Let’s hit the streets

Posted on August 15, 2014 by

In March this year, Wings Over Scotland ran a breathtakingly successful fundraiser. We asked for £50,000 in a month and achieved it in eight hours, going on to raise over £110,000 in total, despite the bitterness and cynicism of the mainstream media.

The money has been used for various projects – we’ve already spent many thousands of pounds on site running costs, conducting opinion polls, taking out adverts and distributing hundreds of thousands of leaflets and posters and postcards and badges.

wbbcard1side

Click here to go to fundraising site.

But the main thing we wanted to fund was The Wee Blue Book – a pocket-sized guide to independence, fully-sourced and referenced and covering every important aspect of the debate, but which can be read in about an hour. We budgeted £15,000 for it, with the intention of producing perhaps 20,000 copies. But we’ve got four million voters to reach, and we need to scale that up a bit.

The digital edition of the book is already available, and it’s been an astonishingly big success – almost 250,000 copies have already been downloaded in just four days, and the critical response has been extremely positive.

But to really get the word out we have to print physical copies on paper for all the people who don’t use the internet or wouldn’t come to a politics website. Since the book came out we’ve been absolutely swamped by demand. So we want to make and distribute at least 10 times as many copies as our original plan – that’s 200,000.

Fortunately we’ve got a very good deal on printing costs, so that won’t cost 10 times as much money, but it’ll take more than we’ve got left in the kitty, so we’re asking you to dip into your pockets one last time to help us top up the coffers.

That’s about it, really. You’re busy people. You get the idea.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 15 08 14 13:03

Let’s hit the streets | Scottish Independence News

821 to “Let’s hit the streets”

1. Ally

What’s the target? & where is the donate function?

2. Ally

duh – ignore the above comment (Although a BIGGER button might help?) – good luck!

I predict 9pm Friday!!!!

3. thedab

100 smackeroonies out of my pension. You’re welcome.

4. Seasick Dave

There’s the kids’ shoe money gone!

5. Milady de Winter

Done..wish I had more to give but hopefully every little helps!

6. Calgacus

Donation about to be sent Rev.Stu.

Thank you so much for your dedication and hard work.

We are going to win a landslide.

7. Training Day

Done. Ally, DO wake up 😉

8. RogueCoder

We’ll done Rev, Wee Blue Book is a roaring success and a credit to your tireless work!

9. heraldnomore

two and a half grand already!

10. Johnny

I was late over from the ranks of the DK’s, but was delighted to be able to contribute in my small way to this particular initiative. The worthiest of causes.

11. galamcennalath

10% of the target in less than an hour. Doesn’t it make you proud to be Scottish, rather than a proud Scot? 😉

12. john king

OMG
    I went out about an hour ago and this post wasnt even up , I come back and it raised £2.750 jeesh.

13. Jonathan Lindsay

Done. Never has donating money felt so good.

14. heraldnomore

try again – I see the UKIP leader is after a seat for May.

No doubt he’ll get plenty airtime, as will Boris.

Scary coalition prospects, even more so than the current one perhaps

15. Alan Mackintosh

Over 3K now… Onwards, let the presses start rolling

16. kendomacaroonbar

Peeps,

I’ve ordered and paid for £ 3,000 worth of books which should be available early next week. I hope fellow wingslanders may consider saving Kendo’s clacker bag removal by spousal means by considering buying 500 brochures for £ 100 ?…but still contribute to the Big Push ! 🙂

17. R-type Grunt

Done.

18. HandandShrimp

I will donate tonight, I trust there will still be a target to reach by then 🙂

19. suzyq22

Ally, I’m thinking that maybe the reason why no target was set is that the Rev will use whatever money is donated to *hopefully* print more than 200,000 copies. Anyway, that’s 20 quid of my hubby’s (a no voter) hard earned dosh donated.

20. James S

Great to see the initiative.

For those who want to donate (and not scroll up)

WeeBlueBook – let’s hit the streets fundraiser

21. Midgehunter

50 quid on its way already, nothing left for grub this week 🙁

Looks like the budgie will be paying the ultimate sacrifice this evening – on the spit probably…

22. Colin

Gave what I could but I am going to ask friends and family to give me money for the cause over the weekend, so hopefully I can get more 😉

23. Morag

If we exceed the target, can we print even MORE? Is there time to get these printed and get them out there?

24. velofello

Donation sent, well worth it. Wee blue book is A1 for discussion with the DKs.

25. kendomacaroonbar

@Morag

Yes, delivery in 1 week.

distribution and delivery with 3 weeks to go before the big day.

26. TJenny

Donated happily. 🙂 (Who says we Scots are mean?) Total now at £5,528.00 and 22% of the total requested.

When will we reach the target? Midnight or before?

27. haud on the noo

£5600 now.

28. suzyq22

Oops! Just realised that there is a target and that I’ve donated via the donate button rather than the link for this specific fundraiser. Maybe it’s just me (blonde woman in her early forties being driven crazy by 3 kids who she wishes were back at school) but perhaps the link needs to be bigger and bolder?

29. Proud Cybernat

Cash sent. We CAN!

30. TJenny

£6,471.00 now 🙂

31. desimond

@kendomacaroonbar

Im on south side of Glasgow,had a chat with local Yes group and they may be ‘unofficially’ open to “a few”…stick me down for a £100 worth please.

Whats your email again?, I only have previous fundraiser emails im afraid.

32. edward robinson

donation made, we can /must do this

33. Katherine hamilton

Hi, Rev
    When the pay comes in you’re on.
    O/T. Ferguson’s shipyard in Port Glasgow closed. Staff gutted not told. Payed off today. Shipbuilding only safe in the Union.I’m sure you’ll investigate.

34. kendomacaroonbar

@desimond

kenmcdonald1(AT)btopenworld(DOT)com

35. Phil Robertson

The WBB begins with “A very great deal of what you’ve been told about independence in the last few years … the media is, to be blunt, a tissue of half-truths, omissions, misrepresentations and flat-out lies.”

Interesting then that, among a total of around 140, about 60 of its sources of information are from the mainstream media.

So which is it – sources of information or flat-out liars?

36. Proud Cybernat

Won’t be long Stu before you can tell all the small contributors to stop sending their money as you have too much.

Hehe.

37. HandandShrimp

Phil

“A great deal” is not the same as “everything”. Or do you believe every word in the Mail for example?

The News of the World clearly flat out lied about phone hacking

38. Indy_Scot

Done, and a Wee Blue Book Tee-shirt from Ebay to boot.

39. James Kay

Over 35% now, £8871

40. jon esquierdo

Just sent ma wee bit .The dug disnae ken it yit but its oan a diet fur four weeks

41. Steve

Total is flying up. I only have a small amount to spare but your dedication to this campaign is amazing.

42. Thepnr

@kendomacaroonbar

I’ll pay for a 1000 from you ken with the money raised at Seafest. Will of course donate to the Rev fundraiser also.

43. kendomacaroonbar

@thepnr

Thank you Sir ! 🙂

44. Richard Lucas

Up to £9100 already!

45. ianbeag

Donation made – amount climbing at the speed of light! Well deserved.

46. Hewitt83

Rev,

Whatever happens next month – thank you.

You’ve been a credit to the cause.

47. Stoops

Donated, not much but I’ll try and give more when I can.

Keep fighting the lies, and thank you!

48. David Lee

Done. We’re on the final stretch now, will be doing what I can to get the Wee Blue Book to as many undecideds and soft nos I can.

49. Gary Doc

£9,693 – This is where the fight is won!

50. dennis mclaughlin

A wee monkey from me & family to this good cause.

Was up in Oban yesterday and people are getting excited for the 19th :).

Well done to all Wingers everywhere!.

51. Daibach

£9,693 Now, I donated £50 (that’s my seed potato fund)

The WBB is fantastic Stu 🙂

52. Gary C

Pretty skint just now as been off work for past few weeks, just bought a house and paid off my holiday but happy to encourage as many others as I can and if still needed when I get paid next week I’ll fire a few quid in. #thisisourtime

53. Doug Daniel

It’s been going for a little over an hour and you’ve only just broken the £10,000 mark.

What’s taking so long?

54. heedtracker

@ HandandShrimp, Phil’s read it and thats what its all about.

55. X_Sticks

£10.5k ALREADY!

Amazeballs! (apparently something “extremely good or impressive”)

56. Martin

I have donated, I am pleased about the wee card game bonus, but the real present I want is a fairer society.

57. dennis mclaughlin

13 grand @ 13.41…….This will be wrapped up this evening :).
    Jaw dropping statistics even for WOS .

58. Madir Mabbott

The largest sum I’ve ever donated; the happiest I’ve ever been about it. Total fund = £13,560 raised by 13:43… blink and it will all be over by lunchtime.

59. Dr JM Mackintosh

£13,245 in 1hr 20 mins – Incredible !
    WBB is very popular.

60. TheGreatBaldo

OT

It would appear that the Unionist are getting very agitated about this….

Someone called Toby Fenwick is desperately trying to find faults and error on Twitter under #wbbcorrections …to date it’s just him and thon Lovat character.

61. Colin

I think it will be all over by 16:38 pm, anyone else care to hazard a guess? Winner gets a WBB.

62. dennis mclaughlin

O/T Postie just delivered oor polling cards for the 18th ……it’s getting real now :).

63. Adam

Libertae, egalitae, fraternitae! Let’s dae this!

64. HandandShrimp

Baldo

I think it is likely that not everyone is going to like the WBB

65. Adam Rodger

The power of social media is awesome! Pleased to be able to contribute.

66. Gary

Pleasure to contribute again – we can do this 🙂

Thanks for all the work Stuart.

67. Robert Peffers

@Katherine hamilton says: 15 August, 2014 at 1:14 pm:

“O/T. Ferguson’s shipyard in Port Glasgow closed. Staff gutted not told. Payed off today. Shipbuilding only safe in the Union.I’m sure you’ll investigate.”

Toodleoo the noo the Bitter Brian reports on BBC the GMB Union guy is blaming the SNP. You couldn’t make it up.

68. Black Douglas

Ah well a few less Peroni tonight 😀

Fund sitting at £15,250 as I type 😀 😀

69. nemo

Just contributed and now nearly £15,000 – Not bad eh! ????

70. TJenny

Now £15,285.00 and 61%. 🙂

71. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Colin – Pessimist! 1446hrs and it will be done 🙂

72. Thepnr

There’s an huge, magnificent amount of shy Wingers out there who are though not afraid to put their hand in their pocket.

Thank goodness for that, decency and commitment is that which will win this referendum for ALL our people. Thank You.

73. gerry parker

Happy to oblige Stu contribution made.

74. Training Day

@Robert Peffers

From the BBC site

“Jim Moohan, GMB Scotland senior organiser and chair of the Confederation of Shipbuilding and Engineering Unions (CSEU), called on First Minister Alex Salmond to intervene.

He said: “This is the last remaining commercial shipbuilding yard in Scotland. It has now locked its doors to the workforce.

“Unless the Scottish government intervenes this puts the final key in the door of commercial shipbuilding which has a history of several hundred years in Scotland.

“Not to intervene will be an utter betrayal by the Scottish government and the First Minister, Alex Salmond.”

You couldn’t, as you say, make this up. Labour and its Union apparatchiks know no shame.

