Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. BB

Note – you can also do a postal opening day and then be a polling statin agent/counting agent, etc. One does not exclude the other. All that really matters is that people turn up for it. πŸ™‚

2. Ian Brotherhood

@BB –

Wow…that’s what I call ‘an answer’!

Will be in touch soon, but please pencil me in as a ‘likely’

Cheers.

3. BB

I’d hope you’re right TT! Would be heartening to think that was the true attitude in power compared to the more bitter and desperate sentiment we get in the media and from BT. But frankly I’d rather be overly cautious this once than get burned, so long as it’s just harmless watching and oversight of the process. πŸ˜›

For them to give up so easily after pumping so much gov resouces, money and effort into it all to win seems too good to be true! From the sound of what that chap was saying it’d also mean that DC really believed the myths of Scotland being a huge drain and that Scotland decided the votes in general elections.

There’s more at stake in this one than any election we’ve had before and we’ve seen all manner of dodgy things done and dirty tricks used against Scottish independence sentiment (as well as car boots full of postal votes being found elsewhere in the past or the Glenrothes mess). Folk are willing to cheat for less. After we get the Yes vote, I’ll be way more relaxed. πŸ˜‰

I really don’t expect anything to happen or be attempted if there’s a lot of eyes around to watch it, same as good locks tend to keep things from going wandering in the first place.

So I’ll assume the worst while hoping you (or the MSP) are right.

The enormous record of 700,000 postal votes is the real worry for me too as that’s easier to be dishonest or fraudulant with by far over the much larger efforts it’d take to fiddle up a handful of boxes or trying to do that on a much larger scale to help push a narrow vote. Also much harder to catch people at it with the postal votes. Most the easy ways of cheating a ballot box are already accounted for (pre-filling boxes, etc.) as part of the prevention and accountability checks in place already or the standard duties of the appointed referendum/election agents.

4. BB

@Ian Brotherhood

No problem! I’ll pencil you in then. Like I said, any questions come to mind on Sunday or before the meeting on Monday then just say and I’ll keep them in mind. Same goes for anyone else involved. πŸ™‚

5. Ian Brotherhood

@BB –

Acknowledged.

Sorted!

Nicht-nicht a’body…

6. X_Sticks

Braw day in Embra-Alan Bissett play then met up with TJenny and Tam at Leith. Went on to hijack Billy Bragg for selfies with the WBB. Jock Scott will be reporting onthat later today. I hate posting frpm a phone πŸ™
    Met lots of new yessers and most are wings lurkers – you know who you are – come and say hello. πŸ˜‰

Night all

7. steph

@cearc

I spoke to the person who is organising the polling agents in Lochaber for Yes Scotland – they have delegated this out to sub-areas so there def will be agents in polling stations on the day – so what I said before wasn’t correct (thankfully!)

She wasn’t aware of their arrangements for covering the opening of postal ballots but that doesn’t mean it’s not covered.

I think seeing as we haven’t seen anything of our Wings agent I’ll probably volunteer with them to be a polling agent on the day.

8. steph

@cearc

Sorry if this double-posts, last one didn’t appear

Spoke to lead volunteer of Yes Lochaber and she clarified things. Recruitment of polling agents is delegated to local Yes groups so they will have the polling stations covered on the day. Postal vote opening she’s not sure about but I would guess it is also covered.

So just ignore what I said yesterday πŸ™‚

I’m going to volunteer to be a polling agent with Yes Lochaber if they’ll have me, we seem to be getting nowhere fast with our Wings agent.

9. steph

ah…fallen foul of the ‘comments over the page’ thing

I’ll be quiet now πŸ™‚

10. Gill

Hi X_Sticks,

Not new yessers but committed lurkers and very occasional commentors (hubby posts as Bawheid Bragg funnily enough) πŸ™‚

I think I recognised you from one of the Wings meetings livestreams, great to meet you and TJenny and to get a brief hold of your special WBB, we have some coming from ebay and hopefully a local source but nice to see it in the flesh.

Anyway Yes papers to fold, keep on keeping on X

11. Thistle

Hi all

We are running and event on 28th, Veterans for Independence with 10+ ex-service people saying why the are voting Yes followed by Q&A, including Keith Brown MSP and Feargal Dalton.

Event taking place at Westerton Hall, Bearsden, Glasgow at 7:30pm. If you can please make it along, show support and fill the place!

We will as usual be LIVE STREAMING and also having it signed for the deaf.

Check out website for live stream link and details.

Hope all you Wingers are well πŸ™‚

KG

http://www.independencelive.net

12. Jock Scot

Edinburgh with T Jenny, X-Sticks, a Wee Blue Book and not forgetting Billy Bragg .Sorry for the sore neck which you may have to endure..only had a cheapo camera to record this piece of Wings history. Cactus, real bummer that we didn’t catch up with you…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzYKAFzgQhs&feature=youtu.be

13. Jock Scot

Just in case anyone is needing cheered up..Yew Choob’s latest…heed the WARNING in the description before watching..!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fNuttwXBSns&list=UU_gwsX4TiHO1ktJ1flTUnJg

14. Pete the camera

At Dundee city square wee blue books going like hot cakes thanks to the pnr PS more needed asap

15. Jim Thomson

Had the delivery this morning. Young Mr @Kininvie in good form πŸ™‚

He passed on a sensible nugget of advice too. Where you have a list of “undecideds” try to match that against a list of those applying for a postal vote then prioritise those people for delivery of the rare First Edition.

@Ian Brotherhood is now also the proud holder of one of our batch of boxes, along with a box of the business cards.

16. Jim Thomson

If any of you fine people have contact details for @Morag or @Lesley-Anne, and you already have my e-mail address, can you please let them know I’m trying to contact them?

Ta much

17. Jim Thomson

Got LA’s address now thanks πŸ™‚

18. Bob Sinclair

Check out the total and utter ranting madness of this visionary genious. Surely this is a spoof.

http://harddawn.com/if-scotland-were-independent-timeline-tragedy/

19. Jim Thomson

@Bob Sinclair – errrmmm look at the site name πŸ˜‰

20. Paula Rose

Darling boys – please try and keep up, I know it’s difficult for you, but we do have a serious referendum to win. Have you actually done anything other than fiddle with your keypad this weekend?

21. Jim Thomson

@Paula Rose – I’ll have you know that I have been fiddling with many things this weekend m’dear.

Some have presented a challenge (trying to find the thing with which to fiddle) and others have been uncontrollable (have you ever played with a length of hairy string in the wind?).

As for my keypad, it’s as full of fluff as a poorly tended belly button πŸ˜‰

22. Ian Brotherhood

Many thanks to Jim and Betty Boop for the WBBs and cards.

We’ll be using the cards to tempt punters to our public meeting next Wednesday in Ardeer CC – the first 50 through the door will get a hard copy 9everyone else will get one too, but, hey, the old ones are the best.)

Sadly, have to report that our SSP squad of five, leafleting in the Hayocks this afternoon, was denied access to a block of flats by a RFC-jersey clad youth:

‘Youse urny gettin’ in here.’

As if by magic, another three Rangers-top-wearing youths then appeared from different directions. The colleagues, sensibly, shifted onwards, but the intimidation was real enough – be careful out there lads ‘n lassies…

23. Thepnr

Hmmm, not good Ian, my first though was you should go back with eight. Nah I’ve decided, we don’t need to go down that road.

Who has ever won anything using intimidation as a tactic? Aye OK Stalin & Hitler. How long though did they last.

I applaud your reaction, at the end of the day they are the losers and if we truly believe in democracy it will win through in the end.

Just you and your colleagues keep up the good work. It’s appreciated by us that know that you are doing.

24. BB

Credit to the tempers and determination of the campaigners. πŸ™‚ Probably best to attempt sneaking in another day when they aren’t there if you wanted. Confrontation is their game. Never wrestle with a pig – you get dirty and the pig likes it!

25. Joe Swan

Brilliant day at Kirkintilloch Canal Festival today. Really busy.

The No stall had one boy and two men handing out stuff. Not much engaging with people. Mostly talking to themselves.

A foodbank stall, with a man with a β€˜No Thanks’ badge (β€˜Poverty is not a political matter’??) and β€˜Christians against poverty’ who said they might vote No.?? (FFS are they in denial?) and the third β€˜strange stall’ was a Socialist stall from Yorkshire asking us to stay together for the workers of England!

Yes stall (lots of volunteers) ran out of leaflets on some subjects, β€˜Women For Independence’ (they are really doing a brilliant job) and Yes signs by 3.00 and Yes balloons by 3.20. Lots of positives, but of course some negatives.

Some walked past with their β€˜fingers in their ears’. Encouragingly though, some No voters and many DKs engaged with us. A few who just wanted to talk to somebody about it (even if it was β€˜the other side’.) Who knows, maybe a couple of converts.

I think even No voters are beginning to realise this is not about protecting the status quo. This is about protecting the future of the people who live in Scotland, and their children.

Come on guys, this is a scoosh! No voters don’t want to talk to anyone about it. Yes voters talk to everyone (as was pointed out to me today, by a wavering No voter).

26. TJenny

Evening all. Update from the Cask and Still at the end of the Leith Yestival, yesterday.

Got photos taken with the WBB (kindly donated to me by DebbietheBruce + hubby, Hi Paul) and Elaine C Smith in the Cask and Still. Also photos with the big blue fire engine (Spirit of Independence)and the WBB.

Later at the World’s End, Citizen Smart gave me his DVD, but couldn’t stay to go over the road to The Scottish Storeytelling Centre to catch Billy Bragg coming out from his gig there.

A gang of us inc Jock (Yew Choob), X-Sticks, DebbietheBruce, Aileen + Suzie and others and me, all got a pic taken with BB and the WBB and………….. I now have WBB signed by BB and he also wrote YES on it in a circle. πŸ™‚ What a fantastic night.

However, as i have neither a mobile nor camera, all these photos are on others’ phones/cameras, so can I ask that you post them on here and tweet them to the WOS twitter thread.

Ta muchly. πŸ™‚

ps – that BB signed version of the WBB, must be a candidate for a future super raffle to celebrate independence.

pps – good to see you again Tam J and Cactus, sorry we missed you – so near and yet so far. Next time.

27. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr/BB –

The worrying aspect of today’s incident is that it shows a level of co-ordination amongst these thugs. Mobiles were almost certainly involved – the sudden appearance of similarly dressed ‘neighbours’ was not coincidental.

The colleague they confronted is no shrinking violet – he’s a lifelong socialist in his early sixties, but he’s still working as an engineer on the shop floor (making various bits and pieces for oil rigs), is in good shape physically, and does not react well to being bullied or insulted. Thankfully, his son and three other colleagues were in the area, and could’ve assisted. Point is – he was, albeit briefly, surrounded, and if they’d wanted to hurt him they could’ve.

This is no game – none of us should ever go out alone, or drift too far away from colleagues. One thing’s for sure – if there had been any aggro this afternoon, it don’t take no Einstein to predict how the MSM would spin it.

28. BB

That’s good advice, Ian. Groups are a must by this point in cities or unfamiliar neighbourhoods, etc. We know the sort of people the No camp have got in bed with and the sort that feel comfortable under their banner – stoked up with an extra dose of hate and fear from the negative BT campaign, no less. Safety in numbers and means witnesses too.

Sadly things will only hot up in the next few weeks.

29. Thepnr

Ian

You are right of course, it makes sense to be accompanied wherever you may be when canvassing or delivering leaflets. Whatever.

I do though think the group that you met are definitely in the minority, I think we’re lucky here in Dundee as it is a pretty strong Yes community.

When you and I were organising Wings nights out I was very concious of the possibility of some “loner” giving us a hard time. It didn’t happen though because our support was just too strong.

My old man who has passed away now had a saying for facing adversity. It was “get in there with the head down”, you might form your own interpretation of this but mine always was “if you believe in something, you never give in”.

When the halfwits come out we have the good sense to walk away, we are the good guys and need take no lessons from them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hf4EFDGP4yg

30. Stakhanovite

Apparently the Yes Stall in Falkirk yesterday ran out of new voter registration forms, I guess they won’t be voting no….

31. BB

The Nos seem to have rare flying visits, but the Yes crowds turn up regularly and persevere in their areas. It’s bound to make a difference with the locals so long as Yes stays friendly and positive. πŸ™‚

32. debbiethebruce

@T Jenny heres a link to my facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/debbie.bruce.16752

It was really nice meeting you the other night, hope you can make the 6th September, keep checking the Open Air Yes facebook for updates.
    English Scots for Yes Twitter page has a few other photos from the day check them out.

33. TJenny

debbiethebruce – I’m sure there should be a pic with us and BB and the WBB as well as the WBB and the Spirit of Indy fire engine somewhere too. Hope someone tweets them to Stuey.

ps – sent you a friend request on Facebook.

34. TJenny

DebbietheBruce – should have said thanks – like your photo with BB and the English Scots4Yes sign – that’s worth tweeting to the WOS twitter feed I think.

35. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Kin right.

It’s also worth remembering that the Yessers most visible and persistent are those who’ve been at this the longest, and we’re getting tired. And some of us are getting a tad tetchy. It’s inevitable.

That’s why the WBB is so valuable – I’ve long since tuned-out whenever anyone on the street whines ‘I’ve no had enough information…’ It’s a truism that some folk can only be awakened with a swift hard slap, but that is not allowed. From now, right up to the 17th, anyone who says that to me will be offered a copy of WBB, or given one of those promotional cards, and the conversation goes no further – I’m well past dealing with these folk. Others may have more forbearance…

Anyway, let’s see how the next week goes. WBB will, no doubt, continue to be the main talking point for anyone who’s genuinely interested in the indy-ref…and be studiously avoided by anyone connected with MSM. Ho-hum…

And I’m going to stick my neck out here – Jim ‘Why-The-Long-Face?’ Murphy’s Sauchiehall Street gig will not happen for the same reason that Tony Blair’s speech to the Scottish Labour Conference, at the Armadillo, in February 2003, was shifted three hours earlier – to avoid public disorder. Police Scotland will refuse to comment, and BTUKOKVNOBNOTHANKers will allege dire threats from vile cybernats. No matter…he’ll still have thirty-odd gigs to complete, and very few places in Scotland to choose from.

36. TJenny

IB – don’t know if you read my comment above (at 10.31) re the Adventures of the Wee Blue Book, last night.

I can tell you that whenever folk saw we had a copy of WBB, we were almost rugby tackled for a copy. As it was the only one we had, we teased and enticed them by allowing them a wee touch of it’s hallowed cover and a flick through it’s pages. The demand for copies will be akin to that of Lady Chatterley’s Lover, when it was eventually allowed on sale in the 60s. Everybody knows of it and everybody wants one – and with the WBB, no brown paper wrapper required. πŸ˜‰

37. TJenny

Should also have added that we told them they should contact their local YES shops/teams for copies or come to WOS and they can download their own.

38. Patrician

Soe pictures from the Cumbernauld rally today
    http://imgur.com/a/68bZ4#0

Same rules apply, if you don’t want to appear in any of these photos please let e know and I will remove them.

39. Patrician

Some pictures from the Cumbernauld rally today
    http://imgur.com/a/68bZ4#0

Same rules apply, if you don’t want to appear in any of these photos please let e know and I will remove them.

40. Bob Sinclair

Ian brotherhood,
    This was touched on at the meeting I was at today, with regard to ‘Brittanica’. The advice from people much more experienced than me was DO NOT ENGAGE WITH THEM.

They are looking for confrontation and there is definite potential for them to turn ugly. Of course I know that you know that & it sounds like your guys played a blinder.

Good luck with the next few weeks & stay safe.

41. Patrician

apologies for the double post. However some photos from Airdrie yesterday:

http://imgur.com/a/ZLu92#0

42. Patrician

I noticed in my albums, some pictures from the Edinburgh Rally in 2013 that have never been made public. Nostalgia for some, new visitors can see what they missed.

http://imgur.com/a/YMack#0

43. Thepnr

I got my hands today on the first printed copies of the WBB that I’d seen.

Absolutely superb, no other way to describe it. The quality is top notch, who to give them to is the problem I have :o)

I’ll put money on my Mother In Law converting to Yes after she is “forced” to read this.

Ian, I’m very tired too but buoyed by meeting up with fellow Wingers today to discuss the monitoring of the vote because of Wings.

Less than four weeks now, we cannot falter at this the final hurdle. Let’s just win it.

44. Ian Brotherhood

@Bob Sinclair –

Cheers mister.

What are the chances of a young lad (who happens to be wearing a RFC shirt) boldly challenging a stocky, driven elder with such gallusness? It doesn’t
    ring true at all.

‘Youse urny gettin’ in here.’

??!!

Where did such confidence come from? And then – hey presto! – another three males wearing the same gear start to converge on the same spot, from different directions?

It’s a blatant set-up and provocation. I have good mates, even within the SSP, who are Rangers fans. They don’t wear the latest team top 24/7. The chances of four such similarly-dressed ‘neighbours’ happening to meet by chance are vanishingly toty.

Those guys were, in their own simplistic way, sending out a brutal message. And it wasn’t spontaneous – we’ve been leafleting in the area since Wednesday, so they’d have been well aware of the areas we’d visited, and those remaining.

Happily, that area of Stevenston is now ‘done’. We shift elsewhere before the Wednesday meeting.

Mind you, the posters advertising the meeting still have to be done – I’ve no idea who’s doing them, or when/where it’ll happen, but I have a hunch – the belters who confronted my good friend this afternoon may well find larger versions of the leaflet (i.e. the one they prevented us distributing) firmly attached to points outwith reach of their pavement-scraping knuckles. If they want to get them down, they’ll probably need some help grasping the concept of ‘stepladder’…

45. BB

It’d be nice to keep a WBB especially for getting it signed by Stu and perhaps some of the Wingers over time. It’ll be like the graduation yearbook. lol πŸ™‚

46. Alexandra-M-

Was lovely seeing some of you fellow Wingers today, always a pleasure!

