The Nurse Event Horizon

Posted on January 14, 2015 by

Alert readers will know that we very often like to bring to your attention both Scottish Labour’s fondness for radically rewriting history and its frequent struggles with basic counting. Today, though, the North British branch office has spectacularly outdone itself and managed to pull off both at once. This is going to be hard to beat.

rhodagrant

Above is an extract from the official record of today’s proceedings in the Scottish Parliament. And we can only applaud Rhoda Grant’s ambition.

Because as particularly sharp-witted viewers may recall, the Scottish Labour pledge mentioned in the above extract, which was made just over a week ago, wasn’t for 1000 more nurses than there are now.

1000louder

What Labour actually promised was that it would provide “1000 extra NHS nurses in Scotland – over and above anything the SNP pledge. So the only way the SNP could, in Rhoda Grant’s words, “match that commitment” would be to promise 1000 more nurses than any number that the SNP itself came up with.

We presume we don’t need to identify the slight flaw in that equation, but it’ll be fun to spell it out anyway.

If the SNP pledge (say) 5000 new nurses, then they’ll immediately have to actually pledge 6000 in order to match Labour’s promise. Of course, having promised 6000 they’ll instantly have to increase it to 7000, because no matter what they promise the Labour commitment is to add 1000 and Rhoda Grant wants the SNP to match it.

So once raised to 7000, the pledge will then have to become 8000. And then 9000, and so on, until every human being alive on the planet is a nurse in the Scottish NHS.

And even then, even as Scotland threatens to sink into the sea under the weight of seven billion nurses and ScotRail try to transport them all to work on two-carriage Sprinters, Scottish Labour will still be promising to increase their numbers to 7,000,001,000 by recruiting from alien civilisations yet undiscovered, because their pledge is 1000 more than anything the SNP say, even if the SNP promise infinity.

rhodagrant1

We must admit, we didn’t think a policy already so cosmically moronic could ever be out-moronned, and certainly not so soon. But Rhoda Grant has heroically discovered the last remaining pico-inch of honking, quacking, atom-brained dimwittery into which it could possibly be stretched by demanding that the SNP pledge an undertaking which destroys the very fabric of reality on Earth.

We wait, jaws agape, to witness Scottish Labour’s next mind-bending dribblespew of inspiration. And we’re not too worried if our jaws should happen to lock painfully in that position, because it’s not like there’s going to be a shortage of nurses.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 14 01 15 23:40

The Nurse Event Horizon - Speymouth

2. 13 04 15 13:57

A Public Service Announcement to Labour Voters in Inverclyde | A Wilderness of Peace

241 to “The Nurse Event Horizon”

1. Andrew Haddow

It’s perfectly reasonable. Infinity +1000 = Infinity.

2. Ian Brotherhood

Betty Hutton/Howard Keel, ‘Anything You Can Do I Can Do Better’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WO23WBji_Z0

3. Cadogan Enright

without an MSM capable or willing to dp even basic analysis on Scotlab these morons might convince a few people

4. Jim McIntyre

love it guys keep it up 🙂

5. Tam Jardine

It sounds like there will be nae room in the hospitals for patients. And what will the SNP do to sort out this chronic overcrowding?

Honestly, the SNP need to forget their obsession with breaking up the British Isles and deal with the NHS now

6. CyberNiall

There’s an old Chinese proverb:

“Man who waits for extra 1000 nurses, must be patient.”

7. big_al

Rhoda ‘two (1000) shits’ Grant

8. Jimmur Phymp

No, no, no, you have got it totally wrong, no-one from Labour ever never said “over and above anything the SNP pledge.” there’s no evidence for this, you will not see this anywhere or said by anyone in the BBC or the Labour party, they would never have said something so embarrassing, it never existed so can’t have been disappeared, you imagined it, it was a dream you had while you fell asleep in the shower…

9. Doug Daniel

Oh wow, Iain Gray must be pretty chuffed to have had his title of Stupidest Question Ever Asked In Parliament award taken off him.

10. Alex Clark

Party politics is pathetic, petty and poisonous.

I want politicians that are honest, who will do their best to represent their constituents and country for the greater good.

That is why I will vote SNP in 2015. Labour are toxic.

11. karmanaut

The SNP should ask Labour one simple question.

“How many nurses do you suggest we fund?”

They won’t be able to answer without destroying the universe.

12. cynicalHighlander

When one is blinded by hatred then one does/says foolish things welcome to the Labour manifesto.

13. Effijy

Rev Stuart,

Smurphy has taken up poker after watch “Cool Hand Luke” on TV.
    He looks Nicola in the eye and says, I’ll raise you 1,000 nurses.

He has already worked out his next bid, 1,000 nurses, 10 Doctors, and a Consultant!

If Nicola matches him he’ll— wake up when his nurse nudges him
    to sit up and take his Valium Tablets.

I thought that there were only 2 Jokers in a pack?

14. Harry McAye

A fantastically funny read. Well done Rev. Oh and well done Rhoda too!

15. Croompenstein

LOL.. Ma Dad’s bigger than your Dad eh naw he’s no cause ma Dad’s bigger than your Dad.. Ad infinitum

16. fred blogger

anyway, my dads bigger than your dad, so there!

17. Giesabrek

Labour, scraping the bottom of the barrel and using what they find as candidates for election…

18. Kevin Evans

I get the point of this paradox but I have no faith what so ever in the general public to see through this scam labour is marketing. Unfortunately am guessin most folk will just see “1000 extra nurses”.

Were all doomed

19. RandomSwitch

I just can’t get over the nonsense of “a 1000 extra nurses over what the SNP propose”
    Health is a team cooperative effort; nurses support doctors and surgeons, porters and ancillary staff support nurses, administrators provide stucture and logistics.
    What plucked out of the wind figure of staffing is Labour suggesting?
    It’s a feeble emotive ploy, nurses are our angels, on par with a loving, providential old man with a beard.
    Sound bites and simplistic, facile offerings, pandering to an infantilised political audience.
    Well after 2 years of lies, smears and hyperbole the people of Scotland is beyond this paradigmatic Westminster agipropaganda.
    A plague on all the wastemonster houses.

20. Luigi

To infinity and beyond!

21. Greannach

To be fair to Rhoda Grant, numbers above 6 are maybe not her thing.

22. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s Tenpole Tudor, a bit manic, because he was going over the hill with the swords of a thousand men. Just the swords mind – he didn’t have the men…

Big Dim Morphness can maybe sort that for him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jV3GVsECenw

23. gillie

Infinity is not a number, but don’t Labour types it will blow their tiny minds.

24. Chitterinlicht

So funny. Thanks. How can anyone take these numpties seriously?

25. Jimbo

I can see tomorrow’s headlines in the Unionist press:

SNP refuses to match Labour’s commitment on NHS

26. themadmurph

I hope to god that no-one from the SNP ever mentions Tenerife, because as sure as night follows day, SLAB will be talking of ThousandAndTenerife!

27. No no no...Yes

What a shower of incompetent amateurs and to think they get paid to represent the public. They need voted out.

28. Paul

Isn’t that the same kind of statement that has got Rangers FC to where it is now? surely the “what ever the SNP pledges we will pledge an extra 1000″ is similar to ” for ever fiver celtic spends, rangers will spend a tenner”

29. Tam Jardine

Perhaps if we convert all the hospitals in Scotland into nursing colleges we would have a fighting chance.

I always worried that if I went into politics my own stupidity would be revealed and I would be driven from my post by a baying mob – I obviously should have become a labour politician for no matter how daft they reveal themselves to be there is little chance of it being broadcast far and wide by the press.

Perhaps we should be thankful that as a list opposition msp in a parliament with an snp majority Rhoda can do little harm. I’m happy she isnae a bus driver or operator of machinery. Best place for her, out of harm’s way.

30. Hamish

Labours cleverer than you think — within a week all patients in the NHS in Scotland will have become nurses and can be used to help out the English NHS. Pity though I wanted to be a physiotherapist ! Why do all the other occupations not got a mention? For every 1000 nurses should we have 10 microbiologists or 15 radiographers.?

31. Christian Wright

Campbell: “pico-inch of honking, quacking, atom-brained dimwittery

I like this. I shall steal it often.

Not sure you give Ms Grant the credit due her for achieving such a sublime stream of consciousness, made manifest in a narrative devoid of the unnecessary clutter of logic or cohesion. It is that rare thing: the sound of one neuron clapping.

32. galamcennalath

I find it so difficult to come to terms with the situation Scotland is now in …. Labour spout absolute drivel and the media spins it into something which appears to be coherent. The SNP and Scottish Government get on with making what seems a pretty good job of actually running services, and simply get ignored. Little the SNP say or do gets reported. Alice in f**king wonderland – it’s all like some alternative fantasy reality. I hope it all ends really really badly for the Unionists in the GE! Then perhaps we’ll all find ourselves in the real world.

33. jimnarlene

No more bricklaying for me, I’m off to get fitted for my nurses uniform; oooh Matron.

34. Susan

Rhoda Grant has always been a grant short of a project. 😀

35. Taranaich

“Is it not a strange drift this of men,” said the curate, “to hide what is under the veil of what is not? To seek refuge in lies, as if that which is not, could be an armor of adamant? To run from the daylight for safety, deeper into the cave?

In the cave house the creatures of the night — the tigers and hyenas, the serpent and the old dragon of the dark; in the light are true men and women, and the clear-eyed angels. But the reason is only too plain; it is, alas, that they are themselves of the darkness and not of the light. They do not fear their own. They are more comfortable with the beasts of darkness than with the angels of light. They dread the peering of holy eyes into their hearts; they feel themselves naked and fear to be shamed, therefore cast the garment of hypocrisy about them.

