The Liar

Posted on March 25, 2017 by

Normally the amateur blogger, unqualified would-be economist and unsuccessful dog-food salesman that BBC Scotland and the Daily Record employ on a regular basis to openly troll Yes voters restricts himself, when attacking this site, to crude abuse or smear and innuendo like the below, tweeted on Holocaust Memorial Day last year:

Last night, implausibly, he sank lower.

(We apologise in advance for the playground nature of the “he said she said” which is about to follow – it’s something we usually try to avoid because it’s boring, but this case is so despicable it needs recording as an illustration both of Hague’s cavalier attitude to the truth and his loathsome personal nature.)

This tweet was posted on his timeline at around 10pm, as Hague was busy whining huffily about an article we’d posted earlier in the day exposing an incredibly dishonest column that he’d penned for the Record:

The full text of the supposed tweets can be seen below:

The object, of course, was to embarrass this site and myself as part of the ongoing Unionist campaign of discrediting so-called “GERS deniers”. But when I was shown the supposed tweets they immediately smelled fishy.

The first one contained a clanging grammatical error that I’d never normally make – putting a question mark at the end of the final sentence, which isn’t a question. The number of retweets and likes also seemed enormously high for March 2013, when I’d normally have been doing well to get into double figures.

So I did several searches for text from the tweets, with predictable results.

Nothing matched the criteria. I normally never delete tweets – however “controversial” or potentially embarrassing they may be – for anything other than typos, partly on principle and partly because there’s no point trying to hide stuff on the internet.

But just in case I had in a moment of weakness and forgotten about it, I tried searching for the other half of the supposed conversation in the second tweet, with SNP councillor Mhairi Hunter.

But the only exchange we’d had on 26 November 2013 was about childcare costs, not anything even passingly related to GERS.

I also searched for anything tweeted by Mhairi on that day that my supposed tweet would have made sense as a reply to, drawing another blank.

The most conclusive proof that the tweets were fakes, though, is the fact that Wings had been publishing articles pointing out the flaws in GERS since at least November 2012, four months before the first of the alleged tweets.

Alert readers eventually discovered that the tweets had in fact been faked by a toxic “parody” account linked to Hague’s blog (that Twitter refuse to do anything about, because they’re epically useless). Hague had then posted them in a tweet from, perhaps accidentally, his own account. We wish we could say we were shocked.

(We must note that we can’t be certain Hague is the operator of the “parody” account.)

We’re not holding our breath for a retraction or apology, nor do we expect the BBC or Daily Record to stop using Hague to antagonise Yes supporters by giving hugely disproportionate exposure to a man with no more qualifications or expertise in the field of economics than a random urine-soaked tramp scooped from outside a bus station.

(He’s the Scottish equivalent of UKIP in that sense. It surely can’t be too long before they give him a spot on Question Time.)

Indeed, as we write this BBC Scotland are planning to heinously insult the respected academic and actual genuine expert Professor Richard Murphy by giving Hague parity of esteem with him in a radio debate about GERS.

Wings Over Scotland is the subject of incessant false smears from Unionists in both the social and mainstream media, many of them highly personal in nature, (along with unending torrents of base abuse) because No activists are unable to refute the facts published on the site and fear its dissemination of truth to a huge readership, so they attempt to discredit the messenger instead.

We’ll continue to take it as the massive compliment it is.

1. 25 03 17 03:56

The Liar | speymouth

152 to “The Liar”

1. Geoff Huijer

It is a compliment that they hate you so much for the exact reasons given.

Unfortunately, however, the amount of exposure the media give these kind of useful idiots is both depressing and worrying.
    Sometimes I wonder why any Yes supporters (incl the SNP) even bother going on TV. But this is what we’re up against and we just have to point more people to sites like this.

Keep on going with the excellent work and know you have them scared.

2. Dcanmore

yup, fake Wings account is faking tweets and sending them out to Yoonsphere, KH then republishes said fake tweets, tightly cropped, than passes them off as the Rev’s work.

This is done because KH has a much bigger following (reach) on Twitter than the fake Wings account. One look at fake Wings followers and it’s full of the Yoon ‘Loyal’ anonymous.

Also fake wings sends out tweets to media and Yessers to spread misinformation, these fake GERS tweets above were also sent to Richard Murphy.

Note: the fake tweets have a different typeface to the Twitter norm, similar at a glance but not the same.

3. Ewan Orr

Deleted a tweet once and regretted it over a trivial matter (7 words instead of 6 – you pulled me up) – won’t do it again. But as a matter of principle keep it up.
    Still intrigued that the foremost unionist supporter of GERS is an amateur blogger. Are there any real economists/accountants prepared to support it?

4. Jean Nisbet

I’ll be honest, Stuart: you’re not my favourite blogger but I’m offended on your behalf. Also because Kevin was a student at Islay High School in my time there as a teacher. I can’t remember if I taught him, but if I did I obviously didn’t teach him much.

5. twathater

I can well appreciate that the constant haranguing ,vilification , smears and denigration gets to you or anyone ,but what is more frustrating is that no matter how many times you disprove their rhetoric the donkey brayers keep repeating the same defeated shite .

Would it not be possible to inform twatter that you will not be held legally responsible for any defamation or illegality carried out by the arse account ,and to add a disclaimer to your real account.

Onyway Stu you being Scottish will be used to being vilified but remember you have the stones to withstand it on our behalf

6. Richardinho

I’ll repeat a point I have made several times before on this site: Professional Yoonery is a lucrative business for the unscrupulous and the lazy.

It’s not that there aren’t, or weren’t, those who are sincere and honest in their unionism, but these people have simply been weeded out by a process akin to natural selection: Someone who spends several hours or days doing research on the work that they publish, thinks deeply about their world view, and takes care to remain reasonably consistent, is always going to be ousted by one who does not bother about any of these things – if these things are not a necessary part of the job.

A professional yoon does not need to tell the truth, or be consistent, are say anything really that makes any sense at all: All they need to do to earn their crust is to adopt the correct snarling tone when talking about nationalists.

7. crazycat

I also noticed the typeface difference – in fact I logged back in at 3.45 expressly to check it because it looked so odd and I kept thinking about it.

The author(s) of the parody account also think(s) you might use greengrocers’ apostrophes (“it’s economic case”) and say this:
    “has painstakingly went”.

I suppose part of a good parody is little clues that it could not possibly be real, but perhaps that is crediting the author(s) with too much subtlety.

8. Sandy

Just had a look at Keven Hague’s site. States he has a low tolerance for misreporting & misleading statements.
    WELL, WELL.

9. Kupo

This is serious s***t, Stu. This is basically slandering ones person. Do you think this might be worth taking up with a court for defamation? This bloody trick could be used on anybody, for whatever means. I don’t do twitter but, are you certain the ones in charge of it can’t see to this. At the very least show them this evidence. This, in my view, seems to dangerous to just ignore.

10. Big Al

@Jean Nisbet There must be something in the water on Islay having produced such yoon loons as “Lord” Robertson, proven liar Alistair Carmichael & The lineman for the country Glenn Campbell.
    Still, they make cracking whisky so are forgiven.

On the main point of the dog biscuit purveyor, That’s numberwang!

11. mogabee

You know, I’ve been following Wings for a long time now and thought I’d seen all the lies the feart opposition could drag up from the depths.

But quite honestly, the last few weeks has been particularly low and I’ve stopped counting how many lowlifes I’ve blocked for one reason or another.

This is by far the sneakiest attack yet. To actually go to these lengths shows Hague up for the snivelling wee liar he is. Thank goodness he blocked me, saves me having to do it.

But, it only goes to show the strength of Stu’s arguments and this sites popularity despite even the laughable attacks from our own side.

The outcome of all this? Still the same fantastic articles, more readers and the biggest crowd funder of any blog in Scotland…

Oh well, nobody ever said the road to self determination was going to be easy. 🙂 🙂 😉

12. Johnny

The first tweet (one with date circled in response) sounds more like the argument of someone who thinks GERS answers everything. Do we know of anyone like that?

I know there are people who can work out, from writing patterns and styles whether the same person had written two different things. I wonder if anyone does it for tweets?!?