75. heedtracker

Can someone not prod the Daily Heil or the Pacific Quay liggers to give WBB a grand ol bittertogether no thanks monstering:D

76. Harry McAye

Done. Wow, an hour and half in and almost £16,000!!!

77. Muscleguy

@Dennis McLaughlin

We got our voting cards today too.

78. Colin

@Archie [not Erchie] says

I know, I’m sitting here wishing I had kept my mouth shut 😉
    We could have a sweeper on how much is raised and how much it pisses off the naysayers.

79. Lesley-Anne

Donedid! 😛

£50 gladly and freely donated, I just wish I could have given you more, a lot more Stu. 😉

80. IcySpark

Contributed. Thank you Stu and all WoS readers. Nothing stops this train.

81. TJenny

Er, £16,716 + 67% and rising – Oh happy, happy day:-)

82. David

I needed a wings badge…….only 43 left NOW 🙂

83. lemon

Just donated £100.00.
    Total now at £16,651 at 13:58.
    Outstanding response from everyone.

84. heedtracker

Bloody hell, £17,350!

85. Mary Bruce

So heartening to see the response to this! Can’t wait to get my hands on the wee blue book.

86. TJenny

David – welcome another gold Winger. 🙂

87. David

70% Houston we have lift off go go go YES YES YES 🙂

88. heedtracker

Now £17,450! It’s going up at a hundred of your rUK only pounds a minute.

89. HandandShrimp

What are the bets McColm will refuse to believe we have raised the money again 🙂

90. Roseanne

Looks like target will be reached today ????

91. heedtracker

Actually it’s more like 500 quid a minute.

92. YESGUY

Got my voting card today.

had a read an felt a wee tremble. It’s really gonna happen. All those years of arguments, countering the spin and the twisted distortions and it’s now down to the vote.

Nothing on Earth will stop me , and every Winger , voting.

Fundraising going well Stu , will have to wait till Tuesday to get my donation off , but it will be sent. Thats a promise.

Incredible work Stu . Don’t think we will ever be able to pay you back but when the YES vote storms in we can try.

Good luck to all Wingers. The final stretch is here at last. I am proud to count myself as a winger. Proud of my fellow Scots.

93. John H.

Thepnr 1.54pm.

I’d like to add my thanks also to everyone who is contributing.Never underestimate the sheer decency of our ordinary people. (I know you don’t, Thepnr).

94. Tartan Tory

That’s my second set of gold wings on order now. One for each lapel, I suppose. If I flap hard enough, I will surely be able to get off the ground. 🙂

95. Morag

As noted elsewhere, I’m currently attending LonCon3 in, unsurprisingly, London. I’m posting from my phone. My computer is in my hotel room, half a mile’s walk away, and I won’t be back there till midnight.

So, is the target going to be smashed before I get a chance to chip in? Realistically, is there an upper limit on what can actually be used? At what point do printing and distribution become the limiting factors?

96. Proud Cybernat

Average donation = £55.

97. haud on the noo

£18,589

98. YESGUY

Bloody hell

18,000.00 already unbelievable .

Wingers are a generous lot.

Well done all

99. Nigerian Pirate

Definitely the best hundred quid I’ve spent in long while.

Lets win this.

100. Brian

You’d better alert the media that you’re being inundated with small donations 🙂

101. AlisterH

Very much enjoyed reading this website for some time now – never commented before. Made my donation – thank you all very much for what you are doing here. Absolutely, uplifitingly, positively fantastic!

102. Iain

That’s next week’s bread for sandwiches fund donated. Every day next week I’ll be eating buttered cheese with my bare hands. Messy, but worth it.

103. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Midgehunter says:
    Looks like the budgie will be paying the ultimate sacrifice this evening – on the spit probably…

The ultimate ‘Wings’ for Scotland.

104. Indy_Scot

I would very be surprised if Reporting Scotland does not cover this story on tonight’s news.

105. Neil MacKenzie

Somehow I know Rev. Stu. is sitting hitting the refresh button on the fundraiser. Remarkable response from all contributors and “alert readers”. Thanks toa all especially you Rev. Stu..

106. Doug Daniel

Morag – two hours and it’s already at 75%. Buy yourself a model of Tower Bridge or something instead, because the total’s going to be smashed long before you’re back to your hotel!

107. Silverytay

Unfortunately I am at work just now and unable to donate through the schools computer , as soon as I get home there will be a wee donation winging it’s way to you .

108. msean

Over £18,00 now,small contribution made. It all counts!

109. Another Union Dividend

It must be the intern’s day off at the BBC as they have not reported on yet another massive oil field off West coast of Scotland.

Just as Disreporting Scotland ignored the massive BP Clare 640 million barrels oil field and huge Total Laggan Tomore Gas field which has 20% of UK’s known gas reserves, both of which due to come on stream within the next 12 months, a third massive oil field was announced to-day, due to begin production east of Shetland and could produce oil until 2050.

I am sure our impartial media will give this front page / TV headline news… not.

Xcite Energy said yesterday that its Bentley find – one of the North Sea’s largest untapped resources – could produce more than 300million barrels of oil over 35 years.

The firm plans to use enhanced oil recover techniques right from the start to maximise recovery.

A trading update yesterday revealed that the field has possible reserves totalling 317million barrels.

http://www.energyvoice.com/2014/08/video-north-sea-resource-produce-700million-barrels/

110. Noriesmith

Delighted to support what you are doing. Keep up the excellent work. You have helped me to blow the fog away from many peoples eyes. Thank you.

Alba gu bràth

111. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Colin – It looks like I am gonna eat humble pie as well. I should have known better. 🙂

112. galamcennalath

@Stu

“So we want to make and distribute at least 10 times as many copies as our original plan – that’s 200,000.”

What’s the limit?

113. Jim Thomson

Just helped it to get to 18,964 🙂

114. msean

Sorry,£18,000 🙂

115. Flower of Scotland

Almost £19,000 now! Thanks for all you’ve done for Scotland Stu! We appreciate it!

116. Midgehunter

We’re moving in to countdown mode 10 – 9 – 8 – 7 – 6…. 😉

117. crisiscult

the best thing about this, better than the feeling of contributing to a noble cause that we are all convinced will help us towards creating a fairer society that we want our kids and others’ kids growing up in is that we know that the main newspapers and TV channels will report on it.

(ok, one of the above statements was supposed to be ironic)

118. TJenny

Now £19,344.

119. HandandShrimp

Clearly the target is going to be reached before I get home :/

120. JimnArlene

£19334, wow!

121. Proud Cybernat

Almost at £20k. Rising at roughly £162 per minute.

PHENOMENTAL!

122. Murray McCallum

I think we are witnessing how much people value Rev Stu’s work (earned over several years) and the fantastic contribution of the WBB to the final push.

123. silver19

£50 to the fund

124. Skip_NC

Wow. It was about 16,000 when I started making my modest (less modest when the bank converts it to US$!) donation. In the couple of minutes it took, the total went to 18,000+.

I have believed for thirty years that Scots should have the right to make a mess of their own economy. I sense we are almost there and wish I could do more to help. To those who will get out there and deliver the book that may well deliver independence, thank you.

125. desimond

If you think this fundraising is going fast, just wait till the ‘Stu for Holyrood’ Campaign Fund opens up!

126. Iain

That’s £20k now. Remarkable.

127. David

Any chance of finding one of the old pope-mobiles painting it Blue and White and Stu could distribute the WBB from it 🙂

128. Lesley-Anne

We have broken through the “20,000 mark folks, 80% of the total reached! 😛

129. Haggis Hunter

Paid. Wife will kill me but hey ho.
    Stu, nae fancy becoming a proffessional fund raiser?

130. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Rev Stu – Git those little blue book feckers rollin. Over 1/4 million downloads and this icing on the cake is awesome. Thanks to everyone who has and is going to donate and distribute.

131. Proud Cybernat

To put this in perspective.

Sir Paul McCartney is reputed to make around £84 per minute. Wings fundraiser is almost DOUBLE that.

Like I said – PHENOMENTAL.

132. Lesley-Anne

That’s cracking news AUD. 😀

At least now when Darling and his mob start going on about what currency we will use we can turn round to them and say “well for one thing we will NOT be using your grubby wee pound! We will be using the BARREL!” 😛

133. heedtracker

It’s maybe just where i am but UK.gov vote no stuff online seems to have been ramped up a lot, although they just congratulated everyone in Scotland for their ‘A’ level results and how much more they’re worth to you in guess where. Says all you need to know about UKOK civil service in Whitehall really.

https://www.youdecide2014.uk/11-reality-checks-scotland-decides-debate/?utm_source=Twitter&utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=Homeland&utm_content=1108

134. Thepnr

Right own up!

Duncan Hothersall just donated a fiver lol. Nice one “Duncan”.

135. Tam Jardine

Crazy that the target is so close after such a short period. Will bung in what I can.

OT can anyone access the Aberdeen Press and Journal article today on the front page: “Massive North Sea find to last decades” – I have been unable to read the article and it sounds a little bit like Mr Darling told a bit of a whopper the other night.

Appreciate your help anyone who can access and archive the piece.

136. Lesley-Anne

Total now just a smidgen under £22,000. That’s 88% of the total folks. At this rate we’re going to bust through the target total by 3 p.m. 😛

137. skozra

Keep up the incredible work everyone and massive thank you to Rev Stu ! Donated also, the Wee Blue Book is sweeeeeeeeet !

138. Faltdubh

What a great effort!

This total will be smashed by the time I’ve finished work at midnight tonight!

Let’s get a million books on the street.

139. TJenny

£22,125.00 and 89%. And rising with a bullet. 🙂

I’ve got a feeling Stuey boy has set up this fundraiser then gone out to do shopping or somesuch. If so, he’ll get a wonderful surprise when he gets home. 🙂

(I’ve had to revise these figures 5 times since I started typing, I know I’m not a quick typist, can’t keep up, Lovely.)

140. Karmanaut

That’s over £22,000 in a couple of hours. How much would it cost to print and distribute 2 million?

141. steve stewart

Well, this isn’t going to take very long at all, is it?

142. tehklev

I’d love to be a fly on the wall in Blythswood Square HQ right now. Relishing the sight of their drones banging away on their browser refresh buttons and seeing the look of disbelief and anguish as we collaboratively demonstrate true grass roots fund raising.

143. heedtracker

P&J North Sea oil strikes probably aren’t online but their Freudian slip from UKOK Aberdeen council poped up.

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/aberdeen/313892/headline-error-council-magazine-leaves-aberdeen-bosses-red-faced/

144. Mary Bruce

Over £10k since I sat down to lunch! Gaun yersel Scotland! Wish I could hang around to see the target reached, it won’t be long…

145. steviecosmic

Wings’ fundraiser totals rise inversely proportionally to the colour on unionists faces.

Always a joy.

146. Clootie

I’ve never seen fundraiser’s were you have to rush to get the donation in before it hits the target the same day!!
    — Except Wings

147. ailsa craig

Can’t believe just how the fund soared in the short few minutes it took for me to remember my paypal password. I think we all deserve a great return in support Yes votes for our effort. Amazing! So much for ‘ordinary voters’ on the NT posters. Wingers are the real deal.

148. chalks

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk/2014/08/pro-independence-campaign-stand-on.html

‘Yes stands on the brink of victory’

Just need to keep coaxing the shy yessers out of the union rock they are hiding behind.

