A kind of transparency

Posted on September 11, 2020 by

On 17 January last year, the First Minister told the Scottish Parliament that she, her administration and her party would “co-operate fully” with the parliamentary inquiry into the Scottish Government’s handling of false allegations made against Alex Salmond.

She further assured the Parliament, unambiguously and without any qualification, that the committee investigating the matter “will be able to request whatever material they want, and I undertake today that we will provide whatever material they request”.

So just over a month in, we thought we’d check on how that was going so far.

8 JUNE

6 AUGUST

11 AUGUST

17 AUGUST

19 AUGUST

26 AUGUST

28 AUGUST

2 SEPTEMBER

3 SEPTEMBER

6 SEPTEMBER

7 SEPTEMBER

8 SEPTEMBER

10 SEPTEMBER

11 SEPTEMBER

Something certainly appears to be pretty transparent here. We’re not sure it’s the thing that’s supposed to be transparent, though.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 11 09 20 14:57

A kind of transparency | speymouth

2. 28 09 20 14:11

What’s going on – politics-99.com

208 to “A kind of transparency”

1. Stoker

As I’ve said countless times over, she’s now a proven liar and this case alone has lost her and the snp immeasurable amount of credibility in the eyes of many folk, myself included. Angry doesn’t even begin to look at it never mind cover it.

2. Ian Brotherhood

Linda Fabiani is getting some of these characters by the short ‘n curlies, demanding that they cough up material which really should’ve been provided to the committee when they appeared in person. Peter Murrell, in particular, had his baws skelped just t’other day.

All of the correspondence is published here:

https://www.parliament.scot/parliamentarybusiness/CurrentCommittees/115516.aspx

3. P

Transparency, inclusive, progressive… she does go on.
    Dishonesty, corruption, power hungry – aye, that’s it

4. bobbyMcPherson

Last article, last paragraph..”The deputy first minister has confirmed in his letter to the committee that the government is taking steps with a view to enabling the committee to have access to them, so far as possible.”
    Of all the issues you could be running with you choose to continue with
    your witch hunt against Nicola Sturgeon.
    I believe you are either dead or have completely lost the plot
    either way I’ve cancelled my subscription

5. shiregirl

What are they hiding? What is it they are sitting on that they don’t want to get out? Can AS provide his evidence?

Can AS take this to court and request documents from the Scot Gov subpoena duces tecum?

So many questions. It’s absolutely rotten.

6. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Last article, last paragraph..”The deputy first minister has confirmed in his letter to the committee that the government is taking steps with a view to enabling the committee to have access to them, so far as possible.””

There truly are none so blind as those who don’t want to see.

7. Blackhack

“Not in the public interest”….Which public would that be I wonder ??

8. Neil Mackenzie

Puzzling behaviour. Bit like a jigsaw.

9. susanXX

The whole thing stinks, and the SNP stinks with it.

10. Willie

Thanks Rev Stu for pulling out the First Minister’s claims that all due information would be provided and then contrasting that with the governmen and the civil servants utter refusal to hand over information.

Is Sturgeon a liar. Is Lesley Evans a liar. Or Liz Lloyd.

Have they got something to hide.

Seems so!0

11. Edward Andrews

What I can’t work out is whether this mess is the Civil Service running the ministers, and what extent it is being done willingly by the Ministers.
    There is also the problem that in the documents some of the names of the Alphabet women might be revealed.
    It boils down to either the Civil Servants have got too big for their boots and need cut back, or the Scottish Government is being cowardly and not wishing to uncover a can of worms.

12. Paul Sweeney

What would Grant Thoms make of it?

13. John Moss

So much for transparency then….

14. Big Jock

Not a good look , when the government hide documents. I smell shite!

15. Andrew Davidson

The jigsaw crew are absolutely running scared now.

HELL MEND THE LOT OF THEM.

Alec Salmond if you read this and want to take this lot to a higher court, my wallet is ready.

16. kapelmeister

Judging by the photie there, Nicola Richards looks remarkably like Sid Little in a wig. Only, Sid is more dynamic.

17. CameronB Brodie

The Scottish government appears to be desperate to follow Tory practice, with zero regard for the rule-of-law. These cats are no so far of the legal reservation, it does not look like I’ll end my days in a democracy.

Tort Litigation, Transparency, and the
    Public Interest

https://docs.rwu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1382&context=rwu_LR

18. CameronB Brodie

sorry….These cats are now so far of the legal reservation….

MISFEASANCE IN PUBLIC OFFICE:
    A TORT IN TENSION

https://law.unimelb.edu.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0010/3166057/09-Rock.pdf

19. Stoker

“Scotland’s chief law officer has said he would be ‘disappointed’ if the Scottish government failed to release key documents”

Oh my! What great big teeth you have Grandma. 🙂 Pathetic!

20. stonefree

@ bobbyMcPherson at 12:48 pm

Are you really serious?…..

21. Effijy

Well that establishes the next move, the documents have been deleted in error or gone missing along with the 114 paedophile documents on Westminster Associates.

Nothing Dirtier than a Dirty Politician.

Poor Alex must be scared to drive down a secluded road or take drinks in a public place in case he ends up with some fake Novichok poisoning.

22. iain mhor

Heheh class.

The deputy first minister has confirmed in his letter to the committee that the government is taking steps with a view to enabling the committee to have access to them, so far as possible.””

“In due course Humphrey, at the appropriate juncture, in the fullness of time, when the moment is ripe, when the necessary procedures have been completed – nothing precipitate of course…”

23. stonefree

@ shiregirl at 12:49 pm

Can AS provide his evidence?, most of the stuff but there might be things that he would need the court permission to produce, that was staed in the Lawyer’s letter last week

Can AS take this to court and request documents from the Scot Gov subpoena duces tecum?….Don’t really know except AS could say or write to the court, and tail off with ” If I’m telling lies , produce the documents that prove I’m wrong”

24. kapelmeister

The U.S. Supreme Court ordered Nixon to release the Watergate tapes. Which body can order the SG to release all relevant material in this case?

25. Robert Graham

It doesn’t matter how much bleedn Lipstick is applied to this pig

It’s still a bleedn Pig

No amount of Aye but , but if , our aim is to cooperate well that excuse doesn’t fly anymore my aim is to be a millionaire and live a long and happy life , but if I don’t make any effort it’s all just a dream.

So whoever is obstructing this inquiry and A Second Referendum get out of the fn way the majority of the supporters are fed up to the back teeth of people in the shadows fn about anymore pissn about will cause long term damage and the top management of the SNP are in the firing line .

26. Astonished

This and the trans fiasco, yusuf’s hate crime bill and school sex education for grooming is not going away.

We are not backing down and those who let stonewall et al harm children (whether straight, gay or bi) better start preparing for the consequences.

This has got to lead to the downfall of the woke.

I am pleased to see a number of politicians are publicly standing up to the woke anti-science, misogynist bullies. Sadly none in SNP…yet.

As the red tories used to say -“if you have nothing to hide ,you have nothing to fear”.

27. Gregor

Openness and Transparency – Pillars for Democracy, Trust and Progress:

“Openness and transparency are key ingredients to build accountability and trust, which are necessary for the functioning of democracies…”:

https://www.oecd.org/about/secretary-general/opennessandtransparency-pillarsfordemocracytrustandprogress.htm

28. Breeks

It’s almost as if they’re trying to cover up some kind of conspiracy!

Oh…

29. Newburghgowfer

Nanny Sturgeon Poppins and her cohorts like giving the people a spoonful of shit served as sugar to keep the hypocrites who lap up her every word in check.
    A party for me that everyday looks like the dregs of what Scottish Labour used to be like.
    For me the Unionists are not making more of this skullduggery which suggests they have the SNP exactly where they want knowing that another Indy vote won’t happen under their watch.
    Its a win win for them as any compensation Alex wins is small change in the scheme of things

30. Robert Graham

Aye bobbyMcPherson hope the spelling is right but don’t really give a shit anyway , I used to defend the SNP but sooner or later you get it and eventually you will as well maybe just a little slow on the uptake.

Still watching Petra ?

Look and Learn it doesn’t look good the managements efforts to stop you finding out the Truth eh maybe you will eventually waken up and discover you have been duped Big Time and what you have believed is all wrong, you are not alone and are probably a good person but Wakey Wakey

31. Republicofscotland

It will be like pulling teeth trying to get the info that the committee needs. Of course there’s obviously something to hide when they’re not forthcoming with it.

I’d imagine they’ll hold back as much incriminating documents as possible until the very last minute, in the case that Salmond goes to court over them, or in the event he doesn’t and they get away with producing them.

Either way it damages the SNP’s credibility.

32. cirsium

What happened to “work as if you live in the early days of a better nation”?

33. Ian Brotherhood

Does anyone know what constitutes ‘contempt’ in the committee proceedings? And what powers the convener has to deal with it?

For example – Evans turning up for the second time without information she could and should have anticipated would be asked about and/or failing to remember whether or not SPADs were present at any meetings.

34. Bob Mack

I must admit that I grudgingly admire those who defend the First Minister at all costs regardless of evidence. It must be something to be so doggedly stupid. Truly they are worthy of SNP membership.

Despite everything which indicates the contrary, they believe that Nicola is an innocent abroad, possibly duped by her husband or controlled by a clique within the party.

In either case she should not be First Minister. She leads of she does’nt.

She clearly is involved in trying to conceal evidence from the Inquiry. Senior Civil Servants who can’t remember details of events correctly, or indeed at all
    A husband who tried to evade documents and evidence he was asked to provide and instead tells the Committee that “He wisnae there”.

Is it so hard for Nicola to turn to her husband and tell him to comply with what he was asked to do? No .Me neither.

