Sometimes it’s just a spade

Posted on June 13, 2015 by

On the day Jim Murphy stands down as leader of the Labour Party North Britain branch office, we’d like to take this opportunity to offer our humble, heartfelt tribute to both him and the insightful political commentariat of Scotland.

imjm

schofieldmurphy

nelsonmurphy

farqmurphy

cochranemurphy

whitemurphy

forsytthmurphy

mussonmurphy

deerinmurphy

mccaffertymurphy

rodenmurphy

smithsonmurphy

Sometimes, guys, when people appear to be laughing like they can’t believe their luck, they actually ARE just laughing because they can’t believe their luck.

jonesmurphy0

4 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 13 06 15 22:20

Sometimes it’s just a spade | Speymouth

2. 14 06 15 11:30

Sometimes it's just a spade | Politics Scotland...

3. 04 08 15 01:22

Totally Radical Dudes | A Wilderness of Peace

4. 23 07 19 10:59

Natural Enemies | A Wilderness of Peace

185 to “Sometimes it’s just a spade”

1. malcb13

Hahahahahahahaha!!
    Nice one Rev.
    Hahahahahahahaha!!

2. desimond

Just as im watching Hannibal episode where guy says “He left us a broken heart!”

Seems kinda apt for commentators above

3. Anne Bruce

Tee! Hee!

4. Clootie

😀 snigger. I know childish….but oh so pleasing to look back at the comments of the unionist right wing supporters of Murphy.

5. Brotyboy

Deep joy.

6. Croompenstein

Actually felt more sympathy for Jim taking on the poison chalice. We all knew it but he didn’t and neither did all the unionist zoomstations cited above. Bye Jim we’d like to say we’d miss you but we’d miss midges more..

7. Swami Backverandah

Jim was so effective for the UK Tory win, Lin Ton must have been behind his election as SLAB Branch manager.
    Of course, some will bleat that Scottish Labour seats wouldn’t have been enough to swing it for Ed anyway, but they conveniently forget the indecent haste with which UK’s SLAB Labour rushed to condemn Sturgeon at the leak of the civil service memo.

Played right into Tory hands, they did.
    Nice one, Jim.

8. W Muir

I am going to miss Jim, I have never had so much fun watching the most enthralling train wreck of a campaign.

9. Alan McHarg

I take it non of these guys are lottery winners!

10. galamcennalath

The GE result shows Murphy was definitely the best man for the job. The job in hand being the annihilation of Unionist representation from Scotland.

Somehow I don’t quite think the Labour commentariat above saw it that way. Those of us in tune with the real world were rather pleased by his appointment, I seem to remember.

In fairness to the guy, he did have a huge task in hand! However he probably actually made matters worse for Labour.

11. Doug Daniel

And they’re going to do it all over again with Kezia. Although admittedly, she’s not quite in the same league as Jim.

I love that there are STILL journos insisting that Jim is a great talent, as if it was voters who were wrong, not them.

12. Drsteinberg

Jim who? That spade just dug him one deep hole. Byeeeeeeeeeee!

13. Lucy

*snerk*

14. yesitis

My joy is coming in wave after wave after wave…

15. Betty Boop

Is that the entire membership of the Labour Party or just the ones who show their faces in public?

16. Ian Brotherhood

Some of us did try to give The Murph a wee sort of gentle hint, day after he announced he would accept the leadership (after weeks of as-yet-to-be-explained vacillation) when he was en route to a £250 per-skull Labour Gala Dinner in Glasgow.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LQjI4ihRCY8

17. gordon

What a collection,well done stuart ,happy days,going to make them all into a nice wallpaper

18. Moreida Lord

This is a brilliant trip down memory lane. My sides are sore. Thank you for the laugh ????????????

19. Tom MacGregor

Can liebour not re-elect jim morphy please pretty please

20. Muscleguy

Oh frabjous day!
    Callooh, callay!

21. Gaavster

Bang on Stu

It’s unbelievable, in this technological day and age, we still we have those in our country who hang onto every word the collection iron of muppets utter…

22. Croompenstein

Daisley…oh Daisley..

http://news.stv.tv/scotland-decides/analysis/1322899-analysis-stephen-daisley-on-jim-murphy-and-scottish-labour-reform/

Of these changes, the most important in the short term is the decision to reopen the regional lists. This gives the best and brightest of the defeated MP crop an opening to stand for the Scottish Parliament in 2016. There are some good MSPs on the Holyrood benches but at least as many seat-warmers and time-servers. Labour can be a right sentimental bunch at times but there’s no place for pity in drawing up the new lists. Former MPs like Gregg McClymont, Gemma Doyle, and Tom Greatrex are real talents; May 7 should not be allowed to mark their exit from parliamentary politics

Eh Please no we just got fuckin rid of them..sheesh..

good news for the party, which still has almost 400 councillors and a number of rising stars amongst them

Pity we have to wait till 2017 to get shot of them..

This is a reform the UK party would do well to follow for it would weaken the grip the likes of Len McCluskey enjoy on Labour

If it wasn’t for the likes of Len McLuskey there wouldn’t be a Labour Party but then again there is no longer a Labour Party

23. Moreida Lord

This is a brilliant trip down memory lane. My sides are sore. Thanks for the laughs ????????????

24. Mosstrooper

Do all the above political pundits have jobs with the OBR?

25. Salt Ire

Watershed swipe at the unionist press in Scotland. Iain Martin referred to Yes/SNP/Pro-Indies as *you lot* in a weak retaliatory tweet. They’re haggard, getting cramp; they shoot racehorses don’t they?

26. broonpot

The numpties seem incapable of learning any lessons from their recent “experiences” so I am considering placing a small amount of money on Kezia being the next incumbent

To improve my chances can someone please ask Alex and Nicola to make statements about her suitability (in the usual manner) so we can have a repeat performance.

27. Chitterinlicht

Absolutely brilliant.
    Ha
    Ha
    Ha

Any of these wise men owned up to being completely wrong?

28. frogesque

One member, one vote should be interesting. Simple arithmetic (something SLAB aren’t very competent at) should easily provide an accurate figure to compare SLABs membership with that of the SNP.

Go Jim, begone. Thanks for the laughs along the way but don’t be buying a return ticket. The train left and you’ll be walking the tracks.

29. Bill Fraser

Well you certainly dug them all out.How wrong they all were.

30. Finnz

Perhaps Labour will now select Kezia as leader, just to keep the momentum going… Downhill

31. Seepy

Sometimes, a spade is something you dig a grave with

32. Ken MacColl

It is a good job that none of those comments can be attributed to serious political commentators writing for reputable publications.
    Once again the Rev delivers the goods.
    This doesn’t mean that OBR forecasts are wrong, does it?

