    Wales Ireland EU do not control Scotland
    It is England that controls Scotland
    It is England that Scotland seeks independence from
    That’s the only reason

Do you see them all as equals ? Really ?
    Do you really think it is from wales that Scotland seeks independence ?
    Or Ireland ?
    Or EU ?

79. shiregirl

Mountain shadow says:
    16 May, 2019 at 11:10 pm
    Looks like another planted Yoon QT audience

God, it’s depressing. Regretting decision to watch it. Lots of yoons, surprise surprise…

80. Terry callachan

To CameronB Brodie…

Isn’t there a difference between nationality and ethnicity ?
    I believe there is a difference
    I think it is common for people to think they are the same but I believe they are not

I may be wrong but I think ethnicity is about race culture religion and nationality more to do with where you were born and to which country you hold allegiance, your government and other governments will readily tell a person what their nationality is without ever asking what your race religion and cultural followings are

81. Mountain shadow

That audience looks about 70% Yoon and there all sitting together in the middle.

A small SNP cohort are crammed into the right hand side.

82. Hamish100

Question Time- Fiona Bruce – where are all the SNP supporters she asks with the hint of smugness. Surely she should have asked her production team who select the audience and the location- of course Moray – it was more inclined towards Brexit but still in a minority.

The smug tory plants around the audience . Spot a Young Tory miles off. Easy to ask a question from them

83. Terry callachan

I think that England must have had reasons why people living in UK with the nationality of other EU countries were not allowed to vote in the brexit referendum , were they ethnically based exclusions?

What about people living in UK who were not British and had Maltese Cypriot and Irish nationality were they allowed to vote on brexit because of ethnicity ?

As far as I can see it looks very much like England does not want the rules it applies to others applied to England

84. ronnie anderson

Mary Scanlon MSP conservative is sitting in the QT audience

85. Hamish100

Pipinn hot reminds me of mad unionist, rock and the rest.

86. pipinghot

To CBB We see you and what you are up to.

87. shiregirl

hang on, that was Mary Scanlon?!! Tory ex MSP!!!

seriously??!!

88. pipinghot

Hamish 100, another fucking troll.

89. scunner

Can’t Leonard talk forcefully without seeming to be constantly shouting?
    I’d expected Jardine to be the most irritating speaker but he’s just plain infuriating.

Almost completed my Yoon bingo card again.

90. CameronB Brodie

Terry callachan
    It is a bit complicated and I can’t remember any globally agreed ‘rules’, though that doesn’t mean they don’t exist. I do remember that culture is viewed as an expression of ethnicity, from the perspective of ethnography, which suggests Scotland and England should be viewed as separate ethnic groups. The only ethical reason I can think of to restrict anyone from participation, would be a minimum period of residency, which I think would improve the deliberation of new Scots. I’m not likely to be designing the voting process though.

Remember, the culture of British nationalism has been created methodologically, as a support for colonial practice in the celtic nations and industrial England.

Ethnicity, Culture, and “The Past”

It is understandably difficult to determine in general—and even in a concrete individual case—what influence specific ethnic factors . . . have on the formation of a group. . . . Any cultural trait, no matter how superficial, can serve as a starting point for the familiar tendency to monopolistic closure—Max Weber

https://quod.lib.umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?cc=mqr;c=mqr;c=mqrarchive;idno=act2080.0036.411;rgn=main;view=text;xc=1;g=mqrg

91. CameronB Brodie

pipinghot
    And do you not think we see what you are up to?

92. Mountain shadow

How did hundreds of Moray constituents miss out on getting on QT yet a former Tory MSP makes it?

93. pipinghot

Supporting the route to independence, unlike you you fud. And we all see you.

94. shiregirl

Mountain shadow says:
    16 May, 2019 at 11:42 pm
    How did hundreds of Moray constituents miss out on getting on QT yet a former Tory MSP makes it?

It reeks.
    The young tory who is unhappy with how the SNP run Moray Council looks sus’ too…

95. ronnie anderson

Why are the Tories not putting Scottish Msp’s or Mp’s to front QT audience , what are they that incompetent .

96. CameronB Brodie

pipinghot
    Come on then, explain how I’m a fud and how I poison the debate? Why should I be avoided? If all you have is smears then I’ve nothing to worry about.

97. Hamish100

Pippin suddenly appears and immediately accuses of others being trolls then becomes abusive. Yip reminds us previous yoonitics.

98. pipinghot

Shame there is not a block list for the the likes of CBB, but I suppose we have to let everybody have a say unfortunately 🙁

99. ronnie anderson

Stewart Crockett
    46 mins
    I was in the audience at Question Time in Elgin tonight. The audience was heavily weighted against Independence, and the audience was not a fair dissection of what all the people of Scotland voted for in the EU Referendum. It is a well produced programme,but, I personally think that the audience is partly handpicked, and there was a Tory plant in the audience ex-MSP Mary Scanlon.

100. CameronB Brodie

pipinghot
    Shame eh? Suck it up bud.

101. pipinghot

CBB We all see you and your daily posts. Bud. And we see what you are up to .

102. ronnie anderson

CamB ah hiv some derback soap if yer cumin oot clean , noo that will confuddle yer manny lol.

103. North chiel

“ Independence Day today” ………for Norway . Congrats from your neighbours across the water.

104. CameronB Brodie

ronnie anderson
    I’m no saint Ronnie but let’s not go there. 🙂

pipinghot
    You’re going to get very boring very quickly, if all you have is unsubstantiated smear. I don’t want to hurt the movement, so can you please explain your reasoning. You might be on to something.

105. gus1940

Another low for a Scottish edition of QT.

The audience was overwhelmingly pro Brexit and anti SNP yet the BBC maintain that audiences are selected to reflect the political make-up – Aye Right. Who would have guessed that Scotland voted overwhelmingly for Remain?