13. woosie

@Jean Nisbet;

Your failings as a teacher are forgiven. If indeed he was your pupil. If so, I’m not surprised you don’t remember him. He appears to be an underachiever who will repeat any lie, smear of insinuation required of him by his paymasters in order to gain some recognition.

Quite sad, really.

14. Ken500

Call the Police

Or Sue him.

Now is the timid to take action. He is doing it for money, He knows he is lying and so do the rest of them. They are so contemptible . A total con man,who would hold Scotland to Tory/Unionists rule until Scotland is in ruins. Rather than a bright future. There is no words to describe their contempt and betrayal. Fifty years of filthy, lying Labour.

Now Thatcher again but a million times worse. Death destruction and intransigence. Rev Stu you know what you have to do with all the support you need.

No publicity is bad publicity. More readers, more donations and more support for Independence. Rev Stu you are doing so well to call out the lying ignoramouses. More than anyone.

Thanks a Billion. You are wonderful. How do you put up with it. All the lying abuse. You are so smart and amazing.

15. Ken500

Now is the time to take action. Sue him. Fund raise to support it.

Even more readers, donations and support for Independence.

Dishing the dirt is doing your job for you. All the efforts to discredit you is rebounding. Increasing readers, donations and support for Independence.

16. Breeks

So how does the guy get a regular gig on the BBC?

Did they meet at a Convention for Tripe Salesmen perhaps?

17. Ghillie

Isn’t the setting up of that sort of fake twitter site, with the aim to impersonate and thus deliberately mislead and defame, a kind of fraud and actionable?

Now that you’ve made this public wouldn’t Mr Hague continuing to post those tweets in this knowingly and deliberately deceiteful manner also be actionable?

18. Graham

Vile, but at this point (just sighed) hardly unexpected. Expect worse to come. And in the future, do not tip these scum off as to how you tippled the post was fake in the first place. Any chance for them to trip up is a welcome one. And keep up the good work. It’s appreciated. By the right people.

19. Ian MacDonald

Taking false information at face value to deceive the public? Seems to be a bit of a habit with Mr Hague.

20. jimnarlene

Desperate stuff from a cheerleader, of a desperate “campaign”.
    Get back to the day job, that dog food needs pricing.

21. DerekM

Ah the last act of desperation make up some fake twitter posts and try to pass the heat on to someone else,how unionist.

Cut his legs out from under him Rev,no mercy for this lying better together idiot.

22. Camz

Someone is feeling the pressure of the ‘so-called’ Gers deniers.

It’s the same old story. Debate with them and they will run for the hills, only to return with a new tactic.

Last time, we got all the Labour machine could throw at us. Now Labour is all but gone, we’re getting unionist bloggers with a penchant for amateur economics.

It’s one thing to be a blogger with an opinion, and a set of facts (provable or otherwise). It’s another thing for a national broadcaster to give said blogger a platform as any form of legitimate expert on a subject.

Wherever he goes, people should question his qualifications, question his economics experience, and question why he, who is not an economist is right, and Alex Salmond, who IS an economist is wrong.

The media puts much if not all of its story legitimacy into ‘experts’, until the experts don’t agree with the medias’ agenda.

23. Fergus Green

A few posters are suggesting legal action here Stuart and I am sure you will be checking out the practicalities and wisdom of going down this road. If you decide to take it forward, be assured that you can count on a few quid being added to any crowdfunder appeal by this poster.

24. Rookiescot

Deception.
    It is what the union thrives on.

25. Fergus Green

Interestingly, the Wee Ginger Dug has coined a new phrase – ‘GERS Fundamentalists’

https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/

26. Nana

Police recorded 260 cases of alleged electoral fraud in 2016
    http://archive.is/0PY1A

Europe Prepares for Tough Brexit Negotiations
    http://archive.is/I9Tuj

Sterling could fall by another 15% by the end of 2017, says Deutsche Bank
    http://archive.is/I4US3

http://www.theneweuropean.co.uk/top-stories/we_will_keep_marching_for_the_uk_s_future_in_the_eu_1_4947924

27. Smallaxe

“I always say the truth is best even when we find it unpleasant. Any rat in a sewer can lie. It’s how rats are. It’s what makes them rats. But a human doesn’t run and hide in dark places because he’s something more. Lying is the most personal act of cowardice there is.”
    “Nancy Farmer, The House of the Scorpion”

Better than anything that I could think of!

Peace Always

28. Smallaxe

Nana: Good Morning,

Another lovely morning.Thank you for your links.Kettle’s on

Peace Always

29. @boatyjames

Don’t think that he faked them, but stupid to copy and tweet. Anyone who reads your stuff could tell they weren’t written by you. Not your writing style.

30. Nana

Good morning Smallaxe, looks to be a nice day. Lots of links to keep you going for a while as I won’t be here tomorrow.

Brexit and the future of the Scottish & UK economy
    Professor Anton Muscatelli, Principal of the University of Glasgow, assesses the consequences of Brexit scenarios on the future of the Scottish and UK economies.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Er85u-DsU6M&feature=youtu.be

https://ukconstitutionallaw.org/2017/03/24/christina-lienen-why-the-implications-of-no-deal-are-no-mere-exercise-in-guesswork/amp/

http://uk.businessinsider.com/hundreds-of-brexit-negotiator-roles-still-unfilled-2017-3

Journey to YES
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LvMTKT6nta8&sns=tw

31. Lollysmum

Woah-Stuart. Stop & think about this. Look at this as an opportunity. Hague has been caught out using fake tweets to make you look bad & ruin your credibility with yessers.

OK You may upset some poor timid wee souls occasionally but basically you are honest & where you step out of line you ‘cough’ to it & apologise. Everyone forgets that the person who never made a mistake has yet to be born.

If you do nothing this will get worse in that they will do the same to others who stick their heads above the parapet. They won’t have your resources or technical expertise to spot the fakes intended to ruin their credibility.What would be the personal fallout for those victims?

Think of the publicity this could bring to the site & the cause. No such thing as bad publicity Mr Campbell 🙂

I’d be more than happy to contribute to a crowdfunder because yoons know if they can knock you out of the battle then everyone else remaining are soft targets.

Go for it 🙂

32. Bob Mack

Never ever heard you defending GERS. You have pointed out that they are they are the only figures available, but never never never have I seen you indicate they were either accurate or watertight.

This fight is gonna get dirty.

33. Ken500

Re Oil price – tax – production. North Sea. Example (not factual but representative)

If Oil price is $100 a barrel. The UK tax is i.e. 70% ie 50% (half of production goes to themGov) + 20% supplementary.

The Oil company gives $70 of the $100 to the Gov and retain $30 a barrel. I.e. E.g. $20 is costs of production. Wages, overheads maintenance, catering, transports cost, supply costs etc. Leaves $10 for profits, – money for reserves. For cash flow. keep borrowing down, dividends etc. Oil producers keeps viable. Employs many people (on relative good salaries) less Oil & Gas needs to be imported than otherwise and keeps balabce of payments and deficit down. Large tax revenues go to the Gov.

Oil price falls to $60 dollars a barrel. The tax remains at 70%. 70% of $60 is (approx) $43 which would have to go to the Gov. That leaves $15 for production costs and profit. Not enough to make it viable. No production or the company will go bankrupt.

The tax needs to be taken down. To get down cost to make production viable and give tax revenues to the Gov. Keep production and jobs.

The tax is taken down to 40%. To make the industry viable. 40% of $60 is 2/5. = $24. Take $24 from $60 = $34. Enough to invest, keep reserves and production. Pay off debt incurred because of previous (gov) fiscal management.

If the price falls to $30 dollars a barrel. Tax remains at 40%. 2/5 = €12. Not enough to cover production costs and make a profit to keep viable. Still contractual obligation signed to have to do. Or break contracts not possible. All exploration is stopped. People paid off. Thousand lose their jobs. Disaster. No revenues for the Gov. Future production cut. Companies have to go into reserves to finish off contractual Projects before the price fall. Redundancy payments. People retained stressed and doing three jobs. Company either have to sell off assets or borrow more money or both. To survive or go bankrupt. Overseas earning used to plug the gap.

