Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

Subscribe
Notify of

40.9K Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Michael McCabe

Had a hard day? Need cheering up? Well have a wee listen to my favourite Scottish boy band. link to youtube.com

Cal

Thanks Ian and Thepnr.
My wife spent most of last night writing the article for the Chinese paper and it’s going to be on the front page this Friday. If I can I’ll post a link and if not I’ll photograph it and post the photo although I’m not 100% sure how to do that.

Tam Jardine

That elusive Wings Edinburgh night is on.

4th July. The anniversary of the USA making the risky, foolish and ultimately disastrous declaration of their independence.

The venue: The Newsroom, Leith Street, Edinburgh. 7.30-8pm kickoff.

Do me a wee favour and post a bit of support before I shell out the booking fee.

Cheers

gerry parker

@Tam, Have it in my diary, should make it along for an hour or so.

Tam Jardine

Great Gerry- should be a guid night. It’s long overdue.

Have a great day!

Thepnr

@Tam Jardine

Well done, think I’ll pop along with the missus, might try and bring one or two others with me.

Jim Thomson

@Tam mind and post it as O/T in the main threads that Stu opens up (heed the O/T posting rule though!) πŸ™‚

Posting it in the main threads will reach far more people than just across here the quiet of the business lounge πŸ˜‰

Jim Thomson

@Paula & @meemaw

a bit late to the party with this link (don’t ask how I found it, I just did. OK?)

link to shoedesignstudio.com

So, fill yer boots (as someone once said, somewhere, I think).

You’re welcome πŸ™‚

Tam Jardine

Jim Thomson

Posted it there also Will keep bringing it up on the main threads to get the message out there.

Hopefully we can get a decent turn out. Was worried about clash with the quarters but the bar upstairs has a telly I think so folk who have to watch every game have an option.

Jim Thomson

@Tam just anither thocht. Mrs Queen and The Chook are in Embra over the 4th (naming some wee boat at Rosyth it seems). Maybe they’d like an invite. She might have some casual wear up wi’ her, or you could just say “come as you are”.

Mischief maker, moi? Naw. πŸ˜‰

Tam Jardine

Aye Jim… nae dress code except the obligatory Yes badge. Would love to see that!

Oneironaut

Belated Happy Birthday Ian! πŸ˜€
Sorry I missed it. Haven’t been in here for a few days, been preoccupied with offline stuff.

Would love to go to the Edinburgh night, but that’s way out of my travel range πŸ™

Hope you all have a great night though! πŸ˜€

Calgacus MacAndrews

@Tam Jardine
Count Mrs Calgacus and myself in for the Newsroom on 4th July.

Thanks for organising this.

Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

Please count me in mister. Cheers.

Tam Jardine

Calgacus MacAndrews and Ian Brotherhood

Fantastic – great you can make it. Is this momentum building? May be a different vibe to the CH. And as its a private function room we can all relax, take our human masks off and laze about in our true evil cybernat forms.

Oneironaut

Thanks – shame you canny make it. It’s a big ol’ country so whether you’re up north or further south it wouldn’t hurt to tout a wings night further afield. Plenty wingers all over the shop canny make it to the central belt.

rab_the_doubter

Tam Jardine
Not entirely sure what i’m doing holiday wise but is say 95% certain I’ll be there.

David Wardrope

Might as well get my choice of Indy relevance tune on here, promoting my favourite band in the process…and, if you were so inclined, a wee search would show that a few more of this bands songs could fit nicely in to the yes drive

TJenny

Tam Jardine – count me in too for the Newsroom on 4th July. Really glad you grabbed the thistle to organise this. As it’s in Edinburgh, I might get some others to come along too, albeit it’s the start of the Edinburgh trades fortnight, although I don’t know if that has much relevance nowadays.

Do we need to shell out money to keep the room until after 10.30, or should we just sashay forth and mingle with Edinburgh’s jollers?

Cactus

@Tam Jardine ~ Kindly add myself, Cactus of Caucus, plus X guests for Edinburgh’s gig and a jig, at The Newsroom on the 4th July.

Yeah, I think having our own private room is now necessary for comfort and expression factors.. but that doesn’t stop us bumping into the curious reveller upstairs and welcoming them doon the stairs to talk about Scotland, with ordinary Scottish people.

Any recommendations on local hotels / accommodation?
Cheers.

Flower of Scotland

Hi Tam , This time I’m planning to be there! At the Wings night in Edinburgh. With my son.

Oneironaut

@Tam Jardine
I’m more to the west. All the way on the opposite side of the country in fact, a bit further than my currently-limited finances can take me πŸ™

Dunno if I’m the best person to arrange another gig though, but I’d be happy to help out if anyone else is planning to πŸ™‚

scaredy cat

Someone keep me a seat. I’ll be there although I might be on my own this time.

Bugger (the Panda)

bisous

TJenny

scaredy cat – is that ’cause the philosophers, astrophysicists, theatre techs and binmen for indy are having their own night out on Fri 4th? I do hope so and that they all have a great time.

Bugger (the Panda)

TJ

You are a card.

Bugger (the Panda)

http witch, sorry

TJenny

BtP – thanks, I think. πŸ™‚

Bugger (the Panda)

Original for fun

Dance the night away

Bugger (the Panda)

I move in strange circle, into which you would be quite normal, TJ.

Paula Rose

Now darlings, I’d love to go to the Edinburgh meet-up so if anyone who lives there would like to sleep on the sofa I’d be more than happy to come.

Tam Jardine

TJenny

Great you can make it – my round I think. The room downstairs becomes their wee nightclub which is fine if that is your bag. Their website calls it “the definitive subterranean house music venue”. Looks weirdly futuristic – but then the venue is not really important.

Edinburgh has boozers aplenty so scope for stravaigin after we get kicked out/kicked upstairs.

TJenny

Tam – I agree re the stravaigin – btw, have you heard from CameronB at all?

Tam Jardine

Cactus

I had written your name down already… will be great to see you there. If I had more space I would put you up… maybe some generous winger has a spare room? What Geordie Osborne doesn’t get is that a spare room is a really handy thing to have regardless of whether you are rich or poor.

Failing that – last minute dot com probably be the way I would do it.

