Posted on May 09, 2015 by

hamishpigeons

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 09 05 15 10:32

A cat amongst the pigeons | Speymouth

2. 09 05 15 10:43

A cat amongst the pigeons | Politics Scotland |...

130 to “A cat amongst the pigeons”

1. Stoker

Thanks, Chris. I’m still feline great.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

2. ronnie anderson

Did he take some bird feed tae feed the doo,s ha ha.

Great toon Chris ,new battle of Trafalgar.

3. frogesque

Spot on Chris. I love the calm serenity on his face!

4. jimnarlene

Simply, brilliant.

5. Macandroid

Who’s purring now?

6. Edward

Very good cartoon Chris, captures exactly what’s happened and going to happen

7. Free Scotland

Just because you outnumber me slightly and I am not wearing my “I-am-a-carnivore” badge is no reason to believe that you are safe.

8. Albaman

Says it all, no need for any words!.

9. Alan Mackintosh

Wings over Parliament!

Well done Chris, and thankyou for your ‘toons. Always the highlight of Sat mornings.

10. morgatron

Pussy Galore! Chris, they just keep getting better and better. The Lion Woke Last Night.

11. Bill Hume

Nice to see the cat amongst the pigeons.

It will soon be time for him to ruffle a few feathers.

12. Now's the Hour

Nice! Gaun yersel Hamish!

O/T Do the 56 have to swear an oath to Brenda, or can they do so to the Scottish people?

13. Juteman

Many wings over Westminster.

14. Clootie

Appear where you are not expected ๐Ÿ™‚

โ€œIf your enemy is secure at all points, be prepared for him. If he is in superior strength, evade him. If your opponent is temperamental, seek to irritate him. Pretend to be weak, that he may grow arrogant. If he is taking his ease, give him no rest. If his forces are united, separate them. If sovereign and subject are in accord, put division between them. Attack him where he is unprepared, appear where you are not expected .โ€
    ? Sun Tzu, The Art of War

15. Red squirrel

Poised….

Reminds me of our fabulous FM.

16. Al-Stuart

Love it. A Scottish Lion amongst the pigeons.

Also well worth reading, I mean really reading, the list of what ignominy befalls those who FAIL to listen to the voters…

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/resignations-from-government-8-may-2015

Not sure which person I took most schadenfreude from studing on the above list of troughing government casualties. Probably Danny Alexander.

What’s yours ๐Ÿ™‚

17. JLT

Nice one Chris …though the old saying of ‘there’s a cuckoo in the nest’ would also be appropriate. Or in this case, 56 of them, and they are going to be making a hell of a noise in Westminster.

I must admit …I have absolutely no idea how this is all going to pan out. The problem here isn’t how the SNP are going to get more powers from Westminster; it’s how David Cameron keeps 2 nations happy. If he rewards one, he upsets the other. His gut instinct is to protect the interests of what really matter to the Tory party and the nation that he truly represents; England.

But if he does …then kiss the Union goodbye. The politically enlightened Scots are watching his every move, and boy, doesn’t he know it. This isn’t the days of Thatcher where a dismissive wave of the hand would tell the Scots where they stood. If Cameron tries that, then Scotland will not only tell him exactly what they think, it’s what they will do. Lose Scotland, and Cameron and his party will go down in the history books to something that will be akin to Britain losing the American 13 colonies. It will be as powerful as that! Completely devastating to not just England, but the whole psyche of that nation too. Losing Scotland will lead to some hard questions and real soul-searching. It would be a case of ‘where does England go from here; no Union, alienated from the EU, an America that couldn’t care less …What does England do?

That is what awaits Cameron, the Tories and England if they ignore Scotland.

Federalism? Never going to happen while we have an all-powerful establishment. As Enoch Powell said, ‘Power devolved is power retained’. An English Parliament outside Westminster would be told by Scotland in polite certain words, where to go if England tried to change rules and law that would give England better terms in a Federal Britain. Nope, for England to control the other Parliaments completely, means Westminster is the English Parliament.

And this talk of changing the voting system. Lets get rid of First Past the Post (FPP) and replace it with Proportional Representation (PR). