1. 19 04 18 12:56

A story told in pictures | speymouth

106 to “A story told in pictures”

1. bobajock

Fools vote Brit, fools trust Labour, fools kill Scotland.

2. AndyMckangry

Every advocate of the NO vote, MP’s, media of all types, union officials, councillors, business people and celebrities are all lying, conniving ("Tractor" - Ed)ous dogs and should be labelled as such on every occasion possible.
    As for No voters, they are either the same or just plain stupid.
    Time for kid gloves and gentle tactics of persuasion are over long ago.
    The cliff face is getting nearer and we are still twiddling thumbs.

3. heraldnomore

Another lie that won’t wash next time round

4. winifred mccartney

Is there any promise made by the tories and labour in better together that they have even pretended to keep. For the life of me I cannot understand why anyone would still vote for them. They really are self-serving liars. I wish the FM would call a press conference and tell the world what these britnats are doing to Scotland – they seem determined to trash it before it becomes independent. Mind you why am I surprised they have form for that.

5. Angry Weegie

They won’t be in the least embarrassed. It was one of many stories told to prevent independence. It was more important to stop Scotland leaving than there to be any truth in any of the stories.

6. MajorBloodnok

The Vow delivered!*

*(not delivered).

7. HandandShrimp

Are they Yes yet? Probably not…Stockholm syndrome?

8. One_Scot

You know what, if Scotland does not vote Yes in the coming Independence referendum, then we clearly are way way too stupid, and we do not deserve to be Independent, or the British Establishments ability to control us and our minds is just simply too great.

9. Luigi

Brass-necked Barstewards.

Well, if they just said anything to secure a NO vote in 2014, what on earth are they going to say next time (when the opinion polls will be a lot tighter)?

I can’t wait….. πŸ™‚

10. fillofficer

makes one seethe
    scotland
    6160 miles of rugged coastline
    no need for its own navy boats
    union…what effin union

11. BALDEAGLE

oh oh I know why the ships are being built abroad
    its because the ruskies are still in the subs under the clyde honest I seen them yesterday going for the messages at lidls in giffnock

12. Luigi

One_Scot says:

19 April, 2018 at 11:56 am

You know what, if Scotland does not vote Yes in the coming Independence referendum, then we clearly are way way too stupid, and we do not deserve to be Independent, or the British Establishments ability to control us and our minds is just simply too great.

In that awful case, we fight on and on and on – forever.

I can’t accept British nationalism – ever.

And I can’t accept suffering forever just because other people are too ignorant, or too feart, or too stupid. By just existing we cause untold damage to the union. Stay the course – we will win in the end. Whatever it takes. πŸ™‚

13. Athanasius

This is what England does. Why is this piece being presented as though what has happened is shocking? It’s like being surprised by what bears do in the woods. Don’t Scots YET get it? Scotland isn’t in union with anyone, and England CERTAINLY doesn’t consider itself in union with Scotland or anyone else. The “UK” is Greater England, and so it will remain until enough “unionists” in Scotland cop on that they’re mugs.

14. Socrates MacSporran

FFS Nicola. Colonel Yadaftie insisted: “The party I lead,” had not spoken to Cambridge Analytics.

The answer is surely: “You lead an accounting unit of the Conservative and Unionist Party. You run a branch office and take your orders from Head Office in London, so, Cambridge Analytica has no reason to speak to the Scottish Branch office they deal with Head Office, the people who make the decisions.

“The SNP makes decisions for Scotland, in Scotland – we are not, like the “Scottish” Tories, poodles for London.

Go on the attack Nicola. Hit first, do not counter-punch.

15. galamcennalath

It always comes back to Scotland having a media which just won’t do its job.

From ‘state’ broadcaster down to local newspaper, they let the proponents of the Union off with everything and anything.

It is quite clear that the current slash and burn policy against Scotland is going to continue completely unchallenged by the msm.

16. Socrates MacSporran

Further to my earlier post. To be fair, Nicola (once again) thrashed Colonel Yadaftie on points.

But, I’d rather have seen a clean knock-out.

Question, was Ken Macintosh’s wee reminder, after the bold Colonel’s cameo, but before Small Dick Leonard’s contrbution – a scolding for the Colonel, or a warning to Small Dick, who is usually more-interested in reserved issues.

17. tartanthing

Dale Winton has died???

18. Macart

They’re going to need a bigger bottle of Brasso.

People were warned. They chose to believe the wrong argument. They chose poorly.

They WILL have another opportunity.

As for HMG? They do what they do and that is put out bids. No. I reserve my anger for the Scottish media on this. THIS is what THEY campaigned for, so suck it up. YOU did this. Own it.

At least have the grace to hold your hands up and admit you got it wrong.

19. geeo

@socrates mcsporran.

If you thought Nicola was not on the attack, you were not paying attention.

She utterly destroyed Davidson, reducing her to a maniacal laughbag when Nicola read out the stuff she “could have mentioned today”.

Davidson looked utterly ridiculous.

20. dakk

The Great British lie machine.

The British are the biggest liars on the planet.

Lie about everything.Finance,jobs,war,other countries, themselves,paedophilia in Parliament,you name it.

It saddens me that I live in a state so inherently dishonest,and is the democratic produce of it’s elecorate.

If only a few more percent of Scots would find a bit of morality from somewhere we could all live in a decent honest country.

It’s not much to ask.I’m easy pleased.

21. Craig P

winifred mccartney says:
    19 April, 2018 at 11:51 am

Is there any promise made by the tories and labour in better together that they have even pretended to keep.

To be fair, they’ve so far managed to refrain from bombing Glasgow airport.

https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2012/03/13/scottish-independence-england-would-bomb-scottish-airports-to-defend-itself_n_1341629.html

22. Truth

They called us liars.

Look at it now. Who were the liars?

Are you going to stand for this?