Flower of Scotland

Will be great meeting you and your son. I’m going to have to stop responding to everyone who has posted they’re coming – just missed Brazil’s equaliser.

Scaredycat

Nice one girl. Shame if vikings for Yes or whatever they were called canny make it – should be a guid crowd regardless

Paula Rose

Actually dears re my post at 9:21, I’ve had a better idea-

Considering Thepnr’s generosity (and the rafflers) if at least 30 of us committed to paying Β£20 I’m sure he would organise a bus (I’m sure I can persuade him).

Then him and some guests could come for free!

Any takers from Arbroath, Montrose, Brechin, Forfar, Kirriemuir, Dundee?

scaredy cat

@TJenny & Tam
One of them is going to be in the USA. Who knows about the others. They don’t like to plan too far ahead.

TJenny

scaredy cat – so long as they can plan ahead to Sept 18th. πŸ™‚

Tam Jardine

TJenny

Not heard from CameronB – I know he was dead keen and it was not my intention to take over and organise this without his involvement. It is most unlike me. Am sure Cameron will be able to make it – I need someone with some musical taste to put together a playlist and thought he da man.

Chipmonkey

Sorry to say I’ll miss the get together on the 4th (and the singing on the bus). DocFin and I will be in rUK that weekend:-) Hope there’ll be another…

TJenny

Tam – I’m just glad somebody got it together. πŸ™‚

Ian Brotherhood

For all Wingers, for no particular reason.

Fleetwood Mac, ‘Oh Well’ –

scaredy cat

@T Jenny
Don’t worry. I’ll escort each and every one of them if necessary!

Thepnr

Paula

I think Β£15 would be enough if we got 30 with 8 or so seats free. Please stick an invite up on the main thread when appropriate. It’s difficult for me to post during the day. Cheers.

TJenny

Ian – pure lurve ‘Oh Well’ reminds me of the Casa Blanca (known as the Casa Boo Boo, as older Edinburghers may remember).

Posted this at the end of last night’s chat, so if missed. here it is again:

And here’s one of my favouritest tunes ever – The Waterboys β€˜Whole of the Moon’, maybe with β€˜I’ changed to β€˜they’ and β€˜you’ to β€˜we’ for indy? Or another one for Yew Choob?

Chic McGregor

Fitba.

The pen. wasn’t even an Old Firm pen.

The Croation equalizer was a good goal.

Questions over the refereeing, and FIFA.

World football is starting to smell.

TheWeeSteev

4th of July meetup – Forgive me for being dense/naive but do I just turn up on the night with a big Yes sticker or wings badge?

It’s literally on my work doorstep so I’ve no excuse not to come, just not sure on the procedure πŸ™‚

Ian Brotherhood

@Chic –

Is there anything good that ‘the love of money’ hasn’t ruined?

Jock Scot

Brilliant re the 4th July in Edinburgh as maybe I’ll get to hear ‘last orders at the bar’ at one of these wonderful thingy’s.
@T Jenny
Hope you like what we did with your Danny Boy suggestion.x

youtu.be/Ahg3RmzAU60

gerry parker

@Jock Scot.

Pure dead brilliant.

πŸ™‚

TJenny

Jock Scot + Ninja Penguin + Yew Choobers all – fantastic – you are all so very, very clever. And I’m thrilled as wee pink mice to be on the credits. I now have a claim to fame! (weeburstingwithpridefacedthingy)

Thepnr

Jock and Ninja.

Ta.

Thepnr

Not a song, just about ran out of them but well worth watching.

“OMFG!!! 100 days until Scottish Independence”

Tam Jardine

TheWeeSteev

Forgive me for being dense/naive but do I just turn up on the night with a big Yes sticker or wings badge?

Aye – just turn up – will be great to see you. Slightly confused by your question though -(puts on matron voice) all wingers wear their Yes badge 24/7 don’t they?

Juteman

Obviously I don’t have any Wings posters, but if I did, what is the best fly-posters gloop for sticking them to things in the middle of the night?
Theoretically of course.

Paula Rose

@ Juteman – I find that that stuff you eat for breakfast works very well.

TJenny

Juteman – Flypaper?

Paula Rose

Do I really have to mention wall-paper paste? I thought we had a bit of rough on this site.

TJenny

Paula Rose – or flypaper paste (it’s a version of papier mache suitable for fly posting) πŸ™‚

Paula Rose

twiddle thumbs – put the kettle on…

TJenny

OK – if you’re now all here – let’s try to fund Wee Ginger Dug’s hoose sale as a Chill station for all WOSer. How do we do this? Ian Brotherhood I’m looking at you or anyone who can help us to set up a crowdfunder for WGD’s hoose as a WOS playhoose! πŸ™‚

Paula Rose

Be rather fun to buy a house by crowd funding – presumably all the indy stuff is now sorted, let’s work out how to do this. A tenner each- how many do we need?

Archie [not Erchie]

Kin I come into this hallowed place pleez?

ronnie anderson

@ cactus get practiceing Danny Boy fur the 4th July,guitar man.

Paula Rose

@ Archie[not Erchie] – it’s for us doll xx

Archie [not Erchie]

I have 1/2 a banana loaf, 4 cheesy scones with chilli flakes and the apple pie will be made tomorrow. An offering so to speak.

Paula Rose

No millionaire shortcake?

TJenny

Archie [not Erchie] – of course, you are, as are all WOSers, very, very welcome here, it is our chat room/playpen, as it were. πŸ™‚

Do you also want to contribute to buying a WOS hoose in Spain? (Am I correct in thinking it is not, unfortunately, in Catalonia?)

Archie [not Erchie]

This is like goin back to the auld AOL Instant Messenger days, apart from the delay and refresh.

Paula Rose

Galicia?

Archie [not Erchie]

Paula – Am just learning [late in life] how to crumble mah mix so geeza break but a hoose in Tuscany would be awesome.

David

Off Topic: Bloody BBC! I left a comment on this story and it got removed! All I said was “Vote NO for foodbanks and nuclear weapons.”

link to bbc.com (Scottish independence: Tories back Scots income tax power)

Their email says – “This post has been removed because special House Rules are in effect during election periods.”

I’m #astounded that they think my comment was #outofcontrol. Also, since when is a referendum an election? They really are trying to shut down the debate.