They have that in them so strange to the light that they feel it must be hidden from the eye of day, as a thing hideous, that is, a thing to be hidden. But the hypocrisy is worse than all it would hide. That they have to hide again, as a more hideous thing still…

– George MacDonald, Paul Faber: Surgeon

36. heedtracker

Endless Dumbing down by the Red Tories, Scotland Labour, Scottish Slabour, Jim Murphyland, come back Johann Lamont, you’re thick as mince but look what’s left.

37. Tam Jardine

Kevin Evans 

Don’t underestimate the Scottish electorate. Many of the 55 were scared shitless into voting No but despite the negative press the perception is (I am sure) that the SNP have made a decent fist of government. These pledges on (insert public sector) numbers have been so overused I don’t think they hold the weight labour think they do.

Keep the faith – people know they can vote snp and the sky ain’t gonna fall in

38. Croompenstein

Holy shit it will be like Scotland will be absorbed and transformed like Agent Smiths but we’ll all be nurses.. Sister Smiths AAaahh

39. grahamlive

It’s all fine. Murphy has just announced plans for Hilbert’s Grand Hotel

en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hilbert%27s_paradox_of_the_Grand_Hotel

40. Jimbo

I am absolutely convinced now that to be a Labour politician you have to pass an idiocy test to prove you’re stupid enough.

41. scottieDog

No doubt the BBC will report it as “snp urged to match labour nurse pledge”.
    I envision the labour party in Scotland in may as this political corpse kept alive by compliant media. It’s a bit like the end of the film ‘El Cid’ where the corpse will be wheeled out to win the day.

42. CameronB Brodie

Definitely from the school of ‘absurdum infiniteum’. Not the most mind-bending logic failure though, IMO, from ‘socialist’ who at least give passive support to Israeli apartheid and ethnic cleansing of the Palestine, in the furtherance of Israeli nationhood, yet refuse to accept that Scotland has an historical, ethical, cultural and even an ethnic claim to nationhood, which trumps that of Israel’s by infinity times a thousand.

@ Jim Murphy
    Assuming you agree that a “one state solution” is not a sustainable option for Israel’s future, why do you think it is the correct option for Britain? Is it because Yes is supported by the world’s most non-violent ‘insurgents’ to have never taken up arms.

P.S. They do say that laughter is the best medicine, but you’re supposed to get folk laughing with you, not at you.

43. Angry Weegie

This is Labour’s new plan. In Scotland, it’s whatever nurses you promise, we promise 1000 more. At Westminster, it’s whatever austerity the Tories promise, we’ll promise 1000 cuts more.

What a bunch of clueless halfwits (with apologies to other clueless halfwits everywhere, especially Lib Dem ones).

44. Christian Wright

it’s all like some alternative fantasy reality

Yip, we’re down the rabbit hole, my friend.

Turns out Mcluhan right. Who knew?!

45. Lollysmum

I thought you’d be interested in that tweet Rev 😉

I couldn’t believe it when I read it but then I thought it must be true-it’s a SLAB MSP saying it.

Fact is that Scotland has a bloody brilliant NHS compared to ours in England. If Labour get into power, you will lose it just as we are losing ours, week by depressing week we see chunks of it sold off to private companies who provide crap services to patients & in some cases have endangered patients. I work with (but not in)the NHS & what I see is frightening & I’m not easily frightened by any means.

The media & govt has been softening up the NHS with contant criticism of everything that’s bad about NHS England & Wales. The media NEVER spotlight the really good stuff that happens so it’s being forced into a downward spiral where staff are underpaid, have had their posts downgraded to lower pay bands but they always find the money to employ more managers & this is where all the money goes. To hospital managers more concerned with targets than treating patients-they manage to drag departments down even more till eventually they are put out to tender.

So far in England we haven’t had a single privatisation of a health service that has gone well. An American company took over a GP surgery-they lasted less than a year & the local PCT(Primary Care Trust) was forced to go in, shut them down & cancel their contract because they were so appallingly bad.This is just the tip of the iceberg-some of the stories I can tell would make your hair curl.

That’s why I will always say to Scots take care of what you have & protect it because the Labour/Conservative/LibDem alternative is far, far worse.

This is why none of you or we in England can believe a word these shysters say. They are only interested in lining their own pockets & that includes big Jim Dim with knobs on.

46. Gill Pollock

Forget the idea of a nation of nurses, where exactly do they plan to get these nurses. At the Nurses shop, does someone knit them somewhere, are they made to measure or off the shelf?

The idea that you can just pick up 1000 nurses is demeaning to the profession and highlights why the NHS is in the state it is. Nursing is a highly skilled vocation that isn’t for everyone and anyone. It takes years of study and many more years of experience to become proficient. Give us the credit and stop using us a political football.

47. Geoff Huijer

Politics of the playground.

‘Whatever you say times a thousand.’

So there! *singing* ‘Nah, nah, nah, nah, nah!’

48. Tam Jardine

CameronB Brodie 

Sounds a bit like the motor parked up my street during the indyref with ‘Free Tibet’ and ‘No Thanks’ stickers on the back window. I still canny get my head round that.

49. Donald Urquhart

Brilliant, tears of laughter with this one.

50. jimnarlene

Jimbo says:
    14 January, 2015 at 10:49 pm
    I am absolutely convinced now that to be a Labour politician you have to pass an idiocy test to prove you’re stupid enough.

Surely, they have to fail the test.

51. Lollysmum

@ gala

The thing is that the EBC have always behaved like this & it’s just recent events with Indyref that has opened everyone’s eyes to their duplicity. When SNP were no threat to WM & vested interests there wasn’t a problem. Now they are a huge threat so their actions have been stepped up to combat the threat but if Scots keep talking to each other & spreading the word of WM parties duplicity with the EBC as their guaranteed support, then Scotland will win.

Vote for the person you TRUST to do the right thing for Scotland & not the Jim Murphys of this world who are guaranteed to let you down time & time again.

@Stoker-no shit Sherlock 🙂 Everyone on Twitter was asking yesterday about where Mundell was but no one knew.

BTW Stu-I thought JM was supposed to be vegetarian & teetotal. Apparently at the lunch he had with the press yesterday he was eating steak & chips washed down with red wine. Mmmmmmmm interesting- no? Another lie debunked maybe?

52. Hoss Mackintosh

I think the most telling bit is the fact that the Labour Party never even consulted the RCN about their wishes and requirements about any extra resoucres and where any additional funding would be best spent.

Murphy just made it up – Complete bollocks.

53. Tam Jardine

Lollysmum

You must be mistaken, Jim wouldnae lie to us. What that guy says is gospel. The Gospel according to Jim.

54. Democracy Reborn

I think I’ve worked out the solution, Stu.

Nicola pitches up at FMQs & does ‘a Murphy’. She announces “I am not a nationalist or SNP member”. She then pledges a thousand more nurses than the SNP. Job done.

Wasn’t it Paul Sinclair, Johann’s spin doctor, who said that Labour in Scotland suffer from an “intellectual deficit”?

55. liz

@Lollysmum – I always thought Aveety lying because he missed an important vote
    So why lie about it – it’s like he can’t help it.

He’s not the first Lab eejit to do that I remember Frank McAveety missed an important vote in 2008 and when pulled up for it he said he was caught up in a traffic jam when he had actually been in the Holyrood canteen talking to a journalist!!

56. liz

Sorry don’t know what happened there.

The first part was about Murphy after the Clutha event being interviewed and he definitely sounded pissed, so why lie about it – makes no sense

57. Marcia

Democracy Reborn

It was him.

O/T Front Page for Thursday’s The National;

https://twitter.com/ScotNational/status/555482446196899841

58. Tîm Criced i Gymru

Forgive me, one of your Welsh Celtic cousins, but I’m going to be just a tad pedantic…
    the Labours promise has a hyphen to separate two parts of the sentence, which could make it read that what they actually mean is that they will fund 1000 nurses – which will be over and above what the SNP will/can ever hope to ‘pledge’. When I first saw it, I read it thus… which if correct, means that all the SNP have to do is ‘pledge’ 1001 nurses… and Lab is stumped.
    Oh, ‘dyddiau difyr’! (‘happy days’, as they say in Cymraeg/Welsh!) – can’t wait for May 7th – can’t we please have the election tomorrow, sir?…or maybe just wait and continue watching a long line of disastrous BritLab blunders queue outside A&E, awaiting emergency treatment on self-inflicted gun-shot wounds to the foot (mind you, there should be plenty of nurses to help out!)

59. Sandy

Useless fact…7 billion nurses WILL fit in a two coach Sprinter

60. Hoss Mackintosh

@lollysmum

Your posts are just great – you should stand for the SNP down in England – please give Nicola a buzz.

You will get lots of support – Angus Brendan McNeil has commented that a Labour MP has told them that their canvassing has picked up a lot of support for the SNP in England and they are not even standing.

So – Go for it !

61. CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
    One of them was a independent nation absorbed in to a unitary state by it’s much larger neighbour, the other…..oh. 😉

62. ronnie anderson

cmon noo you,s underestimate DimJim he hiz a friend in Beechams, he,s jist goat to persuade the night nurse,s tae dey afternoon shifts.

63. HandandShrimp

Hasn’t Rhoda got some austerity measures to vote through or something? She surely has not got time to stop and think about increasing public spending with wild unlimited pledges.

1,000 times anything you say…it is just so fecking childish. What have Labour been reduced to? Why did they let themselves get to this place?

64. Dave McEwan Hill

I’ve just tried to email this to Rhoda Grant without success. Can anybody else do it.

I think the best weapon against Murphy (if he lasts) is going to be humour. There’s lots of folk laughing at him at the moment and we haven’t started yet

65. Democracy Reborn

Cheers Marcia.