149. Malc

Donated and now broken £23K mark

150. MJack

Would everyone slow down. I want do get my group to donate before the target is reached. £16,000 per hour? WTF

151. Finnz

Contribution on its way…

I think I just heard a brick dropping at Darlings house…

152. Lesley-Anne

At 2:28 p.m I posted that the total was a smidgen under £22,000 as I write this latest update the total now stands at £23,344 which is 93% of the target total. Well done everybody one wee final step to go and we’ll have smashed the target! 😛

153. MJack

I meant £8,000 per hour but still WTF!

154. RogueCoder

£23,400 – It’s all going to be over by 3pm 🙂

Staggering. Absolutely staggering.

Keep donating though folks – every penny will go towards Wee Blue Books that we can put into the hands of undecideds. Each book is a Yes voter waiting to happen.

Alba gu brath.

155. Faltdubh

So proud of EVERY SINGLE ONE OF US!

No do not have this. They don’t have ”Cybernats” like us.

Women for Indy. Radical Indy. Wings. Bella. Nat Collective. Asians/Irish/English/Polish/every other nationality for Yes.

This is something completley different. This feels like something amazing, folks!

This total will be smashed by midnight.

BUT THIS IS HISTORY, FOLKS!

156. Proud Cybernat

Less than £1,000 to go.

We CAN.

157. Malc

will not see 3pm never mind midnight

158. Lesley-Anne

We really are on the homeward stretch now folks. The total is now at £24,214 which 97% of the Target. Well done all of us! 😛

159. dennis mclaughlin

@ FINNZ. ……????????????????????

You are awful, but I like you………Bricks indeed ????????

160. Indy_Scot

This fundraising is a slow process.

161. Elizabeth Sutherland

Donated £20 from pension, wish it could have been more. I want to keep my National Health Service with a yes vote.

162. Karen

Wee donation sent – this site has been a lifeline. Ive been a silent wings follower for quite a while now and to see the WBB finally out is wonderful. Thanks Rev. Stu 🙂

163. Ken500

OK

164. McHaggis

gave £20 which I hope helps

165. Lemon

£24,569 @ 14:50.
    That is £10,000.00 an hour. (or 1 hours speaking engagement for AD)

166. TJenny

Only £311 needed to hit the target, can it be done before 3 o’clock?

167. ailsa craig

Is it being wicked to imagine the following????

“Wings inundated with cash” (The Guardian)

“Flood of donations sees Wings hit campaign limit” (Daily Express)

“Wings has publicly called for Scots to stop giving it money after a flurry of donations” (The Telegraph,

168. YESGUY

I was surprised at the last fund run but this is spectacular by any means. And we still have 11 days to go.

My money will be there tuesday and i hope we can double the asking amount by then.

Winger you are incredible.

400 quid short of total , wow. oops 200 quid..

I’m sitting here shaking my head if i refesh now i know it will be over the £25,000

I’ll leave that to someone else

169. BrianW

That’s me on beans on toast for the rest of the month.

No. Hang on.. News just in.. It’s just toast.. lol.

Couldn’t think of a better fundraiser to put some cash into. Either that or your tickets to Rio now have a 1A seat number..lol.. Whoo, hoo..champers all the way!

170. tartanfever

£10 is all I could afford, sorry it couldn’t be more.

Total at £24,500

171. Scott Minto (Aka Sneekyboy)

TARGET SMASHED – 2Hrs 57Mins

172. Neil MacKenzie

Congratulations Rev. Stu. You’ve done it in an afternoon!

173. Oor Wullie

200,000 is not enough. At this rate the fundraising will pay for 1/2 million. Think big and make the goal to deliver a copy to every household in Scotland.

Next call needs to be for people to distribute them. Tell me where and when and I will give a week of my time to deliver them around the doors.

174. Proud Cybernat

Total BUSTED @ 252!!

175. Tartan Tory

Wow!! I recon the target will be reached before I finish typing this post. Well done to each and every one of you. Who needs 11 days when you can reach target in three hours? 🙂

176. AlisterH

Broke through £35k at 2.51pm

177. Jim Thomson

And … breathe … £25k+ now

178. RogueCoder

Target reached!

That has to be some kind of record. Absolutely fantastic.

Wingers, you guys totally rock.

179. Lesley-Anne

I love your newspaper headlines ailsa, particularly your *ahem* Telegraph one. 😛

180. Clootie

Broken

181. X_Sticks

YEA!

NEXT!

182. AlisterH

..ooops broke through £25k at 2.51pm

183. David

Houston the eagle has landed 🙂

184. Gary

Well that escalated quickly.

185. Thepnr

Target passed. LOL

186. Calgacus

YES

187. Gavin

188. TJenny

NOW OVER THE TARGET – £25,248.00 – we did IT. 🙂 AND before 3 o’clock.

189. Brian McHugh

Absolutley top job folks… I’ll toast ye all the nicht 🙂

190. Malc

still climbing as well

191. haud on the noo

£25,767

192. ElGordo

Achieved 25k!

193. heedtracker

£25k in hours! Hope YES is watching WoS, we’ll never get this opportunity again.

194. Finnz

This is phenomenal. The selflessness being demonstrated by those who have dared to hope for a better future in an independent country is humbling.

195. Thepnr

Average £10,000/hour. Bye Bye Westminster 🙂

196. Clootie

What a good feeling – I can’t imagine what the 19th.of September will be like!

197. Tartan Tory

tartanfever says:

£10 is all I could afford, sorry it couldn’t be more.

Don’t be sorry in the slightest. You should feel every bit as proud as I do, if not more so. The little drummer boy comes to mind. 😉

198. Murray McCallum

Someone tell the printers to book a longer shift!

199. Lesley-Anne

Absolutely FAN BLOODY TASTIC!

Target to raise SET and in less that 2 and half hours later it is SMASHED! 😛

New oil field set for 35 years production announced East of Shetland. Woo Hoo! 😛

And

It’s my birthday today as well!

Man it just does not get much better than this. Think I’ll rename all Friday’s as “Good News” Fridays from now on! 😛

200. Doug D

And the target is hit!

201. dodecostanza

Just chipped in and then saw it was over the target.
    GET IN!

202. TJenny

Lesley – Anne – what a fantastic birthday present. Many happy returns and xxxs. 😉

203. Doug D

BTW, the target wasn’t met when I started entering my payment, and by the time I had, it was over by £100!

204. Calgacus

Happy birthday Lesley-Anne, I enjoy your posts from the deep south.

205. TJenny

Now over £26,000.:-)

206. dennis mclaughlin

Many Happy Returns Lesley-Anne……from all Wingers :).

207. IanH

…wow, impressive!

And the displayed total won’t include the donations made by numpties like me who used the Donate button on the right, rather than the Indiegogo link!

208. Archie [not Erchie]

@ MidgeHunter – Do not spit roast the budgie, there are other recipes available online. Well done to all

209. Doug Daniel

Well I’m just disappointed Stu didn’t set the fundraiser end time for this afternoon, just for a giggle.

210. MajorBloodnok

Looking forward to my playing cards – and I challenge Alistair Darling to a game of strip poker. He’ll be down to just his eyebrows in under 15 minutes.

211. Karmanaut

I feel very proud to have been part of this, and proud of you all, too. This is real grass roots democracy, unlike the No Campaign, which seems to be funded mostly by rich Torys.

212. Footsoldier

I have donated. What we need now is a simple plan to log postcodes (by street where possible)where the WBB has been delivered and to be visible online to avoid duplication of effort.

For example, I would be glad to deliver to specific postcodes in my area and I am sure I could recruit others to help. We do need to avoid duplication.

If we need more, I’m sure another fundraiser can be done.

213. Kenny

Quite seriously, has there ever been a crowdfunding exercise more successful than this (or the previous one)? It is surely a legitimate news story regardless. Have you dropped any of your pals at the BBC and other MSM outlets a wee press release about this, Rev?

214. Roseanne

Wish I could have donated more. So proud of all the wings supporters.

215. Proud Cybernat

O/T Apologies all.

In Glasgow city centre right now. Loads of folks flying the Saltire awaiting the Commonwealth Games Athletes Parade through the city.

Real buzz around the place.

216. fred blogger

fantastic day today! the lion roars.

217. Lesley-Anne

Thank you TJ, Calgacus, dennis and every one else for your birthday wishes. They are very much appreciated. 😉

I’m glad you enjoy my posts Calgacus, I may not know much but //I do seem to have the knack of driving folks insane, with laughter that it is. 😛

218. Colin

@ Archie [not Erchie] says:

My wife has been school clothes shopping with the kids and she brought me back a Subway for lunch, just finished eating it, came back to my office and the total asked for has been smashed.
    I swear, if I didn’t know better, the wingers done that just to make me look bad 😉

219. Haggis Hunter

Stu, you need tae put headlines in the Newspapers asking people to stop contributing

220. TJenny

atching the donations climb is so exciting, like some sort of bingo – Wingo maybe. 🙂

221. TJenny

Oops that should say Watching. well I did say I was excited. 😉

222. Footsoldier

Blow to Salmond as Wings takes over 2 hours to raise £25K. Magnus Gardham, The Herald

223. X_Sticks

HAPPY BIRTHDAY Lesley-Anne

Hugs’n’kisses

xxx

224. Clootie

Roseanne says:
    15 August, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Roseanne
    The whole spirit of Wings is that you don’t have to feel like that “…each by his means”

225. Colin

@ Footsoldier says:
    15 August, 2014 at 3:01 pm

“What we need now is a simple plan to log postcodes (by street where possible)where the WBB has been delivered and to be visible online to avoid duplication of effort.”

David Halliday has set up a wee programme to do just this, if he reads this, he might share with us again

226. Jim Thomson

@Lesley-Anne Many Happy Returns youngster! 😉

227. Robert Kerr

Now a gold badge to augment my silver one.

Well done Rev Stu and all the Wingers.

Now I am broke.

A free independent Scotland is a “Pearl of Great Price”.

228. Lesley-Anne

Thanks for your hugs n kisses X_Sticks. I just love all you guys, AND girls! 😛

229. Derick fae Yell

Goodness. That took HOURS.

Get to it

230. Haggis Hunter

Leslie Ann, they are playing down this new oil field.
    One small part of this new field alone will produce an average of 60,000 barrels of oil for 6o years. It took the technology of a Norwegian company, Statoil, to make this happen.
    It is said to be the biggest find ever. I know one man who works on one of the rigs, they have been sent home and told not to talk about it. Torys must think we are buttoned up the back

231. JimnArlene

Thepnr says:
    15 August, 2014 at 2:55 pm
    Average £10,000/hour. Bye Bye Westminster 🙂
    And hello freedom. 😉

232. Skip_NC

Kenny, you make an excellent point. I wonder if Stephen Daisley would be interested? Although I don’t know how widely read his column is.

233. Lesley-Anne

Many thanks Jim. Oh by the way I aint THAT young, I’m over 21 you know! 😛

234. Macart

Happy birthday Lesley-Anne.

Mmmmmmmwaa X. 🙂

235. gerry parker

@ Colin & Footsoldier.

I e mailled David to get him to repost.

236. BrianW

4th on the Trending List on Indiegogo.. 4th.. IN THE WORLD..

Lets see if Rory’s next hair brain fundraiser can top that.. chortle.. fnarr, fnarr..

237. Lesley-Anne

That’s interesting news haggis.

