Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
Thanks Smallaxe, one of my favourites from the age of innocence.
Another from that time, Dylan meets Donovan
Smallaxe
Quality uppressing mate.:)
One from the Scots Irish band and the Celtic essence capturing poetry of Yeats which I hope honours the rekindling of Celtic cultural bonds between the two countries this week.
“WOS Archives for April 2012”
No, but really – why?
You do know there’s a drop-down menu on the right-hand side that’ll just give you the April 2012 archives at a click, yeah?
A clown laughs
A clown dies
A clown cries
A fool sees it all
Prudence or Gloria I forget
Peace Always
Another post vanishes into the ether,am I putting too many tracks on at one time?
Bob Marley/ Rainbow Country
Peace Always
A rekindling of Celtic culture will only come about once chancres like Mungo Fraser are removed from Scotland’s body politic.
@Murdo Fraser
I wonder at what shaped your childhood Mungo, as your values in adult life appear to be those of a loathsome bigot. I’m not sure if the yoon party leaders are right role models to help improve your human empathy though, tbh. Wee Willie runs a ‘shy-Tory’ reenactment group, so doesn’t really count for much and is best avoided.
Mungo Lost
The Kinks:
What are we doing?
Peace Always
Think outside of these
Peace Love and Goodnight All
Still not switched off, so here’s one for all members and organs of, and associated with, BLiS, who need to consider whether they are comfortable supporting the denial of inalienable human rights. The Ruthenfuhrer’s followers are probably beyond redemption. Are there any LibDums left in Scotland?
The B-52’s – Dance This Mess Around
link to un.org
Ah, the impatience of yoof. Here’s a more historical record of a truly post-modern band.
Why can’t Scotland join humanity, it’s not no Limburger?!
The B 52s – Dance This Mess Around
link to un.org
Chic McGregor:
Apologies Chic, my reply to you last night seems to have gone the way of some others.
GCHQ,looking for hidden,coded messages perhaps?
For he comes, the human child,
To the waters and the wild
With a faery, hand in hand,
For the world’s more full of weeping than he can understand
I leave this.
Peace Always
Rev. Stuart Campbell wrote on 3 December, 2016 at 1:19 am:
“You do know there’s a drop-down menu on the right-hand side that’ll just give you the April 2012 archives at a click, yeah?”
Here’s the same answer i gave you on 24/11/16 when you asked me why, you obviously didn’t see the reply. A few different reasons but mainly to:
Create a constant awareness for any lurkers/newbies of the treasure trove of info ammo we have here on WOS, especially with the high possibility of new members joining daily.The archive facility, like O/T, is not always immediately obvious to readers.
Help those of us who want to find that article (or articles) we meant to save but forgot, or lost it/them due to whatever circumstances and can’t find it/them and don’t have the time or desire to trawl through the extensive archive collection.
Help those of us who want to build our own register of selected WOS references for future use without having to go through the monumental task of searching all the WOS archives, a task made simpler in small daily doses.
I’m working through the full archive collection building my own log of selective was articles for future use so i might as well offer others the opportunity to do likewise while i’m doing it.
Hope this removes any thoughts of mental curiosity or confusion.
From my previous comment
“..selective was articles..”?
Should read – ..selective WOS articles..
Jeez, i’m becoming a churnalist!
Stoker:
May I again thank you for for the work you are doing re archives.I,as you may know, have memory problems due to illness and find your contribution to relevant issues that I may have missed or forgotten invaluable,as I’m certain, do many other Wingers.
Rev.Stu:
Sir,I understand your confusion regarding the task that Stoker has taken on,as you say, the information is already archived.I hope my post above explains why I and others are grateful to Stoker for sharing the information with us.
Greatest Respect to you Sir.
Peace and Love to You and to those you Love
Smallaxe
Fair enough 🙂
@Owen Jones
If your having a pop at me kid, I have to be overstated as I lack your platform of privilege. I also speak as one who has lived their life in a world shaped by English utilitarianism. An ideology defined largely through Anglicanism and so born of a culture that is alien to Scotland. This is a world view that you can have no appreciation of as you are English, grew up in England and so apparently have no empathy for your differences to Scots. Your world view is crippled by England’s colonial culture and Malthus. Regardless if you accept that or not, we’re a bit different.
Your not a ‘socialist’ kid your an English nationalist with pretensions of egalitarianism and I claim my £5 book token.
link to un.org
WOS Archives for May 2012
How to win independence with one picture
link to wingsoverscotland.com
Labour’s strange solidarity narrative
In case you’re hungover this morning
Flame on
The Straight Debates #2
Weekend: The state of our union
Turkeys urge continuation of Christmas
A passing thought
The positive case for the [BLANK]
Labour fury as Salmond endorses Hitler
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #15
Right leg in, left leg out
Weekend essay: The right to decide
One more than you
Credit where credit’s due
Who has the right to poll position
Here’s an uplifting tune that seems appropriate for the moment we’re currently in:
Evening, groovers.
Planning for the revolution going fine but I remembered this and thought you might like it at sunset:
Back to the drawing board.
Hey, Smallaxe, can you take the salute at the victory march past in Freedom Square? You get to sit beside Amy MacDonald, btw.
Bugger: I meant the last track.
Back to 100 lines and the usual strict regime of bending exercises……
And to the sabbatical.
And just before I return to the Bide A Wee rest home, this one’s for Mr Farage. I can just see his loafers sticking out of Trump’s jacksie.
What’s that pointy thing in yer hand, nursie…?
Ponty things sticking out of A-holes?
The point is that a state of colonialism in the 21st is a crime against humanity.
Fugees ft. A Tribe Called Quest & Busta Rhymes – Rumble In The Jungle
Here’s the killer punch.
link to un.org
Tinto Chiel:
Hurry back
Peace Always
Stoker:
Thank you
Peace Always
Tinto:
About taking the salute,will I get a suit wi’ SHINY BUTTONS?
Peace Always
Thanks, Smallaxe.
As Arnie would say, “I’ll be back!” once I have resolved the Inherent Contradictions of Capitalism, finished my Great Scottish Novel and have worked out how Motherwell can defend a two-goal lead.
On top of that, Paula has relegated me to the gazebo at the bottom of the garden beside her smoke-house. Random guys keep knocking looking for “Smokies”. Has it come to this?
No-one said it was going to be easy……..
@Stoker –
Hey man, Rev Stu’s not used to flattery!
Take it as a compliment!
Great stuff – we all benefit from the occasional pat on the back, and the wee glances at what this place has done should be a source of pride for all concerned.
More power to ye.
Last Post: shiny buttons, is it?
Nae probs, Smallaxe, for a gent like yersel’.
It’s wrong, I know, but I’m quietly laughing to meself about stuff that none of youse know about (bar one).
Next year, when the days are getting brighter, there will be a place where Wingers can meet, regularly, to discuss wur dastardly business.
You won’t hear about it right here, but, if you’re interested enough, you’ll get it one way or another, eventually.
Hate to be a tease, but that’s all.
For now…
I embrace you all…
It does…
Severe love
I’ve been away…
This…
Paula Rose:
Peace Always
I hear you’re a bit of barking English nationalist Siobhan, unhinged even, so I felt the need to be sensitive when choosing a track for you. I needed to keep a grip of my emotions.
Alvin Stardust – Word is Out
I wasn’t sure though as your astonishing bigotry is appalling, frankly. Not appealing in the slightest. Put simply, you are dumb and nasty. Dumb and nasty, dumb and nasty, dumb and nasty.
” More the knowledge lesser the ego, lesser the knowledge more the ego.” – Albert Einstein
P.S. I’m wondering what your appreciation is of the principles of contemporary social science.
Ian B (@10:57pm)
Cheers!
(and @11:03pm)
If you’ve gone and done what i think you’ve done, and i’ve got 2 ideas bouncing around my cranial cavity, then kudos aplenty tae ye, you have been a busy B – one idea involves your neck of the woods, sort of, and the other involves Glasgow.
Smallaxe (11:34am)
Cheers for the support, consider yersel now promoted to being my right-hand man and enforcer.
Looks like it’s a non-news day so the records are coming out. Happens.
Anyhoo, I went rummaging and found myself among the bottom-feeders*.
@dhothersall
What’s the matter sugar, feeling a bit inadequate because my nationalism is organic and yours in pneumatic? Does it hurt when someone not only calls you an ignorant ideologue but they then prove it through applied principles of contemporary social science? Btw, where’s your positive case for the Union? Calculating that particular social equation a tough nut to crack?
You’re spectacularly unimaginative lad, I’ll give you that. Astonishing so, frankly.
Coconut
* a bit too close to the bone?
@dhothersall
I’ll tell you what blind nationalism is. It’s ideological BritNat Yoons, such as yourself, fighting tooth and claw to retain London’s colonial rule over Scotland. This is the 21st century, in case you’ve been asleep. You do understand what human rights are BALLOON-BOY? I’m assuming you have done your homework on Hegel and the “master-slave relationship”, self-identification processes and symbolic violence? Media Representation Theory? “The Methodology of the Oppressed”?
link to un.org
Simple Minds, ‘Celebrate’ –
What a voice this dude has.
ABC, ‘The Look Of Love’ –
@dhothersall
You do appreciate that cultural integrity is a key component to finding sustainable, inclusive solutions to current and future social needs?
You do appreciate that it is not possible for the integrity of Scotland’s authentic cultural to retain it’s resilience, situated within the ideological constraints of a British state shaped through English nationalism?
As you are an ideologue, I’m assuming you appreciate what ideology is and what it’s rightful place is within the space of post-modern human communities?
Naw, your head’s full of mince. Your appreciation of Scotland’s condition lacks a theoretical framework grounded in science. Are you helping Scotland by renouncing inalienable human rights, or is it BLiS___d all the way down until were dinning in Hell?
link to dennisloo.com
Ian Brotherhood
Sorry Ian, didn’t see you there. Too busy re-edumicating. 🙂
Stoker:@ 2-18pm
My pleasure Stoker,thanks for the promotion,it is gratefully accepted.
Peace Always my Friend
What a voice this girl had.JANIS!
Peace Always
Janis again,a few years and a lot of drink and drugs later.Superb!
Peace Always
Hi Smallaxe.
You may like this female singer with her band, recorded in Paula Rose’s neck of the woods in 2014.
@Scotland In Yoonion
My argument is backed by Hegel, Heidegger, principles of biology, principles of contemporary social science, principles of town planning and Scotland’s inalienable “Right to Development”.
Your appreciation appears to be based on ideological faith in British nationalism.
Which of us is likely to be more objective? Save your money, I’ve left you no credible space.
Nightmares On Wax – Flip Ya Lid
The squeaky wheel gets the grease
Weekend guest: View from the fence
When does spin become outright lying?
Labour’s great victory
As others see us
The sound of one horn tooting
WOS Archives for June 2012
Weekend essay: The Janus-faced Olympics
Dumbing doon
Eyes wide shut
Savaged by a poodle
@CamB –
No sweat brother.
Have been having a nice wee day to meself, playing old vinyl, dancing about as a nod towards ‘exercise’, drinking cider, Pinot Grigio, and finishing a crossword for Rock’s favourite publication, The National. Life doesn’t get much better…
Hope you and all Wingers are enjoying their weekend as much as I’m enjoying mine.
Bottoms up!!
Ian Brotherhood
Same here last week. I mashed my head up with that hour of reggae mixes I posted the other week, played on a loop. Heavy, heavy instruction man. 😉
@Scotland In Yoonion
You can’t fit square pegs in to round holes, just like you can’t make Scots British subjects, unless they freely choose to identify as such.
Britain is the embodiment of “modernist”, Victorian, imperialist ideology and is structured through norms suited to the preservation of a medievalist Establishment.
The British state fails to meet the contemporary needs and demands of Scottish society and is unlikely to cope better with future demands.
Britain is increasingly becoming Greater England, leaving little space for Scotland to be Scottish.
Save you money guys, we’re just starting to play with you in the same way we did VNoB. A bit rough like. Ken fit eh mean?
Quantic – Time Is The Enemy
@CamB –
That Quantic video was fucking beast!
WTF was that thing making a hard left at 3.10?
Astonishing stuff. Brilliant. Loved it!
Stoker:
Thanks, Boss 🙂
Peace Always
Brian Doonthetoon:
Sorry,for taking so long to reply but I was out feeding my Unicorn,that link to”Two Wheels Good” was just That!To do that live at an outdoor gig is cool.The Singer must have lived the “Blue’s” at some time in her life.That’s the way It’s got to be,to make a good blue’s singer.
