Gone Fishin’

Posted on August 08, 2023 by

Look, we know. But there’s no news. Check out the state of it.

“KEYBOARD PLAYER ALLEGEDLY GOT FAT-SHAMED AT SOME UNSPECIFIED POINT IN TIME BY FOURTH-DIVISION BAND WHO LAST HAD A TOP 40 SINGLE IN 2006 and “CYCLIST GOES TO TOILET”. Front pages.

(The keyboard player now works for SNP pie-disposal unit Anne McLaughlin, ironically, which seems to be the closest relationship the story has with current affairs. But hey, kudos to the Record for beating all the other papers to that “exclusive”.)

We remain alert. If anything remotely worthwhile happens, we’ll be on it.

0 to “Gone Fishin’”

1. I. Despair

It is quiet. Good to know you’re keeping watch.

2. Dave Llewellyn

Why did I instantly think it was about Pete Wishart when I saw second rate keyboard player and SNP ?

3. duncanio

Seemingly the most recent former is seemingly returning from holidays at some stage this week (https://twitter.com/Grouse_Beater/status/1688334783305093120).

The current but outgoing Chief Constable of Police Scotland is retiring this week (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-66385753).

Not that these two events (when they happen) have anything to do with one another.

4. MajorBloodnok

Fishin’? Bear hunting shurely…

5. socratesmacsporran

Dave Llewellyn

Weak Pishfart “second rate” – I think you’re maybe over-rating him there.

6. Wee Crabbit Bas

Thick As A Brick – they only had to look at MvdP’s name to come up with a ‘van der Poo’ headline FFS.

There’s A Guy Works Down The Chip Shop Swears He Used To Play With Texas.

Wasted.

7. Vivian O’Blivion

Ahem … I think you’ll find it’s respected, former SNP Justice Spokesperson and intellectual colossus Anne McLaughlin.

8. Lollysmum

As there’s absolutely nothing happening Stuart you might as well go and put your feet up.

9. Kilted Splendour

I thought you might have had some fun with Nicola’s Credit Card bill while FM.

10. Republicofscotland

This isn’t news either.

“Nicola Sturgeon and aides spent £10k on VIP airport services to be ‘treated like royalty”

“Civil servants also bought books which open the administration to mockery. They splurged public money on 21 copies of Michael Barber’s How to Run a Government So that Citizens Benefit and Taxpayers Don’t Go Crazy.

Officials spent £6.29 on a book called Why Does Everything Always Go Wrong?, £2.99 on I’m Not Good Enough by Chris Williams, £21.52 on The Inmates are Running the Asylum and £11.47 on a book on the far-right English Defence League.

A further £2.99 was shelled out on Are You Strong Enough to Keep Your Temper? and £19.99 on a book on irritable bowel syndrome.”

https://archive.is/gxj4n

11. Republicofscotland

And this can’t be news, can it, surely not.

“Scottish Government officials blew public money on yoga classes, nail polish and driving tests during a time of public spending pressure.

They also racked up a £5,000 bill at the five-star Gleneagles hotel, £272 on wellies and £24.99 for “heel stoppers” for an event involving Nicola Sturgeon.

Part of the credit card data dump also shows around £25,000 of transactions were fraudulent.”

https://archive.is/F8S0D

12. Duchess of Puke Street

Thanks Rev.

Just tumble weed.

13. Mark Robertson

Stu Maybe you should stop reading trash comics ! How about all the new oildfields in Scotland Richier sunak has just approved ! Is THAT NOT News or have you been on the piss ?
    We all know the SNP are more than Asleep . comatised muppets is more descriptive of them but are you asleep at the wheel also on this one ?

14. TURABDIN

Thank poo very much…was a copy of the Daily Record to hand I wonder?
    The juvenile Scottish media must surely have some other function.

15. sarah

Thank you for the post, Rev. Now we know you are alive we can stop worrying about you. 🙂

16. James Che

Other than Stu with Wings, I had not heard we had a Scottish media,

When did that happen?

17. TURABDIN

To all those «it’s the economy, stupid» buffs.
    The Economic Consequences of the America Revolutionary War.
    https://www.thecollector.com/economic-effect-american-revolutionary-war/
    Independent US did not have an easy time.
    Why on Earth did they do it?

18. Shug

I see the UK electoral register has been subject to a cyber attack.

I wonder who would be interested in skewing an election in Britain given both main parties are extreme right wing.

what’s the chances in the next Scottish election 80% of votes will be postal.

19. David Searil

‘Pie-disposal unit’, brilliant!

20. Athanasius

Yeah, fair point, Stu. Enjoy what’s left of the summer.

21. James Che

Shug,

Boris Johnston said on televised interview the 2014 Scottish referendum was interfered with, surprise surprise by the Russians,

But knowing that the referendum results were corrupted and inaccurate he failed to offer Scotland a re run of that election for corrective purposes.

Perhaps it was not only the russians that wanted to maintain a skewed result in Scottish elections, but the politicians of Britain thought corrupt elections was a good thing in Scotland and it should remain the wrong result.

22. Stephen O'Brien

How much is a fishing permit?