As far as the Tories, and their compatriots are concerned, theycan *ahem/* think all they like but whatever they *ahem?* think it AINT gonna happen. WE are the people. WE have the knowledge. WE will NEVER be beaten. WE are the WINNERS! 😛

238. Lesley-Anne

Thanks for that Macart, Mmmmmmmwaa X by return. Drinks in “The Darkened Room” later? 😛

239. Bill Dunblane

Ye’ve whacked it already – just had a look and you’re over £27k

Fantastic!

I’ve still asked the Yes people in Dunblane to donate – Should be something on the way shortly.

Mair po’wr an’ a’ that…

240. Davie Park

Bit skint at the moment – so only a tenner. A very heartfelt tenner, though.

241. Footsoldier

Here is a definite find in the Norwegian sector http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/world-news/huge-north-sea-oil-find-for-statoil-28647093.html

Surely you do not think Perfidious Albion would keep a Scottish oil discovery secret? What bribes have been issued?

242. Seasick Dave

Only eleven days to go until the end 🙂

Its going to be like waiting for a tax rebate.

243. Tartan Tory

Karmanaut says:

This is real grass roots democracy, unlike the No Campaign, which seems to be funded mostly by rich Torys.

They ain’t the only one with rich Tories you know – They just don’t have any rich Tartan Tories!!! 😉

244. Macart

@Lesley-Anne

Youbetcha. Pina Coladas all round. 😀

245. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Colin – So is your reasoning that taking time out to eat your Subway while dillydallying with your wife an excuse? Eh? Eh? 🙂

I was 8 minutes out and yes it would have been a good idea to have a sweepy.

@ Lesley Anne – Happy Birthday and as you said what a happy Fffffriday.

246. Craig P

It would be good now to know the hard limit, if any, for fundraising by registered campaigners during the official period (which we are now in)?

Because if there is one, we can match it.

247. Lesley-Anne

What you saying footsoldier?

Surely you’re not suggesting that our beloved Westminster government would hide information from the people of Scotland and openly tell LIES are you? 😉 That would just be unforgivable. I mean if the people of Scotland got the hear about such a thing happening then it would almost certainly push them all to vote YES in an independence referendum should such an event ever come along at some point in the future, not that such an event is going to happen you understand. 😛

248. Bushidodreams

Wow! Target hit before I even saw the post this time!

Any chance that some overflow can be sent the way of the very gifted (and very tired looking) Stewart Bremner who is tirelessly designing Yes campaign posters\electronic art\infographics for everyone?

(https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/indyref-yes-graphics/)

249. PRJ

WOW!!!!
    Just been leaflet dropping for Yes. Came home to find this. Pure dead brilliant!

Can’t wait for WBB.

250. Jim Thomson

O/T (but just as important)

Wee Ruthie is appearing at the South Beach Hotel in Troon at 7:00pm tonight. It seems to be an open meeting so, if you have any questions you’d like to have summarily dismissed by our favourite Scottish Parliament Tory leader, get yourselves down there.

It hasn’t been advertised, and invitation was by letter to the local faithful apparently. Now that’s what I call inclusive 😉

251. Lesley-Anne

No problem Macart. Don’t worry about the bar bill, I’ve got wee Alistair Darling’s bank account details so HE will be buying the drinks all night, he just doesn’t know it yet! 😛

252. Macart

@Lesley-Anne

Oh hell, if that’s the case we’re moving on up to Rusty Nails. 😀

253. gerry parker

@ Jim Thompson.
    Someone should ask her what currency we’ll be using after independence.

See if the message has sunk in yet.

254. YESGUY

HAPPY BIRTHDAY lESLEY-ANNE

All the very best and more xx

255. Jim Thomson

Just remember folks, every £1k over target (assuming same print cost) pays for another EIGHT THOUSAND copies.

Don’t stop donating just because the target’s been reached!

256. Bob Sinclair

I’m looking forward to getting my silver wings ?.

200,000+ hard copy wee blue books in circulation is going to be a real game changer. Thanks Stu for your unstinting hard work & humour.

257. Katherine hamilton

Headline in Herald tomorrow
    “Blow for Salmond. Fundraiser takes 3 hours to raise £25000. Further evidence that the Indy campaign is flagging”.
    BTW Yes campaign, still glad you disowned us? What else can we do for you and when are you going to extract the digit?

258. Lesley-Anne

Like I say Macart, A.D. is paying so everyone can drink whatever they like and as much as they like. Don’t worry about transport either folks, I’ve got that sorted as well. 😉 Danny Alexander has *ahem* offered to pay for all of our taxi fares home. Like A.D. he just doesn’t know that he has *ahem* offered to pay our taxi fares yet. 😛

259. heedtracker

Do you want me to talk? No Mr Darling, we want you to keep lying your head off until 10pm 18th Sept 2014.

260. The Tree of Liberty

Don’t forget kendomacaroonbar, folks, he needs a wee bit of help to.

261. Bob Sinclair

The question mark should be a wee smiley thingy.

262. Jim Thomson

@gerry parker

my only worry is that if loads turn up, they’ll brand the meeting as a huge success.

That would, however, be difficult if the Yessers all carried their “Yes” placards for the whole meeting (remember, you can be photographed from the back as well).

Just saying.

263. haud on the noo

Nearly 30k now..

264. Thepnr

@Lesley-Anne

Big happy birthday wishes to you.

I guess nearly all your dreams have come true. Not long to wait now for ALL of them to come true 🙂

265. Marker Post

Some more winging its way towards you, Rev. Incredible stuff.

266. Lesley-Anne

Thanks for you best wishes YESGUY. Oh don’t worry I intend being around for a LONG time yet! 😛

(Sounds of groans emanating from all corners of the land on the news that LA intends being around for a long time to come! 😀 )

267. Les Wilson

What are we like EH!

268. Archie [not Erchie]

Groan

269. David S Briggs

Expected the appeal to be doing very well, but this is simply phenomenal. Careful you don’t breech your spending limits now.

270. Les Wilson

I think will be opening the drinks cabinet!

271. Lesley-Anne

Thanks for your best wishes Thepnr and yes you right there Thepnr just another few weeks and I along with everyone else on here will be in seventh heaven. 😛

272. tom

I’ve always contributed in the past, but I’m not a UK resident and don’t have the vote. A bit pissed off. But well done the lot of you!

273. heedtracker

@ Happy Birthday Lesley-Anne 😀 You’ll probably never forget this one either!

274. Les Wilson

Social media Yessers are going to go mad now – tonight!

275. TJenny

WOW – £73 away from £30,000. 🙂

276. TJenny

And as I typed that it’s now over £30K!

277. Lesley-Anne

Yet another reason to be laughing and smiling today. Check out the less than ideal placement of the BT placement of their No Thanks placard. 😛

https://twitter.com/thestevemaclean/status/500290190729310208/photo/1

278. Lesley-Anne

Thanks heedtracker. You are very probably right. I don’t think any birthday can top this one where we are on the cusp of winning the referendum and a wee insignificant little website that no one has ever heard of runs a wee fund raiser for a couple of quid and within a couple of hours it breaks the bank! 😛

279. YESGUY

One day i’ll get myself mobile and meet even more of you Wingers. The Edinburgh meet was such an uplifting experience , i can’t wait for more.

Going to try very hard to be at next BBC protest. Driver and car on standby. Hopefully wearing my new Wings badges and T-shirt.

Got a wee silver flask when i left forces and will ensure it is full and share a belated birthday drink Lesley-Anne. Vodka ? whisky , what’s your preference.

Brilliant news regarding funding and typical of the generosity of Wingers. We cannot lose now.

What a cracking way to start the weekend eh?

Can only get better too (optimist today ) . mate next door (hard No’er) says he’s not sure now. has a family member who was laid off at the shipyard after empty promises by WM. Totally shocked as the bugger never listened before now. If he says YES then we’ve won.

Go Wingers.

280. TJenny

YESGUY – I think Wingers will be meeting in Airdrie next Sat 23rd. Details not finalised but will be discussed in OT. Maybe see you there?

281. David Wardrope

Why doesn’t new Scottish government just get Rev Stu to crowdfund the first years budget for independent Scotland, that would put paid to any suggestion of a shortfall

282. Kev

Think I might have just nudged it above the £30k, give what you can folks as realistically we need half a million of these to reach and turn the undecideds and even some Nos, I know 2 undecideds and 2 (once strong) Nos who have turned in a week after reading the WBB.

283. Juan P

Donated.

Thanks Stu and all the other contributors to WOS for all your hard work so far.

We’re nearly there 🙂

284. TJenny

David Wardrope – with Stu’s/WOS followers, we could probably crowdfund a citizen’s bank. 🙂

285. Thepnr

The greatest difference for me is that the people contributing chip in what they can afford. This, unlike the No campaign is truly a grassroots movement.

A £5 or a £10, £20 or £50, every penny counts and is welcome. the other lot weigh their cash yet what use is it to them? Nobody want’s their lying propaganda.

We bring the positive message, pro-Yes for sure but not propaganda. Wings deal in the truth and this is recognised.

Well done Rev for sticking with the truth and facts without the bullshit. I tip my hat, you are a genius.

286. Midgehunter

Quo vadis Wings post MMXIV?

287. Malc

Tom, I think it is only if you are giving more than £499 that you need to have vote/live in UK etc. Below that it does not matter.

288. Prof. Dumb Down

Is it possible to put the WBB in to every household in Scotland?

289. TJenny

OT – anyone who Tweets tried to tweet WOS recently? There’s been no new tweets showing for @ 3hrs, and yet there are tweets to WOS from the #weebluebook. Maybe just me as anytime I try to refresh the WOS Twitter page, it just keeps buffering. 🙁

290. Lesley-Anne

I’d love to meet up with you YESGUY and everyone else but living down in the SUFF for my sins it is rather difficult to get up NOFF to civilisation. What makes things difficult for us is living off of the meagre income we have, plus what we do have we are trying to put money aside for a wedding in September. No don’t panic folks it is NOT on the 18th. The bride was given SPECIFIC instructions to avoid the 18th/19th September. 😉 It is actually the week after, down suff of our down suff. 😛

If we were to meet up at any time YESGUY then I guess Whisky would be my preference, so have one on me with the gang and enjoy! 😛

291. Tam Jardine

OK- shelled out 69p for the Aberdeen P&J… so may as well share.

Can’t archive it so here goes (Somewhat abridged):

Headline: “Massive North Sea find to last decades”
    One of the North sea’s biggest untapped resources could produce oil for more than three decades.

Xcite Energy revealed yesterday that its Bentley find east of Shetland is likely to yield 700 million barrels and could still be operational in 2050.

The announcement is a major boost for the oil and gas industry.

Xcite plans to use new techniques to maximise recovery from the field from the word go.

It could begin production next year, with an estimated 57,000 barrels of oil per day output.

Xcite has become one of the first firms to embrace the spirit of industry doyen Sir Ian Wood’s review of the offshore sector by pushing for the development of the area around Bentley.

A trading update yesterday revealed that the field has proven, probable and possible reserves totalling 777 million barrels.

Bentley – one of the North sea’s largest undeveloped discoveries – could begin production next year, with an estimated 57,000 barrels of oil per day output.

Dwindling oil and gas… dwindling for Westminster hopefully. Vote Yes.

292. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Midgehunter says:

Veni, vidi, vici

293. turnip_ghost

Well…I turn up, have a read, click to donate and the target has been met! As always, very Impressive! Donated anyway! ;-D

125% of target as I check!