Instead of Billy The Bigot in the audience we got Mary Scanlan ex Tory MSP. We are told that applicants for the audience have to provide details of their political views – so how did she get selected and miraculously out of all present allowed to comment during the program without being identified?

106. pipinghot

CBB outed as the fucking troll and not the fountain of wisdom. Spotted his shit months ago. Smelt like shit then too.

107. ronnie anderson

CamB uas the Derback soap an wash that manny right oota yer hair , as wee aulder wans know it kept the Nits at bay .

108. pipinghot

Ronnie, can you translate that for us west coasters?

109. Hamish100

Pippin heart – you smell shit. Well remove your snout from your erse!

You are Sussed. Lol

110. CameronB Brodie

Still waiting on an explanation as to why I’m a fud troll. 🙂

pipinghot
    Come on then, explain yourself.

111. pipinghot

Not only my opinion Hamish 100. Time to get new glasses.

112. Liz g

Pipinghot @ 12.30
    He means your a Nit and since you also have nae Wit …
    Then it means your just a bog standard louse.
    You’re Welcome…

113. Liz g

Cameron .. You don’t half attract them 🙂

114. pipinghot

Thanks Liz g for the compliment as they say time will tell.

115. Liz g

Ronnie Anderson @ 12.28
    Just to be clear…. I heard aboot Derbrack when an wiz in ma pram 🙂 so don’t be including me in the “aulder wans”!!!

116. CameronB Brodie

Liz g
    It could simply be because I’m zoning into Critical Theory and stuff, and perhaps rattling a few cages.

The Evolution of Ethnicity Theory:
    Intersectionality, Geopolitics and Development

Abstract

Ethnicity has become prominent in popular and scholarly thinking over the last 50 years. In the late 1960s a few key works stimulated the growth of a complex body of literature, now defined by four main theoretical approaches. New insights are also emerging. Chief among these is the importance of integrating intersectionality into ethnicity theory. The Institute of Development Studies (IDS) has also made important contributions to this literature and its application to development studies.

This article identifies three new frontiers in the study of ethnicity. First, theoretical effort is required to unpack how ethnicity intersects with other forms of identity. Second, as demonstrated by IDS’ contributions, further research is required on the impacts of ethnicity upon development and vice versa. And, finally, the geopolitical landscape emerging since 9/11 has stimulated major shifts in conceptions of ethnicity. These shifts and the resulting new framings of identity (ethnic and otherwise) beg investigation….

https://bulletin.ids.ac.uk/idsbo/article/view/2722/html

117. pipinghot

Laugh my F ass off at Liz G , are you people real? I don’t believe so.

118. CameronB Brodie

pipinghot
    You got zilch against me though, so I’m still waiting on your explanation. If you can’t argue your case against me, it suggests you haven’t got one. Other than you don’t like what I’m contributing, for reasons only you are privy to.

119. Old Pete

QT is a joke, I was in the audience in he Kilmarnock effort. It was so biased I reckon less than 20% of those in attendance supported independence and that in an area that heavily supports the SNP ? It’s a joke, total anti-Scotland propaganda from the British Broadcasting Corporation. Surprised ?

120. Liz g

Pipinghot @ 1.05
    Aw that’s so nice of you to say and it wasn’t even one of my best, but if I’ve raised a smile….. It was almost worth my time,but only almost 🙂

121. Liz g

Come on Cameron doesn’t this make ye feel Mighty Real..?? 🙂

122. CameronB Brodie

Liz g
    Now that you come to mention it. 🙂

THE POSTPOSITIVIST REALIST THEORY OF IDENTITY

The postpositivist realist theory of identity I elaborate in this book is an adaptation and extension of the epistemological framework known as philosophical realism. The postpositivist version of realism I defend in this book emerges partly from within the philosophy of science and from analytic philosophy more generally, and is particularly indebted to the work of Charles Peirce, W. V. O. Quine, Donald Davidson, Hilary Putnam, and Richard Boyd.

While disagreement exists among those who would call themselves realists, the most sophisticated versions of realism today entail a postpositivist conception of objectivity, together with the anti-idealist thesis that the world exceeds humans’ mental conceptions of it.[17] In using realism to illuminate the theoretical and political significance of identity, I develop and extend the work of the literary theorist Satya Mohanty, who was the first to bring an explicitly realist approach to bear on the consideration of cultural identities (“Epistemic Status”)….

https://publishing.cdlib.org/ucpressebooks/view?docId=kt8t1nd07c&chunk.id=ss1.02&toc.depth=100&brand=ucpress

123. Liz g

Cameron… Em… I was thinking more of the song… LOL
    Has Cactus taught ye nothing 🙂

124. CameronB Brodie

Seeing as how I’m a bit of a critical realist though, I have to point to this.

Developing a Critical Realist Positional Approach to Intersectionality

This article identifies philosophical tensions and limitations within contemporary intersectionality theory which, it will be argued, have hindered its ability to explain how positioning in multiple social categories can affect life chances and influence the reproduction of inequality.

We draw upon critical realism to propose an augmented conceptual framework and novel methodological approach that offers the potential to move beyond these debates, so as to better enable intersectionality to provide causal explanatory accounts of the ‘lived experiences’ of social privilege
    and disadvantage.

KEYWORDS critical realism, critique, feminism, intersectionality, methodology, ontology

Structure and agency in intersectional theory

The lack of a well?defined relationship between structure and agency, as well as between structures themselves, are further hurdles within intersectional theory that a critical realist approach could help to clarify. It may be the case that since the so?called poststructural turn in feminism, implicit influences from the hermeneutic tradition contributed to the current tendency to avoid theorizing structure within intersectional theory, although a number of pioneering structuralist scholars (e.g. Floya Anthias, Angela Davis, Patricia Hill Collins, bell hooks and Nira Yuval?Davis82) have made significant contributions in this area.

