Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
liz g:
Only to be used for Medicinal Porpoises.
Peace Always
Good Night
Peace Always
Smallaxe
Ofcourse
Night hun
Good morning everybody:
Sill sleeping?
Peace Always
Smallaxe
“As for the other question,how fast would you like it”
a-màireach
Mañana
You got me on the Romanian though, don’t have any of that.
Should have been
Tha mi an dochas…
or
Tha mi’n dochas…
Chic McGregor:
It’s Roma Chic,loosly translated it means,”when surrounded by the gadgie the only defence a gypsy has is his tongue”
Peace Always
Chic McGregor:
O lov tai o beng nashti beshen patshasa
Neither the devil nor money remain in Peace
Peace Always
a-màireach is another day,Scarlet O’Hara.
Peace Always
Roma? is that the same as Romany as in the Romany gypsies? and is it related to Romanian at all?
Googled it.
Romani’s came orginally from North India and are ethnically different from Romanians. The language is also completely different from the Latin based Romanian, it is more related to Hindi and Greek.
As well as the phonetically engendered confusion between Romanians and Romani, it is also the case that Romani make up one of the larger minorities in Romania.
There are about 7 dialects of Romani which may be considered different languages.
Chic McGregor:
Well done Chic,I used to run a club for the Roma,I also had the privilege of catering for their Christenings and Weddings on several occasions,trust me,there was no big fat anything involved.
PS I have eaten hedgehog with some of them.
Peace Always
Smallaxe, thanks for your Kinks @11.38.
I have a confession to make, my friend and can’t keep it in any longer: I used to play cricket, for Thornliebank CC in the infamous and mean Glasgow and District League. We played at Stanalane by Rouken Glen. It’s not something I’m proud of but *pauses to wipe away tear*…….
In my defence, there was a Radio Malt shortage in EK at the time and they’d just discontinued Old Fashioned Spangles. I suppose I was a bit vulnerable and just easily led.
Of course, I quickly became an all-rounder: couldn’t bat, couldn’t bowl, couldn’t field.
Hope you can forgive me, or to put it another way:
Tinto Chiel:
Peace Always
Fanx, man, fanx *snivels into hankie*.
Now, about my Des O’Connor LP collection…….
I’ve taken that too far, haven’t I?
I’ll…get…my…
@Loki
Don’t be another tool in the master’s box! Need I say more?
link to pambazuka.org
Tinto:
could be worse
cant think wot
Peace Always
CameronB: thanks for that link. I can follow that so I’m saving it. Sometimes I find sociological terms a bit difficult to understand.
Smallaxe:”Cant think wot.”
“Mmmmm, (Homer Simpson voice) that gives me an idea….”
How about Nigel Farage in a Union Jack mankini doing a raunchy exercise video?
My name is Tinto Chiel and I claim my cigar.
Tinto Chiel
Glad you appreciated that. 😉
Cameron: any interesting “terms” for Loki?
Or shouldn’t I ask?
Brace…brace…brace!
Tinto Chiel
A bit bewildered and misguided perhaps? Appears to have fallen in with a bad crowd but there’s hope for the yout yet. 😉
Tinto Chiel:
This is the best that I could do to grant your wish.
Peace Always
I will have all the great Rock’n’Roll on my Not Fade Away programme tonight so lay your zimmers aside for http://www.argyllradio.co.uk from 8pm to 9pm. Three each from Bill Haley, Buddy Holly, Chuck Berry, Everly Brothers, Jerry Lee Lewis. Little Richard.
Dave McEwan Hill
Hope you’ve not felt I’ve been trying to poach your audience Dave, and that you’ve been enjoying some of the tracks I’ve posted.
Cameron: your wink said it all. 😛
Smallaxe: too scared to look, after the content warning. Is it Farage and the Trumpster together on a unicorn?
DMH: thanks for that. I’ve WD40’d my zimmer and am rarin’ to go. Can I get it on DAB?
Tinto Chiel:
YA BIG FEARTIE! 🙂
Peace Always
Smallaxe: hehehehehehehehehee!
Pax vobiscum.
😛
Dave McEwan Hill:
I’m surprised that Buddy Holly never recorded this
Peace Always
DMH:
Here’s another version by Paul McCartney and Dave Gilmour
Peace Always
Tinto:
You peeked, didn’t you!
Pax vobis
No..no.. of course not. Why would I? I mean…
No, never.
Gosh , look at that big spider.
Meanwhile, in other news…..
Tinto:
How to get rid of Spiders,and Flies
Peace Always
Hey, Smallaxe, are you Uncle Mac in disguise?
You know, like this:
Tinto:
have that cigar,your correct at last.
Peace Always
Tinto:
heeers uncle Mack
Peace Always
Anyhow, my elder daughter is 28 tomorrow. Where do all the years go, groovers?
When she was wee, she had blonde hair, so this is her tune:
Sometimes it’s quite good being an old guy.
Och, Smallaxe, you’re a very, very bad boy.
In this fashion…….
Tinto:
I have all his albums 🙂
Peace Always
Tinto:
It was my star signs fault
Peace Always
Och, you’re just a big softy too, Smallaxe, ya Big Softy.
To change the subject in a hurriedly male fashion, Motherwell play Partick Thistle at Fir Park tomorrow, 3.00 kick off.
Smallaxe?
Smallaxe?
Sheesh! Where’d he go?
Was it something I said?
Smallaxe: Oh, I see…
Have to say, King is the king. Great voice. To my shame, haven’t heard that before. In my faves now.
All that pain, angst and rejection…..
Was he a ‘Well fan?
Tinto:
No, he was not a fan of football,his passion used to be Tractors,but he went off them.He is now an ex-tractor fan.
It’s ok I’ve already got ma coat oan 🙂
Peace Always
Smallaxe at 6.59
Yes. The Vipers Skiffle Group originally who dropped the skiffle bit. They had an interesting line-up with George Martin involved at some point. That sounds quite like sort of early rockabilly sort of song that Buddy might have done with Decca before he went to Norman Petty and Coral Records.
Tinto. It’s online only on your broadband or smart phone.
Seeing as the 50’s are being referenced, here are a couple of rockabilly tracks I came across in the late 70’s. They seemed to be enjoyed by my student audience at the time…
Dave McEwan Hill:
I had heard the McCartney/Gilmour version first,so I did a bit of research
and found that the original was made about 2yrs before Buddy died.I thought that it was made for him.
ps I listened to your station tonight and signed up for it. It’s Cool Man.
DMH:MY BAD
Peace Always 🙂
BDTT:
Liked both,but barkin up the wrong tree,does it for me.
Peace Always
Hi Smallaxe.
Of course, rockabilly evolved and, by the 1980/90’s, had become psychobilly.
In case you missed them in the 80/90’s, here are three examples for you.
Was your quiff ever like that displayed in the last link?
8=)
Thanks for the heads up re AUSTIN, Michael
Peace always
Excuse me for not referring to most recent comments, haven’t yet got up to date…
Just wanted to drop this in. Curious wee snippet featuring Lene Lovich/Stiff Tour, and what she says will resonate with many of us, ‘I just felt I was part of a family’.
I really believe we’re doing something very similar to what she was a part of, even if most of us aren’t quite as beautiful.
BDTT:
HI Brian, my quiff is still like that one,only thing is,it’s on my comb instead of my head.
Peace Always
Paolo Nutini:Dont let me down
Peace Always
Some of the eagle-eyed among you may be able to help me here.
This is Lovich’s big hit, ‘Lucky Number’.
At 1.12 in the vid there’s a shot of folk on a balcony, clapping along. Looks like the ‘Stiff’ people. I reckon I can see Nick Lowe and Charley Charles. Anyone else recognise any of them?
“even if most of us aren’t quite as beautiful”
SPEAK FOR YOURSELF,I’m lovely.
Peace Always
Brian,are you watching this on a 60inch screen?If not I’ll have to go to
SPECSAVERS.OH’ wait a minute,I think thats him
Peace Always
Hi Ian B I don’t recognise any of them. you mentioned Eagle eyed though. I have been saving this for tonight. link to youtube.com
@Smallaxe –
Hi Smallaxe.
Re: Nick Lowe. I may have linked to this previously – can’t remember…
A vinyl album I still possess… somewhere in my hovelhold.
@Smallaxe –
@M McC –
What a smooth segue – class!
Hoots tae all!
Small Faces,ALL OR NOTHING:1966
Stevie Marriot at his best
Peace Always
@BDTT –
Do you remember The Shakin’ Pyramids?
I used to see their guitarist in the Imperial snooker hall (or was that The Premier?) on Sauchiehall St from time to time when I was mis-spending my youth. Very big dude, and a properly good snooker player from what I saw. Never summoned the guts to ask him for an autograph or anything, but loved what they were doing at the time.
you’ve been here Michael,is that Liam Neeson singing?
Peace Always
WOS Archives for November 2011
The true North-South divide
link to wingsoverscotland.com
Dream a little dream
47-year-old man bullied by nasty Nats
Labour go 0 for 4
A rare joy
Weekend reading
First Minister’s Questions, 24-11-11
A crash of drums, a flash of light
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #1
Seeing the wood through the trees
The atomic clock
Scotsman deploys threat multiplier
Going off message
Turkey opposes Christmas
Part of the Union?
Much ado about little
Is this who you mean Ian?
Peace Always
Stoker:
Thanks for the AMMO I will make sure it hits the target.
Peace Always
Peter Green/John Mayall at the Marquee 1967
Peace Always
The doomed genius (is there any other kind?) that was Paul Kossoff (even if the daft cameraman seemed to think it was the rhythm guitarist that was producing the magic)
Bombay Calling:It’s a Beautiful Day
Peace Always
@Smallaxe –
Aye, that’s the lads there.
They had a great song called ‘Sunset Of My Tears’ which I used to do as my party piece.
That’s why I haven’t been invited to any parties since the mid-80’s.
I think we are all living in the past
Peace Always
The bonkers but brilliant Alex Harvey.
Bauhaus Rock?
Smallaxe
First record I bought was Jethro Tull, ‘The Witch’s Promise’
Ian,that wasn’t very nice, come to the party next door
Peace Always
Chic,I think my first was Thick as a Brick.
