Scottish hospitality enjoyed

Posted on May 16, 2013 by

Loveable right-wing extremist Nigel Farage has been the toast of England for the last few weeks. This is what happened when he came to Scotland today.

faragee1

We’re feeling very proud of our countryfolk right now.

Why don’t you tell us again how Scotland and England don’t really have substantially different feelings about the EU, someone from the media?

122 to “Scottish hospitality enjoyed”

1. Michael Heron

Never been prouder of Scotland.  😀

2. FletcherOfSaltoun

Excellent.

3. David

Farage sent homewards tae think again.

4. Bugger (the Panda)

Proud

5. An Duine Gruamach

So proud of my home city today!

6. ukip free zone

If he’s going to swagger about Scotland playing the rising political star then he should first win some votes in Scotland. Which of course he won’t.

7. IainB

That should have wiped the smug grin off his face … excellent

8. Bugger (the Panda)

Notice how some unionist spin meisters rise tp celebrate the peculiarly Scottish viceral reaction to Ukip.

Wonder if the same would change their voting lobby on recogniton of our Social Democrat culture?

Silly me, they are still in the thick of it.

Good on the taxi driver though; deserves a medal.

9. sneddon

Well done that taxi driver 🙂

10. Albert Herring

Typical Scotland. Pub lock in, taxi refuses fare, and intae the polis van wi ye!

11. Ray

I would like to see this reception for David Cameron next time he comes up for a couple of hours.

12. Ericmac

Now repeat again for Cameron, Clegg or Milliband, and repeat.

13. Suilven

Love it! What better example of politics being different in Scotland than rUk could you ask for? 

14. An Duine Gruamach

Of all the places to take refuge – a folk music pub! You can’t swing an accordion for the socialists in Scottish folk pubs!

15. ukip free zone

With what happened regarding the taxi it’s a weird coincidence that an anagram of Nigel Farage is ‘a fare niggle’.

16. Tattie-boggle

They Really don’t get Scotland at all

17. Susan S

God, this made my day.  Such an arrogant stance mirrors what Cameron does when he heads norf.    And yet no one riots when he comes up here. 
    It should be noted that Reporting Scotland….are NOT reporting this. 

18. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Raymond Buchanan has said they’ll have coverage of it, including Farage’s reaction.

19. Dave McEwan Hill

Can anybody remember his effort at the Glenrothes by election?

20. Kenneth McNeil

So Nigel is not quite as popular in Scotland as he thought.

21. Susan S

Ah.  I stand corrected, good Sir. 

They’ve just announced they’ll be reporting it.  (rubs hands in anticipation). 

22. Dave McEwan Hill

He didn’t stand at Glenrothes. I’ve just checked. He just appeared on an eve of poll debate. His candidate achieved 0.3% of the vote the following day 

23. Natubat

Taxi driver refused his fare! I love these pics. Great to hear good news for a change.

24. scottish_skier

Quelle surprise Monsieur Farage!

25. Craig Munro

I’ve been trying for years tae get locked intae that pub 🙁

26. Jiggsbro

Just 😀

27. Jim Mitchell

Anybody who thinks that UKIP are JUST more right wing fantasists, which they are, should take a look a how they want to rebuild (as they call it ), Britain’s defense forces once Britain is ‘Free’ from the EU. It’s the empire all over again, although they don’t say where the money will come from, strange that.
    They want Trident and the whole works, however these are just the sort of fantasies that could appeal to right wing voters, especially those who already vote Tory. 

28. John Lyons

I’m watching it on reporting Scotland now….

29. David Smith

This has made an otherwise dull day for me. I think it’s worth a wee Glenfiddich tonight.
    Only a wee thing for sure but it sends a big signal to the Nazis that Scotland won’t tolerate their bile.

30. Jim Mitchell

Re the article, Farage will blame YES supporters, unionist media and parties will be torn between attacking YES/NAT yobs or giving credit to NO supporters determined to show that they realy, really want nothing to do with UKIP!

31. The Man in the Jar

Not much that I can add to that. I would like to congratulate the demonstrators.
    Just saw the article on BBC Scottish news excellent stuff. Farage obviously more than a bit ruffled trying and failing to play it down.
    Excellent stuff!

32. Susan S

So, we’re anti British and anti English because we protest at his presence. 
    I would imagine such a statement might be enough to shift a few more ‘dinnae kenners’ over to the Yes camp. 

33. Archibald Berwick Melrose [aka Archie]

Farage off – Tail between his legs. Now who is next? Oh yes Michael Moore tonight……oh this is becoming ‘A Poyfict Day’

34. walriley

Never been  patriotic but – just for 5 mins – I wish I was Scottish right now!!

35. Andy Filson

Love you dudes. Best thing i have seen happen so far this year. From an Ulsterman abroad..

36. Yesitis

Oh Nigel. LOL.
    It`s so pleasing to read the comments from outraged BritNat Tories on Twitter.
    So, so, so pleasing 🙂

37. The Man in the Jar

I wonder if this will be reported in the English MSM. Rev.?

38. Evan Angelis

“Right-wing extremist”?  What on earth are you on about?   Wanting to stop an open-door policy on immigration is not extreme.
    Given that Scotland is relatively unaffected by the problems of mass immigration (because most of them are in England), maybe these unwashed, middle-class commie-types can afford to be staunchly ‘anti-racist’.

I did laugh at the irony of them telling him to go back to England.  LEftists, hypocrites?  Never!!!!  LOLOL

39. annie

Nice one – is he still putting a candidate forward for Aberdeen by-election?

40. scottish_skier

Folks, don’t be so hard. Nigel just wanted to tell us jocks why we’re Better Together in the UK.

41. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“It`s so pleasing to read the comments from outraged BritNat Tories on Twitter.”

Stand by – we have an excellent collection coming up very shortly.

42. Jr

He couldn’t be arsed to go to Aberdeen , hopefully he won’t be back

43. Vronsky

Cameron: right wing fantasist
    Miliband: right wing fantasist
    Clegg: right wing fantasist
    Griffin: right wing fantasist
    Darling: right wing fantasist
    Lamont: right wing fantasist
    Davidson: right wing fantasist
    Brown: right wing fantasist
    Farage: right wing fantasist (but we’re allowed to say so – HURRAH for democracy!)

44. SCED300

Presumably BBC will leave out the bit where the protesters shout, “Stick your Union Jack up your a…”!

45. Yesitis

Rev Stu
    Stand by – we have an excellent collection coming up very shortly.

46. Davy

After watching that disgrace during FMQ’s when f-ing Lamont & labour used a cancer sufferer to try and score political points of the worst possible kind, the head was down and the heart was sare for the souls of my fellow countrymen who would lower themselves to such depths.
    BUT NOW THE HEAD IS UP & MY SOUL IS SOARING, to hear and see Scotland show the ‘UKIP’ shite exactlly what we think of their rotten politics and views.
    Send Farage and his ilk back hame where they belong.

Vote NO – get UKIP.
    Vote YES – gain your country.
    Alba Gu snooker loopy!   

47. Dal Riata

Absolutely bloody brilliant! Well done those demonstrators. Sunshine over Leith…

It will be really, really interesting to see how the UK MSM spin this story…

Better Together – Further Apart Than Ever    ROFLMAO!

48. AmadeusMinkowski

BBC Scotland Politics leads with Brian Taylor’s “Grandmother’s Cancer Case Raised
    In typical tendentious Taylor style, he goes with the Labour Press Release version, finishing with a punchline that the poor lady is “planning to leave her home of 27 years and rent a flat in Newcastle because in England she can get the drug for free.”
    Several paragraphs later, in a easily ambiguous statement with Scotland and England in the same paragraph, Taylor notes that the drug will not be free in England by the end of the year.
    Taylor seems to be a fully bought and sold member of the UK Establishment’s “50 cent party”.

49. Ananurhing

Good old Scottish hospitality. Anyone with the Gaelic care to translate?
    A Hundred Thousand Fuck Offs!

50. SCED300

From the Herald:
    “Around 100 protesters, organised by Edinburgh College Students Association and the Radical Independence Campaign, a loose alliance of left-wing independence supporters, disrupted the event, which had been designed to raise UKIP’s profile in Scotland.”
    How is Carrell going to dress this up: possibly pretend in his articles that it is Labour supporters!

51. sneddon

Evan Angelis 

Seething IMO 🙂

52. EdinScot

This article with the pics is a classic Rev.   I  wonderr if Farage got the message loud and clear enough.  Typical Scotland  bringing  him down to earth with a bump.   Dont call us Nigel…

53. Gizzit

Severin Carrell  has a piece on it in the Guardian – not open for comments though.

54. Jeannie

@Amadeus Minkowski
    I agree – the Labour Party in Scotland sank to a new low today by using a poor cancer sufferer for party political advantage.  I felt so sorry for that poor lady sitting in the public gallery at Holyrood hearing her personal health and financial situation being discussed in public by a ruthless politician for political gain.   How could Lamont and Baillie stoop so low as to use a vulnerable lady in such a callous and manipulative way?  It was disgusting and a complete abuse of power.

55. LeeUntitled

Alba gu bràth

56. Dal Riata

Severin Carrell’s got an article up on the Gusrdian’s website about today’s events:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2013/may/16/nigel-farage-edinburgh-protesters-van

Here’s a paragraph from the article:
    “But some were independence campaigners there to remind him of his nationality: after one, standing just a few feet from Farage, invited the Ukip leader to “shove your union jack up your arse”, a flustered Farage said: “Clearly this is anti-British, anti-English. They even hate the union jack.””

So that will be the English-based MSM’s headlines set for tomorrow then: ‘More evidence that Scottish independence is all about racist Scots hating the English’ or something along those lines of dishonesty that they like to tell.

57. Jiggsbro

“Right-wing extremist”?  What on earth are you on about?   Wanting to stop an open-door policy on immigration is not extreme.

So you’re saying UKIP are a single-issue party with only one policy and therefore not really suitable candidates for election to high office?

58. Geoff Huijer

Let’s face it the MSM will have a ‘racist, anti-SNP’ field day with this…
    BUT… if nothing had happened they would have had a ‘racist, anti-SNP’
    field day with it anyway.

Que sera…

59. Dcanmore

The Guardian’s got a good take on it…
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2013/may/16/nigel-farage-edinburgh-protesters-van

“Rachel, a young woman in a wheelchair who had wheeled herself on to the Royal Mile to blockade the second taxi Farage tried to take, said simply: “Ukip are just bullshit.”

Brilliant! Give Rachel a bloody medal please! 🙂

60. Robyn - Quine fae Torry

Just back from a run along the River Dee and was thinking to myself what a lovely evening it has been and then I get back and find this story on the news.  Makes a lovely night even better. Good on those protesters.  If it was Edinburgh Uni students involved, they may be from a wide range of backgrounds and attempts to smear this as an anti-English protest should be treated with the disdain they deserve.

This pro-action makes me proud to be Scottish.  No violence involved, just a good old fashioned verbal bollocking.  Or should that be “bawbagging”?  Can’t believe they called him a bawbag.  That made me laugh my head off. 

61. The Man in the Jar

The only fly in the Farage ointment is that Bitter Together gave him the knock back when he wanted UKIP to join with them. Still everything can’t be perfect.
    Aye Farage, work your union jack right up your right wing extremist jacksie sideways!

62. The Rough Bounds

I’m pleased to see that Farage was given a hard time of it, but I would be even happier if the same sort of demo was held if Gordon Brown, Alistair Darling, Johann Lamont, Michael Moore or Ruth Davidson turned up.
    They aren’t any better than UKIP. Let’s not kid ourselves.
    And the Far Left is every bit as bad as Far Right. The ordinary people always suffer.

63. Socialist_Schadenfreude

I love how upset you over-sympathetic left wing morons are getting over this guy. The fact that you call him a “right-wing extremist” is absolutely hilarious and shows how little you actually know about politics. Seems like you lot have been watching Braveheart too much.

64. Jamie Arriere

I would have been much happier if Farage had come up and been completely ignored, but with our pro-union media that was unlikely to happen. For all the faux outrage, it appears nobody got hurt, there were no arrests and even the UKIP spokesman said “Was it anti-English? I doubt it…”.
    I’m just glad that Farage now knows not everybody blames the country’s problems on the EU, and that there’s some young people in Scotland with a bit of fire in their belly.