Archie [not Erchie]

Blue hills and lavender fumes – pizza ovens with vineyards in every yard. Men folk singing Panini? and buxom goats ready for milking…..aaaaaaaahhhhh

Paula Rose

Anyways by my reckoning it needs 8500 of us to put in a tenner each – will look further, but… as a thank you to the wee ginger dug let’s buy him his kennel.

ronnie anderson

Now a word of warning flyposting is illegal, but Ive found

out P V A glue is the best adhesive.

Method.

Washing up bottle

one small brush

mix PVA with water,couple teas spoons in volume makes 1 pint close cap & shake

Squirt on said surface spread with brush apply whatever

squirt again on whatever & brush for weatherproofing

PVA available from any builders merchant or if you know

a plasterer,

Wallpaper paste is so 70s PVA sets harder a bugger to get

aff.

Now in the best traditions of Hill Street Blues

You’s be carefull out there.

Archie [not Erchie]

Sorry havent met you guys and gals but Aberdeen is just that wee bit too far to make it to the get togethers.

Paula Rose

Archie darling – we can come in, oops sorry, come to Aberdeen – many of us are there already.

Archie [not Erchie]

mmmm ok playpen is empty. Honestly Aberdeen is not full of sheep. Just as an aside someone mentioned Rev’s full set like Orson Welles. I see him like Clement Freud or the image on the old cigarette packet Full Capstan. Any comments?

Paula Rose

Archie dear – hopefully our friendly cybernats will be here soon – they’re still clogging up the main threads.

Archie [not Erchie]

Ha ha off to make millionaires shortbread. Back soon.:-)

Paula Rose

Let’s buy the wee ginger dug’s place so that he can go there –

heraldnomore

I’m in for the wgd too

Paula Rose

Why we revere the wee ginger dug –

JGedd

Paula Rose

When do we start crowdfunding? Once we get going perhaps people could come up with ideas but it would have to fit with WGD’s preferences, of course.

ronnie anderson

@Archie [not Erchie] its that Capstan full strenght thats mair like the Rev.

TJenny

Ian Brotherhood – re JGedd + PR + my wanting to set up an Indiego crowdfund for WGD, how do we do this? You know ’cause you’ve done it already. A cry for help. πŸ™‚

Paula Rose

Darlings – beddie byes time cos I’ve got to be nice to farmers at the Angus Show tomorrow – where’s my lovely CameronB? – if you can be there I’m the one wearing wellies.

Schrodinger's Cat

i’d love to buy wgd’s hoose, but more realistically,
it would be good to crowd fund a weekend break for him

i noticed that he has not responded to many offers on his blog. i wonder if he is worried about his carer allowance

if raised money ourselves and gave it to him on the qt or directly hired carers to give him a rest. any thoughts anyone?

Nana Smith

I think getting Paul a bed should be the first step. Can’t be easy for him coping each day after a bad night on a camp bed.

TJenny

Paula Rose – you go and get your beauty sleep in preparation for dazzling those farmers with your loveliness.

Sweet dreams. πŸ™‚

scaredy cat

@T Jenny

I absolutely LOVE the idea of a wee Spanish But n Ben.

@Ronnie & Cactus

Danny Boy is one of my favourites. It was my Grandpa’s party piece.

Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Wish I could help but I’ve done no crowdfunding, and truth be told I’ve contributed very little, even to Wings.

First time I met Paul (same night I met you – CH1) he outlined his situation and it troubled me for days, but there’s no obvious ‘solution’. It’s so obvious that he dotes on his partner and is determined to do ‘the right thing’. It’s just a total scunner that we’re living in a society which makes doing ‘the right thing’ so fucking difficult for the folk who need the most support.

I hope he’s reading all of these comments and drawing strength from them – in a very real sense, we’ve already ‘won’ this referendum because we’ve now created a huge network of contacts and friendships based on trust and respect, and they’ll never be broken, no matter what filthy tactics the British State uses to get their own way.

TJenny

Scaredy cat – Daniel, or my wee Danny Boy as I call him (even though he’s in his 30s), makes me think of my son, and I can’t usually singalong to Danny Boy for the lump in my throat, however……. Yew Choob’s version manages to get me over the maudlin and singalong wi’ the tune – hooray. πŸ™‚

TJenny

Ian – didn’t you have some sort of fundraiser recently, or was it a ‘signatories’ on a petition? Must admit as I type, recollection brings to mind that it was a a petition signing and not a fundraiser. I’m sure I’ve seen on fundraising sites a button to use to ‘create your own fundraiser’. but I might have imagined that. With my Miss Marple hat on, I’ll investigate.

Thepnr

A wee slow tune for the mood and something we all have to do.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Juteman.
Many years ago (late 70s) I was involved in publicising a gig featuring ‘The Jags’ at the local Students’ Union in Dundee – not the Uni; the other one.
We used a flour/water paste, in a bucket. See, we were being environmentally friendly. The flour mix is water soluble so is easily removed.

kininvie

@Tam Jardine

If you’re still compiling lists for July 4th – count me in!

Thepnr

Hey Brain I was at that gig, the bowling alley! LOL

Brian Doonthetoon

Yes Thepnr, that was the place!
You must know about this?
link to retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk

Thepnr

Not Brain Brian, feck done it again πŸ™‚

scaredy cat

@T Jenny
My very own Scaredy Kitten, whom you met at CH 1 & 2 is also a Daniel. I get a similar feeling listening to Elton John’s ‘Daniel’.

TJenny

Thepnr – jut played your link to The Eagles ‘Take It To The Limit’ and I think we could ask Ninja Penguin to write a Yew Choob version. Got the words up on pc and sang my heart out along with the Eagles – we can easily do his at oor nicht on the 4th – Cactus, Paula Rose, me and of course the divine Nod + Jock, and others, YES? πŸ™‚

JGedd

@TJenny

Have you been over to WGD’s site? A commenter over there has already suggested to Paul a wish to start a crowdfunding enterprise. Paul’ s wish would be to be able to attend some Yes events and is going to get some advice from the Carer’s Centre on Monday to see how this could be managed. However, it might be an idea to get people involved from WGD’s site who might not know about the proposal on WoS.

