at Strathclyde Park on the 7th of June, & any other material

that people can give us,Gerry Parker/Patrician/Myself,will

at CH 2 on FRID.

2. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    “I remember though only too well when I didn’t have a bean.”

I have plenty of beans if you want some. Just no money! πŸ˜‰ hehe.

@Cactus
    “I’ll be at the Counting House this Friday to re-rendezvous with all the cool people.”

What about the un-cool people?

Looking forward to Friday. Could use a bit of a morale booster lately πŸ˜€

3. X_Sticks

Oneironaut says:

“What about the un-cool people?”

Yup, I’ll be there πŸ˜€

4. Thepnr

Just spent the best part of today reading every post on this page and played the videos. You should try it sometime, very therapeutic.

@Oneironaut

You have much more beans than I could count. We will win on Sept 18th thanks to good people like yourself.

5. Paula Rose

X_Sticks like you dear, I’m not cool, I’m very hot!!

6. X_Sticks

@Paula Rose

In the mink coat and strappy shoes you are RED hot πŸ˜‰

7. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

I’ve just posted another update at The Indy Inn. (See below.)

BTW: Don’t make the Dundee pickup any earlier than the indicated 17.45, coz me and Pete are having our tea at the CH (Dundee branch) before we meet the bus and as we’ve got to squeeze that in between getting out of work and meeting the bus, any earlier would be a disaster!

Onnyhoo, here’s what I posted a few seconds ago…
    ————————————————
    I’m bumping this up because seats are still available on the (executive, with DVD screens, sound system and bog) coach at a cost of Β£15 return or free if you’re strapped for cash. So, if you’re in the Kirrie, Brechin, Forfar, Dundee, Carse, Perth, Dunblane, Stirling or Cumbernauld areas, get over to the Wings Over Scotland “off-topic” thread, scroll down to the bottom, and tell Thepnr you want picked up!
    (followed by link to this topic)

8. Paula Rose

Now darlings – lets clear up a few things.

When it appeared that the only people who were interested in going were cybernats who spend 24 hours a day in front of their computer screens, I thought it might be a good idea to provide some suitable entertainment.

Now that real people from all walks of life are getting the bus – the style I suggested is really no longer appropriate, so I shall leave the mink coat at home, but weather permitting – the strappy sandals remain.

9. Thepnr

@Brian

I’ll post tomorrow here and on the main board the times and pick up locations. Won’t be before 17:45 in Dundee now we’re taking in Kirrie. I really have no idea now how many will be coming.

Who cares though, we’ll all have a good time. We’re making history. Never forget that.

10. LizM

If you are really intending to pick up at Cumbernauld and there is a space on coach, I’ll hitch a lift if I may πŸ™‚

11. chipmonkey

@Thepnr Have you room for 2 more on the bus? I’ve managed to miss this link and fail using the email up to now. I should have used my actual computer earlier.

12. chipmonkey

Should have said – joining at Dundee. We’re from Alyth, but I’m working in Dundee.

13. beachthistle

I’m planning/hoping to make it to CH2.
    Coming through by train from Edinburgh. What time due to start?
    Not formally representing any group but I’m a member of LFI and involved in Common Weal…

14. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr – can you make sure there is a ‘ladies’ and a ‘gents’ on the bus? I detest splashes.

15. TJenny

beachthisle – Hi, I’m going through to CH2 on Friday. If you get the 18.30 it’s only Β£10 return and last train back is at 11.30 – see you at Waverley? (I’ll be wearing my WOS + YES badges so you’ll recognise a fellow WOSer). πŸ™‚

16. Thepnr

@LizM
    Welcome aboard, will see you in Cumbernauld.

@chipmonkey
    Glad you can make it, watch the posts tomorrow for final timings.

17. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    “but weather permitting – the strappy sandals remain.”

If the weather is anything like it’s been over the past week where I am, you might need strappy wellies! πŸ˜€

18. CameronB Brodie

As Better Together appears desperate to prove it walks amongst us as one of the ‘undead’, let’s take a trip back to the mid ’60s, where I think Project Fear comes from. πŸ™‚

The Beaux Jens – She Was Mine
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVj4OyazRmc

The Swamp Rats – No Friend Of Mine
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Wc6w06ym-c

Monks – I hate you
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5eOuPeAfOeE
    (nothing’s new, eh Fall fans?)

Here’s another couple but they seem more from a Unionist perspective. Still not bad tunes and is that the original Cartman in the first? I don’t think they are the same band, btw. πŸ™‚

The Rats – The Rat’s Revenge (part 1)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AvwHyVktbfk

The Rats – Spoonful
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y5u7oYaSDfo

19. CameronB Brodie

P.S. How punk are these guys? Inverted mohawks in the mid ’60s. πŸ™‚

Separation? Naw, think of all the paperwork.

The Monks – Complication
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=feMvRfOQC50

20. beachthistle

Thanks TJenny.
    Ok, meet you at Waverley (outside WH Smiths?) quarter-past 6ish. If I can find my WOS badge I’ll be wearing it as well as Yes badge too.. but you’ll probably also be able to recognise me from my Dugdaley Mail ‘Cybernat7’ pic!

21. brian

thepnr
    bags a seat, Brechin at 5, cheers

22. Ian Brotherhood

Just a wee test to see if I’m allowed in today – posted approx eight comments yesterday and none of them made it.

23. Ian Brotherhood

Weigh-hay!!

24. Thepnr

Good Brian ones got your name on it!

Pick up points and approximate timings for the bus through to CH2:

1700: The Swan Restuarant, Swan St, Brechin DD9 6EE
    17:25 Vicocchis Coffee Shop, High St, Kirriemuir DD8 4EG
    18:00 Discovery Quay, Riverside Drive, Dundee DD1 4XA
    19:15 McDonalds (Roundabout at Asda entrance), Central Way, Cumbernauld G67 1NF

Arrive George Square Glasgow around 19:35

Return, leave from George Square at 22:30.

I will meet the bus at the first pick up point in Brechin. Hope to see you all soon.

25. Cactus

@Oneironaut ~

YES indeed, all un-cool Scots are cordially invited too.. be they cool / un-cool / undecided!
    «««««»»»»»

What matters is what we’ve already got in common with each other.. we’re all Scottish and we want our country back!

I love my country, I love my..
    X SCOTLAND X

26. Thepnr

Deary me

I missed Stirling, still need a lift scaredy cat? I need you and friends on our bus. Let me know so as I can update the timings. It’s only a 10 minute detour. Ta.

27. scaredy cat

@Thepnr

Sorry, I’m not going to find out until the last minute.
    Just go ahead without me. If I make it, I might join you on the way back, if there’s room.

28. Thepnr

No probs, we’re good. Hope you make it. Lift home won’t be a problem.

29. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good luck to you and all aboard the WOS Special tomorrow – we’ll only have three hours or so together, so let’s make the most of it.

Had a frustrating day out doing stalls, leafleting etc for big SSP public meeting next Tuesday with Colin Fox and Jim Sillars in Irvine: got told to leave Ardeer Community Centre, where Yes Three Towns were having a meeting. Two of us (both locals) were outside, giving leaflets to those arriving. We’d been happily chatting to people for half an hour, and were just about to hit the busy 15-min spot before kick-off.

‘You can’t do this.’

‘Yes we can.’

‘No, you can’t.’

‘Are you joking? Of course we can. We’re outside.’

‘Oh no. No. You can’t.’

‘Are you serious?’

It seems North Ayrshire Council’s ‘Communications Department’ issued instructions ‘today’ that no leafleting was to be allowed either inside OR outside the building.

I’m hoping that the person who told me this was making a mistake – I know her, and don’t want her to get into trouble. Way things are going, you’ll have to stand in the middle of a field if you want to try and offer pieces of paper to anyone.

Then went to Irvine to put up some posters. A local worthy spotted a comrade walking with the posters underarm and warned him – ‘I’m a councillor, and if I see any of that stuff on the lamp-posts you’ll be getting reported’.

Aye, that’s West of Scotland Labour-Heartland Democracy in action…bleuuurrrk!

Anyway, enough moaning from me – have a safe journey tomorrow, and here’s hoping we’re blessed with some half-decent weather: then, when we’re ejected en masse on whatever spurious grounds, we can decamp to George Square and have a glorious dancing session on whatever surface it has currently.

30. Paula Rose

“… AND THEN YOU WIN.”

31. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

The effort guys like yourself put in make me feel humbled. The bureaucrats will always find an excuse to prevent democracy.

Tomorrow though will be democracy in action. Our enemies don’t like that one bit and that’s why I love it. Let’s party!

32. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood honey, now, we had all those lovely diamonte badges provided by Thepnr 3 weeks ago at the Ferry – I do hope your simple sticky things and felt pen scrawl will be a thing of the past.

33. kendomacaroonbar

Chaps & Chapesses,

I will be bringing some special badges tomorrow evening.

The codeword is ‘ Mamawsamillionaire’ for a special discount ! πŸ™‚

34. Paula Rose

Thistle dear – I doubt those of us who make it will remember it xx

35. Cactus

Take your seats folks, there’s a stagecoach a coming into town.. looking forward to the reveller reaction as you all pour into the bar πŸ™‚

Here’s some crackin’ naked guitar to take you through the next hour, cheers:

Chitara Clasica (Various)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vj1eAJdaQH8

36. Jock Scot

Hi All

For those who wanted to be informed of any new releases from Yew Choob

Hope to see as many folk as possible tomorrow at CH2

Yew know it makes sense!

Posted on behalf of Yew Choob

youtu.be/-ErFUlfjzBM

37. Ian Brotherhood

@Jock Scot/Paula Rose –

Aye, it arrives, one way or t’other.

Fantastic.

Feels a bit surreal that, this time tomorrow, we will have met, parted and be homeward – let’s make it a proper humdinger.

Big love to ye’s all.

38. Jock Scot

@Paula Rose

Hi..hope you are feeling lovely as always and am sad that I won’t get to see you dance on the bus
    X

39. rab_the_doubter

Looking forward to tomorrow night. Lets all have a good one.

40. Jock Scot

@rab_the_doubter

Can’t have anything else

41. Thepnr

Yeh haw. Don’t turn off watch to the end. Fecxkin brill. xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdR6MN2jKYs

42. X_Sticks

Man, that clock at work tomorrow is going to be going so slowly.

Looking forward to seeing you all there πŸ˜€

43. Ian Brotherhood

By way of a wee sort of ‘prayer’ before tomorrow:

John Martyn, ‘May You Never’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LOi_wxypeGc

Fare thee well ane an’ aw – get there safe and sound, and likewise back home.

44. Silverytay

I hope all you happy wingers have a great night out at C.H2 tonight , gutted that I cant be with you .

I wont even be able to watch the live stream as the education filter will block it .

45. Chic McGregor

@Thepnr

Not working out so good here. Eddie and his wife arranged a childminder but now one of the kids has come down with tosilitis so they have called off. The Spanish gentleman Vincent is still going but he wants to take his dog so he is using his car, he is also staying over down there to go to a Yes day in Kirkcudbright on Saturday.

My daughter still hasn’t picked the dogs up so that leaves only my wife Sheena as a definite coacher from Kirrie unless you have other folk you know of.

I have put a sign up in the yes shop window but it is very short notice.

However, Sheena’s friend from Brechin will be going (if Sheena goes). Phew!

So I need to know if in those circumstances the bus will swing by Kirrie. I think you said 5pm before and presumably that would be in the square (Bank street), and also where and when in Brechin for Sheena’s American friend Keri.

Sorry about the late notification but I only heard from Eddie 40 minutes ago.

If it is too much of a detour (or if you have a full coach) no problem I can let the girls know.

46. Thepnr

Chic

Thnaks for the update, I will still be coming into Kirriemuir and I’m pleased your wife and friend can make it. The timings are as follows:

Pick up points and approximate timings for the bus through to CH2:

1700: The Swan Restuarant, Swan St, Brechin DD9 6EE
    17:25 Vicocchis Coffee Shop, High St, Kirriemuir DD8 4EG
    18:00 Discovery Quay, Riverside Drive, Dundee DD1 4XA
    19:15 McDonalds (Roundabout at Asda entrance), Central Way, Cumbernauld G67 1NF

Arrive George Square Glasgow around 19:35

Return, leave from George Square at 22:30.

I will meet the bus at the first pick up point in Brechin.

47. Arabs for Independence

Have a braw nicht from a Dundonian in Sunny Norway πŸ™‚

48. Chic McGregor

@Thepnr
    That sounds good.
    BTW are there others from Brechin? (Keri asked)

49. beachthistle

TJenny, plan to meet at Waverley to catch Glasow QSt train might need to be changed – apparently trains between Waverley and Haymarket are severely disrupted/not running until further notice. Fingers crossed they’ll have it sorted out by 6…

50. goldenayr

Bit slow but I’ve just came across this.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-27293189

I would suggest it best if any YES supporters boycotted it.I just don’t trust the beeb to be impartial.

51. goldenayr

Also…

Rev.

Any chance of breaking Off Topic into smaller chunks?

It’s getting to be a devil to load with all the comments.

52. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Any chance of breaking Off Topic into smaller chunks?

It’s getting to be a devil to load with all the comments.”

Jeesh, you Off-Topickers are nothing but flipping bother…

I’ve split comments into “pages” of 500 each, which shouldn’t affect normal threads but ought to speed this one up a bit. HAPPY NOW?

(The first person to moan that they now have to refer back to a previous page to follow a conversation gets INSTABANNED.)

53. Thepnr

Chic

There are quite a few coming from Brechin. Maybe as many as 10 or so. Brechin seems to be quite a WoS hotspot.

54. Chic McGregor

Great, She probably knows some of them.

55. Ian Brotherhood

So, who’s doing the Counting House Special travelogue? Come on, let us know what’s happening, who’s getting on, what you’re seeing, what you’re singing/drinking etc.

We can compare it with whatever you manage to write on the way back.

56. rab_the_doubter

Ian,
    What time are you planning to be in the CH?

57. goldenayr

Cheers Stu πŸ™‚

58. Ian Brotherhood

Me better half has just started doing her hair, so…all going well we’ll make for about half-seven, possibly nearer eight.

59. Thomas Widmann

I’ll be at the CH, too.

60. Cactus

Heading into the city soon, in the spirit of today’s get together, here’s a song called The Spirit:

The Spirit ~ Magnum (Acoustic)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AaJbdmc0U3c

See y’all at the bar.

61. Ian Brotherhood

@Thomas Widmann –

Excellent.

Just got a few calls from friends who weren’t expecting to make it, but now are. Loving this late surge – have stopped adding to list. We must be looking at 100, maybe a fair bit more (including the bus).

The documentary evidence won’t be long coming…

If you’re a switherer? swither nae merr – get your glad rags on and head into town.

62. Calgacus MacAndrews

Me & Mrs Calgacus will be at the CH, probably by 7:00pm …

63. Thepnr

Have left Dundee should be in Cumbernald about 19:20. Driver has suggested picking up at the bus stop on the main road next to McDonald’s.

64. cearc

Thanks Stu,

I was rather surprised when it loaded so quickly and then saw your comment.

That is great.

Everybody have a great time at CH2, sorry I can’t be there.

65. Chipmonkey

Bus is past Perth now. Lovely evening.