Are you yes yet?

23. Smallaxe

Be There if You Care!

MARCH FOR INDEPENDENCE- GLASGOW
    SATURDAY- 5TH MAY 2018
    KELVINGROVE PARK TO GLASGOW GREEN

GATHERING EARLY, LEAVE 11.30AM SHARP
    PROCESSION ROUTE: Kelvingrove park, Kelvinway, Gibson street, Eldon Street, Woodlands road, Sauchiehall Street, Holland Street, West Regent Street, Blythswood square (south), West Regent Street, Renfield Street, Union Street, Jamaica Street, Clyde Street, Bridgegate, Saltmarket, Glasgow Green.

See you all there.
    πŸ™‚

24. Abulhaq

The British state is a mendocracy. Do we require further evidence?

25. ScottishPsyche

Cambridge Analytica are so toxic that RD used all her questions to try to associate them with the SG and SNP. CA, who seem enmeshed and intertwined with the Tories at every level.

Bizarrely, she seemed to deny that the Tories in Scotland are absolutely nothing to do with the Tories elsewhere. In the meantime, our commentariat believes she performed well and that black is white, up is down and so on. The Tories are quite blatant now, what with May’s blaming the previous Labour government in Westminster for the Windrush boarding card fiasco.

It is actually terifying how they are getting away with it.

26. Andrew D

The lies the union told during the 2014 referendum were not meant to be used against them so soon, they thought they had 30 years for us to forget ?. All this ammunition they’ve gave us will be put to a good use when the firing gun is fired. Hail Alba

27. ScottishPsyche

*believe* rather than *deny* – jeez I can’t keep up with all the claims and counterclaims!

28. Archbishop of Dork

Rhyming slang innit squire?

Sweeney Fraud = Lying Squad

29. galamcennalath

I’d certainly be up for crowdfunding a spoof ‘sequel’ to the SNP’s ‘what have they done for us’ broadcast.

Reverse everything. The bearded twat become the good guy and says “what did voting NO do for Scotland”. One of the party goers says “secured our membership of the EU”, another “another “created a partnership of equals in Westminster”, another “safeguarded HMRC jobs in Cumbernauld”, another “protected Scotland’s fishing industry”, another “give Clyde shipyards new warship contracts”, etc etc..

I don’t think they need to be refuted. Maybe facial expressions among the party goers would be enough. The obvious message would be that none have been delivered.

30. Peter McCulloch

I would have though the shipyard workers would have learned the lesson of history from what happened to the Clyde shipyards in the 1970s, which any promises made by Westminster politicians are worthless.

If we remain as part of this damnable union and it turns out these workers don’t win any contracts and lose their jobs and the yards close.

Then their anger should be directed not just at the Tories but also Labour politicians and their Labour shop stewards who convinced them that their jobs and yards could only be secured by remaining part of this union.

31. Bob Mack

Labour are the Unions. The Unions are Labour. They have a symbiotic relationship. Throughout its time in government the SNP has really tried to work with the Unions,but have met with little but resistance of one form or another. That is fact.

They spend more time putting up problems than being constructive. They are another branch of the Establishment with political aims enacted via Labour, and these aims are not always for the greater good.

Promises are made to be broken it seems in Scotland. We must be rid of these liars in Westminster and all their lackeys.

32. Dr Jim

Aye but it is the SNPs fault this is happening because they never did enough to convince people that the Tories and Labour are liars

Disnae matter the SNP told us over and over and over again, they just didnae tell us enough and that’s down to Sammin and Sturgin

So whit ur they gonnae dae aboot it

I expect Richard Leonard at next weeks FMQs to put that question to the FM with a straight red face and a wavy scarf right after Ruth Davidson quizzes the FM on has she now or did she ever own an Atari tennis game

33. Brian Powell

Scottishpsyche

We should keep in mind that when the newspapers say Davidson did well there is no other big newspapers to say bollox to that. You would think the ‘people’s paper’, the Daily Record would hammer her, but they will sacrifice the whole of Scotland rather than support the Scottish Government.

34. Craig P

galamcennalath says:
    19 April, 2018 at 12:55 pm

I’d certainly be up for crowdfunding a spoof β€˜sequel’ to the SNP’s β€˜what have they done for us’ broadcast.

β€œsecured our membership of the EU”, another β€œanother β€œcreated a partnership of equals in Westminster”, another β€œsafeguarded HMRC jobs in Cumbernauld”, another β€œprotected Scotland’s fishing industry”, another β€œgive Clyde shipyards new warship contracts”,

Love it galamcennalath, and some other things could be slipped in at the same time “kept our pensions amongst the best in Europe,” and the watching punter will go ‘what, is my pension no the best in Europe?’ then go and find out the sad truth for themselves.

35. Brian Powell

galamcennalath

Yes, would go for that.

36. Dr Jim

When dinosaurs rules the earth Labour was the *word* that meant something, now Tories rule the earth and the *word* Labour is just a *word*, and the people who are waiting for the *word* to mean something again need to understand the folk who they voted in to uphold what they thought the values of the *word* meant, don’t, and they won’t and they now work for the new dinosaurs, the Tories, to whom the *word* means nothing

Time to get over the sad loss of the *word* Labour folk and get a new one, I’ll give you a clue, the word Scottish is in it along with another two *words*

37. dcanmore

Unionists, hardcore or otherwise, don’t give a jot about shipbuilding in Scotland, it’s just a stick to beat the SNP/Indy movement with. If shipbuilding disappeared tomorrow it wouldn’t make a difference to them, the union must be preserved at any cost. Unions will cry boohoo but they won’t support independence and Scottish Labour will demand the SNP must *do something* to save the shipyards otherwise it will be SNPBAD as per usual.