Thepnr

Jock Scot get your My Way karaoke version to the Newsroom and we can record it then. Should be good for a laugh.

Brian Doonthetoon

And, to be more expansive, this:-
link to retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk

rab_the_doubter

Levellers ‘The Game’ choon and a half from one of the best bands of the 90s.

m.youtube.com/watch?v=03EjQ3grWHI

And, on the topic of WGD, an honest decent man, expressing what we all feel, what more could we ask for, and in our new country, what more do we need.

Ian Brotherhood

WGD is a carer. His situation doesn’t receive quite as much concern as Clare Lally’s because it doesn’t tick the right boxes to qualify for MSM/SLab attention.

Let’s be very careful about the crowdfunding stuff – WGD has to give the lead on this, because he’s already in Kafka-land and doesn’t need any complications.

You there WGD? Bit of guidance required here methinks…

Tam Jardine

Kininvie

Great – will be guid to see you again. Am not bothering to compile a list as I reached the point yesterday where enough folk had committed. Venue booked so we are on!

Thepnr

@Briandoonthetoon

Vince Piggot need I say more? πŸ™‚

Thepnr

This is for scaredy cat.

Macart

@Ian Brotherhood

Paul’s looking into it and will let folks know. I’m sure if there’s any way we can help an orderly queue will be formed. πŸ™‚

Ian Brotherhood

@Macart –

Received and understood – cheers, hoots, and fondest proverbials to the man.

TJenny

Macart, WGD + IB – message received and understood. Await Cybernat HQ action update. πŸ™‚

Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

“The old pigeon will skite down the slates, as per normal.”

Stand by!

Maximum alterness!

TJenny

IB – nostrils flared and ears pricked.

β€œThe old pigeon will skite down the slates, as per normal”, but her wings will ensure she soars to safety. πŸ™‚

Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Precisely so.

(I will be wearing Paula Rose’s ‘Yes’ heels. Please be there on time, as I can’t do it for long.)

TJenny

IB – that’s not what I’ve heard. πŸ™‚

Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Ooh, you are awful, but…

TJenny

IB – How very dare you! Now wounded to the very marrow of my being. Let it be known that us girlies can do things in high heels, that you boys can only dream of! (and frequently dream of methinks:-) )

WeeGingerDug

Hi everyone,

I’ve been a bit overwhelmed by the response to Friday’s blog post. I don’t normally like to talk about caring issues. The blog (and the trams of course) is my escape from it, a wee island where I don’t have to be defined by a carer’s role – because caring for a dementia sufferer takes over your whole life. Anyway, my mammy and a couple of friends had said to me that I needed to write something about PatLallyInlawGate, because I’m a carer too. So I did.

Before coming to the Wings do at the Counting House the other week, a friend mentioned to me in an email that I really had no idea just what effect the WeeGingerDug is having. And he was right. I don’t. I don’t get out much. If Andy (my partner) is settled, he can be left for a short while, but not more than a hour. As his condition progresses even that is getting more difficult.

So I got quite emotional today reading the comments and emails in response to my blog post, especially the messages from other full time carers. You made me cry, you basterts. But in a good way.

Anyway, we all know what the UK media and political parties are like. I don’t want to give anyone the excuse to run to the Daily Mail saying – evil cybernat claims carers allowance while living luxury crowd funded lifestyle. Because they really are that petty. So on Monday I’m going to call Kaye (no not that one), she’s one of the advice workers at the local carers centre. She knows Andy and me and our situation and will be able to give me the advice I need.

However if you decide on the mad (seriously, mad) idea to crowdfund to buy oor hoose in Spain, you’d be crowdfunding to raise money for something for yourselves. How you choose to spend the money is your own concern. So that’s entirely up to you. Although I still think it’s mad.

Anyway, thanks again for all the messages of support. They’ve really moved me.

Chipmonkey

Thanks for putting me back on track this week WGD. I was really disheartened about ‘Lallygate’ and all the implications (real or in my head), but reading your blog last night gave me perspective again. The bigger picture is that all the carers out there in our beautiful country exemplify why it is so important for us to be strong and keep working for that YES vote. That one woman in the news this week is backing the wrong horse. I tried for a long time to post a reply on your blog,but could not – I presume because it was so popular. You are important.Another thank-you and kiss and hug from one of those ‘straight women’ you met at CH2! Keep strong. xx Fiona

ronnie anderson

@ Tam Jardine, I will be donating a nice Malt for the Raffle

I’ll tell you where I would like the Raffle Money to go to

on the nite.

scaredy cat

@thepnr
Aaw thanks! ????

scaredy cat

@thepnr.
Sorry about that. I don’t know where all those question marks came from.

gerry parker

@ Tam Jarding, Ronnie.
I’ll chip in a bottle of champaign for the raffle. Will agree with Ronnie’s choice of who the money goes to.

@ Scardy cat. Sometimes if you do a wee smiley thats not standard, it shows up as question marks.
πŸ™‚ is ok

😎

that may have produced ? marks

gerry parker

Doh! just when you think you have got it worked out.

(@)

DocFin

Won’t be long now until Cameron gets to the end of his contacts list – Pope, Queen, Reid, Swedish Foreign Minister, United States (twice – that’ll cost you, Dave).
@JohnKing – good luck on the paper round. Remember the show must go on. Ah, excuse for this:

james sinclair

We MUST fund WGD and unleash him on those oppose our independence,

scaredy cat

@ gerry parker

Yes that must have been what happened.
?????????

Wilma Watts

Ian,T Jenny, Paula Rose and everyone else who is interested.

With regard to Crowdfunding WGD: Can I make an alternative suggestion? If it receives the thumbs down put me down for a contribution for the Villa.

Here goes. How about we crowdfund to get the WGD Blog printed into a book or Booklet? He could add a little background about his inspiration for each post. That way: we spread the word, he receives a wider audience, he gets an income, he could keep the villa and rent it out through an agency to Wingers (more income),he would earn enough, I’m sure, to become independent and be able to afford a retained carer ( and a new bed!). Then you don’t have the issue of how so many people own? a house in Spain. I am absolutely sure we could raise more for WGD this way because if each book was about Β£5, I for one would buy loads to pass to family and friends. I must be spending that on ink to print them out to give to people who are not Internet savvy. This all came to me in the night so if anyone can add to the suggestion the more the merrier.