Cover up .Cover up. Cover up .Writ large and featuring the one common denominator in it all. The person who asked the Civil Servants to create law to prosecute former First Ministers That was poor Wee innocent Nicola.

35. lothianlad

The british secret service who own several high ranking and/ or influential people in the SNP Scottish Government, were not expecting the Jury to return a Not guilty verdict on AS.

Truth will always come out!

Squeeky bum time at Bute house?!

36. Republicofscotland

So die-hard British nationalist Labour’s Ian (Butchers Apron suit) Murray is furious at the Welsh FM for standing up for a second Scottish independence referendum, so much so that Murray has contacted his boss, the millionaire knight of the realm Sir Keir Starmer to complain about it.

37. Ian Brotherhood

And another thing about the committee process…

What’s all this pish about ‘I will write to the committee about something I can’t quite remember off the top of my head…’

It’s all happening in Edinburgh, right?

Why can’t the convener say ‘Right, okay smartarse, we’ll have a blether amongst ourselves for half an hour while you go to your office. Don’t come back without it.’

38. CameronB Brodie

Astonished
    Have you not been paying attention to the evidence I’ve been supplying? The GRA amendments are not compatible with a woke perspective, which seeks to empower the politically marginalised, but does not reject biological reality. The GRA amendments will severely restrict women’s safe access to the public realm, with the result that their economic, social, and cultural rights will be severely impaired.

Those who support the GRA amendments are simply blind to Tort law.

Civil Rights in Ordinary Tort Cases: Race, Gender,
    and the Calculation of Economic Loss

http://digitalcommons.lmu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=2476&context=llr

39. lothianlad

ROS,

“Either way it damages the SNP’s credibility”.

Exactly what the british secret service want! Discrediting High ranking officials in the SG (We all know who that is/they are)will be their consolation prize!

backed by their complicant media they will go all out to attack independence by hanging out to dry SNP SG ministers.

If you get into bed with the british state, bad things are sure to happen.

40. Republicofscotland

Scottish Labour pee, takes credit for putting the lives of Scots at risk especially those that are vulnerable and those who don’t have access to a computer with regards to the virus. If Labour aren’t already dead in Scotland, they should be after this.

“LABOUR peer George Foulkes has claimed credit for the BBC’s decision to take the First Minister’s coronavirus briefings off-air.”

https://www.thenational.scot/news/18713786.labour-peer-takes-credit-bbc-decision-stop-broadcasting-briefings/

41. Frank Gillougley

When this is all said and done, if Tilda Swinton doesn’t get the part of playing Leslie Evans in the movie,’The rise and fall of the Scottish Government,’ then I’ll vote Tory.

42. Tannadice Boy

Well done Stu an excellent article. My main concern has always been the incarceration of a man that a jury found was innocent. The jury examined the evidence of the case but not the evidence that Salmond had of a SG conspiracy. I believe in the jury system it was the jury that looked into the eyes of the witnesses. This won’t go away.

43. Astonished

CameronB Brodie : I think you misread my post. I do not support the GRA bill. It has no merit.

44. CameronB Brodie

re. George Foulkes. What else can you expect from BritNat?

I certainly don’t want a future Scotland to be shaped by the government’s lack of respect for a duty of care and the rule-of-law. But that’s what appears to be afflicting the Scottish government. I blame their legal advisors, and civil servants who have pledged allegiance to the Crown in Parliament.

Yale Law & Policy Review, Vol. 21:473, 2003
    Duties of Care and the Constitution:
    A Negligence Model of Individual Rights

https://digitalcommons.law.yale.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1461&context=ylpr

45. CameronB Brodie

Astonished
    The woke perspective is laudable, I was simply trying to correct your misrepresentation of the GRA amendments being woke.

46. Stoker

Bozo has called a parliamentary party/group meeting for early this evening. Not sure of time but nobody has been informed of what it’s all about. Resignation? Doubt it!

47. CameronB Brodie

Sorry for the OT. The male physiology is not capable of childbearing, which is the sole capacity of a female physiology. However, the GRA amendments insist a person’s sex is a matter of personal psychology, thereby insist that motherhood is not part of womanhood., So the GRA amendments can not be considered compatible with liberal democracy.

Tort Law and Distributive Justice
    https://law.biu.ac.il/files/law/shared/tort_law_and_distributive_justice.pdf

48. Ronald Fraser

And how many documents will be put through the shredder???

Are all the missing documents accounted for,,,as in, do we know what we are waiting to see, or will Sturgeon’s team turn up with their own cherry picked set of documents???

49. Wulls

bobbyMcPherson says ”The deputy first minister has confirmed in his letter to the committee that the government is taking steps with a view to enabling the committee to have access to them, so far as possible.”

Seriously Bobby…….What does “so far as possible” actually mean to you ???????

Think hard loon

50. kapelmeister

Stoker

A parliamentary group meeting on a Friday evening. That is very unusual.

51. CameronB Brodie

sorry….is solely the capacity of….

52. Corrado Mella

It’s happened faster than with Labour.
    The SNP has gone off, well past the use by date.

The run up to the next Holyrood election will be fun!

Oh, by the way: another shining example that women in politics are not special or better then anyone else just by means of a genetic accident at conception.

53. Republicofscotland

“CameronB Brodie says:
    11 September, 2020 at 2:45 pm
    re. George Foulkes. What else can you expect from BritNat?”

Cameron.

In the link you’ll find that Jackie Baillie was also instrumental in having the important Covid-19 briefings stopped. I wonder how her constituents feel now that she has effectively put their lives in danger by helping to stop important information getting to them.

The Scottish Tory branch office Murdo Fraser (never directly elected) in particular cried out for the briefings to be stopped, he too along with his branch office in Scotland has helped to endanger the lives of Scots by denying them important information.

54. Bryan Weir

FFS I never thought I would see the day when Wings would be Tweeting articles from all the right wing media to make a point.

Sadly your blog has now become a rich feeding ground for those who want Scotland to remain in this bitter Union.

55. Stoker

@ kapelmeister on 11 September, 2020 at 3:06 pm

Aye! It’s a strange one.

First they gloat then they try to delete & deny:

https://twitter.com/katiec1314/status/1304404230216863744

56. kapelmeister

Bryan Weir @3:11 pm

It doesn’t seem to be a bitter Union for Sturgeon and her inner circle. They give plenty of indications that they’re content with it.

57. susanXX

Why is rightwing bad and leftwing good? I have fk all in common with Tommy Sheridan doyen of some on here or with St. Jimmy Reid. Independence should be neutral on this, issues for AFTER independence, along with the hate crime and genderwoowoo shite, not before.

58. Cuilean

Imagine how things would go, if Nicola Sturgeon and her husband, Peter Murrell, the highest paid, unelected SNP official, were not in their high offices?

The good news is that every politician’s career ends in failure and both will one day be ex-CEO and ex-First Minister. It will only be then that the truth will emerge.

The pair seem just as adroit at keeping secret, how much Mr & Mrs Murrell take from the party coffers by way of Mr Murrell each month.

I know hindsight is 20/20, but imagine how completely different things would be for Scotland today, if Alex Salmond had never resigned in 2014 but had stayed where we have always needed him?!

There would have been no show trial and AS would never have been dictated to, the way NS has been dictated to, since the Brexit vote.

I doubt the Gender Recognition Act or the hate Bill would have been given the same attention, over more pressing matters, like, oh, I don’t know, ….. oh, yes…. inde – fn – pendence

Has Scotland been nursing two vipers to its bosum since 2014?

Time will tell. Time will tell. The truth to all the jiggery pokery will eventually come out, just as sure as the turning of the earth.

59. Woodside Wullie

Is it apparent transparency or actual transparency?

60. Paul D

Another fascinating article Rev. I hadn’t fully appreciated the extent of the Scottish Government’s obfuscation and obstruction in relation to this inquiry.

A fish rots from the head…

61. Helen Yates

Corruption at the very heart of the party and Scotgov, Scotland will never see independence while these rogues remain in place.

62. CameronB Brodie

susanXX
    The right-wing tends to privilege custom and tradition, and tends not respect the principle of equality in law. The left wing used to oppose this, until they were unable to resist neo-liberalism. So they came up with genderwoowoo, as a means of bringing about radical social change they couldn’t achieve democratically.

A left-wing outlook is still more likely to support universal rights and the rule-of-law.

63. Cuilean

Here is the blurb from the book, ‘Thatcher’s Spy – My Life As An Mi5 Agent Inside Sinn Fein’ – by Willie Carlin –

“Early one morning in March 1985, as he climbed the six steps of Margaret Thatcher’s prime-ministerial jet on the runway of RAF Aldergrove, little did Willie Carlin know the role Freddie Scappaticci played in saving his life”.

So began the dramatic extraction of Margaret Thatcher’s key undercover agent in Sinn Féin – Willie Carlin, aka Agent 3007. For 11 years the former British soldier worked alongside former IRA commander Martin McGuinness in the republican movement’s political wing in Derry. He was MI5’s man at McGuinness’ side and gave the British State unprecedented insight into the IRA leader’s strategic thinking. Carlin worked with McGuinness to develop Sinn Féin’s election strategy after the 1981 hunger strike, and MI5 reports on McGuinness, Gerry Adams and other republicans were read by the British Cabinet, including Margaret Thatcher herself.
    When Carlin’s cover was blown, in mid-1985, thanks to one of his old MI5 handlers being jailed as a Soviet spy, Thatcher authorised the use of her jet to whisk him to safety. Incredibly, it was another British ‘super spy’ inside the IRA’s secretive counter-intelligence unit, the ‘nuttin’ squad’, who saved Carlin’s life. The Derry man is perhaps the only person alive thanks to the information provided by the ‘jewel in the crown’ of British military intelligence – Freddie Scappaticci, aka Stakeknife.

