Abolishing women

Posted on May 08, 2020 by

It’s becoming quite remarkable how often the concerted attempts from within the Yes movement to silence the world’s biggest pro-independence website coincide with it being about to say things the cult of transgenderism doesn’t want people to hear.

And with that, on to our latest Panelbase poll results.

Because no matter how many ways you frame the question of whether people should be allowed to declare that they’ve changed sex on a whim and demand unrestricted and unchallenged access to spaces reserved for people of the biologically-opposite sex, there’s an astonishing consistency in the overwhelming public opposition to the idea, which invariably runs at between 3:1 and 4:1 against.

And nothing changed this month.

In truth, even that resounding, thumping 44-point margin (remember the indyref was won by just 10 points and Brexit by four) is a bit smaller than we expected, and is explained by a remarkable divergence between young women and everyone else.

The 16-34 female demographic actually voted by a narrow six-point majority that a person’s sex has absolutely nothing to do with biology. Even the next-closest group (young men) was a staggering FORTY points adrift from that view (net -34), and middle-aged women were close behind them at a net -36. Among women over 55 the margin against self-ID was a crushing 62 points (over 4:1 against), with older men at a breathtaking 10:1.

Women we’ve spoken to attributed this to various things, but most commonly to a combination of cultural brainwashing of young women and a radical change of outlook when they grow up and become mothers. Which leads neatly to our second finding.

A few days ago a woman called Freddy McConnell, who gave birth to a child last year during a break from taking male hormones, lost an Appeal Court claim to be registered as the child’s father rather than its mother. And Scottish voters backed the court’s decision strongly.

Excluding don’t-knows that’s an 82-18 split, but even with them it comes to well over 4:1 against falsifying the child’s documentation (because a birth certificate is the property of the person who was born, not the one who gave birth to them).

And this time even woke young women agreed, by more than 2:1, with middle-aged women at 5:1 against and older ones at 10:1 against. (This time, interestingly, the male and female groups mirrored each other much more closely.)

Finally, we’d asked some feminist women to suggest questions for the poll, and the most requested one was about changing rooms, perhaps because it’s a question that several of them have conspicuously asked scores of male celebrity transactivists on social media without ever getting an answer.

Digging down into that 4:1 margin against, it’s perhaps revealing that even though a majority of younger women thought a woman was “anyone who says they’re a woman, regardless of their biology”, their opinion changed dramatically when it came to the thought of that “woman” swinging her biology around in their vicinity when they were getting undressed.

A six-point margin among 16-34 females for “transwomen are women” turned rapidly into a 24-point margin for “get that thing the hell away from me” when they were presented with the stark reality of what trans ideology means in practice.

It’s unlikely that any of this will dissuade the Scottish Government from its dogged determination to force men into women’s spaces by hook or by crook in its obsessive pursuit of the misogynist/woke vote, even though SNP voters – like those of all parties – were consistently opposed to self-ID by huge margins (44, 47 and 54 points) on every one of the three questions.

(In so far as voters are aware of the issue at all, despite a near-total media blackout in Scotland, they’re probably under the impression that it’s all been booted into the long grass. In fact they’re just trying to do it by stealth instead via a different act.)

But there’s still a long time until the Holyrood election, and if the amount of effort being expended to stop sites like this one getting the information out is anything to go by, they’ll be praying that the bulk of the Scottish electorate doesn’t find out before then.

OTHER RESOURCES

Peak Trans

ForWomen.scot

Women And Girls In Scotland

Claire Graham (intersex voice silenced by Twitter)

Miranda Yardley (dissenting transwoman silenced by Twitter)

Meghan Murphy (Canadian feminist silenced by Twitter, also here)

RadFem Rebecca (Feminist silenced by Twitter)

4th Wave Now (US parents group silenced by Twitter)

Trans Crime UK

The War On Women

Pronouns Are Rohypnol

List of gender-critical feminists suspended by Twitter

Things that only happen to biological women

Statistics on the advantages held by biological males in women’s sports

The huge financial interests behind transgenderism

Two collections of violent threats from TRAs to women

1. 08 05 20 12:57

Abolishing women | speymouth

163 to “Abolishing women”

1. stonefree

Just a question regarding the poster.
    Is not Murrell the complance officer?
    I know it’s not part of the article directly

2. MWS

Those results are in line with what I would have expected. The SNP politicos probably think there is widespread support for GRA reform and self ID because they live in a wee bubble where all their pals, researchers, staffers think the same way. They need to get out more. Talk to people who are not part of special (vested) interest groups or straight from university student politics. I’ve been saying for years that this whole thing is electoral suicide. And for a Party for whom winning elections ( rather than actually push for independence) is the be all and end all, this fixation with pushing through an unquestionably unpopular policy is all the more bizarre. Btw I think you’re correct regarding the reasons behind the polling results for young women. Things that seem ‘cool’ as a student don’t always seem as ‘cool’ when you get a bit older and have kids to worry about.

3. Martin

The “I want my child’s birth certificate changed” one is actually more interesting than perhaps people realised during reporting. I’m surprised even the beardiest wokiest bloke lawyer would even let it get to court because it was NEVER going to win. For one simple reason.

Maternity rights.

This case had to be quashed or we could all register both parents as mothers and take maternity leave/pay. The law currently still discriminates based on maternity/paternity for that. Trans rights are all about rich people making money (honestly, look into it) but the other thing that appalls rich people is paying employees to not be at work.

4. anton de grandier

Havering around on Twitter I came across Glasgow SNP cooncillor Mhairi Hunter who mentioned SelfID is almost never raised with her on the doorstep.I suggested she raise the issue herself and see happens.Answer-silence.SNP know they have not hope in hell of garnering support for SelfID among the populace hence the subterfuge.growing unrest too among SNP members/voters at the antics of the Stirling Uni Woke Youtheratti.Interesting times.

5. MWS

Oh and Stu, not sure if you are aware but Joanna Cherry has been speaking out on Twitter against your ban. Saying it’s a freedom of speech issue and there is a certain clique with undue influence who are trying to silence everyone with opposing views ( I’m paraphrasing). She stood up for you against Mike from Bella ( who obv thinks your ban is great news.

6. Proud Cybernat

And it’s why I cut up my SNP membership card. They had better get their fucking act sorted. Pronto.

Won’t stop me voting for indy tho. Given the chance. Sometime.

7. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Oh and Stu, not sure if you are aware but Joanna Cherry has been speaking out on Twitter against your ban. Saying it’s a freedom of speech issue and there is a certain clique with undue influence who are trying to silence everyone with opposing views ( I’m paraphrasing). She stood up for you against Mike from Bella ( who obv thinks your ban is great news.”

I noticed 🙂

8. Baronesssamedi

Is the UK Tory gov. at WM troubled by GRA at all? If not, why not?

9. Republicofscotland

This SNP self-ID nonsense will cost them at the polls. Sturgeons popularity is up, due to her air coverage and apparent handling Covid-19, which was woeful to start with.

If she and wokest nut jobs persist with this insanity of allowing every average Joe or Jane to decide they can change biological sex on a whim then the SNP will surely lose seats next year.

Covid-19 really saved Sturgeons arse on the indyfront, this Self-ID madness and her apathy towards independence and the Salmond bomb that will go off under her feet soon, won’t go down too well with the public next year.

The ultra woke zombies should be forced to listen to Vera Lynn all day and night, as we are today, even if it didn’t rouse them out of their wokeness, it would at least send them scurrying for cover for a while.

After today if I never see a Butchers Aporn again it won’t be too soon,

10. Jeannie McCrimmon

Thank you for being the only person who has polled on Gender Politics x

11. Baronesssamedi

Is the Tory gov. at WM troubled by a UK GRA at all? If not, why not?

12. liz

The young woman thing I also believe is they’ve fallen for the be kind stuff.

When you’re young you tend to believe men more, sorry but true.
    They probably have a romantic image of being BFFS with some handsome young ‘non threatening’ man.

It’s well known that many young women tend to fancy guys who look quite feminine, think pop culture

13. Jessie

Mothers we need to get talking to our daughters. Because at the moment someone else is telling them that they need to save the poor feminine men and they want to feel supportive of the poor butch women. What our daughters don’t realise is that neither of these two groups care about women. Transmen don’t seem to like women because we remind them who they are, and transwomen don’t seem to like women because they are jealous of who we are.
    Trans politics is all the worse things teenagers get up to: dangerous drug taking, being accessed by dodgy old men looking for sex, causing division between the teenager and their family but in this case they throw in a huge portion of make yourself upism. How many youngsters didn’t want to reform themselves into someone else?

14. susan

It’s good to see common sense over the GRA reform issue, though the young women results are a bit disappointing. Will the SNP hierarchy take notice? Somehow I doubt it. Hell mend them.

15. Effijy

First priority saving lives in Scotland by protecting its citizens from the
    Civid virus and the Westminster government.’

Secondly securing Scottish independence as being ripped out of the EU
    against our will is a major change in circumstances.

Third should be a comprehensive document highlighting the on-going series of
    Unmitigated disasters adopted by the Tory Party in trying to deal with Covid 19.
    The Unnecessary Deaths, the shear incompetence, and the corruption at Westminster
    Must be put before the Scottish people.
    A section must be dedicated to the English PPE manufactures who were all instructed not
    To sell to Scotland.

Good Luck to transgender people but they must appreciate the life and death issues
    And the future of our nation must come before their needs.
    It can all be revisited once we secure our own sovereignty.

16. Golfnut

This is interesting.

Overseas trade and industry debt( we pay for these buggers) telling overseas PPE suppliers not to deal with the devolved Administrations, and Scotland’s own resilience exrecise(2015)Silver Swan, the name of my putter by the way, and its usefulness in the current pandemic.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1650996581705293&id=447174438754186

17. Neil Mackenzie

The people pushing the self-ID issue don’t care what party they have to concentrate their infiltration of to advance their agenda. It isn’t a Scottish independence issue and this isn’t an appropriate venue for the battle opposing it.

18. Scozzie

What the actual fuck…I couldn’t even read beyond the first question. How on earth can 28% of people polled think ‘a woman is anyone who says they’re a woman regardless of biology’???