For Paul, We met very briefly at the CH when you just arrived with all your maps and papers. I was sitting with the lovely family from Galloway. Then we all had to move to another part of the pub. Michael and I were so sorry we didn’t get a chance to tell you how inspirational we find your blog and it is getting better and better. The last few have had me in tears.
I know for sure you have many friends on this site even the semi lurkers like me.

JGedd

Hello, Wilma,

We were that family from Galloway and funnily enough we too had had the idea of having WGD’s writings made into a book. To be honest that was principally why my husband was there to find out from someone, who might have the knowledge, how to go about this.

However, as you know, that night was so successful(!) that it was very difficult to mingle in The Counting House and in fact, we all got split up and because we live in darkest Galloway we had to leave comparatively early, mission unfulfilled. It was also very difficult to have a conversation in a very noisy location.

If we had had longer to talk together, this subject could have come up and our mission could have been passed to you and your husband. ( I like train buffs, they are usually endearingly calm. Though Paul says that they can quite hysterical about correct detailing on locomotives.) I am assuming that you didn’t have to leave as early as we did. (8.45!)

I’ll go along with whatever idea is decided, with Paul’s approval of course. But, I agree also with you that Paul’s writings deserve a wider audience than even we enthusiasts can give it. Perhaps there could be twin projects?

Wilma Watts

Hello JGedd,
It was lovely to meet you. As you say whichever plan, one, other or both, we will go along with Paul’s decision.

We were actually staying in Glasgow that night but it did get so noisy our throats were raw, we left at about 9.30 but caught up with X sticks and Calcagus (?) outside which was lovely because we didn’t need to shout. Not as young and immune as we used to be. I think your husband gave Michael a card so I may contact you if that is alright?. I wouldn’t mind you and the others having my email address to take this project further. Let me know what you think.

JGedd

Contact would be very welcome, Wilma.

Silverytay

I am a bit late for this topic but I am more than willing to contribute towards an appeal for the W.G.D . I don’t mind if is towards a book or if it is a fund to make life easier for Paul and his partner .

I am also willing to contribute towards a fighting fund for the Rev to take on the biased media , lets keep them tied up in court until the 18th September .

The Man in the Jar

Announcement!

Two upcoming events in Uddingston.

Monday 16th of June @7:30pm.
Park Church 89 Main St. Uddingston http://www.park-church.com

A hustings chaired by the Minister.

Speakers John Mason SNP and Murdo Fraser Conservative.
………………………………………………..

Yes meeting in Uddingston Grammar School 19th of August.(Time to be confirmed but hall booked for three hours.)

Speakers Jim Sillars, Robin McAlpine, Graeme Sneddon (Generation Yes)
Other speakers requested but not yet confirmed from. Business for Scotland, Labour for Independence, Radical Independence and Women for Independence.

WeeGingerDug

I’ve been putting a bit of thought to everyone’s kind and generous offers of help. Perhaps what would be most beneficial would be if someone (or some people) could help me get a wee collection of blog articles published, and also help me to get my Gaelic maps published.

It would be helpful if some of you could go through previous blog posts and let me know which ones you’d like to see in a book.

I’ve already had a Gaelic map of Scotland was published by Newsnet, but I’ve also been working on a series of regional maps in Gaelic which are far more detailed. I’ve got a number of them more or less ready for publication. All are at a scale of 1:100,000 (1cm to 1km).

So far, ready to go or almost ready to go, are maps of Glasgow (published on my blog here – link to weegingerdug.files.wordpress.com ) , Mull, Islay & Jura, Kintyre & Arran, and Fife. Maps of Ayrshire, Dundee, and Aberdeen are at an advanced stage of completion, and I’ve also made a start on maps of Central Scotland and Galloway. The eventual goal is to cover the entire country.

If I can get the maps published they could provide me with a regular income, and hopefully I wouldn’t need to claim Carers Allowance at all.

I used to publish a magazine in Spain, so know a wee bit about publishing, but the problem with self publishing is the distribution and making the original investment to print off X number of copies. These are no things I’m able to manage by myself just now, and help would be greatly appreciated.

Ian Brotherhood

Some choice language in this, not for the faint of heart – an Irn Bru ad some may not have seen yet:

Thepnr

@wee ginger dug

I think you have to not be shy and set up the fund raiser by yourself. I’m sure the Rev could offer advise. I think it’s a great idea to get some of your best articles published.

Although the fund raising would allow you to do that I think they should be offered through your website at say a couple of quid. You should be paid for your work and relentless effort. At least that is how I see it.

Another idea, you could offer them on Kindle through Amazon at Β£1 a pop. I think thousands would be downloaded.

However it’s done I wish you well.

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

LOL. So much for Satchi and Satchi, should have employed these fowk if they want to get into the Scottish psyche.

Paula Rose

I made the mistake of wearing my high heels to the Angus show, so fortunate that the darling Thepnr appeared out of the haar with a couple of plastic bags, darling thank you.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Have you ever considered writing a Mills & Boon type novel?

‘…the darling Thepnr appeared out of the haar with a couple of plastic bags…’

Michty me. I know what Thepnr looks like. I know what haar looks like. And I know what plastic bags look like…

But the way you combined them? Superb. Visionary, and profoundly erotic. Made the hairs at the back of my knees stand up – that hasn’t happened since 1986, so, thanks.

Nana Smith

After the last couple dyas,this evenings piece in the guardian by McKenna and the Newsnet article re the Scotsman’s disgusting lies about Stu I think we deserve a little feel good…

Paula Rose

Ian honey – I read your book, and learned so much, word of caution – shave more often, we hate roughness.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Whit? Shave the back of my knees?

That’s a new one.

Thepnr

Hehehehe. Behave you two. LOL

@Nana Smith
Great stuff, Ta.

Paula Rose

Ian honey – you are the epitome of masculinity, we know that – next time you are out in public don’t be forgetful like the Rev – a wee bit embarrassing all that facial fuzziness.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I’ve tried growing a beard, but I just end up looking like this dude:

link to nndb.com

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

You’re being a bit harsh on the Rev – he’d shaved that morning, but the BBC kept him waiting so long…

Thepnr

OK we’re all falling asleep and running out of our favourite songs. I think though this is a wee happy tune worth hearing again.