In Thatcher’s Spy, the Cold War meets Northern Ireland’s Dirty War in the remarkable real-life story of a deep under-cover British intelligence agent, a man now doomed forever to look over his shoulder. . .

If anyone thinks that Mi5 do not have highly placed deep cover spies working with Sturgeon (and previously with Salmond), you are not being alert.

64. Shug

It is quite good the BBC blocking Nicola’s briefings. It means the government will need to develop a communication strategy excluding them.
    This will be an excellent tool for the wlection

65. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“FFS I never thought I would see the day when Wings would be Tweeting articles from all the right wing media to make a point.”

Oh do fuck off, Bryan. These stories are all reporting (accurately) the comments made by the committee, which is chaired by an SNP MSP and has three other SNP MSPs on it. Resorting to shooting the messenger is a Unionist classic.

66. pa_broon74

Haven’t had one of those civil parking tickets for a while, the kind you get from the private companies…

But this language:

Last article, last paragraph..”The deputy first minister has confirmed in his letter to the committee that the government is taking steps with a view to enabling the committee to have access to them, so far as possible.”

is pretty much the same I used to read in the threatening letters they’d send from their ‘legal department’ (which I think was the guy on the next desk over):

“We have instructed our agents to advise our legal department to begin paperwork with a view to bringing forward plans to begin the initial steps toward legal proceedings.”

Otherwise known as weasel words…

It’s a hell of a situation – what a mess.

67. leither

alex salmond refused to publish legal advice too. such legal advice is given to ministers by lawyers in confidence.

to reveal it, would betray the confidence of the lawyers. thats why ministers dont reveal such advice.

alex didnt either

http://www.scottishconservatives.com/2013/05/salmond-refuses-to-reveal-eu-legal-advice/

68. Shug

The BBC has been the main source of misinformation and confusion
    See the frequency of them to us type anti mack groups being given a voice
    They seem totally incapable of presention the different rules in different areas
    Better without them

69. CameronB Brodie

susanXX
    P.S. Unlike previous left-wing reform, genderwoowoo does not seek to create a fairer society, it seeks to undermine the fabric of culture without providing a viable alternative. Supporting the introduction of genderwoowoo, which is not compatible with moral theory, will undermine the potential for justice and social cohesion.

70. G H Graham

Leslie Evans “forgot” that Liz Lloyd was present at three meetings in Oct/Nov 2018 when discussing legal advice in response to the judicial review.

Perhaps the good lady needs to seek medical advice to account for her poor recollection of events?

Maybe the dog ate her homework?

Or maybe the FOI request demonstrated that she was caught, flat out lying?

Just like Sturgeon, eh?

One might also wonder what sort of “special relationship” exists between these two, shielded by their Morningside McGlitterati, that could cause someone to allege that they’ll do whatever it takes to cover each other’s back?

71. Republicofscotland

“This will be an excellent tool for the wlection”

Afraid not Shug, this is the extent of Sturgeon’s outcry.

“It’s for the BBC, all I would ask is that they take all of that into account in the decisions that they make.”

She also mentioned that the briefings will be on the S&G channel, not much help if you don’t have a device to access it.

https://www.thenational.scot/news/18714591.full-read-nicola-sturgeons-comments-reporter-bbcs-decision-can-briefings/

72. CameronB Brodie

P.P.S. Supporting the introduction of genderwoowoo into Scots law, is aiding the neo-liberal colonisation of the law, as genderwoowoo is concentrated neo-liberal theory and practice (see. “performativety”).

Destabilizing Orders – Understanding the Consequences of Neoliberalism: Proceedings from the MaxPo Fifth-Anniversary Conference. Paris, January 12–13, 2018
    http://www.maxpo.eu/pub/maxpo_dp/maxpodp18-1.pdf

73. Ian Brotherhood

I ask again – does anyone know what constitutes contempt from the committee’s point of view, and what sanctions are available to the convener?

74. Andy Ellis

@Ian Brotherhood 4.03pm

From Scottish Parliament website relating more to potential prosecution for failing to attend, not for turning up and (for example) someone being a galactic class liar in evidence actually given:

http://www.parliament.scot/parliamentarybusiness/24416.aspx#:~:text=Committees%20can%20invite%20and%20have,attend%20to%20give%20oral%20evidence.&text=The%20power%20to%20require%20the,Act%20and%20from%20Rule%2012.4.

“Witnesses

5.12. Committees can invite and have the power to require witnesses to submit written evidence and attend to give oral evidence.

5.13. The power to require the attendance of witnesses and the production of documents is derived from section 23 of the Scotland Act and from Rule 12.4. It applies in relation to any subject for which the Scottish Government has general responsibility.

5.14. There are some statutory limitations on this power. Committees cannot require a judge or tribunal member to give evidence and a person is not obliged to answer questions or produce documents if he or she would be entitled to refuse to do so in proceedings in a court in Scotland. A procurator fiscal is not obliged to answer questions or produce documents concerning a criminal prosecution if the Lord Advocate considers that to do so would prejudice criminal proceedings or would be contrary to the public interest.

5.15. If a person were to be required to attend or produce documents, he or she would be notified in writing by the clerk. A person who, without reasonable excuse, did not comply with such a requirement could be prosecuted for a criminal offence.

5.16. Although committees have this power of compulsion, it has not to date been used and in practice witnesses attend in response to an invitation from the committee.

5.17. At a very early stage in an inquiry, and often before the formal launch, committees may give preliminary consideration to identifying possible witnesses to give oral evidence. Consideration of possible witnesses at this stage should be regarded as only a preliminary as the range of witnesses may extend as the inquiry develops.”

75. robertknight

I see the “Independent” (Lol) Councillors on Shetland are agitating for Indy. I wonder how many of them are native Shetlanders? (Didn’t hear many local accents last time I was up there).

Is this the part where Boris bypasses Holyrood and chucks a sh1t load of £ at them, with EU-style funding signs everywhere, but emblazoned in Union Flags with “This project is funded by the UK Regional Development Fund” or similar.

You can see it coming…

76. Andy Ellis

@robertknight

Wait until the Shetlanders find out they wouldn’t have much in the way of oil reserves! As an independent state, they’d have to negotiate their EEZ with Norway, Denmark (for the Faroes) and Scotland.

From memory when I researched this some years ago (mostly in relation to horrified yoons finding out that if the Northern Isles elected to stay in the UK when Scotland became independent they’d be treated as a UK exclave within Scotland’s EEZ and therefore only entitled to a 12 mile territorial limit) there was also some discussion about the situation if Shetland or the Northern Isles became an independent state.

The conclusion was that their “new” EEZ would be significantly worse than the current dividing line between the UK, Norway and Denmark because the UK as the larger entity had a good argument for a larger EEZ. That wouldn’t apply to an independent Shetland or Northern Isles: the boundaries of their EEZ would be redrawn in favour of Norway and Denmark.

Of course, if a majority of the good folk of Shetland want to become independent, no self respecting supporter of Scottish independence should stand in their way. The only proper polling I’ve ever heard of however (for the P&J prior to indyref1) showed >80% favoured remaining part of Scotland in the event Yes won.

Facts are chiels that winnae ding…..even in Norn!

77. CameronB Brodie

Not only do we have a pretend parliament, we appear to have pretend legal officers.

European Journal of International Law, Volume 17, Issue 1, February 2006, Pages 187–214
    Global Administrative Law: The Quest for Principles and Values

https://academic.oup.com/ejil/article/17/1/187/410948

78. Ian Brotherhood

@Andy Ellis (4.15) –

Cheers aplenty.

79. liz

More and more I realise how amazing the jury was in listening to the evidence and reaching a verdict based on that alone.

Everyone of them should be praised to the skies.
    Funny how 2 weeks into Covid, NS and Humza were discussing trial without juries.

What have we done to deserve these charlatans?

80. livionian

We just have to trust that the truth will come out in good time and the right people will be held accountable… I am not holding my breath.

81. CameronB Brodie

Our government is a bit of a joke, but that’s a consequence of Parliamentary sovereignty, and constitutional practice that lacks coherence and compatibility with the Common law and international law.

Accountability: a core
    public law value?

Abstract:

Accountability is a core public law, if not constitutional, value, with close ties to rule of law and separation of powers. Despite this status, the Australian public law system presents only a thin reflection of accountability. This is because it provides control of public power, but not restoration or punishment in cases of abuse of power.

This article uses the concept of accountability as a lens through which to view the limitations of existing public law remedies, and briefly outlines two of the potential explanations for these limitations: constitutional barriers and the availability of alternative remedies.

https://opus.lib.uts.edu.au/bitstream/10453/123289/4/Rock%20-%20Accountability%20a%20core%20public%20law%20value%20pre-print%20version.pdf

82. Juteman

Don’t care about any of this.
    They could all be Satanists. So what?
    All i’m interested in is Scotland free from English domination.

83. leither

the scottish government have sought to conceal that information from voters on the grounds that confidentiality ensures the government receives candid expert advice undistorted by public opinion.

So perhaps someone can explain to us why the scottish government is currently subject to a huge media storm about it

84. Bob Mack

Does not Mrs Murell discuss all matters relating to the SNP as a party with her Chief Executive husband ? He indicates she never talks about Governance with him even though that Governance is about and pertaining to the party to which they both belong.

Can we assume therefore Mr Murrell does not get informed of potential legislation, changes in government policy which affects party members who sit in government, or involved in party strategy which is supposed to liberate us from the very need to tolerate civil service or Westminster interference in Scotland ?

