Conflicting opinions

Posted on May 16, 2013 by

Never let it be said we don’t do balanced reporting.

Takes all sorts, eh viewers?

92 to “Conflicting opinions”

1. Malcolm

I can tell an SNP voter by looking at them too.

2. Doug Daniel

Some very creative variations of proper spelling there. Also, could someone please decide if it was the SNP or if it was Loony Lefties? I’m getting confused.

3. Taranaich

God almighty. People really are completely and utterly clueless, aren’t they?

4. John Lyons

Lol. I’m not anti English, I’m anti arse-hole.
    thats why I don’t like Farage, nothing to do with where he’s from. As for the violence and intimidation claims, both are illegal. There were plenty of police present. I’d have expected some asserts if there was any of this going on. And surely if there where arrests it would be joyfully reported in the media. No?

5. Michael Heron

I love the muddled thinking – freedom of speech doesn’t mean ‘freedom to speak without consequences’, or ‘freedom to have people listen to you’.  It also neatly encompasses ‘freedom to protest’
    And seriously, if there’s anyone who doesn’t need to worry about their views getting a disproportionate amount of public attention, it’s Nigel Farage.  

6. Yesitis

Aye. How dare those Scots have left wing students.

7. Iain

So, loony lefty, fascist, Nazi, Marxist, socialist, racist, studenty, bigoted, drunken, scummy, SNP, benefit junkie, wankerish, Braveheart whelks told Farage what they think about him?
    Whelks is a new one on me.

8. John Hannah

Ah looks like another baiting session. Right wingers calling protesters racists …lmfao. Hypocrites.
    Roll on Indy and we’ll get shot of this Westminster nonsense for good.

9. Tattie-boggle

I seen Alex Salmond and John Swinney and they where throwing bricks and bottles and getting wee boys to throw stuff too.

10. Geoff Huijer

Isn’t being able to demonstrate and show one’s feelings
    part of having ‘freedom of speech’?

Or is the UK Gov’t going to ban that next?

Well at least he dived into a pub and not Greggs…

11. HandandShrimp

I thought it was Better Together that didn’t want Farage in their tent.

12. auslander

Is there anyway I can export all of these users as an ignore list for twitter?

13. Jiggsbro

Whelks is a new one on me.

Hitler liked a nice whelk. Just sayin’

14. Geoff Huijer

Tattie-boggle says:
    16 May, 2013 at 7:54 pm

“I seen Alex Salmond and John Swinney and they where throwing bricks and bottles and getting wee boys to throw stuff too.”

Just spat ma coffee over the PC – brilliant! LMFAO

15. Jeannie

@Geoff Huijer

Oh, if only it had been a Subway!

16. Peter

How much to the Police charge for a ride in the van? I hope it wasnt at tax payers expense 🙂

17. James Morton

Ah the voice of the Union, listen to them howl, what sweet music they make. All utterly oblivious to the irony that they have just illustrated how dysfunctional their Union actually is. The swivel eyed logic by Massie (who ought to know better) who must know UKIP have nothing new to offer the Scots that has not already been offered by the Tories in the past.  The idiotic belief that Scotland should stay in the Union but is a burden on the English.
    For some of them, they probably expected this visit to somehow prove just how alike Scotland was to England in its voting intentions. They got a short sharp shock today to remind them how “unlike” England. Scotland actually is. When UKIP crash & burn here come polling day, expect more incandescent disbelief and fury at another rejection of the right.

18. Thomas William Dunlop

They were perfectly happy with Jonh Smeatons action at Glasgow airport a few years ago, when he tackled some undesiranble behaviour……

19. Jeannie

Taxi for Farage…………

20. muttley79

Do some people in Scotland genuinely think that Alex Salmond and Nicola Sturgeon are Nazis?  It seems an extraordinary thing to believe about moderate left of centre politicians, but there you go.  I can’t say I understand that kind of an allegation.     

21. Bugger (the Panda)

Is this or could this be Scotlands watershed against insidious extreme rght wing British nationalism stopped by the anti Mosley east end protests.