33. Joe

It just goes to show you how little journalists really know.

34. george

have you decided whether you’re going to run for SLab leader yet?

35. Bob Mack

This typifies Labours problem.These are the people who seem to think they are expert and knowledgable and influence Party policy. They did not get that right either.
    Long may they have influence in the same plces

36. manandboy

Excellent Stu. Thank you for your talents and hard work.

From Iain Martin to Ian Jones, thirteen men who believe that if you pour gravy on a piece of cardboard, you can call it a steak.

37. John Young

On the BBC Lottery Show tonight.
    The task: name any capital city with more than 7 letters in it’s name.
    The couple won naming sufficient cities some very difficult.
    I kept saying to the screen “Say Edinburgh, say Edinburgh”

After they won,all the other capital cities with more than 7 letters were shown.

Edinburgh was NOT among them.

F*** the BBC.

38. Mike Annis

If it quacks like a lame duck and walks like a lame duck it’s Jim Murphy.

39. dakk

Nice collage Stuart,you do have a vengeful streak in you,but I like it.

These commentators you highlighted and all the other unionist sycophants are either poor judges of character or as thick as shit,or both if they thought Jim Murphy had the integrity and gravitas to resonate with voters.

It is very gratifying to see these types humiliated in such as public way.You are doing a sterling job in exposing their uselessness,and continuing to destroy their influence.

Keep dealin em out

40. Scott Borthwick

To paraphrase Jim Hacker, “When a party is going downhill, it is time for someone to get into the driving seat, and put his foot on the accelerator.”

Kezia next, please.

41. David Agnew

sometimes its hard not to laugh.

He was always the wrong choice. The people he chose to manage his campaign was the wrong choice. As for the media – what else could they do? They had to polish that massive turd they were left holding after the indyref, how could they not? But by doing so they have made themselves look as utterly ridiculous as Murphy did to himself and labour in Scotland.

42. heedtracker

What’s a “Titanic swing”? Maybe he had a vision, and the only survivor would be that twerp Murray bobbing about on the surface in his union jack life jacket, because he completely ditched any and all reference to Labour in his own very nasty campaign. Funny that.

43. Ian Brotherhood

How did The Murphoid make his exit?

Did he do it in front of anyone?

Does any footage exist?

Was it just a press release?

In any event, where is he?

When and where was he last spotted?

The Scottish electorate cannot afford to lose such a champion of democracy – no matter what differences some of us may have with such heroes, we demand answers!

‘We want Jim! We want Jim! etc…

(N.B. If no convincing data is supplied as a result of this plea, a Change.org petition, demanding reassurance as to the well-being of Jim Murphy, will be arranged in short-order.)

44. BigMac

Thanks Wings, this is wonderful. Being able to read all these comments as a piece of Scottish history. They did try to convince us but we resisted and they did get a lot of egg on face. Love it.

45. Roland Smith

Superb, you are worth every penny of your crowd funding, indeed why not consider at least paying yourself the welfare limit or even more. I get more value from you than any of the MSM outlets whose ability to analyse anything is zero.

46. Groue Beater

I was still in swaddling clothes when Wendy Alexander was elected as Labour Scottish Branch Manager, hailed as ‘an outstanding intellectual talent.” Or maybe that was her brother, or maybe it was the Alexander Brothers. Either way I couldn’t see an accordion anywhere between them.

Then again it might have been Lamont, McLeish, McLush or McLump, or yon John the Baptist to Donald Trump’s Messiah, one Union Jack McConnell; like traffic cones on a motorway they all look alike and all merge into one.

Ach, well. As Mark Twain said, “A cauliflower is just a cabbage with a college education”.

47. Cadogan Enright

It was utterly revolting BBC Scotland followed him and his 20 placard carriers around Scotland pretending he had an election campaign on a par with the SNP

Their failure to expose him and Labour was their death-knell in their current form

Keep boycotting the licence

48. Les wilson

The named ones are soo going to love seeing their mugs here.
    That is what they are of course mugs. Well done Stu!

49. Capella

A Titanic swing is an iceberg towards which the Labour ship steamed, oblivious to the disaster about to crash into it.

50. Dr Jim

Talented…Labour…

Two words you cant put together..Tal..Lab…Nah cant see it
    Your tongue gets stuck

51. One_Scot

Hilarious, it reads like a who’s who of absolute A-holes.

52. Croompenstein

@Ian – Here he is on STV report, same old blah blah blah

http://news.stv.tv/west-central/1322892-jim-murphy-resigns-as-scottish-labour-leader-executive-committee/

as a wee bonus here are the Chuckle Brothers or is it Dumb and Dumber fighting against the wind…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f6szyxG5TAA

53. Thepnr

There were very few if any here on Wings that did not forsee the unfolding disaster of electing a right wing Blairite when what Labour in Scotland needed most was someone of a left persuasion.

‘There are none so blind as those who will not see. The most deluded people are those who choose to ignore what they already know’.

Even now they are likely to elect Kezia Dugdale to lead the charge for 2016.

Private Frazer, if he was still around would be busy making the biggest coffin he had ever dreamed of.

Doomed! Doomed! I tell yeh!

54. Chic McGregor

In Kezia’s case, since she started as an adviser the Foulkes, is it not a matter of calling a spad a spade. 🙂

Hopefully she will continue digging that hole as enthusiastically as she has done in the past.

55. Dave McEwan Hill

You can’t produce good leaders if you don’t have a good cause.
    In Labour’s case all we have is the media promoting nonentities.

They haven’t wakened up to the fact that heavily promoting Murphy and his car crash of a campaign had the effect actually of destroying Murphy and seriously damaging whatever credibility the media still has in Scotland.

I wonder if Kezia will waken up before she goes down with the ship. Her previous mentor, the archetypal London Labour Scot ffffoulkes, may still be guiding her.

56. jimnarlene

Not exactly the Brahan Seer, were they?
    Bye Jim, and thanks for the best result Scotland has had in a GE, ever.

57. Paula Rose

Labour?

58. tombee

These individuals are deranged. Are they really the vehicle which aspires to prophesies the tendencies of the voting public. Or are they just deluding themselves ?. Now that Labour have lost 40 of their 41 seats in Scotland, can we now have an update ?. Their conception of democracy demands the answer to the question. What the fuck do they know ?.

59. Ian Brotherhood

Check out this guff:

A PR piece for the austerity-peddlers, already ‘out-there’ via Youtube.

That’s how gallus they really are! Actually!

It’s got the glitz, the music, the faces…

Anyone feel like ‘deconstructing’ this pish?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CEDfEzFl4k4

60. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Groue Beater.