SNP has so little respect for Scots electorate, it purposely avoided pursuit of natural justice, under jurisdiction of Scots Law.

That leaves only ONE OPTION, for the electorate, if natural justice is to be served..

The People versus The Scottish Parliament

Pursuit of equitable process and natural justice, requires the involvement of the big fish of the Faculty of Advocates.

There’s no hypothetical proposition, there’s existing, self evident mandate for a referendum. Holding the referendum does not detract from individual democratic choice. A referendum, the essence of just and fair decision making.

The small pond, of the devolved parliament, must face sharp scrutiny, under jurisdiction of Scots Law.

The Scottish public must be prepared to get their feet wet, to come away with the prize.. Completion of IndyRef2.

23. Johnlm

Was trying to link the two headlines
    Could only come up with
    ‘Tour de France’ by Kraftwerk
    ‘’The strain’ by the Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band

24. James Che

Stu,

I Hope you are in joying your break and all is well with you and yours,
    I am not sure if you call it a break though because I am looking forward to some more of beautiful photography later on here on wings,

I really enjoyed looking at nature in your part of the world, being a great nature enthusiast in my part of the world,
    Have to admit to enjoying the humorous photos you posted too. And not meaning to through insults at nature but Sometimes animals remind you of politicians.

25. James Che

Correction,
    “Not meaning to throw insults,

26. Captain Yossarian

I notice that Alex Salmond is calling for Humza to drop these Green Party spoofs. I know that Fergus Ewing called for that some time ago, but when old-Alex adds his weight behind it, it gives it an added edge. That would be a much needed improvement in look and performance and just what is needed right now.

27. Republicofscotland

Well said here Alex.

THE SNP should end the coalition deal with the Greens if it wants to re-establish a reputation for good governance, Alex Salmond has said.

“The former first minister accused Patrick Harvie, one of the Greens’ two ministers in the Scottish Government, of saying “fundamentally stupid things” that put the whole of the Yes-supporting administration on the back foot.

“Given that the Greens have only two ministers, about 10% of the government, they’ve supplied a lot more than 10% of the problems the government has been seeing,” Salmond told an audience at the Fringe.”

However here I think Alex must be mad to want to have anything to do with this Judas, who tried to imprison him for rest of his life.

“ALEX Salmond has said it will be “sad” if he and Nicola Sturgeon never reconcile.

The two former SNP first ministers are not said to have spoken in four years, with Sturgeon telling Iain Dale at an Edinburgh Fringe event in 2022 that she did not think that would change.

Asked if her and Salmond could rebuild a friendship, Sturgeon replied: “Nope.””

28. Stuart MacKay

The Greens are an essential part to show that the SNP is doing the right thing to their peers. The ability to work with others and form coalitions is an essential life skill. If they took extreme measures and booted out anybody that failed to deliver that might call into question their suitability for other positions once their political careers are over.

29. John Main

No such thing as bad publicity?

“Sturgeon’s £14m Splurge” headlining on the DM Online right now.

So it’s the MSM, and the hated DM to boot, so obviously it’s a tissue of lies.

Still, makes you think, eh?

30. Sven

£14.2 million spent by SNP since 2019, gosh, no wonder Police Scotland were looking for SIM cards for ‘burner phones’.
    That’ll give a wee bit more interest to a quiet August. And just in time for the run up to the October bye election.
    And they say no publicity is bad publicity.

31. twathater

@ ROS 4.56pm OMG HTAF could anyone forgive or forget that poisonous dwarf and the DAMAGE she and her unmentionables have done to Scotland and Scots never mind the absolute planned demonisation of an innocent man

It is all very well being the nice guy but I’m sorry that is exactly the reason we are in the sorry state we are in , when your enemy realises you will ONLY play by MOQ rules and they will do ANYTHING to WIN then you have given them the victory

WHY do Scottish representatives in WM sit there and accept denigration and insults from those exceptionalist arsewipes no wonder they hold Scotland in contempt

32. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Stu Maybe you should stop reading trash comics ! How about all the new oildfields in Scotland Richier sunak has just approved !”

What about them?

33. Effijy

Rev! The news is about 30p Lee Anderson, one of the Tories thickest and most extreme fascists telling any asylum seeker here to F off back to France if they don’t like being treated
    like dangerous criminals as they wait in ever growing queues.

They dragged the Tories and U.K. politics out of the gutter and down into the deepest sewer.

They try to deflect from their disasterous government policies by blaming a few thousand migrants for a shortage of housing, people using Foodbanks, the strain on GP’s, Dentists, the NHS, classroom sizes, the ever increasing debt levels.

In their 14th year of power they assure you that they have done a wonderful job and none of the above has nothing to do with them.

They have done a wonderful job stuffing the pockets of their donors and supporters.
    £100 Billion for emergency contracts, £10’s Billions on unusable PPE kit from people like Baroness Missing Mone and Hancock’s friends, NHS Drug contracts that benefit Zahawi
    Hancock and Sunak.
    A cheeky £43 Billion for track and trace the went to a Tory MP’s wife who is on the right Track to become a billionaire and disappear without Trace.