66. Alexandra-M-

I’m just getting organised, very much looking forward to meeting you all, and getting out for a bit, I’ve been at a funeral all day so looking forward to having a good gab and a chuckle!

I was looking forward to having a wee glass of wine, but I need to drive now so it’ll be the diet coke for me!

See you soon!

67. LizM

On southbound side at bus stop in Cumbernauld just between Asda and McDonalds is that the place?

68. Chic McGregor

The film crew were chucked out of the pub. Apparently some No brainers complained to the management.

Also apparently the got the issuing of Yes leaflets stopped.

What about the right of expression in EU law? It also covers the right of people to receive information.

69. Tam Jardine

Great night – an honour and a pleasure meeting you all. Working the morn or would have stayed till the death.

Thought all these vile cybernats were supposed to be, well vile? Nae horns, nothin?? What a lovely group of ordinary, extraordinary people.

Guid health x

70. LizM

Thank you all for a brilliant evening. It was fantastic meeting so many of you and putting some names to faces πŸ™‚

71. Oneironaut

Just got back home from CH2.

Head hurts from all the noise and my voice is wrecked from shouting all night.
    But loved every minute of it! Met some awesome people, finally got my grubby mitts on a Wings badge, and had a great night! πŸ˜€

Big thanks to Ian Brotherhood for organising things. To Thepnr for running the bus service. And to Thistle and Clan Destiny for filming all us evil cybernats being ordinary around ordinary people! πŸ™‚

Can’t wait to see tomorrow’s news:

“Rev Stu’s Cybernat Army invades Glasgow pub!”

“They were disguised as normal cheerful people, but the abundance of Yes badges gave them away. I feared for my life!” — Concerned local resident (who refused to be named)

“It was terrifying. One of them smiled at me and said ‘hello’ in an extremely intimidating manner. What is the world coming to?!” — An even more concerned local resident (who coincidentally also refused to be named)

(See, I can do this journalism stuff. It’s easy!) πŸ˜‰

72. TJenny

Well – that was another fantastic night with the WOS crowd, and lots of new WOS faces as well. And I won a prize in the raffle – a signed copy of Morag’s book – lovely. πŸ™‚

I’m home now, fed the cat, changed into jammies and slippers, having a huge mug of tea and half watching a very old Taggart, whilst posting this.

A big thanks to Murray who escorted me home on the train – hope you also got home safely.

Can’t wait to meet you all again.

Sweet dreams all.

TJ

73. Quinie frae Angus

Just off the bus – what an amazing, euphoric night!

74. Jock Scot

Re all the comments posted about CH2…ditto…wonderful human beings bring out the best in us all….now what was that comment on that previous page? Cheers for the provision of this place of expression Stu

75. chipmonkey

Thanks to all who organised this evening. So many different people I could have listened to or chatted with all night Special thanks Thepnr for getting us there. I hope there is a next time πŸ™‚

76. Paula Rose

Just in from a great night out – thanks everyone at CH2, now having a wee red wine and stroking my pussy.

77. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Oneironaut.

Your comment,
    β€œIt was terrifying. One of them smiled at me and said β€˜hello’ in an extremely intimidating manner. What is the world coming to?!”
    reminded me of a classic piece of phonographic recording, available on vinyl LP in the late 70s. It features Peter Cook and Dudley Moore and much use of the four letter “C” word so don’t click the link, dear readers, if you have the potential to be offended by sweary words.

This clip is from the album “Derek and Clive Live” and, eerily, almost paraphrases Oneironaut’s comment – specially the second half of it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTifRi3qDkU

78. Mealer

Braw nicht oot in Glaschu.Many thanks to all those involved.Thepnr etc.

79. gerry parker

Caused chaos wie ma hearin aid, but I’ll be at the next one fur sure.

πŸ™‚

80. Silverytay

Gerry , you looked to be having a good time , while I did not manage to watch the live stream I managed to watch the video afterwards .

81. gerry parker

@Silvertay, Aye, it was a great night, gave you and The Man in The Jar a wee mention.
    Once again Thistle did a great job live streaming and recording the event.
    See you next week, I’m off to Dunoon till Tuesday but we’ll have a wee get together before the Yes in the Park on Saturday.

82. Alexandra-M-

It was great to meet so many of you, and put faces to names! What an amazing, friendly and welcoming bunch….errrr, I mean vile, horrible cybernats.

Thanks to Ronnie for my lovely gold yes badge, and I won a copy of Ian Brotherhood’s book ‘Bulletproof Suzy’!

Fab night, when’s the next one? πŸ˜€

83. gerry parker

Alexandra – M.
    Seen you there, just didn’t get a chance to chat.
    Ronnie was just telling me I won a Map.
    Yee Haa!
    Can’t wait to see it.

84. Alexandra-M-

There were so many people I didn’t get the chance to chat to! Couldn’t believe how many of us there was. Fantastic turn out. Enjoy your map lol

85. kendomacaroonbar

It was great to put a face to so nom de plumes and to hook up with old friends.

Did anybody win a krypton factor medal for getting a round of drinks to a table without incident ? busy much eh ? πŸ™‚

86. kendomacaroonbar

aaargh… so many

87. rab_the_doubter

What a great night that was. Did anyone get a rough headcount.
    One of my favourite moments was outside at the start of the Evening. The Policeman on duty who stopped for a chat and when he found out it was about WoS was really enthusiastic and supportive.
    Thanks again to Ian for organising the evening and Thepnr for bringing arranging the bus. Great work guys.

88. HandandShrimp

It was lovely to meet so many of you, wish I had managed to make around more..there were so many it was difficult to get into the thick of it.

Came from a work do where I had already had a few. I just caught the last train home..a wee bit tender this morning and contemplating whether to go out in the sunshine and cut the grass.

89. scaredy cat

Hi all

Just want to reiterate the comments about CH2 last night. Lovely to see old friends (T Jenny, Cactus, Quince frae Angus etc etc (can’t name them all) and to meet new ones (Murray, Triangular Ears and the lovely couple celebrating their anniversary – sorry I have forgotten your names). Special thanks to the thepnr for letting me join the WoSbussers and to Quinie Frae Angus for a good blether on the way back. Mustn’t forget to mention Ian. It was all down to you.

My son brought three friends (undecided). By the time they left they were wearing badges and had formed ‘Phylosophers, Astrophysicists, Theatre Technicians and Binmen for Independence’

A most successful night!

Let’s do it again!!!

90. Alba4Eva

I think I spoke with you’re sons pals Scaredy Cat.

Must admit, forgot how much of a lightweight I am, but made it home sound and had the best sleep I have had in ages πŸ˜‰

Brilliant meeting new folk and catching up with new peeps.

I’m waiting for someone else to post about the absolute disgraceful attitude of the CH staff and security!

91. DocFin

Yup, a fantastic night. Huge thank-you, thepnr, for organising the bus. Much appreciated. Great to meet so many Wingers. Special shout out to handandshrimp. Enjoyed chatting with you. Oh, and Paula – you are very, very naughty…

92. scaredy cat

Oh. Can’t believe I forgot to mention Paula Rose. I was so looking forward to meeting you and I must say I wasn’t disappointed!

93. Jim Thomson

Sorry to have missed last night. I’ve been laid low with a viral thingy and wouldn’t have either had much fun or, been much fun.

@thepnr – what was the eventual playlist for the bus trip? Maybe a “sampler” to be created and once permissions gained from rights owners, a fundraiser album? Just a thought.

94. Thepnr

Morning All

Last nights raffle raised Β£315 which was very kindly donated to me to help covers the costs of the coach.

My wife and other female members of the family for the past year has been doing fundraising of all descriptions to raise money for Rachael House, Scotlands Childrens Hospice (CHAS) and the Brain Tumour Charity in memory of our niece.

So far she has raised Β£10,994 so I have decided to donate the raffle proceeds to her fund. She has an event tomorrow in Monikie Country Park, a childrens fun day with bouncy Castle, hot dogs, three legged race etc.

Her fundraising will be complete and handed over to the charities after a 100km walk on the Great Wall of China in September. Can you believe she’ll miss the vote! Got her down for a postal one though haha

Enjoyed the great company last night, atmosphere and conversation with all I met. These nights could become addictive, thanks to Ian Brotherhood for getting us all out there.

95. HandandShrimp

Can I just say thank you to whoever it was that gave me the cracking Wings badge.

96. Alexandra-M-

I really want a pair!! How fab are they :-O

97. Cactus

Cheers to everyone who made it along last night, a pleasure to be in your companies once again. Let’s change venue for our next Glasgow gathering..

Next up: Edinburgh

98. Thepnr

Goan yersel Cactus. Time to pay the capital a wee visit.

99. rab_the_doubter

I’d definitely be up for a wee trip through to Edinburgh. After all, why should us in Glasgow have all the fun. Any plans afoot on this front?

100. Cactus

Let’s see, so far the date of Friday the 4th July 2014 has been suggested for a first Edinburgh gig (of hopefully more to come). I’m not too familiar with the lay of the land in Edinburgh but am sure someone will know where’s good.

If anyone’s got any ideas, kindly pop a note on here.. being Scotland’s capital city, best go for a venue that can take about 1000 of us πŸ˜‰

101. Oneironaut

@Brian Doonthetoon
    Thanks for that link, hehe.
    Yep, saying ‘hello’ to people can lead to all sorts of trouble, I tend to just avoid it myself πŸ˜‰

Especially around the BT mob, we all know how sensitive they can be. Sometimes just glancing in their general direction could be interpreted as a death threat!

I might go to the Edinburgh one if there’s a bus on to there too. It’s a bit out of my range otherwise.
    I’ll see what sort of state my finances are in closer to the time though. Might be my lucky week πŸ™‚

102. call me dave

Warriors v Leinster final if you dont have BT or Sky.

http://www.wiziwig.tv/broadcast.php?matchid=263944&part=sports

103. Paula Rose

Cactus dear – find out if our parliament building is available xx.

104. Jim Thomson

@call me dave 5:43 or, there’s Murray vs Kohlschreiber on ITV4

#JustSaying πŸ˜‰

105. kininvie

Just a wee extra vote of thanks to Ian for organising this. It was quite the cybernat celebrity evening – Yew Choob, Wee Ginger Dug, Indy Live Stream and all. Great to see kent faces and lots of new ones… Only sorry not to meet the luscious Paula.

Oh and BTW, Rab, my impression was that the polis turned up because one of the pair was a keen Wings reader, and KNEW the event was on.

I hope everyone I distributed Wings Stickers to already has them in place..

Ronnie – your top secret missive has been safely delivered and is no doubt Winging its way south (see what I did there)

All: Through ill-timing I just failed to collect a few hundred Alert Reader badges in time for distribution. However, I now have them and I’ll bring them along (or send them) to the next event. Meanwhile, anyone who can distribute a few, drop me an email at kininvie@gmail.com with an address, and I’ll bag ’em up and send them on (I’d rather not do this for single badges, but special pleading will be taken into consideration!).

106. Better Together St Kilda

Kininvie doll, honey! I’ll make sure next time.

107. Paula Rose

Whoops – just used the boss’s log in, now what do I do? Rev dear can you delete the one above this? Otherwise I might be unemployed come Monday.

108. kendomacaroonbar

@Paula,

Que pasa hombre ?

109. Paula Rose

Kendoetc dear estΓ‘ tomando el frailecillo?

110. lobeydosser

@Ian B.Hi. Sounds like we missed another great night. Davy has a really bad fish alergy and it had to kick in on Fri. Swollen like a puffer fish.(yeah Im all sympathy)anyway glad it was a great turnout I was really looking forward to meeting Wee ginger dug,Handandshrimp PaulaRose and many more.Defo next time. πŸ™‚

111. Thepnr

@kendomacaroonbar

Ken great job with the badges last night, HandandShrimp sure yours came from Ken.

Let us know when you want to raise a couple of bob for another batch. With the Revs permission of course πŸ™‚

112. Thepnr

Ah Rosie and Dave was so looking forward to chatting with you again. Next time eh!

113. Paula Rose

Will that nice boy with a balloon be able to come and get us?

114. Thepnr

Ok it was only 37 years too late in happening.

Something Better Change

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1F1Ez4-VOM

115. Paula Rose

oops sorry missed a comma between come and and.

116. john king

Gob smacked doesn’t even come close Thepnr Β£315 quid?
    Jesus, that is incredible, Irene’s in shock, wow guys I mean WOW,
    what are you all like?
    I am speechless,
    Irene took home two prizes,
    Cactus donated a bottle of Whisky after the raffle was drawn so that’s in the bag for another raffle, (thank you Cactus)Irene was given two peoples ticket when they left before the draw was made so she’s got two bottles of wine for the next raffle (she thinks, πŸ˜‰ hic, only kidding πŸ™‚
    It was incredible meeting you again BtP , looking forward to our next meeting in a post yes Scotland,
    Wee Ginger Dug, I was awestruck at meeting you,
    in fact being there last night was like a star struck fan lucking out and being there with the glitterati of the movie world at the Oscars, it was deeply humbling and very enlightening, it was good to see you there Morag.
    The star of the

117. Paula Rose

Now boys – words of wisdom…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9xT7bzIoAP4

118. john king

Thats what happens when you’ve had a swally, you post without finishing dammit,
    I’ll finish it in the morning Im too whacked tonight,
    What an amazing night, in spite of the Counting House Manager!

119. Paula Rose

John dear, any room would be lit up with you in it!

120. Thepnr

@john king

You and the wife are great people always nice to see you. Your not the only one that gets the typing wrong after a swally πŸ™‚

@Paula Rose

Trying to play a better Stranglers song than mine eh!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QAzESJ62irI

I’ve got my eye on you LOLOL

121. Paula Rose

Irene my dear – don’t let him out on his own.

122. kendomacaroonbar

@the pnr

Excellent fundraising effort…well done you guys !

I have additional ceramic badges and presentation cases arriving next week, so all being well, I will be putting up an indiegogo page.

123. Paula Rose

Thepnr dear, don’t mess…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjnFTpp79Ko

124. Ian Brotherhood

Quite a few complaints about the CH staff last night. Can’t say I noticed anything, and Thistle himself told me he wasn’t surprised to be told to shut up shop after parading his new IndependenceLive t-shirt.

I can also understand why the staff may have been a bit jittery about some raffle prizes being alcohol. And I was there when one of the security guys was trying to clear people away in that back area we’d occupied. I asked him what was up and he said he was just clearing space for the staff to get back and forth to clear tables. Fair enough.

Perhaps, as some have suggested, the CH has served its purpose and we should look for other venues for future Glasgow gigs. Having said that, I’m pretty sure the CH, and other Wetherspoons venues, would welcome us with open arms if they have a quick swatch at their taking for the respective nights in the CH and Jolly’s, Broughty Ferry.

Pro-indy gatherings will become more frequent, and much bigger as the weeks go by – a chain with the spread and clout of Wetherspoons is missing a trick if it chooses to give us a hard time. (And playing with fire PR-wise.)

125. Paula Rose

Ian darling – maybe some cybernats don’t get out enough, still on a high from a magnificent night out, many thanks doll.