As far as the Daily Record is concerned, it’s news, column inches are filled. Will they back indy because of it? Nope. If Scotland needs to be kicked in teeth (several times and then some) to maintain the union then for some that is a price worth paying, maybe not even a price because it is only a ‘region’ after all. Welcome to Scotland the UKs nuclear dump.

38. Colin Alexander

https://hansard.parliament.uk/Commons/20120319/debates/1203201000001/Shipbuilding

Minutes of the debate regarding the MARS tankers that were built in South Korea:

19 March 2012

John Robertson MP ( Labour): “What really annoys me, however, is that these four MARS tankers for the Royal Navy were deemed to be β€œwarlike” ships. As a result, under the previous Government’s procurement rules, they would have been built in the UK. I secured that commitment from the previous Government in 2003 at a meeting of the Scottish Affairs Select Committee, when they guaranteed that all β€œgrey ships” or β€œwarlike ships” would be built in the UK.?”

“…..Speaking as a local MP, I would say that given that there are at least three years before the steel work on the carriers being built in the shipyards in my constituency and that of my hon. Friend the Member for Glasgow South West (Mr Davidson) is finished, these contracts mean that there would have been enough time to find work to keep other highly skilled workers busy until the Type 26 frigates came along at these shipyards. Instead, however, as a result of losing out on this contract, the shortfall will lead to the loss of 1,000 jobs. ”

Yet, he then campaigned for vote NO in 2014 to protect shipbuilding jobs.

With the latest news, it’s the same old story. A raw deal for Scotland in this Union.

39. Socrates MacSporran

Did I just get that wrong?

I got the distinct impression, on lunch time’s Reporting Scotland, Tooraloothenoo Taylor was trying to tell us, Nicola got the better of Coonel Yadaftie at FMQs.

He’ll be getting sent away for retraining.

40. Greannach

Well, who could have predicted such a thing? Certainly not some career-minded expenses-garnering bench-warmer of a Labour politician.

41. Marie Clark

Shakes heid in disbelief at the record. Aye, I know it’s bollocks that they peddle on a regular basis, but come on, betrayed by the tories, who knew eh.

They were keen enough to back the rubbish that better together produced, all the politicians grinning on it’s pages when they were threatening us with the sky falling in. Then there was THE VOW, how did that work out then. The record told us it was delivered, so whit are they greetin aboot noo.

Will any of these people, the MSM or the shipyard workers vote for independence now? I very much doubt it. They’ll probably cast their votes for the biggest lie of all, namely the SCOTTISH Labour party. Gie’s a brek.

42. Archbishop of Dork

Socrates@1:43

Paul Hutcheon tweeted that it was one of Sturgeon’s worst FMQ performances ever. And needless to say the Colonel retweeted it. Have we reached peak yoon delusion yet?

43. liz

@Luigi – as has been pointed out in a very detailed post indy survey by Strathclyde Uni, Scots born people voted Yes, although the margin was similar to Brexit.

http://centreonconstitutionalchange.ac.uk/sites/default/files/Scottish%20Referendum%20Study%2027%20March%202015.pdf

The big No % was from folk from the rUK & OAPs.

We need to challenge these people in a polite and ‘non – phobic’ way.
    Apparently a pension info card from Colin Dunn is having success with the OAPs where it is being issued, according to some on twitter.

44. liz

Sorry, Edinburgh Uni

45. Tam the Bam.

Latest Brent Crude … $74.42 per barrel.

46. Abulhaq

Time we all treated UK, British, Britain as expletives…to be deleted.

47. stewartb

Smallaxe @t 12:31 pm

re- MARCH FOR INDEPENDENCE- GLASGOW
    SATURDAY- 5TH MAY 2018
    KELVINGROVE PARK TO GLASGOW GREEN
    GATHERING EARLY, LEAVE 11.30AM SHARP

If there was ever a time when the Yes movement needs to mount the biggest demo ever seen in Scotland so far, this surely is it!!!

(I hope the organisers have given some thought on how to get proper evidence on the number that turns out …. just in case we do break records!)
    ?

48. Tam the Bam.

Archbishop of Dork … 2-07pm

Yes I saw that tweet but like a good wee Herald ‘Tom Gordon’ trained skivvy…he would say that wouldn’t he.

p.s. He brushed past me exiting from a back-door @ the ‘HANDS AROUND OUR PARLIAMENT’ gig.I will never leave home without a custard-pie in my armoury ever again.

49. GORDON FORREST

Every one of the pictures should be made into giant posters and placed on every billboard round the yards with the question How many times are you fools going to fall for the same old unionist crap!?. personally I dont care if we lose half a dozen votes if it shakes up the hundreds of muppets who fell for this garbage last time round.

50. Ken500

More Unionist total lies. It is just too disgusting. They are beyond redemption.

The Herald knowingly printing absolute lies.

Ditto DR. Totally contemptible.

Along with appalling behaviour from Westminster – unionists Parties.

Chucking people out. May lying again. Imagine sanctioning and starving people. Cruel and coarse.

51. Ian Brotherhood

Where is Ian Davidson these days anyway?

52. Socrates MacSporran

Archbishop of Dork @ 2.07pm

Please accet the word of a veteran journalist of 50-years’ standing: Paul Hutcheon is short-listed every year for the Arse-hole’s Arse-hole award. He has even won it on several occasions.

53. Breeks

It’s a bit of fun really, but a wee tweak of mischief in the strategy..

Maybe its time for tough love and these die hard BritNat industries like ship building and fishing.

I mean the industries have dwindled away under UK Governance for decades, a bit like reducing a chemical in a crucible…you drive off the water and the chemical gets stronger and more concentrated, until all that is left is the hard baked flakes of Unionism blowing away in a breeze. Get rid of these wee grump trumpets and engineer a state run fleet the way Norway engineered Statoil. Integrate the whole thing from fish to building fishing boats, from ship building to offshore renewables…

We could even say to Europe, tell us what Scotland can provide for you over the next 10, 20, 30 years and beyond, then help us make it happen in a structured integrated approach and enrich each other as we flourish.

Just think though… Suppose Holyrood said, β€œYou know what? This Devolution carry on is a treadmill where you keep tramping on, and on, and on, but you never do get closer to the horizon. We don’t have a voice in Westminster anymore than we do in Europe. We have industries here like shipbuilding, fishing and farming who will take all they can from us and spit in our palm when we try to shake hands. Well Hell mend’em. We’re going to try something different”.

Just suppose the Scottish Government / SNP didn’t abandon Devolution, didn’t walk out of Westminster, but DID something else…

Suppose the people of β€œScotland” called a sitting of its Sovereign Parliament, not a devolved Parliament but the Sovereign one that has not sat for 307 years, and merely brought it together to exist. It need not do anything to begin with, make no claims or edicts, just exist and be an enigma. It needn’t demand an end to the Union or Sovereign licence to speak for Scotland. (At least not in the first instance)… But then suppose the MP’s and MSP’s of Scotland chose to recognise that β€œAlternative” Scottish Parliament as Sovereign.

Scotland’s Devolved Parliament would still exist, and Scotland’s Sovereign Parliament would exist, and it could petition the EU for the right to participate in Shadow Brexit Negotiations given their status as the probationary Deputation of a Sovereign Scotland. By Scotland’s MP’s at Westminster recognising the Sovereignty of a separate Scottish Parliament that ISN’T Holyrood, Westminster could no longer lay claim to Sovereignty over the whole UK. Every delegate from Scotland, enough to matter anyway, would be affiliated to Scotland’s Sovereignty first, and the BiPartite Union second. Just as it should be!

Suspend cynicism for a moment and imagine a Westminster Parliament Sovereign over England, Wales and NI, and a Scottish Parliament Sovereign over Scotland, and Holyrood Parliament stripped of Sovereignty (ironically by Westminster) left as a perfunctory intermediary which does not recognise UK Sovereignty over Scotland. Westminster would be left with neither democratic mandate nor sovereign mandate to speak for Scotland.

It strikes me that Real Scottish Parliament could indeed be recognised as an international interlocutor by Europe, and could secure for Scotland that β€œholding pen” status which has barely been mentioned since 2016. Scotland might thus have its own transitional period not to leave the EU but to leave the UK.

Perhaps our Real Parliament could hold back from any Declaration of Independence, just stay silent on the subject, take a leaf out Westminster’s book and revel in being an enigma, but work with Europe to prepare a formal Manifesto for a Sovereign Scotland staying in the EU which compares like with like for a Scotland suffering Brexit.

The Real Parliament and the EU could then bargain Scotland’s ACTUAL fish quotas, determine our ACTUAL contribution, confirm the EU help we can secure… kill off ALL speculation about life in EU and provide people with known facts. The Real Parliament might apportion those quotas to a Sovereign β€œStatoil” Scottish Fishing Fleet… tough love, if you get my drift, you get yours…

Then, on the brink of Brexit, we have an IndyRef which is a choice between a known reality of a Sovereign Nation inside the EU versus the fanciful delusions of being merely a non-autonomous region of the grim and austere U.K.

How does all that sound for today’s radical Nationalism? If you don’t think our Devolved Parliament is Sovereign enough, we can fix that problem in a jiffy.

I can just imagine Ruthie incandescent with fizz. No to another referendum? No to another Parliament! You’ve got two already! No Ruthie. The very definition of a Parliament is a Sovereign seat of Government. Westminster pointed out that we had none, but we’re putting that right Love.

Call the Parliament to sit. Unionists would then need recognise it to step forward for a seat in it, or risk Scotland’s first truly Sovereign Parliament being an all Indy house. Suits me either way.

Is that not just a UDI by a different name? I say No, not if the β€œReal Parliament” doesn’t interfere with the Union, Westminster, or Holyrood. Let it exist as an enigma to confound the UK Constitution and only be a receptacle for Scotland’s Sovereignty, which our MP’s and MSP’s will have neatly moved beyond the reach of Westminster. Let it exist, and whether it discusses affairs with Europe is nobody else’s business.

Last thought too… bit of fun really,…Our Real Parliament might sit in a field, and be quorate with as many members as we the sovereign people see fit. 5? 7?… Let it be that wee butterfly in Andrew Mac’s iconic YES poster…. lighter than air, but Sovereign and all powerful…

So, my voting intentions…1. Alex Salmond. 2. Angus Robertson. 3. Craig Murray. 4. Wee Ginger Dug. 5.G A Ponsonby.

Sorted.

54. BALDEAGLE

Will any of these people, the MSM or the shipyard workers vote for independence now

not a bloody chance the will be over the moon at the chance to retrain as rowing boat builders

listen to this i was talking to two guys that work at BEA scotstoun and if scotland goes indy they would move abroud to other ship yards with better pay and conditions i ask them why dont they go now and be in with a chance as when we do go indy nodoubt others with the same stupidity must be thinking the same

first idiot he cant go because he has got a mortgage to pay and the final payment runs out in 15 years ?

second even more stupid idiot his son has just started collage and wont finish for six years and doesnt want to muck up his chance of a good job and his son wants to stay in scotland and the idiot is thinking of buying his house

i said to them idiot 2 first why dont you buy his house rent it to your son and pay the mortgage and if things dont work out you have a home to come back to

his reply was if he came back how would he be able to stay in the same house as his son if he is paying the mortgage ???

now for the real idiot if he was to sell his house to idiot 2 whats to stop idiot 2 from not paying for the house ???

and these two build warships now you know why I cry myself to sleep at night

I know I have been off site for a while and during that time i got to know my other half better all was going good until i asked what time does she knock of work what do you mean she asked are you not the home help i asked couldnt hear a bloody thing for weeks after the slap on the ears

lifes a bloody bitch

55. Jockanese Wind Talker

BritNat Trades Unions betray their Scottish Workers.