As an aside, I’ve got to ask… Why did you dispense with the ‘s’ in ‘grouse’? According to Google, ‘Groue’ is an Afrikaans word but can offer no meaning.

We need to know these things…

Onnyhoo, Wendy Alexander was recently appointed as ‘Vice-Principal (International)’ at the University of Dundee.

http://www.dundee.ac.uk/news/2015/dundee-appoints-vice-principal-to-head-global-drive.php

61. Marcia

Sunday Herald front page;

http://t.co/HjsqYt2LSC

62. Cadogan Enright

No ‘tash on White back then.

Maybe White grew that ‘tash to try and hide his embarrassment about being SO wrong on Murphy and LIEbour.

But ‘tash too ashamed to put in a full appearance,

But he is still getting it embarrassingly wrong

63. jimnarlene

“Paula Rose says:

Labour?”

By best result I mean, Labour routed.

If it was my comment that was unclear. It’s late on Saturday and rum is involved.

64. Jim

Jim Murphy is by no means stupid, okay, he is stupid but only because he was so self delusional that he thought he was the man to save Labour in Scotland; I don’t think he ever intended to sit in Holyrood if he retained his seat in Westmonster.

What I think is that the delusional Jim thought he would be the Knight in shining armour that the Slab needed at that moment in time to combat the SNP surge in support then he would ride off into the sunset, Westminster seat in hand, job done, how did that work out for you Jim?

There is no light at the end of the tunnel for that party; Kezia Dugdale is not the answer either as she gets metaphorically slaughtered at ever First Ministers Questions, as did Wendy Alexander, Iain Gray and Johann Lamont before her.

Also, for those that only support the SNP because they are the means to an end, i.e, Independence and will return to supporting the scumbag Labour party in that event, I pity you most sincerely!

65. Capella

Let us thank the “insightful political commentariat” for reproducing Labour party press releases for our amusement. I think first prize must go to dear old Michael White whose snidery is surpassed only by his venomosity. Len McCluskey turned out to be a much quicker learner than the deputy editor of the Guardian.

66. Grouse Beater

For the most part, ludicrous apologists for Labour’s stupidity and rampant hubris put down their failure in Scotland to the SNP for manipulating the political scene in such as way that no matter Labour’s argument it always looked to be against Scotland and the people of Scotland.

So, a Labour branch that made plain its filial loyalty to all things Westminster, even when Westminster’s policies were obviously detrimental to Scotland’s health, were, apologists argue, somehow pushed into a corner by the SNP and misjudged by the electorate as anti-Scotland.

In other words, Labour did not commit suicide by its own ineptitude and blindness or its corruption. It was all but suffocated by the wicked machinations of nasty nationalists.

67. Thepnr

@Jim

I doubt any former Labour supporter will return anytime soon. They are all off to pastures new and like what they see.

Labour really is finished in Scotland, believe me.

68. calum

Hahhha,chortle, haha, guffaw, still laughing.

69. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

After long research and much thinking I believe I am now competent to “deconstruct” the content of that video.

Absolute Shite! Goodnight.

70. Iain More

Stop it, that is another rib popped.

71. Pog

O/T but just watched this video about fracking, part of the ‘fracking hell series’ on YouTube. Absolutely terrifying.
    youtu.be/63g9n_uqKnk

72. heedtracker

Old Jim’s getting a big send orf from the BBC r4 news creep show. Laura Bicker very solemn bleh on slow long big hitter Jim and he says no way is an indy SLabour party happening because they do so many good things together. Apologise/admit responsibility for their Gulf war health on earth might be a start.

Fcuk knows who or what r4 news gits think its got to do with them or their middle England gardeners question time, Archers, Scotch cringers like Jim Naughty, Eddie Maire fans.

Also even on radio Laura Bicker sounds like she’s sucking a SPANGLE.

73. Grouse Beater

Brian: I’ve got to ask…

Chuckle. Typing too fast without checking, twixt fine tuning an historical subject essay for impatient readers of my blog, and thinking of a midnight snack to keep me going. (Distracted, I once typed my full name but no one noticed. :))

Wendy Alexander was recently appointed as ‘Vice-Principal (International)’ at the University of Dundee.

Just as I thought Dundee was going up in the world with its proposed V & A gallery. Well, at least she’s not professor of Scottish Political History. I suppose she will be giving lectures on the ills of nationalism, and how McGonagall was really one who had a terrible grasp of the English language and scansion.

74. Ian Brotherhood

@Croompenstein (11.09) –

Cheers amuch – very satisfying wee piece of footage there.

Kind of like when you have to fetch up a bucket of water when the lavvy’s been kludged – you pour it in from a height, make sure there’s a proper swirl going, but you’re never quite sure, until it dies down, whether or not that last wee bit of jobby has definitely gone.

75. neil bruce

Jim Murphy is gone, that’s a shame.

He was a gift to us, Kezias next.
    Who will she blame?

What a surprise it’s the SNP.

Thank you Kezia. you’re next in line.

If you enjoy it. Fine.

76. cearc

I reckoned he only did the SLAB job to boost his public (BBC/MSM) profile ready to go for the ‘real’leadership after the GE.

The irony being that if he hadn’t been on the telly spouting pish day in day out he might have managed to hang on to his own seat.

77. Connor McEwen

I get the feeling there are more supporters of Dick Dastardly Cameron and Muttley Osborne {GIDDY} THAN WOULD WISH TO ADMIT.
    What else would explain those twits, sorry TWEETS

78. Sunniva

So he and his unemployed ex-MP cronies are going to try and get back in on the list next year? Is that Plan B? Open up the list to back Jim for FM at Holyrood?

79. mogabee

“The people in the know”..

..is a phrase you cannot attribute to these numpties. hehe!

80. mogabee

Maybe we should retweet these again.

Just ‘coz…

81. osakisushi

This gloating is quite unseemly. But bloody well deserved. The Martin and Schofield things perfectly illustrate “our” side gave even handed comments.

82. call me dave

Bye Jim…thanks for all the pish!

83. Thepnr

@osakisushi

Who was it again that was gloating on the 19th September? Wasn’t me, I’m happy to get a bit of my own back.

Those that feature in the tweets above are supposed to “shape our opinion” through their knowledge and superior intellect!

Fecking twats deserve to be gloated at.

84. geeo

Heedtracker asked what a “titanic swing” was…

I believe it describes HMS LABOUR going under in just a couple of hours in the early hours of May 9th

85. Lollysmum

I wondered what you were up to when I kept seeing those aged tweets on Twitter earlier.Now I get it. A wee reminder for your political friends & foes. What a simply spiffing idea Stuart 🙂

Thanks for the endless laughs we’ve had at the expense & antics of SLab’s gloriously effective leader. I’ve watched many political campaigns in my lifetime to date & have to say with all honesty that this is by far the worst I’ve ever seen & yet got the most enjoyment out of. Thank you for the privelege of allowing me along for the ride.

