As soon as anybody has got some Wee Blue Books available, I could use a few hundred for delivery to undecideds in the south side of Glasgow. Please let me know where I can pick up. Thanks, Cal
X_Sticks
10 years ago
@Ronnie,
May take me some time to arrange (kinda busy just now 😉 )Ronnie, but leave it with me and I’ll see what I can do. I knew of a little stone cutters over at Cove and hopefully they are still there.
john king
10 years ago
Belated happy birthday Alex sorry Irene and I couldn’t make it up on Sunday but I had to finish my leaflet drops for a Nichola Sturgeon night in Lochgelly centre, my wee grand daughter helped me, finished it in jig time, 🙂
Patrician
“@Paula Rose, unfortunately you won’t be pushing wings up the listings by clicking on the link.”
I just put in google search bar “wee blue book” and it came up as the top entry.
Silverytay
10 years ago
Brian Doonthetoon
One again thanks , they were put to good use , it was great meeting you all on Sunday .
Typical wingers , first on the field of battle and last off , we will win this .
Paula Rose
10 years ago
Ooh lookee…
“Dear Paula
Time to play your part in Scotland’s future
In just 34 days time we will vote on Scotland’s future. It is a vote unlike any in our history, impacting you, your family and generations to come.
The ‘No Thanks’ Campaign is a campaign built around people like you. People who don’t want to stand by and watch as Scotland breaks away and becomes weaker.
Now is the time to join our growing number of inspirational volunteers out on the ground right across Scotland. You might have a free hour or two or maybe even longer. Whatever you can do you will help play your part for Scotland. It couldn’t be easier:
Register as a volunteer and join your local grassroots group.
Invite your friends, family, colleagues and neighbours to get involved by registering here: link to bettertogether.net
Volunteer now
Ask Alex Salmond for his plan B
It has been over a week now since the first TV debate on Scotland’s future. Alex Salmond is still refusing to provide details on what his plan B is for our currency.
Sign our petition to demand answers.
Sign our petition
Invite your friends to volunteer…”
Sorry, still rolling around the floor having difficulty holding things in.
Patrician
10 years ago
@John King, this will be because lots of people are linking to the page. The spiders and crawlers google use to trawl through the internet will end up at that page. Importance in rankings appear to be more to do with amount of independent links to a web page from other web pages. The thing is, if you knew every in and out of the way google ranks webpages you could be an extremely rich person.
Paula Rose
10 years ago
Patrician dear, so no problem if I carry on the way I am? xx
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
The ongoing main thread is infested.
Can we chat in here instead?
If she/he/it comes in here we can gather our tents and sleeping bags and head off into the back of beyond…
Paula Rose
10 years ago
Ian dear – rest assured I will keep you safe xx
Nana Smith
10 years ago
Back of beyond sounds like a nice place away from trolls.
Time to say good-bye, we have a future to win for our country.
I have the contacts I need where I am.
No more poking fun, I have ordinary people to talk to, people like me.
No more chatting on wings, time is short.
Everyday counts, we all have our contacts sorted.
Patrician
10 years ago
@Paula Rose, if it keeps you happy and out of mischief, carry on.
👿
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
The annoying creature on the leading thread has been booted off.
Never mind. Another one will be along shortly…
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
Trying to find the strip cartoon from the Freak Brothers’ where the cockroach general would send his battalions into various catastrophes, and the punchline would often be ‘Never mind. Plenty more where they came from.’
Haven’t found it yet, but stumbled across this, which may amuse some:
You’ll be here on the 18th like the rest of us. At least I hope you will be.
TJenny
10 years ago
Ian – was that from the Furry Freak Brothers? A wee nostalgia trip there. 🙂
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@TJenny –
Indeed it was. Seems quaint now…
TJenny
10 years ago
Ian – ah well, that’s nostalgia for you. 🙂
TJenny
10 years ago
Ian – any idea how many are intending to go to Airdrie on Saturday 23rd? I think we’ve got
Ronnie (obvs)
You
Me
Cactus
Tam Jardine
Thepnr?
Anyone else?
TJenny
10 years ago
OK last post gone into moderation – will this get through? It’s the GCHQ shift change – again!
CameronB Brodie
10 years ago
I went into moderation after posting a track on the main thread, just as an interlude you understand. The post that was moderated was actually trying to get back on topic, so I’ll put it down to my current infatuation with hardcore avant garde. 🙂
If anyone is brave enough to play the game, please can you identify the 1970’s TV show the sampled steel drum is from. I’m thinking Mission Impossible.
If there is a wings night out in Airdrie on the 23rd count me in
Brian Doonthetoon
10 years ago
Still awaiting details re Airdrie.
Is it confirmed? Getting a tad close…
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@TJenny –
re Airdrie, I truly don’t know anything more than what’s been mentioned here. Someone (Ronnie?) had mentioned maybe using the Wetherspoons, but I don’t know if that’s a go-oer.
Oneironaut
10 years ago
Haven’t heard anything about Airdrie either.
Then again I haven’t been on here as much lately…
Not even too sure where Airdrie is… *runs off to Google Maps*
If it’s another Wings night out, and if I can get there, I’m interested 😀
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@Paula
Hope you keep reading this (and other Wings) thread(s).
See you on the other side 🙂
@Cameron B
Are you really expecting us half daft oldies to remember as far back as the MI TV series? Not only that but, remember a two second steel drum sample that’s been a wee bit mashed?
I had to shut my eyes during the video, I couldn’t take all the image changes (not on enough of the right drugs y’see 😉 )
Anyway, nope, doesn’t sound familiar. Sorry.
Tartan Tory
10 years ago
Morning Folks! You probably weren’t aware, but there was a mini ‘wings meet’ last night at a posh hotel in Aberdeen… I was (unusually) the first to arrive at the pre-dinner drinks reception and was happy to discover that there was a free bar!!! As I watched the guests arrive, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the hat-wearing, festival-going groupie(!), known as X-sticks can actually scrub-up rather well. I only recognised him because of the wings lapel badge on his jacket as he walked into the room. (Good morning Colin) 🙂
Aside from such A-list celebrities as a couple of badge-wearing Wingers, there were a few less well known faces at the soiree. For example, I spoke at length with a wee chap called Alex and also with his lovely wife Moira. We even arranged to meet again for lunch near their home in the not too distant future. There was a chap called John who was an accountant-type from Edinburgh and he spent a good while with myself and my wife discussing the Angus glens, Kirriemuir & Blairgowrie. Finally, there was a (loud) wee ‘wifey’ from Glasgow called Elaine (who apparently is also known as ‘Mary Doll’) and she was instrumental in organising my lunch with Alex and Moira.
All in all, a very nice evening and good to be in a crowd of over 200 people from the Aberdeen Yes camp. We also had a bit of a fund-raiser and the total for the evening was £17,000!! Perhaps not quite up to Stu’s crowd-funding achievements, but very good all the same.
Despite all the positivity in the North East, I reckon it’s got to be the central belt that turns this thing around. I’m going to a function in Glasgow next week and I’ve heard that man Alex is going to be there again too. Anyone else from here going to that one???
X_Sticks
10 years ago
Hi TT
Sorry I missed you at the end, but it was past Mrs X_Sticks bedtime and I was hustled out in short order.
Hopefully catch up again at some of the other events.
Tartan Tory
10 years ago
It couldn’t have been past her bedtime! I reckon you need the beauty sleep more than she does!!! 🙂
Macart
10 years ago
@Tartan Tory
Sounds like a pleasant evening had by all TT. 🙂
I hear that Alex fella is quite the convivial talker when he’s not doing the day job. 😀
Tartan Tory
10 years ago
Indeed he is Macart, and a potential rival to Elaine C Smith in the comedy stakes when he wants to be as well!! Mind you, he seems to be surrounded and challenged by a sorry bunch of half-arsed comedians on a daily basis, so he has obviously learned a thing or two in his time. 🙂
X_Sticks
10 years ago
Tartan Tory says:
“I reckon you need the beauty sleep more than she does!”
I can’t argue with that, much as I would like to. I put it down to the wear and tear of campaigning 😉
Macart
10 years ago
Must admit to having seen him in action away from the day job on one occasion. Night and day and a wicked turn of wit when he feels like it.
On the night out stakes – Hope Wingers are going to have another meet n greet on the west coast before the vote. I’d certainly like to throw my hat in the ring and shake a few hands.
Thepnr
10 years ago
My computer has just automatically “updated” Windows 8 and restarted.
Now when I tried to respond to john king’s email using “reply all” Nobody is recognised and it won’t send. Hmmmm???
CameronB Brodie
10 years ago
Jim Thomson
Thanks for trying. 🙂
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@CameronB You’re welcome 🙂
Today has been seriously fragmented for me since the Rev stuck that damn fundraiser up. I’ve been switching back and forth between what I should be doing and the fundraiser thread.
I’ll be glad when this is all over!
On a very similar tack, just had an e-mail from Mission Central telling me to expect a box of WBBs next week. I’m hoping the local Yes Team are up for a targeted letterbox-popping session.
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@Thepnr that wouldn’t be the auto upgrade from Win8 to Win8.1 would it?
It’s been know to brick a few laptops.
I had to rescue one belonging to my youngest lad’s girlfriend. Took me half a day between rescuing files off the hard disk before doing a reset on the operating system.
Seems as though yours isn’t quite that bad though 🙂 especially if you can get to the stage that you can compose messages but just not send them.
Which mail program you using? Outlook proper or outlook express or something else?
Thepnr
10 years ago
Using Thunderbird, tend not to trust anything LOL.
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
I take it you’ve done the time honoured “power cycle” and allowed it to restart itself?
You might have to switch it off (via the start button) and then switch it on from cold (i.e. after a few seconds of being off).
If it still doesn’t want to play ball, check for updates to T’bird (unless it claims to do those automatically of course, in which case CHECK FOR UPDATES anyway 😉 )
If that doesn’t work, not sure there’s any point in me even suggesting trying to restore address books etc. because “reply all” is kinda self explanatory and it should pick up addresses from the To: and Cc: fields.
Thepnr
10 years ago
Jim
All the addresses were picked up, no problem. The issue was the first person in the To list after john king says not recognized(or close to) so I deleted that name.
Then the next said not recognized etc. haven’t tried again yet but will do and note the exact messages.
Cheers
handclapping
10 years ago
Happy birthday LA. 22 is so old!
Still, 21 is so last year 😉
Oneironaut
10 years ago
@Thepnr “Hello, I.T., have you tried turning it off and on again?”
XP was the nearest thing to a half-decent operating system Microsoft had. Once they discontinued that, I just quit using Windows for good, and never looked back.
Looking into this, I’ve heard of a few people having trouble with Thunderbird in Win8.1
Not too sure why. Possibly Microsoft up to their usual dirty tricks with competitors’ software again.
Of course it could also be a bad update in Thunderbird. Mozilla’s developers give the impression that they don’t really seem to care about their own products much for some reason…
Can’t seem to find any information about that specific problem. And I don’t use Thunderbird myself.
Have to go out for a bit right now (leafleting in Kilwinning for a Yes-campaign-related public meeting there on Monday), but I’ll take another look into it later when I get back home…
Bob Sinclair
10 years ago
Had the dubious pleasure of witnessing the white noise from Jim Murphy’s Megaphone this afternoon.
Great turn-out from YES, usual suspects from NO. Also managed to give him a ‘I’m voting No because… ‘ WoS leaflet.
Parting shot to him, as I was walking home and saw him heading for his car. –
‘Aye, it’ll not be long Jim’
‘Not long until what’ he said.
‘Not long until you get your P45 Jim’
call me dave
10 years ago
Scottish cup Falkirk v Rangers.
just about to start.
Been out since 4pm (Aberdeen @ 5pm on a Friday meant a leather clad trip) and just got back. Straight onto a pc to see what’s been happening….. YeeHaa!!! 🙂
By my reckoning, we are at a third of a MILLION copies within the first twelve hours of a crowdfunder when there were originally only going to be 20,000 copies.
WOW! Well done everybody. 🙂
Thepnr
10 years ago
Hey Bob Sinclair
I just saw you wandering past in the video, pity you didn’t get to hand him his P45 live. LOL
Quentin Quale
10 years ago
Still reeling over yet another massive show of solidarity by Wingers. So, to everybody out there (and with a string reference) link to youtube.com
Bring on the party!
Michael McCabe
10 years ago
@ Thepnr Does Lesley-Anne Like T Rex ?
Lesley-Anne
10 years ago
Now THAT Michael is a very, very, VERY SILLY question!
Go into the corner and write out 500 times LA LOVES T REX! 😛
Happy birthday – one that will live long in the memory. Have a guid night.
Fellow Wingers
Chill out about next Saturday night – all will be confirmed in due course but I am banking on spending the night in an Airdrie tavern amidst you all. Instructions will come through in plenty of time to get the word out.
Lesley-Anne
10 years ago
Thanks for that Michael, consider your punishment dismissed! 😛
Thank you Tam, aye you are so right. I can’t remember another birthday like this one. I’ve been on a high all day and we’ve still the YES win on the 19th to come. 😛
TJenny
10 years ago
TJ – I’ll await instructions. 🙂
Thepnr
10 years ago
Two TJ’s get me confused? Which is which? LOL
See you in Airdrie one way or another.
TJenny
10 years ago
From me 🙂 and from him 🙂
Thepnr
10 years ago
I watched Michael McCabe’s presnt to Lesley Anne but it is over an hour long but one near the start caught my eye.