Was just looking at the tweets on the link to The National front page you posted. What a motley collection of cultural cringing Proudscotbuts & BritNats they are. I wonder sometimes if any other nation on earth has so many self-loathers in their population.

66. Tam Jardine

CameronB

Will Podmore will be along anytime now to tell us why the workers in Tibet are better off in solidarity with their Chinese cousins… or maybe he can explain to me the riddle of Hong Kong. Will does not think it is possible for Scotland to be considered a colony of England because our GDP is so similar.

He was absolutely desperate for an example that disproved his theorem but has been pretty lax in responding to my example.

It was one of them slam dunks in an empty basketball court.

67. Dr Jim

Maybe this might not be appropriate but if there’s any spare nice ones, quite young preferably, or not, who don’t discriminate on age, and maybe have poor eyesight, can i have a couple sent round to my house….If that’s alright with Dim Jim
    Any risk?

68. caledonia

That is so Willie Rennie (stupid)

69. Bob Mack

Bed Bath Anyone? Just practising for when nurse conscription comes in.

70. Tam Jardine

ronnie anderson

I see clatty pats being extended to encompass the entire Great Western Road

71. crazycat

@ Tîm Criced i Gymru

I can see the hyphen you mention, and I suspect they intended the statement to mean what you are suggesting, but to me “over and above” means in addition to, rather than just more than, so it is at best ambiguous.

As you say, the SNP could prove them wrong with a pledge of 1001 nurses, and unless they have already pledged fewer than 1000, Labour doesn’t know whether 1000 is more or less than the SNP intends – which also supports the interpretation of an additional 1000.

72. Stoker

@ Lollysmum – thanks but i don’t tweet.

I guess the truth will out soon enough.
    _______

Am i the only one who looked at that picture of Rhoda Grant and seen another Jackie Baillie?
    🙁

73. big jock

Do you remember Rangers use to say to Celtic, we will spend double whatever you spend. Yes and we know how good Murray and Rangers were at accounting!

I heard creepy Murphy on Hootsmon GMS this morning. He said they would get the money from billionaires in London. That’s apparently what pulling and sharing resources means. He is the modern day Robin Hood.

74. r baxter

jim have told you a 1000 times your going to get your erse skelpit.

75. Alex Clark

@Lollysmum

BTW Stu-I thought JM was supposed to be vegetarian & teetotal. Apparently at the lunch he had with the press yesterday he was eating steak & chips washed down with red wine.

Another pretendy socialist that can be tarred with the same brush I belive is George Galloway. He looked pished to me on the BBC’s Big Debate a week before the referendum.

Check the youngsters jeering at 55:25 when he is given the last word. Both are incompetents and bullshitters.

76. Sue Varley

Yet another Project Fear story turns out to be false – we were only supposed to get the alien invasion if we voted YES!

77. BrianW

It’s like Christmas day every day with Labour the now.. The gift that keeps giving..lol

They harp on about listening to the Scottish People to see where they have gone wrong..

Think they should start a bit closer to home.

Have they actually stopped and listened to themselves?

1- they’d realise that they are bunch of Fuck Wits accompanied by face palms all round.

&

2- That after everyone had pissed themselves laughing at every word they utter, they loose more credibility – they must be in negative credibility now.

Personally I think it’s a winning strategy for a lost party. Is this Johnny McTeeeernan’s new intervention strategy for the party?

I can hear the Countdown clock ticking, and Labour are faced with a fucker of a Conundrum to solve..

tick… tick… tick… tick..

78. Alex Clark

O/T First time I’ve spotted this when searching google for Wings twitter feed. I don’t use twitter but can read his feed without being a user.

Anyway I don’t quite understand this, maybe I just missed it before?

Wings Over Scotland (@WingsScotland) | Twitter
    https://twitter.com/wingsscotland

@WingsScotland is blocked. Are you sure you want to view these Tweets? Viewing Tweets won’t unblock @WingsScotland. View Tweets. Wings Over Scotland …

Democracy at work? You can still view it by the way, only Google it seems is lying that it has been blocked.

79. Lollysmum

@ Hoss Mackintosh
    I’m in a politically restricted post with 15 staff relying on me to safeguard their jobs otherwise I would have offered to stand if it would help. Still 2 years till retirement then who knows-no one can shut me up then 🙂

If all goes well I plan to move back to Scotland then.

Yes I understand that there’s been a lot of interest in SNP in England. I put this down to them being able to see the type of government that England needs in the actions of SNP as Scottish Government. They just ‘do’ politics differently from WM & don’t get involved in spin & lies. That is such an unbelievably refreshing change to the shower we pay for in England- a real breath of fresh air.

Incidentally, has anyone noticed over the last few days that photos in the press of Nicola are different. She’s usually portrayed as quite soft & nice but the last few days have shown her looking tough & serious. Different tone altogether. Welcome change maybe or does the media think they can frighten people away from SNP? Time will tell.

80. Gary

They don’t want to address the elephant in the room, Jim Murphy’s idiocy…

81. Flower of Scotland

Great work Stu. Thanks for giving us a laugh before we go to bed!

82. Dave McEwan Hill

Big Jock

I’m sure you mean “pooling”
    I know what “pulling” means in reference to Murphy

83. CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
    Will Will will himself back in to the debate, through his own independent cognisance and self-determination? 🙂

84. Alex Clark

Diddy never posted the link! Here it is Big Debate link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V67gGoPMLok

Check from 55:25 just a minute long, love the kids jeering.

85. Rock

Stuart, why don’t you send this article to The National for publishing free of charge?

86. CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
    Hopefully I’m not repeating myself but I wonder if Will will will himself back in to the debate, through his own independent cognisance and self-determination? 🙂

87. west_lothian_questioner

I see nothing wrong here at all. I have an amplifier that goes up to 11, so infinite nurses is just the next logical step innit?

88. Patrician

As usual with these type of political claims, no timescale is mentioned for when these 1000+ nurses will arrive. It takes a good few years to train as a nurse, so even if Labour recruited 1000+ trainees they most likely wouldn’t be trained before the Government changed again. And what about the support staff required for an extra 1000 nurses, how will he pay for them?

Does Labour have a list of people who have left the profession and they will be forced back into nursing? Or more likely which Labour member owns a private company specialising in providing contract nursing staff? That would be a nice little earner, got to replace those expenses somehow in 2016.

89. manandboy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcy8uLjRHPM

Charlie Brooker/Adam Curtis. 5 mins video. If you can’t figure out what is going on, then Charlie will tell you why – it’s all in the plan to keep us puzzled and confused – and it’s working.

I’m going to watch it again. It’s a fit.

When Cameron and Murphy, with the same propaganda/media control team behind them, start doing and saying really quite stupid things which people can barely believe far less make sense of – AT THE SAME TIME – then it’s deliberate. Watch the video. But keep your pinch of salt handy – just in case.
    And remember – just because David Cameron refuses to debate on TV if the Greens are not there – does not necessarily mean that he is trying to make everyone attempt to solve a problem that can’t be solved, thereby tying them in the knots of his making and control. My mother called it a ‘fankle’ – and it’s the new political strategy and it’s already here and running in GE15.

See also http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/adamcurtis/entries/ae14be85-3104-3c74-a9da-85807434a38e

90. chic mcgregor

You shouldn’t mock someone who is obviously giving 110%. (Even if it is 110% of a very small number.)

91. Lollysmum

@ Alex Clark
    Don’t know about that but he certainly looked pi**ed off at the reception he was getting. Did you see NS face in the next frame-she was laughing. Just a great reaction to the idiot.

92. Dr Jim

Did anybody see Mark Carney today,i missed most of it, somebody correct me if i heard this wrong but it sounded like he said, your oil is in the crapper but you’re so lucky the Brits are bailing you out buy buying a lot of petrol. If somebody saw the whole thing could you put it up, coz if that’s what i heard i thought this was supposed to be a reasonable intelligent man,but this sounds like the height of dunce, would they not have to buy petrol whatever price it is.
    Somebody who saw it let me know so that i’m not an uninformed Div on this…. Cheers

93. chossy

Like a snake eating it’s own tail.

94. SquareHaggis

Classic BT pensions re-run.

Write to say 200,000 ex members, mainly elderly ones in nursing homes explaining that they need to vote Slab @GE2015 or the nurses get it in the neck.
    Or, write to a sympathetic Care Homes manager the above letter and set the rumour rolling.

Wait a while, till things get suitably unsettled before miraculously and very publicly announcing the installment of 1000 new nurses.

Carrot & Stick

95. Apache

So how come Sandra didn’t point this out herself? Shit! are our guys just as dim as theirs?

96. manandboy

Acknowledgement to Alan McIntosh who found this video.
    Great find, Alan.
    //www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcy8uLjRHPM

Trying to figure out what’s going on? Just watch the video.

Its the new (here) political PR strategy to confuse one’s opponents and the electorate.

It works like a dream.

Looks like Murphy and Cameron, guided by McTernan,
    have been implementing it for weeks already.

97. David

Jim Murphy: “Trust me, I’m a doctor. Now eat your cereal and take your pill. Red pill or blue pill, doesn’t matter. Both have a bitter taste and nasty side-effects.”

98. KennyG

I’m getting a little freaked out now. Labour make me feel like reality has changed.

99. Ken500

Labour/Unionists make people sick. They kill people. Illegal wars, banking fraud, tax evasion. Costing £Billions. Food banks for the vulnerable. They prey on tbe old and vulnerable.

Where’s the Chilcot verdict. The Official Secret’s Act covers the Westminster criminals.