Alex used to play in the Clelland bar in the south side of Glasgow,I was mad as well,it had to be worth it.I was taking my life in my hands to go to that pub.Jimmy Boyle was shot in there one night,and Gentle Johnny Ramenski (John Ramsey) was a regular.Happy Days!
Here’s Alex with a Special guest
Peace always
Smallaxe,
Ah! Whispering Bob, who showed that, given the record of other presenters from that period, sometimes the quiet ones are the best.
I’ll say goodnight folks with:
Chick:COMETH the TIME- COMETH the MAN
Whispering Bob has given us a lot of fine music over the years,I feel as if I owe the man something.I would love to have shaken his hand and thanked him personally.
Peace Always
Just nipped in to see what was happening cos I’m still up – Oh Ian B, you big fibber 😉 I’ll be demanding a party piece from you when I see you next 😀
Good night ALL
The Thieving Magpie,any Droogs out There?
Peace Always
Flake
Take two. Flake link to youtube.com
Banana Pancakes. link to youtube.com
Michael McCabe:@ 2-02am
Was that comment directed at me? What gives you the right, to tell the truth.
Yours Sincerely, Deeply affronted,Gretna
Peace Always
PS Two Banana Pancakes,two eggs, over easy and hold the insults! 🙂
Dave McEwan Hill
The thought just popped in to my head that you might think I’m being a bit rude not commenting on your radio show. Truth is, I’ve only checked out a couple of tracks as I need to be careful with my band-with usage. My ignorance of your show comes naturally mate, it’s not contrived. Or rather, it is shaped to and by my environment, it’s not ideologically intentional. 🙂
Hi Ian B.
Checked out Smallaxe’s video link but I don’t recall The Shakin’ Pyramids at all.
As SAHB has been cited above, here’s, possibly, my favourite SAHB track. Tingly spine as the bagpipes come in.
One more offering… This features the late Gary Holton, who played “Wayne” in “Auf Wiedersehen Pet”.
@BDTT –
🙂 Just shows how busy the scene was back then. All-sorts going on.
Anyway, I don’t know if you or any other bods can help me here but I’m trying to track down a documentary. It’s not on Youtube and the BBC I-Player doesn’t have it.
It was broadcast on BBC2 on May 8th 2009 and is called ‘When Ian Rankin Met Jack Vettriano’. Saw it when it was broadcast but haven’t seen any trace of it since. Need to see it for research. It was part of a series by ‘ArtWorks Scotland’.
Anyone know any Rankin/Vettriano fans who may have kept a copy?
Hoots all – have a braw weekend. 🙂
Ian
link to m.youtube.com
I light of the changing undercurrent in Scottish politics, with the emergence of Scotland in Union as the new face of Project Fear, here’s a tune from the film “Bela Lugosi Meets A Brooklyn Gorilla”. 🙂
Funny how time changes one’s perspective, innit. Mind now, our perception of time is not constant. Time appears to pass more quickly the older we get.
Duke Mitchell – Deed I Do
Some tips on how to fight the next round. 🙂
Sailor Beware – Before The Fight
Think I’ve just found a new theme. 🙂
@ Scotland in Union
Ideology has it’s proper place in the age of post-modernity, ye Dobbers.
#ScreamTeam – Digital Monsters, We Are Proud!
@Andrew Mclean –
Cheers Andrew, but that’s not the one I’m after…
🙁
@ Scotland in Union
I imagine you would agree with Pete, that the principles of contemporary social science are the ramblings of student politics? If so, your opinion lacks understanding of the connections between authentic human experience and values, realistic self-perception and self-appraisal, and the ability to form good judgement.
Your ideological mindset is detached from reality.
Monster High (not #ScreamTeam) – Gaga for Ghouls
Ian Brotherhood
I think I remember the one Ian but can’t help I’m afraid. Was there a section short indoors, where there was a very tall abstract sculpture in the background (10-20 meters tall)?
This week I’ve mostly aiming to be a monSTAR.
Everyone of us is different, everyone has something special inside. Just be confident, don’t hide in the dark. Hello, how do you do? Now tell me how do you boo.
Monster High – We’re the Monstars
Catchy wee theme eh? Lost of scope. 🙂
This week I’ve been mostly aiming to be a monSTAR.
‘Everyone of us is different, everyone has something special inside. Just be confident, don’t hide in the dark. Hello, how do you do? Now tell me how do you boo.’
Monster High – We’re the Monstars
Catchy wee theme eh? Lost of scope. 🙂
CameronB: how are you booing?
I’m enjoying seeing the constitutional crisis unfold on the MT. No wonder senior Tories want Mayhem to withdraw the appeal: don’t tell me the RP doesn’t run in Scotland and to proceed would infringe the Union? Can we have it in writing?
I’m in a reflective mood tonight, so I’ll leave you sophisticates this:
Sorry for the double post. The first one lacked a sense of BEING anyway. 😉
Did I mention constructedness with scope allows for flexibility of approach?
B-Real, Coolio, Method Man, LL Cool J And Busta Rhymes – Hit Em High (The Monstars’ Anthem)
@ Scotland In Yoonion
You guys are toast.
Tinto Chiel
Sorry for not noticing you there, I’m all over the place tbh. 🙂
It might be my New Look, Cameron.
Does my bum look big in it?
If people have a few minutes, they might wish further reflection. It’s an age thing.
Tinto Chiel
Naw, quite flattering. It wasn’t that I didn’t recognise the authentic you mate, my attention was distracted by the false reality being created around me by the BUM. It stopped me from seeing things as they really are. I blame their monstar, the BBC, for most of the damage to my perception. Fiendish, frankly, in a colonial sort of way.
That false reality has become the mask that slipped, though, Cameron. More and more people are seeing through Vichy Vision. Once Brexit really kicks off, more and more pennies will drop, like the slow start of an avalanche.
Your inalienable right thing is another example of how The State tries to bulldoze us, but what if a legal argument were pursued on this very specific point?
I’m beginning to think the SG are quite a few steps ahead of Mrs Mayhem and her Gruntfuttocks.
Vichy Vision describes it well. Thankfully, ideology responds poorly to change and real-word events. Their mantra will be their downfall.
We’ll soon be liberated from their grooming of Scotland’s identity. Creeps.
And I believe that too, CameronB.
Will Self is an excellent English iconoclast, married to a Motherwell Laydee, Deborah Orr. I know she writes for The Observer but Will is more aware than many in Londinium of Our Difference.
He’s speaking at The Mitchell Library next Friday, if anyone’s interested.
Am I going? ‘King right, as Ian B would say. I’ll be the dweeb in the fedora.
Peace Always
A sublime collection, Smallaxe.
Reminds me of the times when I was young and beautiful.
Of course, with my snake hips and cheese-cutter cheekbones, I was a pure babe-magnet.
You’ve no idea how annoying it was to have a sassy, talking wee piglet following you around all day…..
Peace Aways
Tinto:
It was the snake hips that reminded me,now I remember you
Peace Always
Smallaxe
Thanks for those Smallaxe. I won’t say it. 🙂
I was lucky to see Booker T & the MGs a couple of times, when they were over for the pond for the first time in 25 years. Amazing band. They walked on stage to this and the place ‘erupted’. Here’s a pretty laid back version.
Not everyone knows they were the Blues Brothers’ band,
Booker T. & The MG’s – Time Is Tight
Snakehips? Again, I have the perfect track in mind but it’s totally inappropriate to the occasion. 🙂
How are ye, Smallaxe?
Your first link was blocked: GCHQ?
Wonderful Roxy and TDoPS but your snake man gave me the shivers.
I’m reverting to my strict regime of bending exercises and Vichy Water.
another try
Peace Always
would you lot,STOP POSTING TOO QUICKLY
@DaviePrice
I find it helps to understand what one is talking about before attempting to explain that which one does not understand. Ken?
Scottish ideology is shaped through landscape and culture. It can be fitted to Scottish needs. British ideology is shaped by English nationalism and fitted to English needs.
link to sparknotes.com
THIS TIME
Peace Always
Tinto:
Stop that silly exercise regime,do what I do,exercise all day every day by breathing,I have been breathing constantly for a number of years now and its did me no harm!
Sia: breathe me
Dean MARTIN & Jerry Lewis: Drunk
Peace Always
Smallaxe; but my bending exercises are straight out of At-Swim-Two-Birds! And I’ve got socks to prove it.
Actually, Sia’s performance is rather sobering.
Independence; are we nearly there yet?
Chris Montez:LETS DANCE
the B side of lets dance, so bad that its great
Peace Always
Smallaxe
Sound likes you need luvdup mate. Here’s something a bit different. Perhaps not to your taste but I hope the sentiment carries.
One Dove – White Love (Psychic Masturbation)
Communities are imagined. I may never meet you mate but I feel we’re part of a community with authentic soul.
Drum Club – U Make Me Feel So Good (deep and hard mix)
Ideology has a terrible record of obliterating authentic communities. Scotland isn’t gonna join that list.
Spiral Tribe – Forward The Revolution
P.S. Apologies to conservative types. 🙂
Tinto:
Independence Day
Peace Always
@CamB –
I haven’t kept across all your recent posts, but I must ask…
Have you tackled Derrida?
I’m having to do it – right now – and, tbh, he’s doing my nut in a wee bit.
Would be grateful for any thoughts you may have on his stuff. Don’t mean to sound dismissive or derogatory about the dude…important, aye, but it’s getting to me a bit. Shades of ‘The Matrix’ an’ aw that palaver.
Anyway, enough from me…ah’m due a blue pill…
Cause and effect
Scotland’s offensive anthem
Hypership out of control
The referee’s a Mason
Missing the point of a referendum
Fuelling the fire
Mysterious arithmetic fail
Nope, still nothing
One-way traffic
Scotland unbilled
Words from the wise
Listening and learning, Labour-style
Tom Harris is a liar
Weekend papers roundup
The yah-boo Union
Devo max: not so hard to define afterall
Cameron:
True
Peace Always
Because of the length of your tracks I have sampled them and put them into a playlist for further perusal,sound interesting
Ian Brotherhood
Sorry mate. I almost got my lights put out by Smallaxe, for suggesting fiddling with it the other day. My ‘knowledge’ is mostly through life, with a few ‘facts’ gleaned from the odd book or two. I’m a practiced pragmatist who is lucky to know how to shape and use solutions. Doesn’t always work as planned though. 🙂
Stoker:
Thank You,your dedication is admirable.