294. Cath

Jeez, I only just discovered this and it’s well over target already!

What we need now is a simple plan to log postcodes (by street where possible)where the WBB has been delivered and to be visible online to avoid duplication of effort.

I’d be up for that. Have delivered 1200 booklets in just under 2 weeks for the Yes campaign around my area, happy to do all those tenements again, honest 🙁

Also, it would be great to have a stock of them outside every polling station on the 18th, as many many still undecided, soft no voters and heart-yes-but-not-convinced voters are likely to be turning up and many may be happy to have a read before making a final decision.

295. John Sellars

This is yet another of those great YES days. Fantastic effort everyone. Stuart quiet though – I think we have to assume he’s been kidnapped. Just as a joke (AD).

296. tehklev

@TJenny – maybe he’s had to go and have a wee lie down with a stuff G&T. I would if my fundraiser was doing 10k an hour!

297. gerry parker

@ TJenny.

If it’s Airdrie I’ll manage along.
    I’ll bring some genuine hairy string souvenirs.

298. TJenny

Nemo me impune lacessit. 🙂

299. Colin

@Archie [not Erchie] says:

It was her fault, she told me to say 4 oclock, I should have known better.

OK, do you think the total will reach £100,000 and when.

I think it will and I think it will do so at 20:30 pm on Sunday 😉

300. heedtracker

@ Lesley-Anne, not only but also, if WoS was say the Gordon Brown foundation for impoverished not future UKOK Lords charity, most of what’s raised here today would be going on “expenses”

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-news/8853-former-pm-brown-blasted-over-expenses-claims

No wonder dudes like Jim Murphy are going mental at Scottish democracy.

301. Stuart Black

Hi Kendo, I’ll take 500 off you as well, I’ll get in touch by e-mail and sort out details.

302. pete the camera

Stu can you put a bit on the cover somewhere saying it has been funded by real people unlike the Better together blurb which is funded by millionaires and bankers

303. Lesley-Anne

Aye right enough heedtracker. These unionist types do their version of fundraising to line their OWN pockets whilst we do fundraising to HELP others. Just a wee bit of a difference in the idea of fundraising I’d say. 😉

304. Alan

There are 2.4 million households in Scotland (http://www.gro-scotland.gov.uk/files2/stats/household-estimates/he-13/2013-estimates-house-dwellings-scot.pdf).

At the printing rates specified above it would cost £300,000 to print that many, but I’m sure we’d get a discount. 🙂

305. Calgacus MacAndrews

Kevin McKenna has tweeted:-

“Read superb Wee Blue Book by @WingsScotland. It’s a primer for Scottish independence. What would Better Together’s be? The Wee Boo Book?”

https://twitter.com/KevinMcKenna63/status/500213962424983552

306. todayinscotland

todayinscotland | The Referendum Blues
    https://todayinscotland.wordpress.com/

307. Conan_the_Librarian

WTF!

Read one article in the morning; come back later and there’s been a new fundraiser, which has exceeded it’s target by 25%!

Within hours.

And they say we’re going to loose…

308. TJenny

Alan – Yes but we mainly need to target the Nos and don’t knows. Someone previously mentioned that there are addresses for the DKs so we can target those who require this info the most. Any idea how many that would be?

309. Proud Cybernat

Oh crap! Not MORE oil!! What we going to do with it all??

310. scopa

Are you now going to issue a press release asking people to stop sending small donations, Rev?

311. Tam Jardine

Cath

There are 16 postcode areas of Scotland ‘EH’, ‘KY’ etc so maybe if Stu was able to create 16 threads somewhere on the site we could simply post lists of postcodes and street names once they have been delivered to save duplication and so we can record what has been done…

If we could find someone in each postcode area to act as a hub and post the address at the top of the thread it could work that way.

Just an idea- but if we are trying to hand out/deliver 200,000 WBB’s in the 2 weeks before the referendum we are going to need a system.

Stu may well have this figured out or this may have been covered by someone else already.

312. TJenny

Ah, the Rev’s just tweeted that he always goes to visit the Emergency Kitten after he launches a fundraiser and is asking how it’s going (tongue in cheek. 🙂 )

Anyone want to tweet him?

313. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Calgacus

LOL.

The Wee BOOH! Book…

314. YESGUY

have transport sorted for now and would love a wee pint and yap . Do my best to get there.

Missed Arbroath sadly . That would have been a cracking day out. Airdrie next , do my best.

Modern medicine works wonders so no excuses

If there are Wingers out there not been to a meet then your missing something not in the referendum hand book. See the commenters face to face and chat. Wonderful folk with a vision and hope. No sour pusses. And gives a real boost to seeing your fellow Scots are ordinary folk just like you. But with extra ordinary hope. Feel part of something huge.

They say we can’t – Wingers say “YES WE CAN”

315. Fireproofjim

Was there ever a group like the Wingers? Was there ever a blogger like Stu?
    Well done all.

316. uilleam_beag

What an immense response already – almost £32k in a few hours. Fellow Yessers and Wingers, I am speechless.

317. Nemo

@TJenny 4.07 pm – now you know where my handle comes from, and it’s not a fish 😉 Great day for YES.

318. Lesley-Anne

What’s the point scopa, the press would just ignore it anyway as coming from a weird fanatic wanting his 5 minutes of fame. That is of course AFTER Mr McColm has rubbished the event today as yet another fine example of one man confusing a whole nation and lying. 😛

No best we let sleeping dogs lie. WE can achieve far more and far better exposure of this success ourselves. Best we leave Mr. McColm to drool over his dinner plate and the newspapers are doing an excellent job of shooting themselves in the foot without any input from us! 😛

319. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Colin – What a prediction? Its like asking me if Mo Farrah will win with a blindfold and one leg tied up and breaking the world record.

OK I reckon by Sunday at 2030hrs [8.30pm] the amount raised will be between 55-60k. Once Rev Stu comes out from under the pillows he many have to say STOP.

320. turnip_ghost

Is it ridiculous that I like to wait five minutes on the donation page then hit refresh to see how high it jumps up?

321. Alan

TJenny: Poll of polls show DK averaging around 15-20%. If we can assume that’s roughly valid for households too then that would be around 60K “undecided” households. Of course, this is very imprecise as there will be many households where there will be different views from different occupants.

322. EdinScot

Just donated a cheeky tenner. Its smashed right through the barrier again! As i type,its standing at over 31,000. Way to go Scotland! Lets get the Rev Stu’s fantastic wee blue book rolling off the presses and into the hands of the public. This time i dont want any one of us fooled by the Unionist lie machine like back in 79. Its time the Scottish public normalised their country. We deserve to.

323. Lesley-Anne

I’ve just tweeted him TJ and suggested that he lies down BEFORE he checks the state of his *ahem* wee fundraiser. 😛

324. TJenny

Archie [not Erchie] – he’s back on twitter. Unfortunately I don’t tweet, being a cat person, I purr. 🙂

325. Jim McIntosh

Now we’re over the limit any chance donators can get a colour A6 copy of the WBB for reference. I’ve printed off a couple of B&W copies held together with staples, but they look crap 🙂 Rather have something more professional to whip out when I need it to fillet a NO or convince a DK.

326. Alan

This campaign is now trending at #2 in the world on IndiGogo.

327. Cath

When is the next meet happening?

328. TJenny

Now over £32.5, jings how I love WOS. 🙂

329. Shanghaied

WBB now trending 2nd on IndieGoGo

330. Lesley-Anne

That is absolutely amazing Alan. A WEE fundraiser like this and yet it is now trending number TWO! Wow, if we keep going like this who kno’s we may even trend at number ONE! 😛

331. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Conan_the_Librarian says:
    @ Calgacus
    LOL.
    The Wee BOOH! Book…

Or … “The Too Wee Blues Book”

332. heedtracker

We cannot do it, sheep, whisky, highland spring water, it’s not enough to run a country. Baah.
    BetterTogether’s finance director, on the way back from Greggs.

WoS will soon be asking people to stop donating too, like what crappy old Graun says Bliar MacDougall is doing, my hairy Scots behind.

If UKOK liggers like Libby Carrell of the Guardian give this actually WoS fund raising same nationwide blast as they gave that BT too much money nonsense, I’ll ask my Slovene girlfriend to come over to Scotland and have a look at what real democracy in action looks like.

333. Big jock

Feeling guilty now as haven’s chipped in yet as computer at work blocks the site. Well done folks I will put some dosh in tonight.

334. TJenny

Big Jock – dinnae fash yersel’, it’s still got 11 days left to run. 🙂

335. TJenny

Wondering if Stuey’s got more non paypal donations as he’s just tweeted that’s he’s got 667 new emails, so we might not hear from him for a while folks.

336. annie

On night shift, wake up to find you guys all started without me and whats more smashed the total, chipped in anyway. Got my polling card today – butterflys have started.

337. Lesley-Anne

Hope my two e-mails are there. I e-mailed the other night about the WBB after YES South Annandale meeting but had no reply although I am VERY aware our Stu has been, how can I put this, rather busy. 😛

I also e-mailed him about Dumfries count but will wait and see if he finds them. 😉

338. YESGUY

I’m in the same position Big Jock.

Monthly paid on Tuesday. But….

The more money by next week the more copies we can print so no worries there my friend.

A wee Blue Book for every home , shop, etc. We can do this.

P.S. I know a few who donate through paypal and checks so we could be looking at a cracking total by next week.

339. Lesley-Anne

I’m not really sure I should post this. 😉

Apparently our wee Jimmy is going to be Livestreamed later tonight, “Jim Murphy on a milk crate.” 😛

http://new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/jim-murphy-on-a-milk-crate

340. Midgehunter

@ Lesley-Anne

Just cos your the village idiot doesn’t mean you lose out on hugs an XXXXX 😉 Happy birthday!

341. David Halliday

I suggested I’d keep a list of those distributing locally by council ward and then put people in touch with each other so as to avoid duplication of effort. I’m not sure what Stu’s plans are though and my suggestion might have been overtaken by events and sheer numbers. Probably best for us all to wait for developments I think.

342. Lesley-Anne

The village idiot say a great BIG HUGE thank you to you Midgehunter. 😉 Hugs and kisses back as well. What a day this has been. 😛

343. TJenny

Oor Stuey’s tweeted that he’s speechless paraphrased), bless, he should know by now that he can never ask too much of us. 🙂

344. CameronB Brodie

Hope you got a good run-on cost Rev., as it looks like you’ve got a bit of spare dosh. Again. 🙂 Mine will be with you shortly.

345. Weedeochandorris

Congrats everyone! Go get em Rev! Amazing stuff.

Happy birthday Lesley-Anne we’ve never met but feel like I know you already! Love your posts as well as all the regulars on here. The lifeblood of Wings.

346. heedtracker

Vote Nob orders.com grass root millionaire Malky Offord gave the Conservative party nearly a hundred grand and Mike Gove £2.500 for who knows what, washing his car, but this dude sets up vote Nob orders.com with massive BBC nationwide publicity, no charge!

https://pefonline.electoralcommission.org.uk/Search/CommonReturnsSearch.aspx?type=basicDonationSearch

347. Thepnr

Duggie, Phil Robertson, Stewart McKenzie, tellen1, Andy, Edinburgh Dave, Brigadoon Gent, Prof. Ronald Mcdonald, Prof Curtice, Alastair Darling, George Osborne, David Cameron, Lamont, Ruthie, Wee Willie, Ed Balls, Blair McDougal, Duncan Hothersall, Severin Carrell, Torcuil Crichton, Danny Alexander, Jim Murphy, Jackie Baillie, Ed Miliband, Iain Duncan Smith, Lord George Foulkes, Lord George Robertson, Gordon Brow, Kazia Dugdale et al.