Maybe not but we will stop them in their tracks in Scotland.

Scotland and England are being separated at the hip.

22. HandandShrimp

So 50 anti-fascist demonstrators have brought democracy to its knees? What a fuss about so little and of course all the bitter together bloggers falling over themselves to say it was all Yes Scotland’s fault. I call time on the crap.

Farage and the BT lot’s refusal to accommodate the Union Jack waving Unionist chappie because he is too English is an asset to Yes Scotland. It shows the BT crowd in bad light. We don’t need to protest against him. I can understand why anti-fascists and pro-gay rights and the SSP would protest against him and some of those may be pro-independence but I’m willing to bet they were there with their other hats on. 

Grasping at straws springs to mind.

23. sneddon

Just feel the anger and seethe from the twitterati.  Democracy seems to be simply beyond their grasp. Press conference was organisaed by UKIP knowing there would be a protest.  They could have had  the press conference somewhere else but the frog like one craves publicity.  FFS he couldn’t be bothered going to Aberdeen to have the press conference in support of his own candidate in th eplace were the by election is.  Arrogant arsehole.  Sooner we’re shot of the whole shower of shit of them the better.

24. scotty

can anyone tell me what farrage is doing in scotland in the first place?he has no clout here and better together have refused to let them join their campaign,is there a possibility this decision willl be reversed as he has now been “threatened” by those vile fascist scots nats?.as for the twatter morons i notice a profound misunderstanding of the term hypocracy!

25. Erchie

depressed a bit at right-wing hereditary journalist Alex Massie joining in to the fuckwittery

26. Geoff Huijer

jeannie says:
    16 May, 2013 at 8:02 pm

@Geoff Huijer

Oh, if only it had been a Subway!

Doh! (Homer-style). Subway!

27. Tattie-boggle

LOL http://t.co/LLm132xqXI

28. Laura

That has to be the funniest thing I have read since the Amazon reviews of a hair removal product that some guy used on his gonads. Comedy gold indeed!! 

29. Edinburgh Quine

And of course Farage is the very epitomy of liberal, open handed welcome to my country.  Maybe he will have some idea of how imigrants feel on a daily basis when they are constantly being told by so-called politicians and the press that they are just here for hand-outs.  I wonder how many of them get harrassed on a regular basis as a result of idiots like farage stirring the pot?

30. sneddon

Scotty- It was supposed to be a press conference to introduce the UKIP candidate for the Aberdeen Donside by-election.  The candidate lives in Edinburgh!    That turned out well for them 🙂

31. macdoc

If one of your policies is the abolishment of the Scottish parliament and make the UK one country what kind of reaction do you expect when you come to Scotland. Secondly being a party of the extreme right with racist and xenophobic undertones will not endear yourself to the average Scotsman. Imagine a party even worse than the conservatives and Labour and you have the UKIP. 

32. ukip free zone

What were UKIP doing launching their by election candidate for Aberdeen Donside in Edinburgh? I expect Farage and the party’s HQ think Jockland is such a tiny unimportant place and that Aberdeen is a suburb of the capital or near enough. And the UKIP Scots are probably so deferential to Farage they wouldn’t register an objection. 

33. Ananurhing

Macdoc.

I understood he wants to abolish MSPs, and ship Scottish MPs to Holyrood. I’m sure that was in his 2010 manifesto.
    This is what happened to him last time he tried to fly a kite.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-oxfordshire-13082655

34. ianbrotherhood

Calmanballs

‘Farage narrowly avoided being hung, drawn and quartered by a mob of frenzied cybernat berserkers after being lulled into a devious trap by Salmond’s cab-driving second-cousin’s colleague.
    Only swift action by Edinburgh’s finest prevented the popular UKIP leader and terrified colleagues being torn limb from limb by the malodorous, largely bearded, doped-up whisky-crazed rabble.’

