Subscribe
Notify of

40.9K Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
K1

Stoker? You rang? šŸ˜‰

K1

Smallaxe, glad to see ye posting away and that you are feeling a bit better…to you and everyone else, season greetings…thank fuck that’s aw air way šŸ™‚

Liz g

Marie Clark @ 1.36
Hi Marie isn’t it funny how much we look at catching up on Wing’s as a bit of peace and sanity.
I don’t think any Yoons blog has the same effect…They all seem …..em…Upset and mad about something.
Wee shame that right enough…. LOL

Smallaxe

Marie Clark:

Seasons Greetings, Marie, I’m feeling a lot better and like you, we have been spending time with our family (grandchildren especially), it reminds us who’s future we are fighting for.

I’m sure Nana will be back shortly, I miss her links in the mornings but at the same time I was thinking selfishly, great! Nana’s hands will be well rested, plenty of links for Me.Then I thought, no, Nana will be cooking, cleaning and baking, probably for her own family, it was then that I realised that it was not I who was being selfish, it was that family! some people!
šŸ™‚

I’m sure liz will see this and hopefully Nana. The whole “Yes Movement” could not exist without you, that’s obvious to anyone.Women are better communicators than men, they are at times more compassionate and some may say that women are “too emotional”. When people are starving or dying in wars, I expect someone to be emotional, that’s what’s missing!

I could go on and on with this subject, it has been a personal bugbear of mine for a long time Marie but I won’t, not today anyway.

I am aware that I will not be the only man who thinks like I do, about balance and equality for all people, regardless of race or sex.

I would just like, if I may, to Thank all of you, Scotswomen of birth or choice for everything that you have done for Scotland, not just for the Independence movement but for Scotsmen like myself, who know that our dear Mothers went hungry to make sure that her bairns were fed.

I bow to you all “Daughters of Eve” my admiration for you all has no border.

Peace and Love to All of Scotlands lovely Lassies
(This does not apply to the ones I need not name)

Smallaxe

Liz g

Smallaxe
Your welcome ,it’s nae bother.X

Smallaxe

K1:

Thanks for the good wishes they are much appreciated.

Aye agreed, thank fck for that.Hope you enjoyed it while it lasted.I’ve enjoyed it aboot as much as ah can staun.Ma wallets inconsolably greetin.
šŸ™‚

Peace Always to You and Yours, my Friend

Smallaxe

K1:

Sorry aboot the typo,that should read fuck! šŸ™‚

Peace Always

K1

LoL Smallaxe, thank fuck fur that, thought ye wur losin’ it there for a minute šŸ˜‰

Stoker

K1,

At the end of each WOS article, just prior to the comments starting, there is a greenish PDF button. If i download the articles to my documents and then, according to their categories, i place them into their respective zip files, will this be sufficient to keep and protect each article for as long as needed?

The other option is doing something similar but via using the archive.is facility then into their respective zip files. The only difference i can see is that the first method cuts out the comments but as far as i know the archive.is method captures the comments as well as the article.

What’s your opinion on these?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

Re: “Archiving”.

I did a post earlier this month about “archive.org”. You can read it at this link:-

link to wingsoverscotland.com

Before I come back to that, if you save the PDF of the article on your machine, you have it forever, or until you delete it.

RE: “archive.is” – see what I type in the above link.

RE: “archive.org” (see at my above link) – I’ve just stuck “http://wingsoverscotland.com” into the search box at:-

http://web.archive.org

and it returned a calendar of all the captures of the Wings site it has done. The first was on 4th January, 2013. You can explore each year at the top of the page, and it gives you a calendar, showing all the captures circled in blue, in that year. Just click on the blue circle and you will see the main WOS page that was captured.

You can click on the links on the page. It seems to have been further on in 2013 when the archive got the links sorted out so you see a topic’s page, with all the comments btl.

I suggest you read my first link above (to the comment I posted) then explore.

K1

Well big part of Wings is comments, they too have a lot of information in them which would be lost just saving as PDF, so personally ah favour the archive.is option, as it retains all comments…forever…and ever…and ever…

I attempted from an archived copy of a wings article to ‘download zip’ from the archived page itself, duly went into my files on computer, but had to strip out miscellaneous files that came with it, logos etc, and the ‘index’ page has the article but no images and sidebar links all gone too. So not too sure on the zipping of stuff, think you’re more advanced than me on that one Stoker.

If you can zip file, then zip the archived version not the pdf. That way, yes you will have them where you want to store them rather than on the browser bookmarks folders, but I would keep the bookmark folders too, just for ease of dissemination when online. That’s aw av goat šŸ™‚

K1

Thanks BDTT, will check out too… šŸ™‚

Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: if you click on a link on a Wings main page at”archive.org”, you may get an error message saying that it doesn’t have that page archived. It then gives you the option to click to have the page archived.

Handy stuff!

Stoker

Brian & K1

So much to do and so little time to do it. Muchas gracias amigos!

Brian Doonthetoon

BTW2: the other handy thing about “archive.org” is when you go to a page you have bookmarked and find that it’s no longer there (usually ‘Error 404’).

If you paste the web address into “archive.org” for a search, you may find the page archived. This happened a few months ago with a page that Rev Stu had sought. I was able to give him the “archive.org” link.

chasanderson200

BDTT 7:36
Event noted, transport and hotel booked so I can have a few shandies without rushing home with a skinful.

Marie Clark

Smallaxe, nae bother, your very welcome. I’ve been busy “squaring up the hoose” efter a’ the family went hame. It’s brilliant tae see them a’ the gither at this time o’ year especially.

I’m very pleased I’m no a celebrity or I’d be getting worried. I see poor Carrie Fisher has died now. Only a few days left of 2016. I’ll be pleased to see the back of it.

Fred

@ Tinto, Burns of course supported his hero Thomas Muir but had a family to feed & had eventually to keep his heid doon due to his job in the excise. When bevvied Burns was apt to show his true colours, which he regretted greatly when sober as Botany Bay could have been the upshot. One of his Dumfries buddies with republican sympathies was a radical doctor called James Mundel, I wonder if?………

Smallaxe

Marie Clark:

I think that there are a lot of us will be glad to see the back of this year, Marie.I worry about some young and not so young people who want to be “Famous”, for too many, fame becomes a curse if they can’t handle it.I’m happy to be just a dad and a grandfather, that is fame enough for me.

Peace Always to You and Yours Marie

Smallaxe

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

I’m so happy to see you have been posting. I must try and catch up with comments, that’s if I can prise myself away from the kitchen!

Stay well Billy and tell Mrs Smallaxe to take a rest.

Liz g

Morning Smallaxe
Yay Nana’s back….2016 is almost over…. There’s nae turkey left….Things can only get better!!!!
Stay well my friend.X

Smallaxe

Nana:

It’s great to have you back again, your links are the Gift that I have been looking forward to, sorry I missed you on the main thread this morning but I had to take my daughter to work and leave my wife to look after the two grandchildren.I wonder how many of us grandparents have to do this, there must be thousands of us.

I hope you saw my post to Marie Clark on this thread at 4:38pm, for you and all our other ladies.I bet you had a great Christmas, running about feeding people, as I’m sure you were.

Kettle’s on and links to read, a hug in a mug, Smashing!

Peace, Love and Happiness to You and Your Family
Billy

Nana

@Liz g

Hope you had a lovely Christmas. No turkey left you say, I’m hoping to finish mine today. Making a turkey and ham pie, my own favourite.

I’m back for a couple of days Liz. We will be visiting with friends and family on the 30th until around the 4th or 5th so no links on those days. Blimey I’ll need a holiday after this holiday lol!

@Smallaxe

Sadly I have no grandchildren, both my sons are too career minded and I doubt that will change anytime soon. They like their freedom to do as they please, go where they please and have to please no one. I get told ‘plenty time Mam] when I hint about family ties, they laugh at me for being ‘old fashioned’
But they are young and when the right person comes along….

Hug in a mug, I like that. I just read your post to Marie, beautiful sentiment Billy.

Scott

Calls are being made to speed up work on the upgrade of Berriedale Braes in Caithness.

The notorious section of the A9 has been the scene of several tragedies over the years.

Highlands and Islands Labour MSP Rhoda Grant has written to Transport Minister, Humza Yousaf, following reports that work has now started on the design for the project after the publication of the findings of a local public inquiry

Hypocrisy from Ms Grant as she and her party did nothing about this in all the years they were in power,see below.

Rhoda has represented the Highlands and Islands region from 1999 to 2003 and then from 2007 to the present day.

Liz g

Hi Nana
Enjoy your well deserved break Nana.
We do miss you but our moaning is very much tounge in cheek.
The main problem is that I come across as totally well informed about current affairs… Because I am reading your links. So when there’s no links I am a bit lost.
So wish I had you a million years ago at school.
As a cheat sheet you are second to none…. LOL
Anyhoo all the best,and, have a good one when it comes. X

Smallaxe

liz g:

The band is back together for a wee while, it’s made my day. šŸ™‚

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Scott:

What you say does not surprise me, these people will always try to denigrate or take credit for things that they had played no part in.Rev Stu has it at the top of every page: “There’s no limit to what a man can do, or where he can go, if he doesnā€™t mind who gets the credit.”

This woman will either complain or try to weasel herself in to take some credit but you have outed her and her Party’s inaction over the years, so she will probably stick to complaining.

Peace Always

Marie Clark

Hi Nana, we missed you, hope you had a good time.We’re into the turkey soup and a curry to finish the blooming thing off.

I’ve been commenting on the main thread about the new BBC heid bummer’s article in the National. Disnae inspire any confidence at all.

Sometimes I despair for Scotland, and what sort of country that my three lovely grandaughters will inherit from us. Hopefully a free and thriving country, but while’s the buggers dae get you doon.

Onwards and upwards folks, only way to go.

Tinto Chiel

Fred: yes, Burns had to watch his back. There was little justice for the common man in those days, and none in Dundas’s police state, although I seem to remember Robert refused to stand for the “Loyal Toast” in Dumfries. How any Burns Club has this as a part of their evenings, I’ll never understand. I love sitting them out and making the diners feel uncomfortable.

Probably the masonic influence, aka the Punty-Up of the Scots Bourgeoisie.

Fred

@ Tinto, brace yersel,

Who will not sing “God save the King!”
Shall hang as high as the steeple;
But while we sing “God save the king!”
We’ll ne’er forget the people!
R.Burns.

He had joined the Volunteers & was sookin-in with the powers that be, looking for promotion at the time!
No doubt Dr James Mundel was aghast?

Tinto Chiel

Yes, Fred, he was walking a dangerous tight-rope. It’s common for Unionists to present Burns as a Good Brit but Scots Wha Hae can be read as a reaction to Muir’s treatment and not just a patriotic Scottish song.

I was even told by one Britnat frother in 2014 that Burns would have voted No.

Weasels rip my flesh!

Nana

@Liz g
I hope 2017 is the year Scotland has the courage to tell Westminster to go to hell and we take our independence. That’s what I asked Santa for.

@Marie Clark

Had a lovely time Marie, tried not to think of all the problems we are facing, main one being the bloody bbc. Having done some links for inform Scotland I was quite depressed re reading some of the rubbish they trotted out before Sept14 and as for the burd, don’t get me started and I don’t mean turkey although she has a neck like one.

I’m glad to see the back of the turkey but curry does sound good.

Dave McEwan Hill

Does anybody know Denis Dunn of Prestonpans or Edinburgh? On Facebook he put up a post about election rigging and pouring scorn on those who wonder if the Referendum was in anyway rigged.
I replied in a respectable manner that postal voting had been rigged resulting in several successful prosecutions in England,the EU had described the UK postal voting system as a recipe for fraud(which it is) and that 97% turnouts of postal votes in five constituencies in Scotland were in practical fact impossible but apparently achieved and he has removed my post and closed my access to his page.
The truth hurts and they are shitting themselves.

John Young

Just popped into off topic and this wee post somehow sums up the wonderful personalities of all the folk who frequent this corner of Wings

Smallaxe says:
27 December, 2016 at 4:55 pm
K1:
Sorry aboot the typo,that should read fuck! ?

Peace Always

Thepnr

@John Young

Hey! Welcome, your one of us now and we never let you go.

This is Wings very own Hotel California šŸ™‚

Cactus

Checkin’ in Seasoned Wingers..

It’s almost midnight.

Cactus

SO what happens at midnight..?

Smallaxe

Cactus says:
“SO what happens at midnight..?”

Well Cactus, it’s simple.Yesterday turns into tomorrow!
šŸ™‚

Peace Always

Smallaxe

John Young:

I see you have met Brother Thepnr, please allow me to introduce myself

It’s always nice to meet another inmate šŸ™‚

Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Surely yesterday turns into today?
———————————————————

Hi Tinto Chiel.

Your mention of the “weasels”. You could like this:-

Back in the 70s, Zeek and Giz used to mime this when I was DJ at the Bowlin’ Alley in Dundee (Dundee College of Technology Students’ Union; now Uni of Abertay) before they emigrated to The Netherlands.

The video was done at one of their pal’s 50th birthday party in Dundee.

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Your forgetting Brian that I live down in the border (Fluffys domain) it’s a different time zone down here.

Peace Always my Friend

Nana

@Smallaxe

Good morning. Having problems posting this morning making me late checking in with you. Just read your poem on the main thread, liked it very much.

It’s good to see you posting again.

Smallaxe

Nana:

Thanks, it’s even better to see your links again šŸ™‚

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

BDTT: so that’s what a quiet night out in Dundee looks like.

Heeheeheehee…

(And they’re not groupies, btw).

Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe, just saw your peom (as Molesworth used to call them) on the Other Place.

When’s the Collected Works coming oot?

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Hi Tinto, I wouldn’t call them poems, more like rhyming doggerel. As for the Collected Works, it would be cruel to inflict that on people.Now that I think about it, ASAP. šŸ™‚

I hope you enjoyed the holiday, my Friend.

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Great to see you back commenting, Smallaxe. You had me worried for a few days.

Now crack on with Them There Cantos.

šŸ˜›

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I did not want to tell
I had me worried as well
I thought I heard the bell
Summoning me to Hell

Turned out it was just the door bell.
šŸ™‚

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

You’re an awfy man.

Glad you had such a good Crimbo with the grandkids.

Have a small Babycham at The Bells.

Cheersmedears.