But with the current predominance of anti?categorical approaches, attention has been much more heavily focused on individual interpretations of social reality. The relationship between structure and agency has therefore, been arguably undertheorized as a result, as has the interaction between agency and the replication of the structures of domination, gaps which are highlighted in contemporary critiques of the literature.83

Thus far, neither positivist nor poststructuralist approaches have conceptualized this relationship between structure and agency in a way that has been widely adopted by intersectionality theory, leaving one of its key aims unfulfilled: Nash observes that due to the lack of a comprehensive theory of agency, intersectionality theory has thus far been unable to ‘answer…questions about the fit between intersectionality and lived experience of identity’.84

Conceptualizing structure and agency, and the relationship between them, is a widely contested area of social theory,85 replete with vigorous debate that due to limitations of space it is not possible to engage with here. For now, however, we turn to realist sociologist Margaret Archer’s conceptions of structure and agency, as they are rooted in critical realism and contain much promise for propelling intersectional theory forward past these intellectual hurdles. In Archer’s model, termed the morphogenetic approach, structures are regarded as products of past human agency, influencing actors in the present who can then contribute to either the reproduction or transformation of these pre?existing structures.

The influence of structure upon actors is two?pronged. First, structure is held to affect life?chances, endowing them with initial interests and providing the leverage upon which reasons for different courses of action operate. Thus, whilst life chances are not deterministic, they ‘strongly condition what type of Social Actor the vast majority can and do become’.86 Second, structure is argued to be mediated by social actors primarily through affecting their ‘constellation of concerns’ in relation to the natural, practical, and social orders of reality. This mediation manifests and takes shape through a process of reflexive internal conversation, which then results in chosen courses of action….

https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/3bbc/8c55d024079aff055ef89b2c1e4d19a06d4b.pdf

125. CameronB Brodie

Liz g
    I’m in a bit of a zone right enough Liz. 😉

126. Liz g

Cameron
    No No No Cameron
    I want the song
    Indulge me!!!
    Otherwise I’ll have to get all Constitutional…
    You have been warned 🙂

127. CameronB Brodie

Liz g
    Sorry Liz, my turn to be a bit slow on the song names. Unless you’re talking about “You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)”.

128. Effijy

Insomnia caused a promise to be broken and I watched Question Time on catch up.

No fear of sleeping now as blood is boiling.

I have got to praise Westminster’s main propaganda channel as their anti Scottish and SNP
    Mockumentary is so very well co-ordinated.
    It must cost millions to keep it so slick.

Elgin FFS appeared as if it was a Tory Strong hold in Surrey?
    The Beeb must work so hard to ensure a vast majority of Tories in the Audience.

The Unionist seem to wear bright colours and be near the front to make selection easy
    and always better to select those with a history of Unionist public speaking.

To give a slight impression of impartiality they did look for an Independance supporter
    But few hands went up, likely intimidated by the roar of rampant Unionist at any anti SNP comments.
    As luck would have this pro Indy lady doesn’t like the SNP?

If an audience member said anything pro Scotland the camera man has instructions to pan out and
    Find some Unionist shaking their head in disgusted.

I didn’t think that many English people would have lived in Elgin but perhaps our Oil jobs have seen them relocate but never leave behind their English right to colonise.

I’d say 4 of the segments came from people with English accents.

Big smiley Fiona interrupting when necessary to maintain her vast salary.
    And No John you can’t reply to those unfounded anti SNP comments as I have another question!

I can see North Korea buying the format from the Beeb as a fresh slant on propaganda might auger well in other corrupt and suppressed nations.

I look forward to such a vile dangerous anti democratic organisation being sent South never to return.

129. Giving Goose

Re QT from Elgin.
    Of course the audience were hand picked.
    Of course there were Tory plants in that audience.
    Of course the tone was anti Scottish.
    Of course Tory politicians were included.
    Of course Fiona Bruce was smug.
    Of course it is carefully contrived propaganda.
    It’s the BBC! Don’t watch it.

130. Ken500

Some of the English folk in Elgin want to go back down south but can’t afford to. The military semi retirees would like to return South but can’t afford the house prices. Their children a and grandchildren are also settled in Scotland, having been brought up in Scotland. Once met an ex military semi retired couple on a plane. They had elderly relatives in the south. They kept an eye on. The couple were going to visit them. They would have liked to return South but could not afford the house prices. He drove a private bus part/time,. Maybe the old relatives would leave them a house. Nice couple. Unionists? They did not like proposed Brexit.

Was the Elgin Council not Tory. They could not run it properly. The Leader was cutting everything but would not put up Council tax. Some of the Tory? councillors started to criticise the administration. Some of them changed sides or stepped down. It was a right carry on. The SNP group had to take over to run the Council properly. Or was that another Council. ‘Highlands’?

Have converted a few folk lately with the facts. At least 6. Looks like a big SNP support. Get oot campaigning. Donate, join etc. Vote SNP/SNP. Vote for Independence. Get one other to vote as well. Many ex Brexit (told lies) are SNP voters. Already postal voted.

131. Ken500

Millionaire Fiona Bruce the tax evader. Reports on tax evaders. A bunch of total hypocrites. The BBC lying clones.

The SNP/Independence are still winning.

The BBC are not winning. Losing viewers. £3.7Billion. What a waste. Half of it on building estate. Enough to relieve poverty, The Tories are not winning. They appointed Hall. Going down big time, What a complete and utter shambles. Imbeciles.

The world laughing stock. Just a bunch of clowns. Classed as performing clown for tax purposes. To evade tax. Puppets. Johnstone the dope on a rope. Going down big time, stuck on the ropes. Bojo surreal clown. A criminal. Murdoch, the liar, sacked Johnstone for telling lies. Johnstone brought up on EU privilege and public money is a total malicious liar.

