Politics is satire plus time

Posted on September 10, 2014 by

Here’s an image we made back in October 2012:

edunity

It’s based on a graphic from the movie version of “V For Vendetta”.

And here’s a piece from the right-wing Guido Fawkes blog today:

guido

The rather creepy video itself – which is notionally a “Better Together” one, but really a Labour election broadcast bashing the Tories in the most shamelessly disingenuous way – can be viewed here.

If you’ve seen the movie, the similarities between the fictional prime minister Adam Susan (played by John Hurt) and the former real one are all too chilling. But not as chilling as Labour’s whole wider “One Nation” schtick, which the video is nothing but a hasty rebadging of, and whose “Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Fuhrer” echoes give us the heeby-jeebies as much now as they did two years ago.

(Especially given Labour’s enduring fondness for grotesquely pejorative language about “foreigners” and its willingness to refer to its opponents as a “virus”.)

It seems safe to say that in the current Unionist omnipanic, no holds are barred.

508 to “Politics is satire plus time”

1. Balaaargh says:

@Fiona

Lloyds Bank itself is registered at Gresham Street in London as are many other companies within the group.

The parent company, Lloyds Banking Group, is registered at the Mound in Edinburgh.

TSB are registered at Henry Duncan House in Edinburgh. They are operating using the license from LTSB Scotland.

2. North chiel says:

Party political broadcast for BT at peak morning viewing time
    This morning on EBC “North British” branch with “baroness Liddle”

3. I have this morning complained to the BBC for their total BIAS in favour of the UK GOV/BT/No Campaign, citing all the journalists and politic and news programmes. I also told them that there are over 1.3 million yes voters who have signed the declaration to vote yes which equates to aprox £150,000,000 of lost TV Licence fee to the BBC.

I used the phrase ”Withdrawing my implied right of access”. I went on and told them that we are well versed in the ways of the social media and internet as out campaign is using it. All the information on not paying the licence fee is being passed around. The internet is a brilliant tool to educate in how not to pay the TV Licence from the legal standpoint.

link to bbctvlicence.com

————————–

We now must all tell the banks who have declared that they will move from Scotland in the event of a YES vote, that we will be removing our money from them. Nearly 2 million people demanding their money (in cash) will cause a run on the banks and a crisis for the Bank of England and the UK Gov.
    Friday the 19th if I don’t get what I hope for I will be going to Clydesdale bank and Bank of Scotland and withdrawing my money.

4. tonymac says:

ot link to cataloniavotes.eu
    a-giant-V-for-independence

5. Helena Brown says:

James Caithness, we are about to close our joint accounts with the Royal Bank which we have held for over forty years. I held one personally for forty six years, but when the servant tells the Maister what to do something has to give.
    E-mails to Morrison’s and John Lewis, I do hope there are enough Proud Scot’s but, to keep them in business. As for Lloyds well I never cared for English Banks. I do hope that the Royal Bank will find people in England who want to Bank with them, because the impression that I have been given since it’s failure is that is very unlikely.
    Anyway who would want to keep business with no sense, nature behoves a vacuum and for every firm leaving there will be another along to fill the space.

6. Will Podmore says:

‘Unity is strength’ also happens to be a trade union call. See, for example, the ‘Unity is Strength’ miners lodge banner at @Beamish_Museum pic.twitter.com/r02JC6Vl1A.
    Are you going to smear miners as fascists too?

7. Ann says:

Kestral 11.09 – Tha’t pretty similar to the response I received from the EC.

Jim – It wasn’t Beverage Park for me with the Gala, it was Burntisland. Mums and kids at the shows. Dads and the others in the pub. Fish and chips from the chippy on the way home.

Those were great times to be miners kids.

8. Rock says:

James Caithness,

“I meant to say the FO has to find in the customers favour some times.”

The Financial Ombudsman is definitely in the pocket of the banks. He lets them get away with murder.

Ruling in favour of clients in minor complaints is just window dressing.

Has anyone ever won a substantial complaint?

A new citizens’ bank is now a must, whatever the result. I would suggest a co-operative called the Yes Citizens Bank.