35. EdinScot

Farages half baked attempt to woo Scotland falls flat as he doesnt even have the nous to go to Aberdeen.  So much disrespect to Scotland which is par for the course  from Westminster politicians.  Thats why the’yre not fit to govern  my country Scotland.  Their brand of racist and isolationist politics proves that one size doesnt fit all.  Its just that they usually expect Scotland to suck it up when England chooses what it wants.  It must be hard for the bitter togethers to see real democracy in action.  With our referendum on independence on the horizon,  today  has shown that Scotland wants another way.  A better way, free from dangerous right wing extremists.  Vote YES to get out the poisonous Unionist mad house. 

36. Juteman

The real truth will out.
    Farage was actually offering cake to the starving citizens, and unfortunately ran out. His offer of some himble pie he had back at Labour HQ didn’t go down too well.

37. The Rough Bounds

If I were a serving member of the British Political Establishment I would make damn sure that every single political demonstration was seeded with personnel from the black ops.
    I’d make sure that there were ‘beer’ drinking, untidy looking loud mouthed louts in the demo and that they were being heard and having the press and TV take their photos: the worse the better of course.
    I would also have black ops personnel at every Yes meeting and gathering, and do my best to have them positioned in posts within the Yes offices.

To do anything else would be to risk a Yes vote.

38. Doug

http://t.co/clobCAJZzP

Farage – lovely man!

39. Dcanmore

The thing is, those morons on Twitter would praise the protesters if it was Nick Griffin (you know the other ultra-BritNat MEP) … or maybe they wouldn’t, go figure.

40. Jeannie

For goodness sake – all this fuss about some Edinburgh students carrying out a historical re-enactment of the reaction of the citizens of Edinburgh in 1707 to the signing of the Treaty of Union against their wishes.  I assumed Nigel was playing the part of one of our Scottish Lords at the time.  No?  Well, I suppose he must now have some insight into how  ordinary Scots felt at the time on realising their country had been sold from under them.

41. Jiggsbro

Do some people in Scotland genuinely think that Alex Salmond and Nicola Sturgeon are Nazis?  It seems an extraordinary thing to believe about moderate left of centre politicians

Nationalist? Check

Socialist? Check(ish)

Like a nice whelk? Check

Nazis.

42. Dal Riata

The Guardian’s deputy editor of its Comment is Free site, Philip Oltermann had an interesting take on things on Twitter: 

“It appears that the two British separatist movements are currently colliding outside a pub in Edinburgh”

“two British separatist movements…colliding…” Christ, all you can do at that pish is LOL!

But that’s the Guardian for you, eh. That ‘left-leaning’ supporter of all who wish for self-determination throughhout the world – except Scotland.

Anyway, loving the wailing from the BritNat Bitter Together We Love Maggie Thatcher And Nigel Farage Too Vote No Scotland hate-mob. It doesn’t take much for their true feelings to come to the fore.
    Yet ’tis but more evidence to show those who are undecided about independence what others in the Beloved Union [sic] think of us Scots.
    Only another 490-odd days until we are free of this Union-in-name-only. Then the bilemeisters can skweam and skweam as much as they want and Scotland and its people will just laugh them because they won’t give a shit.

43. scotty

idea for a bit of fun rev!can we have a guess tommorrows headline competition? heres mine,rampant racist nationalist protested by (other) rampant racist nationalists!

44. SCED300

The Telegraph comments pages have gone rabid with antiScottish frothing fury.

45. JLT

Hilarious!

Goodbye UKIP! Your one day parade in the sun in Scotland  just got rained on.

Don’t hurry back, now!

46. Tamson

As if we needed confirmation of Monsieur Farage’s mindset, he showed his colours by interpreting the “you can stick your Union Jack up your arse” line as evidence of anti-English sentiment.
    It’s perfectly possible for someone to despise the Union Jack yet love England. If anything, such a person would be a more genuine Anglophile than most.

47. SCED300

The demonstration was an example of What Labour Would Have Once Done, long ago when they actually did something.
    It was left-wingLabour supporters who chased Mosley’s Blackshirts out of the East End in London when they tried to attack the Jewish community.