K1

I’m glad you did not go
To that place deep down below
We’d aw be very sad, If indeed ye really had

So now that you are back
We smile with gentle ease
For the man that keeps Wings full of love
By sending aw that Peace

We wish you well sweet Smallaxe
Or Billy to your friends
We hope you’ll aye be flying high
Wi the Wingers love we send

šŸ™‚

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Would it be ok if I have a large Bells instead of the small Babycham?

I’ll ask Esmeralda, The Bells, The Bells, Sanctuary Sanctuary! I’m so ugly

Peace Always

Liz g

Well hell Smallaxe…Have one of each.x

Smallaxe

K1:

My friend I send you Peace and Love
From this old 69r
The kindness that you send to me
Could not make a “King” feel finer

I appreciate your every word
That to me you did impart
They now are deep inside of me
Engraved upon my heart

I wish you every happiness
But please do not feel silly
When I tell you I’m not Smallaxe
I’m just your good friend Billy

Peace and Love Always to You and Yours my Friend

Smallaxe

liz g:

That’s a much better idea liz, Thanks xx
šŸ™‚
Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe & K1

You two have made my day so much better. Thank you

Smallaxe

Nana:

Nana please dont thank us
Our thanks belong with you
Without your morning links
I dont know what we’d do

My coffee on those linkless days
Was like a cart without a horse
The milk was sour and awful
My coffee beans were coarse

Your lacking links made Christmas
A real case of Bah Humbug
But now your back once more I have
A hug back in my mug

Thank you, Nana.

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

Oh Billy that’s so nice, a poem all for me. I have printed it and when we meet I will expect you to autograph it.

Been baking and just saw your post. Don’t be telling Tinto Chiel as I’ve yet to ‘drop’ some scones off for him. But perhaps he’s made his own, sure I gave him the recipe so there’s no excuse.

Off to make a cuppa Billy, thanks again for my poem.

Smallaxe

Your more than welcome Nana, to write for you was My pleasure
don’t work too hard, just have your break, enjoy it at your leisure
But haste ye back, I need my links, to me there written treasure šŸ™‚

Peace and Love to You Nana and to Those that You Love xx

Tinto Chiel

A Bells at The Bells is permitted, Smallaxe, and a large one at that.

Broadsword calling Nana Girl:

Severe buttermilk shortage here stop plz. drop scones Tinto Towers, Auld Cadzow, Darkest Lanarkshire stop X marks the spot stop

and oblige T. Chiel.

Fanx stop

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

I’ll let you know that, contrary to what you may have heard in the steamie, Robert Planet never laid a hand on me!

Tinto Chiel

BDTT: you’re an awfy man an’ a.

“Robert Planet” indeed!

Looking forward to meeting you and the gang at the Beeb Thing.

Proud Cybernat’s stickies are getting stuck big style down here in DL, btw.

Tinto Chiel

Meant to say, while waiting for Mrs TC, who was shopping in Fraser’s, this came on over the speakers and I clutched at it like a drowning man at a straw:

Had to leave because the perfume girls were becoming too attracted to my strange, unnatural beauty.

It’s a curse, ah tell ye’ a blinkin’ curse….

Marie Clark

Awe Tinto, I havnae heard that in a long while. Love that song. When my auldest grandaughter (she’s 17 now, curses) wiz a wee wean about 18 months auld, that was the song I’d play for her. Nowadays I’d get reported tae the bad granny polis fur no singing her a proper lullabye. Man she loved it, when the mighty Slash stated playing that rift, she was up on her wee feet, and when the bass kicked in she would dance for all her worth. God love the wee soul. I’m surprised that she’s grown up quite normal, I dinnae ken how wae a granny like me.

Oh Nana, did you say your going away tomorrow? In that case, a guid New Year to you and yours, all th best when it comes.

Tinto Chiel

That was a great story, Marie. I actually find a bass line often hits the spot as much as a big guitar riff. I regret not learning some kind of guitar but Music was strictly non-practical when I was at school and all I can remember was singing dirty words to sea shanties.

Nana: waresmascones?

Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Message received and I think understood. Unnatural beauty, absolutely!
Ah sweet child of mine, my oldest has a Les Paul so this is played regularly. My own favourite is November rain. Sadly for me the softer tunes don’t get played so much, Metallica at full blast with effects pedals is their thing. Gings no wonder I’m going deaf.

@Marie Clark
Aye Marie, we will be leaving sometime tomorrow. I will post links in the morning. May I wish you and your family a good and healthy 2017.

Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Did I hear you calling [told you I was going deaf]
Sorry Tinto scones have all disappeared, honestly they don’t last a minute round here.

Tinto Chiel

Great news, Nana: let the Relief of Auld Cadzow begin!

Wherever you’re off to, have a safe journey and looking forward to your links in 2017.

For just now, relax and take plenty of water with it, as you often tell me!

Tinto Chiel

Crossed comments, Nana.

Wot? Nae scones?

Whitahmagointaedae?

It’s a hard life, right enough.

*shambles off mumbling*

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Read on another thread that you are a product of a Barlanark. My mother and father both came from there and when they got married and I was born we moved to Easterhouse.

I spent much time at my Grannies and Uncles houses in Barlanark, Pendeen Crescent was where the Granny lived but can’t remember my Uncles street but it was just up the road from the train station.

Funny that you moved from Govan because I moved to Govan LOL.

It’s a small world.

Smallaxe

Thepnr: Memories, some of the film is not great on 2nd/3rd

link to youtube.com Barlanark

link to youtube.com Pendeen Crescent

link to youtube.com Burnmouth Road: my road

Peace Always

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Thanks for that but they are now nothing like the places I remember. If you don’t mind me asking when were you living in Barlanark?

Smallaxe

Thepnr:

I dont mind you asking at all, I moved to Barlanark about 1954ish and left home at age 15 1966ish. My parents were still there for a few years before moving to their own house in Mt Vernon. I sort of drifted back and forward between wherever I was at the time and Barlanark.

I was a wanderer between England and Scotland for a good part of my life before I finally settled down. I said on here quite a while ago that when I tell people where I’ve been, sometimes it sounds as if I am in two places at the same time but that is because of my habit of travelling on the “milk trains” or getting a Ā£5 ticket from Buchanan st to London and back again.Being a Hippy was a hard life. šŸ™‚

Peace Always

K1

Tis time for tongue twisters, purely for fun:

I’m not the pheasant plucker I’m the pheasant plucker’s son, I’m only plucking pheasants till the pheasant plucker comes.

K1

And advert’s ye recall from childhood:

Chef’s square shaped soups show how a good soup should be.

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

I was just a wean then in the 60’s, remember being at my Uncle Franks house one New Year drinking “cordial” that my granny made. New Year was a big deal back then and families gathered in whoever’s house was having the party. The Beatles or Cilla Black would be on the record player or we made our own music and songs.

Uncle Frank was no bad on the spoons back then. Not as good as this guy though šŸ™‚

Smallaxe

Thepnr: Some more old memories

link to youtube.com old Glasgow

link to youtube.com Govan..Old and New

I remember this City when it used to have Pride
When ships that were Great Ships were built on the Clyde
(part of a poem I wrote long ago)

Peace Always my Friend

Masslass

This is probably old news to many.

I just read it myself this week in the Irish Times.

Westminster has given their approval for N.Ireland to lower its’ Corporation tax to 12 1/2% to go into effect 2018.

To be on par with the Republic of Ireland.

Thepnr

@Masslass

Nope, not to me at least I never knew that. Westminster are losing control and thrashing about wildly trying to keep a grip.

This is just another sign that they are losing their grip. Who would ever have thought that it would have been an English and Welsh vote on Brexit that finally done for the Union?

Dave McEwan Hill

A guid New Year to all of us and 2017 looks interesting. Just getting geared up fro my radio programmes tonight/ Not much talk on my Roundabout at 7pm but an amazing piece by Mike Ogletree and my Roc’n’Roll show as at 8pm

tunein.com/radio/Argyll-Independent-Radio-s198410/

Tinto Chiel

Since it’s well and truly the silly season (e.g. Iain Gray trying to count), I thought I’d go the whole Coburn:

Tinto Chiel

And this ‘cos it brings back a lot of happy memories. Almost fifty years? Seriously?

Smallaxe

The beginning is nigh

Peace Always

Masslass

Thepnr,

I like that scenario…… Westminster losing it’s grip ! It seems that way, but they are masters of the black arts, I am always very wary of them. they have been at it for 1000 years. they scare me but truth will out !!

Stoker

Masslass

Just wanted to say hi, never seen your username before. Have you ever heard of a Will Podmore or am i barking up the wrong tree?

Gary45%

Just noticed Norovirus is at a 5year high in England-shire,
Shortbread/Yoons will demand an answer from the SNP.

Masslass

Hi Stoker,
No i don’t know of Will Podmore. I googled him and am none the wiser what he is about. Mabey you can tell me why you mentioned his name to me.

I have been a reader of Wings for years. i don’t post much,but sometimes you just have to.

Especially about this Corporation Tax deal for N.Ireland. What is that all about I want to know

Brian Doonthetoon

Just had “Still Game” on.

In the very last scene before the credits (in the 70s), Isa is sitting on the settee wrapped in a duvet. I still have the blue version of that duvet cover folded up in my bedroom cupboard.

My daily hair-drier is a Moulinex from the 70s. Put on a new, much longer, mains cable years ago. Other than that, still original and working fine.

Bit of a shock to see an identical model in the museum when the McManus reopened…

Dave McEwan Hill

Here it is. Mike Ogletree and reggae Robert Burns

Chic McGregor
Smallaxe

A wee coak Sparra

Peace Always

Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

That was certainly different. Wouldn’t have expected less though from you good self and I was soon tapping my feet and shaking my booty!

Cheers.

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

The wee coak Sparra was absolutely brilliant. Had heard it before but forgot. Smiled all the way watching it again. Ta.

Shinty

Just had to share this link to youtube.com
Let’s help get her hits up.

Smallaxe

Thepnr:

It reminds me of New Year during my childhood.Glad you enjoyed it.

Peace Always my Friend

Smallaxe

Shinty:

A beautiful version of one of my favourite Burns songs.Thank you.

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

The War. link to youtube.com If you click on show more and scroll down you will find the Lyrics.

Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Good to see you back on Michael

Just in case I dont hear from you before it

Peace Love and Happiness in the coming year, to You and to Those You Love my Friend

Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe, thanks for the Duncan MacRae. It was my father in law’s party piece.

Mrs TC much touched.

Great stuff.

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Hi Tinto, I can emphasise with Mrs TC, that song brings back memories for myself also.Black bun, Madiera cake and Raspberry cordial.Men had to save to buy a bottle of whisky and a few cans of McEwans Pale ale, neighbours First Footing and calls of “One Singer One song” as people took turns to give a rendition of their Party Piece.

I wish You and Mrs TC, a Happy, Prosperous and Peacefull New Year for Yourselves and for those You Love

Peace Always my Friend

Stoker

Masslass (10:54pm)

Podmore was a disruptive regular on here constantly waffling tripe until the Rev got tired of his tediousness and punted him.

There was a regular contributor to WOS btl comments who was Podmore’s nemesis and a very active Winger, all she had to do was appear on the btl comments and he’d run for cover.

She would repeatedly hound him for the answer to a question related to something he said and he never could or would give her the answer.

Regrettably she doesn’t post on here anymore, at least not under her known username that most of us know her by.

Her religion of choice, if i remember correctly, was Catholicism and i quickly put 2 and 2 together with your username and briefly wondered to myself, hence me asking you what i did.
šŸ™‚

BTW, try contributing on a more regular basis, it’s good to have as wide an input to WOS and Scottish independence as is possible.

All the very best for 2017 when it comes to all believers in Scottish independence. Have a good one folks!

Dougie MacLean – The Gael

Marie Clark

Smallaxe, thanks for the wee coak sparra, that brings back many happy memories. I can mind being a wee lassie and the Ne’erday programme when Duncan Macrae first sang this song. I thought my Dad would die laughing. Sad these times have gone, it used to be great fun and everybody had to do their party piece.

Shinty, thank you for that version of Ae Fond Kiss, by Robyn Stapleton. Beautiful. She’s a lovely singer, and fae doon here In Dumfries & Galloway, aboot Stranraer I believe.

I’ve been busy a’ day cooking and making sure the steak pie is ready. All I have to do now is wait for other folk coming round.

If I don’t get back later, a guid New Year tae all of you when it comes. Let’s hope it’s a better one than the year jist away.

Smallaxe, keep well my friend, there’s a sair fecht in front o’ us, and your needed in it anaw. Peace and love.

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, your Ne’erday memories are amazingly like mine. My mother’s ginger wine and black bun were memorable.

To soothe family tensions, we had to consume a steak pie for lunch at Granny No.1 and then go to Granny No.2 for a steak pie tea!

My most significant memory was my annual meeting with my father’s aunties, two tiny women whose feet didn’t touch the floor as they sat on the settee. They both wore black (both their husbands had died at the Battle of Loos in 1915) and they stayed that way until they died in the late 70s. How sad but how typical of the disproportionate effects of WW1 on Scottish soldiers, and the dreadful consequences for their wives and families.

You gave us a big scare, Smallaxe, so much love to you and your family and all the best in 2017.

And to all of 77 Brigade, Aldo/Waldo/Insensate Dave/Angostura Bittaz: I don’t think you come on here much behind the Green Door but thanks for all the laughs you brought us with your havers.

And to all Wingers, as Stoker and Thepnr have said elsewhere, 2017 is the year we have to hit the doorsteps all genned up and get out the vote.

Orrabestorratime!

Smallaxe

Marie Clark:

I’m glad the song gave you happy memories Marie, now all we have to do is make sure that ourselves and our children and grandchildren are left with happy memories of our Independence Day celebrations.

I send you my best wishes
For this the coming year
And I know that we shall face it
With more hope and no more fear

Our destiny awaits us
We ask for only what is ours
Our Kingdom Nations freedom
Returning Alba’s Sovereign powers

Peace, Love and Happiness to You and Those to whom You give Your Love

I hope you have a Peacefull and Prosperous New Year

Fred

Podmore haunts the Guardian threads. A metropolitan, cardboard, communist Brexiteer tosser!

All the best to Smallaxe & the troops.

To folk who think 2017 will be boring…..pish! expect the un-expected.

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

The disproportionate effect on our Servicemen and Women will only be stopped when we stop fighting W/Minsters wars/invasions for them. Hopefully, that time is getting closer by the hour.

And to all of 77 Brigade, Aldo/Waldo/Insensate Dave/Angostura Bittaz: Awa and ask yer faithers aboot me, ah hope they’ve still goat ther scars, ave still goat mine, but mine were earned in honest pursuit of civil rights, whits ther excuse!

Have a good one Tinto my Friend

Peace Always

Stoker

Fred,

Aye, according to Cadogan Enright (sp?) Plodmore was haunting the comments of some Irish title not that long ago. He gets around, eh!
________

This is a very powerful message, wish there was a Brit version:

Five Finger Death Punch – Wrong Side Of Heaven

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Sorry, I was AWOL for a while, Boss, I’ll try and make sure it disnae happen again.The border is securely under control again so dont worry.

Thanks for all you have done re archives it’s invaluable to me.

I wish You and Yours a Peacefull, Happy and Prosperous New Year

Fred

Dick Gaughan’s “Blaws the Wind!” would be good fur the Bells but Youtube’s problematic fur me.

All the best also to Dick himself, hope he makes a full recovery.

Away tae polish the brasses!

Smallaxe

Fred:

All the best to You and Yours for the coming year, I hope it’s a good year for you all.Thanks for your support and Friendship, it’s much appreciated.

Peace Always my Friend

Stoker

Aye, same tae you and yours, Smallaxe. Stay safe mucker!
________
Here’s 2 crackers from the man who told them to keep their gong:

Paul Weller – Broken Stones

Paul Weller – You Do Something To Me

Brian Doonthetoon

As Doon and the product of my loins are toddling off out shortly, I’ll leave you with the sentiments of this song, to all the Wings family, and wish you all an early
HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Enjoy yourself, Happy New Year to You and Yours Brian

Peace Always my Friend

Stoker

Right, troops!

I’ll leave you all with this brilliant motivational speech.
Sit back, relax, close your eyes and ignore the video content.
Lets make 2017 the year we rise above our foundations.

Think Different

Thepnr

@Fred

Is this the Dick Gaughan you were looking for?

Just before I forget, have a good one all you that frequent Off Topic, I wish that for all Wingers but those that frequent this den of inequity have a special place in my heart.

True rebels šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

Ian Brotherhood

Big cheers to all of youse.

Love and Peace an aw that jazz!

XXXX

Ian Brotherhood

Where’s Paula?

*Calling Paula…Calling Paula…*

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘Yes & No (Paula)’

Andrew McLean

Guys,
My heartfelt thanks, you made a bad year, well not good but understandable.

Thanks from the bottom of my being!

X
And no I am driving so having a sober one!

yesindyref2

In honour of the parting year, not a bad one for me, business starting to recover!

Michael McCabe

Happy New Year to all on off topic when the bells come. First Aid Kit – Heaven Knows. link to youtube.com

CameronB Brodie

As I’ve not posted any surf for a while, I thought this an appropriate vehicle for BLiS___d to transport their British nationalism out of Scottish politics.

@BLiS___d
Away back to London where you belong.

Aal Casey – The Hearse

CameronB Brodie

On a mellower note, all the best for a productive and better New Year.

Al Casey – Body and soul

Quentin Quale

Happy New Year to all Wingers, old and new. Special shout out to Thepnr, Paula, BDTT & Pete the Camera.
Looking forward to many meet-ups in 2017.

Michael McCabe

This one is for all the People we wish we still had with us. link to youtube.com

K1

Ye know I have tae play it…happy new year to ye’s aw…ma pals…

Thepnr

@Quentin Quale

Thanks very much Graham, wish Fiona a Happy New Year from me too!

@Michael McCabe

I can’t believe what you have just did there! Here’s me searching all over for a song for you and Lynn to bring in the New Year and you have just gone and made it that much more difficult due to that excellent find. I’ll still be trying and there’s time yet.

@K1

You just made my search a whole lot harder! Damn you Wingers Damn you ALL šŸ™‚

Liz g

Happy & Healthy New Year Everyone,all the best when it comes.X

Thepnr

This song is about friends. I wish all my friends a happy New Year.

It’s coming for aw that.

Michael McCabe

Ah The Bells. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Happy New Year to all you wonderful People

Somebody had to play it!

Peace, Love and Happiness to ALL XXX

Michael McCabe

Caravan Palace. Lone Digger. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

A different Caravan

Peace Always šŸ™‚

Cactus

Once ye pop.. ye canny stop..

1 down, 1 across..

Caledonia.
X.

Fred

Thepnr, that Gaughan song was first class but “Freedom Come All Ye” was what I was thinkin o!

Hope there are no too many sair heids in the OT this morning, a Good Ne’erday everybody!

Fred

Haud that Thepnr, Smallaxe has just kindly got it up on the main thread!

“Never heed what the hoodie’s croak for doom!”

Smallaxe

I’m pleased that you got my post on the main thread, I felt bad when I realised that my post on here had not gone through.

Peace Always my Friend

Smallaxe

First day of the New Year and the sun is shining down here in Gretna, not a cloud in the sky, I’ll take it as a good omen.

Peace Always

Betty Boop

@ Smallaxe

Hi, sun is shining here on Ayrshire coast too! Would love to take it as a good omen and ignore all the “buts” šŸ™‚

@ all Wingy folks: Hope this year is a better one! Good wishes to you all. Haven’t been around much recently, but, pop in every now and again to make sure y’all are behavin’, but, nae chance o’ that really. šŸ˜‰

Smallaxe

Betty Boop:

Glad to hear that the weather is good, I have half of my family living there (My father’s side).
Auld Ayr where n’er a toon surpasses for honest men, and bonny lassies.

Hope you have a Peacefull Happy and Prosperous 2017

Peace Always

Fred

Beautiful day in Glesga, a fish supper oot the Merchant Chippie in the High Street would be just what the doctor ordered but ah doot they’ll be shut!

Smallaxe

Fred:

The chip shop shut Fred? It’s that SNPs fault!

Peace Always šŸ™‚

Stoker

I’ve never heard of this lot before, pretty good stuff if you like that kind of thing. Sounds a wee bitty Iron Maiden(ish) to me. They’re a German heavy metal group who support Scottish Indy.

Grave Digger – Tunes of War
link to en.wikipedia.org

Grave Digger – The Brave/Scotland United

Stoker

Today’s top 10 news stories at 6 in Scotland according to the BBC:

1 – Murder investigation after house fire
2 – Major success of Edinburgh Hogmanay
3 – Scotland welcomes first 2017 babies
4 – Hotel evacuated in early-morning fire
5 – Loony Dookers’ chilly start to new year
6 – Man critical after street attack
7 – Increase in new year ambulance calls
8 – Mental health problems hit 1 in 4 Scots
9 – Baby box pilot scheme launched
10- Papers reveal blood payout unease

No10:
“Ministers considered fighting early compensation claims by victims of contaminated blood in the courts, historic Cabinet documents have shown. The newly-declassified papers from 2001 show the then Scottish Executive feared paying out up to Ā£20m to people affected by the scandal. Last year an inquiry concluded about 3000 Scots had contracted hepatitis C or HIV through contaminated NHS blood. The Scottish government has agreed financial support for those affected.”

Message to Donalda ‘McDaffy’ Duck:
Any chance you could let us all know who that Scottish Executive consisted of and which political party’ government is it that helps take care of those affected by offering financial support?

All replies to wingsoverscotland please. Thank you!

Capella

@ Smallaxe – actually, my favourite Beefheart is ” Big Eyed Beans from Venus”. It’s a tonic but has to be played LOUD!

Definitely off topic

Smallaxe

Capella:

Thank you, for your O/T on Topic.”Distant cousins, there’s a limited supply.And we’re down to the dozens.”

Music has charms to soothe the savage breast.

Love is a rare commodity in these times, sometimes I despair at “Mans inhumanity to Man”.Friends like you alleviate the only too real, dark places that my mind can wander into.

Thank you, my Friend.

Peace Always

Thepnr

My brother used to tell a joke. It went like this:

“If Peter Cushing and Whoopi Goldberg had a bairn. Would they call her Whoopi Cushing?”

I’ll get ma coat!

Smallaxe

Thepnr

Jist leave yer coat wer it is, ye managed to pit a smile oan ma face

Peace Always my Friend

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps!

A very happy new year ti wiz a’! Spent an evening in Frews last night, saw the new year in and left a “Misreporting Scotland” sticker between the mirrors in the gents’ bog. For Jim Spence, who tends to have a cocktail in Frew’s before he goes to Dens or his natural home, Tannadice, on match days.

—————————————————–

Hi Stoker.

I did an extensive post sometime last year, in which I mentioned “Tuttie Tatie”, “La Marche des soldats de Robert Bruce” and “Grave Digger”. Can’t remember which page it was on and neither a Google ‘site specific’ search or Wings’ own search box can find it.

I did find a subsequent mention through the ‘site specific’ search from April 2016, however.

——————————————————-

If I’d been in the hoose at 11.50pm or thereaboots last night, I would have offered you this; a track I always used at that time of Hogmanay, just before “Auld Lang Syne” and the bells, when I did Hogmanay gigs. That was the traditional order of events – “Auld Lang Syne” was sung in the minutes leading up to midnight, then Jimmy Shand played “A Guid New Year” immediately after the bells.

As we’re in to ’17, I’ll offer these two – don’t think they’ve featured in ‘off-topic’ previously. Tenuous, eh ken…

Lastly, from that original post (that I can’t find) I give you this piece of ‘shiver up the back when the bagpipes come in’ music from France.

SlaintƩ!

Capella

@ Smallaxe – Backatcha ! šŸ™‚

Brian Doonthetoon

I did a post at a couple of minutes after midnight which has not appeared. Looks like wordpress has rejected it, as Capella’s post at 12.17 is appearing.

So, what I’ll do is remove the fourth YouTube link (which probably caused the post’s disappearance), stick in a few words about how to find it, and try again.
————————————————–

Hi peeps!

A very happy new year ti wiz a’! Spent an evening in Frews last night, saw the new year in and left a “Misreporting Scotland” sticker between the mirrors in the gents’ bog. For Jim Spence, who tends to have a cocktail in Frew’s before he goes to Dens or his natural home, Tannadice, on match days.

—————————————————–

Hi Stoker.

I did an extensive post sometime last year, in which I mentioned “Tuttie Tatie”, “La Marche des soldats de Robert Bruce” and “Grave Digger”. Can’t remember which page it was on and neither a Google ‘site specific’ search or Wings’ own search box can find it.

I did find a subsequent mention through the ‘site specific’ search from April 2016, however.

——————————————————-

If I’d been in the hoose at 11.50pm or thereaboots last night, I would have offered you this; a track I always used at that time of Hogmanay, just before “Auld Lang Syne” and the bells, when I did Hogmanay gigs. That was the traditional order of events – “Auld Lang Syne” was sung in the minutes leading up to midnight, then Jimmy Shand played “A Guid New Year” immediately after the bells.

As we’re in to ’17, I’ll offer these two – don’t think they’ve featured in ‘off-topic’ previously. Tenuous, eh ken…

Lastly, from that original post (that I can’t find) I give you this piece of ‘shiver up the back when the bagpipes come in’ music from France.
[link removed] Just paste

“Marche des soldats de Robert Bruce”

into YouTube’s search box and you should get it.

SlaintƩ!

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

šŸ™‚

Brilliant. Total memory-lane material.

Hope you’ve had a good few days, and wish ye many ever better ones ahead.

Hoots!

Smallaxe

BDTT:

I can only echo Ian on that selection of music but did you notice the name of the guy that uploaded the Regents 7 Teen?

Pleased that you’ve had a good one so far Brian, long may it last.

Peace Always to You and Yours my Friend

Brian Doonthetoon

Never noticed that, Smallaxe. Spooky, iye, considering the song.

Brian Doonthetoon

Before I turn in, as the stairs to Bedfordshire beckon, another couple that would probably be banned by the BBC these days.

Oh to be a teenager again!

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Dont blame me, you started it

Why does nobody warn us that your body ages but the brain cant seem to get past 18/25yrs šŸ™‚

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

Here’s one for Stoker and all the metal fans. šŸ™‚

Ever wondered what the world would have turned out like if Ozzy Osbourne had decided to be a jazz singer?

Black Sabbath – Paranoid (Jazz Version)

Cactus

Looking good Scotland.

Here be a song by Fleetwood Mac..

šŸ™‚

Cactus

Stevie’s.. Seventeen.
X.

Smallaxe

nineteen

Peace Always

Andrew Mclean

7 seconds

link to m.youtube.com

Happy New Year wings posse.

šŸ™‚

Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Hope you have enjoyed the holiday Andrew.

Peace, Love and prosperity to You and Yours Brother

šŸ™‚

Brian Doonthetoon

Inspired by CBB’s ‘Paranoid’, here’s Pat Boone, ‘in a metal mood’.

Lounge metal…

Fred

Smallaxe, I used tae get sent for rolls to Hillkirk Street age aboot 7. I think the bakery was called Torrance’s & the night-shift must have just started so 11 on a Saturday night & dodging the drunks. šŸ™‚

Smallaxe

Fred:

Drunks were not the only thing we had to avoid, were you there when James Griffiths went on the rampage in 1969.The cops got him cornered in Kay st and shot him dead.Apart from that, it was a beautiful summers day that day.I happened to be in the company of a young lady that day and with the heat and excitement she fainted, I carried her to the nearest off-licence the proprietor of which gave her a glass of water (I was hoping for something stronger) for my heroic rescue under fire. šŸ™‚

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
Lounge metal, is it? This is getting serious. šŸ˜‰

Rammstein – Du Hast (Bossa Nova Version)

Tinto Chiel

BDTT: is this the one you were talking about? Kept it in me Faves after you posted it once, I think.

Each time I watch it I wonder where they got the pipers from.

And I wish all you Caledonian Brains-Trusters a Guid New Year.

You keep me sane, well, as sane as I can manage.

By the way, Brian: ever thought of writing a book about the Dundee music scene? Or have you already and I’m just ignorant?

Cheersmedears.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

Aye, that’s the one!

Picked up this page from somewhere today. Interesting stuff…

link to buzzfeed.com

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

RE: Dundee Music Scene.

Exclusively Dundee area, you can get “Take it to the Bridge: Dundee’s Rock & Pop History Paperback ā€“ Illustrated, 22 Sep 2011”.

link to amazon.co.uk

There’s a fair amount of Dundee stuff in “All That Ever Mattered: The History of Scottish Rock and Pop Paperback ā€“ 1 Sep 1993”.

link to amazon.co.uk

Fred

Smallaxe, left Springburn in 1953 but remember the Kay Street Steamie. There was the case of the lunatic who escaped from an asylum in Kirkintilloch & walked to Springburn where he raped three women in the steamie & escaped, pursued by the biler-man. The Evening Times headline that night was,

“NUT SCREWS WASHERS & BOLTS!” šŸ™‚

Tinto Chiel

Great links, Brian, thanks.