Do you honestly believe that? yet he produces appendices for his letter to the Committee indicating he knew that these things were done,completed, and adopted as policy.

Sham.

85. Robert Louis

It’s like they have something to hide. They do.

The whole thing stinks. What has been done to Alex Salmond is the very worst. A wholly innocent man, who was and is a far better leader than the current lying wastrel in Bute House. This is why I now despair about independence.

The crooked current leader of the SNP should go now, and let us get on with independence BEFORE 31st December 2020. After that date, it will be too, too late. You’ll be lucky if their even is a Scottish parliamentary election in May next year, their probably won’t even be a parliament.

86. robertknight

Andy Ellis…

Good to know. But you can see the islands and both the Borders and Dumfries & Galloway, weel kent Tory hotspots, being inundated with “funded by UK” billboards.

Westminster will be trying to create a version of Ireland’s partition in Scotland, based on the flow of Westminster cash as opposed to religion.

Divide and rule, the British way.

87. holymacmoses

Wings, thanks so much for this.
    I still do not understand how how SNP thought that they could effectively devise a system of control over their employees who no longer worked for them – it seems ludicrous to me! That lot have an arse over elbow way of looking at justice, rights and power. And even worse, it appears to me that quite a few of them them are ultimately none too bright. I do hope Mr Salmond sorts them all out eventually.
    Tannadice Boy
    I am in total agreement here. And even further, I do not and never will understand the motivation to destroy a man who has given almost all of his working life to the cause of Scottish independence. During that time his enemies tried time and again to ‘catch him out’ and failed hopelessly because he may be a silly man from time to time but I’m certain that he’s not a bad man. Now after all these years he has been attacked by the person who should be most grateful to him. Words cannot express how much I despise Nicola Sturgeon and her camp followers. I distinctly remember her saying in an interview soon after she took over that
    ‘Alex would never do anything to damage (hurt?) her – I have been looking for that clip ever since and have failed to find it.

88. Desimond

This somehow reminds me of Fergus McCann pursuing Jim Farry at the SFA for deliberately holding up the transfer of Jorge Cadete.

The SFA haughtily laughed off the first complaints and the Media told McCann to uck it up and move on. McCann persisted and then they just shooed away the second complaints expecting that to be the end of it.

McCann then went over their heads straight to the law courts and then the SFA suddenly found themselves saying “We concede” in Court one lunchtime break, after a terrible witness destruction by the simple act of just having to answer the previously ignored questions truthfully.

It all ended with the SFA saying “We concede…the trial is over…you win!..Farry is toast ( with an unspoken caveat of “but just leave the rest of us alone eh””

Cue Farry exiting with Establishment flunkies in the Media complaining about the loss of a great Administrator but his settlement and pension were okay of course.

Truth will out regardless of how may layers of obstruction is thrown on top of it.

Knowing Alex Salmonds determination, the question now is who is gonna take the fall for this one…Contenders ready!

89. Robert Louis

Juteman at 440pm

I agree with the sentiment, but honestly, I think hell will frezze over before Nicola Sturgeon makes even the slightest move towards independence. We can vote for them as much as we like, she has made it clear through her intransigence and perpetual procrastination, that she really has no strong desire to get independence.

Let’s say the SNP get a majority in May next year, and call indyref. When will it actually be held? 2021? 2022? nobody knows, but by that time Scotland will be irreversibly trapped in trade deals forced upon us by England. Their will be no way out, and the English regime will make sure of it. That is why I say 2021 is way too late. Independence is urgent, really, really urgent. The only person whoo apprently cannot grasp that, is Nicola Sturgeon.

As a former SNP member, I genuinely wish it wasn’t so. Nicola is a waste of space so far as indy is concerned.

90. Andy Ellis

@robertknight

Indeed. However, I can’t see that many Borderers going down the “Donetsk People’s Republic” route. Sad as I would be to see them or the Shetlanders go, I’d have no interest in making them stay in Scotland if the majority preferred to stay part of post brexit UK: good luck to them! I have my doubts about the seriousness of any unionists in the Borders seriously advocating the balkanisation of Scotland.

Some of them may feel both British and Scottish, but if they have to choose one I’m fairly confident only a small minority of “bitter einders” would vote with their feet and leave or actually advocate secession for Dumfries & Galloway and the Borders. Perhaps we can encourage residents of Berwick on Tweed to start advocating for a celtic version of “enosis”? 🙂

91. Robert Louis

Holymacmoses at 446pm,

Great comment. Totally agree with this;

“I do not and never will understand the motivation to destroy a man who has given almost all of his working life to the cause of Scottish independence. During that time his enemies tried time and again to ‘catch him out’ and failed hopelessly because he may be a silly man from time to time but I’m certain that he’s not a bad man. Now after all these years he has been attacked by the person who should be most grateful to him. “

92. Stan Broadwood

The evil little bastard Sturgeon and her man remind us more and more of Hitler and the rise of the Nazi Party in Germany.

With Sturgeon’s Hitler Youth being her Woke Brigade.

And Mr Murrell her very own Joseph Goebbels.

How far would Sturgeon go if she could proceed completely unchecked.

“Paul Joseph Goebbels was a German Nazi politician and Reich Minister of Propaganda of Nazi Germany from 1933 to 1945. He was one of Adolf Hitler’s closest and most devoted associates, and was known for his skills in public speaking and his deeply virulent antisemitism, which was evident in his publicly voiced views”

93. Tannadice Boy

@susanxx
    I met Jimmy Reid and I thought of him as a sensible guy when he addressed my graduate group. Everybody liked him at the after event speech. Am I left wing? No, I am in the centre where I believe we should be to win Independence. The kind of Scotland I want to live in is dependent on policies. Get it sorted SNP. The gravest question for me will be to be asked to vote for Indy with all this pish in the background.

94. ahundredthidiot

Nicola Sturgeon isn’t one of us.

She just isn’t. We were all duped, just get over it and get on with it. She works for them.

If anyone watching the Alex Salmond debacle hasn’t worked that out by now, there’s no hope for them, so forget and ignore them, for they are simply working against us, by backing Her.

Know your enemy.

95. Juteman

Yoony trolls. This place is now their home.
    Absolutely disgusted at the state of this place now.

96. Fireproofjim

Stan Broadwood
    The more you post on this site the more you convince everyone you are a malicious idiot.
    Your foul nonsense about NAZIS has no place and is exactly how the worst Unionists tried to denigrate the Yes movement in 2014. I guess you are one of them.

97. CameronB Brodie

Jutema
    It’s an open forum. I don’t think the Rev. can spend all his time dealing with the trash.

98. CameronB Brodie

sorry….Juteman

99. Dave Llewellyn

Evans forgot Lloyd was there at 3 meetings. Civil servants have moniutes for going to the toilet. If there are no minutes it didn’t happen. SO THAT NOTHING GERS FORGOTTEN.

100. CameronB Brodie

Here’s something for the trash to consider.

From constitutional to human rights: on the moral structure of international human rights
    https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/207129976.pdf

101. Fireproofjim

Andy Ellis
    You are right about Shetland becoming independent.
    Under International Maritime law a group such as the Shetland islands would be treated as an Enclave in Scottish waters and entitled to a twelve mile economic sea limit. The best analogy is the British Channel Islands, off Normandy, who have this situation.
    By the way there are absolutely no oil fields within twelve miles of Shetland.
    I think this is just more Unionist drivel.

102. Stan Broadwood

Fireproofjim and Juteman,,,

Go on say it,,,you know you want to.

OK, I’ll say it for the two of you,

I’m a member of the 77th Brigade.

There,,, that wasn’t hard was it?

It’s the common currency of your average Sturgeon Fanatic,,, when they can’t accept any critisisum of their glorious leader.

They lash out and attack a singular poster who calls out Sturgeon.

Away back to the Wee Gingerbread Man,,, you pathetic blind halfwits.

Can I ask the two of you while you are here,,, what am I saying that is any different from what 95% of this site are saying? ,,just curious you understand.

103. Stan Broadwood

Cam B

I don’t object to your posts,,,

Know what I mean wee man???

104. Beaker

@Robert Louis says:
    11 September, 2020 at 4:44 pm
    “The crooked current leader of the SNP should go now, and let us get on with independence BEFORE 31st December 2020. After that date, it will be too, too late. You’ll be lucky if their even is a Scottish parliamentary election in May next year, their probably won’t even be a parliament.”

Won’t happen. Not with COVID restrictions likely to extend to at least April next year.

105. CameronB Brodie

Stan Broadwood
    Your fooling nobody but yourself.

——

Getting back to “moral theory”.

The Role of Rules in Law and Morality
    https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/147635616.pdf

106. Stan Broadwood

Cam B

Please explain sir???

107. CameronB Brodie

Stan Broadwood
    I find it very difficult to believe you’re on the level, and get a very strong impression that you are here to disrupt and cause discord. Just my point of view.

108. Stan Broadwood

Cam B

Never took you to be a Sturgeon apologist,,,well well well.

You learn something new every day, as they say.

109. CameronB Brodie

Stan Broadwood
    Where as I spotted you for a trouble making dickhead a long time ago.

110. Lothianlad

Cuilean 3.36

Spot on!!

111. Stan Broadwood

Cam B

You’re not really in a position to pull anybody for causing a disruption, are you?

You post the biggest load of mince that has ever been posted on any blog and you have the utter cheek to pull somebody for being disruptive.

I personally think you are mentally disturbed and was willing to let you post your pish,,,but now you have put a completely different angle on it all together.

People laugh at you behind your back, just because they think you are more to be pitted.