For you and your partner Leslie. Happy Birthday again xx
chipmonkey
10 years ago
Mmm just found half a packet of parma violets left over from Seafest. Thanks Ronnie.:-)
We’re away next Saturday so no visit down to Airdrie. 🙁 Drat.
Lesley-Anne
10 years ago
Many thanks for that one Thepnr. XXXXX 😛
Bob Sinclair
10 years ago
Whilst having my earholes assaulted by The Murph, I along with a couple of others got chatting with an ‘undecided’ who had questions about administration of the issue of driving licences, tv licences etc.
That discussed we moved on to passports. He was concerned that he’d be forced on Independence Day. We put this one to bed very quickly by reminding him that he was born a UK citizen and unless he chose to relinquish that he would always be a UK citizen, only he can give it up, and told him that if he wanted a UK passport then no one could stop him from having one.
Pensions likewise discussed & dealt with.
Issues in the main dealt with, pointed him in the direction of the ‘WBB’.
I’d like to think that whilst we were having this polite conversation and the ‘Murph’ was still screaming into his microphone that this gent saw what the YES campaign is about. It’s about respect & information. Hopefully he will take what we have told him, build on it & vote yes.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
Does anyone have a link to Murphy’s latest outing? The threads are becoming too long to scroll through.
BTW, as mentioned by Oneironaut earlier, we (SSP) did some door-to-door leafleting in Kilwinning this evening – the patch we were in was (we were assured by people who know) ‘apache country’, with TWO Masonic Halls within a stone’s throw of each other. Many UJs and Red-Hands on display, as well as a few NO THANKS window posters. ‘Yes’ stickers, on cars or windows, were rare.
Did we get any hassle? Naw. Did anyone come out to engage us in debate, or release the dogs on us? Naw.
We walked into the lion’s den…an’ he wisnae there.
Murphy on a milk crate pmsl. I haven’t watched it yet, just have it queued up to round off my evening 😉
ronnie anderson
10 years ago
@Chipmonkey did you no get parma violets on Sat/Sun there wiz plenty in the sweety bag lol.
If there wiz a nite oot in Airdrie naebody hiz telt me yit.
Tam Jardine
10 years ago
Ian Brotherhood
Sounds like there was a couple of lions there after all. We’re winning this – its just the largest scale mind-fuck imaginable. They are going to tell us we are on a hiding to nothing right up to our victory.
I keep thinking about the end of movies like Poltergeist where the evil finally takes physical form and can be destroyed (a giant, evil tree in the movie). Well that is what we are faced with – an evil empire that can finally and forever be defeated.
What a fork in the road we are reaching – the new order v the old, positivity v negativity, and the difference between success and failure could not be more stark.
Have a guid weekend Ian – hope to see you next weekend
Thepnr
10 years ago
@Ian Brotherhood
Enjoy, it’s a classic and will be long remembered.
Oh and before you go and watch this, since the very fisrt WOS night out that was widely publicised i have expected “the lone nutter” or his equivalent.
Truth is they just aren’t there, our support is huge, more than 2/4rds of ordinary folk. They would have to pay their nutters to disrupt one of our events.
At their very high cost.
TJenny
10 years ago
Thepnr – Whit, there’s a ‘Rent a Nutter’ shop or Nutters R Us? Oh, aye, that’ll be the unionists then. 🙂
TJenny
10 years ago
Posted this on the wrong thread, but maybe not, anyway worth posting it here too, ’cause we’re worth it – and where is Paula Rose?
For Stuey and all Wingers – Tina Turner and Simply the Best – enjoy and join in. 🙂
X-Sticks – so we wont hear from Paula Rose again until the 19th Sept? 🙁
Thepnr
10 years ago
Paula is fighting for the cause by wearing down her high high heels going round doors.
She will be looking in though now and again and I can’t fault her for that considering a full time job as well.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@Thepnr –
I know you’re an engineer, so can you please explain what 2/4rds is? (:))
chipmonkey
10 years ago
Ronnie, yes those were the parma violets you gave me at Seafest that I found tbe remains of tonight.
Then I changed subject completely mid post and mentioned that I can’t go to any meet up next Saturday (meaning a week tomorrow) in Airdrie. I just type as I think. Doesn’t confuse me just abody else.
ronnie anderson
10 years ago
He was once known as Rab the Doupter, then as Bob Sinclair, now he’s The Rebel without a Pause, mair power tae ye Bob
cearc
10 years ago
x-sticks,
Have to agree, at least JM is out there fighting for his expense account unlike the rest of the troughers.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
What’s this about Paula Rose going AWOL?
Nae chance. That lass is a tonic for the troops, and she knows it – are we to be deprived of her company for five weeks?
@ Chipmonkey am the one confused, has Patrician orginized the Witherspoons in Airdrie I,ve not heard from him or Gerry, I,ve been in Maryhill all day.
TJenny
10 years ago
Ian – I’m glad you asked the 2/4rds question. 😉
ronnie anderson
10 years ago
@ Thepnr I sent you a text message
TJenny
10 years ago
Ronnie – all I know is there are a few of us intending to descend on Airdrie on Sat 23rd. No idea what venue though. Tam Jardine says details to follow.
ronnie anderson
10 years ago
@ T Jenny I left itup to Partician & Gerr Parker to arange so I dont know whats been done as yet.
Bob Sinclair
10 years ago
Ronnie
Just – thanks.
ronnie anderson
10 years ago
@ Bob yer a star.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
PS to Paula Rose –
I should amend my last comment. I doubt Paula likes being ‘ordered’ by anyone. So I’ll change that to a ‘pretty-please with a big giant cherry on top’.
Come back, eh? Please?
Thepnr
10 years ago
Ian Brotherhood says:
I know you’re an engineer, so can you please explain what 2/4rds is?
We now it all depends from what end of the spectrum you look at 2/4th. Some might call it a half but as you well know halves are there for drinking.
I prefer to look at it as greater than zero, admittedly it’s less than one but not by much.
As far as the future is concerned at least 2/4th of our population will be Better off bt stayiny Togeter.
The other 2/4th’s we;; I really dont give a fuck.
At the end of the day as long as 2/4th say No to separation and the ohher 2/4th’s say Yes. It won’t matter, the people will have made their voice heard.
I’m on the side of the 2/4th’s. Even if it is a Yes in September.
Thepnr
10 years ago
Deary me LOL
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@Thepnr –
Thanks for clearing that up.
Lesley-Anne
10 years ago
I’m glad I read your explanation there Thepnr … I think! 😉 😛
ronnie anderson
10 years ago
Well it looks a if I wont be getting a Email from BT to say where Mr Darling is appearing in Coatbridge tommorrow I have the tickets printed but no place to go.
Lesley-Anne
10 years ago
Don’t tell me you’ve been ratted out by someone ronnie. Johann hasn’t been around your local recently by any chance? 😛
Thepnr
10 years ago
Johann has been tutoring me, private lessons and that,
Doing good eh!
Lesley-Anne
10 years ago
Gawd she really is busy these days. I guess this must explain why she can’t understand what our currency is after independence she is dog tired from all that out of hours tutoring that she is doing! 😛
Oneironaut
10 years ago
@Ian Brotherhood “We walked into the lion’s den…an’ he wisnae there.”
Couple of very big and very angry dogs there.
Though they actually weren’t as bad as the tiny little ankle-biter that kept trying to trip me up when I was walking up the path and then started barking loud enough to be heard in the next town and wouldn’t shut up even when I went into the next street!
Still, we’ve shifted a good few thousand leaflets between us all over the past couple of days. 🙂
Most of Kilwinning’s Don’t Knows just had the “no-one tells me where to get information” excuse well and truly demolished!
Have to wait and see how many of them turn up at the meeting.
cearc
10 years ago
Hey Ian,
Rummaging through my disorderly bookshelves recently, an author’s name leapt out at me.
Yes, I have had had your book for some years.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@X-Sticks –
Thanks for the Murphy Livestream link. Watched it all, and enjoyed it immensely.
He mentioned (at approx. 24 mins) that this was the 48th event. So – we have another 52 to look forward to?
Nice…
X_Sticks
10 years ago
The land of Zebedee is calling. Night all.
Cracking day, that. Fair lifts the spirit.
We can, we should, we must.
An independent Scotland.
Yes.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@cearc –
Aha!
So that’s where it went!
TJenny
10 years ago
Night, night from me too. What a day it’s been, all that excitement – is just a practice run for the 19th. 🙂
cearc
10 years ago
Unfortunately I did not swell the coffers of chez Brotherhood as I bought it 2nd (or should that be 2rd?) but it was an ex-library copy so you were well paid
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@cearc –
Every Little Helps!
(And the ex-library copies have good solid covers on them – keep the thing! Might be worth something one day, especially after I croak it.)
cearc
10 years ago
It’s the upside of so many library closures in england that there is a lot of good ex-library stuff about.
If you come up for a holiday sometime you can sign it.
Thepnr
10 years ago
Ok if this fundraiser finishes like I think it might we may have half a million WBB’s on our hands.
Where, when, how? who do we we give them too? None should be wasted.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@Thepnr –
This is only by way of an example, and others will have to do the arithmetic…
Yesterday morning, SSP Ayrshire leafleted Pennyburn (Kilwinning), and the fringes of other neighbourhoods – the team of six shifted 1500 leaflets (through letterboxes) in just over two hours.
Thepnr
10 years ago
So 125/man/hoor
Looks right to me, so the secret is how many men/women?
I reckon thousands. Breaking it down into small bundles is what we do. Getting them into the right hands might be more difficult.
I’m not bring negative but let’s do it right. A half a million is a lot mind you and after distribution there can be no excuse of “no information”.
Hi
we are planning an event in central Edinburgh on Middle Meadow Walk for the evening of Sat 6th Sept.
We have access to a small open air stage, plan is to have music, films etc.
Its ideally located for distributing the wee blue book to numerous passersby, but we need a few hundred copies and a couple more volunteers to distribute them, anybody know where we can pick up some copies in Edinburgh/East Lothian?
Heres a link hope someone can help
Aussie #@!$#%. I’m on a warning. QQ says if I use the f word one more time I won’t get my scone and jam with cream this afternoon.
X_Sticks
10 years ago
@Thepnr
We need to use the Yes canvassing returns to target the DKs – plan in Aberdeenshire is to hit all the 4+ DKs first then if time / copies of WBB permit target the 2/3+.
We have to try and maximise return for effort in the last push.
X_Sticks
10 years ago
Off to the Aberdeen Yes stall at Markies now.
Give us a shout if you’re in the area.
Catch up later – let’s get out there and DO THIS.
Thepnr
10 years ago
@X_Sticks
Sounds like a plan. Will take a massive effort in the next 4 weeks. the last thing anybody wants is for boxes of the WBB to be sitting in an empty garage.
Some stamina and brains required here.
Oneironaut
10 years ago
@Thepnr
If anyone is needed to post them out around Stevenston, I can volunteer.
As we learned the hard way in the leafleting run yesterday, if you have teams of people doing the same areas, be sure that everyone has some way of knowing which houses have already been done and which are still to be.
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@Oneironaut
I used http://www.streetmap.co.uk to produce quite detailed street images which generally get right down to individual blocks of houses.
Have a look and make sure you zoom right down to the wee-est block possible. Then, if you use Windows there is a tool called “Snipping Tool” that you can access via the start menu and search for it.
If you get the aspect ratio just right you can then print those maps out either full-size landscape or portrait, depending on the area you’re trying to cover.
Give each volunteer, or pair of volunteers, their own map with their patch marked up.
Works really well for newbies.
Paula Rose
10 years ago
At the first house in a street make sure the leaflet is visible ie sticking out of the letterbox.
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
and then hope that a bad BTer doesn’t come along afterwards and remove it 😛
Thepnr
10 years ago
Good advice Paula.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
Have been making badges for most of the day. My biceps and pecs are involuntarily jerking.
@Jim Thomson
Using a Linux system here. But for every Windows app, there’s usually a Linux equivalent (which is usually free, unlike the Windows one! 😉 )
When I was doing the Yes newspaper deliveries, they had some good maps of the areas, with route information and everything. Just a matter of giving everyone different routes.
@Paula Rose
Good idea that. I’d always just gotten into the habit of stuffing them right through, since I’ve heard of wee neds stealing stuff out of the letterboxes around here.
I’d even thought of spray painting weird symbols on street lamps to mark streets that have been done.
Putting a Yes sticker on each door to mark it as done might be frowned upon or I’d try that 😉
Once Stu advises volunteers that they will be part of the Wings oversight team for the voting and counts, I suspect there will be a need for some sort of training/familiarisation provided by people on here who have done this sort of thing before.
I seem to remember a couple of regulars mentioning that they had previous experience (a couple with a LOT). Can’t find the threads though to identify the names.
Anyone on here either have that experience or, know the wingers who have the expertise?
Once we identify the people, we’ll need to arrange locations for said training/familiarisation ahead of the game.
Received forms yesterday from North Lanarkshire Council intimating I have been appointed as referendum agent for wings over Scotland.
Briefing session by the Counting Officer has been arranged for 27th August.
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
Excellent, Gerry. I offered my services for S Ayrshire or Fife (have access to digs across there), as needed, but nothing from our hyper-efficient council team(s) yet. Maybe there’s another Winger in S Ayrshire, of whom I am unaware … hmmmm.