That percentage gives me the chills!!!! I honestly thought it was a tiny, but vocal minority, that were anti-science.
    I honestly don’t know how to get my head round that figure.

What scares me most is if people can so easily allow their brains to blank out biological reality, what else can they allow their brains to blank out?

Forget through the looking glass, forget down the rabbit hole, forget Orwell – this is fucking cult like brainwashing. How can any normal functioning person disbelieve biology!

19. Vestas

Neil Mackenzie says:
    8 May, 2020 at 1:26 pm

“The people pushing the self-ID issue don’t care what party they have to concentrate their infiltration of to advance their agenda. It isn’t a Scottish independence issue and this isn’t an appropriate venue for the battle opposing it.”

It is when the party pushing it is (supposedly) the party for independence. Its front & centre in those circumstances.

20. galamcennalath

Rev says

…. a majority of younger women thought a woman was “anyone who says they’re a woman, regardless of their biology”, their opinion changed dramatically when it came to the thought of that “woman” swinging her biology around in their vicinity when they were getting undressed.

Which implies to me this group are either showing enormous levels of hypocrisy, or they haven’t actually thought this through properly. They seem to initially regurgitate the trendy (if that’s the word people still use) opinion they think is what young women should say. Then when the practical consequences are laid out, many engage their brains and say “hell, no”.

Similarly, when confronted with fundamental existential human roles like father/mother or fatherhood/motherhood, many get a sharp vision of reality.

To be honest, I’m not surprised. The real issue is most people haven’t really done much thinking for themselves. That’s not necessarily a failing on their part, like so many other aspects of life, they have been actively encouraged to stay dumb and eat their cereal.

21. Tinto Chiel

@Scozzie 1.31: no wonder you’re biting the carpet over this, it’s madness.

The Rev’s worried this GR legislation will be sneaked through in another act and I fear that the SG will return to proposals that (at least during the Covid emergency) jury trials are reduced, taped testimony without cross-examination permitted and no automatic right of appeal against a sentence allowed.

Add to all that the anti-blasphemy stuff proposes by the Justice secretary and the authoritarian streak in the SNP leadership is extremely worrying. Imagine if the AS trial had been before a single judge.

22. Pete

Effigy 1.20
    I thought health was a Scottish Government responsibility?
    I think you have become too used to slagging off Westminster.

23. Martha Chisholm

This reflects almost exactly what we already knew. Why will the SNP not listen….they believe they are invincible at the moment but this will cost them dearly.

24. Stuart MacKay

Susan @1:10, Scozzie

There’s probably a large dose of “equality and fairness” thrown into the mix in people’s answers when they are asked for their thoughts on bearded ladies. So the responses can’t quite be taken at face value which liz @12:35pm identifies.

This is a decades long process in bringing equality or at least trying to reduce inequality to various sections of society which, I think, everyone has benefited from. However the extension of identity politics into biology has utterly gone off the rails. I can only wonder with bated breath at what’s coming next.

25. terence callachan

I see your point WOS
    But there’s a heck of a lot of women under 55 dont agree with you
    Sure some simply “ don’t know “ what their opinion is about it apparently on the fence
    But a heck of a lot of under 55 women do not agree with you

I’m surprised by the women under 55 results shown here

26. Auld Rock

Well said Scozzie. I’m sure you’ve heard the expression asked as a question, “Nature or Nurture”? With the end of WW2, in 1946 I spent as a three-year-old the summer holiday with my parents visiting family members who owned farms in the RoI. As anyone who has grown up on a farm with livestock will know that genetic coding can go wrong and some strange ‘mutations’ do occur in the animal world and we are all animals when all is said and done. Children who are born malformed have a right to live their lives without being treated as outcasts and should receive some recognition, which I believe they do at present. But I can see no case for people who have probably been brain-washed into thinking that they are not the sex that biologically they actually are. I’m sure we’ve all heard of mothers who have dressed their sons up as a girl just because she wanted a daughter and this can leave a lasting impression on some people. So, nature or nurture?

Taking Scottie from Startrek out of context, Ye canna change the ‘Laws’ of biology, Captain!!

Let’s get this dumped once and for all and especially those behind this nonsense.

27. Jason Smoothpiece

Thanks for doing this Stu.

I actually thought more people would be against the self ID nonsense.

Regrettably the SNP appears to have lost it’s way. The focus must be on tactics to obtain independence regardless of anything else.

They will loose voters and members over this rubbish quite wrongly when the drive should be more members and supporters.

The SNP have an open goal at the moment the keeper has gone for a smoke 30,000 deaths 180 medical staff dead due to lack of equipment.

Even with this evil incompetent Tory regime we are only 50% for independence.

What is our party doing ? Pushing nonsense which they don’t need to touch and shouldn’t go near.

Change has to come quickly we must not engage in madness.

28. Ottomanboi

Alice laughed. ‘There’s no use trying,’ she said. ‘One can’t believe impossible things.’
    I daresay you haven’t had much practice,’ said the Queen. ‘When I was your age, I always did it for half-an-hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast….!”
    [Lewis Carroll]

29. Marie Clark

I think that the SNP are going down a very dangerous path here.They are taking the electorate for granted, especially we ladies. If they pursue this madness, they will loose a hell of a lot of votes from the females.

This legislation is so dangerous. I don’t care what anyone is, straight, gay, bisexual, trans, green wi purple polka dots, be what you want, that’s fine. But, and it’s a bloody big but, what is not fine is taking away the rights of women, and that is exactly what you are going to do.

PS anyone heard from Petra, she seems to be AWOL. Hope she’s all right.

I have twin granddaughters in secondary school where they have made some of the toilets for trans folk to use. Not the male toilets of course, but the female ones have been removed. Absolutely shocking. The result is the girls wont use them, and that can make them ill trying to hold it in, or not drinking so that you don’t need to go.

I see in England a wee fourteen year old lassie is bringing a court case about this, and the CPS is having to look again at the guidelines given out to local authorities. Good for the wee lass, I hope she wins.

30. Dog biscuit

Who has command and control of the Transgender agenda? Who directs them? Who grips the levers of power? I believe many ‘transgender’types are sincere but I often wonder if they have been infiltrated and co-opted by police agents provocateurs. Paranoid? I hope so.

31. Dog biscuit

If only the Scottish Government pursued Independence with the same single minded psychopathic determination as they pursue Nicola Sturgeons virtue signaling to the U.N.

32. Dog biscuit

Freakshows for bearded ladies. Roll up roll up and behold the Grotesquery the impossible the beyond your wildest Penny Dreadful. The lunatics are posing as leaders.

33. Corrado Mella

Of one thing you can always be sure: any disturbance derailing Scotland from its rightful path to independence is manufactured, nurtured and directed by the BritNazi Establishment.

Remember that losing Scotland doesn’t just mean losing vital revenues, services and resources: they will lose face and credibility.

The unavoidable outcome of abject misery, destitution, hunger and starvation of the English population, plunged into power cuts, water shortages and food scarcity, will destroy the lie the BritNazi Establishment has told England for decades.

If even 1/10th of the English population cottons up that their politicians have lied to them for such a long time, there won’t be enough lampposts left without an English politician dangling from it.

Those sociopathic bastards are fighting for their life and will do anything to save themselves.

34. shug

Have you read Sarah Smith’s piece in the BBC!!

Nicola did this, Nicola did that, despite London doing this or that.
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-52579425

Has she joined Alistair Jack and Mundell in the tory party

What a total pile of infantile rubbish to appear on the BBC

No recognition that Wales, N Ireland and Southern Ireland are all doing things differently. Parts of Northern England are thinking of doing things differently

Only Scotland must do the same as London

Writing for BBC Scotland!!! – different from BBC UK/London – different!!!

This woman is inarticulate unthinking and servile in the extreme.

How does she keep her job

oh and so at all the different parts of Europe

35. Liz g

Marie Clarke @ 2.30
    Petra has been in touch over on Wee Ginger Dug.
    She has been ill,she’s not sure if it’s covid, but can’t rule it out.
    She’s still not 100% but she is at least in touch 🙂

36. Scozzie

Tinto chief @ 2.03pm
    I hear you loud and clear…
    I don’t doubt for a minute that if the AS trial was before a ‘friendly’ judge it would have gone in the prosecution’s favour. Thank god for jury trials and the common sense of real people.

As a female, I have long been against GRA reform. I don’t have a problem for how people want to live or express themselves but let’s ‘keep the heid’ on the universal truths of biology.
    Men are not women and never can be. Women are not men and never can be. Adults – pump your body with as much synthetic hormones and surgery as you want – your cells are still XX or XY. But please FFS stay away from medicalising children and adolescents.

And now this hate crime bill is a blatant attack on free speech…I’ll probably go to jail for saying this… I need a big bloody eye roll emoji.

SNP – muzzling free speech, science deniers, sovereignty deniers, jeez I feel we’re living in the middle ages!

37. CameronB Brodie

The law is a framework of moral philosophy applied to the prevention of social disorder and harm to individuals. As such, all legal systems must refer to a foundational moral theory of some kind, in order to be considered rational and universal. Natural Law is such a foundational moral theory, which is coherent and compatible with our scientific understanding of reality and the human condition.

Trans-activism endorses an anti-foundational legal framework that is detached from reality and Natural Law. As trans-ideology is anti-foundational in nature, law that establishes it as practical law, turn the fabric of law in to one that is intrinsically arbitrary in nature. Such a legal order can not support democracy or equality in law.

UN Special Rapporteur on Human Rights Defenders on “Gender Ideology”
    4 Mar 2019

On February 25th, Michel Forst, the UN Special Rapporteur on Human Rights Defenders has delivered his report on the situation of human rights defenders. The report “describes the challenging environments in which they operate and analyses the impact of patriarchy and heteronormativity, ´gender ideology´, fundamentalisms, militarization, globalization and neoliberal policies on the rights of such defenders.” The inclusion of antigender campaigns as an obstacle for human rights is groundbreaking

https://sxpolitics.org/un-special-rapporteur-on-human-rights-defenders-on-gender-ideology/19423

38. Marie Clark

Liz g, thanks for that Liz. I did see it on wee ginger dug just a fw mins ago. Hope she gets better soon.