Around two thirds of asylum seekers actually prove they have a legitimate right to shelter here. That is why the Tories won’t process them.
    We take in a tiny fraction of these people when compared to France, Germany, Italy and Greece so how do they manage better and without stirring up racist bile against them.

Germany took in over 1,000,000 refugees a few years back and more than us recently.

Remember back when the Germans were called cruel, immoral monsters who consider themselves elitist and beyond international law.

Boy is that Jack Boot on the other foot and fitting better than Cinderella’s slipper.

Not in my name Tory Party and if there is a hell you won’t be cold in the your afterlife.

34. James Jones

Shug at 2:55 pm

“I see the UK electoral register has been subject to a cyber attack.
    I wonder who would be interested in skewing an election in Britain given both main parties are extreme right wing..”

Extreme right wing? It’s like you think they’re worse than Hitler. Oh wait, Effijy actually went there. You guys are losing the plot.

35. James Jones

James Che at 3:32 pm.
    “ Boris Johnston said on televised interview the 2014 Scottish referendum was interfered with, surprise surprise by the Russians.”

Did he though?
    How did the Russians influence your vote?

36. Mike

Pie disposal unit – brilliant.

37. Garrion

Here’s a thought, and don’t get mad at me. In these times of liminal hellish turgidity, praps this esteemed forum might be open to inviting some proactive articles and whatnot on the shape, requirements and process of Scottish independence, rather than hang about waiting for something to react to?

I mean the readership is fkn huge, and we KNOW everyone, whether they admit it or not (even that balloon at WGD and OHMSS Mike Small) checks out Wings.

So despite the fact that it probably represents a cubic buttload of work, and will no doubt suffer from an avalanche of dismissable submissions by swivel eyed lunatics of all stripes, some of whom seem to enjoy sullying the BTL threads here, what about that?

38. robertkknight

Rev Stu says “Check out the state of it”.

Surely that applies to every cover the Redcoat churns out? Fit for Fish & Chip wrapping and budgie cage lining.

39. Republicofscotland

Palestinian president Mahmoud Abbas sells out the Palestinians, we should know how they feel in part, as Sturgeon the Judas sold us out.

https://consortiumnews.com/2023/08/07/mahmoud-abbas-the-risk-of-civil-war/

40. Northcode

Experience of work-life in a ‘professional’ environment is valuable preparation for young folk aspiring to a career in journalism.

I think it’s great that the ‘Record’ is allowing 13 year-olds, who possibly haven’t quite outgrown toilet humour yet, to write its headlines; it’s probably part of a work-experience programme the newspaper runs over the school holidays.

Here’s a witticism to lift the spirits of serious, grown-up folk who might find newspaper headlines of the calibre exhibited above a tad infantile:

An astronomer, a physicist and a mathematician set off for Scotland on the train. Not long after they cross the border, they look out of the window and see a black sheep standing in a field.

‘Aha!’ says the astronomer. ‘Scottish sheep are black.’

‘No,’ the physicist rebukes him. ‘Some sheep in Scotland are black.’

The mathematician sighs heavily and looks pained.

‘No. In Scotland there exists at least one field, containing at least one sheep, at least one side of which is black.’

from Simon Singh’s Fermat’s Last Theorem (1997)

What; you don’t think it’s that funny? Well I can assure you, if you’re a mathematician it’s roll-on-the-floor hilarious.

41. sarah

@ Garrion: “..praps this esteemed forum might be open to inviting some proactive articles…on the process of Scottish independence…”

The Rev has done this kind of thing in the past and I would welcome more.

42. highlander

Effijy says:

————————————–

snp took less than 500 last year…………

43. John Main

@Effijy 6:36

Congratulations are in order. A medium-sized post without mentioning BoJo. See, it’s not as difficult as you feared.

On a point of fact. The housing shortage is due to 606,000 net migration last year, and excluding the reduction during the Covid years, net incomes measuring in the hundreds of thousands each year for most of the years in the 21st century so far.

That’s totalling in the millions, with house building lagging miles behind. It’s not a complex situation to comprehend.

44. A Scot Abroad

When this is the standard of the media in Scotland, and the standard of public debate BTL on WoS, then one knows that Scotland just isn’t ready for independence anytime in the next 300 years. It’s like a kindergarten. Absolutely rubbish in every respect. And that’s before digging into Sturgeon’s spending on the government credit card.

I suspect that her husband is going to end up in nick, and her political career will end up in disaster. As will the SNP, and any hopes of Indy be in the ditch as people see the sort of dross that they might have had being the national leaders.

45. John Main

@Garrion 7:45

“proactive articles on the shape, requirements and process of Scottish independence”

Excellent idea, and something I have asked for a few times.

Start by presenting a plausible, accurate and authoritative explanation of the iScotland finances. There’s been decades to get this worked out, so it must just be a simple task to write it down.

Show us the money.

Please, pretty please, with cream and sugar on top.

46. John Main

ASA

Naw, I’m reckoning the people of Scotland can turn this around in 10 years.

Obviously we need to bin most of the SNP troughers, and the Wings BTL eejits won’t be much use either, and we will need a sizeable injection of New Scots to shift the focus from the ancient guff to what matters.