47. Patrician

@Alexandra-M

Can you please email me at mecybernatorg, so we can add you to our distribution email for events we plan to visit. Any ideas you have about events we should visit, will be gratefully received.

48. gerry parker

Jim, Thanks for that, I forgot to ask Alex-M today.

49. Patrician

try the email as me|@|cybernat|.|org , just drop the | from the email address.

50. Patrician

@gerry parker, after today is should the WBB be know as a Weapon of Mass Conversion.

51. gerry parker

Grant Crockfords Aberdeen Banner.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/97731450/Aberdeen%20Banner.jpeg

Google Maps location.

http://goo.gl/maps/AWAhu

52. kininvie

Just a wee WeeBlueBook update:

I’ve spent all day touring the central belt with the first run of 20,000. All delivered to dedicated Yessers

There now should be copies available (if you are persistent) in: Airdrie, Clydesdale, G Kelvin, N Mearns, Stewarton, Troon, Largs, Hamilton, G Robroyston, Falkirk, Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, & NE Fife (at least 880 each and often more)

And a special mention to Kestral, who has already taken orders for 1,000 on ebay, and now has th means to fulfill them!

Now knackered – and off to bed!

PS We are STILL lacking a hub in the SW (Annan/Gretna/Lockerbie) for the big delivery. Surely someone has space for 10,000 or so?

53. BB

I’m amazed at how fast the Wee Blue Book has been printed and sent out to folk. Never seen anything like it. Any faster and the people’s letterboxes would need to be at the end of the out tray on the printer.

54. CameronB Brodie

Have I just found the intro music that AS should demand for the next BBC debate? Goes on a bit maybe. πŸ™‚

“I’m going to help the young and respect the old”

Billy Lamont & The Unn Band – The Man With The Masterplan
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJNegHl7tmE

55. Jim Thomson

@Patrician judging by the number of photies of the Kelpies, there’s a need for a “Kelpies for Yes” facebook page πŸ˜› #JustSayin’

@Kininvie Our offer of distribution for the “deep” SW still stands if you can’t find a suitable volunteer.

Onwards and upwards …

56. Alexandra-M-

No problem Patrician, I’ll get that done just now!

57. bob sinclair

Hi All,

I’ve just been informed by phone that the Briefing Meeting for Glasgow Referendum Agents Scheduled for 5th September, and info packs are being sent out/emailed today. Hope to get things rolling & have had a few prospective volunteers but will no doubt be looking for more:

indyref2014wos(at)gmail(dot)com

58. gerry parker

bob, I’ve successfully hooked up with other Election agents to maximise resource use.

Still more to try and contact though.

59. Quentin Quale

Righty ho, just back from a holiday – now how do I get my hands on the Wee Blue Book? Emailed Wings for 1000 when WBB news broke but no reply. Any help appreciated – would be distributing in the Kirrie, Coupar Angus, Blairgowrie triangle (further afield if necessary & willing to collect). It’s getting close!

60. BB

The deep SW? If this doesn’t involve banjos I’m going to be disappointed. πŸ˜€

61. Jim Thomson

@BB this has nothing to do with the dualling of the A77. (see what I did there? πŸ˜‰ )

More to do with getting copies of the WBB to those who are trudging the streets and fields of the mid to western Borders area. Pre-planning and all that.

62. Debbiethebruce

@T jenny.
    It looks like paul never took enough photos that night,I will take charge over the camera from now on!Hoping the folk we gave ‘open air yes’ info to,will get in touch with more photos.We are getting the WBB this week,1000 of the popular little fellows,so if you need any get in touch.Got you on facebook now.
    Also paul wanted to contact citizen smart for the 6th,he bumped into him but failed to get his details.saw his video on Yes edinburgh north and leith facebook,youre in it.
    Cant wait to get those books on the stall!Im on the English scots for yes stall every tues and thurs by the way,come and say hello some time.

63. bob sinclair

All Glasgow Wingers,

YOUR SOON TO BE INDEPENDENT COUNTRY NEEDS YOU

I have finally got the info from GCC and can get properly moving on this.

Dates & times for Postal Vote counting in Glasgow are as follows:

Openings of postal votes from 8th – 16th September will take place at Room B.07, 40 John Street, Glasgow, G1 1JL
    Openings of postal votes from 17th – 18th September will take place at the Emirates Arena, 1000 London Road, Glasgow, G40 3HG (Enter by Car Park)

I can pick up Friday 12th September after 1:00pm, Wednesday 17th September all day, Thursday 18th September 6:00 Session until 9:00pm and then after 10:00pm as I will want to return to Shawlands Primary School for the Closing of the Poll.

Can anyone who is able to provide cover for other days for the Postal count please contact me before Wednesday 27th 1:00pm in order that I can get a provisional list of what we can reasonably expect to cover. A meeting has been arranged by Yes Glasgow to strategise coverage, ‘Castle Hills Chavie’ has very kindly offered to attend this meeting as I am otherwise engaged. I would like to provide him with a provisional list for this meeting. As Postal vote counting starts on 8th September I want to get a finalised list of volunteers by Friday 5th in order that I can get them all registered.

Also, attendance at polling stations is required crucially at start and end of voting. Obviously we can only be at one place at one time so it would be good to get the list going for this as well. I need to have this submitted by 10th September.

I have dropped a list of the polling stations at the following location.

In order to keep things simple what would be useful is an email in the format

Name:
    Address:
    Phone No:
    Postal Vote – Date & Time Available:
    Polling Station & Time Available:

A wee sweetener for those who have watched Election Coverage until the early hours of the morning. 38 passes available for the count at Emirates Arena.

As before all emails to indyref2014WoS(at)gmail(dot)com

Thanks all

http://www.dropbox.com/sh/2j6d62jb2u1ilso/AAC9xAaUgA4MpuQDbnP0tMLea?dl=0

64. BB

That’s the council meeting for SA done. Heard a bit more about processes, couple of questions answered on reality of the days that might not be on a form or info pack and also met some others involved in it here.

All we need are the brave few willing to take part in South Ayrshire’s process under the Wings banner! Speak up if you’ve not already and are interested in taking part in this huge and historical event.

65. Tartan Tory

Was that 5 – 0 to Salmond, or was it 10 – 0 ??? πŸ™‚

66. Tartan Tory

Quote of the night – Alastair Darling: “We’ve been subjected to a scare campaign” pointing at Salmond!!!

HA!

67. Haggis

That was awesome. Darling will take some time to get that boot print washed off the side of his mug!

68. Saynoscotland

DR JM Mackintosh posted last week here about my NO website. James said I was bemoaning my lack of hits. That’s not correct, I was actually laughing at it. The website cost me Β£50 and I’ll believe it’s cost-effective if I get 5 people to vote NO. Or at least 5 more than I annoy into voting YES. At my hit-rate that’s still just feasible.

Now your site gets 1000s of hits but is actually more likely than mine to turn a Don’t Know to NO. According to the polls and the bookies you’re losing the fight. But instead of looking for a way to change the odds, you all just sound delusional. Sad, really.

James’s other point was that of six of us in the pub, two were YES, three were undecided leaning YES and only one was NO. He wasn’t listening. Three were YES, two were NO and one was totally undecided. Even then it was a first for me in Edinburgh to be in the minority. Of the YES men, two were for the Nordic model. This has always seemed to me unlikely to make converts in Scotland where the psyche is very definitely Anglo-American. The third was very tartan and shortbread and there’s little you can do about that.

Of course the NO / Don’t know grouping were rather more sophisticated people who’ve lived and worked abroad. James on the other hand comes from Embo. I need say no more.

69. Jim Thomson

@BB was there a full attendance from both sides? Bet that holocaust denier wasn’t there.

70. BB

Really enjoyed that debate. Darling got his arse handed to him.

I especially enjoyed the part where Darling was ranting about what he wanted to happen at the polls and for how people should be thinking – at one point he said wanted people to have “NO HOPES” going into the polling station. Says it all, really. The whole BT/ Project Fear campaign in a nutshell.

71. Tartan Tory

71% reckon Salmond won. 29% thought Darling won. There is a fact there – 29% are died in the wool No voters and are BLIND & STUPID, the rest is up to us. πŸ™‚

72. BB

No, Jim! Not a full attendence, which is always a shame as interesting to see everyone involved. No surprise on the toxic holocaust denier not being there though. πŸ˜‰ I’d imagine BT folk on bended knee asking such people not to get involved in anything if they can. It was quite long, but I’m used to powerpoint slides and listening to presentations and the CO and depute were nice people so time passed easily enough.

Everyone behaved themselves. Was some interesting discussion during and after. As a general rule I’ll not repeat anything said in private online/in print though, natch.

I’ve got info, emails and print offs of info I need for how things will proceed, as well as some ideas and info that aren’t on print from the officials involved and if anyone’s got any questions or issues I feel confident in helping them out or ensuring they can get involved as much as they want to and are able.

73. bob sinclair

A hard fought draw according to Alan Little. Quelle Surprise.

74. bob sinclair

There’s definitely a lot of BBC staff who were watching that debate in a parallel universe. Will we ever get acknowledgement from them.

75. Jim Thomson

Ta much BB.

Need a bit of sleep now – trying to make up for last night’s 2:30am active brain session that just wouldn’t go away [yawn].

76. BB

BBC (and media to follow) desperately trying to spin Darling getting gubbed as a draw. Predictable but still shocks at some level at just how biased they are and that I was ever daft enough to trust the BBC on anything.

77. BB

Haha, you deserve the kip, Jim. And lots to do that energy will be needed for later! πŸ˜‰

78. Patrician

@Jim Thomson, I don’t do Facebook, feel free to start a page.

79. Patrician

Best part of weekend was helping to get out over 1000 WBB to the public.

Worst part was being told we have thousands of WBBs in boxes here. What are they expecting them to do in the box, breed.

80. Bob Sinclair

Patrician, if theres any kicking about I need some for Shawlands.

81. BB

The monstering piece here has a poll at the bottom:

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/surgeon-exposed-spreading-bogus-claims-4103150

Strangely enough the %s haven’t changed for HOURS. Virtually impossible for random surges of individual folk to manage that. I keep checking it through the day since it went up. It remains the same and I’ve heard others elsewhere comment on this too. They just going to give up all pretence of balance now and lie and fix to help BT, even their online polls? Urgh.

82. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Was blethering with Thepnr and Pete the Camera over the last few days and we’ve had the idea to have a ‘Friends of WOS’ get-together at The Invergowrie Inn (roughly 10 minutes from Dundee City Centre), on Saturday, 13th September.

The reason for the location is that it’s central for Glasgow, Edinburgh and Aberdeen – and my ex is the chef there and says that we can have exclusive use (if we want that) of their function lounge, from 7pm to midnight.
    Free of charge if there’s gonna be around 50-60 in.

Invergowrie has a railway station and trains from both Glasgow and Aberdeen stop there. Plan a journey at this web site and you’ll see.

http://www.travelinescotland.com/

However, I was talking to Bobby Costello on Sunday afternoon at the YES stall in Dundee’s High Street. Bobby owns both the double-decker YES ‘Dragon’ and the Business for Scotland coach. He’s just added a ‘mini Dragon’ to the YES fleet. His workshop was also responsible for the restoration of Chris Law’s ‘Spirit of Independence’ green goddess.

Onnyhoo, he’s offered to run a bus (possibly the ‘mini dragon’) from Dundee Station to Invergowrie (less than 10 minutes), maybe 5.30ish then 6.45ish, to cover anyone from out of town who wanted to arrive in Dundee. (Trains from Edinburgh, buses from Aberdeen, Glasgow or Edinburgh – or Inverness!
    Hopefully, he could do the return trip(s) to get the last trains/buses to wherever.

The Inn will not take any bookings for meals from the general public after 6pm but, if Wingers want to book a table, for up to 7pm (allowing an hour to eat) then the mention of Wings over Scotland will secure a booking.

So, onnybody game for a night out – probably our last before the 18th?

83. Patrician

@Brian Doonthetoon, A good idea but I don’t think the timing is right. It is too close to the vote to be wasted sitting in a pub, the time would be better spent getting out there pushing voters to Yes.

I would be up for the 20th September, If I have sobered up enough by then.

84. Patrician

@Bob Sinclair, we went through about 1100 WBBs over Saturday and Sunday. Have a chat with Ronnie to see if he has any spare but I am sure they will have been distributed out by now.

maybe some other groups will be able to get some to you.

85. Brian Doonthetoon

“Let’s Hit The Streets” is at Β£59,538, with 7 hours to go.

Will it go over Β£60,000?

86. BB

@Brian Doonthetoon

I think it’s already over that as I think he had donations outside of IGG! πŸ™‚

I know he’s upped the order to AT LEAST 320,000 from the previous 200,000. Whew! The order was going up as fast as it could be printed, I think…

87. CameronB Brodie

@ Jim Murphy MP
    Are you a Friend of Israel because there political class are your kind of people?

Signs of fascism in Israel reached new peak during Gaza op, says renowned scholar

Israel Prize laureate and renowned scholar Zeev Sternhell fears the collapse of Israeli democracy, and compares the current atmosphere with that of 1940s’ France. The time we have left to reverse this frightening trend is running out, he warns

http://www.haaretz.com/news/features/.premium-1.610368

Fascism Grips Israel
    http://www.globalresearch.ca/fascism-grips-israel/5397588

88. CameronB Brodie

because their political class…, doh.

89. CameronB Brodie

This one might be a help for some of the younger readers. πŸ™‚

Joe 90 theme (stereo mix)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2d9QZFdW8uQ

90. BB

Joe 90. Loved by kids, but hated by the speccy ones at school thanks to the ammunition for the bullies. πŸ˜›

Amazing what they managed to do with the puppetry back then. It was ambitious and aspirational stuff. Not a lot like that for a long time.

91. BB

Although personally I think UFO had the best tune out of Gerry Anderson’s work and I think potentially the best story and theme too.

92. BB

I’d love someone to do a retro-futuristic series based on the concept of UFO or as an original work. Set in 60-80s futuristic vision and styles. It’d be an interesting one. The super secret and super high tech organisation, but limited to and using high tech for the 60-80s like Gerry Anderson’s stuff, rather than modern day super futuristic stuff we see now. Plus, we’d get the all-important strange fashions and hair styles.

It think it’d be a blast. Real fun stuff and give the writers lots of room to move and the characters interesting limits to work with in the storylines.

93. CameronB Brodie

You might enjoy this internet radio station BB. All sorts of nostalgia and exotica.

http://lux.playtheradio.com/

94. BB

@CameronB Brodie

Oooooh! Cheers for that. Looks good. Bookmarked! πŸ™‚

95. CameronB Brodie

This is my fave so far. Hardcore. πŸ™‚

UKULELE + GUITAR – JOE 90 THEME
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UUMm7C-Hpmo

96. BB

Hah! Credit to the guy for being inventive and seeing all that in his head well enough to plan it in the first place. πŸ˜€

Loved the kiddie drum kit he was using! Still got a good tune going though. Show’s it’s not all about the gear…

97. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “It’s also worth remembering that the Yessers most visible and persistent are those who’ve been at this the longest, and we’re getting tired. And some of us are getting a tad tetchy. It’s inevitable. “

Definitely this!
    Part of me is hoping this ends soon, while another part of me is afraid that the Brainwashed Zombies will still outnumber the Free Thinkers on the day…

@Bob Sinclair
    “They are looking for confrontation and there is definite potential for them to turn ugly.”

If you mean those people we ran into in Stevenston, they were already quite ugly, but that’s another story, hehe. πŸ˜‰

Was so tempted to sneak back there after dark and stick a few leaflets through all the doors in there (including a large Yes sticker firmly attached to his door with industrial-strength superglue).
    But was just too tired to walk all the way up there that night.

I’m not one to go looking for confrontation, but if we get stuck with a No vote, I’m screwed anyway, so I’m at the “nothing to lose” stage of my life.

Finding it more and more difficult to be polite to people determined to vote No with no more reason than apparently pure spite against the SNP.

Hit my lowest point last week, so trying to pull myself back up by keeping as busy as I can, focusing only on the Stevenston public meeting promotion.
    If I go for a while without showing up on here, then I’m most likely trying to avoid seeing the articles on the front page!

98. Oneironaut

@BB
    “I’d love someone to do a retro-futuristic series based on the concept of UFO or as an original work.”

Now I’m tempted to do a series focusing on Wings over Scotland! πŸ˜‰

99. chipmonkey

Whether it’s a big night out or a little get together we’d like to join you in Invergowrie on the 13th. Yes we’ll all be busy, but a bit of a blether (and some scheming) would go down well.

100. Jim McIntosh

Question: How is a NO voter getting to the polling booth?
    Answer: On a one trick pony.

101. gerry parker

Anyone near Stonehaven and willing to donate 200 Wee Blue Books to Jim Parker for distribution, I can give you the address.

I’m waiting on my main delivery of 2000 for the good folks of the Whifflet in Coatbridge and only have around 50 of the 400 or so I got initially via Kendo.

gerry[dot]parker[at]gmail[dot]com

102. Ian Brotherhood

Remember how good this was?

Tubeway Army/Gary Numan, ‘Are ‘Friends’ Electric?’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0WNbm1jz6A

103. BB

@Oneironaut

“Now I’m tempted to do a series focusing on Wings over Scotland! ;)”

Go for it. πŸ˜€ Could be entertaining.

104. Stakhanovite

Anybody tell me the best place to place an online bet on the referendum?

105. Paula Rose

@ Ian Brotherhood – no darling we don’t remember how good that was, as the wee idiot praised Thatcher – I believe he has repented, seemingly.

106. Thepnr

I’m here for my “rub” apparently. So rub away πŸ™‚

107. Quentin Quale

Thepnr, in case Paula is busy:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPIEAohIY0o
    wee smiley thing!

108. Piemonteis

Hi Folks,

Sorry to barge in but I gather this is where the WBB chat is taking place.

I’m unfortunately abroad until the referendum, so won’t be able to contribute in terms of distribution and campaigning as I’d like, but I just wanted to make a suggestion to boost the WBB’s spread.