It’s been a brilliant 7 months culminating in the near destruction of Labour branch office & the election of 56 SNP MPs. Shame about the other 3 seats but hey we can’t always get what we want but this will do for starters. I look forward to the next campaign with heightened anticipation given the success of this one 🙂

Labour commentators were actually pretty useless as they didn’t have a clue from beginning to end. Well done Jim & Labour branch office-you showed yourselves to be the fools we thought you were 😉

86. Jimbo

Just goes to show that independence supporters have more political savvy when it comes to who’s a bad leader and who’s an even worse leader for Slab, and that they also have a better grasp of Scotland’s political landscape than the Unionist’s so-called political commentariat of Scotland.

All the Unionist political hacks have to offer is newspaper articles made up purely from wishful thinking on their part.

87. frankieboy

I read a story once where a journalist was desperate for money so he wrote a book about Levitation. He hadn’t a clue about it so just fabricated instructions and made an elaborate script. It sold well and the guy was pleased. However, he reported later that he was very disturbed by the letters he was receiving from people who had bought his book and had actually learned to levitate. He had succeeded in promoting a complete falsehood to the public but had never done it himself. All of the above are not unique and chances are they will either defend their opinion by claiming some sort of SNP plot that only a dose of LSD would help you make sense of, or they will appear on TV and when asked, lower their voices into a deep, authoritative tone and patronise the interviewer. Failing that, they will start selling magic wands on eBay.

88. Malcolm

I think Jim was gambling on a reasonable performance in Scotland (say retaining 20+ seats) and knowing Milliband would go down badly in England.
    Jim’s plan was always to oust his enemy (EM) and become leader of the opposition, heralding a return of Blairite policies.
    I don’t believe Jim ever had the slightest intention of serving a single day in Holyrood.

We Scots were, as ever, meant to be stupid little pawns in his game.

But, after his Irn Bru crate, eggophbic nonsense in the Referendum Jim had become a toxic brand in Scotland.
    And the rest, as they say, is history.

But he will be back. Because he still believes he was right and we voters were just too stupid to see it.

89. osakisushi

Thepnr 12.47

You made me realise I feel guilty if behaving the way “they” do. Quite odd. Does it mean “they” behave wrongly…

90. yesindyref2

LOL.

There were posters in the Herald crowing about how the SNP and us seps were scairt of Murphy, I didn’t disillusion them.

91. Michael McCabe

So Jims leaving the Stage. Thank god for that. Worst show I have ever seen. in fact. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=W4W1Mt9vLi8

92. Robert Peffers

Nothing succeeds like an idea whose time has come and nothing goes down so fast as an idea whose time has past years ago, (unless it is a boat with a hole in it).

93. ArtyHetty

Shouty abusive Jim was as far removed from anything resembling left wing or socialist, as could possibly be the case. A plant, in all senses of the word, gtf jim.

94. Dal Riata

Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha! What a rogue’s gallery that is!

Hi guys, if any of you gigantic UKOKs of Unionist propaganda masquerading as journalists have popped in to see what the fuss is about, may I just take a moment to send each and every one if you an enormously heartfelt… GIRFUY!

95. Paula Rose

O/T OMG I’ve rashly promised to reveal all if this

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/going-forward–2#/story

reaches it’s target, please do not put a tenner in.

96. Thepnr

Only 6 hours to go and £800 short yet. We can help them over the line. These fundraisers are proving to be a bit of a drain but I really feel this one is deserving of the support of us all.

Lend a hand if you can.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/going-forward–2#/story

97. frazer allan whyte

In the second last one he is described as a “credible alternative” first minister.

Credible? alternative? First minister?Murphy? “Does not compute.” I’m two continents away and listening to ONE (1) Murphy interview made me acutely – painfully – aware of how dangerous close proximity would be.

I think your Scottish political experts need to be subject to mandatory drug testing.

By the way – what function does he serve in this universe?

98. Grouse Beater

The same old story: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-1pt

99. Paula Rose

I’m worried £800 and those devils at Independencelive will have me over a barrel! Spare my blushes!

100. MoJo

I suspect that none of these deluded souls have mirrors in their houses….

101. Paula Rose

Please put a penny in Thistle’s hat – https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/going-forward–2#/story

102. Paula Rose

Spare me from ignominy do not donate to this https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/going-forward–2#/story I will be devastated if you do.

103. Thepnr

Some extremely generous person just gave Indy Live £500 well done you!

You know it makes sense. Cheers, next is Carmichael, people power in action. Good to see.

104. Paula Rose

I’ve promised to reveal all if this https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/going-forward–2#/story reaches it’s target – if you want to see the doyenne of wings in all her glory – donate now.

105. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

I can only hope it’s worth it.

106. j

I actually agree he was probably the best option. Just not a miracle worker.

They didnt really have anyone else. He still remains the best option.

107. Paula Rose

Thepnr honey – I sincerely hope that you did not contribute, I’m a wee bit mortified I thought I was going to give a talk about jam if they reached their target – but according to them I’ve promised to reveal all!!!

108. Paula Rose

Eek – the target was reached, and … oh no! I didn’t promise that, did I?

109. john king

Is anyone else getting this?
    on some posts words highlighted in blue and underlined, such as lottery and collage, hovering over them shows an ad by quicksharer, and when I went to use the down arrow I get redirected to another page.

not cool man.
    Have you sold space to advertisers Rev?

110. cearc

Not on mine, John.

111. John king

I think it’s a malware attack I’m using the iPad while the desktop is doing a system restore.

112. John king

Anyway, morning cearc. ????

113. John king

Why do comments show ?s when you use emoticons on an iPad?

114. Geoff Huijer

Says so much about them.

Anyone see the ‘papers review’ on SKY News
    just now? Unbelievable. ‘Scotland’s tourism down
    coz we’re anti-English & Nats bad = Mone, Rowling,
    Kennedy all getting a mention.’

So, the propaganda continues…

115. John king

@Paula Rose

You can keep your hat on.
    and mibbe those sharp stilettos you walked all over me with!

116. john king

Yup
    ok now I’m getting freaked,
    even after doing a system restore I still get those highlighted words and in fact the word system restore in my previous post is in blue and links to another page,
    My computer is infected!

117. John king

Setting another system restore date.
    Fingers crossed.

118. Kenzie

Schadenfreude can be fun sometimes. 🙂

119. Kenzie

Schadenfreude can be fun sometimes. 🙂

120. John king

If carlsberg did opera they would call it schadenfreude!

121. Dorothy Devine

When you see all that drivel tagged together it re-emphasises how completely ridiculous those pillocks in the press are – with few honourable exceptions.