But at the end of the day, the case for Indy is fundamentally an economic one. Always has been and always will. Rational Scots, Sovereign and New, will eventually see the light.

47. Graham

Work down a mine? Like he’d fit down the shaft.

48. Glenn Boyd

There is THE MAJOR story out there just waiting for a man with the intellectual, determination and sheer investigative capabilities that Scotlands finest real journalist displayed on so many occasions: Step forward Rev Stuart Campbell and allow me to introduce you to the travesty that is the Child Abuse Enquiry and its refusal to allow any evidence to be presented to said enquiry by one Ms Susie Henderson, as it is likely to bring the entire Scottish Legal establishment to its knees!

49. Glenn Boyd

There is THE MAJOR story out there just waiting for a man with the intellectual, determination and sheer investigative capabilities that Scotlands finest real journalist has displayed on so many occasions: Step forward the Rev Stuart Campbell and allow me to introduce you to the travesty that is the Child Abuse Enquiry and its refusal to allow evidence to be presented to said enquiry by Ms Susie Henderson, given that she was a victim of child sexual abuse at the hands of her father and many others within a paedophile ring operating within the Scottish Legal fraternity and would very likely bring the entire system to its knees!

50. fruitella the hun

Some folk argue that the carbon a Scot injects into the global atmosphere is less damaging the the carbon an Indian or Chinese person injects. Obviously that is wrong. Ton for ton its effects are the same. So what are they really saying? Maybe that Scots are more entitled to benefit from the damage done than brown or yellow people. Who gave us the right to claim that? Are we superior and therefore just entitled to take it? That attitude is exactly what I want independence from.

Or maybe they are not imperialists. They just don’t believe that the CO2. we push into the atmosphere is damaging, the physicists and chemists and mathematicians have it all wrong – or they are simply lying.

51. David Hannah

Humza Yousaf urges people to tell bigots: ‘F*** you.’

He doesn’t like “white middle-aged men”

“It’s not First Ministerial language, but you should say, You know what, I do belong here.”

NAW YE DONT!

52. DavidT

Edinburgh Fringe “Iain Dale: All Talk with Nicola Sturgeon MSP” on Thursday, 10 August 2023.

Do you think she will show up? (Gyles Brandrest is the understudy.)

Tickets are still available.

53. Captain Yossarian

Glenn Boyd – That’s the Scottish Child Abuse Inquiry? It’s been running non-stop since 2016? Something akin to the Edinburgh Trams Inquiry? It’s purpose is to present the allusion that something is being done. God knows how much it is all costing. Lady Smith is being well-paid for doing very, very, very little. These Inquiries were set-up by the redactor man John Swinney. I think everyone’s forgotten about him. I wish you well with this. It is about time the legal profession was opened-up. I don’t think folk will like what they see.

54. Ebenezer Scroggie

The trams inquiry?

Google ‘Scotland’s worst judge’.

He was the qunt who, when he selected his own four judges to be the judges/jury in the trial, in which he was the lead prosecutor of the two Libyan guys in the show trial over the Lockerbie thing, which found that one of the two was innocent of conspiring with the other; and the other one was was guilty of conspiring with the other.

Work that one out!

55. Captain Yossarian

Scroggie – Agreed. You get to the point in a line or two which I’ve noticed you doing in the past.

Sadly, he was an old Labour Party man, renowned for cover-ups. So, no surprises there.

Even more sadly, he was appointed (a long time ago) by Alex Salmond.

In these two cases, we see the problem in the legal profession in Scotland.

56. Effijy

John Main,

You have an arrogant pedantic way with you and I try my best to avoid any post with your name on it but I made an error this morning.

You get more pedantic and pathetic with every post.

Sorry to upset you by holding your Tory friends and Boris to account.

Your suggestion that 600,000 plus migrants all got houses is the reason behind shortages is too ridiculous for words.

When last Labour controlled Holyrood they built 6, just Six new homes over a 5 year period.

There were many private landlords who put their savings into renting out a second property.
    When the Tories attacked them by taxing them on the net rentals with out them being able to
    deduct genuine operating costs such as factors fees, mortgage payments, repairs etc they sold them.

The sales was taxed to give the Tories a one hit revenue boost but left those who cannot get a mortgage without a home and a hopeless task of finding another rental in an ever shrinking market which of course accelerates the monthly costs and the deposit.

Must be Scots at fault John. FFS

57. John Main

@Effijy 8:00

Aw man, you were doing so well! I thought you had finally managed to get him oot yer heid!

Fit happened?

58. John Main

fruitella

Maybes we don’t agree that Scots should shiver in the dark so that the brown and yellow people can have their unimpeded turn at wrecking the environment.

Some of these third world grifters have the brass neck, while massively ramping up their own carbon emissions, to tell us that, BTW, we owe them for historical carbon emissions too.

Careful you don’t get guilt-suckered into thinking like them, fruitella.

We are constantly being told that climate change will affect developing countries worse than it will us. If developing countries intend to commit climate suicide anyway, led from the front by the likes of India and China, tacitly supporting Russtiland while they smash to pieces as much of the environment as they can get their hands on, then it’s their climate funeral.