132. Ken500

Fiona Bruce is a migrant. Born in Singapore. Scottish family. Nairn. Mother Scottish. Rosemary Bruce. Father worked for Unilever. Manager.

133. Ken500

ConDems caused the mess. Jardine? Damage limitation. Avoided.

134. Patrick Roden

As someone who has been a student lead, as well as a teacher I can share a very good teaching technique with anyone who wants to learn a subject:

The ‘rubber duck’ technique:

Imagine you are trying to teach a rubber duck a subject; say Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, in order for you to teach the rubber duck, you must have learnt the theories involved so well yourself, that you can simplify the subject so even a rubber duck could understand.

This means you need to simplify all terminology and explain things, as if you were teaching a primary school age student.

Only when the recipients of your simplified knowledge indicate that they have understood, do you use more complex language or theories.

Anyone who teaches a subject will always by necessity know far more than their students, and therefore must always simplify the subject. Teachers who do not understand this will simply drone on without making the subject accessible or interesting and will fail their students.

If you have had a terrible teacher in your own experience I would bet that they have droned on exactly as I mention above,

Or, if you have had a good teacher, I would bet that they will have simplified the subject and therefore given you confidence that you could learn and therefore made the subject more interesting.

It really is that simple.

135. Patrick Roden

@ pipinghot,

“CBB outed as the fucking troll and not the fountain of wisdom. Spotted his shit months ago. Smelt like shit then too.”

CBB isn’t a troll, he has met other wingers on marches etc.

136. Terry callachan

To CameronB Brodie 1139hrs 16th May

Thank you for the link about “ethnicity culture and the past “ it gives me a new angle from which to look at this question I will digest.
    You are the first person on here to provide an alternative view and sensible information .

Nobody ever answers the question of why EU citizens from other EU countries who live in UK were not allowed to vote in the brexit referendum 2016
    I would like to know the reasoning

The paper you posted about “ethnicity culture and past “ might help.

137. Terry callachan

To Ken500 17th May 0639hrs.

I can relate to the people you refer to , being an ex army kid myself and having lived in many countries around the world dragged there by parents who were in the Forces for two decades and more.
    I think on the whole you will find that people like those you refer to and myself tend to miss home unsurprisingly and I think they tend to worship their home country I’m not surprised they wish to move back to England .I never left Scotland once I returned having been away from the age of one.
    House prices are an issue if you want to live in the same size house in a nice area.We are well aware of that in other circumstances too.

I feel for these people , I don’t think they will ever consider themselves Scottish and they will probably never vote for Scottish independence which would make them feel cut off from home more than they do at present ,in my opinion nearly all the English people living in scotland will always want to continue being English and won’t change their nationality to Scottish in future, people are proud of their nationality and rightly so, if I were English I would be proud to be English.

When it comes to voting rights nationality is usually key ,unusually the Scottish independence referendum was about residency even more unusual there were no restrictions on how long you had to be resident in Scotland so conceivably one day living in Scotland even if you had spent the rest of your ninety years living elsewhere in the world and were a national of another country gave you the right to vote in the Scottish independence referendum, that is weird by any standards.

I find it strange that the brexit referendum was allowed to have completely different voting rights, it was about nationality and not residency ? Why was that ? It’s a question nobody ever answers a bit like why does the Scottish parliament have a different electoral process from Westminster ? What is the reason it was made different ?

Yes I feel sorry for people stuck in difficult circumstances but I think it is always so when deciding who can vote in elections and referendums there is no other way unless you decide to let everyone in the world have a vote in every election and referendum in the world which would be daft so sensible rules are necessary.

Born thousands of miles away from Scotland you are ninety years of age have no relatives ever from Scotland or UK never been to UK or Europe no link whatsoever to Scotland but then you come to live in Scotland maybe only for a week maybe a year you don’t know but you come just in time to be told okay you have only been here a day guess what you can vote in the Scottish independence referendum … WHAT ? You say, you can’t be serious…oh yes.. we are …you are eligible to vote on Scotland’s future….but but but I don’t know anything about Scotland or anyone in Scotland I Came to attend the Edinburgh festival which I read about in an article in my local newspaper back home and decided to rent a place now I’m being invited to vote !!

Oh well…

138. gus1940

Time for another protest rally at PQ.

139. Colin Alexander

Patrick Roden

Following your idea of simplifying things for people:

“An Idiot’s guide to Brexit”

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/brexit/brexit-an-idiot-s-guide-to-the-united-kingdom-leaving-the-european-union-1.3781560

My only criticism is Scotland doesn’t get a mention.

140. Colin Alexander

Re: HTTP

Stu’s advice is DON’T put the “http://” as this can cause problems when a link is posted.

I had deleted “http://” but, clicked on the version before the “http://” had been deleted.

141. Craig Murray

Part 2 of my interview with Alex came out yesterday
    https://www.rt.com/shows/alex-salmond-show/459468-uzbekistan-human-rights-abuses/

It is the first in a series on the UK’s top bloggers, and I could not help but notice that yesterday Alex arrived in Bath…

142. Ottomanboi

Nicola Sturgeon is asking people to vote SNP because it is THE pro EU party. Cool!
    Yet the mark of European-ness, the Euro is off. Why?
    Why do some Scots like playing Russian roulette with a fully loaded gun.

143. Luigi

Craig Murray says:
    17 May, 2019 at 9:05 am
    Part 2 of my interview with Alex came out yesterday
    https://www.rt.com/shows/alex-salmond-show/459468-uzbekistan-human-rights-abuses/
    It is the first in a series on the UK’s top bloggers, and I could not help but notice that yesterday Alex arrived in Bath…

Och Craig, yer a spoiler. 🙂

144. ronnie anderson

Gus 2 PQ protests being organised 2 nd June & 14th July

145. bookie from hell

Dundee (60% remain)

Mr Dimbleby to indicate by show of hands where they stood When those wanting to leave raised their hands, Mr Dimbleby remarked: “Oh, lots of people”.