39. Joe

VE day is the most insufferable pish. Lets celebrate the day we let another murderous bastard brutalise Eastern Europe and handing over the country we apparently went to war to ‘liberate’ from someone else. Just so long as THAT particular murderous bastard was ok with the usury system on international finance. Then we can pretend it was all about humanity and freedom. Shite.

40. Neil Mackenzie

Vestas says:
    8 May, 2020 at 1:46 pm

It is when the party pushing it is (supposedly) the party for independence. Its front & centre in those circumstances.

I know it’s a big deal for a lot of people but where is there for them to turn to to get away from it? The Unionist parties are all complicit with the trans-agenda, too. Scottish independence is a separate thing.

41. ScotsRenewables

Now is the ideal time to root this nonsense out, while the drive for indy is temporarily postponed and there could be less collateral damage.

I still personally hope Nicola survives the coming storm, but if the Salmond bomb goes off under the mad woke infiltrators she had better make sure she is standing well back.

42. Astonished

Here is my take for what its worth.
    Transwomen are men, powerful men. They demand access to female only spaces.

Humza Yusaf’s idiotic Gender Reform Act(GRA) will allow the wokeratti to complain to the police regarding my second and third sentences. The police will have to investigate and I could get 7 years.

Yusaf has nose-dived in my estimation. I can see no way he can recover.

I will be making plain to my SNP MSP and SNP MP (I think they both oppose transgender superiority) that they MUST put their heads above the parapet and speak out.
    This is why folk should remain members to boot out the woke when the time comes.
    If the GRA bill is passed expect the consequences of the SNP decision (changing rooms, child hormone therapy , child surgery etc.) to be FRONT and CENTRE of the British Nationalists war against Scotland.
    And they will use it to stop an independence majority in 2021 for Holyrood.

And that means no indyref for 5 more years. Yousaf is doing their dirty work for them.

43. Pauline Boyd

Cameron Archibald has just been threatened. A nasty threat, because some idiots are blaming him for you losing your twitter account. I believe he’s going to police. I’ve just had my last contact with police today. For a while. I’ve been in touch with them for almost a year over some very nasty threats I got last year including death threats. Photos of my flat with a meme of my face in it being posted on twitter. One of the men who threatened me. Multiple death threats signed the snp women’s pledge. There were also repeated attempts to silence me which took more than one form. But this is what you get when you are on the receiving end of a vicious and targeted campaign from the absolute dregs in the yes movement.

Shows our movement in a terrible light. I hope Cameron does go to police. Threats are beyond the pale. Too many keyboard warriors in yes on twitter. Internet hardmen bashing away at their pc. They wouldn’t have the balls to say it to your face.

44. Josef Ó Luain

@ Shug

There’s no such an entity as “Southern Ireland”. I take it you were referring to the independent State commonly known as the Republic of Ireland, which unilaterally declared its full independence 71 years ago, in 1949.Stay well.

45. Sarah

@ Pauline Boyd at 4.05: I have just finished reading about Lawburrows in Wikipedia – a simple, quick, cheap civil action against people who put you in fear. There is no need to involve the police or the Procurator Fiscal. Peat Worrier recently did a podcast on the subject. If you haven’t already considered this, have a look.

46. callmedave

Jings!

Ventured a toe Big Auntie’s celebrations for a look see.

Big Auntie giving VE day laldy OTT and then some!
    Prince Charlie laying wreaths everywhere with pipers an all.
    Folk singing WW1 songs in the Street, wrong war.
    Spitfires and Colonel Tom.
    Queenie: When younger sneaks out the Palace as mommy puts on her tiara to go out on the balcony to wave to the jubilant throngs with Winnie. (actual words)

(Winnie who promptly got booted out at the pending election) 🙂

I remember the days when I was pre-teen and folk who had actually fought, many mutilated went along with their neighbours and families down to the local war memorial and had a dignified silent tribute and a chat, shook hands and went home in November.
    All done in a couple of hours no celebrations.

Anyhoo!

BBC colonial web sites have today’s figures but not in England

Scotland……..today…..49………Today……1811…BBC
    Wales………..today…..28………Today……1090…BBC
    N. Ireland……today…..05………Today…….427…BBC
    England………today…*332………Today….*30947…*SUN
    ———————————————————-
    UK…………..today….???………Today….??????

No figures for England now is not the time.

47. Newburghgowfer

I will only vote for a real Indy Party. The Party that I followed are a carbon copy in the making of what Labour became. Full of self serving wee shites and backstabbers. Looks like I won’t be voting again in my lifetime as I don’t like shits but it seems politics is full of them.

48. Blair Paterson

You can’t expect to insult people and tell lies about them will always go unpunished there are people out there who will hold you to account yes and even physically attack you some dark night with a hammer so don’t feel you are untouchable your not that’s why I think so many on here will not use their real full names they want to be able to insult fellow bloggers with impunity mon brav.,

49. Capella

It’s really tragic that young women are so ignorant about biology. I wonder how they have been brainwashed into thinking that being kind involves supporting delusion.

In my experience, younger women who are sympathetic to transgender ideology know someone with a child, or who is a child, being “transitioned”. They feel that to be kind means to be supportive and never question. My guess is that the “tool kits” circulated to teachers, implanting trans ideology in the classroom, have had this effect.

Older women are immune to it because this never was an issue when we were at school.
    I blame the teachers!

50. Frank Gillougley

The graphic poster says it all.

‘Beauty is truth and truth is beauty. That is all ye know and all ye need to know.’

– and that guy most certainly ain’t a thing of beauty.

Do these wee red book wavers not even see how grotesque, contorted and how much of an artifice their cult is and that truth is a total casualty in all of this ??? (not to mention everything else)

51. Dorothy Devine

Shug , I wish I had taken your word for the Smith piece – good grief you are correct – a pile of yon stuff.

52. tarisgal

MWS says:
    8 May, 2020 at 12:10 pm

“Oh and Stu, not sure if you are aware but Joanna Cherry has been speaking out on Twitter against your ban. Saying it’s a freedom of speech issue and there is a certain clique with undue influence who are trying to silence everyone with opposing views ( I’m paraphrasing). She stood up for you against Mike from Bella ( who obv thinks your ban is great news.

Stuart: I noticed.”

Yess, Joanna!! Go girl! was my first reaction. But what I find very disconcerting about that thread, are the number of accounts on it that have received Twitter Reports giving them the result of Twitter’s investigation into their reporting of Stuart’s account. And the owners of those accounts are saying they most assuredly DID NOT report him. Now I could believe that, given the names on some of those accounts, knowing they support Wings stand on many issues. BUT even folks who are NOT ‘Stuart friendly’ are saying they too got these Twitter Reports thanking them for bringing Stuart’s ‘behaviour’ to their attention’, when they did nothing of the sort.

That would seem to indicate that there is much more to this whole thing than JUST a group of Uni bairns that can’t stand Stuarts opposition to their agenda, throwing their toys oot the pram. Or is my normally quite astute intuition, getting this wrong?

53. CameronB Brodie

I’ve suggested the SNP’s “mode of understanding” is all wrong, and that this supports their legal parochialism.

A Plea for a Peircean Turn in Analytic Philosophy
    https://www.bu.edu/wcp/Papers/Amer/AmerNubi.htm

Rorty, Putnam, and the Pragmatist View of Epistemology and Metaphysics
    https://docs.lib.purdue.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1456&context=eandc

A RIGHTS-BASED APPROACH TO REALIZING GENDER EQUALITY
    https://www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/news/savitri.htm

54. Capella

@ tarisgal – I’ve seen those reports as well. Remember that Stu’s account was down for a short while because of “technical” issues. I wonder if someone harvested his followers and sent off complaints using their addresses. Definitely fishy.

55. Al-Stuart

Are you like me?

All I want is for Scotland to be independent from Westminster and for us to run our own country.

Yet these selfish, hypocritical deluded transgender woke idiots are putting the needs of their few ahead of the needs of the many.

Stuart, your article and philosophy on this made me laugh and cry.

Your humour here is actually flucking hilarious…

“A six-point margin among 16-34 females for “transwomen are women” turned rapidly into a 24-point margin for “get that thing the hell away from me” when they were presented with the stark reality of what trans ideology means in practice.”

Whereas the YSI transgender fifth-column infiltrators of the SNP and their deviants who have achieved the supplication of Nicola Sturgeon and our SNP MSPs makes me cry. You write:

“It’s unlikely that any of this will dissuade the Scottish Government from its dogged determination to force men into women’s spaces by hook or by crook in its obsessive pursuit of the misogynist/woke vote, even though SNP voters – like those of all parties – were consistently opposed to self-ID by huge margins (44, 47 and 54 points) on every one of the three questions.”

The YSI Brigade have harmed Scottish Independence, but they have also harmed their own cause.

For example, my personal view is “live and let live”. As long as no harm is done and folk don’t frighten the horses, let them express themselves in a fair society.

But when a group of self-obsessed narcissistic idiots try to corrupt the governance of Scotland, they can take a flying fruck. Naw support from here.

56. Allium

Self ID terrifies me – both on its own merits, and with a view to the damage it will inevitably do to the indy cause. Thank you so much for doing this. It has come at a high personal cost, but you have consistently put yourself out there in the vanguard, and its very much appreciated. You’re a good man.

57. Chris Downie

A few people I know down south refer to the FM as Krankie MacMerkel and it’s hard to refute their disdain, as she and her husband deploy ever more sinister tactics to hold on to power at all costs.

58. bipod

Interesting data on covid 19 peak in England

https://www.cebm.net/covid-19/covid-19-death-data-in-england-update-8th-may/

Turns out that the peak was on the 8th of April, which means that the virus peak and began its decline before the supposed effects of the lockdown could make any difference. Why do lockdown fanatics like nicola sturgeon still insist on the necessity of the lockdown when more and more data is released showing how ineffectual it was?

59. cynicalHighlander

@callmedave

UK 626 today.