Perhaps you’ve already made plans for it, but Mungo was commenting in the other thread that he’s a taxi driver and would be willing to help out by giving undecideds a copy.

Now, how many taxi drivers throughout Scotland will be voting yes? Thousands. And how many people do they engage with everyday in their job, where they probably end up talking about the referendum anyway?

And everyone who gets in a taxi is going somewhere. They have to take the book with them or (in the worst case scenario) they’ll leave it on the back seat for the next person. And these people will be arriving at pubs, concerts, football grounds, house gatherings, generally places where they meet up with other people. And how likely are they to whip out the WBB when they reach their destination and say “Look what I was given in the taxi”.

This simply has to be a strategy all over the country.

Get the WBBs to taxi drivers!

109. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Re the night out in Invergowrie on the 13th then count me in. I have read that some may feel it could be better spent, but me personally see this as a greater opportunity to catch up with what has been happening between now and then with the WBB.

We can swap war stories, have a laugh and get ready and buoyed for the final 5 days.

Let’s go for it Brian, book it now and they will come πŸ™‚

110. ronnie anderson

@ Brian Doonthetoon,bookit we need to let oor hair doon before the long days night,it will gee us up for the 18th,come on lads n lasses the Wings Family is gathering again.

111. Thepnr

@ronnie anderson

Dundee and area is strictly Yes land. What better place to let your hair down LOL.

112. Bob Sinclair

Brian,

Count me in, because the following week is going to be a blur. A wee refreshing unwind before the final push is a good call.

Still looking for Glasgow volunteers:
    PV Count / Polling Stations.

indyref2014WoS(at)gmail(dot)com

113. Tartan Tory

Looking for some help with this one chaps & chapesses!

Customer in my offcie today. Comes from Northumberland but now lives here and has a vote. I move discussions from business to politics and he tells me he’s a No vote. I ask him why and he says:

“Becasue Scotland is not a country, it’s a region of North Britain. Just like Northumberland or Yorkshire. Why should it get any more special treatment”

I have to admit, I didn’t have an arguement for that mindset. πŸ™

114. Tartan Tory

Wish I could do better with spelling at this time of night after a bottle of red too!

115. Thepnr

@Tartan Tory

Scotland needs no special treatment though some of her occupants may do? Robert Peffers would be the best man to destroy this argument.

Suggest you stick that post over on the current topic, I guarantee Robert will provide an answer πŸ™‚

116. Brian Doonthetoon

Just a quick reply re Invergowrie – I’ve had a busy night.

Everyone who comes to WOS5 at Invergowrie on 13th September will get a VERY limited edition “Wings Over Invergowrie” badge.

What more incentive could you possibly need?

8=)

117. Bob Sinclair

Tartan Tory,
    This might help, from way back when Wings was a fluffy chick:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/weekend-sovereignty-for-dummies/

118. Brian Doonthetoon

Tartan Tory – I’m just about to email you.

119. X_Sticks

Gill says:

“great to meet you and TJenny and to get a brief hold of your special WBB”

Thanks for that Gill. Am I correct in thinking you are you the blond lady with your son who introduced yourself in the foyer? Sorry for the delay in replying, just remembered :} Suffering a bit from information overload the noo!

Typing a wee message and pressing that Submit Comment button doesn’t hurt a bit and you become part of a thing rather than just an observer. Be warned though, it is habit forming πŸ˜‰

120. chipmonkey

Does he think the UK is OK? If so the UK of what? The UK of English regions wasn’t the title was it?
    Of course he might think driving up through the border that Scotland was the name of a region… but why does it say England and not a region name on the way back?
    This is supposing you’ve already tried separate legal system , health system, education,bank notes,history up to James the 6th ( and first)etc. etc.
    Or maybe I’m taking you too literally – what a clown,is that the best he can do πŸ™‚

121. willie fae kilwinning

Going on holiday next week but will be back on the 9th Sept.

Looking to volunteer my services in any way, polling stations in Kilwinning or at the count.

Who do I contact?

122. turnbull drier

Calling all Wingers…

I have received notification of my appointment as the WoS Referendum Agent for the Midlothian.

I’m am looking for volunteers to step up to the plate and help out.

There are 37 polling places in Midlothian and, ideally, I’d like to get someone to each of them. There is also the monitoring of the postal ballot returns to be considered.

If you are in the area and are interested in becoming more involved in one of the greatest moments in Scottish history, please email me at “turnbulldrier AT gmail DOT com”

http://wingsoverscotland.com/32-alert-men-and-women/#more-58702

β€œ- attend the receipt and opening of postal ballot papers and/or appoint postal ballot agents to do so on their behalf.

– attend polling stations on polling day for the purpose of detecting personation and/or appoint polling agents to do so on their behalf.

– attend the counting of votes and/or appoint counting agents to do so on their behalf.”

The opening of postal votes happens only Dalkeith, however, getting the polling stations manned and then representation at the count will mean a long day for some which could be greatly reduced by having lots of volunteers with which to spread to load.

I’m looking for sensible, responsible individuals to oversee the goings-on in their locality on my behalf.

Do you fit the bill??

I am also involved with Yes Midlothain and therefore between Wings and Yes Midlothian we can ensure all our bases are covered.

Please email me “turnbulldrier AT gmail DOT com” if you want to help in, and be part of, history.

123. Jim Thomson

@willie fae kilwinning

Have a look at this list (no wings agent for N Ayrshire) and see if there’s any group you’d feel happy assisting.

You’ll have to chase them via phone book I think, unless you know their Wings/FaceBook/Twitter alter-egos πŸ˜‰

north-ayrshire.cmis.uk.com/north-ayrshire/Portals/0/Referendum%202014/Notice%20of%20Appt%20of%20Referendum%20Agents.pdf

124. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Fair do’s.

Here’s the same tune, with high-heels on…

Sugababes, ‘Freak Like Me’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGSajAGg9h4

125. Betty Boop

@ Tartan Tory, 11;25pm, 26 Aug 14

β€œBecause Scotland is not a country, it’s a region of North Britain. …”

See, even corrected your spelling!

Anyway, I am sure that in all possibility some erudite person has already furnished you with a lengthy explanation of a country.

My contribution is this:

We have a Scottish Parliament. Why would that be if Scotland was not a country?

126. Betty Boop

@ Briandoonthetoon, 11:28pm, 26 Aug 14

Everyone who comes to WOS5 at Invergowrie on 13th September will get a VERY limited edition β€œWings Over Invergowrie” badge.

Great – I can add that to my collection (wearing so many it would take ages to get through an airport scanner); a partner for my Arbroath smokie badge. BTW, have your knees recovered from your accession to the Order of the Hairy String?

127. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Jim Murphy is somewhere on Montrose High st.

128. BB

I get a feeling that Wings folk who want to be under the Wings banner would be welcome in South Ayrshire too if they wanted to travel. πŸ˜‰

129. john king

The wife got a call from a local better together activist after asking online when Jim Murphy would be in the fife area
    (how did they get our number?) but I asked her to play it cool on the call with a view to playing them along to get them to hang themselves,
    so they offered her tickets for a Gordon Brown Margaret curran, Alex Rowley audience at Beath High School in Cowdenbeath capacity 360 people
    so she’s on the phone to the school just now asking about the possible hire of their hall and amount of seating and cost, anyone got any idea how we can use this to our advantage.

help me, how can we cultivate this?

130. Thepnr

Has you all seen yet the Duke of wellington with the Yes cone on his head and Yes flag in the stirrups πŸ™‚

https://archive.today/GRe51

131. Bob Sinclair

I am an idiot, I’ve been sitting in a hotel room in night after night after work, tonight I decided enough is enough so I hooked up with Yes Glenrothes for Paper deliveries.

A Good night and good crowd of people who made me feel more than welcome. Will be out with them again tomorrow night.

132. cearc

Thepnr,

Yes, doesn’t he look great?

I never thought I would say that about Wellington!

133. Quinie frae Angus

Got a load of WBBs and posters the nicht from Thepnr – thanks, Thepnr!

Re Invergowrie night on 13th – yes please! I’ll hopefully be there. Will wear my badge with pride.

134. Chic McGregor

Any you can shove our way in Kirrie Thepnr? Still waiting on toner and we are down to our last book being loaned to undecided voters.

135. Chic McGregor

Here’s a wee quiz I made from the celebs on oor window loop.

Guid luck.

Nae Googlin’, but ye kin pause it here and there I would think.

Oh an’ nae spoilers although suitably wicked clues are allowed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otxPJDHOVx8

136. Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

Email me at aclark@openseasengineering.co.uk

137. gerry parker

Just back from the briefing meeting. Checked out the postal vote count next week, and the final count arrangements.

As you know, wings can allocate 12 counting agents (to cover postal vote opening and the final count) and 40 polling agents to cover polling places and polling stations. The postal votes will be opened and verified at 9:30am at the Civic Centre on the dates I gave you earlier (starting on 2nd September) , and the counting will be done at the Sports Centre at Ravenscraig starting at 10:00pm on the 18th.

I need names for counting agents and polling agents for North Lanarkshire.( The counting agents asap as postal vote opening commences on Tuesday 2nd. I intend to be at all the postal voting openings if at all possible.

Let me know what you would like to volunteer for.
    If you’re a “lurker” now is the time to come out. either contact me direct or pass on your details to a “Winger” for them to contact me.

gerry[dot]parker[at]gmail[dot]com

There are 132 polling places and 363 polling stations to cover. I’ve contacted Yes Scotland, the SNP, and am in the process of making contact with The Green Party and Labour for independence.

I’d prefer to get as many wingers on board as possible before “donating” places to other organisations, and I can tell you they’re hungry for places, especially counting agents.

138. gerry parker

@ James.
    My brother was saying he was in Stonehaven earlier today. Not a very impressive performance, trying to get people to argue rather than debate.

139. BB

@Thepnr

Magnificent, isn’t he? πŸ˜€ Top marks for it looking so well done too. I hope someone is ready to replace it after the opposition try to spoil it.

140. James Caithness

This is a wee gem I found on the Yes Carnoustie page. It’s pure dead brilliant.

http://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10152452210985358&set=vb.619530357&type=2&theater

141. gerry parker

@James.
    +1000. Great wee video I’ll certainly be passing on.

142. Thepnr

@James Caithness

Good videos, the last two were best. Nobody listening to Jim Murphy in Carnoustie and the heckles from the two passing cars were hilarious.

143. Ian Brotherhood

Great SSP public meeting in Ardeer, Stevenston this evening – new members signing up, WBBs all-round, and a real buzz about the place.

144. Ian Brotherhood

Cheers for the Murphy vids – gagging to see more of the Dundee stramash, and can’t wait to see what happens when he hits Sauchiehall Street. (That is tomorrow, right?)

He’ll be up all night with chicken-bones, rosary-beads, and whatever other fetishes he can procure, doing a rain-dance in his back garden.

145. James Caithness

Notice it appears Murphy’s voice is going. Must get the pilchard to shout more and lose his voice.

146. Ian Brotherhood

@James Caithness –

Indeed. I noticed that too.

No matter. Even if he stands there, mute, he’ll still get pelters, and deserves each and every one of them.

Nawbag…

147. Thepnr

Hey Ian!

How much did the Wingers get on a Yes vote at 11/2?

Is it enough to hire a massive marquee. Just wondering like.

148. James Caithness

@Thepnr – at 11/2 for every Β£2 you put on the bookie will hand you back Β£13.

149. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Re Invergowrie on 13th September.

Spoke to my ex tonight. Because we don’t know how many will turn up (I told her around 60 in Jolly’s, around megapeeps in Glasgow and 80-odds in Edinburgh) we can’t close the place off – yet.

However, if anyone wants to book a table for a meal, up to 7.30pm, better get in sooner rather than later, as the Invergowrie Inn is always fully booked teatime on a Saturday. To book a table, phone this number:-

01382 568262

And mention ‘Wings Over Scotland get together’.

Some time in the next couple of days, I may even give you train and bus times to get you fae a’pliss into Dundee or Invergowrie in time for a splendid soiree!
    (Been busy tonight designing badges.)

150. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

The first Counting House gig raffle dosh? We’ve got Β£76 on at 5/1, but the Yes vote must be 55%+.

Just checked the slip – placed the bet with Ladbrokes on April 7th.

151. James Caithness

Anither wee gem this time from the Motherwell and Wishaw Yes family.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7iXRcs-oS0E

152. Ian Brotherhood

PS Don’t know if that would be enough to get a big marquee, but it would get us about 100 Tesco two-man tents.

153. pete the camera

All you need is someone with a bell to drown him out. It had a great effect against Churchill in Dundee, I think it was an suffragette called Mary kept ringing a bell during his public speeches much to his cost

154. pete the camera

to slow in typing that was about Jim Murphy and his soap box

155. Garve

I had no idea this thread was being used to discuss counting/polling agents. Thanks @cearc for drawing my attention to it. I’m Wings’ agent for Highland. I get to appoint 10 counting agents for the count in Dingwall and as many polling agents as I want. This thread’s pretty unmanageable but I’ll try to scan it tomorrow. In the meantime contact me on @G4rve or Garve@scott-lodge.com if you want to be on either list.

I attended the Highland Council briefing yesterday and will be working with other Yes groups to ensure we all fill out quotas for the count.

Cheers

Garve

156. Thepnr

Who needs a marquee anyway. On the 19th the grass will truely be greener on this side and that will do for me.

We don’t need NO stinking marquee LOL.

157. Ian Brotherhood

@pete the camera –

A splendid suggestion.

And when we start ringing that bell, we won’t want it to stop until they’re all gone for good and there’s nae danger ay hearin’ ony merr ay thur pish.

The Darkness, ‘Don’t Let The Bells End’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQhuoY5h2kE

158. Thepnr

Brian

Does the Invergowrie Inn have rooms?

159. pete the camera

what did AD and GB expect coming to Dundee heckling is a Dundee thing

160. cearc

Ian,

100 x 2 man tents! You’ll be giving Paula Rose ideas!

161. cearc

Garve,
    Aha, at last you have appeared.

Unfortunately,you have already lost Steph who should have been the agent for A & B but the application didn’t arrive in time and so was wanting to help here. Is now helping Yes.

I’m on the NW coast and could come over for a postal vote day but probably not first thing in the morning, it’s a 2 1/2 hr. drive. Do you have the days and times yet?

Could also do the count (well who wouldn’t want to.)

How many polling stations areyou trying to cover – 229 is probably a bit optimistic!

162. cearc

Brian,

I second Thepnr’s question.

May well come over, my next years dinners are looking good and starting to head to the freezer, no very wee ones with stroppy mummies. So I reckon I can have a few days away again.

It’ll be nice to meet up again.

163. Thepnr

Something for Blair McD. It will be ringing in his ears on the 19th.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-q93m9rti2Y

164. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Paula’s not spoken to me since I posted a Gary Numan link.

(…sniff…)

Anyway, what’s happened to Cactus? Where are ye mister? This is for you.

I have no musical bones in my body, but I just heard this song on RS, and remember it from my very early years. It seems to be missing something, and I can’t pinpoint it – it’s as if it doesn’t have a middle, or an end. I’m not sure which. What I do know is this – when you get it in yer heid it’s well-nigh impossible to get it out, so be warned.

Marty Robbins, ‘El Paso’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mL6puxUeIqU

165. cearc

ian,

Och, she’ll get over it!

166. Thepnr

Paula’s busy.

The Wee Blue Book has taken over her life, for now.

167. Michael McCabe

My favourite Version of an old Anthem. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1j5F0rv9Ns&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

168. BB

I think this has been the best week we’ve (or at least I’ve) had in the indy ref for good news and the feeling of Yes growing. Morale running high here. πŸ˜€

169. BB

If the news keeps up like this week until referendum day then I’ll have run out of stocks to have celebratory drinks with before the big day itself. πŸ˜‰

170. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

You much spend days searching for these πŸ™‚

171. Bob Sinclair

Still looking for lots of help in Glasgow with Polling Stations & Postal Vote Count. Come on Glasgow, you know you want to. I’ve not had a lot of response yet but to those who have given their support, a big thanks.

You wouldn’t want a crowd of nutters like Brittanica being better represented than Wings would you?

I’m asking for any time you can give, be it 10 minutes, 10 hours or 10 days, every bit helps.

indyref2014wos(at)gmail(dot)com

172. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    Stoater. πŸ™‚

173. Garve

Can you email me Cearc?

garve@scott-lodge.com

174. Col The Viking

Hi BB

I am volunteer with the Yes South Ayrshire team and we were recently discussing the whole counting agents, etc topic – care to send me an email and I can forward it on to the main coordinator so it all starts to join up?

You can get me at colm (AT) zapland (DOT) fsnet (DOT) co(DOT) uk

Cheers

175. Robert Louis

Tartan Tory at 1125 am (yesterday i think),

First off, to describe Scotland as a region is offensive. Look in any encyclopedia and you will see Scotland described as a country.

The treaty of union was between two countries, Scotland and England, agreed to via their respective sovereign Parliaments. In no part of the treaty does Scotland become extinguished as a country (nor England for that matter).

If those offensive people you spoke to describe Scotland as a region, then QED, England is also just a region (and not a country). They may choke at such a concept.

N.B Although the treaty of union was between only England and Scotland (no other country is mentioned in the articles of union), it does also include Wales. At that time (1706/07), the English Government and Parliament arrogantly used the word England to mean England and Wales.

176. X_Sticks

Still looking for Aberdeenshire volunteers for Postal openings and Polling Station Agents. All welcome and there is a prize of a ticket to the grand count at the AECC on the 18th. YOU could be there on the night.

Email me at colinizat (at) Hotmail (dot) com if you are interested.

Not much support from Wings as yet, are you all just keyboard warriors?

177. Jim Thomson

On another “improving picture” front. Heard last night that the canvassing of Labour members has indicated a 47% YES within the ranks. Up from around 37% a month or so back.

Grinning HUGELY here πŸ˜›

@Col the Viking

I’ll drop you an e-mail – also volunteering with BB

178. highseastim

It seems to me that the number of opinion polls have dropped markedly over the last few days, wouldn’t be anything to do with the actual facts that things are possibly neck and neck??