Mrs TC is enforcing a strict “one in, one out” policy on my bookshelves but that’s ok ‘cos I’ve got a couple of candidates for the out tray already.

As you know, it’s tough being a Scottish intellectual.

šŸ˜›

CameronB Brodie

Lounge metal and Scottish intellectuals? Like, do-be-do-bap-di-she-wah, BLiS__d are BritNat dobbers? Or perhaps, do-be-do-bap-di-she-wah, the BBC kiss BLiS’s necrotic arse??

No, man. You’re thinking of “bee-boo-boo-bop, boo-boo-bop”, Scotland doesn’t deserve this insanity.

Spongebob – Electric Zoo Trap Remix (Bee Boo Boo Bop)

P.S. I least I make more sense than the BUM, though that’s not difficult.

Stoker

Brian Doonthetoon on 2 January, 2017 at 12:26 am:

When i posted the links to Grave Digger, Brian, i did have a wee niggling among my grey matter somewhere, their name was ringing a very distant bell. Your response is ringing a closer bell so maybe i seen your original post sometime last year. Too busy to go looking for it though and if you can’t find it i’m definitely not going to attempt looking for it. šŸ™‚
________

Cameron (3:17am)
Jeez, mucker, whit ye tryin’ tae dae tae me?
Never seen that before but it gave me a giggle.
That heed banging thing just isn’t working for them is it?

Thepnr

Some of you might have noticed tonight on the Wings twitter feed, the reaction to the Historywoman tweet:

“Enjoyed hosting a dinner party for neighbours & friends on Hogmanay. All of them scathing about the SNP Executive & its lies.”

He’s my video contribution and as an added bonus we get mention of Banana boats too! Watch the Zoomers enjoy Hogmanay šŸ™‚

Chic McGregor

Alex
If Christopher Lee and Ginger Rogers had a baby would it be born Ginger Lee?

In which case a whoopi cushion might be better than nothing.

Chic McGregor

Noticed in BBC Radio Jocklandshire, Northern England today a prog. on John Peel’s Sessions – the Scottish connection, that there was no Gerry Rafferty. Shocking. But then again, he was a Yes supporter.

Can I have My Money Back?

Chic McGregor

PS

2nd track I suspect more than a few indy supporters can identify with.

Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

Cheers! and a happy New Year to you Chic. You’ve had me sniggering for the last five minutes. It’s good to laugh though.

Chic McGregor

Thepnr

Aye, happy New year tae a’bdy.

Ian Brotherhood

@Chic McG –

Hoots tae you too brother. Orraverybestest.

Dig-in for the long-haul mister…

šŸ™‚

Fred

Tam Weir actually had a wee fling with Fanny Craddock when they were both filming in Glasgow. She was going to leave Johnnie for Tam but it would have made her Fanny Weir.

Smallaxe, my posts to you on the steamie keep vanishing, I was furth of Springburn by the 60’s.

Fred

Peel apparently didn’t like Jock Rock!

Smallaxe

Fred:

Dont worry about it Fred, my Springburn address was basically just one of my retreats.I also had a room and kitchen in Crail st. Parkhead at the same time. I’ve always been an anti- social socialist. šŸ™‚

Peace Always

Fred

Flitting yer time away Smallaxe?

Smallaxe

Fred:

By moonlight Fred, by moonlight, I wasn’t called the “Midnight Man” for nothing. šŸ™‚

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Fred:

From 1969

Peace Always

Fred

Springburn’s Carl Denver, shite name ah know! MacKenzie wisnae good enough! Carl Barrowfield, Carl Rutherglen?

Smallaxe

Fred:

Carl Denver:Voices of the Highlands.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

K K K K KARL, Ah swopped ma brains fur a pun o’ mince.A bargain
Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

I note the teenage sexual nostalgia mentioned further up the page and wonder if this sad tale of frustration rings any bells?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

I always ensured that the seatbelts in my A60 were fast release!

—————————————————-

Hi Chic.

That link turned up in my searching but I’m sure I did a post that mentioned Bannockburn, ‘Tuttie Tatie’, Joan of Arc’s Scots Guard and the album “Tunes Of War”. That’s what I can’t find. (Thinks… maybe I did it on Facebook…).

Tinto Chiel

BDTT: I had heard rumours of a Dundee Britax Boy but didn’t want to ask…

Three-in-One or WD40?

Shouldn’t pry, really…

Chic McGregor

Fred,
Gerry Rafferty came out of the Scottish folk circuit, like Rab Noakes, Barbara Dixon and others.

He was a favourite of John Peel who I remember playing every track off ‘Can I have My Money Back’ several times.

BTW Rab Noakes contributed to that classic album on guitar and backing vocals.

JP was particularly fond of Stuck in the Middle by Stealer’s Wheel, Gerry Rafferty and Joe Egan (and Rab Noakes early on).

Later, his music did sway more towards pop and folk although he still pumped out folky stuff.

But yes I think it was the earlier more folky stuff Peel liked best because it was new (then) and different.

The news about vinyl sales today has reminded me that my wife chucked out my old vinyl collection, without asking, some years back and my two most prized possessions were an original release of ‘Can I have My Money Back’ and a signed copy no less of Rab Noakes first album ‘Do You see The Lights’ another cult classic.

Chic McGregor

Just had a quick swatch and found this YT of Rab Noakes. A nice mellow track from ‘Do You See The Lights.’

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

Just regular checking and maintenance with dual-purpose Vaseline as required…

———————————————–

Hi Chick.

You managed to provide a very concise history of the Paisley chappie without mentioning The Humblebums or Connolly!

Brian Doonthetoon

“Chick”.

DOH!

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

I’m trying to catch up,I got unexpected visitors and then got my knitting in a fankle, just when I was casting off.

Sorry but I dont know much about the Redan apart from the fact that it was a Russian fortress during the Crimean war but I think you know that already, as far as I can remember it was, for a time, a place that a lot of freemasons used to frequent. I may be wrong but I think it has been demolished now.
Peace Always my Friend

Chick McGregor

I think I prefer ‘Chick’. Think I will use that from now on, at least I won’t keep getting confused with the Rangers for Indy fans guy then.

mike cassidy

Chic 10.25

“The news about vinyl sales today has reminded me that my wife chucked out my old vinyl collection, without asking, some years back”

And you stayed married!

Well, cheer yourself up with this!

twitter.com/90thMin/status/814974733221588992?lang=en

Still not sure if its real though.

Almost seems like a Marcel Marceau audition!

Chick McGregor

Mike

Well, they were up in the loft right enough and we were CD player only by then.

Chic McGregor

Well that’s three posts I’ve done as Chick McGregor and none have got through.

Strange, since I’ve used Chicmac and my Sunday name Charles McGregor before no problem???

Cactus

Tonight, I am..

Who’s pouring aff topic?.
X.

Love ye all, soon..

Ghillie

Ok this weird thing has never happened to me before.

Tried to open comments on main article and :

FORBIDDEN : You do not have permission to access ‘Here we go again’ from this server.

Anyone know that’s about?

Tinto Chiel

Morning all. Up sneezing with this infernal cold.

BDTT: the mind boggles! šŸ˜›

Thanks, Smallaxe. Didn’t know about the magic circle connection. Last time I passed a long time ago it didn’t look the type of joint to take a young lady for a gimlet.

Talking of lost collections. My mother chucked out my bro’s Eagle annuals. Think he had up to No.22.

Gulp.

Knit me a new head, Smallaxe. Time for the Vick.

Cactus

Ditto Ghillie, it’s a passing thing.. we’re back.

RT HD on a guest tv just there:

Keiser Report:

Info: Keiser report is a no holds barred look at the shocking scandals behind the global financial headlines..

Groovy šŸ™‚

Cactus

Cheers us, not long till daylight..

Mark the day.
X.

Cactus

Wishing ye very well Tinto Chiel.

šŸ™‚

Ghillie

Thanks Cactus, glad it’s not just me! What an alarming statement though. Got through eventualy = )

Have a lovely day!

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

I hope you feel better soon my Friend. I’ve sent you this in case you are not doing it properly.www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvZ3rHxr4Mc

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

I’m back! One leg in the door, the other reluctant to stay. You know how it is after a holiday having to empty bags and tidy up.

How are you these days Billy, well I hope.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Second try:

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Nana:

Great to see you back again, take your time with any links, get your bags unpacked and have a rest. I’m doing ok, just this bloody fatigue.For the first time in my adult life I slept through the Bells, I cant plan anything because I dont know how I’m going to be from one day to the next.

I’m supposed to be going to London for a few days soon, I hope I can stay awake long enough because it’s important. Other than the fatigue though I’m fine, painkillers and other medication are minimising the symptoms so I’ll just have to dour it oot. šŸ™‚
Peace Always and a Happy New Year to You and Yours
Billyxx

Nana

@Smallaxe

Yes fatigue can really get you down. Getting up in the morning, a quick spray with the wd40 to get the joints moving and limbered up only to find 10 minutes later you are too tired to put the cap back on the tin!

Seriously though fatigue really is a terrible thing. Hopefully you will be able to enjoy your tip doon the road.

May 2017 bring you and your family good health and much happiness.

PS Hands nae too bad right now, I thoroughly recommend 3in1 oil haha

Smallaxe

Nana:

I’ve just looked at the main thread and already you have posted links. your an awfy Wumman. How are your hands, ok I hope, please dont overdo it.
Peace Always
Kettle’s on

Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Cactus. Happy New Year. Hope to see you in March for The Outing.

Smallaxe: have been practising all night long.

I feel better now.

And Nana’s back, you know the SCONE lady.

Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Having trouble with the drone Tinto, damn thing just won’t get off the ground and take instruction. I’m trying to ‘take back control’ but it’s not looking good right now.

In my best Jean Brodie accent

You’ll just have to visit for tea and a wee scone.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I’m pleased that you are feeling better, we need all our warriors as healthy as possible, unless they have something contagious and nasty that they can pass on at Yoon HQ.Once they have infected PQ I’m sure we could crowd- fund the best private medicine for them as a thank you for their heroism.

I’ts just a pity we that we cant inject them with a truth serum. šŸ™‚
Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Thanks, guys. This Vick is powerful stuff: I can see colours, man.

Don’t worry about the drone, Nana. Would love to pop in but don’t want to infect you all. Plus there is now a buttermilk lake in Auld Cadzow and it’ll soon be scones Ć  gogo at The Towers.

Might try my experimental seasonal version: mango chutney and cranberry.

Smallaxe
Smallaxe
Tinto Chiel

Hi, guys.

Just finished a batch of my black pudding and sultana buttermilk scones, Nana. Pure kwality, btw.

I offer you all a bracing shanty. Bev Bevan goes mental.

Tinto Chiel

Sun-dried tomato and Lorne sausage?

Hello?

Hello…..

Right, get oot ma conveyance!

Tinto Chiel

Looking for new recipes.

Open to suggestion…..

Fred

@ Smallaxe, Voices from the Highlands, thanks for that, just back from the Highlands myself, good weather n too many hoose-haufs, passed the Redan manys a time, aye wondered!

Stoker

Good grief Smallaxe!!

Never mind helping the enemy to pull in advertising revenue, Paula will have a fit at the mess you’re making of the place.

You’re supposed to be guarding the border, not letting them in via the back door.

Smallaxe

Fred:

Your welcome, my friend.
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Stoker:

My apologies boss, I was trying to find out how to do it properly.I failed
it seems.

I have booked myself in for Reindoctrination and corrective thinking, I can assure you it won’t happen again.

Peace Always

Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Black pudding and sultana/ sun dried tomato and lorne sausage, scones????????

Could I ask “what exactly have you been imbibing Tinto”?

Vick vapours may be causing these strange taste sensations Tinto, Mrs Tinto should wean you off that stuff.

Hope you are feeling better soon!

Quentin Quale

@Tinto Chiel I had blue cheese & grilled pears on sourdough bread at New Year. I wonder if Roquefort & pear would make a good scone filling?

Off for a calming cuppa after that National article.

K1

It’s the Herald Stoker, it’s not allowing any archiving anymore, don’t understand how they’ve done it. I can’t read any Herald articles from ordinary browsers so took up Thpnr’s suggestion and use private browser mode to view links that people are posting to Herald articles. But ye can’t archive from that either. They are sneaky bastards preventing archiving…unfortunately that leaves us wi links tae their pish and increasing their click rate. šŸ™

Tinto Chiel

Morning, Nana. I’m all sconed out this morning, tbh. That last batch of mango and venison did for me. And I’m on the sparkling mineral water, honest.

Seriously, blue cheese and pears on sourdough sounds pretty good, QQ. Not surprised you need a cuppa: Mrs TC has just read Fry’s article and is raging too. I can’t be bothered reading it but the Home Secretary tells me it’s most annoying.

Fry’s revisionism re the Clearances has always annoyed me and I have doubted his judgment ever since. Tens of thousands of empty highland acres are proof of his deeply misguided position. And I’m sure he quite recently had a book extolling The Union, so I’m confused.com

“Hoose-hauf”: delightful expression, Fred. Definition: “a non-standard, generous measure dispensed in a domestic situation”.

*sips mineral water guiltily*

Smallaxe

K1:

Thanks for having my back, I owe you one my Friend.
šŸ™‚
Peace Always

Fred

Best black pudding hmmmmmmm Ramsay’s of Carluke!

Stoker

Smallaxe (1:07am)
šŸ˜€

K1 (10:22am)
There’s a simple way around that, don’t use their links.
šŸ˜‰

Smallaxe

Calder Millerfield does a good black pudding!

link to caldermillerfieldltd.co.uk

Peace Always (with black pudding)

PS Dugdale & Davidson are Puddings (see Union Puddings.urg)

Lollysmum

@Brian Doonthetoon

Brian-am I right in thinking you are pretty knowledgable about pc’s? I seem to remember some lengthy posts in times gone by & I’m in need of info from someone with more IT knowledge than me.

Basically, the onboard graphics on my pc has died. The only graphics cards that we know works on a Dell 521 is ATI Radeon x1300 or ATI Radeon R7 250-the latter requires an additional power supply so is not a good choice. I’ve managed to get hold of an ATI X1300 graphics card BUT it has a Vesa DMS 59 connector & an old style black circular connector. My 22inch monitor only has VGA or DVI 24+1 connector. I can’t find any way of joining the two so that my pc will boot. My life is on that machine & I’d hate to lose everything on it.