60. Peekay

While I totally agree with the sentiments I hope the funding for these polls isn’t coming out of the Wings indy budget as this isn’t what good people gave up their hard-earned for. Losing the original WoS Twitter page was massively unprofessional too, nevermind losing RevStu as well. WoS Twitter should have been ‘the office’ with purely pro-indy stuff, RevStu should have been ‘the personal’ with everything else. Wings would do well to remember this difference!

61. Dorothy Devine

Chris Downie , I don’t think we should bother about what ‘a few people down south ‘ dub our First Minister , particularly when they are obviously infantile , do you?

I know there are those ‘down south ‘ who actually envy us our articulate First Minister in this time of crisis , perhaps you should read btl on the Guardian – quite a revelation – and leave the Daily Mail, Sun et al to their own puerile devices.

62. Effijy

Pete, you are doing a good job as being an annoying Fanny on this site.

You employ the age old Tory tactic of ignore the
    Facts against you and act smug as though you are
    In the right.

Yes NHS Scotland stands proud with the best performing NHS In
    this deadly union.
    With some many remote and rural areas to serve and with
    Inherent historical health issues through poor diet and alcohol abuse
    They shine through when measured against Tory or Labour NHS territories.

I say again England put Scotland at risk with the Cygnus report.
    England had the Emergency PPE supplies for the union which were a farce.
    Each time England cut beds and jobs and privatised areas of their NHS it
    Automatically cuts Scotland’s budget.

Your beloved blue mafia sent EU medics packing with Brexit, they overseen
    Applications to work here in the medical profession fall by 90.
    It is your lousy mob that is sending letters out to foreign doctors working here
    And risking their lives without PPE demanding £1,200 to extend their work permit.
    It you your mob that advised not to sell ENGLISH made PPE equipment to Scotland.

I thought you might be able to read and do joined up thinking but obviously not.

63. callmedave

BBC colonial web sites have today’s figures but not in England

Scotland……..today…..49………Today……1811…BBC
    Wales………..today…..28………Today……1090…BBC
    N. Ireland……today…..05………Today…….427…BBC
    England………today…*332………Today….*30947…*SUN
    ———————————————————-
    UK…………..today….626………Total today…31241…WM Gov

No figures for England even yet. 🙁 Auntie please explain?

I heard that the new totals both today and the Grand Total included an unspecified number of deaths ‘out with hospitals’
    Just thrown in at the briefing without any country(s) being named as UK figures

So that’s about +200 or so people if the table above is right.

You can make a stab at where they came from.
    I know what I think. Maybe the country in the UK which only count corona virus deaths where a test has been done.

64. CameronB Brodie

bipod
    I’ve told you before, I don’t appreciate irresponsible twats endangering my life.

Prediction of the COVID-19 outbreak based
    on a realistic stochastic model

Abstract
    The current outbreak of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) has become a global crisis due to its quick and wide spread over the world. A good understanding of the dynamic of the disease would greatly enhance the control and prevention of COVID-19. However, to the best of our knowledge, the unique features of the outbreak have limited the applications of all existing models.

In this paper, a novel stochastic model is proposed which aims to account for the unique transmission dynamics of COVID-19 and capture the effects of intervention measures implemented in Mainland China. We find that, (1) instead of aberration, there is a remarkable amount of asymptomatic individuals, (2) an individual with symptoms is approximately twice more likely to pass the disease to others than that of an asymptomatic patient, (3) the transmission rate has reduced significantly since the implementation of control measures in Mainland China, (4) it is expected that the epidemic outbreak would be contained by early March in the the selected provinces and cities.

Keywords:
    Compartment Stochastic Model, Continuous Time Markov Process, COVID-19, reproduction number

https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.03.10.20033803v1.full.pdf

65. Capella

There is at least one spook working for twitter:

… Mr MacMillan has been working at Twitter for six years and has been its Head of Editorial, Europe, the Middle East and Africa since July 2016…
    Gordon MacMillan disclosed his role in the 77th Brigade on his own LinkedIn profile, writing: “I have a strong interest in politics and international affairs and am a reserve officer in the British Army serving in 77th Brigade, which specialises in non-lethal engagement.”

i.e. psychological warfare.
    http://archive.fo/gWIu0#selection-6011.0-6011.272

66. Scozzie

After calming myself down I’ve read the full article of Stu’s poll.

But this bothers me most – why are females in the 16-33 age category so willing to accept a ‘woman is anyone who says they’re a woman regardless of biology’ (53%) compared to men in the same age group {33%). That’s a massive statistical differential. What is the cause of this?

Are there parents of females in this age category that can help explain their thinking? Or females on this site in this age category that can explain this thinking?

I’m in my mid 40’s and cannot fathom being a handmaiden for men’s rights (and I’ve never been a feminist). What has happened? Why is the data not consistent across males / females in the same age category?

My guess it’s the ‘be kind’ mantra indoctrinated in young women (which doesn’t seemed to be applied at males), that is possibly explaining the 20 points difference (male / female).

So we must ask ourselves (and I mean everyone that is of commonsense thinking), how do we reach other to these women who are so willing to give their rights away?
    This data is utterly tragic.

67. Tinto Chiel

@Scozzie 3.18: treble amen to all that but, spookily, some of the young women in my extended family do seem to fall into the more tolerant category towards Bearded Ladies. I even raised the Creepy Men in Female Dressing Rooms argument and was blithely told by one that my attitude was probably like that of straight men towards gays sharing changing rooms with males in the unenlightened 50s/60s. Cue a Frank Exchange of Views but more heat than light.

Look on the bright side: if we’re living in the Middle Ages as you suggest, at least we’ll be living in an independent country!

68. Lochside

Rev. Stu pointed out the level of ‘entryism’ in the SNP some time ago. We are now waking up to the ‘woke’ brigade, a collection of virtue signalling activists recruited and paid to do what the deep Britnat State wants them to do….to continue to eat out the living Heart of the Independence movement.

It is no coincidence that the REV’s twitter feeds have been sabotaged by this sub section of ’77. Consider the current contempt of Court charge against Craig Murray for having the temerity to place the defence case for AS on his website. The AS case itself, in plain sight the Brit State manipulating via the SNP and SG trumped up charges against him and using the corrupt legal and police force to construct the ‘case’. Senior members of the civil service, responsible for misuse of public funds of over £1/2 million in the failed civil case ,compounded this witch-hunt by colluding with the ongoing ‘investigation’ and created the consequential astronomical costs of the criminal case. No charges of perjury or questions of breaches of civil service code there.

When we consider the Pete Wishart tweets and John Nicholson’s contemptuous attitudes to SNP rank and file concerns over GRA and we see the arrogant and frankly useless Humza Yousaf, with his neo-fascist hate bill, what conclusion can we draw?
    That the party has been compromised. I was castigated on here for criticising NS reluctance to lead AUOB marches and for saying she did not like the word ‘nationalist. I said at the time that people such of here were in the wrong party. But I now refute that… I now believe they are in right party…because they are a collection of self seeking and do nothing and or agent provocateurs.

Why would we with the open goal of Brexit be led into the cul de sac of ‘Keep the UK in the EU’, when the RUK voted to leave? Where was the logic?..overturn English democratic vote and expect them to respect us ..at anytime…voting to stay.
    The logic was supinity by Sturgeon, suck up to the Brits…suck up to Section 30…long grass prevarication. We are seeing the same pretend ‘standing up’ to Boris pish. Designed to ensure a comfortable tenure at Hollyrood in 2021. Where is Alyn ‘arched eyebrow’ Smyth now?…fixing the shorted lightbulb of our EU membership, after being parachuted into Stirling? where is Ian Blackford’s oft repeated defiance to EU withdrawal
    of Scotland?…in the same place that all the rest of the empty rhetoric the SNP have been flannelling us with for the past 6 x years.

A final point: the BBC in Scotland continues its onslaught of Britnat propaganda unchecked and unchallenged by Keith Brown’s ‘rebuttal’ ( more like fuckall) unit. We are supposed to be all singing Vera Lynn tunes bedecked in butcher aprons. Good old Brittania waiving the rules: 30,000 covid 19 herd deaths; 20,000 DWP deaths. But we must remember the 382,600 soldiers who died in WW2 as some kind of comparison of ‘better together’ in the face of a fucking virus?, ‘awesome foursome’ of the ‘UK’. Well how about 57,000 Scottish war dead? 15% from 10% of the ‘UK’ population or worse? 141,000 out of 705,00 war dead in the first war bloodbath? 200,000 jocks.
    Remember the Dunkirk Spirit folks….the Highland Division abandoned at St Valery to fight on while Churchill did the deal with DeGaulle to take 40,000 French off the beaches instead.
    We’ll meet again indeed!

69. tarisgal

Capella says:
    8 May, 2020 at 5:17 pm

@ tarisgal – I’ve seen those reports as well. Remember that Stu’s account was down for a short while because of “technical” issues. I wonder if someone harvested his followers and sent off complaints using their addresses. Definitely fishy.

@Capella – Thank you! No one seemed to be mentioning it & for a moment, I thought perhaps I was seeing something that actually wasn’t ‘there’.

The issue of whether it’s right to take down a Twitter user, be they indy supporter or NOT, simply because you disagree with what they are saying, is bad enough & I don’t hold with that. Trying to get someone to see that the BLOCK BUTTON should suffice to get opinions you don’t like or agree with, off your page/status is totally acceptable. BUT reporting and having them taken right down off Twitter is Censorship, and is something else altogether.

That it was a group of Uni bairns who can’t stand Stuart having a huge following that agree with his stance on GRA is one thing. But finding out it was ‘some of OUR OWN Indy supporting ‘Team SNP’ bairns throwing their toys out of the pram’, seemed to me to the worst of it!

Until I read of these MANY false Reports that indicated there has been an obvious, orchestrated plan designed to get Stuart off Twitter by hook or by crook. Someone, something, some organisation, has taken the time, the trouble, an opportunity & I entirely believe at some cost (I’d LOVE to know at WHAT cost!) to make sure Stuart does not get any opportunity WHATSOEVER to get his ‘on point’ view of politics out to the punters. He’s dangerous as far as their agenda goes. And he’s getting NO opportunity to report on the underhand dealings of those that shut him down.