179. gerry parker

@ Jim, that’s good news. The Iron Burgh is solidly labour so I’ve been getting LFI leaflets into as many letterboxes that I can.

@ X_Sticks, same here m8.

Calling all lurkers, calling all lurkers. We need you out here on the streets now.

20 Days to go, postal vote opening and validation starts here on 2nd September.

Plug for Livestream event.

7:00pm Westerton Hall Bearsden.

Veterans for Independence.

Get along if you can and fill the Hall.
    Kevin will be Livestreaming, and our very own “The Man in the Jar” will be speaking at the event too.
    No pressure Ian.

πŸ™‚

180. Thepnr

@Jim Thomson

Great news Jim, I’ve been predicting on here since last year that the labour support for Yes would be above 50% and when that happens.

Game over for the Onion.

181. Tartan Tory

I’m off to the Referendum Agents meeting (briefing session) which is to be led by the council’s ‘Counting Officer’ tonight.

Hopefully, I’ll have something to report back in terms of the agents who actually turn-up on the ground and also what is expected with regard to the councils own views from referendum agents. πŸ™‚

182. Nana Smith

@Garve

My husband will be in touch this evening when he’s home from work.

183. Jim Thomson

ok – something chewed my last post.

Can’t be arsed submitting it again.

184. BB

I’ve been hearing good things about the numbers of signatures on the declaration rocketing up, but got to wait to hear official checks and announcement to be sure it’s not just rumours. The other side seem to be far less confident and more angry recently.

Anyone else feel like they can almost *taste* it? πŸ˜€

@Jim Thomson

I’ve had a few posts here swallowed up too. I think it might be to do with the length of the thread or something as it’s obviously not moderation issues.

185. Paula Rose

You’re just not being smutty enough darlings.

186. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula Rose – How can a man be smutty when his pizza in the oven is in danger of being crisped? [Confucious?]. Ok I need a hand here Paula πŸ™‚ Where in this maze of information called Wings did I see a table of Indiegogo projects completed and totally funded? Guide me baby.

187. Paula Rose

Archie honey, we know not what the Gods deliver, but we do know that if we are not out there listening, engaging and laughing with our folk we won’t win this. I fell off my high heels at the weekend (as Thepnr and Tartan Tory can attest) so am reduced to the role of Agony Aunt spiering from the terrace.

188. Paula Rose

btw where is my darling I.Brotherhood, you are forgiven honey xx

189. X_Sticks

@Paula

That saucy enough for you? πŸ˜‰

190. Garve

@nana Look forward to hearing from him.
    To repeat myself, anyone interested in being counting and/or polling agents in Highland please email me on garve@scott-lodge.com

Cheers

Garve

191. Conan_the_Librarian

Was anybody in Kirkaldy at Murphy’s egging?

192. BB

I wouldn’t put it past them to have someone on their own side ready to toss an egg or do something minor they can rant about in the media if no one else actually did it before a certain point. They’re desperate for a story and to get the tour in the papers after weeks or months of nothing happening and him standing lonely in the streets.

The media didn’t care much about Jim Sillars getting egged before this on his tour.

193. Paula Rose

X_Sticks – its all around honey xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSyM1WYZNVU

194. Conan_the_Librarian

@BB

In part, that’s why I was asking.

Proof is everything.

195. Paula Rose

I loved making that with those boys!

196. Thepnr

@Conan_the_Librarian

john king and his missus were there, he put a few posts up about it which can be found here:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/polishing-all-the-truth-out/#comments

197. Thepnr

Starting at 17:00

198. cearc

Anyone know what’s up with Lesley-Anne, she doesn’t seem to have been around for a few days?

199. Thepnr

I’ve emailed Lesley-Anne this morning, no reply yet.

There was talk of her going to a wedding a couple of weeks ago, if anyone in the area could give an update, much appreciated.

200. Conan_the_Librarian

Thanks Thepnr.

The Daily Mail will pounce.

201. cearc

Thepnr,

Devious or what, John King and his ‘neglected wife’? I love it.

Do you know about accomodation around Invergowrie? There’s an hotel (pretentious and over-priced @Β£75/nt.) up the road. Looks like the nearest.

I haven’t been to Dundee for over 20 yrs. so it will be fun to see the changes.

202. cearc

Ah, yes, I remember her mentioning a wedding (foreigners I think, over the border!)

203. cearc

cont/.. fun to see the changes and you guys again.

I am just about out of hatchling purdah again and able Wing over Scotland.

204. chipmonkey

The Premier Inn on the Kingsway isn’t far to walk from Invergowrie. I walked it for a works night out years ago. A bit dodgy crossing at the roundabout- but some of us might be going that way with a designated driver.

205. Thepnr

There’s also a big YES bus available to pick people up from the city centre, most likely at Discovery Quay opposite the railway station that I believe can take them back into town if that is more convenient.

Brian DoontheToon will give us an update, time soon to get this on the main board maybe Brian. Cut and paste of your first post here should suffice πŸ™‚

206. Thepnr

It looks like we will have sufficient numbers going by the response on Off Topic so far.

207. Paula Rose

Ooh darlings – can I come?

208. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Of course you can, in fact I’d be disappointed if you failed to make it!

209. cearc

Looking forward to meeting you Paula Rose.

210. Paula Rose

cearc honey – have we not met? Oh Thepnr you will have to whisk me to the ball!

211. Quinie frae Angus

@cearc

Oh boy, Cearc, if you haven’t met the delectable Paula Rose yet, you are in for a treat!!

212. Paula Rose

I’m not going unless Ian Brotherhood promises to turn up and do what he did before (giggle)

213. Paula Rose

Oh I loved making this video with you Ian honey – reminds me of another hirsute gent…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9krvMqLnc5U

214. Ian Brotherhood

‘P

215. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

You are a mischief. And besides, there’s no way I could win the raffle again.

216. Tartan Tory

Right folks! Just home from my first meeting with the counting officer(s) at the council and I have some good news!

Firstly, this applies to my particular council, but I would seriously expect it to hold for all 32.

You can put away your tin-foil hats when it comes to the polling day itself! The checks and balances which are in place are well beyond my expectations.

No polling station can start the day with a box pre-filled. The number of papers placed in the box between 7am & 10pm are counted and marked off a sheet. The check sheet goes back to the main count and the number of ballot papers in the box are cross referenced with the check sheet once the box is opened.

Boxes can’t be swapped en-route to the count. There are five numbered/bar-coded seals on each box (as per a bank bag) which are checked back at the count before the box is opened.

In short, the work of a polling agent standing outside a polling station all day is virtually meaningless to us. All they can do is canvas voters as they leave the polling station with a view to reporting back to party HQ on the progress of the poll. We (as Wings) have no HQ and nothing we could do there on the day will affect the outcome. There is almost no oversight function to be acheived at the polling stations.

Next, the postal votes….. This is where the detective work comes into it. If the other 31 Wings Agents can ensure that they have up to two people there on each day, this does serve a purpose. Postal votes are open to fraud. Checking signatures and looking for anomalies is perhaps as much as can be done, but it can be done. Once again, the council surprised me with their own checks and balances which are in place. I can only hope that the same applies to the rest of the areas.

Nobody can have a postal vote AND an in-person vote. Nobody can put in two postal votes (in the same region). However, I spotted an anomaly tonight! A student, for example, living with parents in Aberdeen but attending Uni in Glasgow, can theoretically register for two postal votes. All the checks and balances apply only to individual regions. Therefore, it would be possible to have two votes counted, if one was sent to Glasgow and one to Aberdeen, since there is no cross-referencing between the regions. This being said, it’s not something that we, as referendum agents, can have any impact upon.

Finally the count itself. The referendum agents job is a serious one. We are responsible for overseeing the physical count and bringing ANYTHING untoward to the attention of the counting officer. Attending the count is not an excuse for a party with your mates. It’s not a reward for sterling work throughout the campaign. It’s serious stuff!! You don’t want to fill the room with ten people who are either half-hearted, or inclinded to jump up and down without engaging brain. The actions of the ten will fall squarely back on the one. There are several legal implications and there are also several high ranking officers from Police Scotland there to deal with you too!

On top of this, there’s the press. I’ve been advised today that I may have to deal with the BBC, ITV & Sky at the count. Normally, they wouldn’t bother with the smaller counts outside of Glasgow, Aberdeen & Edinburgh, but due to the historic significance of Arbroath, they are going to be there. I’ll be sure to display my wings prominently on my lapel, just in case! πŸ™‚

So, if all this is news, then I hope it comes as a bit of a relief (Bob Sinclair take note!)

I don’t now suspect any great MI5 plot to steal the vote. I can’t possibly see where Westminster could attempt anything untoward on the day as it would require the assistance of everyone at the council and the police too. It’s not possible folks.

What can still be abused is the postal votes. For myself, I intend to be at each postal vote opening and checking event all day, along with one of my volunteers.

Right, enough from me! I hope I’ve put some minds at rest. I’m off for a large MacAllans…. πŸ™‚

217. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Sorry about the tardy response to your message, but I was away today, ended up in Kirkcaldy, doing, erm, well, you know, I was, ehm, uh, well, just out for a drive and ended up being away longer than I expected…

Ach anyway, no matter. Have you seen the price of eggs these days?!

218. Archie [not Erchie]

@ X Sticks – Thanks for the link but nope that wisnae the one. There was a long list of completed fundraisers with amounts raised. I cannot find it. Reason for searching is to pass on to supporters in Wallonia what a grassroots support can do. I fear they do not quite grasp how the main YES hub could so quickly diverse into smaller hubs.

219. Paula Rose

Tartan Tory honey

Ian was virtually on one knee about to declare undying love, could you not have waited two and a half minutes?

xx

enjoy your MacAllans I’ll scroll back.

220. Paula Rose

Tartan Tory – you know I’m there for you.

All as we discussed – good stuff.

221. cearc

You weren’t at CH1 and I have been in hatchling purdah since but with next years dinners secured I am now free to meet the one and only, delectable, eye-wateringly beautiful, high-heeled,bombshell that is Paula Rose.

(I hope you don’t let me down there!)

Still even if you don’t live up to those expectations you like gardening.

222. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

You don’t know how right you are. I did get down on one knee, but it was the dicky one, and I’m still stuck, staring up at the screen, releasing the occasional whimper…

223. Tartan Tory

Ooops! Just read back to see what I interuppted. Sorry Paula dearest. Perhaps it was on purpose of course! Maybe I just can’t stand the thought of you with another. Especially after our excitement in the rally car…. πŸ˜‰

224. cearc

TT,

I hope you’re bringing your quattro to the Invergowrie knees up.

225. Paula Rose

Ian I just don’t know what to do – oh well the old ones are the best ones – (Tartan Tory dear you can share) xx nite boys –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUqXM7D2Lsg

226. Paula Rose

Now – before I retire for the night, cearc, the lovely Tartan Tory has promised me a lift in his Bentley, so much more comfortable.

227. Patrician

some interesting photos here of the Yes rally meeting at Cumbernauld last Sunday. Have a look for the WBB having a starring role:

https://www.facebook.com/furiousferret1981

I don’t do facebook so not sure how to go to the album.

228. Bob Sinclair

Tartan Tory
    Once again, a useful & informative post and in terms of getting the polling stations covered it certainly puts my mind at ease.

As I suspected, the PV count coverage is crucial & I really do need a couple more helpers on this. At the moment I have one PV volunteer (you know who you are, and thanks again) but I really need a few more because I do not want the burden to fall on one person.

I will be covering PV count as much as I possibly can myself but what I would like is for nobody to Have to commit more than a few hours at one time.

O/T for this post – could the Fife Wings RefRep hook up with Yes Glenrothes.

229. cearc

Paula Rose,

Much bigger back seat too!!

230. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Trying to keep up with all the comments on the new daily topics is taking a fair bit of time now, iye?

Onnyhoo, to address a couple of points…

Invergowrie Inn has no rooms. As Chipmonkey typed, the nearest hotel is Premier Inn’s “Dundee West Hotel” on Kingsway, beside the Beefeater, around 10 minutes walk from the Invergowrie Inn. There is also the “DoubleTree by Hilton” (formerly the Swallow Hotel”, almost adjacent.

In Dundee City Centre, there is the Travelodge “Dundee Central Hotel” on Marketgait, around 10 minutes walk from the railway station, a few minutes longer to the bus station. There is also a “Holiday Inn Express Dundee”, on Dock Street, roughly equidistant between the bus and railway stations (5 minutes).
    BTW: the Travelodge at Discovery Quay is not available for 13/14th September.

There are also the more upmarket doss houses, like the Apex, Malmaison and Queen’s Hotel.

However, the best price I found for a “Double Bed Private Ensuite” was Β£22.50 per person (Β£45 for the room) or a “Single Private Ensuite” for Β£25 at “Dundee Backpackers Hostel” at 71 High Street, right in the city centre.

You can check out this link for details of permutations (hover over the rooms for details):-

http://tinyurl.com/mwg3hwg

Remember to “Plan your journey” at the traveline web site, whether you are using train, bus, coach, biplane or ferry.

231. Patrician

@TartanTory, I have heard there are rules about what can be displayed or worn by representatives at the polling station. Was anything mentioned about rules for those attending the count?

232. X_Sticks

Thanks for that TT. Clearer picture now and mind easier re: postal votes.

Did you get some idea of how long it will take each day for the postal votes. I know it will depend on how many votes, but I could just do with a rough idea of half-day/full day to help with scheduling.

Could still do with a bit more help at Inverurie for the postal openings folks πŸ˜€

233. Archie [not Erchie]

@ X Sticks – Well that’s you f*****d at recruiting eh? Polling Agents meaningless? Not according to the EC Rules I have read.

@ Tartan Tory – Quote We (as Wings) have no HQ and nothing we could do there on the day will affect the outcome Unquote

As a Polling or Counting Agent I would not expect to affect the outcome but I would be proud to represent Wings like you and provide feedback to this site so that thousands of others can take part in the count.

234. Tartan Tory

Yes Patrician, there was!

Bear in mind, the polling agents are not permitted inside the polling stations (unless they are voting themselves). They are not permitted to engage with voters for political advantage and they should only be asking for info from those who are exiting the stations. However, they have no ‘official’ standing and members of the public do not have to engage with them if they don’t want to. They can wear badges outsdie the polling station becasue they are essentially just ordinary members of the public. They cannot display campaign material outside the polling station.

At the count, there is nothing to stop us wearing badges etc. The polls are closed so there is nothing to be gained from badges or rosettes. My own idea is to be dressed accordingly – probably as I was when we last met. I’ll be mindful that the media will be there too. Also, bear in mind that you will be an ‘official’ at the count. I doubt if the people doing the counting want to be looking over their shoulder at someone in a banana suit wearing a hundred different badges. πŸ˜‰

235. Ian Brotherhood

Some light relief from Harry Hill:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h-8CbASmQ_0

236. X_Sticks

I suspect TT is right Archie. Unless we could cover all polling stations (take 3-4 people for each one) and have a central HQ who could collate the results probably not great value. I expect the SNP probably have this covered better than we could, but I’ll look to offer any help we can.

More important to cover postal openings and final count.

237. Tartan Tory

Colin – Postal openings start at 10am for me. They reckoned that the first couple of days would be busy – full day style ending at 4pm. It was expected that day 1 would not complete what they have and be carried over to day 2. Days 3 & 4 would more likely be half days in their estimation. Day 5 is actually at the count on the 18th.

Archie – Don’t shoot the messenger! πŸ˜‰ The purpose of polling agents is normally a party political one. These people would normally be the ones checking names off party lists to get their voters mobilised or perhaps taken to the booths by the party taxi. We don’t have a party. We don’t have a great machine behind us. We don’t have lists of voters to check off who has or has not been to vote. The polling agent is not regarded as an ‘official’ by the council and has no standing or authority, aside from perhaps nodding to the presiding officer in the station to acknowledge all is well. They are entitled to be there before 7am to see the goings-on and they are entitled to be there after 10pm to view the passage of the box. They might even get to put their initials on a seal. But that’s it. From 7am to 10pm they have no official role to play inside the polling station. As you suggest, they can certainly relay their impression of progress to outside bodies, but that’s it. If you wish to do this, I’m sure your respective Referendum Agent will be happy to oblige! πŸ˜‰

238. Patrician

@TartanTory, how can you describe the contents of my wardrobe so accurately? I think it will now have to be the pineapple suit instead.

239. Tartan Tory

Just remembered something else that’s a bit of trivia.

Today, we had the following Agents at the meeting:

Labour Party
    SNP
    Yes Scotland
    Wings
    Better Together (x2!)
    Spirit of Independence
    Radical Independence
    Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party

Half way through the meeting, whilst the chief counting officer was speaking, both the BT folks just stood up and left the room. No apologies, no ‘excuse us’, nothing! Ignorrant B*******s!!!!

Another bit of trivia which doesn’t need to be overplayed, but I’ll mention it anyway – The three No camps were all represented by people who did not have accents which derived from anywhere north of Carlisle! Everyone else was ‘local’.

240. handclapping

@Tartan Tory
    I think you are muddling “tellers” with Polling Agents. Tellers are, if permitted by the local Counting Officer, members of the public who can approach voters attending within the Polling Place but not the Polling Station to ascertain, if given, the number on the register of the voter. This does not seem a good use of anybody’s time as Yes is using their database for knocking up

Polling Agents are members of the election team and must agree that they will adhere to the election rules which they must present to the Presiding Officer of each Polling Station they attend. Their function is to look for people impersonating others so as to vote in their stead. Otherwise while in the Polling Station they must not indicate any preference Yes or No or Wings etc and they should avoid placing themselves in a position where they could see the marking of the ballot counterfoils.
    Their main function nowadays is waiting for a slack moment to ask the PO for the numbers voted so far. If its over 70% Yes have won.