48. Dcanmore

@SCED … Yup, Daily Mail comments too.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2325679/Nigel-Farage-bundled-police-van-barricaded-inside-pub-going-promote-Scottish-election-candidate.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

According to the DM, Farage had already carried out his PR stunt and his interviews before the chanting started. So free speech democracy wasn’t quelled by the ‘lefty unwashed’ then according to our Twitter friends.

49. Peter

There are not 50 protesters in the video on Bella Caledonia. More like 20 and an equal number of camerapersonage.

50. Bugger (the Panda)

Well Nigel, welcome to Scotland.

You’ll have had  your Tea then

So here’s yer Supper, hot tongue and cold shoulder

51. ianbrotherhood

Musical interlude…

52. Bill Oliphant

The hatred of the knuckle draggers is a treasure, to be savoured, enjoyed. It is to be hoped that it breeds and spreads. When the hatred of Scots and all things Scottish (except for oil) is made more explicit it will cause such immense ill feeling here that Scots will be lining up in their millions to vote Yes.
    With bit of luck, the ultra right which now seems to hold sway down souf may even decide to expel us from their union.

53. iain taylor (not that one)

I don’t like Berlusconi or Le Pen. Guess I must be anti French and anti Italian… 

54. Jim Mitchell

It was just last night on the thread about former TV debates regarding devolution that  i harked back to tactics used in the first referendum by various unionists and ended by saying that we should not be surprised by anything.
    Doesn’t it seem strange holding a launch in Edinburgh, even if it was close to Holyrood, when the election was else where, I think that there has at least been a degree of, if not planning, then at least hope that something like this would happen. i think that anyone who doubts this should consider the  comments over on the Herald and Scotsman sites, not one bit of proof is being offered up, but many accusations are being made.
    Again, as Mr Farage’s plans would have been known, this occasion could have been seen as being potentially very useful to those who practice the dark arts and not necessarily just UKIP unionists either!
    It’s not paranoia, just go to those other sites, read the comments and then think about the possibility and what’s at stake!

55. Jim Mitchell

Just another thought after reading the anti SNP bile that’s built up there.

Not one bit of proof of course, but plenty of references to the Nazis and world war two
    It doesn’t seem to have dawned on them that one of the worst aspects of Nazi Germany was to blame others, without proof, for many wrongs, often with the help of the media and even on occasion with regard to situations that had been rigged by the state for it’s own benefit.
    Now does that sound familiar? 

56. MajorBloodnok

Speaking of whelks being a sure sign of Nazism, there is a Family of freshwater mussels called Unionidae.  Coincidence?  I don’t think so.

57. Jim Mitchell

I see (from the Mail) that that nice Mr Farage is determined to eke it an anti-English protest.
    You have to ask the question, who really benefits or is trying too? 

58. ianbrotherhood

@Major B-

Useful fact. Thanks.

I used to love getting a big bag of whelks in Largs, just up from Hunterston. If you were lucky you’d get one that tasted a wee bit dodgy and fair pulled yer cheeks together.

Aye – ye get some buzz off a radioactive particle wrapped in a whelk.

Pure belter man! So it is!

59. MajorBloodnok

Plus, you can eat them in the dark.

60. Clydebuilt

I’m only concerned in gaining Independence for Scotland.
    I’ve just seen the ITV news, saw a Radical Independence Banner, heard Farage interviewed on the phone saying the protesters were Anti English.
    This hasn’t done the Independence cause a lot of good. We’re trying to attract undecided voters, linking Independence with Anti Englishness will turn of many undecideds.
    Farage will make capital out of this. As may the enemies of an Independent Scotland.

61. Rob

at least one of the tweets up there is a person paraphrasing someone she disagrees with. Please everyone be sure you know the context of a tweet before you go in all guns blazing as I’ve seen happening tonight!

62. muttley79

Debate on now on STV. 

63. Tom Hogg

I was there. Alan Roden of the Mail did look particularly pissed off, not at the fact that a protest was ongoing, but that his man was taking a doing (c) Chairchoob. 