126. Jock Scot

Hi All

Just wanted to say that I had a ball last night and would like to say I was proud to be a part of it and meeting so many new folk was uplifting…what an intelligent and creative peer group to be associated with…mind-blowing! So glad I got to meet you all, esp. Wee Ginger Dug for obvious reasons. Glad the next one will be in Edinburgh as I won’t have to leave so early…was sorely tempted but the extra slog may have dampened my memories and also Edinburgh means all the Choobers can hopefully make it.
    Love to you all, and Paula, thanks for ‘dancing me off my feet’..Roll on the 4th July

127. Paula Rose

Jock dear – lets have a decent dance floor, there’s a wee space downstairs at the top of Morrisson Street opposite the cinema, I’ve kicked off my high heels many a time in there.

128. Paula Rose

btw – wee ginger dug, so sorry we never had a hug, next time xx

129. Paula Rose

Sorry – bit hogging this honeys, the place is called Henry’s Cellar Bar.

130. CameronB Brodie

Are the BBC still banning tunes that could be considered supportive of Yes?

Esquerita – Nobody Wants You (When You’re Down And Out)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtiGb20zevc

Aretha Franklin – Think
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hsL9UL9qbv8

Nina Simone – Tomorrow Is My Turn (live)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFVAoIU8vTM

131. Jock Scot

Paula..next time I demand our own cloud!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LH1kRTd_Xdw

132. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

You were given every opportunity to slink out of here with your head held high. But didn’t take it! You never seemed like the type to me that would run away but sorry now you must pay the price for not running away.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0BrdMi-oyc

133. X_Sticks

Evening all πŸ™‚

Whit a braw nicht that was.

Whew! Only just sat down and caught up with Stu’s VG Sun article and O/T. Had to get torn into the garden when I got back today, it was getting like a jungle.

Information overload last night, So many faces to names and what a turnout. Where to start? Thanks Kendo & ronnie for badges, kininvie for Wings sticker John King for Aye Right cards and everyone else for great company and a thouroughly enjoyable night.

Particlarly good to meet Wee Ginger Dug and being able to thank Wilma & Michael Watts for bringing us the Claim of Scotland earlier this year.

Big thanks to Ian Brotherhood for bringing us all together and Thepnr for the bus. Irene for raising that amazing amount from the raffle. Live Independence for the livestreaming (don’t forget they’re fundraising right now)

Too many good conversations to go into them all again, but a couple of things discussed I’ll raise again in due course.

I just found out I’m going to be manning the YesMobile tomorrow at the Ellon Gala (so much for that long lie!). Any of the North-East Wingers going along? Drop in and see us if you are.

Sorry if I’ve forgotten anything or anyone, BtP, was that you giving me the slip? Great seeing you again.
    Cactus, man, whit can ah say? X SCOTLAND X SCOTLAND X

Right, more catching up to do, sheesh!

134. Ian Brotherhood

@lobeydosser –

I was watching out for youse last night. Yeah, it was a good one, but it went by far too quickly.

Bummer about Davy – no idea he had a fish allergy. I hope he deflates soon.

Looks like the next big gig could be Edinburgh. Maybe see you there? Cheers, as ever.

135. chipmonkey

Enjoying all the posts about last night.Agree with John King…I was starstruck too.I let the side down Paula. Next time I’ll have my strappy sandals too, instead of my trainers. Quite mellow tonight following my bottle of wine from the raffle.DocFin has had some too, so can’t remember the name of the Strangler’s drummer.

136. Ian Brotherhood

It was great to see so many more women there last night – perhaps not a 50/50 balance, but there’s no way it looked like a boys night out, eh?

137. Paula Rose

Thepnr – don’t mess baby…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BdK0jaLuJL8

138. Paula Rose

Now Thepnr dear – do not mess with an aficionado of Sergio Leone and Ennio Morricone.

139. Paula Rose

Thepnr darling -you’ve quickened my pulse…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSaKBCfJnIM

140. Thepnr

Sorry for hijacking Off Topic but I suppose that is what it’s for.

A place to have a laugh, let go of your frustrations or even just state the nuttiest thing you’ve ever thought of.

It’s a chill out room of sorts we we can wind each other up, play the music that’s rarely heard now. Sometimes explore new ideas that will help us win.

Most of all though a “play room” as stated in the very first post! Not apologising but explaining for any new to Off Topic that might have stumbled in and wondered what the hell was going on here LOL.

141. X_Sticks

@Thepnr

“that might have stumbled in and wondered what the hell was going on here”

I’m still wondering πŸ˜‰

142. Paula Rose

Bit mad isn’t it?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C33WoxCUIVg

143. Paula Rose

Come on babes – just do it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDFAshgDUNM

144. Paula Rose

Oh btw Ian Brotherhood (10:18) Lots of lovely gentlemen, sophisticated ladies, boys? A few.

145. CameronB Brodie

Cowboys the lot of them. πŸ™‚

Johnny Lover & The Destroyers – Nevada Joe
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3mW9xGlbbZc

King Stitt – The Ugly one
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G93Z4Hc2J6E

The Three Amigas – Mexican Stand Off
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fc-BoWV-L_8

146. Paula Rose

Come on the bum clocks do a gig for the wingers…

http://www.summerhall.tv/2013/neu-reekie-mega-burns-bash-the-bum-clocks/

147. Paula Rose

Let’s all do the bop…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFKXKBClu_I

148. Jock Scot

@Thepnr
    Can’t thank you enough for that…explains a lot!!! I thought I’d stumbled into the twilight zone and thought it would be impolite to mention

149. Paula Rose

One for CameronB and my darling Jock Scot xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpA0oPR_EOQ

150. Paula Rose

Oh and Jock Scot – just for you honey (and the adorable Janet)…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Id_UYLPSn6U

151. TJenny

Hi all – just scored 100% for YES on this, admittedly very obvious, wee test. πŸ™‚

http://www.independentscotland.org/content/what-to-vote-at-scottish-referendum.htm

152. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Here’s The Three Degrees doing ‘When Will I See You Again’.

Question: Are they self-rotating on those glam bar-stools, or are they powered by some external source?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T6fVDAjs9f0

153. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

You’ll always get 100%, nae danger.

Mmmmwah!

154. Thepnr

You should have scored 150% for Yes TJenny. You’ve let me down?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zMAU0EaH1Bk

155. Paula Rose

Ian dear, there’s always something…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7QlMbwqg_8

156. TJenny

Ian B – xxx πŸ˜‰

157. Jock Scot

@Paula Rose

soul-full sister

@T Jenny
    Think I have your Wings badge, let me know where i can meet you to return..so sorry about that

@Iain Brotherhood
    Really glad I got to meet you at last..twas a pleasure sir

@Thepnr
    Respect sir for all your efforts with the bus and donation to charity

158. Paula Rose

Jock dear – I just had to…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osVaF4t-zFc

159. Thepnr

@TJenny
    Apologies for the BBC political broadcast from David Cameron earlier. Hahaha.

160. TJenny

Thepnr – so we’ll be seeing a screenshot of your ‘150%’ on the test, then?
    (photoshopping not allowed) πŸ™‚

161. Thepnr

Best I ever scored in a test was…100% pretty tough to do otherwise unless their ALL on your side, the dark side that is.

How I’ve survived this long has me puzzled.

162. Jock Scot

lost my post again..so sweet dreams all

163. Paula Rose

I lost 8% by being British – I’m voting Yes to be British.

164. Paula Rose

Vote No to be just English.

165. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Love it, vote Yes to remain British. Not many know that and I’m sure will have have a hard time understanding it!

166. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Thanks again for last night. Couple of other points.

There were many more women that and that was great to see, who says wimmin are shy? Nice to see them get involved.

Regarding the CH and their staff, security ect. I must admit never saw a thing that troubled me in any way. Only thing I heard was that Thistle was asked to stop filming, which I guess most likely came after a complaint from one or more UKOK’s or NOB’s.

Never mind eh! Didn’t stop our crowd having a good time. I can’t wait for the live music. Played by our own bunch, only Wingers need apply.

167. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

re ‘Shellsuit Massacre’:

Hmm…interesting stuff.

168. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

First of all, I’ve got to thank the “Point of No Return” for all the effort he put in to organising the Tayside and Cumbernauld contingent that managed to get to WOS3.

Secondly, I was only capable of making one post last night, which I did at the Facebook page of “The Indy Inn”. As follows…

“Brilliant night tonight in Glasgow for WOS3 at the Counting House.
    Great to actually meet Bugger the Panda and the Wee Ginger Dug and the Scottish Skier’s mum (Mrs Calgacus) and captured a WOS YES badge and won two raffle prizes (Bell’s and Cairn o’ Mohr Bramble) for the first time in living memory – more over the weekend – eh um knackered!”
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/680083868710639/

Thirdly, thanks to kendomacaroonbar for the wings badge, which will be worn with pride.

Fourthly, Pete the Camera (a Wings lurker and get-together attender) is well chuffed with the map he won in the raffle.

Fifthly, ta to everybody on the bus for being a great crowd!

I remembered to take a handful of pics last night. They can be seen here:-
    http://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-glasgow-may2014

169. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

If any CH staff were out of order in any way it certainly didn’t affect the general vibe of happiness. Not so far as I saw anyway, but I was dragged away for the train at approx 10.30, so I’ve no idea how things panned out thereafter.

We’re on a roll here mister, and everyone knows it – the two lasses at the very end of Thistle’s livestream really captured it. I’ve no idea what their names are, or even if they were part of our crowd, but the passion they voiced summed it all up. I wish I could capture that chunk of the broadcast, but I don’t know how to.

What we’re doing is ‘real’, and that’s why we’ll win – the BTUKOKERS have nothing ‘real’, just phoney stunts, and the dwindling support of an ever-discredited MSM.

Last night at the CH was another nail in the coffin – maybe a wee one, but they all count. Heaven only knows how many more will be hammered home in the months ahead.

We’re making history here folks. One wee nail at a time, the British State is finally being laid to rest, and very few, worldwide, will mourn its passing.

170. Paula Rose

Hi babes, culture time yet again…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FyhTMQrAEF4

171. TJenny

Jock Scott – Just checked and I’ve still got my 2 wings badges, (Phewee)so not mine. However happy to meet up with you, around the Tron(?) and we could maybe scope out a venue for the 4th July gig? Tempis is, as they say fugitting. Your time has more constraints than mine, so let me know when you’re free.

172. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Check Brian Doonthetoons pictures right above your post and you will see one of those girls.

Never met the other, but I did meet at least five crackers in Scaredy Cat, Quinne frae Angus, Chics wife and pal (sorry forgot your name) and finally LizM from Cumbernauld who were all on our bus, there was another with their husband she’s the lovely one in the first of Brian’s pictures. LizM is in it too.

Like you I was very pleased to see so many women be active, come on let’s go the extra mile.

173. Ian Brotherhood

Well, I’m sticking my oar in right now and asking kindly for somewhere to crash on the night of whatever Edinburgh gig transpires – no way I’m leaving at fucking 9.30 p.m. to get back to Stevenston.

174. Paula Rose

I thought it was rather nice to meet so many intelligent boys.

175. Paula Rose

Ian honey- I’ll get that double sleeping bag sorted mmwahh!

176. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers.

Checked the photies, and you’re right. Recognised one of the girls who’s at the tail-end of Thistle’s livestream. Whoever she is – and her pal – said their bit, and it knocks all the VNOB ‘grassroots’ shite into some perspective.

More power to them both, and to K.G. for capturing valuable documentary.

177. Oneironaut

Awww man, I didn’t know Wee Ginger Dug was there.
    I just started reading his blog a while back and liked it, so sorry to miss him that night.

Then again I doubt I could have mingled much considering I got pretty much trapped in my seat by the crowds. I least there were plenty of nice folks to chat to within shouting range πŸ™‚

Forgot to ask Ian, was your SH contact there?

178. David Smith

Sounds like a great night. I really hope I can get to one of these nights soon and meet all you guys.

179. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

The person I know did not show, so far as I saw.

Whether or not anyone from SH was there to report on the devilish goings-on? Me no know man, me no know…

180. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood and Oneirionaut

Did you miss Marcia’s front page scope from the Herald?

“More in our #indyref special: public bodies give Β£500k taxpayer cash to CBI; Tories unveil radical new Devo tax plan; the Bus Party is back.”

Could that mean anything? LOL

181. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Ah well, maybe next time πŸ™‚

Was a great night though. Met a lot of people I remembered from last time, and some new faces too.

I did see Paula Rose out with the strappy sandals.
    Lookin’ good there! πŸ˜‰ hehe.

Here’s to more fun nights ahead, and more nails in BT’s coffin!

182. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    Do you mean this lot?
    http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/referendum-news/back-on-the-road-for-the-referendum-the-return-of-the-bus-party.22090872

Net searches aren’t turning up much else. I’ll try again tomorrow when it’s actually Sunday though.

(Though at 2am here, it’s technically Sunday right now and way past my bedtime) πŸ™‚

183. Thepnr

@Oneironaut

Their you’ve gone and spoiled it for me now LOL. Just kidding my friend but I kinda hoped it was part of the Wings stuff. Maybe there they do not dare venture.

Bedtime myself, cant believe the time must still be running on adrenalin from Friday. Burgers and hot dogs to take care of tomorrow for the wee ones. Goodnight.

184. Thepnr

@Oneironaut

Just noticed, that article is from last year. So not spoiled yet! I’m talking of todays paper.

“the Bus Party is back”

What does that mean?

185. Taranaich

Hello all, I thought I’d give a quick update on my blogging (or lack thereof):

Shortly after I arrived in Arizona, my dependable wee notebook, Dalfruin, started to run at a snail’s pace. After much fiddling about on the ‘net, I took it in to Best Buy to see what the Geek Squad (their name) could do. Unfortunately, it just seems to be old age: the RAM cannae handle it any more. As such, I’ve been restricted to Safe Mode – but even then there’s massive memory leak, so there are several services which I cannot access. No videos, music, games, flash, emails… or wordpress. πŸ™

However, I’m going to bite the bullet and get a new machine tomorrow. I’ve been deliberating over what type to get, but the Asus Transformer is beckoning (mostly because IT’S CALLED A TRANSFORMER, I’m not made of stone!) as it offers the benefits of one of those new-fangled tablets *and* it retains the use of a keyboard & mouse. I might go for that one.

Until then, I’ve been writing a few pieces offline, so hopefully I’ll have them up once I get my new computer running. I can still check Wings, Facebook, Twitter and read emails (just not write them), but I am starting to feel a bit cut off from Scotland. I get homesick very quickly!

186. X_Sticks

Just I case any of you missed it – shameless plug for the YesMobile at Ellon Gala today.

I’ll be there if anyone wants to come along and visit. Free tea & coffee and all things Yes.

https://twitter.com/X_Sticks_Real/status/472964795965001728/photo/1

Be great if any of the North East Wingers can make it along!

187. john king

Oneironaught says
    “Awww man, I didn’t know Wee Ginger Dug was there.
    I just started reading his blog a while back and liked it, so sorry to miss him that night.”

See what happens when you don’t get up and mix,next time I’m going to personally drag you out of your seat and make you mix, like it or not πŸ˜‰
    And a nicer man you could not meet, it was a great pleasure to meet you Paul.

188. john king

@ Paula Rose
    when BtP and I came up the steps and I pointed at you through the window I was tell BtP who you were, he nearly fell down the steps, I was pissing myself, he was in shock, I don’t think he expected you to be as hot as you clearly are.