Has this organisation grabbed at a real opportunity they came across; that of using the Uni brigade stalking, using inflammatory comments to produce biting retorts to their comments & then reporting Stuart for being abusive, to their advantage? Is this organisation actually the Uni students or have they just infiltrated the students group? Has this organisation become pally with someone who needs dissenting voices TOTALLY OFF social media? Some or ALL of this?

Alex Salmond, Craig Murray & now Stuart Campbell… what is the connection? ALL independence supporters, all influential with a THOUSANDS of followers, & ALL seeing through the shenanigans of certain people who don’t want indy… And ALL BEING STOPPED IN THEIR TRACKS in their efforts to GET that independence.

OF COURSE IT SOUNDS PREPOSTEROUS! But… given the state of WM & what the clown shoes down there are doing to get what THEY want, I don’t think I’ll be getting out my tinfoil just yet…

70. jfngw

@bipod @5:27

In fact it proves the exact opposite of what you state. The death rate starts to fall just over 2 weeks after the lockdown starts and continues to fall, hence proving lockdown reduced the rate of infection.

71. SilverDarling

The numbers for the young women figures in the poll are alarming. However young women in this day and age are under more pressure than ever to conform whether it is on instagram, FB or Twitter. Are body dysmorphia and gender dysphoria linked with extreme views and a longing to belong?

If you are constantly comparing and measuring your worth against impossible targets of course you will feel comfortable with those who appear outside the main group. But by being kind you are unfortunately making yourself vulnerable and open to abuse and those who can, will take advantage of you.

Whether it is the mask-like drag queen make up beloved of the Kardashians or the Japanese anime schoolgirl look that paradoxically tries to scream individuality but is a uniform like any other these girls are so easy to pick out. More worrying is the number of young women who see prostitution and the sex industry as empowering. How big is the mental step where you allow your personal space to be invaded by men at their whim to allowing them access to your body and freedoms too.

I wonder how many of those young women are in a vulnerable category.

Of course they will those with strong individual views but these polling figures are not surprising considering women are always being told to be kind and inclusive.

Of course men should be the ones sharing their spaces with gender non-conforming males not the other way round. Maybe that is a question for another time?

72. Sinky

Watched BBC news and I obviously live in a different as country as no Union Jackery in my area

73. Col.Blimp IV

Scozzie says:

“But this bothers me most – why are females in the 16-33 age category so willing to accept a ‘woman is anyone who says they’re a woman regardless of biology’ (53%) compared to men in the same age group {33%)”

I think it is accurate to assume that most 16-33 year olds are heterosexual.

Could be that most young men would be horrified at the thought of making a play for someone who looked like a woman but turned out be a man.

Whereas most young women don’t envisage ever trying to seduce another woman, who it transpires is in fact a man.

Thus it is not until the more plausible scenario of the changing rooms is introduced, that the responses to the who is or is not a woman converge.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AcS49UdrIM

74. Ian Foulds

Thanks Lochside at 6.13.

Your points certainly bring matters into focus.

Now, how do we (shall) overcome?

75. Col.Blimp IV

Sinky

I went to London in ’77 (silver jubilee year) to see a football match.

Our car overheated as soon as we got off the motorway and we ended up abandoning the thing in a residential area – holy shit! there were union jacks, portraits of the Queen and red white and blue bunting everywhere.

We were half-expecting to be set upon by The Redcoats.

76. Scozzie

Tinto chief @ 6.13pm
    I’m not dissing your extended young female family, but gay rights seems to be used a lot as an argument in the context of trans rights canibalising women’s rights.

I wish our younger females would do some research, gay rights did not ever seek to trample on anyone else’s rights.
    The Trans Rights Movement want to be validated as the opposite sex legally, socially and biologically and that opens up a massive can of worms.

If trans people want to assert their rights as trans people I have no quibble. But I cannot and will not deny biological science – trans women are not women, transmen are not men.

I grew up in a generation where our fore-women had already fought for most of my rights. I hope our young females know what they’re so willing to give away. Coz those rights won’t be so easy to take back.

77. CameronB Brodie

I fear young women are simply being socially pressured to conform with the intensely misogynistic demands of radical trans-ideology, and that “PLURALISTIC IGNORANCE” is helping to support the ‘be nice’ mind-set.

Pluralistic ignorance and the perpetuation of social norms by unwitting actors.

Abstract
    Social life often requires us to form judgments and take action on the basis of imperfect information. When we decide to express an opinion, ask for clarification, order another drink, or overlook an inappropriate remark, we do so in light of what we believe other people are thinking and feeling. But how reliable are these beliefs on which we predicate so much of our social behavior?

This chapter offers a skeptical view, focusing on the phenomenon of pluralistic ignorance. Pluralistic ignorance describes the case in which virtually every member of a group or society privately rejects a belief, opinion, or practice, yet believes that virtually every other member privately accepts it. It is hypothesized that group identification is the root cause for many cases of pluralistic ignorance – that individuals often act out of a desire to be good group members but interpret others’ similarly motivated behavior as reflecting personal beliefs and opinions.

Two such cases of pluralistic ignorance, one concerning the attitudes of college students toward alcohol use on campus, and the other concerning the gender stereotypes held by elementary school students, are presented in this chapter.

(PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2016 APA, all rights reserved)

https://psycnet.apa.org/record/2003-02323-004

78. robertknight

Lochside at 6:13…

A depressingly accurate depiction of where we are IMHO.

79. Col.Blimp IV

Post-script to @6.52

When we returned to the car on the Sunday – We actually did encounter “Redcoats”.

A bunch of Nobs in full fox-hunting gear, getting into a Range Rover.

80. Col.Blimp IV

CameronB Brodie

As good an explanation as any as to why Germany’s Jews got carted off to the Concentration Camps.

81. Col.Blimp IV

…Or why 50,000 otherwise “normal” people can bounce up and down singing about being up to their knees in Fenian Blood, for that matter.

82. Lothianlad

Lochside @ 6.13.

WELL SAID INDEED!! What must be remembered is that the SNP is the party of Government in Scotland and we are no closer to independence.

The SNP has been infiltrated by the brit secret service and will cause the SNP to self destruct whenever independence is close.

Destroy the vehicle for freedom and it will be 1979 again, a golden chance gone due to the dark forces of the british state.

Locally in midlothian, the laziest MP with an ego to match his waste line has been surrounded by anti salmond careerists, who, like him have turned independence into a word never to be mentioned.

Fat cat careerists who have public money thrown at them with gold plated pensions paid for by the hard work of people who did the hard work and are having their dream of independence dashed by these vile , horrible brit nat puppets.

Oh, if only Wallence was here now!

83. Capella

@ Tarisgal – I agree. The technical skil needed for that kind of hacking is way above the competence of mammoth whale &Co. The spooks are definitely spooked. I haven’t looked near the BBC today. I gather there’s a massive propaganda exercise on. Noted some tweets though.

BBC Breaking News
    Italy’s death toll from the coronavirus passes 30,000, the highest in the EU https://bbc.in/3fuArmF

https://twitter.com/nw_nicholas/status/1258819087867797506?s=20

Replying to @BBCBreaking

For those missing the point of the propaganda:

Highest in the EU – Italy

Highest in Europe – UK

HTH

https://twitter.com/JodoKast69/status/1258792154685636610?s=20

84. Tinto Chiel

@Scozzie 6.52: no dissing/offence taken, I assure you.

The point I was trying to make (clumsily) was that one of my family, a feminist close to the All Men Are Bastards School of thinking, seemed sympathetic to the idea that someone in a dress with his full set of Man Parts is someone who could change in female dressing rooms and be regarded as a woman if he wanted to be (for how much longer will I be able to write that before I am criminalised?). As the Yanks say, go figure…..

Lochside @ 6.13: since you put it like that, eh, well, yes.

All those wasted years since 2014 and now we’re parked up a dead end street.

85. bipod

@jfngw

The lockdown was imposed on the 23rd of march. The virus has an incubation period of up to 14 days, plus the time from first showing symtoms to it becoming severe enough and needing hospitalisation and then death, means that the lockdown imposed on the 23rd of march could not be responsible for the peak and then decline seen on the 8 and 9th of april.

86. Prasad

Maybe young women don’t know what XX chromosomes means?
    I will ask my nieces.

87. CameronB Brodie

Col.Blimp IV @7:13pm
    Pretty much the same social dynamics.

88. CameronB Brodie

bipod
    You’re clearly not an expert in public health law, so stop being an irresponsible wank. Consider you balls metaphorically booted yah prick.

The Precautionary Principle Also Applies to Public Health Actions
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1446778/

89. Dog biscuit

Cameron ,So masterful!

90. Dog biscuit

So frightened of inconvenient facts.

91. CameronB Brodie

Dog biscuit
    You’ appear to be an irresponsible arsehole.

Precautionary Principle
    https://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/view/document/obo-9780199756797/obo-9780199756797-0046.xml

92. Dog biscuit

CBB You’re awful quick to stamp out anyone or anything that questions the official narrative.

93. Dog biscuit

You’re terribly abusive also .Thats often the sign of a lost argument.

94. Dog biscuit

Wrap yourself in the precautionary principle.

95. Dog biscuit

And baste on a medium heat Turkey.

96. cirsium

@tarisgal, 6.25
    It does not sound preposterous. When I saw one of the Uni-bairns gloating about silencing the Rev and saying the next target was Glinner, another outspoken critic of the trans kayfabe, I thought that this was one of the “soft on independence” types. However, producing many false reports requires the resources for data manipulation. This is more within the competence of the 77th Brigade/Joint Threat Research Group. The “soft on independence” cabal are providing, knowingly or unknowingly, a useful front for this activity.

97. Slackshoe

Might as well just rename this site to TERFs Over Scotland. What a fucking embarrassment.

98. bipod

Hey cameronB, which part of my posts do you actually disagree with? Maybe you could enlighten me, because all I am getting from you is that either you feel like your life is in mortal danger and therefore we all must stay under house arrest or something about the Precautionary Principle.

99. CameronB Brodie

Dog biscuit
    Not at all. This is a time of emergency and we can’t afford the luxury of tolerating right-wing bigots.

