A new challenger appears

Posted on August 11, 2016 by

We thought yesterday’s Herald story – about a Scottish Government initiative designed to increase visitor numbers to island communities “backfiring” when it, er, increased visitor numbers to island communities – would be hard to top for this month’s SNP BAD Award, but when the paper grudgingly amended it a few hours later it seemed we’d have to look for a new contender.

smokemirrors

Luckily we didn’t have long to wait.

The lead story in the Scotland section of today’s Times is the fury of all three Unionist parties – Willie Rennie, Jackie Baillie, Murdo Fraser and David Mundell all get to weigh in with angry quotes – that the SNP has announced £100m of infrastructure investment to help offset the damage done to the Scottish economy by Brexit.

brexit6bn

The basis for their complaint is that the £100m isn’t “new money”, but money left over from the contingency fund in last year’s budget. (We’re not quite sure where it is that they expect “new money” to actually come from. Unlike the Bank of England, Nicola Sturgeon can’t just magic a few billion out of thin air when she needs it.)

dfqe

Alert readers will recall that last October the same parties were furious that the “underspend” existed at all, having demanded that the Scottish Government spend every last penny in its coffers and have nothing left over in the event of emergencies.

And slightly before that, of course, they’d been furious when the Scottish Government DIDN’T keep a little something back for a rainy day:

“The SNP budget has no contingency fund, no money set aside for flood, famine or a sudden wave of pestilence, so if Orkney starts to sink, they’re on their own.

Government is about responsibility, but for the SNP it’s all about using the trappings of power and taxpayers money to bolster their case for separation, with the most vulnerable the victims of the SNP’s pursuit of the narrowest of agendas. This isn’t Government, this is a hostage situation.”

So let’s just recap:

1. If the SNP spends the whole budget, that’s BAD.

2. If the SNP doesn’t spend the whole budget, that’s BAD.

3. If the SNP has something left over from the budget one year and spends it the next year on vital investment, that’s BAD.

4. And obviously, if the SNP spends all of its budget then gets Scotland into debt by borrowing to invest and stimulate growth, that’ll be BAD too.

debtmountain

(All the above, of course, passes tactfully over the fact that no remotely responsible government with extremely limited borrowing powers can ever realistically hope to avoid underspends anyway.)

£100m is a drop in the ocean compared to the vast damage a £6bn Brexit loss would cause to the economy of Scotland, but it’s pretty much all the Scottish Government can do with the very few levers available to it.

imw2

We suspect readers will just be glad that someone is doing their job like a grown-up while the opposition and the media run around screaming and pointing fingers.

75 to “A new challenger appears”

1. Reverd

So very, very sad that some people still think the Union is more important than peoples’ lives.

2. shug

The MSM in Scotland is now in full war footing.

The truth is indeed a stranger to these people

3. bobajock

Many a time I wonder if its just stupid people or a conspiracy.

Then I realise. Its both.

4. Fixitfox

Your recap is right on the money Stu; all 100 miliion pounds of it.
    I would say that we couldn’t make it up, but it’s been said far too often.

5. Andrew McLean

I clicked on the link to see where the comment abut contingencies came from and found the headline from 2008 “While the SNP blunders through its honeymoon, Scottish Labour is quietly renewing” well I think the honeymoon is over, the happy couple are well down the road to a happy and fruitful life together, and will be bouncing the grandchildren on their knees before labour “Renews”. but of course that is the SNP bad again, they just can’t help themselves, what with their competent effective governance honestly you would think it was on purpose!

6. Ken500

Westminster Unionists destroy the world economy. Westminster wastes £200Billion on Trident.£100Billion on HS2. Unionists are total hypocrites. Where are the frigates to patrol Scotland’s shores. CCS projects reneged upon. The Oil sector destroyed. £3Billion loan repayments on money Scotland doesn’t borrow or spend.

7. galamcennalath

Our government is doing a sterling (pun intended) job in astonishingly difficult times, which are not of our making.

The Tories are the party of British/English Nationalism, Brexit, neoconry, isolation, Atlanticism, austerity, and social division. For anyone in Scotland who isn’t a Wannabe Greater Englander, they are beyond redemption.