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@Ian Brotherhood & @Oneironaut
have you guys got twitter accounts? I need to either PM you or e-mail about our area.
Brian Doonthetoon
10 years ago
Hi Jim.
The WOS Referendum Agent for Dundee has been appointed (Arthur Birnie) but has only asked for volunteers on his Facebook page and the “YES Dundee and Surrounding Areas Events & Information” Facebook page.
I got the impression from posts on his wall that you couldn’t volunteer if you couldn’t be at the Council’s briefing presentation on Tuesday morning (19th) but I subsequently noticed that he had mentioned, “and Robbie Spence who is coming to the count but cant make the briefing”.
I’ve posted on his wall, seeking clarification as to whether attendance on Tuesday is mandatory, as I was willing to volunteer to do a few hours at my polling station.
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
Thankd Brian.
Just had a look at the South Ayrshire website and found this list of agents:
That Alistair McConnachie appears again. Who is he?
Bob Sinclair
10 years ago
I’m going to be taking 18th & 19th Sept as a holiday and will be available to help out on Referendum duties in Shawlands Glasgow if required. Just let me know.
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@Bob Sinclair – looks like you’re the Wings agent there:
Jim Thomson – looks like, on the East Ayrshire list, 13 out of the 18 campaign reps are pro Indy. Don’t know who Alistair McConnachie is representing so counted him as a No, as most Yes folk are proud to be known as Yessers. 🙂
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
I’ve not done a full trawl of the regions because I’m busy swotting up for something else I need to do on Wednesday. Just keep dipping into here every hour or so 🙂
That McConnachie name appears on quite a few of the ones I’ve seen.
Also, I don’t know who the Brian Blair lad from Minishant is, who is the South Ayrshire rep. Hopefully he’ll be on here soon and unveil himself (in a perfectly decent way, of course 😉 )
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
Sorry, that should all have been prefixed with @TJenny 🙁
Bob Sinclair
10 years ago
All,
I’ve been working away from home last couple of weeks & never had a chance to check this out. I’m going to need some help/advice with this. Those who have my email, could you drop me a quick email.
TJenny
10 years ago
Jim Thomson – That Alistair McConachie, wth the same address of G2 4JR, (when Googled that address seems to have a few businesses at that address including a Hair Studio, the Pantheon Club and Carpet Shop) appears on
N Ayrshire
E Ayrshire
Perth & Kinross
Falkirk Council
all whilst being based at the same address. How can this be? Is he a Time Lord? Are these places all having the vote at differing times? Is there such a thing as a floating referendum agent?
I couldn’t open the links to Shetland or Fife council’s lists, but if he’s there too, Dr Who needs to be told.
(With my tin foil hat on, could this be used as a spoiler? Lists of reps weren’t correct or somesuch skullduggery?)
Not a monster company, but steady growth in funds.
This DOES NOT, however, mean that the trust has anything to do with his activities relating to the IndyRef.
TJenny
10 years ago
Jim Thomson – that links very De Ja Vu as I’m sure I’ve seen it before re this chap in some other indy ref connection (BT donor or panel member?) Anyway, it doesn’t explain how he can be at different places at the same time.
that link will take you to a page of the trust’s videos. Scroll to the foot and you’ll see Young Mr McConnachie giving a presentation to the “Get Britain Out” group back in 2001.
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@TJenny, the ones from Shetland and Fife will be downloaded word docs. have a look in your downloads folder, or at the foot of your browser (I think)
I’m pretty sure he doesn’t have to be there personally but it allows him to appoint others to do the leg work (again, I think).
So, I suspect he’ll be on either the supporting Aye or supporting Naw lists with the EC. – not looked there yet.
Did they ever get anyone for the North Ayrshire area?
I could probably help out at the Stevenston polling station at Glencairn (my old primary school, ahhh, nostalgia trip…)
I’ll be going there to vote that day anyway. Just got the polling card through the letterbox on Friday 🙂
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@Oneironaut – see my post at 3:24pm
Also, you might get an e-mail forwarded from Ian B that I sent him 🙂
Oneironaut
10 years ago
@Jim Thomson
Ah ok, thanks 🙂
Normally I shy away from posting my E-mail address anywhere it can get easily hoovered up by spam bots.
Then again it’s already been pretty much infiltrated by unknown unsavoury characters anyway, judging by the number of my messages that keep disappearing.
I’ll likely be dumping it in favour of a more secure one at some point.
For now though, it’s at:
darkstar27 at Gmail dot com 🙂
Feel free to message me, unless you’re selling viagra, or if you have several billion pounds you want to transfer into my bank account from Nigeria, or if you’re from Microsoft technical support wanting access to my computer to “fix things”…
(Actually, if you’re that last one, feel free. I could use some entertainment! Hehe) 😉
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@Jim Thomson –
Done and dusted.
This is all quite exciting, eh?
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
The memory is a strange thing, eh?
Thinking about Alistair Darling, I unaccountably remembered a favourite joke from my college days – one which garnered me a few free drinks during those lean years.
A wee Glasgow guy goes into the doctor’s for the first time:
‘Aha! A new face. Now, what can we do for you?’
The wee guy says nothing, but stands up, unzips his flies, extracts his penis, which is unusually large, and lays it on the desk. The doctor gets his specs on, dons latex gloves, and carefully examines the helmet, works his way along the foot-long shaft, then scrutinises the testes.
After a few minutes of painstaking examination he replaces the thing on the desk.
‘I can’t see anything wrong with this.’
‘Ah know,’ replies the wee guy, ‘it’s a pure belter intit?’
X_Sticks
10 years ago
That Alistair McConachie is on the Aberdeenshire list too.
TJenny
10 years ago
X-Sticks – do you not think that’s very strange? Will others who are not these resective lists be able to turn up and say they’re atttending instead of AMcC?
Maybe he’s representing the Scottish version of Spartacus party but they’ll all be Alistair McConachie instead – crikes maybe the UKOKs are using clones – eek!
TJenny
10 years ago
Soz should read ‘not on these respective’ (I’ve lost the edit preview bit.)
ronnie anderson
10 years ago
@ Ian Brotherhood noo that cracked me up.Did you get the Badges.
ronnie anderson
10 years ago
@gerry parker that Bavaria beir went doon well wie the popeye steak I had.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@ronnie anderson –
Forgive me mister, I knew there was something I had to do – thank you aplenty indeed. They arrived on Thu/Fri. I’m totally chuffed.
I know I should really be wearing all these things, but the only one I wear regularly is the wee shiny gold one you gave me in Dundee. I want to keep the rest mint, for posterity.
(Oneironaut, on the other hand, is a fiend for the badges, and wears them all – he told me his jacket used to be waterproof before he got into the whole Yes thing!)
gerry parker
10 years ago
@Ronnie.
Glad you enjoyed it.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
Perhaps the BTUKOKVNOBNOTHANKers could cover this song, and use AD as the front man. Imagine him…topless, running along the beach, the wind ruffling his eyebrows?
Cameron B and Michael mccabe,thanks for the offer of help on the 6th Sept. its at 7.30pm-10pm at back of pancake stall,middle meadow walk.
Check on the face book link in my ealier post for updates.This is my hubbys project really as Im busy with English scots for yes.we will have a stall at the meadows on that date too,lots going on that day,and were on middle meadow walk every tues and thurs from now till the big day!
Come and say hello any time,usually along side yes marchmont stall.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
‘…when you don’t meet a chancer, there’ll be days like this…’
Probably nothing sinister, he probably represents some organisation.
Each Referendum Agent registers helpers with the Counting Officer (as obviously one person can’t be everywhere all the time (though I do try 😉 )). Would be interesting to know who he represents though, could it be Nob Orders?
TJenny
10 years ago
X-Sticks – Ah, I see, so he’s kind of the manager and can appoint helpers. I was thinking he may be UKIP, but that’s a lot of areas to cover with UKIPPpers or Nob Orderers. Didn’t think they’d have that many, or maybe you don’t have to be eligible to vote in the ref to be an observer? If not, they may be being bussed up from darn sarf.
I haven’t added any text yet, I’ll get around to it later.
Same rule as before, if you don’t want to appear in any pics, let me know and I will remove them.
Oneironaut
10 years ago
@Ian Brotherhood
Pity the badges aren’t waterproof too. Still got a couple from last year that are going rusty after campaigning on relentless rainy days 🙂
@Jim Thomson
Posted my E-mail yesterday, but it got stuck in a moderation queue for some reason.
It’s at 17th August – 8:54pm, if you haven’t already noticed it popping up there 🙂
Tartan Tory
10 years ago
I have, today, received notification of my appointment as the WoS Referendum Agent for the Angus Council Area.
I’m taking this appointment very seriously and I hope to be able to rely on the assistance of an army of volunteers from the north of Dundee, Forfar, Brechin, Montrose, Arbroath and surrounding areas.
Make no mistake, the task ahead is a daunting one, with 160 polling stations to account for, which are spread as far and wide as Dundee, Glenisla, Kirriemuir and Edzell to the west, and over thirty miles of the coastline on the east. To visit each station individually for only one minute would require several days, but that’s not the job!
I’m going to make no bones about this – I’ve never done the job of a Referendum Agent before and I don’t profess to be an expert. However, my strengths (I’m told) lie in administration and organisation, though I may need a more ‘people orientated’ second in command. 😉
There is a meeting of the eighteen (Angus) Referendum Agents on Thursday 28th August to discuss local arrangements and I would hope to be able to present a plan for volunteers on the immediately following weekend (30/31 August).
Firstly, I need an Angus army! I need names, addresses and contact numbers (with e-mail info etc.) of people who would be willing to attend their (hopefully) local polling station(s) as an ‘agent on my behalf’. I draw your attention to the Rev’s post on this very topic which states the job of a referendum agent:
“- attend the receipt and opening of postal ballot papers and/or appoint postal ballot agents to do so on their behalf.
– attend polling stations on polling day for the purpose of detecting personation and/or appoint polling agents to do so on their behalf.
– attend the counting of votes and/or appoint counting agents to do so on their behalf.”
The opening of postal votes happens only in Forfar on four separate dates, so this one isn’t going to be too much of a problem. However, manning 160 polling stations for eighteen hours on the 18th September and then attending the subsequent count, is not a one-man job!!
It’s going to take some time to digest the many pages of information included in the pack I received today. Meantime, if anyone reading this in Angus is ready to step up to the plate on behalf of WoS, I can be contacted in the first instance by e-mail – john(dot)clark(at)belmont(hyphen)coms(dot)com. I’m looking for sensible, responsible individuals to oversee the goings-on in their locality on my behalf. I’m NOT looking for tin-foil hats, or people who have a tendency to jump up and down before engaging brain! This is an important undertaking, in the most important referendum you may ever be a part of, on possibly the most important single day of our lives. What I’m asking for is a big thing. I need YOU to help me on that very important day. I need your time, your understanding and your support.
X_Sticks
10 years ago
Hi TT,
I am the WoS Referendum Agent for the Aberdeenshire area.
As TT says, we will ALL need volunteers to help with this,
WE WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DO THIS ALONE
NOw is the time that we will need our fellow Wingers to step up to the plate.
The Aberdeenshire postal votes take place over 10 days. I work full time, so there is no way I can do all that myself. We will probably need two people to cover each day of the postal vote count. If we can’ get that we might as well forget it.
Then as TT says there are the Polling booths, and while I didn’t count them last night there’s a lot in the Shire. I suspect we may not be able to cover all the PBs, but by working with other groups like WfI, the Greens etc perhaps we can get close.
Then there is the final count which could be a long long day and we’ll need enough people to give observers a break.
Anyone in Aberdeenshire who will be able to help can contact me at colinizat (at) Hotmail (dot) com.
I look forward to having my inbox swamped by volunteers 😀
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@Oneironaut
You should have had that Micro$oft support e-mail by now 😉
I had a call from them just after 12 today but haven’t got the time to bugger them about for half an hour or so. Just told the wifie to sod off, and hung up.
I usually do a lot of “Uhuh” and “yes, go on” and “right that’s me doing it now”. That takes them about fifteen minutes or so, because I’m no awfy bright y’see and I need to be reassured that all the things I’m doin’ are correct.
When I get to the bit where I say “this disnae seem to be workin'” and they ask some more questions I then tell them that the pc came loaded with something called Line Yux or somethin’. There’s normally a short pause, they then try to go through it all again and eventually they get the drift that I’m winding them up.
Doesn’t stop them from calling every other day though.
Sometimes I hand the phone to my “IT guy”, normally one of my sons, who all have a great set of patter lines they use. can be very entertaining 😛
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@Tartan Tory
I’ve still no idea what the Wings ID is of the guy who’s been nominated for S Ayrshire.
I’m keen to have a word (might have to look him up in the phone book) and find out what his plans are.
On the subject of making sure all the polling stations are covered, I suggest you get into a huddle with the other Yes leaning agents and agree some sort of attendance schedule so that you try to have at least two observers there all the time regardless of the sponsoring Agent.
bob sinclair
10 years ago
Further to Tartan Tory & X_Sticks comments RE Referendum Agents, I am awaiting further info from Glasgow City Council.
As TT & X_S have already said, this is not going to be a one man job and I will be looking for volunteers to help/advise as, like TT I have not done this before.
I am in the same ‘boat’ as TT & X_S regarding the postal vote count, being fully employed I will not be able to cover this other than Friday Afternoons which will not be a problem.
