The Deafening Echo Of Nothing

Posted on August 03, 2025 by

These two Sunday front pages three weeks apart sounded awfully similar.

But it turned out to be a lot worse than we thought.

Not just because the Sunday Post ran basically the exact same story seven years ago:

But because the Post’s piece is based on the exact same piece of garbage non-news that the Herald’s was last month, and which the Post apparently just caught up with.

Engender is a wholly-Scottish-Government-funded lobbying quango that exists for no other reason than to channel juicy salaries into the pockets of a handful of professional “feminists”, of the sort who can then be relied upon to unwaveringly support all of the Scottish Government’s attacks on women’s rights.

We took a look at the Herald’s story three weeks ago and discovered that what the Post calls a “landmark report” (we can only hope that was a typo for “landfill”) was a deeply suspect one which revealed precisely nothing about misogyny, only the fact that all politicians of both sexes get a lot of abuse. Not a single scrap of it provided any proof that there was a tangible difference between female and male politicians, or that the motivation for it was sexist in nature.

But the Post rehashes it anyway, adding nothing more than a sprinkling of “celebrity” sheen as Sturgeon, Dugdale and Davidson – along with Monica Lennon, who for some reason doesn’t get to feature on the cover – lend their faces and contribute a few lines of vague generic whining on the subject.

(Former SNP/Tory MP Lisa Cameron also appears with a horrible tale of a real-world stalker, but which has no discernible connection to either the report or to misogyny.)

Which is of course a little bit ironic, as they’re hardly innocents in the field of abuse themselves. Dugdale, alert readers may recall, was found by two Scottish courts to have smeared and defamed the editor of this website with false allegations of bigotry in 2017 in a newspaper column and in Parliament, where Sturgeon backed her up. She has never apologised nor expressed any sort of remorse over the falsehoods, even though her behaviour was so appalling it cost her her relationship with her father until his tragic death in 2021.

Sturgeon herself infamously made similar slurs against campaigning gender-critical feminists, suggesting that they were homophobic AND racist, and has made her general distaste for men abundantly clear.

And the Post also saw fit to include comments from discrimination beneficiary and SNP councillor Fatima Joji, who was involved in compiling the document. (Which has now been published, and sure enough contains absolutely nothing in the way of actual verifiable data in its 73 pages. If you misbehave, we’ll write another article and make you read some of the word-salad wonkspeak drivel contained in it.)

…and who in 2023 was formally censured by the Standards Commission For Scotland for “personally offensive and gratuitous” comments calling this site’s editor “toxic scum”, amongst other slurs in repeated tirades of abuse and baseless accusations.

Obviously the Scottish Government, which is yet to meet with For Women Scotland in the wake of the Supreme Court judgment on the Equality Act several months ago, rushed to confirm it would be discussing the “findings” of the “report” with its faithful client organisation so that they could all agree how terrible it all was and all the abuse in politics was other people’s fault, especially men, and definitely not all the female politicians who are happy to dish abuse out but not to take it.

So we can probably expect to read the exact same story yet again in a few months when they announce the outcome of their discussions with a great fanfare. We’ll try to contain our excitement if you will, folks.

0 to “The Deafening Echo Of Nothing”

1. SusanAHF says:

Engender are a waste of taxpayers money and ‘toxic scum’ as well. If female politicians can’t take it they shouldn’t dish it out

2. Hatey McHateface says:

It’s many years since my maternal granny died, so it’s many years since I last saw the Sunday Post.

Good to know it’s still going strong and adding new strands of nonsense “journalism” to the old strands that served it so well in the past.

Does anybody ken if Fat Bob has been restyled Big Boned Bob? Fit aboot Wee Eck? Is his malaise clearly blamed on “Milk Snatcher” these days?

Surely at least one of the younger Broons must spend his/her Fridays at the local mosque?

• Oneliner says:

Alas Fat Bob was the victim of body shaming.

The new kid on the block is Cleggy, who seems to be on good terms with PC Murdoch

• Cynicus says:

Hatey McHateface says:?3 August, 2025 at 3:47 pm

“?It’s many years since my maternal granny died, so it’s many years since I last saw the Sunday Post.?Good to know it’s still going strong …..“
      =======
      Is Francis Gay also still going strong??

His column was a favourite of my own grannie.

• Gordy says:

Does oor Willie still have a boaby or has he transitioned to oor Wilhemina .

3. Sven says:

Gosh, I do hope I’m not wandering into “Hurty Words” territory when I admit that my initial thought when I saw that article was to wonder if there is a production of “The Scottish Play” somewhere which has mislaid its three witches aka “The Weird Sisters”.

• Andy Ellis says:

I suspect “Dumb, Dumber and Dumberer” adequately covers it Sven. Proof if any were needed of the paucity of Scottish political leadership and talent across the board.

4. duncanio says:

It’s quite a feat for an organisation to exhibit behaviour that is both misogynistic and misandrist.

5. Young Lochinvar says:

I wonder if “never having to shake a man’s hand again” is code.

6. Mark Beggan says:

Billy Bunter, Henry the Horse and Tommy Turnip.
    Not a woman amongst them.

7. Owen Mullions says:

Hubble, bubble, toil and trouble.

8. George Ferguson says:

Interesting Stu. Of Course the 3 people in question are a declared lesbian, another declared lesbian and an undeclared lesbian. Difficult for a Grandad to negotiate a clear path for his grandsons in this hostile environment. The LGBQT are over represented in Holyrood including the supporting Civil Service. We disengage from this narrative but how do we cope with the lack of white working class heterosexual boys opportunity?. Well we ship half of them out. Working on the other half.

9. Alison Whiteford says:

Perfect succinct description of Engender and gave me a genuine lol at landfill report. Tx

10. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

Please note links to two-part De Valera documentary inadvertently posted on previous thread instead of here as intended. Of particular interest to women and politics. Go here:

link to wingsoverscotland.com

• anniethenoo says:

Thanks
      Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh, will watch.

I notice Darren McGarvey is putting his non-invite to Embra Book Fest down to being working class. He is probably too savvy to publicly speculate what the real reason might be.

• Alf Baird says:

Not just working class, but also being a Scots speaker; i.e. ethnic discrimination, which reflects our colonial reality and the requirement for cultural assimilation.

11. 100%Yes says:

For me she best forgotten, a total loser. History won’t be kind to this person.

I personally would be glad if she moved out of Scotland and I never needed to hear or see her again.

I blame her for all of Scotland’s trouble and do you know what she doesn’t care its who she is. I blame Swinney for continuing her policies and as for Humza I blame him for being stupid and taken on the job as FM he was being used, as is Swinney these are the sort of men Nicola likes just ask Peter.

These sort of comment is maybe the coming out of the closet moment, people if this woman held any high office again I’d be worried, she best forgotten about and I only said that to be nice.

12. robertkknight says:

Troughers gonna trough, irrespective of sex.

The trouble with elections… doesn’t matter who you vote for you still end up with a f**king politician!

13. Hatey McHateface says:

“If you misbehave, we’ll write another article and make you read some of the word-salad wonkspeak drivel”

Aw naw! Now I’m minded to misbehave.

TBQFH, I kinda enjoy reading word-salad wonkspeak drivel. Especially when it’s ultimately funded by my taxes – diverted from doing useful stuff such as the provision of desperately needed public services – to promote the personal agendas of the mostly-scum infesting every corner of our very own, home-grown, Scottish Blob.

If the Scottish Blob mostly-scum with their grubby paws on our money are splurging it on word-salad wonkspeak drivel, then we need that publicised to the max. We need every hard-pressed Scottish taxpayer and every struggling Scottish services consumer to know EXACTLY what is going on.

So come on Rev Stu. Lets have some word-salad wonkspeak drivel we can all share with our friends and family in the run up to May 2026.

14. Stuart says:

Hold the front page!