$30 a barrel. If the tax had been taken down to 20% (never has) 1/5. of $30’= $6. Take $6 from $30 = $24 enough cover (cut) costs, to keep production retain jobs, still revenues (less) go to the Gov. Less Oil & Gas has to be imported. Keeping down the balance of payments and the debt.

If the price goes up again the tax can be increase and more revenues (as a proportion can go to the Gov again)

6 jobs Osbourne did do that take down the tax 60% to 80% when price had fallen 75%.

Took it down to 60% – no enough in relation to price per barrel. The price per barrel did go up but not enough in relation to tax to make it viable. Until the tax was taken down to 40% Jan 2016. Price had gone up to $45 a barrel. 2/5 of $45 = $18. $45 minus $18 = $37. Enough to cover production but funds must be put into reserves, borrowing (to keep going when prices are low) Pay off high overdraft. Start to reinvest in production. It is an extremely slow process. To bring production up again and cut costs. As well. Gov starts to get revenues stream again.

Boom and bust. Instead of smooth reliable industry because of Westminster’s total mismanagement.

Figures are an example. Not technically as has happened but an example. The $ has to be change into £ according to the exchange rate at the time of exchange. Affects figures and results.

It is no one’s (economic) interests world wide to have Oil prices high. It puts up all prices and the cost if living. It can be more advantageous to Oil (country) producers, but still swings and roundabouts to some extent. Any profits should definitely be invested in an investment fund. If possible not spent on short term benefits,

There is still a need to invest in other cleaner, safer cheaper renewable sources. So alternative sources are available. So people, industry can change over and more adequate and relative sources will be available. While keeping emission targets on course and lowering for all humanity. With international agreement. Fossil fuel reliance will go down. The world population will peak soon all over the world. Free contraception methods. Worldwide. People will chose to have less children.
    Absolute poverty in the world is in the decline and are estimated to be eradicated by ten years time.

Waste still plays a part. Big time. They are more obese folk in the world than starving. Efforts must be made immediately to help the starving in drought plagued warring regions. Illegal wars by the West stopped and a solution in Gaza/Palestine. Even if it is forced on intransigent. .

34. Socrates MacSporran

GERS Fundamentalists – they seem as stupid as the (Ran)Gers Fundamentalists, who refuse to count any Scottish League titles won by teams which included Roman Catholics such as Mo Johnston and Lorenz Amoruso.

Its the running order of the letters mental which give them away.

35. Ken500

Sorry about the length of post. Did not realise.

36. Breeks

@boatyjames says:
    25 March, 2017 at 7:49 am
    “Don’t think that he faked them, but stupid to copy and tweet. Anyone who reads your stuff could tell they weren’t written by you. Not your writing style.”

He is still posting false defamatory information. If it isn’t true, then that’s a matter between Keverage and his source, and doesn’t excuse the defamation. Nobody forced Keverage to tweet anything, he did so at his own volition, indeed he “whistles nonchalantly”. Definition of nonchalance is casual, without care or concern. Dangerous business dropping smears nonchalantly, you really should make sure of the facts with appropriate diligence or simply don’t smear.

Be a neat “get out of jail free” card in defamation cases if you quoted a faked tweet to get yourself off the hook. Tweet yourself the smear, then broadcast it widely with impunity. I would hope the law is a little bit more sophisticated than that.

If Hague can be sued for defamation, he can sue the spoof website to get his money back,… on his own time. But if I was him, I’d move rather fast with a retraction and grovelling apology. It might cut more ice.

37. Reluctant Nationalist

@ Kupo

Since it’s in writing it’s libel, but you’re right about the defamation part. And what a fantastic nation we live in for the wealth of options on how to deal with that sort of thing.

Stu, you might want to check if this has legs. It just might do, what with the link to chokkablog. He’ll deny it, but I reckon there’ll be some witchcraft that can find the details of the creator of that account. Vestas might know.

When I picture Kev right now, I think Hudson from Aliens put it best.

“You’re dogmeat pal.”

38. Robert Louis

This is a very interesting development. That this person, who the unionist media like to pretend is an economist, is now so desperate (and in my opinion, childish) to resort to these screenshots of FAKE tweets, is a new low. The holocaust memorial day tweet he sent is nothing short of disgrsceful, and for that reason alone he should be sidelined by the media.

That he fooloshly argues with a professor on the subject, exposes a great deal about how absurd his rationale really is.

Surely, if he had a watertight case, his figures alone would withstand scrutiny, but NO, they do not, as we have just recently seen.

My thinking is we maybe have a person riding on an ego trip, who unionists have been praising to high heaven, now exposed for what he really is. His ‘economics’ arguments are no more sound than any I might care to make (with or without graphs), and I openly confess to knowing nothing about the subject.

This is what unionists have come to. They have no rational arguments, so are now just regularly and openly lying, as Ruth Davidson does. Of course the media does not question her or other unionists lies, and indeed often gives them legitimacy by repeating them.

Unionists, let’s go back to basics, if you want me as a pro indy person to want to stay in the union with England, tell me the positive case for the English union. What are the benefits of this union with England, whereby a Parliament in, and dominated by, England makes decisions for the people of Scotland?

N.B Scottish MP’s make up less than 9% of the total at Westminster, and can be outvoted on any subject at any time by solely English MP’s.

39. Ken500

Some of the GERs will be accurate. Some of the taxes gathered in Scotland for specific areas/purposes) through Scottish tax centres before it is sent on, if HMRC will disclose the figures. It can be checked against computer records. If HMRC centres are still available. Those staff are paid by UK Gov, relatively few (pro rata) uK civil servants. That is a cost that will have to be borne but the advantages far outweigh the costs,. Spending and the way the funds are spent, to what purpose, is just as important. If not more.

40. Orri

This time it’s a deliberate falsification. Others though and a single tweet out of context is never enough to prove anything. It could, for example, be a deliberate repetition of what seems to those involved in a conversation to be a mocking summary of a position neither of them actually holds.

A related example would be the off quoted “Once in a Generation” pish. I’ve seen one clip where Sturgeon explains that she agrees with it as far as experience showing that in general independence referenda don’t happen that often. But when goes on to say that it’s not up to her, the SNP or anyone else. Other than the electorate of Scotland to determine the timing of another. If anything that caveat might have persuaded some potential YES voters to give Westminster a chance to sort things.

The nonsense about Legal Advice regarding the EU also relied on ignoring context.

I suspect the right back from the Yooniverse will be attempts at quoting real Tweets out of context. No doubt there’s plenty to choose from.

41. Brian McHugh

That is disgusting and cowardly.

42. Muscleguy

@Ken500

Length didn’t bother me, but your modelling looks sound to me.

Dundee is the home port for mobile drilling rigs, they come here for maintenance and repair and to be mothballed. They might stay for several months. We have had 3 here doing nothing for over a year now.

At least with the digital switchover they aren’t denying folk in the suburbs above them Channel 5 reception like they used to. Not much loss you might say, and me too, but each to their own. Someone must watch it.

43. Ken500

Islay Holy water. More likely it is the Masons. Secret society right up to the Tory Royals. The interfering ‘psycho bastards’ and the sychophants breeders off shoots in Westminster Parliament of total abuse and secrecy. Killing their own vulnerable citizens, illegally.

44. paul gerard mccormack

Please put down a legal marker. So far and no further. Funding would not be an issue. It also takes ‘opinion’ – ‘he said, she said’ out of it all and moves the argument onto a far more serious arena. The calling out of ‘Black-ops’ is worth fighting for.

45. Capella

Someone should warn Prof Richard Murphy that, if he is engaged in a telephone discussion on R Scotland, his “line” will mysteriously drop at crucial points in the discussion. That will allow KH to waffle on unchallenged while the fault is “fixed”.

46. Socrates MacSporran

Grouse Beater has put up a couple of cracking posts this morning, while Wee Ginger Dug has also put up a corker.

We have some very good commentators on the Independence side, while the Yoons have Archie McPherson.

Aye, It;s an ill-divided world, as my sainted Mother used to tell me.

47. Breeks

This once in a lifetime / generation is a load of pish too.

If I won the lottery, I’d describe it as a once in a lifetime opportunity. If I subsequently won it again, Unionist logic seems to think the second opportunity is improper and I’d be obliged to give the money back, rather than accept my once in a lifetime good fortune turned out to be twice in a lifetime.

Can we maybe crowdfund a campaign to find a semi-intelligent grownup who can at least make Unionism sound coherent and just a little plausible? I don’t want them to draw any advantage of course, but if this is truly the caliber of the Unionist campaign, it’s going to be a very loooong and numbingly tedious summer.

48. Quentin Quale

Well, it can’t be long before Kev flounces off Twitter for a few weeks. I’ll go for 3.30 this afternoon in the sweep!

49. Reluctant Nationalist

Oh yeah, and I echo Fergus Green’s sentiment, Rev.

50. Ken500

Can’t believe what is written by so called expert economist and Press ignoramouses. They don’t know the first thing about business, tax relationship to cost and production. They all just blame the price and market forces. Not the relationship to Gov fiscal policies. The limited knowledge is just so completely unbelievable. A bit of industry knowledge and 20mins on UK/Scottish Gov accounts tax revenues rates i.e. HMRC records would give these ‘experts’ everything they need to reveal the relationship of price/ to tax and how that affects an industry. Any industry or industrial efforts. I.e. any industry, service provided.

Dundee is getting major investment in decommissioning. The port mouth is large enough and the facilities or all available. Large warehouse areas around the Docks. In approx a year it will all be set up. It is one going. There are major (Oil) waste disposal (Scottish based) involved at the moment. The funding and facilities are all available and are being put in place. Major jobs boost. Other places in Scotland are being utilised as well. Oil industry will gradually recover after the total mismanagement by UK Gov. Oil company decommissioning is totally tax free. Apart from indirect tax on wages, profits, IN contributions etc. To boost recovery and economy. Supply chain affects as well.

51. Reluctant Nationalist

@ Socrates MacSporran

Cheers for alerting me to Grousebeater’s new blog post (I trust you mean the ‘Don’t come to Scotland’ one). Loved it.

52. Craig P

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Except on Twitter – where the obsessive hatred of your enemies is the highest compliment.

53. Macart

Jeez, that’s desperate stuff from Mr H****.

No. I think we’ve gone well beyond desperate to childish and petulant. On this behaviour he’s given credence by the media why precisely?

54. Scott

@Jean Nisbet;
    So this must have been the time he was at school but I don’t understand the other dates could you give an update.

Kevin Hague | LinkedIn
    Education

Islay High School

1990 – 1996

University of Strathclyde

Beng: Top First, Mechanical Engineering, First Class Honour

1984 – 1989

55. Mike

Oh dear oh dear. I think it would be a good idea to coordinate a call to the BBC and DR to stop using Hague as a “Economic”/”Political” punter in future based on his clear and undeniable lack of credibility morality judgement and honesty.

Of course this could easily backfire and may in fact make him more attractive to these institutions and will bring him to the attention of the Daily Heil and Torygraph.

56. Marcia

They are worried when they have to fake things.

57. sinky

Jill Stephenson in Hootsman letter pages this morning citing a Pet Food Salesman as having trashed Prof Murphy’s comments on GERS

58. Mike

Stu

You should check the Parody account and see if he has made any prior contributions to it.
    That way he cant deny he wouldn’t have recognised it when he happened to stumble across it on his way to his mums account.

59. Socrates MacSporran

reluctant nationalist @ 9.03am

You’ve got it in one, the Trump post is also very good.

-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x

I have just been on Phil Mac Giolla Bhain’s site; if you want to keep abreast with the Ibrox soap opera, that’s the place to go.

PMGB mentions the Dunning-Kruger Effect in regard to ongoing events at Rangers, it struck me, this also comes into play with our dear friend “Dugmeat”.

Off-topic, there use to be a member of Irvine Rugby Club, a particularly vociferous supporter, who was a chef. His nickname was “Dugmeat”. He had, however, mair idea of economics that oor Kevin.

60. Mike

And only 2 more years of this to go.

Buckle Up.

61. galamcennalath

Let’s face it, they don’t have much going for this Union thingy of theirs. So you can understand them latching onto GERS as something which superficially supports their position.

Then come along both neutrals and Yessers who start to pick gapping holes in GERS.

Now, with Brexit, there is no positive case for their Union, yet many still hang on to their comfort blanket.

When we reach the stage where all that is left is to fabricate evidence and lie about it, we know we have won!

62. slackshoe

Another article you published from around that time that was sceptical of GERS- http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-great-gingerbread-robbery/

63. galamcennalath

Parody economics, parody Twitter…. a pattern emerging?

64. stu mac

@Kupo says:
    25 March, 2017 at 4:43 am
    ============

One wonders what a certain children’s author might do if fake tweets purporting to be made by her were to appear. Maybe someone should ask her?

65. jfngw

If someone can be fooled by a ‘fake’ tweet how can they possibly work out the facts in GERS.

Also good to see an academic rubbish another academic in favour of a dog food salesman who it now has been proved is quite happy to tweet fake info. Possibly Edinburgh Professors aren’t of the quality they used to be.

66. Peter McCulloch

The unionists are unable put forward any coherent or credible case for remaining as part of the UK.

That’s why they have to resort to the politics of the gutter and use underhand tactics of smearing and undermining anyone who stands up to them.

That’s why Stuart Campbell appears to be their No1 target, he puts out the facts that unionists don’t want the people of Scotland to know about.

67. stu mac

@Johnny
    ==========

Likely to be very difficult to test for authorship of tweets as they are by their nature very short. You need a decent amount of text to do that kind of analysis.

68. Macart

@galamcennalath

You could probably add parody empire 2.0 and complete the set. So, yes. Pattern complete.

69. Flower of Scotland

I didn’t think that I could more angry at the media especially that twat K**** H*****

I see that Professor Murphy, saying on twitter, that the BBC hasn’t got in touch with him.

I don’t know how you put up with all this nonsense but they must be very feart.

Go after them Stu, we have your back.

70. Jack Collatin

I look forward to Herald Scotland Sunday’s headline. Is it still peddling the Pro Independence banner?

“Kevin Hague branded ‘A LIAR’ over ‘FAKE TWEETS’ storm.”

The National on Monday should be good :-

“Kevin Hague faces ‘LAW SUIT’ over ‘GERS LIES.”

No?

There must be horrendous ‘division’ over at Herald Towers.
    We are boiling the frog. They are killing themselves.

This self promoting Yoon, and the legion of Yoon apologists who have all at one time or other quoted from the Roden Better Together ‘line to take’ handout, ‘GERS: £15 billion deficit’: ‘10% GDP, raise taxes, cut public services’:’the Scottish people do not want another ‘divisive’ Referendum’: ‘the SNP Government need to get on with the day job.’: ‘the Scottish people voted to stay in the UK’: ‘Nicola Sturgeon said that the Referendum was a ‘once in a lifetime’ event’. etc.,etc.,etc.

Brexit hasn’t even started yet, but the Better Together, Pooling and Sharing Fanatical Yoons are out in full force.

With the absence of any WM Political Muscle, and the Big Beasts gone to collect their pay offs for selling Scotland down the river, the BBC seems to have taken up the mantle as the Hub of Yoonism.

The Yoon Stockade, the last redoubt, Rourke’s Drift, The Alamo, Mafeking, the Brit MSM portray themselves as honest brokers, recorders of events, and for their troubles, are portrayed as the bloodied but not beaten Defenders of Empire 2.

We can look forward to the BBC Scotland Turbo Charged, set your light pens to ‘deadly force’, guys.