189. john king

“Checked the photies, and you’re right. Recognised one of the girls who’s at the tail-end of Thistle’s livestream. Whoever she is – and her pal – said their bit, and it knocks all the VNOB β€˜grassroots’ shite into some perspective.”

The Taller one was Kestrel,
    the other one I don’t know.

190. john king

@Lobydosser
    “yeah Im all sympathy”

I getting, no wait yes, I’m definitely getting a strong feeling here, yes I can see the name now,
    does anyone here know anybody by the name of
    SARCASM? πŸ™‚

191. john king

Oh btw
    So great to meet you Alexandra, I realised who you were when I passed you, I didn’t even need to look at your name badge, but I have to say your even more beautiful in real life. :0

192. john king

” no way I’m leaving at fucking 9.30 p.m. to get back to Stevenston.”

if its viable we could split a taxi back to my house (16 miles) I’ll put you up.

193. Cactus

Hey Paula Rose, curiosity got the better of me so I took a look at what our Scottish Parliament has to offer its citizens xx

Organising an Event or Exhibition:
    (www).scottish.parliament.uk/visitandlearn/55202.aspx

Being the capital city, maybe it’s time to invite and get together with all the other pro-independence supporters?

194. chipmonkey

The Edinburgh meet can’t be the 4th of July. Too much of a cliche, surely. The moon will be in the wrong position. ( Oh aye, and we can’t come.)

195. Pete the Camera

Had a great night on Friday and what a friendly crowd the WoS are making everyone feel welcome.

Since there is a few music links getting posted here is a link for those that dream of meeting Paula Rose but just cant get the opportunity
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ic4vv_7OpA

196. Jim Thomson

Mrs Queen and the Chook will be in Embra at the start of July. maybe they should be invited πŸ™‚

197. Quinie frae Angus

@ Jock Scot

It’s my Wings badge you’ve got, not TJenny’s. Do you remember, I told you I had injured my arm this week and didn’t have the strength to get the wee pin out, so could you please do it for me. You were kindly attempting to do so when I got caught up with other wonderful Wingers and then forgot to ask you for it before I had to join the Bus Party.

I’ll see you soon though. Keep it till then!

198. Jock Scot

@Quinie
    Phew..was starting to feel bad that I had someone precious badge and was about to post an appeal.Sorry for having a sieve for a memory..was on such a high at the time I was just absorbing.

199. LizM

BrianDoonthetoon

How could you, I avoid photies like the plague lol

I seemed to spend a fair amount of time attaching badges to people, hope they all stayed in place πŸ™‚

Regarding a trip to Edinburgh, I’m not a drinker (lager shandy mostly lemonade) I would be happy to take me, my tatty old jeep (fingers crossed, MOT this week) and four other people across

200. Ian Brotherhood

This is comment 1700.

Who will bags 1707?

201. Chipmonkey

@LizM Our badges stayed on thanks. The fun was getting them back off! You had the knack. I’ve worked it out now though. Hope you had plenty energy left for the cuddies yesterday.

202. LizM

Still trying to work out what I can use to paint a big Yes on side of big white girl that I can wash off.

Then it will be horses4yes lolz

203. Quinie frae Angus

@ Jock Scot

Ha ha, we were ALL on a natural high. High with the happiness of being a Winger, and meeting other Wingers, and sharing in the knowledge that we’re all helping Stu, who’s helping the whole country…move towards Yes.

Now we understand the TRUE meaning of “Wings over Scotland”!!

204. Jock Scot

@Quinie
    Well put..I must have looked like a muppet with the grin on my face on the train home

205. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    Ah ok, that’s what happens when I try searching the internet while suffering from caffeine overdose and lack of sleep after a very busy week.

I think it’s the same people though. Tried searching again and dug up what I’m guessing is the article in question.

As they say in the football world: “If you don’t want to know the result, look away now!” (Or at least don’t click on this!)

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/referendum-news/back-on-the-road-the-bus-party-reforms-for-the-indyref-tour.24376470

@john king
    I’d planned on mingling a bit more than I did, but the bit I was at had everyone packed in like sardines in a can.
    And I’m not exactly slim and agile, you know! πŸ˜‰

Also I got involved in various conversations about things like ice cream and science! πŸ˜€

206. Quinie frae Angus

Rev Stu is going to get so hugged when he gets up here.

Hope he’s ready for it!

207. Morag Graham Kerr

Help! Just discovered I need more Aye Right leaflets. Can’t remember who to contact. Can anyone enlighten me?

208. rab_the_doubter

Re Ians comment earlier about live music. Are there any other WoSers out there in the middle of a midlife crisis who would be interested in getting together for a bit of a jam /:see where it goes type thing.
    I play a bit of guitar (electric & acoustic) / mandolin / keyboards (can’t sing to save myself) – warning I’m no Jimmy Page when it comes to playing, thats for someone significantly more able than me. Maybe agree a few tunes and book a slot at one of Glasgow’s rehearsal spaces like the Berkley. Would be interested in knowing what people think / what songs etc.

209. Morag Graham Kerr

I had a musical instrument with me on Friday, but the venue was entirely unsuitable for that sort of thing.

210. Oneironaut

@Morag Graham Kerr
    I’ve got a stack of the small business-card-sized ones I could split with you. Not sure if I’m within travel range of you though. (Stevenston, North Ayrshire here).

Also I’m sure they wouldn’t have minded a bit of musical entertainment. It’s not like the staff provided much in the way of good music for their customers, so maybe it would have been appreciated πŸ˜€

211. Morag Graham Kerr

I’m looking for the leaflets, actually. And yes, Ayrshire is a bit far.

There was a professional musician there (well I know of one anyway). Don’t know if he had an instrument with him or if he’d have played. But if they objected to filming, I bet they’d have objected to impromptu music. Too many yuppies around.

212. Ian Brotherhood

Some very impressive wings in this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ki01LoQ_XRA

213. Morag Graham Kerr

Ian, since you’re here, who is it who has the Aye Right leaflets?

214. Thepnr

Morag

I can send you 1500, if you have the email of Ian B you can tell him where you want them sent and he can forward it.
    Else ask the Rev for my email.

215. kendomacaroonbar

http://www.schwingsonline.com

could you, would you, should you ? πŸ™‚ sorely tempted.

216. Alexandra-M-

Haha! oh JohnKing you absolute flatterer!

After being on my feet for 12 hours previous to turning up and being on new medication for the past 4 weeks I was looking more knackered and “rounder” than usual! You’re too kind sir!

I just want to thank everyone for being so kind and welcoming. I sometimes suffer from bouts of anxiety and almost didn’t walk in to the counting house alone on Friday, and very very nearly walked back out as soon as I saw how busy it was and realised I did not know a single person lol!

But you were all wonderful, kind and so so friendly I felt very settled after a few minutes. I’m really looking forward to the next one! πŸ™‚

217. Alexandra-M-

Ian, I am very much enjoying your book! I had my eye on it and quickly swiped it from the table when my raffle ticket was picked!

218. Ian Brotherhood

@Morag –

Sorry for tardy response, but I’ve been oot.

I honestly don’t know – like you, I saw the man repeatedly state that he had them for sale in bulk, but I’ve clean forgotten his name.

FWIW, I got a big stack t’other day from the Irvine Yes shop, and a pile of car stickers – they’re certainly not short of material in there, and very generous with it.

219. Paula Rose

Address for Aye Right leaflets –

gavinlessells@yahoo.co.uk

220. Oneironaut

@Alexandra-M
    Was nice to meet you there πŸ™‚

And speaking from the point of view of a single guy, you were looking great! πŸ˜‰

221. john king

“@Alexandra-M
    Was nice to meet you there πŸ™‚

And speaking from the point of view of a single guy, you were looking great! ;)”

You sly dog you,
    Its the quiet ones you have to watch Alexandra. πŸ™‚

222. Alexandra-M-

*beamer*

Behave guys, otherwise you won’t get my ever-growing heid through the next venue’s doors!!

223. Paula Rose

Alexandra_M honey – we are going to have problems getting under the lintel with our Yes heels!

224. Paula Rose

Oops Alexandra dear where does the dash go?

225. Ian Brotherhood

@Alexandra –

Didn’t get much of a chance to speak to you, but so far as I recall there’s nothing wrong with the size of your heid.

But check this one out – David Cameron and Andy Murray. Something’s going on – Murray has a very small napper, or Cammeron has a very big one. Or both are very slightly bigger/smaller than average. In any event, the juxtaposition is disturbing, and provides good reason to hope that they are never photographed together again.

http://37.media.tumblr.com/a3cce86b9c31689b7a546f13f4428618/tumblr_mpn9mcv23f1ra8suto4_500.jpg

226. Ian Brotherhood

Then again, check out Cameron’s heid compared to Alex Salmond’s:

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-Wd0s2719MDs/URPw9AIRPhI/AAAAAAAAJyQ/mcadk37POWw/s1600/Alex+Salmond+and+David+Cameron.jpeg

227. Thepnr

Salmonds is rounded (well rounded). Camerons is eleongated (stretching credibility a bit too far)

Murrays head is smaller but he has the cup and the bigger balls.

228. Paula Rose

I prefer a smaller head as long as there’s a long neck.

229. Thepnr

Oh Dear Paula, now behave or no supper for you πŸ™‚

230. Thepnr

Paula I want to thank you for all the help today flipping the burgers, hot dogs and chicken. The kids had a great day and there was some fantastic face painting out there.

You were nowhere near with the Jelly Bean count though, the actual number was 4165. I was closer than you because I weighed them and knew the answer. Will take me all week to finish them!

My only complaint? Cost me Β£30 to fix the puncture in the bouncy castle because you forgot to take off they beautiful blue Yes shoes you had on. Dope.

https://www.facebook.com/ScottishIndependenceForFamilies/photos/a.561859063921092.1073741829.530880570352275/611510562289275/?type=1&theater

231. Morag Graham Kerr

Thanks, Thepnr, I’ll try Gavin first anyway. I’ve run out with not many to go, and now it seems Calum is hanging on to the rest of what we have for schools meetings and street stalls.

232. Oneironaut

@john king
    I’m sure I don’t know what you mean!
    (*tries to look as innocent as possible*)

@Ian Brotherhood
    Pity Cameron’s is full of all ego and no brains.
    Wait till you see a picture of him after a Yes vote, it’ll probably have shrunk down a fair bit.

@Paula Rose
    “I prefer a smaller head as long as there’s a long neck.”

It’s not the size that matters, it’s how you use it! πŸ˜‰

233. Thepnr

Morag

That’s fine, here’s the real link to today. No pictures of me or Paula though but something I want to share with the Wossers. Because that typifies who we are in my view. πŸ˜‰

https://www.facebook.com/karenchinawalk2014

234. X_Sticks

Nice one Thepnr.

Must go get some zee’s now – bee a looonnng and very enjoyable weekend. The buzz from Friday kept me going today at Ellon. https://twitter.com/X_Sticks_Real/status/473217192775786496/photo/1

This Wings thing is fairly catching on Rev Stu and what a thing it is becoming.

235. Thepnr

My whole family can be found there. Some are for yes, some no and some just don’t know.

I did this for two reasons, first to show that me and my family are ordinary people.

Second to show that I don’t fear Project Fear. But that maybe they should fear me and my ordinary family too.

I’m labelled a Cybernat but am no different from my next door neighbour or the guy opposite my desk. I think you all you aught to do the same.

By the way, I was born in Bridgeton, first school in Provanhall Rd, Easterhous, Then Bluevale in Carntyne. Next came Govan Primary in Copeland Rd. Yes, I was a true blue Rangers man, that’s just the way it was. Nowadays in my opinion these thoughts need to be buried and confined to history. Just as I hope we do for the UK and see the only sensible thing to be done is Vote Yes.

No more of the biography, just that you have no chance of knowing me but to some it might look like only really well off people could raise that kind of money for charities like CHAS.

Not true, and in an Independent Scotland, I don’t believe we will even need to go to these efforts. Who can believe that the only Childrens Hospice in Scotland gets no funding from government at all? All from individuals like you and I.

I don’t know for sure that this is correct but that is what my wife has told me and I haven’t bothered to check.

Only because I believe her.

236. Thepnr

She was right. No direct government funding, something we have an opportunity to correct.

“CHAS receives between 12% and 18% of its funding from local authorities and NHS health boards. The majority of its funding is provided by the general public through voluntary donations.”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Children's_Hospice_Association_Scotland

237. Thepnr

This is the end for Blether Thegether

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQXVHITd1N4

238. Thepnr

Cowards! Scared of the truth? Deary me what is the British government coming to? A Bloody dictatorship with no freedom of speech.

You are extremely foolish if you think that by stopping a single man posting on a single website will stop this movement. Get real, we’re voting for real democracy. Do you even know what that is?

239. Thepnr

This is what I’ve been prevented from posting for the last 4 hours. But as I say never give up and certainly never give in.

See for folk that have never read my posts before, please ignore the implied paranoia. It is not, just a fact of fighting the establishment.

Keep getting 503 errors, wonder why.

Nah, I do not know why these cunts are at it at all. See my family do you want to take them on? You would be a mug to do so, we’re taking you on hahha. GIRUY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZCOwnMEVvE

Regards the link, ignore the first 10 secs though I love them too and get into the meat of the next song.

Because we will only ever have one time. Tick Tock.

240. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    “See for folk that have never read my posts before, please ignore the implied paranoia. It is not, just a fact of fighting the establishment.”

It’s not paranoia if they really are out to get you.

Good song though. Worth the wait! πŸ˜€

241. CameronB Brodie

More mid ’60’s carbon monoxide fueled garage, inspired by Better Together. An unfortunate side-effect of Scotland being located in its own parallel universe, is the space-time continuum can get a bit mixed up. Still, not as bad as Klingons, I suppose, though in some ways you could describe BT as the epitome of Klingon-ishness. Very little honour though, if your honest. T’is a good day to die. πŸ™‚

THE ELITE – MY CONFUSION
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xn64y2tKec

The Wailers – Hang Up
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-xmOCYO4jo&list=PLF05DEA5B83111E42

The Intruders Five – Ain’t Coming Back
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jmsUN6ggscw

242. Oneironaut

@CameronB Brodie
    “I suppose, though in some ways you could describe BT as the epitome of Klingon-ishness.”

Have to get practicing how to pronounce those Klingon insults for the next street stall. See if there’s any reaction or if they just think I have a serious speech defect! πŸ˜€

243. call me dave

Anyone for tennis.

Murray game on now Leading 2 sets to 0

http://u-peak.me/euro-1-uk.html

244. Paula Rose

Now Thepnr honey, fishnets tend to excite young males (11.38) and I do seem to remember you having a wee problem with your frontage xxx

245. Chic McGregor

A wee poem I made up over on NNS

Anti Beeb – a Poem by C McGregor

British Broadcasting Corporation,
    We tire of your deluded dreaming.
    Great bastion of hallucination.
    How loathsome your mendacious scheming.

The British Empire you uphold, yet,
    What little still it holds and prizes.
    On which the ‘Sun will never set’,
    But where truth and fairness seldom rises.

246. Paula Rose

Chic honey – caught a glimpse of you in Kirrie, lovely OH dear.