146. Terry callachan

To Ottomanboi…the mark of europeanness, the Euro is off ?

I don’t agree with you that using the euro is a mark of europeanness ,that’s a bit petty really, the euro is a strong currency and it is a stable currency, using it gives away control of your monetary policy to a degree , being in the EU does that too ,to a degree.
    Having your own currency is more favourable if it is also a strong and stable currency, an independent Scotland using its own currency with a population of about five million people and having large oil and gas reserves large water wind and hydro power facilities ,the biggest fish landing site in Europe ,a huge whisky production industry a super tourism and food and drink industry ,would as had already been said by independent assessors a AAA standard of reliability earning it a strong and stable currency .
    So Scotland using its own currency is the best option.
    That’s not say Scotland could not use the euro at some point in future ,a referendum would of course be a prerequisite for such a decision in an independent Scotland.

I believe one currency the world over would be most favourable for nearly all in the world except the rich of course, that’s because they use movement of wealth to different countries and currencies to blackmail countries around the world threatening withdrawal of capital as a means to reduce currency value ,time and time again that is the threat given to governments and people around the world don’t try to tax the rich or insist they pay a fair rate for the protection they get because they will just move away and take their money with them.
    Tax havens abound because to easy to hide money when different currencies are available and threats of this nature can be made.

The China Russia India – USA standoff is partly about that too, China Russia India demanding more say they have large populations and great strength and have decided to use gold to store value rather the US dollar, USA are not happy about it, the EU is standing up to the USA too as we see USA telling many countries around the world that they are not allowed to buy oil from Iran or gas from Russia and should instead buy it from USA and its pal protectorate Saudi Arabia.

USA had 700 military bases around the Mediterranean and more across the world it thinks it is the ruler of the world but others have a different view and we are seeing that being played out right now.

Will Russia China India strand together against USA ? You know what they just might and the EU will not side with USA so where does that lead to ?

UK has made its intentions clear ,the first thing Farage and others did when brexit leave won was nip over to have a meeting with trump ,the UK governments hostility to the EU and Russia and China is very apparent and Australia has been vocal supporting Israel and trump so we are seeing the old English colonies banding together under the strongest of them ,the USA.

It is troublesome and I don’t want to be part of the USA UK Australia coalition.

147. Colin Alexander

@ Craig Murray

Thoroughly enjoyed part 1 of your appearance on the Alex Salmond show, so thanks for the heads up that part 2 is now available.

Kudos to you for politely declining the Queen’s trinkets.

Not going to have a go at the other Murray (Andy), for accepting a knighthood. Maybe he wanted a free bauble for his Christmas tree or to auction it to raise funds for a glorious British Empire foodbank.

148. Terry callachan

Scotland being refused agreement by the UK government to hold a Scottish independence referendum is unacceptable.

Now there are people in Scotland suggesting that SNP should team up with Labour who let’s face it are as hardline anti Scottish independence as Tory if not more, in order to force a UK general election should Theresa May be ousted as leader of the tories.

The idea being that a big enough group of political party,s in Westminster pushing for a general election would benefit Labour by giving them a chance of power in Westminster and persuade them to support a Scottish independence referendum in exchange for SNP supporting the idea.

When will we ever learn.
    None of them are going to let Scotland have independence not Tory not labour not Lib Dem and certainly none of the new brexit party,s.
    Short term agreements do not guarantee fair play and Labour know that they will always need Scottish votes to have power in Westminster so they have no intention of fair play risking Scottish independence and the resulting loss of Scottish labour votes in what remains of Westminster thereafter.

Come on get real ,Labour in Scotland is finished SNP should never ever deal or partner Labour again because they are untrustworthy and see tories and Lib Dem’s as closer allies than SNP can ever be.

149. Colin Alexander

If the Brexit Party do well in England for the Euros , I can’t see Labour or Tory MPs voting for a GE, as that would mean the current MP risking losing his seat.

150. ronnie anderson

Brexit talks fail to secure agreement with Lab/Tories , they should have preceded that with Cilla singing Surprise Surprise , more time wasting by design .

151. Patrick Roden

Craig Murray says:

Part 2 of my interview with Alex came out yesterday”

Watched it yesterday and it was fantastic TV.

Highly recommend anyone who thinks the UK has been a force for good to watch it, as well as any Labour lurkers on wings who think New Labour were good socialists, have a look at David Milliband and Jack Straws behaviour when in power.

If that doesn’t sicken you and cause you to leave Labour, then nothing will.

152. Terry callachan

To CameronB Brodie…your post 17th May 1257am with the link to that ids bulletin ,now that is interesting I’m engrossed I think the discussion and content Therein is fab not that I’m understanding it all but it has lifted me to see that there are people out there discussing this subject in detail.thanks again.

153. CameronB Brodie

Terry callachan
    Your enthusiasm for knowledge is fantastic, we’ll turn you in to a critical cultural theorist in no time. 😉

154. geeo

The anti english bigot dribbled this :

Terry callachan says:

“Scotland being refused agreement by the UK government to hold a Scottish independence referendum is unacceptable.

When will we ever learn.

None of them are going to let Scotland have independence not Tory not labour not Lib Dem and certainly none of the new brexit party,s”
    ……….

None of those things are happening.

1. There are ZERO NIL ZILCH NADA laws which can STOP Scotland holding a referendum on independence.

So WM government CANNOT “refuse a referendum on independence”.

Like most thick British Nationalists, you think a S.30 is ‘permission’ to hold an indyref.