And they wonder why their jobs will melt away like snow as the circulation figures continue to spiral towards oblivion.

Hell mend ’em!

Honesty was and remains the best policy.

122. Famou15

Guys!Guys!

Easy on the “schadenfreude”

David Starkey may use it against you. i.e. The Nazis spoke German and so do cybernats!

123. Luigi

Apparently, all the cybernats are now terrified that Kezia Dugdale will become leader of the branch office. She has a brain the size of a planet and is more than a match for NS.

124. Iain

Toast!

125. Grouse Beater

Geoff: Anyone see the ‘papers review’ on SKY News just now? Unbelievable. ‘Scotland’s tourism down coz we’re anti-English & Nats bad = Mone, Rowling, Kennedy all getting a mention.’

Yeah, I hear Polish people are staying away in droves for the same reason – not!

English racism began earlier than Sky News sound bites:

An Establishment Assassination: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-1pt

126. ronnie andeson

Am aff tae Glesga catch you,s awe on Livestream.

127. Macart

Well its no like we didn’t tell tell them. 😀

So many well know names…

… so much egg. 🙂

128. Bob Mack

According to Sharkey,the similarities between Nazis and SNP include the “twisted “cross flags. Oh dear.says St Andrew,what an a*×e.

129. call me dave

Murhpy in the Hootsman. All gloom and doom.

And therein lies one of the biggest traps awaiting Scottish Labour: yesterday marked the triumph of Jim Murphy and the modernisers in bringing forward “radical” reforms that voters surely recognise have been standard practice in every other party for years.
    Still, better to arrive in the future later than everyone else than not to arrive at all.

https://archive.is/RY3ao

More nonsense from Galloway in the Herald. (I hope Archive is OK)

https://archive.is/ovzfI

130. Valerie

Good to see John Nicola on on the Marr show to discuss the papers, and he pulled out a few lies, like the Battle of Buttockburn.

Thanks for this chuckle inducing stroll down memory lane, Rev. I sometimes feel a bit guilty gloating, but these idiots are so smug, condescending and nasty, that in terms of public news it’s absolutely justified.

These people are so out of touch with reality, and the pubic mood, it deserves to be exposed, so some might have a rethink about what they read. They have coasted on their own inflated egos, and ideas of adequacy of their professionalism, and they deserve to be embarrassed.

At Dorothy Devine, spot on, honesty is the best policy, with politically engaged people.

131. Calgacus

Please, please select Kezia Dugdale.

The show must go on.

132. John H.

Unlike Murphy, these duds still have a job.

133. Robert Peffers

@Jim says: 13 June, 2015 at 11:43 pm:

“Jim Murphy is by no means stupid, okay, he is stupid but only because he was so self delusional that he thought he was the man to save Labour in Scotland … “

Nah! Murphy is indeed stupid and what is more he always has been. In my time in the RADIAC Laboratory in Rosyth Dockyard’s RADIO & RADAR Workshop I had to attend courses on a lot of the, “basic”?, non-electronics, principles involved in the work of tuning, testing and calibrating the instruments to detect, not just all forms of radiation, but also chemical & biological warfare detection.

So atomic theory, chemistry, quantum physics and such like had us attending Top Secret Government places in order to get certificates to allow us to legally do our jobs. Now we were not, in any way, becoming Nuclear Physicists or whatever – just getting a basic grounding enough to do our jobs but one thing became abundantly clear.

While these Boffin guys were extremely clever within the bounds of their own chosen subjects they were often as thick as a plate of porridge, (withoot milk), at anything else.

Most, like Murphy, had left the education system to go right into whatever was their chosen subject and they had no concept of the outside World. It was even a challenge for some of them to make their own cup of tea. Not to mention many were so eccentric it was not possible to find the central pivot.

More than just clever at their own subject but thick as mince at anything else. To me that was Murphy he saw what he wanted to see and had no idea whatsoever of how what he was seeing was nothing like what the majority of others saw so clearly.

134. Luigi

O/T: Did everyone enjoy not watching Scotland v Ireland yesterday? Surprise surprise, the next England euro-qualifier will, as always, be shown on terrestrial tv. Ah well, it is the “national” team after all. They are really ripping the piss now.

135. robertknight

What’s that saying about something being ‘best served cold’?

The bad penny will be back however… Lord Murphy of Arden anyone?

136. HandandShrimp

It may be Schadenfreude

but that doesn’t make it any less funny.

I wonder if any of these pundits have sat down and thought “you know what, I have absolutely no idea what is happening in Scottish politics”

137. Jim

john king says:
    14 June, 2015 at 5:26 am

Is anyone else getting this?
    on some posts words highlighted in blue and underlined, such as lottery and collage, hovering over them shows an ad by quicksharer, and when I went to use the down arrow I get redirected to another page.

not cool man.
    Have you sold space to advertisers Rev?

On desktop/laptop firefox:
    Go to about:addons ? Extensions and remove any extensions you don’t remember installing.

138. John H.

A few months after the SNP won at Holyrood in 2007 these same idiots were saying that the honeymoon was over and it was all downhill for the SNP from then on. Now they’re saying that the GE result is the pinnacle of the SNP’s achievements. They are wrong. The pinnacle will be when the SNP lead us to independence.

For now we can watch what’s left of SLAB fighting over Holyrood seats. I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

139. Alex Birnie

“And they’re going to do it all over again with Kezia” – the problem is that kicking Kes is like kicking a puppy – everybody can see it in her eyes as she is speaking “I hope Dad’s not listening to this”, whereas kicking the Smurph was guilt-free – he WAS an evil git……

140. Jim

Robert Peffers says:
    14 June, 2015 at 10:25 am
    More than just clever at their own subject but thick as mince at anything else.
    13 June, 2015 at 11:49 pm
    I doubt any former Labour supporter will return anytime soon. They are all off to pastures new and like what they see.

Labour really is finished in Scotland, believe me.

Despite what the haters say, the Snp are doing well on education, policing, SNHS and myriad other things,this is the real reason for their hate, Snp success!

There is no reason therefore, for anyone to return to that backward, insular, self-serving scumbag political party!

141. Ian Mackay

The question that needs to be asked is: who would actually listen to this ‘insightful political commentariat’?

They’ve shown that they do not understand Scotland or its politics.

They’ve shown that they offer little insight into the political mood of the nation and instead regurgitate Unionist political party spin.

Their commentary is seen to be entirely flawed in hindsight. Collated together it provides a laughing stock.

One can only wonder how desperate the Unionist press is; by allowing these empty vessels a forum that tarnishes their publication’s credibility.

142. Chic McGregor

Sounds like adware to me Jim.
    Some can install extensions to your browser which can do this.