I plan to set up an e-mail address tonight which will solely be for this purpose (to prevent emails getting lost in a sea of spam) & will also be looking at getting a cheap mobile & PayG sim so I can have a dedicated phone No. for this.
As soon as I have this all set up I will post details on here & look forward to getting this job done.
kininvie
10 years ago
Just a wee update on WBB status:
The 20k print run of the ‘Collector’s edition’ is being delivered on Thursday (I hope)
Ivan McKee and myself are then hiring a van and putting these out round the central belt (population density and all that).
I fear that delivery is all spoken for… :((
Then, on or near 28th, the full 200k run will come off the presses. Stu is setting up hubs around the country – he’ll no doubt release details in due course.
Tartan Tory
10 years ago
bob sinclair says:
I am in the same ‘boat’ as TT & X_S regarding the postal vote count, being fully employed I will not be able to cover this other than Friday Afternoons which will not be a problem.
I’m actually in a different ‘boat’ Bob. I have a company to run, which can be a bit more than a 9-5 job! However, I am on record of stating already that this is too important for one mans financial concerns to over-ride the greater good. If I lose business or upset customers because of this, then so be it.
bob sinclair
10 years ago
I hear what you are saying TT & agree entirely with you. Will be putting as much into this as I possibly can.
TJenny
10 years ago
Jim Thomson, Brian Doonthetoon + X Sticks, re discussion on Alastair McConnachie being a Ref Agent in many and varied locations, and discussed in earlier comments on this thread, I see the Rev has named him in the ‘Bigots Together’ post as a holocaust denier. I knew I’d heard his name before when we were digging around for any info on him, how did I miss this!
I’d checked whether he was on any Scottish UKIP contender lists, he doesn’t seem to have been, but didn’t look for him on BNP, though maybe he’s just an independent (the irony) nut job.
Oh well, just so long as he doesn’t become an indy ref poll denier.
Oneironaut
10 years ago
@TJenny “Oh well, just so long as he doesn’t become an indy ref poll denier.”
Just got this mental image of him going on TV after a Yes vote and saying: “Errr, can we try that again, best out of three?” 😉
@Jim Thomson
Yep, they’re fun to mess with 😉
Worst thing they can do is try to pull that scam on a computer tech with an evil sense of humour and too much time on his hands, hehe.
Had them just snap after a while and shout more verbal abuse than a BT agent’s Twitter feed. 😉
bob sinclair
10 years ago
Ok Folks in Glasgow, I’ve set up an email account as follows:
indyref2014WoS[at]gmail[dot]com
Drop me an email if you can assist please.
Vince
10 years ago
Could someone give me details of and a means of contacting WoS Agent for referendum for South Ayrshire. I am prepared to offer a significant amount of time to help him out with postal votes etc. Thanks
Any WOS agent for NW Perthshire needing a help re Blairgowrie/Alyth/ Coupar Angus side of things?
BB
10 years ago
Hi folks!
Just letting you know that things have started with the Ref Agent for South Ayrshire, just as the scale of task sinks in…
The aim of the game is as many sensible people as possible to keep an eye on things, so help is required if we’re going to make the Wings effort work. It’s a good idea to have plenty people involved to keep things honest and straight but with a cool head.
If any Wings regulars are interested, feel free speak up! 🙂
Obviously half the problem for this is many won’t be members of parties or old hands at the game as this referendum has brought in so many from outside the usual politics or the party web of contacts and established organisation.
We’re Winging it to say the least…
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@Morag
Just been in contact with our shiny new South Ayrshire Agent 🙂
He thought you might be able to help shine some light on what we (Agent plus helpers) all need to do.
I haven’t scoped the size of the task yet, but I suspect there will be dozens of polling stations and a few days worth of postal vote checking to be done on top of the final count stuff.
Any and all help appreciated 😛
chipmonkey
10 years ago
Sorry -meant NE Perthshire!
BB
10 years ago
I think it’s important to note too we’re not going in swivel-eyed to spot conspiracies. It’ll be exciting on the day as we’ll be right there as it is all progressing, we’ll have a good idea of what direction it is heading before announcements and we can say we were there and involved, but don’t expect X-Files or to battle shadowy ballot-tampering MIBs. 😉 It’ll be more a comfortable shoes and bottle of water sort of day, I suspect. Getting as many sensible folk out there to be Alert Readers for South Ayrshire on the scene is what counts. There’s a lot for us to learn on this in the mere month (!) we’ve got left.
I think the rural areas especially will need a lot to cover the many small polling stations miles apart in villages, etc.
Tartan Tory
10 years ago
Jim Thomson says:
I haven’t scoped the size of the task yet, but I suspect there will be dozens of polling stations and a few days worth of postal vote checking to be done on top of the final count stuff.
Just to add to your scoping techniques Jim, if I were to complete the Agent task to it’s full extent, I would be looking at 500 volunteers!!! This is based on three ‘shifts’ of 6 hours each at the (160) polling stations on my patch, plus the maximum permitted agent numbers per postal vote opening sessions and at the count itself.
Needless to say, this will need to be rationalised by combining and co-ordinating efforts with other ‘like-minded’ YES agents….. Much to do!
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
@TT – did ah no jist say that at 2:16pm 😉
Tartan Tory
10 years ago
So you did, but I hadn’t appreciated the enormity of the task at that point! 😉
Tartan Tory
10 years ago
BTW, the polling station ‘agents’ are not permitted inside the polling stations themselves. There is no ‘overseeing’ to be done in there!
Polling station agents are more about watching turnout and canvassing those going into the polling station in an officially unofficial capacity!
Paula Rose
10 years ago
Tartan Tory dear – can I unofficially attach myself to you? – back to stuffing.
Tartan Tory
10 years ago
I think you just want another hard’n’fast ride in my car Paula darling! 😉
I wouldn’t want them to build my house if that’s the kind of walls they put up. If the infamous cairn is being build to those standards it’s going to be a death trap.
BB
10 years ago
I wonder if they imagine walls of shoogly breeze blocks around every border? It’s a wonder it didn’t fall over in the wind and land on them.
ronnie anderson
10 years ago
@ Paula Rose thats a tall order,( dont laugh ) you canny dey anything else but laugh. Your just another Brick in the Wall,noo there,s a song.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@Paula Rose –
Good god, what a total embarrassment.
They didn’t need a sledgehammer – my dog could’ve pushed it over.
Utter rubbish, but a classic of its kind.
Paula Rose
10 years ago
Ian dear – I’m only following orders.
Paula Rose
10 years ago
Blooming nob sort xx
Paula Rose
10 years ago
Why am I here again? I thought I was being a serious girl – oh what the hell, I hope you are all doing your thang and convincing folk. I had to deal with an arrogant loud-mouthed englander yesterday – he won’t try that chat up line again.
cearc
10 years ago
Paula Rose,
Y’jammy lady! Had a spin in TT’s Quattro, eh?
Lucky you.
X_Sticks
10 years ago
It’s all your fault Ah just wet mysel Paula Rose 😉
Paula Rose
10 years ago
cearc dear – I couldn’t possibly comment xx
Paula Rose
10 years ago
X_Sticks dear – too much information.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
We had a good meeting tonight in the Cranberry Rose Centre, Pennyburn, Kilwinning.
A crowd of ‘Socialists For No’ turned up. First I’ve heard of them, but they were team-handed (six, I think) and had nice shiny leaflets to give to the 60 or so attendees. Apparently, one of them (a worryingly embittered-looking young French man) had, apparently, travelled up from London. Their efforts to derail the meeting flopped miserably, but why they went to such efforts remains a mystery.
I had to chair the thing. Richie Venton, Colin Turbett, and Louise Cameron (a new SSP member, and brilliant speaker) did their thing, and it all went swimmingly.
I just wish we’d had the WBB to dish out…
Paula Rose
10 years ago
Ian dear – I’d just settled down to stroke my pussy and you bring disturbing news of a french variety, non pour les future?
Thepnr
10 years ago
Well done Ian.
“Socialists for NO” where the fuck are they recruited from?
These are the same “Socialists” that side with the Lords, Land owners, Millionaire Bankers and Tories.
Their having a laugh. No wonder they had to go to France to recruit them. Six socialists who see being harder on welfare than the Tories as a good thing. Not even funny.
cearc
10 years ago
Does anyone know who Garve Scott-Lodge is, other than being our agent for Highland?
He’s probably in deep shock looking at the task. 299 polling stations!
Paula Rose
10 years ago
‘Socialists for No’ is hat the same group as ‘Commies for cant’?
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@Paula Rose/Thepnr –
I didn’t even remember to take one of their leaflets. Strange outfit. I’ll find out what I can about them, and it would certainly help if I could remember their actual name. It wasn’t ‘Socialists For No’ but very close to it…
Oneironaut – did you happen to take one of their leaflets?
“He’s probably in deep shock looking at the task. 299 polling stations!”
I think that’s a given! Hopefully many hands will make light work…
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
@Paula Rose –
Cheers.
That does seem to be them. Why they’ve never surfaced before now is strange – why they choose to do so in Kilwinning is stranger still.
No matter – Colin Turbett and Richie Venton kicked their arses (in the nicest possible way, naturellement) and the French lad made a show of leaving during Colin’s final comments. The rest of them had the civility to stay seated, but bolted as soon as Richie finished his sum-up.
They hung around in the courtyard long enough to have fleas inserted in their ears, and departed to cries of ‘Don’t forget to vote Yes comrades!’
Bickering Socialists – what are we like!?
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
Note to self –
Stop using ‘apparently’ in comments…
Thepnr
10 years ago
‘Don’t forget to vote Yes comrades!’ Nice one 🙂
Thepnr
10 years ago
This is what the referendum is doing to us. Won’t stop me though, I was crazy before the campaign started. LOL
Here is a wee song for Westmidden and there gravy train. link to youtube.com Vote Yes.
ronnie anderson
10 years ago
I like the Socialist worker bit, whit workers are the appealing tae, you,ll find them awe doon the job centre, Fkin muppets.
gerry parker
10 years ago
@ Bob,
I have received all the referendum agent material from North Lanarkshire council.
Going through it now.
A briefing meeting has been arranged by the counting officer on Thursday 27th August.
commencing 7pm.
Jim McIntosh
10 years ago
Referendum canvassing – Scene 1:
“Action”
Knock! Knock!
Wha’s there?
No Thanks
What’d ya mean, you’re knockin at my door, wha are ye?
No Thanks
You’re nae right you, you shid be lifted, awa’n bile yer heid.
“Cut”
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
You learn something new every day.
What I have learned today:
B&Q does not sell elastic bands.
Please share.
Jim McIntosh
10 years ago
Referendum canvassing – Scene 2:
“Action”
Knock! Knock!
Wha’s there?
No Thanks
What do you want?
We want to talk
How many of you are there?
Two
Then you can talk tae each other! By the way you got the number right!
“Cut”
bob sinclair
10 years ago
Comments open on BBC Scotland thread re Tim Vine wining ‘one-liner’ of the year at Edinburgh Festival.
I commented in line with others posting their own one-liners:
Q. Did you hear about the Indyref related thread that was open for comment?
A. No, neither did I.
Just got an email from the BBC saying my comment had been deleted for (insert your own reason).
Jim Thomson
10 years ago
Someone much cleverer than me put together this playlist on YouTube.
It’s the Q&A session from our Troon Jim Sillars, Philippa, Ivan & Ben gig last week.
The main speakers will be added to another YouTube posting over the next day or two.
B&Q sell hairy string, so why would you want elastic bands from them?
Oneironaut
10 years ago
@Ian Brotherhood
I didn’t take one of their leaflets. Got plenty of toilet paper at home, thanks! 😉
The first one who asked a question was going on about how a Yes vote would split the working classes of the different countries within the UK, when they should all remain united against capitalism.
Slight variant of a similar tired old argument I’ve heard before.
And I’m sure I’ve seen the guy who said it somewhere before too. Can’t remember where though. Only caught a glimpse of him on the way in, since I was right at the back with the “camera crew” (Me and another party member who was videoing the meeting) and spent the night staring at the backs of people’s heads.
Think I’ve managed to track the group down though.
The picture on this site looks like one of their leaflets:
socialequality.org.uk/
At the time I thought they were just some sort of new BT trolls pretending to be socialists like some kind of poorly thought-out political trojan horse effort.
But now I’m thinking they’re just dangerously misguided…
squarego
10 years ago
I’m hearing of queues of people at John Street, Glasgow to register to vote. Anyone got info on this? An awakened population, or busloads of people from England and NI shipped in to boost the No vote?
Is anyone checking it out?
gerry parker
10 years ago
Historical note:-
Hairy string was widely used in the post office in the 60’s to tie up bundles of letters prior to delivery, and to tie up the necks of parcel bags before they were dispatched. Nowadays they use elastic bands to bundle the letters, then discard them all throughout their delivery.
I pick em up, give them a light wash with some washing up liquid and a spot of savlon, and Hay Presto, bands to bundle my Yes newspapers!
I also save up bits of hairy string, but that’s another (sad) story.
Have a good day wingers, get out there and talk to people, or talk to them on the phone and get them to think and talk to other people. Pop a leaflet or two through a door, don’t have any Yes material lying round, get it out there. 28 Days to go.
We can win this.