However, Lab and LibDems need to start taking a long hard look at Scotland, the way it is developing constitutionally, and their place (if one still exists) in it. Frankly, they need to learn to put Scottish interests above petty political posturing.

The sooner one or both breaks ranks with the UKOK SNPBad Unionist concensus, the better for everyone. Perhaps they might even acquire a future for themselves!

8. Ian

When the main UK parties don’t have anything positive to say, all they have left is to be negative. It’s a wonder that the more moderate No voters don’t get tired of both of these.

9. Chris Cook

Just to point out that ScotGov could introduce new funding mechanisms.

http://www.pieria.co.uk/articles/credit_scotland

Ideally they would not do so centrally but would facilitate local credit creation (cf Alberta Treasury Branches in the 30’s): West Lothian Questions have West Lothian Answers

10. shug

The Herald article on a Labour coalition with SNP and the Scottish supporters reaction is now a wonder to watch!!

Well Scottish labour, if it exists, can just do what its telt

11. Wellreadned

“Hi Willie, what do think abo-”

“SNP banana!”

“Shouldn’t that be S.N.P ba-”

“I like swings! And chutes! And blowing bubbles!”

“SNP bad then?”

“Guardians of the Galaxy is on! Go away smelly journalist!”

“SNP Bad it is, then”

12. Swami Backverandah

McWhirter’s comment above is enough to convince any intelligent person of the need for Scotland to control its own fiscal affairs, but for others with less critical faculties, he kindly goes on to spell it out in plain Scottish:

“Not only was Scotland the only country, state or region in the world to discover oil and not directly benefit – even in Alaska citizens get an annual dividend – it isn’t even going to benefit from the work needed to clear up the mess.”

The only country, state, or region in the world.

Wake Up No Voters.
    You’re being ripped off blind.

13. David Patrick

After yesterday’s #FerryChaos, what is today’s Twitter-handle for this total misrepresentation of the facts?

I propose #ScotGovSpendsBudgetShocker

Imagine that!

14. JaceF

Isn’t SLAB policy to just give a surplus to Westminster

15. Donald MacKenzie

Poor wee Davie Muddle.

When good politicians are trying to find a way to oppose something that they actually agree with, they can come up with arguments that you think, ‘Mmmm, okay I can see the point.’

Poor wee Davie in trying to say how bad this decision by the SNP is, just sounds like someone completely out of his depth, who knows he’s meant to oppose this for some reason and tries to think up some words that sound as if they’re opposing. Mind you, then you have Willie Rennie!

It all gets very embarrassing.

16. Jim Finlayson

I can only shake my head in despair these days when I read what is coming out of the unionist parties. If we had an independent unbiased press they would be ridiculing stuff like this from yesterday and today.

17. Capella

The Media discussion on now in the John Beattie show Radio Scotland.

18. Dan Huil

Britnats hate Scotland; it’s as obvious as that.

19. Legerwood

Dear Rev

Perhaps it might be useful if you acknowledged the source of the last quote which comes from Mr McWhirter’s column in today’s Herald.

A great many people make much of the fact that they do not read the Herald etc so they are unlikely to know the source.

20. HandandShrimp

It is really, really hard to take Willie seriously.

£100m may not be much….although apparently it was ginormous last year when it wasn’t spent…but I would sooner trust Nicola to use it wisely than Rennie or, God forbid, Rooth the Mooth. The latter would most likely give it to the Bullingdon Club as spending money.

As for Baillie and her abacus….. /\(Oo)/\

21. Swami Backverandah

@ shug, 12.35

“A Scottish Labour spokesman said: “Scottish Labour doesn’t support any UK Government deal with the SNP. We will always campaign for a Labour Government, whether at Holyrood or Westminster.” … except when we campaign with the Tories, for the Tories, natch.

22. Inverclyder

I’m amazed every time I see Wee Wullie Rennie standing up.

Incredible for a man without a backbone.

23. Robert Peffers

Well I suppose if Nicola was to guard against any unforeseen National, (Scottish), disasters she could always take out, (Ahem! Cough! Cough! Cough!) – National Insurance with that big insurance company in Westminster that tells us we are all better off together.

Err! National Insurance? It does already exist – doesn’t it?

Well doesn’t it?

24. Vambomarbeleye

There is a picture of wullie. So straight away you know it’s pish.

25. Peter McCulloch

whenever I read or hear the unionists criticise the Scottish Government for not providing new funding.

They conveniently never spell out just exactly where they believe all of this new money is to be found.

Cuts to other services budgets? Higher taxes?
    they should tell us, rather than indulge in their usual whinging.

26. Bob Mack

Great movements seldom come under duress from outside forces. It is the inside scheming and plotting that causes fractures. We have excellent examples of this in these articles. Journalists who are Scottish writing this cap to appease their masters.
    I notice this morning on social media that the former champion of Yes ,the self styled rapper Loki has accepted a £ 5000 donation from no less than JO ROWLING to promote common space. Does this ring alarm bells for him? No.
    Another bought and sold for English Gold.
    Anyone who funds anything that puts forward any view of this mercenary is off my Christmas card list.
    I often wondered about the question “What price freedom” It appears the going rate is £5000 quid.

27. CameronB Brodie

Willie. Willie Rennie. Willie, Willie, Willie Rennie.

Simply unexplainable undervalued. 😉

28. Swami Backverandah

@ Legerwood 12.55

“Mr McWhirter’s column in today’s Herald. ”

and a very useful column it is, but I also made the error upthread of misspelling his name. It is of course Iain Macwhirter.

29. galamcennalath

Dan Huil says:

“Britnats hate Scotland; it’s as obvious as that.”

Indeed. In their ideal world Scotland and Scottish would be words which have fallen out of use by everyone except scholars of ancient history. They would have no meaning to ordinary folk. Their Anglo-British world would have absorbed everything that had been Scottish into their Greater England. And we would all be better together.

Tough! It ain’t gonna happen! Scotland and the Scots are here to stay!

30. Clootie

…in summary SNPbad eh!

The union must continue regardless of Westminster driven policies that impact on the citizens of Scotland.
    Those in greatest need must suffer to pay for the banking crisis, Trident replacement and Brexit.

Do people actually understand what quantative easing is?
    Wake up Scotland…before it is too late.

31. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Legerwood.

If you click on the quote you end up here:-

http://archive.is/W1tQB

which, kinda, acknowledges the author of the piece.

32. CameronB Brodie

Ken500
    I’m afraid I don’t share your view regarding HS2. It is not a “vanity project”, it is part of an integrated trans-European spatial strategy aimed at reducing economic disparities within the EU (caused by locational advantages/disadvantages)

It’s just unfortunate Scotland’s economy will be harmed by the half-arsed implementation at the UK’s end. It was intended to terminate in central Scotland, linking to Irish ferries.

Still, Better Together. Eh?

33. CameronB Brodie

Ken500
    Sorry, you didn’t actually call it a “vanity project”. My mistake. 😉

34. Arbroath1320

First thing I saw was wee Willie Winkie Rennie … sorry about getting his name wrong there. 🙂

As we all know Wee Willie disnae hae a spine so I’m guessing he is using the old “brush handle up the back o the jaiket” trick to enable him to stand upright in that photo.

Every time I hear or read about oor wee Jackie Baillie spouting off one about the S.N.P. I just know she has been round her local Conservative club for another “lunch” meeting and then used the BBC calculator on her way back to Labour branch HQ.

As for wee Murdy Fraser well … the less said aboot that self important egotistical little twat the better … in my view.

Finally I come to the man with no name. Unlike the Clint Eastwood movie this moronic twat of an imbicile is completely and utterly useless. He claims to be the Secretary of State for Scotland but in reality,as we all know, he is actually the Secretary of State for Westminster. He also doubles up as the junior bag carrier for the P.M.

