The other side of the coin

Posted on February 06, 2012 by

As our fast-growing number of readers (all viewing records broken again last week) will be glad to hear, we’re just about back online after a weekend cursing the ineptitude of the laughably-named TalkTalk Business (“Here to help you 24/7, where by 24/7 we mean 10/5”). We’ve still got a somewhat restricted service, but fortunately enough access to direct you to this excellent piece on Newsnet Scotland, which eschews the site’s unfortunate tendency towards wild-eyed polemic in favour of a calmly insightful and perceptive look at the reality of one of the Unionist camp’s favourite scare stories – that Scotland would be kicked out of the EU if it became independent.

It’s a terrific bit of analysis, pointing out how disastrous such a scenario would be for the rump UK and how it would also mean Scotland being able to walk away from the Union without any share of Britain’s crippling £1trn (and rising) debts. Call us optimists, but we’d love to believe it means the end of that particular tired old canard from the FUDs. We’re not holding our breath, though.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,912 Posts, 1,242,747 Comments

• Ian Smith on The Final Robbery: “Didn’t the court say something about living a lifestyle he couldn’t afford. Since he had been on a six figure…May 26, 13:01
    • Bobo bunny on The Final Robbery: “Candidate for being killed by hammers.May 26, 12:46
    • Northcode on The Final Robbery: “You are young, Sam, and hae little knowing in the ways of ‘The Empire’… I am old (189 years last…May 26, 12:44
    • Effijy on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Sturgeon says that Murrell claimed to have won the £125K Mobile Home on Bullseye. She should have been suspicious as…May 26, 12:41
    • Patrician on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “I wish there was a way to upvote this comment. To paraphrase her statement: “The behaviour complained of was found…May 26, 12:38
    • Rogueslr on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Some SNP fan was saying St Nic was the queen of Scottish politics, the best Peter can aspire to is…May 26, 12:30
    • agentx on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Peter Murrell, the SNP’s chief executive, loaned the party £107,620 in June 2021. Is Sturgeon saying that she knew nothing…May 26, 12:03
    • sam on The Final Robbery: “Naw, Northcode. The amount took is substantial. The impact on the community and wer pretendy pahlmint is substantial. Minimum 5…May 26, 12:02
    • Xaracen on The Final Robbery: “That was a very interesting read, Alf, thanks. That site is now bookmarked, and its name has resonance for obvious…May 26, 11:58
    • Northcode on No Money Back, No Guarantee: ““ever-degenerating capacities of imperialism” Aye, Alf, Orwell could already see it from the very heart of the empire he was…May 26, 11:58
    • CharlesMackay on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Great article brilliant insight to it all. Bet he gets three years and is out in six months-Scottish establishment right…May 26, 11:42
    • Luigi on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Mmmm. Something doesn’t smell right in this case. A lot more to this than meets the eye, methinks. Anyone else…May 26, 11:39
    • Ian on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “The sentence will indicate a lot about what happens next. Meanwhile Alex Salmond’s treatment and the SNP’s lead role in…May 26, 11:39
    • Rev. Spooner on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “On R4’s Today programme this morning, the SNP mouthpiece was at pains to make the point – at least 3…May 26, 11:30
    • Captain Caveman on The Final Robbery: “There is much that could be said in response to this long-running, tawdry affair – and much has been said…May 26, 11:29
    • Northcode on The Final Robbery: “I might as well stick my tuppence worth of pointless verbiage intae this place alang wi the rest o ye…May 26, 11:20
    • J Robertson on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “That “legal letter “ takes the ***ing biscuit “. What have they done to our once proud wee nation?May 26, 11:16
    • Alf Baird on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Let’s remember that co-opted national party elites are merely the coloniser’s tools. A colony’s “confidential agents pensioned off at high…May 26, 11:15
    • Jay on The Final Robbery: “Frank, what are your reasons for thinking that Murrell expected to “get away with it.”? What better way to undermine…May 26, 11:00
    • agentx on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “What Sturgeon said about Salmond in 2021: “The behaviour complained of was found by a jury not to constitute criminal…May 26, 10:58
    • Sven on No Money Back, No Guarantee: ““Love and loyalty.” Oh Paul, what are you like ! Nearly choked on my morning toast & coffee by chortling…May 26, 10:57
    • Jason Smoothpiece on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Disappointing that only one thief has been jailed. I will only add the I think Sturgeon has been very lucky.…May 26, 10:42
    • agentx on The Final Robbery: “What Sturgeon said about Salmond in 2021: “The behaviour complained of was found by a jury not to constitute criminal…May 26, 10:41
    • Jay on The Final Robbery: “Izzie, are you proceeding to support SNP candidates in the Bye Elections? Even an English nationalist would have to recognise…May 26, 10:41
    • Bill Scullion on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Why is it that politicians who talk about being progressive like Sturgeon actually turn out to be Fascists who don’t…May 26, 10:41
    • Peter on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Not getting charged because of insufficient evidence and being cleared are really not the same thing.May 26, 10:29
    • Cuphook on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “I did not expect to hope that you get taken to court. I’m confused by the ‘revelation’ of her silence…May 26, 10:25
    • duncanio on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “So much bravado, bluff and bluster from (ex?) Mrs Murrell and her legal representative. I very much doubt the follow-up…May 26, 10:18
    • Aunty Flo on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “I really, really want to comment on this post, but I am almost speechless. How do you articulate the feelings…May 26, 10:17
    • Arthur Martin on The Final Robbery: “They are indeed. A combination of ignorance and apathy ensures that the utterly corrupted SNP are returned to power. There…May 26, 10:09