Lesley-Anne

What’s worse Ian not only did they keep him waiting but then didn’t even use his interview, instead they went with some obscure interview with Tom Conti.;)

Paula Rose

Is that the man who has an ice cream van?

Lesley-Anne

Quite possibly Paula πŸ˜›

Ian Brotherhood

Tom Conti does good beard.

chipmonkey

Hello vile misogynistic cybernats (they must be out there somewhere). What a day. The main topic is extremely busy. What are the no contingent getting away with during the smoke screen? Would I be banned for saying keep calm and carry on? On the plus side glad to hear Paula Rose and Thepnr have been out speaking to people in Angus (hope that went well, haar and high heels and all); DocFin had another letter in ‘The Herald’; and beating all of us his old Mum has been out to the shops wearing her yes badge and politely converting at least one don’t know to yes. She has never used a computer in her life, but tells people who do that they should look for ‘Wings’. Let’s give them easily accessible facts to read πŸ™‚

Lesley-Anne

Aye he does that Ian, wonder if he uses the same beard barber as our very on Stu. πŸ˜‰

Lesley-Anne

Can’t help it just have to put the Italy game on. πŸ˜‰

I’ve just seen one player with one red boot and one green boot on. Is this a new way for football players to recognise their left foot and right foot I wonder. πŸ˜›

Paula Rose

Lesley-Anne, would you like some help come october in your garden? I’m happy to do so, bit of a buslady’s holiday xx

Ian Brotherhood

One for Paula Rose, and all beard lovers;

ZZ Top, ‘Legs’ –

Lesley-Anne

Well if you’re up for it, mind you I’m down in the borders in Eastriggs. Nice wee village but not exactly the centre of the universe. πŸ˜‰

Lesley-Anne

Oh you’ve played an absolute BLINDER there Ian! πŸ˜›

Lesley-Anne

For my tuppence worth ladies sand gentlemen I give you…

the one…

the only…

AC/DC…

Highway to hell!

Paula Rose

My darlings i give you the one and only-

Lesley-Anne

GOALISIMO!

Lesley-Anne

Oh well they’ve equalised. Back to square one folks! πŸ™‚

Lesley-Anne

I don’t know who one of the commentators are on BBC but he is so monotonal he’s putting me to sleep! *YAWN!*

Thepnr

This song represents the Off Topic room.

Paula Rose

All the time-

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

The Nipple Erectors?

Outstanding.

Paula Rose

And it gets even better…

Lesley-Anne

GOALISIMO number 2!

Paula Rose

And for us punks – here is a classic xx

Paula Rose

what’s a goal?

Thepnr

This is for you Paula. Doubt we will win any over to the Yes side with this classic, but hey! You never know.

Paula Rose

We will dear we will – my point is-

Lesley-Anne

Paula Rose says:

what’s a goal?

Remember you asked this over on the other thread Paula?

What’s going on? Turn on the TV and there are grown men chasing balls, !t’s a wee bit silly.

Well apparently a goal is what they call it when one of those funny wee men kicks that wee round ball between the sticks at either end of the grass where the fishing nets are. πŸ˜›

Thepnr

One for the Geordies amongst us.

Thepnr

My (anti) hero. A must watch!

Lesley-Anne

Phew, thank goodness for the RED button. That Gary Neville is such a monotonal drone I was falling asleep. πŸ˜›

Thepnr

Don’t know about you lot but I’m in a GREAT mood. I just know that things are swinging our way. Loads and loads of wee smiley things Ya Bass. LOL

Lesley-Anne

Seconded here Thepnr. πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

Thepnr

@Lesley-Anne

Nothing to do with Indy but a wee song to make you happy to go to bed with.

Lesley-Anne

Ta very much for that Thepnr you have a good night too. πŸ˜‰

Michael McCabe

Here is a wee song. It usually puts a smile on my face. link to youtube.com

rab_the_doubter

In the same manner as ‘it wisnie me that broke the windae, it wis the brick i chucked’

link to bbc.co.uk

Cal

HELP!

My Chinese wife has written a smashing 4 page article in Chinese complete with graphs, maps and lots of links to articles on line and websites arguing the case for independence. Our idea is to make this available to Wingers up and down the land by posting a link to it in a btl comment. We would then invite everyone to print it out and pass on to their Chinese speaking friends, neighbours ,the local restaurant/carry out/cash and carry, the parents of their children’s Chinese friends etc, etc.

The file was written in Word and I have converted it to a pdf. However, I cannot upload it to Facebook without first converting it to a jpeg file. This results in a significant loss of quality. Searching around online, it would appear that the only way I can make the pdf available to all is to have it uploaded to a website. I have no clue how to do this so would one of you kind Wingers with a website allow me to e-mail the pdf to you so that you can upload it there and thereby solve my problem?

Thepnr

@cal

Try using Google Docs. It’s easy enough to upload then share.

Chic McGregor

Thep[nr
“One for the Geordies amongst us.”

A cover of a song written by Fifer Rab Noakes, who I was a big fan of back in the day.

Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

I never knew that! Well I mentioned in the past, we come here to be educated. Thanks Chic.

Jim Thomson

@Cal have a look at DropBox. That also allows you to share files.

http://www.dropbox.com

Cactus

Re Ronnie, I dinny ken that ‘Daniel Son’ song on the 6-string, ye may have tay day it acapella, but I’ll back you on the harmony..

Glad to see an eager response for The Newsroom. It’ll be interesting to see Edinburgh’s show of hands on the night, with only 19 days now to go.

Also, there appears to have been another lift in the campaign and further surge towards YES. At this rate we’re home and dry!

cal

Thanks Thepnr and John Thomson will check out those ideas.

Silverytay

Up until now I have not been fazed about a written constitution one way or another but after the last week one of the first things an Independent Scotland needs is a written constitution that hold politicians and the media to account for deliberately lying .

I believe there is a draft constitution due out in the next few weeks so it will be interesting to see what is in it .

Tam Jardine

@Ronnie Anderson, Gerry Parker

Well done kicking off the raffle – will need to find a buik and some stickers. Am sure I can find a wee something to add myself.