241. BB

I think it’s still important not to be complacent. The checks in place only work because they’re overseen. It’s like the locks on our doors only work if we’re concerned enough to lock the doors. πŸ˜‰

Postal vote fiddling is such a worry but so little can be done unless large legal investigation afterwards. The case of two postal votes being assigned has been highlighted before and sadly not a lot can be done. Other cases than the students would be people using property registered up here to get votes even if they reside down south or to attempt multiple votes in counties, etc.

The other common fiddle is collecting postal votes from doors and binning ones you don’t want sent.

We should just assume they will do all the fiddles, legal and otherwise and try to catch the few things we can on the day.

242. BB

@Tartan Tory

I can add I’ve heard similarly shocking levels of lack of respect and interest from the BT representitives elsewhere in these meetings. Some are paid staff and just play with their phones, others walk out early. Incredibly rude to the CO and depute too. No excuse for this, but obviously they don’t care or feel it’s reasonable somehow.

243. handclapping

As someone who has done and will be doing postal openings apart from the first day when you are observing, thinking about and checking the procedure, it is slightly more interesting than watching paint dry. Our ones will be 1000 to 1630.

The last day, the 18th is a long day from 10am till the last Polling Station’s PV envelope has been emptied and the packs screened, compared, de-enveloped and posted in the PV ballot box.
    This will not be speeded up if everybody decides to hand their PV in at a Polling Station on the day πŸ™

244. ronnie anderson

@Patrician 11.17. The Hairy Strings got plenty photo’s.

245. TJenny

Archie[not Erchie] – list of other indy fundraisers can be found if you click on the ‘Donate’ heading below the WBB fundraiser in the middle column.

246. Tartan Tory

@handclapping

I have all the council literature in front of me and the duties of a polling agent are as follows:

Observe presiding officer showing empty box prior to sealing.
    Detect personation.
    Report improper occurences to Referendum Agent.
    View presiding officer marking ballot papers at request of voter.
    View sealing of documents after close of poll.
    Maintain secrecy of ballot.

It appears you are correct, as the description of a ‘teller’ comes later in the paperwork and is what I described earlier. However, I specifically asked about this at the meeting and there was no distinction made – tellers were never mentioned. Perhaps I missed something, but I still don’t see a pressing need for polling agents or tellers, if indeed they are different.

247. handclapping

@Tartan Tory
    And if you don’t have a Polling Agent you can start with a stuffed box, the same No voter coming in again and again saying he’s someone different and the box left open at the end of the day for a few extra ballots on the way to the count. But there’s no pressing need for them?

If Wings can turn up with a couple of PA then Yes SNP RIC have to find a couple less. You will need to coordinate with the other RA to make sure all your Polling Places are covered.

Your Counting Agents are the ones you’ll have trouble with. It will be a long, long night. Only in Clacks will 1am be attainable, Glasgow maybe 5am.

248. kininvie

@Tartan Tory

My local Yes group reckons manning polling stations throughout voting hours is useful for one simple reason:

Having a friendly YES face as the last thing you see before going in to vote may just be the final push needed to get those ‘fuckit, why not’ voters to put their cross in the right box.

Now, Wings has plenty of fans, – so I wouldn’t discount having a Wings presence – if only briefly – as polling agents as a complete waste…

This is not an ordinary election. There will be people turning up who STILL haven’t made up their minds. Reassurance given on the spot could well pull their votes our way.

249. Tartan Tory

@ handclapping

I already explainied why you cannot start with a stuffed box, whether someone is there to oversee it or not.

With 160 polling stations, it’s about allocating resources effectively. I don’t have any hope of covering polling places properly even if I wanted to. However, I expect to have enought people at the PV openings and at the all-night count.

@ kininvie

I’m not unilaterally discounting polling agents as a waste, out of hand. I have 160 polling places and perhaps 10 volunteers, most of whom have day jobs to do. I’ve been told that there is no canvassing permitted to be done at the stations on the day. I’m just being pragmatic with what I’ve been told by the council and with the number of people who have put their hands up to offer help.

I’m doing everything I can. My business and customers are being made to suffer as a result. I’ll be spending the entire week before the referendum dealing with Agent duties and I’ll have a full 24hr day on the 18th.

250. finl8son

@Tartan Tory
    I thought I should share my experience regarding postal votes.
    I am a student in Edinburgh but originally come from Aberdeen, I have been registered to vote by post in Edinburgh for a 2 years at the same address. However I received two postal votes, one in each city. I thought this was odd because this didn’t happen during the previous European elections. When I called the Aberdeen city registry to remove myself from their list they were quick to suggest that someone must have registered me in Aberdeen-something my Mother assures me she did not do. They added that whoever it was likely did it by mistake or β€˜were making sure I got a vote’. I know that you should get fined/sentenced for voting twice but can you reassure me checks are carried out to prevent people voting twice?
    I’ve been growing ever more paranoid about why/how this could come about. I have even resorted to taking my vote to the main post office in person, as there are many Yes posters on my street and I would hate to get a rogue postie with an agenda.

I know I am probably being silly – but I was shocked to find out this had happened and I wonder how many students this might have happened to. Surely duplicate voting numbers would be flagged on a national database and invalidated? I thought I would bring this to your attention because perhaps these errors could go unnoticed, skewing the number of perceived postal votes? I would hope individual councils share some degree of information to ensure the appropriate checks are in place.

Thanks in advance for your replies, I’ve been silently worrying about this until I found your post stating this was a known problem. I’ve been following Wings intently lately in a bid to keep my sanity, despite the mainstream medias best efforts to persuade me otherwise.

251. handclapping

@Tartan Tory
    It is not just Wings that supports a Yes vote. The RA for the other Yes supporting groups, certainly the Yes campaign itself and the SNP, are likely to be experienced Election Agents and very willing to help if you offer to coordinate your volunteers with theirs to get the maximum effective coverage of the election.

You are not alone in your task, do speak to the other Yes RA. They can help.

252. Tartan Tory

@ Handclapping – Being doing this already. πŸ˜‰ My nearest RA is from RIC and I can actually see his house from my lounge! He is a very experienced RA and I was chatting with him last night. However, today he is unfortunately on a flight to Uzbekistan!!!

@ finl8son – I’m taking this very seriously and am just off the phone with both my Electoral Registration Officer for Angus, Dundee Perth & Kinross and also with Ian Milton who is the ERO for Grampian. The upshot is that your situation is one of these anomalies which can exist, but if you have not applied for the postal vote then ‘someone’ is committing fraud. The postal vote application requires your date of birth AND your signature. If you have not applied, then something is afoot and you are effectively being impersonated. If you ignore the technicalities and decide to use both votes, then you are committing an offence. Don’t do it!!! However, I suspect from your words that you want to do the ‘right’ thing. Ian Milton has given me his direct number to pass on to you and asked that you contact him. You have done nothing wrong and you have nothing to be concerned about. Give him a call on 01224 664330 and you can explain that you were talking to an RA from Angus (My name is John Clark), he will then know what it’s about.

Irrespective of the fact that I am plainly on the Yes side, there is no way that I’m going to tell you to use two votes. I’d much rather see that this anomaly is detected and sorted. Just make sure that you do the right thing with the one vote you have! πŸ˜‰

253. Garve

@patrician

I asked the same question about the count at our briefing. The reply they sent was:

“At the count, can agents wear t-shirts etc expressing support”

“Yes, so long as any logo is not rude or offensive.”

Polling agents can only wear rosettes, but counting agents can wear anything.

Reminder: anyone wishing to be a counting/polling agent for Wings in Highland email me at garve@scott-lodge.com

254. finl8son

@Tartan Tory
    Thank you for you quick response – I knew you would be the right man to ask ? I was very lucky to stumble upon your post otherwise I would have just thought that kind of anomaly was β€˜normal’ for a Student- so good effort on your part! I also have to thank you for getting that number for me; that was a big help and saved me a bunch of time as I got through to people in the know.

So what I have done is taken my name off the Registrar in Aberdeen so I am no longer eligible to vote up there whilst making sure I am still registered down here in Edinburgh. That way my Edinburgh vote will not be invalidated and any potential impersonated Aberdeen β€˜ghost vote’ will not be counted. I was also reassured that this can happen entirely β€˜in error’ as was suggested; and we are all satisfied that if treachery is afoot it will be all too obvious and easy to sort out, especially since I have been in touch and the anomaly noted.

You have no need to worry about me using two votes, I’ve been a supporter of the Yes campaign for years now and I firmly believe we don’t need to resort to schoolboy tactics to win this. In my opinion that sort of thing would be contradicting some of the very reasons I have always wanted independence. Besides if you try hard and put in the effort, along with a bit of tact, you should be able to β€˜claim’ more than one Yes vote in the grand scheme of things. It is how this referendum as been won ? I’ve been doing my bit amongst the Edinburgh Uni Engineers and by now they are probably sick of my voice – but what they cannot say is that they haven’t heard an alternative to the BBCβ€˜s years of subliminal dishonesty. I can say with confidence that people are putting reason before fear and, in the cases of the recently saved, rational before perceived pride πŸ˜€ The WBB has been so useful in achieving this. It has been inspiring to be involved in something that has evoked such a sense of national pride, dignity and duty amongst those from all walks of life- But also sparked such a fierce passion amongst so many, all discussing our future together in the purest of forms – regardless of what camp you find yourself in. We definitely didn’t need the media to make our minds up for us!

I can’t wait to keep this positive energy going when we get our Yes vote and use it, alongside our ever-louder voices, to help sculpt the beginnings of our new nation. One in which ALL the people have a say in how it should look and be formed, not just those that donated. Even the Nae-sayers, they might even cheer up once they have something positive to vote for!

255. SquareHaggis

@TT,

Have a couple of Q’s regarding PV’s and hoping you can clarify.

Can you confirm there are 2 papers in a PV pack, one ballot paper and one for your signature and DOB?

Also, am I right in thinking each has a seperate envelope?

Also, does each form have any kind of unique identifier?

Much obliged.

SH

256. X_Sticks

@TT

Setting a high bar there John πŸ˜€ Thanks for all the info, useful.

Re: Polling Agents
    Don’t realistically see what we could do here, I have half the volunteers you do. All I can do is offer whatever resources I have to the SNP or Yes to plug any gaps. 7am until 10pm will take a minimum of three dedicated volunteers to cover each station. I have 125 in the Shire.

Still needing help for Inverurie weekdays postal openings.

257. Tartan Tory

@ SquareHaggis

Sorry to say I don’t have all the answers for you! πŸ™

I can confirm that they have unique identifiers but I’ve never seen a postal vote pack (yet)! However, if you tell me which region you are in, I’ll find the contact for you who can answer the questions locally and directly.

258. X_Sticks

He’s mine TT πŸ˜‰

259. SquareHaggis

Aha, X_Sticks, the very man.

You going to be out and about near me soon?

I hear a certain somebody will be in Ellon tomorrow, you planning a visit?

Thanks TT, will transfer to X_S from here on in.

Cheers

260. Tartan Tory

@ SquareHaggis

Your questions can be answered here:

ENQUIRIES:Β 01224Β 664848Β 
    E?MailΒ :Β ero@grampian?ero.gov.uk

It was my intention to call and ask them for you, but their offices are now closed – it is a council after all!!!

Let us know if you find out what you want to know.

261. X_Sticks

@SH

Just gone and opened mine.

There are two envelopes, A and B and one ballot paper.

Envelope A and the ballot paper have a unique identifier.

You fill in your date of birth and sign envelope A.

You answer Yes or No to the question “Should Scotland be an independent country?”

You put the ballot in envelope A and seal it.

You put envelope A in envelope B and seal it.

It must arrive by post no later than 10pm Thurs 18th Sept or you can hand it in to your area’s counting officers office or you can hand it in at any polling station by 10pm Thurs 18th Sept.

Have to admit when I was holding the ballot paper and reading the question there was a tremble in the hand and a shiver down my spine. It’s very real.

262. X_Sticks

@SH

Crossed posts

My schedule: Leafleting and WBB collection/delivery in the Shire tomorrow. Going to try and catch Jim Sillers in town tomorrow afternoon. Don’t know his schedule yet but mr G will.

In Aberdeen centre with the YesMobile on Sunday.

263. handclapping

@Garve
    I don’t know whether the local Counting Officer has discretion on “favours” in this referendum.

In a normal election it is only a candidate and her/his Election Agent who may wear favours within a Polling Place and it is expected to be a short vist.

A Polling Agent may spend as much time in a Polling Place or at a Polling Station as (s)he wishes and must not display any favours so as to prevent any intimidation of the voters. That is why also only 1 PA for any participant may be in a PP at any one time.

Outside a PP (s)he is an ordinary member of the public and can wear a Saltire suit if so inclined, but they would need to change to enter a PP between 0700 and 2200

264. SquareHaggis

X_S,

Outside Markies?

What time?

P.S. Hold that vote til we’ve had a blether.

265. X_Sticks

@Sh

Yup, outside Markies 9-4 or 5. I’ll be there from 8:30 setting up πŸ˜‰

266. SquareHaggis

TT, Tried them but they couldn’t answer the Q’s.

They told me to call the Referendum Office in Inverurie 01467 628183 but only the answerphone was at home.

X_S, C U there, but b warned, I huv another theory πŸ˜‰

267. Tartan Tory

Sorry SH, ,I gave you the Aberdeen number instead of the ‘Shire number. However, it looks like Colin has answered your question completely. πŸ™‚

268. gerry parker

Still looking for some Wingers for North Lanarkshire Council to act as referendum polling agents, or to be on standby for counting agents.

Lists need to be in by 11th September.

269. Paula Rose

@ finl8son – I’ve just added you to my “special cuddles” list xx

270. Tartan Tory

I need a special cuddle at the moment too…. πŸ™

One of my Facebook friends who wears a No Thanks badge, responded to me today about the radio interview that Stu put up under the heading of ‘It’s Englands Oil’. He called the two people being interviewed ‘idiots’ and I reminded him that a No vote was giving these idiots full control of Scotland.

He said that he had already voted (No) and nothing could change that. Rightly or wrongly, I nearly shed a tear at the thought of a tick in the wrong box which could not be rescinded in the next few weeks.

That little cross is going to sit, doing nothing, for the best part of three weeks until it becomes one of the first No’s to be collated.

No matter what happens between now and then, it cannot be changed. πŸ™

271. Baheid

Playing golf this afternoon with some friends, one of them works for a construction company in the Aberdeen area.

The company from Banchory, (that kinda gives you a clue), has sent letters to all sites advising them why they should vote no.

I did not want to compromise my friend by asking him for a copy.(He got kinda worried when I asked for one).

Does anyone here have anymore detail?

(He was asked a couple of days later why it was not on the site notice board).

272. Cactus

Howde folks, been away and celebrating a couple of birthdays the past bonny wee while, cheers for El Paso Ian B, groovy tune and aye it does get into yer heid, good one.

I be going with friends to the event in Glasgow (Scotland) tomorrow.. look forward to seeing many of ye fellow Scots there πŸ™‚

Yes for independence – Tip #17:
    ‘Should you feel your vehicle is in danger of damage displaying YES/Scotland stickers, try making your own mini YES placard sign(s) ~ On identifying a fellow YES vehicle (stationary).. this placard may then be merrily shown to the opposite driver ~ In this situation, smiling with a thumb’s up or blowing back a kiss appears to be the common response’

Love Scotland,
    X

273. X_Sticks

@TT

The fact that your No friend was in such haste to cast his vote suggests he didn’t have the confidence to wait for fear of being ‘turned’. Maybe the hard Nos aren’t so hard. Or scared.

I suspect the DKs will not rush and will leave it late before they finally cast their vote. They are waiting to be convinced. Waiting for something to help them make up their minds. A gamechanger.

We, armed with the WBB could be that gamechanger, but we need to get that book into the hands of as many DKs as possible in the next three weeks. Targeted, preferably.

So don’t get downhearted. It’s all there to play for. One No does not a union make. Or something like that..

Ps
    You Dad called. What a pleasant, charming gentleman I have to say. Big help.

274. Tartan Tory

X_Sticks says:
    You Dad called. What a pleasant, charming gentleman I have to say. Big help.

Told you! Where do you think I got it from!!! πŸ˜‰

275. Taranaich

@Tartan Tory, I recently attended a council meeting, and your thoughts echo my own: in Inverclyde at least, it looks like we’ll be prepared to ensure a clean debate. To think, when we started out, we were told we probably wouldn’t win Inverclyde for Yes – but we only need to get 30,000 people to vote for independence to win it. Right now, canvassing is showing a solid Yes lead, but we still have 3 weeks, and we’ve only canvassed 5% of homes. Still all to play for, and I’ll be damned to see my home reject self-determination.

Speaking of Inverclyde, I felt moved to comment about developments in my home constituency:

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/08/29/you-cant-shut-us-up/

And I completely forgot to publish my thoughts on Salmond/Darling II – The Smell of Project Fear:

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/48-lies/

I’m intensely worried that I’ve made some sort of errors in that last one, so if anyone sees a mistake, please tell.

276. Atypical_Scot

just speaking to Paula Rose tonight, trying to figure out why I can’t e-mail or post on wings????

277. Mrs Atypical Scot

Speaking to the beautiful Paula Rose tonight.

278. Atypical_Scot

Speaking to the lovely Paula Rose tonight, still impossible to post as ATYP

279. Brian Mchugh

Here is possibly one of the most bizarre (but very funny) internet conversations I have experienced in the whole referendum debate between me and a no voter…

Karvak10:16 PM
    +Martin Valentine Who is this “we”. I am British. I have never in my life considered myself “Scottish”. What can’t you understand. People have shown they do not want change and rightfully so. Keep us together, a unified. America is the global power, it is only right we answer to them and in turn it is only right we answer to the UK government. UK and USA, together as one.?

Bongo Brian10:27 PM
    +Karvak Eh… you don’t have a crystal ball? …bet you don’t even own a wand and a cape with stars on it? …so in that understanding, in what capacity do you make the statement that; “people have shown they do not want change?” (Note the past tense).
    Ok… I concede that I hardly know you and that you may well own a cape with a big ‘S’ on it and have a curly little quiff of hair caressing your ‘Go USA’ forehead… but I just don’t picture you as the Wizardy-Prophet-Mystic Meg-Dumbledore type?