65. Juteman

Cameron and his ilk would never get that reception, for the simple reason that the public aren’t allowed near them.

66. Cath

“So, we’re anti British and anti English because we protest at his presence. ”

And yet apparently no one wants independence and we’re also all apathetic and happy to be ruled by whatever Tory/UKIP coalition 2015 might throw up. Aye, right.

67. Jeannie

Seems like you lot have been watching Braveheart too much.

Yawn.  Another unionists obsessed with Braveheart. 

68. Bill McLean

Imagine if an independence supporter had tweeted some of the stuff the Rev has collected. Please do not respond to these anti-Scot racists!

69. muttley79

I think there are a few upset UKIP supporters about at the moment…

70. John Lyons

Well said juteman the big party politicians come with a big retinue.

71. Simon

In some ways I am disappointed that he was hounded out. It would have been nicer if he could have been properly debated with and shown up as a miserable worm with no policies or visions for Scotland. As it is I fear this will be used as a stick to beat “nationalists” with (I see it already is by cybritnats).

72. The Man in the Jar

How nice it is to hear the views of some new guests. Between the two that I have noticed that we Independence supporting Uppity Jocks, and Wings readers are apparently. Unwashed, middle-class, Commie Types, Hypocrites and Left Wing Morons.
    How very nice of them.
    Haste ye back Evan and Socialist S -whatever. We like to be reminded from time to time why a Yes vote is utterly essential.

73. Cath

Thing is, the attempt to use this to bash the SNP and Yes campaign is basically an admission that all other “Better Together” establishment parties are on UKIPs side and think it’s a bad thing Scot’s folk heckled him. Says it all really.

Also, whoever the protesters were, the taxi driver who refused to take him was a random driver driving past.

74. Bill Oliphant

Fantastic response from Scots…  support drummed up on Facebook as an emergency protest. What gall the racist had accusing protesters of hating the English and hating the Union Jack. 
    We should now make it a point of honour to hound the creature from our country every single time he has the audacity to appear. He’s not something we want to tolerate on our soil. Appeasement of UKIP is clearly not for us. 
    This is the first sign we’ve seen of real anger in our campaign to repossess our country. Fire in belly is essential if we are to succeed, being nice won’t cut it.
    Perhaps next time we could put a few thousand people in front of his ilk and point the, in the direction of the nearest station.

75. James Morton

MSM have fawned over this sub-prime tory cretin with certain commentators desperately pushing the “UKIP is just like the SNP” angle for weeks now. They have even pushed hard on the Scots voting intentions are not all different from England.

The cherry on the cake of this day, will be to see his wretched little band get its arse handed to it on poll day. Then we get to see MSM and aforesaid commentators get their brains tangled in knots trying to figure out how to spin this.

Still astonished that Massie; who knows full well why the tories get rejected in Scotland, being at all surprised that that UKIP would suffer a similar fate.

76. BillyBigbaws

A classic comment from Facebook:

“Farage is out of touch with reality.  Imagine trying to hide from Scottish people in a pub.”

The polis huckled him away and rumour has it that he’s now been safely returned to Toad Hall.

77. cynicalHighlander

78. southernscot

Channel4 coverage of Farage in the pub.

79. JLT

Ha ha Ha …just saw it on BBC 24 news. How stupid is Farage? He says we are anti-british and anti-english. You sure know how to win us over, Nigel. 
    Expect your party to have just died in Scotland. Saying what we are not , has done you absolutely no favours, mate!

80. JD

When you guys vote for Scottish independence would you consider invading and making everything north of Manchester and Leeds your own? We’d be delighted to join you.

81. Ally

I’m just surprised he can afford to visit a pub on the Royal Mile!!

82. Graeme Purves

Ally says:
    16 May, 2013 at 9:50 pm

I’m just surprised he can afford to visit a pub on the Royal Mile!!

He’s a stockbroker!

83. Dirty fat slag

Good on you Scotland.  First you can have your referendum (if you even know what that word means) & get lost.  Then you can go broke.  Then England will leave the EU.  And stop itself going broke. 