Do you know if it’s possible to get a cable/adapter to convert DMS 59 to DVi 24+1. I don’t want to run two monitors via a dual link. I’m not a gamer:) I just want to be able to get into my pc to copy all my emails ,family photos etc to an external hard drive. PC won’t even boot up as it goes into a loop trying to load XP & stops when it can’t load graphics.

Any ideas? Computer shops are a bit thin on the ground in the Borders šŸ™‚

Fred

Smallaxe, there’s also an excellent black pudding from Tailford, Broxburn which is on sale at The Barras for Ā£3 a whole stick.

K1

Och ah know Stoker but every now and then a link is posted and curiosity depending on the context is piqued an ah jist cannae help masel’ šŸ˜‰

Smallaxe

Fred:

Thanks for that Fred, Haggis may be “Chieftan o’the Puddin-race” but Black Pudding is the Heir Apparent. šŸ™‚ Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Lollysmum.

I’m a Mac man – I know next to nothing about pc’s. I will type though – all the stuff that you have on your pc is actually on the internal hard drive. You don’t lose that because the pc is playing up. You’d only use that if the internal hard drive failed.

I wouldn’t worry too much about losing stuff; as long as the hard drive is ok, all your stuff should be able to be recovered.

There are peeps on here who probably understand better the rest of your post and can advise hardware-wise. You did mention “an old style black circular connector”. Is that not an S-Video connector? I wouldn’t necessarily describe that as “old style”. This page may help you:-

link to en.wikipedia.org

You could try a search on eBay for a connecting cable. I just tried searching for

DMS59 DVi24+1 cable

and got this page of results. Maybe you’ll find what you need?

link to tinyurl.com

Brian Doonthetoon

CORRECTION!

In the first paragraph, “Youā€™d only use that” should read “Youā€™d only lose that”.

Smallaxe

Stoker & K1:

Please, my Friends, it was All my fault for posting the link, I put Trial at the top thinking that no one would use it.My Bad.

Let’s now get back to fighting the Unionists. Peace to All

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Lollysmum. (Continued…)

As I had no knowledge of the “DMS59” connection, I read this:-

link to en.wikipedia.org

It would appear that DMS-59 is designed to feed two monitors. I don’t know if it will feed only one. At less than Ā£4 for a cable, it may be worth trying with one monitor.

I should point out that in Dundee, you can get a 4:3 flat screen monitor for up to Ā£20, at the likes of Cash Generator or Cash Converters. I use a 4:3 monitor attached to my iMac at work, on which I have either the Sky or BBC News Channel showing in a Firefox window with the sound muted.

Ruglonian

Happy New Year everyone!!

To all the Wingers that I’ve personally met – you know who you are! – (and the Boss if he’s reading) I am extending an invitation to a wee get-together next weekend (14th) at my home in Rutherglen.

Email me if you can make it, and we can discuss further details – gillian.mair80@gmail.com

xx

Andrew Mclean

Small axe,

Black pudding is not on my diet, given that I am now officially a F B,
Can you post a link to a vegetarian option?

Almost done from my sabbatical, so expect more inappropriate drivel in 2017!

Peace love and fraternal greetings comrades from a very cold Glenmore!

X

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Andrew Mclean.

A vegetarian option to black pudding? I’ll bet you’re the guy in Tesco looking for the low-fat lard…

8=)

Brian Doonthetoon

Or the guy in PC World, looking for a phoneless cord…

8=)

Andrew Mclean

You calling me a fruit pudding Brian?

šŸ™‚

Brian Doonthetoon

OK, I’ll try again.

Around 9.27 or thereaboots, I replied to you, Andrew, typing along the lines of “You may suggest that – but I can’t possibly comment!”

The post seems to got lost in the cyber-ether.

BTW: In case anyone is wondering… I was playing a couple of simultaneous games (2 player) of “Mr Do’s Castle” and pausing to check my email notifications after each level on each game.

I am now retiring to have a nosebag of plaice and chips and cucumber and tartare sauce.

Brian Doonthetoon

Can ANYONE explain why, after hitting the “Submit Comment” button, It can take up to 20 minutes for a comment to appear, even although you’re constantly refreshing the page?

I’m off for my nosebag.

Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Anything for a friend Andrew.

link to veganoo.net
I’ve got contacts. šŸ™‚

Peace Always

Paula Rose

One of the best live bands I’ve ever seen – flamin’ brilliant…

Paula Rose

This was so sweet of this young man – I was another experience for him…

Paula Rose

I had to say yes – so worried it might come off in his hand…

Paula Rose

And of course I could never forget this young hunk…

Stoker

Smallaxe (7:56pm)

Chillaxe Smallaxe! It’s all good in the hood!

Smallaxe

Stoker:

That’s Cool, Sub-Zero in fact Boss.

Peace Always

Stoker

Lollysmum on 5 January, 2017 at 6:26 pm:

Try calling these numbers for guidance, see if they can help.

Border Computing Ltd (IT repair specialists)
Galashiels 01896 750536

Pitman Computers (Sales & repairs)
Kelso 01573 348020

User Friendly Computing Ltd
(Only qualified data recovery specialists in Scottish Borders)
Galashiels 01896 759595

Berwick Computer Services
01289 545 000

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I saw the Flamin’ Groovies at the Bowlin’ Alley in Dundee, around 1977/78. Where did you see them?

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Brian did Dave Edmunds have something to do with the Flaminā€™ Groovies or am I mixing them up with another band? Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

They recorded some albums with Dave Edmunds in the 70s. The following is from the link at the end.

“In 1972, the band teamed up with British producer Dave Edmunds and reached a deal to sign with United Artists Records, but the deal was never expanded beyond two single releases, which effectively left the band in limbo for two years.[7] Little was heard of the group during this period except for the two 1972 United Artists singles: the 1972 anti-drug song “Slow Death” (co-written by Loney and Jordan before Loney’s departure) and a cover version of Freddie Cannon’s “Tallahassee Lassie”. During this lull, drummer Danny Mihm also left the band, to be replaced by David Wright. Finally in 1975, the Flamin’ Groovies signed to the new (but poorly distributed) label Sire Records, and recorded and released (in 1976) Shake Some Action, produced by Edmunds, which received rave critical reviews.

Sire’s distribution was taken over by Warner Bros. Records in 1977, and so the Groovies returned to a major label; however, James Farrell then left the band, to be replaced by Mike Wilhelm. The band then recorded two more albums for Sire/Warners, 1978’s Flamin’ Groovies Now, also produced by Dave Edmunds, and 1979’s Jumpin’ in the Night, produced by Jordan and Roger Bechirian.[7]”

link to en.wikipedia.org

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Thanks Brian, there was something about what you were saying to Paula Rose that struck a chord with me (see what I did there).I dont think that I have actually seen them play, you know what they say “if you can remember that era then you weren’t there” šŸ™‚
One track I know they covered:

Thanks again Brian, Peace Always

Smallaxe

BDTT:

I forgot to say, Brian like you I wish someone could explain the delayed posts, some go in immediately after you refresh and some dont “It’s a Mystery”
Peace Always

Fred

Sweeties fur the weans,

link to ramsayofcarluke.co.uk

Smallaxe

Black Pudding Bertha

Pudding Peace šŸ™‚

Stoker

You can’t beat Stornoway black pudding. Just don’t have it with a Carluke steak, horrible combination. For those not in the know, a Carluke steak is a piece and jam. šŸ˜‰

Smallaxe

Stoker, Fred et al:

I have an amusing thought that some unionists somewhere “dan Sarf” are in someplace like Bletchley Park, trying to crack the Black Pudding Code that we damn separatists are using.

Black Pudding to Carluke Steak..—.- come in Carluke Steak..
The Haggis will fly at the full moon.

Maybe I should cut down on the medication šŸ™‚ Peace Always

K1

The delayed posts ‘seem’ to be more prevalent when a lot more people are posting at the same ‘moment’ in time, that’s often when we get that ‘slow down, yer posting too fast’ or whatever message too. I think it applies across threads so while we are posting here someone’s on the main thread and sometimes a thread or two before…it will be connected to Rev’s filter askimet….to which the oft repeated tae oorsel’s under our breath after such delays, in many an empty room across the land is…gettaefuck šŸ™‚

Smallaxe

K1:

Ah knew it wis sumday else’s faut. šŸ™‚
Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
Meanwhile, BLiS___d search for a meaning to their existence.

Wiz Krablifa – Ravioli Remix: Black and Yellow

Smallaxe

CamaronB Brodie:

Hi Cameron, I hope your having a good 2017. I’ve been watching you battling on the main thread, Keep up the good work.
By the way, I prefer my pasta rapped.

Peace Always

Fred

Snallaxe “The Mealy Puddin has Landed!”

Smallaxe

Fred:

Read Mealy Puddin instructions then eat immediately, to prevent it falling into enemy hands.
Well done comrade, I will be presenting you with the “Buckfast Medal of Honour” in Freedom Square on Independence Day.Peace Always

Big Phil

Guys & Gals ,Ma good lady got me a crackin T-shirt for x-mas, it says ‘william Wallace lives inside me’ and in bold, ‘FREEDOM’. apparently I’m on wings too much and my wee daughter says ‘Dad will love that cos we’re no independent yet’ Loved the t-shirt but i loved my daughters words, made me smile. šŸ˜‰

Smallaxe

Big Phil:

Hi Phil, it is the thought of our children and their children that give us the patience and heart (Braveheart)to carry on battling in our own way to make sure that we make this nation of ours fit for them to live and to prosper in.

Peace, Love and Happiness to You and Your Family

Big Phil

Smallaxe,
And to yours my friend. Our Children Know ,through education, that we never received ,that we WILL prosper,I just ask my kids to question everything and answer all with insight. Read Read and Read and then question, my daughter is almost 10 years old and she watches FMQT with me ,She wonders why in school you shouldn’t bully but all them people are bullying the nice lady. How the hell do you answer that.?

K1

Ahm a awa’ tae ma bed, but just wanted to say rest easy Billy…

Big Phil

try again.
//youtu.be/OXt9KkpG4xE

Smallaxe

Phil:

I brought my children up just in the same way that you do now.I have 3 lovely daughters who have given my wife and me, 4 beautiful intelligent grandchildren who ask just the same questions.We tell them that we believe that there are more good people in this world than bad.

They are told that the bad people are usually just sad frightened people who are afraid that they will lose some of what they have, things that really belong to everyone and that these people don’t realise that the world would be a much better place if it’s bounty was shared with everyone and so they get angry and bully the good people. Tell your daughter that Nicola is trained and intelligent enough not to let these people worry her.

Tell her that Nicola has many friends who will make sure that she is safe and that eventually even the “bad” people and their children will have a happier life.That is why we wear the T-shirts and write on Wings to make our Scotland and the world a better place for Everyone.
Peace Always my Friend.

Smallaxe

K1:

Thank you, Peace and Love, to You and Yours my Friend

Big Phil

I’m away tae ma bed Smallaxe with yer words in my head ,I’m a believer in Karma, I truly believe your words and it is what i preach to my kids.Oor Day Cometh my friend .Glad you’r on the mend cos yer humanity on wings is very important, lang may ye continue.

Michael McCabe

Ryan Adams- oh my sweet Carolina. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Goodnight Phil, Peace Always

Smallaxe

SRV BB King Albert King

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

John Prine. That’s how every Empire falls. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Messin with the Kid

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Samba Pa Ti Carlos Santana. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

John Farnham “You’re the Voice”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Singing Winds, Crying Beasts. Santana/Abraxas

Peace Always

carjamtic

Smallaxe,the hour is late,I am also hearing a voice (s).

šŸ˜‰

Smallaxe

carjamtic: that was new to me, but this isn’t

Peace Always

Cactus

SO good I second you.

Coming in with just over 7.8 million yes votes, it’s..

John Farnham ā€œYouā€™re the Voiceā€

Quality Smallaxe.

Smallaxe

Hi, Cactus, One for you šŸ™‚ Peace Always

Cactus

Cheers for the video bro, likey.

Here’s a different kind of attack (Chess)

Scotland’s got the moves.. and then there’s the en passant option?

Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow in this pretty place šŸ˜‰

Smallaxe

Cactus: your move :-)Peace Always

Cactus

Smallaxe: Pawn to king four..

“I don’t think it’s the best game, but it’s the most effective.. for the public”

Smallaxe

Cactus: signs of the times: Peace Always

Stoker

WOS archives for January 2013

There is no third way

Here’s how this works

Acts of non-compliance

The audacity of tripe

Stoker

Keeping score

Arithmatic, Herald-style

Follow the money

Electoral Commission report: official

Stoker

Eyes on the prize

The respect agenda

And finally…#6

A letter to Tony Benn

Stoker

We are several

Not enough respect to lie

And finally…#5

The Sealand Gazette

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks, Boss, Peace Always

šŸ™‚

Stoker

Smallaxe

No problem!
Did you manage to keep up with the links during your wee bad spell?

Smallaxe

Stoker:

I was not able to at the time, but I have since looked back and collated any that I missed.Thanks, for asking my Friend it’s very thoughtful and kind of you to do so.Peace Always

Andrew Mclean

Small Axe,

Post this ages ago but, always good to sing it again, “so help me sing another song of freedom”,

link to m.youtube.com

Hope this finds you in a good place.

šŸ™‚

Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Thank you, Andrew, as they say often on Wings “you have hit the nail on the head”. I have still got the T-Shirt that was presented to me at my “Grounation” (Acceptance into Rastafarian culture) by Ras.Bredren Michael from the Twelve Tribes of Israel. It has a picture of Bob on it with the words embroidered around “Wont you help me sing my songs of Freedom”. You will now know why nail/head is so appropriate. I dedicate this song by my late friend Bredren Garnet Silk to you Brother Andrew in thanks for your thoughtfulness. Peace and Love. Smallaxe

Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

It may help if I leave the song šŸ™‚ Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Fight this Feeling. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Dawn Landes- Drive. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Sugar Minott-Oh Mr Dc link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Sixpence

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Sting-Desert Rose. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Christina Perri

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Brandy Have you ever

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Long shot kick de bucket

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Here is a cover version of the song Chandelier. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

@ Smallaxe Loving the music you play my Friend. But my bed is calling. I will leave you with Barbara Jones- Come and get some. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Some lovely music Michael coming from one so young.Thanks.
I leave now in a Fast Car with Tracy.Goodnight my Friend, Peace, Love and MUSIC!

Fred

Mornin folks, anent Bella, a rollin stone which never gathered much moss n stopped rollin!