But when you start hitting back with insulting comments,,,then that is something different altogether.

So from now on I will ignore you and will watch with interest when the men in white coats cart you off to the asylum.

112. Stan Broadwood

Have a nice day Cam B

113. CameronB Brodie

Stan Broadwood
    You appear to conflate educational content with trolling. Away and get tae.

Law and Philosophy (2005) 24: 239–262 © Springer 2005
    LON FULLER AND THE MORAL VALUE OF
    THE RULE OF LAW

http://faculty.las.illinois.edu/colleenm/Articles/Murphy-%20Fuller%20and%20the%20Rule%20of%20Law.pdf

114. Stan Broadwood

Cam B

When you think about what you add to the content of this site,,,then Yes,,,I would say you are a Troll.

You are the biggest disruptor this site has ever known.

115. Stan Broadwood

Cam B

“THEIR COMING TO TAKE ME AWAY, HAHA, HEHE, HOHO!!!”

116. Stan Broadwood

Cam B

“THEY’RE COMING TO TAKE ME AWAY, HAHA, HEHE, HOHO!!!”

Sorted Cam,,, just for you sunshine.

117. susanXX

Thanks for answering back Tannadice Boy . I was a bit stroppy but I guess what I’m saying is that many highlanders feel absolutely no connection with far left politics, so we need to neutralize the left/right crap and concentrate on independence.

Of course the current hate crime / GRA reform stuff is pure poison.

118. CameronB Brodie

Stan Broadwood
    I don’t think your intention is to provide me with a platform to attack British constitutional practice, so you’d better find someone else to goad.

Encyclopedia of the Philosophy of Law and Social Philosophy
    Rule of Law: Theoretical Perspectives

https://link.springer.com/referenceworkentry/10.1007%2F978-94-007-6730-0_135-1

119. robertknight

Please, you two, take it outside…You know of whom I speak.

120. leither

nya nya nya nya nya……..

nowadays wings sounds like a fuckin’ kate bush record

121. CameronB Brodie

robertknight
    Would you rather I left the trash to take over?

122. Skip_NC

Leither, aye, Alex Salmond did refuse to publish legal advice. Surely the question, though, is whether Parliament should be able to see it in private. Here in the USA, that is what happened with some papers related to the impeachment inquiry for Donald Trump. Of course, it made no difference, but that was partly because US Senators don’t generally go convicting a federal official of their own side – certainly not a president.

Whether this would work in practice in the Alex Salmond enquiry is open to debate. The point of any enquiry (officially, at least) is to see what lessons can be learned and that involves transparency and honest debate.

123. Stoker

Brexit deal breach necessary “to stop break up of UK” apparently.

https://twitter.com/PaulBrandITV/status/1304468687781494784

124. GeeH

Why was the SPAD Liz Lloyd at a meeting with Sturgeon and Lesley Evans when, in the words of Evans, she had no “natural role” there.

It’s strange that Liz Lloyd is so reluctant to appear at the enquiry given she’s turned up to so many other meetings about the case.

125. Tannadice Boy

Susanxx
    I have something in common with you. My wife was born in the Highlands I always maintain they make they best wives. She voted for Independence but never comments on social media. If she did it would be a case of @#$&xxxx@@x. And not in a good way!. Enjoy your weekend.

126. WhoRattledYourCage

‘CameronB Brodie says:
    11 September, 2020 at 2:14 pm
    Astonished’

Goan jist be quiet, please. Pitting it mildly. Seriously Naebidy here reads aw yer weird posts including links tae god-knows-whit ye goat fae god-knows-whaur. In 20-odd year ay yaising the net, ah huv nivir encountered somebidy is weird is you ur, thit pretends tae be an expert on iviry single subject raised in conversation, purely tae boost thir ain self-esteem, n attacks ither folk fir either questioning ye, or fir nae clear reason it aw. It’s kinnay funny, cos it’s so weird, so actually, big man (if yer a man it aw)…fire on! The entertainment value is way too high tae jist sae carelessly dismiss.

Look forward tae yer weird random link aboot ‘knuckle dragger’ internet trolls like me, n thir psychology! 🙂

127. WhoRattledYourCage

‘Willie says:
    11 September, 2020 at 12:56 pm

Is Sturgeon a liar. Is Lesley Evans a liar. Or Liz Lloyd.’

Eh….aye.

128. Tinto Chiel

“Funny how 2 weeks into Covid, NS and Humza were discussing trial without juries.”

Not just that, Liz but, IIRC, there was to be no cross-examination or automtic right of appeal and taped or remote testimony was to be permitted. We have to watch closely that they don’t find a Covid-themed excuse to reconsider a return to these measures. Don’t forget there is also still legal debate about possibly removing the need for corroboration, an important tenet of Scots Law.

Had Alex Salmond’s trial been conducted simply in front of a judge, I’m pretty sure he would be behind bars and a broken man. This is what is so worrying about Craig Murray’s trial for contempt, and evidence and testimony important to his case is not being released or permitted respectively either, apparently on a mere judicial whim. Kafka comes to Embra…….

@Frank Gillougley, 2.30:

“If Tilda Swinton doesn’t get the part of playing Leslie Evans in the movie,’The rise and fall of the Scottish Government,’ then I’ll vote Tory.”

Now that you mention it, she’d be a natural……..

Brian Cox for the part of AS?

129. leither

love yer links cameron

130. Mark

Is This The Scotsman newspaper I want to make a complaint

131. Neil in Glasgow

Re the comments above about Nazis.

I get the original inference was more about the way that they manipulated the population before the war, rather than alluding to something more along the lines of the first minister and her husband massacring upwards of 6 million people out their back court. But due to it being such a sensitive subject, I can appreciate why some people might be offended. I’m by no means a softie or an SNP fan, jeez I agree with 99% of what the editor publishes here, but sometimes maybe we should just take a step back before we write something like that. Particularly the line questioning how far NS might go.

132. WhoRattledYourCage

‘leither says:

Trollbait. Nothing useful. Laughing. Seriously.

133. WhoRattledYourCage

‘Holymacmoses at 446pm,

Now after all these years he has been attacked by the person who should be most grateful to him.’

When you know you can’t live up to anywhere near the standards or legend of your mentor forebear, who happens to be (yuck!) male at that…it’s a harsh lesson in ego-smashing.

134. CameronB Brodie

WhoRattledYourCage
    Are you still a bit of a dissembling misogynist?

Law and Morality in H.L.A. Hart’s Legal
    Philosophy

https://scholarship.law.marquette.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1941&context=mulr

135. leither

some of my best friends are evil little bastards

136. CameronB Brodie

WhoRattledYourCage
    Remember when you instated anyone who referred to “patriarchy”, was a bit of a crackpot and not worth listening to. That’s when I became pretty certain you’re a bit of a misogynist, and that your opinion should not to be trusted.

Law’s Patriarchy
    https://scholars.law.unlv.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1899&context=facpub

137. Breeks

Juteman says:
    11 September, 2020 at 4:40 pm
    Don’t care about any of this.
    They could all be Satanists. So what?
    All i’m interested in is Scotland free from English domination.

That’s an understandable frustration Juteman, but what if it’s the satanic tendencies which are responsible for kicking Indy into the long grass and squandering the best shots at Independence which Scotland has seen in over 300 years?

If you sit back and look at the past 5 years, then audit what’s been done for Independence versus what could have been done, or even just attempted, then merely carrying on in the same way, with the same people, pursuing the same strategy, surely just invites more of the same stagnation and unforgivable capitulation.

Something really stinks, and the stench has been around for five years, and if we don’t get it rooted out now, then it will still be stinking in May next year.

Frankly, if the SNP wanted to wreck the prospects of an IndyRef and forfeit control of Holyrood, you’d be hard pushed to devise a better way of doing it than the prevailing SNP ‘strategy’. You have to wonder whether the fact we are all heart sick of this interminable garbage and procrastination has actually been their deliberate intention all along.

Where are the fire fighters trying to keep the peace and quell anxieties? Where are the efforts going in to address people’s concerns and frustrations? Look at the carry on with Joanna Cherry and Angus Robertson over the Edinburgh seat.. Why was ANY of that remotely necessary? There’s that stench again, and when it clears, the Indy Movement is another man down. No Joanna Cherry in Holyrood , a tower of strength in the YES army, because of the dicks in the NEC’s petty politicking and self serving agenda. There’s a good few skulls needing cracked together and we just don’t have the time.

All we get is bone idle charlatans trying to take credit for opinions polls driven to majority by the ravages of Boris Johnson and his depraved Tories delivering the clusterfuck of Brexit. But what does polling actually mean when both sides of the equation are an unelectable fraud?

138. CameronB Brodie

The thing that stinks is British constitutional practice, which in now fully divorced from Natural law, so lacks coherence and compatibility with both Common law and international law.

Legal Studies. Volume 8, Issue 2, July 1988 , pp. 234-238
    Law as a Moral Judgment

https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/legal-studies/article/law-as-a-moral-judgment-by-deryck-beyleveld-and-roger-brownsword-london-sweet-and-maxwell-1987-xxix-456-bibliography-and-index-26pp-hardback-3500/2C967F881CF343FD1E9BBAA48780181A

139. Stan Broadwood

Cam B

You either use your toilet pan as a computer chair,,,or you wear incontinence pants,,, because you are never away from your computer.

And a bit like the character Billy Connolly told us about,,, you wear your incontinence pants 24 hours a day,,, even down the pub, or when you take your lady friend to the dancing.

You are a man of many skills Cammy, one skill being, you are able to stay on Wings all day and night without a toilet break.

You really ur some guy.