One from my neck of the woods,No Mean City,some of the Wingers may have seen her in Burns Howff with “Stone the Crows”, Maggie Bell;Still doin’ it.
Peace Always
Ian Brotherhood
Thanks Ian. I had hoped it would encourage folk to think about how far we have come in such a relatively short space of time. Also, how little we appear to have moved.
Perhaps a bus doing the hard-left?
Folk generally think in the present, so their understanding and judgement tends to lack context, other than the immediate circumstances. This feeds in to the mechanisms of systematic violence that are embedded within the structural violence that divides our communities. The falsehood that ‘it was always thus everywhere’ become embedded in the social consciousness, further entrenching hubitus.
There is no hope for a sustainable future unless we are able to step out of this destructive, downwards spiral.
link to ajssh.leena-luna.co.jp
This feeds in to the mechanisms of symbolic violence that are embedded….
CameronB Brodie:
Mon! I n’I vex, mi yout, Jus a word, yuh na’mash yuh hed wi’Regge,mi say,black up a spliff,fi’ mash yuh hed. Wha Yuh Deh Pon.Reggae nuh heavy bredren,it makes yuh skin yuh teeth,it makes yuh feel gud.
Mi Si yuh lata bredren
JaH Love,BoB Live,Always
Michael McCabe:
R.U.O.K.?
Peace Always
Get Some. link to youtube.com
Smallaxe
Totally agree mate, wire brush a Detol first think every morning. That sorts it for me anyway. 😉
Dub Syndicate – Hard & Tuff
to yo Michael
Peace Always
When the day is Short. link to youtube.com
Everything Wrong. link to youtube.com
Cameron:
Here’s an old fren i’ mi,im Ital!Muta.
Peace Always
Hi Smallaxe.
Two Wheels Good are a fine band. Watch out for them appearing in a drinking den near you.
Onnyhoo, here’s another blue for you. This track was the original B side of Jeff Beck’s “Hi Ho Silver Lining” and was written by Jimmy page. A classic instrumental.
Here’s Jeff Beck performing it live at Ronnie Scott’s in 2007. It’s one of my all time favourite A/B side tracks.
I will now retire from ‘off-topic’ to have my Indian nosebag, then turn in for tonight.
Hi Smallaxe.
SHEET! Forgot to paste in the Ronnie Scott’s link. Here it is.
Sorry, folks, my attempts to post a minimum of 10 WOS archive links per night fell short tonight, gremlins in the works i think? Attempted to include the first 4 links of June 2012 tonight, several times, but utterly unsuccessful. Will attempt to post them again at the start of tomorrow nights contributions.
Have a good night one and all.
Michael McCabe:
Murray Head,check him mate.
Peace Always
Smallaxe
Check for this. 🙂
Linton Kwesi Johnson – Independant Intavenshan
Goodnight,Brian and Stoker
Peace Always
Peace!
I hope you realise,how difficult it is for an old hippy to play music from a Mod.It’s not easy.But…
Peace Always 🙂
Hi Smallaxe Loved the Cajun Music. A lot of good tracks on tonight. Boat to Bolivia. link to youtube.com
It’s always a good idea to keep your chin up, as this allows you to see what is in front of you. Clear vision helps sure-footnotes along uncertain paths.
Switch the BBC off, they are grooming you!
Trebunie Tutki & Twinkle Brothers – Pierso Godzina (Don’t Betray my Love)
I wonder when the rest of the guys in the SNP who were reporting to a Whitehall department in the late 80s will come out of the closet and scream SNP bad?
I have popcorn at the ready!
lost a post?bguger:
Charles Walker/Beatle Blues,”Dont let me down”
Peace Always
Delicate link to youtube.com
Andrew McLean:
Did you get my epistle @ 10:44pm on the 2nd December,and some tunes?
Peace Always
cant beat a bit of Ska,Michael,nice one.
the Real Blues Brothers
Peace Always
Cameron:
This way lies Madness
Peace Always
The Road to Aberdeen. link to youtube.com
Flying
Peace Always
Smallaxe
Naw mate, you must have picked me up wrong. 😉
Lord Kitchener – Soca Misinterpretion (Soca Me Soca You)
Celtic Mouth Music,
Singing in a language,that only your soul can understand
Peace Always
Just to be representitive, here’s the Mighty Sparrow being more soulful than socca for a change.
Mighty Sparrow (with Byron Lee and the Dragonaires) – Only a fool (breaks his own heart
Some exciting stuff from our indigenous music lest we not forget.
I hope no ladies are listnin’
Prince Buster
the Ten Commandments of Man!
Peace Always
Smallaxe 1:23
Great piece of port a beul.
Cameron:
Enjoyed the Sparrow
Try this little Birdy
Chic McGregor
Yes Chic, my bad. Unfortunately I’m largely bereft of awareness of Scotland’s tradition-based culture and art. Same with indigenous languages. I’ll still give everything to make sure they have a viable, authentic future though.
It’s a human rights and global sustainability thing. 😉
Hi Chic:
Enjoyed that,I nearly got up and Danced!
Here’s a guy that only got to Prestwick
Peace Always
Cameron:
yuh still gi everything to mek sure dem ave a viable Patois Mon,it a gud ting.Seen?
Peace Always
Smallaxe
Your appreciation is much appreciated mate. Night, night. 😉
Total loveliness…
Chic:
“port a beul”
How does that translate?
Peace Always
Goodnight Cameron:
Remember to close these
Peace Always
Paula Rose:
Try this Lady
Peace Always
It seems as if everyone has been sensible and went to bed.
that was a cool night guys,some really great sounds,I leave you with Dire Straits.Why Worry.Goodnight.
Peace and Love to All
Smallaxe
My mind is still racing mate but I can’t really think of anything tunes to post.
I’ve been looking for accessible papers on umwelt, blumenwelt and public policy*, without success. There’s tones of stuff in German and Finish but I’m struggling to find any in English. I’m hopeful they will be out there and that I’m just looking in the wrong place.
* the relationship between ourselves, our local and national environments and their governance.
@Scotland In Yoonion
Thought this might help re-edumicate you out of you ideological cave, as it covers how living organisms subjectively perceive and interpret their environments. Your aim is to stop natural processes that are essential to the mechanics of organic social organisation. Your tools are privelaged access to media, great wealth and a straight-jacket of BritNat ideology. That still won’t have enough, thickos.
link to alexei.nfshost.com
@Smallaxe
Hope all is going well with you? Need an update as to what has been happening whilst I’ve been absent.
I had a lovely time with family. Surprise birthday treat St Andrew’s day, still full from chocolate overload…Burp
@Cameron
Re your message on 25th Nov, sorry for late reply. How did you get on with the personality test? I was Defender which came as no surprise and my youngest son’s result was spookily accurate.
@Tinto Chiel
when you have finished your wife’s ironing, could you pop up and tackle mine? I’ve been saving it for you. As an inducement I make a mean griddle scone!
Nana: glad you’re back. My super turbo steamer with separate reservoir is a thing of beauty. Mrs TC bought it for me when I retired.
It’s normally 75p a shirt but a wee bit strupag from yourself should cover it.
I’m mainly just lurking at the moment ‘cos I’m up to no good 😉
Will be round once I’ve developed the microfilm.
Griddle scones? *Homer Simpson voice* “Mmmmmmmmmm.”
@Tinto Chiel says “up to no good” I’m intrigued??
75p for a shirt, capitalism that’s what that is!
A griddle scone would not be a griddle scone without a cup of blathach. My mum made the best scones, she would add a tablespoon of syrup and a little less buttermilk. I follow her recipe only I don’t measure anything, chuck it all in. As Tommy would say “just like that”
Nana
Morning Nana. I read the article but completely missed the test. I’ll go back and take a look later on though. I might let you know, depending on result. 😉
Nana:
Great to see you back again,I’ve been missing you and my links.Some on the main thread were wondering where you had gone,I told them that you were having a short break.
Heedtracker has gone AWOL,I think that there had been some sort of disagreement with another Winger,everyone has been asking him/her to come back but I don’t know if that has happened yet
Rev Stu was asking why Stoker was posting archived stuff on off topic when it was already archived on the main page.We got it sorted with him yesterday,you will find that on the page before this one.
Glad your back,maybe you can bring some harmony and common sense back with you.
I am writing this while holding an injured dove under mt shirt,I found it at my front door nearly dead from the cold,so I am trying to give it some of my own body heat before I can check and see what may be wrong with it.
Welcome back
Peace Always
Billy
Forgot to ask: do you put buttermilk in your scones?
Those scones sound perfect. I knew an old woman on Skye who made great ones but there was no syrup.
Do you remember the prog where Nick Nairn was watching a woman on South Uist (?) making black puddings? It was a hot day and she was straining the clots/hairs from the warm blood. He had to leave the kitchen to be sick. Wotawimp!
As for other matters, my lips are sealed.
Heeheeheeheehee……
@Tinto Chiel
I don’t remember seeing Nick’s distress, what a wuss.
My auntie made her own white puddings, one summer she had the stomach linings soaking in a basin and my young cousin who was home from Glasgow for the hols ran out of her kitchen screeching.
See those big city bairns, no stomach for the realities of life haha unlike us islanders born with strong fibre in our guts.
While I’m here I will give you a recipe for Ceann Cropic or as my hubby calls it porridge in a fish head.
Take one cod remove the head and wash thoroughly, leave the eyes in place [decorative garnish don’t you know]
In a bowl mix some porridge oats, salt and pepper, and the fish liver [which you will have soaked in water overnight]
Pack into the fish head and wrap in baking parchment. Steam alongside the fish and serve with tatties.
Now that ends today’s cooking lesson with Nana
Eat your heart out best of british cake off, bake off and cook off.
Nana:
May I wish you a belated Happy Birthday,I wish you many more and may all your other birthdays and Unbirthdays (I have those) be happy ones.
Peace,Love and happiness to You and to those you Love,give your wee dog a clap from me.
XXX
@Smallaxe
I have a pair of doves permanently in my garden. I have a feeder/ viewer stuck on my kitchen window, very relaxing watching them.
I was reading the thread and saw that Heed was awol, he/she is back now.
Stoker is doing a grand job archiving past posts.
As for me bringing sense and harmony to the threads, I doubt it. I find when threads are long some folks get a little tetchy. Perhaps we need to put some happy pills in the coffee lol.
Thanks for the birthday wishes, another year older but still no wiser!
Tinto Chiel says: “I knew an old woman on Skye”
I knew an old woman who swallowed a fly.I dont know why she swallowed the fly,but it didn’t end well 🙁
Peace Always
ps if you need a safe house,I know a few public ones where Mi5,Mi6 or even the MIB will ever find you.Watch out though for the FBI,those Fkn Big Indians are good trackers,Kemo Sabe.
Nana:
I agree wth you on the subject of long threads,posters begin to stray on to subjects that would be better left alone,for now.Eyes on the Prize!
Peace Always
CameronB Brodie:
I apologise if I’m misunderstanding,but is this any help.
link to filosofie.science.ru.nl
Peace Always
Small Axe
Case Studies in Comparative Epistemology!
Heavy Man!
Smallaxe
There’s absolutely no problem at all mate, I was only stirring so I could play some Kitchener. 😉
Smallaxe
It will take me a while to pick the bones out of that.
I need to refresh and improve my appreciation of how to tackle the resurgence of social Darwinism. This is the age of bio-semiotics and localism, not the age of colonialism defined through positivist nationalism.
Positivism is ideologically inclined and contains an element of faith in God. In its broadest sense, positivism is a rejection of metaphysics”. Pragmatism is opposed to ideology and is grounded in biology.
Positivism & Post-Positivism
link to pdfs.semanticscholar.org
Sorry, wrong link.
link to socialresearchmethods.net
Andrew McLean:
Too heavy for me Man
Environmental governance is a concept in political ecology and environmental policy that advocates sustainability (sustainable development) as the supreme consideration for managing all human activities—political, social and economic.[1] Governance includes government, business and civil society, and emphasises whole system management. To capture this diverse range of elements, environmental governance often employs alternative systems of governance, for example, watershed-based management.[2]
It views natural resources and the environment as global public goods, belonging to the category of goods that are not diminished when they are shared.[3] This means that everyone benefits from, for example, a breathable atmosphere, stable climate and stable biodiversity.