Karvak10:45 PM
    +Bongo Brian First, I’m really not a massive fan of Harry Potter, but I know the character Dumbledore. I’m more of a LOTR fan. People have shown they don’t want change for the past few months, No has always and I stress the fact ALWAYS, been in the lead, with only a few weeks to go and “No” still being in the lead that doesn’t make a strong case for “Yes”.

I love America, I admit that. I am proud to say that. I wish I could say I am proud to be Scottish but the fact is, I’m British. I’m proud to be part of the UK. I will never be classified as “Scottish”.
    Not sure where this “curly little quiff” is coming from to be honest.
    “Yes” supporters are trying to SILENCE the “No” voters, the evidence is staring people in the face but Salmond has fooled you all. You are supporting the man who has no plan, no idea what he is doing and you are ok with that?
    Salmond is the last person I would trust, the pressure is getting to him. He knows that he has lost and when that finally comes to light no one will listen to him, he will be out.
    So, vote “Yes”. Vote “Yes” for uncertainty, vote “Yes” to royally screw over hundreds of years of progress and development. Vote “Yes” to follow Salmond into ruin.?

Bongo Brian10:54 PM
    +Karvak Honestly, I love America too. I think its Super… and I wouldn’t dream of trying to silence you. πŸ˜‰

280. Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich –

I haven’t yet read your piece about the debate, but intend to, and am confident (being familiar with your work) that it is meticulous, in detail and presentation.

In any event, you should not be ‘intensely worried’ about anything. We’re heading for the finishing line, and we’re ahead.

Right now, one person who should be ‘intensely worried’ – with good reason – is Jim Murphy. Methinks the detective-work of Wingers is about to result in a major scalp.

281. Bob Sinclair

TartanTory
    Delighted to see your name on the 200+ names response to 130 BT businesses.

282. Tartan Tory

@Taranaich – Loved your ‘lies’ piece. Pants on fire!! Haha πŸ™‚

@Bob Sinclair – Stop it, I’ll be blushing next! πŸ˜‰

283. Thepnr

@Taranaich & Ian Brotherhood

A wee song for you both and for all the trolls that visit Wings.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPL5Qk4JufU

284. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Another new one for me. Cheers indeed.

285. Paula Rose

Boys and Girls c’est moi! Special cuddles, hugs and kisses all round! Tartan Tory you lovable hunk, there will always be one vote for no, goodness even I get a “no” sometimes.

Ian and Thepnr, you lovable rogues xx pockets full of the wee blue book now in the hands of the last few doubters in Brechin – I’m channelling Patti Smith, men’s jackets have lots of pockets –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiFI_3b-RhU

286. Paula Rose

@ Atypical_Scot – darling! Absolutely fabulous meeting you tonight, I do hope I didn’t upset your lady friend when I wiped the cream off your beard.

287. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Wiping it off is fine, licking it off though was unacceptable! That’s why his lady friend is upset.

As Ian Brotherhood alluded to in his post in the other thread we are almost there. Get in there with the head down.

288. Paula Rose

Darling Threpnr – my head has been down for you so many times!

289. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

You will watch this, now we’re in the “They come to fight you” stage. Get in there with the head down.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kbE2YOYk5rc

290. Paula Rose

Well that’s it – no smut tonight, I’m off to scramble some eggs xx

291. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr I agree about getting in there with the head down. But when we win we must. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=k5fYPz8dKbg Vote Yes.

292. Paula Rose

Tonight I spoke with a man of whom I have the greatest respect. I was so shocked to realise that his background as a travelling person had led to the level of abuse he had endured.

I may be flippant, but those who have met me know where my heart lies.

I tell you honestly that this man is involved in proceedings about discrimination against OUR people.

I may be a flighty, flirty, inconsequential high-heeled whatever – but tonight I am gob-smacked.

293. Ian Brotherhood

Stuff is happening in Glasgow tomorrow. Good stuff.

If anyone’s up that way, around Buchanan Galleries early afternoonish, please keep an eye out for the Ayrshire SSP stall – I can’t be there, but please tell them they are a shower of complete belters, and say that I said so.

Hoots!

294. Paula Rose

Ian honey – I always tell folk what a wizard you are with the belt, and how much you yell for more – Yes Yes you cry.

295. BB

I think this off topic area needs a cold shower fitted somewhere, at least for the members in the audience. lol πŸ˜›

296. David

I was reading this overheated page and for no reason (!) my thoughts went to Mae West:
    “Is that a Wee Blue Book in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?” πŸ™‚

297. chipmonkey

I’ve been feeling similarly down this week. I wanted WBBs for folks who don’t use the internet- one for a particular shoogly no I believed would change, but it’s too late now with the postal votes being out.I suppose I should have sent a vety rough version from my printer.
    I was getting very down since the word was that there wouldn’t be replies to individuals,but news of where to get them would appear.
    I was irritated by the stories of wbbs on ebay (sorry) and at YES events.
    Hubby put me right. This isn’t MY campaign, it’s our campaign and more are reaching the right people because of the amazing work being done. Well done to those handling such an unprecedented job. My ideas are scaled down,but will I ever get some? I went to a YES stall in Dundee and got to touch one,but they only had two left. I’m telling myself that is good:-)I wish I’d taken one.Had a need for one just after that.

298. Atypical_Scot

@Paula Rose.

Saucy.

299. chipmonkey

Can I clarify -the ‘sorry’ re ebay was meant to mean I apologise- good cybernat idea.

300. Thepnr

@chipmonkey

I’ve sent you an email.

301. cearc

TT,

Your friend.

Well of course there is something that he can do about that. If you can make him regret his vote then all he needs to do is to convince another no to vote yes to cancel out his vote. One more conversion to ‘change his vote’ to Yes.

Who better to do it than a confirmed noer who regrets his decision?

302. CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
    Just because you were complimentary. πŸ˜‰

Blasted Mechanism – Blasted Empire
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oG7bHdE98lc

303. Andy smith

Tried to ge a few copies of wbb from yes shop in morningside today.Was told they’d run out as everyone had been asking for them,a few minutes later another member of staff produced their last copy to another customer who’d followed me in.
    For god’s sake, is there a special password or such I should be saying when requesting a copy. I can even supply my own brown paper bag so that no one sees me leave shop with it!
    On a better note,was delighted to see so many yes posters in the windows of bruntsfield.
    On way home the no “grassroots” campaigners were out in force outside Haymarket station,gave me a laugh to fob of their offers of leaflets with a raised hand and a no thanks.
    Wish now I’d taken a bundle from them to recycle.

304. Bob Sinclair

What a fantastic day I’ve had. Good show at Shawlands and my limited supply of WBB’s disappeared like snow off a dyke. Undecideds really do want to engage & get more info. I also dropped off a handful of WBB’s to the team at Queens Park & wish I could have given them more. Then into City Centre with my Daughter to soak up the atmosphere, ended up leafletting and really proud to say my daughter joined in & wants to do it again.
    There was a French TV crew filming and I think I managed to get a bit of Wings exposure with them.

305. Jim Thomson

If any of you fine people are of the gambling persuasion, BetFred are offering odds of (effectively) 8/1 for a Yes vote outcome.

Special offer applies to FIRST real-money bet placed with them after you register for the first time.

Details here:

http://www.betfred.com/tv-ad

The advertised odds are still 4/1 and they claim that they will make that 8/1.

Their site is a wee bit hard to navigate to the indyref odds but essentially go into “Sport” and then scroll down the left hand list to TV Shows/Specials then Politics then UK Politics and it’s the bottom listing.

PLEASE don’t gamble if you can’t afford to lose your stake. Really!

306. Paula Rose

All this complicated language about odds, stakes and bets – so silly, we are going to be Scotland, and I will be banning all frivolity!!! (in your dreams)

307. Jim Thomson

Largs IndyRef debate on Monday. Details here:

http://www.largsandmillportnews.com/opinion/blogs/editorschair/2014/08/13/506879-news-staging-big-indie-debate-in-largs/

It would be helpful to have a few Yes supporters there since wee Ruthie and Brian Wilson will be on the NO side of the panel. Robert Crawford and Philippa on the Yes side (at least when the article was written).

Not sure if it will be filmed/recorded/live-streamed.

308. Jim Thomson

@Paula Rose. Good evening dahling [makes smoochy noise].

I’m so glad we’ll get back to being our normal miserable, faces-like-skelped-arses selves in our new indy Scotland. All this bon-homi is driving me to drink (frequently … hic).

I, for one will happily – oops – I meant … errmm, miserably, vote to have you elected as out sour-puss in chief(ess).

309. Andy smith

Paula
    I bet you can’t !

310. Paula Rose

Now boys – this is the modern world, stop grinning inanely, I have some correction to mete out.

311. Ian Brotherhood

Up to Buchanan St today for RIC with SSP Ayrshire.

Missed the big group photie on the steps but met some great people, got new members for SSP, saw the lovely Cat Boyd, but bottled introducing meself, watched Saffron Dickson dismantle a boisterous heckler, heard Citizen Smart doing his thing. I’d brought approx 90 WBBs with me – they were all gone in less than ten minutes.

And sign of BTUKOKVNOBNOTHANKS? there was none…

What a buzz – we are unstoppable.

312. Paula Rose

Ian honey! Can I have some more buzz with you – pretty please xx

313. Ian Brotherhood

A barefoot version of this for Paula Rose would be called ‘Get Your Socks Off’.

Primal Scream, ‘Rocks’ (live, Glasgow Barrowlands)-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7d-BUg6WeQ

314. Ian Brotherhood

McFadden and Whitehead, ‘Ain’t No Stopping Us Now’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DY0tsKCB4lc

315. Ian Brotherhood

Good place to leave WBBs – on the wee fold-down table on the train. Put the table back up with the WBB inside it – then, when the train reaches its destination, the cleaners won’t bin it, and someone will get a wee blue surprise later in the day.

316. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

You are so right. We are marching to victory.

You hear it, can see it and feel it. We’re on the move.

317. Ian Brotherhood

Queen, ‘Don’t Stop Me Now’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgzGwKwLmgM

318. Bob Sinclair

Ian brotherhood

Sorry I missed you at Buchanan Street but wow, what a day. Feeling really positive even accused of being personally responsible for the murph egg incident by a batty britnat. If we can sustain the level of engagement when we get YES then things are looking good. We are all better people due to this.

319. Silverytay

I was up in Perth today and it was great to see an advert for the W.B.B on the roundabout into Perth just past Broxden .

Lots of good YES signs on the main Glasgow Rd in Perth and parts of the Letham housing estate have went overboard with them , starting to get a good feeling .

320. Ian Brotherhood

@Bob Sinclair –

Yeah, bummer. We packed up about 2.45. Did you happen to see ‘Thistle’? Wondering how long he hung around.

Aye, you never know what kind of belters will accost you at these things, especially in the city centre. Brian, a fellow SSP activist, grandfather, working engineer and general good guy, had to deal with a couple who wanted to know why we’re supporting Hamas when they’ve clearly been slaughtering their own people and pointing the finger at blameless wee Israel. Brian, it should be noted, was wrestling with a hangover, and showed mighty restraint in not telling them to GTF.

I once had a guy angrily slap a leaflet back in my hand when he realised it was from the SSP, informing me that my party ‘kills babies’. Last week, in Saltcoats, Brian (again!) had to deal with a trio of local Tory-connected ladies who objected to us displaying badges with Che Guevara’s portrait on them, asking how we’d feel if they set up a stall and started selling Osama Bin Laden merchandise.

Sometimes it’s a serr fecht, all that ‘grin and bear it’ palaver…

321. Thepnr

Thepnr just met Mr Fahrenheit thanks to Ian. We’re having a good time, we’re having a ball.

This wasn’t meant to happen! We were all supposed to be demoralised and depressed by now thanks to BTUKOK hahaha.

Instead we are invigorated and they are ones with their heads in their hands. Let’s just keep on doing what we are doing for the next 19 days and we will be free to make our own decisions.

322. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

If BTUKOKetcetc had anyone in Glasgow today, I didn’t see them. As you say, just 19 days to go, and on one of the final Saturdays, with fair weather, they can’t get any boots on the ground in Scotland’s biggest city?

They must all be crammed into the same fallout shelter as The Murph, quivering blancmanges of terror, scared to set foot outside in case baying hordes of vile cybernats fall upon them…

323. Free Scotland

George Galloway tells us aw tae just say naw,
    But he didnae tak his ain advice when asked aboot his jaw,
    The nurse said: β€œTell me, George, does it hurt there when I press?”
    With a voice that would have roused the dead, George yelled: YES!!

324. BB

To be fair Ian I’m sure I saw a SSP badge wearer get well stuck into a bag of jelly babies. If I had my camera it’d have been on the front page of the Scotsman and DM for weeks. It’ll be bigger than watergate when I blow this story.

325. BB

Sillars will be in Maybole on Tuesday. Another chance for the Ayrshire folk to see it in person. First doing a bit of work in the streets and then a public meeting in the town hall 7pm. Great time to bring along any UD or even the Nos who say “don’t like alecsammin”. πŸ˜‰

326. Paula Rose

Oh honeys I am so positive! The whole of Angus is going yes! Our music fest in Brechin was full of our future, we really are doing this, smile and be happy.

327. Ian Brotherhood

@BB –

Thanks for the heads-up.

This mysterious SSP Jelly-Baby muncher. Did he happen to discard the yellow ones? If so, I’m pretty sure I know who it is, and he will be severely disciplined in due course.

328. Jim Thomson

Now that @BB has started the shameless plugging of events, we have Billy Kay bringing his optimism, and a cultural angle, to the fray.

Wednesday 3rd September in the South Beach Hotel, Troon, at 7:30pm.

Should be a belter with a specifically apolitical approach to the argument.

It (as with most of these fine events) is FREE.

If anyone is considering attending, PLEASE please please try to bring an undecided or soft No with you. Especially if they’re also fed up with politicians and “activists” hammering home the Yes message and feel that it puts them off.

The “cultural” approach will be a welcome, and refreshing, change of tack.

329. Paula Rose

Darlings I’m on the X factor now!

330. Jim Thomson

@Ian B – did you see my post above at 6:01pm re the debate in Largs?

Can you please publicise that amongst the Three Toons faithful, and the N Ayrshire massive, to try to get a good level of support for our side (Philippa and Robert). They’re up against wee Ruthie and Brian Wilson.

Ta

331. BB

@Ian

Oh I’m sure there was a trail of yellow ones right enough. The public DEMANDS accountability of this crime.

@Jim

Nothing wrong with a shameless plug. πŸ˜‰ Sounds interesting too! Any more info or vids on him?

332. Ian Brotherhood

@Jim Thomson –

Not sure I could make that one meself, but we do happen to have an extremely erudite member who is Largs-based and, I’m sure, will be interested in attending.

I’ll get word around for sure. Thanks for reminding me.

Incidentally, I need to sound you out about something WWB-related, but this isn’t the place. Can I call you? Like, now?

333. Paula Rose

Time for our music then my lovely people – good place to start…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_1btp49Cwr8

334. Ian Brotherhood

…or even WBB…

335. Tartan Tory

Just been cheered up! First time I’ve visited a ‘Naw’ page on Facebook and what a dire pile of excrement it was.

I could go on all night with the crap they spout – mostly about Salmond – but here is what really made my day. A comment from one of them:

We went to a festival today and we saw literally everybody wearing yes badges and not a single no badge. Either we are losing this fight or like me are scared to wear a no badge!

I suggest they are losing the fight becasue, if ‘LITERALLY EVERYBODY’ was wearing a Yes badge, then none of them needed to be scared. πŸ™‚

336. Ian Brotherhood

@Tartan Tory –

The whole ‘badge’ thing is becoming like this:

Chewin’ The Fat, ‘Wank/Good-guy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z_UGD7AazMI

337. Paula Rose

and just how brilliant does it get?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w2GwNaLVgt8

338. Paula Rose

I love these gorgeous sensitive men xxx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wP8A9rtg0iI

339. Silverytay

Yee HAA , Getting my supply of the W.B.B on Tuesday night , can’t wait to get started with them .

340. BB

@Ian

Spot on! It’s getting like that right enough. πŸ˜€

@Paula

LOL’d at that one. We’re lucky there’s a lot of creative people on the Yes side.

341. Paula Rose

Caledonia is the only home I’ve ever had, and now that I live here you better behave.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfsasAlICo8

342. Paula Rose

Music night honeys – It’s a magic night in Brechin…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWOFK7M0QBM

343. Paula Rose

You cannot get a blanket for love or money in Brechin tonight –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpA0oPR_EOQ

344. Paula Rose

Hi cherubs – here’s my wee sweet sis –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wXfgYTqwQUw

345. Jim Thomson

@BB 9:10

here’s the only YouTube piece I can find featuring Billy Kay:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otD_wJury4k

He does a lot of things in the Scots language.

346. Paula Rose

So many of the lovely boys in this video have knelt at my feet – it hurt so good for them…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fASRDQ6QQA

347. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

The day is not far off now, when we will all have a wee dance together.

It won’t matter if it’s raining, won’t matter if we’re barefoot, and won’t matter what time it is, what day it is…for a few hours, on some day, we’ll get together, all of us, and dance until we drop, knowing that we’ve ‘made history’.

All real Scots love a good party, and can sniff one from miles away – the prospect of being involved in the greatest celebration Scotland has ever known must, in itself, be enough to sway many of whatever DKs remain.

As someone said to me today, quoting someone else: ‘Where do you want to be on Sep 19th? A Yes party? Or a No party?’

348. Thepnr

Hey Paula Rose are you on fire tonight or what!

I might be sitting on my own but I feel like I’m at a party!
    It’s too late for you now mate, you have the virus and are now 100% Scottish, no way though is Annabella Lwin your wee sis!