64. AmadeusMinkowski

@The Rough Bounds
    IF UKplc believes that black ops will help preserve its interests, then history teaches us that this is the least of what they will do!
    But the YES campaigns relentless positivity and ideas-driven vision for Scotland’s future limits the potential impact of such smear tactics.

65. muttley79

Watching STV I am afraid we are not going to get a fair hearing from them, or the BBC in Scotland.  Basically, we will have to get a Yes vote in spite of the MSM.  Not exactly an original thought, but there you go… 😀

66. Gordon Bain

I was well impressed with today’s events in Edinburgh. O/T I know but Nicola Sturgeon’s ripping into Mickey Mouse on the box right now!
    Hail Alba!

67. Edinburgh Quine

macdoc says:
    16 May, 2013 at 8:34 pm

… Secondly being a party of the extreme right with racist and xenophobic undertones will not endear yourself to the average Scotsman
    Hey madoc, Scotswoman too m’friend

68. Tris

No one bothered mentioning that Farage wants to get rid of our parliament, and allow Scots MPs to use the building one week a month to talk about domestics.
    He also wants to take Education, Health and Public Services back to Westminster, because in his opinion everyone in Britain should get the same… privatised services run for profit.
    It’s worth remembering that this man wants not only to stop us becoming independent, but to give virtually all powers to do anything in Scotland back to the English.
    Given that Cameron is falling over himself to do whatever Farage wants, it’s small wonder we want rid of him.

69. Compton Arthur

UKIP ENGLANDS NAZI PARTY AND THEY CAN KEEP IT WELL DONE TO THOSE WHO SENT HIM PACKING

70. K Mackay

I don’t think we have to worry about anyone thinking an anti-Farage protest was anti-English. I’m pretty sure even the unionists that I know would be glad to see him given the welcome he deserves.

As for Farage getting publicity out of it, yeh, sure, he thrives on that kind of thing to make him look like a martyr to his followers but it’s not going to gain him any support in Scotland. I think the vast majority of Scots seeing this news will be thinking ‘aye, get tae fuck ye smarmy, racsist shite’. If anything I think it helps to show what opposite directions Scotland and England are heading in that someone like Farage is actually taken seriously down south while in Scotland he has to hide in a police van.

71. Holebender

Did Farage try to buy bitter while he was in the pub?

72. Craig P

Nigel Farage blames *Edinburgh students* for anti-English protest?

They’d eat him alive in furryboots city

73. Shinty (aka Laura)

Laura says:
    16 May, 2013 at 8:27 pm

That has to be the funniest thing I have read since the Amazon reviews of a hair removal product that some guy used on his gonads. Comedy gold indeed!! 
    Hi Laura, seems their are two of us now. Could get confusing so I will change.

74. Macart

Jeez, there are some ill informed crackers in that lot. Sooooooo are we lefties or righties? I’m gettin’ dizzy with all this swinging back and forth. Or do we just recognise  a real chancer when we see one?

75. john king

“@Geoff Huijer
    Well at least he dived into a pub and not Greggs…  ”
    pity it wasnt the kilt shop, they could have grabbed him dressed him up like Harry Lauder and flung him out,
    now that would have been funny
     in fact I would have paid to see that

76. john king

“That has to be the funniest thing I have read since the Amazon reviews of a hair removal product that some guy used on his gonads. Comedy gold indeed!! 

bwhaaa   ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha 

77. john king

“Jeez, there are some ill informed crackers in that lot. Sooooooo are we lefties or righties? I’m gettin’ dizzy with all this swinging back and forth. Or do we just recognise  a real chancer when we see one?”

Thats it!

we’re swingers whoo hoo 

78. Desimond

Nigel Farage,,,,The Charles Green of Politics. All huff puff publicity and no substance. Truth will out as always.
    Fair play to Charles Kennedy on QT last night trying ( the first ever mention I believe) to remind the people of Britain that a certain referendum in Scotland is much more important than a possible referendum on Europe. The Panel and Ipswich Audience just smiled at him. Good.