So in conclusion m’lud I put it to you that this group of non entities should be ignored at every opportunity. Any attempt to listen to what they utter and spew could lead to a seriously dangerous case of unionitis. There is of course a cure for unionitis but it is a long and hard road to travel and can, at times, be extremely painful. 😉

35. Luigi

Expect more of this BS from the yoon media each and everyday, folks. There’s worse to come, methinks.

The British establishment is now in full panic mode. Since the 2014 referendum, everything that could go wrong for them, has gone wrong for them (thanks, in no small measure, to their own actions and inactions). With an immensely popular FM and the SNP going from strength to strength, the last thing they needed was that awful BREXIT result, and Scotland voting REMAIN, like the distinct country that it is, served to apply very painful salt weedkiller to the wounds.

The yoon politicians have lost the plot, but they see what is coming, thundering down the line: A massive train with IndyRef 2 on the nameplate – not that they can read it, being blinded by the headlights at the moment. Standing, completely frozen like bunnies on the track, yelling “There will be no second referendum”.

Tick, tock, tick, tock…:)

36. Sandy

The last sentence of the last quote is wrong. Energy policy is an entirely reserved matter to Westminster. Where the Scottish government oppose part of uk energy policy (eg fracking, new nuclear) they have to take action using devolved planning powers.

37. JaceF

Unionist MPs:
    It’s an ill burd that files its ain nest
    Indyref2:
    The cassin o the Wanchancie Covenant

Love old Scot’s sayings.

38. heedtracker

Rancid The Graun’s the most Project Fearish, shock. But that Lab thing’s nae bad with “it’s all about using the trappings of power and taxpayers money to bolster their case for separation”

What did entitled, angry SLab do with it? Just another day of British red and blue tory attack propaganda in a country they’re slowing, then quickly, then slowly, losing control of. Hurry up Scotland and get the fcuk away from the morons.

39. louis.b.argyll

Taking funding from private individuals, public bodies or complicated associated corporate factions..
    ..DOESN’T MEAN SOMEONE HAS SOLD OUT TO THE DARK SIDE..
    That’s like saying that the purchasers of a newspaper have a right to say what’s written inside it.
    Less of the bribery accusations to people already on side.

40. Socrates MacSporran

Not I must admit another case of UKOK – SNP Bad from the BBC, but, in the lunchtime news today the weather wummin was going on about: “Continuous heavy rain in the North-West”:
    Cue graphics –
    “This was Fife earlier today”.
    Aye, as I have often said: Scotland, a small, far-away country of which the English know nothing (and care even less).

41. Bill Halliday

The support of over 30 National ‘Newspapers’, hundreds of locals and the BBC, ITV, Murdoch et al, yet day by day minute by minute ‘they’, (those with that elitist mindset, the Madsen Pirie disciples)are losing it because this kind of crap shows people the contempt the elite have for them. That elite that right now is praying for another disaster, another ‘shock’ to let their cohort frighten through ever more free market dogma.

42. Fred

Good to have Stu refuting this mince on a daily basis but there should be somebody from the government (press officer?) nipping this shite in the bud, also on a daily basis. Where would we be without Wings?

43. Proud Cybernat

Right!

Enough!

The Big Man’s totally flamin’ wi’ this SNPBAD pish. A hunner million! Piggy bank change tae the Big Man. As furr wee Willie Rennie. When the Big Man gets a hawd o’ that wee scrote he’s gonnae use him as a fecking CONDOM cause that’s the only way that wee tadger will be able tae see where the Big Man’s comin’ fae!

Some’dy hawd me back…

44. galamcennalath

Luigi says

“The British establishment is now in full panic mode…. the last thing they needed was that awful BREXIT result, and Scotland voting REMAIN, like the distinct country that it is”

Their Brexit will be the end of their union. Nana posted a couple of links this morning …

https://flipchartfairytales.wordpress.com/2016/08/10/brexit-enough-david-brent-this-is-serious/

http://www.snp.org/brexit_what_the_uk_government_hasn_t_explained

… there is no easy outcome from Brexit. The various options are complex.

WM needs to go along with a coherent set of objectives, which they still haven’t a clue about.

The EU will begin with a compromise outcome agreed by the 27. No doubt this will have some little clauses on specific requirements, like from Spain or Ireland.