Do not violate the International Health Regulations during the COVID-19 outbreak
    https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(20)30373-1/fulltext

100. Graeme

Slackshoe says:
    8 May, 2020 at 8:22 pm

Might as well just rename this site to TERFs Over Scotland. What a fucking embarrassment.

—————————————————————–

Why ?

101. Joe

A society that protects dangerous and unstable men from hate speech by criminalising honest opinions while allowing those men access to the more private spaces of the more vulnerable people in our society –

‘Anarcho-tyranny refers to…a Hegelian synthesis when the state tyrannically or oppressively regulates citizens’ lives yet is unable to enforce fundamental protective law.’

Welcome to Scotland.

102. CameronB Brodie

bipod
    All I’m getting from you is the denial of the public health crisis in front of us. If you lack understanding of the precautionary principle, your judgement on the relevance of the principle to our circumstances, can not be considered reliable.

IMHO, your ignorance is outstanding but still doesn’t manage to outshine your sense of self-importance. 😉

103. stupidactingsmart

Capella says:
    8 May, 2020 at 4:49 pm
    “It’s really tragic that young women are so ignorant about biology. I wonder how they have been brainwashed into thinking that being kind involves supporting delusion.”

My version of this would be “It’s really tragic that (all followers of religion) are so ignorant about (reality). I wonder how they have been brainwashed into thinking that being kind (and/or respectful) involves supporting delusion.”

Is that too off topic? Is that more or less controversial? Religion has done more harm to women (and everyone else, and to Scotland) than the selfID legislation ever will. We’d all be better stamping that out before we get anywhere close to SelfID.

I don’t know what the answer is, though I think you can afford compassion to people who spend their lives feeling as though they are living in the wrong body and I consider myself lucky that I’ve never felt that way. And I know now it will never go away from this site but I personally wish it could be somehow distinct from the question of independence, myself. The SNP could lose my vote in theory (such as Labour’s war mongering did) but whatever position they were to take on SelfID wouldn’t affect it (certainly not pre-independence. Post-independence, everything’s on the table).

104. CameronB Brodie

bipod
    I suggest you educate yourself before seeking to influence public policy by quacking out your arse.

COVID-19 and the WHO’s International Health Regulations (2005)
    https://www.lexology.com/library/detail.aspx?g=c2edb745-5f18-4cc7-8d13-00acf8ebdf10

105. Joe

To all arguing with Mr Brodie – its pointless. You may as well discuss these issues with a dog. Except the dog might teach you something and wont fundamentally contradict itself on a regular basis. It wont constantly post articles full of shite either to be fair.

On this article: https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-arrival-of-the-wolf/#comments

On 6th May 2020 at 4:29PM

Cameron said ‘It’s easy to manipulate science in order to support a political agenda (see GERS).’

Then proceeds to try to deny, for hours, it could ever happen on the viewpoint he supports. While calling people who disagree bigots.

106. Golfnut

The SG not the only Government working under the radar so to speak, but why such urgency, what is the motivation, who are the organ grinders. Not the woke brigade in the SNP for sure.

https://www.facebook.com/1419943011629069/posts/2413751955581498/

107. cirsium

@Lochside 6.13

Good post and welcome back.

108. Beaker

Staying on topic. My view (and it may be bollocks) is that pressure groups tend to align with the strongest political group. If the Lib Dems were the strongest party in Scotland (this lockdown is affecting my sanity here), then the GRA would be getting pushed via them.

109. bipod

No cameronB I am have been questioning the effectiveness of the lockdown measures and the rationale behind it..

The ILO believes that 1.6 billion workers in the world face unemployment becuase of the measures https://www.ilo.org/wcmsp5/groups/public/—ed_protect/—protrav/—travail/documents/briefingnote/wcms_743623.pdf

What does the precautionary principle tell us about wrecking our entire economy, and leaving millions in poverty, when it is based off of questionable science?

110. CameronB Brodie

Joe
    I simply respect ethical jurisprudence and am running out of patience with aresholery.

111. Kenny J

Bit of news on CNN just now. Another nail in the queer wokies coffin.
    Berlin (CNN)Germany has become the latest country to ban gay conversion therapy for those below the age of 18.
    On Thursday, the country’s parliament approved a ban of so-called conversion therapies — which claim to be able to change a person’s sexual orientation or identity — for minors, and for adults who have been forced, threatened or deceived to undergo the controversial treatment.
    Under the ban, advertising the intervention to young people is also outlawed, and those in breach of the law will face fines or a jail sentence of up to a year.
    Federal Health Minister Jens Spahn said that the ban was an “important signal from society for all those who are unsure about their homosexuality.”
    Dearie me. So sad for Mr. Whale and friends. And the Tavistock.

112. CameronB Brodie

bipod
    I’ve posted enough knowledge on global health law for you to form an informed opinion for yourself, if you’d care to educate yourself. Yes the economy is badly damaged, but that is due to Tory incompetence. This situation will not be improved by more right-wing fuckwittery.

113. ahundredthidiot

Dropped in to see if there was any good debate going.

Noticed Covid Bedwetting Baby posting, so that’ll be me leaving then.

Freedom over Fear.

114. Auld Rock

Does anyone else agree that it’s about time that we had a moderator on this site – too many off-tune posts.

115. Muscleguy

So mint a Wings party already so we can all join and start campaigning. Once we all get badged up and campaigning the media will be unable to ignore us. I guarantee the Courier will be all over it once the local Wings Party gets out there because folk will ring them after we chap their door or get them on the street.

I’ll wear my Yes badges, Wings Party Badge and some Biological Reality and Warning: Biologist badges.

116. Scotspine

Get the List Party revved up Rev!

117. CameronB Brodie

Auld Rock
    If my tone is upsetting you then tough. The gravity of the situation we face merits direct communication, IMHO. Otherwise we are simply allowing ignorant prejudice the space to clutter up the debate.

COVID-19: time for paradigm shift in the nexus between local, national and global health
    https://gh.bmj.com/content/5/4/e002622

118. Muscleguy

@Bipod
    I’m a Biomedical Scientist, please inform me what ‘questionable science’ you are referring to. BTW I have done tissue culture where the measures and care you have to take to avoid the infection of your culture are intense. I have also done sterile surgery, ditto. And finally I have set up and validated a CAT2 workstation in the lab because I was putting adenovirus coat proteins into chick embryos (testing a means of getting DNA into them) ditto.

The institutes CAT4 lab caught fire (water bath boiled dry and the cutoff didn’t work). Fire Brigade broke the window to let the smoke out. Fortunately the incubators which housed the HUMAN INFECTIOUS AGENTS got fused shut by the heat. I understand why that was a PHEW! moment when I learned that.

BTW I’m as sure as I can professionally be without a test that I have had Covid-19 and it was no fun. My fever was so high that I was delirious. My muscles and joints ached like nothing, not even a 20 mile run aftermath. Fortunately it seems my immune system won in the battle for my lungs which is good because I’m asthmatic. But i’m also a lifelong distance runner and its folk with cardiovascular conditions who are most at risk and my ticker and vessels are those of a much younger man (I have the evidence) so I was fine.

I put myself in quarantine for 2 weeks post symptoms and wore a respirator mask in close public (shops) for the next week because I’m informed about the infection risk to others.

I cannot have flu vaxes because my last one back in the naughties I had a nasty allergic reaction to (closed my throat nasty). I can only wish folk took as much care over flu around me as they are over Covid 19 because I get bloody flu every year and every year it threatens my lungs.

Last year I was so bad I realised I had to see the doctor the next morning. But I got a really good night’s sleep and woke up much better. Before I got flu vaxes the flu would hit my lungs (living in London), fill them up with fluid, which would get infected requiring antibiotics and two weeks off work.

One hope is that after this we might copy the Japanes and use face maskes when we are ill to avoid infecting others.

119. tarisgal

cirsium says:
    8 May, 2020 at 8:21 pm

@tarisgal, 6.25
    It does not sound preposterous. When I saw one of the Uni-bairns gloating about silencing the Rev and saying the next target was Glinner, another outspoken critic of the trans kayfabe, I thought that this was one of the “soft on independence” types. However, producing many false reports requires the resources for data manipulation. This is more within the competence of the 77th Brigade/Joint Threat Research Group. The “soft on independence” cabal are providing, knowingly or unknowingly, a useful front for this activity

@cirsium
    Thank you! It didn’t sound preposterous in my head either, given what I had read. But there are always those that cry ‘another member of the tinfoil hat brigade’ abt those capable of putting 2+2 together. Specially from those that want/need to deflect…

Yep – it was that gloating capture that first made got me thinking… Stirling Uni doesn’t have enough students who could write enough complaints to justify taking someone off Twitter for good. How many bairns are in that SNP Uni group? Hundreds? 50 or so? I don’t know. But I would have thought to be really effective & sure to get the desired outcome, there would have to be a VERY large number? Did they join with, perhaps other SNP-bairns in other Uni’s? I’m not seeing anything written that would support that theory from what I have read. Just Stirling Uni. So at a guess I’m more inclined to believe Capella…

The ‘technical hitch’ in Stuart’s Account could well have given ‘people’ with more technical resources, a chance to harvest hundreds of real names, real accounts, to be used to send MANY reports of harassment to Twitter to justify having Stuart’s Twitter accounts taken down permanently. It was well known his accounts have been targeted a few times in the past & that he has had ‘warnings’ (I’m not saying they were justified). So having a few ‘bairns’ reporting his accounts would not be seen as unusual or unlikely. Quite the opposite; folks would think ‘it was just a matter of time before that happened’. Only… the ‘bairns’ couldn’t help crawin’ (thinking THEY had achieved it!)… And I couldn’t help questioning HOW MANY bairns did it, which led to other questions…

Anyone would have to be very naive, or very STUPID – or BOTH, to believe it couldn’t possibly be a stitch up. Whether that’s the way of it, its certainly POSSIBLE!

I never did get my tinfoil out… I don’t think I’ll be needing a hat for a bit yet…

120. CameronB Brodie

Getting back OT. Scotland’s democracy will not survive the penetration of anti-foundational legal philosophy into the practice of Scottish law.