Public goods are non-rivalrous—a natural resource enjoyed by one person can still be enjoyed by others—and non-excludable—it is impossible to prevent someone consuming the good (breathing). Nevertheless, public goods are recognised as beneficial and therefore have value. The notion of a global public good thus emerges, with a slight distinction: it covers necessities that must not be destroyed by one person or state.
The non-rivalrous character of such goods calls for a management approach that restricts public and private actors from damaging them. One approach is to attribute an economic value to the resource. Water is possibly the best example of this type of good.
As of 2013 environmental governance is far from meeting these imperatives. “Despite a great awareness of environmental questions from developed and developing countries, there is environmental degradation and the appearance of new environmental problems. This situation is caused by the parlous state of global environmental governance, wherein current global environmental governance is unable to address environmental issues due to many factors. These include fragmented governance within the United Nations, lack of involvement from financial institutions, proliferation of environmental agreements often in conflict with trade measures; all these various problems disturb the proper functioning of global environmental governance. Moreover, divisions among northern countries and the persistent gap between developed and developing countries also have to be taken into account to comprehend the institutional failures of the current global environmental governance.”
I think I’ll stick to Jack Kerouac.
(or Enid Blyton) 🙂
Peace Always
Water will soon be the “new oil”
I’m learning this
Peace (pipe) Always
Nana:
My wife and I took the Test.I came up as Mediator my wife was Protagonist.
Peace Always
@Smallaxe
I would say Mediator suits you rather well. Poetic and kind, helpful to others, indeed that sums up what I think of when I think of you Billy..
@Cameron
As a Defender I defend your right to keep your result private and confidential.
For anyone wondering what we are discussing
Take the test here
link to 16personalities.com
Folks, I’m not trying to show of or be a smart arse, I think these two links provide an outline of the main differences between modernist and post-modernist thought.
Not done the test yet Nana but I’ll take a look later. I might let you know what it reckons I am, perhaps not. 🙂
link to socialresearchmethods.net
link to alexei.nfshost.com
Smallaxe
Port a beul translates as ‘a tune from a mouth’. The ‘a’ should be more properly accented to make clear it means ‘from’ but is not essential.
Tradition has it that the technique was to provide dance music in the absence of musical instruments like the pipes and fiddle.
Whether that absence was at the behest of the authorities or not is contentious since musical instruments were not actually in the Disarming Act.
Cameron:
I notice T.May referred to “God”,this worries me.When people like her,who have no thought for the planet and nature in their quest for power and self-enrichment, destroy our home and it’s population,they are in my opinion destroying the God that is more than capable of feeding,clothing and housing all of Mankind.My God is not their God.
Let there be enLIGHTenment.
Peace to All
Nana, Smallaxe
Apparently I am a debater, in fact I believe that, as I often have been congratulated on my skill as a master debater.
least that what I thought they said?
Chic McGregor:
Thank you for explaining all of that,it angers me that this Knowledge would have been wiped from our memories over these last three centuries.
Thank goodness that we have people like your good self, retaining this gift,and having the kindness to impart it to anyone interested.
Thanks again my friend.
Peace Always
Smallaxe
I have little doubt T.May is a social Darwinist. She spells danger to anyone not ‘protected’ by wealth and privilege.
Social Darwinist(s) tend to be “positivists” who believe in a Christian cosmology and have a mechanistic appreciation of nature. They also tend to lack human empathy.
They have no appreciate of what achieving sustainable patterns of human development will entail, as their conception of the world is wonky*, IMHO.
* see above and below links.
Sustainability and the ‘Struggle for Existence’:
The Critical Role of Metaphor in Society’s Metabolism
link to jayhanson.us
Andrew McLean:The Master Debater.
Glasgow Sheriff Court;The accused is standing in the Dock,chewing gum.The Judge says to the Bailiff,”tell the accused to desist from masticating in my court”
The Bailiff approaches the accused and says,”the Judge says take yer hauns oot yer poakets”.
Peace Always
Unfortunately, IMHO, the normative values of our society remain bound up in positivist assumptions which hamper good judgement and effective decision making.
link to tandfonline.com
@UK Supreme Court
Were you listening? You are aware of the “Right to Development”?
My test result – Advocate.
Campaigner, does it show? 🙂
I think I undersold my tactical awareness, tbh. Modest, me? 😉
Nana, Smallaxe: just back from Glesca Toun, Christmas shopping with Mrs TC. I’m sure you can imagine the rest. Back to busking outside Central Station tomorrow.
I know a few public houses up here, Smallaxe, no Indians maybe but rather Wild West in character in a Calton Creek/Rank Badjin kinda way. Mine’s a pint of White Tornado. When I worked as a student in the DHSS in Brigton in the 70s it was a delightful local cocktail.
Thanks for the fish recipe, Nana. I think I’ll use pinhead oatmeal. As for the realities of crofting life, I’ll never forget being sent over to Ardnish on Skye to bring a lady’s cow back from the bull. He wasn’t having any of it and I had to seek shelter behind the only big hawthorn bush I could find. Then I fell down a peaty pothole, up to my waist. Don’t know how I managed to get back out. It was like the Grimpen Mire in The Hound of the Baskervilles.
You should bring out Nana’s Christmas Crofter’s Kitchen next year, £25 from all good bookshops.
@Tinto Chiel
Survival of the fittest when shopping with us women. Full wallet and turning a blind eye to purchases is my advice.
I forgot the onions which you will finely chop and add to the mix and you MUST use Scotts porridge oats.
A cookbook from the croft, now there’s an idea. I’m known as the soup dragon round here, that’s the affectionate name he who must obey calls me when he’s slurping his brochan. At least I think its meant affectionately…..
Chic and Cameron:
Ma mammy used tae drink that Advocate at Christmas and she wis partial tae sum o’ thon’ french Campaign oan speshul occasions.
Ye’s ur a per a’ Boozers! 🙂
Peace Always
Smallaxe
I’ll admit I’ve been called far worse. 🙂
Nana, don’t use cod,
You need “red eye literate herring” and cold porridge. Helps with the Latin Greek and Hebrew. The benefits of a Scot’s education.
I have been to several so called “Fishmongers” and was disgusted by the fact,that not one of them could Mong a fish.I like a nice bit of haddock well Monged,it’s a disgrace,so it is.
And don’t get me started on trying to buy a simple steam iron. “Ironmongers”(Spit)
Peace Always
Karate Kid – Pick up your jacket! 😉
Wonders will never end, I find I’m actually in partial agreement with Mungo.
@Murdo Fraser
You would understand why Scotland’s economy is shaped the way it is, if you had an appreciation of “internal colonisation processes”, “habitus and structural violence”, the “semiotic theory of space and place” and other stuff.
You’re a pampered fanny who appears to have little appreciation of life and zero theoretical understanding of the subjects you are uncivil enough to quack about in public.
Give us a break and go and get an education, please.
@Andrew McLean
This sounds very like a mediterranean Hebridean fusion food. Think I’ll pass thank you.
However my husband says its nice to know he’s not alone in his cultural idiocsyncrasy, him being a aficionado of Ivor Cutler.
He is asking what type of hammer do you use, his own preference is for a Thor long shaft.
Ma test, same as you Smallaxe, mediator…think ah might be a beginner though, you’re the advanced one 🙂
Re. bollockholes. There was a whiff of staleness in the air. 😉
Imagination – Just An Illusion
@ Nana
Thor Longshaft, the crofters weapon of choice, as recommended by DAFS. The multi-tool for fencing(all types), cheneral fixing, Brochan stirring and Troll Curdling.
Loan and Grant Available.
One from ee croft for yawl link to youtube.com
Scott’s porridge oats it is then, Nana.
Usually use Mornflake oat bran for my porridge but you’re the boss.
Now back to my Dirty Deeds (Done Dirt Cheap).
Heeheeheeheeheehee…..
@Murdo Fraser
You might have heard me mention British nationalism resembles a cargo-cult, Mungo? If so, here’s something you might find interesting. Perhaps you could share it with your FAN-BOY, David Torrance? He might mention it the next time he represents the rational voice of Scotland on the BBC.
link to psychologytoday.com
Please note, the first 4 archive links for June 2012 eventually showed up on the previous O/T btl page. They’re timed at 6:55pm.
For those not sure how to get there just look under the most recent comment on this page and click on “Older Comments” then scroll to bottom of previous page and work up to 6:55pm.
Return to this page via the ‘back button’ or click “Newer Comments” near end of previous page.
Better Together leaked poster #8
Better Together leaked poster #7
Better Together leaked poster #6
Better Together leaked poster #5
Better Together leaked posters #4
Better Together leaked posters #3
keeping it +ve
Revealed at last: the positive case
We’re confused again
A peek behind the curtain
Weekend essay: Choosing choice
A quick quiz
The REAL “better together”
The difference between words and talking
Every cloud has a silver lining
Maybe we’re just paranoid
Sunday Shining. link to youtube.com
Re the test: I got Consul. Quite happy about it.
New vacuum cleaner – lift your legs.
Re the test. they have me down as a Defender. I always thought of myself as a Left Winger too. Anyway I am still in the Game. link to youtube.com
I got ““The Campaigner” on that test. “Diplomat”, fair enough, but “People mastery”? I wish! Well, I think I wish 🙂
Some of that’s true.
Do You want this ? You Sure ? OK then. link to youtube.com
Guess who!
Peace always
Oh well,
and it seem as if
Peace Always
@Smallaxe
Good morning. You good today?
I’m psyching myself up to take the dog out, Brr
Here’s an interesting resource to pass the time when the going gets tough [boring] watching the court proceedings.
link to blog.historicenvironment.scot
Nana:
HI Nana,I just realised that when you asked for an update,that you may have been asking about me.I think that you knew that I had more tests,well whatever’s going on I don’t know,but they have brought my February appointment forward to the 16th of this month.I will let you know,how I get on.
My brother phoned me yesterday from Cannes and we spoke for nearly three hours,I had to lie down afterwards,seemingly I’m not as strong as I thought when a phone call can put me in bed.Maybe they will give me some more of those lovely steroids (I hope).
I hope you are keeping well,look after yourself.
Billy
Peace Always
@Smallaxe
I’m sure you will be anxious waiting for your next appointment, the waiting is sometimes more stressful than the result. I’m sure we wingers will be anxious along with you.
A three hour phone call is a tour de force, I’m not surprised you felt tired afterwards. I find fatigue is the worst aspect of RA. I have a pretty high pain threshold [women do you know!!] but the tiredness really gets me down. In your case I imagine fatigue must be much worse, another factor in your condition. Take care Billy xx
Scottish passports arrived! Thanks,guys.
Blame Headtracker
been singing this all day!
Andrew McLean:
I’ve been coming in on the chorus,did you not hear my falsetto? 🙂
Peace Always
Back in Glasgow for a Faberge egg for Mrs TC’s Christmas and noticed that wee wummin again, trying to flog The Scotsman in Buchanan Street.
“Erra paper and a bag furra pun’,” quoth she.
Must be one of the loneliest jobs in the world.
Lamont uncertain about uncertainty
Storm weathered, minor damage
URGENT: HELP NEEDED
‘Yes’campaign team news
The time machine
(Don’t) stand by me
One future, two visions
Flying a false flag
Salmond, Murdoch and Occam’s Beard
Better together
The wrong lizards
Zombie revived by halfwit
Stoker:
Thanks Boss,every night’s a pay night. 🙂
Peace Always
Transatlantic Sessions. link to youtube.com
Wee tune whilst I clean up the monkey nut shells…
Don’t you know…
There is you know there really is…
They do you know they do…
We did…
Soon find out…
Hi Paula. Night Paula. I will leave you with this. link to youtube.com
Hi Michael Honey – might need your four poster next week, will message you…
For all of you forever – you know what I mean…
Sorry Smallaxe
I thought that was my tinnitus 🙂
Andrew McLean:
I’ll have you know sir,that I have the voice of an Angel.The said Angel being Lucifer,which means that I can form a one-man choir,as I am Legion.
Peace Always, my good Brother
apropos the English supreme court
Jukebox Jury
remember this from the “hit parade” Small Axe.
Andrew McLean:
The law doesn’t always win!
Peace Always
Liberated: What did the British ever do for the English?
Here is the news(wire)
Arithmetic for beginners
The lives of others
Legionnaires’ outbreak: Sturgeon to blame
This is England
Will the referendum be won this month?