143. Jim

“Scotland does not have any head or deputy head teachers from a black, Asian or ethnic minority background, according to Scottish government data.

There were also only 18 black or Asian principal teachers out of 5,403 secondary principal teachers.

The statistics have been highlighted by the Liberal Democrats, who described them as “staggering”.”
    Seriously; is there any evidence of the amount of black, asian applicants for any vacant position head or deputy head teacher; if so were they unsuccessful in their application because they were black or Asian or just simply because they were not the best person for the job?

What will they move onto next, not enough women, transexuals, transgender, homsosexual, lesbian, Polish, German, American, Italian, younger, older, ad fucking infinitum heads or deputies?
    ______

“The statistics have been highlighted by the Liberal Democrats, who described them as “staggering”.”
    ______
    Where are all the black, Asian Liberal democrat MSPs?

Get your own fucking house in order.

This is nothing more than a trap set by the Unionists which the SNP will be chasing their tail trying to explain why things are as they are without being labelled racist.

Scumbags the lot of them and their cheerleaders in the MSM who are complicit in this hatchet job.

144. Stoker

Calgacus wrote:
    “Please, please select Kezia Dugdale. The show must go on.”

Be patient my friend for your wish shall be granted come August.

I am extremely sceptical about all this DimJim standing down nonsense and firmly believe the Scottish branch office is merely going through another act of public deception and in reality are only changing their figurehead on the doomed HMS Slabber.

Has anyone seen or heard anything about the utter failures, appointed by DimJim we were all told, McTermite & McPoodle? No, me neither! Are they still at the helm?

HMS Slabber is beyond all hope of recovery and is being tossed around in a never ending rising sea of SNP popularity and public awakening.

HMS Slabber is doomed and their figurehead is a whore in bed.

145. Jim Mitchell

Has any of them had the gall to say who the next Branch Office Manager should be, or who should take over at head office?

146. Chic McGregor

Jim, the LibDems have or rather, had 🙂 the poorest record on gender equality in their party.

147. Joemcg

Insightful political analysis by our top political analysers. Chortle. Taking money under false pretence comes to mind.

148. Effijy

They should have Googled Murphy’s Law- “What could go wrong, does go wrong”, before electing and puting the weight of the media behind him.

The North British Labour party was and is an empty shell.
    There was only Smurph to elect and with a few strategically placed Halos and distorted camera angles on his vast crowd of 20 supporters, they just might have got away with it.

The so called journalists above must take their share of the blame for the death of North British Blairite/ Red Tories.
    If occasionally they they printed the truth or acknowledged
    SNP successes, even respected the views of the majority, perhaps
    more people might have given them some degree of credibility?

Their reporting reached a stage where we could depend on them lying, distorting, or withholding the reality on every news story

One of my greatest concerns is what the Elitist are trying to get away with as truth and justice.

They seem to say Carmichael’s Slander, repeated lies and waste of public funds is the norm????

They say there is no need to have an Inquiry into the Thatcher lead actions of Yorkshire police against the miners?
    Their quote ” Many of the senior police officers will have retired by now, so no disciplinary action could be taken”
    Yes, but I want to know just how a corrupt government can corrupt the police force against the public interest and the law itself.
    If senior police are guilty of taking action to secure promotions, pay rises, or queens awards, I’d like to see them imprisoned and their vast pensions stopped and their assets
    recovered under the proceeds of crime.( Remember that they said we didn’t need a Hillsborough Disaster Inquiry, were senior police and the media were completely corrupt)

Another police or legal ruling shows that you can be imprisoned for shortening the word Pakistani, however calling the citizens of Scotland a “Sweaty Sock” is quite acceptable.

Scots as BBC license payers, on equal terms to England, can watch
    all of the English Football team’s games, but none of the Sottish teams games on terrestrial TV?

FIFA have shown signs of abject corruption in Europe for decades,
    however no one wanted to investigate the serious issues highlighted. Now that the USA want to strip Russia of the next
    World Cup, that have taken action to bring them to justice.

With all these anti- money laundering laws has no one in Europe
    ever bothered to notice the procession of multi-million Euro
    payments made across the globe.

Mr Strauss Khan has just been pronounced innocent after the “law”
    have declared that he did not pay for prostitutes at a party.
    He just thought that these young pretty woman were desperate to
    attract an OAP with Grey Hair, Pot Belly and a series of accusations against of him being a sex pervert.

How about the “Law” stopping religious chants at football matches
    only to sanction musical accompaniment by hoards of bands to these chants as they bring commerce to a halt in our city centres.

Bankers: Back in 2006, the main banks were making profits in the
    10s of £Billions. It’s never enough for these guys who can “earn”
    £10 Million for one years work, so they took to casino banking.
    High risk greedy punts to make even more profit, while being aware that the world economies would crash if their gambles failed. Did you know that since the banks crashed and were bailed out by you and I, the Bankers Bonuses paid out since would have
    covered £80 Billion and wiped out the debt?

Have any of these UK Bankers gone to jail, had their bonuses stopped, had their assets seized, or their vast pensions stopped? The answer to everything is NO!

The banks are recovering well by repossessing the homes of those who Bailed them out, paying no interest on current accounts, cutting their ISA rates to almost nothing, taking no risks whatsoever to support business loans, and working to find the latest scams such as PPI, Libor Rate Rigging, Tax avoidance, and Money laundering.

Just look at the decades of reports on paedophile politicians and
    Senior Police. Number of convictions so far- None!
    Number of court proceedings underway- None!
    Likelihood of any evidence going to court before the beasts involved die of old age- None!

Linked to these beasts above, why do we allow Tony Blair to lock away the secrets regarding the Dunblane Killer’s Political and Police associates for the next 100 years.

There is no justice in the UK.
    There is no morality or fairness in the UK.
    There are no unbiased TV, Radio, or Newspaper reporting in the UK

There is much to be achieved in a Free & Independent Scotland!!!!

149. Jim

Chic McGregor says:
    14 June, 2015 at 11:32 am

Sounds like adware to me Jim.
    Some can install extensions to your browser which can do this.
    _______
    I have had this twice now, Chic. It is indeed an extension in your browser which can be dasabled or deleted by accessing the add-on manager for your browser, in my case firefox: tools, add-ons, extensions.
    14 June, 2015 at 11:46 am

Jim, the LibDems have or rather, had 🙂 the poorest record on gender equality in their party.
    _________
    I suppose they do have Willie Rennie. lol

150. The Knome

It werent “nationalists” that said Murphy was a bad bet, it was people who he was violently verbally abusive to in the street on his egg box tour (sponsored by Grants).

It was his vile rhetoric in the run up.

His endless outed lies that even when shown, confronted and more, he continued to repeat regardless.