Manual on Human Rights Monitoring
    Chapter 15
    Integrating gender into human rights monitoring

https://www.ohchr.org/Documents/Publications/Chapter15-20pp.pdf

121. CameronB Brodie

….into the practice of Scots law.

If the SNP can’t defend women’s rights, how can we hope for them to defend Scotland from Brexit? Our judiciary certainly appear to be a bunch of Tory fuckwits, so what do we do?

ECONOMIC, SOCIAL AND CULTURAL RIGHTS OF WOMEN
    http://hrlibrary.umn.edu/edumat/IHRIP/circle/modules/module4.htm

122. jfngw

Max Hastings states there were over 400k killed in WWII so 30,000 is nothing. He forgets the 400K was over 6 years and works out at under 6,000/month. The 30,000 in the first seven weeks of the virus is actually a worse death rate than WWII.

123. jfngw

@bipod @7:48

The incubation period is up to 14 days, many especially with health issues will more than likely deteriorate quicker. Those at the peak would have had the virus earlier, it Scotland- France game was on 8th March a full month prior to the peak when the outbreak was already in full flow in Europe. The advice to stay at home started on the 17th March, a full week before lockdown and 3 weeks prior to the peak.

124. ahundredthidiot

hahaha

President of Tanzania didn’t trust WHO, so he sent fake samples from sheep, goats, car oil and fruits to the lab without their knowledge – most were negative or inconclusive, but the papaya fruit and a wee bird was positive for COVID

you couldn’t make this stuff up…….and people have the cheek to talk about science

125. Dog biscuit

Most people survive the virus and Governments know it.No matter how much rank you pull Muscle guy that wont change the numbers .Why are so many medical professionals being banned off Youtube? Because they wont or cant yoe the Governments line.There is far too much dishonesty from our Governments on this issue.

126. CameronB Brodie

This place appears to be crawling with irresponsible, self-important, twats.

The Precautionary Principle, Evidence-Based Medicine, and Decision Theory in Public Health Evaluation
    https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpubh.2016.00107/full

127. Dog biscuit

If we become Independent as far as Im concerned everything is most certainly not on any bloody table. Sex cases will turn our country into a basket case..wait a minute

128. Dog biscuit

CBB whenever you get flushed out you resort to vetbal abuse.It’s one of your tells.

129. Dog biscuit

Jfngw,you’re tripping.

130. ahundredthidiot

When it comes to COVID there is no science – just theory.

All that matters is the data – and what is coming out of NYC should scare the bejesus out of everyone staying at home.

66% of cases are people who stayed at home – indoors and isolating.

131. Dog biscuit

President of Tanzania is my kind of guy.Hilarious!

132. CameronB Brodie

Dog biscuit
    “….get flushed out….” You appear to be having a bit of a laugh. No?

Implications of the Precautionary Principle for Primary Prevention and Research

Abstract
    The precautionary principle (PP) is an extension of the public health presage that prevention is better than cure. The PP has recently achieved new relevance in regard to serious but uncertain threats to human health and the environment and has now entered national and international legislation.

However, frameworks for its unambiguous application in practice are yet to be designed. They will depend on legal and cultural circumstances and are likely to involve pluralities of perspectives and stakeholder participation. The rules for causal reasoning and dose dependence need to be addressed and may be conveniently expressed in accordance with probability theory.

Although the PP will allow action before convincing evidence is secured, it is not science averse. However, it provides an occasion to review environmental health research strategies, methodologies, and research-reporting traditions. From this perspective, current research is afflicted by important biases and insufficient focus on major environmental health problems.

https://www.annualreviews.org/doi/full/10.1146/annurev.publhealth.25.050503.153941

133. Dog biscuit

When you are isolated your morale can lower making people a little more susceptible to illness.Even if Government were being honest I still think ‘lockdown’is utter insanity and a bad sign for the future.The precedent has been set .The compliance of the public complete.

134. Dog biscuit

LalalalalslalalaNANANANANANANANAlalalala…….

135. Eckle Fechan

Sounds like there’s a need for a Wee Pink Book, or Pamphlet maybe…

136. CameronB Brodie

Getting back on topic. Whoever is behind the take-down of the Rev.’s twitter accounts, they are certainly no fans of open democracy.

The ethical implications of the deconstruction of gender

Abstract
    This article explores the utility of current feminist scholarship for rethinking the ethical subject and its prospects for moral agency. Specifically it employs and appropriates Judith Butler’s early insights on the deconstruction of gender wherein she makes explicit connections between gender binarism and subject formation.

I make the case that by deconstructing the social institution of gender we can also dismantle the epistemological power of the binary paradigm. My goal is to find some moral possibilities in the midst of highly abstract theory about subject formation. In a rather unorthodox reading of Butler, I suggest that we can combine the potential of a poststructural analysis of subject formation with a feminist preference for egalitarianism.

The result is a modified moral subject that finds both its constraints and its agency in the material world. This compromised moral agent can serve as a starting point for rethinking ethics in a postmodern context.

https://academic.oup.com/jaar/article-abstract/70/2/279/756865?redirectedFrom=PDF

137. robertknight

Lothianlad @ 7:20

If Wallace were here, he’d undoubtedly feel like the rest of us with regard to our supposedly pro-Indy Government in Edinburgh…

youtu.be/f81OWKHi2yM

138. CameronB Brodie

robertknight
    When you’re copying youtube links, paste everything then remove all the characters before the www. 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f81OWKHi2yM&feature=youtu.be

Gender Equity, Ethics and Feminism: Assumptions of an African Ubuntu Oriented Society
    https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/09718923.2015.11893407

139. cirsium

@ahundredidiot,11.21

I noticed your comment about staying at home in NYC and getting infected with SARS-CoV2. This research from China suggests this as well.

https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.04.04.20053058v1.full.pdf

SARS CoV2 is highly infectious. Age over 65 is a key risk factor. Old sick people who were COVID positive were being sent from hospital back to the nursing home. These two article describe what happens https://www.rt.com/op-ed/488075-nhs-made-covid-19-crisis-worse/
    https://www.reuters.com/investigates/special-report/health-coronavirus-britain-elderly/

140. CameronB Brodie

I hope folk appreciate all this gender stuff can be applied to Scotland’s lack of constitutional justice.

Full text.

Universalism in feminist international ethics: gender and the difficult labour of translation
    Without translation, the very concept of universality cannot cross the linguistic borders it claims in principle, to be able to cross. Or we might put it another way: without translation, the only way the assertion of universality can cross a border is through a colonial and expansionist logic. (Butler, ‘Restaging the Universal: Hegemony and the Limits of Formalism’ in Butler, Laclau & Žižek Contingency, Hegemony, Universality: contemporary dialogues on the left, London, Verso, 2000: 35)

eprints.lse.ac.uk/51492/1/__lse.ac.uk_storage_LIBRARY_Secondary_libfile_shared_repository_Content_Hutchings,%20K_Universalism%20feminist%20international%20ethics_Hutchings_Universalism%20feminist%20international_2014.pdf

141. CameronB Brodie

I think those who claim to be feminists, or to simply support women’s rights, and who support gender-ideology at the same time, are simply virtue signaling and stroking their egos in public. I can think of a number of influential female members of the SNP who fit that description.

Gender Identity and Expression and Simone de Beauvoir
    “One is not born, but rather becomes, woman.”

https://www.nmu.edu/english/sites/DrupalEnglish/files/UserFiles/WritingAwards/Cohodas/Submitted_1206am_3-14_Gender_Identity_and_Expression_and_Simone_de_Beauvoir.pdf

142. Mist001

The lockdown in Scotland is about to be exposed as a meaningless joke and Mrs. Murrell is going to be hung out to dry because if, as expected, Boris Johnson makes an announcement on Sunday that lockdown restrictions in the UK are being lifted, then fine.

BUT………..

In Scotland, restrictions are still in place for the next three weeks at least.

So, how is Mrs. Murrell going to stop travellers from England entering Scotland since it’s part of the UK?

Unless Johnson tells the people in England that they’re not allowed to go to Scotland.

And I don’t think that’s on the cards.

The truth is, Mrs. Murrell can do nothing to stop this happening and everything that she has been saying for the past two months will be shown to be meaningless.

How can she tell the Scottish people that the lockdown is to be extended for a further three weeks and expect the Scottish people to follow that advice when the rest of the UK will be able to come and go in Scotland as they please?

The mouse that roared, indeed.

143. CameronB Brodie

At least I’m trying to be constructive about the SNP’s political re-edumication. Sorry for the length of this post but a scientific world view must be defended if Scotland is to retain any prospect of achieving any sort of constitutional justice. And hope for a sustainable future.

Meta-analysis of gender and science research
    Synthesis report

3 GENDER, INSTITUTIONS AND KNOWLEDGE

3.2 Gender analysis in research content
    In this chapter we present the main results of the meta-analysis of the literature dealing with gender analysis in research contents. To better understand the complex processes involved in the increasing participation of women and minorities in science and technology, Schiebinger (2008b) identifies three interrelated policy approaches to gender equality.

The first of these approaches focuses on programmes targeting women themselves in an effort to increase their participation in science and technology. The second approach seeks to increase women’s participation by reforming research institutions. The third focuses on overcoming gender bias by
    mainstreaming gender analysis into basic and applied research. This chapter focuses on the third approach.

The topic report on gender in research contents presents three articles that review gendered innovations in knowledge production over the past three decades with a focus on current approaches. Here we focus mostly on the general analytical framework presented in the introductory article (Schiebinger et al., 2010).

Further details about gendered innovation in biomedical and health research can be found in the article by Klinge and Newman (2010), whilst Schiebinger and Arlow (2010) address gender innovation in engineering and technology. These two latter articles review the literature in their respective areas from 1980-2010 and provide concrete examples of how sex and gender analysis can enhance excellence in science and technology. They are summarised in the last sections of this chapter.

Research has documented that methods, techniques and epistemologies of Western science are not value neutral with respect to gender and other social inequalities. The global leader in terms of policy seeking to encourage researchers to mainstream gender analysis into science and technology is the European Union’s DG Research. In 1999 the European Commission adopted an action plan to promote research ‘by’, ‘for’, and ‘about’ women (EC, 1999). This approach focused research on women as a group rather than on gender and did not take into account sex and gender issues in research (Klinge & Bosch, 2001).