Thoughts on the monarchy
Shaping the Zeitgeist
Beware of the leopard
To all the football fans out there. The WOS Archives for May, June and July 2012 are absolutely hoachin’ with football related articles, especially July. Enjoy!
________
This song has taken up permanent residency in my head for the past several days and i don’t know why. Please take it from me!
Marty Robbins – El Paso
Best version of this i’ve ever seen or heard, especially the first 3-minutes. WOW! Music right off the scale, then there’s Shania 🙂 Anyone know who they are?
Shania Twain – Man I Feel Like A Woman (Live Toronto 2015)
Stoker:
Thank you.I used to drink in a pub called the El Paso!
I will leave you with this.
Peace Always
Country Sisters – Let’s Twist Again
Thanks, Smallaxe, many many moons ago i had Marty Robbins’ Gunfighter Ballads album. It went AWOL from my record collection and has never been seen since.
“I’m not afraid of death because I don’t believe in it,its just getting out of one car and into another”
John Lennon.
Rest in Peace John
Love is all you need!
Stoker:
I wish that I could get back all the Albums that I loaned to people and never saw them again.
Mind Games
Peace Always
Smallaxe,
Just listened to that El Paso (part-2) and quite enjoyed it. Never heard it before. Bravo! Thank you! I see there’s a part-3 also. I’ll give that a listen later as i’m going to turn in now.
Stay safe!
Goodnight, troops!
John Lennon
Peace Always
John Lennon
Peace Always
John Lennon:
Peace Always
John Lennon:
IMAGINE
Goodnight Stoker:
All you need is LOVE
Peace Always
Smallaxe Honey – this always is one I love to share with you…
Paula Rose:
It’s always the one that l love to hear Paula,Thank you
For you
link to youtube.com.
Peace and Love to You Paula,and to those to whom you give Your Love
The Killing of Georgie:
Peace Always
The law is for protection of the people!
Peace Always
Way Over Yonder:
Peace Always
Dream a Little Deam:
Peace Always
Will You?
Peace Always
Night Owl:
Peace Always
in Dreams
Peace Always
Goodnight
WOS Archives for July 2012
Shifting the centre
New think-tank places hope in pixies
[SCENE MISSING]
A gay day
The secret of happiness
Leading the field
Turning a blind eye
Weekend: The Olympic Rallies
Clarifications and corrections
Have the Unionists finally gone mad?
The brick wall of bigotry
Friends of the Union
Equal marriage: a modest proposal
The Westminster disease
Where the heart is
The progressive alternative
Thanks again, Stoker, for all the links.
Did you hear the free hit/PR exercise from head of MI6 on Pravdasound4 tonight? No questions, of course, allowed from our Free Press but they were permitted to see a video clip of his speech to no-one. We’re facing unprecedented threats from The Bad Guys, apparently, and then he quotes Calgacus via Tacitus about , “They create a desert……”
What about the waste lands the UK has created directly or by proxy in Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya, Syria und so weiter?
Impressive Irony Bypass as usual, from Londinium.
Subtext: cower between nanny England’s skirts, Jocks, we’re better together.
Pissed off by all the above, groovers, but I found this a couple of days ago. Hadn’t heard it for over 40 years but I still found it fun.
God, they look thin, but then, didn’t we all?
Me and my snake hips too…..
Hope you’re ok, Smallaxe.
I’ve not been too active on ‘off-topic’ of late and just can’t keep up with all the music vids being posted but today, on reading about the death of my all time favourite male vocalist, I felt I should stick my tuppence worth in.
A search on YouTube proved that many fine videos from the past have been removed so I ended up with this wee selection.
When Karen Carpenter (my all time favourite female vocalist) died, my regret was that I’d never hear the pair of them performing a duet. Their voices were made for each other.
RIP. My memories of three ELP concerts in the Caird Hall are still in my mental database.
Freedom as seen from Scotland…
A reminder…
Hi Paula Rose.
Sheena was pure labour (her femly bringupedness) until some point in the last 15 years or so. I’ve spent one or three times at her hoose on New Year’s morning, over the past few years. She’s a stalwart member of ‘Team YES Bus’.
Here’s another wee offering, to show where she was in 2014.
Just saw an obituary in the Herald, Greg Lake died age 69 of cancer 2 days ago.
perhaps a warning?
link to irishtimes.com
From a poster in Ireland
I believe we underestimate the sense of disappointment many in Ireland still feel regarding what Ireland became after independence.
A conservative , neurotic and repressed ultra Catholic politic where emigration , for many , was the only alternative. Anti British dogma prevailed in the culture and a sense of inferiority , negativism about all things Irish lead to hopelessness and despair among many .
Why was that ? We should ask ourselves this is order to really come to grips about what happened, what we have become and , most importantly , what we want this nation to be in the future.
Fresh air and daylight should be brought to bear to finally loose the shackles from an inheritance that still clouds the sky and blocks the sunshine in the Irish mind
The Second Great Patriotic War
Lies, damned lies and welfare reform
Reading between the lines
It’s not just us
Why we write about Rangers
Stop this sick filth
Onwards and upwards (TBC)
Unionists are the real nationalists
The third question
________
WOS Archives for August 2012
Madman Of The Year
Jeez, TC, Roxy Music? 40-years ago? Where does time go, eh?
((((( IT’S FRIDAY )))))
link to archive.is
Stoker: that’s some bad cat, Harry. Heeheehee!
Where does the time go? Onto my waist line. Good job I still have my smoulder for The Laydees.
Keep those archives a-comin’. Big Fight ahead.
I know I’ve played this once before, but I can’t get this bass-line out of my head. My fingers keep twitching.
Doctor, is this normal?
Having an early Spring clean folks in preparation for a new PC.
HOUSE OF LORDS (ABOLITION)
link to hansard.millbanksystems.com
Labour’s House of Lords Hypocrisy – Student Voices
link to archive.is
New Labour, New Hype? – Peter Tatchell
link to archive.is
YOUR COUNTRY YOUR CHOICE
link to archive.is
Not too long to go now.
They know we know.
X.
Mind you, you couldn’t get funkier than this:
Night all.
No, no, wait:
That’s better.
@ Tinto Chiel 12:18am link to youtube.com
I can’t believe it wasn’t all over the media, and so few seem to care. I guess so many musicians died this year.
and to change the mood
Morning, Michael. Stevie and the band got faster and faster there.
Unlike me, who’s having a slow start.
Hi yesindyref2.
I posted that Greg Lake link at 10.24pm on Thursday night.
Herald Spot The Difference
What IS Labour’s policy on Trident?
Ian Davidson backs independence
Things we don’t care about
The blitz spirit
Yes campaign doomed
Thoughts on a single-question referendum
A divided land
Audience participation
The grave of journalism
Scottish constitutional jamwatch
Showing your hand
The assault on reason
WCR Smackdown 2012
A brief note on opinion polls
The devolution reality check
I went down to London, last weekend..
I got something to say about that.. in ot laters..
Scotland.
Coming soon.. X.
Cactus,
Spent 17 years going up London Town, thankfully last few I didn’t have to suffer the old white racism, they had been replaced.
Did spend an afternoon smoking weed on the roof of a building with the son of one the men who executed Nicolae Ceausescu and his wife, Elena, he said they had too end it. So they got their machine guns and, well you know the rest!
The Swiss watch we both wore was identical, our dads had given them to us.
funny old world.
Hi, Cactus.
I’ve been to London twice.
That’s all I’ve got…
Scots eat cake, demand cake
Another Union dividend
Those vile cybernats
Ian Davidson calls for second question
Weekend: Would Vikings choose London?
Spot the difference
Vested interests
Mental Mickey’s Wild Ride
Meltdown man
Hung out to dry
The loaded dice
The Great Destroyer
A short observation with regards to Scottish participation in the
Olympic Games
Weekend: Sovereignty for dummies
How politicians are licenced to lie
Legal, decent, honest and truthful?
Stoker:
Many thanks,I have twice thanked you over the last few days,but I have noticed,that the posts haven’t appeared.Please be assured of my thanks for your kindness in sharing this information with us,may I also give Respect, for your determination and obvious passion for our cause.Hail Alba!
Peace and Love to You,and to those you Love
Thanks again, Stoker.
Got live if you want it: everyone seemed plugged in.
After all that running in the traffic, I’ve got a hole in my shoe.
Sorry: age thing.
Stevie Winwood, ya bass.
OK, then, since you asked so nicely:
Tinto Chiel @ 9.00pm
Nice one. Enjoyed that! 🙂
SP: glad to oblige. I think YouTube are blocking it already!
I blame yon Theresa May watchin’ ma internet.
WOS Archives for September 2012
A familiar ring
Willie Rennie, suicide bomber
To be caught lying once
Some sort of charity
@Smallaxe
Sorry I missed your comment this morning. I had to go off for an appointment pretty sharpish.
Hoping you are doing well these days. I know you have the hospital on the 16th and no doubt anxious.
Sorry, troops, posted 6:21pm comment out of sequence by accident.
Still, it was worth it in the end, you get double your money 😉
A quick bit of arithmetic
Let’s get this straight
The hits keep coming
Putting the boot in
A familiar ring
Willie Rennie, suicide bomber
To be caught lying once
Some sort of charity
The great backpedal
The great betrayal
Seeing no ships
Odd one out
Irony circuits overloaded
The numbers game
Coming down the road
If nobody came
Evening, groovers/sophisticates.
If you have the time, funk off:
@Tinto Chiel
Thought of you when I saw this
link to archive.is
If you don’t have the time, take the short cut:
Evening, Nana.
Thank you very much for that. I never look at The Hootsman now, of course. He was quite a man and is a constant inspiration. Whenever folk think they have it tough in politics, they should think of him.
I hope things are all right with you and the family, and that you have a great Christmas.
@Tinto Chiel
Last couple of days have been pretty hectic, rushing about like a mad thing. Looking forward to a nice quiet time [well I can dream!]
Wishing you & yours a happy festive season and mind and drink plenty, water that is. Slainte mhath
Good news, Nana.
Water is it? Nothing else will touch my lips.
The small print
Reality control
Only the Union can kill the poor
The Silence Of The Lamont
The Kinnock Factor
The lame duck
‘No’ campaign loses the argument
The bird is the word
As it was and as it shall be
Weekend: The regional escalator
Scottish Labour policy update
They come bearing half-truths
The arc of recovery
Happy happy joy joy
Possible administrative error
Blogroll reshuffle
Just once again…
Nana:
I’m not doing too good at the moment,sleeping 18/20 hours some days,doctors coming out to see me.Dont worry about me,I’ll get through it ok.I will post occasionally when able.Look after yourself.
Peace always
Billy
@Smallaxe
I thought that might be the case Billy. xx
@Smallaxe
Sending good thoughts to you this morning. xx
Take care Smallaxe..
But you are not allowed to tell us we can’t worry.
Say hi when you can. x
Heard snoring & thought I’d just look in! Just to let U folks know that I’ve just successfully filled in my wee bowel screening advent calendar! 🙂 Shhhhhhhh
Lawyer, lawyer, pants on fire
The Dunkirk pause
The courtship dance
Benefit scrounger rejects job
Getting nowhere fast
Chasing the game
A different kind of independence
WOS Archives for October 2012
Cat escapes from bag
An idle pondering
Chinese democracy
Work till you drop in the union
Inflation running at 800%
Fury as government withholds EU advice
Anas Sarwar is (still) a liar
This isn’t tricky
Small axe
Hope you feel better soon,
Some jokes to cheer you up.
Fred’s advent calendar reminds me of the time I could not get the chocolate out as the wrapping was to hard, “Foil’d Again”.
So hungry I went to the pound shop and noticed some cakes, I asked the assist how much the cakes on the bottom shelf were, “pound” they replied, then the middle shelf again “pound” they replied, and the top shelf “Two Pound” oh I said “why?” The said “that’s Ma,dera cake”.
All the cake was making me feel ill so I went to the doctors and he said, “I will give you a prostate exam”, oh ! “Just take your trousers off and sit on the bed” I said “where will I put my trousers, he said “just on the chair, next to mine”!
I must have looked worried, so he said “don’t worry it’s not unusual to get an erection” I don’t have an erection I said, he said “I was talking to myself”
So I went home, luckily I found the wife’s “G” spot, turned out her sister had it all along!
Peace and laughter.