The UK will have very little room to manoeuvre because it really holds no cards. It is going to be a ‘take it, or leave it’ offer from the EU with little movement, I am certain. Perhaps a fair one, to get it all agreed quickly.

And Scotland in the UK’s ideal outcome? We will be a small sideshow. Special arrangements? Nae chance.

And, once all this negotiation in detail begins to become public knowledge, the Union is over.

45. jimnarlene

It was alright for BLis to give monies to Westminster, I was going to say give back, but it was ours to start with.

@ Socrates

When did Fife move, did they say?

46. liz

@Bob Mack – I had some doubts about Common Space when they were pushing a good few SNPbad stories before the Holyrood election.

Which is a shame as they have produced some interesting articles in the past, apart from that self-centred Loki,but if JK has donated £5k, I want nothing further to do with them

47. CapnAndy

Ken 500. The latest frigates are all sitting in Plymouth and don’t work. The Matelots weren’t properly trained to operate much of the equipment and much of the equipment was purchased from our cousins in the US meaning that, to repair it, you need security clearance from the US Government.
    You couldn’t make it up.

48. CapnAndy

My mistake. Meant to say Portsmouth.

49. heedtracker

Aye, as I have often said: Scotland, a small, far-away country of which the English know nothing (and care even less).

They seem to be trying to shore up, coalesce, bolster up, cement in a solid anti independence middle and upper middle class bloc, with relentless UKOK SNP bad stuff like this.

They wont have given up taking down Sturgeon’s SNP Holyrood or even taking out SNP Westminster, so their best UKOK hope is keeping their ABC1 Scots on their toes, frightened of any change, worrying about tax hikes.

Its all they’ve got now anyway. Willie will have his eye on his ermine slot at the Lords trough but they can also wheel out chancers like this one and whatever they can milk from our young democracy. When you get very fridge lefties on STV, there’s a nice cheque in the post.

http://archive.is/WMsPm

Not sure why he’s hugging himself but red and blue yoonsters will love his SNP bad stuff like

When the SNP gets coy with the facts it’s justified as part of the “long game” by supporters who aren’t yet ready to concede their party can be just as hypocritical and underhanded as any other. When the SNP blatantly steals manifesto ideas from Labour in the run up to the election while simultaneously talking down their policy platform publicly it’s swept under the rug or explained away, conveniently, as a necessary evil in their grand political strategy.”

In England land, tory gimps like Fraser Nelson do same thing boosting Thatcher 2, BBC r4 lunchtime news, long cosy Fraser/BBC ligger Thatcher 2 love in. PM May’s wonderful you know, really really wonderful, its just takes time for all of us to learn that too, simpers Nelson.

And Corbyn’s still a Trot England, must be true, its on the BBC.

50. One_Scot

The thing is, this is never going to change. It’s going to be like this forever, unless we become Independent.

51. donnywho

Re JK Rowling’s funding… It is a glass half full argument. As it can be seen as the recipient selling out… or the donor moving in our direction.

She was recently the recipient of Yoon abuse for being Pro European, and commented that it was the worst she had ever received. Maybe just Maybe a light has been lit that will burn through the Unionist Dogmas in her head.

52. Greannach

Every time I see Willie Rennie, I ask, “What’s the point of you?” Can anyone imagine Rennie participating in negotiations and being taken seriously by the other side? Can anyone imagine him as First Minister, far less head of government of an independent state? I know he doesn’t want the latter, and I understand why: he must know his upper limit is a local councillor.

53. Arbroath1320

I’m sure I read something a while back CapnAndy that “our” newer Frigates do not work too well when they are “operating” in warmer waters either. 🙂

54. Macca73

I pointed out on another forum to britnats who recite this stuff at you like it’s gospel that it’s nonsense to assume that people should be told to “Eat their Cereal, accept the 2014 result and just get on with it”

That world has changed and in world where they are forever telling us that a week is a long time in politics they have a very short memory!