247. Chipmonkey

According to my research, on the evening of 4th July there are 2 world cup quarter finals.On the evening of the 11th there is no game. Just saying. (Is that more convincing than the wrong phase of the moon?)

248. Taranaich

Ahoy folks, I’m finally back with a post, this time a talk about Neil Oliver and his “historical grasp”:

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/06/03/a-historical-grasp/

249. Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich –

Great stuff mister.

I really hope Mr Oliver reads it, then has a long hard think before releasing any more of his ‘expert’ opinion.

250. Thistle

GET LIVE STREAMING!

Would you like to get involved in citizen journalism and help create our own main stream citizen media?

If you have an iPad (iPhone) what else do you need?

Basic Equipment Required.
    1) Tripod
    Hama Star 61, Β£20 from Amazon, required for iPad.

2) iPad Cradle Tripod
    Nootle, Β£10 from Amazon, required to attach iPad to tripod.

3) iPad Cradle Gripper
    Gripster Native Union, Β£10 form B&M high street or Amazon, required for walking about live streaming with iPad.

4) Alcatel 4G Wifi from EE various 50-90 for wifi gizmo. Option for monthly at 26 for 8Gig or Pay as you go from Β£10. The 4G wifi gizmo is required for providing internet connection to iPad for streaming to internet.

What else?
    You need to live stream to somehwere, so you have options. You can live stream to YouTube or use an onlike service like new.livestream.com which we use.

We can provide you with our YouTube channel or our new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive channel to get you going now!

If you are interested lets chat!

liveindependence@gmil.com / 0141 356 1809

PS

We are crowdfunding here http://goo.gl/scG9gL

251. Chic McGregor

@Paula
    “Chic honey – caught a glimpse of you in Kirrie, lovely OH dear.”

And a great judge of character. πŸ™‚

252. Oneironaut

@Thistle
    Haven’t got an iPad. But I do have a digital camera and two laptops with built-in webcams (one of which is currently out of action due to getting the crappy OS it came with replaced with one of my own construction) πŸ˜€

I’ve been tempted to try turning my hand to amateur video making. But I wouldn’t really know what to do in them that hasn’t been done already by people like you and Clan Destiny and everyone else who’s gone on Youtube and so on.

Might just stick to still images and the occasional online rant for now πŸ™‚

253. Thistle

GET LIVE STREAMING! – MORE…

If you cannot get 4G in your area then a good 3G connection can do it. We used 3G for our recent Lanark event.

If you cannot get 3G or 4G then no problem! If the venue that you are live streaming from has internet then ask to connect to their network. We have a 50 meter cable (Β£25) that we run from a venue connection to our own wifi router (Β£40) which sits near our iPad. This can sometimes be the best option even if you do get 4G at a venue. Used this at many of our events including Labour for Indy at STUC building Glasgow, Shettleston, GladCafe Shawlands…

http://www.IndependenceLive.net

We are giving out login details to individuals who wish to post their own live stream events and will be adding a menu for internet radio!

Please tell people you may know and be interested in this.

We don’t have long to go…

254. Thistle

@Oneironaut
    If there are local Indy things happening in your community and nobody is doing videos then you should definitely get out there and get videos done for youtube!

255. Thistle

@Oneironaut
    Oh yeah, I didn’t start attempting amateur live streaming till last October. I knew nothing about it other than I thought it could be done and could be another way to get a positive message out for independence and by pass the main stream media.

So go do your videos πŸ™‚

256. Paula Rose

How about live streaking my new Yes high heels?

257. Paula Rose

Eek spelling mistake

258. Ian Brotherhood

O/T, even for here, but this is what the inside of Blair McDougall’s head sounds like when he’s had one pink gin too many and has just remembered that he’s got to be up at half-four to make it along to Pacific Quay for an interview about something or other:

Surrealist Discussion (2011) by Jarmo Sermila –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGbtrNZrLwA

259. Ian Brotherhood

P.S. That video was posted on Dec 29th 2011 and has had 656 views.

The mighty WOS grapevine now kicks in…tomorrow, somewhere in Finland, a tuba-player is going to be very happy, albeit slightly confused. ‘Blair McDougall’ will become a familiar name in his immediate circle of family and friends.

Go Jarmo! Go Jarmo!

260. john king

Irene said there was talk of the last Friday in June for a wings night in Edinburgh?
    Whats the script with that?

261. Oneironaut

@Thistle
    I’m not sure if there’s anyone making them in my area. Haven’t seen them if so.

Any tips for what to put in them?
    Seems like all the usual stuff, reaching out to undecided folks has already been done, several times.

I’m not sure most people really “get” my sense of humour anyway. πŸ˜‰ hehe.

262. Ian Brotherhood

Does anyone know of any pubs/hotels in Ayrshire who have genuinely pro-indy managers or owners?

263. Ian Brotherhood

@john king –

I think Cactus is looking into it. TJenny may also have a hand in it…and Lanarkist…and nae doot many others.

264. Paula Rose

Ian dear – my ankles need a rest, those strappy sandals were bad enough, can I request a pair of flatties for any further get togethers?

265. Thistle

OT Live Stream!

Watch 7:30pm Thu 5th June Kinning Park on https://new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/events/2996414

Panel Includes:
    Patrick Harvie
    Aemar Anwar
    Cat Boyd
    Jeane Freeman
    Richie Venton
    Suki Sangha
    +Women for Independence

Please help with our crowdfunding:
    http://goo.gl/N432Cf

266. Thistle

@Oneironaut

Anything local on indy is great, it means when you add the YouTube video you can add tags with your location. Just use your imagination and don’t be put off if you are covering stuff others have done.

Remember you also can post it here and us wingers will be able to have a look and give opinion, plus promote it! πŸ™‚

Go for it!

If you fancy doing live stream then we will give you login details and you can post live stream event on our site, or jut let us know and we will do it.

267. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Aye, give your Chaz Jankels a break – you know it makes sense.

‘Ai No Corrida’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=asA5mPZDCW8

268. Ian Brotherhood

Thistle –

Any word yet on whether the postponed Cardonald gig has been re-arranged?

269. Paula Rose

Ian honey – a wee homely tune-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtuVBPwzstM

270. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Jankel made a fortune from ‘Ai No Corrida’ after Quincy Jones covered it.

Somehow, I can’t imagine Jones doing ‘Plaistow Patricia’ (if you’ll pardon the expression), although it would surely have been interesting.

271. Paula Rose

Ian darling – I’m playing to the gallery, next time we are alone we can debate the finer points of musical legacy, and your vociferous stridency re The Sensational Alex Harvey Band.

272. Ian Brotherhood

Liz had a long day at the State Opening of Parliament, all that traipsing about in diamond-encrusted coaches, wearing big crowns ‘n gowns and having to read out other people’s stuff.

She must get right brassed-off sometimes. Wouldn’t be a surprise to find out she enjoys listening to this:

Sex Pistols, ‘Anarchy In The UK’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3OB6qkLnc8E

273. David

Learning Foreign languages with Better Together, this week is German week:

Yesterday in Wings’ “Quoted for Tories” article the word was “Schlimmbesserung”, an improvement that makes things worse (e.g. Alistair Carmichael replacing Michael Moore LOL).

Today, in the New Statesman it is “Blut und Boden”, blood and soil. This was made popular by the Nazis, so of course Al “Two Eyebrows No Honour” Darling things it is ok to use it in reference to the SNP.

Tomorrow, it will be “Liebchen, Du bist ein Arschloch”, Darling you are an ar@@hole.

Better Together, putting the Scheiss in “shysters” since 2011.

274. Duggie

“Does anyone know of any pubs/hotels in Ayrshire who have genuinely pro-indy managers or owners?”

Why, do you refuse to go to pubs that are run by anyone who isn’t pro-independence?

275. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I think you’re mixing me up with someone else – I like TSAHB, but never bought any of his stuff. Maybe you’re thinking of The Man in The Jar, and, er, ehm, (clicks fingers repeatedly)…Stuart Black? I think he’s a big fan.

276. Paula Rose

Ian honey – click fingers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwMgZQbIvFU

277. Ian Brotherhood

Honestly, I could swear, sometimes, that dug’s trying to tell me something…

278. Paula Rose

Ian honey – I just don’t know

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CtEJ2hO-FF0

279. Oneironaut

Aw FFS! Who left the door open? Now he’s gotten in here!

Just pretending I’m imagining him and maybe he won’t be there when I open my eyes again…

@Thistle
    Well I’ll see what I can do.
    Dunno about Livestreaming though, I’d mostly just post recorded stuff up. I usually need a couple of takes to get it right, hehe πŸ™‚

280. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I don’t know what to do with myself either, but I know what I’ll do with that dug if I ever catch it.

281. Paula Rose

Duggie dear, stop embarrassing yourself please – we can only take so much.

282. Paula Rose

Ian – I’m still having a giggle about this from the wee yappie thingy -“Why, do you refuse to go to pubs that are run by anyone who isn’t pro-independence?”, it would be difficult to make it up!!!

283. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

There are few certainties in this life.

One of them is that I have never refused to go to a pub. Ever.

284. Paula Rose

xxx

285. Cactus

Hi all, re EdinB, somebuddy mentioned July 4 coincided with football gamings.. good timing / bad timing?

~ Message from me to my neighbours in Edinburgh.. “are there many decent sized public houses on the cobbled mile?”

Also, be we planning a Scottish gathering in Robert Burnsland?
    X Scotland X

286. Duggie

“Today, in the New Statesman it is β€œBlut und Boden”, blood and soil. This was made popular by the Nazis”

Talking of which, they used to refuse to use establishments owned by Jews (when they still allowed them to own businesses) and would ask things like ‘does anyone know a pub in Bavaria that has genuinely Aryan managers/owners’.

287. TJenny

Oh, for the love of gawd, can someone please throw the dug a table leg?

288. Ian Brotherhood

What a rank stench – ’tis either a dampened dug, or a drunk Viking!

Here’s James Brown to get it sorted:

‘Too Funky In Here’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zj4_K1Bp-kg

289. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus –

It was mentioned that World Cup matches are on that evening. Could actually be good from our POV in that some venues may have areas which don’t have big screens. I don’t know the Edinburgh scene at all, so can’t be sure, but it’s something to be aware of.

On the Ayrshire front, I’m looking for a place that will welcome an SSP social gathering, so that’s why I need to find somewhere that’s broadly welcoming to the Yes side of things – if we can get somewhere, there’s no reason why it couldn’t accommodate non-SSP Wingers and others who can’t make it to Glasgow/Edinburgh/Dundee for the sort of bigger gigs we’ve already had.

As you probably know, us West-coasters have to be a wee bit circumspect when making bookings – a bit of homework saves a lot of potential grief. Having said that, it only takes one stray dug to cause chaos. (:))

290. Oneironaut

@TJenny
    Try throwing a whole table at him. They’re heavier than just the leg! πŸ˜‰

291. Ian Brotherhood

πŸ™‚

292. TJenny

Oneironaut – pain wasn’t what I had in mind. πŸ˜‰

293. TJenny

well other than, possibly, splinters.

294. Cactus

Sounds good Ian Brotherhood.

YES, I see we have a new regular, welcome woof, where be you hailing from?

295. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus –

Cheers mister.

Aye, the newcomer’s outside right now, barking at a tree. We’ve tried pointing out that it’s the wrong one, but he ain’t listening.

296. Taranaich

@Ian Brotherhood: Great stuff mister.

I really hope Mr Oliver reads it, then has a long hard think before releasing any more of his β€˜expert’ opinion.

Thanks! A couple of people have said so: I really do hope he reconsiders. His earlier opinions were so reasonable and even-handed, then he comes out with this bletheration.

297. Thistle

@Ian Brotherhood

Just waiting to hear back from Richie Venton about Cardonald.

Another live stream today people at about 19:00-19:30

298. Ian Brotherhood

No fresh comments on leading thread since 8.09 am? Something wrong…

299. Ian Brotherhood

P.S. Ignore that last – was looking at the post previous. Doh…

300. heraldnomore

Yes in the Park

I’ll be at the event and will drop by with an A3 glossy Wings ‘Your Country Needs You’ poster for the stall.

301. gerry parker

@heraldnomore,

Great thanks, look forward to seeing you.

302. Thepnr

My posts on the main thread just won’t appear again. It depends what I’m saying but this is a just a test.

303. Oneironaut

Wish I could get to Yes in the Park. It sounds like fun.

Everything fun is always happening so far away from where I am… I’m thinking of sending in a suggestion to the local council to rename the town “Boredom Central”.

We welcome careful drivers (though they might become deeply depressed here and crash anyway!)

Did I mention I’m thinking of applying for a job in the tourism industry? πŸ˜€

304. gerry parker

@Oneironaut, Thistle will be there live streaming look out for us, we’ll give you a mention if we get the chance. Which town are you in?

πŸ™‚

305. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

‘Boredom Central’ πŸ™‚

Couple of years ago the primary school organised a day out to the local Morrisons for my daughter’s class. She said it was ‘random shopping rubbish’, they didn’t even get behind the scenes, and the whole thing was so boring that one of her classmates fainted.

306. heraldnomore

Forget your Devo Nano and Strathclyde Commission, new in the post today is the 130+ pages of The Common Weal Report; and it is much better reading.

A bit like Riddoch’s Blossom there is aspiration and inspiration, neither of which you’ll find from any of the BT papers and bribes on powers.

I’ve only read a few pages of several of the chapters from Robin McAlpine so far, but I like what I see. Don’t lose sight of the fact that this is our one and only opportunity to shape the society we want our children and grandchildren to inherit.

Robin’s All-Of-Us-First society seems a mighty improvement on Westminster’s Me-First route, and it is achievable.

Let’s make it so. Only we can make it happen; only we can stop it happening. It’s in our gift. One more person each. Forget Obama and the BBC, off your arses chaps and chapesses; come on.

307. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Wow, school trips were never that exciting when I was at school πŸ™‚ hehe.

We just got stuff like pantomimes, Kelburn Country Park and so on…

@heraldnomore
    Most of the people I talk to are the “no hopers”.

Was talking to one today who openly admitted that we’re basically living in the real-world equivalent of an Orwell novel (her words, not mine, though I heartily agreed!)

Yet for reasons which completely elude me, she’s still determined to vote no…

Is there something in the water around here?!

308. Thepnr

@Oneironaut

Lets hope you can persuade her on the run in. Someone posted yesterday that we should all do our best to talk to at least one person a day and to try to engage and if possible get them on our side.

I took that to heart and sitting having a beer in the sunshine spoke to an elderly couple at the same table.

This was of course after a few introductory chats about beautiful weather ect.

Then I asked, nonchalantly πŸ™‚ “whats about the referendum then, any views?” “Eh Aye says Jim, I’m voting Yes”

“Good on you, me too”. From there we chatted for at least half an hour, I could tell his wife was less enthusiastic but by the time I left she was nodding and agreeing too.

For the older lady, just mention grandchildren, free education, health care and fairness. You won’t see them change their mind there and then but you will see that it’s worth thinking about. Also gave them an Aye Right card, both in their late 70’s but do use the internet and they have family that will listen to them.

The fable says:

A Yes chat per day keeps Farage at bay.