I went for
I must have lived a sheltered life Andrew. 😉
Anyhoo, here’s some southern soul for all the Scottish Yoon cultists who deny their own humanity and the culture that helped shaped them. Here’s a tip, national identity shouldn’t be discarded like some cheep suite. Without authentic, organically shaped identity, self-appraisal and judgement becomes difficult and the mind becomes dis-functional. That’s why we have the BBC misreporting Scotland every day of the week, grooming Scots to be happy “second-class” Brits. Creeps.
Kip Anderson – I Went Off and Cried
Hi Paula Rose.
RE: your latest tweet from ‘The Voodoo Rooms’.
link to twitter.com
What are you on? At all the Wings get-togethers it has been my pleasure to meet you, you have never sat “quietly in the corner”.
Or is it that you’re a tad no’ affie weel, or worse, a tad affie no’ weel? We need to know – frankly.
Hi CameronB Brodie.
As you typed about “all the Scottish Yoon cultists who deny their own humanity and the culture that helped shaped them…”
Does this Dundee band not make you proud to be appreciative of Scottish culture and wonder where the ‘Scottish’ yoons have got it so wrong?
Brian Doonthetoon
Not my usual tipple Brian but I think that had authentic soul (whatever that is) and spoke with a common humility that appears lacking in a lot of yoons. Especially Tory FAN-BOYS like David Torrence, with his degree in psychology and shit. Not forgetting BLiS___d have several FAN-BOYS. What a world, eh? In short, the dude sang well and it was seen across the land that it was braw. 😉
I’ll fess up. My defense of Scottish culture is not because I’m a particular fan, simply that Scottish culture IS, it helped SHAPE ME, and it’s continued integrity is considered vital to the global effort towards achieving sustainable patterns of development, as is the case with all peoples and their cultures. I also feel particularly vulnerable living in a state where development is not held under the rule-of-law and inalienable human rights are denied as a matter of course.
In a nutshell, I want my humanity legitimized baby, not distorted through some 6, 7, 8, and 9. J. Arthur Rank, My Old China, Pork Pies, And Crimbo lens. That’s why I avoid the BBC as if it were an STD (Scottish Tradition Distortion). A bit like a gravitation flux or rift in the space-time continuum. 🙂
link to un.org
Brian Doonthetoon
The thing about culture is that it is constantly evolving and opponents of colonial rule often find themselves aspiring to an ‘idealised’ bygone era that never will be again.
link to postcolonialweb.org
link to monumenttotransformation.org
* line-breaks added.
Were the Yoons meeting in the Voodoo Lounge tonight?
Kava Kon – Zombie
Might be why Heidegger thought English Christian Bolsheviks were worse than your eyebrows exhibiting an infestation of crab lice, or similar sentiments.
Just a wee keek to see if he’s aboot yet Nana!
Just checking in to say Hi Smallaxe if yer up an aboot.
We are all thinkin of ye and sending happy thoughts your way.
Say hi when you can Hun X
Some EU ado too
Here comes some ado
The Barnett Trap and the expensive lunch
The shifting goalposts
What’s wrong with foreigners?
How the SNP learned to stop worrying about NATO,
without loving the bomb
Ambush Time
Can we afford old people?
The point of no return?
Cameron’s triumph
Reasons to be fearful
The thieves of devolution
Always trust the BBC
News in brief
Compare and contrast
Is Alex Salmond Jesus?
Hi Dolls back home safe and sound – many thanks to Michael McCabe we danced the night away.
Heard on Pravdasound2 yesterday, first time in a long time:
What do you mean Paula. link to youtube.com
Nana:
Please pass on my thanks to everyone for their good wishes.I’m just going to have a shower before the doctor comes back this morning.Hoping to be back fighting fit asap.
Peace and Love to All
Billy xx
@Smallaxe
Hope you are doing better today Billy xx
@Smallaxe –
Good to see you back mister.
Morning Smallaxe
Good to see you posted.
You don’t need to reply , just letting you know we are thinking of you.
You do need to tell Mrs Smallaxe we are asking after her as well though.XX
Derek Mackay did pretty well on Pravdasound4 this morning with Nick “I only lie when I speak” Robinson. I haven’t seen the TV footage but he also seems to have stymied Paisley’s Finest, Oor Andra of the Big Riddy.
I also thought the Met Commissioner spiked the Blessed John Humphries’ guns yesterday by refusing to be bullied by him. He simply stopped speaking and asked Humphrys if he wanted to hear his answer or just interrupt him after three words. That put him Jimbo on the back foot. Polite but firm refusal to be harassed can be effective. Of course, Hogan-Howe has had the temerity to investigate highly-placed paedophiles so he’s got to be put under pressure.
O/T: thought Dave McEwan Hill’s letter in The National today on press perfidy in reporting the Syria crisis was excellent.
Posted above on the wrong thread of course and can’t be Carmichaeled doing it again.
It’s the thought that counts at this time of year, I always think.
Nana: haven’t touched a drop, honest…
Peace offering:
I can see colours, man.
The same old stories
Shot by one side
Dulce et decorum
War: what it’s good for
Missing you already
The short version
You’ll read it here first
Ruth’s Laughter Show
The wacky japester
Why we should abort The Scotsman
Hope vs fear, round 1
Terminological inexactitude
How soon is now?
The Great Division
Why we should thank Johann
Paint one nation with a rainbow
Some PS practice. A bit rusty since indyref1
Putin on the style.
link to i51.photobucket.com
We need practical tools of knowledge if we are to understand ourselves and shape a better future. “Critical Social Theory” is regarded as such a tool, providing a multi-dimensional theoretical framework and cross-discipline approach to understanding what makes things tick. It is the root for contemporary feminist theory, queer theory, post-colonial theory and much of contemporary social science. As it seeks to understand real life circumstances from the experience of the ‘subject’, it is apparently philosophically and methodologically related and relevant to developing nursing practice. Anyhoo, it’s the accommodation of difference that is important, as without that you ain’t gonna achieve social justice, BLiS___d.
link to blogs.worldbank.org
Conceptions of difference within theories of Social Justice: implications for higher education research
link to lancaster.ac.uk
Review Essay
Critical Theory and Social Justice
link to brock.scholarsportal.info
link to cssj.utk.edu
We Should let Paula Rose know that “Dusty Springfield at the BBC” (from 1961 to 1995) is on for an hour on BBC4 tonight, at 10.55pm. And following that, “Doris Day: Virgin Territory” for another hour.
link to scholar.oxy.edu
The Idea of Progress and Critical Social Theory
link to sunypress.edu
HEGEL AND CRITICAL SOCIAL THEORY:
New Perspectives from the Marcuse Archive
link to marcuse.org
THE LOGIC OF CRITICAL SOCIAL THEORY
link to ojs.gc.cuny.edu
link to cemticritic.eu
If you wouldn’t trust a plumber to do your wiring why pay attention to ill-informed journalists?
link to qual.auckland.ac.nz
Humphrys not Humphries. Me bad.
Listen to Bon’s accent at the start. Kirrie ya bass.
BDDT: thanks for the info. Think I might just catalogue my CD collection by theme tonight and wash my hair (what’s left of it).
Looks like a post has gone missing, which is a pity as I can’t remember what I’ve posted as I’ve been sifting since this morning. Nuts, one of the links focused on the “Great Refusal” and the philosophy behind critical social theory.
THE LOGIC OF CRITICAL SOCIAL THEORY
file:///C:/Users/Cameron/AppData/Local/Temp/622-5161-1-PB.pdf
Correct link.
link to ojs.gc.cuny.edu
Paula level with me was HRH wanna be Dan there or was it just the captain and the flute band and was ordinary mum there?
And how long before they sussed you and did they give you your money back?
Are they mad was it all groo UJ`s and posters of young Liz and did they have the sense to keep the boys from over the water away from it?
oh and excellent job haha you should write a book about your time as an undercover wings spy 🙂
CameronB Brodie wrote 16 December, 2016 at 7:28 pm
(On main thread)
“Stoker
I’m not trying to compete mate, honest, I’m just doing my thing.”
Dinny be daft noo, ffs! Interesting choice of words though, “not trying to compete”? Where the Frances did that come fae? You been skippin’ the meds again? 😀
You keep daein yer thang n we’ll get alang jist fine mucker. 😉
BTW, only just got the opportunity to respond to you because i’ve not been on site all night due to the boss hitting an extreme low and i’ve only just got her settled. Now it’s time to try and get some shuteye of my own.
@Smallaxe
Just checking in to let you know we are thinking of you and hoping you are feeling better xx
Morning Smallaxe
As Nana said just checking in to say Hi and wish you well.
Stay strong my friend and do not give that illness an inch.X
Hey, Smallaxe, if you’re about, you might enjoy this:
Think I’m in love…
Stoker
I couldn’t think of another way of saying I don’t think two legs are better than four. If I thought some animals were more equal than others I would possibly support BLiS___d and British nationalism. Just for clarity, I don’t. 😉
Softening up
Leader’s digest
One nation under St George
Miliband speech changes everything
Shiny happy people
Johann’s Hat Shop
Taking our breath away
Lamont vs reality
WOS Archives for November 2012
Baffling mystery solved
Right-wing party does well in elections
Leveson on Salmond
The partial truth
Scotland is not Slovakia
Supping with the devil
Quoted for truth
Tales From Crybaby Nation
Laughing at Paula Rose’s foray to the dark side. I imagine it like the last scene in Rosemary’s Baby with all the old fogies riled up and shouting Satan.
What were they afraid of? Everyone knowing their tactics? Or people seeing in real life the utter social ineptitude and awkwardness they exhibit day in and day out on social media.
Imagine that was the highlight of your social calendar.
It’s Saturday and if I was younger, I might be out having fun. As I’m not, here’s a Tikki inspired party for the digital age, all the way from Micronesia. You never know, some Yoon cargo-cultists out there might feel the love. 🙂
Long Play DJ Set @ Hotcast Jovem Pan Santos
P.S. Difference is getting harder to defend in the post-modern age of globalisation, is it not?
Sorry, I appear to be talking mince again. I think the mix was from Brazil but I definitely found it through my appreciation of Tikki. 🙂
@Smallaxe
Thinking of you, hoping you are feeling good today xx
Hi Smallaxe
Sending happy healing thoughts your way.
Hope you will be back chatting soon.
Take care of you.. my friend. X
Nana:
Mrs Smallaxe here just to let you and everyone who has asked after my husband know that he is not doing too well at the moment. He is severely anaemic and suffering from blurred vision and fatigue so much so that I have to read wings out to him. Hopefully, he will be back among you all shortly. I would like to give special thanks to Liz for her kind thoughts for myself. Thank you all very much for your kindness and concern. Smallaxe sends his love to you all.
Peace and Love to all xx
@Mrs Smallaxe
Thank you for updating us and please give Billy a hug from me and you must look after yourself as well.
Tell him he is in my thoughts.
@Mrs Smallaxe –
More power to you and yer man. Sending the vibes…
@Mrs Smallaxe,
Give him our love and best wishes. I pray for a speedy recovery and to opportunity to read his words of wisdom again.. A good man.xx
@ Mrs Smallaxe – wishing you both health and happiness in abundance now and over the holidays. Was missing the morning coffee time post so hope Smallaxe will be back at the keyboard soon.
Mrs Smallaxe , Hi Hun
We are all sending our love and best wishes to you both.
Thank You so much for posting an update for us.
Tell Smallaxe not to feel pressured to reply,we are just checking if he is posting or not,and bidding him good morning.
Remember to also take good care of yourself Mrs Smallaxe as often that’s what fall’s by the wayside when looking after a loved one.
Oh and just an FYI… don’t take any lip….Just tell him you will report him to us.
May the blessings of Love be on you both. X
Mrs Smallaxe, best wishes to Mr Smallaxe . Sending the vibes as well.
Mrs Smallaxe
Sorry to hear.
Hope he picks up soon and you both have a joyful Christmas period.
Best wishes from Chic
Mrs Smallaxe, sorry to hear our ain Smallaxe is not too grand at the moment. We all miss his comments. I wish him well, and remember to look after yourself as well.
All the best to both of you, I will be thinking of you.
Mrs Smallaxe I’m really sorry to hear Billy is feeling so poorly right now. Serious illness is of course a very difficult thing to cope with for all of you close to Billy as well as for himself.
Please tell him I said hello on Off Topic and am hoping he feels a bit better soon and that I look forward to reading some more of his posts.