79. Anon Sailor

So let me try to understand this: UKIP members have said homosexual men spread Aids, have extremely racist policies and are generally offensive creatures is fine by BritNats but Scottish people expressing hatred for such policies and scum  like Farage is a bad thing.  I just cant keep up with Scottish Unionists like the one on Twitter who said to me “another f***ing taig trying to break up the union”
    I just cant wait for the referendum next year, its going to be a bumpy ride and hope the Orange Lodge dont carry out that threat of turning to arms!

80. Laura

Desimond says
    Fair play to Charles Kennedy on QT last night trying ( the first ever mention I believe) to remind the people of Britain that a certain referendum in Scotland is much more important than a possible referendum on Europe. The Panel and Ipswich Audience just smiled at him. Good.
    I’ve never voted Lib Dem (nor likely too) – all the same I like Charles Kennedy and would love to see him join the Lib Dem for Independence.

81. Shinty (aka Laura)

oops forgot to change my moniker above

82. orkers

UKIP have Oswald Mosely as a progenitor.
    No more need be said.

83. Macart

@ John King

Now there’s a thought. 😀

84. Indy_Scot

If these comments alone are not enough reason for Scotland to be Independent from the narrow minded bigoted views of unionists, I don’t know what is.

85. Training Day

Jeez, there are some real right wing fruit loops out there..

..but enough of the MSM ‘Scottish’ political editors..

86. Les Wilson

This has given the Unionist  Conspiracy and it’s loony followers a cause to scream every abuse at the Independent movement, which of course was not the  gift we wanted to give them. However, people do have a right to protest and while people did  shout some abuse. Nevertheless, it  was a small group hardly representing Scottish Independence mainstream.
    Unfortunately the British media and press will blow it all out of proportion, and it is they who will cause more trouble in doing that. The abuse was directed at Farage because of his policies NOT AGAINST THE ENGLISH, but the TV media and the British Press will ensure it seemed to be against the English so could be considered racialist, which it actually was not.
    Farage has no place in Scotland his party and their policies do not go down  well with the greater Scottish public, he should learn that lesson and stick to where they are more popular. He does have the right to come here and preach his policies,but the polls will eventually seal the fate of UKIP here, he should save himself the embarrassment of a possible crushing  defeat, I suggest he just retreats and recognizes that there is no future for UKIP here.
    One other point, I watched BBC Scotland Newsnight with the hapless Gordon Brewer, who made this odd comment ” About being racist against the English,hmm, they did well make comments about the Union Jack ”
    So there you have it folks the BBC who we pay for, think the Union Jack is English, not British, and certainly not Scottish. After all,hard to make a case for anti English claims over the abuse of the Union Jack, when Scots are part of the Union Jack  too!
    So was this racial excitement by Brewer and the BBC ? there could be a case for that.

87. Angus

Who cares what the flaccid limp media in general make of this…….Farage came to Scotland to showboat and pretend it is just like England and idiots like him are popular with their racist rhetoric….they simply are not. He is against a Scottish Parliament, devolution, the lot, and of course if this arfur daley ever made any head roads into Scottish politics it would look strange and be the opposite direction to ourpolitical journey.
    A few protestors used the same ight he has to come up here and gob off a load of baws to give him some back and he had to get into a police van and taken away……..great result, who cares besides the british media and him………they can’t polish THAT ukip turd in Scotland, they will give it their best shot in England though, but this ain’t England!

88. Laura

Shinty (aka Laura) says:
    17 May, 2013 at 5:19 am

‘Hi Laura, seems their are two of us now. Could get confusing so I will change.’
    Aww, I would have changed!! You were probably here before me! 

89. “Whelks” is an excellent insult, though. I intend to start using it on a daily basis, if only to enjoy the baffled looks in response.

Amusing to see Farage cast as the pro-democracy beacon of good, honest English common sense.  As opposed to, say, the xenophobic loon who disrupted the Euro parliament in a bid to make a viral video and thus reminded everyone in Scotland of the dangers of staying in the Union, lest the rest of the world wrongly assume a witless whelk like him is actually speaking on your behalf.

Brrr.

90. Shinty (aka Laura)

Laura,
    No problem at all, bound to have happened sooner or later.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.