Ian Brotherhood
10 years ago
Perhaps this is already being attended to, but will we see a ‘WBB Selfie’ Facebook/Twitter campaign? Remember what happened when the Sunday Herald came out? That was impressive.
As soon as the actual WBBs appear we could do likewise, make it trend, and get even more bang for our buck.
As soon as anybody has got some Wee Blue Books available, I could use a few hundred for delivery to undecideds in the south side of Glasgow. Please let me know where I can pick up. Thanks, Cal
@Ronnie,
May take me some time to arrange (kinda busy just now 😉 )Ronnie, but leave it with me and I’ll see what I can do. I knew of a little stone cutters over at Cove and hopefully they are still there.
Belated happy birthday Alex sorry Irene and I couldn’t make it up on Sunday but I had to finish my leaflet drops for a Nichola Sturgeon night in Lochgelly centre, my wee grand daughter helped me, finished it in jig time, 🙂
Patrician
“@Paula Rose, unfortunately you won’t be pushing wings up the listings by clicking on the link.”
I just put in google search bar “wee blue book” and it came up as the top entry.
Brian Doonthetoon
One again thanks , they were put to good use , it was great meeting you all on Sunday .
Typical wingers , first on the field of battle and last off , we will win this .
Ooh lookee…
“Dear Paula
Time to play your part in Scotland’s future
In just 34 days time we will vote on Scotland’s future. It is a vote unlike any in our history, impacting you, your family and generations to come.
The ‘No Thanks’ Campaign is a campaign built around people like you. People who don’t want to stand by and watch as Scotland breaks away and becomes weaker.
Now is the time to join our growing number of inspirational volunteers out on the ground right across Scotland. You might have a free hour or two or maybe even longer. Whatever you can do you will help play your part for Scotland. It couldn’t be easier:
Register as a volunteer and join your local grassroots group.
Invite your friends, family, colleagues and neighbours to get involved by registering here: link to bettertogether.net
Volunteer now
Ask Alex Salmond for his plan B
It has been over a week now since the first TV debate on Scotland’s future. Alex Salmond is still refusing to provide details on what his plan B is for our currency.
Sign our petition to demand answers.
Sign our petition
Invite your friends to volunteer…”
Sorry, still rolling around the floor having difficulty holding things in.
@John King, this will be because lots of people are linking to the page. The spiders and crawlers google use to trawl through the internet will end up at that page. Importance in rankings appear to be more to do with amount of independent links to a web page from other web pages. The thing is, if you knew every in and out of the way google ranks webpages you could be an extremely rich person.
Patrician dear, so no problem if I carry on the way I am? xx
The ongoing main thread is infested.
Can we chat in here instead?
If she/he/it comes in here we can gather our tents and sleeping bags and head off into the back of beyond…
Ian dear – rest assured I will keep you safe xx
Back of beyond sounds like a nice place away from trolls.
and Ian Honey did you get your hairy, short and curly?
and for those who love my mum…
Time to say good-bye, we have a future to win for our country.
I have the contacts I need where I am.
No more poking fun, I have ordinary people to talk to, people like me.
No more chatting on wings, time is short.
Everyday counts, we all have our contacts sorted.
@Paula Rose, if it keeps you happy and out of mischief, carry on.
👿
The annoying creature on the leading thread has been booted off.
Never mind. Another one will be along shortly…
Trying to find the strip cartoon from the Freak Brothers’ where the cockroach general would send his battalions into various catastrophes, and the punchline would often be ‘Never mind. Plenty more where they came from.’
Haven’t found it yet, but stumbled across this, which may amuse some:
link to 4.bp.blogspot.com
@Paula Rose
You’ll be here on the 18th like the rest of us. At least I hope you will be.
Ian – was that from the Furry Freak Brothers? A wee nostalgia trip there. 🙂
@TJenny –
Indeed it was. Seems quaint now…
Ian – ah well, that’s nostalgia for you. 🙂
Ian – any idea how many are intending to go to Airdrie on Saturday 23rd? I think we’ve got
Ronnie (obvs)
You
Me
Cactus
Tam Jardine
Thepnr?
Anyone else?
OK last post gone into moderation – will this get through? It’s the GCHQ shift change – again!
I went into moderation after posting a track on the main thread, just as an interlude you understand. The post that was moderated was actually trying to get back on topic, so I’ll put it down to my current infatuation with hardcore avant garde. 🙂
If anyone is brave enough to play the game, please can you identify the 1970’s TV show the sampled steel drum is from. I’m thinking Mission Impossible.
Messer Chups – A plateful brain
If there is a wings night out in Airdrie on the 23rd count me in
Still awaiting details re Airdrie.
Is it confirmed? Getting a tad close…
@TJenny –
re Airdrie, I truly don’t know anything more than what’s been mentioned here. Someone (Ronnie?) had mentioned maybe using the Wetherspoons, but I don’t know if that’s a go-oer.
Haven’t heard anything about Airdrie either.
Then again I haven’t been on here as much lately…
Not even too sure where Airdrie is… *runs off to Google Maps*
If it’s another Wings night out, and if I can get there, I’m interested 😀
@Paula
Hope you keep reading this (and other Wings) thread(s).
See you on the other side 🙂
@Cameron B
Are you really expecting us half daft oldies to remember as far back as the MI TV series? Not only that but, remember a two second steel drum sample that’s been a wee bit mashed?
I had to shut my eyes during the video, I couldn’t take all the image changes (not on enough of the right drugs y’see 😉 )
Anyway, nope, doesn’t sound familiar. Sorry.
Morning Folks! You probably weren’t aware, but there was a mini ‘wings meet’ last night at a posh hotel in Aberdeen… I was (unusually) the first to arrive at the pre-dinner drinks reception and was happy to discover that there was a free bar!!! As I watched the guests arrive, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the hat-wearing, festival-going groupie(!), known as X-sticks can actually scrub-up rather well. I only recognised him because of the wings lapel badge on his jacket as he walked into the room. (Good morning Colin) 🙂
Aside from such A-list celebrities as a couple of badge-wearing Wingers, there were a few less well known faces at the soiree. For example, I spoke at length with a wee chap called Alex and also with his lovely wife Moira. We even arranged to meet again for lunch near their home in the not too distant future. There was a chap called John who was an accountant-type from Edinburgh and he spent a good while with myself and my wife discussing the Angus glens, Kirriemuir & Blairgowrie. Finally, there was a (loud) wee ‘wifey’ from Glasgow called Elaine (who apparently is also known as ‘Mary Doll’) and she was instrumental in organising my lunch with Alex and Moira.
All in all, a very nice evening and good to be in a crowd of over 200 people from the Aberdeen Yes camp. We also had a bit of a fund-raiser and the total for the evening was £17,000!! Perhaps not quite up to Stu’s crowd-funding achievements, but very good all the same.
Despite all the positivity in the North East, I reckon it’s got to be the central belt that turns this thing around. I’m going to a function in Glasgow next week and I’ve heard that man Alex is going to be there again too. Anyone else from here going to that one???
Hi TT
Sorry I missed you at the end, but it was past Mrs X_Sticks bedtime and I was hustled out in short order.
Hopefully catch up again at some of the other events.
It couldn’t have been past her bedtime! I reckon you need the beauty sleep more than she does!!! 🙂
@Tartan Tory
Sounds like a pleasant evening had by all TT. 🙂
I hear that Alex fella is quite the convivial talker when he’s not doing the day job. 😀
Indeed he is Macart, and a potential rival to Elaine C Smith in the comedy stakes when he wants to be as well!! Mind you, he seems to be surrounded and challenged by a sorry bunch of half-arsed comedians on a daily basis, so he has obviously learned a thing or two in his time. 🙂
Tartan Tory says:
“I reckon you need the beauty sleep more than she does!”
I can’t argue with that, much as I would like to. I put it down to the wear and tear of campaigning 😉
Must admit to having seen him in action away from the day job on one occasion. Night and day and a wicked turn of wit when he feels like it.
On the night out stakes – Hope Wingers are going to have another meet n greet on the west coast before the vote. I’d certainly like to throw my hat in the ring and shake a few hands.
My computer has just automatically “updated” Windows 8 and restarted.
Now when I tried to respond to john king’s email using “reply all” Nobody is recognised and it won’t send. Hmmmm???
Jim Thomson
Thanks for trying. 🙂
@CameronB You’re welcome 🙂
Today has been seriously fragmented for me since the Rev stuck that damn fundraiser up. I’ve been switching back and forth between what I should be doing and the fundraiser thread.
I’ll be glad when this is all over!
On a very similar tack, just had an e-mail from Mission Central telling me to expect a box of WBBs next week. I’m hoping the local Yes Team are up for a targeted letterbox-popping session.
@Thepnr that wouldn’t be the auto upgrade from Win8 to Win8.1 would it?
It’s been know to brick a few laptops.
I had to rescue one belonging to my youngest lad’s girlfriend. Took me half a day between rescuing files off the hard disk before doing a reset on the operating system.
Seems as though yours isn’t quite that bad though 🙂 especially if you can get to the stage that you can compose messages but just not send them.
Which mail program you using? Outlook proper or outlook express or something else?
Using Thunderbird, tend not to trust anything LOL.
I take it you’ve done the time honoured “power cycle” and allowed it to restart itself?
You might have to switch it off (via the start button) and then switch it on from cold (i.e. after a few seconds of being off).
If it still doesn’t want to play ball, check for updates to T’bird (unless it claims to do those automatically of course, in which case CHECK FOR UPDATES anyway 😉 )
If that doesn’t work, not sure there’s any point in me even suggesting trying to restore address books etc. because “reply all” is kinda self explanatory and it should pick up addresses from the To: and Cc: fields.
Jim
All the addresses were picked up, no problem. The issue was the first person in the To list after john king says not recognized(or close to) so I deleted that name.
Then the next said not recognized etc. haven’t tried again yet but will do and note the exact messages.
Cheers
Happy birthday LA. 22 is so old!
Still, 21 is so last year 😉
@Thepnr
“Hello, I.T., have you tried turning it off and on again?”
XP was the nearest thing to a half-decent operating system Microsoft had. Once they discontinued that, I just quit using Windows for good, and never looked back.
Looking into this, I’ve heard of a few people having trouble with Thunderbird in Win8.1
Not too sure why. Possibly Microsoft up to their usual dirty tricks with competitors’ software again.
Of course it could also be a bad update in Thunderbird. Mozilla’s developers give the impression that they don’t really seem to care about their own products much for some reason…
Can’t seem to find any information about that specific problem. And I don’t use Thunderbird myself.
Have to go out for a bit right now (leafleting in Kilwinning for a Yes-campaign-related public meeting there on Monday), but I’ll take another look into it later when I get back home…
Had the dubious pleasure of witnessing the white noise from Jim Murphy’s Megaphone this afternoon.
Great turn-out from YES, usual suspects from NO. Also managed to give him a ‘I’m voting No because… ‘ WoS leaflet.
Parting shot to him, as I was walking home and saw him heading for his car. –
‘Aye, it’ll not be long Jim’
‘Not long until what’ he said.
‘Not long until you get your P45 Jim’
Scottish cup Falkirk v Rangers.
just about to start.
link to hdfree.tv
Been out since 4pm (Aberdeen @ 5pm on a Friday meant a leather clad trip) and just got back. Straight onto a pc to see what’s been happening….. YeeHaa!!! 🙂
By my reckoning, we are at a third of a MILLION copies within the first twelve hours of a crowdfunder when there were originally only going to be 20,000 copies.
WOW! Well done everybody. 🙂
Hey Bob Sinclair
I just saw you wandering past in the video, pity you didn’t get to hand him his P45 live. LOL
Still reeling over yet another massive show of solidarity by Wingers. So, to everybody out there (and with a string reference)
Bring on the party!
@ Thepnr Does Lesley-Anne Like T Rex ?
Now THAT Michael is a very, very, VERY SILLY question!
Go into the corner and write out 500 times LA LOVES T REX! 😛
Happy Birthday Lesley-Anne link to youtube.com Have a good one. Vote Yes.
Lesley-Anne
Happy birthday – one that will live long in the memory. Have a guid night.
Fellow Wingers
Chill out about next Saturday night – all will be confirmed in due course but I am banking on spending the night in an Airdrie tavern amidst you all. Instructions will come through in plenty of time to get the word out.
Thanks for that Michael, consider your punishment dismissed! 😛
Thank you Tam, aye you are so right. I can’t remember another birthday like this one. I’ve been on a high all day and we’ve still the YES win on the 19th to come. 😛
TJ – I’ll await instructions. 🙂
Two TJ’s get me confused? Which is which? LOL
See you in Airdrie one way or another.
From me 🙂 and from him 🙂
I watched Michael McCabe’s presnt to Lesley Anne but it is over an hour long but one near the start caught my eye.
Jeepster.
For you and your partner Leslie. Happy Birthday again xx
Mmm just found half a packet of parma violets left over from Seafest. Thanks Ronnie.:-)
We’re away next Saturday so no visit down to Airdrie. 🙁 Drat.
Many thanks for that one Thepnr. XXXXX 😛
Whilst having my earholes assaulted by The Murph, I along with a couple of others got chatting with an ‘undecided’ who had questions about administration of the issue of driving licences, tv licences etc.
That discussed we moved on to passports. He was concerned that he’d be forced on Independence Day. We put this one to bed very quickly by reminding him that he was born a UK citizen and unless he chose to relinquish that he would always be a UK citizen, only he can give it up, and told him that if he wanted a UK passport then no one could stop him from having one.