Peace And Love
Thanks, Stoker, and so to bed.
link to scottishpoetrylibrary.org.uk
Goodnight Tinto, 🙂
Peace Always
I know what folk are probably thinking. No, I’m an arse and and failed to manage my meds properly again. Getting closer to eleven. Boo. 🙂
Spiral Tribe – Probably Taking Drugs
Cameron, about the meds,its not getting closer to eleven
It’s only 9
Peace Always
Is Michael joining the musical conversation tonight?
Peace Always
I’m just about to climb the stairs to Bedfordshire but I’ll stick this link in, before I retire.
It’s for anyone who ever spent their working days on a ship, anywhere on Earth’s oceans.
Smallaxe
Man can’t live by politics alone. 😉
Gregory Isaacs ~ Night Nurse
Goodnight Brian,Peace Always
Cameron why not live by politics And music
Peace Always
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=606T2LQN–I
the Isley bros
Them again
John Lennon,#No9 DREAM
PeaceAlways
Smallaxe
I’ve pooped my pop Smallaxe, time I hit the sack. See you around.
Goodnight Cameron
Peace Always
Goodnight
Peace Always
Almost forgot….come on!
Age of Love – Age Of Love (Watch Out For Stella Mix)
Night, night.
OK, I couldn’t just leave things hanging like that.
Usura – Open Your Mind
The BBC exists to shape minds to follow British nationalist ideology. They re-write history to make us believe in One Nation. Creeps.
Robert Miles – Children [Dream Version]
CameronB Brodie @ 2.28am
Agree. The BBC has the power to rewrite history and uses that tool continually.
I do believe that the BBC (and much of the msm) hold Scotland in utter contempt. And that begins to work both ways. Not the way I want the world we live in to be.
So as Smallaxe says, Love and Peace folks = )
And roll on Indy Ref New = )
Smallaxe 12:17am link to youtube.com Noticed you have retired for the Night. Have a good Sleep. Catch you later on today
Ghillie
It will soon be time for Scots to make their voices heard.
Sing!
@Michael McCabe
Aye, Freddie knew how to put on a show. Class.
Good Morning All:
Peace Always
Ah there is the Piano. link to youtube.com
Ouch First Aid Kit-America link to youtube.com
Why am I a Rastaman
Peace Always
give that horse a name
Peace Always
Horse McDonald. link to youtube.com
too tame
Peace Always
Horny?
Peace Always
I would imagine the lack of in-depth sociological or psychological study in to the harmful effects the BBC has, when shaping an ideologically defined Scottish identity by impairing Scotland’s self-awareness and judgement, might be because academia is
largely part of the Yoon Establishment.
@ BBC
What about the people of Scotland’s inalienable human right to an authentic identity? You are aware that cultural integrity is a vital component of achieving sustainable solutions to re-world demands? Your Yoon ideology won’t do that.
Quench – Dreams (Original Mix)
@ BBC
The ideology that brought you in to existence, is outdated, unrepresentative and unsuited to current and likely demands of Scotland. Your corporatist resistance to reality, supporting an inequitable and unsustainable approach to meeting the future requirements of society, is unhelpful to say the least. No only that, you have the never to charge for the service.
Jaydee – Plastic Dreams
Dont misunderstand
Peace Always
@BBC
Stop grooming Scotland to be British, please. I find it oppressive, frankly. Creeps.
Lil Louis – French Kiss
That’s what we’re up against Smallaxe, forces that seek to dis empower and shape society to unrepresentative and most likely unsustainable ends. That’s when the totalitarianism ramps up.
@BBC
Your love towards Scotland is not a healthy one. Creeps.
Frankie Knuckles – Your Love
Cameron:
it will never happen
Peace Always
Sorry the last one was meant to be this
Peace Always
Smallaxe @
I have to leave commenting on this site for now my friend.
But won’t leave you.
Will always check and see what you are saying here.
And still maintain that in the wee sma hoors shout out if ye are lookin to put the world to rights.
Chances are I will be mooching around and ofcourse will be happy to talk to you.
While I know you have enough on your plate.
If you will do me the honour of keeping me informed of your progress,over here on OT you will remove one of my worries.
Give Mrs Smallaxe all my love and tell her to take care of herself.
Peace to you,and your’s ,and,to us and ours..well to everyone really.
This is what Whisky is For!!!
PEACE ALWAYS …X..
liz g:
Hi liz, I’m doing ok as far as I’m concerned but the Doc wants me back in tomorrow for more tests.They say my blood is full of white platelets.I don’t care if its full of cuplets and saucerlets.
I have been lurking on the main thread,but not posting much,I stay around here on off topic,it’s a calmer place for me to be at the moment.I’m keeping an eye on you.Please don’t worry about me liz,as I have said, I’m not going to lie down to it just because of their tests,I have my own ways of coping,music being one of them of course.Wings and Wingers like yourself are another form of therapy for me.
Keep up the good work on Wings,the 69rs and I have our own ways of contributing.
PEACE and LOVE to You and Those you LOVE
Evening, Groovers and Chantie-Wrastlers:
While researching Lochan na Beiste, I came upon this:
I never converse with attractive women hanging around lochs now.
A word to the wise: Smallaxe, CameronB, etc.
Betcha Nana would agree with me.
Smallaxe 🙂
Pat Cupp & The Flying Saucers – Do me no wrong
Tinto Chiel
Sorry mate, I think I heard you, I just forgot to refresh again.
Culture is probably long over-due a slot. 🙂
Scotland’s Economic Future
Scotland and the Euro – the truth
Didn’t read the news today, oh boy
The war of words
Filling the opposition vacuum
And that’s the end of that chapter
Getting toothpaste back in the tube
Scotland’s guilty Euro-secret
Now that the Nazis are back
The devil’s in the details
A happy coincidence
Doing the job properly
Positive-Case-For-The-Union Watch
First Minister’s Questions, 10-11-11
The invisible bogeyman
Too poor for Europe
Aw, bless ’em for trying
The phantom referendum
Unionists ponder suicide pact
Newsnight Scotland, 7-11-11
Papers roundup, 8-11-11
The Scottish subsidy myth
Politics Show Scotland 6-11-2011
Tory backer slams unreconstructed morons
Lies, damned lies and The Scotsman
The demonisation of Alex Salmond
Stoker:
Thank you.
Peace Always
CameronB: Vichy Vision is failing. Internal colonisation is losing its grip.
And we have Karen:
The great ocean is indifferent to our fate but we carry on with our human concerns.
The tide is turning.
Hi Guys:
Peace Always
Smallaxe: correction, I avoid scarlet women hanging around lochs now.
Sheesh!
Tinto:
I am
Peace Always
One of these nights
Peace Always
I have been to the doctor
Peace ALWAYS
Cheers for the chives, excellent!
Question out there.. now we all understand whisky.. but,
When is bonnie.. bonny? and,
When is bonny.. bonnie?
Seeing many variations used.
Ta.
Peace Always
‘Waiting In Vain’
‘This Video Is Not Available’
Hehehe, p*rfect!
Cactus:
Peace Always 🙂
Cactus:
Try again its working for me!
Peace Always
We’re on the crest of an ever-rising wave.
I can hear it being played on the accordion smallaxe.
G*id mornin’ Monday.
Good Morning Cactus:
Hows Things?
Peace Always
4:17 only smallaxe, maybe me, animation denied, but aptly fitting none~ra~less.
*We wish you a.. free Scotland and a lab free new year!*
Get that ‘*’ on the top of the indy tree.
That’s the Bullseye! Ready..?
Grand smallaxe, tres bigrand.
Or en le france? 🙂
Have ye heard of a gold called Springbank before?
Be grand or good or be both.
I’ve got a white unicorn that sits on top of my tree Cactus.
Peace Always
Springbank Gold,do you mean the whisky?
Peace Always
White Unicorn and whisky aye ~ Yes!
Glasgow’s *nly ever a few footsteps away..
From Glasgow to Gretna..
I know that Cactus I come from Barlanark,your welcome here anytime
Peace Always.
And to you good earth-hood neighbourman.
Likewise.
Be grand.
Look after yersel Cactus,we need good punters like you.
Peace Always
Of course, je capice.
Darn, whose holding the Scottish line.. Toto?
Goin’ tonto.
Aye, a peace always to one and ever-all.
Independence referendum new..
Pure raring tae go!!
Gdnight (maybe)
Goodnight Cactus.Maybe
Peace Always my friend
Maybe back once more.
Check out ‘Recent Comments’ the now smallaxe.
You and I have rattled it.
X vs Zzz
Nae stamina,Cactus.
We’ve taken over Wings
Glesga Team Rules OK
Peace Always
X wins.
Big town takeover.. yaaaaas!
How much we gonna hold this fine place to ransom pardner?
Sun up.
X always wins Cactus,as long as you put it in the right box.
We need mair Xs in thae boxes
Peace Always
Still sooking up what comes out of the BUM?
Pop Will Eat Itself – Wise Up! Sucker (12″ version)
Hi CameronB Brodie.
RE: Pop Will Eat Itself.
The first of their offerings I came across was “Def Con 1”. I was intrigued by it. It worked well with my rock audience but what got me was I lost count at 9, trying to identify all the samples in it. But “Crazy Horses” just jumped out. I used to segue in to live, on vinyl.
Once I had mastered my audio editing app on ‘my leedle Mac’. I put this mix together. I’ll provide the link: you may have to actually download it, then play it in your media player.
I rather like it…
BTW: It was me segueing ‘Def Con 1’ into The Osmonds “Crazy Horses” that made “Crazy Horses” a regular track in Dundee rock discos for years afterwards.
link to sites.google.com
WOS Archives for December 2011
Briton Of The Year
Sauce for the gander
Farewell Elmer, King of the FUDs
We’ve heard this song before
The new boss, same as the old boss
Did the SNP choose Labour’s new leader?
Why there won’t be a March election
Dazed and confused
Drawing the battle lines
The Nordic love to feel
Scotland’s secret constitution
Labour advocates braces, but no belt
Hands off Britain’s money, idiots
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #3
Europe and the crystal bawbags
Let’s not get carried away
Stoker:
Thanks, Stoker,been waiting on these,I’m building a nice little collection.Hope it’s warmer tomorrow. 🙂
Peace Always
# No1
Peace Always
Hi Smallaxe that’s two tracks I have seen you play from Stanley Odd. this is one of his that was flying about before the Referendum. thought he was very good with his Lyrics. link to youtube.com OH roll on the Divorce.