Severin Carrell of the Guardian, circ 9600, Lindsay McIntosh of the Times, circ. 18,600, will join Toodle Oo The Noo, every week at FMQ casting their pearls of dumbdom among the Great Unwasked Jocks, the Yoon Version of too wee too poor Scotland, and Catherine MacLeod, David Torrance, Tom Gordon, Kevin Hague, and any number of nobodies who are Chief Executives of some obscure PR Group, or Stink Tank, but who coincidentally used to be involved in the Yoon Circle will be on our screens or pollute our airwaves.
    Beattie, Roberston, Brewer, Campbell, Bird, Magnusson, Fraser, Kaye with an ‘e’, will trundle along for the next two years, inviting Rennie, Dugdale, Davidson, Tomkins, Baillie, and, during April, Frank the Pieman, and the usual dinosaurs, Magret Curran, Gordo Broon, and Jim Sillars, to tell the world what a wee shitehole Scotland is.
    I apologise if I offend the sensitivities of some of your readership, Stu. But there is no longer room for Blair Jenkins style politeness.
    WE are is a fight to the death. It is not a ‘political campaign. We fight for our very survival as a nation. It is that stark.
    WGD has coined:-‘ GERS Fundamentalists’. ‘Who put the ‘mental’ in fundamentalists?
    We are at war now. A war of words, ideas, and morals.
    Sue the bastard, Stu.
    I’ll have one boiled egg instead of two to chip in my meagre contribution.

71. Shamur

You,re clearly doing a great job Stu. So are these kev type idiots…..new people signing up every day to Indy sites. I’m impressed by those signing up now with still up to 2 years to go. I was late to the party in 2014 and been fully engaged since. Think how many more will come over whilst they do our work for us.

72. stu mac

@Breeks says:
    25 March, 2017 at 6:48 am
    ==========================

More importantly it needs to be widely publicised that the Record and the BBC are making use of a guy who would do this kind of thing. Surely it proves they are employing/promoting a guy as an “expert” who will lie and commit fraud to try to prove his point.

73. Capella

Some light relief – good article by Pat Kane in The National on Universal Basic Income and the benefit to Scotland we might create in the post fake GERS era:

https://archive.is/fRKXz

74. Effijy

He seems to think that he is ReignGERS

Born to Reign over us Sloppy and Laborious

Is he an O.B.E. ?
    Obnoxious Blogger for England.

This psychopath really is Pedigree Chump!

The Daily Redcoats and the EBC are not fit
    for human consumption

For the Pet’s sake, I just hope his dog food
    Has more legitimate ingredients.

75. Mike

Borg Queen: Hey! You! Four eyes. You been probed yet?

K H***E: Eh Yes indeed your truthfulness. I actually couldnie wait so ah volunteered.

Borg Queen: Really? Awright well so what do you dae aroond here.

K H***E: I tell folk how brilliant it is to be probed. In fact Ive made a graphic representation of the process here.

Borg Queen: What the Fuck!! Mother of God! Tell me you don’t actually show that to folk in public?

K H***E: Er Em Ah can always say a big boy did it and ran away?

76. Dorothy Devine

As far as his juxtapositioning is concerned , has he not noticed that eagles don’t have long flayling tails and normally fly free of swastikas ?

To all those aiming at the lying ,manipulating BBBC tomorrow , have a good and safe day. Sorry I won’t be with you – it being Mothering Sunday I am being ‘mothered’by my youngest.

Somebody give Ronnie a hug from me!

77. alwi

Well, a new low, who would have thunk it?

I would hang back on going legal unless incontrovertible proof of the actors involved is obtained. It could be an ‘op’ with the aim of depleting your funds.

Just ‘cos you’re paranoid, does not mean they are not out to get you.

78. Croompenstein

kevverage is just a useful idiot for the state and they are using him but he is too wrapped up in himself to see it. He is promoted well beyond his remit on the BBC and DR to make him seem a reliable and trusted source. He will be dropped by the state like a hoat tattie as soon as we win our independence. Then him and the missus can greet some more..

79. mike cassidy

Can’t remember if this has ever been posted on Wings –

but for those who wish an insight into Kevin Hague, the man,

http://archive.is/wxuMt

The article has one comment under it – by Kevin Hague.

Guess that last paragraph didn’t work for him!

80. Robert Peffers

@Richardinho says: 25 March, 2017 at 3:14 am:

“I’ll repeat a point I have made several times before on this site: Professional Yoonery is a lucrative business for the unscrupulous and the lazy.”

All very true, Richardinho, but you slipped up in the very last statement – You did not differentiate between the kind 0f, “Nationalists”, the lazy & unscrupulous, Yoonerists sneer and snarl at. One is left to decide if it is the civic and outward looking Scottish seekers of independence or the beneath contempt blood & soil vile Britnats.

81. Valerie

Lying is far and away my most hated trait in people. I understand little white lies, like yes your hair/dress/shirt is gorgeous, when you feel revulsion. These are said so as not to hurt feelings or upset a friend.

Lying to conceal information of import, or impugn a character, are the lowest of the low. I think it’s probably what got me involved in actively supporting Independence.

People lie because they have a weak character, they have a weak case or they live in their own fantasy.

82. K1

He knowingly posted these fake tweets Knowing they were fake. He can’t get around that ‘fact’.

His ‘intent’ to smear is ‘watertight’. Sue the nyaftwit.

83. SOG

I don’t comment often, but if there’s a need for contributions for a legal case, count me in.

That article about Ken says he’s a director at Endura, the sports clothing supplier. If that’s still true are they going to be embarrassed?

84. ScottishPsyche

Wow! just catching up with all of this. How on earth can John Beattie justify having this person on as any kind of expert? Beattie’s credibility is completely shot. We saw how Hague dismissed and denigrated Murphy as a person when faced with a real argument. Now this – he and his followers are all to ready to use anything to smear. For someone who supposedly prides themself on their attention to detail, this shows hasty jumping to conclusions without scrutiny or due diligence.

Murphy may argue that the estimates are not only useless but misleading and Hague will argue they are not because…?

Does Hague have access to the UK Treasury? Has he given evidence to Select committees as an expert? Of course not, he should be dismissed for what he is – a blogger with a politically motivated obsession. Yet the BBC are allowing him a platform. Why not have someone actually involved in compiling the statistics?

85. manandboy

Excellent, Stu. Whichever path you choose to take with this, you can be assured of massive support.

Hague – why does he do it. Well, he will be getting enormous emotional wages as his ego is constantly being massaged. He will also gain hugely from the knowledge that his tribe will count him a hero. But, even with these in place, he wouldn’t do it for free. It’s the money – and as the last five years have shown, there are plenty in Scotland who are more than willing to betray Scotland for a fee. Judas never had so many like him.

86. Lenny Hartley

What is is about Islay for producing full on idiotic Yoons ? Hague, Carmichael and devo will kill
    Indy Robertson , Is there any more? Maybe research should be done to find out if being in close proximity as a child to the Angels Share fries your brain!

87. Robert Peffers

@woosie says: 25 March, 2017 at 6:33 am:

“He appears to be an underachiever who will repeat any lie, smear of insinuation required of him by his paymasters in order to gain some recognition.”

Let’s face it, woosie, the ones who, “repeat any lie, smear of insinuation required of him by his paymasters”, are not the real bad guys. The paymasters are.

However, I believe, but may be wrong, that we stand now at a watershed line as support for independence hovers around the 50% mark. On crossing that line the tipping point will be reached where the return for lies, misinformation, omission of facts and sneers becomes counter productive for the Yoons.

By the very nature of tipping points the dribble of new indy supporters will trigger a landslide and a very rapid change in the demographics that will sweep away unionism as the avalanche gathers the weight of support and the speed of a steeper descent.

88. T.roz

Lenny Hartley,

Islay produces some prominent unionists because the vast majority of islay is owned by a tiny amount of absentee landowners, so it is ripe grovelling territory. And yes, some of the distilleries have strong unionist leanings.

But despite this, islay is solid ‘yes’, our heap of ballots counted in 2014 showed an “emphatic yes vote”

89. Les Wilson

Rev, regarding suing this twat, I hope you do after due diligence of course.
    Seems to me you could make a wee fortune over the next 2 years, straight from the misc Yoon nutters.

90. HandandShrimp

The parody account is remarkably dull. The parody Alistair Darling account, for example, was notable for its satire and at times hilarious posts. This is just a “I am right I’ll say it pretending to Stu” account. Without the humour it is all a bit silly really.

It is fairly clearly not Stu though.