Pensions likewise discussed & dealt with.
Issues in the main dealt with, pointed him in the direction of the ‘WBB’.
I’d like to think that whilst we were having this polite conversation and the ‘Murph’ was still screaming into his microphone that this gent saw what the YES campaign is about. It’s about respect & information. Hopefully he will take what we have told him, build on it & vote yes.
Does anyone have a link to Murphy’s latest outing? The threads are becoming too long to scroll through.
BTW, as mentioned by Oneironaut earlier, we (SSP) did some door-to-door leafleting in Kilwinning this evening – the patch we were in was (we were assured by people who know) ‘apache country’, with TWO Masonic Halls within a stone’s throw of each other. Many UJs and Red-Hands on display, as well as a few NO THANKS window posters. ‘Yes’ stickers, on cars or windows, were rare.
Did we get any hassle? Naw. Did anyone come out to engage us in debate, or release the dogs on us? Naw.
There ya go Ian
link to tinyurl.com
Murphy on a milk crate pmsl. I haven’t watched it yet, just have it queued up to round off my evening 😉
@Chipmonkey did you no get parma violets on Sat/Sun there wiz plenty in the sweety bag lol.
If there wiz a nite oot in Airdrie naebody hiz telt me yit.
Ian Brotherhood
Sounds like there was a couple of lions there after all. We’re winning this – its just the largest scale mind-fuck imaginable. They are going to tell us we are on a hiding to nothing right up to our victory.
I keep thinking about the end of movies like Poltergeist where the evil finally takes physical form and can be destroyed (a giant, evil tree in the movie). Well that is what we are faced with – an evil empire that can finally and forever be defeated.
What a fork in the road we are reaching – the new order v the old, positivity v negativity, and the difference between success and failure could not be more stark.
Have a guid weekend Ian – hope to see you next weekend
@Ian Brotherhood
Enjoy, it’s a classic and will be long remembered.
Anyone fancy some toast?
new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/jim-murphy-on-a-milk-crate
Oh and before you go and watch this, since the very fisrt WOS night out that was widely publicised i have expected “the lone nutter” or his equivalent.
Truth is they just aren’t there, our support is huge, more than 2/4rds of ordinary folk. They would have to pay their nutters to disrupt one of our events.
At their very high cost.
Thepnr – Whit, there’s a ‘Rent a Nutter’ shop or Nutters R Us? Oh, aye, that’ll be the unionists then. 🙂
Posted this on the wrong thread, but maybe not, anyway worth posting it here too, ’cause we’re worth it – and where is Paula Rose?
For Stuey and all Wingers – Tina Turner and Simply the Best – enjoy and join in. 🙂
Aye Thepnr just watching the toast burning 😉
The only thing you can say for him is he does at least face the public. More than the rest of the noo labour.
Oor Del was enjoying himself 😉
@Tjenny
Post from Paula last night.
Paula Rose said:
“Time to say good-bye, we have a future to win for our country…No more chatting on wings, time is short.
link to wingsoverscotland.com
@ X Sticks Thank you Colin a most enjoyable vid
X-Sticks – so we wont hear from Paula Rose again until the 19th Sept? 🙁
Paula is fighting for the cause by wearing down her high high heels going round doors.
She will be looking in though now and again and I can’t fault her for that considering a full time job as well.
@Thepnr –
I know you’re an engineer, so can you please explain what 2/4rds is? (:))
Ronnie, yes those were the parma violets you gave me at Seafest that I found tbe remains of tonight.
Then I changed subject completely mid post and mentioned that I can’t go to any meet up next Saturday (meaning a week tomorrow) in Airdrie. I just type as I think. Doesn’t confuse me just abody else.
He was once known as Rab the Doupter, then as Bob Sinclair, now he’s The Rebel without a Pause, mair power tae ye Bob
x-sticks,
Have to agree, at least JM is out there fighting for his expense account unlike the rest of the troughers.
What’s this about Paula Rose going AWOL?
Nae chance. That lass is a tonic for the troops, and she knows it – are we to be deprived of her company for five weeks?
Intolerable.
Come back Paula Rose.
And that’s an order.
Here’s a good song for a Friday.
@ Chipmonkey am the one confused, has Patrician orginized the Witherspoons in Airdrie I,ve not heard from him or Gerry, I,ve been in Maryhill all day.
Ian – I’m glad you asked the 2/4rds question. 😉
@ Thepnr I sent you a text message
Ronnie – all I know is there are a few of us intending to descend on Airdrie on Sat 23rd. No idea what venue though. Tam Jardine says details to follow.
@ T Jenny I left itup to Partician & Gerr Parker to arange so I dont know whats been done as yet.
Ronnie
Just – thanks.
@ Bob yer a star.
PS to Paula Rose –
I should amend my last comment. I doubt Paula likes being ‘ordered’ by anyone. So I’ll change that to a ‘pretty-please with a big giant cherry on top’.
Come back, eh? Please?
Ian Brotherhood says:
I know you’re an engineer, so can you please explain what 2/4rds is?
We now it all depends from what end of the spectrum you look at 2/4th. Some might call it a half but as you well know halves are there for drinking.
I prefer to look at it as greater than zero, admittedly it’s less than one but not by much.
As far as the future is concerned at least 2/4th of our population will be Better off bt stayiny Togeter.
The other 2/4th’s we;; I really dont give a fuck.
At the end of the day as long as 2/4th say No to separation and the ohher 2/4th’s say Yes. It won’t matter, the people will have made their voice heard.
I’m on the side of the 2/4th’s. Even if it is a Yes in September.
Deary me LOL
@Thepnr –
Thanks for clearing that up.
I’m glad I read your explanation there Thepnr … I think! 😉 😛
Well it looks a if I wont be getting a Email from BT to say where Mr Darling is appearing in Coatbridge tommorrow I have the tickets printed but no place to go.
Don’t tell me you’ve been ratted out by someone ronnie. Johann hasn’t been around your local recently by any chance? 😛
Johann has been tutoring me, private lessons and that,
Doing good eh!
Gawd she really is busy these days. I guess this must explain why she can’t understand what our currency is after independence she is dog tired from all that out of hours tutoring that she is doing! 😛
@Ian Brotherhood
“We walked into the lion’s den…an’ he wisnae there.”
Couple of very big and very angry dogs there.
Though they actually weren’t as bad as the tiny little ankle-biter that kept trying to trip me up when I was walking up the path and then started barking loud enough to be heard in the next town and wouldn’t shut up even when I went into the next street!
Still, we’ve shifted a good few thousand leaflets between us all over the past couple of days. 🙂
Most of Kilwinning’s Don’t Knows just had the “no-one tells me where to get information” excuse well and truly demolished!
Have to wait and see how many of them turn up at the meeting.
Hey Ian,
Rummaging through my disorderly bookshelves recently, an author’s name leapt out at me.
Yes, I have had had your book for some years.
@X-Sticks –
Thanks for the Murphy Livestream link. Watched it all, and enjoyed it immensely.
He mentioned (at approx. 24 mins) that this was the 48th event. So – we have another 52 to look forward to?
Nice…
The land of Zebedee is calling. Night all.
Cracking day, that. Fair lifts the spirit.
We can, we should, we must.
An independent Scotland.
Yes.
@cearc –
Aha!
So that’s where it went!
Night, night from me too. What a day it’s been, all that excitement – is just a practice run for the 19th. 🙂
Unfortunately I did not swell the coffers of chez Brotherhood as I bought it 2nd (or should that be 2rd?) but it was an ex-library copy so you were well paid
@cearc –
Every Little Helps!
(And the ex-library copies have good solid covers on them – keep the thing! Might be worth something one day, especially after I croak it.)
It’s the upside of so many library closures in england that there is a lot of good ex-library stuff about.
If you come up for a holiday sometime you can sign it.
Ok if this fundraiser finishes like I think it might we may have half a million WBB’s on our hands.
Where, when, how? who do we we give them too? None should be wasted.
@Thepnr –
This is only by way of an example, and others will have to do the arithmetic…
Yesterday morning, SSP Ayrshire leafleted Pennyburn (Kilwinning), and the fringes of other neighbourhoods – the team of six shifted 1500 leaflets (through letterboxes) in just over two hours.
So 125/man/hoor
Looks right to me, so the secret is how many men/women?
I reckon thousands. Breaking it down into small bundles is what we do. Getting them into the right hands might be more difficult.
I’m not bring negative but let’s do it right. A half a million is a lot mind you and after distribution there can be no excuse of “no information”.
Even if they oppose Yes.
Hi
we are planning an event in central Edinburgh on Middle Meadow Walk for the evening of Sat 6th Sept.
We have access to a small open air stage, plan is to have music, films etc.
Its ideally located for distributing the wee blue book to numerous passersby, but we need a few hundred copies and a couple more volunteers to distribute them, anybody know where we can pick up some copies in Edinburgh/East Lothian?
Heres a link hope someone can help
link to facebook.com
Aussie #@!$#%. I’m on a warning. QQ says if I use the f word one more time I won’t get my scone and jam with cream this afternoon.
@Thepnr
We need to use the Yes canvassing returns to target the DKs – plan in Aberdeenshire is to hit all the 4+ DKs first then if time / copies of WBB permit target the 2/3+.
We have to try and maximise return for effort in the last push.
Off to the Aberdeen Yes stall at Markies now.
Give us a shout if you’re in the area.
Catch up later – let’s get out there and DO THIS.
@X_Sticks
Sounds like a plan. Will take a massive effort in the next 4 weeks. the last thing anybody wants is for boxes of the WBB to be sitting in an empty garage.
Some stamina and brains required here.
@Thepnr
If anyone is needed to post them out around Stevenston, I can volunteer.
As we learned the hard way in the leafleting run yesterday, if you have teams of people doing the same areas, be sure that everyone has some way of knowing which houses have already been done and which are still to be.
@Oneironaut
I used http://www.streetmap.co.uk to produce quite detailed street images which generally get right down to individual blocks of houses.
Have a look and make sure you zoom right down to the wee-est block possible. Then, if you use Windows there is a tool called “Snipping Tool” that you can access via the start menu and search for it.
If you get the aspect ratio just right you can then print those maps out either full-size landscape or portrait, depending on the area you’re trying to cover.
Give each volunteer, or pair of volunteers, their own map with their patch marked up.
Works really well for newbies.
At the first house in a street make sure the leaflet is visible ie sticking out of the letterbox.
and then hope that a bad BTer doesn’t come along afterwards and remove it 😛
Good advice Paula.
Have been making badges for most of the day. My biceps and pecs are involuntarily jerking.
Crash Test Dummies, ‘MMMM MMMM MMMM MMMM’ –
Wee bit of nostalgia for you Ian.
Ian, are you sure you simply haven’t been down the gym?
and here’s one for the geeky engineers amongst us 😛
@Thepnr –
Aye aye aye aye aye aye aye aye aye aye right.
@Jim Thomson
That was brilliant haha. Hood you must watch this.
@Ian Brotherhood
Ah, the old days eh! 🙂
Diversity, the spice of life. It’s my Life. Talk Talk
debbiethebruce
I live next to the Meadows, so it would be daft for me not to help. Leafleting or anything else, just let me know where and when.
Here’s one for the lazy engineers among us…
Just Because ? Why Not. link to youtube.com Vote Yes.
@ debbiethebruce I am up for that on the 6th of September just give me a shout and I will be there. Vote Yes.
Thepnr,
thousands of them about, especially with stepper motors rather than servos, here a couple
and
@Jim Thomson
Using a Linux system here. But for every Windows app, there’s usually a Linux equivalent (which is usually free, unlike the Windows one! 😉 )
When I was doing the Yes newspaper deliveries, they had some good maps of the areas, with route information and everything. Just a matter of giving everyone different routes.
@Paula Rose
Good idea that. I’d always just gotten into the habit of stuffing them right through, since I’ve heard of wee neds stealing stuff out of the letterboxes around here.
I’d even thought of spray painting weird symbols on street lamps to mark streets that have been done.
Putting a Yes sticker on each door to mark it as done might be frowned upon or I’d try that 😉
For Paula Rose –
Terence Trent D’Arby, ‘Sign My Name’ –
Right – a wee bit serious now.
Once Stu advises volunteers that they will be part of the Wings oversight team for the voting and counts, I suspect there will be a need for some sort of training/familiarisation provided by people on here who have done this sort of thing before.
I seem to remember a couple of regulars mentioning that they had previous experience (a couple with a LOT). Can’t find the threads though to identify the names.
Anyone on here either have that experience or, know the wingers who have the expertise?
Once we identify the people, we’ll need to arrange locations for said training/familiarisation ahead of the game.
Hearts V Hibs free stream
link to footballhd.me
@Jim Thompson.
Received forms yesterday from North Lanarkshire Council intimating I have been appointed as referendum agent for wings over Scotland.
Briefing session by the Counting Officer has been arranged for 27th August.
Excellent, Gerry. I offered my services for S Ayrshire or Fife (have access to digs across there), as needed, but nothing from our hyper-efficient council team(s) yet. Maybe there’s another Winger in S Ayrshire, of whom I am unaware … hmmmm.
@Ian Brotherhood & @Oneironaut
have you guys got twitter accounts? I need to either PM you or e-mail about our area.
Hi Jim.