Tell him also Wingers have adopted his signature of Peace Always.
Battleships and bunkum
A dilemma for the Tories
The turning tide
The Scotland you wish to see
Better Together leaked posters #9
Credible witnesses
As i say, not as i do
All aboard the freedom train
The scorched-earth chamber
Flog it!
The elephant in the loch
Making new friends
Fragile egos and collateral damage
The poison in Scotland’s heart
Spirit of the staircase
Crybaby Nation
Mrs Smallaxe: hope The Man is feeling better soon.
Mrs TC and I send our love to you both and all the family.
Mrs Smallaxe: thinking of you both with great love.
Smallaxe posts have been so encouraging, entertaining and interesting. Writing as a confirmed Lurker, I’ve valued the opportunity to read of his experience.
Wishing you and your family joy.
Many thanks for the update Mrs Smallaxe.
Sending all the very best wishes.
Hi Mrs Smallaxe…much peace and healing to Smallaxe, we’re all rootin’ for him here on Wings. Peace and Love to you and all who love you both.
Smallaxe.. you’re the dude.. in ur own time.
Muchos peace’os..
Top love.
X.
First of all…
Best wishes to you Smallaxe – get yourself fit enough to occupy your throne under the Wings gazebo at the next rally we all turn up for (29th April?). You did fine at Glasgow Green…
Secondly: just heard on the news that Zsa Zsa Gabor had died, at 99 years of age. Any mention of her always reminds me of the series from the early 60s, starring her sister Eva, who died in 1995.
Here’s a reminder…
Smalaxe,
Hope your strength returns soon, Mrs Axe, sounds as sharp as you! Lucky man you are!
Take care my friend, hope to see you one day at a wings meeting.
You always sign out, with love, that resonates with me.
And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not love, I am nothing.
If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.
We are on the side of the angels smallaxe, that’s what annoys them the most!
X
And as we get towards the end of 2016, maybe this wee song is the inspiration we need, going into 2017.
BDTT
The Corrie vids on YT and personal ones I uploaded 10 years ago continue to degrade technically. This should not be happening in a digitally stored archive.
My way, your way, anything goes tonight..
Retro Family Guy has just started!
And X.
@Smallaxe
Just checking in with you and Mrs Smallaxe, hoping you are doing well today xx
Mrs Smallaxe here again, thanks for all your good wishes, they have really
cheered him up and lifted his spirits it’s done him the world of good.
As a wee Christmas present to you guys from him, he is giving you all a 25% discount code to use on the Mountain Warehouse website for all your clothing, footwear, walking and camping needs…just enter the code at checkout… FAMILY3463…valid from now till the 31st of Dec.
Merry Christmas to you all from both of us.
Peace n’ Love
Morning Mrs Smallaxe
Glad to hear he is feeling a wee bit cheerier.
Thanks for your gift that everyone can share that’s so very thoughtful and so very Smallaxe.
In the meantime though….You two keep on keeping on.X
@ the Smallaxes, thinkin aboot ye!
Now here’s a funny thing
A picture of a future Scotland?
Still not getting it
Straw dogs
Imagine there’s no Union
Probably a robbery
The something for nothing country
Abide with us
Captain Darling sounds a retreat
Weekend: Bridging the funding gap
Repeating ourselves
Third time’s the charmer
Doing it deliberately
We agree with Anas Sarwar
As seen from Europe
The Sunday Quiz
Since it’s Christmas, I offer this to any Night Owls tonight. I first heard it read by Robert Powell late one night in the Seventies but I couldn’t find that version on YouTube.
It starts off quite slowly and quietly, and some of you (the lucky ones?) might well nod back off to sleep. For those who continue listening, well, good luck……
You’ve locked the back door, and closed that wee hopper window in the kitchen, haven’t you?
Haven’t you?
MWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
😛
@Smallaxe
Just checking in with you and Mrs Smallaxe. Missing your morning call. Take care xx
Morning Smallaxe.
Hope you had a comfortable night.
Sending thoughts of love and strength to you both.X
Stoker: thanks again for the WoS links.
If it’s quite straightforward, could please you tell me how to archive from the Dead Tree Press?
Tinto,
So ye want to archive….
Highlight the address bar of the article you want to archive. Right click and drop down menu appears, click ‘copy’. Open up http://archive.is (having bookmarked this, so you can repeatedly open up a fresh one when needed).
Put cursor into the long box, right click, drop down menu, click ‘paste’ to place your article URL into the box. Then click ‘save the page’. Wait for it to do its thing. You now have an archived copy of the article. If you then want to share this via mail, Wings et al, just go to the address bar of the archived article and copy ‘that’ url. That’s it. 😉
Btw you don’t have to have the article ‘open’ in your browser to do this thereby not giving the DTP any ‘clicks’ at all. Just do the same thing as above to any headline you see that you want to ‘view’ and you can then just read the ‘archived’ copy that you just created. Good way of bookmarking such links, which is just another form or archiving (saving for posterity) knowing that if that article ever ‘disappeared’ from Internet searches you will always have the ‘original’ if you see what I mean.
TC,
Let me know if K1’s help did the trick. If not i will try simplifying it further. Try practising here on O/T.
K1 and Stoker.
Thanks for all the prompt advice. Every day is a school day.
Will give it a go and bring the Dead Tree Scrolls to their rotten knees.
Was in my old neighbour’s house just there and had the gruesome experience of seeing the BBC Scotland “news”, where Sarah Smith referred to the FM as “Sturgeon”: classy lassie, eh?
NOT.
A question for Gordon
Answers for Gordon
Does NHS Scotland need independence?
How very dare we?
A tiny epiphany
We got a birthday card!
A late-night hypothetical
We are one
WOS Archives for December 2012
2012 in numbers
2012: WTF? Of The Year
2012: Clue Of The Year
2012: Repeat Fee Of The Year
The devil you know
Chicken elections: recount ordered
Dear Scotsman journalists
Thanks, guys!
link to archive.is
I owe you each a drink the next time we meet in a vile cybersep drinking den.
@ Tinto, many thanks for the Mezzotint, it’ll be a restless night kid! whoooooooooooo
Hi Tinto Chiel (and others).
RE: archiving at ‘archive.is’. If, after clicking on the “Save the page” button, you get the message that “This page was last archived 1 year ago” or any period up to NOW, DO NOT click on “Save the page again” button.
If you do, the old saved version will be overwritten with the new version. There have been umpteen examples where lies have been called out and web site content changed, sometimes within minutes/hours. Just click on the X in the top right corner of the pop-up box to cancel your archive and retain the original.
We want to keep the original version archived, not lost to a newer version, which may not contain the original material.
Onnyhoo, typing about archiving. There is a “not for profit” organisation that has been archiving the web since the mid 90s. It is known as the “Internet Archive” and can be found at:-
link to archive.org
The difference between the Internet Archive and ‘archive.is’ is that the Internet Archive regularly sends out bots to capture web pages and keeps ALL versions of the web pages it captures. It’s been on the go since the mid-90s and has archived billions of pages.
Thus, you can enter a URL (web address) into its search box and, if it has captured the page, you will get a calendar of all the captures, that you can explore to your heart’s content.
I had reason to go there yesterday (A “Sun” page) and, for the first time in my experience, they are seeking donations to carry on the work, including building a server farm in Canada as a backup to their California operation. So I donated $5 via PayPal, for all the help they have been in the past. BTW: they have a sponsor who is matching all contributions dollar for dollar.
To give you an example…
A band from Dundee called “St Andrew & The Woolen Mill” had their own wee web site for a while 15-20 odd years ago. When their host had a reorganisation, their web site was deleted. However, the Internet Archive had captured the site (mind you, not all the graphics) while it was active and preserved it for the benefit of us all.
Their web site’s address was:-
link to members.aol.com
If you click on that link, you will be taken to a generic AOL page, coz the web site has expired, is no more, has died, is an ex-web site, so dinnae bathir. However, if you copy and paste the address below into your web browser’s address bar, you’ll find this page:-
link to web.archive.org
You can click on the links to get all the archived pages.
The Internet Archive is well worth a couple of quid. There’s piles of stuff there, including movies, audio, documents (Dundee Directories from Victorian times) and so on.
End of informational rant.
Ghosts (Live) link to youtube.com
@ Smallaxe. Thinking of you and missing your great music and pearls of wisdom. Haste ye back soon. link to youtube.com
This ones for all you Smilers out there. link to youtube.com
Hey Smallaxe
Was buggering about on the tinternet at stupid o’clock and was thinking about you.
So just popped over to OT to say Hi.X
When the day is Short. link to youtube.com
@Smallaxe
Good morning Billy, sending good vibes your way xx
I’ve lost track of the number of places I posted this last night, anyways please pass it on and spread it around – our lovely Lindsay who climbed the rock in Edingurgh to place the Yes sign on high…
Mrs Smallaxe here again just to let you all know I am reading your messages out to him daily. Thank you all again for kind wishes. Every day he improves a little. I am hoping before long he will be back among you (and I can get a wee bit of peace haha) Thank you all once again. Peace n Love Xxx
@Mrs Smallaxe
Good to hear Billy is getting stronger. You take care of yourself Mrs Smallaxe xx
Hi Mrs Smallaxe.
Good to hear from you again.
Sending love to you both and a wee reminder that it’s winter solstis….So after today we have less darkness and more light.. I wish you the same in your life.
Well … Unless you are an auld cynic like me and this just means that the damm bird’s will be twittering earlier and be one more thing that keeps you from sleeping..
What say you Smallaxe??
Thanks for all the info, Brian: will do.
Fred, if you survived last night, don’t go into Room 13.
Fred? Fred?
Glad Smallaxe is getting better, Mrs S. Tell him if he doesn’t get out of bed soon I’ll start telling my terrible jokes, and they’re worse than Andrew McLean’s e.g.:
A man walked into a bar.
Ow!
It was an iron bar.
See what I mean?
Tinto, the window of the library was wide open this morning, I shall be reading the riot after cook brings the kedgeree in. Either the butler has been having a fly puff at my Passing Clouds or there’s dirty work afoot!
@Tinto Chiel
Listened to the mezzotint yesterday whilst baking. Now I’m hooked, going to listen to Lost hearts when I’m cooking later.
Unlike Fred, Nana’s towers does not employ a butler so I’m maid of all sorts and generally skivvy about this house.
Jokes ye say…old wans are the best…
A group of chess enthusiasts booked into a hotel and were standing in the lobby discussing their tournament victories. After an hour the manager comes out and asks them to disperse. “But why?” they asked. “Because,” says he, “I can’t stand chess nuts boasting in an open foyer”
(coats oan)
@K1 –
Ahm gonny torment abody wi a tortuous extension of that – esp the relatives I’d rather not have to see.
Suffer, ya bams, suffer!
Ach ah see that wee joke made it tae iScot’s twitter and on tae the Rev’s tae! The sound of a ‘tortuous extension’ boggles ma heid IanB…go fur it! 🙂
(oh an ta for the credit iScot, tbh ah found it years and years ago on t’internet… 😉 )
Hi Mrs Smallaxe,
I’m very pleased to hear that Smallaxe is improving a bit, that’s good news indeed. Hopefully we will hear from him in person in a reasonable time.
Peace & love to both of you, and Merry Christmas.
I’m the same as Nana, cooking and baking and being a general factotum. Might not get much time to post just now, but I always find a wee bit time for a read.
@K1 –
Oh, fret not friend, I will…
There’s one particularly soor-faced fanny I have in mind. Hates jokes. Won’t even read out the one from his cracker hat.
He’s getting it both barrels, a full five-minute version, with frequent asides and diversions. He’ll be greetin’ all over his mince pie by the time I’m done with him.
Hoots!
Right, Smallaxe, git aff yer erchie, ye’ve bin skiving enough.
Some right-hand man you are, eh! Here’s a wee tune for you and yer queen (Mrs Smallaxe). Up ye git and dance the night away.
Eternal – I Wanna Be The Only One
Nana: Lost Hearts is very spooky. Are you sure you want to? Hope I’m not too late.
You made me laugh with your Passing Clouds, Fred. When my dad was in the money he would smoke them and the packet was a real cracker.
Open window? Probs nothing to worry about.
I hope.
Question for all the techies out there.
Is there a way i can save several favourites to my bookmark bar at the top of the page (already done) and continue to save important archived articles without them appearing on my bookmark bar and where i can access them quickly and easily?