YOUR LOT HAVE TAKEN A HELL OF A BEATING! A HELL OF A BEATING

Democracy and the truth will out. ALL of you are finished here in Scotland. Hahaha thought it was a walk in the park, did you Cameron? We have a name for you up here. Dohheed!

348. panda paws

Just had a look and the total is now standing at £33,075. I wonder if Stu got a price for a print run for one for each household in Scotland because the way things are going…

349. K1

It’s quarter to five…and it’s at £33,075!

I just went oot for a hair cut at midday and the post wasn’t even up yet!. Just absolutely incredible, well done everyone, I’ll chuck my meagre contribution at it over the next few days…We are so winning this. 🙂

350. Lesley-Anne

Many thanks Weedeochandorris. Funny everyone feels the same don’t they. We all sit down and type away like mad idiots, well OK not LIKE so much cause we ARE, but at the same time we all feel like we’ve known each other for years yet some of us have only been on here for a few hours whilst others have been on for years. 😛

351. Lesley-Anne

That will teach YOU to go out for a hair cut K1 on a Friday. 😛

352. Proud Cybernat

Minor update to ‘THE WEE BLUE BOOK’

Where it reads: “A: Within the UK, the Scottish shipbuilding industry has declined from 34,000 jobs in 1972 to to just 6,000 jobs now.”

hould read: “A: Within the UK, the Scottish shipbuilding industry has declined from 34,000 jobs in 1972 to to just 5,920 jobs now after the rect closure of the country’s last remaining independent shipyard.”

Thoughts go to the workers who have lost their jobs. “Separation Shuts Shipyards” rings rather hollow, doen’t it.

353. K1

Oh…Happy Birthday LA…hope it’s a good one! 🙂

354. Capella

I donated by paypal before I noticed the wee blue book link. So the total should be more than the indiegogo total. Impressive support for this site and the info it makes available. Are you listening MSM?

355. Colin

@Lesley-Anne

Happy birthday Lesley-Anne, may you have many more.

The title of the Livestream event is “Shawlands says ‘No Thanks’ to Jim Murphy”.

Are they trying to tell him something?

356. K1

I Know LA! Go oot for a few hours, come back and it’s up, done and dusted before wur tea!! 🙂

357. jim arnott

I see the total is now over £33,000. It was only around £31,000 when I contributed my £50 just after 4:00pm. I bet only a fraction of Wingers have contributed thus far. Hold on to your hats folks. I am still sticking with my longterm prediction of a 61.8% Yes vote – but this effort by Wingers may prove me wrong and the Yes result may well be >61.8% Yes

358. Lesley-Anne

Thank you K1 and Colin. I can honestly say that today has been the bestest birfday I’ve ever had. 😉 I never imagined that sitting down typing on a keyboard and reading other people’s posts could possibly have been so exciting with so much fantastic news. How on earth do I top this birfday next year, I know this one aint over yet but really is it possible? 😛

359. Macandroid

Bunged in a chunk but the target was busted before I got there 🙂

Wingers are fabulous

360. Gary Doc

Headline tomorrow in the daily record
    “CYBERNAT FOOLS CHRIS AND COLIN WEIR INTO FUNDING TERRORISM ”

361. YESGUY

Thepnr.

Screen washed with tea …. again.

Thanks alex. Never saw that one coming8-) mate.

362. The Morgatron

Contribution now placed in NEW SCOTTISH POUNDS from sun kissed Croatia.
    Well done Stu and to all of you my fellow countrymen and women.Now im off to read that well adjusted Lordship Reid of Parkhead shitey comments on EBC news page about blah blah blah , perhaps not and just have a pivo.

363. Abaron Nomore

Dammit! Looks like I missed all the excitement. That’s what I get for not going online this morning.

Donated anyway and with luck I’ll be in a position to add some more next week when we’re pushing for £100,000.

364. Inbhir Anainn

50 schamooley winging it’s way to another worthy cause via paypal. Also would like to wish Lesley-Anne a very happy birthday (p.s. I’m your postie).

365. handclapping

Just won £50 on ERNIE. Do I keep it to myself or …

366. Liquid Lenny

Amazing well over target put my contribution in doubled it for Hood as well for the WOS steel badge he sent me.

367. Lesley-Anne

Thanks very much Inbhir Anainn. Now I know who you are it makes sense when I hear my partner talking about asking about Arbroath 1320. 😛

Hope you and your wpork mates are all enjoying your flags. 😉

368. Helpmaboab

I arrived home from work feeling slightly paranoid about making my contribution during lunch-break. But it seems that the paranoia was fully justified! Most of those nifty card games have already been claimed.

Remember that countless other nine-to-fivers will now be discovering the appeal as I post. There’s a second wave of donations coming…

369. Croompenstein

Just in donation made now over 34k just wonderful Stu well deserved support.

Polling card in 🙂

Happy Birthday Lesley-Anne xx

370. Elaine Colliar

Last Friday of the holidays and me and the boys had a sneaky tenner stashed for a pizza. The teen insisted that the tenner goes to the WBB instead …. off to cook egg n chips for them now 🙂

@Lesley-Anne Happy Birthday to you – May you get everything you wish in the year ahead (Cos we all know what that wish will be!!)

371. jim arnott

Hilarious – Flexible funding: This campaign will keep all funds raised even though it doesn’t reach its total.

372. Thepnr

@YESGUY

Happy to see you still plugging away, yer posts are great and i just love it when we can turn up the heat on our oppenents.

They will be spewing, not at the fundraiser but at the fact ordinary Scots will be presented with the truth.

Tough shit a house of cards built on lies had only one way to go, DOWN. We are now in the lead, beyond the rubicon.

See you in Airdrie.

373. Iain Hughes

That’s another £100 from me.
    Now how do I get the books to post them through doors?
    How is it to be divvied up so there is no duplicated effort?
    SNP have a good well organised system if it could be piggy backed on?

374. Midgehunter

algacus MacAndrews says:

@Midgehunter says:

Veni, vidi, vici

That’s nice, I’ve never been to Venice before…

375. Lesley-Anne

Thank you Croomp and Elaine for your heart felt wishes. 😉 Sorry to hear you are losing out on your pizza Elaine but I’m sure everyone will thoroughly enjoy their egg and chips. 😀

OK own up, who has been blabbing about what I have been wishing for in the year ahead? C’mon now, I know it’s someone on here. Oh wait a minute. Maybe everyone knows because of what this site is all about! DOH silly me! 😛

376. Dan Huil

Just been looking at all the names of those kind folk who gave a donation. That Anonymous guy is really generous.
    Seriously: Great to see – and it’s only Friday!

377. Clootie

@X-Sticks

If you get yur hands on any copies of WBB give me a shout. I could do with a dozen early for a few hard cases.
    If you are putting in an order can you drop Jean a note and we can add ours.

Also – happy to distribute NE if more become available.

378. Mike Lithgow

That’s me parted with £25 for the cause… Sorry it couldn’t be more. Keep up the good work Rev Stu.

379. john king

Calgacus says
    “Happy birthday Lesley-Anne, I enjoy your posts from the deep south.”

What?
    like this you mean?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8reNgcIVFU
    this is your lucky day pilgrim,
    happy birthday Arbroath1320 & Lesley-Anne as well! (apparently they’re both on the same day!) 🙂

How the hell do you do it Rev?
    this is astounding thats all I can call it,
    ASTOUNDING!

380. Lesley-Anne

Aye it’s all those loose tenners he keeps finding down the back of his over sized sofa Dan. 😛

I’ve just done a rough, very rough in my particular case, calculation and it appears that the donation site has been running for approximately 5 hours and with the total currently standing at £34,655 that means we have averaged just short of £7,000 an HOUR in donations! 😀

I think we should all give ourselves and everyone else a well earned and heart felt congratulatory clap on the back. 😉

*Congratulatory pat on the back to everyone!*

381. James Sneddon

Fantastic, I leave home this morning, come back and the appeals been launched and posted, total reached then breached by the time I get back! Brilliant. As some of you may know I’m waiting on a delivery of the WBB’s from Stu to distribute in Edinburgh. I’m also getting quotes from printers just incase there isn’t enough to meet demand after the second print run from Stu. I’ll post in the latest thread when the WBB’s arrive for the relevant groups to pick up and also the quotes. Then try to oranise a way for folks to chip in (Maybe at another Edinburgh Wings get together) Sorry can’t travel far at the moment due to having a toe chopped off 🙁

382. McTim

Donated £10 just now. Let’s do this.

Happy birthday Lesley-Anne.

Been a good day today between this, James’ analysis at Scot goes Pop and myself and my Yes supporting friends from England getting 3 more Vox Pop interviews done with locals from Leith. We haven’t released all of the previous batch yet either so there’s two more from the last batch to go on youtube and the official Yes Edinburgh North and Leith page to go before today’s batch goes online. Was a joy and very heartening to film such passionate and astute people.

383. Lesley-Anne

Many thanks John I LOVE that video. 😛 Oh and Arb say ta very much like as well. 😉

Thanks McTim, glad you’re day was as good as mine has turned out. 😀

384. Dan Huil

@ James Sneddon. What the hallux?! Explanation is in order – afore Ah hae ma tea.

385. Lynn Blair

Donation sent and a whole family commitment to delivering 1000.

Let’s win!

386. Clootie

James Sneddon says:
    15 August, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Money would have been fine!

387. Calgacus

@john king

Aye John, just like that, lolz

388. Liquid Lenny

That’s me chipped in for Rab C who is a luddite and doesn’t understand credit cards or paypal. We did manage to get him on an Ipad so that I didn’t have to read WOS out to him every night, so suppose must not grumble 🙂

Happy Birthday Lesley-Anne

389. Lesley-Anne

Thank you LL. I hope you weren’t to tough on Rab C when you got him onto an IPad. 😛

390. James Sneddon

Dan Hill- I’ve asked the Rev for a couple of thousand WBB’s to distribute to YES groups in the area. A sort of central distribution point. You Tweet me for more details at @sneddon666 and as I write incase the Rev’s next print run of 200k WBB’s aren’t enough I’m getting quotes incase we need more. The Rev has a cash limit on how much he can spend in the campaign as a ‘Registered Participant’. As individuals we have a limit of 10k we can spend in the ref campaign as set by the Electoral Commission. So to get around the limits on what the Rev can spend, we can get the WBB’s printed ourselves as voters. Hope that helps to answer your question. Let me know if it doesn’t.

391. James Sneddon

Clootie- No sacrifice too small:) I think it was a unionist conspiracy to keep me away from folks doors! How else can you explain my toe getting infected via a blister with E-Coli! just glad the buggers didn’t use polonium in ma tea! 🙂

392. Dan Huil

@ James Sneddon. Thanks for that James. But I was more concerned about your big toe. I hope you’re not in too much pain. And I hope the distribution goes well.