The WOS Referendum Agent for Dundee has been appointed (Arthur Birnie) but has only asked for volunteers on his Facebook page and the “YES Dundee and Surrounding Areas Events & Information” Facebook page.
I got the impression from posts on his wall that you couldn’t volunteer if you couldn’t be at the Council’s briefing presentation on Tuesday morning (19th) but I subsequently noticed that he had mentioned, “and Robbie Spence who is coming to the count but cant make the briefing”.
I’ve posted on his wall, seeking clarification as to whether attendance on Tuesday is mandatory, as I was willing to volunteer to do a few hours at my polling station.
Thankd Brian.
Just had a look at the South Ayrshire website and found this list of agents:
link to south-ayrshire.gov.uk
I’ll have a scout around the other local areas and see what i can dig up.
East Ayrshire:
link to east-ayrshire.gov.uk
Wonder who the guy is at the top of the list.
North Ayrshire – no Wings agents.
link to north-ayrshire.cmis.uk.com
Fife:
link to fifedirect.org.uk
Perth & Kinross:
link to pkc.gov.uk
Falkirk:
link to falkirk.gov.uk
Shetland:
link to shetland.gov.uk
That Alistair McConnachie appears again. Who is he?
I’m going to be taking 18th & 19th Sept as a holiday and will be available to help out on Referendum duties in Shawlands Glasgow if required. Just let me know.
@Bob Sinclair – looks like you’re the Wings agent there:
link to glasgow.gov.uk
No Wings in Argyll & Bute, although that Alistair bloke is there again.
link to argyll-bute.gov.uk
Jim Thomson – looks like, on the East Ayrshire list, 13 out of the 18 campaign reps are pro Indy. Don’t know who Alistair McConnachie is representing so counted him as a No, as most Yes folk are proud to be known as Yessers. 🙂
I’ve not done a full trawl of the regions because I’m busy swotting up for something else I need to do on Wednesday. Just keep dipping into here every hour or so 🙂
That McConnachie name appears on quite a few of the ones I’ve seen.
Also, I don’t know who the Brian Blair lad from Minishant is, who is the South Ayrshire rep. Hopefully he’ll be on here soon and unveil himself (in a perfectly decent way, of course 😉 )
Sorry, that should all have been prefixed with @TJenny 🙁
All,
I’ve been working away from home last couple of weeks & never had a chance to check this out. I’m going to need some help/advice with this. Those who have my email, could you drop me a quick email.
Jim Thomson – That Alistair McConachie, wth the same address of G2 4JR, (when Googled that address seems to have a few businesses at that address including a Hair Studio, the Pantheon Club and Carpet Shop) appears on
N Ayrshire
E Ayrshire
Perth & Kinross
Falkirk Council
all whilst being based at the same address. How can this be? Is he a Time Lord? Are these places all having the vote at differing times? Is there such a thing as a floating referendum agent?
I couldn’t open the links to Shetland or Fife council’s lists, but if he’s there too, Dr Who needs to be told.
(With my tin foil hat on, could this be used as a spoiler? Lists of reps weren’t correct or somesuch skullduggery?)
possibly this guy
link to companycheck.co.uk
Not sure what the trust does yet though – more digging …
Co -directors:
accounts:
Not a monster company, but steady growth in funds.
This DOES NOT, however, mean that the trust has anything to do with his activities relating to the IndyRef.
Jim Thomson – that links very De Ja Vu as I’m sure I’ve seen it before re this chap in some other indy ref connection (BT donor or panel member?) Anyway, it doesn’t explain how he can be at different places at the same time.
link to jgstrust.org.uk
that link will take you to a page of the trust’s videos. Scroll to the foot and you’ll see Young Mr McConnachie giving a presentation to the “Get Britain Out” group back in 2001.
@TJenny, the ones from Shetland and Fife will be downloaded word docs. have a look in your downloads folder, or at the foot of your browser (I think)
I’m pretty sure he doesn’t have to be there personally but it allows him to appoint others to do the leg work (again, I think).
So, I suspect he’ll be on either the supporting Aye or supporting Naw lists with the EC. – not looked there yet.
Aye, sure enough he’s a Naw on the list
link to electoralcommission.org.uk
Three posts back – 2001 should have been 2011 – getting tired.
Bin stuffin’ facts into the heid aw day and need dinner/a drink 😉
Jim Thomson – you deserve a break, eat drink and be merry. 🙂
He’s on the Dundee list as well –
Alistair McConnachie
268 Bath Street
Glasgow, G2 4JR
@Jim Thomson –
My e-mail:
ian@stevenston4.fsnet.co.uk
Did they ever get anyone for the North Ayrshire area?
I could probably help out at the Stevenston polling station at Glencairn (my old primary school, ahhh, nostalgia trip…)
I’ll be going there to vote that day anyway. Just got the polling card through the letterbox on Friday 🙂
@Oneironaut – see my post at 3:24pm
Also, you might get an e-mail forwarded from Ian B that I sent him 🙂
@Jim Thomson
Ah ok, thanks 🙂
Normally I shy away from posting my E-mail address anywhere it can get easily hoovered up by spam bots.
Then again it’s already been pretty much infiltrated by unknown unsavoury characters anyway, judging by the number of my messages that keep disappearing.
I’ll likely be dumping it in favour of a more secure one at some point.
For now though, it’s at:
darkstar27 at Gmail dot com 🙂
Feel free to message me, unless you’re selling viagra, or if you have several billion pounds you want to transfer into my bank account from Nigeria, or if you’re from Microsoft technical support wanting access to my computer to “fix things”…
(Actually, if you’re that last one, feel free. I could use some entertainment! Hehe) 😉
@Jim Thomson –
Done and dusted.
This is all quite exciting, eh?
The memory is a strange thing, eh?
Thinking about Alistair Darling, I unaccountably remembered a favourite joke from my college days – one which garnered me a few free drinks during those lean years.
A wee Glasgow guy goes into the doctor’s for the first time:
‘Aha! A new face. Now, what can we do for you?’
The wee guy says nothing, but stands up, unzips his flies, extracts his penis, which is unusually large, and lays it on the desk. The doctor gets his specs on, dons latex gloves, and carefully examines the helmet, works his way along the foot-long shaft, then scrutinises the testes.
After a few minutes of painstaking examination he replaces the thing on the desk.
‘I can’t see anything wrong with this.’
‘Ah know,’ replies the wee guy, ‘it’s a pure belter intit?’
That Alistair McConachie is on the Aberdeenshire list too.
X-Sticks – do you not think that’s very strange? Will others who are not these resective lists be able to turn up and say they’re atttending instead of AMcC?
Maybe he’s representing the Scottish version of Spartacus party but they’ll all be Alistair McConachie instead – crikes maybe the UKOKs are using clones – eek!
Soz should read ‘not on these respective’ (I’ve lost the edit preview bit.)
@ Ian Brotherhood noo that cracked me up.Did you get the Badges.
@gerry parker that Bavaria beir went doon well wie the popeye steak I had.
@ronnie anderson –
Forgive me mister, I knew there was something I had to do – thank you aplenty indeed. They arrived on Thu/Fri. I’m totally chuffed.
I know I should really be wearing all these things, but the only one I wear regularly is the wee shiny gold one you gave me in Dundee. I want to keep the rest mint, for posterity.
(Oneironaut, on the other hand, is a fiend for the badges, and wears them all – he told me his jacket used to be waterproof before he got into the whole Yes thing!)
@Ronnie.
Glad you enjoyed it.
Perhaps the BTUKOKVNOBNOTHANKers could cover this song, and use AD as the front man. Imagine him…topless, running along the beach, the wind ruffling his eyebrows?
It’s a winner!
Hothouse Flowers, ‘Don’t Go’ –
Cameron B and Michael mccabe,thanks for the offer of help on the 6th Sept. its at 7.30pm-10pm at back of pancake stall,middle meadow walk.
Check on the face book link in my ealier post for updates.This is my hubbys project really as Im busy with English scots for yes.we will have a stall at the meadows on that date too,lots going on that day,and were on middle meadow walk every tues and thurs from now till the big day!
Come and say hello any time,usually along side yes marchmont stall.
‘…when you don’t meet a chancer, there’ll be days like this…’
Van Morrison, ‘Days Like This’ –
Where’s Paula Rose?
Come in Paula Rose…
And where’s Alex McI?
Come in Alex McI…
Ach, well, you can’t keep tabs on a’body.
Here’s something…
Martin Luther King, ‘Free At Last…’ –
@TJenny et all re Alistair McConachie.
Probably nothing sinister, he probably represents some organisation.
Each Referendum Agent registers helpers with the Counting Officer (as obviously one person can’t be everywhere all the time (though I do try 😉 )). Would be interesting to know who he represents though, could it be Nob Orders?
X-Sticks – Ah, I see, so he’s kind of the manager and can appoint helpers. I was thinking he may be UKIP, but that’s a lot of areas to cover with UKIPPpers or Nob Orderers. Didn’t think they’d have that many, or maybe you don’t have to be eligible to vote in the ref to be an observer? If not, they may be being bussed up from darn sarf.
U2, ‘Pride (In The Name Of Love) –
YesConvoy pics from today:
link to imgur.com
I haven’t added any text yet, I’ll get around to it later.
Same rule as before, if you don’t want to appear in any pics, let me know and I will remove them.
@Ian Brotherhood
Pity the badges aren’t waterproof too. Still got a couple from last year that are going rusty after campaigning on relentless rainy days 🙂
@Jim Thomson
Posted my E-mail yesterday, but it got stuck in a moderation queue for some reason.
It’s at 17th August – 8:54pm, if you haven’t already noticed it popping up there 🙂
I have, today, received notification of my appointment as the WoS Referendum Agent for the Angus Council Area.
I’m taking this appointment very seriously and I hope to be able to rely on the assistance of an army of volunteers from the north of Dundee, Forfar, Brechin, Montrose, Arbroath and surrounding areas.
Make no mistake, the task ahead is a daunting one, with 160 polling stations to account for, which are spread as far and wide as Dundee, Glenisla, Kirriemuir and Edzell to the west, and over thirty miles of the coastline on the east. To visit each station individually for only one minute would require several days, but that’s not the job!
I’m going to make no bones about this – I’ve never done the job of a Referendum Agent before and I don’t profess to be an expert. However, my strengths (I’m told) lie in administration and organisation, though I may need a more ‘people orientated’ second in command. 😉
There is a meeting of the eighteen (Angus) Referendum Agents on Thursday 28th August to discuss local arrangements and I would hope to be able to present a plan for volunteers on the immediately following weekend (30/31 August).
Firstly, I need an Angus army! I need names, addresses and contact numbers (with e-mail info etc.) of people who would be willing to attend their (hopefully) local polling station(s) as an ‘agent on my behalf’. I draw your attention to the Rev’s post on this very topic which states the job of a referendum agent:
link to wingsoverscotland.com
“- attend the receipt and opening of postal ballot papers and/or appoint postal ballot agents to do so on their behalf.
– attend polling stations on polling day for the purpose of detecting personation and/or appoint polling agents to do so on their behalf.
– attend the counting of votes and/or appoint counting agents to do so on their behalf.”
The opening of postal votes happens only in Forfar on four separate dates, so this one isn’t going to be too much of a problem. However, manning 160 polling stations for eighteen hours on the 18th September and then attending the subsequent count, is not a one-man job!!
It’s going to take some time to digest the many pages of information included in the pack I received today. Meantime, if anyone reading this in Angus is ready to step up to the plate on behalf of WoS, I can be contacted in the first instance by e-mail – john(dot)clark(at)belmont(hyphen)coms(dot)com. I’m looking for sensible, responsible individuals to oversee the goings-on in their locality on my behalf. I’m NOT looking for tin-foil hats, or people who have a tendency to jump up and down before engaging brain! This is an important undertaking, in the most important referendum you may ever be a part of, on possibly the most important single day of our lives. What I’m asking for is a big thing. I need YOU to help me on that very important day. I need your time, your understanding and your support.
Hi TT,
I am the WoS Referendum Agent for the Aberdeenshire area.
As TT says, we will ALL need volunteers to help with this,
WE WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DO THIS ALONE
NOw is the time that we will need our fellow Wingers to step up to the plate.
The Aberdeenshire postal votes take place over 10 days. I work full time, so there is no way I can do all that myself. We will probably need two people to cover each day of the postal vote count. If we can’ get that we might as well forget it.
Then as TT says there are the Polling booths, and while I didn’t count them last night there’s a lot in the Shire. I suspect we may not be able to cover all the PBs, but by working with other groups like WfI, the Greens etc perhaps we can get close.
Then there is the final count which could be a long long day and we’ll need enough people to give observers a break.
Anyone in Aberdeenshire who will be able to help can contact me at colinizat (at) Hotmail (dot) com.
I look forward to having my inbox swamped by volunteers 😀
@Oneironaut
You should have had that Micro$oft support e-mail by now 😉
I had a call from them just after 12 today but haven’t got the time to bugger them about for half an hour or so. Just told the wifie to sod off, and hung up.
I usually do a lot of “Uhuh” and “yes, go on” and “right that’s me doing it now”. That takes them about fifteen minutes or so, because I’m no awfy bright y’see and I need to be reassured that all the things I’m doin’ are correct.
When I get to the bit where I say “this disnae seem to be workin'” and they ask some more questions I then tell them that the pc came loaded with something called Line Yux or somethin’. There’s normally a short pause, they then try to go through it all again and eventually they get the drift that I’m winding them up.