His cling on approach to people that hated him for a photo op, especially of children that wanted no involvement with him.

His extreme right wing policy stand point that he was frankly not afraid to express.

Then his expected sudden swing when he got the Labour Scottish branch leadership when he went from the London line, to claiming he was a man of the left and more hilariously/insulting (if you were, like I, one of the people he was abusive to in the street), claimed he was a man who supported Independence!

Then his constant claims he was the leader of a separate party, to be constantly slapped down by London.

We people who said he was a train wreck waiting to happen were from all sides, labour supporters, yes and no supporters, Tory and SNP supporters.

We were not “nationalists” as the stupid t***s who write these columns would label us.

We were people who saw him for who he was, and what he did, nothing else, and what came about in the end was all too obvious.

Of course, we dont expect an apology off said cretin’s who write the news and these tweets.

151. nodrog

Let us remember that Murphy’s Law states that – “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong.” Proof if ever any was needed that Murphy was doomed from day one and most of us said so. Onwards to Labour Wipeout in 2016 another racing certainty. Anyone for Indyref 2 in 2017?

152. HandandShrimp

I see David Starkey has been charming the birds from the trees again. Looking at his words if they had been uttered by Stuart Lee, Frankie Boyle, Jon Stewart or John Oliver you would just assume biting satire. The Telegraph suggests that Starkey was more irritable than usual indicating that he believes this stuff.

One can only hope that the Telegraph misunderstood his mood otherwise Starkey has jumped a whole shiver of sharks.

153. Robert Peffers

@Chic McGregor says: 14 June, 2015 at 11:32 am:

“Sounds like adware to me Jim. Some can install extensions to your browser which can do this”

I’ll go along with that, Chic and recommend Jim downloads and installs the free version of Superantispyware.

http://www.superantispyware.com/superantispyware.html

Be careful when installing, though, as they try to push other download things if you don’t deselect them.

However, I also just fought off a strange, but clever, Trojan that disguises itself and pushes website ads onto your machine. It was a right pain to track down and clear manually. I believe several of the better antivirus programs have now caught up and will deal with it.

You are probably correct, though, that it is spyware/adware. So SuperAntispyware should not only clear Jims problem but surprise him with the large number of adware, cookies”, already installed on his machine that he didn’t know about.

154. Grouse Beater

Scotland is a country that tolerates fierce dissenters, Scots and non-Scots, happily as citizens of its nation, individually and collectively, fighting to keep it backward.

155. Joemcg

Effijy-great post!

156. IvMoz

Whether it’s good or bad I don’t think we’ve seen the last of Skinny Jim.

With Labour opening up the Regional lists, I would expect that he along with several other ex-MP’s will re-surface. Let’s face it they are not qualified to do undertake employment outside politics never mind within politics.

Jim is a tardigrade & will delude himself that he will be a big beast at Holyrood.

157. G H Graham

COMMON SENSE
    by
    Thomas Paine

Philadelphia, 14th February, 1776
    ————————————————————————————————————–
    EXTRACT: To the evil of monarchy we have added that of hereditary succession; and as the first is a degradation and lessening of ourselves, so the second, claimed as a matter of right, is an insult and an imposition on posterity.

For all men being originally equals, no ONE by BIRTH could have a right to set up his own family in perpetual preference to all others for ever, and though himself might deserve SOME decent degree of honours of his contemporaries, yet his descendants might be far too unworthy to inherit them.

One of the strongest NATURAL proofs of the folly of hereditary right in kings, is, that nature disapproves it, otherwise she would not so frequently turn it into ridicule by giving mankind an ASS FOR A LION.
    —————————————————————————————————————–

Which is that more shocking? That this was written 239 years ago or that the British Establishment still clings to the idea of Hereditary superiority?

158. call me dave

Labour split over whether to have separate Scottish party
    ————————————————————-
    Former minister Tom Harris, who lost his Glasgow South seat last month after 14 years in the Commons, said it would be “absurd” to have a stand-alone party north of the border.

He and many others would resign if it happened, he told BBC Radio 4’s Today programme.

Last week, Labour MSP Alex Rowley publicly called for a fully autonomous Scottish Labour Party which regarded UK Labour as a “sister party” not its boss.

Two former Labour home secretaries, Charles Clarke and Jack Straw, have backed a new Scottish party, and leadership candidate Andy Burnham has said there is “a case” for it.

But Harris said: “We have spent three years persuading Scots of the value of a UK-wide political union – the benefits of pooling and sharing of resources.

“If the Scottish party turns its back on that principle then that exposes us to, I think, an absolutely justified accusation of at best double standards and at worst hypocrisy.

“Setting up an independent Scottish Labour Party would be exposed very quickly as being entirely inauthentic.

“No-one would believe that we actually meant it; they would see we were just doing it to try to win votes and that would be the death knell for the Labour Party.”

Rowley said: “We cannot move forward if we can’t have our own views in Scotland.

“Some of the people who are looking at this need to realise we are not a region of England.

“We’re a country in our own right. We’re a nation in our own right.

“Our relationship with the UK party needs to be built on that clear understanding.”

———————————————————-

159. Robert Peffers

@IvMoz says: 14 June, 2015 at 12:31 pm

“Jim is a tardigrade & will delude himself that he will be a big beast at Holyrood.”

There are already some Labour big beasts in Holyrood and skinnyjim will have to go some to be as big as, for example, Jackie Baillie but what a great double act they would make. Kind of like the little and large of Scottish Politics

160. HandandShrimp

The free version of Malwarebytes is pretty good too and is very clean…doesn’t push other stuff apart from suggest that you might want to buy their all singing and dancing professional version.

161. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I actually agree he was probably the best option. Just not a miracle worker.

They didnt really have anyone else. He still remains the best option.”

He was the worst possible option. Anyone else would almost certainly still have lost heavily, but they’d have done Labour less damage in the process. If there was even the slightest chance of winning back at least some Labour Yes voters, Murphy backed by McTernan, McDougall and Dalgety was the most certain way to ensure it didn’t happen.

162. Robert Peffers

O/T.
    Wow! Breaking News – the Philae Lander has awoken and contacted Earth from Comet 67P.

163. Auld Rock

What a bunch of ‘PLONKERS’. The same competant opinion applies to ‘Full Fiscal Autonomy’ after some nice person sits them down and explains it to them.

Auld Rock

164. Craig

Interesting to see on the “Scottish” Daily Politics that the highly esteem Prof Tomkins was giving his opinion on FFA by now calling it Independence – lite.

Weren’t the Unionist parties not demanding to know if SNP would ask for FFA and then point out this financial black hole if SNP got their wish?

Well played by the SNP, the unionist have been caught out YET again.