393. Lesley-Anne

Careful James they might of used polonium but their illustrious leader didn’t know how to spell polonium! 😛

394. johnny come lately

100 pounds paid. That was the easy part. Now I’m going to have to explain to my other half. Done it first so I’ll just have to take it on the chin:)

395. Stuart Black

@Lesley-Anne, I hope you enjoy the rest of you

396. Stuart Black

R birthday as much as the first part, best wishes 🙂

397. Lesley-Anne

Well it has been absolutely fantastic so Stuart. Thanks for your wishes. 😉

398. jon esquierdo

Enjoy your evening Lesley-anne and happy birthday xx

399. Schrödinger's cat

Done, wow, just wow

400. Indigo

Wow, of all the days to step away from the computer, would have been so exciting to have watching from this morning, by the time I knew of it the goal had been more than smashed, popping over to add to it now

401. Albert Herring

“Veni, vidi, vici”

MAKE UP YOUR MIND!

402. Ken500

Yessers have the ‘wee blue book’ posted on the Guardian.

: – )

403. YESGUY

Said before we might have to keep a wee copy of the WBB for the future so our kids and they’re kid can see the book that brought us freedom. Next to the Decleration of Arbroath and the New Constitutionof course.

Museums will be packed….

404. Embradon

Gie us a break. Last time I was skint. This time I’m stuck in Gatwick. I’ll donate as soon as I get home. I’m sure Stu will find a good use for a few £ extra.

405. alexicon

Work commitments stop me helping in distributing these books, but it doesn’t stop me coughing up £100 to the cause when I get home from offshore in a couple of days.

Rev, I wish you would reset your fund raising target higher to get as many WBB printed as possible.
    If you can’t do that then why not appeal for another, higher, total?
    Keep up the momentum.

406. Paul

News Flash just in the Saudi rulers have asked better together if they can take all that nasty black stuff from them as they are heartily sick of carrying the burden of having all that oil. Since the Saudi’s know that only Westminster would know what to do with it as they have just been wasting the wealth from it on silly things like infrastructure for their country.

407. WantonWampum.

Warning :-

If SLAB voters react the same way as me, they will bin all the propaganda that does not agree with their view of Scotland.

Only two weeks ago SLAB had a door to door morning and I made sure they saw me tear-up their literature.Waste their money.

While the motive to explain “YES” to 250,000 MORE VOTERS is a worthy cause, will we be wasting money.?
    When Foodbanks struggle to fill shelves.

The LAST thing Iwant to do is Dampen enthusiasm of fellow Wingers, but we need to Target DK`s and soft “NO”.

I am reluctant about posting this warning, but we may be able to Target voters more accurately. For instance – there would be zero point in sending one to me or to any Wingers who have DOWNLOADED WBB previously.

408. cearc

Happy Birthday, Leslie- Anne.

409. macart763m

Oooooooo, just got home to find our polling cards waiting.

Bring it. 🙂

410. fred blogger

wanton
    the best way to eradicate poverty is to get to the root cause of it. the root cause is a sucked dry economy.

411. handclapping

£43,000 will set another Ingiegogo politics funding record. Let’s roll.

412. DaveDee

Small contribution made, wish it could have been more.

Fantastic job, well done to everybody especially the Rev

413. Thepnr

Well any I get my hands on and distribute personally will be targeted. One way is to pass them on to relatives and friends who may not even read Wings but are Yes voters.

One of my nieces for instance a while back asked me if I could come to her house and explain to some of her friends why we should vote Yes as many of her friends were undecided or No.

Whether I ever do that gig or not is less important now if she can get a WBB into their hands.

Given time to digest it and a follow up from me would persuade any currently thinking of No to vote Yes! LOL.

414. HandandShrimp

Well I’m in and done – it went to £36,225 when I hit pay. Looking forward to Greg Moodie cards too 🙂

415. heedtracker

there would be zero point in sending one to me or to any Wingers who have DOWNLOADED WBB previously.

If you get one, give it to a DK, leave it in the local library, coffee shop.

416. WIred of Hermiston

Donated and shared. It’s time for the real silent majority to win this argument.

417. James Sneddon

Dan Hill ‘What the Hallux’ I get it Sorry too distracted by stuff to notice. Toe got all necrotic to do anything about. From first sign of infection to amputation only took three days, scary.. 🙂

418. CameronB Brodie

The root of Scotland’s problems, is that Westminster considers Scotland as peripheral. Only a Scottish government will consider Scotland’s interests first.

419. macart763m

More good news, WGD also hit his fund target.

Well done all concerned. First class. 🙂

420. TYRAN

If there’s any spare change – send a box of Pampers to Darling.

421. Morag

I’m never going to forget this fundraiser, for quite a different reason. About three hours in I noticed a strange rash on my back. I went to the first aid at the conference centre and they sent me to the walk-in clinic at Newham hospital and I came out with a diagnosis of shingles and a prescription for acyclovir.

I’m currently freaking out that I won’t be well enough to cover my usual leaflet delivery route with the WBB. But the doctor says it usually only lasts a week so I suppose it could be worse.

Pretty strange queueing to see a GP and then collect a prescription while watching that fundraiser total fly into the stratosphere.

422. Nana Smith

Stu,this wee Caileach has sent you £50.

You deserve a medal for all you have done for Scotland. Thank you!

423. Thepnr

If there’s any spare change – send a box of Pampers to Darling.

A very large megabox big enough for a Panda. He will be needing them.

424. G H Graham

The vacuous “Vote No Borders” got blanket coverage and promotion free of charge, courtesy of the Reich Ministry of propaganda, the BBC.

Yet, a 1/4 million downloads in just 4 days to read a book containing alternative arguments over independence doesn’t even get a tweet from our main stream media.

Know that from now til 18th September, the British State, its Ministries, agents & compliant media, will take whatever action it deems necessary to prevent the democratic will of the people of Scotland achieving full sovereign independence.

But each one of us can individually counter the insidious might of this twitching, nervous, dying Empire by distributing this Wee Blue Book to as many as those who will accept it.

However, no single individual is going to come to our aid & make it happen for us. No single individual is going to win the argument on their own, on our behalf.

It is you, your family, friends & colleagues who are going to win this, one argument, one persuasion & one negotiation at a time.

If YES prevails, this will indeed be a miracle of modern western politics, when a people, up against the full resources of a destructive, narcissistic, self serving Establishment, managed to overcome the cult of group think & pervasive propaganda that has been delivered on an industrial scale.

Keep the head, we’re nearly there.

425. Nana Smith

Happy birthday Lesley-Anne. Hope its a good un!

426. heedtracker

When YES prevails!

427. heraldnomore

My goodness I go out before 1.00 and look what you lot have done.. Unbelievable, but so predictable. Stonking Stu. Large drams all round,
    Jola’s paying.

428. Thepnr

The Ghandi famous quote needs modification when applied to Scotland.

The final line should be.

“then we come to fight you then we win”

429. Thepnr

“then we come to fight you, and then we win”

430. Flower of Scotland

Well done Wingers! It brings a tear to my eyes! What we do for Stu and Scotland!

Happy Birthday Lesley Anne! You won’t forget this birthday!

Hi The npr! We will do this! I’m amazed! But not really by wingers amazing generosity! So Happy tonight!

431. twenty14

Think the changeover shift are into slowmo mode at present – this site, Rev Stu and all it’s contributors are scaring them shitless. Party time me thinks

432. Ivan McKee

Referendum TV fundraiser now up and running.

If you have enjoyed watching please throw a few quid their way to keep the show on the road through next week.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/referendum-tv-venue-41-edinburgh-fringe

433. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“200,000 is not enough. At this rate the fundraising will pay for 1/2 million.”

Maybe, but the Electoral Commission won’t let us spend that much money.

434. stonefaction

Donation sent. Total now at 150% of target. Nice one.
    Posted a link to this page on my facebook too.

435. Seasick Dave

£37,500.

Woof!

436. muttley79

How much is Wings allowed to spend on the campaign? How much has it spent already?

437. michael

http://www.newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-news/3175-fury-as-laughing-cameron-brands-scots-stupid

Please put this up as an article Rev.
    We should be seeing more of this.
    A public apology from Dave?

438. YESGUY

G2.

Superbly put.

439. CameronB Brodie

YESGUY
    I thought so too. 🙂

Rev., will you be able to make donations once you reach your maximum spend?

440. Milady de Winter

Folks I’m a relative newbie to Wings. 12 months ago I was an SNP voter (after getting disillusioned first by SLab and then by Libdems) but probably still what you guys would call a ‘soft no’. I had a feeling I wasn’t getting the full picture though which led me to get online and do my own finding out about things. Both I and my other half are now passionate Yessers and Wings has been a huge part of information gathering. Anyways I logged in today, saw there was an appeal and chucked in what I could afford..not a lot ..£20..but I am on a wee pension..and hoped Rev Stu would get what he needed.. I checked back about three hours later and couldn’t believe my eyes. If this is the kind of positivity, generosity and sheer force of will we can harness in a new Scotland just think how we as a country can soar! I am so proud to have been a tiny part of this effort..just wanted to say it out loud. Bless you all.

441. WantonWampum.

There must be at least One Million Copies of WBB already out there when 250,000 “WINGERS” DOWNLOADED a copy for themselves AND Printed at least 3 x copies for friends and relatives.

250,000 X 4 = one million.
    To cover 4 x million voters, multiply by four more printouts.

AM I WRONG.

442. Robert Peffers

Good grief!
    I’m a disabled OAP and like most a bit skint. So I have a fairly large box that I throw my change in after shopping.
    So I count up the cash in the box and go to the bank to top up my debit card account. So between the two I get it up to £100. So I fit in my shopping and drive home and contribute. Only to find the total is now standing at £37,305.

Girls and guys you are magnificent.

443. laukat

O/T – Whoever put the massive YES sign up on the hill facing the Erskine Bridge… You Sir/Madam are a genius and you put a lump in my throat! Absolutely Brilliant I just wish I could drive and take a picture at the same time.

444. HandandShrimp

I think Heedtracker has the right idea. Put the WBB in libraries, dentist, doctor and hospital waiting rooms, give a supply to Yes shops and put them in office canteens and most of all give them to people you know are undecided and want something to fill their thirst for information.

445. TJenny

Milady de Winter + partner – welcome to the World of Wings and nice to see your comment. 🙂

446. Thepnr

Maybe, but the Electoral Commission won’t let us spend that much money.

Call a halt the Rev and tell the press “small” donations can no longer be excepted.

The Wee Blue Book is on it’s way, lies will be exposed, the facts revealed and Scotland will be free of those that for years have been intent in dragging us down

Get yer money on now!!

447. Stoops

If anyone has any shekels left, you might want to have a butchers over on Wee Ginger Dug.

448. HandandShrimp

Muttley

Limit is £150,000.

I’m guessing Stu will have to do a Better Together and ask us to stop at some point. 🙂

449. twenty14

Get 250,000 WBB’s out there and stick the balance on a YES vote at the bookies – Enough pop to ensure the biggest party in the World 🙂

450. Thepnr

@Milady de Winter

Hey!

I was an automatic No voter, conditioned by the state to swallow their lies. NO MORE.

I have Wings.

451. muttley79

@HandandShrimp

Wings already raised £110,000 earlier this year. Does this mean that it can only raise another £40,000 this appeal?