91. ClanDonald

Sorry if I’ve misunderstood events, but surely Hague must have photoshopped out the underscore at the end of the fake wingsscotland_ handle for it to have appeared as a screenshot from the real wings account?

In which case he knew fine well it was fake?

If so he is a despicable liar, caught red-handed manipulating information.

He claims on twitter to have been ‘duped’ by the parody account, but how could he have taken a screen shot of a handle with an underscore then posted it on his account without one?

92. Steffano

Funny how they never attack this site in the printed press.Well not really,we all know they could never allow a site of this quality anywhere near the masses,just wouldn’t be cricket old chap.
    Their not stupid for to do so they would be giving wings free advertising.Would be good to know how many people who have access to the Internet and those who don’t are aware of this site.A poll perhaps?The information on this site is political gold.

93. Iain More

The Yoon hate bombs show no sign of running out.

94. Roddy Macdonald

@Mike Cassidy

“– although divorced now –”

Possibly the least surprising phrase ever written. The poor woman!

95. ScottieDog

Does this mean I am qualified to go on BBC GMS?
    I have as many economic qualifications as the dog food guy but just a bit more understanding of how the economy actually works.

The fact that KH is the ‘go to’ guy regarding the Scottish economy is a damning indictment of the BBC.

96. heedtracker

Well spotted and now its Kev’s very creepy apology too, m’lud.

Tory Scotland is such a strange world.

97. Liz g

T.ros @ 11.37am
    Thanks for posting that information.
    It’s good to be reminded how other areas voted,as ye tend to forget over time what the figures were.

98. Proud Cybernat

‘GERS fanatics’. Or is that another bunch?

99. Reluctant Nationalist

The underscore – please tell me there’s no way to hide that other than editing the tweet as an image. PLEASE.

100. ScottieDog

This is from one of a handful of economists who predicted the global financial crisis..

“A sovereign government in a fiat monetary system has specific capacities relating to the conduct of the sovereign currency. It is the only body that can issue this currency. It is a monopoly issuer, which means that the government can never be revenue-constrained in a technical sense (voluntary constraints ignored). This means exactly this – it can spend whenever it wants to and has no imperative to seeks funds to facilitate the spending.

This is in sharp contradistinction with a household (generalising to any non-government entity) which uses the currency of issue. Households have to fund every dollar they spend either by earning income, running down saving, and/or borrowing.

Clearly, a household cannot spend more than its revenue indefinitely because it would imply total asset liquidation then continuously increasing debt. A household cannot sustain permanently increasing debt. So the budget choices facing a household are limited and prevent permanent deficits.

These household dynamics and constraints can never apply intrinsically to a sovereign government in a fiat monetary system.

There is also a sharp distinction between a state within a federal system (which uses the federal currency and has no central banking capacity) and a truly sovereign national government.

A sovereign government does not need to save to spend – in fact, the concept of the currency issuer saving in the currency that it issues is nonsensical.

A sovereign government can sustain deficits indefinitely without destabilising itself or the economy and without establishing conditions which will ultimately undermine the aspiration to achieve public purpose.”

(The above is why I never even waste my time contesting GERS but im assuming a Scottish sovereign currency of course.)

101. Patrick Roden

“Ignorance is no defence in Law”

I’m not sure if this is a true reflection of how defamation law works or just another ‘bar room lawyers’ quote that sounds good but is complete bollox, but if this is true then KH is surely hanging his coat on a shoogly peg.

He is attacking a man who earns big money BECAUSE his followers believe he is a man of integrity who they can trust, and so are willing to help fund him in return for him providing honest journalism. T

his attack on Revs integrity or honesty, is designed to damage Rev’s business and personal reputation for honesty and therefore KH had a responsibility to make sure any information he published about Rev was accurate.

There are plenty of examples of people attempting to discredit Rev including misquoting something he has said (or rather taking something that, if viewed in context, was obviously sarcasm expressed to make a point.) so KH knows that if he simply repeats a claim he has saw on the web, he has a good chance of repeating lies or smears about Rev and will be a party to the defamation of his character. If a court was to look at this case, I’m sure they would look at KH, and whether it could be argued with a degree of certainty that he is of sufficient intelligence and experience to know this to be the case.

I am sure that KH has repeated this tweet, knowing that it was a lie or at least not taking any (provable) reasonable steps to find out if the tweets were true and so has damaged Revs reputation and in turn done potential harm to revs stated business interests.

Sue Him, it’s all great publicity…and we all love a good court case on Wings!

102. Thepnr

@ScottieDog

The fact that KH is the ‘go to’ guy regarding the Scottish economy is a damning indictment of the whole Unionist movement.

103. carjamtic

An honourable man,would immediate apologise,firstly to Stuart and then to the citizens of Scotland (would it not be in everyone’s interest if the well heeled gentleman,could just return quietly to his day job ?).

This hobby of his,is making the democratic process more acrimonious than it need ever be,people do not like to witness these vulgar displays of self inflicted nooky badges,even if displayed in a smart casual,open necked shirt,twitter account avatar,it is plainly obvious to all,that no nooky ever took place and this is merely the (self administered) badge of the dishonourable man.

I must point out that I feel no sense of disappointment towards his sponsors,I lowered the level of ‘honesty expectations’ with regards to the MSM/BBC/Tory politicians of all colours,to zero,a long time ago having witnessed (on too many occasions) that they indeed,have no shame.

Dog food salesmen on the other hand,had them right up there on a pedestal,such a ray of light,such a beacon of hope,to witness such a highly valued professional,fall from cloud two,is a real game changer,in the context of the Indy debate it’s every bit as shocking as the Lance Armstrong moment,I mean,who would have thought.

We are all just have to take a ‘time out’ to process this,I mean what pleasure is to be had,witnessing someone up shit creek without a paddle,we should take the time to reflect on this.

I guess the only thing left is the now traditional vow,the declaration of intent to leave the country,to join the network of the other displaced,dishonourable sales people,(where they auction off their pre-loved,well worn peacock costumes for charity).

On the bright side however,if the fake polls and the fake pie charts are to be believed and all the indications are high,he will receive a real (limited edition,’ermined’) nooky badge,let’s hope so and for all our sakes,let’s hope it doesn’t leave a smear,that may or may not have to be quickly deleted from social media.

;-j

104. heraldnomore

Glenn Campbell – one of Islay’s less savoury exports

105. heedtracker

Going down swinging though, what a fool he is.

Kevin Hague? @kevverage 3h3 hours ago
    More
    If you’re curious as to why cybernats are out in force against me, here’s a clue – they know they’ve been rumbled

106. heedtracker

All the good grace of the gutter too, shock.

Kevin Hague Retweeted
    Kevin Hague? @kevverage 16h16 hours ago
    More
    Responding to SNP’s GERS deniers: when facts are your enemy, confusion and doubt are your friends

107. heedtracker

He is an odd lad. Remember everyone, they go low, we go high. Tories know no depths either.

Kevin Hague? @kevverage 3h3 hours ago
    More
    (10/10) to coin a Wings usage: I must note that I can’t be certain Stuart Campbell is the operator of the “parody” account

108. Ronnie

I believe Kevin 100%, he saw something he wanted to believe and went with it. This is entirely consistent with his GERS analysis…. as Mr Murphy has been patiently trying to point out.

109. DerekM

@ ScottieDog

You are over qualified to be on the TV Scottie plus you might melt their collective single brain cell with economic facts and truths.

Not much of an apology from Kev for a deliberate and calculated smear that totally backfired on him.

If anything it was even more insulting than the fake tweets,tell him to get lost Rev and screw his little chicken nuggets to the wall.

110. Robert Peffers

@Robert Louis says: 25 March, 2017 at 8:18 am:

” This is a very interesting development. That this person, who the unionist media like to pretend is an economist, is now so desperate (and in my opinion, childish) to resort to these screenshots of FAKE tweets, is a new low.”

Good post, Robert Louis, but I have to take issue with your ending gambit – “N.B Scottish MP’s make up less than 9% of the total at Westminster, and can be outvoted on any subject at any time by solely English MP’s.”

The descriptions, “Scottish MPs make up less than 9%”, and “can be outvoted on any subject at any time by solely English MP’s”, is rather misleading and in need of better explanation.