Like BritNat Labour in Scotland they derive their revenue from UK Membership.

They can’t keep themselves in the manner they have become accustomed to as Scottish Workers and The Scottish Electorate will not fund this failure to represent their interests.

They know they are fucked with Indy.

56. Andy-B

The sad fact is the unionists would’ve said any old bollocks in 2014 to keep Scotland in the union. Shipbuilding was one such area where they mzde it up as they went along.

The unionists have been making it up ever since.

57. Ken500

What a load of nonsense. The Party Davidson leads is funded from London. She is party to the SCL criminality as much as any other Tory members. Davidson is beyond belief. She was taking dirty money from Russian oligarchs. She supports the Tory Brexit mess. After lying, time after time after time. Total devoid of Democracy or responsibility. Benefitting from Tory criminality. She is funded by them.Breaking electoral rules. Even in cahoots with Gove. The arch Brexiter along with Johnston, Banks and Farague, Murdoch and the rest. Trying to destroy the economy. To enrich themselves with public money.

Just following orders is not a defence. Neither is ignorance or arrogance.

Chucking people out and destory registration cards. How coarse, cruel, ignorant and totally unnecessary. It just makes people sick.

58. Ken500

McCluskey supports Β£1Billion of Scottish taxpayers money supporting jobs in Barrow on Furness. Trident. Trident Faslane preventing commercial activity on the Clyde.

59. Blair Paterson

Sorry to go O.T. But this decoy of wind rush is to side track us away from Syria and the chemical weapons and the portadown leak ??? The truth is the wind rush people were brought in to keep wages low not to build up Britaln big business as usual under the guise of doing something good for the country were in fact saving themselves from paying British workers a fair wage they have been doing it for years away back with the Irish right up till now with the transition period in brexit to allow them to pay low wages for as long as possable as for the the fruit pickers for the farmers pay people here a fair wage for doing it and you will not need to bring in e..u. People

60. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi IanB.

RE: Ian Davidson.

https://morningstaronline.co.uk/a-edca-former-mp-davidson-gets-vote-leave-post-1

From,
    https://blogs.spectator.co.uk/2017/05/2017-general-election-list-of-candidates/

“Berwickshire, Roxburgh & Selkirk – Former Glasgow South West MP Ian Davidson has given up on Glasgow and is standing here instead”

61. Cubby

Who are the biggest dimwits?

1. The Scottish fishermen who voted no and believed the Britnat promises.

2. The shipyard employees who voted no and believed the Britnat promises.

Need help on this as I cannot make up my mind.

62. Greannach

Ian Brotherhood @ 2.36pm

I think Ian Davidson is upstairs above a pub somewhere, speaking to and bayoneting the remains of himself.

63. jfngw

Of course Cambridge Analytical had no direct meetings with a Tory & Labour branch office in Scotland. Why would they want to talk to the organ grinders monkey.

If fact it’s a perfect example of how irrelevant Davidson actually is, CA were not interested in her.

64. Flower of Scotland

I am so sick today of Unionist betrayals
    I am so sick of the Tories
    I am so sick of Labour
    I am so sick of the Liberals
    I am so sick of the British Nationalist media
    I am so sick of the Union!

Just before IndyRef 2014, the Orange Order was allowed to March along Princes St in Edinburgh. YES marches are sent down backstreets. We need, during the summer, a huge March along Princes St with or without permission. Show the world, show the visitors. May the 5th I’m sure will be great and I’ll be there but Edinburgh, no matter it’s politics, is OUR Capital city.

We need to own Edinburgh and march in thousands along Princes Street and up the Bridges and down the Royal mile to Holyrood.

65. Archbishop of Dork

Doesn’t Paul Sweeney look a lot like a ventriloquist’s dummy?

“Vote No to keep shipguilding on the Clyde”.

66. Capella

The betrayal started with the Union. Three ships of the Royal Navy of Scotland were absorbed into the newly branded “British Navy”. One was sunk to make a breakwater. One was sold and the third was capturerd by the French.

The captains had to argue to be ranked according to their service.
    Captain Gordon left in 1716 and became Admiral of the Russian Fleet.

In February, 1716, it is said that after declining to take the oath of allegiance to George I he resigned his commission. On 1st June, 1717, he took service under Czar Peter the Great in the Russian Navy, in which he reached the rank of Admiral, and Governor of Kronstadt. He died on 18th March, 1741.

Captain Hamilton died in 1708 in the West Indies and Captain Campbell died in Leith in 1723, both being treated abysmally by the British Navy.

http://www.electricscotland.com/history/navy/chap6.htm

67. Robert J. Sutherland

galamcennalath @ 12:55,

A damn fine idea.

Besides the internet, also displayed on outdoor public screens at street stalls to catch the attention of the otherwise hard-to-reach. Like on the giant screen affixed to the double-decker that was parked next to Donald Dewar in Glasgow city centre the other day.

68. Arbroath1320

If anything displays WHY the Labour branch office and the Daily Record can NEVER be trusted THIS above all else is it!

In my view leaflets should be printed up with as much of Stu’s article as possible AND the DR’s VOW front page and delivered, initially, throughout Glasgow and then later possibly throughout Scotland.

There are SO many reasons as to why no one should be voting Labour but, in my view, their LIES, DECEIT and total MISINFORMATION about the Clyde shipyards is at the top of the list!

p.s. as a wee aside.