It’s 100% NOT.

A S.30 is 100% NOT REQUIRED at all.

2. Not going to “LET US” ???

Please explain how WM can legally STOP US, exactly, especially since there are NO LAWS to stop us ?

Looks like your recent sucking up to Cameron is not helping raise your intellect much.

If you cannot comprehend the above simplistic realities, i very much doubt you even know what half the big words in CBB’s links mean.

155. ahundredthidiot

just got my propaganda in from ALL parties for the euro elections.

re Tory – Davidsons name mentioned twice, Sturgeons 12!!

They. Just. Don’t. Get it.

156. highseastim

I gave up on QT a long time ago, but thought I would tune in last night as it was in Elgin. As a person who has resided in Moray for almost 60 years( 20+ on Speyside, 20+ in Elgin and 10+ in Lossiemouth and delivered all over Forres for 4 years, I was aghast that the only two people I recognised, were a Tory councillor from Fochabers way and Mary Scanlon(ex Tory MSP),according to her Facebook page she lives in Edinburgh!!!!!!!! Why the hell did she get in, when many constituents were denied? Where were our MP, MSP, MEP? I only lasted just under half an hour, hardly a local dialect in the audience, all there to slag off the SNP, and all have the hypocrisy to pick up their free prescriptions courtesy of the SNP!!

157. Sinky

Good old BBC national news non coverage of snp euro election launch finds two voters who won’t vote snp to one that doesn’t and plays up Tory line that euro vote for biggest remain party in Scotland is helping snp independence aims

158. starlaw

I got my bumph in from the Tory party I have no idea who or what was mentioned, its now a bin liner.

159. Dan

starlaw says at 7:17 pm

“I got my bumph in from the Tory party I have no idea who or what was mentioned, its now a bin liner.”

Probably wise to put that in a hazardous waste bin as it’s too full of toxic shite to recycle by conventional means!

160. Terry callachan

Hi geeo …your at 4.05pm

Have you had your blood pressure checked recently ?

You are incorrect again.
    Nothing new there.

Scotland should not have to ask permission to hold a Scottish independence referendum

The Scottish government has signed up to abide by current rules and regulations pertaining to elections and referendums in UK
    Whenever there is a wish to hold a referendum there has to be a request put to Westminster in accordance with current regulations relating to elections and referendums and that is why there will be a section 30 request

Perhaps you recall Alex salmond submitting an section 30 for the 2014 Scottish independence referendum and you may remember the Westminster and House of Lords discussion about the request, you may also remember that the wording of the question on the referendum papers was changed from “do you agree Scotland should be an independent country “ …..

Seriously though you should make an appt and get your blood pressure checked

Take care , try to stay calm

161. Bobp

Only a strong snp vote in the euro elections will push Scotlands stance to remain in the eu. Anything less will be portrayed by the msm goebbels press as……No appetite for independence.

162. Colin Alexander

Another good article from http://www.Craigmurray.org.uk out today:

“The Struggle Is The Meaning”

In the context of Scotland’s freedom, we lost the vote in 2014 but, the struggle and campaigning for Scottish independence was the right thing to do.

It is the right thing to do now, and every day, until Scotland is again free of British Imperial rule. We lost one vote but we are not defeated.

Never give up the fight, our cause is just: Scotland should join the international community of independent democratic sovereign nations.

Not only join them, become a leading light on how a nation can build a better, fairer nation with equality of opportunity for all.

I hope never to hear the words again from families in Scotland: “Well, my (son / daughter) had the brains, had the ability, had the talent, had the work ethic but, they never got the chance to use it.”

I’m proud to be one wee part of the Scottish independence movement whose mantra is HOPE, not hate.

Wings Over Scotland is like a sharp arrow of truth that bursts the Unionist lies.

Support it if you can.

163. Ghillie

Hey there starlaw and Dan, I got my bundle of bumpf through the letter box too.

VERY tempting to return to sender with witty corrections or donate to budgie-keeping pals, BUT am sealing in a time capsule style for my descendants (am hopeful 🙂 )

I really want our future generations to see original source shite from this time of battle for Scotland’s Independence.

Without seeing the originals I find it hard to believe anyone could truly believe the actual nature of this incredible time in Scotland’s history.

Wish I’d been taping QT and the news too but I’m guessing other folk are securing that archive safely too.

Without the archive who would believe this shit?!

164. Bobp

Like i said last sunday, i couldnt get out due to health problem. But my good neighbour who is a real “gem” paid in my donation to wings of £20.50p by direct bank transfer,(sorry it wasnt more) to his santander account, bournemouth. For the benefit of the self appointed troll hunters on here who like to accuse people of being ‘phony indy supporters. Keep up the good work rev.

165. Bobp

Should have added today.

166. gus1940

Perusal of the metropolitan broadcast and on-line print media over the last 2 days indicates that they are either blissfully unaware of or are choosing to ignore the scandal that was thursday’s edition of QT from Elgin.

Quelle surprise.

167. Jack Murphy

Women for Independence—Dr Philippa Whitford MP spoke this morning at a gathering in Renfrew.
    Followed by Qs & As.

BREXIT AND THE NHS.

Independence Live was there:
    https://tinyurl.com/yxr6mc24

Hope the link works.

168. bookie from hell

ever wonder why we need wings facts

This Week

Andrew Neil

how do you prepare a interview

George Galloway

loads of things you can question me on , I know nothing about, pensions for instance

2014 scottish referendum

I see one or two pensioners here, or people close to pensionable age. How do you fancy your pension in groats? How do you fancy a pension that is based entirely on the absolutely unstable price of a commodity that will be finished in 2050?

169. Ken500

Tax Revenues raised in Scotland pay (UK) Gov pensions in Scotland. £6Billion. Lower pro rata in Scotland because people die on average younger.