100. john king

Random Switch @ 10.28

I agree with every word Random Switch says,
    even the ones I dont understand, 🙁

Does that make me a paradigmatic yes supporter? 🙂
    ————————————————-
    BBC (who knew)
    Say the North sea oil industry is close to collapse
    industry analysts say the producers need the oil to sell @ $60.00 a barrel to break even,
    so how did they make a profit when the price was $10.00 a barrel?
    maybe rather than create scare stories the industry should be pressing the government in Westminster to tense those broad shoulders of theirs and stop taking 80% of the value of the oil in tax and they wouldn’t be in trouble eh?

This situation suits the Tories blue/red down to the ground,
    they’re squeezing the oil producers by the balls and telling the Scots see, we told you so, without the “broad shoulders” of the UK the oil industry would already be dead, but failing to point out its them standing on the oxygen tube,

I am starting to get the impression the Tories(red/blue) would rather kill the north sea industry than leave anything of value for a future independent Scottish government (which they sure as hell know is coming) scorched earth policy anyone?

Do any oil experts on here know how hard it would be to reopen a previously abandoned oil well once we get independence?
    ———————————————-
    BBC (who knew)

from 05.00 this morning to 06.00
    the BBC ran practically a whole hour of anti Islam agitpropaganda (thanks Random Switch) 🙂
    we had
    The Charlie Hebdo attack,

ISIS in Syria,

Boko Haram attacking a town in the North of Nigeria,

The flogging of a man in Saudi Arabia for speaking against Islam where he was given 1000 lashes (in instalments) and 10 years in prison!

softening us up for yet another middle east war do you think?

THIS is what you no supporters voted for!
    gaun yersels there folks gaun yersels.

101. john king

Christian Wright says
    “Not sure you give Ms Grant the credit due her for achieving such a sublime stream of consciousness, made manifest in a narrative devoid of the unnecessary clutter of logic or cohesion. It is that rare thing: the sound of one neuron clapping.”

Woohahahaha
    and that folks is the reason I love this site,
    this place rocks it really does.

102. john king

jimnarlene says
    “Surely, they have to fail the test.”

But but but——-oh never mind
    my brain hurts.

103. john king

Lollysmum says
    “BTW Stu-I thought JM was supposed to be vegetarian & teetotal. Apparently at the lunch he had with the press yesterday he was eating steak & chips washed down with red wine. Mmmmmmmm interesting- no? Another lie debunked maybe?”

Was the red wine kosher?

104. Ken500

Notice how it has become ‘Scottish Oil’ and ‘Scottish Gov’ problem in the British Press. When Scotland has never had control over it’s own resources. Thatcher ‘ this must be kept secret’. The McCrone Report kept secret for thirty years.

The ConDems increased the Oil tax 11% (£2Billion) in the 2011Budget. 50% + 32% = 82% and have taken it down 2% in the Autumn Statement. Losing Scotland £4Billion+ a year = £16Billion+
    Workers have died because of lack of Westminster H & S guides, with no Inquiry. The Bond Brothers sold out in 2011 for £250Million, without any liability, after the 2009 helicopter crash. BP the worse company in economic history. The Russians nearly put Dudley in jail.

Carney, the Osbourne clone.

105. Ken500

The UK/US Gov supported and funded ISIS for two years in Syria. They created ISIS and support the most despot, absolute monarchies in the Middle East. France and Britain carved up the Middle East. France, Britain and the US have been causing havoc in the Middle East for nearly 100 years. The Balfour Declaration 1917. They cause terrorism for State control.

106. Macart

Just a mind numbingly idiotic idea from Labour.

Fer Gawdsake don’t let them anywhere near real responsibility.

107. Craig P

In my experience, politicians, and the journalists who report them, are often poor with basic numeracy.

The amount of times politicians talk of cutting the debt – when they mean cutting the deficit, the debt still rising – has concerned me for a while.

But most journalists – present company excepted – can’t count either, so they get away with it.

108. The Patriot

They’re also promising 1000 extra:

– nuclear weapons on the Clyde indefinitely,
    – innocent children being killed in the Middle East each year,
    – Westminster biased newspaper articles in Scotland each month,
    – young Scots leaving Scotland for employment in London each month,
    – etc, etc

than the SNP.

109. caz-m

Project Fear is alive and kicking.

Yesterday we had a joint attack from The Bank of England and BBC Scotland. Today we have an attack from BP regarding job losses relating to the price of oil and BBC Scotland.

It is all done to try to give the impression that the SNP could not have run an Independent Scotland on current Oil prices. The BP story is interesting, they are re-structuring worldwide, so we will see how many Scottish jobs actually go. All aided by big scary headlines from BBC Scotland.

BBC Scotland think this will put the brakes on the surge in SNP membership and help out their political wing, Scottish Labour.

Remember, BP came out as a strong NO in the referendum campaign, so they will do their bit to bring the Scottish Government down.

110. North chiel

O/T however’ BBC radio Scotland ” positively gushing” this
    Morning regards the BP jobs announcement etc.They just can’t
    Wait to get any ” anti independence ” bad news “out

111. scottieDog

Craig P.
    Actually a recent poll commissioned by positive money found that 90% of our MPS don’t actually understand where money in the economy comes from. Vast majority believe that it is only created by the bank of England, when actually just about all of our money is created as debt by private banks. It’s the very source of many of our problems.

112. Snode1965

For all you folks who constantly decry The National, buy it today it has just stepped up a gear……YES!!!

113. heedtracker

Another teamGB BBC day and R4 news go big on massive job losses for Aberdeen at BP, without actually saying how many massive oil jobs are being lost.

Can’t think why the UKOK propaganda machine leaves out these details as its very unlike John Humphrey’s, except when it comes to their Scotland region. Its UKOK though as ConDEm Ed Davie is heading to ABZ today to sort it all out, in a weirdly empty long interview too, well its not weird if you’re not a red or blue tory from London.

114. boris

Pressure is being applied by MP’s insisting that the Chilcott Report be published in full before the end of February. It might be further delaying tactics will be put in place with the purpose of burying the report until after the GE in May.

In terms of actions taken or not by a number of persons of note there is a definitive record available for study from which it is possible to apportion events and authority. Ignore the hype, check the facts. Go to:

http://www.downingstreetmemo.com/memos.html

115. JLT

It’s getting to the stage that we may need a new type of ‘the wee blue book’ but entitle it as ‘the wee red book of Labour deception’. Seriously, since the referendum result, how many lies have been exposed? How many pledges have spectacularly backfired, been reneged or disappeared into the ether? I have never seen a party so lost, so unsure of itself or so many of its members in deep mistrust of each other. It’s truly unbelievable!

I just hope that the vast majority of the Scottish electorate (and especially No voters) can see that the Labour party are NOT the party to vote for.

116. caz-m

Low oil prices are VERY BAD for the Labour Party. The English electorate is enjoying low petrol prices and lower gas bills, cheaper food bills. This gives people more money in their pockets and they start to think that maybe they will just stick with the Government they have. The feel good factor.

Low oil prices also helps businesses expand and take on more staff, more people getting back to work is the last thing that the Labour Party want.

So the next time Miliband and Murphy try to portray the low oil price as a bad thing for the SNP, just remind them who the real losers are, The Labour Party.

117. Ken500

BP are the worst company in economic history. Notice how the British Press report the ‘Scottish Gov’ problem, ‘Scottish Oil’ when Scotland has had no control over it’s own resources. The McCrone report kept secret for thirty years. Thatcher, ‘this must be kept secret’. The ConDems put up the Oil tax 11% (£2Billion) in 2011 Budget. Oil tax revenues 50% + 32% = 82%. Took it down 2% in the Autumn Statement. Losing Scotland £4Billion+ a year in lost revenues. £16Billion+

Helicopter Companies selling out for £250Million, without liability in 2011. After the 2009 crash. No Inquiry.

Carney, the Osbourne clone trying to make political capital. The jobs loses will affect south of the border. In the NE there are jobs being created in Renewables, (off shore) construction, (road) fishing, (negotiated) NHS/Uni education. Labour/Unionists refused a gift of £80Million+ to pedestrianise the City. Instead creating a carbuncle costing £millions more. Leasing back for thirty years.

118. Ken500

Scotland could easily make up for any lost revenues by scrapping Trident/illegal wars, taxing renewable energy and putting a tax on ‘loss leading’ cheap alcohol. A small land inheritance tax on non productive land. Some costs will be mitigated by cheaper fuel, making goods and services cheaper.

119. heedtracker

Must be a general election in May. BBC says Chancellor Osborne will make teamGB the richest country in the world, but in Scotland, BBC are coming to get you Aberdeen as oil price is going to close Aberdeen down, so Scotland needs the UK because the UK will be the richest country in the whole wide world. Its true, the BBC says so.

Who ever it is cooking up this vote UKOK grot really needs a lie down, or a job with Crichton Torquil of the Record, although every single Slab vote the can scare up counts now.

120. heedtracker

Gaurdian front page also kranking up their vote anyone but SNP Scots.gov and ofcourse Westminster too. This is from the land of the biggest debt holders in the world or a bankrupt economy

https://archive.today/VV6rb

121. Calgacus

@ Snode1965 has it ever occured to you that the National needs criticism in order to improve?

Glad to see it’s getting better but it’ll never match this site’s investigative journalism.

122. heedtracker

This is a great top up for your daily teamGB rules their Scotland region propaganda, from a Mr Carney of the Bank of England boss who says to rancid old Graun,

“Carney told MPs on the Treasury select committee that falling oil prices would deal a blow to the Scottish economy but that the decline would be offset by the boost to the wider British economy due to the falling petrol prices. “It is net positive for the UK economy,” he said. “It is a negative shock to the Scottish economy, which is substantially mitigated … by the nature of the economic union that exists.”