Good to see you post,Michael,
Good lyrics can make me listen to even a mediocre vocalist,especially if
he/she wrote them,ergo.Dylan,Kristofferson,etc.Stanley Odd,I’m still surprised that a few people I’ve spoken to have never heard the name.
Jake Bugg
Peace Always (and that divorce)
I must Admit I love the Cave. link to youtube.com
“the Cave” I think that would make a good ballad,the lyrics are poetic.
Paul Simon
Peace Always
Bob Dylan- Hurricane (Live) link to youtube.com
Did that last one get lost?,mine I mean.
Rory Gallagher
Peace Always
Smallaxe. Loved the Paul Simon. Aaron Neville with a Dylan Cover. link to youtube.com
Kilburn and the High Roads.
Peace Always
It’s amazing how different one song can sound with a change in tempo!
Julian Lennon
Peace Always
I suppose it’s bedtime.
The Byrds
Goodnight
Peace Always
Smallaxe I would agree with you. Most of the Time. link to youtube.com
I thought that you had gone,last night.
Peace Always
@Smallaxe
How did you get on yesterday? Hopefully all good.
I know you will have been tired afterwards.
Nana:
They took another couple of barrels of blood and checked the size of my Spleen to see if it had taken over from my bone marrow making my blood.
I should get the results before the end of the week.
They are still baffled about how I’m getting about ok.
According to them, I shouldn’t be so “healthy”.
I did not tell them that I use my Wings.
Peace Always
Billy
Wings working its magic? I think its a positive vibes of ‘the force’ and may it always be with you. xx
Obi-Wan should have sung this.
Nana:
The doctors are singing this!
Peace Always
Nana:
I forgot to say,you were talking about gloves yesterday I use these,they are thin,warm and with rubber bobbles on the palm for gripping.They are great for driving.
link to mountainwarehouse.com
Peace Always
@Smallaxe
I have a pair of the grippi gloves, they’re great. I use them for cleaning out my freezers, when I take out the drawers the gloves helps me to grip so I don’t drop them [I have done this]
I don’t drive any more, lost my confidence a few years back. I miss it sometimes but I have ‘chauffeurs’ who take me here and there so really don’t need to drive. Plus the shops are within walking distance.
Nana:
I’m pleased to hear it,my wife,daughter and grandchildren have a chauffeur as well.ME!
Peace Always
Here’s one from a person largely benefit of middle-class vanities and distractions. Someone who you could say follows a more aesthetic approach to life. I’m sure my choosing this path was not purely voluntary, rather a reactive response to the events and social stimuli that have shaped my BEING. A defense strategy against being crushed under a neo-liberal interpretation as a ‘failure’, when viewed against contemporary social values.
I suppose you could say my BEING has been shaped through my life-long struggle against de-humanising habitus and ideology, I’m a scholarship kid to a private school, with a little bit of SOCIAL SCIENCES THEORY chucked in.
That’s probably why I’m aware my self-conception is somewhat out of alignment with the reality of my circumstances. I have the skills required to participate in British ‘middle-class-ness’, though I have little desire or opportunity of participating in this way of life, as I refuse to replace authentic human value and principle with short-term expediency.
Ignore the BUM, especially the BBC, it presents a facade of decency to cover neo-colonialism in th 21st century. The principles of contemporary social science support this perspective.
React 2 Rhythm – Intoxication
….BEREFT….ffs
…should have gone… 🙂
I suppose you could say I’ve been honing my skills as an ‘irritant’ to the British Establishment, since childhood. 🙂
@dhothersall
You’re ideological BEING is gonna take a spanking. Read any Bourdieu or Lorde yet? Done anything to de-colonise your mind? Apparently not, as you continue to support the acceptance of intolerance and social exclusion, along with an adherence to ideological dogma. This is the mindset that produced the inner-cities of the ’70s ye fanny-bawz.
Misty In Roots ?- Poor And Needy
Keeping up the good work
Brass tacks and brass farthings
Running to catch up
Ally’s Self-Harmy Army
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #2
I think you just made me sure
Cake or death? (Sorry, we’re out of cake)
Spinning around
The voice of the 20%
Interview with Tom Harris MP
A snappy headline stat
McGoldilocks and the three McBears
Dedication’s what you need
Back to business
@dhothersall
I suppose hoping for you to escape your ideological world and applying good judgement based on rational analysis of facts, is a bit like hoping for an organic double-yoker from a Muppet.
You’re half the way there WANK, just relax and push.
Swedish Chef – Ping Pong Ball Eggs
P.S. Your involvement with Scotland’s body politic is comming to an end. Scotland will not miss your presence.
@dhothersall
We’re not trying to belittle you as you do a fine job of it yourself.
I just wish you’d shut up and let the grown-ups get on with a conversation which is of such importance that ideologically minded politicians and their gimps, such as yourself, should be barred from involvement in.
You’ll never understand “inclusion” until you comprehend habitus, which you are a product and supporter of. Your ideological outlook is ill-informed and subsequently inhumane, kid.
Here’s a paradox for you to wrestle with, given you function as tool of British National Socialism.
Put the master’s tools down!
@dhothersall
As you pose as a credible commentator on Scotland’s contemporary socio-economic and political climate, I’m left wondering how an ill-informed tool of British National Socialism is enabled to comment on Scotland’s post-modern condition, experienced under a system of inter colonisation. Do you reject Differential Oppositional Consciousness and the “Methodology of the Oppressed”?
link to caringlabor.files.wordpress.com
Josh Wink – Higher State of Consciousness
P.S. This is music from a decade that was largely lost to me as my brain re-shaped it’s neural map, so here’s one specially for you sugar.
SNEAKER PIMPS – “Spin Spin Sugar” (Armand’s Dark Garage Mix)
@dhothersall
I don’t know what your aesthetic appreciation or taste is is though I can imagine, so I’m not sure if you’ll appreciate this one. There was some good ‘dance’ music during this period, with a solid beat and an aware social consciousness.
Basement Jaxx – Where’s Your Head At
@dhothersall
Don’t get the wrong idea now, I appreciate the nature of metaphorical boot I’ve just delivered to your British National Socialist balls.
Pornland – Sympathise
@dhothersall
Your student politics ‘right-on-ness’ and British National Socialism is immature and lacks an authentic Scottish soul. It simply gets in the way of understanding the complex social processes under consideration, frankly.
This is what you are, in an olfactory sense that is. A bit funky.
Kunde – Funky beat
Hi CameronB Brodie.
Did you listen to that which I posted at 9.19pm last night?
What thocht ye?
Brian Doonthetoon
Yes, sorry for not responding at the time, I see I have some way to develop. You were mix’n and shit back in the day. 🙂
@dhothersall
Are you beginning to appreciate who you are and what role you play in British society? You support an Establishment that resists modernity and present an obstacle to Scotland’s sustainable evolution. That can’t be allowed to go unchecked.
Got a positive case for the Union?
Tool – Schism
Here’s a track from the band that were closely associated with the original Calton Hill “Beltane Fire Festival”, back in the day.
If only the picture presented to the Scottish public as reality, wasn’t so tainted by alien ideology that is fetish-ised over as a British Nationalist pseudo-religion.
Test Department – Current Affairs
Time to end the BBC’s grooming of a nation. Creeps.
@dhothersall
Just in case those twitches are the signs of life, rather than the autonomic nervous system letting go of a once living political corpse of an ideological nationalist, here’s how I view your input to Scotland’s social well-being. Mind now, my perspective is informed by the principles of contemporary social science, ken.
Got a positive case for the Union kid?
WARNING: not suitable for those sensitive to flashing lights.
Tool – Stinkfist
Here’s a guy playing a very grand piano in an ocean of icebergs.
It’s all about the Arctic
It’s all about the peace.
I’m actually rather saddened to find out that Grousebeater is not quite the high up thingie he thought he was – but he does have relevant things to say which is sweet.
Strange double first in yesterday’s National.
First double solution to the number square, although they only showed one and first two word crossword clue I have seen with an apostrophe separator, Nor’Wester.
@Smallaxe
Noticed you did not put the kettle on this morning. Hope all is well with you.
@TUBA-BOY
Your ignorance is truly spectacular, is it an act? Sure you don’t wish Scots were all English? That’s what British nationalism is, expansionist English nationalism.
link to ippr.org
link to un.org
Like what? 😉
Who would agree that the term “you promised to keep the garden in good order” is subjective enough to mean just about anything. Asking for a friend. 🙂
@Jim McIntosh
I would take that as meaning cutting the grass and a bit of weeding. Not planting anything or splashing cash. basically keep it tidy.
Keeping something in “good order” is just maintenance like getting the car serviced. If it’s not serviced it will no longer be in good order when it is handed back. My view, FWIW.
@dhothersall
Hey flat-head, the thing about ideologues is they lack an appreciation of science and art. Their world view is dictated by prescribed message, not human experience and imagination.
I pity you with role models such as TUBA-BOY. Why don’t the pair of you expand your appreciation of “organic” and “ideological” nationalism? This may make your future comment worthy of consideration. It certainly isn’t at present.
Mr Oizo – Flat Beat
@dhothersall
Hey flat-head. I hope you and TUBA-BOY won’t rely on FEAR again when indy2 comes around. I might have to let loose if that appears to be the way of things. Can’t have terrorists shaping my life, no matter how subtle they think they are.
WHERE’S THE MONEY GEORGE? + Mr. Oizo – Positif
Hi CameronB Brodie.
You typed,
“You were mix’n and shit back in the day”
The bit of that mix that I was particularly chuffed with was using Alex Harvey from the “Penthouse Tapes” album as the bridge between Pop Will Eat Itself and The Osmonds. (Licks thumb and wipes on lapel…)
———————————————–
Hi Jim McIntosh.
You mentioned,
“keep the garden in good order”
That reminded me of a story. A guy moves in to a cottage in a wee village. The front and back gardens are totally unkempt – three feet high grass and so on. So, over the spring and summer, he works on the gardens every day. He cuts the grass back and creates flower borders at the front and plants shrubberies and vegetables at the back.