Smallaxe

Fred: You mean like this! Peace Always

Fred

Sadly yes Smallaxe!

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe or maybe even like this ? link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Michael yes, sometimes like this also! Peace Always

Stoker

The nats are our misfortune

The heart-attack sweepstakes

And finally…#4

It’s Opposite Week!

Stoker

Britain’s shame

And finally…#3

An open question to the Scottish media

Vote No, say nothing

Stoker

Smile for me now, brother

And finally…#2

Before they’re hatched

Scotland’s healthy exports

Andrew Mclean

Small axe

Blast from the past, don’t tell the Rev, he don’t come around here no more, but it’s poetic poetry from the one of the best English political poets.

link to m.youtube.com

Peace brother.

šŸ™‚

Stoker

It’s Britain’s Oil

The way we were

Once more with less feeling

When no means yes

Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Many thanks, my Brother, much appreciated. Peace Always

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you, my Friend. Peace Always

Smallaxe

Anger and Frustration vexes all of us and affects the Spirit of Peace

Peace and Love

Liz g

Hi Smallaxe..My friend
After our exchange earlier tonight, it occurred to me that while I have been seeing that you are once again active enough to be keeping us sane and relitivly human recently. (Thankfully)
We haven’t really crossed comments for a while…Soooo…
How are you actually keeping??? (Privacy excepted ofcourse)
Also are you minding to take care of our Mrs Smallaxe..???Retorical Question!!!
Please tell her I am asking for her.. While I have never been where you are…. I have been where she is!!!
My best to you both XX

Smallaxe

liz g:

Your loss was obvious to me liz, your empathy betrayed you.No one truly dies.Do you remember where you were before you were born? Did it hurt? or was it quiet and peaceful? Why do babies cry when they are born? Life brings pain and fear and also wonderful beautiful things.Only the living can die but the dead do not grieve for life.We will all be dead.We will all be alive.Round and Round we go like windmills. Peace and Love to You my Dear Friend, You are not alone, you can never be alone

Liz g

Smallaxe
Your callsign of “peace” betrays you also my very dear friend.
You don’t just mean conflict?? Thank You…

Smallaxe

liz g:

So glad you understood.

Peace Always

Liz g

Smallaxe …X
Sweet dreams my friends

Michael McCabe

A Carol King Song. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

liz g:

Peace Always x

Smallaxe

Merry Clayton, backing singer on carol king’s “way over yonder” TAPESTRY
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Same Lady: Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe that lady has a good voice. another lady different kind of voice doing a Nick Drake Song. Black Eyed Dog- Lisa Hannigan. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

And Again: Peace Always

Smallaxe

Michael, The girl is cool.I will look at more of her (and listen) šŸ™‚

Black Horse

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

I Don’t Know. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

My first love and I were lying on the banks of a river on a beautiful day when I first heard this.I was catching a train in just under an hour.Parting is such sweet sorrow. Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe that is one of my favourites. her first television appearance was on later with Jools. She done all her own backing Vocals Live. Even Ruby Turner was applauding her. as if to say you go girl. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

In memory of Peter Sarstedt who passed away yesterday.Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Rachel Sermanni- I want you back. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

I bid goodnight Michael, we should have our own channel: Wings Radio!
Thine be ilka joy and treasure

Peace to All who may be listening

Fred

Smallaxe, you mean a kind of musical Call Kaye withoot Kaye?

Smallaxe

Fred:

Definitely, No Kaye, OK.: I want a place where people can chill out for a while and listen to some calming, requested music before returning to the fray on the main thread refreshed and alert.Also, a place where the sound of the Pipes and Bodhran can be used to rally our supporters in times of Crisis (A call to Arms) so to speak.What think YOU? šŸ™‚

Peace Always

Fred

All for it kid! a Celtic Connections wi a hard Kaye?

Smallaxe

Things are heating and speeding up, we have many Wingers with great knowledge of many things.How do we get this out to the general non-IT user?

Many small shops sit empty all over Scotland, can we use some as a means of spreading the truth.I’m pretty sure we could stock them, I have 2 desktop computers + 2 laptops + 1 A3 Printer, countless cables etc.2 microphones lying here doing nothing. That’s just me!

We will have more councils under our control (subsidies).Bring everyone under one banner.Use AYE mail. Local volunteers with transport.101 other things, I could go on all day.Peace Always

Smallaxe

Action!not words: Def Leppard Peace Always

Smallaxe

@ Me @ 1:26pm. I don’t mean shops giving away equipment, I mean using it to print Flyers/CDs ETC.
Peace Always

Stoker

Conspiracy theory and conspiracy practice

The conversation killers

Bull Bridge

Better Together in the EU

Stoker

Fish in a barrel

Oh great, that’s all we need

What’s the magic word?

FOUND: The positive case for the Union

Stoker

They think you’re stupid

Raspberry or rhubarb?

The grass roots of independence

Probably a coincidence

Stoker

Democracy, by Anas Sarwar

Don’t sell the bike shop, Orville

Pondscum of the night

Britannia rules the graves

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Picking them up Boss.

Thanks, Peace Always

Ruglonian

Repeating my message from a few days ago for folks that may have missed it –
This Saturday (14th) I’m hosting a wee Wings gathering at my home in Rutherglen before I move, and I’m extending the invitation to all the Wingers I know.

Let me know if you can attend at gillian.mair80@gmail.com

Smallaxe

For You: Brother, in Peace

Smallaxe
Brian Doonthetoon

A repaste of my ‘Quarantine’ comment.
—————————————————

Hi Ruglonian.

Where are you moving to?

Smallaxe

BDTT:

NHS Post Superb!

Peace Always

Nana

As I have already posted a lot of links on the main thread, I think it best to put these here.

link to autonomyscotland.org

link to thebutterflyrebellion.scot

link to itisintruthnotforglory.wordpress.com

link to moflomojo.blogspot.co.uk

Nana

Private eye on Blunkett and Leveson
link to twitter.com

In the first of a four-part series, Al Jazeera goes undercover inside the Israel Lobby in Britain

Land of the free, not

13th amendment documentary trailer. It is on netflix and worth watching.

link to prisonuk.blogspot.co.uk

link to twitter.com

Stoker

WOS Archives for January 2013

Bread and circuses

Cringe of the month

A job half done

Quoted for truth #5

Stoker

The home of democracy

Into the arms of Yes

Quoted for truth #4

Scotland’s voice in Westminster

Stoker

Information request #2

Information request

One last thing

Ahead of a better nation

Stoker

This should be good

Unfinished business

Raising the debate: DVD extras

Raising the level of debate

Tinto Chiel

Evening, Groovers.

Am I paranoid? I only ask because SWMBO and I recently had a series-binge of Line of Duty (an improvement on Gray’s Lobotomy) on PPV.

It has four Scottish characters.

Number 1 is a Glasgow gangster who corrupts policemen, pimps out under-age girls and is part of a paedophile ring. He spends most of his time shouting “Awaaaaaayyyyy!” and “Ya bent bassstirttt!” down his mobile at random police officers. All this in a ridiculous, guttural accent that would get him chucked out The Doublet for over-acting.

Number 2 is a senior police officer who is deeply corrupt and has sex with under-age girls.

Number 3 is a sleazy social worker/probation officer who tries to force a vulnerable female client to have sex with him for a tenner.

Number 4 is a policewoman who is on the take and corrupts aforesaid female, forcing a big brown envelope bung on her.

Ironically, Greenock’s finest, Martin (“You Yes Yet?) Compston, plays one of the few goodies but has had to ditch his Scottish accent for an estuarial one.

Am I a Touchy Sweaty/Brainwashed Cyber Sep or is there a pattern in all this?

Please advise…..

Jock Scot

Happy New Year everyone.
Straight to the point.. as some of you may know, there is a planned BBC Bias demo at the end of March. I reckon that some of sharpest minds and/or pish rippers can be found here. I mean that in the most complimentary way. If anyone has a desire to be one of the speakers or acts pls let either Ronnie or myself know a.s.a.p.

Cheers.

CameronB Brodie

One inspired by Frantz Fanon, the Donald and the Rev.’s twitter feed.

Ike Turner presents the family vibes – Garbage man

CameronB Brodie

the Rev.ā€™s twitter feed a link from Nana.

link to twitter.com

Tinto Chiel

@Marie Clark: meant to say earlier the guitar solo in “Sweet Child O’ Mine” is now an exam piece at Higher or Advanced Higher Music, I believe.

Marie Clark

My, my, my Tinto, how things have changed since I was at school.

The auld nuns wid hae a fit if you used modern music like that. I well remember The Shirrelles Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow being on the banned list.

Do you think mibies I should go back to school and dae music noo.I just love that song. Mind you I think Axl Rose is a complete arse, but he sure could sing that.

Tinto Chiel

Yes, I can see you on lead guitar with perhaps BDTT on bass, Mr I Brotherhood lead vocals and probs Smallaxe on drums.

Quite a beat combo but I’m struggling for a name for it.

Answers please on a post card.

K1

The Elastic Aye Band

*coat’s oan*

Tinto Chiel

K1: yes, I can see possibilities but almost certain future “musical differences” once the Yoko Ono figure comes along.

Might plump for Rick Wrench and The Spanners…..

K1

True, true Tinto…Paula Rose could be problematic later on…

Nah don’t like ‘spanners’ has connotations noo which would be in conflict wi the central theme o’ the ‘sound’. Whit aboot, The Warblin’ Wingers?

Tinto Chiel

Take your point. Where is the lovely girl anyway? Hardly ever drops in now.

Must go up Wood Hill to Bedfordshire.

Decisions, decisions.

Michael McCabe

@ Tinto Chiel I would like to Suggest the name. The Revs Parish ? for the Beat Combo

Paula Rose

I’m always watching Dears – always watching.

Nana

Land of the free, not

Documentary on prison slavery in the US, available on netflix. Trailer below,

13th

link to twitter.com

Tinto Chiel

That would only work, Michael, if we could get the Rev himself on synths and maracas with gorgeous, pouting Paula Rose in the Stevie Nicks role.

Have provisionally planned their Great North Road Tour, including Golspie, Embo and Brora with Wick option.

Hope this Vick doesn’t wear off any time soon.

Stoker

Have a read folks. Quite a few items of interest, not least of all their claim that BBC Radio Scotland listener figures are up. Strange how they can tell us that but they suddenly start seeing pink squirrels when asked for individual news and current affairs figures. Och well the truth will out i suppose, eventually!

BBC TRUST – Scotland Annual Review 2015-16
link to archive.is

Stoker

I see several Wingers have made reference to the much touted new BBC 2 current affairs programme over on the main threads. This from the BBC Text service (Scotland):

BBC Scotland to launch new programme
“BBC Scotland has announced details of a new weekly current affairs programme. Starting on 26 January, Timeline will be broadcast live between 19:30 and 20:00 each Thursday on BBC Two Scotland. It will be jointly presented by the BBC’s Glenn Campbell and Shereen Nanjiani. The head of news at BBC Scotland, Gary Smith, said Timeline would be the weekly centrepiece of a new engagement with our audience.”

All you need to know about Gary Smith:
link to archive.is

As for the presenters of Timeline, that will be the same Glenn Campbell who misled Scottish viewers over Slabbers membership numbers on 4 November 2014, during a BBC Radio Scotland Newsdrive programme.

Further investigation revealed he was using the only figures the BBC had available, figures from 2007. Campbell informed Newsdrive listeners that Scottish Labour had over 13000 members.

Two weeks later, on 19 November 2014, BBC Chief Political Correspondent Laura Kuenssberg threw a couple of Jacks magic beans into the mix when she informed readers of a BBC UK Politics article that Scottish Labours membership was under 17000. She, apparently, was using the same source as Campbell. Work that one out folks!

OH AYE! The very same Glenn Campbell who stood on the steps at Holyrood and tore up a copy of the SNP’s manifesto quite gleefully for the cameras.
link to archive.is

Fred

@ Stoker, the Campbell’s urnae aw bad!

Stoker

Ah ken, Fred, but am no a big fan ae thur soups tho!
šŸ˜€
________

Bigchib (aka Smallaxe) has went offy quiet, hope all is well.

Smallaxe

Just popped in, busy at the moment

Tinto, Fred: Name of Band, my suggestion.

“Malt Barley and the Thalers”

The thaler was a silver coin used throughout Europe for almost four hundred years.

“thaler” is a person or a thing “from the valley” (Clyde Valley?)
——————————————————————-
Stoker: Thanks for links, Sorry I missed you last night.

Peace to All

Andrew Mclean

Aye Small axe are you good mate?

Thanks for the kind support on the main thread Billy, It means a lot.

Take care

Andrew

Smallaxe

Stoker:

I just noticed your post as I refreshed the page, thank you, no cause for concern Boss. I’m O.K. Peace Always

Smallaxe

Andrew:

Refreshed page again and there you were!

Support for you Always Brother, my own grandfather was shot twice and gassed at Ypres 1917/1918. I have said before, I was named after him and was heartbroken when he died when I was 16yrs old.He was my Hero.

Peace and Love, Billy

Tinto Chiel

Thanks for the suggestion, Smallaxe. Will take it to Avizandum (he’s a wee fella who lives in Shotts).

Still ok to beat the skins or do you want to spank your plank front of band?

Feeling all Andrew Loog Oldham today…..

Fred

This is way above ma heid, thalers & plank spankin! Murdo Fraser, noo there’s a plank that needs spankin!
FMQT, today he was abysmal, I thought James Kelly was thick.

Nana

A request on behalf of inform Scotland.

I am snowed under right now and don’t have time to search for specific bbc bias articles so I ask wingers who come across any to please forward them to inform scotland facebook page link to facebook.com

The folks who are running the website and getting the billboard campaign up and running will be very grateful.

Stoker

Thaler for thale or rent, roomth to let, fifty thenth….

Stoker

Lollysmum

@briandoonthetoon
Hi Brian thanks for the rapid replies on 5th Jan. I’d already run the searches you’d suggested but no joy there. Eventually managed to get an adapter via ebay via a hint I found on a 2007 forum post so desktop pc is now up & running again thankfully. No ,I know I wouldn’t have lost the info it’s just that I had no intention of replacing the desktop so wouldn’t have been able to install the drive as slave in another pc.

Anyway, the workaround I found works well & I have a spare used but working graphics card tucked away just in case from ebay šŸ™‚

Thanks for trying to help.