The press are positioning themselves to attack early and hope that it sticks. It’s articles such as this which they are hoping that people who were entrenched with the “No Camp” will try to use against us be ready destroy the lies!

55. Quentin Quale

If only the numpties doing all the shouting would pool and share the magic money tree they have at their disposal, the new money problem would be solved.

56. Les Wilson

Yes the Yoons are well underway with their anti SNP/ Scottish propaganda. All laying down the fears that switherers have, the are undermining Indy2 before it gets out of the box.

The only way we will win, is a huge vote for. Why I say that is we need to allow for all the skulduggery the Yoons will employ and allow for things we do not know about. We will lose votes, one way or the other to their black practices. Only a very large Yes vote will counterbalance that.

We really need to join together ALL of the Indy movements and forge one huge force, and get among the people giving facts and evidence. Convince and persuade the many. We will not do that if disjointed.

If you have not seen this from Rev.s previous article, in a link from Nana, it is really worth looking at and further investigation is really needed to establish what these people are up to, no good I suspect. This again shows the dark side of the Yoons.
    http://www.twitlonger.com/show/n_1sp03mm

Note also the link to the company comes up, but details are not.
    Have they something to hide?

57. Macart

So what they’re saying is… the SNP is bad. I’m seeing a pattern forming here.

And they wonder where the meme comes from?

Seriously? 😀 LOL

58. ronnie anderson

Rev why are you doing adverts for the Confuddled political parties & so called Scottish print media.

59. galamcennalath

Unionists would like us all to do two things …

1) accept the IndyRef1 results as the settled will

2) stop simply rejecting criticism as SNPBad

… however, that really is asking a lot!

Firstly their entire Better Together campaign was a suite of threats about YES and promises for NO. Less than two years on and the threats have happened anyway, and the promises all cast aside. OF COURSE a rerun is on the table.

Secondly their loyal media twists reality, ignores facts, quotes selectively, makes nonsense up, all just to spin negative stories about Scotland, the Scottish Government, and the SNP. Most of it baseless propaganda. OF COURSE many are going to dismiss this out of hand, with the convenient universally understood SNPBad.

60. CameronB Brodie

Re. Loki
    IMHO, he comes across as someone with limited theoretical appreciation of macroeconomics or political economy and it appears he is still fighting a ‘class-war’. As such, his rhetoric is that of a pseudo-intellectual Marxist FUD.

Frankly Loki, your opinion is outdated and unhelpful to Scotland’s struggle for normality. Politics is the art of persuasion and the SNP appears to be doing a good job of that, despite an adverse information environment. If you truly wish to be a critical friend to the SNP, I’d suggest you remember that Scotland’s economy is constrained on all sides. Or should the SNP be able to turn a half dozen pan loafs and a couple of fish suppers into a feast for all?

61. Foonurt

Jist lik yoan ‘Breaking News’, afore ‘Aff The Baw’.

62. Jack Murphy

OT.TODAY. NHS ENGLAND. Delays in discharging patients—23% rise.

“Delays in discharging patients from hospital have risen 23% since June last year, NHS England has revealed.

Every day more than 6,000 patients well enough to leave hospital are unable to do so because their local authority cannot provide care, its figures show.”

BBC Archived:- http://archive.is/H2CYz

63. Cherry

Here’s another SNP BAD story from the Herald…it would appear that ineos want to frack the bejeezus out of Scotland because we would be stupid not to…really. Are we so thick that we can’t see what a marvellous opportunity this is for us all! Here’s just one reason off the top of my head…our water, is one of the best in the world…would our whisky taste the same with a touch of fracking juice! Here’s the link…

http://archive.is/UPbai

64. louis.b.argyll

Lay off slagging off other idealists (who are at least motivated individuals) who will come on side to create a future where they can do their bidding openly.

After independence, call them out, for sure but that will also be done within a healthy debate.

65. louis.b.argyll

Pah, me, sounding moderate..?

But let’s not stoop to the level of our political foes.

Remember, there’s a big difference between kneeling down, and bending over.

66. yesindyref2

The Unionists are really getting desperate now, you can seeit in their postings even, in forums. I’ve noticed two or three who used to be reasonable posters now getting personal.