Think most browsers have option within the ‘Bookmarks’ tab itself that allow you to ‘add bookmark folder’ Stoker. I’ve found this the best way of ‘grouping’ under various headings anything I want to save without it being on my ‘favourites’ bar. Before the last hard drive went kaput I had folders with such ‘headings’ as ‘What the Tory bastards are up to Brexit wise’ and ‘Scottish Parly’. Ye get the drift? That way you can store similar related topics under that folder instead of winding yer way doon endless lists of bookmarks. (hope that helps 😉
K1
Cheers, mucker, i’ll look into that because that’s exactly what i’m aiming to do. I plan to create several files under SNHS, WMD and BUM FUD lies etc etc. I’ll work on it over the weekend and let you know how i got on. Thanks again!
2012: Death Of The Year
2012: Will we die after independence?
2012: Paid Troll of The Year
2012: Socialist Unity Of The Year
2012: Jumping the gun
2012: Moderator Of The Year
If you’re away from the zeitgeist
2012: Sinister positionings
2012: Teacher Of The Year
2012: Question Of The Year
Vote No for prosperity?
Rushing to judgement
Last chance to see
Monkeys obscured by peanuts
Scottish Labour policy adjustment
The condensed Lamont
A thousand years from now, who’ll know the difference?
Wonder if Scotland will still be Independent.
Morning Smallaxe
Hope you had a restful night.
Also hope that you Mrs Smallaxe got some sleep.
Have always ment to say..If there is anything practical that we can do…Will you please just ask.
All my love to you both.XX
@Smallaxe
Hoping you are feeling stronger this morning Billy. Need you back on the main thread to put the kettle on!
Wishing you and your family a Happy Christmas xx
@Tinto Chiel
I survived the story telling, looking over my shoulder in the bathroom from now on though! I will be listening to another one today. Thanks for the headsup although my nerves could be somewhat frayed by years end.
Merry Crimbo Tinto and remember plenty water with it!
Mrs Smallaxe, dictating his words.
My heart is full of love for all of you, your messages have gone a long way towards my healing.Thank you all so very much.I hope to be back online soon, we have a war to fight and win.Have a great holiday.
I leave you with a song from one of my favourite charities.
Peace and Love Always to all of you, my friends
Nana and family: have a great Christmas but don’t go into Room 13. Fred has gone all quiet and I fear the worst. And don’t worry about the whisky: Mrs TC has me under strict supervision. The regime includes organic cabbage water and isometric bending-exercises per dram. If you could airlift me some of your buttermilk scones I reckon I can make it to New Year.
Smallaxe and Family: I hope you all have a good Christmas and that The Man is back soon with his brilliant bulletins.
@Tinto Chiel
Keep watching the skies for emergency scone drop!
Blimey I hope Fred is ok. We can’t have wingers going missing, all hands on deck in the new year.
Best wishes to you & your family and that goes doubly for long suffering Mrs Tinto!
Right back to hear what Count Magnus is up to…oooh [shivers]
I’ve had to let Fraser the butler go, cook caught him last night handing six bottles of crusted port out of the library window to a stout lassie from the village named Jackie, she heard a female voice call “Murdo” from the shrubbery & unleashed Hugo the mastiff, we got the port back & Hugo came back with an enormous pair of shredded knickers in his mouth & looking very pleased with himself indeed. Fraser has been sent packing with no reference from me, his nocturnal flute-playing upset the dogs anyhow & Rennie the Boots will have to cover his duties over Xmas. A temporary arrangement I’m afraid as he’s no earthly use & only fit for polishing the knobs. Best wishes to all.
A letter to the Herald
Jackie Baillie is a liar
The Christmas spirit?
Stupid, stupid, stupid
New blogroll additions
Lying with the truth
Opting in with Johann Lamont
So long, and thanks for all the fish?
Lies piled on top of lies
Full text of the Deputy First Minister’s
ministerial statement on EU membership
Unionist of the day #2
The more things change
The Thursday papers
A letter from the European Commission
Britishness riots coming to Scotland?
The devil’s advocates
Thanks, Nana. “Long-suffering”? It must be like being married to George Clooney! :jazz:
Count Magnus=Rank Badjin.
Glad you’re still with us, Fred. Never trust a Tory with the crusted port. At least Rennie the chamois-wielder has found his level.
I meant 😛 so I offer you all a non-seasonal favourite:
Keeping things ‘off-topic’…
My cousin went off to Edinburgh Uni in 1969. On her first trip home, for Christmas 1969, she brought 4 new things back to Dundee.
1. A strange new accent, that involved finishing sentences with the interrogative statement, “Yah?”.
2. Her future husband, Phil.
3. The Snakebite.
4. The ‘Blood Transfusion’.
The first two are self-explanatory so I will address 3 and 4. This comment came about because I have had ‘The Royle Family’ on and the question was asked, “Is a snakebite half of cider and half of lager, or half of lager and half of cider?”
So wrong and indicative of the inability to hold drink of many of our cousins from south of the border! When my cousin came back from Edinburgh, the drink we rapidly adopted was the snakebite, coz two pints and you were well merry.
THAT snakebite was a bottle of Carlsberg Special Brew in a pint glass, topped up to a pint with cider. I’ve just Googled “Carlsberg Special Brew” and found this at the web site below:
“Beer type
Strong pilsner
Alcohol by volume (ABV)
9.0 %
Origin
Carlsberg UK
Available since
Special Brew was originally brewed by the Danes for Winston Churchill. His visit to Copenhagen in 1950 was commemorated with a ‘special’ brew produced in his honour. Originally called V-øllet (V-Beer), the drink followed the Danish tradition of producing a new beer to celebrate outstanding events such as a royal occasion or European coronation. Churchill’s favourite drink was cognac, so in brewing him a commemorative beer, the brewers at Carlsberg created a stronger lager with cognac flavours among its tasting notes.
At Christmas in 1952 Special Brew was launched throughout Denmark, and has been available in the UK since the ’70’s. Special Brew is a full bodied, fruity tasting, strong lager with a good clean bitterness.”
link to carlsberggroup.com
So, at 9%, you can see why 17 and 18 year olds were particularly affected in a merry manner by a couple of “real” snakebites.
The ‘Blood Transfusion’ is/was a pint of lager “with two shots of Redex’, ie blackcurrant. It had no greater affect than plain house lager but was drunk as a conversation opener.
My point is that anyone who claims that a snakebite is half and half lager and cider is a Jessie…
OK, seeing as I’m on a roll, here are my Christmas music offerings.
Close your eyes and enjoy this:
“A bird on Christmas Day”:
As I posted the link for Greg Lake’s Christmas song last week, here’s my other favourite Christmas song – chosen because, like many of my favourite tracks, it was never a hit. Lovely put together track though.
BDTT wrote:
“My point is that anyone who claims that a snakebite is half and half lager and cider is a Jessie…”
When i lived in Inverness a popular sherbet used to be:
In a pint glass: half lager + half cider + a dash of blackcurrent = A pint of diesel. (licky lips face thingy).
Hi Smallaxe
Hope you are feeling better today.
Been over on the main thread moaning about that senseable Dave guy , don’t know if you are aware but he is being A pain..A gain…
So I haven’t really been on much since he showed up.
But have Still been thinking of you and Mrs Smallaxe.
Nae Pressure…But
Haste ye back.XX
Civic nationalism vs British nationalism
The thunder of the guns
Scots would remain EU citizens
Unionist of the day
Some brief facts about the EU
Dead nuclear trigger storage
The doomsayers and the damage done
A curious transformation
The real threat to EU membership
Sometimes it’s all just too much
When push comes to shove
Scotsman proofreader vacancy still open
Why only independence can save our NHS
The masses against the classes
Onwards and upwards
WOS archive links will be back on 08/01/17.
‘Snakebite’ ‘Diesel’….Gentlemen allow me to intoduce J.P. Chenet ‘ice edition’ Demi Sec – Medium Dry….upgrade now…..burp.
At,sick squid…a wee belter.
An atheist’s choice at Christmas:
Hope the Night Owls enjoy…..
To all my fellow nutters on off topic, thank you so much for the kind wishes, music and jokes that you sent to me over the past couple of weeks, you have no idea just how much it meant to myself and my wife.I have a great urge to meet you all and thank you personally, I hope that you all have a deservedly great time over the holiday period.
Our love to all of you, for your thoughtfulness my Friends.
“Our most basic common link is that we all inhabit this planet. We all breathe the same air. We all cherish our children’s future. And we are all mortal.” John F. Kennedy
@Smallaxe
Here’s an old one from OT first played by Ian Brotherhood. If you’ve not see it before then it’s well worth a watch.
Andre Rieu, Amazing Grace.
I’ve changed my Gravatar – just for the festive period.
Hi Smallaxe.
Good to see you posting again! Hope you enjoyed the ‘music’ I posted on the 22nd at 10.25pm.
Best wishes to you and Mrs Smallaxe.
Thepnr and BDTT:
Thanks, guys, I appreciate your posts, my wife played all the music on O/T
to me when my eyes went weird, the doc.pumped me full of Vb.12 so I can see a lot clearer now.I have picked a song for you all on O/T, Sometimes words just fail me when I try to tell you all how much your posts meant to me.
Thanks again my Friends.
Peace Always
Smallaxe have a ‘Natty’ Christmas my friend,a wee prezzie.
m.youtube.com/watch?v=I0Y9Dl7eFQg
Hey Smallaxe so nice to see you posted.
Thanks for the song and your good wishes,which are sent right back at ya…My friend…All the best to you and your’s for the holidays.XX
Smallaxe: glad your eyes are better.
I promise, no more jokes.
Hope Santa is good to you and the fambly.
Cheersmedears.
Smallaxe, I sent you some greetings but they seem to have vanished into room 101?
@Smallaxe –
Orraverybestest to you and yours.
Slainte!
Rick Parfitt sadly passed away today. A very early song from the Quo as a wee tribute.
2016, eh? The year that just kept on taking. I’ll not be forgetting this year for a while. Still, we’ve Indyref to prepare for.
Hi Thepnr.
Just heard the news half an hour ago. Another rock legend away to the great gig in the sky. And there’s still a week left of 2016. That’s some band that’s forming up there…
Onnyhoo, I’ll go even earlier than you – here are a couple from, firstly, 1967, then 1966, before they changed their name to Status Quo.
Hi Brian
When i listened to your first link I thought right away of Black Night by Deep Purple and that they must have ripped it off from Status Quo.
A little digging though and I found this by Ricky Nelson from 1962.
“Summertime” an amazing song by Gershwin composed in 1934 and covered more than 33,000 times apparently!!
Summertime by Ricky Nelson:
The original by Gershwin:
Your last link I (Who have Nothing) is also a cover, wasn’t long though before Staus Quo found their own niche eh.
Hi Thepnr.
I had the Ricky Nelson clip all ready to go! Good sleuthing by Alex! I found out about it via a guy called Colin Cattenach AKA “Cone”, a year or three ago, when we were discussing that riff on Facebook. He’s a couple of decades younger than me but has a phenomenal knowledge of pop/rock, inspired by his elder siblings. I’ve known him since my Jaspers days in the 90s.
He also plays guitar in the Dundee band “Sin City Blues Band”. Here’s a video I captured of them 4 years ago, doing an appropriate song for today. I always thought Cone bore an uncanny resemblance to Greg Lake – not really clear in the video.
BTW: Cone’s the guy on extreme left in the video.
@BDTT
That was great, brought a smile to my face. It’s like…real life an all.
The one we know best probably.
Black Night Deep Purple in 1970.
Here’s an alternative to the Queen’s speech. 😉
link to tau.ac.il
Good morning festive folks!
Aye, so, I went to London recently, thought I‘d share with you a few things that I found.. this fine day.
Departed Glasgow Central on the Independent Express, which was one of them speedy tilty-trains (the whole train was covered with advertising for the Independence Day ~ Resurgence movie.. quality aye!)
On some inner-city London train tracks, the carriage step is not flush with the platform. You have to step down onto the train and step up to get off, otherwise you’d fall on your face, hmm how does that work for disabled access, or not as the case may be?
You can pay to use many public transport systems by scanning your plastic account card upon entry.
Other than at the top of the big buildings, I was surprised at the lack of UJ flags / merch on display in the streets (let alone the few St. Georges cross flags) I reckoned the UJ flags would be everywhere.. like they are here on punnets of berry-fruits… nope, but then I guess hey they don’t need to.