One question: is music appropriate? If so do we have anyone that can put a mix tape “ipod” together? I keep looking for the legendary CameronB – hope he is ok.

scaredy cat

@Cactus
Shame you can’t do Danny Boy, I would definitely have joined in. However, given that you play harmonica, perhaps you could do this. Great intro. For some reason reminds me of Paula Rose, and my favourite Aerosmith song.

Thepnr

Wow scaredy cat.
You are one weird lady lol πŸ™‚

scaredy cat

@ Cactus

And if you’re into harmonies they don’t come much better than this wee Glasgow band. Sound of summer or what? The Glaswegian beachboys, I say!

Paula Rose

Did someone suggest I do it right?

scaredy cat

@thepnr
You don’t know the half of it!

Nana Smith

The baton is on the way to the Forth road bridge so here’s an appropriate tune.

scaredy cat

@ Cactus

Do you know this? Melancholy but uplifting at the same time. I have loved this song for so long (always thought he was better than his more famous sister).
Anyway, with the referendum in sight, it seems apt somehow. My son plays it, but I don’t think he can make it on 4th.

“Wild and free we’ll roam,
Only a mile to go,
it’s beautiful just over the wild mountainside”

we’re nearly there

rab_the_doubter

99.9% sure I’m coming along.
If theres wifi access my Spotify account will be available. Can also do an offline playlist on it if necessary.

Chic McGregor

@thepnr

Aye, I had a lot of hope for Rab back then, had a signed copy of his ‘Do You See The Lights?’ debut album. But, with a pretty young wife and child it is all too understandable that he should seek a more lucrative career outside the Scottish folk circuit. First in the pop direction where he teamed up with Gerry Rafferty, another Scottish folk circuit generated talent, and then to Country in the US.

I think he was (is actually)so much better than that as a composer.

Here is one of the best tracks (IMHO) frop ‘DYSTL?’

Paula Rose

Spread your wings dollies –

scaredy cat

@ Nana Smith

Is that Eric Bogle?

scaredy cat

@ Paula Rose

I can listen to just about anything, but apart from one or two songs, I still struggle with country music.

Nana Smith

@scaredy cat

No. Its Robin Laing

Ian Brotherhood

@scaredy cat –

‘Melancholy but uplifting’. Nice theme.

Moby, ‘Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad’ (live) –

Paula Rose

@ scaredy cat – country and western, the white person’s blues πŸ˜‰

scaredy cat

@Ian Brotherhood

Oh yeah!

scaredy cat

youtu.be/D8axAKaObDo

One of my only country favourites. Also melancholy but uplifting

Liquid Lenny

scaredy cat
Same with me and music, hated C+W with a vengeance until I went with a crowd from work to see the Highwaymen in Aberdeen about 20 years ago, Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson and Kris Kristopherson, talk about a supergroup. Anyway started off with Gram Parsons and still think that Streets of Baltimore is one of the best songs ever written, mind you Gram didn’t write it but performs it perfectly. Have a listen its brill

scaredy cat

youtube/D8axAKaObDo

Hmm. Using smartphone instead of laptop now and links don’t seem to work. Last attempt

Paula Rose

scaredy cat doll – this one?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi to all the Thepnr bussers.
Is there a charabanc at Β£15 a head being organised for the Edinburgh meet on 4th July?
If so, book two seats for me and Pete the Camera, otherwise we’ll have to use our bus passes.

scaredy cat

#Paula Rose
Yes. That’s the one. Now that guy can hold a note!

Clootie

The Rolling Stones – Sympathy For The Devil -HQ – YouTube

My favourite

Paula Rose

Footage of the Thepnr charabanc on its last outing to Glasgow…

Paula Rose

@Brian Doonthetoon – If enough people (30) declare their interest here Thepnr will give the bus company a ring.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I know that was you on the roof, but where was that shot? Looks a wee bit like Motherwell.

Paula Rose

We did a wee detour through Cambuslang.

Paula Rose

THAT WAS NOT ME ON THE ROOF AND WELL YOU KNOW IT!

CameronB Brodie

Blush.

little things mean a lot – Kitty Kallen

Paula Rose

By my reckoning it must be time for No Tanks to roll this one out this week…

night night honeys.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Bummer you’re off to bed. I wanted to remind you what famous chanter Paul Young was up to before rabid free-marketeers forced him to start singing ‘Soul Music’ and making bold claims regarding the whereabouts of his hat.

It’s now a useful valedictory for ‘The Labour Party in Scotland’:

Streetband, ‘Toast’ –

squarego

@scaredycat 10.07
I happen to know that some of those sunshiny musicians have been in about Wings since the early days.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Hope you had sweet dreams, and this is for you pal, to get your new day off to a flier:

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick’ –

kininvie

How about – just uplifting?

Michael McCabe

Here is a wee tune that caresses my Soul,www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mwxga8udIio&feature=player_detailpage

gerry parker

@ Silvertay.
I’m reading a good book just now on the constitution. Worth exploring further, there is a lot of work being done at the moment.
I think it’s vitally important to get a constitution established before the first elections to an independent Scottish Government. A constitution is the best way to limit the power of those we hand it over to.

Thistle

Hi people

loads of new events planned and looking for help (sorry) with crowd funding which ends on June 23rd at midnight. If you cant contribute perhaps you could promote.

Got a cool we thing planned that may happen on 18th (no fixed time – live stream from Paris)… checkout Dr Mark McNaught. Will not know till that day and will post twitter, WoS and live stream channel etc.

Yes!!!

Crowd funding here:
link to goo.gl

Thistle

@gerry parker
Gerry you should def checkout Dr Mark McNaught about constitution. We will be live streaming an event from Edinburgh covering this plus sneeky possible live stream as mentioned above – if happens πŸ™‚

gerry parker

@ Thistle, thanks for that. I see the draft bill has been published.

link to consult.scotland.gov.uk

I’m still keeping an eye out for that Just Say Naw event locally.