He was asked about an estimate suggesting the price slide could wipe £6bn off Scottish GDP, but he said the bank had not calculated the hit to Scotland”

Oil price drop is BAD for Scotland but GOOD for England who will save us, if we vote anyone but SNP in May! And Bank of England says this because it wipes £6bn off Scottish GDP but Mr Carney has NOT actually calculated “the hit” to Scotland.

So just one more rich City ligger guessing for the Graun then and at £700k wages year this dude gets?

123. Macart

@ Snode

Yeah, looks a bit feistier and up for it today. 🙂

Love the pic of Smugurph and I wonder where they got the idea for quote and translation? 😉

124. James Caithness

Murphy took the Journalists to dinner. How many members have joined at £1 to have the cost of the meal?

Maybe it would be better to keep an eye on his expenses claims to see if the cost was bourne by the taxpayers.

125. manandboy

McTernan went to Quebec for ideas on how to ‘win’ the Referendum.
    Then he went to Moscow for ideas on how to win GE15.

Vladislav Surkov is not known in Scotland by name; but his theories on population control are already being used by McTernan in the GE15 campaigns both north and south of the border. Here’s a sample:-
    As deputy head of the administration he (Surkov) would meet once a week with the heads of the television channels in his Kremlin office, instructing them on whom to attack and whom to defend, who is allowed on TV and who is banned, how the president is to be presented, and the very language and categories the country thinks and feels in. Russia’s Ostankino TV presenters, instructed by Surkov, pluck a theme (oligarchs, America, the Middle East) and speak for 20 minutes, hinting, nudging, winking, insinuating, though rarely ever saying anything directly, repeating words like “them” and “the enemy” endlessly until they are imprinted on the mind.”

Remember the name: VLADISLAV SURKOV

http://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2014/11/hidden-author-putinism-russia-vladislav-surkov/382489/

126. desimond

Sheer porno politics.

Let them eat Nurse

127. Snode1965

@ Calgacus, we can agree on both your points, although some folk are rather zealous when it comes to criticism of The National. Who owns the paper or having a Labour MP on the front page seem to me pretty weak reasons not to support our only voice in the MSM.

128. gordoz

Anyone else think its time that the National moved on from the ‘happy clappy double spread vista pic’. Its weak and will get hammered by rivals IMHO.

Genuine question – Has the National cited anything from Wings to date ? (If not why not ?).

129. Ken500

The majority of the BP (Oil) job loses (worldwide) will be south of the border. Carney’s not the smartest. 4000 (commuting) employees in the NS. 11,000 south of the border. 10% cut – 400 in the NS. 1,000 south of the border.

35,000 UK job loses over 5 years. 7,000 a year = 700? in Scotland.

130. Helena Brown

Manandboy, We may not have known the name but we are definitely seeing the effects with regard to the SNP. We are obviously the Party that the British Government are terrified of and I mean the whole bleeding Establishment. It is okay to mention the Greens, no chance that the Party in England will break up the Union, but the SNP will. Hence no problem with old Farage either.
    It has taken two “ahem” Scots to mention the SNP yesterday, Andrew Neil and Gavin Essler, neither of them could be considered fans but both mentioned them with a view as to why the Greens should be awarded a place in the Televised Debates but no the SNP.
    I see the death of Democracy, bad as it was, in this unified state.

131. Paul

Ahem…

Apparently ‘Scottish’ Labour have deployed the Monopoly Paradigm – you see, in the board game, once you have four houses on a street you can exchange them for a hotel. In the same spirit, once ‘Scotch’ Labour get a 1000 nurses, they’re going to exchange them for a matron thus extending the limitations of this skene of existence – they hope – until its too late for people to notice what’s happening.

BBC Scotland offered to assist with some positive PR, but were reminded they wouldn’t be able because they’d all be nurses (or matrons…)

132. Hugh Kirk

My godfathers, What a shower of dumbassed cretins SLAB are.

133. Author_al

I buy the National reasonably regularly, usually to fail at the crossword. Many articles are spot on but occasionally some get me riled. Yesterday page 8 was the subheading ‘Murphy says labour doesn’t want SNP coalition as he bids to woo yes voters.’ What followed was 400 word plug for Murphy where he was quoted extensively yet no opposing view was given, or any attempt at journalistic analysis. So I get to read his unadulterated pish. If I wanted that I could read the daily herald…

134. gordoz

Hey – State Broadcaster !!

‘BP to announce North Sea job cuts’… thats it ?

What about the pooling & sharing / broad shoulders guff? One sneeze and its P.45 time ? No criticism of ‘Better Together’ UK ? Who controls the taxation of the North sea ?

“The Scottish government has called for the supplementary charge on the oil and gas industry introduced by the UK government in 2011 to be scrapped.

That position is backed by industry body Oil and Gas UK, which has argued that further tax cuts would help the sector deal with falling oil prices”

– Wouldn’t your headline be more honest to come from this part rather than bleeting on about the collapse of Brent !!

135. ScottieDog

heedtracker,
    So much then for pooling and sharing resources.
    Yet we are all expected to bail out London’s financial centre to a far greater tune. Remember the tax payer is still guarantor for a ridiculous sum in derivatives.

Private debt (the foundation of the UK.s economy is now reaching pre-2008 levels, so here we go again. UK a viable economy? I think not.

136. indigo

o/t but wanted to share with Ronnie and the other Wings guys who were at Pacific Quay in the summer – a wee photo montage of the kids’ summer https://app.evver.com/play/f17e28704bf2b4702992842989431d24

137. Dave McEwan Hill

It is absolutely essential that the National remains moderate in tone, appears balanced and doesn’t read like an SNP tract if it is to do the job it has to do ie attract a wide range of readers from all across the political landscape.

Our manifest failure to establish that the Scottish economy is self-supporting without oil is what is giving us problems at the moment – but as the unionists spent a couple of years telling us how worthless it was it is not a big a problem as it might have been

138. Grouse Beater

The Charlie Hebdo attack, ISIS in Syria, Boko Haram attacking a town in the North of Nigeria, The flogging of a man in Saudi Arabia for speaking against Islam where he was given 1000 lashes (in instalments) and 10 years in prison! – softening us up for yet another middle east war do you think?

Another? I’ve lost count of the neverending wars.

‘Terrorism and War on Terrorism’ –
    grousebeater.wordpress.com/2015/01/14/terrorism-and-war-on-terrorism/

139. Training Day

Just another day in the only country in history to voluntarily renounce self-determination.

The BBC in Scotland asking us this morning ‘does it really matter who is in televised debates?’ First caller with a suspiciously familiar Aberdonian twang tells us the broadcasters have ‘called it right’. So UKIP with two MPs deserve representation but the SNP with 6 don’t. That’s ‘calling it right’.

I asked a sitting SNP MSP post-referendum what was to be done about the BBC if we were serious about independence. Answer came there none, only a befuddled gasping for air.

140. Graeme Doig

Wings articles starting to appear on Inverkeithing SNP online newspaper.

Thanks to whoever responsible for that and to Rev for excellent journalism 🙂

141. Ken500

There will be more Oil job losses (worldwide) south of the border. Less (worldwide) revenues for the UK Exchequer.

142. Grouse Beater

McEwan Hillit [oil price] was it is not a big a problem as it might have been

True, however…

The MSM won’t alter their tune – throughout the Referendum they depicted oil as the SNP’s economic foundation for an independent Scotland. They can not now reverse that claim. Together with Murphy and McTernan, they’re dedicated to inculcating the masses with the falsehood oil was the SNP’s only ace card.

143. manandboy

McTernan must have made a pact with the Devil before importing this stuff into UK politics.

General Philip Breedlove, the military alliance’s top commander, made a bold declaration. Russia, he said, is waging “the most amazing information warfare blitzkrieg we have ever seen in the history of information warfare.”

It was something of an underestimation. The new Russia doesn’t just deal in the petty disinformation, forgeries, lies, leaks, and cyber-sabotage usually associated with information warfare. It reinvents reality, creating mass hallucinations that then translate into political action. “

With this kind of population mind control through State propaganda, McTernan & Cameron are really and truly taking GB down into a very dark place indeed.

GB – truly on it’s way to becoming the new North Korea.

John McTernan may just be the most dangerous man in Britain.

http://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2014/09/russia-putin-revolutionizing-information-warfare/379880/

144. Gordon

Splendid Rev splendid………

145. Author_al

@Dave

The Scottish economy would be a lot stronger if we had proper ultra extreme Devo max, rather than the ultra limp, mega watered down Smith proposals. I have a big issue with politicians who profess to have scotland at heart yet allow it to be stripped of its resources with scant recompense. As most politicians are self serving, preferring to bow to immoral lobbyists and unscrupulous big business I fear for the future. SNP need to robustly counter all the Slab inconsistencies and lies, and to do that they must rail against the biased state media.

146. Golfnut

Morning all
    In 2009 the oil price dropped to between 30 and 40 dollars a barrel, there were the usual predictions on massive job losses in the industry, worldwide as well as Scotland.
    I have searched the web,limited ability maybe hindering me here, but I can find no reference to how many jobs actually went. Shell, restructured worldwide,but the only job losses given a figure related to a cull of senior managers, 150 was reported, does anybody know just how many jobs actually went in Scotland, the media were full of dire warnings of upwards 5000.

147. tartanarse

Folks.

The National is joke. Door knocking and proper sites such as this is the answer.

Sunday Herald is also a joke.

45% wasn’t arrived at with the help of one publication, too late, that spent the rest of the week in anti Scotland mode.

Effectively, as we know, there is no telly, radio or newspaper.