59. TURABDIN

«But at the end of the day, the case for Indy is fundamentally an economic one. Always has been and always will. Rational Scots, Sovereign and New, will eventually see the light»
    JOHN MAIN’s mantra, repeat and repeat and you too will be reprogrammed like him to believe that to be so. Is JM an accountant, a functionary, a political cog in the wheel of the status quo apparatus, a mole, a double/triple agent, a useful idiot in sheeps garb or whatever?
    The raw reality of independence movements is that they are generally driven by a minority, rarely a majority. The movers and shakers do not rush to the latest economic barometer of health or squelch through the FT entrails searching for the «le moment juste» in which to launch the great liberation campaign they simply get on with job knowing the masses will ultimately fall into line. They certainly do not count on that quixotic devil’s spawn the referendum.
    When the majority is indifferent, lazy or ill informed a minority tiring of the prolonged stasis and misery of being taken for a political ride into nowhere may spring into action.
    Many politically sophisticated Scots are certainly tired of the prolonged stasis, the springing into action is the issue now.
    Who or what will provide the fiery, potent intellectual oil? The wasted years of Sturgeon governance have not been short on potential. However, positive action will not be stimulated by another languorous smearing of the stale and soporific snake oils of «economics». The «economic case for independence» is a fusty, musty yellowing collection of papers.
    Read, tried and tested, got the T….high time to move on and cut the wilful, procrastinating «chatter» of second league politics.

60. John Main

TURABDIN

Yeah yeah yeah. You await the vanguard of the proletariat.

Why not lead us yourself? The best minority is one. If you are articulate, inspirational, visionary, gifted, it should be a shoo-in.

Maybes watch some GoT to get yourself in character.

61. Dorothy Devine

Glen Boyd , there are certain professions which protect each other to the point of the vile and the ridiculous.

There have been examples of the dishonesty at the highest level in the legal profession in the not too distant past.
    Defending the indefensible .

62. Johnlm

Ifruitella
    I agree, “ the physicists and chemists and mathematicians have it all wrong”

See Covid and 911 to name but two.

63. TURABDIN

On Wrecking the Environment.
    «Wrecking» the environment in the lands of those «brown and yellow people» sic came thanks to generous World Bank loans to improve for example agriculture by burning down unproductive forests to cultivate the palm oil tree in Indonesia and Brazil.
    Decades ago that made economic sense, still does really, but such a shame about those indigenous peoples, the cute animals and the plants and the very bad publicity in the liberal media in the white lands, so you profligate «Third Worlders» just stop it.

64. Mac

Isn’t it strange that we have ‘nothing to talk about’ as evidenced by the Daily Rectum’s barrel scrapings.

Yet the backdrop to this bubble of boredom is the collapse of American hegemony and empire and the outbreak of WW3 which has arguably already started.

IMHO we are currently living in very significant times, pivotal for the whole world. Yet there is nothing to talk about.

It is very weird being in a bubble of staleness while the wider world goes up in flames.

Another day in a distant outpost of a doomed empire. See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil.

65. Mac

(Not sure why this went to moderation, trying again with a few tweaks.)

Isn’t it strange that we have ‘nothing to talk about’ as evidenced by the Daily Record’s barrel scrapings.

Yet the backdrop to this bubble of boredom is the collapse of Americ@n hegemony and empire and the outbreak of WWIII which has arguably already started.

IMHO we are currently living in very significant times, pivotal for the whole world. Yet there is nothing to talk about.

It is very weird being in a bubble of staleness while the wider world goes up in flames.

Another day in a distant outpost of a doomed empire. See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil.

66. Derek Rogers

TURABDIN @ 9th August 2023 at 9:09 am:
    When the majority is indifferent, lazy or ill informed, a minority may spring into action.
    ah nivqr thot ahd qgree wi *tuwrabdin, bqt dhats spot on. qn wi nouw huw dhat mynoriti wql bee.

67. Republicofscotland

It looks like Saltires (Scotland’s national flag) are banned at certain UCI events, as every other nation on the planet waves there’s including England’s, one and two flags, the St George’s Cross and the Butchers Apron aka the UJ.

Of course Scotland can’t compete as a country in this UCI our cyclists must wear the Butchers Apron to represent this dis-united kingdom, and like the Olympics or any other even that Scottish athletes are forced to parade (maybe some actually like it) the UJ, its a complete turn off and a no brainer to give these events a miss.

Still I suppose the English propaganda is getting through in Scotland we don’t control our tv channels a foreign country does, so we are swamped with every f*ckin little bit of info on the English women’s football team, if its not that its English horse racing or old shitty James Bond movies played on a loop every Sunday on what is supposed to be a Scottish tv channel (STV) but it is only Scottish in name.

Scots must surely be the most propagandised people on the planet, and the most apathetic to put up with this shite for Christ knows how long.

68. Ian Brotherhood

Swinney being fingered?

https://www.barrheadboy.com/infiltration-of-the-snp/

69. Karen Terf 50 3/4

Hello!

70. Republicofscotland

“ANYONE being discriminated against should respond with a firm “f*** you” to the haters, First Minister Humza Yousaf has said.”

I bet you Yousless would never say the above at Westminster and to its government, nor would he say it to Sturgeon the Judas or Murrell.