This is panic, and Indy Ref 2 hasn’t even been announced yet. The trick is for us to keep our heads and stay polite (note to seld – don’t rise to the bait).

Thing is this £100 million infrastructre investment is not only welcomed by the STUC who were always even-handed with Indy, to the extent of being nearly YES bar the proposed corporation tax cut. They even reasonably supported the currency option, realising that Scotland’s currency at that stage was best left a few years.

But it’s also welcomed by the Chamber of Commerce, no friend to Indy, the FSB who I’m not renewing with as they seem to be a bit anti-Indy (they should be non-political), and from memory a couple of others who don’t support Indy.

So bit by bit the likes of the Herald, Willie Rennie, David Mundell, and those Labour bods are pi$$ing off people who were on their anti-Indy side or neutral.

That’s on top of the Herald pi$$ing off most of the islands.

It’s going well, and the mole in the Herald (possibly Gardham who’s off to do the same at the Scottish Office) is doing a grand job.

67. Bob

Iain Macwhirter is wrong: the Scottish Goverment has only limited control over energy policy.

68. Legerwood

Brian Doonthetoon says:
    11 August, 2016 at 1:25 pm
    “”Hi Legerwood.

If you click on the quote you end up here:-

http://archive.is/W1tQB

which, kinda, acknowledges the author of the piece.””

Thank you. i did not think to do that. I had read his column earlier and noticed that particular quote.

Arbroath 1320 @ 2.30 pm and others.

I think the ships you are referring to are not frigates but the new Type 45 destroyers. The frigates are the ones that are not now going to be built.

69. Robert Peffers

@Luigi says: 11 August, 2016 at 1:45 pm:

” … The British establishment is now in full panic mode.”

That, Luigi, is a well banged nail. People in full panic mode tend to behave totally irrationally.

Any sane, non-panicked, person can see that is the status quo of all three unionist parties at Westminster since the Scottish Independence Referendum was first mooted.

However, you did get one thing wrong. It is not, “The British Establishment”, per se. It is only, “The Westminster Establishment”. These unionist numpties have long thought of themselves as being all Britain but they never ever have been all Britain – they just wrongly thought they were.

It is the stark realisation they are demonstratively NOT actually, “The” British Establishment”, but only , “A” “British Establishment”, that is really the main root cause of their long, sustained and absolutely irrational series of panic attacks.

70. ScottieDog

Not sure Douglas fraser’s tweet is right anyway.
    QE serves mainly to pump up asset prices on the stock exchange. All the top 1% do when they get their govt provided windfall is to reinvest in stocks – further inflating the FTSE so that f@ckwit reporters can tell us how well the economy is doing.

If you have 50 pairs of trousers you hardly need one more.

So sick of this mainstream pish feeding the ignorant masses with their bile.

71. Keith Hynd

The Yoons of course would like to see the good old days back! Including underspend in the Scottish budget going back to the treasury, where of course it rightly belongs 😉

72. Socrates MacSporran

jimnarlene @ 2.14pm

Since, unlike the BUMS, Wings deals in accuracy, we have to admitm Fife is to the north and west of London.

However, by no stretch of the imagination could the Kingdom be described as in: “North-West Britain”.

And, to answer your question, it had not moved, the last time I looked.

73. John Walsh

Re Loki CameronB Brodie spot on.
    “His rhetoric is that of a pseudo-intellectual Marxist FUD.”
    As is some other idealists in the Scottish left.
    Cat Boyd et al “we don’t want any of those bad finance jobs” .
    They want steel manufacturing jobs that no longer exist and won’t ever be back in Scotland .

74. Free Scotland

Hamish Macdonell’s English is a bit shabby, considering he is employed by THE TIMES.

He writes: “David Mundell, the Scottish secretary, “waded” into the growing row …,” which should of course read “weighed in etc.etc.”

Confuse-Us, he say: “Linguistic confusion leads to doctrinal confusion.”

75. DebzoHighland

Every canny woman has a tenner tucked away in the back of her purse for the unexpected! On yersel Nicola!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.