Kate Forbes is standing down as an MSP next year to concentrate on her family life.

So there goes the future star of the SNP.

Who will now be the tallest dwarf, ready to take over from John Swinney?

• 100%Yes says:

GOOD, more good news.

• Sven says:

Stuart @ 10.17.

To paraphrase a comment on Charles Haddon Spurgeon when he commenced his ministry in London, “She went up like rocket, to descend like a stick”.

• Hatey McHateface says:

As the position of Forbes in the party and government has been cited as one of the main reasons why Mhairi Black is stepping down, perhaps Black will now reconsider.

Fingers crossed, everybody.

• Young Lochinvar says:

I sense the path to the top is being cleared for (uber Sturgeonista) Mairi McAllan..

Wonder if the local bookies would give me odds on it?

It would however explain Provost Swinneys Antoninus Pius-like caretaker tenure..

• Young Lochinvar says:

For those who don’t know her, she is the one with a nose like Judge Alvin Valkenheiser in (aptly here) “Nothing but Trouble”..

Just sayin an that, bad me..

15. David McAdam says:

Perhaps Kate Forbes standing down is a sign of the real intolerable abuse some politicians face.

• Hatey McHateface says:

If she does, she’s concealing it well.

In the interview with her, on the BBC website, “brightest talent” Kate is quoted as wanting to spend more time with her daughter and being scunnered with her 4-hour drive Mondays and Fridays.

Ah well. During all the years when I had twice weekly 4-hour drives, I was a wee bit scunnered myself.

If only I had enjoyed a remuneration package like Kate’s! I bet I could have employed a driver, claimed it back from expenses, and organised many hours of productive work to do in the back of the car.

Heck. Lot’s of “bright talents” make and take productive calls even while driving. And it all counts as work and so it all gets paid.

• twathater says:

So it now appears that ANY disagreement you have with any politician could be construed as abusive, especially if they are female, I would assume that the frustration and anger from the electorate when politicians deliberately and wilfully ignore and overrule the views and opinions of their voters and constituents should be treated with contempt
      It does appear that we are electing self serving self opinionated wee flowers who cannot deal with criticism

• Sven says:

twathater @ 13.59.

Whilst it is fine for career politicians to treat the voters who afforded them their well paid sinesecures with contempt, it’s another matter entirely when we dare to return the compliment.

• twathater says:

@ Sven 2.35pm EX FM takes great delight in calling voters despicable names

• Cynicus says:

So, did Murrell do her a favour when he rigged the election against her?

• Dan says:

She was likely only in the leadership “race” to take votes away from Ash Regan.

• Dan says:

Smiling like a Cheshire cat at the leadership announcement is not the coupon normally displayed by someone that’s missed out on something they seriously want.
        30 second vid.

16. MaryB says:

Kate Forbes is a very able politician, but also extremely conservative. She supports the development of the Freeports and SEZ’s. She’s sold off all the wind power to foreign owned companies. So it’s in Scotlands best interest for her to stand down.

17. TURABDIN says:

OBSERVATIONS FROM THE UK CAPITAL.
    link to spiked-online.com
    Things can only get …..

18. Mark Beggan says:

Three years after the child is born Noggin the Nog decides it’s time to be Mummy. Forbes is doing runner! Like the rest of the SNP rats.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Minimum wage rises. NI rises. Then there’s the extra Scottish income tax brought in by (checks notes) Forbes’ SNP government.

Few can afford childcare these days. Best to do it yourself once they’re potty trained.

Plus it’s a wee bit more difficult to sling an “illegal” a few notes in cash. Not that that’s what was happening here. No way.

• Mark Beggan says:

That would never happen. If an ‘ilegal’ made your food and an ‘ilegal’ delivered your food on an illegal E-bike. That would be totally illegal in this country.

19. TURABDIN says:

KATE FORBES QUITTING….may that be the first of many in the faux nat. «nomenklatura»

20. Mark Beggan says:

Kelly Given can take her place. Would anyone notice.

21. Sven says:

Mark Beggan @ 14.31.

Bearing in mind Ms Forbes is a committed supporter of Freeports who was unable to register a vote online against the Gender Bill whilst on maternity leave, though at least one other MSP in a similar position achieved this feat and she did succeed in entering the race to be SNP leader just a few weeks later; would she be not be better known as Nogbad theBad.
    Noggin was, after all, a goodie as I recall.

• Mark Beggan says:

Yes you are correct. Nogbad the Bad. Another disgusting individual on the make. That’s the Left Wing and the Right wing of the SNP gone. The Scottish government is a dead duck lying in it’s own pish.

• Hatey McHateface says:

So a lemon crispy seagull then, if I correctly understood Dan’s post of yesterday.

Incidentally, Lemon Duck is also a type of malware that infects computer networks and mines cryptocurrency, thus generating revenue for its criminal owners. Coincidence?

22. Mark Beggan says:

If the female energy commonly known as Dickola the Dickless is holding the reins. Then she’s s holding the reins of a coffin .

23. Iain More says:

So Kate Forbes is resigning from Holyrood next May. It is another sure sign that the SNP is heading for a hammering if she calculates she cant hold that safe seat.

The Alphabet Queers, MI5 and Special Branch clearly now now control the SNP totally. Or is it the case that Kate Forbes can no longer stomach the very real abuse she gets from the Alphabet Queers in the SNP.

24. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

Just bought a copy of The Hobbit in Gaelic, newly translated by Moray Watson. Also available in Irish, Welsh, Cornish, and Breton.

Found myself perusing again the website of AN SIONNACH FIONN [The White Fox — dormant since 2023?] which has some fascinating material about Tolkien and his views on the Irish:

J.R.R. TOLKIEN (30th June 1955): “I am very untravelled, though I know Wales, and have often been in Scotland (never north of the Tay), and know something of France, Belgium, and Ireland. I have spent a good deal of time in Ireland, and am since last July actually a D. Litt. Of University College Dublin; but be it noted I first set foot in ‘Eire’ in 1949 after The Lord of the Rings was finished, and find both Gaelic and the air of Ireland wholly alien – though the latter (not the language) is attractive.”

J.R.R. TOLKIEN (28th October 1958): “I love Wales (what is left of it, when mines, and the even more ghastly sea-side resons, have done their worst), and especially the Welsh language. But I have not in fact been in W. for a long time (except for crossing it on the way to Ireland). I go frequently to Ireland (Eire: Southern Ireland) being fond of it and of (most of) its people; but the Irish language I find wholly unattractive.”

J.R.R. TOLKIEN, draft letter August 1967: “Nazg: the word for ‘ring’ in the Black Speech. It remains remarkable that nasc is the [obsolete in this sense] word for ‘ring’ in Gaelic (Irish: in Scottish usually written nasg). It also fits well in meaning, since it also means, and prob. originally meant, a bond, and can be used for an ‘obligation’. Nonetheless I only became aware, or again aware, of its existence recently in looking for something in a Gaelic dictionary. I have no liking at all for Gaelic from Old Irish downwards, as a language, but it is of course of great historical and philological interest, and I have at various times studied it. (With alas! very little success.) It is thus probable that nazg is actually derived from it, and this short, hard and clear vocable, sticking out from what seems to me (an unloving alien) a mushy language, became lodged in some comer of my linguistic memory.”

AN SIONNACH FIONN comments:

« TOLKIEN – AN ENGLISH NATIONALIST: Tolkien was no racist, despite the best efforts of some of his modern critics to portray him as such (some of which are hysterically puerile). Nor was he a British imperialist, as such. Undoubtedly he was an English nationalist. His lifetime’s work both academic and private was in some ways a celebration of Englishness.

« In the stories of Middle-earth he gave the people of England the mythology of their own that they lacked. However it eventually grew beyond him and beyond that simple original premise or impulse. It became a global mythology, something I think he perhaps later recognised. It was no longer simply the “Matter of England” but the property of readers across the globe.