349. BB

Seems to have been crazy and awful timne for many recently. Quite a few attacks reported on Yessers. A woman kicked in the stomach by angry Noer thug (wasn’t sure if someone said she was pregnant, which is even more worrying). A table smashed and those manning it harassed. Other incidents reported too. A result of BT and media hyping up Yes as bad guys and the dehumanisation/demonisation of “cybernats”/Yes supporters in combination with the over hyping of the egging?

350. BB

@Jim

Thanks for that! It’s handy to have these things. The variety is our strength. We can reach many people with the many different voices on our side.

351. Paula Rose

Darling boys! I’m going to be very naughty and dance naked, btw Thepnr honey are you still willing to sleep on the floor so that I can have the freedom of your waterbed?

352. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Ha! Bow-Wow-Wow. Brilliant.

My own preference was Memorex C-90 tapes, the ones with the unusual hinged-box. You’re too young, and won’t know the ones I mean, but they were SO cool…at the time.

353. Paula Rose

Oops Thepnr dear – not tonight, the 13th xx

354. Paula Rose

Ian honey you are so sweet, now listen dear – much as you wish to be a grown up, we all know you are still a delightful youngster. Please do not wish your life away, let us older folk rock, and maybe you youngsters could learn a few steps?

355. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

You know I can always find room for you Paula.

A present for you, don’t understand a fecking word but it’s a visual feast.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cl57NQ6GcF8

356. BB

Photos of the incident- woman kicked in stomach and called junkie scum, attacker carried on campaigning for No after:

https://twitter.com/KingOfPipeBombs/status/505826536780734465/photo/1

Anyone got more info on this one?

357. Bob Sinclair

Max Dunbar of the Britannica mob apparently.

358. X_Sticks

Paula Rose says:

“Darlings I’m on the X factor now!”

Hey you! Leave my factor out of it!

Thanks for St Andrew, blast from the past. Ah, sweet memories. Oh, aye, and the Susan Cadogan as well.

Haven’t even caught up, but must go, early start with the YesMobile in Aberdeen tomorrow. Caught a bit of the stall this pm and it was buzzing. I could almost, maybe, get a little optimistic if I wasn’t careful. Pedal to the metal ’til the line folks.

Still looking for helpers in Inverurie for the weekday postal openings (contact email back this thread) πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

359. Thepnr

You get stuck in there Mr X-Sticks.

360. kendomacaroonbar

@kininvie

Can you send me your contact details at
    kenmcdonald1(AT)btopenworld(DOT)com please ? tvm

361. X_Sticks

Yes, Sir! Thepnr. πŸ˜‰

362. Michael McCabe

Here is Two Scottish Bands for the price of one. You have to watch it all the way through. But well worth it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=J1vdhoQu0GE Vote Yes.

363. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Watched it all.

Aye! Well worth it right enough.

Completely mental, and brilliant.

364. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

You bastard, you done it again haha πŸ™‚ Vote Yes

365. Michael McCabe

Here is an auld song from an Independence Supporter. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=oLUYA0Waf3w Vote Yes.

366. Jim Thomson

@Michael McCabe 12:49am

Raises another question (and can’t find the answer in the WBB) What will we use instead of the Big Ben Bongs for announcing the NY?

At least we’ll be able to safeguard UTC for the winter months and not go daft with some dodgy, pretendy, “European” time zone advocated by those numpties in wastemonster.

367. Quinie frae Angus

Quick update on my “targeted” WBB distribution after Thepnr gave me a precious box of 200 the other day.

My long-time Yes friend has taken 50 back up to Argyll with him today and will be distributing them around Ardfern. He’s quite a “pillar of the community” and so he knows who all the “don’t knows” are.

Went to a party in Kinmuck, near Inverurie last night. Held by a friend of mine who is a confirmed “No” voter. He chuckled benevolently and fondly when he saw me handing out WBBs to all and sundry. Said he’d take one “to keep the chiminea going later”. I asked him if he minded me giving these out at his party, and that I hoped he didn’t think I was being too cheeky. He said “No, on ye go, wee Quine, I ken how passionate ye are. But ye’ll never win, ye ken that?”. We hugged and I carried on doling them out. Some reactions:

One friend (former No): “Quinie, I’ve already downloaded that thing off the internet and I’m now voting Yes. But give me a couple cos Mum and Dad are still swithering.”

Another friend (former No): “I’ve decided I’m going to vote Yes anyway now, but give me some of those because I’m going offshore on Tuesday and I’ll hand these out to the boys on the rigs that will be home in time to vote”.

Another friend (confirmed Yes): “Oh thank God, are these the Wee Blue Books ah’ve been hearing about? Can I get some because I’ve been banging on about this for ages but nobody at my work is voting “Yes”., and I’m not very good at explaining things to them.”

A Dutch couple (who live and work here): “Oh, can we have three of those please? We can’t understand how anyone here can even think of voting “no”. Our Aberdeen friend thinks we’re mad for voting Yes. We’ll pass this on to him”.

Three other folk I don’t know very well said they would LIKE to vote Yes, but weren’t sure we’d be able to do it. They got some WBBs to help them with their dilemma, lol.

Other folk there (definite Nos; wealthy oil types, you know?) wouldn’t take my books (well, not in public). But I left a wee pile of half a dozen on the barbeque table before I left the party and I saw with my own eyes one of these big bruisers pick one up and stuff it into his pocket as he stuffed his face with a burger and onions. Heh heh!

I’ve also sent out several through the post to friends on FB that I know are “don’t knows” (they’re not the types to download and read political stuff, which is why the hard copies are crucial).

The remainder are for my very large number of family and friends dotted around Broughty Ferry. I’l be doling these out this afternoon.

Then back to work in Glasgow next week so will have to replenish my stock of the WBB!

I’m just taking a bunch out and about with me every day now in my bag, for doling out to anyone who expresses a desire or a “don’t know” tendency. But also need wee bunches to give to “Yessers” who might know other don’t knows, but are not sufficiently passionate to go out and actually get supplies from any of the hubs. I don’t mind being the “middleman”.

368. Paula Rose

Lots of people are asking where to get the books – do we have a distribution map on line yet, or similar?

369. ronnie anderson

@ Jim Thomson 11.29 ( Big Ben Bongs ) ever heard of MONS MEG, withoot Jacki Byrdie presenting.

370. Silverytay

I am collecting the W,B.B on Tuesday from the Glasgow hub and have asked for a thousand so if anyone from the Chapelhall Airdrie area are looking for some just leave me a post on off topic .
    I have already promised the Airdrie & Shotts YES team some as well as my oldest Son but I will give out what I can to those who need them .

371. Bob Sinclair

Silvery Tay,
    Where is this hub of which you speak?

372. Silverytay

Bob
    It’s in Shettleston but I believe they are only dealing with pre orders just now , if people who pre ordered don’t pick them up I think they are then giving them out on a first come first serve basis but I will try to get more info for you .

373. Ian Brotherhood

Coming back from Glasgow yesterday, looking out west, there was not a single Yes sign to be seen – must’ve been some, but I didn’t see them.

Ferguslie Park, Paisley, Johnstone…

Nothing in the houses nearest track-side. (Had spotted a few on the trip up, looking out the other side.)

So, come on people – must be a few Wingers residing in those parts. Get those posters up – they DO make a difference, help get conversations going etc.

George Ezra, ‘Blame It On Me’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Mt5d5hSyv8

374. Bob Sinclair

Silvery Tay,
    Thanks for that.
    To avoid clogging up O/T my email address for all Wings related stuff (Including PV Count etc. Volunteers):
    indyref2014WoS(at)gmail(dot)com

375. Paula Rose

Had a good giggle today – someone has put up a No Thanks sign in a field, someone else has attached a cut-out UK to a long pole behind it, so it reads –

UK

No Thanks

376. X_Sticks

Well, what a day.

Shattered.

10 this morning until 5 we never stopped. About 15 of us.

Stall decimated. Out of badges out of the 500 WBB we had out of out of window posters.

I don’t often bore you with my musical history but this just hits the spot right now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gp5JCrSXkJY

And just to prevent any complacency here’s one for the hardcore.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nagC41Pe4c4

Tomorrow is the 1st of September. That’s going to have an effect. The countdown begins.

Get ready for the rollercoaster.

As they say at T in the Park “Here we, here we, here we fkn GO!

377. Bob Sinclair

X_Sticks,
    You are a star. ‘WBB’ well recieved i take it?

378. BB

@X_Sticks

Do you think everyone is now engaged with indy ref or are there still people not yet dipped into debate or making up their mind?

379. X_Sticks

Aye Bob folk have been hounding us for them for the last 10 days, and they were going as fast as we could get them out on the tables. They are causing a huge buzz, bit of a viral so to speak. Most handed out with the online flyer so folk could go and verify anything online. We were also asking people to read and pass on.

It’s a bit like a volcano rumbling. Scary but exciting.

@BB
    It’s just beginning to affect people who have been completely disengaged from politics. Until now it’s just been a political debate they’ve managed to ignore. Now, all of a sudden it’s becoming very real and they are being forced to take notice. Heartening that many of them seem to be really making to effort to find out, especially notice increasing numbers of young people wanting information and debate.

PS
    @Square Haggis & Archie
    Thanks for dropping by guys, always good to see fellow Wingers.I’ll be watching those Posta Votes SH πŸ˜‰

380. Paula Rose

And now my darlings the end is near

And I must say what I believe

The very best of being British is now the preserve of us Scots

We are the future, we have to do this for the entire UK

Please do your utmost to make our country the best –

As someone born in England, with many English relatives, we must vote Yes.

381. SquareHaggis

Well mister X_Sticks,

Never thought I’d see the day when so many Aberdonians came out thirsting for knowledge.

You guys and dolls are doing one helluva job up there on the front lines, proud of each and every one of you.

Big shout out to George on the loud-haler – patter second to none.

382. Bob Sinclair

Well, the BT support are getting really worked up into a froth about the WBB and rehashing every smear they can think of. As I saw on twitter they really don’t like our ‘Weapon of Mass Persuasion’.

383. Paula Rose

Just one – /Users/kaitielorimer/Desktop/yes-shoes.jpg

384. Paula Rose

ignore honeys xxx

385. Bob Sinclair

Just want to say thanks again to all you guys who have got me to where I am now, not afraid to knock on doors, leaflet & talk to people. I’ve had another cracking day & WE WILL WIN THIS.

386. Ian Brotherhood

Yesterday, in Buchanan St, I got talking to ‘Evelyn’, who comments here occasionally – she’s getting married on Sep 18th, but is battling a serr fecht with family who happen to be mainly ‘Naws’.

Evelyn, you fair cheered me up, and I’m sorry I had no WBBs left by the time you arrived. The story of your imminent wedding is a cracker. If you see this, could you please full us in on the details – would be much better coming from you!

Cheers

387. Ian Brotherhood

Posted link to this earlier, but it’s such a great wee tune, with a relevant message, here goes again…

George Ezra, ‘Blame It On Me’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Mt5d5hSyv8

388. Paula Rose

Hey honeys its our world

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E2VCwBzGdPM

389. Paula Rose

My mum did everything to make our world worth living in, I miss her so much.

390. X_Sticks

Off to the land of nod now folks.

Night all.

391. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I’m sure yer mum would be proud of you pal. As are we all.

X

392. Paula Rose

Ian honey – this is a new world, and one that will be wonderful. I dance all day for the future.

393. BB

Right guys, I’ll have to put down who is on what days, etc. for the forms for South Ayrshire.

I know what Jim’s doing, so he’s down on the forms.

You know what you’re okay to do, Ian? I know you’re busy too, but if it helps even with the postal openings most the input is needed about 11AM or later, despite starting at 9AM, as that’s when the real judgement calls tend to happen. So don’t worry if you can’t make it in for 9AM sharp for those as not vital if you want to take part in that still. Up to yourself, of course! Big count day is obviously night of 18th into morning. Counting that night will start right after polls close as they’ll have postal votes to start off with so don’t need to wait for boxes to arrive, so no boredom waiting for those right off the bat.

I can give you guys polling station passes for whole SA area in case you want to get involved with that beforehand too or follow a box up, etc. πŸ˜‰ It’s easy done anyway.

Remember to pass on details to me and I’ll get the forms filled in and sent off. I’ll try to make sure we get as many spaces filled as possible.

If someone says here they’re up for it or knows someone perosnally I can add them before it’s sent off, but will be happening very soon as only 18 days now!

394. Paula Rose

I’m so glad the cereal is taken care off, I was worried that Paul was still in bed.

395. Ian Brotherhood

@BB –

Please just tell me where and when to appear.

I am at your disposal. Please bear in mind I will be driving from Stevenston (North Ayrshire) – if I can collect/return anyone else to my neck of the woods or places within reasonable distance? no probs.

More power to ye.

396. Paula Rose

Ian honey – so tricky, Thepnr and Tartan Tory are slugging it out in a field, can we just disappear – you know what a delight you are.

397. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

You know where you are, where you’re from, and where you’re going.

It’s a great pity so many other Scots seem unable to do likewise.

Christy Moore, ‘Deportees’ (Live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvz12bpjTOI

398. heraldnomore

WBB Distribution

If anyone needs boxes of WBBs collected from wherever they’re being held and distributed in South Lanarkshire and/or East Ayrshire I may be able to help at times.

399. Bawheid Bragg

X_Sticks says:

Thanks for that Gill. Am I correct in thinking you are you the blond lady with your son who introduced yourself in the foyer?

Ha! You just made my day! – I’m her husband πŸ™‚

400. X_Sticks

@Bawheid

I was surprised to be recognised as I was incognito without my hat πŸ˜€

Hijacking Billy for selfies with the WBB was a hoot.

Are you any relation to Billy?

Glad I made your day, although not sure how πŸ˜‰

401. Tartan Tory

Chuffed today! πŸ™‚

I’ve been working on my FedEx driver (who is in here every day) for weeks. He was a staunch No to begin with. He tells me today that he has put-in his postal vote and it was a Yes!! Better still, his wife followed him and did the same because she didn’t want to be doing anything different to him.

One No converted to two Yes’s and votes now cast.

If we could all manage just one like this, we’d have a landslide. πŸ™‚

402. BB

@Ian Brotherhood

“Please just tell me where and when to appear. I am at your disposal.”

Careful, some of the ladies here will be quite jealous with you saying that! I’m willing to sell him to the highest bidder, ladies. haha

If you can email me your address and contact details (need them for the form entries) I’ll put you down for slave labouring for the inry referendum and email you back to confirm dates, times, places, where you get passes, etc. πŸ˜‰

Send *Scotref* your message to the *2014* address I’ve broken up *@gmail.com* between the asterisks in this sentence.

403. Paula Rose

Ian dear – I’m watching.

404. K1

Devereux or a2, my emai is kannaz001k (at)aol(dot)(com).
    Cheers πŸ™‚

405. Thepnr

Any Wingers who requested a copy of the Wee Blue Book from the Rev who are in the Dundee area please check your email.

The books were delivered late this afternoon and need picked up ASAP.

I have yet to hear from 5 who made requests and have been given an allocation, any books not picked up by Wednesday will be collected by myself and distributed to others.

We need to get the books into the hands of people immediately so cannot afford to wait. Cheers.

406. X_Sticks

@Bawheid

Just re-read your post with brain in gear and get it now – doh!

407. Taranaich

OK, who do I thank for the 1,500 visitors to “Wilderness of Peace”? Viewership skyrocketed today! After Darling came to my hometown, I felt I had to comment (warning, a bit ranty and I use the word “evil”)

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/the-day-it-became-truly-real/

408. Paula Rose

Magnificent post my dear Taranaich, couldn’t wait already spread it far and wide.

409. BB

I will add that I am willing to accept bids in the form of chocolate or a fish supper. lol

@Taranaich

You can really see that people are getting interested in politics in Scotland and the world is getting interested in Scottish politics too! πŸ™‚

410. Ananurhing

Andrew Parrot.

My email ad is glenlyonarts@aol.com

Cheers.

411. Bob Sinclair

Wow, major faux pas by Sarah Smith directly referring to the Herald as a No Campaigner. They really are unravelling.

412. BB

@Bob

More of a cat out the bag moment? πŸ˜‰

413. Devereux

@
    K1 says: Hi I have emailed you.

414. Devereux

My email is elainemsblack@gmail.com

415. Debbiethebruce

@T jenny
    Nice to see the signed copy of the WWB ,by Billy Bragg,on wings twitter page,well done you!

See you at open air yes on saturday night,looks like being a huge day for YES as were also doing mile of yes.Busy,Busy….and getting loads of WBB’s out on the day too.

416. crazycat

@ Ian Brotherhood / Jim T

I’m not sure whether I should be posting this here, or on the other thread where WBBs were mentioned a few minutes ago (so I’ll do both).

Kilmarnock Yes shop has run out of WBBs – I think we are due 4,000 more but have no idea where they are coming from. If they are (going to be) available from you, I could collect if given details.

417. crazycat

kinivie has now answered my question on the other thread, so it is redundant; apologies.

418. Michael McCabe

A good wee cover version of a Classic oldie. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gx9kC4-UbkI&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

419. Michael McCabe

I can take or leave this Song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NoweGN8cm5g&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

420. bob sinclair

Urgent,

Could the Wings Referendum Agent for East Ayrshire contact me as I may have a volunteer for them. He contacted me re helping out in Glasgow, however I think it would be better if he was assisting in your area to keep any travel down to a minimum.
    If there is anyone else who reads this and knows the East Ayrshire Referendum Agent could they please give them a call/drop them an email/FB them to let them know.

contact at indyref2014WoS(at)gmail(dot)com

(Goes without saying, I am still looking for Glasgow Volunteers – email address as above)

421. Cassandra Lee

Has anyone seen any posts from the Wings referendum agent for Edinburgh? I saw a post from him in another thread about ten days ago when he said he would be looking for volunteers but haven’t seen anything since. I’d really like to volunteer for Edinburgh and know at least one other person who would too.

422. BB

@bob sinclair

I know some folk up your way. What kind of things are you still needing folk to cover, when and what location? I can put out feelers to see if their interested and I’ll email you if they are.