By Autumn, the gardens are looking splendid. That’s when the local minister, passing by one day, engaged the guy in conversation. The guy shows him what he has done at the front and round the back.
“Isn’t it wonderful,” says the minister, “to see God’s work in all its glory?”
“God’s work?”, says the guy. “You should have seen it when he was looking after it himself!”
@dhothersall
Hey flat-head, do you appreciate that from the perspective of post-modern critical social theory, your adherence to ideology and your basic intolerance and exclusionary* hostility to Scotland’s self-determination, identifies the neo-colonial character of your Yoonery.
You would rather Scotland was extinguished under an expansionist form of English nationalism, of an increasingly neo-liberal, character. That’s why were Better Together, eh?
Figured out how to “put the master’s tools down” yet, tool?
Mr Oizo – Hand In The Fire (feat. Charli XCX)
* Can’t get much more exclusionary than denying Scots access to inalienable human rights. That’s denies the humanity of an entire people, those who identify as Scots.
link to un.org
Brian Doonthetoon
Would it be taking it too far if I was to suggest your mixing was in some way breaking the ideology of each track. Your scratch was a solution of syntheses.
Hat and coat already in hand. It’s cold and I lack hair. 🙂
@dhothersall
Hey flat-head,, I’m not sure if that Tory fan-boy, David Torrance, will have any space left in his shabby tent of diminished being. You could always ask him and his mates to squeeze up. Birds of a colonialist feather….
Mr. Oizo – End Of The World (feat. Skrillex)
You know that thing where when you refresh the page it refreshes to where you commented?
I get round that by having this and the current one open and then alternate after I comment.
Dr. Craig Dalzell
I don’t know why you honour David Torrance by acknowledging he may have a rational argument. The colonising processes of British nationalism are in conflict with the principles of his scientific training. British nationalism and authentic Scottish self-identification are completely incompatible. It is either Britain or a Scotland with intrinsic integrity. Both can not exist in the same space at the same time.
David Torrance is either an unprincipled charlatan or a disingenuous and anti-social throw-back to a less civilised colonial time. You dirty yourself with such contact.
WOS Archives for January 2012
Positive-case-for-the-Union roundup
Lamont offers Scots [BLANK] tomorrow
Why Labour doesn’t want devo max
Catching up
A whole new hard(ball) game?
Tory peer attempts to partition Scotland
Round-up, 23rd Jan 2012
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #9
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #8
A question for Willie Rennie
What if the referendum ISN’T legal?
We are the 99%, and the 51%
Hi Paula Rose.
When I reload a WOS page, it appears at the same place it was before I clicked on “Reload” but with any new posts appearing below where I was so I have to scroll down the page to see them.
I find that fine. What gets me is the rigmaroll to see what you’ve posted as soon as you’ve clicked on “Submit Comment”.
Up to Firefox 35, I didn’t have the oft-reported problems of posts not appearing for around 15-20 minutes after clicking on “Submit Comment” and the username and email not being preserved. Then I jumped to Firefox 37 and those problems suddenly appeared.
I’ve found out, by trial and error, the following work around.
Before I comment, I enter my username and email address. Then I reload the page. The details seem to hold so I then type in my comment. When I’m finished, I check the appearance in the text below the text input box, then click on “Submit Comment”.
Sometimes, the page reloads and shows me what I’ve submitted in the correct chronological place on the page. Other times, the page reloads and returns to the top of the page. In that case, I click on the “Backwards” button, then the reload button.
About half the time, the page will then show my comment correctly in situ. The other half of the time, it takes anywhere between 5 and 15 minutes of reloading before my comment appears.
“Go figure”, as Peter Griffin might utter…
BDTT I worry about you sometimes – I really do.
Calling Smallaxe….come in Smallaxe….
Here’s one for you, from one of my favourite groups.
Recognise the start?
UB40 – Here I Am Baby
Hi Paula Rose.
I’ll have you know that my Dad spent his formative years in Brechin so wa-a-atch whut yir typin’…
Eh huv a splodge of Brechin blood in me…
Stoker:
Big up Sistren,everyting criss,likkle more walk good.
I and I overstand you,seen?
Peace Always
Oh, Mi tiad a dem politician yah and dem ploytricks.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXk–eL5-kQ
Peace Always
Ginseng, how do..
Hey Cactus, meh heeds nipping. What the fuck is that about?
Don’t care got a tune for them.
Ian Brotherhood:
Is this what you are looking for?
link to bbc.co.uk
Peace Always
SORRY Ian:
just noticed that doesn’t play 🙁
Peace Always
Good tea bud.
Cactus,Bud tea good! 🙂
Peace Always
Indeed smallaxe.
#feelslikefridayalready
Behold.. my firstever hashtag.
After midnight..
Who made who?
@Cactus
A winky thing.
#dontbackdown my first hashtag.
Cactus:
After Midnight
Peace Always
Cactus:
is it that time already?
Scottish ‘nationalism’ is organic, British “nationalism” is ideological. British nationalism is the philosophy of a colonial culture with a history of oppression.
Burning Spear – Message
Burning Spear:
Peace
Always
@David Torrance
How you doing FAN-BOY, still not found a way to allow your sense of ethics to rise above your beliefs? Thick, greedy or both?
Burning Spear – I and I survive
Smallaxe
We could keep this all night, the man had powerfull knowledge and release tonnes of records. 🙂
We could Cameron but,Mi GWAAN
Peace Always
Night, night Smallaxe. Last one from myself.
Burning Spear – Thank you
@dhothersall
Don’t want you to feel excluded.
Burning Spear – Brain Food
Smallaxe
Do you think my approach might be a syntheses of the conflicting philosophies of yours and the Cat’s. 🙂
@dhothersall
Don’t worry too much, others have been bewildered by the outward wholesomeness of the Fabian Society, and have found a way to turn towards the light. Which is it for you though, Fabian British nationalist communist fascism, or self-determination?
Tackhead – Mind At The End Of The Tether
@dhothersall
One of the problem with not being able to switch off, is you come up with the weirdest connections. Picture “Balloon Boy” with a beard and the resemblance is astonishing, frankly. 😉
What Is The Purpose of Balloon Boy?
@dhothersall
Answer this, does a website that regularly hosts comments supporting civil liberties and human rights, which do not receive a hostile reception, strike you as a den of “blood and soil” nationalist intolerance hatred?
Admittedly, I have no time for fools. However, I merely seek access to inalienable human rights. How terribly nationalist of me.
BTS – Wings MASHUP
P.S. I bet I’ve forgotten more about equality issues than you will ever know, kid.
@dhothersall
In case you haven’t figured out where I’m coming from yet, and I don’t mean Dundee.
PJ Harvey – Rub Til It Bleeds
@dhothersall
I’ll make a deal with you. If you can provide a positive case for the Union, I’ll get off your back. Based on science and human experience now, not ideology.
Show us what a capable individual you are. You should be confident as you are up against a disabled monstar here. Less than 5% of those who have received comparable traumatic brain damage as I have, go on to access any type of employment.
The stage is set for you now, show the world what you’ve got kid.
Links
link to twitter.com
Breitbart isn’t ‘just a publication.’ It’s a pestilence
link to archive.is
The press has a problem with extremism and radicalisation
link to byline.com
Nosferatu at the Ritz
link to archive.is
French PM urges taxes on imports from countries snubbing climate pact
link to archive.is
Facebook makes special tool for hiding stories from countries’ citizens
link to archive.is
link to thecanary.co
link to politicshome.com
One thing about spotting an opportunity is that one needs to respond in a measured fashion so as to take hold to your advantage.
The Anglo/American pact is at it’s weakest, as they square up to ‘home-grown’ American fascism, with an insurgent driving up the middle of Wall Street, the Donald, causing all sorts of waves and upset.
Time to start looking for that life-raft folks.
Link.
link to prospect.org
Nana:
Good Morning Nana,Sorry I missed you yesterday.Wifi problems.I sent that short message to you on a smart TV,it took ages.Anyway,thanks for the links,Kettle’s on.
Peace Always
CameronB Brodie:
Good morning Cameron,late night last night!
Peace Always
Smallaxe
I’ve always got my eye out for loon yoons Smallaxe. 😉
Talking of which, I haven’t seen any activity in BLiS____d’s Edinburgh office, which I just about live above, since 2014. What a total sham of an operation. They certainly weren’t very welcoming when I responded to their plea for volunteers, in the last couple of days before the indy poll.
Must have been something I said. 🙂
P,S, Good morning. 🙂
Cameron:
I’m not a gambling man,but I bet it was something you said.
Peace Always
@David Torrance
I’ve not forgotten about you FAN-BOY, I’ve been busy. Hope you didn’t think we are through skooling you yet. I may be a bit beaten down but there’s still fight left in these bones.
Lee Scratch Perry – Super ape in a good shape
Give him this also.
Peace Always
Smallaxe
The walls of Babylon are nighty, we’ll need to coordinate our huff and our puff better, if we want to blow them away.
Just a sneaking suspicion but I don’t think “The Furious Man” will ever get the message that Britain is a legacy of the colonial era. The guy’s “name” and defends his slavery.
Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five – The Message
Cameron,I am a small axe,but I’m not the only one,we shall cut them down.
Peace Always
We could probably do with all the help we can germinate Smallaxe. This is a fight to the death between Anglo/American neo-liberalism and progressive, consensus democracy of the Scots and for the Scots.
Afro Celt Sound System – The Magnificent Seven
Anyone recall any coverage regarding the ‘difficulties’ experienced by the Sunday Herald when it came out in favour of independence in May 2014? I’m trying to write a piece concerning the changes in journalism in Scotland, and I remember much comment about this at the time (great difficulty getting any supermarkets to distribute it), and I also seem to recall that The National had similar problems when it appeared…
Cameron:
We are many.
Peace Always
thewaterbeastie:
link to bbc.co.uk
This is all I can find.
Peace Always
thewaterbeastie:
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_National_(Scotland)
Peace Always
Belated thanks to Michael McCabe and Smallaxe for welcoming me to the off-topic thread. I have posted a few comments on Wings over Scotland in the past (quite some time ago). Even when I wasn’t commenting, I still kept up to date with reading Wings. It’s one of the best places to go for exposing the lies of the MSM.
Peace Always, Smallaxe.