309. Jim Thomson

Maybe the “no hopers” have read 1984 and managed to reach the end of the book. I gave up many years ago, found I couldn’t get into it as an “enjoyable” text. I need a page turner these days, fed up with academic, business and work-related material.

So, I had a hunt for the ending to the book on that magical interweb thingy and found this

http://www.escapistmagazine.com/forums/read/18.305546-At-the-end-of-1984-by-George-Orwell

Glad I gave up half way through. πŸ˜‰

310. Chic McGregor

Test

311. Paula Rose

These high heels are worth their weight in gold – transfix the undecided and apply cybernat brainwash techniques, guaranteed success.

312. Chic McGregor

OK post wouldn’t appear. It was just a comment on the D-Day thing and the true story of WWII so I posted it in a pdf to dropbox on the following link:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/r7liv3yep0au6hs/Eastern_Front_WWII.pdf

313. X_Sticks

@Chic
    ~27 million Russian dead.

They paid a heavy price for our freedom.

314. JGedd

@ Jim Thomson

I read 1984 many years ago when at school and at the same time remember reading that Orwell had used his experiences working in the propaganda unit of the BBC during WW2. The terrifying Room 101 of the book, for instance, was the number of the room where his department held their meetings, I believe.

When I read that about the link to his work at the BBC, as a teenager, I thought,”How whimsical, to use Auntie BBC as the basis for the sinister mind control of the Ministry of Truth”. Some decades later with the present day BBC, I don’t find the idea quite so whimsical.

315. Chic McGregor

X-Sticks
    Since I had to pdf the post, I thought I would take advantage of being able to update it, mentioning that total Russian casualties exceeded 20 million.

I then discovered the above link no longer works and you need to use this new one:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6va8d4jmxtxdozz/Eastern_Front_WWII%20.pdf

316. Jim Thomson

@JGedd

Aye, it’s amazing how the veil slips from the eyes (and ears) when a bit of critical thinking is applied to the output. I now watch a mix of BBC, RT, Al Jazeera and France 24 with the occasional foray into other news outlets.

Each of them has its flaws and bias, but it does give the opportunity to question the content.

I used to be so appreciative of the BBC’s output in terms of news when I was overseas because it seemed to reflect “reality”. I now know differently. Pinch of salt and apply the “Why are they putting THAT slant on it?” filter.

317. Ian Brotherhood

Let’s get some good music going tonight folks. Been a quiet few evenings here – probably because Paula Rose has been tottering around Brechin in her killer ‘Yes’ heels, having to squat to get Aye Right leaflets through low-fitted letter-flaps, and is too bushed to do anything when she gets in.

Plenty of tasty themes to get stuck into – Obama, Darling, the implosion of Pacific Quay etc.

Here’s a wee starter.

RUN-DMC, ‘Walk This Way’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4B_UYYPb-Gk

318. Nana Smith

I’ll go with one …like it when Walter says “I won”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UlIRUtJMA40

319. Thepnr

A wee bit of Scottish rock from the 70’s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SU14_6Ekq9g

320. Jim Thomson

Ian & thepnr, I asked a week or so back if you could supply the playlist for the CH2 bus trip CD(s), and it all went quiet …

Any chance you could provide that info? I have a vague notion of a professionally produced one (or two) and should be able to check the possibility quite quickly (one son in music industry).

Ta.

321. Thepnr

Hello Jim

We didn’t get time to make up anything special and Paula Rose brought along a handful of CD’s. In the end on the way there mostly be strangers and sober we just left the radio on.

Bit livelier on the way back and Paula had some Scottish compilation CD which had all sorts on it and it seemed to go down well.

Sorry if I’ve disappointed you but you could do no worse than going through the links on this Off Topic page. Some crackers there and that’s what I would have liked to do given the time.

Personaaly I would choose only those with a Scottish element or any Independence element (struggle). There are a few. Bloody hard slog to go through them all though.

322. Thepnr

To make it quicker, theme for tonight if anyone has a favourite that has relevance to Scotland or the referendum, stick it up. Then we have a quick compilation.

I’ll start cos I love this song and think it very relevant.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7rZbvi6Tj6E

323. Paula Rose

Well darlings (pause while I climb down off those killer heels) how about some dynamite?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJHfEi4OFQ4

324. Brian Doonthetoon

Scottish themed music…

Here are three audio files fur yiz. The first two, I guess, could be described as Scottish-Caribbean Fusion.

http://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/MagnificentSeven-Reggae-Bagpipes.64kbps.mp3

http://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/AlastairMacDonald-Lets-Foot-It-Out-64kbps.mp3

This last one can only be described as a Scottish classic. Features Michael Marra on vocals.

http://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/Skeets%20Boliver-Streethouse%20Door-64kbps.mp3

325. Nana Smith

Aint gonna let nobody turn me around

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJ6mhRZ8LjM

Many a mile to freedom

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FFgnhNWCtVY

and for Ali Darling

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wU1kTuVSUOw

326. Thepnr

@Nana Smith

Great pick for oor Ally πŸ™‚

327. gerry parker

Yes in the Park.
    Very successful day. The rain did come on later, but by that time everyone was in a great mood so it didn’t matter.

Ronnie and myself, SIlvertay,Patrician and his wife were joined by The Man in the Jar and Rab the doubter. Everyone played their part and we met lots of wingers, posters and non posters. We dispensed Posters, Alert Reader badges, and other freebies like Lees Snowballs and Irn Bru. Among others, You chube, Thistle and The Wee Ginger Dug dropped by to chat, I didn’t get a chance to chat to everyone though, things were a bit hectic at times.

Soft drinks were kindly donated by the man in the Jar’s friend in Bothwell who owns a Wine Merchants and is a committed winger. Many thanks to everyone for their efforts, thanks to those who popped by to chat and meet the faces behind the names, it was great seeing you all. Patrician took some pictures and will post up the url later.

Roll on the next one.

328. heraldnomore

Well said Gerry, and well done all Wing Nuts.

Hopefully someone will post footage of Alan Bisset’s latest, Vote Scotland; and of that rousing address from Robin McAlpine. Brilliant stuff.

And finish it off with Mhairi McAllan’s Frredom Come All Ye.

Good day, just a tad soggy though.

329. Ian Brotherhood

Well done all. Sounds like a great day and I’m sorry I missed it – had a cunning plan, but it went awry…:(

330. Ian Brotherhood

Hamish Mccunn, ‘Land Of The Mountain And The Flood Overture’-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-F5dmRV5Bc

331. Jock Scot

@Ian Brotherhood
    You would have had a ball but we all know you would have been there in spirit along with the rest of the WOSers

332. Ian Brotherhood

@Jock Scot –

I know. Bummer.

Ronnie had told me to expect a sausage roll with my name on it – must’ve been a bloody big one!

333. Thepnr

ronnie anderson over on the main thread has posted:

“REV. Lets take this Show on the Road & put Wings on the
    street stalls,Cmon Wingers orginize in Your Areas.”

I’d be willing to help run a stall at the Arbroath Seafest weekend on Sat 9th and Sun 10th Aug. There is a cost of Β£125 for the stall and I would need help though, any volunteers?

Meantime I will email the organisers to make sure that a Wings stall would be acceptable to their committee.

334. Paula Rose

Vocals by the sea birds of Shetland – and a wee bit of music by some folk…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sfYUMBTAUVc

335. Paula Rose

Thepnr darling, you can count on me, but I’m not wearing my Yes heels all day.

336. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Β£125 for a stall? WTF!?

What do you get for that? I hope they give you a pie and Bovril at half-time.

337. Thepnr

Cheers Paula email has been sent. Link to event http://www.arbroathseafest.co.uk/

338. Paula Rose

No evening of momentous Scottish music could be complete without several tracks from this remarkable outfit…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NqapeLIGI90

339. Thepnr

Ian it’s really for businesses selling their smokies and stuff, registered charities get a better deal. Thing is it is a busy weekend down at the harbour holidaymakers and all.

I hope they supply the stall too or it’s a bust, anyway I’ve emailed. This was the first event that popped in my mind if I can find another I’ll check them out.

In fact I’ll do it now, bound to be something on over the summer that will be free. Cheers.

340. Paula Rose

@ Ian Brotherhood – a tasty langoustine dear.

341. Silverytay

Many thanks to Gerry , Ronnie , Patrician & his wife , The Man in the Jar and Rab the Doubter for a great day out despite the weather trying to put a dampener on it .

Ronnie carried out his duties in an exemplary fashion by standing out in the park without a jacket on directing everybody to the wings tent .

342. Thepnr

Well done to all you Wingers running the stall today, first of many I hope.

343. DocFin

Thepnr,
    you can count me in if it gets the go-ahead.

344. Jock Scot

@Paula Rose

@the WOSers at YitP
    Brilliant to see the interest at your ‘Pitch’ in the park.A comment that keeps coming to mind is that Yes folk are always smiling and laughing..can spot/smell a No a mile off.
    @Ronnie A. ,,,as always Sir, a pleasure
    @Rab nice to meet you again

Well done to Kevin for the livestream and the shared ‘dancing’ in the rain..fantastic memories of a fantastic day.

345. Thepnr

Thanks DocFin

I’ve sent an email to the organisers, once I get a response I will post it here. we can sort out the logistics after that. No doubt I will be in touch with the Yes in the Park guys for tips and advice.

Think this could happen, as long as the organisers give us the OK. Cheers.

346. Nana Smith

Far from the Clyde

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UrTOeje9Rhs

347. Ian Brotherhood

@Nana –

That was beautiful. Never heard it before.

348. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Get lucky album by Mark Knofler

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bLUdfykrQM

349. Ian Brotherhood

@Nana Smith –

This is a wee bit of a documentary I saw ages ago, all about what happens to those massive ships – if you don’t have time to watch it, please check out the astonishing ‘nest of wire’ at 5 mins.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZeVmtt32_W8

350. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Thanks Ian,will watch it again[seen it before]

My hubby was a 1st mate on the big container ships and remains keenly interested in all things maritime.
    In fact I’m soon to be a boatie widow as he has recently bought a motor boat.Hoping to get a few fish suppers out of this acquisition!

351. Lynn Blair

Returned home from Yes in the Park to find my roof leaking!
    Anyone know a decent roofer willing to travel to East Kilbride?

http://lynnblair.blogspot.co.uk/2014/06/yes-in-park.html

352. Nana Smith

@Ian

and by the way we are still waiting for a knock on the door from slab united….I’m thinking they were very thin on the ground if not invisible.

353. Jim Thomson

Ian & Nana – nest of wire

I spent a few years up on Benbecula and one of the annual tasks was to knock down nests built by a variety of birds. The most durable were combinations of wire and kelp stalks! The culprits – Hoodies!

What made it hard to dismantle was fact that it was neatly woven into and through a wire mesh aerial counterpoise. Clever budgies πŸ˜‰

If you’re interested in marine “boat watching” I can recommend http://www.marinetraffic.com πŸ™‚

354. Patrician

some pictures from today’s Yes in the Park. Here is the link (hope it works on here) http://imgur.com/a/0WZlH#0.

Please shout if you are in any of the photos and don’t it to be included in the album or if there are any issues viewing the photos.

Great day today, good to see so many smiling faces even later when it got very wet.

My humblest apologies to Silvertay for referring to him as The Man in the Jar a couple of times today. Strangely, I always introduced The Man In the Jar correctly.

We had a few undecideds todays and 1 or 2 No voters visit the stall (dragged along by their better halfs) all left either as Yes or had lots to think about.

355. Paula Rose

And something musical for those like me, that are fans of the majestic John Sampson ( I’m sure he’ll join us when we meet in Edinburgh, likewise the incomparable Rob )…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Lz1iHFL-A8

356. Nana Smith

@Jim Thomson

I bet you enjoyed your time on Benbecula,not been there myself but I’ve heard it is quite beautifully rugged.

I will be passing that link onto my husband…doesn’t hold any interest for me.

357. Chic McGregor

Here’s one from the 60’s, a bit of psychedelic rock from Scottish ban Marmalade. The deep rich underbelly on this one is courtesy of the very unusual use of two bass guitars.

Jimmy Hendrix described it as the best recording of 1967 and 1967 was a mega year for pop music.

Status Quo had their first hit with Matchstick Men 6 months later, which although nothing like a direct lift, had a very similar look and feel.

Please ignore the panto costumery, managers and agents had strange ideas about how groups should be presented in those days.

Just a few years later, disillusioned after a couple of years in London, their epic song ‘Reflections’ broke America and became THE anthem of GIs in Vietnam, but they are best known for a bog standard cover of Obladi Oblada.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCn61DuBrgo&feature=kp

358. Chic McGregor

P.S.
    Forgot to mention I picked the above also because of the crap weather today.

But here is a tube of ‘Reflections’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79NiN7ISW7E

359. Paula Rose

Darlings – let’s have a Doctor on call…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bdTELokKfCk

360. Thepnr

@Chic

Reflections Of My Life was good, I only knew Marmalade from Obladi Oblada of course. Just missed the others by a couple of years πŸ™‚

361. Ian Brotherhood

@Chic –

Great stuff, all new to me.

That’s why I love this place so much.

Cheers mister.

362. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

That was a pure rip off from Rock and Roll Part 1 but also reminded me of this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BgrYf7VWASE

363. ronnie anderson

@Ianbrotherhood Your roll&sausage was upgraded with slices

Ayrshire smoked back bacon Mmmmmm, but it did’nt go to

waste Mr Richard Lyle MSP is deeply greatful for your non

appearance,it went down nicely with a big mug of tea from

our catering dept heidyin gerry parker,drookit but laughin

awe day.

364. Paula Rose

@ thepnr honey dear – you reminded me of this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hmbEuRzlhIs

365. Ian Brotherhood

This is surely a contender for the shortlist:

The Scottish Rugby Team, 1990 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XA6cnXFiE6I

366. Paula Rose

Anyways – let’s carry on with the Friday night ceilidh…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GI-ShJft9Bc

367. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chic.
    You posted,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCn61DuBrgo

You’re a man in the same bag as me!
    In the late 60s, me and my cousin bought LPs fortnightly; he one week, me the next.
    One week, he bought Marmalade’s “There’s A Lot Of It About” which has that track on it. Also features their version of “Hey Jude”.
    BTW: John Peel also liked it – I believe he rated it the best single of 1967.
    RE: bass guitars. I’m sure I read somewhere that Junior Campbell played a 6-string fretless bass.

Onnyhoo, keeping to the Pop-Syke theme, I think every home in Scotland must have had a copy of this track, because when I was trawling the Dens Road Market and second hand shops in the early 70s, there were always copies of this begging for ownership.
    There used to be a video of them doing this ‘live’ on a US TV programme on YouTube but it seems to have been deleted.
    So, The Poets…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2PBoUBXY4w

And to bring us (almost) up to date, here they are –
    The Poets reunite and perform live at Stereo, Glasgow on Friday 2nd December 2011 for Eyes Wide Open Club’s 7th Anniversary.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwGG53SIHuw

368. Paula Rose

A serious reflection dears…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGWr2i1f5s0

369. TheItalianJob

@Thepnr at 5.26pm

One of my favourite Christy Moore songs on Irish struggles for Independence. I play it myself. I’ve also re-written the lyrics to reflect Scotland. One for Yew Choob?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48WFaBhEUg8

370. Jock Scot

@The Italian Job
    Christy Moore has always toured here when I couldn’t make it so if we can fit it in we will certainly try.