In the First place both lots on MPs are legally, “United Kingdom Government MPS”, as there is no such entity as either Scottish or English MPs in the House of Commons.

To illustrate that point Winston Churchill, at one point, Winston Churchill was MP for Dundee after a by-election in 1908. He retained that Dundee seat until 1922.

All Westminster members are United Kingdom MPs no matter their country of origin and by parliamentary rules even people from The Republic of Ireland and Commonwealth countries can stand as candidates in any HOC constituency.

In theory at least any elected member of the HOC could be a Scot or could support Scottish independence.

My point being that what Westminster legally is and how Westminster actually is are two quite different matters.

This is in fact the best reason ever for Scottish independence for Westminster illegally runs itself as the de facto parliament of England but is legally the parliament of the whole United Kingdom.

There are NO such things as individual country representatives in the commons. Yet the commons runs EVEL which is thus obviously an illegal abuse of power.

111. Robert J. Sutherland

That “equivalencing” tweet of Dogfood’s is surely a visual expression of Godwin’s Law.

Vaguester, you lose!

(As if it wasn’t already blindingly obvious to all except the Daily Record and the BBC.)

112. Patrick Roden

Update! Update!

The BBC’s go too man, has now publicly admitted he was fooled by a parody account!

The BBC accountant expert, and all round guy who can be relied upon, has said that he has been duped by someone who may have been trying to entrap him and wrote that someone will be ‘celebrating in their bedsit right now’

Q for Kevin…Do you think there may be a chance that someone who has an interest in showing Scotland up as a financial basket case, may have fooled you in the same way that this person sitting in their little bedsit has?

Do you think that perhaps Whitehall with all its resources, may have duped you into becoming their ‘Silver bullet’ to shoot Scottish self determination with, as this little bedsit dweller who hates Wings has used you?

Advertisement for the Scottish Media:

Are you easily fooled? if yes, why not go to the man who has lead the way in this field recently.. Duppedy Kev.

Duppedy Kev will provide you with the statistics that no self respecting accountant ever would…AND the dope will go on the record (and in the Record) even appearing on national TV, to do it!

He will argue against respected accountants, and do so with a straight face! the man is a gem for any dishonest media outlet.

So what are you waiting for…get on the phone to Duppedy Kev and get free quotes (dishonest of course) and he will throw in one of his well known Charts.

As one political leader once put it “For God sake Kev, show them your charts”

113. Lenny Hartley

T.rox cheers, our Islay bred Distilliary main man is a Yoon ! So that figures gotta say he is a good guy despite his political leanings.

On another matter
    I hear Ukips only MP Carswell has quit UKIP basically saying that as they won the EU referendum there increasingly irrelevant bet that doesn’t stop Farage getting heaps of BBC airtime.

114. LesWilson

In the 2017 World happiness report.
    Here’s a look at the top five:

1.Norway (Score 7.54)

2.Denmark (Score 7.52)

3.Iceland (Score 7.50)

4.Switzerland (Score 7.49)

5.Finland (Score 7.47)

Looks like small European countries have it!

115. Artyhetty

No time to read most comments yet, but I am really not surprised at this level of fraudulent activity against WoS.

It was and is clearly aimed at those not familiar with WoS, especially on twitter. Like all unionist rags, it is aimed at the folks who take it for gospel, and who do not question their masters. Makes you wonder if ‘news’, organised and orchestrated by those in positions of power, has ever been anything other than propaganda.

116. geeo

Sent to Daily Record via email, won’t hold my breath for reply.
    …….
    “Is the editor of the Daily Record aware that his columnist, Kevin Hague is posting FAKE tweets from a FAKE Wings Over Scotland account to deliberately mislead people ?

Hague KNOWS the account he is re tweeting is FAKE, yet continues to do so.

Also, his article trying to rubbish a well respected EXPERT on GERS recently was cringeworthy at best, and ABSOLUTELY DISHONEST at worse.

Kevin Hague is a LIAR, and the Daily Record is a willing vechicle for his lies.

Both of you should be utterly ashamed of yourselves, especially the DR, a paper happy to shaft Scottish people on a daily basis by printing tory propoganda, labour lies and smearing the Scottish people’s representatives of choice.

I am a Yes voter, and i vote SNP in elections, as they are the ONLY main party, other than the Greens, remotely interested in the PEOPLE of Scotland.

The DR used to call itself “the people’s champion”.

That is miles from reality in 2017, now you are “the unionist’s champion”.

The DR should be the leading voice of SCOTLAND in the media, not simply yet another mouthpiece for a failed union, giving column inches to liars like Kevin Hague.

To do so, without even attempting to check the integrity of his input, is a disgraceful dereliction of editorial control.

You should be thoroughly ashamed of yourselves”.

117. yesindyref2

@boatyjames
    I think that’s a fair comment you make. People from both sides of the debate have been caught out by fake tweets and false information. It shows how careful everybody should be before endorsing things that seem to support their cause.

@Richardinho
    The thing is the more extremeness of the anti-indy side has taken over, and is swamping out the sensible, moderate and intelligent people. As a YES I suppose I should be delighted, and I have to admit to smirking a lot, but as a Democrat I’d prefer to see sensible, informed and civilised debate from both sides, to give ordinary voters the choice they need to make their minds up. Ah well, back to reality 🙂

118. yesindyref2

Having done my fair-minded democrat bit now I can relax. I looked at chokka months ago and did consider trying to make a comment on an article or two, but quickly realised the comments would need to be two or three times as long as the long badly constructed articles to actually rip them apart.

Basically changing fron gross or nett figure to per capita and back and chopping and changing units, as well as using out of context. Plus use of what you could call self-proof – make an assertion and use the assertion to prove – something. Kind of like using pounds and ounces, kilograms and then switching between foot poundals and Newtons. Plus throw in a few microfarads for good measure.

Onyways, I then saw with some malicious delight the blogs being quoted by Unionist activists which was great – you knew the source of the mess, and could quickly refute the conclusion from the real data. But then the Record and then the BBC … like wow, man.

The Record is fair enough, it’s someone who writes a column, it’s not the Record point of view, same as when it had a column by Joan McAlpine, Brian Wilson years ago, and Nicola Sturgeon recently. It gives space to different points of view, which is actually fair and balanced, and gives readers the choice.

But the BBC? Why didn’t they have some of their own financial experts check over the blogs thoroughly before presenting him as an expert?

Why didn’t their own financial experts …

… oh.

119. Jack Collatin

The Yoons:- Fake Tweet deniers.

120. Foonurt

Leein basturt. Tae paraphrase thoan aull telly advert,
    “Don’t be Hague, ask for Vague”.

121. yesindyref2

Oh dear, a not really apology from Kevin Hague where after retweeting a tweet which attacks The Rev’s professional life and personal integrity, complains that the Rev is attacking his professional life and personal integrity with this article. Then he suggests that the Rev runs the parody account while complaining that the rev suggested he (Hague) runs the parody account.

You couldn’t make it up – but Average could.

Same style as his articles, right enough – circular non-logic.

122. yesindyref2

Ah there it is, tweets 8 and 10.

https://twitter.com/kevverage/status/845566355550228480

Oh dear.

123. Dan Huil

The Rev obviously has these britnat propagandists on the run. The fact that the bbc consistently offers these britnat propagandists airtime to pollute is worrying if not surprising.

124. yesindyref2

@Dan Huil
    You’ve got to laugh Dan, though I’m starting to feel guilty about getting so much malicious laughs at them.

Oh, no I’m not 😎

As we say in Gaelic “Rache ist suess”.

125. liam

ClanDonald says:

Sorry if I’ve misunderstood events, but surely Hague must have photoshopped out the underscore at the end of the fake wingsscotland_ handle for it to have appeared as a screenshot from the real wings account?

That image must have been in a picture editing software at some point to get the crude red scrawl round the date.

Assuming it was Photoshop and he was on a PC, maybe he accidentally pressed down the M key, held down the left mouse button as he drew a rectangle on a blank white space, right-clicked, selected “New layer By Copy”, then hit the V key and held the shift key down while moving the contents of the new layer a little bit to the left….