@ Cameron B Brodie
There are a lot of ‘chanty-wrastlers’ like Torrance around, especially on the BBC. That channel should carry a health warning for causing extreme nausea and raising blood pressure.
They’re so full of their own importance that they think their audience is hanging on to their every word when in fact we’re
shouting at the screen: “Feck off, ye @@!!%$@@@ scunners!”
Caledonian Lass
The BBC impairs Scotland’s self-perception and judgement. This is no accident.
————-
I’m partial to sweet and sour myself but that presents the danger of slipping in to Cheech and Chong ‘humour’.
MVSCLES – Sweet n’ Sour
P.S. The meds are on order. Sweet. 🙂
This might get me carded. 🙂
Apologies, if necessary, ladies but what name would you prefer?
Pop Will Eat Itself – Beaver Patrol (Box Frenzy)
@Smallaxe
Not long in, busy day. Just saw your comment on the prophecies thread, missed it yesterday.
Good to know you are ok.
Hope this link works so you can have a laugh
link to amazon.com
Nana:
Love them, that’s everybody’s Christmas sorted,although I’m not sure about the toilet paper it would either constipate you or have the opposite effect.I think the rUK could use the Billion Dollar notes to pay off their debt,when we leave.Which will be very soon I hope.
Peace and Love to You and Yours
Billy
Nana: I posted this earlier to you at 7-55am this morning,on this thread to let you know the situation.
Nana:
Good Morning Nana,Sorry I missed you yesterday.Wifi problems.I sent that short message to you on a smart TV,it took ages.Anyway,thanks for the links,Kettle’s on.
Peace Always
@Smallaxe
That’s how I realised you had left a comment yesterday. I was reading the off topic messages in my inbox and spotted the one at 7.55am.
With all the different threads, sometimes it’s difficult to keep up and the last couple of days have been busy so I’ve probably missed lots.
Caledonian Lass:
Hi again,stick around later,we usually have a party with some drinks and dancing.Good to see you back!
Peace Always
Is this the worst “apology” of all time?
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #7
A few hours is a long time in politics
One paper, two polls, no information
As others see us
If we had a hammer
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #6
Unionist disowns Union Jack
The Constitutional Wrangle For Dummies
A Unionist Scottish patriot writes
Question Of The Week
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #5
Thanks, Stoker.
Building a library, as they say.
Stoker:
Thank you,I hope you understood my replies last night,if not I’ll give you a translation.Thanks again.
Peace Always
Have we had any Dusty tracks recently?
Paula Rose:
Spooky!
Peace Always
TC & Smallaxe
No probs, you’re both welcome.
O.K. Smallaxe, let’s have the translation.
I’ll read it in the morning, off to my bunk.
Goodnight troops!
Paula Rose:
YOU DONT OWN ME
Peace Always
Stoker:Goodnight.
Big up Sistren,everyting criss,likkle more walk good.
I and I overstand you,seen?:
Translation
Respect Sister,everything is good see you later,I know what you mean,you get me.
Oh, Mi tiad a dem politician yah and dem ploytricks
Oh,I’m tired of politicians and their schemes and lies
One Love, One Heart, One Nation.
Cat fight on Sky News there.. tbc
We’re at miniscus point, ready to overflow.
Miaow.
The worst thing about insomnia is insomnia.
Simon and Garfunkle,original 1964 version
the Sound of Silence.
Disturbed,Version same song,only different
Peace Always
@Smallaxe
Aye Billy there were a lot of links yesterday, due to the autumn statement and brexit. Consider yourself lucky, I had another 11 which I dumped.
Anyhoo I am taking a break for a while but as wingers are getting really good at finding links I doubt I will be missed [well maybe just a little bit]
Here’s a bit of fun for everyone to do
link to 16personalities.com
Take care of yourself & keep the coffee brewing xx
Nana:
Enjoy your break,you deserve some “ME time.You will be missed,by me especially.Other Wingers may be good at finding their own links,but I won’t get enough to fill me up first thing in the morning.I will keep the coffee brewing.Look after yourself.
Peace Love and Thank You
Billy xx
Nana: look after yourself.
Those dainty digits need a wee rest.
I’m off to do Mrs TC’s ironing. She bought me a Super Turbo steamer with a separate reservoir and I’ve got to repay the investment.
Before ye go:
*Man goes into butcher’s.*
Man: Can I have a mince round?
Butcher: Please yourself, sir, but we close in five minutes.
***end of joke***
And don’t any of you lot all say, “Where’s the start?”
Nana
Looks like you might know me better than I do myself. 😉
Take care and all the best.
Tinto Chiel at 10.40
Apparently that man was Larry Grayson -and I think he told the joke himself.
DMH: yes, dear old Larry.
Seemed like a nice boy, as he used to say himself.
I have decided, on aesthetic grounds, not to tell the one about the lady who goes into the fishmonger’s with a chantie.
***Scotland rejoices***
@PeatWorrier
Please excuse my simplistic, non-legally trained mind but why the fuck should I respect a legal system and the laws which it produces, if the purpose and outcome of such law is to support the continued denial of the inalienable human rights of Scots. Contemporary Britain stands in conflict to international development law and outwith the global agreement of ‘best practice’ towards achieving a sustainable future.
FUCK THAT! Where are my human rights and where’s my burning torch? Or am I simply an ignorant pleb?
P.S. I’m not a Port drinker and can spot the effects of habitus a mile off. Ken fit eh mean?
link to un.org
Thought I’d get in quick and get the Friday party started. This’ll have you leapin’ aroon’ the lobby.
For all Wingers but especially for BDTT, Thepnr and of course the delicious Paula Rose.
Joe Cocker: The Letter-
Peace Always
Steam: kiss him Goodbye
Peace Always
@Smallaxe – hello there. Ah, Joe Cocker. Brilliant. Here’s another
Pink Floyd: Is There Anybody Out There?
Peace Always
++ OVERLOAD ERROR ++
Taxi for Tory
Why Labour doesn’t need Scotland
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #4
Labour, nationalists of the blood
Cameron misplaces marbles
Dog finds bone
To infinity and beyond
The Bannockburn myth
Spectators of suicide
Labour voters: Help wanted
The dogs of war
We are at war with Eastasia
New year, same old FUDs
Hi Quentin, another one of Joe, covering REM
Peace Always
Stoker:
Thank You,did you get the translation that you asked for,further up this thread?
Peace Always
Roy Rodgers. link to youtube.com
Just sent this to my brother, so might as well drop it in here too.
Julie Fowlis singing The Beatles ‘Blackbird’:
1967 San Franciscan nights,They did more than House of the Rising Sun
Peace Always
I like this version, and that’s that
Eric Burdon and War:Paint it Black.
Peace Always
Here’s one in recognition of the global resurgence of fascism and the un-deadness of Project Fear.
War – Slippin’ Into Darkness
I knew I should never have come to this party,I was warned!
Peace Always
I’m not meaning to be greedy but WAR were an amazing band, IMHO.
WAR – The World Is A Ghetto
I know a girl who Prefers this Version. link to youtube.com
Curtis Mayfield:
Peace Always
Night Nurse- Gregory Isaacs link to youtube.com
Michael McCabe
I posted that one the other night Michael, when you didn’t show up. I thought you might have been otherwise occupied. 😉
This song might be out of date. But it was a Cracker then & it Still does it for me. The Special Aka link to youtube.com
Some people died fighting for peace and equality.
Peace Always
Give me hope.
Peace Always
Did ye hear about the sequel to ‘Finding Nemo..?’
‘Wherz Dory?’
Cactus:
Captain Nemo
Peace Always
Night all
Peace Always
Hey up the back. Some of us are trying to survive down here. link to youtube.com
It’s certainly not easy to survive living under a system of internal colonisation, let alone thrive. I’d suggest the last 40 years might have seen the deepest exploitation of Scotland’s resources, throughout it’s three centuries of subservience to England. Stagnant population, structural poverty and a society structured through English culture and constantly groomed by the BBC to be happy BritNats.
Wake up Scotland, don’t be “name”!
Donny Hathaway – The Ghetto
@Loki
Your friends appear to be mostly neo-fascists, figured out you’re on the wrong team yet?
Smallaxe (@9:08pm)
Yes, got the translation. Sorry about not getting back to you sooner but these days i just normally post my comments then do a bunk, especially over here in Paula’s hoose.
You never know if anyones around, sometimes the hoose is jumpin’ and sometimes it’s deserted. I think they all watch for me coming and then hide when i get to the door.
Have a great and safe weekend troops.
@Loki
Don’t be too hard on yourself, your not the only one to have been taken in by the apparent wholesomeness of British National Socialism.
British socialism + British nationalism = British fascism = BLiS___d
The Temptations – Ball of Confusion (That what the world is today)
@Church of Scotland
Have you decided weather your duty is to protect your flock or is it to support an Anglican Establishment? Do you know God?
@David Torrance
Hey FAN-BOY. I’m still wondering how someone with a degree in psychology and shit, can hold beliefs that compel the impairment of Scots’ self-perception and judgement.
Were you off school when they covered identity formation or are you simply a greedy, selfish, fake? We already know you are a Tory fan-boy but perhaps you can explain the next time the BBC invites you to present the ‘rational’ voice of Scotland?
Panic in Babylon?
Lee “Scratch” Perry – I’m a Psychiatrist
Don’t know if you know it already or not, but here’s a song that was prescient about the 2008 crash, and with Brexit looming seems doubly-relevant here and now.
(Jeez, how is it that even a musician can see what’s happening when the “great and good” can’t? Eliza Gilkyson, fine songwriter and musician, and very together person.)
a live version:
recorded version:
Worth checking out for more too…
@David Torrance
Chin up FAN-BOY. I appreciate the recognition of one’s personal deficiencies can be a painful process but I’m sure you’ll agree it can be a positive step towards personal growth. Perhaps you need to look to your childhood to explain your apparent lack of humanity.
Your spiritual spanking’s a long way from being over kid. I hope you appreciate that. 😉
Upsetters (feat. U Roy) – Double 6
Robert J. Sutherland
Sorry Robert, I hadn’t refreshed. Indeed, a ‘runaway train’ powered by greed, nepotism and corruption. Am I’m beginning to sound a bit preachy? 🙂
@David Torrance
Think you’ve got what it takes to pick yourself up and re-invent yourself FAN-BOY, if the bottom of your world was to fall away? Think you could survive dropping through the social safety net? Think you could recover to build a business from scratch, with nothing behind you for support? Think you could be an employer?