I just can’t take anything this puppet says seriously.

71. Karen Terf 50 3/4

I would like Yousaf to define what he means by a bigot.
    Is a bigot someone who disagrees with SNP policy?
    Someone who disagrees with self-id for example.
    Being that Yousaf is unable to define what a woman is I doubt if he will be able to define what a bigot is.

As far as I’m concerned Yousaf has already ‘f*cked me’.
    I’m just waiting patiently until it’s my turn to ‘F*** you’ Yousaf.

This wont involve any swearing or violence I will just go quietly to the polling station and ensure the SNP candidate does not get my X.

Come polling day Yousaf & the SNP will be getting a big F*** you’ from me.

‘Humza Yousaf urges people to tell bigots: ‘F*** you’ and I believe many of his colleagues/SNP members/coalition partners would add F*** you and Punch a Terf.

72. Republicofscotland

Here Creepy Crawley makes you laugh.

“A South Lanarkshire politician is calling out the ‘bedroom tax’ as over 2300 households in the area are affected.

Lanark and Hamilton East MP Angela Crawley is warning the Conservative and Labour parties that it is “pushing families into poverty and costing Scotland millions of pounds”.”

The SNP under Sturgeon the Judas Scotland has lost billions in revenue via the Great Scotwind giveaway, and with her stabbing us in the back over Brexit and independence one can’t calculate just how much pain and suffering along with financial worries she has cost Scots.

73. Mac

I recall reading something about Swinney’s dreadful period of leadership of the SNP and how it was Sturgeon who was pulling his strings. And of course as soon as she gets the gig it is Swinney as her right hand man.

The Barrheadboy piece is correct. The infiltration will be massive. It was the same with moderate animal rights groups (not the ALF just ordinary people). The meetings would be majority special branch and other ‘security’ services. One undercovercop even had a relationship with a female attendee and got her pregnant. These people are out of control.

The SNP would be considered a threat to national security the moment independence became a possibility.

The 2014 referendum was most likely (IMHO) a dead heat once you remove the dodgy votes. This is why they tried to destroy Salmond and very nearly succeeded.

The Salmond stitch-up was Scotland’s JFK moment. A preventative coup.

74. Molesworth

‘Pie disposal unit.’ Nicked.

75. Johnlm

Bald male politicians, running against hirsute opponents, don’t win.

I believe that the statistics are even more stark for bald women.

Democracy.

76. fruitella the hun

“Maybes we don’t agree that Scots should shiver in the dark so that the brown and yellow people can have their unimpeded turn at wrecking the environment.”

We do agree, we can drastically cut our carbon emissions without having to “shiver in the dark” or ‘live in caves” or any of the other Project Fear (Oil Business Security edition) standards. You know everything so you’ll know that.

As for what the brown and yellow people do, as they assert themselves after two hundred plus years of imperial attention destroying the fabric of their societies, that’s up to them. The climate damage caused by burning fossil fuels bears down even harder on their territories.

77. James Che

James Jones.
    8th August 3: 32:
    Did he though?

What a stupid rely to my comment just to be contrary.

It was said on television
    Ie, you could see him saying it, it was from the horses mouth televised.

78. Effijy

I just read in the Guardian that the Tories are handing Turkey millions per annum to try and stop people smuggling at their own border.

In actual fact the many are making long difficult journeys under their own steam to leave the barbaric government in Afghanistan.

Some of these people will have been promised English passports for assisting the military.

Videos have been produced to show the Turks firing live ammunition to warn them off, beat them with rifle butts and even rob them.

So many Afghans taken for mugs used and abused and left to die by the Tories.
    Just like England but without the fees given to the other countries like France that they say they don’t need.

79. James Che

Catching up from yesterday reading comments.

And there are some that lack intelligence from the Green mantra crowd and the show us the money how will Scotland survive “better together” Crowd,

The green brigade are busy displaying Anti- humanist behaviour,
    for every one, except the rich corporations and the elite such as the unelected that sit on these world forums pushing out the Cult ideology for their own financial gains and more control over the citizen of every Country,
    Their are non so willing blind as the I am alright jack boot green brigade,

The Better Together Team quite simply are afraid to go it alone,
    and proof that they could stand on their own two feet without Scotland,
    They push their better “together” on Scotland akin to 2014 old hat to imply that Scots are to Wee, to Stupid and to poor for Scotland to surive without the old Empire GB.
    It is well remembered the Mantra of, “What Currency will you use”? , to now “show us yer money”
    But the financially corrupt old empire is sinking faster than any ship in Ice burgs.
    The better together team persist because the are scared to go it alone, it would crush their EGO’s and Cause a Financial crash of the good old Empire,
    To save face, ego and their ill gotten gains money they sit on Wings kicking, spitting and fighting to retain Scotland, their holiday homes and second addresses, their cash flow that supports their “crown” government life support machine in England,

Say it as it is, call a spade a spade,

It is down south that is petrified to let Scotland go,
    Scotland is willing to stand on their own two feet come what may, without asking permission of Englands better together butcher apron flag flying team,

80. Chic McGregor

Since someone mentioned the B word I thought I would have a look at the latest WHO Covid stats.