Good luck on your independence.  We’ve been wanting rid of you for ages.

84. Dan Simmie

Remind me again,why is he launching a campaign for an election in Aberdeen in Edinburgh ???????
    Suppose he’ll be a typical damm foreigner and won’t know where Aberdeen is,coming up here stealing our jobs.

85. Glessga

Edinburgh, I love you, and I will love you forever.

Sincerely,
    – Someone who loves Glasgow.

86. ianbrotherhood

@Dirty fat slag-

Do you come here often?

87. Clydebuilt

I’m only concerned in gaining Independence for Scotland.
    I’ve just seen the ITV news, saw a Radical Independence Banner, heard Farage interviewed on the phone saying the protesters were Anti English.
    This hasn’t done the Independence cause a lot of good. We’re trying to attract undecided voters, linking Independence with Anti Englishness will turn of many undecideds.

88. Davy

“Dirty fat slag”, its always nice to know a persons name matches their IQ, thanks so much for your support.

Alba Gu snooker loopy!

89. cynicalHighlander

Hi Dirty fat slag (anagram) A daft gristly seems more fitting to that post.

90. Clydebuilt

This protest could have been hijacked by forces not aligned to Independence.

Then there’s the right to free speech.

91. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“This hasn’t done the Independence cause a lot of good. We’re trying to attract undecided voters, linking Independence with Anti Englishness will turn of many undecideds.”

Only if you assume people who might vote for independence will believe a word Nigel Farage says.

92. Marcia

Clydebuilt

When did we control the news? Perhaps if we had a balanced press or broadcast news then the truth might out. The UK press will spin anything to our disadvantage. Has been happening for decades. They feel threatened.

93. Jeannie

Noticed a tweet from Owen Jones saying that he was being tweeted by some of the protestors and pointing out that the ones who were there and tweeting him about it were English.  This was not an anti-English protest.  It was a protest against Nigel Farage and what he stands for.

94. sneddon

Clydebuilt- The only folk who link independence with anti englishness are the unionists.  People were protesting against the racist, homophobe and anti scottish party that is UKIP (checkout  their policies on Scotland for evidence of that).  Only Farage equated comments about shoving the union jack (the british flag) up his arse as anti english.  Joke of a man and party.  The independence campaign is full of non  scots, thats the difference,  we’re the inclusive guys the other side are the british NATIONALISTS.

95. mato21

Dirty fat slag
    thank you for your comments We are well  enough educated to know the meaning of words and well enough mannered not to take offence at remarks made by someone so ignorant as yourself

96. Holebender

Does anyone know if the cabbie refused the fare because Farage only had English notes?

97. HoraceSaysYes

Just come online and spotted this. I’ll sleep a bit sounder and happier tonight, now. 🙂

98. jim taggart

what a great advertisment for scotland  layabouts and lefties who welcome with open arms asylum seekers who sponge off the nhs suck up all the benefits and are given housing in front of good scots nationalists maybe you could take the man with the hook instead of sending him to jordan be careful for what you wish for YOU JUST MIGHT GET IT or you could twin scotland with iran freedom of speech is seems much the same there

99. Morag

Oh dear.  Which stone did you just crawl out from under?

100. sneddon

jim taggart- you’ll be wanting the Daily Mail Online  try http://www.stupidracistdickhead.co.uk

101. sneddon

Morag

They’re all coming out tonight.  Something in the air?  Most entertaining some of them but overall is it a verdict on declining standards in schools over the last 30 years? 🙂

102. muttley79

@Jim Taggart

what a great advertisment for scotland  layabouts and lefties who welcome with open arms asylum seekers who sponge off the nhs suck up all the benefits and are given housing in front of good scots nationalists maybe you could take the man with the hook instead of sending him to jordan be careful for what you wish for YOU JUST MIGHT GET IT or you could twin scotland with iran freedom of speech is seems much the same there

What an embarrassing post.  You have used up the whole repertoire of Daily Mail cliches.  You sound a complete thicko.  You have managed to get in negative references to asylum seekers, lefties, Iran etc.  What a rubbish and useless post…

103. jim taggart

glad you enjoyed it

104. muttley79

@Jim Taggart

glad you enjoyed it

Is this you admitting that you are a troll?  How many posts have you made on here?  Two?