…happens to me all the time.

126. Balaaargh

@ClanDonald & Liam

You’re over-complicating it. Assuming H***e can use Photoshop is like assuming he knows how GERS works.

Someone that thick could never graduate beyond Microsoft Paint. “Print+Sc”, open Paint, click Edit–> Paste and then start manually right-clicking and dragging across the underscore to use the default 1-pixel pen with the default second colour of white.

127. The Rough Bounds

yesindyref2. 4.50pm.

”As we say in Gaelic ”Rache ist suess?”

What kind of Gaelic is this? Am I missing a joke here? It’s like no Gaelic that I’ve ever seen. Any chance you could elucidate?

128. HandandShrimp

RB

It is German for “revenge is sweet”…reference the logo thing above 🙂

129. Sinky

It’s all very well seeing through Kevin Hague on Wings but someone has to expose his lack of credentionals on BBC, Daily Record and Scotsman etc or wherever he is held up as some kind of expert on the economics of Scotland or UK.

130. Rock

“We’re not holding our breath for a retraction or apology, nor do we expect the BBC or Daily Record to stop using Hague to antagonise Yes supporters by giving hugely disproportionate exposure to a man with no more qualifications or expertise in the field of economics than a random urine-soaked tramp scooped from outside a bus station.”

Saying it as it is, without fear or favour, is the greatest strength of this site and its author.

Who else in this entire union of two kingdoms has the guts to call the likes of JK Rowling bullies and liars?

Keep it up.

131. William Wallace

Don’t know if I am being moderated or whether there is some other issue but, I have noted that several of my posts in recent times have simply vanished. Not quite sure what is in my post to trigger the filter or for Stu to moderate it.

I posted the following a couple of hours back but can’t for the life of me see why it would trigger the filter or require moderation.

Is there no depths to which they will not plummet?

Attempting to shoot the messenger in this case is akin to closing the stable door after the horse has bolted. Anyone who has followed Stu for any length of time will have no doubt about his integrity and his wholehearted pursuit of truth.

It may fool people who are not entirely familiar with his work though. If people see smoke they may well think there is a fire. That is obviously concerning.

I think that we need many more high profile pro Indy bloggers. Disseminating each others well researched articles and points of view and sharing with their own readership and beyond. The more pillars there are upholding the structure the more difficult it will be to bring down.

Stu is a major target for the unionists as he is currently seen as something of a figurehead. We know how the establishment and the media work and what they will do to silence their biggest critics or those that expose their lies.

There are some excellent contributors here and on other pro Indy blogs that could certainly run their own blog. An umbrella group of leading pro Indy bloggers could be useful in setting up a platform to encourage other would be bloggers to raise their heads above the parapet.

This may help in some way to prevent the messenger being shot.

Can anyone tell me if they can spot anything that would trigger the filter or Stu’s hammers? I am genuinely mystified.

132. William Wallace

FAO Stu.

Are my posts being moderated? If so, why?

133. Effijy

New BBC TV Show announced:

“Yoon Adversitity Falange”!

Hosted by: BamGERS GaspCon

Fingers at the Buzzards-
    Spanner for number 10.

134. Liam

I don’t do Twitter – I gather he has (sort of) apologised but qualified it with, “I was misled by a fake account”.

Has he at all explained what happened to the missing underline? Or is he claiming it wasn’t there when he received the screencaps?

135. ScottieDog

This guy in the audience could easily have been K.H…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZNwdcESn90

136. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I posted the following a couple of hours back but can’t for the life of me see why it would trigger the filter or require moderation.”

Sorry – it was the word “parapet”, which triggers the “rape” filter. Annoyingly there’s no way of including spaces in the filter.

137. scottieDog

I reckon there’s a KH ‘I’ve been hounded off twitter’ story on the horizon..

138. geeo

I think my earlier email to the Daily Record has upset someone a tad…

An Alan Hamilton, who is apparently a DR photo journalist, responded on facebook to my posted email, by calling me a “bellend”…haha!!

Wee email to his boss getting fired off next.

All i said was THIS …
    ……..
    Is the editor of the Daily Record aware that his columnist, Kevin Hague is posting FAKE tweets from a FAKE Wings Over Scotland account to deliberately mislead people ?

Hague KNOWS the account he is re tweeting is FAKE, yet continues to do so.

Also, his article trying to rubbish a well respected  EXPERT on GERS recently was cringeworthy at best, and ABSOLUTELY DISHONEST at worse.

Kevin Hague is a LIAR, and the Daily Record is a willing vechicle for his lies.

Both of you should be utterly ashamed of yourselves, especially the DR, a paper happy to shaft Scottish people on a daily basis by printing tory propoganda, labour lies and smearing the Scottish people’s representatives of choice.

I am a Yes voter, and i vote SNP in elections, as they are the ONLY main party, other than the Greens, remotely interested in the PEOPLE of Scotland.

The DR used to call itself “the people’s champion”.

That is miles from reality in 2017, now you are “the unionist’s champion”.

The DR should be the leading voice of SCOTLAND in the media, not simply yet another mouthpiece for a failed union, giving column inches to liars like Kevin Hague.

To do so, without even attempting to  check the integrity of his input, is a disgraceful dereliction of editorial control.

You should be thoroughly ashamed of yourselves.

139. Mark Russell

Brilliant. This site is fast becoming Scotland’s own Private Eye. Expect a regular slot on SBC’s “Definitely No the Fucking Nine O’Clock News” after independence day, Rev.

Good work.

140. Cactus

SO true Mark Russell.

Ye know how they do ‘The Papers’ review on the television..

Imagine Wings gotta slot on say, RT news.. ‘The Wings’ articles.

Looking at and discussing the articles and the BTL comments..

What say Max Keiser..

Ye interested RT?

141. William Wallace

@ Stu

My IQ has now officially dropped below that of your average spambot filter. That’s what reading too much mainstream media can do to you folks. I’ve been dumbed down 🙂

On a serious note, is it possible to pre-filter it myself in any way to save myself falling foul of it’s Maybot like behaviour again?

142. Tackety Beets

ScottieDog , great clip.

I have always admired Yanis Varoufakis and my respect for him flew thro’ the roof when he was asked about 2014 Ref and in particular the currency.

YV replied ” that question is easily answered , you already have the Scottish Pound”.

As for KH , there is a polar opposite type annoyance with him . There is less than endearing manner that grates me.

Looking outward at the bigger picture we already have “Yoonionism ” scraping what we consider the bottom of the barrel and The Vote for iRef2 has not yet been passed !

What’s the songs again …….. “how low can you go ! “.

143. Bill

@RevMeltDown & @WingsScotland_ belong to Kev Hague.

144. LesRoches

Hmmm, I know that I have not been on this site for a few days…but why is a Nazi emblem being compared to the Wings emblem by a Unionist of all people?

He clearly has no idea about their beloved Royal Family who have history on this subject, not least young Harry boy parading at a party with uniform on a few years back. Plus let us not forget Edinburgh this week end with the union flag waving White Pride/ Scottish Bell end League were out.

It’s a funny old world at times…

145. It'sADug'sLife

KH is a damaged individual with a severely disrupted childhood which has left him with a near fanatical need to be right in his previously decided and rigidly fixed opinions. He is not, and never has been, and economist.
    His manner of treating others’ contributions to the indy debate is nasty and often gives a false impression of them. He’s a rather nasty piece of work. His views are far more about him proving his rigid position, be that gers, indy or any other topic, to be the ‘correct’ one. I suspect this is a result of low self esteem arising from his troubled childhood. We should probably feel sorry for hmm. Except we need better for our country’s future. And Brexit Britain is probably not the better direction.

146. Davosa

Seems to be a pattern of Yoon lying cowards from Islay here. Carmichael and now Hague. Is there work to be done there ? Maybe the teacher from Islay quoted above can advise ?

147. Phil Robertson

“No activists are unable to refute the facts published on the site and fear its dissemination of truth to a huge readership, so they attempt to discredit the messenger instead.
    We’ll continue to take it as the massive compliment it is.”

Thank you, I’ll continue to view Wings over Scotland in this light.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.