The UK with 228,429 is the 6th largest total in the World.

The 5 countries above them are all much, much larger populations.

They are, in ascending death total order:

Mexico, Russia, Brazil, India and heading the list USA.

If you take take the two, as they were through the bulk of the pandemic, Clown Principalities, the USA and UK, with just a twentieth of the World population they account for a fifth of the World’s death total. The USA is marginally above the UK in deaths per million.

There are many countries with much larger populations than the UK but below the UK in total deaths.

All the UK’s European neighbours, including Ireland have a lower death rate per million than the UK.

Scandinavian countries, with the exception of Sweden (which never fully locked down, relying on Swedish reserve) have less than half the death rate of the UK.

Boris’s dithering and toying with the idea of just ‘let it rip’ and the consequent 2-3 Week delay in lockdown has to be a prime suspect in those differences.

81. James Che

Fruitella the hun,

Here are a few logical questions that no green fiend has answered yet, so I wondered if you would answer them being as you speak with so much enthusiasm from your knowledgable position of saving the planet,

1, If we have to lower our carbon,
    Does that mean reducing human population being as humans have a good proportion of carbon in them?

2, If we have to reduce farm Animals because of there omissions from their back end,
    How did the planet survive big ommission from Dinasours and the millions of herd animals that roamed the planet before the Green party emerged through evolution?

3, Why are the Greens planet protectors allowing profiteering and non profiteering from cutting down deciduous Trees around the planet,
    Is it not well known by the Greens that Scientist have for years explained and claimed, these trees covert through Photosynthesis the air we breath to good air,?

4, Why are the Greens in Scotland absent in encouraging all local Councils to provide large green Spaces with trees and ponds for wildlife, like victorian parklands within the towns, cities and villages of Scotland?

5, with wind turbines and solar power along with lithium batteries,
    Why do the Green party not provide information publically where and how these minerals are mined, from which Countries, who owns these Companies and who is the local labour and how much they get payed,?

6, with wind turbines, Solar power lithium batteries why do the Green never point out the dangerous disposal sites when these energy sources come to the end of there life expectancy dates?

7. Why has the green party not recognised that the conversion from one energy source to another has not had a future long term planning?
    The new energy sources are not up and running smoothly in advance of Scrapping the old system, leaving the public paying higher prices or with energy deficits?

7. Why kill and cull naturelised animals in Scotland to experiment with a different set of Animals other than a idealogical social experiment, that has no guarantee to work and may cause further enviromental damage unforseen to Scotland at a later date,?

This is only the tip of the ice burg of the amount of questions I try logically to ask of the people push Climate change, but being as you are here on Wings doing just that, I will always direct my questions to you,

82. James Che

It is always wise to separate the given reasons for death during the virus period and the aftermath deaths,

Those in and under quick lockdown= compared to those countries that did not lock down

Those with a higher uptake of vacine = compared to those countries with a lower vacinated population,

Those with accurate causes of death = and those with government policy inflicted deaths, such as care homes,

Those Countries that gave a correct medical cause of death = those that fiddled the books to create a false narrative,

The last My family can accurately inform others on,
    My mother passed away in November 2022, her death certificate has gangerine as cause of death, and a secondary illness of Cancer,

The Council sent us a Covid form for interment purposes,
    We sent it back stating that our mother did not die at home of Covid,
    The Council said that was the only form they were providing,
    We did not and would not bury our mother under falsified information forms as cause of death, so we did not argue with the persistant Council, but scattered her ashes in her favourite areas in the Country side,

We have to question how many people are interred under Covid that did not have any form of Covid,
    How many old people died in old peoples homes that were immediately cremated without family being there and no available autopsy due to lockdowns and a very quick cremation,
    We went through the determination of our local Council trying to up their numbers with our mothers death,
    So how many others? we will never know the truth of the true statistics if this is how the death numbers were gathered.

83. Chic McGregor

JC

I’ll answer points 5 and 6.

5. Recent development in battery technology has produced a Lithium Sulphur battery. It has 3 times the energy density and can be recharged thousands of times. The Sulphur is readily and cheaply available and so will entirely negate the need to mine Cobalt.

The battery will therefore be far cheaper, safer to produce and virtually eradicate ‘range anxiety’. It will also largely do away with the need for charging stations. 1000 mile range, London and back, all you need to worry about is the waste of time going there.

As usual there is more delay than should be and for the usual capitalist reactionary reasons. First there are about 4 proven varieties so there is a kind of Betamax v VHS hesitancy thing going on from investors. Secondly there is estimated to be 20-30 billion in vested interest in Cobalt production (Oops!).

6. Hazardous disposal of EV batteries is a bit of a petrol head myth. VW are building (have built now?) an EV battery recycling plant which will recover 97% of the constituent material from old EV batteries plus there is a burgeoning industry in extending the useful life of those batteries prior to recycling by repurposing e.g. domestic house storage from off-peak or solar.

If I might add a third point 7.