« Yet he remained, as he was born, a late Victorian gentleman of the British Empire. It shaped his views, his likes and dislikes in equal measure. That he could grow beyond them, that he could see England as an entity in its own right, free of the colonial possessions and peoples on whose suffering it had risen to the status of empire was itself remarkable. How far that truly went is now probably beyond recovery.

« Certainly we know Tolkien’s repeated disdain for the imperium he grew up in. However in large part it was because he felt it had eclipsed his true nation: England. In Tolkien’s eyes, for at least a period of his life, England was as much a prisoner of empire as Ireland.

« For that reason J.R.R. Tolkien, the quintessential Englishman with his quintessential (and typically paradoxical) English views of Ireland and the Irish, will remain one of my favourite writers. »

link to ansionnachfionn.com

• Young Lochinvar says:

An interesting post.
      I believe service in the trenches was also another traumatising influence in what he wrote.

• Renfrewdave says:

3 failed politicians who need something and someone to blame for their failures.

Dugdale had all the charm and ability of an empty cardboard box. Who ran away from it all and who’s wife seemed to be rewarded with a msps job for taking care of the opposition. What did she achieve in her career for the benefit of scotland?

Davidson huff and puffed , had a go at the snp and labour a few times. Drove about in a tank for some pics. Took the offer of a cushy job for life. What benefit did scotland gain from her career?

Sturgeon… other than the baby box everything else turned to Ash. Even her own household turned to dust under her leadership. Other than adding a low mileage, one careful owner camper van to the 2nd hand car market and letting TW know they shouldn’t wear bright pink leggings with thier lunchbox on display she’s done nought else for scotland.

And to think there was a time we were all proud and hopeful that women were leading the 3 parties of scotland and that real change would happen…. who knew eh?

• Mark Beggan says:

It’s interesting that all the other nations in the union have abundant mythology of their own.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Good point MB.

However, perhaps that’s because they were around longer and haven’t flagrantly nicked other peoples history and heroes to suit.

The mythical King (sic) Arthur being a case in point.

Hilarious really when you think about it; this mythic hero (purloined by the English) fought against the Angles and Saxons (Engurlush to us), not with them..

Read into that what you want as some will.

• Confused says:

The use of mythology to create a shared national identity is not some trivial matter; we have the example of the Finns, and the Kalevala and onwards to Sibelius.

It is not nothing; one of the conditions for democracy to work is an underlying shared identity; this either exists organically from time immemorial, or you create it by hand.

Tolkien is a great example; like most folks I do like his stuff and Hollywood mostly did a great job of putting it on the screen. Thing is it is all a “mash up”, or a borrowing, or an adaptation, or plagiarism, stealing from a whole host of other mythologies – the nordic, germanic, celtic – which he tried to put together to create a unified mythology, for his people – the Anglo Saxons, for as he put it, he was embarrassed by the poverty of his own people in this regard. There is Beowulf, not much else. Even Arthur is a celtic chieftain/warlord.

The grand project is largely a failure, but LOTR is very good; this is a mere episode, the last act in a colossal war that has raged since creation. Tolkien draws us in because the backstory is so rich, which it should be given he has stuffed everything into it, including Genesis.

Some of it seems odd, and just jars; the Men, aka the Anglo Saxons, are the heroes, the good guys and the Numenoreans would be heroic types like Alfred the Great and yet … the really cool dudes are the Elves, in every way, just “better” than the Men, and they were here first and their achievements are greater, and so on. But, they just “fade away” in time, because, “reasons”. The elves are, of course, the Celts, and this is how he deals with the problematic nature of, essentially, his people – which he wants as “the good guys” actually being “the bad guys”.

The dwarves, these avaricious and aggressive people – he totally “shites it” with regard to their nature and does not deal with it at all; he has to have them in, since they are in all these other myths, but he is determined to make them “good guys” as well, despite being a bit annoying. We all know who the dwarves really are and Tolkien says so himself in an interview in 1964 (on youtube) calling them aggressive and avaricious – in Wagner’s Ring we get the real story; Alberich is a villain, who steals all the gold from the rheinmaidens right off, then he proceeds to enslave his people (- this is a reference to “capitalism”), and onwards into a very long and involved story line.

Tolkien said he didn’t like allegory but middle earth is a mythologised western europe and british isles; “mordor” is somewhere in the balkans, and all the bad stuff “comes from the east”.

He was also a catholic, which is an odd combination for someone who is very, very english. Notably the main villain lives in a pyramidal tower with a lidless eye on top of it – which is clearly freemasonic in its symbolism – “eyes in pyramids”.

As far as he was concerned the Norman Invasion of 1066 was “the end of England”, year zero, and I doubt he had much approval of what came after, not the reformation, though like most english he would have seen empire as being essentially benign, albeit with some rough edges.

He blends some more “recent” history in here and there I think; at the battle of Helm’s Deep – the victorious charge of the riders of rohan is about the polish cavalry driving away the turks, the muslims, from the gates of Vienna, thus saving christendom.

JRR had an affinity for the Finns, using their language as the basis of elvish for example; one of his early works was the story of Kuillervo, which is straight out of the Kalevala – a story everyone knows, because it is the story of Hamlet, long before Shakespeare borrowed it – and was remade by Hollywood as a super violent viking tale called Amleth.

Myth making by JRR I suppose must have been his way to try and “save his people” – if he was alive today, under diversity, multiculturalism, mass immigration, he would know England has no future.

– what would he do? Make Aragorn a black guy??

DIS SAU-RON HE GOT NAH RESPEC Y’ALL WE GON CAP HIS ASS, MUHFUGGA

Face it, kids – “Sauron” won, a long time ago. And the “british empire” was his instrument.

• Hatey McHateface says:

You need to spend a lot more time in Middle Earth, Confused.

It obviously calms you down, even although Da Dews are still inevitably gnawing at your sorry arse in your feverish, haunted dreams.

Have a word with your GP. Maybe you can get the books and films on prescription.

• Young Lochinvar says:

In reply to the Tw8t P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface @ 8.17

The Irony!

From the one who “wangs oan” endlessly about r££skies as “orcs”..

Your words cheese dick aroma..

You’re troll-bot Langley “Oi- Vey” programming is so very very devoid of self awareness and above all consistency..

I did mention Tw8t didn’t I?

You need unplugged and recycled..

PS: Ya mong..

• Hatey McHateface says:

Wings BTL’s very own historical battle re-enactor and midnight lurker on canal towpaths (“just fishing, officer, honest, for fish I mean”) stays up past his bedtime to take a stab at the Wings BTL Most Juvenile Insults In One Post award.

Dinna hing aroond playgrounds looking for mair inspiration, YL Sah! Naebody is gonna understand.

Meantime, the wondering world looks at Scotland’s “Indy Finest” and concludes – Nah – they’re nowhere near ready – just look at the state of YL Sah!.

• Young Lochinvar says:

In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface @ 10.59

Oh my!!
        Pass the smelling salts to P3nisbreath somebody as he is clearly having a breakdown/ computer programming glitch.

C’mon P3nisbreath, please tell us you weren’t crying when you typed that hysterical drivel?!

• Hatey McHateface says:

YL Sah! says:

Something requiring him to write “penis” 4 times.

I blame the heat and the ubiquity of online porn.

Sorry about my use of “ubiquity” YL Sah! But you can always look it up.

• Young Lochinvar says:

In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathfaces ramblings @ 8.17

Aha!

So you were crying!

Sought out snivelling recourse in your Dorling Kindersley big picture book of bigly wordy-words: FACT!

As for “ubiquity” of p0rn online; well us mere normal people will, based on your own extensive lived experience going by your aimless outpourings on here, just have to take your word for it as clearly an intimate expert in the matter.

Rocking back and forward in yer seat yet P3nisbreath?