Cal

Not sure if this will work but it’s a link to a pdf of a leaflet in Polish for campaigners to hand out

link to yesscotland.net

If the above doesn’t work try

yesscotland.net/sites/default/files/resources/documents/przyszlosc_szkocji_w_naszych_rekach.pdf

semus

@ianbrotherhood. I came from Darkest Galloway to the last CH night in the hope of discussing with you, how to go about setting up crowd funding for WeeGingerDugs partner Andy(see WDG today)And also how to get WGD blogs printed as say like “The Patter”, but it was such a boorach we didn’t meet. I have been working on Paul’s tram project, and have many contacts in Czech Republic, where I have found a good inexpensiive printer in Jind?ich?v HrΓ‘dec for his Gaelic Maps, as well as an haulier ?SAD to SCotland. I noticed your email last night and now cannot find it.My e mail address is tir.nanog(at)seznam.cz Semus

JGedd

@TJenny @ Paula Rose

Paul has a piece today about the advice he has received regarding a crowd-funding exercise. Do you have any further info? There are people who read WGD regularly but might not know about this idea being raised on Wings. Several have expressed an interest in contributing but don’t know what to do yet.

rab_the_doubter

Looks like theres a nice wee limited edition Wings badge heading my way courtesy of kendomacaroonbar’s indiegogo fundraiser. Just in time as I idiotically managed to break the pin on the one he gave me at CH2.

Cal

Just found this cached article (the original has disappeared from the web) from the website of a Chinese Exhibition company. Not sure exactly what it is-perhaps a copy of a speech given at a conference?

link to webcache.googleusercontent.com

Looks like prospects for N.Sea oil are pretty good. Who would have known?

TJenny

JGedd – I’ve read WGD’s blog and the advice he has given is that we can, more or less, raise funds as we want, as long as it’s in his partner’s name.

Sooooo, why don’t we get WGD to start up a charity in his partner’s name, (or a front name but registered to his partner to minimise unwanted publicity) and crowdfund to buy his house in Spain. This could be made available for other carers of those with the same type of medical diagnosis as WGD’s partner, as a respite house. That gives WGD and partner the sale price, outwith the Charity, of their property to use as they require.

Given we all know how much The Great Gordo makes from his charity, why can we not do the same for WGD and others in his position?

macart763m

@T Jenny

Just read it and sounds like a great idea.

Once set up, I’m sure an orderly queue will be formed to contribute. πŸ™‚

CameronB Brodie

@ HMG Better Together
Re. your contrived outrage at coordinated abuse from barbarous hoards of cybernats (a pejorative akin to untermenschen). Well I think it’s time I got all Tarantino on your ass.

Dick Dale – Surfin’ Rebel

The Ventures – The Rat

The Trashmen – King of the surf

Kenny

@TJenny – sounds like a pretty good idea. Call it the Wee Ginger Dughoose.

Maybolebuddie

Is someone in the process of arranging a crowd funding link for WGD? Would like to make a contribution

Steve Bowers

“Maybolebuddie” me an’a thought it was already set up, love the idea of buying the Spanish property….Tjenny. anybody got a scoodydoo as to what’s happening ?

TJenny

Kenny, Maybolebuddie, Steve Bowers et al – I think we may need to get WGD, with authority from his partner, to set up a paypal or somesuch vehicle for crowdfunding, saying the cost of the house raised will ensure house donated to charity and monies used from sale for continued caring of WGD’s spouse with a donation to the charity fund – maybe?

Steve Bowers

Good idea, so we wait for Paul to set that up, once done perhaps the REV can do it on the “big screen” for them !

Dick Gaughan

Re WGD crowdfund. I presume whoever is coordinating this will keep us posted on here as to how to contribute etc. If anyone deserves a wee hand it’s Paul and good on yez for thinking of doing this. You make me proud to be a cybernat πŸ™‚

Helena Brown

Will you let us know what is happening with Paul’s/Andy’s crowdfunder as we would like to contribute something. The Broons of Fife, naw not them.

Vlad (not that one)

O/T: Help wanted:

A group of Croatian friends of Scotland will meet the President of Croatia this week on Saturday, the 21st June, to put in a good word for Scotland. I volunteered to assist if I can.

Now, when one tries to elicit support for the Scottish independence cause in Croatia, one finds that most people are mildly sympathetic, but a few will respond with something like β€œbut what have the Scots ever done for us?” In that case I tell them that I remember how in the autumn of 1991, at the time of Croatia’s war for independence, the SNP annual conference in Inverness passed a motion of support for Croatia.

This would be a good point to make to the President. Regrettably I cannot find any evidence to support my recollection. I have tried the SNP, but received no reply to my emails. Some record of the 1991 Conference must exist somewhere. Can anyone help in the next couple of days? Time is running out.

CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
I’d love to help in any way, though like yourself, wouldn’t want folk to think I’m pushy. πŸ™‚

Bugger (the Panda)

you pushy?

Heaven forefend!

Bugger (the Panda)

missed out

πŸ™‚

WeeGingerDug

Hi everyone,

I’ve passed Andy’s bank details to JGedd, she and her husband are good personal friends. But the truth is I have no idea how to go about setting up crowd funding or anything like that and I’ve already got my hands full as things are. I would prefer to leave it to you good people to sort out how you want to do this.

I love the idea of a Wee Ginger Dughoose as a respite holiday home for carers. It’s a marvellous idea especially because a lot of carers struggle to afford a holiday even if they can get respite care – but perhaps if you want to go ahead with that it may be an idea to liaise with a carer’s charity or dementia support group? I really am in no position to manage what’s effectively a rental house in another country.

I’d just like to say again how moved and touched I am by you all. I’m sitting here greeting as I type. With folk like you in it, Scotland has a beautiful future – a caring future.

CameronB Brodie

Bugger (the Panda)
Wanna see me really put my expanding and not inconsiderable weight about? πŸ™‚

CameronB Brodie

OMG, am I finally attracting mass appeal? πŸ™‚

TJenny

WGD – Hi, posted a comment (well 2) on your website – being moderated as it’s my first postings there.

Anyway, googled a few articles on registering as a charity and they seem to be hog-tied by legal obligations (providing annual reports etc).

I think therefore just a paypal type page for WGD crowdfund would be the thing to do, but would need input by yourself Paul, as you’d need to set up a bank acct to receive all the payments.

Maybe Stuey can advise you on this, via his contact page?

Stay wonderful. πŸ™‚

TJ

<