371. Paula Rose

Search out the rest of the canon…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0c4l_T3KRNo

372. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Another high-five to you darling.

What’s become of Mr Gaughan anyway? He hasn’t commented for a while, not that I’ve seen anyway.

Here’s hoping we’ve not upset the man in any way.

373. Brian Doonthetoon

And for those of you on that ‘west coast’ who don’t understand what we, in the real world, are going on about, I offer you this…

http://web.archive.org/web/20050322224304/members.aol.com/dinnaastme/page5.htm

374. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

That was class.

375. Paula Rose

Doubt any of you could do better than this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yZ3H_aLKB04

376. Paula Rose

Anyways – this’ll be the news tomorrow or the day after…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgmbfXld3z8

377. Thepnr

@TheItalianJob

I see jock has already replied to you so lets hope he can fit it in.

You know something? At my age I thought I had no more to learn. What has amazed me most about my “awakening” is that I still have so much to learn!

I’m determined now, there is so much good in this country, so much decency, so much passion. We cannot and must not fall at the last hurdle. I will do everything in my power to get a Yes in Sept, I’m sure you will too.

Work hard, harder than you have ever worked in your life to educate, inform and persuade people that Yes is for the best.

In my mind there really is no other option except despair and depression. We can and will win this however.

378. TheItalianJob

@Jock Scot

Here are the lyrics I wrote to reflect Scotland. Just minor changes as the original lyrics are relevant to Scotland too.

Once upon a time there was
    Scottish ways and Scittish laws
    Villages of Irish Blood
    Waking to the morning

Then the Viking came around
    Turned us up and turned us down
    Started building boats and towns
    They tried to change our living

Then the union came along
    Started centuries of pain
    But they could not make us turn
    We are a river flowing

Again, again the lanlord came
    Burnt our houses stole our grain
    Pushed the crofters off their lands
    Working for a living

Three hundred years we have been down
    The secret of the water sound
    Has kept the spirit of the man
    Above the pain decending

Today the struggle carries on
    I wonder will I live so long
    To see the gates being opened up
    To a people and their freedom

379. TheItalianJob

Villages of Scottish Blood.

Damn

380. Paula Rose

Hello boys (where’s that winky thing)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXUQlmO-L8s

381. Chic McGregor

Hi Brian
    Yes I remember The Poets. Posted a reply already but it hasn’t appeared. Hope this one does.

382. TheItalianJob

@Thepnr

Yes fully agree with your sentiments and there is so much Scotland can offer. I saw it for myself in Norway how proud such a small nation can be with no big brother pulling the shots and steering the reins and holding them back. We all know what happens when the reins are let go. There’s no stopping us.

383. Chic McGregor

Note, re Marmalade, in addition to the 7 million+ hits on the ‘Reflections’ vid I posted, there are several ‘GI homage’ versions out there, some of which also register millions of hits.

When I said ‘mainly known for Obladi Oblada’ I was of course only referring to the UK.

Thus it has always been.

384. TheItalianJob

@Paula Rose

Nice one I forgot about that song.
    πŸ˜‰

385. Paula Rose

Forget the high heels…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbyAZQ45uww

386. Paula Rose

No reason other than I love this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QR4vE9xL3yk

387. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie Anderson –

So sorry I didn’t make it man – I did try. By the time I’d done the needful it was already well after 2, and it was properly pishing down.

Good to see the pics though, and the stall looked smart. More power to all of ye’s for doing it.

388. Paula Rose

And more from my favourite Skattish band…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZm6XlFxsaE

389. Chic McGregor

Paula
    Dusty was an O’Brien like my mum and looked like her too.

390. Paula Rose

@ Chic – on knees, I knew you reminded me of someone!

391. Chic McGregor

I think my own appearance owes more to the McGregor side, a potent combination.

One of my mother’s brother’s, they were farmers in Ireland, was jailed for hiding a gun.

This from the first struggles, my mum being the youngest of a large family and he, the eldest.

392. Paula Rose

Darlings, rather sad isn’t it that millions of people come to this site – cybernat central, and all they get is this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5F44WfZoIN4

393. Chic McGregor

Paula
    Not sure that mocking unionists, especially recently deceased ones, is the way to go.

394. Paula Rose

Chic I wasn’t mocking unionists..

395. Paula Rose

I regard Michael Marra as one of our finest songwriters.

396. Chic McGregor

Sorry, must have misinterpreted ‘all they get is’.

397. Chic McGregor

I also think Michael Marra wrote some really good songs especially ‘Mother Glasgow’, even if he was a Dundonian.

398. Paula Rose

Chic- always tricky doing humour in this format, Mike was a pal of a mine – a finer man it would be hard to find.

399. CameronB Brodie

My thank you to lumilumi.

LAIKA & THE COSMONAUTS – ‘PSYKO/MISSION IMPOSSIBLE/EXPOSE’
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f9v_K_9btcU

400. Paula Rose

re great artists…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1X0rqVVAmXw

401. Paula Rose

talking of artists…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jrg0X9H6FGU

402. john king

Me an Irene are gonnie tak a wee hurl up tae Duthie park (Aiberdeen)anybody waant butteries broucht back?

btw the wedding was the buisness
    even ma speech wis a triumph, and a cannie pit twa words the gither.

403. Silverytay

John King , Aldi sells butteries as does a large supermarket in Perth whose name I will not mention due to them promoting better together .

404. Silverytay

Ronnie
    I hope you told Betty and Stuart the truth about who it was that attacked us and destroyed the gazebo .

I refuse to name the culprits on an open forum as the biased brainwashing corporation would turn it into something it wasn’t .

405. Cal

My local Yes group is running out of Aye Right cards. Can anyone give a source where I could get some more? Cheers.

406. john king

sILVERTAY SAYS
    ” Aldi sells butteries as does a large supermarket in Perth whose name I will not mention due to them promoting better together .”

aye but they’re no as guid as the real thing fae the wee baker shoppes in Aiberdeen
    btw just posted a comment on the shop who shall not be named
    on “Its a democracy stupid.

407. gerry parker

John King,
    Ma brother brings some doon every time he visits, he’s fae Stonehaven and gets them in the wee bakers there.

408. Silverytay

Cal
    I got mine from a Gavin Lessells , unfortunately I no longer have his email address but someone did post it on a previous thread .

Gavin does frequent Wings so hopefully he will see your post .

409. Oneironaut

Didn’t even know there was a band called “Laika and the Cosmonauts”…

First time I heard the story about Laika when I was younger it just made me really sad :'( (Still does actually, but I’m supposed to be all grown-up and uncaring about such things now! …*sniffle* *sob*)

410. Oneironaut

@john king
    Good on you! πŸ˜€

I didn’t know they were sinking that low. There’s one of them just outside Stevenston, on the road in to Kilwinning.
    Haven’t been in there for a while, and I doubt I’ll be going back now.

The Lidl at the end of my street is much more conveniently placed.
    Not to mention their in-store bakery. If you time it right, you can get there just as they’re taking the bread out of the ovens… Yummy πŸ˜€

Also I particularly like the banners they have outside.
    They don’t seem to have openly come out in support of Yes, but the wording on those banners could be very easily misinterpreted by overly-sensitive unionists πŸ˜‰ hehe

pbs.twimg.com/media/Bj__U51CAAE6j0r.jpg:large

411. The Man in the Jar

I was just wanting to say thanks to all the folk that manned the Wings stall at Yes in the Park. Due to my housesitting / cat minding duties in Fife I was unable to help with the pre-arrangements and I buggered off before the joyous task of taking down the soaking wet gazebo began. Honestly guys as someone suggested you should have wiped the fingerprints off of it and chucked it into the lake. πŸ™‚

Id also like to thank Kenny the proprietor of Canape wines in Bothwell for providing the soft drinks and bottled water. Kenny posts here on Wings and has Lots of “Yes” stuff adorning his shop regardless of the possibility of losing unionist customers so he deserves lots of support. Kenny couldn’t make it to the event so I have blagged him a bunch of goodies including a Hamish poster for the shop.

http://www.canapewines.co.uk/

412. Paula Rose

@ Cal 9:13, Gavin’s email re Aye Right leaflets-

gavinlessells@yahoo.co.uk

413. ronnie anderson

@Silvertay all fair in love & war every thing sorted

spoke to Alan Beverage he’s laughin as well, wasent the best

start to our day but we got a good bang for our buck,sent Email to Canape Wines ( Kenny ) for the slabs of drinks
    great day oot wiz it no ( only us kin sing Bring Me Sunshine
    in the Pissin Rain ).

414. Oneironaut

Just got back from the Ardrossan Highland games here.

Had a bit of a Glastonbury atmosphere this year…
    (As in trudging through large quantities of thick mud on the ground!)

Everyone just going ahead in defiance of the rain though.

Posting up some music to chill out with on a summery (but rainy) Sunday πŸ™‚
    If this song doesn’t make you feel calm and relaxed, I would advise seeking medical help…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqPc18bXIAw

415. john king

TMitJ says
    “Honestly guys as someone suggested you should have wiped the fingerprints off of it and chucked it into the lake.”

LAKE?
    I spy strangers in the house!

416. ronnie anderson

@ John King ur you loseing the plot ( chuck it in the lake )

we wur at Strathclyde Park no The Lake O Monteith,

Irene Irene John needs a lie doon pull the black oot curtains.

417. cal

Thanks Paula Rose. I’ll drop him a line.

418. Marcia

Paula Rose
    re TMITJ

That is what you get for watching too much BBC.

419. Quinie frae Angus

Hmmmm, it seems that if I use my work email address, my post appears.

If I use my normal home address, it doesn’t.

Anyway, have been a mad lurker for the past few days….frustrating! Guess I’ll just have to keep using my work email. No problem. Better to be half a Winger than no Winger at all.

420. Thepnr

Don’t miss yer chance. This opportunity comes once in a lifetime. Take it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmXumtgwtak

421. Ian Brotherhood

We’re almost there folks. You can feel it.

Shirley Bassey, ‘Almost There’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVqYRaOCMvs

422. ronnie anderson

@John King sos John it was the Man in The Jar that said the ( throw it in the lake ) & he wiz wie us awe day an he’s fae
    Uddingston, mybees he’s goat a fever wie awe that wetness.

423. gerry parker

Recipe of the day. (Ideal for stall workers and visitors.)
    Roll and square sliced sausage.

Take one buttered roll.

Fry one slice of Square sliced sausage(also known as “Lorne sausage”)

Insert the sausage in the roll.

Add condiments as desired ( Red sauce, Brown sauce, Salad Cream)

More delicious recipes soon + tips on doing large batches.
    πŸ™‚

424. Oneironaut

@gerry parker
    “More delicious recipes soon + tips on doing large batches.”

Got anything with chips? πŸ˜€

425. Thepnr

Thanks gerry, I’m not a good cook but just followed your recipe and the two rolls I had were delicious! This ones a keeper πŸ™‚

426. gerry parker

Thanks guy’s.
    There’s a low fat version of the roll, just leave out the butter, and a vegetarian version, just leave out the sausages.
    πŸ™‚

Will post a photo of my field kitchen essentials as soon as it stops raining!

427. CameronB Brodie

gerry parker
    As you’re here, what about this version?

DJ Dawn & The Ranking Queens – Peace Truce Thing
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1HUKB-eieV4

428. gerry parker

@Cameron B, my last post went missing.

That was a great version.
    Here’s one from the Prince Buster LP I used to have but lost long ago.
    Listen out for the solo (sax?)
    Turn up the base and wind up your waist.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pyyRw7IbVQE

429. CameronB Brodie

You can’t beat a bit of Buster. πŸ˜‰

Prince Buster – Hypocrite
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdKC_WtlTkw

Prince Buster – A change is gonna come
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KysmKlEACj4

Prince Buster – Everybody Ska
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eKgYtCK7Rwc&list=RDeKgYtCK7Rwc#t=21

430. gerry parker

A great era for music.
    I also like this, always reminds me of Tony Blair but.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p7dxmsDRSUI

431. CameronB Brodie

If you want to talk about Tony Blair, best not forget Barack Obama. Not that I agree with the critique on the Ukraine.

Obama: Don’t Compare Ukraine Invasion To Iraq
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uXsVH4JIWY

432. Cactus

Evening OT’ers, I’ve never been a fan of soap operas an awe that high drama that goes with it, although, there was one that I used to enjoy watching.. was probably one of Scotland’s most popular shows? Here’s the intro and part of the first episode. My favourite character was Mrs Mack of the originally named: (Take The) High Road.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHXyZwhB-Ic

433. gerry parker

Well the grandchildren are in bed so here goes.
    This is my basic field kitchen built up over a few years and used on Land, Sea( Holy Loch Marina and Port Bannatyne) and at Airports (Glenforsa and Bute)

2 litrePump flask ( bought last year at a boot sale in Dunoon – 50 pence).
    2 Litre Kettle, to boil up water to refresh the flask if you’re catering for more than 5.
    A folding table – with an old skillet so you don’t burn the top of a table (didn’t happen at Strathclyde park Silvertay) or burn the grass when you put anything hot on it(did happen at Strathclyde park)
    Hand sanitisers and paper towels – because you will spill something ( it was Irn Bru in our case, and general wiping up rainwater)
    A knife, fork and spoon (not matching, you’ll only grieve when you lose one of a set).
    Fresh water container – I use a collapsible 5 litre one.
    A magic cooker ( If I ever learn how to use it properly I’ll let you know. I use the bottom part for frying, and the top tray to keep things piping hot(so the advert says)
    Cooking stove + spare gas, because you will run out, that’s guaranteed.

Plastic cups – but Ronnie brought posh mugs – so we used them

A big box which held most of it.
    A towel, because if you always know where you’r towel is – anyone will loan you anything ( HH Guide to the Galaxy) – Oh, and some hairy string( photo 2 shows what was left of mine, you will use it (or loose it), I promise.

now for the photo’s, hope this works.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/97731450/Essentials.jpg
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/97731450/Hairy%20String.JPG

More exciting recipes tomorrow. Well, more recipes tomorrow including Low fat, Vegetarian and Vegan options.

434. ronnie anderson

@Cactus, noo you’ve gone n dun it, spoilt yer cowboy image

lol tak the high road.

435. Silverytay

Gerry , I am pleased to announce that there was not a mark on the tables , the biggest problem was removing the wings stickers before the headteacher saw them .

Getting the tables back to the school was fun as every time I went round a roundabout they tried to decapitate me .

436. Patrician

@ gerry parker, you haven’t said how much hairy string you need. Hint, you need to start with a very large roll of it to end up with that amount at the end.

Catering was first class on the day, the roll and sausages were top notch. How you managed in that cramped space was a lesson to all the top chefs on managing under pressure. It was cosy in the gazebo at times, especially after it started raining.

437. Thepnr

Gerry/Patrician/Silvertay/ronnie

I had a reply from the organisers of Arbroath Seafest so am booking a stall. I will need some hints and tips and they will be most welcome. This is a two day event so I have 2 volunteers so far but will get more.

Stick your wee tips up here which will also help others though once it’s booked I see value in meeting up with at least one of you to get the lowdown.