Mong..

• Hatey McHateface says:

“us mere normal people”

Citation needed for that claim, YL Sah!

“Citation” – you can look that one up too.

25. Andrew scott says:

Me thinks wee katie foresees Flynn taking over Snp
    Yeaugh

26. George Ferguson says:

Current polling SNP 54 MSPs Scottish Greens 16 MSPS. A new Bute House Agreement coming up. Kate Forbes couldn’t survive in that environment. Although I am willing to take her reasons for leaving at face value. The bringing of children is the most important job. The only time I was disappointed in her was not remotely voting during the GRRB debate. I think that cost her the leadership of the SNP and a unfortunate turn to despot Wokery. I mean losing out to Pakistan Taliban must have hurt. Considering the FM was recently urging Trump to listen to prayers of his Constituency. I think it us appropriate that we will pray for her having a successful family life.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Happy anniversary tomorrow of the battle of Otterburn: 1388.

I’d be prepared to suggest that few if any of our independence elected representatives have even heard of it, never mind mark it..

Raise a glass though to those, back in the day, who did the needful, unlike today’s superannuated whining bleating wastrels..

• Hatey McHateface says:

It’s a grand day, YL Sah! and a quiet news day too. Why don’t you jump in the car, drive to Durham and re-enact it.

Fill your boots with some burning and looting. Maybe even a bit of rape too – dinna fash – we won’t clype.

Report back here tomorrow and we’ll all raise a glass to you for “doing the needful”.

Still swithering? What if we declare you Earl of Douglas for the day? You know you want to 🙂

• Marie says:

Thanks for info. Very interesting to learn the names of the various Lowland clans involved in the battle. A bit of Scottish history I knew nothing of.

• Young Lochinvar says:

In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface @ 7.11

Just in from our correspondent with Scottish forces:

And he (Douglas) has bunt the dales of Tyne
        And part of Bambroughshire
        And three good towers on Reidswire Fells
        He left them all on fire

Action was joined in this mornings predawn darkness;

The moon was clear, the day drew near
        The spears in flinders flew
        And money a gallant Englishman
        Ere day the Scotsmen slew

The Gordon’s good, in English blood
        They steeped their hose and shoon
        The Lindsay’s flew like fire about
        Till all the fray was done!

• Hatey McHateface says:

That’s the great thing about the internet, YL Sah! War correspondents can do it all from behind the closed curtains of their bedrooms, in their jim jams.

Alas, some of the more weak willed end up fondling themselves. And it shows in their work.

There are two “penis” mentions in your post. Whoops!

• Young Lochinvar says:

In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreath @ 8.10

The only todgers mentioned were your nickname; and you wonder why 🙂

As for the rest; as usual your accusations are simply confessions of yer very own secret guilty pleasures/ lived experiences.

And, everyone here knows it ya mong..

• Hatey McHateface says:

And another two penises.

Fit happened tae the re-enactment o’ Otterburn then? Car widnae start?

Scotland’s gonna need a new Earl of Douglas. Previous applicants for the role need not re-apply.

Back intae the jim jams fer ye, that’s if ye ever got oot o them the day. Take up smoking the pipe, YL Sah! – it keeps the hands occupied.

• Young Lochinvar says:

In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface @ 9.22

Aaah!

“Smoking a pipe”..

So that’s what you call that “ACT” nowadays..

Try stronger mouthwash Mongsters..

• Hatey McHateface says:

And another two penises, with a side order of cock sucking.

Three double taps too. I guess I should be dead, but I guess your hands are shaking too much for you to ever hit anything.

Good job you stayed hame the day, YL Sah! I hear some of these North Eastern English grannies are tough cookies. And if one of them was to put you flat on your sorry arse, it’s certain it would be filmed and put online.

They’d probably call it the Battle of Totterbum.

You’d have to stay in your bedroom with the curtains tightly closed for months. Haud oan though …

• Young Lochinvar says:

In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface @ 10.30

Ouch!
        Touched a raw nerve c0ck breath have I?

And there was me merely pointing out today’s Scottish historical anniversary and you had to squeal in rage, crush a grape, “smoke” a peace pipe and scribble your really rather gibberish ore in and amply demonstrated demonstration of why you’ve been given your deserved nick-name.

Sad Mong..

27. David says:

Joanna Cherry says Sturgeon betrayed Alex Salmond in what we all know to be a criminal conspiracy to imprison an innocent man for political gain. In any normal country Sturgeon would be in jail herself today for her failed plan.

Cherry knows the truth. She should tell Salmond’s family so that his name can be cleared right now. And not wait until she sells her book.

While she’s at it she could be the independence leader that Scotland never had. Maybe she should join Alba.

28. TURABDIN says:

SILLY SEASON BREAKING NEWS….mega dangerous storm Floris hits land.
    During which some umbrellas blew inside out and a few trees fell down. No reports as yet of members of the Scottish political caste being found wandering in Kiev or Khan Yunis or Kansas.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Are you sure about Khan Yunis?

They might be deep underground in a tunnel, being “entertained” by some teenage lassie.

Or laddie.

• Dan says:

Muckle gusts here so I hud tae batten doon the hatches and even tether ma corn on the cob plants and autumn raspberry bushes so they didnae blow over.
      The roof on my tomato plant enclosure tried to emulate a migrating trampoline though…
      Ach, at least the wind turbines didn’t blow over, so Scotland can continue to send one and a half to two times the power we use here to England and keep the income stream flowing to the big corporate coffers.
      Site with a lot of info so apparently not mobile phone friendly to view.
      link to terravolt.co.uk

29. James Cheyne says:

Jist all part of the Scottish blob,
    And who the blob chose for puppet politicians. England has recognised the same problem recently when they discovered the blob opinions over rule down south that also makes it appear they just as useless.
    Half the time the politicians wonder what the blob wants them to say next or should the consult each other.
    Most of them would be wise at best if they spoke to the bosses higher up at davos or Wef first to get the gist of what their purpose is.
    Although it doesn’t seem to make much difference on clarity if your pm who s spent most of your eco milage jetting of to these meetings,
    Scotlands no different. irelands no different, Wales is no different, neither is australia , Canada, Germany, etc
    If the top bosses tell management to start destroying the companies from within then chaos is enevitable.

30. James Cheyne says:

The pattern is the same world wide, confusion.
    Add a little gender problems, just stop oil, blm , extra people influx, talk of war, energy problems, a universal low wage, bank problems AI problems and hacking , an restriction on free speech, puppet politician, and Wellah
    The demise of Countries around the world simultaniously.
    That took years of planning in advance.

Scotlands puppet politicians instructions are not any different from the rest of them. Its just that we are looking at our politicians as if they are the only ones on the planet making a hash of things,
    There not,

31. Achnababan says:

Anyone who thinks Kate Forbes resigned because she was scared of losing her seat is a daftie…she won more votes than all the other parties added together last time around, with one of the biggest majorities in Scotland. She made the right call and so will I ….I won’t be voting SNP at the next election, nor Green who are also devious and tainted.

• agent x says:

She’ll also get a substantial payout for leaving office – the first £30,000 is tax free.

• twathater says:

Anyone who thinks Kate Forbes was an asset to Scotland and independence is a Daftie, Forbes was just another trougher whose integrity and beliefs vanished in a puff of smoke when her financial position was threatened

It’s really bad when I am forced to agree with Bastard Tax MOAN’S assessment and comment

• Mark Beggan says:

Iam a Daftie!

• willie says:

Word is that Kate Forbes is standing down because the party ” a nest of vipers ”

Although I think she was wrong supporting Freeports, Forbes is a very well respected and good MSP. And that was indeed most certainly reflected in the last election where she increased her vote to over 56%.

That she recognises the SNP and the Scottish Government for what it is the parliament and the constituency is going to lose a talented erudite young women with sound values. Indeed, contrast her with so many of the bottom feeders in today’s SNP and the contrast is stark.