105. les calthorps

guid on ye mato21 even yer muckle brither can read and unerstaun whit yer screivin

106. Dal Riata

To the new pro-Unionists on this thread:
    Hi there, guys and girls! Always great to read that which you bring to the discussion; intelligence, reason, honesty, wit and charm, and, so many positive reasons for staying within such a loving and caring relationship as we have now in the UK, too. Ah, bless!

107. Hetty

It’s a matter of freedom within the supposed democratic framework we have, like it or not. That means the people can reject an ideological party intent on promoting hatred, with self interest, racist language seeming the norm…but perhaps not least, with twisting and turning their own agenda to appear part of the moral language which is and has been so proven to be dangerous and as undemocratic as we could ever envisage. Its called tyrany. We are within our rights to reject these racist, inhumane self seeking people, at the very beginning so as they do not feel in any way empowered. Tough, boo hoo Ukip!, u are just not going to be toleranted in scotland, get the message? 

108. Taranaich

While I applaud these individuals exercising their right to protest: where the hell were these people when David Cameron was up in Govan?

I understand the rising power of UKIP, but Cameron’s the current Prime Minister who’s actually enacting policies. If anyone needed chasing into a pub and hauled away in a wagon for his own safety, it’s Dave Snooty. Then again, I suppose Dave was far more clued-in than Nigel, and made – ahem – “arrangements” to ensure minimal disruption from a hostile crowd. Wouldn’t surprise me: if they had surface-to-air missiles for the freaking OLYMPICS (never underestimate the threat of the North Korean Kite Commandos), I can see Dave & company getting some extra protection from democratic protest.

109. Hetty

Well, it’s always good to question motives for sure. Cameron and co. have little clout really, the past is of little consequence, so they always conjour up a ficticious god like figure to enrapture the people, to brainwash them, then they don’t have to think at all, you see? There are many art works about the people being fooled, one being by H Bosch, called, The Conjuror. It’s always fascinating, whether people choose to choose self determination, or not. It’s called education and knowledge, not something UKIP have a scooby about.

110. Dave Smith

@jim taggart  – Disappointed you forgot to mention Br*vehe*rt – I’d have cleared the bingo card otherwise. 😉
    Peace on you!

111. Macart

Couldn’t comment last night due to bad connection, but so chuffed that Mr Farage received such a warm welcome. Well done the cabbie. 😀

112. JLT

Taranaich says:
    17 May, 2013 at 1:09 am

While I applaud these individuals exercising their right to protest: where the hell were these people when David Cameron was up in Govan?

I understand the rising power of UKIP, but Cameron’s the current Prime Minister who’s actually enacting policies. If anyone needed chasing into a pub and hauled away in a wagon for his own safety, it’s Dave Snooty.
    ————————
    Mate …that might just come yet. I would not rule out what happened to Farage yesterday as not being the new benchmark for those who come up to Scotland, and start ‘dictating’ what they are doing, or going to do to the people who live north of the border.
    I know someone who does work at the defence company in Govan. As he said, half of them were dying to lynch Cameron. The PM talked about a united defence for the UK, but he is putting their jobs on the line by implementing defence cuts across Scotland. Were they happy to see him …were they f***!
    And if some of the protesters yesterday were from other parts of the isles, then good on them! It shows that the people of these isles, at the ‘people’ level are still united against policies that we consider extreme or unpleasant. You never know, it might just make a few people in England, Wales and NI sit up and go …’Good on you! Finally someplace is finally protesting against these clowns and their ill-thought policies’
    Yesterday was not an anti-anything. It was telling a man to ‘vanish’, as all he was here to do was poison our minds against folk from other nations, who wants to shut down the Scottish Parliament, and introduce everything like Uni fees, prescription charges, etc, when we DON’T want them. 
    The only racist in the room was Farage. Half a million English people live very happily in Scotland, and every Scot is glad to have many of them as their friends. So saying we were Anti-English, was not only crass and ignorant, it was highly foolish. It killed his party stone dead in Scotland. If anything, it may have pushed several thousand more English folk who live up here, into the ‘Yes’ camp!