You have to remember most of us us have never done any of this type of stuff before.

438. heraldnomore

Over at BfS, on their twitter feed they’ve a terrific graphic that could be an alternative for the Aye Right cards. Sorry, no links till I get back to a proper computer, but have a look at their Voices of the Yes campaign, with web addresses and full colour logs.

Oh, and whilst there chip a couple of shillings into the crowd-funder. Most of you will know the huge role that Gordon, Ivan and the team are playing.

439. gerry parker

@Thepnr.

Me and Ronnie would love to attend, I’ll need to check with the command module(The wife) and check out the grandparenting duties on the day it’s happening.

We can bring along the banners but maybe not the field kitchen on account of I would hope to be stuffing my face with freshly cooked Arbroath Smokies all day.

I’ll check with Silvertay and Patrician too, a wee day out would do us all good. Might bring along another wee contingent too if there’s spare seats.

Watch out here for more recipes and cooking tips.

πŸ™‚

440. Silverytay

Thepnr , Gerry I would not manage the 2 days as I am usually up in Perth on a Saturday to take the in-laws shopping but I would love to do the 10th if I can make it .

Gerry , I will email you tomorrow regarding an idea I had regarding future wings stalls .

441. Thepnr

Hey great stuff guys, you make this all so easy. This is so much more more than grassroots. It is people power in full blossom.

Cheers.

442. Paula Rose

Thepnr – can do both days darling, but I am NOT wearing my Yes heels for that length of time.

443. TheItalianJob

@Thepnr

With all your efforts in this campaign, you need to be commended.

Apologies for not being able to assist more but I work overseas (currently in Tunisia) and have done so for last 14 years on and off. I’m an engineer in the oil and gas industry but as there are many Scots here I can do my bit in persuading people of the benefits of Independence and where to get the information to assist. Also corresponding with a few by email too and getting the postive messages on oil and gas to them.

444. Thepnr

@TheItalianJob

Thanks my friend, I’m also an engineer in the oil industry and have travelled the world though currently in the UK. YOU and I both know the truth of the N. Sea.

I’m sick of the lies and the patronising. I was a No “just because” at one time. That was only until I studied the facts. Now I will do all in my power for the next 100 days to inform people of these facts. Only then can they truly make a choice.

Once you know the reality, it must be Yes. Enjoy.

445. Better Together St Kilda

@ Thepnr – I’m forgiven for puncturing the bouncy castle then?

446. Paula Rose

(Damn bloody boss using the machine ag

447. Paula Rose

ain)

448. Thepnr

Of course Paula, but please remember next time. If there ever is one.

449. Paula Rose

It was rather lovely the way you caught me in your arms as I got tripped up by the flailing rubber.

450. Brian Doonthetoon

“flailing rubber”

That’s what happens when you get your crotchless earflaps from Primark…

451. Thepnr

Too much rubber, vinyl and lycra for me. Here’s summit a bit different. Joe says..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I9eLeZS9OeY

452. Paula Rose

Brian dear, we didn’t hear that.

453. Patrician

Hi Thepnr

Count me in and if you are really lucky I will get the wife to come along too. She loves a blether and had a ball on Saturday spending time with people who actually answer back πŸ˜‰

454. Patrician

A good tip for future stalls would be a waterproof, reinforced gazebo.

455. The Man in the Jar

Just on to apologise for referring to the truly awesome Strathclyde Loch as a mere lake. πŸ˜‰

It is just that I grew up nearby and remember when there were rows of miners cottages where the loch is now. It is so artificial that I find it hard to think of it as a loch. It appeared around the same time that the basterds built the M74 right through the middle of my paper-round.

456. gerry parker

I’m getting too old for getting up at this time to stick a dummy back in a weans mouth!
    Anyway, I’m up now – so I might as well do something useful.
    @Thepnr, Looks like the command module is favourable for me having a wee trip to Arbroath.

Let me tell you how it happened for us. Yes Lanarkshire had e mailed me re Yes in the park and I contacted The Rev to see what he thought about a Wings stall at it. He said sounds fine, keep me posted. I’d already dropped in on Ronnie a couple of times, so I asked him what he thought. He said great – I can get a Gazebo and other stuff too.

I posted on off topic looking for local volunteers, SIlvertay, Patrician and the man in the jar replied, X Sticks was going to be away but offered moral support. A couple of brief meetings later and the ideas were flying thick and fast, Banners were organised(with Stuarts ok). Tables were organised, printed hard copies of reports were made and everybody did their bit in their own way. Ronnie provided the food, I said I would handle the cooking.

On the day we all met up and travelled to the park, We were met there by The Man in the Jar, and Rab the Doubter.
    Gazebo was erected, material laid out and banners erected. Everyone just seemed to know what to do, even when our Gazebo was set upon by the one next to us( I’ll spare their blushes and not mention who they were πŸ™‚ ) we just got on with it and fixed it. Then people started coming up and talking to us, Ronnie went out at the front of the Stall chatting to people and inviting them to go in and look at the material we had and he dispensed the Lees snowballs to children and adults alike. Silvertay, Patrician and his wife chatted to people as did the man in the jar and Rab the doubter. Everyone just did what they could and were comfortable with and it turned out great.

I’m sure a few of us will make it through to support your efforts. We can’t tell you how to do it, and I’m sure none of us would try, what worked in Strathclyde Park might not work in Arbroath, but you’ll know what works, and if not, the other people who volunteer to help you will know. It’s about finding your own voice (and from what I’ve read of your comments you have already found it) just tell it to other people in a natural way, they’ll respond then it becomes easier and easier. And it will be a success.

There’s another child awoken, I’ll need to go, still got tomorrows recipe to work out.

457. Thepnr

Cheers gerry, it’s great all this stuff eh!

458. Silverytay

Thepnr , the only thing I would add to Gerry,s comments is to have plenty of badges and posters , we literally ran out half way through the day .

The Hamish poster along with the one banned from s.p.t were very popular as was wings car stickers and there was a lot of interest from people looking for the rev,s wee blue book.

What surprised me about the day was the amount of lurkers visiting the stall , while they don’t post they all loved the wings site and I must admit that I am more a lurker myself , now preferring to post stories from wings & newsnet on to facebook .

We did have copies of different stories for undecided voters to read in the hope that they would see that the m.s.m were lying to them and it might be a good idea to have something on how westminster sold the Scottish fishing industry down the river or how westminster kept the E.U subsidy that was meant for Scottish farmers .

As Gerry says , what worked for us might not work up in Arbroath .

459. Hood

thepnr
    Was it Marco you were in contact with regards the Seafest? Just a bit curious.

460. ronnie anderson

@Thepnr, looks like there,s a weggie Wingers gang headin your

way better order plenty rolls I’ll get a couple slabs of

Sausages. Patrician & Mrs,Silvertay,Gerry,myself.

As the others said make sure you have plenty material,I’ll

see whats available from my Yes Group.

461. Pete the Camera

I have a small battery powered PA (15watts) if anyone needs it for the cause in the local area Tayside/Fife

462. Thepnr

It was a company called Red Pepper events, they are the official organisers and this is their fourth year running the event. The person I was communicating with wasn’t Marco.

463. Tam Jardine

Thepnr, Cactus, CameronB Brodie et al

Re Friday 4th July. I checked with the Newsroom and the room downstairs is free until 10.30. Costs Β£60.

I have been to a party before there with a mate DJING which was guid. Mibbe a bit trendy for our purposes. I would prefer going to a boozer but the trouble is finding one big enough.

Just an idea – this is NOT me taking over! I’ve been dealing with Lou in caseanyone wants to check him/her/the place out

464. Hood

Thepnr
    Ah ok, just I know Marco is the guy in charge of the Seafest committee at the moment, didnt realise they had outsourced the booking side of things.

I would have liked to have been there but I have a problem with crowds I am afraid.

465. Jim Thomson

@Thepnr we (missy Betty Boop and I) might have a gap in our August schedule to offer some help with the stall.

It’ll be a chance for us to have a wee break away from the that terribly cold west coast haar … oh, wait a minute …

πŸ™‚

466. Jim Thomson

On the subject of (Glasgow) venues, my eldest lad uses a place called Stereo which had a great basement for live music and a bar at one end. Upstairs is another bar with food on the go. It is a bit dingy looking but management seem quite tolerant.

http://www.stereocafebar.com/

If it’s a possibility, let me know and I’ll get the boy to have a word with them about “reasonable” rates.

Just a thought.

467. Jim Thomson

by “had a great basement” I meant “has a great basement”

It’s been another long day …

468. Jim Thomson

@ronnie 09:21

FGS Ronnie, ye dinnae pit smokies oan a piece! Ye haud them in yer bare (but clean) paws an’ ye munch them. Ye then huv anither twenty minutes sookin’ the flavour (an’ ither choice residues) aff yer fingers .. nummy.

πŸ™‚

469. Cactus

@ronnie anderson ~ Aye, I be a man of many images πŸ™‚ I thought posting the video might stir a bit of interest from the older and straying undecideds hehe. The power of the soap ~ yee har!

@Tam Jardine ~ Cheers for looking into the Edinburgh night out. On reflection, I like the idea of a 22:30 finish at the chosen meeting place.. we arrive throughout the day, Thepnr’s coaches arrive early evening and will probably be returning home about 22:30 too.. so we all leave the meeting place as ONE group and whoever’s up for staying out and about in the city.. we go as ONE gathered group to the next venue.

Are we all good for 04/07/14, or are we still considering other dates.. general feel?

ps, couldnay make it to the Strathclyde Waters event but hope to join-in on other independence related doo’s, I hear there’s one coming up soon in Arbroath..

470. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr – I do hope they don’t think we will be a stall selling game birds!

471. gerry parker

Jings is that the time?
    Nearly forgot to post recipe No 4. i’ve been so busy.

Roll and Sausage with Black pudding.

Take one buttered roll.

Fry one slice of Square sliced sausage – the kind that has a circle of black pudding in it.

Insert the sausage in the roll.

Add condiments as desired ( Red sauce, Brown sauce, Salad Cream or mustard)
    Easy or what?

So, The low fat version, – don’t butter the roll. The vegetarian version, just leave out the sausage and black pudding. The Vegan version, just present the dry roll ( they can check the condiment labels and see if they can smear the roil with any of it.

Ok you could buy some Stornayay black pudding, slice it thinly and fry it crisp, then add it as a top layer to the Standard square sliced recipe, but when you’re cold, wet and starving these wee touches don’t really matter.
    Tomorrow (maybe) the B, the BL and the BLT (including of course the Low fat, Vegetarian and vegan versions)

We’re on a roll here.
    πŸ™‚

472. Paula Rose

Now dears – I shall be starting the ‘Salad a Day’ recipe forthwith.

473. Flooplepoop

I appear to be posting a link to Jim Carrey, i never thought i’d ever do that, but i do like his words in this sort video.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajMpfPYlHi4

474. Brotyboy

@ gerry parker

You forgot the Delia version; add balsamic vinegar to taste. But remember to pronounce it bawlsamic.

475. gerry parker

@ Brotyboy. sounds a bit iffy to me.

@Paula.
    Ah – a chance for me to retire, over to you.

476. Paula Rose

Gerry dear – just thinking about our bairns future, better keep those recipes coming for the old boys (hello Thepnr).

477. Thepnr

@Tam Jardine

Looks like a good find, I checked their website and seems like the downstairs bar is now a club at weekends open until 03:00am which is probably the reason for the Β£60 charge after 22:30 if you want sole use.

I like it, as Cactus says 22:30 is probably fine for those that are travelling, anyone staying late could always just go back upstairs or head to another bar.

So who’s going to do the necessary? Tam you’ve already done the legwork just stick a post up. Edinburgh meet 4th July at the Newsroom. That’s really all there is too it apart from plugging it every now and then. Good job.

478. Thepnr

Regarding Arbroath Seafest, cheque sent today which includes a 3m x 3m pitch with a gazebo! at the harbour. Looks like we have plenty volunteers, Paula Rose, Docfin, gerry, Silvertay for Sunday possible and Jim Thomson and better half.

My better half will probably pop along for a bit too and I might ask my 2 nieces to help out for more female company, means the men can nip off for a pint on the Saturday afternoon leaving the wimmin in charge πŸ™‚

I’ve been in touch with the Rev regards Wings merchandise and I need to give him an idea of numbers ect. I have plenty Aye Right, Greens and can get my hands on plenty LFI leaflets.

Once I get confirmation that my application is accepted we can get down to the more nitty gritty.

Thanks to all of you who are giving of your time. Lets win this!

479. Paula Rose

Thank goodness you boys will be leaving the serious business to professionals.

480. gerry parker

@ Thepnr.
    I will probably be there on the Saturday only and can bring along the Wings banners for you.

481. Thepnr

@gerry parker

Cheers, think I’ll get some flags and balloons as well. Proud Scots love a flag πŸ™‚

Bring your book of recipes too!

482. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

I know you wimmin will just take charge anyway, no point in fighting the inevitable lol.

483. Paula Rose

Thepnr darling – I’m sure you’ll do your best.

484. Chipmonkey

I can be there on the Sunday.

485. Thepnr

Hello again Chipmonkey, good stuff thanks for the offer, it’s accepted.

486. Tam Jardine

Thepnr, Cactus, CameronB Brodie et al

Yeah – the club night kicks off at 11 hence the 10.30 cut off. Could look at getting in from 7.30 maybe. It’s Β£60 up front for hire which I can cover with a wee whip roon on the night mibbe.

Proximity to station and couple of decent pubs nearby if it’s shite (black bull and pivo) all plusses. Music (I pod dock I think) optional

Keen to hear from CameronB before committal. Also need to check a pint of lager is not extortionate. Sounds like it could work

487. memaw

Paula Rose.
    Hi, lovely to meet you in the Counting House. Great to see the strappy sandals. On that subject: a while ago you put up a link for Yes shoes. My niece is going to Ladies Day at Hamilton Racecourse and would love them. Can you help ?

488. Ian Brotherhood

Great to sit back here and watch y’all busy.

It’s my birthday. I’m 51. I’ve picked a bad day to try and stop the fags, eh? Actually stopped yesterday at 1.30 in the afternoon. Never mind…perhaps I can hold out until Sep 18th, then have a huge cigar.

Here’s George Carlin, on ‘Time’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIkkEMg5FQE

489. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Hey! Just for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=co5Ar8PIFak

490. Paula Rose

Memaw darling I’ve been a bit disingenuous about the heels – I haven’t actually been able to track a pair down yet, but please don’t let on.

491. TJenny

Ian Brotherhood – xxxxxxxs have a very Happy Birthday. πŸ™‚

492. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers mister.

You may not believe this, but I went through primary school in the same class as bass-player Johnny McElhone, and knew Titch Anderson and Tony McDade at Holyrood. Only one I didn’t know was Clare Grogan ’cause she went to a different secondary.

Many many moons have passed!

493. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Cheers. You’re a gem.

I salute y’all, my WOS pals, especially youse who like to go O/T. Special place, this.

Mwwwah to all.

494. Paula Rose

Ian dear, Thepnr beat me to it so… an old favourite xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_RZAGnFcI4

495. memaw

Thanks Paula Rose,
    I only wanted the fab photo because she could mock up a pair herself! You never know I might be able to get her to do a pair for you. X

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.