But you know what, she might actually reconsider and stand, not as an SNP but as a good solid public spirited independence supporting candidate.

And that I believe is exactly what is going to happen in 2026. Scottish Labour, Scottish National Party, Scottish Greens all the same – troughers to a man, woman or whatever delivering nothing.

Change is coming. Folks know the political party system is rotten, rotten, rotten. Independence to the SNP may be like social democracy or socialism is to the Labour party, and folks know it. lets get em all out in 2026 to be replaced by better, much better.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Much to agree with in your post, willie.

But any vipers reading here will be affronted at being compared to the SNP.

Just saying.

• agent x says:

“Change is coming.”

No it is NOT.

32. James Cheyne says:

To begin sorting out Scotland politically the requirement would be to have a Scottish government.
    Not a devolved government that has restrictions and reservations attached, abiding to a crazy election system, with no media of our own, passing new laws as….Scots laws, but are actually the same laws as being passed in other Countries with a few tweeks.

33. James Cheyne says:

As long as we lack understanding of the larger picture and the introduction of deliberate senseless topics into our world that were never thought of as we grew up, then Scotland will continue to thrash around in the dark, not knowing friend from foe, and perhaps running in the wrong direction for an ally,

34. Confused says:

windy today, maybe windy tomorrow.

very interesting

link to archive.ph

now imagine a community owned company setup to create energy in Lewis?

It could act as a proof of concept for a national energy monopoly post indy. Get the wrinkles ironed out, have it ready to go. (This is a general feature of “serious people” who are really going to do things – they have it all prepared, whatever it is – bags packed, prepacked, boil in the bag, one click setup, new laws already drafted, even a todo list … the SNP has fuckall, which says a lot.)

They could even setup a factory for turbines, make them themselves, under licence to start with – jobs, from the start.

Cheap energy for the locals and anyone who comes there. Also, its windy almost all the time, so the intermittency problems and need for storage don’t arise. And what you don’t use yourself, you sell to the grid, or if they are messing you about with “feed in charges” and other ripoffs – use it yourself to mine bitcoin, or to heat massive open air swimming pools. And remember energy is “real money” it is what lets you do things, and with that excess energy you could redevelop the whole places – boom time.

It wouldn’t cost that much to setup, certainly not in comparison to the amounts they have already pished up a wall on other things. It is even “green”, as green as it gets.

– but you know what would happen, they would give the job to some “arthur or martha” with a pink badger on its head and staff it all with diversity hires … the whole thing would collapse in a mass of debt and lawsuits and wasting 100sM; “racist white men” who know stuff about engineering, project management and corporate financing, would be nowhere to be seen – YOU DONT WANT NAZI ELECTRICITY DO YOU ?

the islanders would suffer blackouts as the local grid collapses and everyone ends up running their own diesel generators.

BUT STORNOWAY WILL HAVE A PRIDE MARCH, oh yes.

(and it has just had its first mosque, though I don’t know if they have a holocaust memorial, and you can’t have too many of them.)

35. James Cheyne says:

If politicians spend their time trying to intergrat nations an blend Countries, How will they hit their diversity agenda,
    They won’t their actually preventing diversity from happening.

• Alf Baird says:

Yes James, if colonialism is allowed to continue the oppressed group culture and nation ‘will ultimately perish’ (Fanon). Ethnic oppression is a fundamental part of colonial rule. The only bulwark against cultural imperialism and colonialism is national identity (Said) and hence national consciousness (Fanon), with indigenous language forming a critical element.

“It is said of one experience that it is one of the most agonising possible . . . that of leaving the soil of your native country forever, of turning your back on your heritage, being torn away by the roots from your familiar land. I have not suffered that experience. But I know of an experience equally agonising, and more irreversible (for you could return to your home) and that is the experience of knowing, not that you are leaving your country, but that your country is leaving you, is ceasing to exist under your very feet, being sucked away from you as it were by a consuming, swallowing wind, into the hands and the possession of another country and civilisation.”

(Welsh philosopher J.R. Jones, as quoted in Billy Kay’s The Mither Tongue)

link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com

• Hatey McHateface says:

Is that a new boy then (Said)? I don’t recall you mentioning him before.

Interesting that the “experience equally agonising” to that of “leaving the soil of your native country forever” should be so trivial, then. Millions of immigrants leave the soil of their native countries forever every year.

They seem to thrive on it. There’s certainly no sign of their numbers decreasing – quite the contrary.

I’d give that other new boyo (Jones) a miss in future, Alf. He’s obviously talking mince.

36. Mark Beggan says:

They just can’t help themselves. Media spill on women politicians unable to balance work with motherhood.
    The dwarf is doing a runner! Three years too late mama!
    Look everyone there’s a baby squirrel!

37. christine says:

Yes, I’ve heard it all before from this troika of victim feminists. I guess there’s nothing else going on for these journalists to report? Or are they nodding dogs who have learned the script?

Check out Dr Stuart Waiton, senior lecturer in sociology and criminology, journalist and campaigner, in his article The Crisis of Culture. He referred to a piece of research carried out by a victim feminist from “ Everyone’s Invited “. What amounts to a kind of #MeToo for children report which argues that rape culture exists in all of our schools. She talks about misogynistic 3 year olds, kids just out of nappies!. He goes on to say that the horror about misogyny ( the modern panic of our time ) has less to do with the reality of relationships or the rape consciousness of infants, but reflects a deep-seated horror about the potential strength and capacity of especially working-class men and boys, the muscular masses who still do not think or feel in the same way as the “ feminised “ elites.

The medium of modern day androgynous art ( i.e. the male form is pathetic ) is indicative of the feminist narrative which aims to demascluinize the perception of sexuality and so create a new culture of sexuality and demand that we reject and stamp out the very idea of “ virility “

Michaelangelo’s male nudes were revolutionary in their time, showcasing the exceptional beauty, anatomical accuracy and expressive power of the human form in ways previously unseen in Western art. My final thought is of the man-hating Sturgeon imploding in the presence of his masterpiece , The Statue of David, a 17 foot pure white marble statue, in the Accademia Gallery in Florence!

• George Ferguson says:

@Christine
      Yes and the said troika would reinstate the 16th Century fig leaf that so damaged the original work of art. David cut from a single block of marble was an unbelievable achievement.

• Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

Christine, thank you for your comment (5 Aug, 6.37 pm).

It brought to mind this powerful extract from an interview with CAMILLE PAGLIA in 2016:

‘THIS HAS HAPPENED BEFORE: Transgender Mania is Sign of Cultural Collapse’:

youtu.be/I8BRdwgPChQ?si=7X74BjOBWEmmFFmF

• Young Lochinvar says:

“Feminisation” of society..

Hit the nail on the head there Christine, well said and bravo risking the bull d1ke backlash.

SHE who shall not be named and her dyke landlord will not be best pleased though..

Hurty feelz and all that eh..

38. agent x says:

Is there anything more boring and irrelevant than watching interviews with other people’s children getting exam results.

“Look at my face, is my face bovvered?”

39. agent x says:

“When Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs) leave office, they are entitled to a leaving payment to help them adjust to non-parliamentary life. This is calculated based on a percentage of their annual salary, one month’s salary for each complete year of service (up to a maximum of 12 years)”
    ——————————————–

Kate Forbes is very privileged to get that (first £30k tax free).
    Very few women can resign at age 35 and get that in “normal” life!

40. agent x says:

During the leadership debate it was only Forbes that said something sensible about independence.

Something along the lines of – we have to convince more “no” voters to vote “yes”.

It was so bloody obvious but nobody else said it and nobody else since then has said it.

It is not the core independence voters that people have to convince i.e. Wings members – it is the “no” voters like me that need convincing.