Gov pensions could be higher in Scotland if Scottish taxes were not paying for illegal wars, tax evasion and uk gov financial fraud. Hinkley Point, HS2, Trident costing Scotland £Billions.

Pensions and essential services would benefit if Scotland was not being mismanaged by Westminster unionists imbeciles. Fishing, farming, Oil & Gas sector, renewables, CCS mismanaged by Westminster lying unionist imbeciles for years. Scotland loses £20Billion to Westminster unionist mismanagement.

Scotland would be on par with Norway. £80Billion raised in revenues.

Scotland raises £60Billion but could raise £20Billion more. – £80Billion.

Vote SNP/SNP. Vote for Independence. Vote for a better world. Get one other to vote as well. Job done. Just get out and vote, No apathy. Join, campaign, donate. Do everything possible to help.

170. Craig Fraser

Ken, your points are well made – I have been posting the following link to HMRC “A disaggregation of HMRC tax receipts between England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, which is released annually in October – page 12 tax collected in Scotland £45 Bn (incidentally paid to a foreign country to spend on our behalf e.g. Trident, HS2, London cross-rail et al) page 13 oil revenues simply put for every £100 oil receipt paid to HMRC Scotland gets £8, Wales gets £4, Northern Ireland £2, England £86. I have gone past angry when people are going to vote Farage FFS.
    https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/746146/Disaggregated_tax_and_NICs_receipts_-_information_and_analysis.pdf?fbclid=IwAR33FgSVUiqLvDgBhI6w3L9pCGhU0Rq24Dz3ydJ03IUbSFAb-jdfR8LVsr4 – if the page does not load – Google A disaggregation of HMRC tax receipts between England, Wales, Scotland & Northern Ireland.

171. yesindyref2

@Craig Fraser
    The HMRC disaggregation does provide a better idea of where revenues come from, but still suffers from severe disabilities, that revenues themselves are not broken down by country, there is mostly no mechanism to do so, and as the MHRC says, are based on estimates of economic activity.

From that point of view, they have two tables for oil revenues, one on a per capita, one geographical. But considering that the steel quota for the UK meant that Rasvenscraig was shut down and Port Talbot left, why not apportion revenues for Port Talbot on a population basis? Car manufacture similarly, government administration revenues, income tax and NI, profit as in CT, for all companies, regardless of location?

Same for expenditure then of coruse, just allocate it too on a population basis, in which case of course, all “regions” of the UK would be totally equal, because of the actual mathematical method selected!

So basically it’s the old accounting thing, that sets of accounts can be used to show a healthy profit to get shareholder happiness, an unheathly loss to allow closures and job losses and keep the unions happy, all from the same figures and actual holdings of buildings, land and assets. Creative accounting they call it.

Since the UK as a whole does NOT disaggregate revenues and expenditure by “region”, any accurate breakdown is impossible, it’s all just estimates, and the estimates vary wildly depending on what basic methodology is used.

Now, apply that to the Rev’s fundraising, analyse for instance by total numbers of each perk to get the average donation and compare that with any overall figure including directly made …

172. Alistair Donaldson

So. I continue to lurk without posting but I lurk all the same; sometimes dismayed with the direction of posters, other times in complete harmony. Always dismayed with the current state of so-called UK politics. However; am I the only reader who is just a bit less than satisfied with the level of support for our host’s efforts on our behalf. A little over £100K and about 2000 contributors as far as I can see.

In my opinion this is pretty piss-poor! On average £50 per contributor. £50 is a lot of money to some people – not so to others and I have tried to identify how many folks actually visit the site to estimate a realistic average contribution to Wings, without success. I’m sure someone more able will point me in the right direction or provide reams of stats to highlight my ignorance. Anyway, I’m left with the feeling that many people want to make a noise or be noticed for free. For me, I don’t like to make a noise and I consider that our host is far more able and effective to do so.

So come on folks, put your money where your mouths are and prove me wrong. OK I’m away to dig out my hard hat and retire to lurking again.

173. Alistair Donaldson

Oh aye. And don’t forget to vote SNP later today.

174. Robert Peffers

@ronnie anderson says: 16 May, 2019 at 12:41 pm:

… I hope that any residents in Wee Wullie’s constituency ( Robert Peffers + ) contact their health board & complain.

Yer geography is a wee bit oot, Ronnie. Wee Wullie lives in Kelty but he isna the MSP for Cowdenbeath, Kirkcaldy, (& Kelty). His constituency is North East Fife.

175. Dramfineday

AD @ 02.05 plus1 re the funding. Stuart does a grand job for us and more people should support his efforts. My only thought on it is perhaps a lot of the views are from “haters” scared of what he has to say next.

176. Cactus

The Wings ’19 fundraiser is rocketing along excellently Yes

Just £1,000+ to go to hit over 200% on the gift page

https://donorbox.org/last-call

It’s live and alive! 🙂

177. Cubby

Alistair Donaldson@ 23May 2.05AM

Very good post Alistair. You have inspired me to make a second donation.

178. Rick H Johnston

Race to be next British PM. Are there any Scottish candidates?
    Do we get a vote. In a democracy ye’d think…..

179. iainmore

I did enjoy the sick look on Sarah Smiths face tonight as it looked like the SNP will pick up a third seat and Labour will be wiped out in Alba. I dare say the BBC will find some way to present this as a disaster for Sturgeon and the SNP.

180. iainmore

Why is Alba coming out as Caesar?

181. HYUFD

SNP still on 2017 levels in Scotland on 37%, the Brexit Party now second in Scotland with 16%, the Scottish Labour Party wiped out with 0 MEPs elected

182. Footsoldier

Blow to Sturgeon as SNP vote does not hit 100%.

183. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi iainmore.