We just received a wee prezzie this morning, our Freedom flag number 46 out of 100 produced. Those in the know will be able to figure out not only the significance of the number 46 but also that of the number 100. πŸ˜‰

https://www.facebook.com/commerce/products/1678789732214930/

69. Tam the Bam.

I think The Rev should take some time out.Have you seen his latest Tweets?…he’s talking to squirrels…oh look!……

70. Artyhetty

The Britnats could promise the world and some would believe them even when they turn round a few months later with their, up yours sign saying fck you’s ha ha ha!!

I don’t know how Nicola Sturgeon keeps her cool quite frankly. She must be exhausted from actually running a country, working for Scotland, getting on with the day job(!) and some,then having to deal with the scheming lying Britnats who take their orders from London and no doubt in fact advice from CA! These Britnats actually work against their own country. Britnats, are doing it for themselves, and the money. Greedy selfish troughers.

That is no doubt the point though, wear down the leader of the SNP, because if you can take out the leader, you are on your way to succeeding in your attempts at a coup. It’s happening across the globe. Scotland is not immune to the underhand, corrupt tactics of governments who would really quite like to hold onto that preciousssss oil, oh and gold and water and whatever else you have, at whatever cost.

Can I give a wee tout for a showing of ‘The Cheviot, the Stag and the Black Black oil’ at the St.Andrews rooms in Edinburgh. Friday, 7.00pm. At 16, North St Andrews street. Come along if you are in Edinburgh and you haven’t seen it before, or want to see it again. I have seen the play, it was excellent.

71. Robert J. Sutherland

Cubby @ 15:00,

It’s not you that needs the help, my friend! =grin=

72. Arbroath1320

I know a lot of people are not happy about the 38 Degrees crowd but I have just signed this petition. For me any petition that raises awareness of the plight of people living in Scotland is a MUST for me at least to sign.

https://you.38degrees.org.uk/petitions/save-olya

73. jfngw

How many days can the Herald & BBC keep a non story about the SNP & Cambridge Analytical running, I think it is three so far. More time spent on this than Supreme Court action or ship order lies, grief these outlets do really seem to hate Scotland.

It must be embarrassing having to admit you work for the BBC in Scotland now, actively working against the best interests of your country.

74. Clapper57

Ian Brotherhood @ 2.36pm

I think he’s still running the Jim Murphy fan club. Wahahaha

The Fanny is still ragin….. that the gravy train was derailed….shipyard news… not so much.

Labour now in attack mode blaming their bestie Tory pals in BT for the LIES…..where as at the time they were defending them via their collaboration in BT campaign…..life coming at them fast…..of course just goes to show how savvy the YES side was and how dim-witted Labour were…cause YES side predicted this and Labour ….well…let’s just say it’s amazing how much shit one is prepared to expel when one’s Gravy train depends upon it.

Labour KNEW fine well they were talking pish but hey if you want to be part of the UKOK and vote for a UKOK party….well Jocks shit happens….the fact that they and their BT colleagues generate all of the shit well that’s the price you pay for voting NO.End of.

If Scots still want to vote for BT parties well Hell slap it intae ye cause there is way more shit where this came from……..and that’s a REAL ‘Vow’….for sure.

75. Highland Wifie

Never been on a march in my entire life (60+ years) but I will be there in Glasgow on the 5th of May.
    It’s the first time I have ever felt so strongly about anything. Let’s give these unionists a bit of a fleg.

76. Macart

@jfngw

They’ll run it for as long as they want I suppose. It won’t alter the simple fact however, that they made their pitch and weren’t used. (shrugs)

77. jfngw

What we need to know now, as the Tories had dealings with Cambridge Analytical, was any harvested data relevant to Conservatives seat won in Scotland in 2015 & 2017 used to target voters in Scotland.

This is what the Herald and BBC should be investigating, not a meeting that came to nothing. Are they journalists or the propaganda arm of the Tories, if they are not even investigating this then question seem moot.

78. David Mills

Well what did they expect Labour acted as a mouthpiece for a Tory funded NO campaign did they expect the Tories to keep their promises?

On the upside in the next campaign for independence when they say Scottish Ship building would be excluded from bidding on Royal Navy contract we can heartily laugh

79. Ken500

The unionists Parties were posting out literature many times which must have been over the spending limit. The Fibdems have been investigated many times. The unionists totally overspent in the IndyRef. Broke Purdah etc with impunity. Totally illegally. The appalling SCL and Cambridge antics are beyond belief in a supposed Democracy. The over spend Leave campaign over Β£1/2Billion. Is total gerrymandering punishable by jail. The to try and pin their fraud on the SNP is disgusting beyond comtempt.

Could a campaign not be funded to bring these unionist lies to account through the Courts. A private prosecution. If the authorities/Police will not act. Implementing Leveson would make it easier to sue the Press. Might not be affective as they can beam their lies in. That could be the problem. The unionists behaviour is scandalous.

80. gerry

Can you guys help me out here. I heard Ruth at FMQs stating that no contact had been made by, or on behalf of the “scottish conservatives” with CA.

So, I started to dig, and found out that they appear to share a data protection officer with their UK party, meaning that they are actually a single entity.

Also they’re registered specofocally for the Scottish elections as “The conservative and unionist party” – no “S” word in there.

Doesn’t this mean that Ruth either doesn’t realise what party she is in, or deliberately misled Holyrood today, which is a mandatory resignation in Holyrood.

Anyone here ever tried FOIA or other Data requests to the “Scottish” conservatives ?

81. Ken500

They are totally a joint entity. They are funded by the London HQ. All they do is follow orders. Not an excuse.

82. Arbroath1320

Doesn’t this mean that Ruth either doesn’t realise what party she is in, or deliberately misled Holyrood today, which is a mandatory resignation in Holyrood.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news Gerry but I think she DOES know which party she belongs to it’s *drum roll* the Ruth Davidson party. ?????

83. Corrado Mella

We are here, asking ourselves times and over again, “Who votes for these balloons?”.

It’s time to evolve the question to “Are there really that many people voting these balloons? Are we sure all is above board?”.