SNP performance over their term in Scottish Government has done nothing to change my mind. Their numerous “Independence Papers” were rubbish.

“Building a New Scotland” laugh at them here:
    link to gov.scot

• Alf Baird says:

“it is the “no” voters like me that need convincing.”

In a colonial society, rejecting the liberation of one’s own group tends to reflect a colonial mindset:

link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com

• Hatey McHateface says:

Don’t be too hard on agent x.

He might be living in fear and never-ending abuse. Perhaps he’s been enslaved. If that’s the case, one wrong word and he’ll be sold into the mines, where he’ll be worked to death, and never be heard from again.

Fa’s Northcode at these days onywise?

• agent x says:

@Alf Baird says:

I can assure you that nothing you have ever said has convinced me to change my no vote to yes.

It doesn’t matter how many links you provide to various websites.

• Aidan says:

Craig Murray is in the National this morning (who are bravely flouting the D Notice I see). So when can we expect the ambassador to some despotic country to formally agree to take on the case? Do you think that the headline “President Vlad and the Taliban to back Scottish Independence” will be helpful to unionism or nationalism?

Of course the reality of it is as we all know, like the death penalty, enjoying broad and popular support but off the political agenda.

• Hatey McHateface says:

@ Aidan says: 6 August, 2025 at 8:02 am

Would that be the same Craig Murray who has supported the Humous boys from Day 1?

At least we can see what kind of governance he has in mind for an Independent Scotland. One where our glorious leaders will sacrifice hundreds of thousands of us in pursuit of their ideological goals and the preservation of their own yellow hides.

But mostly the yellow hide preservation bit, natch.

• Dan says:

@ Aidan says:
        So when can we expect the ambassador to some despotic country to formally agree to take on the case? Do you think that the headline “President Vlad and the Taliban to back Scottish Independence” will be helpful to unionism or nationalism?

Maybe Syria’s new leaders could… I mean, it’s amazing what a wash and a shave can do to the metrics of being considered acceptable.

Maybe L’Oréal and Gillette should get into regime change.

• Dan says:

@ Hatey John Main

That will be the same Craig Murray that got stitched up and did time for shining a light on the corrupt shenanigans of the UK State re. Alex Salmond.
        The lad’s done more to enlighten folk on a number of matters than your endless witterings.
        It’s unlikely anybody will ever align completely with the views of others, so folk really need to learn that compromise is a trait that is required to move things forward and give up the binary like hate extremes so often found on t’internet.

A self-governing Scotland will determine its own immigration policy that best suits our needs, so stop trying to state it will be what you suggest Craig Murray thinks it should be.

• Aidan says:

This is why we can’t have nice things.

I don’t think anyone thinks that the new ruler of Syria is the ideal person we would like to see in charge of the country, but the country has been in a brutal civil war for over a decade and he seems at least willing to engage with the west and to work towards returning Syria to a functioning state. Do we therefore try to work with him on that, or do we decide that because of the things he’s done in the past we won’t engage in any way with any potential efforts at all, even if that means Syria stay as it is for the next 30 years.

That doesn’t mean that all forms of murder and terrorism are now perfectly acceptable, it’s just a recognition that we have to work practically within the circumstances as they exist. I can’t imagine the (lack of thinking) that says that working practically within bad people to restore a country somehow means it’s acceptable for a political campaign to freely associate itself with dictators and despots worldwide.

• Hatey McHateface says:

@ Aidan says: 6 August, 2025 at 8:02 am

“Do you think that the headline “President Vlad and the Taliban to back Scottish Independence” will be helpful to unionism or nationalism?”

Tough question, Aidan. Here on Wings BTL, cheerleading and support for Vlad is more or less the default.

As is support for the co-religionists of the Taliban. Oppress women, deny them rights and education, get the state to kill any daft lassies that get chippy.

And after you’ve raped a lassie you can get your own hands on, slice her to pieces with your knife.

That’s the kind of people the usual suspects back. That’s the kind of Independent Scotland they presumably want to see.

As I said, you’ve posed a tough question 🙂

• Aidan says:

@Hatey – of course, and this coming from Craig Murray’s blog, someone who is very closely aligned to the country ruled by Uncle Vlad, very happy to echo their talking points and who acts in a way that would suggest he receives forms of assistance from that country. I’m intrigued to see what positive evidence he might have, for example, for his claim that the U.K. Government was behind the Salisbury poisonings.

I also note two of the most prolific offenders have strangely disappeared around the time that a major strike took place on a country (of which Craig Murray appears to be fond of) in the Middle East.

Ultimately, I think the best way to answer this question is as follows: If Craig Murray were to find a country willing to support Liberate’s mad and hopeless folly at the UN, and it is a country of the type that I say it will be, will it be covered more by the unionist media or by the pro-Indy media? Who will be making statements “demanding answers” and who will be out looking sheepish trying to explain?

• James says:

There are none so blind as those who will not see.

If, after everything published on this site, and everything that has been done to (and stolen from) Scotland by successive ‘UK’ governments -even since 2014- you are still a “no” voter and need ‘convinced’ then, I’m sorry but you are beyond help.

Maybe you need sectioned?

• twathater says:

TBQH James I think agent shitehawk is well past convincing, he aligns himself with the other Scotland Hating drones who convince themselves that engerland loves them and they want to be engerlish, little realising that they despise them and belittle them at every opporchancity

• Alf Baird says:

On the matter of ‘dependency complex’ in colonial societies, Cesaire wrote:

(It is) “as clear as day that colonization is based on psychology, that there are in this world groups of men who, for unknown reasons, suffer from what must be called a dependency complex, that these groups are psychologically made for dependence; that they need dependence, that they crave it, ask for it, demand it; that this is the case with most of the colonized peoples..”

And in this process such groups align with the values of the colonizer and “sacrifice their own native group and culture”.

• Hatey McHateface says:

@ Alf Baird says: 6 August, 2025 at 10:20 am

“(It is) as clear as day that colonization is based on psychology”

Zat so, Alf? Then you need to have a word with those posters who are adamant it’s based on theft, democratic deficit, and (checks notes) living in fear and slavery.

Get everybody singing from the same hymn sheet.

And forget this Scots nonsense. You’re never going to build an Indy majority by telling decent, rational, ordinary Scots they will all have to use a language they can neither speak, read nor write.

Wars have been and are being fought over less.

41. George Ferguson says:

There was a couple of stories today that missed the attention of the discerning Independence supporter. The first being the Marks and Spencer story. We go there all the time and are reconsidering our expenditure there as a result. A 6 foot 2 trans male doesn’t get to tell a 14 year old girl what her first bra should be. The Capture is still in full view. The second story is the unfettered access to the MSM that minority celebrities/communities have on tap. We will leave that there. Or I will be arrested!

• Hatey McHateface says:

“The Capture is still in full view”

Here’s an article confirming this:

link to unherd.com

And a quote:

“In the three and a half months since the Supreme Court ruling, it has become apparent that many politicians and activists are simply refusing to accept it”

It’s frankly baffling that some of our Scottish Indy politicians are treating the gender woowoo SC ruling as advisory, whilst strictly adhering to the Indy Referendum SC ruling.

One can only conclude they’re more afraid of one angry 6 foot 2 tranny than they are of hundreds of thousands of Scottish Indy supporters.

• George Ferguson says:

@Hatey McHateface
        Why do think Kate Forbes has left? The SNP strategy was also to muddy the legal waters. Unfortunately for them it was a clear Supreme Court ruling. I can’t say too much about the Sandy Peggie case as my son is an A and E Doctor at said hospital. Leaves on September 1st. I want to leave with him. All attempts at gaining an Independent MSP status have been abandoned. I don’t want to spend £120k to lose my deposit. All opinions polls agree none of the Independent Candidates are beyond 1% polling. 70 MSPs coalition 5 beyond a majority for the SNP/Greens. More social engineering and less real engineering coming up. So that’s more of the crap they have delivered in the last 10 years.The SNP manifesto will be the eye opener.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Sorry to hear you are not pursuing the Independent MSP plan, George.