Only the internet and people can do the job. We must all know some NO/Labour voters. One thing the establishment cant do is stop you talking to them.

And BTW, arguing with each other on sites such as this fantastic one about petty things does not serve the cause.

148. liz g

Indgo @9.20
    The kids are adorable you must be so proud X

149. Flower of Scotland

O/t. Morning Call this morning seemed to have a majority of people phoning in about bias in the BBC and annoyed that the SNP will not get fair representation in TV debates by the BBC and other TV companies. One guy in Aberdeen actually managed to squeeze in a bit about paeodophilia!

Don’t normally listen to Radio Scotland or the BBC news. Wonder why I switched on this morning?

Good start to the day!

150. Anne Lawrie

How can we have another middle east war, Grouse Beater?
    We won’t have any troops. They’ll all be nurses!

151. Lollysmum

@ indigo at 9.20am

What a brilliant video-deserves to be shared everywhere. Any plans to upload to YouTube?

152. pipinghot

“I asked a sitting SNP MSP post-referendum what was to be done about the BBC if we were serious about independence. Answer came there none, only a befuddled gasping for air.”

I asked the same question at a Common weal meeting on Skye, only to be told by the speaker that he thought the BBC did not need to be impartial !!!!!!

Gee whiz man the BBC need sorting out and if the SNP cant do that then a lot of hard work is going to be wasted

153. manandboy

@Helena Brown
    I see the death of Democracy, bad as it was, in this unified state.

Too true Helena.

The Referendum was proof positive that the British State is willing to abandon everything of value in British Tradition in order to maintain its grip on power – and the wealth that goes with it.

All the leading politicians, civil servants, business leaders and bankers; together with the monarchy and the country’s richest families – as the constituent members of the Establishment, they have all subscribed to the idea that anything that can be done must be done to maintain the status quo among the ruling classes and indeed to strengthen their grip on power and wealth.

Democracy, the Rule of Law, Justice, All Human Rights, the Truth, Equality, Freedom of Speech – all these and more have been deemed disposable and irrelevant when they pose a threat to the elite.

Yet still, the population remains spellbound by the very presence of Television and the Press. Caught in a trance, unable to heed the cry ‘to wake up’, they are easy meat for their economic and political masters.

McTernan has set himself the task of destroying everything that is good in Britain. The Establishment have told him to go ahead, just as long as they stay in power.

It has been observed by many that we live in ‘interesting times’. Might I suggest that the interesting times are over.

We now live in dangerous times.

154. Nana Smith

I don’t read the rag so don’t know exactly what its about but From the P&J…

David Cameron and Barack Obama to unveil billion-dollar North Sea cash injection Cameron has been begging to Obama.

My husband was to be in Aberdeen this morning for meetings to do with his work….oil industry.

I can tell you this much if you don’t already know, the media are at it. Out to con the Scottish people during the run up to the election.

Restructuring of the industry was planned long ago. There will be some job losses. Business for Scotland has a good article about it all.

155. indigo

@liz g – ah thank you

@lollysmum – no idea how to do that… my sister has shared it on Yes Kirkcudbright on facebook but that’s as far as we’ve got

156. Macart

@ Indigo

Outstanding. 🙂

157. john king

Wow Indego that little montage was great, good photography and great subjects, even had the kids meet Alex, loved it,
    Im annoyed I wasn’t at that protest you were at, (working 🙁 ) but I’m going to try to get the day off for the next one.

I hope for their sake we do see an independent Scotland.

158. biggpolmont

Now we know where the infamous Dallas script writer who was responsible for the” Dallas bobby Ewing’s return” Episode now works Hedia dept of the Labour party in Scotland (Scotland branch office)We get up on an ordinary morning only to be told No No No! labour never promised 1000 extra nurses!. There never was a referendum because no one is interested in that sort of thing!

159. indigo

@john king – that protest in June was very special, atmosphere was amazing

160. Macart

@ Nana

Forbes = OOFT! 😀

161. CameronB Brodie

OT and a year or so old, but here is an interesting article on the BBC, by John Pilger.

Remember, Jim Murphy’s own blog stresses the Israeli right to self-protection, as if they are the ones facing an existential threat. He then advises readers to refer to the BBC webpage for background information on Mideastern geo-politics.

The BBC’s “Reithian values” of impartiality and independence are almost scriptural in their mythology. Soon after the corporation was founded in the 1920s by John Reith, Britain was consumed by the General Strike. “Reith emerged as a kind of hero . . .” wrote the historian Patrick Renshaw, “who had acted responsibly and yet preserved the precious independence of the BBC. But though this myth persisted it has little basis in reality . . . the price of that independence was in fact doing what the government wanted done . . . [Prime Minister Stanley] Baldwin . . . saw that if they preserved the BBC’s independence, it would be much easier for them to get their way on important questions and use it to broadcast government propaganda.”

http://www.newstatesman.com/world-affairs/world-affairs/2012/11/gaza-savaged-again-understanding-bbcs-role-requires-more-sentim

162. Nana Smith

While we are waiting for the panelbase poll results my son sent me this so I’m sharing it with you all. After reading you might want to laugh or cry or kick me for sharing!

http://vigilantcitizen.com/vigilantreport/economist-2015-cover-filled-cryptic-symbols-dire-predictions/

163. Kev

Hilarious Stu, but you have overlooked the possibility that Sith Lord Murphy could be busy working on a clone army of robot nurses, perhaps on an island somewhere…say Japan:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7tYwnqot6M

164. tartanarse

BP’s upcoming job losses were planned back in December whilst the oil prices were higher.

BBC expect us to believe that BP are going tits up because of a price drop that they couldn’t predict.

It’s all crap of course. BP have spent the last few years pumping their profits into the pockets of persons and companies who were affected by BP’s pumping of oil into their rivers, seas and oceans.

One guy on R4 this morning (was is Hey Presto, I wasn’t really paying attention) said that the current low price is expected to last a few years.

Stable oil prices? I thought they were volatile. How do they know?

I suspect all will be the same till May, then beware.

165. Grizzle McPuss

@Nana

I too work in the Oil & Gas industry and yes, the powers that be are well and truly at it.
    What is unfolding in front of us domestically as a result of the oil price gerrymandering of the markets, to suit our cousins across the big pond, has indeed been ‘in the pipeline’ for a couple of years.
    Management structures, job definition and work practices have been targeted as companies look to squeeze the last dollar out for the sake of the beloved shareholder.
    As an ‘insider’ I can tell you that I’m past vomiting with exasperation at the garbage peddled by the so called learned of my industry (‘I Wood’ ask you to guess who I’m referring to as an example)
    There is no shortage of jobs still on offer IN ABERDEEN…TODAY…and for all skill sets. Yes, there will be redundancies, but these have to be seen for what they are. Long overdue and anticipated cost-cutting measures, with a smattering of politicking thrown in by the unscrupulous.
    Anyhow, as Fergus Ewing was clearly stating today on GMS, where is the UK oil fund from the £300bn revenue that has passed to Westminster these past 40 years? Why is the taxation regime not being made adaptable and reflective of this “unstable market”?

The BBC / MSM answer: bad Scottish government…bad SNP. Why were they not saving money for a rainy day to alleviate this problem?

166. ScottieDog

Nana Smith,
    The world is pretty much run by ex-Goldman Sachs people these days. They are everywhere high in the establishment, IMF, BIS, Greece!
    It’s pretty obvious now that there is no dividing line between central bank, city and govt -very much the unholy trinity. The poachers are the gamekeepers which might explain why banks have been faced with very little regulation. We are now faced with the situation where private debt is approaching pre-crisis levels which caused the problem in the first place.

As for oil, judge the uk govt in deed not in word. They felt that oil was worth destroying almost an entire generation of Iraqi people. It has to be worth something to them! They were never going to play fair with scotland.

167. john king

Nana Smith @ 10.37

Anyone else notice that when the oil price drops it a problem for Scotland but when it rises is a bonus for Britain?

168. Nana Smith

@Macart

I was searching through my past articles as a niggle in my brain [what’s left of it] was reminding me of an article around the time Carney was appointed.

This was the one which stood out from the rest which at the time were so fawning and alarm bells rang “too good to be true” Remember the gushing from the bbc at the time?

Bilderberg /Goldman Sachs tentacles within Westminster are alarming. Too much stuff online to link to but the talk right now is the oil indudustry…

http://technocracywatch.org/bilderberg/bp-goldmansachs/

169. Nana Smith

@Grizzle McPuss

Superb post! Totally agree with everything you say.

My husband like you and I’m sure many others in the oil industry are thoroughly fed up with the constant negativity.

170. Dr Jim

We’re all doomed
    Oil to run out by 4 o’clock this afternoon or thereabouts maybe definately could be, and massive job losses too as well, what would Scotland have done without the broad shoulders of the BBC sorry, UK and Great Britain generous peoples to save us from the really bad bad Natsi Splittists with their Ultra Extreme views…
    BBC correspondents all morning
    Phew….

171. Macart

@ John King

Spookily yes. 🙂

Mind you it does need pointed out to the hard of thinking that both revenues and trials derived from oil have never been a problem for Scotland. They have always, but always been under the management of HMG.

Their responsibility that no oil fund was ever seriously considered.
    Their responsibility that no state owned infrastructure was implemented and kept.
    Their management through successive governments that left the industry and indeed the wider economy vulnerable to manufactured fluctuations.

In fact, I’m finding it hard to see why this is Scotland’s problem at all? The ‘problem’ is and always has been HMGs stewardship of the resource. Still if they want shot of this troublesome and volatile burden…

I’m sure Holyrood will give its management their best shot. 🙂

172. Betty Boop

Wouldn’t it be great if we could censor MSPs, MPs, etc. for time-wasting in Parliament by asking stupid questions?