It will be interesting to see if Westminster blocks FFA for Scotland, I am sure citizens of Scotland would be demanding to know why it was blocked when they were demanding SNP to revel when they would want FFA

165. Patrick Roden

Ok hands up and confession time:

I want Margrit Curran to return to Holyrood as an MSP, just to enjoy the writings of the wee ginger dug, as he tears into her again, lol.

As for these so called journalists:

Hang your useless heads in shame, because this article proves without any shadow of doubt, that in Scotland large numbers of the public are now more informed than you so called journalists.

Oh how you confidently informed us that we were so wrong to laugh at Jim Murphy, and oh how you informed the readers that in fact we were scared of him and only pretending we were delighted at his election as Labour leader.

Even people like daft Duncan, and the vile Ian Smart joined in with your stupidity…

Yet, just the most basic understanding of how people think and how politics works in most countries would have had you looking at Jim Murphy’s personal popularity ratings and realising that he was deeply unpopular in Scotland and his comical campaign, aimed at attracting Glasgow Yes Voters back to Labour, made him and Labour even more unpopular.

I repeatedly commented on Scot Goes Pop thqat in spite of the polls saying that both the Labour and SNP polling % had levelled out in Scotland, that when it came to the vote, the SNP would return MP’s in the higher numbers that some polls predicted, and my reasons were simple:

Labours campaign was centred around Jim Murphy, and every poll that asked the personal popularity question showed Jim getting more and more unpopular.

Although this didn’t always translate to a swing to the SNP in the earlier stages of the campaign, I had no doubt that people were not liking or believing, what he was saying and when it came to making their mind up they would either vote SNP or not vote at all.

The final couple of weeks saw two big swings towards the SNP and away from Labour as people began to make up their minds, so you so called journalists have no excuse whatsoever for the poor standards of fair, that you offer Scottish readers or viewers, as the same clear information that I was and most other readers on wings and other blogs had access to was also available to you.

Scottish Journalism…a warning to voters in other nations, as to what will happen if you allow your media to be infected with cowards and cap-doffers.

166. cearc

Robert Peffers,

That is fantastic!

167. Port Jim

A couple of noteworthy details –
    1. Fraser Nelson: “Blairites always were good at winning elections. Now let the restoration begin!” Is as clear a statement as possible of their pirorities – we want power, nothing else (like what we can achieve for the voters) matters.
    2. Alan Cochrane in the Telegraph ” . . has the time, and the drive, to change the political landscape in Scotland”, but Murphs apologists now insist that no one could have done any better in the “short” time available (and yet, a week is a long time).

168. IvMoz

@Robert Peffers

Didn’t Eddie do a Deputy Dawg impression?

So at Holyrood we have Deputy Dawg & Deputy Dug.

I’ll never look at Baillie the same way again without thinking of Eddie.

Supersonic Jim as the straight sidekick.

169. Chic McGregor

Thanks for that link Bob. Will look into it if I get any stubborn infestations.

I sometimes use another very good free cleaner by a French outfit. ADWCLEANER.

It works by clearing out everything it does not recognise as legit. So best to check its list of what it is going to get rid of before you press go, in case it is going to remove something you want to keep.

Also, there are many download sites for this but all of them have attached their own unwanted adware or malware to it.

So it is important that you go to their own site if you plan to download it.

http://general-changelog-team.fr/en/tools/15-adwcleaner

170. Petra

The Sunday Herald has just reported Jim Murphy as stating that ‘His future will be ‘something else’ other than politics which he will reveal at a later date.”

Asked if he would rule out entering the House of Lords, he said ‘My political career is behind me.” He clarified his answer by saying that he would not go to the Upper Chamber.

If he’s telling the truth some unsuspecting people will soon find themselves working with a most manipulative, lying, bullying sociopath. My heart goes out to them.

171. Chic McGregor

@Petra
    “The Sunday Herald has just reported Jim Murphy as stating that ‘His future will be ‘something else’ other than politics which he will reveal at a later date.”

His past was ‘something else’.

(Did I get in first with that one?)

172. Thepnr

Will the Chilcot report ever be published?

David Cameron is now under pressure to scrap the inquiry. Lord Morris of Aberavon, a Labour former Attorney General, has asked the Prime Minister to assess “the case for discharging the Chairman and members of the Chilcot inquiry, and inviting the Cabinet Secretary to set out a mechanism for an interim report to be produced on the basis of the evidence gathered”.

https://archive.is/TRFmf

173. Robert Peffers

@IvMoz says: 14 June, 2015 at 1:26 pm:

“Didn’t Eddie do a Deputy Dawg impression?”

Yes he did.

“I’ll never look at Baillie the same way again without thinking of Eddie.”

I’ve always had this thing about wee mental images. I’ve been an amateur photographer and film maker since a schoolboy and so, when video came along I took that up and soon ditched both 8 & 16 MM film for video.

So I often look at things with a mental camera frame in mind and that, with my warped sense of humour, conjures up these wee humorous mental images. I’d have made a great cartoonist if I had been able to draw but I can’t draw for toffee but I do have lots of funny videos. Stories and poems.

I used to have them on my own website but changed my ISP and never re-did the website.

174. Fred

Murphy swings his handbag at Lamont on the way out the door, deariefuckinme has the woman not suffered enough?

175. michael diamond

I bet the bookies would love those muppets!

176. annie

I am correct in thinking it isn’t one Member one vote but one Person one vote meaning that any member of a trade union affiliated to Labour is entitled to vote thereby once again disguising the Scottish membership numbers.

177. Andy-B

Well obviously that bunch of clowns know what they’re talking about.

178. Smout

@IvMoz

Jim is a tardigrade

Thank you, I never expected to see a reference to the water bear on a political blog. You have made my day!

But, please, these are fascinating creatures and, unlike Jim Murphy, have a useful function in life.

179. Rock

It is so satisfying that Labour and their cheerleaders have been utterly humiliated.

But they have no shame.

They will never stop lying.

180. Craig Murray

The appointment of Wendy Alexander at Dundee University had completely passed me by. I have posted many times on how the University is controlled completely by New Labour. I can find no evidence on the internet so far that the post of Vice Principal was ever advertised.

181. Haggis Hunter

Hahahahaha….really enjoyed the last one, by Ian Jones. Cracker.

182. Eckle Fechan

The Shittersphere – a veritable audit trail of poetic pish, cast in virtual stone for generations to enjoy.

183. Gillybean

I think for their next leader, they should elect the person who is their least favoured.

In fact, in general if labour want to win….they should think of what they want to do and then do the exact opposite.

I mean really, if they weren’t an established party, their behaviour/decisions of late would be given the same treatment as UKIP or the monster raving loony party or oddballs like that.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.