As for Forbes. I won’t be surprised if she quickly passes through a revolving door into some kind of freeports consultancy role.

Because that’s what ex-politicians do – leverage their knowledge and contacts for profit in the private sector.

• James says:

Oh look, “Aidan” is a fan of the death penalty, who knew? Watch out, DailyMailBoy, your True Tory is showing.

Meanwhile over at Craig Murray’s site; “…I am thrilled by the potentially transformative effect of the public actually getting to hear left-wing arguments [via Jeremy Corbyn]. This is how Corbyn, even handicapped by the conservative baggage of the Labour Party establishment, managed to get a far higher vote in two general elections than Keir Starmer achieved in his. The Scottish Independence referendum showed the same effect. Despite massive media bias, the public did actually still get a chance to hear the arguments for Independence that had been kept from them. The result was a step change in support for Independence of 15% or more, which has never been lost since.
        We know that re-nationalisation of utilities, better public services and taxation of the wealthy are popular. When Corbyn led Labour, there was a brief opportunity to vote for those policies with a realistic chance of success, and millions of people took.”

Oh dear, at least three Moan Drones will be choking on their empire biscuits reading dangerous stuff like this….cancel all leave!

• Aidan says:

It’s funny because I don’t remember saying at all that I was a fan of the death penalty. I thought I didn’t support it but obviously you know more about it than me.

That, from Craig Murray’s site, is quite frankly bonkers. I do not know how you can look back at British Politics for the last 100+ years and say that ideas and politicians have greater success electorally outside of the two main parties than within it. When Corbyn was in the Labour Party he benefited from significant funding including short money, access to a huge range of media both for himself and his MP’s, infrastructure including a local party in almost every constituency, and an existing loyal voter base many for whom voting Labour is a family tradition. The new Jezbollah party benefits from none of those things.

We can rehearse the reasons why Labour lost in 17 and 19, but people believing that Labour was too conservative on issues like public ownership of utilities and tax levels is certainly not one of them. If it were, why would those voters instead chose May/Boris instead?

It’s typical unserious left wing bubble thinking that everyone basically wants and prioritises things aligned to left wing intellectual debates (e.g. public ownership) and the only reason they go on about things like immigration is because they’ve been brainwashed by the newspapers. Amazingly, in a democracy, telling prospective voters that they’re too stupid to know what they want, so we’ll tell you and you can vote for us so you can get what we tell you what you want, doesn’t yield results. That’s one of many reasons Jezbollah is going to fail.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“We know that re-nationalisation of utilities, better public services and taxation of the wealthy are popular”

We didn’t know that the rape, torture, mutilation and murder of innocent teenage lassies are popular, but we’re learning.

Beats me how the half of the population that’s female can be gung-ho for this, but perhaps they’re still in denial.

The keffiyah-wearing trans women and dykes, along with the yellow, tunnel-skulking scum and their fellow religionists all have one thing in common – they believe normal, ordinary Scottish women and girls to be second-class chattels and playthings. Normal, ordinary Scottish women and girls really do need to wake the fuck up.

• Hatey McHateface says:

@ Aidan says: 6 August, 2025 at 1:33 pm

“It’s funny because I don’t remember saying at all that I was a fan of the death penalty”

It’s funny the support on Wings BTL for the death-dealing, medieval theocracy of Ir@n.

Even in “good” times, they like to drag lassies off the street for showing hair or being cheeky. The parents often get the beaten and tortured corpse dropped back on their doorstep after a few days.

Recently though, after the Yanks cut them a new one, the Ir@nians have gone into overdrive – killing several political prisoners, suspected spies, and supposed opponents of the regime every day.

But hey, on Wings BTL, that’s just fine and dandy.

• James says:

“Aidan” “…I’m intrigued to see what positive evidence he might have, for example, for his claim that the U.K. Government was behind the Salisbury poisonings…”

So, as suspected you are, as a great writer once said, either a liar or a fool, and only you can tell us which it is. Or maybe you’re both…..

You and Main spooning again? You two atlantacist warmongering c*nts are well suited.

42. George Ferguson says:

@Hatey McHateface 11.09pm
    I can’t make the numbers work. ROI is nought. Policies don’t matter. The Bills that the new SNP/Green coalition will promote are horrendous for a white indegenous males. Leave is the answer.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“The Capture is still in full view”

Here’s another article confirming this:

link to unherd.com

It’s a long read but worth it.

Obviously, such a terrible and tragic state of affairs could never happen here in Scotland 🙂

43. twathater says:

If anyone is interested in WHO owns Scotland this is a very interesting article and post from Henry Ferguson of (Scotland Decides) website and Respect Scotland Sovereignty

link to scotlanddecides.org

44. TURABDIN says:

Picking up a theme above,

IT WILL BE CIRCUMSTANCES, that change minds on Scotland’s future not politicians argumentation, arguments from that source generally go over the heads of most. The SNP has had decades to make the so called case for ending the UK arrangement and has lamentably failed to convince, a different perspective on the matter is needed.

The world thanks to new technology, in particular that of machine intelligence aka AI is not one to be clueless or rudderless in. The new tech has the potential to be enslaving, a new species of anglo-american colonialism or a force for genuine liberation all depending on its masters, its «training» and its application. Scotland needs people in politics, not necessarily «politicians», with the nous to grasp that intellectual nettle. So far there is little sign of that.

A lighter Scotland, one that has discarded the historic heavy and antique baggage of Britishness, which for some perverse reason even nationalists use as a comfort blanket, ought with the benefit of skilled helmsmen possessed of a modern chart setting out the future route to be swift and able to cope with what that world might dish up and also be capable of changing course should the need arise. The larger entity of which Scotland is a «region» is currently without either a skilled helmsmen, a rudder or a chart and increasingly seems dragged behind whoever deigns to throw it a lifeline.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“The new tech has the potential to be enslaving”

Aw naw. Nae again.

According to Professor Baird, Northcode and others, we’re already enslaved.

Does anybody ken the fable aboot the boy who cried “Wolf”? Anybody? Anybody at all?

• James says:

Does anybody ken the fable aboot the c*nt who cried “naw”? Anybody? Anybody at all?

• TURABDIN says:

E.M.FORSTER in the dystopian sci fi short story The Machine Stops describes a tech led and dependent society not so dissimilar to our own: Alex, get me a pizza? Galaxy Health, how am I feeling today? AI, sing me a lullaby?
        Machine intelligence is super clever but prefer not to have it watching over me 24/7 as a bosom buddy with ideas of its own, or even worse, those of someone else.

• Hatey McHateface says:

@ James says: 6 August, 2025 at 12:13 pm

“Does anybody ken the fable aboot the c*nt who cried “naw”? Anybody? Anybody at all?”

Never heard of it. If you can type it all one-handed, please enlighten us.

45. James Cheyne says:

Alf Baird.

Yesterday I never got time to respond to your comment, I am still extremely busy, changing from the life I knew in the recent past to a new start,
    In a sense it has echos of what you were saying, albeit on a smaller scale, but that sense of loss from the home and homeland you once knew to the unknown country or part of country can be felt,

I am divesting myself of everything I once knew and everything that was fimiliar.
    I know that although it is possible to return to view that property the as an outsider looking in in the future it is only memories, that life experience was severed,

And I wonder if Scots that have had to leave their homeland under pressures and threats in the past do not return in future years due to the last fond memories being so traumatically interrupted by that awful sadness.

I can only glimpse a small experience today at what Colonialism must have destroyed on a larger scale, done to families, neighbours, friends and to an individuals.
    It dissected language and fimiliar cultures, and today I see many people around the world holding on to the happier memories of who they once were as people and communities. But avoiding celebrating the memory of how they or their families came to be in that foreign Country.
    There is a gap left open between the old life that was forced to end and the restart of a new life.

• Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

@ James Cheyne, 6 Aug, 12:35 pm

Snatch of a Derick Thomson poem:

Air mo ghiulan ann an cearcall
      gu iomall eolais
      tha mi nis a’ bualadh
      anns a’ bhalla
      às na thuit
      a’ chlach
      bhon dàinig an cearcall.

Carried in a circle
      to the perimeter of knowledge
      I now strike against
      the wall
      from which the stone
      fell
      that started the circle.

(Verse 7 of AN TOBAR / THE WELL)

CREACHADH NA CLÀRSAICH / PLUNDERING THE HARP
      Ruaraidh MacThòmais / Derick Thomson
      Collected Poems 1940-1980
      Macdonald Publishers, Edinburgh, 1982.

46. Ian Smith says:

I’d almost forgotten the golden era of Scottish politics when all three main parties were ran by lesbians.

Whae’s like us?

47. James Cheyne says:

On a entirely different note, It has not passed my personal observations that finances are funnelling out of the UK for every reason provided under the sun, at a faster rate than previously records,
    I am not surprised that people claim we are bankrupt Britain.

I hope one day that our governance will eventually stop selling Englands Britain the way Scotland was sold by people whom did not hold the title deeds.
    If it continues Scots will be independent by default of that governance, which is not a bad thing for us Scots,
    If England has lost its common sense. and its Country.

48. James Cheyne says:

TURABDIN,

Politics of Britain have always dragged Scotland behind,
    But when needed is positioned at the front of politics and finances,

Being dragged behind or switched around when required or not for a moment in time as an extra add on asset seems to have been Scotlands fate for many a decade,
    And although history cannot be forgotten, it is indeed wiser for Scotland and Scots to use modern ways to move forward, AI can only assist to a certain degree,
    AI also throws up some stupid information sometimes and is only as reliable as those providing the informational input or as good as any hacker can alter it,
    AI in its stages at the moment with the help of the blob deletes and controls.

People are the first AI on the planet, and it is people we need as leaders. AI must remain as a assistant in the background, and never lead the people.
    Scotland needs to change how it thinks and how it reacts, I agree, because for hundreds of years it has lived as a reactionary Country to England and never took its own initiative to lead. To take or make a decision,

It accepts what is thrown its way, wether that be centuries of propaganda or so called Scots laws by a extended parliament from Englands crown resting in Westminster.

This last month all of us can experience how AI in the wrong hands can be used to shut down freedom of speech, it is also able to decide wether you have access to your finances as the truckers in Canada experienced, when you step out of line.
    It can be used in a points system for housing, food, energy travel, etc,
    No Country should allow AI to lead the way forward for all it takes is a control freak or a tyrannical leader to gain control over populations in less than 24hours, by pressing a delete button if protest on any subject not in keeping with their ideology way of thinking.

Perhaps some things do need changing and other don’t but people must be selective and wise to all the future ramifications in the way they choose to go forward to ensure they do not restrict their own freedoms and lives by lack of fore thought.
    Frying pan to fire is never the right decision.

49. James Cheyne says:

Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh.

Thanks you for those best wishes,

The art of words that can turn thought and emotions to pictures.and return them back to emotions and deeper thoughts.

Appropriate poem, thank you,

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,846 Posts, 1,231,745 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: ““So upon the destruction of the SNP we need to immediately get behind the idea of Liberate Scotland” [SIGH] Which…Dec 5, 11:02
    • Mark Beggan on The cost of failure: “Grooming gangs debate today. Will Constance resign?Dec 5, 10:51
    • 100%Yes on The cost of failure: “If our so called leader was a true Independence support he wouldn’t have sacrificed these 39 MPs at last years…Dec 5, 10:34
    • 100%Yes on The cost of failure: “The National Says “Labour unwilling to support Scottish industry, John Swinney says”. Here is a prime example of what I…Dec 5, 09:45
    • Mark Beggan on The cost of failure: “The porn ban is having a positive effect on society. My eyesight has improved immensely. James watches the porn movie…Dec 5, 09:41
    • Aidan on Ginger beer and fruit and nuts: “Tell us more about these FIGHTERS for independence.Dec 5, 09:29
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “The times they are a-changing, Cynicus. What you state is rapidly becoming irrelevant. Plenty of ordinary Scots are of the…Dec 5, 07:50
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “See fit ye’ve done noo, Mark? Ye’ve goat James hame frae the pub, an reaching for his sock. Hope the…Dec 5, 07:37
    • twathater on Ginger beer and fruit and nuts: “@ JCD If you want independence for Scotland and there is a candidate from Liberate Scotland standing in your constituency…Dec 5, 03:20
    • Cynicus on The cost of failure: “Hatey McHateface says: 4 December, 2025 at 8:26 pm “To be fair to El-Nakla, they don’t have high buildings where…Dec 5, 01:32
    • James on The cost of failure: ““What a pair of w*nkers”.Dec 5, 00:30
    • James on The cost of failure: ““Prick”.Dec 5, 00:26
    • Mark Beggan on The cost of failure: ““take the Northern Isles” no thanks. They’re fine where they are. “When not if..” In the name of the wee…Dec 4, 22:59
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: ““Independence will never happen” Ah, c’moan noo, Mark. Never is a very long time. When, not if, independence happens, it…Dec 4, 22:40
    • Mark Beggan on The cost of failure: “As the BBC always like to say ‘This is what we know so far .’ Independence will never happen. The…Dec 4, 21:24
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “To be fair to El-Nakla, they don’t have high buildings where he hails from. He wouldn’t have been aware of…Dec 4, 20:26
    • Peter McAvoy on The cost of failure: “On reporting Scotland tonight the report showing John Swinney speaking he called Nigel Farage racist,has he forgotten Humza Youseff’s white,white…Dec 4, 20:02
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “It’s your craven fear of the “resident multi ID troll” reading here that stops you from writing the faintest outline…Dec 4, 20:02
    • Mark Beggan on The cost of failure: “In Scotland even the government’s on Benefits.Dec 4, 19:53
    • Mark Beggan on The cost of failure: “‘The public wants what the public gets’. Soar Giro!Dec 4, 19:50
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: ““We must spend the next 6 months showing people the truth and showing them the way to get what we…Dec 4, 19:49
    • agentx on The cost of failure: ““Holyrood demands answers over Humza Yousaf and Aamer Anwar friendship as lawyer nets ‘significant public funds’ through public inquiries The…Dec 4, 19:47
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: ““it will take significant time for any initiative to grow and garner decent levels of support” Oh aye, Dan. If…Dec 4, 19:41
    • agentx on The cost of failure: ““Humza Yousaf’s brother-in-law goes on trial over ‘extortion and dealing heroin and cocaine’ Ramsay El Nakla, 37, is on trial…Dec 4, 19:40
    • Aidan on The cost of failure: “@Dan- why don’t you just state outright what you think rather than setting up these metaphors? I think you seem…Dec 4, 19:35
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “You’ll still have some popcorn from last time! Hark at me. “Some” popcorn. You’ll still have every last kernel of…Dec 4, 19:29
    • sarah on The cost of failure: “@ 100%Yes at 4.46: very well said and spot on. It is the SNP “leadership” that has blocked our escape…Dec 4, 19:26
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “Money grubbing bastards! They already get well paid for working from 0900 to 1700, with an hour off for lunch.Dec 4, 19:26
    • Dan on The cost of failure: “And recent blow in Aidan enters the chat. Of course, Liberate like other initiatives before hasn’t reached significant levels of…Dec 4, 19:24
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “Dan puts me right, again. Who knew that on Wings BTL, to describe somebody as a “gurning, wee, talent-free wifie”…Dec 4, 19:22