Lollysmum

@Stoker
Thanks for your reply on 6th Jan-names & addresses of Borders IT firms now in my contacts lists. Thanks for taking the trouble to find & post them. Managed to fix the problem myself so all is well …. for now šŸ™‚

Tinto Chiel

@Stoker 4.54 pm:

Thooperb.

šŸ˜›

Stoker

Tyre-kickers and time-wasters

“Separatists” reach out to world

The not-so-straight debates

Damning with praise

Stoker

Repeat after me

Like a Record, baby

Glass half smashed

Specialist subject: the bleeding obvious

Stoker

Who cares?

Rallying to the flag

A letter to a Unionist

Vote No for [TBC]

Stoker

The Fourth Reich?

One more time for the folks at home

The (very) hokey cokey

Surely some mistake

Smallaxe

Thtoker:

Thanks tho much, Both, thooper!

Peath Alwayths

šŸ™‚

Ed t head

Has anybody got any idea on brexit it’s all talk but it has fu**** the country before it started is May power tripping like the song (the almighty) or just lost and looking for a way out to stop the banks and Scotland leaving not forgetting Ni leaving , it’s what the little Englander wants.

Ruglonian

Hey Brian, I’m still staying in Rutherglen – wouldn’t want to have to change my name šŸ˜‰

I’ve bought a bigger house (a bit of a fixer-upper) so I’ll be able to host a bigger Wings party next time šŸ™‚

Nana

A couple of interesting links

link to aeon.co

This is brilliant

link to abcnews.go.com

Stoker

Away from here

STATEMENT OF CLARIFICATION

Trident to be moved to Mars

This is your choice

Stoker

The Dark Side

Not even trying

Keeping it honest

Fancy a chat, Darling?

Stoker

Quoted for truth #3

Where’s north from here?

Crayons out again

Quoted for truth #2

Stoker

Diff’rent strokes

Ploughing the depths

Pretending to see the future

Vote Yes for a nuclear-free England?

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Picken’ them up Boss!

Thanks, Stoker. Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Evening, sophisticates.

Still blows my mind, what’s left of it.

And the drummer cam drum.

Tinto Chiel

Och, I know, it’s my age, but I don’t care:

Tinto Chiel

Gonnae do a Cactus:

Scotland: feel free yet?

EH?

Brian Doonthetoon

I came across this when I was seeking something else at the Internet Archive. Thought that some of yooz may enjoy. Here’s the preamble from the introductory page. BTW: “The 3Js” was a web forum run by DC Thomson, from around 1999 until a few years ago. It was deleted when Brightsolid took over DCT’s IT requirements. Mostly it was populated by Dundee emigrants to Canada, Australia, and so on.

“For those who don’t know, WeeYin is not Dundonian. He originates from “the west coast” (the Glasgow area) and is now living “somewhere in Newfoundland”. He stumbled into the 3js one day, at some time in the past, and his unique sense of humour led to his adoption as the “pet” non Dundonian.”

link to web.archive.org

Smallaxe

The Dundee Cat:

Peace Always

Cactus

Aweright TC bro ~

Aye, SO, dae ye, feel free, yet.. Scotland?

Tinto Chiel called it šŸ™‚

I do.

Smallaxe

Colours of fREEDOM:

Peace Always

Stoker

Lollysmum on 12 January, 2017 at 5:05 pm:

No problem! We can’t have a fellow indy supporter out the game.
Glad you sorted it, now i know who to contact with my tech probs.
šŸ˜‰
________

Nana on 12 January, 2017 at 3:11 pm:

Many of us don’t do facebook, myself included, so anything i come across will need to be picked up here on O/T by one of the Inform Scotland team.

This facility might be of some use to them:
link to news.bbc.co.uk

Tinto Chiel

And now for something completely different.

Crazy, but a jaunty little number.

That tumbleweed thread was like Off Topic on speed.

They’re all mad, mad I tell you.

Tinto Chiel

And now for something completely different.

Crazy, but a jaunty little number.

That tumbleweed thread was like Off Topic on speed, non?

They’re all mad, mad I tell you.

Tinto Chiel

Ooops! It said we were posting too quickly…..

Tinto Chiel

Sorry it said, “You (pl.) are posting comments too quickly.”

And so I retried…..

There’s a lesson there for all of us.

Stoker

Unionist Libel Of The Day

Little rays of sunshine

A difference of tone

Positivity vs negativity: results in

Stoker

We are redundant

Adequately explained by stupidity?

FAO the Scottish Conservatives

The days ahead

Stoker

A New Jerusalem

Selective hearing

And finally…#23

The siren song of opposition

Stoker

WOS Archives for February 2013

And finally…#22

Information request #4

Stepping out of the confession booth

Causing a cache-flow crisis

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Picked them up, Boss
Thank you, Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Your posting to quickly! SLOW DOWN

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

You’re right, Smallaxe. Getting impatient.

I get the feeling you’ve a book in you re. your London days. Wish you would set some of them down.

Hey, Cactus: I meant to say I met you the Night of Murphy’s Shame outside the Glasgow Central Hotel for the BLiS______d gala dinner, when you were holding the Wings banner and announced your name. I was the old weirdo in the fedora who started talking to you. Laura Bicker was there that night and got a bit of stick. And then Jimbo taunted us so much with his food bank “donation” that the Glesca Polis got annoyed with him.

Change is going to come, my friends.

Tinto Chiel

Wow, what a voice! Dig the off beats and native American vibe:

Independence: are we there yet?

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel says:
14 January, 2017 at 8:27 pm
“Youā€™re right, Smallaxe. Getting impatient.”

“I get the feeling youā€™ve a book in you re. your London days. Wish you would set some of them down.”

So does the MET, MI5/6/SIS,/GCHQ,/ Menwith Hill/DFID/MDP. The Salvation Army, Blue Peter, High and Mighty. And the Mental Health Review Board.

The book will be out soon “Mien Banff”

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Didn’t realise you’d been at the SLab Grand Central demo. We must’ve crossed paths. Laura The Bicker looked particularly uncomfortable, but hey, no matter, she’s off to fry bigger fish noo…

If only Jim The Murphy had taken our loud advice that night, he wouldn’t have had to go and waste a good white shirt (as well as his career).

Cactus

Hey Tinto C ~

Aye aye twas a grand day.. we did good.

Best bit was the polis dugs barking TO oor chant, IB knows šŸ™‚

The first time and only time I’ve met Mr Doig too.. remember G?

Smallaxe

Clockwork Classical’s: None of the old Ultraviolence my Droogs. Peace
Always

Cactus

Aweright Ed t head ~

Good call with the Powertrippin’, ye used tae see Stumpy in The Solid fae time tae time.

Here’s an Almighty song about where May wants to take us!

Cheers for ur hospitality Gillian, Wings homeshow number one.
X.

Cactus

One spurs on the next..

Smallaxe

You ain’t seen nothin’ yet:

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Morning, all.

Enjoyed the reminiscences re. The Smurphoid. I met lots of people that night but didn’t swap names at the time, including a big Cockney-sounding fella who asked about a Common Weal badge I was wearing. It was only that night I realised how unspeakably vile we all were: I even saw one of our seething mob helping a blind woman cross Gordon Street. Unspeakable.

Wonder if dear old Captain Sensible Dave was there, a chiel amang us takin notes? Or does he only exist in Cyberworld?

Smallaxe, I was lurking on the MT just there and realised you had been up on border guard duty all last night. Look after yourself. I’ve got Mrs TC knitting some Fair Isle mittens and I’m borrowing Nana’s drone to do a beef tea drop about noon.

Doesn’t that Original Robber Baron, the Duke of Buccleuch, have land in your area? If so, beware mantraps, my friend. And yon wee yella monkey in Drumlanrig (no, not wee Fluffy).

Tinto Chiel

This one’s for the duke, btw. Aren’t historical parallels fascinating?

No sniggering at the back…

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Looking forward to the mittens and beef tea, as for The Duke of Buccleuch, between him, the Douglas’s and the first Earl of Queensberry (He of the Queensberry rules), not forgetting Steve Ovett who bought Kinmount House at one time and Oscar Wilde who used to frequent the area, I couldn’t give a long tails arse.

I will have my venison, salmon, grouse, pheasant, rabbit, anytime I am feeling a tad peckish. I just wish the bastards would stop shooting Raptors, Magpies and Jays etc as it pisses me off. I used to watch these people and their friends arriving, for a days “Fun” shooting anything that moved, and their disgusting “Sport” of hare coursing.

I wonder where these people got permission to drive in convoy from England with their cars adorned with Antlers on the bonnets of their cars when ordinary punters couldn’t have a Jaguar or any other motif on theirs unless it passed safety regs. Sorry for the rant my good friend but I take only what I and my friends and family can eat. NOT “Oh that was a jolly good day I bagged 127 Pheasants” I would make them eat the lot at one sitting!Feathers an’ All!!

Peace always

Tinto Chiel

Quite understand, Smallaxe. Feeling a bit peevish and uncharitable myself today, for which apologies

“They create a desert and call it peace” indeed.

Stoker

A Scotsman on the make

Rainy day blues

Quoted for truth #10

Quoted for truth #9

Stoker

Darling warns blah blah something

Fairies and unicorns

Remedial arithmetic for Unionists

Last year, this year

Stoker

We need to talk about Glasgow

The missing words round

The real choice that matters

Truth hidden in plain sight

Stoker

Good morning, Unionists

On Catalonia and Scotland

Pushing at an open door

Better late than never

Fred

Thanks for the O.C.Smith number guys, old memories.

Anent his Grace the Double Duke of Buccleuch/Queensberry, his predecessor attended Hitler’s 50th birthday bash I believe & both himself & his brother were smitten by National Socialism. Of course once war broke out the Swastika was swapped for the Union Jack.

Tinto Chiel

Had there been a Nazi invasion I think most of the “nobility” would have accommodated the new regime without much difficulty, Fred. I’ve got in my faves somewhere a list of those considered at the time to be dodgy but my eye’s missing it just now.

I think the last time I saw a hen-harrier (female) was in the hills above Loch Muick. That was The Day We Meet Camilla (and her two very attractive female bodyguards, who were packing heat: firearms, not the magazine). Alan Plater-style play-script to follow.

Maybe ‘cos Charlie’s all green ‘n’ that they don’t quite blast them all to kingdom come on the Balmoral estate.

Tinto Chiel

Found it, I think.

And yet they traduced Arthur Donaldson!

link to rense.com

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Got em’, thank you, Boss.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel: second attempt!

Sorry Tinto, shortened version of my previous post, I think I may have forgotten to clear the link.

Like you, I was not in good fettle today, I was mourning the fact that I had an invite to the O2 Brixton Academy GiG to celebrate the life of David Bowie and his 70th Birthday. Unfortunately, I was not fit enough to attend Last Sunday.

I was just coming to terms with that disappointment this morning when I received an e-mail inviting me to a John Mayall gig at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz club in Soho, (Tuesday 4th April 2017 – Thursday 6th April).All expenses paid.

I’m not normally a pessimist but this will be a great chance for me and a few old friends to get together all in the one place at the same time which is usually few and far between. I am praying to every Deity that exists that I will be able to get there.

Here’s what I could Have won!

Parrot, as, a, sick. Rearrange this well-known phra…. sob, snotters gnashing of teeth. šŸ™

Peace Always sob, greet, mair, snotters

Shinty

Help please, don’t want to interrupt the main thread.

Used to be able to change text to italics, bold or underscore but these options no longer appear when I try to write a comment.

Any suggestions?

Cheers.

Tinto Chiel

Ronnie Scott’s, Smallaxe? Wow, that would be great. I hope you can get down there to kick up a little dust. Wishing you all the best, my friend.

Have been a bit dyspeptic myself today, but that’s what the aristocracy does to me. I learned a lot from my sojourns on Skye when I was young and beautiful in the 70s and it’s never left me. God knows what the true Gaels must think of them, people who suffered first-hand. Waterloo near Breakish was originally land given to survivors of the battle. Beautiful views of Broadford Bay, but God knows how you fed a family from such thin soil.

Shinty, I’ve never been able to do that fancy stuff in the standard comment field. Probably my lack of IT skills, but you might be better to cut and paste a Word document or equivalent where you can do all that refined stuff.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Thanks, hope I can make it.Waterloo, as you say nobody can eat a view.

Shinty: Sorry but I can’t help either.Brian Doonthetoon or K1 may be along to help.

Peace Always

K1

Shinty?

The wee arrows (chevrons) above comma and full stop on yer keyboard.

Greater than, less than.

Type less than sign then either b, i, sorry I don’t know the underline letter to use, then type the greater than sign. Write what you want to write and at the end of that type less than followed by / then the letter b, I, then greater than sign. You will see the results below the text box as you do it.

So bold
So italic

BDDT (ah think) you used to have a link to WordPress factsheet thingy with these ‘how to’ bits and bobs, any chance you could repost when ye have a moment? Also, trying to do underline using the letter u between tags to no affect, bit strange, am I using the wrong letter?

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: “Nobody can eat a view.”

Or, as the NAs said (or did they?):

link to quoteinvestigator.com

I’ve been reading a lot about Custer and Sitting Bull and Little Bighorn, Smallaxe, and have decided I’m a Sioux Indian.

My cathedral is the natural world.

A Scottish wildwood in May is my vision of heaven.

These things keep me going, the things that will outlive us all.

The ineffable, every day.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

As you walk through the forest, take only what you need and leave nothing but footprints.

Smallaxe last of the Govan Stanklifters

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: understood, completely, mon vieux.

Ah’m no’ a hippy, btw!

Heeheehee!

I await the return of the willow warbler and the chaste blooming of moschatel (poetry).

Sleep well, my friend.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Only when we are fully awake, can our dreams become reality

Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi K1.

The only WordPress bookmark I could find was to do with smilies.

link to codex.wordpress.org

RE: BOLD and ITALICS.

The tags for bold and italics use the two chevrons – ‘less than’ and ‘greater than’ which you get by either SHIFT-COMMA or SHIFT-PERIOD.

In the following examples, I’ve used the square brackets as substitutes for the chevrons. YOU would use the chevrons to make them active.
Remember, you can always check that your comment is appearing as you want it, by referring to the preview text BELOW the comment input box.

To embolden text, you use [b] at the start of the appropriate text and [/b] at the end. So

Blah di blah [b]rhubarb, rhubarb[/b] blah di blah

would embolden rhubarb , rhubarb. BTW: that’s a forward slash in the closing tags. If you wanted the text in italics, you would substitute i for b.