“Cammy,,,the man who cares not a jot”

140. CameronB Brodie

Stan Broadwood
    I just value my human rights, and I’m lucky to have a particularly powerfull skill-set at my disposal.

Psychology of Learning and Motivation, Volume 50 © 2009 Elsevier Inc
    Law, Psychology, and Morality

Abstract
    In a democratic society, law is an important means to express, manipulate, and enforce moral codes. Demonstrating empirically that law can achieve moral goals is difficult. Nevertheless, public interest groups spend considerable energy and resources to change the law with the goal of changing not only morally laden behaviors, but also morally laden cognitions and emotions.

Additionally, even when there is little reason to believe that a change in law will lead to changes in behavior or attitudes, groups see the law as a form of moral capital that they wish to own, to make a statement about society. Examples include gay sodomy laws, abortion laws, and prohibition.

In this chapter, we explore the possible mechanisms by which law can influence attitudes and behavior. To this end, we consider informational and group influence of law on attitudes, as well as the effects of salience, coordination, and social meaning on behavior, and the behavioral backlash that can result from a mismatch between law and community attitudes.

Finally, we describe two lines of psychological research – symbolic politics and group identity – that can help explain how people use the law, or the legal system, to effect expressive goals.

https://www.law.northwestern.edu/faculty/fulltime/nadler/Bilz_Nadler_Law.pdf

141. Andy Ellis

Who knew cutting and pasting, secondary sources and having a bigger negative impact on WoS BTL comments than all the yoon trolls put together was a powerful skill set….? 🙁

142. CameronB Brodie

Andy Ellis
    I see you still right up yourself. You might think you know it all, but I’m sure there are WOS readers who appreciate the insight I’m making available. If the Rev. wasn’t happy, I wouldn’t be able to post. So, you take care of your practice and I’ll take care of mine. Mkay!

143. leither

love yer links cam 🙂

144. cynicalHighlander

@Breeks 7.33 pm

On the button again

145. cynicalHighlander

@CBB

re Stan Broadwood two short planks come to mind.

146. CameronB Brodie

leither
    This just happens to be a fight I’m fully trained for. 🙂

Moral Theory
    http://www.royalcollege.ca/rcsite/bioethics/primers/moral-theory-e

147. CameronB Brodie

cynicalHighlander
    Certainly appears to be ideologically motivated, but not in a good way.

148. Al-Stuart

WhoRattledYourCage,

Thank you for your wit and incisive good humour. Along with your finely written words in dialect.

Am beginning to think you should have your own column. I certainly look forward to reading every post.

In these dark and dire times with yon Nicola Borgen fae the TV series: The Rise and Fall of The Sturgeon Impire, it is a relief to have some humour.

It is a fact Nicola Sturgeon had her government-paid officials plague the producers and actresses of the Danish television series Borgen with 20 emails so Nicola could meet her tv political Machiavellian screen idol Birgitte Nyborg. With breathtaking arrogance, Sturgeon expressed her choice of the actress who would play her in The Sturgeonator, Sepsis of The SNP.

So I nominate the following to play the characters in the forthcoming Hollywood Holyrood Blockbuster…

Alex Salmond played by: Brian Cox (the actor, not the astronomer).

Boris Johnson played by: Stan Laurel (with a hair bleaching).

Donald Trump by: Oliver Hardy (with Rolland Rat supporting actor as the hairpeace).

Stuart Campbell by: Gerard Butler (of course).

Nicola Sturgeon by: Glenn Close in Cruella Deville character. Failing that, Jane Goodey (the comic).

Leslie Evans by: Dominic Cummings in drag.

Geoff Aberdein by: Daniel Craig.

Craig Murray by: Peter Falk (sorry Craig, but you are a wonderfully tenacious gentleman).

Humza Yousaf by: George Orwell. Or possibly Orewell’s pet goldfish (same intellect and 5 second memory span).

Kevin Hague by: A wooden totem pole.

James Kelly (ScotGoesPlop) by: Gregor Fisher with the baldy Combe-over characterisation.

John Swinney by: A bank manager. Or John DeSantis.

Richard Leopard by: Wallace or Grommit.

Barroness Ruth Davidson by: Isa fae Still Game.

Kez Dugdale by: The snake that got ate from “I’m A Celebrity Eat Kangaroo Balls For Entertainment” and £70,000 fee for charity: The Dugdale retirement fund for has beens and washed-up no-marks.

Jackson Carlaw by: Arthur Daily.

Peter Murrell by: Captain Mainwairing from Dad’s Army. I would have suggested someone from “Yes Minister” but they were a class act. Mr Murrell is an overpaid, over-promoted buffoon.

Big Daddy Alyn Smith by: Eddie Izzard in Drag.

Derek Mackay by: Rolf Harris in a kilt singing “Tie Me Rugby Schoolboy Down Sport, Tie Me Cutey Boy Down”

Rhiannon Spear by: Corporal Fraser in drag from Dad’s Army. We ARE all DOOMED.

This is all so bloody tragic it has to be laughed at some days.

An Independence Party that has been so utterly infiltrated by an OBVIOUS cabal of independence-blockers that it will take 5 years to heal the party rifts of the genuine membership who care about IndyRef2 but still refuse to accept the evidence…

Sturgeon is a duplicitous liar determined to keep her money, her prestige, her narcissistic place as the presenter of BBC’s special programme: Covid Nightly News.

149. Stan Broadwood

cynicalHighlander

ANOTHER STURGEON FANATIC.

Away back to the Wee Gingerbread Man Cylinder Heed.

77th bla bla bla.

Is it not about time you got your Nicola Sturgeon pajamas on and went to bed.

See if you can make it without the help of your carers numb nut.

150. CameronB Brodie

“Am beginning to think you should have your own column. I certainly look forward to reading every post.”

Oh ffs. Your man tried to deny patriarchy exist.

151. MaggieC

Re Harassment and Complaints Committee , The agenda and public papers have been published for this Tuesday’s meeting .

It’s at 10.15 am and giving evidence are Sir Peter Housden who was the Permanent Secretary in the Scottish Government from 2010 – 2015 and Barbara Allison who is the Director for communications , ministerial support and facilities in the Scottish Government .

https://www.parliament.scot/HarassmentComplaintsCommittee/Meeting%20Papers/20200915SGHHCPublicPapers.pdf

152. Bob Mack

@Stan Broadwood,

Your beginning to sound like a drunk Rab C Nesbitt Stan my man.

153. Ian Brotherhood

This excerpt from a Canadian govt publication cites UK examples of contempt. I assume the Scottish parliament’s ‘list’ would be similar?

‘The United Kingdom Joint Committee on Parliamentary Privilege attempted to provide a list of some types of contempt in its 1999 report:

* interrupting or disturbing the proceedings of, or engaging in other misconduct in the presence of, the House or a committee;

* assaulting, threatening, obstructing or intimidating a Member or officer of the House in the discharge of their duties;

* deliberately attempting to mislead the House or a committee (by way of statement, evidence, or petition);

* deliberately publishing a false or misleading report of the proceedings of the House or a committee;

* removing, without authority, papers belonging to the House;

* falsifying or altering any papers belonging to the House or formally submitted to a committee of the House;

* deliberately altering, suppressing, concealing or destroying a paper required to be produced for the House or a committee;

* without reasonable excuse, failing to attend before the House or a committee after being summoned to do so;

* without reasonable excuse, refusing to answer a question or provide information or produce papers formally required by the House or a committee;

* without reasonable excuse, disobeying a lawful order of the House or a committee;

* interfering with or obstructing a person who is carrying out a lawful order of the House or a committee;

* bribing or attempting to bribe a Member to influence the Member’s conduct in respect of proceedings of the House or a committee;

* intimidating, preventing or hindering a witness from giving evidence or giving evidence in full to the House or a committee;

* bribing or attempting to bribe a witness;

* assaulting, threatening or disadvantaging a Member, or a former Member, on account of the Member’s conduct in Parliament; and

* divulging or publishing the content of any report or evidence of a select committee before it has been reported to the House.[121]

In the case of Members, the Joint Committee also considered the following types of conduct to constitute contempt:

* accepting a bribe intended to influence a Member’s conduct in respect of proceedings of the House or a committee;

* acting in breach of any orders of the House; and

* failing to fulfil any requirement of the House, as declared in a code of conduct or otherwise, relating to the possession, declaration, or registration of financial interests or participation in debate or other proceedings.[122]’

https://www.ourcommons.ca/procedure-book-livre/Document.aspx?sbdid=abbc077a-6dd8-4fbe-a29a-3f73554e63aa&sbpid=9686d5b2-9075-4451-8082-1446f8be3c5e

154. Beaker

@Al-Stuart says:
    11 September, 2020 at 8:40 pm
    “Derek Mackay by: Rolf Harris in a kilt singing “Tie Me Rugby Schoolboy Down Sport, Tie Me Cutey Boy Down””

Wrong song. Try another Rolf Harris song.

As for Nicola Sturgeon, you have a choice of Janette Tough or Susan Calman.

155. CameronB Brodie

Without a critical eye, an unrestrained drive for inclusion simply enables nefarious elements to gain social control. So it is morally correct to exclude fascist from the debate, for example.

For Inclusion: Towards a critical pedagogy with
    marginalised learners

https://disability-studies.leeds.ac.uk/wp-content/uploads/sites/40/library/goodley-inclusive-pedagogy.pdf

156. cynicalHighlander

@Stan Broadwood

Haha I left the party last year those planks are getting even shorter.

157. WhoRattledYourCage

‘CameronB Brodie says:
    11 September, 2020 at 7:16 pm
    WhoRattledYourCage
    Are you still a bit of a dissembling misogynist?’