In the 6th Framework Programme (FP6, 2002-2006), the DG Research implemented its cutting edge policy requiring that grantees applying for the largest grants (the Integrated Projects and Networks of Excellence grants) include a gender dimension in research. As stated in the call for proposals, research design must specify ‘whether, and in what sense sex and gender are relevant in the objectives and the methodology of the project’….

https://ec.europa.eu/research/swafs/pdf/pub_gender_equality/meta-analysis-of-gender-and-science-research-synthesis-report.pdf

144. Dorothy Devine

I notice , thanks to wondrous pictures sent to my screen by Microsoft , that there is OUTRAGE at the bank holiday drivers in Glasgow . Personally I have never seen the M8 that quiet .

There is also disappointingly a Reuters headline saying Blow for Putin as VE Day celebrations scaled down.
    Now I saw Putin announce this last week on RT , I think he considered it a necessary safety measure – much like the ‘safety ‘ measures Trump and Johnson have in place.

145. Dorothy Devine

Streuth! I clicked on the Herald – didn’t stay just read the first headline and thought ‘ feet with both barrels’

The once mighty and trusted Herald – no more.

146. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Mist001 at 1:50 am.

You asked,
    “So, how is M?r?s?.? ?M?u?r?r?e?l?l? the FM going to stop travellers from England entering Scotland since it’s part of the UK?”

“But a senior officer with Police Scotland told the Record motorists would be stopped from crossing the Border unless their journey was deemed essential.

When asked what would happen if the two governments were out of step, he said: “Therein lies the 64million dollar question. They (drivers) are likely to be, on face value, turned back or face prosecution.””

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/newsscotland/scots-cops-will-turn-english-drivers-away-at-border-if-lockdown-rules-split-uk/ar-BB13Lzn7?ocid=spartanntp&fbclid=IwAR2tzHyvQ1GeF02iGRdBN1GbSagW_Q33SLVXHpgpJONDzfwvOPgmnOk8L1A

147. Sensibledave

CBB

You are part of the problem. In your referenced article is the phrase “The first of these approaches focuses on programmes targeting women themselves in an effort to increase their participation in science and technology“.

A seemingly innocuous statement? What’s wrong with wanting to offer women more opportunity for participation in science and technology?

Nothing actually …. but that isn’t what it says. Implicit in the statement is the notion that women SHOULD have increased participation. That isn’t equal opportunity, that is social engineering in an attempt to create equal outcomes. It’s about choice. If women want to do something then they should have the equal opportunity to do it. But as soon as you decide that there are not enough in a particular field and you start pushing women to do something then you have crossed the line.

Should other areas of unequal outcomes be addressed! Should more women be made to be dustmen, or road diggers, or brick layers (whether they want to or not)? Should more women be put in prison, commit suicide, die younger, etc.

The 16-34 year old responders are those that have/are been through the education system in the last 10/15 years. That, I suspect is the problem. Schools and universities force teaching youngsters misplaced liberal, leftie nonsense … including all the gender stuff.

148. Willie

This survey confirms what the vast majority think. No doubt about that. The survey results are crystal clear.

What however is so stinking is how any political party would pursue a policy opposed by the vast majority of people. It’s absolutely bizarre to the extent that one could be forgiven for thinking it was some kind of ploy to destroy party popularity.

But that exactly is what the SNP are doing. At a time when Independence is probably closer than we could imagine, the SNP are queering their pitch.

And that is precisely why a decapitation strategy was put in place to destroy Alex Salmond and others of his ilk. The SNP have been electorally very successful. Under Alex Salmond they nearly ended the Union, and since then, and in the absence of any campaign whatsoever, independence support has remained high with polls now suggesting that fifty percent of folks would vote for independence.

Recognising that, it becomes crystal clear why it is so important that Salmond and his ilk must never be allowed to regain control of the party and the independence agenda.

Salmond’s trial brings that into clear perspective. But it is not just Salmond who is being attacked by the apparatus of the state, but also journalists like Craig Murray. Obstructed on reporting throughout the AS trial, he is now being pursued through the courts with potentially a custodial sentence.

Or what of the other journalists warned off by police and or having their house raided and computers and phones seized. Or what of the organisers of Independence marches being cautioned by police for alleged civic infringements in organising these marches.

Clearly all part of a plan.

Manipulation and murky intervention at a time when the union is weakest is what I think we are all beginning to see clearly before our eyes. And yes, the taking down of pro independence twitter accounts, the Astro turf bloggers, the universally hostile MSM, are all part of it too.

It’s a war, make no mistake, but without physical fighting and it’s being waged against the independence movement.

No surprise therefore that the SNP have gone soft on Independence, soft on Brexit and hard on wokerati policies that no one wants.

149. Dorothy Devine

regarding the Daily Record , it has just occurred to me that their intention might be to suggest that no-one is listening to our First Minister preferring instead the ideas of the Johnson cabal.

The dishonesty of the media is remarkable.

Regarding students attempting to shut down voices with which they disagree , I though the idea of university was to encourage free thought , vigorous examination of facts and robust debate – obviously I was wrong.

I attended the Murray Del Potro match in Glasgow some years ago and was grossly irritated by a contingent claiming to represent a certain university , attired in the British fleg and making a great spectacle of themselves .

I was not only disappointed by the behaviour of these ‘fans ‘ but also by the result of the match.

150. Dog biscuit

There is no border between Scotland and England so police Scotland unrealistic. So I doubt the legality of roadblocking drivers from down south.

151. Albaman

Dog biscuit@@10:03.
    Drink driving laws?.

152. CameronB Brodie

Sensibledave
    If you actually understood diversity and gender equality, you wouldn’t come out with bigoted, right-wing, pish, as is your habit. But then you’re a Tory. So you can fuck right off.

153. CameronB Brodie

Sensibledave
    Nah dave, stop projecting. You’re an arrogant, chauvinistic, bigot, who feels themselves powerful quacking out your arse.

Beyond Gender Difference to a Theory of Care
    https://pages.ucsd.edu/~bgoldfarb/Tronto-Beyond_Gender_Difference_to_a_Theory_of_Care.pdf

154. CameronB Brodie

Sensibledave
    I suggest the next time you attempt to misrepresent my opinion dave, try providing some evidence supporting your own, if you can find it, of course. Otherwise, you will simply be confirming your right-wing prejudice and bigotry. Mkay!

A social-cognitive approach to understanding gender differences in negotiator ethics: The role of moral identity

Women are more likely than men to have strongly internalized moral identities, leading to more ethical negotiation practices—but the situation can suppress women’s ethical strength.

https://gap.hks.harvard.edu/social-cognitive-approach-understanding-gender-differences-negotiator-ethics-role-moral-identity

155. CameronB Brodie

Sensibledave
    Do you believe women have an equal right to social inclusion as men? The reason I ask, is you don’t appear to acknowledge the plethora a historical, structural, barriers to gender equality and a respect for diversity. This suggests you’re a bit of a male chauvinist, which is coherent with you being a Tory, Mkay!

Diversity and Gender Equality
    https://nimd.org/programmes/gender/

156. CameronB Brodie

Not that I’m suggesting the left-wing aren’t structurally misogynistic, as well (see trans-activism).

Gender Differences in Personality: A Meta-Analysis
    http://cin.ufpe.br/~ssj/Gender%20differences%20in%20Personality%20A%20Meta-.pdf

157. Willie

Just caught sight of a Scottish Sun.

Ten full pages of Union Jack, Queen, Winston Churchill, Red White and Blue RAF fly past, it’s like the last night at the proms and the Tory party conference all rolled up into one.

All the tat of the fair one cannot but help see a brand down on its uppers. Overplayed, past its sell by date, it comes across as cheap and nothing less. Cheap political advertising for the present with very little to the tragedy of the past.

These people in their Union Quackery besmirch those who were lost all those years ago.

158. CameronB Brodie

Auld Rock
    Sorry if you thought me intransigent, it’s just I understand a bit about policy design and the processes of government. So our current predicament is possibly a bit more clearly in focus for me. Not that I doubt your desire for justice, it’s just I have a training in critical legal theory and stuff. I may be a bit rude but I do know a bit about political identities and human rights. 😉

Gender, Equity, and Diversity: CARE’s Gender Inclusion Workshops
    https://www.care.org/our-work/womens-empowerment/cares-gender-training-expertise-best-best/gender-equity-and-diversity

159. CameronB Brodie

This might give folks a better appreciation of where I’m coming from.

Gender Equity, Not Sex Selection
    http://bioethicalinquiry.com/gender-equity-not-sex-selection/

160. CameronB Brodie

The thing is, “moral realism” is kind of essential if we want to achieve gender equity. Remember that evil organisation with the “one world philosophy” of universal human rights and Natural Law.

Iris Bohnet: Gender equality must rest on a moral argument
    “Gender equality must rest on a moral argument. It just is the right thing to do. Full stop,” Professor Iris Bohnet says in her book What Works: Gender Equality by Design (Harvard University Press), presented at UNESCO on 20 April 2016. Built on new insights into the human mind, What Works shows how behavioral design can help us improve our societies, often at shockingly low cost and surprisingly high speed. It points out dozens of evidence-based interventions that could be adopted right now and demonstrates how research is addressing gender bias, improving lives and performance.

Wide Angle invites you to read a part of Professor’s Bohnet introductory remarks.

https://en.unesco.org/news/iris-bohnet-gender-equality-must-rest-moral-argument

161. CameronB Brodie

Of course, there are those who reject the moral realism of Natural Law ethics, but they tend to follow the Anglo-American school of analytical philosophy. Which is pants. Simples.

Aristotle’s relationship to moral realism and natural law
    https://fordham.bepress.com/dissertations/AAI9530028/

162. Dog biscuit

Alba point taken.

163. WhoRattledYourCage

It saddens me that the minds of so many Scottish young people have been damaged by the insane religious fundamentalist intersectionalist tenets coming out of white middle class American social media now. I got off Twitter because the place is just a madhouse. Waste of words.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.