Given what we know, are we supposed to rely on the BritNazi Establishment running elections with integrity?

You still remember when we at Indyref questioned why ballot boxes were allowed to be transported by one single person (a violation of the security protocol) and we got shut down and derided with “What do you think is going to happen?”.

Well, guess what happens when security is violated. The baddies win.

Yeah, yeah, I’m a tinfoil hat conspiracy theory nutter.

Given it’s damn easier and cheaper to run elections as they’re done to the satisfaction of everyone in Italy, where the various shades of Mafia could fiddle with it, why do you think UK elections are still run with an array of gaping flaws in the postal vote system – as asserted by a High Court Judge, all 14 of them – and other inherently insecure steps?

To make electoral fraud easy as child’s play, dammit!

So stop looking the other way.

– We have a suspicion (Who votes for these balloons?)
    – We have an instigator (the BritNazi Establishment)
    – We have a method (a flawed and insecure voting system)
    – We have a motivation (keeping power)

What, Who, How, Why. Any judge and jury would consider this an open and shut case.

But no, we still have to believe in the fairies.

Pah.

84. geeo

Ruthie made any comment, or even been asked about THIS tory clown ?

On the BBC no less, but will post the text of the Article.
    ……..

The mother of a soldier killed in Iraq has said a Conservative MP should stand down over social media posts during a fact-finding visit to the country.

Aberdeen South MP Ross Thomson posted pictures and joked about channelling his “inner dictator” during a trip to Baghdad.

Diane Douglas, from Aberdeen, lost her son L/Cpl Allan Douglas in the Iraq conflict in 2006.

Mr Thomson has said he did not intend to cause offence.

The private Facebok posts, obtained by the Herald newspaper, showed Mr Thomson smiling while sitting on Saddam’s throne and also pretending to hold the notorious Victory Arch – a symbol of Saddam’s brutal rule – in his hands.

Alongside a smiling emoji wearing sunglasses, Mr Thomson wrote: “Another terrific day in Iraq.

“I was able to channel my inner dictator with a visit to Sadam’s military parade ground The Swords of Qadisiyah (Victory Arch) and then sitting on Saddam’s throne at the British embassy.”

Left ‘speechless’
    Mrs Douglas said: “Why would he sit there and laugh? That’s disgusting.”

She added: “So many lives were lost over there so he could be a free man.

“I’m a bit speechless, to think – especially a member of parliament – could do such a thing.

“I don’t think he should be posting anything, I think he should be sacked.”

When asked whether he should remain as an MP, she said: “I don’t think so.”

L/Cpl Douglas had joined the British Army when he was 17 and served in the armed forces until his death in Al Amarah in 2006.

The 22-year-old had been on routine patrol when he was shot and later died.

A Scottish Conservative spokesman said: “Ross has already made clear he did not intend to cause any offence and apologises to anyone who has been upset.

“He has nothing but the highest regard for those who lost their life in the Iraq war.”
    ……….

Oh dear….quick…distraction required…

85. ahundredthidiot

Johann Lamont and Margaret Curran, man that’s two torn faced wummin.

Always welcome over to the Yes side though…..might cheer them up a bit.

86. gerrycan

the statement “No representative or consultant working for the Scottish Conservatives has ever met with Cambridge Analytica or its parent company. ” is invalidated.

They are demonstrably ONE party, and registered for Scottish elections as ONE party.

https://imgur.com/a/rybTH1Y

Either tRuthless deliberately misled HR (which would require her to resign) or she did not realise what party she was in.

87. Smallaxe

ScotConservatives
    ?
    Verified account
    https://twitter.com/i/web/status/986944610479034368
    @ScotTories
    Follow Follow @ScotTories
    More
    “The SNP has entered a third day of evasion and denial on its
    links to disgraced data-harvesting firm Cambridge Analytica.”

For all media enquiries please contact the Scottish Conservative Press Office on 0131 348 5615 or 0131 348 5634

Somebody else give them a call please, I think they’re starting to get fed up with me.
    πŸ™

88. Calum McKay

Would be interesting to find out what the young ship builders, who clearly did not write that letter, think of labour, their union (if they are still in work) and the uk union?

89. Colin Alexander

Breeks @ 2.41pm

Nice one.

Why must the Scottish Parliament be subservient to Westminster? Why can’t the SNP seek a mandate that Holyrood is sovereign for Scotland whilst making no attempt to end the Union?

Mr Peffers

Does the Union Treaty insist that only Westminster can be the sovereign parliament for Scotland in perpetuity?

90. Jockanese Wind Talker

You were short two Questions @Cubby says at 3:00 pm

Who are the biggest dimwits?

1. The Scottish fishermen who voted no and believed the Britnat promises.

2. The shipyard employees who voted no and believed the Britnat promises.

3. The Scottish farmers who voted no and believed the Britnat promises.

4. ALL OF THE ABOVE.

Hope this helps you to make up your mind πŸ˜‰

91. Benhope

Driving home today about 5.30 I nearly drove off the road when I heard radio shortbread summing up FMs Questions with the statement:(If Ruth Davidson had concentrated on health issues it would have made it even more uncomfortable for Nicola Sturgeon).

The BBC no longer reports the news it predicts how the essnnpee could be better attacked! Did anyone else notice?

92. Jockanese Wind Talker

Wonder if they also know they can stop paying ‘Union Dues’ to the BritNat Labour Party and pay them to the SNP @Calum McKay says at 6:33 pm

https://www.snp.org/trade_unionists *

“Would be interesting to find out what the young ship builders, who clearly did not write that letter, think of labour, their union (if they are still in work) and the uk union?”

Cut their funding, same as we are doing to the BBC.

Hope they are supporting THE ONLY Political Party that puts Scottish Jobs and Scottish Industry 1st.