452. PeeGee

Interesting that the morbidly obese lying ("Tractor" - Ed) and cheerleader for the Iraq war and murder of Dr Kely, Blair McDougall gets all upset when people call the traior a ("Tractor" - Ed).

Will you crowdfund an appeal to buy the loathsome ("Tractor" - Ed) a box of tissues to wipe his ("Tractor" - Ed)ous tears away.

453. Wee poor stupid Scotsman

I’ve just bumped the total over the £37,900 mark. Is this the ‘game-changer’? Let’s not lose to a coalition of the apathetic, the timid and the comfortable.

454. John Sm.

Well done Wingers!

My wee donation sent.

455. Thepnr

@goldenayr link.

I can’t believe Yes are losing that vote. Most likely not people living in Scotland, while we are all in a good mood please get over there and swing the balance.

In OUR favour.

456. Lesley-Anne

jon esquierdo, cearc, Nana, Flower of Scotland and everyone else thanks ever so much for your birthday wishes. It has been an absolutely fantastic day and as FoS says I will DEFINITELY not forget this birthday. 😛

457. laukat

Meant to add this link to my last post https://twitter.com/c22Gmac/status/500331667035525120/photo/1

Bravo to those involved!

458. Calgacus MacAndrews

A “Wee Blue Book” windae :-

https://twitter.com/CalgacusMacA/status/500347009564688384

459. November13

Is anyone else in my boat.Surrounded by unionists in the office.our discussions generally revolve around 5 minutes of slagging off Salmond by everyone.Then eventually I have to defend him and the campaign.The last one I told them to stop personalizing the debate and falling for the msm propaganda.The result no counter argument and stony silence.Today I heard one saying I wish this was over and then we could talk about it again.In other words no wins Scotland back in its hole and me left on my Todd.I suddenly realized on the way home…sorry American spell check doing nut in…Anyway I realised that I felt bad for a while because I was the only one losing the rag with them.But it suddenly occurred to me that all they want to do is spout their moronic insults and for everyone to agree and nod.Then when challenged they can’t handle it.It just sums up the no side.They want everyone to just agree with them and dint want debate just one sided smearing and lies.I am glad that the yes side are a clever bunch who do their own research and rarely personalise the debate.We have to as there is no truth in the msm.Anyway off to put a donation in ….we have to win this and we will win this despite them.

460. steviecosmic

Jim Murphy being monstered in Shawlands…..and blaming it all on Wings Over Scotland. 🙂

461. Lesley-Anne

Oh dearie me oor wee Jimmy is having a wee bit of trouble methinks. 😛

Gawn yersel Jim Murphy oh and do NOT forget to shout down your microphone as well!

http://new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/jim-murphy-on-a-milk-crate

462. steviecosmic

Jim Murphy having a go at Wings and it’s 200 readers.

Murphy will be laughing on the other side of his smug coupon when he comes along here tonight to find that Wings has gotten the message out to a thousand times more people in 4 days ( and 30 grand in 4 hours) than he has with his pathetic 100 day shoutathon. How the mighty have fallen.

463. Lesley-Anne

WHIT?

Jim Murphy was mighty? REALLY?

You are really taking the proverbial there stevie aren’t you? 😛

464. Stoops

I know just what you mean November13. I pity all No voters. They are either chronically uninformed, remarkably stupid, bigoted or just plain scared. They will never enjoy the rush that comes with knowing what a great country our Scotland could truly be.

465. annie

Just watched a bit of livestream Jim Murphy, couldn’t believe it when Tom Harris actually came out with a smart phone with a union flag design on it to take a photo of the crowd. Mr Sophistication !

466. Lesley-Anne

Oh bloody hell.

Good old Jim Murphy hates food banks and despises food banks. Hmm, I wonder if he passed that comment by Jackie Baillie before he let fly cause she thinks food banks are the NORMAL! 😛

467. schrodinger's cat

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

15 August, 2014 at 6:58 pm

“200,000 is not enough. At this rate the fundraising will pay for 1/2 million.”

Maybe, but the Electoral Commission won’t let us spend that much money

couldnt you just lose it down the sofa or something? and let us spend the money on WBB’s for you? the no crowd are not shy about fiddling the books

468. dramfineday

Oh no, we’ve not offended the MSM shower again have we? How delightful.

Small donation made Rev.

Thanks for the great work to you and the team, a great read.

469. call me dave

Scottish cup footie link off topic.

Seems I stuck my money in the general wings fund earlier by mistake. But no matter will contribute to WBB Monday.

That’s a fantastic effort everyone, well done.:-)

470. WantonWampum.

Although there are approx 4 x million voters in Scotland eligible to vote in the IndyRef, they live in only 2.4 million homes.

On an 80 per cent turnout, we require 1.5 million votes (plus one vote) to get Independence.

Therefore we need to cover 3 x million voters living behind 2.4 million letter-boxes.

According to fellow Wingers – ONE MILLION have already got a copy of WBB.

471. bunter

November13

Nope, sorry.

472. Calgacus MacAndrews

@laukat says:
    O/T – Whoever put the massive YES sign up on the hill facing the Erskine Bridge… You Sir/Madam are a genius and you put a lump in my throat! Absolutely Brilliant I just wish I could drive and take a picture at the same time.

Here is a photo of it :-

https://twitter.com/AineAislingMam/status/500353267323658240

473. Colin

@schrodinger’s cat

I don’t think literature is included in the spend limit, if it is Westminster has already spent over £1.5 million on the guff they have sent out and they are not the main campaigners.

474. Silverytay

Lesley-Anne , A belated Happy Birthday , I hope you have a great one .
    Hopefully this time next year you will be celebrating by watching them dotting the I,s and crossing the T,s on the Independence agreement .

475. handclapping

The object is not to get the WBB to everyone. The target has to be the undecideds. Too many of them have moaned about not enough information. Well here we have a chance to get to them.
    “Hello I’m handclapping. Last time Yes talked with you, you told us you were undecided. Here is a wee book with most of the arguments which might help you. I do hope you enjoy reading it before you make your mind up.”

But the most desperate priority is don’t knows with postal votes. The first voting packs go out on the 28th; all should be out by the 3rd. Most voters fill them in and return them the day they arrive. 20% of votes will be postal votes.

Your local Yes group can supply a list of all DKs in a street. Whether they can do it for DK postal voters I don’t know but offering to call on all the DKs in your street would be welcomed. Co-ordination between Wings, Yes or whoever is permitted as long as it does not cost anything.

476. TheItalianJob

Contribution made. Great postive attitude from all. Good luck to us all. Happy birthday Lesley-Anne.

Thepnr. Keep us all on the right track as always. Cheers friend.

477. Harry McAye

Jim Murphy MP earlier this evening, in response to a heckle, and off mic, said “your arse is as big as your argument”. It came over loud and clear. The Labour lackeys around him were in hysterics. Keep it classy, Jimbo.

478. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/theguardian/2014/aug/15/ruth-davidson-interview-scotland-tories-leader Some terrific teamGB conservative puffery, coming by the hour now

Ruthie babes ” insists that Ukip’s success in Scotland was Alex Salmond’s fault. “Ukip were nowhere near polling enough to get an MEP until Alex Salmond came out three or four days before the European election and pushed the message it was [the SNP] or Ukip for the sixth seat,” she argues. “He basically told people how to give him a bloody nose ahead of the referendum. A lot of that is an anti-Salmond vote, rather than a pro-Ukip vote.”

Its interesting how the BBC and ITV are completely excluded from their little chat or any teamGB meeja really. Nice example of hard core bias British media corruption, pretending its not there at all.

The mafia does that too.

479. Elaine Colliar

£40,000 …… not bad from “200 viewers” – Eh Jim Murphy?

480. Big Jock

Jim Murphy can’t handle a bit of anarchy!

481. Harry McAye

Actually, to correct myself, just watched it again and it’s not off mic at all.

482. Lesley-Anne

Just for comparisions let’s look at what Wings has raised and compare it to how our *ahem* friends Hands across the Border are doing shall we?

Wings started around 12:30 today and already raised £40,130.

HatB started on July 11th and so far has raised £11,258.

One question. What are WE doing wrong folks! 😛

Silverytay and TheItalianJob many thanks for your best wishes. 😉

483. Dan Huil

Jim Murphy’s Irn Bru crate: Made from girners.

484. Brian McHugh

What a day,

1. Another funding smashed through the roof… and rising to who knows where.

2. Spent my after work hour watching Team Scotland celebrate their amazing record haul of medals… a wee vid for you that I took… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxkTNe2Ctd0&feature=youtu.be

3. My polling card arrived… Holding it in my hand feels like its’ the first time in my life that democracy became real…

…and 3 again, just as I lifed my polling card out of the letterbox, there was a white envelope below it, which contained the DVD I ordered a couple of days ago of ‘Scotland Yet’.

THIS IS GOING TO HAPPEN. YES. :o)

485. Brotyboy

Malcolm Chisholm on the NHS big lie. I am being fed this by an erstwhile acquaintance on Facebook through Richard Simpson’s Twitter feed, I think.

http://www.scottishlabour.org.uk/blog/entry/the-big-lie

I am unlikely to respond directly, contenting myself with liking 10 times as many Yes pages as can manage of the No variety, but I thought I should let those who have an interest in responding be aware.

486. Ken Johnston

Jeez, and I made a donation last week.

487. schrodinger's cat

£40,000
    gobsmacked

488. thingy

First post.

Hi all. Chucked some dosh into the WBB fund.

Happy birthday, Lesley-Anne.

Yeah, awkward… I know…

Not good at this stuff.

489. heedtracker

@ Lesley-Anne, Rory the Tory is over in Iraq at the moment. He was looking frightfully worried about the wars over there that are quite quite frightful and the yewkay must really do something but not too much, not like you know last time.

Rory the Tory was getting a nice puff from C4 teatime news bloke who did not mention the fact the whole Iraq nightmare is just one more horrifying UKOK Westminster disaster without end.

490. heedtracker

@ schrodinger’s cat, this is the first time your avatar completely matches your CiF.

491. HandandShrimp

Muttley

No I think the 150,000 spend limit relates from the 31st May onwards but Stu will have kept some funds from the original £110,000 to pay for his work, the servers, and other activities that will all count towards to the £150,000. So what was left at the start of that period plus whatever takes it up to 150,000.

We are within a whisker of £40k btw.

492. The Rough Bounds

@november13.

Next time those morons start demonising Mr. Salmond or anyone else for that matter, do what I do.

Say, ‘You hate Alex Salmond? Oh, that’s a shame, because I was talking to him yesterday and he thinks that YOU are absolutely wonderful.’

Then watch their faces; it’s absolutely priceless.

493. Robert Peffers

O/T:

A BBC news report states that Public Health England is investigating an outbreak of Salmonella that has affected 156 people in England over the past few months. Alistair Darling, when asked to comment said, “Those SNP Cybernat separatists will stoop to anything to harm the English when told to by their leader”.

When challenged to provide proof of his claim, Mr Darling said, “For Heaven sake it was only a joke. You know what a joke is, don’t you”?

494. Lesley-Anne

I thought it was kinda quite down here heedtracker. 😛

Aye heaven forbid we actually get well involved in Iraq again. After all it’s not like Tory Rory and his gang do NOT have any idea what is involved. I’m sure with Tory Rory now out in Iraq everything will be sorted out in a jiffy. 😛

495. Liquid Lenny

thingy

Welcome to WOS don’t be shy all comments welcome

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.