The River Thames was a lot wider and choppier than I had imagined from ground level. Lots of boat activity on the water, some cracking working long-boats on the canals too.
Lots of people wear some form of hat or tother.
All Scottish pound notes sterling were tendered as payment with no quibbles, smiles in fact.
Went to see a gig at Wembley.. good venue, good show, good crowd.
All good, no final punch-lines and the people seemed to be cool with me and my mischievousness, so that’s good too 😉
I will return to London one day, some day.. but only now after Scotland becomes independent.. to see what has or hasn’t changed down south, but not before we‘ve reclaimed our rightful independence.
Anyroads, the best part of the mini-adventure was touching back down on Scotland in my home city of Glasgow, that feeling beats them all.
Cheers.
X.
Merry Xmas Cactus, hope ye’re no a sophisticate noo?
Merry Christmas ti yi, Cactus! And to any other off-topickers who may stumble in here today…
Happy Christmas to all who celebrate it, and if you don’t I wish you all the best that you would wish for yourself,
I was so happy to see you posted Small Axe, please give my best regards to your good lady, and you take care.
And to those who think it’s something to with Iron Age goat herders, I also am planning some drunken debauchery later! But promise to keep it festive!
Cactus, Fred, Brian and Andrew:
Have a great day guys.Thanks again for all your support.
Peace, Love and Let’s get Pissed 🙂
@Smallaxe
“Let’s get Pissed” Aye I’ll drink to that!
Have a good one all you vile cybernats 🙂 🙂
Smallaxe
Then rember to give Scotland a Toast.
To a free Country….And a Happy one
To good Government …..And an Honest One.
To a Fine Whisky….And Another One.
Have a great day my friend.XX
Best wishes to all my Wings friends, those I’ve met and those I’ve still to meet. What an amazing second family you are, one and all.
Merry Christmas to all – for those of you still waiting for the beast in the oven. This article is both interesting and amusing – warning, fairly long correspondence, but worth it.
link to spidercatweb.blog
@Thepnr. Merry Christmas to you and yours Alex. link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe
I’m humbled. Thanks a muchness Michael that was a great version of a great song.
“I’ve got a feeling this years for me and you” and all that support an Independent Scotland!! Xmas me arse you scumbag and maggot! 🙂
@ Paula Rose. Someone wants to send you a Message. link to youtube.com
@ Smallaxe. good to see you back posting again. festive greetings to you and your Family. link to youtube.com
@ Ian Brotherhood I know you like to dance so here is a wee Christmas tune for you. link to youtube.com
Eric Idles Xmas song. Probably the most offensive Xmas song ever, so don’t listen if easily offended. Just felt like a change, a bit of an alternative like. Ken? LOL
Michael McCabe:
Seasons Greetings, to You and to Those you Love Michael.
Peace Always
Michael McCabe you lovely man you are now in my top 10 wingmen, Smallaxe and Thepnr no fretting your places are still assured.
Where have you heard it before?
Colony House – You Know It
A merry Christmas and a happy New Year, particularly to the turkeys that escaped.
@Smallaxe
I hope you’ve been feeling well enough to have enjoyed today with your family and friends. I thought you might like this legend of a singer as much as I do.
This is for you and Mrs Smallaxe, enjoy.
Thepnr:
Thanks pnr, I’ve had a great afternoon with my grandchildren it doesn’t get better than that.
I hope you have had as good a day as I have.
Here’s a track that is played very rarely, it’s a sad one, but have always liked it.
Peace Always
@ Ronnie Anderson Brian Doonthetoon & Pete the Camera. If there is some kind of Social gathering going on 9 times out of 10 you 3 will turn up erect a stall and start Promoting Wings over Scotland. So I have named you the Stallwarts of Wings. spelling mistake intended but stalwarts you are. Anyway this one is for you 3. link to youtube.com
@Smallaxe
Almost 40 years ago I made a mistake that could have defined my life but it didn’t or maybe it did?
I was a 17 year old and hitch hiked to London for the England v Scotland game in 1977. The night before the match with nowhere to sleep and not much cash in my pocket I just stuck with all the Scotland supporters who were in the same boat, but that bit older.
There was a wee bit of a ruckus near to Trafalgar Square and stupidly I got involved. Anyway it was a first offence but I got a three month sentence in a detention centre in Kent, in Scotland I would have expected a slap on the wrist. This though was meant to be a short sharp shock as they said in they days.
It was there though that I witnessed one of the cruelest things I’ve ever seen and the song you posted reminded me of it.
I got letters almost everyday, so many in fact I was warned that it was too many? Others didn’t, and one guy in particular never got any, ever.
The letters would be handed out at lunchtime, they read your number then your name. One day the officer had handed out all the letters except one. He read out this guys number and name while holding the last letter.
The smile on this guys face would have lit up a room on it’s own, people were actually clapping and laughing as they had felt his pain but were so happy for him to finally have got a letter.
He got to the officer and tried to take the letter. The officer says “No, there’s nothing for you today either” and laughed at him, then called out another name. The atmosphere was unreal, the silence deafening.
There are plenty cruel bastards out there and lonely people too, that’s what Johnny Cash sings about.
I was guilty of assaulting a policeman, he had a hold of my younger brother at the time and it was an automatic response that I wish had never happened. However, it did and fortunately I was able to return home and get on with things like finishing my apprenticeship.
I do have some sympathy for those not so lucky, those without a caring family, friends or a job. That can’t be easy.
Scotland.
X.
Love everybuddy!
Thepnr:
I got cold chills through me whilst reading your Post.Short version: I was wending my way home from a party in the Springburn area of Glasgow (stoned).The year 1969, I was listening to a little transistor radio, the tune that was playing was “Bad Moon Rising”.
Two guys ran across the road and tried to grab me, I put up a fight.
Turned out they were plain clothes policemen, at that time they were known as “The Untouchables”, a special squad set up at that time to handle the street gangs.
Anyway like yourself, Police Assault was the charge, after a doctor had sewn up my head with 27 stitches from wounds left by their batons.I did some of my three months sentence in Longriggend remand home and the rest of it in Barlinnie.Some of the most evil people in both establishments that I encountered were the staff.
I hope we get to discuss our similar experiences face to face soon.Like you, I also got to meet some unfortunate souls in these places, a fair few of the people that I met were quite obviously mentally ill and would have done better with Psychiatric help, rather than just being locked away.
On a lighter note, if you are still awake at 12amjoin me in a dram.
I have said before on here,10 days before my 64th birthday my drs said that I had less than 6mths to live.In 10mins or so I will be 66 and dont plan on going anywhere, anytime soon. 🙂
Peace Always my Friend
That’ll be Christmas. link to youtube.com
To your health Smallaxe
And to charging our glasses
Same time next year? X
Hi Michael McCabe.
Kind words – thank you! Just to let you know (1).
Pete has not had a good year. He spent most of the summer in hospital but managed to get to the Edinburgh rally in October. He’s stuck in hospital again, until after the New Year, with a VERY contagious Flu-type infection.
Just to let you know (2).
The first kinda pro-indy rally that I’m aware of in 2017 is on Sunday, 26th March – A ‘BBC Bias’ demo at Pacific Quay, organised by Moira and friends, who organised the BBC demos in 2014.
All I know so far is that it’s from 2pm till 4pm, although “something” may be taking place before that, leading up to 2pm. Jock Scot – “Yew Choob” will be the compère.
No doubt Ronnie will post more details as he gets them.
Hi liz:
I hope you had a great Winter Solstice.Lets hope for a better year next year, Independence is so close that I can Taste it.Thank you for your continued support, it meant more than I can express.
I have A glass of cognac in mt hand, so “Here’s to Us, Wha’s like us”
Peace Always Dear Friend
Peace Always
Harmony appears to have broken out. Vile, frankly.
SHIRLEY GUNTER AND THE QUEENS – THAT’S THE WAY I LIKE IT link to youtube.com
Smallaxe.XXX
Mrs Smallaxe.XXX
Their real you know.
Peace Always
@ Smallaxe I had a double Courvoisier just after Midnight. Happy Birthday link to youtube.com
No matter how big a pair you might think you have. I’d bet that they are smaller than you think.
If we’re going to win then make it possible. Just do it and stop dithering.
Cheers BDTT et Fred..
I still opt to eat with my fingers..
Cutlery not required.
X.
Sing along to the music that you love..
It’s SO good.
Tis almost five oh clock..
@Smallaxe
We good.
X.
Cactus:
we’re always good:
Peace always
Michael McCabe:
I missed your greetings last night, I thought everyone had gone.Thank you.
Maybe catch up with you later, my Friend.
Peace Always
Another one taken away in this dreadful year, farewell George Michael. ere’s one of his best, an excellent Christmas song:
George Michael and Wham – “Last Christmas”
Morning Smallaxe
Hope you had a good night’s sleep,and didn’t over indulge yesterday.
Remember we need you match fit for Indy Ref 2!
Tell Mrs Smallaxe to put her feet up today I’ll wager she deserves it more than she usually does.
Smallaxe writing of cognac, and Michael McCabe mentioning Courvoisier reminded me of the The Who’s bassist John Entwistle.
The reason being that Entwistle fixed a pair of cycling water bottles onto his microphone stand, so that he would always be hydrated during concerts.
Being a rocker, however, one of his bottles contained brandy…
The Who – Baba O’Riley (1975):
(You can see the bottles from about 55secs into the video.)
Photo:
AND IF ANYONE IS FEELING A BIT FRAGILE THIS MORNING, WAKEY WAKEY, I’M 100% SOBER AND HAVE NO SYMPATHY! (TYPES AS LOUDLY AS POSSIBLE)
David @ 11.08
Shhhh…..
@David
Well spotted, have a stoatir of a hangover this morning. Never mind, hair of the dog will take care of that.
Got a pair of slippers (again) for Xmas, happy as larry 🙂
K1
When you return to base once your festive frolics are over i need some advice. I think i’ve mastered it but have 2 ways of doing it.
Meanwhile, am away to try and catch up on some Zzzzzzzzzzzz’s.
Happy Birthday Smallaxe
Hey Paula! This is for you.
Paula Rose:
Thank you, Paula.x
Peace and Love to You, and Those to whom You give Your Love
Peace Always
Probably the first chance for Wingers to get together in 2017.
Thanks, BDTT. Looking forward to it.
Proud Cybernat’s Misreporting Scotland stickers are coming in useful, although my sausage fingers struggle with the backing paper.
A good new read for vile cybernats is Thomas Muir of Huntershill: Essays for the 21st Century by G. Carruthers et al, just out. Mr Salmond has an essay. Got it for Christmas.
Also, the Pevsner Architectural series has just brought out its last area guide, on Lanarkshire and Renfrewshire. It’s not just architecture but geology, social and political history.
Well seen that two of the most populous and politically rebellious counties in Scotland are relegated to last spot in the whole series but I can’t say I’m surprised. The variety of architecture is quite amazing, and the people who made it.
Me, I’m waiting for the great leap forward.
I hope it’s 2017, when the people of Scotland finally realise it’s a polarised choice: the bright sun of self-determination or the Eternal Night of Toryism.
Not a hard choice, it seems to me.
Happy Birthday, Smallaxe, you have caught up with me age-wise.
Much love to you and Mrs.Smallaxe.
Still Positive:
Thank You, for your kind wishes my Friend.
Peace, Love and Happiness to You and to Those You Love
Morning Smallaxe.
Isn’t it strange not to have Nana around in the morning.
I don’t begrudge her a break!!!dont get me wrong, it’s just not normal to look in and not see you and her bantering!!
Anyhoo..Hope you are keeping well and not over doing it.
Actually strike that….Over do it to your heart’s content.xx
Love to MRS Smallaxe.xx
liz:
I’ve been trying to catch up with Nana since the 23rd, I hope she is enjoying her break, it’s well deserved but I’m missing my links of a morning.
We are doing fine liz (thanks for asking)I hope all is well with you.xx
Peace Always my Dear Friend
Hi Liz G & Smallaxe,
I agree, you really miss Nana’s links of a morning. I expect she’ll be relaxing with her family. Hope she’s enjoying herself.
Smallaxe, nice to see you posting again. I hope you are feeling a wee bit more chipper, and that you and Mrs Smallaxe had an enjoyable Christmas.
My family just left around lunchtime, so I’m getting caught up with the wingers. Nice to be back, and get a wee bit time to myself.