*It is a pity the link to the SNPTUG is expired.

This is a personal bugbear of mine as The SNP should be annihilating these Red Tory Charlatan Fuckers.

93. Rock

The most stupid people on earth are in Scotland.

The ones who should have known better when voting No.

94. Jockanese Wind Talker

Yes I did @Benhope says at 7:47 pm

“Did anyone else notice?”

That was Ruthenfuhrer Fan Boy Andrew Kerr gushing platitudes about something that didn’t happen.

95. louis.b.argyll

There’s a big difference between ignorance and stupidity.

What is stupid, is to call everyone who is mistaken or ignorant, stupid.

Of course, many NO voters did act stupidly, due to their blissfully ignorant prime-time-telly humanity. Not stupidity.

96. msean

If only someone could have told them not to listen to the better together tories…

97. Martin

The worry for me is that this is even being reported. As the oil haul was. Our media are no less yoonionist. So they must be pretty confident that no second referendum will be coming along any time soon.

We must act to change that.

98. Cubby

Jockanese Wind Talker @7.46

Thanks for the advice. I think the winner is a new entry on the list.

no.5 The dimwit Britnat trolls who post on Wings acting as independence supporters. Get yourself a decent job guys. You are not very good at this undercover malarkey.

99. smithie

Rock says:
    19 April, 2018 at 8:24 pm

The most stupid people on earth are in Scotland.

Rock i’m sick and tired of you saying that but tonight you qualified that statement by saying……The ones who should have known better when voting No.

So thanks…maybe there is hope yet

100. Robert Peffers

@Colin Alexander says: 19 April, 2018 at 6:40 pm:

“Does the Union Treaty insist that only Westminster can be the sovereign parliament for Scotland in perpetuity?”

How many times must I post the legal truth for such as you, Colin?

When will the truth sink in?

The Treaty of Union of 1706/7 set up a bipartite union between two, equally sovereign formerly independent kingdoms and what began on 1 May 1707 was The Parliament of that united kingdom and its title, even today, is, “Her Majesty’s Parliament of her united kingdom”.

Trouble is it is NOT her United Kingdom because she is NOT legally sovereign under Scots law. She is the legal, “Protector of the legally sovereign people of Scotland’s sovereignty”.

The obvious legal standing is therefore, The Treaty of Union is a legal agreement between two equally sovereign kingdoms.

Thus the sovereignty of either kingdom belongs to whoever is legally sovereign in each of those respective kingdoms.

So the, legally sovereign, Queen of England is sovereign only in her English Kingdom but has previously legally delegated her sovereignty to her members chosen by her subjects of the Westminster parliament.

The people of Scotland, who are legally sovereign in Scotland, delegate their sovereignty to the members they send to Westminster.

Thus Westminster is NOT legally sovereign in the Kingdom of Scotland – unless the legally sovereign people of Scotland’s delegates there allow Westminster to be sovereign”.

Which is why the SNP are powerless to take back Scotland’s sovereignty from Westminster unless they are specifically mandated to do so by a majority of the legally sovereign people of Scotland.

The people of Scotland have already given the SG a mandate to hold a referendum but it needs to be won before they have a mandate to withdraw from the union parliament at Westminster.

Bear in mind, though, that the Queen’s personal united kingdom will not be affected by that decision for her personal United Kingdom includes not only the kingdoms of Scotland and England but also the three Crown protectorates and parts of the Commonwealth of Nations where she is still head of state but who remain independent of Westminster.

101. Gary

“I told you so…” is not a pleasurable thing to say, but this was long planned by Tories and Labour leadership.

They knew what they were doing and ‘Liar in Chief’ Alistair Darling should be held up as a ("Tractor" - Ed) to his country.

This is NOT a mistake, NOT an unforeseen circumstance. This was ALWAYS the plan. They were able to dupe those affected into voting NO by dangling their careers in front of them, only to be the very people to take them away.

They are vermin, although I suspect rats might be offended by the comparison…

102. Rock

smithie says:
    20 April, 2018 at 12:36 am

“Rock i’m sick and tired of you saying that but tonight you qualified that statement by saying……The ones who should have known better when voting No.

So thanks…maybe there is hope yet”

Rock (14th January – “Norwegian wouldn’t”):

“The most stupid people on earth are in Scotland.

That does not mean all people in Scotland are stupid.

It just means that if you were looking for the most stupid people on earth, Scotland would beat any other nation on earth.

Which other oil rich country in the world would have voted to remain a colony of a master which had been stealing and squandering its wealth for decades?

Scottish oil riches were used to develop London and the south east while Glasgow remained a poor city with weapons of mass destruction located close by for good measure.

Not brainwashed, pure stupid.”

103. A. Graham

I always tend to think that the description of Paul Sweeney, MP as a former “shipyard worker” might be a wee bit disingenuous.

I suppose it is intended as a statement of “Oh. Look! A genuine horny-handed son of toil proletarian worker!” We have found one in the Labour Party.”

Except that such is not really the case, is it? (makes laughing face)

104. Robin

another great thread

105. Stewart Reed

These people in the shipyards are supposed to be highly educated although common sense and intelligence are not applicable but are obtainable from the humble pie shop. I wonder if you held a meeting and asked how many voted ‘No’ and how many will vote ‘No’ next time, I doubt there would not be too much of a difference, does stupidity breed stupidty? I would like to see the yard workers, their leaders et al on bended knees begging their imperial masters for crumbs from the table to feed their kids. I have no sympathy for them and never will have simply for being so utterly thick as to believe an engerlish tory govt would give a flying monkies left nut about a back water boat yard in Scotland invested by brainless Neanderthals! I only hope, although I do believe that they and the rot infested media in Scotland are well beyond redemption would vote ‘Yes’ at the next time of asking but I do believe that when they mark their X on the ballot paper they are signing their name.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.