We pay those folk and maybe they need to have regular assessments to a) measure their effectiveness; b)their attitude; c) their mental health. Feel free to add anything else.

I heard Jackson Carlaw comment on the health service “crisis” saying that it must be the first week back in January with all the “crisis” calls. He was very reasonable about the situation whereas Jenny Marra in the same interview was jumping up and down like a Duracell bunny trying her best to make our health service sound as though it was in a state of total collapse.

Labour, both in Scotland and the rest of the UK are involved in desperation politics.

173. Macart

@ Nana

Bear trap memory and good catch.

Spooky when you follow the money and past associations of the individuals how they all seem to magically merge/touch at one point or another.

174. Patrick Roden

can anyone in the Know, say if the new Panelbase poll asks if Labour voters would still vote for them, if they thought the party was Blairite?

I see in Scot goes pop, that the latest sub sets of YouGuv asking voters who they thought would make the best PM at Westminster, is showing that voters in Scotland had the lowest score for Ed Milliband!

Just 13% of people in Scotland think Ed would make a good Prime Minister! lol.

This indicates that a lot of Labour voters are doing so, knowing that Labour wont run the UK well!

Which kinda points to a lot of labour voters not voting FOR Labour but voting against another party, Tory? SNP?
    Is this an indication that the smear/scare stories and lies about the SNP or about fighting the Torys, all about hearding Labour voting sheep into the pen (voting booth) to keep them safe from the big bad wolves (us) or the Torys.

Would explain a lot and show that perhaps the strategy employed by Murphy and his scream team of McTernan & Blair, are pursuing the only policy that would work for Labour in Scotland.

So the True support for labour in Scotland is 13% and only the ‘Project Fear’ method with the backing of the MSM, is protecting them from electoral oblivion in Scotland.

175. Nana Smith

@ScottieDog says As for oil, judge the uk govt in deed not in word. They felt that oil was worth destroying almost an entire generation of Iraqi people. It has to be worth something to them! They were never going to play fair with Scotland.

and what is happening now in Gaza…They do not care how many people are murdered.

http://www.globalresearch.ca/israel-steals-gazas-offshore-natural-gas-15-billion-deal-with-jordan/5399736

176. G H Graham

Has it been confirmed yet by London that the BBC is now the official propaganda channel for the Labour Party’s North British Sub Branch (Scotland) Office?

177. Nana Smith

@John King

Well of course John, hasn’t that always been the way.

England supremacy ruled the world till every other country realised they were better off out of their clutches.
    Mind you from Obama’s intervention during the indyref they may be planning a comeback.

Now what would be a good title for that movie?

178. Patrick Roden

@ Betty Boop,

The ‘Weaponisation of the NHS’ as Ed promised, has started!

179. arthur thomson

The impartiality of the BBC is a MYTH. That is a good simple mantra to counteract to those who swear by the BBC. It would make a good poster. VOTE for THE PARTY YOU CAN TRUST – VOTE SNP. That might make another poster.

180. Fred

Murphy makes the candy-floss canonballs and the doughballs in Holyrood have to fire them. You couldn’t make it up, Oor Johann is well out of it.

181. fred blogger

looks like more comedy gold on fmq’s folks.

182. indigo

it’s cracking so far, go Nicola!

183. gordoz

FM ‘tugging the Dugdale leash’ at the moment –
    a lessin in kickass.

Labour = Tory in Scotland folks

State Broadcaster will record otherwise of course!

184. Scots Renewables

Ruthie sounds unprepared.

Is she putting on the beef?

185. Ken500

The fracking Unionists gleefully canvassing against Scotland. What a disgrace. The Unionist liars.

186. gordoz

FM Questions now –

Ms Sturgeon on fire – Dugdale whimpering

Davidson trying to sound smart;(failing abismally !) looking & sounding stupid yet again.

Labour & Tories in Scotland

Can’t wait for Rennie – here he goes … (what a banana!)
    Total irrelevance complete waste of space tube.

187. HandandShrimp

The smell of fear over the GE2015 is palpable. I think the Unionists would actually like to see us all in utter grinding poverty so they can say “see Scotland is a basket case you can’t be independent”

I’m unconvinced it is an attractive message to the voters. They are starting to look like they aspire to be Nero fiddling while Rome burns.

188. Scots Renewables

Jackie Baillie having her bumps read by Nicola now

189. Iain

Re Ms Grant, here’s an observation on her suggestion that there should be a ‘watershed’ for the internet, just as there is on TV.

http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/technology/micwright/100009434/a-watershed-for-the-internet-people-this-stupid-should-not-be-making-our-laws/

190. bookie from hell

Ian Davidson raging–tweets

Sturgeon could not wait to dutifully echo Osborne’s lie about Labour at #fmqs Either collaborating or simply duped by Tory propaganda

191. Luigi

I can’t wait to see the first poll on whether people think Jim Murphy would be a good first minister.

192. Graeme Doig

All the usual suspects sliced and diced by Nicola. Excellent stuff from a leader who knows exactly what she is doing.
    KD on her way now to the nearest dark room to call Dim Jim for a good greet.

193. ScottieDog

@Nana Smith
    Thanks of the gaza link nana. Here’s the piece from Nafeez Ahmed that got him booted out of the establishment guardian.
    https://medium.com/@NafeezAhmed/palestine-is-not-an-environment-story-921d9167ddef

194. call me dave

Nicola in good form at FMQ’s.

I wouldn’t want to be on the wrong side of her argument when she discards the consensual approach she is in favour of. 🙂

Meanwhile in the Herald.

THE Scotland Bill setting out the proposed new tax powers will be published next Thursday, ahead of Burns Night as promised, senior UK Government sources have confirmed.

The draft clauses will be announced by Alistair Carmichael, the Scottish Secretary, not at Westminster but in Edinburgh, prompting speculation that Prime Minister David Cameron could make his first visit of 2015 to Scotland next week.

195. cynicalHighlander

OT:

Charlie Hebdo: Media ethics

The Charlie Hebdo massacre: Exploring media ethics and responsibility Join media professionals and members of the public for a debate in the aftermath of the attacks on French satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo. Organised by NUJ Scotland and new media website CommonSpace, the debate will examine the challenges facing the media, free speech in the industry and explore editorial ethics within the context of a free press. Chaired by NUJ Scotland organiser Paul Holleran, panellists will include Alison Balharry, formerly of BBC World Service and Al Jazeera; Neil Mackay, head of news, Sunday Herald, and Angela Haggerty, editor of CommonSpace. Further panellists to be confirmed. Thursday 15 January, Oran Mor Auditorium, Glasgow, G12 8QX, 6.45pm for 7pm start. Tickets: Free. Arrive early to ensure entry.

196. gavin lessells

Excellent pieces on Smith Commissions failure and the rantings of Murphy in today`s National.

We really must continue to support the only friendly voice among the daily papers!!

197. Fred

Grant motto, “Stand Fast”, I think “Stuck Fast” in Ms Grant’s case!

198. gus1940

Today’s National does a pretty good job of analysing and demolishing the hypocritical crap Murphy has been excreting over us and which has been gleefully spun to the heavens by The BBC and their pals in the print media.

O/T Given his statement yesterday and other recent statements am I alone in getting the impression that Mark Carney is being heavily leant on by the WM government in their terror of a large contingent of SNP MPs appearing at WM subsequent to 7/5.

I know that Culpability Brown made The BoE independent but who gave the green light for Carney’s appointment as Governor and who now has the power of hire and fire over him?

199. Jimmy

Slightly, well very, off topic….just thought I’d post a cheery link so that others can see how AS and NS are doing 🙂

https://sexysocialism.wordpress.com/2014/11/10/buzzfeed-interview/

200. jackie g

Can someone explain to me:

Why SLAB go into the chamber at Westminster on the Tuesday and vote for austerity cuts along with the Lib Dems and the tories, then the scottish MSP’s go to FMQ on a Thursday and blame the FM..

bookie from hell:

Ian Davidson raging–tweets

Sturgeon could not wait to dutifully echo Osborne’s lie about Labour at #fmqs Either collaborating or simply duped by Tory propaganda

WTF are they on! what school did they attend? they voted with the enemy and then try and backtrack and blame someone else.

Geez i gie up these people do my head in..

201. HandandShrimp

Can’t get any more duped than voting for Osborne’s package of cuts Mr Davidson.

202. Muscleguy

But, but, but I don’t want to be a nurse. Also won’t it be like any long running hospital soap where the staff inevitably end up as patients? After all if everyone is a nurse (including doctors) then the term just replaces ‘person’ in the vocabulary.

203. Helena Brown

Gus1940, Mark Carney better never want a job with the Central Bank of Scotland the way things are going for him. In fact I doubt whether he is employable anywhere given that he has rolled over to have his tummy scrached. Expect Sir Mark soon.

204. Calgacus

@ Snode1965,

Glad we agree to agree:-)

205. Helena Brown

Fred, aren’t we boycotting the Grants, so that is easy, she is blacked as well.

206. Phil Robertson

Behind all the sophistry, you, like the SG front bench, dodge the question. Rhoda Grant’s question was quite clear – will the SG commit to another 1,000 nurses? Thus far, the silence is deafening.

Also the SNP should be wary about questioning other people’s numbers, given the huge discrepancy between their forecast for oil revenues and what is like to be the truth of the matter.

207. Craig P

john king says:

Anyone else notice that when the oil price drops it a problem for Scotland but when it rises is a bonus for Britain?

It’s almost as if oil plays tennis or athletics 😉

208. HandandShrimp

Phil

We won’t see what the truth of the matter on long term oil prices for several years. You are easily dazzled by short term fluctuations though I see.