9. north chiel says:

if YES how about THE SCOTLAND FIRST NATIONAL BANK ?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,894 Posts, 1,239,600 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: ““the process is not simple nor quick” Nae rush. Swinney is promising a referendum in 2028. That’ll be here in…Apr 15, 20:05
    • Hatey McHateface on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Simple enough question, Alf. Will the “£150+ billion plundered each year from Scotland” get me and every other Scot who…Apr 15, 19:47
    • Geri on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “£150 billion+ or a free bus pass? Nawbag: can I phone a friend? I’m no programmed tae think. Sorry, clocks…Apr 15, 19:46
    • Hatey McHateface on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “You’ve given me so much to think on, Geri, I hardly know where to start. OK, what about here? “USA…Apr 15, 19:43
    • sarah on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “@ 100%Yes: did you watch the Youtube “Liberation Scotland UN Update March 2026”? It was posted on Liberation Scotland’s Facebook…Apr 15, 19:35
    • 100%Yes on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “sarah No new news then.Apr 15, 19:27
    • Alf Baird on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: ““Those free bus passes are like our free prescriptions” All are merely baubles handit oot by colonial administrators compared with…Apr 15, 18:57
    • Geri on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Oh there’ll be plenty of Brits there, mark my words. The meddling, terrorist, intel kind. Circling like vultures to see…Apr 15, 18:44
    • Geri on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Why is it a shit hole, shitface? It wouldn’t be because of all those ILLEGAL sanctions against it – imposed…Apr 15, 18:32
    • sarah on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “100% Yes – I wouldn’t call it a holiday when they’re scooting round the country [Scotland] doing talks, slaving away…Apr 15, 18:21
    • Hatey McHateface on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Hard to avoid the conclusion, Alf, that you’re claiming that if we decolonise, we’ll lose our free bus passes. I’d…Apr 15, 18:13
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Travelling to Venezuela FCDO advises against all travel to parts of Venezuela. High risk to British nationals. Your travel insurance…Apr 15, 17:36
    • Alf Baird on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “The Holyrood election is reduced to the offer of free bus travel and school bags for P1’s. Reflecting our colonial…Apr 15, 17:34
    • Sven on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Sarah @ 16.07. Hopefully, should Mr Murray be elected, he’ll not be expounding too muchly on his views on gender…Apr 15, 17:33
    • 100%Yes on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Its now nearly May so what the news on the UN-24 and Scotland’s application and do we have a sponsor…Apr 15, 17:17
    • Hatey McHateface on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “It’s a third-world shithole. Mired in corruption, stagnation, poverty and despair. Biggest export its own people. Second biggest export (until…Apr 15, 16:57
    • Alf Baird on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Its in Venezuela!Apr 15, 16:54
    • Hatey McHateface on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: ““What a joy it would be to hear someone intelligent, principled and energetic, speak in Hollyrood” Seconded. But what is…Apr 15, 16:49
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “That is because their government always says: ‘Badges? Badges? we dont need no stinking Badges!”Apr 15, 16:30
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Caracas?Apr 15, 16:24
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Do your made up Scots rant again. Your post colonial chums have always got your back!Apr 15, 16:13
    • sarah on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “O/T: There is “really interesting news” about the Scottish case for judicial review of the proscription in Scotland of Palestine…Apr 15, 16:07
    • Captain Caveman on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Awww Rambo…. You gonna have another one of your uber-embarrassing, proper weird meltdowns, mate? Triggered again? I do hope so.…Apr 15, 15:54
    • Young Lochinvar on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “HMcH (see bottom) And there’s you thinking of voting for the Scotchland Greens.. You’ll get on with them like a…Apr 15, 15:46
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “” The devil has the people by the throat.”Apr 15, 15:46
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Monkey Pox imported for the gay community.Apr 15, 15:44
    • Young Lochinvar on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Wilma Yer waffling again. And; You forgot to say. “Maaaate”!Apr 15, 15:38
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “There’s been a noticeable lack of criticism of the Westmonster disaster by the very people who couldn’t string a sentence…Apr 15, 15:37
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “FO SNEACHD AN-DIUGH (As dèidh Reifrinn 2014) Cnuic Loch Nis fo sneachd an-diugh. Cuirm-chiùil àm-lòin Ràidio 3. Denis Kozhukhin air…Apr 15, 15:32
    • Young Lochinvar on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “HMcH Hatey “Dude”.. Yer post makes no sense, just verbal diahorrea.. Y’all..Apr 15, 15:26