That made me laugh out loud. Seriously. Thanks! 🙂

158. CameronB Brodie

WhoRattledYourCage
    Do you still insist patriarchy in a figment of my imagination? Away and peddle your shite elsewhere.

159. Dogbiscuit

‘What have we done to deserve those charlatans?’ trusted the bastards.

160. WhoRattledYourCage

‘Al-Stuart says:
    11 September, 2020 at 8:40 pm
    WhoRattledYourCage,

Thank you for your wit and incisive good humour. Along with your finely written words in dialect.’

Thanks. Tell ye suhhin, (wo)man, ah dinnae even ken whae the hell hauf the heid-the-baw zoomer bangers ye satirise actually ur. (Well, ah maistly dae, bit affecting a couldnae-care-less, laissez-faire attitude is eywis guid fir – laughing – bringing in a few floating voters.)

Still laughing.

Is ye wur. 🙂

161. Dogbiscuit

Susan Calman has more gravitas than the First Minister

162. Stan Broadwood

Cam B

AKA The Nutty Professor.

163. WhoRattledYourCage

‘CameronB Brodie says:
    11 September, 2020 at 9:18 pm
    WhoRattledYourCage
    Do you still insist patriarchy in a figment of my imagination? Away and peddle your shite elsewhere.’

Laughing oot loud. Dinnae get yir knickers in a twist, wee (wo)man, yer oan the right side ay history, dictating the odds tae (laughing) knuckledraggers like me! Jesus will love ye fir it in the afterlife!

Still laughing.

Oddly enough. 🙂

164. WhoRattledYourCage

‘CameronB Brodie says:
    11 September, 2020 at 9:04 pm
    Without a critical eye, an unrestrained drive for inclusion simply enables nefarious elements to gain social control.’

‘Nefarious elements!’ Cannae stop laughing out loud. Seriously. Magic! 🙂

165. CameronB Brodie

WhoRattledYourCage
    I wouldn’t be on your case if I honestly though your outlook was helpful. But contemporary British nationalism is the articulation of racist patriarchy. So by denying patriarchy exists, you are obscuring the source of our cultural subjugation.

International Journal of Constitutional Law, Volume 10, Issue 2, 30 March 2012, Pages 411–428
    Patriarchy as the exclusive domain of the other: The veil controversy, false projection and cultural racism

https://academic.oup.com/icon/article/10/2/411/666047

166. Stan Broadwood

Little Hitler (Sturgeon).

Leader of the Nazi Party in Scotland.

Her top Henchman Murrell is a ruthless enforcer.

They will destroy anyone who opposes their leadership.

The Woke Brigade will make sure their orders are carried out in the nastiest possible way.

Don’t even to think of getting in the way of Little Hitler Sturgeon.

Just ask Alex Salmond.

Heil Sturgeon!!!

167. Ian Brotherhood

@MaggieC (8.54) –

Thanks for that link.

Have just finished reading Leslie Evans’s reply to Linda Fabiani and the FOI documents she attached. Have also scratched a large hole in my heid trying to work out how they can possibly expect anyone to swallow this nonsense as ‘transparency’ of any sort.

If it’s a taste of things to come then we can expect months of evasion, redactions, waffle, misremembering and hollow apologies. That doesn’t mean we can’t or shouldn’t try to keep on top of it but we’re dealing with people who would’ve been genuinely celebrating had an innocent man been sent to prison for the remainder of his life. So long as we remember that, there’s nothing we can’t get our heids around – we have a duty to understand this stuff, no matter how difficult they make it.

168. Stoker

‘OBSERVANCE OF TREATIES’ (Articles 26 & 27): https://twitter.com/am1874northwich/status/1304504957681401858

169. Kenny J

Edward Andrews says:
    11 September, 2020 at 12:59 pm

What I can’t work out is whether this mess is the Civil Service running the ministers, and what extent it is being done willingly by the Ministers.

Example. 2-3 years ago I was out with a bunch and our MSP. I asked him about the Land Reform Bill, and why it was so weak.
    He laughed,replied that it written by the Civil Servants. I said, I thought yous told them what to do. Just laughed and shrugged.

170. Dan

@Ian Brotherhood

In these times of austerity with the taxpayer enduring cuts, more cuts, and even more cuts to our everyday services, we’ve now got cunts, more cunts, and even more cunts involved in spaffing metric fuck tonnes of our monies on an inquiry which is attempting to sort out all the shit created by the very same folk who were supposed to be the brightest and best at running our country…

#McChilcot

171. mike cassidy

Looks like the SNP are not the only ones being called out on having a cunning plan

https://archive.is/CbGGG

172. Alec Lomax

Time for your meds , Stan.

173. Ian Brotherhood

@Dan –

Indeed.

Which is why we must pay close attention to what’s happening and make sure, as far as we can, that the committee doesn’t let these fuckers off the hook. I understand why some are cynical about the whole process but the more is revealed the greater the stench.

Watching yon Lord Advocate on Tuesday (esp in his exchanges with Jackie Baillie) was very revealing – at times he openly laughed when pushed to answer. He clearly found it amusing that he should be held to account by a mere MSP.

The reaction of Baillie, and other members, became more hostile and disgusted as the session wore on. These entitled characters, inured to criticism through decades of unaccountability, may be digging a hole for themselves.

I remain hopeful that justice will be seen to be done.

174. Shug

Republicofscotland
    The irony is if the BBC do not promote the restriction s to prevent transition of Covid it will the unionist supporters over 60 that will suffer and die the most
    Must be worth another of percentage points especially once they see they are being sacrificed

175. Gary45%

Been sitting in the sidelines for a wee while.(laughing at the garbage)
    What a load of sh*te this site has become.

Totally embarrassing, this weeks f*ckwit Stan, Joe, A nobody, A whoever + the usual clowns? = total ar*eholes.
    I expected so much better from “Scotland’s No 1 Indy blog”!!!???
    Over the years I have promoted this site to many punters, telling them, “this is where you you go for the facts on Scottish politics” it has now become an embarrassment.
    Yes the SNP have many problems? the Unionist right wing shit stirrers remind us daily, “whether fact or fiction.”? The other parties are a billion times worse, don’t forget that.

Stu, I expected so much better from you. Did Nicola steal your Toffos? The good old days this site was a blessing.
    SNP membership has now been cancelled, they will still get my vote. If it goes tits up next year, the blame lies here. If Indy is fucked for decades the blame lies here.
    Start buying the Daily Mail suckers, its just the same SNP baaaad.
    Only good thing about WOS is Chris Cairns Saturday “Toon”

176. CameronB Brodie

All individuals are agents of international law. Except in Brexitain, where constitutional law is made up ad hoc, and is now fully divorced from the Natural law.

If the Scottish government was able to access competent legal advice, and was prepared to act on it, Scots would not be getting robbed of their EU citizenship and international rights.

Vienna Journal on International Constitutional Law, Volume 11: Issue 3, 19 Oct 2017
    International Constitutional Law – Inclusive, but Still Selective?

https://www.degruyter.com/view/journals/icl/11/3/article-p387.xml

177. CameronB Brodie

sorry….Except in Brexitania….

Positivism and the Separation of Law and Morals
    From Harvard Law Review, Vol. 71 (1958), pp.593-529

http://faculty.tcu.edu/rgalvin/readings/Hart%20-Positivism%20and%20the%20Separation%20of%20Law%20and%20Morals.doc

178. Effijy

FYI

Susan Calman is the wee woman that’s on the telly every 20 minutes
    And on every i -player show at the beginning, middle and end.

Nicola Sturgeon is the wee woman they don’t let on the telly.

The wee Totalitarian Dictator who stifles democracy and promotes nuclear weapons is Baroness Davidson.

Kim Jin un has a blown up poster of her in his padded bedroom next to Donald T.

179. Stan Broadwood

Gary45% 11.07pm

Not a fan then,,,

I can’t even be arsed to rhyme off what has happened under Sturgeon’s rule.

If you don’t know,,,then you have serious problems pal.

Now trot on back over to the Wee Gingerbread Man.

You’re just another apologist for Scotland’s little Hitler Sturgeon.

180. Stan Broadwood

The SNP,,, The Scottish Nazi Party

AKA,,,The Spineless Numpties Party

181. robertknight

Gary45% @ 11:07…

Don’t shoot the messenger Gary.

Unfortunately, with the current SNP, it’s very much a case of “once you see it, you can’t unsee it”.

It’s a like a damp patch on the kitchen ceiling. You might have spent months or even years being unaware of it, but once you know it’s there, you can’t help but look up at it every time you walk in the room; wondering whether it’ll disappear, stay as is, or get bigger.

Sadly, the stain keeps getting bigger thanks to inaction over Brexit, prevarication over IndyRef2 mandates, Hate Crime, GRA, Salmond trial/inquiry circus, party funding, Wokerati, Cherry/NEC shenanigans, candidate (de)selection… Did I miss any?

If the current SNP turn out to be all fur coat and no knickers, then it’s hardly the fault of WoS or any associated BTL contributors.

