How it happened
So it looks like the USA has elected a mad orange rapist convicted of 34 felonies who could yet be in jail by the time of his inauguration. (He would remain President even if that happened, which would be really funny.) And we can’t even blame them for it, because the alternative they were offered was, remarkably and stupendously, worse.
Wings called it like we called Trumps’s first victory (and most other things). We tweeted this last year when thinking about the upcoming election. It’s a variant on something we wrote about on Wings eight and a half years ago. We’re posting it again now in the desperate hope that one day, maybe, far in the future, someone will actually listen.
But, y’know, we’re not holding our breath or anything.
Well done, lads.
Just all of the well done.
So John Swinney has backed the wrong horse again. Arise Sir Numpty. Stay out of other people’s elections and sort oot yer ain pairty!!
Starmer’s lot sent people over to campaign for Harris ?
Starmer got into bother about that … so why did Swinney jump in with both feet a day or so later. Totally unnecessary and ill-judged. Bullied by the woke members of his inner circle?
Yep, once again you’ve hit the nail squarely on the peg.
i knew he’d win, but it still felt shocking to wake up to that cheese slice face with hair grinning at his win. The sleazy voice, which quite frankly sounds tired, promising the world, but likely only to deliver unrest, crypto currency, and inflation. jeeezo….. we just wait with baited breath for whatever madness comes now.
So the only question now is
Will Trump go quietlyin four years time
Or will he insist he is entitled to stand for a third term?
FDR died during his 4th. term April 1945.
Look at wikipedia for the 22nd amendment, which became part of the US constitution in 1951 after FDR had served four terms. Trump has only one term left.
Yip, voted Tory myself for the first time, aged 62. Met my Tory MSP who engaged with me over women’s rights. I like her.
Stu, regarding your first sentence, after the Scottish experience, it’s probably not wise to hurl accusations of rape about.
Seems lawfare in USA is good but lawfare in Scotland bad.
“Lawfare against non-Leftists is good.
Lawfare against Leftists is bad. …”
Says the Left in Scotland, in the US, everywhere
Campbell Clansman, Who you are quoting? Please let us know. Thanks.
My Leftists friends in both countries. They say it with a chuckle.
Click the link.
I did that Stu and that EJC stuff has the real whiff of “lawfare” about it, you know like some of the stuff you talked about in the Scottish situation.
Title IX drove voters to Trump. The stupid law demonstrated the deranged views of the Dems.
No, it was the economy, I think. The Blue Wall is about to turn red. I made my peace with this about 10pm Eastern Time last night when it became clear that Harris was not doing as well as she needed to in North Carolina’s major conurbations. She got fewer votes there than Biden got in areas where she needed to really hammer Trump.
Basically the Democrats got blamed for Democrats and Republicans handing out money to everyone during COVID, which stoked inflation.
I had to look that one up.
link to en.wikipedia.org
Roguesir, It appears most likely that the 1972 USA legislation has been favourably regarded by many males, and especially females, in USA. Quick research by online searches is likely to confirm that.
By contrast, there seems to be a major problem with recent ‘Regulations’ which have undermined the original protections for women.
Please clarify whether you object to the original US legislation and its purpose.
I still have not met anyone who denies the biological, genetic facts that define males and females allowing also for the extreme rarity of ‘intersex’ individuals.
The incompetence of the US Democratic party is broader than the ‘Transexual’ issue.
Spot-on , Stu . Personally , I wasn’t sure Trump would be * allowed * to win – and I suppose we still have to wait to see if his opponents will persist in their attempt to prevent him assuming the role of POTUS – via Lawfare . But the ( likely ) margin of his victory should – at least – remove any doubt or attempted denial of the clear majority of the U.S Electorate’s choice .
*Woke * just got it’s marching orders ; Hurrah !
If he does the right thing , ie gets rid of the Permanent State ghouls & Warmongers , and follows – through on his pre-election pledges to give good , decent people like RFK Jnr & Tulsi Gabbard free reign to do the right thing/s ( in this respect , he would be wise to bring in the calm rationality and insight of Col Doug MacGregor ) the U.S may once again embrace sanity .
It was again a truly abysmal choice presented to the U.S Electorate : they made the right choice nonetheless
Robert, The Handmaid’s Tale is about to become real. I am no fan of Harris or the Democrats but it was the least worst choice.
1st : hope you were/are ok after the awful devastation of the Carolinas . Yes , well , let’s hope the * inevitable * backlash against the demented * Woke * idiocy doesn’t result in an embrace of eye-for-an-eye revenge by the * religious * Right . I think – paradoxically – that Handmaid’s Tale analogy had more validity when applied to the * Left’s * attempt to suppress any criticism of * Progressive * dogma , inc it’s lunatic * Transgenderism * manifestation . As I said earlier ……if he’s smart , Trump will give RFK Jnr & Tulsi Gabbard ( just 2 of the many former Dems so sickened by the degeneration of that Party , they aligned with Trump ) the opportunity to do the things they’ve said the would , ie in RFK Jnrs case ” Make America Healthy Again ” , by tackling the enormously detrimental Food Industry ; and in Gabbard’s case addressing the indoctrination & subsequent mutilation of children via * Gender * Ideological * affirmation * of childhood fantasies
as you probably knew ….I meant the ” devastation ” caused by the storms ; not any Political storm .