Rev Stu has a filter set up that changes ‘s-a-o-r’ to hail and ‘a-l-b-a’ to caesar to discourage contributors from ‘signing off’ their comments.

Just above the text input box, you’ll see,
    DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

184. brian lucey

“Exception being citizens of Malta Cyprus and Southern Ireland ”
    Where is that now? There was a state, for a few days, of that name, in 1922. Get it right gents. Its Ireland, and Northern Ireland. Ireland is not an antonym for NI. It is an independent country. Some of which is, geographically, more northerly than NI. Which is really North-East Ireland. And no, its not Ulster. It’s 6/9 of the province of same name.

185. Rick H Johnston

Polls Apart – the National headline is spot on. The Brexit party got 14% in Scotland but in NE England they polled 39%. Where are the voices now telling us that Scots attitudes are not much different to England.

186. Dan

Tragic stabbing in Edinburgh but MSN can’t even spell the street names right – would they get away with ‘Oxforde Circus’ or ‘Westminster’ I wonder?

187. Dave McEwan Hill

HYUFD at 9.23am on 27th

Usual daft comment. Election was not about Independence,it was about EU and Brexit. Substantially less than half the electorate turned out for it but of those who did nearly 70% voted for “remain” parties to Brexit’s 14%.
    We can confidentially suggest,on those figures,that committed Brexit support in Scotland is now about 7%.

We will be leaving UK fairly soon.

188. Rick H Johnston

Correct, Scotland’s 6 MEP’s are all the representation it gets in the EU as a UK province or region.
    This I feel wasn’t highlighted enough.
    As a member state we’d likely have 15 MEP’s plus a seat on the council of ministers with a six month presidency of the EU.

189. Bobp

Agree rick, irish republic has 11 mep’s with 2 more being allocated post brexit. And what do we get,6. Its long time now that Scotland woke the f**k up and smelt the coffee.

190. rob

No article on the McGarry case, or is the Rev on his Hols?

191. Dan

A wee bump for any last donations.

@RevStu.

I’m off to town in next day or so to make a direct bank transfer to the account listed on the donate page.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/donate/

Just wondered how you are collecting addresses for sending out the donor perks?

192. Footsoldier

Time to remove this – it has done well but beginning to look greedy.

193. Cactus

NOW is the time to maintain this aye, THIS is the LAST CALL!

Choose a prize:
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/2019perksb.jpg

Select gift:

You are here:
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/sir-brian-donohoe-a-life/

X

194. Brian Doonthetoon

Strange that an apparent indy supporter should cast aspersions on an indy supporting blog for raising as much as possible to achieve indenpendence.

195. Cactus

Indeed

196. jim arnott

Made a second donation. Very happy to do so.

This time I used the “here” button to donate by bank transfer so that transaction costs are avoided. Missed the “here” button the first time and would recommend that a larger font be used so that more people will notice how to donate using others means including by direct bank transfer.

Will happily donate a third time depending on how long the fundraiser is active for and will also set up a monthly contribution. This site is so important for the independence movement and should be supported by all Wingers who can afford to do so.

This is for my children and grandchildren.

I will be 81 years young this month and I SHALL see an Independent Scotland in my lifetime.

197. scotrock

Happy to make a second donation

198. Brian Doonthetoon

There have been LOADS of new names appearing BTL (Below The Line) over the past week or three.

Why not comment more often? The more the merrier!

199. Arthur C

Brian Doonthetoon says:
    11 June, 2019 at 11:26 pm
    Why not comment more often? The more the merrier!

I would but I would probably get barred for sweary words, the bubble is strong here. Not even Rev Stu can burst it, best leave them alone to howl at their moons.

200. Sharny Dubs

Hoy!! Having donated twice does that mean I qualify for a mug? I would really cherish a mug!
    But in any case will ware my badge with pride.
    More power to yer elbow Stu!!

201. Bevrijdingsdag

That’s me, last minute as usual.

It’s never too late
    to donate.

Thanks for all your hard work Stuart.

202. tom o'hagan

I’ve tried to make my contribution but although I’m paying by credit card I keep getting asked for an application to join paypal. So far no joy. Is it me?

203. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi tom o’hagan.

Go to this page:-

https://wingsoverscotland.com/donate/

Scroll down until you see “—— DIRECT BANK TRANSFER ——

Relevant details are there.

204. Cactus

From Wings twitter:

“And that’s the record. The 2019 Wings fundraiser is now the biggest we’ve ever had. You’re something else, gang.”

The call has been answered, congrats to everyWingerbuddy 🙂

The 2019 Wings fundraiser remains OPEN…

Last orders…

205. Tam Fae Somewhere

Another wee donate now I have been paid.

Keep donating folks – think the WBB will be needed this year!

206. tarisgal

Another wee bit because I HATE tories telling me who not to support!! (Nice list of followers you’ve got! LOL!) It’ll get a few more WBB’s ‘out there’ and hopefully will be the eye openers for a few more ‘no to yessers’!! It’s called KARMA.

Still time to donate, folks!

207. Footsoldier

5.13pm 10 June

I wish to withdraw my comment.

208. Cageybee

Pay day means a few hundred more WBBs can be added to the stockpile. If it stays open a few more days I mighr even manage some more.

209. Cageybee

timing is everything. Between Paypal and comments an update tells me it closes tomorrow guess my extra , if any, will have to go to one of our other worthy causes

210. Jono

jeez, almost forgot to donate this year, now sorted 🙂

211. CaptainHaddock

Donation made. Lets hope that this year we can finally shake off the shackles of this dreadful union.

212. Masslasssand

C’mon Wingers. Donate if you can. I left Scotland for the USA 45 years ago, I donate to Wings.

I only come back for holidays, would move back in a second if not for family here. My dream to see Scotland Independent

Spending hopefully 4 months in Scotland next year. Can’t wait

213. Masslass

oops

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.