Doesn’t stop them from calling every other day though.
Sometimes I hand the phone to my “IT guy”, normally one of my sons, who all have a great set of patter lines they use. can be very entertaining 😛
@Tartan Tory
I’ve still no idea what the Wings ID is of the guy who’s been nominated for S Ayrshire.
I’m keen to have a word (might have to look him up in the phone book) and find out what his plans are.
On the subject of making sure all the polling stations are covered, I suggest you get into a huddle with the other Yes leaning agents and agree some sort of attendance schedule so that you try to have at least two observers there all the time regardless of the sponsoring Agent.
Further to Tartan Tory & X_Sticks comments RE Referendum Agents, I am awaiting further info from Glasgow City Council.
As TT & X_S have already said, this is not going to be a one man job and I will be looking for volunteers to help/advise as, like TT I have not done this before.
I plan to set up an e-mail address tonight which will solely be for this purpose (to prevent emails getting lost in a sea of spam) & will also be looking at getting a cheap mobile & PayG sim so I can have a dedicated phone No. for this.
As soon as I have this all set up I will post details on here & look forward to getting this job done.
Just a wee update on WBB status:
The 20k print run of the ‘Collector’s edition’ is being delivered on Thursday (I hope)
Ivan McKee and myself are then hiring a van and putting these out round the central belt (population density and all that).
I fear that delivery is all spoken for… :((
Then, on or near 28th, the full 200k run will come off the presses. Stu is setting up hubs around the country – he’ll no doubt release details in due course.
bob sinclair says:
I’m actually in a different ‘boat’ Bob. I have a company to run, which can be a bit more than a 9-5 job! However, I am on record of stating already that this is too important for one mans financial concerns to over-ride the greater good. If I lose business or upset customers because of this, then so be it.
I hear what you are saying TT & agree entirely with you. Will be putting as much into this as I possibly can.
Jim Thomson, Brian Doonthetoon + X Sticks, re discussion on Alastair McConnachie being a Ref Agent in many and varied locations, and discussed in earlier comments on this thread, I see the Rev has named him in the ‘Bigots Together’ post as a holocaust denier. I knew I’d heard his name before when we were digging around for any info on him, how did I miss this!
I’d checked whether he was on any Scottish UKIP contender lists, he doesn’t seem to have been, but didn’t look for him on BNP, though maybe he’s just an independent (the irony) nut job.
Oh well, just so long as he doesn’t become an indy ref poll denier.
@TJenny
“Oh well, just so long as he doesn’t become an indy ref poll denier.”
Just got this mental image of him going on TV after a Yes vote and saying: “Errr, can we try that again, best out of three?” 😉
@Jim Thomson
Yep, they’re fun to mess with 😉
Worst thing they can do is try to pull that scam on a computer tech with an evil sense of humour and too much time on his hands, hehe.
Had them just snap after a while and shout more verbal abuse than a BT agent’s Twitter feed. 😉
Ok Folks in Glasgow, I’ve set up an email account as follows:
indyref2014WoS[at]gmail[dot]com
Drop me an email if you can assist please.
Could someone give me details of and a means of contacting WoS Agent for referendum for South Ayrshire. I am prepared to offer a significant amount of time to help him out with postal votes etc. Thanks
@Vince
here’s the details you need :
link to south-ayrshire.gov.uk
I need to contact him too at some point.
I still haven’t received any correspondence from GCC Regarding Ref Agent.
Anyone know if they’ve sent info out yet? I’ll call them AM tomorrow.
Any WOS agent for NW Perthshire needing a help re Blairgowrie/Alyth/ Coupar Angus side of things?
Hi folks!
Just letting you know that things have started with the Ref Agent for South Ayrshire, just as the scale of task sinks in…
The aim of the game is as many sensible people as possible to keep an eye on things, so help is required if we’re going to make the Wings effort work. It’s a good idea to have plenty people involved to keep things honest and straight but with a cool head.
If any Wings regulars are interested, feel free speak up! 🙂
Obviously half the problem for this is many won’t be members of parties or old hands at the game as this referendum has brought in so many from outside the usual politics or the party web of contacts and established organisation.
We’re Winging it to say the least…
@Morag
Just been in contact with our shiny new South Ayrshire Agent 🙂
He thought you might be able to help shine some light on what we (Agent plus helpers) all need to do.
Any and all help appreciated 😛
Sorry -meant NE Perthshire!
I think it’s important to note too we’re not going in swivel-eyed to spot conspiracies. It’ll be exciting on the day as we’ll be right there as it is all progressing, we’ll have a good idea of what direction it is heading before announcements and we can say we were there and involved, but don’t expect X-Files or to battle shadowy ballot-tampering MIBs. 😉 It’ll be more a comfortable shoes and bottle of water sort of day, I suspect. Getting as many sensible folk out there to be Alert Readers for South Ayrshire on the scene is what counts. There’s a lot for us to learn on this in the mere month (!) we’ve got left.
I think the rural areas especially will need a lot to cover the many small polling stations miles apart in villages, etc.
Jim Thomson says:
Just to add to your scoping techniques Jim, if I were to complete the Agent task to it’s full extent, I would be looking at 500 volunteers!!! This is based on three ‘shifts’ of 6 hours each at the (160) polling stations on my patch, plus the maximum permitted agent numbers per postal vote opening sessions and at the count itself.
Needless to say, this will need to be rationalised by combining and co-ordinating efforts with other ‘like-minded’ YES agents….. Much to do!
@TT – did ah no jist say that at 2:16pm 😉
So you did, but I hadn’t appreciated the enormity of the task at that point! 😉
BTW, the polling station ‘agents’ are not permitted inside the polling stations themselves. There is no ‘overseeing’ to be done in there!
Polling station agents are more about watching turnout and canvassing those going into the polling station in an officially unofficial capacity!
Tartan Tory dear – can I unofficially attach myself to you? – back to stuffing.
I think you just want another hard’n’fast ride in my car Paula darling! 😉
Please don’t laugh…
@Paula Rose
I wouldn’t want them to build my house if that’s the kind of walls they put up. If the infamous cairn is being build to those standards it’s going to be a death trap.
I wonder if they imagine walls of shoogly breeze blocks around every border? It’s a wonder it didn’t fall over in the wind and land on them.
@ Paula Rose thats a tall order,( dont laugh ) you canny dey anything else but laugh. Your just another Brick in the Wall,noo there,s a song.
@Paula Rose –
Good god, what a total embarrassment.
They didn’t need a sledgehammer – my dog could’ve pushed it over.
Utter rubbish, but a classic of its kind.
Ian dear – I’m only following orders.
Blooming nob sort xx
Why am I here again? I thought I was being a serious girl – oh what the hell, I hope you are all doing your thang and convincing folk. I had to deal with an arrogant loud-mouthed englander yesterday – he won’t try that chat up line again.
Paula Rose,
Y’jammy lady! Had a spin in TT’s Quattro, eh?
Lucky you.
It’s all your fault Ah just wet mysel Paula Rose 😉
cearc dear – I couldn’t possibly comment xx
X_Sticks dear – too much information.
We had a good meeting tonight in the Cranberry Rose Centre, Pennyburn, Kilwinning.
A crowd of ‘Socialists For No’ turned up. First I’ve heard of them, but they were team-handed (six, I think) and had nice shiny leaflets to give to the 60 or so attendees. Apparently, one of them (a worryingly embittered-looking young French man) had, apparently, travelled up from London. Their efforts to derail the meeting flopped miserably, but why they went to such efforts remains a mystery.
I had to chair the thing. Richie Venton, Colin Turbett, and Louise Cameron (a new SSP member, and brilliant speaker) did their thing, and it all went swimmingly.
I just wish we’d had the WBB to dish out…
Ian dear – I’d just settled down to stroke my pussy and you bring disturbing news of a french variety, non pour les future?
Well done Ian.
“Socialists for NO” where the fuck are they recruited from?
These are the same “Socialists” that side with the Lords, Land owners, Millionaire Bankers and Tories.
Their having a laugh. No wonder they had to go to France to recruit them. Six socialists who see being harder on welfare than the Tories as a good thing. Not even funny.
Does anyone know who Garve Scott-Lodge is, other than being our agent for Highland?
He’s probably in deep shock looking at the task. 299 polling stations!
‘Socialists for No’ is hat the same group as ‘Commies for cant’?
@Paula Rose/Thepnr –
I didn’t even remember to take one of their leaflets. Strange outfit. I’ll find out what I can about them, and it would certainly help if I could remember their actual name. It wasn’t ‘Socialists For No’ but very close to it…
Oneironaut – did you happen to take one of their leaflets?
See how that ‘t’ jumped?
Socialist action
link to socialistaction.net
very very splintered group.
@cearc
“He’s probably in deep shock looking at the task. 299 polling stations!”
I think that’s a given! Hopefully many hands will make light work…
@Paula Rose –
Cheers.
That does seem to be them. Why they’ve never surfaced before now is strange – why they choose to do so in Kilwinning is stranger still.
No matter – Colin Turbett and Richie Venton kicked their arses (in the nicest possible way, naturellement) and the French lad made a show of leaving during Colin’s final comments. The rest of them had the civility to stay seated, but bolted as soon as Richie finished his sum-up.
They hung around in the courtyard long enough to have fleas inserted in their ears, and departed to cries of ‘Don’t forget to vote Yes comrades!’
Bickering Socialists – what are we like!?
Note to self –
Stop using ‘apparently’ in comments…
‘Don’t forget to vote Yes comrades!’ Nice one 🙂
This is what the referendum is doing to us. Won’t stop me though, I was crazy before the campaign started. LOL
Here is a wee song for Westmidden and there gravy train. link to youtube.com Vote Yes.
I like the Socialist worker bit, whit workers are the appealing tae, you,ll find them awe doon the job centre, Fkin muppets.
@ Bob,
I have received all the referendum agent material from North Lanarkshire council.
Going through it now.
A briefing meeting has been arranged by the counting officer on Thursday 27th August.
commencing 7pm.
Referendum canvassing – Scene 1:
“Action”
Knock! Knock!
Wha’s there?
No Thanks
What’d ya mean, you’re knockin at my door, wha are ye?
No Thanks
You’re nae right you, you shid be lifted, awa’n bile yer heid.
“Cut”
You learn something new every day.
What I have learned today:
B&Q does not sell elastic bands.
Please share.
Referendum canvassing – Scene 2:
“Action”
Knock! Knock!
Wha’s there?
No Thanks
What do you want?
We want to talk
How many of you are there?
Two
Then you can talk tae each other! By the way you got the number right!
“Cut”
Comments open on BBC Scotland thread re Tim Vine wining ‘one-liner’ of the year at Edinburgh Festival.
I commented in line with others posting their own one-liners:
Q. Did you hear about the Indyref related thread that was open for comment?
A. No, neither did I.
Just got an email from the BBC saying my comment had been deleted for (insert your own reason).
Someone much cleverer than me put together this playlist on YouTube.
It’s the Q&A session from our Troon Jim Sillars, Philippa, Ivan & Ben gig last week.
The main speakers will be added to another YouTube posting over the next day or two.
Enjoy.
I’ll just post the same thing on the current main thread now …
Shameless plugging 😛
@Ian,
Your local friendly postman should be able to get you some.
Oh btw, I meant Wednesday 27th August for the briefing of election agents for NLC.
enjoy
@Ian Brotherhood
B&Q sell hairy string, so why would you want elastic bands from them?
@Ian Brotherhood
I didn’t take one of their leaflets. Got plenty of toilet paper at home, thanks! 😉
The first one who asked a question was going on about how a Yes vote would split the working classes of the different countries within the UK, when they should all remain united against capitalism.
Slight variant of a similar tired old argument I’ve heard before.
And I’m sure I’ve seen the guy who said it somewhere before too. Can’t remember where though. Only caught a glimpse of him on the way in, since I was right at the back with the “camera crew” (Me and another party member who was videoing the meeting) and spent the night staring at the backs of people’s heads.
Think I’ve managed to track the group down though.
The picture on this site looks like one of their leaflets:
socialequality.org.uk/
At the time I thought they were just some sort of new BT trolls pretending to be socialists like some kind of poorly thought-out political trojan horse effort.
But now I’m thinking they’re just dangerously misguided…
I’m hearing of queues of people at John Street, Glasgow to register to vote. Anyone got info on this? An awakened population, or busloads of people from England and NI shipped in to boost the No vote?
Is anyone checking it out?
Historical note:-
Hairy string was widely used in the post office in the 60’s to tie up bundles of letters prior to delivery, and to tie up the necks of parcel bags before they were dispatched. Nowadays they use elastic bands to bundle the letters, then discard them all throughout their delivery.
I pick em up, give them a light wash with some washing up liquid and a spot of savlon, and Hay Presto, bands to bundle my Yes newspapers!
I also save up bits of hairy string, but that’s another (sad) story.
Have a good day wingers, get out there and talk to people, or talk to them on the phone and get them to think and talk to other people. Pop a leaflet or two through a door, don’t have any Yes material lying round, get it out there. 28 Days to go.
We can win this.
Perhaps this is already being attended to, but will we see a ‘WBB Selfie’ Facebook/Twitter campaign? Remember what happened when the Sunday Herald came out? That was impressive.
As soon as the actual WBBs appear we could do likewise, make it trend, and get even more bang for our buck.