As to the Labour pledge, we can see it above. 1,000 more nurses than whatever the SNP commit to. So it is pointless answering Rhoda’s question. Whatever the SNP pledge, Labour will top it by 1,000. Rhoda could say, forget that poster that is just advertising fluff, can we agree to increase nurse numbers from X to Y in specific areas of need?

I won’t hold my breath.

209. Helena Brown

To Nana, Macart and John King, I have always said that oil has been a curse for Scotland, just think if it hadn’t been discovered we could be Independent by now, or would we.
    Would Westminster be able to use our exports of food and drink etc as theirs to set against their terrible debts.
    No oil has not been a blessing to us, it would have been a nice short term bonus. Mind, I am sure many here remember when it was the wrong sort of oil, oh you could run an air plane on it but nothing else. Of course it was always running out as well. Sadly there are people out there who believe this tripe.

210. Kalmar

Will the SG commit to more duckponds? People love duckponds! Let’s pick a number out of thin air, and demand they commit to it. 1000! That’s a number.

211. Grizzle McPuss

@ Helena

Many ignorant and duplicitous folks take a view on the oil reserves in order to suit their own agenda or intellectual level.

Hence,

The moment you are born, you are in effect dying.

The moment you start to extract hydrocarbons from a reservoir, it’s depleting.

212. Dorothy Devine

My Godfathers! Hugh K you took me back to my childhood and my maternal Grandfathers “worst/naughtiest” phrase!

Indigo , you fairly cheered up a dismal and disgusting day!

213. galamcennalath

I wasn’t aware of …

http://electionforecast.co.uk

Paints a picture which must truly terrify Lab and Lib in particular! All SLab and Lib do and say must be seen in the context of what this apparently independent model suggests.

And, definitely cheered me up on a wet windy day 🙂

214. Tattie-boggle

When i first read this article( http://www.techradar.com/news/world-of-tech/spider-email-drawing-offered-as-bill-payment-486872 ) i found it so funny i nearly peed my kilt ,but on reading it again it smacks of Scottish Labour LOGIC.

215. Papadox

WHY O WHY does the wonderful ENGLISH BROADCASTING CORPORATION (a wholly own subsidiary of the LONDON ESTABLISHMENT)

Why do they keep hammering the “NORTH SEA OIL” industry, why do they never report the “THE ATLANTIC FIELD’S AND PROSPECTS” is this perchance what their POLITICAL masters in HMG have decreed. Broadcasting ALL bad news and ignore any good news.

216. Kev

@Phil

The UK government’s own DECC predicted the oil price for 2014/15 would be anything from $92 to $132 (the median actually being slightly higher than the SG figure of $110:

https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/212521/130718_decc-fossil-fuel-price-projections.pdf

Also please name a single oil expert/economist who predicted the current slump and do you consider it reasonable to assume oil prices would remain above $100 per barrel given that it had only once dipped below that level since January 2011?:

http://www.nasdaq.com/markets/crude-oil-brent.aspx?timeframe=4y

217. Macart

@ Helena

The oil is and always was, a bonus. 🙂

$10, $50 or $100 a barrel, its a revenue stream we’ve never had access to and still, strangely, we manage to economically outperform all but London itself on these islands.

The oil argument is smoke and mirrors. No one, including the OBR and IFS, predicted this manipulation by OPEC and the global game of chicken being played by the major producers and exporters. What people should be asking is why were our broad shouldered friends in Westminster so unprepared?

Kinda why we’d have set up that oil fund in the first place really. Y’know, for that rainy day scenario? 😉

218. Lollysmum

Papadox says
    ‘Broadcasting ALL bad news and ignore any good news.’

Exactly what theyre doing in England but only so we don’t kick off as they sell it all off to their grubby mates. People believe what they hear from EBC instead of questioning it.

219. Macart

What Kev sez. 😀

My next post would have included the DECC link.

Beaten to the draw.

220. Lollysmum

Sorry last post was about NHS England sell off Duhhhh!

221. Robert Kerr

For your amusement, Enjoy!

A Pentameter of Questions About Infinity

An infinity of infinities,
    How can we best describe uncertain kinds?
    Transcendental numbers uncountable,
    Unimaginable to human minds.
    Can logicians, too, feel the numinous?
    Does mathematics mix with divinity,
    For God is absolute infinity?
    Infinite sets, nondenumerable,
    Infinity nonequinumerous.
    There are more decimal numbers than whole,
    And so they are both innumerable,
    But not equally so? Might we know the rôle
    That infinity plays in consciousness,
    One day? And will anyone find a simple way
    To tell us? Why was it unorthodox
    To accept ‘actual infinity’
    Is the set of infinite entities?
    Did it open the door to paradox,
    Or infinite sets of paradoxes?
    Would you open the door to paradoxes?
    How would you know their true identities,
    If they were sealed up in cardboard boxes?

Alison Houston

222. Fireproofjim

Excellent article in the National today exposing the chameleon policies of Jim Murphy.
    His lies and hypocrisy are there for all to see.
    No other paper has done anything comparable, and that is why we must keep supporting it.

223. Patrick Roden

Phil Robertson says:

15 January, 2015 at 1:19 pm

“Behind all the sophistry, you, like the SG front bench, dodge the question. Rhoda Grant’s question was quite clear – will the SG commit to another 1,000 nurses? Thus far, the silence is deafening”

Sorry Phil, but like a lot of elderly people you have been duped by an MSM that reports something that was not originally offered by Labour, (if your not elderly, I’m afraid your what’s called a ‘low information voter’)

Jim Murphy promised 1000 more nurses than whatever the SNP said they would have, this did not indicate where these nurses came from or if they would be needed by the NHS (more than say doctors or specialist staff).

So any party that was honest and had credibility could enter into this ‘war of lies’ that people like you are duped by, because it would mean that the SNP would be treating the electorate in the same way as Labour are treating you, ie, like chumps.

1000 more nurses than say 200, means that for the SNP to match Labour they have to introduce an extra 1200 in which case Labours pledge is to beat this by 1000 in which case to match Labour, the SNP need to introduce 2,200, Labour then must introduce 3,200 so on and so on.

Of course this must seem confusing to you, if you are indeed a low information voter or so elderly, you only get your news filtered through the MSM, unless you are just another Labour/Unionist drone in which case you are a useful idiot.

Sorry Phil, but thems the facts.

224. liz

I agree that unfortunately, the oil has been a curse for Scotland instead of a bonus because and only because our affairs are run by another country for their benefit and not for Scotlands.

I get really pissed off at the naysayers for their total lack of vision.

They really are the Scottish stereotype of doom and gloom and we cannae dae it.

225. Alex Clark

@Kev

Well said mister, you have to keep Phil on his toes. A man that doesn’t like facts.

Facts have a tendency of proving him wrong.

226. Charles Edward

Health providers are being prepped to treat hospital cases at home.
    Cardiac cases are about to undergo minority report style remote critical care through distance operatives.
    Welcome to the NHS 21st century 2.0 upgrade courtesy of USA emulation patches.

I’ll see your extra nurses and raise you 10 doctors..

227. Charles Edward

Regarding posts here on the topic of falling oil prices.

Perhaps I have got this all wrong but isn’t this all about punishing Putin?
    And risking a massive recession and debt spiral for us as inflation drops?

I just filled my tank and had to doubletake the meter!

Make no mistake.. This is NOT a good thing for us in the longer term.

They are already talking about inventing 1 trillion Euro to stick into the cash register.

I wish I had that programme on my PC!
    What I can’t understand is how one man holds an old polystyrene cup to collect 50p for a cheese sandwich and another man can create 1 trillion Euro at the press of a button.
    The stigma of debt drives people to extremes, what is the real value of the paper in the wallet when people are tortured by it’s absence, and elsewhere it’s being invented at the press of a button.

228. Alex Clark

@Charles Edward

Money in itself is worthless but a nice to have in this reality. The truth is the only thing of any real value is food and shelter.

Just ask any dog.

229. Phil Robertson

Do I understand from what Sandra White and other members of her party have said that they do not welcome the commitment to have an extra 1,000 nurses and that her party will not match that commitment?

230. Andy-B

Taking it to the extreme, isn’t it frightening to imagine a 1000 more Jim Murphy’s.

231. Phil Robertson

The references to what Jim Murphy said are a diversion.

The question is quite clear. “Do I understand from what Sandra White and other members of her party have said that they do not welcome the commitment to have an extra 1,000 nurses and that her party will not match that commitment?”

Why can the SG not come up with Yes or No and ,if the former, give us a number?

232. Paula Rose

Nurse’s uniform dry-cleaned, ironed and starched, latex gloves ready, assorted instruments and implements sterilised along with various needles – are you feeling lucky, Jim?

233. Gary45%

Dribblespew,
    That has to be the word of the week. And here was me thinking the labour party only talked pish and sh*t
    Gary

234. Patrick Roden

Oh dear Phil.

235. Phil Robertson

Kev:

I was not talking about pre-referendum guesstimates. I’m referring to the Scottish government paper of 8th January which is still using a price “,in real terms, of $100 per barrel” i.e. they’re taking a bet on commodity prices.

I prefer public finances to be run on something better than a hedge fund mentality.

236. Robert Harvey

Labour can dream of more nurses running around in circles to fulfil some dogmatic “target”. The truth is Gordon Brown’s new PFI Hospitals are not yet paid for. He negotiated expensive “hire purchase” with a 30 year payback to the private developers. The NHS is broke yet it still has to pay for the new buildings each and every year.

237. Lollysmum

@ Nick Heller

Brilliant- I think I need one of those 🙂 seems to work well for Jim

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.