7. When Scotland’s 2 million+ cars become EVs that represents a potential storage capacity of around 80 GWh (or 240 GWh with Li S). Enough to keep Scotland’s domestic electricity consumption going, without rationing, for 2-3 days (6-9 days for Li – S) with no solar or wind generation (which would be an extreme rarity). A resource which dovetails perfectly with renewables.

84. James Che

Fruitella the hun,

Do you personally use bikes and cars with rubber tyres?

Have you personally stopped using rubber and plastic soled shoes, or do you used all leater from anmals?

Does your EV car if you own one have plastic bodywork?

I want to know how realistically you live the green ideal you are pushing onto others here.

85. fruitella the hun

James Che

I’ve no idea how to answer your unusual questions. Most of them seem to be aimed at the Greens who have power. I’m not in a green party nor do I support many of the policies run by those who have a bit of power.

Thanks for addressing your thoughts on climate change and carbon to me. I’ll deal with them correctly.

86. Chic McGregor

JC
    The main reportage criticism in the UK for Covid deaths was the tens of thousands in England which were diagnosed as Covid clinically at the start of the pandemic but which were not counted there as Covid deaths because of the lack of tests.

In Scotland, any medical death certificate mentioning Covid was counted.

Whether the World Health Organisation has corrected that or not, I do not know.

But these are the WHO statistics so you would need to take that up with them.

87. James Jones

James Che says:
    9 August, 2023 at 1:12 pm
    James Jones.
    8th August 3: 32:
    Did he though?

“What a stupid rely to my comment just to be contrary.
    It was said on television
    Ie, you could see him saying it, it was from the horses mouth televised.”

Hmmm… he appears to have said nothing of the sort.
    http://www.thenational.scot/news/19971837.boris-johnson-uncomfortable-asked-russian-influence-uk-politics-resurfaced-clip/

Again, how did the Russians influence your vote?

88. James Che

Regards your two, but appreciated replies, which in some parts are answered but it not completely a full answer,

Point 5, Part of the question was on Which Countries are these resources being taken from, whom owns these Companies and how much is paid in wages to the locals fora fair exchange of their work?

Point 6, does not explain the disposal of present existing Wind turbines, lithium batteries, nor the solar panels, nor which Countries these will be dumped in,
    It does, mention the possibilities for the future VW with a question mark for validity, although that may have hiccups as well,

But none of this explains why there is such a big planning gap between the new imposed green global agenda of the future and the ill thought out process of eliminating the existing energy source before the other is ready,
    or why the public and tax payer are suffering the costly consequences of the oil and gas industry profiteers and government errors and mistakes,
    It seems the private corporations, the governments investments and the unelected global investors in the new profiteering racket will go forward regardless of the immediate human cost lower down,

And this is the ultimate reason why it is a hard to sell to the public as the new green deal,

Because it is us that have to buy the new cars with no valid realistic compensation,
    It is us that pay the taxes to subsidise the new green energy source,
    It is us that have to invest in new boilers.
    It is Us that have to reinsulate our houses
    It is Us paying high car fuel prices.
    And it is us that that have restriction on the “minute” cities.
    It is us dealing with the ill kept roads for any kind of vehicle,
    It is us that have not been provided with cycle paths in the towns never mind the Countryside in advance,
    It is us that have road closures, fallen bridges and potholes in every day commuting routes,
    It on the back of us that the big corporation are making a profit on the globalist green agenda,

If I were a sales man going out in the morning trying to sell this new pitch to the public, it would be like telling a childs fairy story to adults,
    And this ill thought out ideal would be a good reason to turn around and go back to bed, because you will never sell a conceptual idealogy to those whom loose out the most,
    regardless of how good the reasoning excuse and slick professional trained talk provided is.
    It is us that the new green agenda hits the hardest, not the wealthy beyond the average man on the street.
    It is also us being controlled on where we travel, and how far,

You might as well be try sell a spare leg to a three legged man,

89. James Che

J J,
    Ahh the selective edited edition,

90. James Jones

Where he said the opposite of your unsourced claim.
    Are you sure you didn’t just read a misleading headline?

How did the Russians influence your vote?

91. Chic McGregor

JC
    The VW plant has apparently already started recycling tests. BTW which part of 97% are you having difficulty with? What dumping?

The new Li S battery technology will indeed mean no more need for Cobalt but good luck getting companies to compensate the hitherto producing countries for the loss of employment.

Not sure why you interjected Wind Turbine and Solar Panel recycling but I’m sure most of their components will be likewise recycled too.

On shore Wind is the cheapest form of producing energy, it is now unsubsidized. Off shore wind is and will remain high in the cost of electricity production so requires subsidy mainly because of the ingrained rural idyll/Luddite cultural mentality of the English controlling elite. See Blake, Tolkien et al for the mythos which underpins our ‘Green and pleasant landers’ delusions. Meanwhile UK industry must suffer the crippling and suicidally noncompetitive energy costs impinged on them by their ‘betters’.

If England had the same on shore wind density as the rest of Western Europe they could easily generate the 40-50 W they require very cheaply but the cultural barrier already condemned the UK to non competitiveness for energy intense industries and domestic bills hundreds of pounds higher before the Ukraine War/Brexit/Covid events.

92. Chic McGregor

So, what did I get wrong on my reply to JC?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.