You might try pointing your finger elsewhere when apportioning blame…

182. leither

Did Nicola steal your Toffos?

ha ha ha ha ha ha

183. MaggieC

Ian Brotherhood
    Ian you sent me down a very deep rabbit hole looking for information regarding giving evidence under oath to committees and I eventually googled – Scottish Government contempt of parliament committee and this pdf showed up ,

https://www.gov.scot/binaries/content/documents/govscot/publications/foi-eir-release/2019/02/foi-19-00390/documents/foi-19-00390-information-requested-3/foi-19-00390-information-requested-3/govscot%3Adocument

And this is part of the text from it ,

4.4 Colleagues should bear in mind the powers available to the Parliament and its committees under section 23 of the Scotland Act 1998 to require a person to attend their proceedings to give evidence or to produce documents in his/her custody or under his/her control concerning any subject for which the Scottish Ministers have general responsibility.
    This power applies to the Scottish Government and its officials as it does to other persons 1. Where such a requirement is imposed, failure to comply can amount to a criminal offence under section 25. The only grounds on which a person (other than a procurator fiscal) may refuse to give evidence is where he would be entitled to refuse to do so in a court in Scotland (section 23(9)). The main grounds upon which a Minister or official would be entitled to refuse to answer any question or produce any document in Scottish court proceedings is where a claim of public interest immunity (PII) is made in respect of that information.

Hope this helps and happy reading . LOL

184. Marshall Adair

Please Mr Campbell, post a new article asap. The comments on this one have reached a new low in utter craziness. It’s like being stuck in some mental ward.

185. Beaker

@Marshall Adair says:
    12 September, 2020 at 12:00 am
    “Please Mr Campbell, post a new article asap. The comments on this one have reached a new low in utter craziness. It’s like being stuck in some mental ward.”

Some of us here are perfectly sane… gmgm zeeee woooop wibble wibble

186. Marshall Adair

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest springs to mind.

187. CameronB Brodie

If we’re being open and honest, I ran out of my meds a few days ago, so I’m a little less amenable than normal. Those ‘slow-me-down’ pills are worth their weight in gold. 🙂

If the Scottish government wasn’t determined to eradicate a respect for Natural law from Scots law, we wouldn’t be getting pumped from both ends. 🙁

Global Media Journal, Vol.16 No. 31:143, 2018
    Between Limited Laws and Conservative Patriarchal System: Why the Indian Security and Justice System is Less Effective to Prevent Gender-Based Violence against Women and Girls

http://www.globalmediajournal.com/open-access/between-limited-laws-and-conservative-patriarchal-system-why-the-indian-security-and-justice-system-is-less-effective-to-prevent-g.pdf

188. CameronB Brodie

The galling thin is that Scots law is based on Roman law, which respects Natural law. English legal culture is entirely ambivalent towards Natural law, and all things deemed to be associated with Catholicism.

189. holymacmoses

I’ve been looking at the most recent You Gov polls and maps for Scotland of voting intention. With the status quo SNP stands to get 47% and 4 list seats. A new party could clear up the list end and make SNP accountable
    I think it’s time to get the Party started Mr Wings.

190. stuart mctavish

@ Maggie C
    Wonder who (ultimately) decides public interest immunity, – FM, Crown (M?), High Steward (Q?), Rupert Murdoch.. or some combination such as Privy Council (JRM)

191. Oneliner

@Stan Broadwood

Tell me about your childhood.

192. Stan Broadwood

Oneliner 6.59am

Are you especially attracted to children Oneliner???

Is there something you want to share with the rest of the site Oneliner???

Are you a kiddie Fiddler Oneliner???

193. Ian McCubbin

Having been through a trumped up case myself, of much lesser degree, but manufactured none the less, I sense the same manufactured procedures and delays of evidence, lying under oath.
    Best way forwards would be take it to court.

194. Lukas Scholts

Would it be an opportune moment for SLAB to commit to a second referendum, if not independence?

Would we vote labour, if they did? Could we trust them? Are they any less trustworthy than the current lot…?

195. Mac

I dont know how anyone can look at the totality of what the SNP leadership have done post 2014 and not conclude that NS is an out and out rat. She absolutely is.

Where the fuck do we go from here? Seriously.

I think we are going to have burn the house down and start a new party. She has utterly fucked the SNP. I am really not sure it can be saved. It is rotting from the head down and the stink… oh man the stench coming off them now is unbearable.

List party? We are going to need a much bigger boat folks. Fuck NS.

196. Andy Ellis

@Lukas Scholts 8.41am

I don’t think the rump Labour support in Scotland is amenable to such a sea change. The husk of the party left in Scotland consists of an unhappy rag-tag assemblage including dyed in the wool British nationalists happy to pander to the working-class loyalist gallery, Corbynite idealists, trades unionists and odd balls like Baron Foulkes, Ian Smart and sundry other superannuated “old fighters”.

They have a visceral loathing of nationalists trying to break up the Union, and the SNP in particular for denying them the power they see as being theirs as of right.

Even in the unlikely event Labour in Scotland came out in favour of independence, I’d never vote for them. Leopards don’t change their spots. Surely one of the biggest pluses of independence is looking forward to a re-casting of the political environment in a new republic, not simply presenting old wine in new bottles?

197. Dan

@Ian Brotherhood at 10:31 pm

You are correct to point out there are of course important aspects to this inquiry. It will afford us the opportunity to witness the processes and the players which we hope will culminate in an acceptable outcome.
    My frustration is in having to have this inquiry at all.
    There’s quite some detachment from the general reality of what our society is having to endure for some individuals to think going down a certain path and behaving the way they have is acceptable or even competent use of their time; And talking of time… just how much of the two episodes that ultimately got us into this situation were the individuals involved “clocked on” and receiving taxpayer funded remuneration whilst they went about their actions?
    The cost of this inquiry is one thing, but the loss of productive hours from all those pissing about in activities that created the need for an inquiry also needs to be considered.

198. Oneliner

@Stan Broadwood

In a happy marriage with kids of my own.
    Clearly, you’re the one with the problem.

199. ian stewart

BBC ban covid briefings, Labour Party falling apart, Boris’s Criminal exploits, Record polls for Independence,

Other news stories are available !!!!

200. deerhill

Lukas Scholts says:

“Would we vote labour, if they did? Could we trust them? Are they any less trustworthy than the current lot…?!

Imo Labour are a lot less trustworthy. They have had more practice at it.

Remembet they have been promising to abolish the Hs. of Lords for over 100 yers. Can you see “Sir” Kier doing that?

201. Lukas Scholts

Andy Ellis, I get what you’re saying and agree to an extent. But, let’s be honest and face the hard truth; Nicola and the gang aren’t any more trustworthy than SLab. All bets are off as far as the current SNP is concerned. I can’t vote for them again unless there’s wholesale change which is unlikely.

Once you see through sturgeon and the pattern of lies, deflection, and deception, you don’t go back. Btw, I’ve felt like this about sturgeon for 3 or 4 years. Everything that has happened since has just confirmed what I already suspected. The signs were all there in 2015.

202. twathater

@ Gary45% 11.34pm you launch into a tirade against Stuart and WOS blaming him for EXPOSING the lies and corruption taking place in OUR GOVERNMENT , Holy fuck is he supposed to just stay schtum and just let the bastards get away with ANYTHING , I don’t understand people who are extactic when Stu does an expose of things that other parties that we don’t like do, yet when that forensic eye is shone on the indy party we support that is behaving worse he should just wheesht for indy
    FFS you BLAME HIM if we don’t get indy next year , you BLAME HIM if the polls go tits up next year, you BLAME HIM if indy is pushed back 10 years .

Gary I’ve got NEWS for you Stuart Campbell is an INDIVIDUAL NOT a political party , the SNP is a political party who are doing ALL the things you BLAME SC for , I think your AIM might be slightly adrift , and BTW you state you are no longer a member of said party could there possibly be a reason for that seeing as they are doing so well with all the things you blame Stu for

203. Lukas Scholts

Deerhill, I don’t expect Labour to suddenly commit to supporting independence. There must be some up here who are thinking it would be a good time to commit to a referendum though. Political dynamics being what they are, I’d expect them to consider doing that before next year’s elections. It would be easy to square that with their socialist doctrine too, on democratic grounds.

Most Indy supporters I know are extremely disgruntled right now. The only thing keeping them from throwing in the towel is the polls. But polls shmolls. They mean nothing. According to the polls this time last year, Jo Swinson was in line to be the next PM.

Sturgeon’s little bubble is probably going to burst any day. It’s just a matter of time before we hear something about her role in one thing or another and the whole thing implodes. I suspect that’s the real reason they’ve put Angus in place.

204. Andy Ellis

@Lukas Scholts

We are in violent agreement. Perhaps it took me longer than you to get to the same place, but my misgivings started with the lack of urgency #indyref2, the flaccid neo-liberal managerialism of the Growth Commission.

That was only increased by the monomaniacal insistence on saving the little Englanders from themselves by trying to stop brexit to the detriment of advancing the case for indy.

The straw that really broke the camel’s back for me however was the infiltration of the party hierarchy by the woke Stasi and its treatment of Michelle Thomson, Gareth Wardell, Neal Hanvey, Denise Findlay, Gareth Wardell, Joanna Cherry, Joan McAlpine and finally Alex Salmond.

I see little prospect of any change, let alone wholesale change. Even if there is some palace revolution to rid us of a leadership which patently has no stomach for a fight in any reasonable timescale, time is now probably too short.

Given that, we may as well start planning to construct a real independence party fit for purpose.

205. Albaman

Juteman,
    I kinda share you frustration, reason I have not posted in a while, this site has changed.

206. David Caledonia

Freedom of Information

I have asked for certain information about the police, every time it came back, not in the public interest, and I am going back years with this, its so frustrating but its legal to use this trick.
    It will never change, and if Alex Salmond or anyone else can get this stupid get out clause abolished I for one will say, and about time to

207. Lukas Scholts

Can anyone anywhere explain to me how it’s possible to distinguish between the community and schools?

Didn’t think so.

More subterfuge of the usual lazy kind, all premised on the stupidity and gullibility of the people.

208. deerhill

Andy Ellis says:

“Given that, we may as well start planning to construct a real independence party fit for purpose.”

Agree wholheartedly.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.