You’ve probably never met the likes of me kid. You’re gonna take a tanking and it will be my great pleasure to cripple your over-inflated self-image. WANK.
Lee Perry & The Upsetters – Jungle Lion
WOS Archives for February 2012
The Scotsman backs Al-Qaeda
Where’s Johann?
Our friends, in the South
Why are we waiting?
Union Blackjack
The short straw
The honey-dripping beehive
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #13
A thing that really happened
Trust me, i’m a liar
Unionists break ranks, tell truth
The invisible truth
Kettle, meet pot
Something from the crank file
Scotland’s other shame
Swings and roundabouts
Please note folks, that whilst i enjoy *any* WOS articles because they all do what i enjoy most about this site, expose the truth, i will not be linking to football related posts. I want to focus on the political articles relevant to Scottish independence. For those interested, there are 2 excellent articles in the first half of February 2012 related to football.
Yogi-Yogi Chai, how do..
Stoker:
Big up Sistren,thank you for your dedication.
Peace Always
A wee tune for my Mate Thepnr. link to youtube.com
Peace Always
Bring it on!
Peace Always
Heavy Man. link to youtube.com
We good.
Turn it up to eleven & three-quarter.
X.
@Michael McCabe
Thanks for that my friend and in return I have only this, a song played many times here. Of that I’m proud.
Sad to hear of Fidel Castros death today, a man hated by the establishment but h=as far as I know he did best that he could for his people. My wee tribute.
The song is called Proud. Turn the sound up and listen, that’s us 🙂
Turn it up Thepnr.
Karma turns up once again.
Castro:
Peace Always
@David Torrance
Morning FAN-BOY. I was thinking about your ideological self and thought it’s just not the done thing to allow you to walk around in such profound ignorance. So, I though “why not teach the kid myself”? So let’s get started with your remedial skooling, shall we?
link to simplypsychology.org
@David Torrance
Still with me FAN-BOY?
Perhaps the next time you’re on the BBC, you can explain to them that their love for Scotland is neither natural nor healthy? They hamper the formation of a Scottish identity and impair Scotland’s psycho-social development by forcing a British identity and values on Scots. As you will no doubt acknowledge, such a perversion of one’s personal development can be expected to effectively undermine the formation of a rational, self-aware human BEING.
The BBC undermines Scotland’s self-confidence and ability to make rational judgement and effectively turns Scots in to domesticated beasts or zoo exhibits, kept in a permanent state of adolescence.
Now why would the BBC do that other than to subvert Scottish democracy?
link to learning-theories.com
@David Torrance
Personal bigotry can be hard to overcome so here’s a handy wee summery for you FAN-BOY. Perhaps you could share it with BALLOON-BOY?
link to slideshare.net
@David Torrance
Personal bigotry can be hard to overcome so here’s a handy wee summery for you FAN-BOY. Perhaps you could share it with BALLOON-BOY?
link to slideshare.net
@David Torrance
Unfortunately, things aren’t necessarily as straight forward as it might appear. Ideology is all around us, in the written or spoken word and also transmitted through the environment and the semiotic processes it triggers. Here’s one you might enjoy sharing with BALLOON-BOY and the SEMIOTIC-KID, Severin Carrell.
link to users.ipfw.edu
N.B. The semiotic theory of space and place tells us autonomy stimulates the development of new processes and procedures i.e. locally defined and therefore authentic culture.
@David Torrance
How much does the BBC paying you to spread your anti-scientific point of view FAN-BOY?
Lee Perry and The Upsetters – Vampire
@David Torrance
Thought we were through for the day FAN-BOY? No such luck. We live in a semiotic world, see.
You do know what principles are?
link to colorado.edu
@David Torrance
How about a sociocultural perspective on identity?
link to people.ucsc.edu
@David Torrance
Hope I’m joining the dots for you FAN-BOY. Wouldn’t want you to continue spreading anti-scientific beliefs, even if that is what the BBC employs you for.
link to oxfordhandbooks.com
@David Torrance
In case you are struggling to join the dots FAN-BOY, the BBC gives you a platform to spread your anti-scientific and anti-social beliefs. Any idea why the BBC might ask for your help to miss-represent Scotland?. Could it be you are perceived as knowledgeable and credible?
link to my.ilstu.edu
@David Torrance
So according to principles of contemporary social science, you would appear to be either dangerously ignorant of socio-psycological processes, or you’re a bit of an anti-Scottish bigot. Care to fess up FAN-BOY?
link to slideshare.net
@David Torrance
I’m nowhere near eleven yet FAN-BOY but that’s probably enough for today. I’ve barely started with your re-edumication, so it might be good idea for you to admit you’re finished as a credible commentator.
Max Romeo & The Upsetters – I chase the Devil
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #11
Well, that’s all settled, then
We’re just going to leave this here
(Dirty) business as usual
Pot, meet kettle
The two faces of Unionism
The other side of the coin
The Scotsman: a user’s guide
Alex Salmond Dictator-Comparison Bingo!
And it was (nearly) all yellow
Behind our backs
The mask slips
Premature evaluation
Stoker:
Thank you,it is much appreciated.
Peace Always
I don’t quite understand some of the the personal attacks on the main thread. Cabin fever, I presume.
A lesson for us all, perhaps:
Tinto:
I don’t like it either it’s depressing.
Peace Always
Amen to that, Smallaxe.
Can you remember the number?
It’s 1886, btw.
Tinto:
You’re really doing it now
Peace Always
Hi, Smallaxe.
Aye, the Sublime Steely.
“I grow old, I grow old, I shall wear the bottoms of my trousers rolled, Smallaxe.”
I’m taking a wee break to have a think and work on a couple of things I need to do. It’s been great talking with you, my friend, tho’ we’ve never met.
Be back soon, once I’ve planned the revolution. Meanwhile, don’t worry:
Good night and God bless.
Hey, Cactus, keep staring at the stars. You’ll find an independent Scotland there.
Night all.
Damn, forgot to add this is my favourite “stare at the stars” music!
See you all on the other side.
And so, cheeriebythenoo.
Tinto Chiel
Haste ye Back!
Peace Always my Friend
Tinto:
We shall wear white trousers, and walk upon the beach,my friend
Peace Always
@David Torrence
Here’s one for all the upressors resisting the global resurgence of fascism, so it’s not for the likes of yourself. You appear to be in bed with the neo-fascist British Nationalist Economic Freedom Fighters who are determined to deny my innate humanity. Got an opinion on HMG’s suppression of the McCrone Report?
Starting to realise what a pathetic little WANK you are FAN-BOY? Found out what principles are yet?
Onesty – I Rise
WOS Archives for March 2012
Salmond: the secret of his success
Smear and smear again
The fine art of smearing
The Bain Principle
Tomorrow belongs to us
Bridge for sale, apply within
Labour gets its story straight
Once upon a time in the West
The Straight Debates #1
The Straight Debates
Compromise, Labour-style
Death from above
Labour rejects mature debate
Scotland after the referendum
Poor wee Scotland
When the things you love keep changing
Stoker:
I am, as you already know,extremely grateful for your diligence in hunting down relevant information for use in my writing and passing on such things to friends and activists who will make good use of them.
Thank you from me and my associates who I can assure you will put this information to good use.
@David Torrance
I think I sussed you pretty well when we met FAN-BOY, so I imagine a plastic hipster, that’s you that is, would possibly gravitate towards the soul brothers and sister. I’ll just leave this here for you, in case you missed it on the main thread. Perhaps you might want to defend your ideologically impaired perspective, the next time you are presenting the ‘rational’ voice of Scotland on the BBC.
Re. the resurgence of fascism. Behavior is shaped by emotion, that’s why I aim to make people smile, apart from Tory fan-boys, of course.
link to scholar.harvard.edu
@David Torrance
This is important knowledge, avail yourself, for pity sake.
Emotion and Decision Making
h t t p s://scholar.harvard.edu/files/jenniferlerner/files/annual_review_manuscript_june_16_final.final_.pdf
For those who doubt the BBC is impairing Scotland’s decision making abilities, please read “Emotion and Decision Making”, Jennifer Lerner, scholar.harvard.edu., 2014.
Hi Cameron:
Decisions:
Peace Always
Smallaxe
Sooooooperb.
Individuals are only free to make their own rational decisions if their judgement is not impaired through environmental factors, e.g. mass-media representation.
The BBC is harmful to Scotland’s public heath!
link to un.org
N.B. Without access to your inalienable “Right to Development”, hoping for social justice is a forlorn exercise in self-deception. One requires the rule-of-law if one is to achieve social justice and a potential for a sustainable society,frankly.
Cameron:
I see a couple of un-edumacated souls on the Main thread,keep them on the path of righteousness, as you do so well.
The truth
Peace Always
Will speak tomorrow:Fatigue 🙁
Smallaxe
Too kind. It’s what I was trained to do 25 years ago Smallaxe, sort of. Once you’ve got a grounding in principle you have a solid base for analysis and deconstruction. This week, I’ve been mostly seeking to deconstruct British nationalism and the BBC. Hope you don’t mind. 😉
@David Torrance
Yes, that means you are merely a vector to my target and any damage to your BEING is purely collateral damage, kid. Life’s tough sometimes.
@David Torrance
How you enjoying your re-edumication?
The Upsetters – Blackboard Jungle Dub
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIE–qDiBLk
@David Torrance
In case you didn’t pick up on the meaning there, crank this mix up for the full-fat dub effect of this weapon of mass-instruction.
Lee Perry & The Upsetters – Blackboard Jungle
@David Torrance
Here’s another one to help your re-edumication. Unlike yourself, I’m trained specifically to be an enabler of sustainable communities.
Gatherers, Lee Perry, Upsetters – Words Of My Mouth
@David Torrance
Britain is the ideological creation of a traditionalist, colonialist, per-democratic mindset and does not provide the constitutional or legislative frameworks to enable the sustainability of an authentic Scottish community. Only an outdated British-Scottish community shaped by an expansionist form of English nationalism. This does not help the effort to achieve global sustainability or world peace.