If you wanted Rhubarb, rhubarb to be both bold AND italics, you would add in the other tags. Like,

Blah di blah [b][i]rhubarb, rhubarb[/b][/i] blah di blah

This is what I use when I’m quoting a comment that I’m replying to, as you can see in the example here.

The rule should be – always check the preview below the comment box, for typo’s, correct appearance and so on, BEFORE you click on the “Submit Comment” box.

Smallaxe
K1

Thanks BTTD, that’s the one, I thought it had the instructions for underline and bold etc, must’ve been some other WordPress article I had read but can no longer find, thanks.

Hopefully some of this will aid you Shinty.

Shinty

Many thanks for the info. (I’m sure the site used to have little icons above the comment box which made it really easy)

Also, re Native Americans I believe a Scot became a Cherokee Chief John Ross if I remember correctly.

Shinty

Apologies on last post -John Ross’s father was Scottish, John Ross himself was born in the states.

Smallaxe

A wee song for Indians,

Peace Always

carjamtic

smallaxe

Let’s go for an imaginary jolly….Pat’s Bar (La Costiera),Diall Inn,Howff,Electric Gardens…long walk (float) hame.

That was braw (missed a couple of watering holes am sure).

šŸ˜‰

Tinto Chiel

Thank you BDTT and K1.

Every day is a school day indeed.

Tinto Chiel

I see Cactus on the MT is asking us to use the horn when passing the new billboards.

This song came into my head:

Might take a drive and have a wee look.

Smallaxe

carjamtic:

“Crazy Daisy” “The Maggie”, “The Babbity Bowser” and for a dance in the dark, “The Maryland”.Moving east, “The El Paso” (The Caravel) then up to Easterhouse to the pub withoot windaes “The Casbah”.Moving down to the Gallogate “The Market Hotel”. Next morning “The Blochairn Tavern” (The Budgie) for some hair of the dog at 8am.

In the very early days can anyone but me remember the place where we used to go in on a Friday night and come back out, blinking in the Monday morning daylight “The Tomb” in Cochran street, just off Freedom Square.

My God, what have I done with my life, that’s just some of them. I’ve got a hangover just writing this.
šŸ™‚

Peace Always

Smallaxe

It’s the same old song: I meant to leave this on the last post.

Peace Always

Fred

The CafƩ Club in Baillieston, Darkest Lanarkshire.

How come, if you leave nothing but footprints in the woods, Ray Mears is a fat bastard!

carjamtic

CELTIC sign STURGEON !

No more surprises left,is there ?

(Fabio Miguel dos Santos Sturgeon)

Football transfer ‘silly season’ is here again,(yawn)but this headline did make me laugh,Portuguese player apparently;-)….and only a rumour.

Smallaxe some Classic watering holes on that list,the story went at the time,The Budgie just got it’s licence for opening early doors,place is packed,some BBC journo thought it would be a ‘good’ story to pop along and interview a few of the punters,get their thoughts on this ‘initiative’.

Never seen a bar empty as quick,lads should have at their work,at home,or anywhere but in a pub at 08:00 am……the manager was fuming,BBC had to pay him compen for loss of business.

They have not improved much,if any on the logical thinking bit.

šŸ˜‰

Smallaxe

Fred:

The Cafe Club, good for a game of snooker, The Auld Hoose Wisnae a bad pub either, further doon The Barrachnie was OK but if you wanted a pint in the lounge of the Clachan you had to have your own tankard.Over the hill takes (or used to) you to the Golden Gates Hotel, when I drank in there a pint of lager was 2/6p, 8 pints for a pound, Magic.

Ray Mears wears snow shoes.

carjamtic:

The Budgie story is true and by law, you had to buy a breakfast before they would serve you. The BBC owe me for a breakfast that I had to leave when I made a fast break for the door šŸ™‚ see what I did there?

Peace Always Guys

Meg merrilees

Blah d blah rhubarb and eggs are for woosers so there

Briandoonthetoon thank you just learned how to do this. How exciting … you can’t fail to be impressed by my posts from now on folks…

Stoker

Hi Meg, and others interested in this wee project.

First of all, i’ve no idea the best way to go about this. Suppose it really comes down to how many folk get involved and what the majority want to run with.

I’m not that keen on the beer mat idea due to a lack of proper info on such a small space. I was thinking more along the lines of A5 size card or (my preference) a quarterly WOS Newsletter.

The Newsletter would only be possible if we got enough people on board and the Rev’s go-ahead. The A5 card could fit ample info, using both sides, on any given issue. And we could create a series of X-amount of issues, EG; Health, Defence, Liars (although we obviously wouldn’t use such harsh language) and Oil etc etc.

I see 2 ways of distributing them:
1: We get them produced for distribution from the WOS events stall and sell them at 5p or 10p per card.
AND/OR
2: We all use the template which, with the Rev’s approval and help, we get put up here on the site and get our own cards printed off for distribution around our own areas.

Please note folks, this is not set in stone, it’s just some ideas i’m throwing out there to get the ball rolling because we really need to start educating with facts which will then be reinforced and backed up when WBB2 hits the doors.

I see 2 poss

Fred

@ Smallaxe, there was a free bus out to the Griffin? at Bothwell on a Sunday, the same wummin sang “Who did ye see at the Isle of Man honey oh honey!” every week without fail, I think you had to buy a sausage roll.

The haunted Baillieston pub is the Thistle, downed a few spirits there masel.

Andrew McLean

tried to post a song, but it wont let me

Mamie Galore – It Ain’t Necessary

youtube it

Small Axe, you need not, you know where to look!

Andrew McLean

Any Wingers going to the misreporting Scotland add van in fife tomorrow afternoon?

Smallaxe

Fred:

I remember the Griffin well, A sausage roll and a night of dancing, trying to get lucky with a lumber and you had to wear a tie or they didnae let you in.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Putting on Northern Soul, you’ve been reading my mail! I used to have N. Soul nights when I ran a club in Swindon.

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Anyone else remember this kid’s programme from the 60s? It was shown in 15 min. episodes for quite a few weeks before the 6 o’clock Lies from the BBC News. Except we didn’t think Richard Baker would tell us porkies. All about a wee boy and his dog in the French Alps and some smugglers.

I bought the old boxed set three years ago and it was charming. Gaumont did a remake in 2013. This is the longer version of the original. It doesn’t have quite the impact but is still pretty good.

More innocent days? Maybe it was just us.

Stoker

And finally…#21

Back-seat driver

Arbroath smokies and mirrors

A radical plan

Stoker

We are the 51%

Quoted for truth #8

Karine Polwart statement

The Path of God

Stoker

Framing the debate

Don’t cut universal services for the old

Ask Wings Over Scotland

The logic gap

Stoker

And finally…#20

Peeking behind the curtain

Chancer calls bluffers

And finally…#19

Stoker

From the WOS Archives of Feb 2013 – Just wanted to include this one tonight because i think the artwork is a cracker šŸ˜€

Smallaxe

Stoker:

The last one’s a cracker. šŸ™‚

Thank you, Boss
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Having been brought up in the East End of Glasgow I was into harder stuff than that.Don’t watch if you are easily frightened!!

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Ha! Ha! Smallaxe: I think I can vaguely remember that. I liked Rubovia too but it looks vaguely sinister now. Weird!

When I was a student, I got a summer job in Green Street DHSS in Brigton for three years. I would get the 70 or 71 bus down from EK and do my clerical stuff. Once, when delivering files out front to a CO, one of the clients made a razor slash sign across his face, but that was just a joke/bravado, I think. People there were very kind to me.

My most onerous tasks were a) going to the wee dairy in Abercrombie Street for our massive gammon roll and soup order and b) being the muscle (no laughing, please) when the clerkess and I took the giros to the post office.

I judge a section in the Bridgeton Burns Club every December in St Mungo’s and the kids from all over the East End are an inspiration. One of the best winners this year was a Scots girl of Asian descent. Her Scots recitation was faultless and really brought the poem to life. “The kids are all right.”

Stoker: great graphic but now the wee Wings boat would look like a battleship. And the shark would be in its death throes (I hope). Great stuff.

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, carjamtic: need to consult the experts.

Do you remember a strange wee bar on the right at the bottom of Abercrombie Street? It had no windows and a roller shutter door. Was it the Arcadia Bar?

I believe the strange tincture known as White Tornado (so called from the white plastic bottles used to house the brew) were supplied from some drinking dens in the area.

Seems so long ago now, and probs just as well.

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

The only pub that I remember in that area was the Black Bull, there was another pub further down the street that sat on the corner but I can’t remember the name. I will try and access my memory banks and let you know if I come up with anything.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Was it near Belvidere hospital?

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Up on Duke Street? No, it was down almost at the junction of Abercrombie and London Road, Smallaxe, opp. old Calton Cemetery. Of course, it may have had another name in the 70s or before.

That dairy I mentioned did wonderful rolls and gammon (just across and down from the Catholic church and presbytery).

Doesn’t really matter much now, I suppose, just an idle query.

Dinnae fash.

carjamtic

Tinto

Memories are sometimes a wee bit ‘hazy’ on these walkabouts,don’t recall going for a pint there.

(anyways,check this link.an old pub crawlers guide to the ‘wild side of life’).

Did you get a poke wae yer gammon roll ?

link to oldglasgowpubs.co.uk

Tinto Chiel

Carjamtic: fascinating stuff. When the train from Hamilton hit the long Canning Street tunnel I used to think, “Where is Canning Street?”. Now I know.

It has just come to me: The New Monaco Bar in ARCADIA STREET.

My brain cells got there eventually.

Thanks both.

Tinto Chiel

And yes, we got several pokes, Carjamtic, because the order was so big.

Civil servants have to eat, you know. šŸ˜‰

The funny thing was that the brothels in Greenhead Street by The Green were still caused “bawdy houses” by some of the DHSS staff. I expected Falstaff to fall out of one with a glass of sack in his hand.

Fred

It was the Manky Bar in the local patois!

Tinto Chiel

I offer you scholars this:

link to glasgowguide.co.uk

1 43 44 45 46 47 81

Stats: 6,681 Posts, 1,205,885 Comments

• Geri on Bad Santa: “The Tories were supposed to be introducing a shiny new version of labelling. Dunno what happened to that. Probably abandoned…Dec 21, 12:56
    • auld highlander on Bad Santa: “Snake oil ya galoot.Dec 21, 12:40
    • Mia on Bad Santa: “Currently, if you order food online from Sainsburys, for lamb, for example, you are simply given the option New Zealand…Dec 21, 12:38
    • Gordon on Bad Santa: “It’s it’s specialist subject!Dec 21, 12:37
    • znovak on The Cost Of Truth: ““They havenā€™t been stolen. Theyā€™ve been captured & will be part of negotiations.” They ran bogus referenda there, let Duma…Dec 21, 12:34
    • Mia on Bad Santa: ““Itā€™s a rare ā€œgen0cideā€ that could be ended by releasing 100 or so hostages” Whose intelligence are you trying to…Dec 21, 12:22
    • James on Bad Santa: “Aye, more Main drivel right enough. Shite, even. Speaking of shite, US food regs allow shite in the human food…Dec 21, 12:20
    • PacMan on Bad Santa: “I have no problem with ā€œhormone pumped beefā€ and the ā€œchlorinated chickenā€ in the UK as long as they are…Dec 21, 12:13
    • Robert Hughes on Bad Santa: “The destruction of the E.U has been a long-term objective of feral U.S ” Foreign Policy ” and is now…Dec 21, 12:13
    • Zander Tait on Bad Santa: “Drivel.Dec 21, 11:58
    • Peter McAvoy on Bad Santa: “Abolish the house of lordsDec 21, 11:56
    • Hatey McHateface on Bad Santa: “TBQH, Iā€™m more interested in whatā€™s in the green bottle. The comments BTL are far from being a barrel of…Dec 21, 11:49
    • Socrates MacSporran on Bad Santa: “Ma auld (now Sainted) Faither was a member of the Old Scottish Unionist Party. After it was taken over by…Dec 21, 11:45
    • Zander Tait on Bad Santa: “Drivel.Dec 21, 11:43
    • Socrates MacSporran on Bad Santa: “Ne’erday is the more-traditional Scottish winter holiday. I started working in 1963 and worked Christmas Day on my first two…Dec 21, 11:33
    • Hatey McHateface on Bad Santa: “Iā€™ve heard that the millions of tourists who visit the USA every year, gorging themselves on the ā€œhormone pumped beefā€…Dec 21, 11:32
    • Anne on Bad Santa: “My father worked on Christmas day as well.Dec 21, 11:32
    • PacMan on Bad Santa: “The HOL is nothing but another non-job to keep ex politicians from causing trouble to their respective parties. That’s the…Dec 21, 11:30
    • gregor on Bad Santa: “The Refreshments: Rock’n’roll X-Mas: I’m the Real Santa: “IĀ“ve been around a long long while RidinĀ“ round in Christmas-style IĀ“m…Dec 21, 11:24
    • sarah on Bad Santa: “It changed to being a public holiday in Scotland some time in the 1950’s, I think.Dec 21, 11:22
    • PacMan on Bad Santa: “And a lot of these Brexit voters complain that they never got the Brexit that they voted for. I voted…Dec 21, 11:15
    • PacMan on Bad Santa: “Using that logic, the attack on farmers using inheritance tax is a dog-whistle to their support as a rouse to…Dec 21, 11:07
    • gregor on The Cost Of Truth: “Guardian (2022): Keir Starmer: I will abolish House of Lords to ā€˜restore trust in politicsā€™: “…the Labour leader has told…Dec 21, 11:06
    • Dan on Bad Santa: “Soz for bumping this from a couple of weeks back, which was also a bump from a previous post, but…Dec 21, 10:56
    • James on Bad Santa: “There’s ‘proud Scot but’ Mairget Curran punted up into the lords for her services to the English parliament. Trebles all…Dec 21, 10:54
    • Geri on Bad Santa: “According to the world elite over at billionaires central, the WEF – we’ll all own nothing, eat bugs & be…Dec 21, 10:51
    • PacMan on Bad Santa: “I found this article about how the US government screwed over the US people through a Federal orchestrated land-grab in…Dec 21, 10:49
    • Mac on Bad Santa: “Trump when he was president first time around repeatedly complained that Europe should not be buying its (cheap) energy from…Dec 21, 10:42
    • PacMan on Bad Santa: “I think it’s simply the price of a trade deal with the US. I know there has been a lot…Dec 21, 10:28
    • Effijy on Bad Santa: “Most odious PMā€™s Thatcher wears the crown. Boris made a sickening attempt to overtake her. Truss who threw the economy…Dec 21, 10:27

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()