423. bob sinclair

BB,

The main areas we need to cover are the Postal Vote @ the Count. Count starts in Glasgow on 9th & I am trying to close out this list by Friday so I can get it submitted & Volunteers registered.

Thanks BB

424. bob sinclair

Bit of a result – one Week’s holiday approved for the final week of the campaign so I’ll be able to be more active in the process than I had initially thought.

425. Jim Thomson

@Crazycat 1 sept 11:35pm & 11:51pm

Phew! Had me worried there.

Pretty much all boxes pre-allocated, with a few that are there for folks who have contacted me directly in the last couple of days.

There really isn’t any real slack in the system and I expect the garage to be empty in a day or so.

Still trying to get an e-mail drafted to fire out to the remaining requesters.

426. Michael McCabe

James posted this over on Assessing the Earthquake but could not do the link. so I have done the link for him. all credit to James. and of course the Artist Involved. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=hnDWzg65IzU Great Wee Song Vote Yes.

427. Silverytay

I am not long back from Glasgow after picking up 1000 of the W.B.B and have already delivered just under 500 to the Airdrie & Shotts Yes group ,

If anyone in the Airdrie , Chapelhall area are looking for a few to give to undecideds just give me a shout .
    As I work in Newarthill , I can also give a few to people in Newarthill or Holytown .

Contact me at mmccabe@ea.n-lanark.sch.uk

428. crazycat

@ Jim Thomson

Only just started reading this thread after a very busy day – I am considering paying for a printing myself if we don’t get a delivery – I’m going to check prices tomorrow.

429. crazycat

@ Bob Sinclair

Just in case she hasn’t already seen it and responded to you (I know I’m rather behind the times!), I have forwarded your comment to the East Ayrshire agent.

430. Ian Brotherhood

Too much going on.

FFS – kicking on for 700 comments on main thread before last!?

Anyone have images or footage of The Murphy Roadshow today? I know they’re here somewhere, but haven’t time to search…

431. Ian Brotherhood

GQ Magazine announce Tony Blair as their ‘Philanthropist of the Year’. (See WOS Twitter feed.)

WTF – has ‘Gentleman’s Quarterly’ been taken over by ‘Viz’? Is this the same sketch as when ‘Whizzer & Chips’ was hitched to some other ailing D.C. Thomson comic?

432. CameronB Brodie

Paula, oh Paula. Have some of dat.

Claudette – Queen of the World
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kxbA5Lo8NlQ

433. CameronB Brodie

Ian, that’s a spoof?

434. iclare

Bob Sinclair

I am the Wings Ref Agent for East Ayrshire. You can get me on @iclare1
    Look forward to hearing from you.
    YES

435. Ian Brotherhood

@Cam B –

I would hope so.

TBH pal, I can’t think straight any more. It may be a piss-take – I truly can’t tell.

436. Bob Sinclair

Thanks Crazycat

437. CameronB Brodie

I have no reason to suspect it is a spoof, I was just asking. Honest.

438. Paula Rose

CameronB good honey – playing some of my early hits, naughty boy.

439. Ian Brotherhood

@Cameron –

The simple fact that any confusion is possible speaks volumes, eh?

Strange days indeed…’most peculiar momma’…

John Lennon, ‘Nobody Told Me’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_0di2IL440

440. iclare

Crazy Cat
    Got it thanks
    YES

441. CameronB Brodie

This might bake a few noodles. πŸ™‚

Laurel Aitken – Skinhead
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcEhAIx1OB4

@ Jim Murpht
    Are you a racist as well as an imperialist? You are a Friend of Israel aren’t you? You do support Israel’s disproportionate use of force?

442. CameronB Brodie

Murpht, Murphy, whatever.

443. Taranaich

Jings, guys. I’ve been out all day at the shop helping people register to vote, so I hadn’t been back to moderate Wilderness of Peace. It was amazing enough having 1,500 visitors on Monday, so imagine my amazement to see it has rocketed to 24,884 for Tuesday, and already 441 in the 45 minutes or so since I got home at midnight. That angry post about Alistair Darling seems to have done it.

I’m starting to panic a bit.

444. Thepnr

Just typed a lot of crap on the main thread. Need to go to bed. I fucking hate work LOL

445. BB

Jim Sillars is an excellent speaker! Really knows his stuff. Hope he doesn’t go into retirement after we get independence as he’d be worth a vote!

446. cearc

Taraniach,

Well if you will go telling folk about your peaceful wilderness it is inevitable that 25,000 will turn up and picnic there.

447. CameronB Brodie

@ No Better Together Thanks
    Will there be a Scottish NHS when I am elderly? Free at the point of delivery and in public ownership? Enshrined in a written constitution?

Marcia Griffiths — I Shall Sing(Answer Riddim)(remix)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=75_IJ_znoic

448. BB

Got to see Jim Sillars live! Fantastic. Audience alert, listening and asking questions. The time flew by. Seats filled in the hall.

There was a person who stood up who was a No voter until just days ago and they’ve switched having become convinced and now wholeheartedly supporting Yes side. For those thinking they can’t switch Nos, there’s an example of what you are all achieving with your talk online, at work, with family and friends or canvassing and handing out leaflets. It’s working! You’re having a postive impact.

I’ve seen several videos with Jim but seeing him live and handling questions, etc. and giving his facts and anecdotes really brings home the quality of statesmen he is. Jim on the negotiating team after a Yes, please!

I see on twitter there’s been rushes of people registering to vote right to the last minute! Wow! Even ones in their jammies turning up. lol That’s keen.

Does anyone here really think all these folk desperate to get involved (often for the first time ever) are doing so to vote for nothing, to vote for apathy and powerlessness? I think easily majority for new sign ups will be Yes for these folk. It’s happening. πŸ™‚

449. cearc

BB,

That was picture of the day for me, 11.15pm and registering to vote in jim-jams!

450. Bob Hastings

Can anyone help me get copies of the wee blue book in the Carse of Gowrie area? Dundee or Perth would do.

451. Quentin Quale

Bob Hastings – how many would you be looking for? Some left but going fast, really fast.

452. turnbull drier

Last chance for Midlothianites!!

http://wingsoverscotland.com/32-alert-men-and-women/

If you want to be involved in this monumental moment in Scottish history and help as a Polling and/or Counting Agent for Wings Over Scotland, please let me know..

email me: turnbulldrier AT gmail DOT com

453. Paula Rose

Question – Is the referendum communication from BT entitled “the facts we need for our biggest decision” being sent to everyone – or only those with a postal vote?

454. Quentin Quale

Paula – must be going to everyone. One just delivered here and no postal voter in this house. Just had a wee read through – mmm, some very good points raised. Nah, just joking.

455. pillandsave

I am available to help at the polling station in either North or South lanarkshire (I live in Carluke).

email is pillandsave [at] hotmail [dot] com

456. kininvie

WEE BLUE BOOK

That’s it! Just had word from the printers that the run is finished and the last of 230,000 Wee Blue Books is packed and on a van heading southwards with speed.

Now I can get back to normal campaigning…

I’d just like to say a couple of things:

Fifteen Wingers from around the country innocently agreed to store consignments. What they maybe didn’t realise was that a van would turn up with 1.5 tons of boxes, which they would have to unload and get under cover, and they would then get a spreadsheet with a list of orders for their area, be told to arrange contacts and pick-up times, be told to be ruthless in cutting allocations, be told they were i/c and their only task was to get the WBB into the hands of undecided voters as fast as they could.

Every single person has responded without complaint and with extreme efficiency, with the result that the WBBs are spreading throughout Scotland as you can see if you track them on Twitter. Thanks has to go too to those who drove miles (one Winger drove from Oban to Glasgow and back – oops, shouldn’t have had to) to pick up their orders.

A special word of thanks to Kestral, who has dispensed 40,000 copies from the Glasgow hub and found time to run an ebay service as well.

There has been no overall command and control, apart from an endless series of late-night emails or phone calls from me. So it has been – and continues to be – an anarchic operation in the very best sense of the word, helped by the remarkable network of contacts and friendships we Wingers have built up over the past two years.

I believe, as do most of us I think, that the WBB is a gamechanger in the fact that it can easily add a couple of percent to the Yes vote on its own.

Finally, if you haven’t got your order even though you contributed to the fundraiser – I am sorry. Demand outstripped supply from day 1 and we’ve had to be ruthless in balancing the geography and the efficiency. The only thing that matters is winning – and if a few people have had to be disappointed, then so be it! If you want to send me a stroppy email, feel free, but I’m not going to look at it before the 20th…..:))

457. Ian Brotherhood

@kininvie et al –

Heroes – each and every one of you, whether ye remain anonymous or not, you know who you are, and I look forward to shaking all the hands in years to come.

Brilliant effort. Youse should be awarded the Orwell Prize.

Slainte to all.

458. Bob Hastings

Quentin Quale
    50 would be great but as many as you can spare

459. Quentin Quale

Bob Hastings
    Can do that. If you are OK with letting me have a place to meet I could deliver this evening or tomorrow morning. Or an email address to fine tune details.

460. Thepnr

test

461. gerry parker

@ kinivie.
    Picked up my 4 boxes today and e mailed you to say thanks.

You can safely read it before the 20th.

462. Ian Brotherhood

STV News saying ‘Egg-Man’ has been arrested and charged. 45 yr old will appear in court tomorrow…

463. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Good! Let’s face it though, it really is no big deal normally. The referendum makes it a big deal, no more than a District Court appearance and a Β£50 fine for assault with an egg. πŸ™‚

Jim Murphy took advantage and played the media who contrived to make it a big deal.

464. Tartan Tory

Just heard that about the egg-man in Kirkcaldy too. The fact that they didn’t suggest it was a cybernat could be very good news indeed. πŸ™‚

465. Paula Rose

Tartan Tory honey have you filled all those forms in so’s I can swan about at the count in my Yes high heels?

466. James Caithness

Just read a story on AOL where Nigel Farage is saying Alex Salmond is responsible ofr all the anti-english feeling here.

467. Bob Hastings

Quentin Quale
    That’s great. Write to me at bbobhastings@gmail.com – don’t forget the double b at the start. Or call me on 07949773128
    Cheers

468. Thepnr

The advice for keeping The Proclaimer’s Cap In Hand @ No.1 is NOT to buy the re-mastered edition but to buy the original version here:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cap-In-Hand/dp/B001J8QYCU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1409774007&sr=8-1&keywords=cap+in+hand+proclaimers

Buying the re-mastered version basically dilutes the sales.

Lets’s buy it, we can afford 99p to win the referendum.

469. BB

The Wee Blue Book effort has been amazing. Everyone’s desperate for them on the stalls and they never last long.

For those who don’t have one but wanted one as a keepsake, don’t worry as Stu will be getting more printed so we can get them to hang on to AFTER, so no need to hang on to them when others could have them instead or pass it on after reading. Just pass them on as there will be many many more in future. It’s not like it’s a limited edition for all time.

It’s always best that canvassers, stalls and things like Margo Mobile get them. Esp as they’re often dealing with UD or even No folk, the ones it’s really important to get to.

When Stu’s getting the keepsake ones printed after the referendum he’ll be getting hounded for signatures too, I bet. πŸ˜‰

NOTEABLY – At the town hall meetings for various groups, the events and with the Wee Blue Book I see absolutely sod all reporting or reporters on the scene. What a sorry state our news media is in today.

470. BB

@Thepnr

Are these things measured for charts daily or weekly, etc?

471. BB

Again, just amazing effort from WBB (and all the others passing out information). Never seen anything like it in my life. Grown out of nothing and operating fantastically.

472. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Pete the Camera and I had a blether with Jenny, the manageress of the Invergowrie Inn last night, and everything is in place. (She also took half a dozen Wee Blue Books.)

We have the lounge from 7.30pm until 12.30am. We’ll have a PA and mic so if anyone wants to bring along a guitar, moothie, ukelele or tuba, you’ll be welcome to ‘dae yir turn’. And if anybody wants to say a few words…

We’ll also do a couple of short video shows (around 15-20 minutes each) during the evening, featuring videos of a Scottish or referendum bent.

As I typed before, The Inn is usually fully booked for meals on a Saturday teatime. However, on the 13th, they will not take booking from the general public after 6.30pm but will take bookings for those who mention “Wings Over Scotland” up to 7pm.

Bob from Sidlaw Travel is gonna run a ‘mini dragon’ bus service from Dundee (probably Discovery Point car park) to the Invergowrie Inn a couple of times before 7.30 to get peeps there and we’re working on return journeys to get people back to the rail and bus stations for the last transport to wherever and back into to Dundee city centre at the end of the night.

As I said before, we’re gonna do EXCLUSIVE ‘Wings Over Invergowrie’ badges for this event so we’d like to know in advance (so we can get the badges done) who is actually coming.

Up to now, the following have typed that they’ll be there:-
    chipmonkey
    Thepnr
    ronnie anderson
    Bob Sinclair
    Betty Boop
    Quinie frae Angus
    cearc
    Paula Rose
    Tartan Tory

The Invergowrie Inn’s lounge is L-shaped and has a patio, in case it’s a fine night. See the pics here, taken from the roughly the same viewpoint, looking in two directions.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/invergowrie

But we need names of those coming so we can personalise the badges. By the weekend, you’ll find a post in this thread which will give you the times of buses and trains coming into Invergowrie or Dundee and times of the last buses and trains leaving.

So, who else wants a personalised badge to remember the event? Do a post here to confirm your intention to be at the last get-together Wingers can have before the referendum.

BTW: this link takes you back to the post I did with details of hotel accommodation.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-10/#comment-1843521

473. Paula Rose

All my favourite wingies! Tartan Tory are you sending the Bentley round, or do I have to hitch?

474. Paula Rose

Oops – didn’t mean to suggest you weren’t a favourite my dear Ian Brotherhood.

475. Paula Rose

Now dears – I do want the 5001th comment on this thread OK?

476. BB

Don’t say that! I’ll end up blundering in to say “hello” and accidently post that number comment. πŸ˜›

477. Taranaich

Kininvie, I was hoping you could help: I’m with Yes Inverclyde, and while we’ve been in contact with the Rev about getting consignments, understandably he’s been snowed under. I was wondering if you could get in touch with Yes Inverclyde in regards to getting some Wee Blue Books to that shop (Cathcart Street, Greenock). Right now we’ve been printing out our own copies, but we have over 50,000 in the electorate in our area, and we’re simply not able to get nearly as many as we need to out there. ANYONE who could spare as many copies as they can would be most appreciated.

We’ve been taking Inverclyde in the canvassing, but there’s a huge amount of undecideds there, and we almost certainly have a significant “silent majority” of Nos.

478. Michael McCabe

So sad to hear the Wee Ginger Dugs Partner has passed away http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=Mwxga8udIio You are in our Thoughts at this time.

479. X_Sticks

Ok, seriously stressed here. I’ve totally fcked up!

I discovered late last night that there are in fact three Postal Vote openings in Aberdeenshire, not just Inverurie, but also in Banff and in Stonehaven. (three attachments in hotmail with same (truncated) name and I though there was just one)

I desperately need more volunteers URGENTLY if Wings is going to attend all the PV openings.

I’ll ask my little group of helpers if they would be prepared to do a bit more and I’ll be doing everything I possible can work permitting.

The openings will start on Monday 8th and are every day until the 18th excluding the Sunday in between.

So I have enough to cover Inverurie, but need more help with Banff and Stonehaven.

Anyone who can help please email me at colinizat AT Hotmail DOT com with your name, address and contact phone no.

480. Quentin Quale

Brian Doonthetoon,
    you can add my name to the list for the Wings Night in Invergowrie.

481. Ravelin

X-Sticks, don’t stress. We can only cover what we can cover and hopefully other Yes groups will be making their own arrangements too.

482. Jim Thomson

@Taranaich 4 Sept 12:55am

I’m waiting for two people, who requested an allocation before printing, to respond to repeated e-mails about collection of their WBBs.

Basically, if they don’t respond by lunchtime Saturday, their allocations will be re-distributed to other groups who are actively using them.

If you can hang fire until Sat pm we might have a few boxes we can offer.

Others – please note this is NOT an open invitation for WBB requests #JustSaying

483. Jim Thomson

@Taranaich – do you know a Ronnie Cowan?

484. gerry parker

@ Taraniach

I’ll be passing through on Friday to put some on the ferry to Dunoon,

I could spare you a box.

485. gerry parker

@ Taraniach

Pop on to the wee blue book thread to discuss.

Dave Mcewan hill dosent need the copies he was going to get from Deverux but I can still pick them up and drop them off to you in Greenock if you want.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/weebluebook/

486. gerry parker

@ X-sticks.
    Don’t worry Colin. This is the first time many of us have done this Referendum agent thing. We’ll all learn as we go along.

Hope Jimmy got in touch and was able to help.

487. Joe Swan

Just another brilliant day.

A man came over to us in the pub/office and shook all of our hands tonight because, β€œWe were all good men and wearing Yes badges”. As he was shaking my hand I noticed a huge Union Jack tattoo on his arm.

β€œAye, I’m a Rangers supporter but that’s not what this is about. This is about our country and who is going to run it. That other stuff is just not important. We will still have the pound and the Queen. Who do they think they are, telling us we can’t have OUR pound?”

His wife came over as we were talking and confirmed they were both Rangers fans. β€œI’m voting Yes because I’ve just got my degree from University. We don’t have a lot of money and I would never have managed that, if I had been charged tuition fees”, she explained. β€œHe’s just put a huge saltire up in our garden and the windows all have Yes signs”. β€œDo you want a flag? We’ve got tons of them” she said, while offering me a lion rampant flag.

β€œOh by the way, we’ll be waving β€˜the jack’ at the football after this” she continued, β€œIt’s still our team’s colours”.

Gave him a WBB for his brother. (β€œI’m going to read it first. He’s still a bigot, but we’re working on him”, he said).

Later canvassing, a really positive feel at the doors – a definite mood swing from two weeks ago. Keep at it everyone. Everywhere.

488. Better Together St Kilda

Has anyone seen Paula Rose tonight?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.