Abyssinians, Keith Hudson, Big Joe – Declaration Of Rights
link to un.org
@David Torrance
Just in case you still can’t hear the truth of my message, I had an English grannie you know and I don’t really have anything against banjo players.
If you’ve got a positive case for the Union, make it shine kid.
The Gatherers & The Upsetters – Words (rare alt-mix, 1973)
@Owen Jones
You didn’t appear too concerned over the abuse of civil liberties and the denial of inalienable human right of Scots, ye wee fanny-bawz. Put the master’s tools down and step out of your ideological world, for Jebus sake. Perhaps you will then be able to allow your ethics to rise above your beliefs and support Scottish independence?
link to un.org
This on STV.
Train derailment in Edinburgh leads to cancellations
A Virgin Trains spokesman said: “We’d like to apologise to customers for disruption this morning, which was caused by the derailment of a train within a depot last night.
Humza this is all your fault Murdo the Tank and Kez will be shouting.Brewer will you resign Humza
A preview screening of the film London Calling will be taking place in Airdrie this Thursday (1st December).
All welcome. Details at the link, and if you fancy attending can you please note it on the Airdrionians For Independence Facebook event page?
Thanks.
link to airdrieoniansforindependence.wordpress.com
Smallaxe (8:36pm)
No problem whatsoever. The fact that you, TC and K1 expressed an interest at the beginning was motivation enough to see this through. Anything else will be a bonus. Take care and enjoy! 😉
A St Andrew’s concert at the Oran Mor tonight for Alastair Gray the living legend folks.
The sounds of silence
Does Alex Salmond need a translator?
Labour demand £19bn of cuts in Scotland
Scotland’s man in Westminster
Attention, stupid people
Voices off
Scottish Labour’s raw nerve located
Ugly witches are easy to hunt
Old dogs, old tricks
Labour’s new lie
Strength through joy
Still a few tickets left
This is our trumpet
Nice to see the Saltire flying over both towers on the Forth Road Bridge today.
Tomorrow is St Andrews day.
Stoker:
Thank you,as always.
Peace Always
Where? When?
Peace Always
@J.K. Rowling
What particular insight do you have, with respect to the likelihood of Scotland’s survival as an authentic society, within an ideologically defined Britain, in an age driven by the forces of post-modernity and globalisation.
Can you imagine what Scottish society might be like in 100 years, defined through neo-liberal English/British nationalism?
Do you imagine the popular dissatisfaction with the way Westminster deals with Scotland will simply vanish like Scotch mist?
Are you aware of the “Right to Development”?
Perhaps you wish Scotland to become dysfunctional in a space-age-by-way-of-Caligari … on the delicious side of creepy*, stylee. Well Brexit is a monster movie musical.
The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. T – Because We’re Kids
* The Baltimore City Paper
Saint Andrew for you on St Andrews day. link to youtube.com
Happy Happy Saint Andrew’s Day folks = )
Have a great day Wingers, here’s a Scottish dedication.
Nazareth are back.
Wouldn’t it be nice if we started singing Auld Lang Syne, today, as well as Hogmanay?
It’s a crackin’ tune! 😉
There’s nothing stopping us.
Just like the number 100.. it’s ours, we own it.
“Should aul..”
So benefits should not be sufficient to provide the means to social inclusion?
Historically, fascism has thrived in an environment defined through wedge politics, virtue gesturing, violence (both symbolic and physical) and an ideology of centralised power.
Hold tight Scotland! Put the master’s tools down and spot who the real enemy is. Stop fighting among yourselves! A divided colony will never emancipate itself from bondage.
The BBC is Scotland’s enemy number ONE.
African Brothers – Hold Tight
@Church of Scotland
Still value the interests of an ideology that is alien to Scottish culture and landscape and the predominantly Anglican Establishment it supports, over the best-interests of your flock? The PM does say she is guided by God, so I suppose you’ll be right behind her then, eh?
Flag waving
Anyone know how the flag waving went at the parliament today?
WOS Archives for April 2012
Getting our teeth into the news
This is our hypocrisy meter
Weekend: Cybernats are made, not born
The nicest blog in Scotland
WOS Archives from April 2012
Labour’s long spoon
Heads you lose, tails you lose
Obsession, by Severin Carrell
Murdoch on Salmond
This isn’t a rhetorical question
Battleship in the harbour
The missing link
Weekend essay:
How ‘divide and conquer’ became the Union’s paradoxical strategy
Back to basics
The famed English sense of humour
Positive-case-for-the-Union update #15
Britain’s ticking time bombs
Given the current political climate in Westminster and the want of yoons to call us narrow nationalists, do you think I can get away with dedicating this to all the vile seps out there. 🙂
Ripton Hylton (Eek-A-Mouse) – My Father Land + Dub
I appreciate reggae doesn’t float everyone’s boat but I can’t think of better moral inspiration than the descendants of slaves telling oppressive, colonial power where to get off.
Ripton Hylton (Eek-A-Mouse) – Wicked Shall Not Reign + Dub
Don’t fear shadows. Viceroy Fluffy and an increasingly obvious BBC and their Scottish ‘experts’, are the representatives of Westminster power over Scotland. Not such tough opposition under the lens of proper scrutiny, as ideology is leaden-footed and crumbles under the weight of scientific understanding.
Ripton Hylton (Eek-A-Mouse) – Peeni Walli + Dub
Stoker:
Thank you,very much appreciated.
Peace Always
So much trouble in the World:
One Love One People One Race:The Human Race
Melting Pot:
I’ll find my way home:Vangelis
Soldier Blue
Peace Always
All you need is Love:
Sia:
Soon We’ll be found:
Peace Always
Still I RISE:
MAYA ANGELOU
Peace Always
@aweright Tinto Chiel, stars it is..
*Starrider* by ‘Neighbour’
Hold onto your seats!
Courage and convictions: the state of the Scottish online media and blogosphere
We are biased
Double takes and double standards
The smoking gums
Weekend essay: “Skintland”,Darien and the mythology of the BritNats
Positive-case-for-the Union update #14
Johann Lamont’s faulty hearing aid
Labour’s attack boomerang
Your rules, our rules
The cry of liberty
Weekend essay: Groupthink, the Bay of Pigs and the Scottish Labour Party
Reinforcements arrive
The scores on the doors
Minding your own business
Anas Sarwar is a liar
Jigging in the rigging
For the football/sport fans – i also came across 2 more excellent football articles. Get some practice in and use the WOS search facility. The 2 articles are:
“Cheat’s Charter”,controversy ended
(13/04/12)
The game with no balls
(12/04/12)
Enjoy!
In light of Nestle’s submission to runaway Junginst perfectionism, here’s an emergency tune for the Rev. 🙂
WARNING: lots of flashing lights.
Sonic Youth – Sugar Kane
Small axe
One for you
link to m.youtube.com
Andrew McLean:
Thanks for P.L.Jackson
A year earlier;1971
“In My Own Time”
FAMILY;
Peace Love and Fraternity
I’ll be back soon so…
Paula Rose:
“ROOM”!!!
“Castles in the Air”
Don McLean
Peace Always
Small Axe
kick off your sandals and feel the warm sand under your feet and the sun on your face.
Samll Axe
lay down in the shade with a mojito, feel the warm air cover you, slip on the headphones and drift away to an yet undiscovered country in your mind.
Hey Bud Chill out Man!
Small axe
Once more have a swim in the ocean while the young foke’s here learn the words, “and as the elders of our time chose to remain blind, let us rejoice and let us sing and dance,
and ring in the new!”
Small Axe you tripping yet mate? link to youtube.com
Grovvvy man,
Hey given your internet history is being looked at by GCHQ and Mrs May,
Fanny anyone? link to youtube.com
Its free!
@SmallAxe – thanks for the assist. Like yourself, I could not find much more than those entries about sales and Wikipedia noting some supermarket chains’ reluctance. My impression had been that it had continued for far longer than those entries state, but this was largely anecdotal comment at the time – and the editor of The National seems reluctant to say more.
Onward…
Hey, am heading down to the deep south, courtesy of Richie B.
Look out London!
I’ll file my report later..
X.
Aye..
Look out London.. Cactus calling.
Je come in peace and always.
X.
Andrew McLean:
I’m not doing this anymore!
Because I’m this
Pretty colours
I want it to be like this again
Meanwhile, I’m just doing this
while we are this.
Peace Always
We are Spartacus
The Big Lie and the many small lies
Scot The Difference
A new low
WOS Archives for May 2012
Why nationalists aren’t racists
Sifting the wheat from the chaff
Why maybe the Unionists are right
Action and reaction
Weekend essay: The post-mortem and obituary of the positive case for the Union
Preparing for tomorrow
Too much news
With friends like these
Johann Lamont does not speak for us. Here are 42 people who do.
An open letter to Johann Lamont
BREAKING: Lockerbie bomber still alive
Andrew McLean:
I only came online about an hour ago and”Behold and Lo”,your good self, had only went and posted some lovely aul bits o’ tunes for me,so ye did.Upon seeing these wonderfully and obviously extremely well-chosen compositions, stemming from that transcendental (Transforming?)period in my unworthy existence.I immediately set myself to the task of replying to your outstanding and cerebral choices of musically rapturous delights.
Unfortunately, as unfortunate things can and do happen,I immediately ensconced my miserable posterior upon my second favourite Chaise Lounge (My first best,being so luxuriously upholstered and immensely comfortable, renders itself useless to any serious attempt to retain alertness and alacrity,which of course is a necessity for intense musical discussion,as one, shall be most obviously aware
So bredren,I n’ I,in de luv of a’ Most High,mi tank ya fi’music.
A’ve sent you wan a’ thae posts wae some sounds oan it,it wis a’ wile ago n’ its no made an appearance yit!yer probs in yer pit noo,fck it.
There will now be a short musical intermission,whilst I adjust my medication…Hark..is yonder sound a siren?
No,its Neil Young.
Peace Always 🙂
Here’s one from the year of my birth.
@HMG
Expect my uppressing against neo-fascist neo-colonialism to intensify, as I intend dying a free man unbound by historical shackles.
Desmond Dekker & The Aces – Intensified ’68 (aka Music Like Dirt)
link to un.org
thewaterbeastie:
No problem,we can only try.
We shall Overcome!
Peace Always
Stoker:
Thank you,I got last nights also.
Peace Always
CameronB Brodie:
Hi Cameron,likkle more?