I wonder just how badly the SNP will do in 2026?
Filthy commufascist SNP (NWO) Regime is an affront to Scotland, democracy and world civilisation –
And it (et al) won’t have any integrity left (guaranteed)…
Disgusting intro to your post.
Heard of Lawfare?
EJC had no corroboration, is batshit crazy and thinks rape is “sexy”.
Got her sexual fantasy played out in court with no evidence, supported by a corrupt judiciary. Believe all women? My arse. Only in DNC New York.
How you can see the Salmond conspiracy lies and smears, and the same for Julian Assange, but not this is astonishing. And hypocritical.
The DNC Neo-Con / Deep State War machine / Media & Big Pharma are a disgusting tyranny which must be destroyed, or there will be no more world to fight over.
Thank you American citizens for starting the fight-back.
“How you can see the Salmond conspiracy lies and smears, and the same for Julian Assange, but not this is astonishing. And hypocritical.”
Quite. It is an odd and highly selective and subjective opinion given what we know. Maybe this is because Trump is not considered as ‘articulate’, even by the more enlightened elements of the bourgeoisie, the latter still prone to socio-linguistic prejudice?
Aye, crazy is as crazy does.
Who knew that political parties going way off piste embracing all manner of lunacy that’s contrary to the actual wants and needs of their electorates would end well. Empires fall…
In a Scottish context, there should be a lot going on at this time due to #TheThickening of the NuSNP caused by an influx of stupid grifting Bisto addicts.
If genuine supporters of returning Scotland to self-governance continue to choose to do nothing then Reform will make inroads.
Helpful analysis Rev, which also in part explains why folks vote for Farage after giving up on woke parties who oppress the masses. Farage is England’s national liberator in waiting. His difficulty here is he thinks he also speaks for Scots on the question of national identity, but that only works for the more assimilated Scot who still falls for the Anglo-Brit cultural illusion.
History tells us that national identity, which is based on a peoples language and culture, is the only bulwark against colonialism. Which explains why ‘an independence movement depends on the solidarity of the oppressed ethnic group’ (Hechter), the Scots in oor case.
Scots also arguably need a Trump tae harness national solidarity an drain oor colonial swamp. Swinney’s woke colonial administrators winna dae it because thay’re aw bocht an selt an noo pairt o the colonial racket.
Swinney’s woke neo-colonialists hate Trump because he is a liberator o fowk, same as Alex Salmond wis, an Farage is for the English primarily.
Which suggests oor fae is colonialism, nae maitter whit kintra we’re fae, an oor anely sauviour is oor naitional identity.
Alf, “England’s national liberator” is doing pretty well in Scotland too. Some would say better than Alba.
Reform got 167,000 votes in Scotland.
Alba got 11,000.
Aye, a lot of Scots indy supporters also voted for Farage who offered a sensible manifesto on raising VAT threshold, stopping immigration, and binning the gender nonsense etc. Hence a world of difference from the woke parties. But Reform’s main ‘market’ here seems to be Tory/Labour voters.
Alf, I agree with most of what you say. However, Trump did not drain the swamp last time and he won’t do it this time. He IS the swamp.
No global warmongering as far as I recall, big tick there from many folks. Yes, Trump did not quite manage to clear out Washington’s bad apples last time, but this time will surely be different, he knows precisely who they are.
Similar applied with Alex Salmond ‘taking power’ in 2007 and 2011; he should have insisted on creating a new ‘Scottish Civil Service’ wae a new set o heid bummers appointed to run the sub-state, maybe including some Scots even! Instead colonial foxes were left inside the chicken coop…..
Another day in the world of politricks. The wokes will be preparing themselves for ritual suicide. I like the President of the United States of America his very name brings fear and loathing to the BBC. In fact I declare today a holiday.
This is a good outcome. Trump has won the Electoral College and the popular vote (as things stand). A worse result would be Trump taking the Electoral College, but not the popular vote. In that scenario, the Democrats would be able to tell themselves that they are fundamentally on the correct path, they just need to … (fill in the blank).
A good old trouncing in the Electoral College, the popular vote and the Senate should prompt some existential introspection. It won’t!
In these circumstances, financial donations actually increase, as the Dems left standing play the “resistance” grift. That, and they market Pussy Hats like they did the last time.
Mit der Dummheit kamfen Gotter selbst vergebens.
Ooo err, the wokeratis bogey man is back.
Trendies and the woke will be sewing up their gauged ear lobes as being the mark of The Donald.
“It’s the economy, stupid” – Jim Carville, strategist in Bill Clinton’s 1992 campaign.
Americans looked at each candidate and picked the one which is most likely to deliver a “better” future. All the gender woo-woo makes for great headlines but the reality is that if Harris lost because the average voter looked at lots more regulation and concluded their lives wouldn’t be improved by it. Simples.
Now, the real message is that everybody on this side of the Atlantic who backed progressive policies is totally f****d because they cannot remotely deliver on making peoples’ lives easier but neither can the current “right”. The party that comes along and makes that promise will sweep the board.
UPDATE: The House and the Senate look like they will fall into the hands of the Republicans, so the progressives in Europe just lost their ideological mentors. I expect electorates across Europe to swing right in an attempt to clean out all the nonsense.
I’m glad Trump got in. The alternative doesn’ bear thinking about.