113. Fergie35

Well done to the protesters.
    This lets the rest of Europe know what Scotland thinks of the separatist Brit Nats!
    UKIP, The Posh English man’s BNP

114. Craig Weatherhill

I’m told that Farage is the Indonesian word for “vagina”.  Sounds about right.

115. sneddon

Taranaich
    You’ve answered your own question.  Cameron is never in the position of being in a situation that isn’t a controlled environment.  IDS got it recently in Edinburgh by a chap called Willie Black who infiltrated the IDS press conference by booking in as a guest in the hotel where it was being hosted and gave him some dogs abuse. Otherwise IDS was was hiding behind the police and security. Don’t assume there is no one there but unless the MSM reports it people don’t know its there.

116. Clydebuilt

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    16 May, 2013 at 10:25 pm

“This hasn’t done the Independence cause a lot of good. We’re trying to attract undecided voters, linking Independence with Anti Englishness will turn of many undecideds.”
    Only if you assume people who might vote for independence will believe a word Nigel Farage says.

Many undecided people don’t know who to believe! Some of them will have seen a well behaved English gent being hounded out of Scotland. We need every vote we can get. We lost some yesterday!

117. Alastair

On one level, this was hilarious… made me giggle on a Friday morning, no mean feat… and the whole pub and taxi aspects of it turn it into proper comedy!
    … however, on another level I think it’s a terrible idea. Whilst it’s appealing, I think it’s really dangerous to censor and shout down ‘weird’ political voices. As a parallel, the BNP have not been allowed on TV much, pushed out of public events, etc. It lets *them* play the ‘persecuted’ card… and some people (idiots) believe it – it really drives up their support. Look at what happened when Nick Griffon was actually allowed to sprout his brand of stupid and hate on national TV – it made him into a laughing stock. Did more to damage the reputation of the BNP than any number of hand wringing bans from TV.
    I realise, of course, that this was somewhat different – wasn’t state backed censorship, but privately driven, but the results are kinda similar. This is probably a great ‘spinnable’ win for Farrage.

Give these people a chance to say their piece, listen politely. Boo. Leave. Ignore… much safer all round, in my opinion.

118. Lily Denyer

Am wondering about moving to Scotland now! No worries about UKIP getting in power there! England sucks anyway. 😉

119. Aye well we all know that UKIP is a racist party! wants out of Europe,why? xenophobic more than likely,we in Scotland (the majority of us who know the difference’s between what the press put out and reality) want to remain in Europe,we are not full of people,and most of us do understand that what suits the south east does not suit Scotland,we need people,Scotland is not much smaller than England in land-mass but we have a very small population,we need migrants.

120. Richard Bruce

There is a good article on the International Business Times site here:
    http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/articles/468579/20130517/nigel-farage-ukip-edinburgh-protest.htm
    I am trying to find how the EU countries are reporting this, I speak German and Dutch, but am hopeless at the other languages. Anyone help out from here please?

121. Richard Bruce

Just reading Michael Whites opinion over at the Guardian (http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/blog/2013/may/17/nigel-farage-fascist-barrage-ukip   )
    “To some rival politicians the similarities between the pair are more striking, with both engaged in “stop the world I want to get off” politics and dreaming of unfettered national self-determination as the remedy for their people’s woes, but usually duck the hard choices and risks that accompany these legitimate aspirations. Alistair Darling, leader of Scotland’s Better Together campaign, made the comparison at the gallery lunch ”
    Even better read some of the anti-Scottish posts too.
    I am cancelling my order for that paper as of now!

122. Taranaich

… however, on another level I think it’s a terrible idea. Whilst it’s appealing, I think it’s really dangerous to censor and shout down ‘weird’ political voices.

The major difference is UKIP and Farage have been given exposure the BNP and Griffen could only dream of. That’s what’s being lost in all this: it was NOT “censoring” or “stopping debate.” UKIP/Farage HAVE a platform: interviews, media coverage, the works. It is NOT “shouting down” to challenge him in the face of biased media adulation.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.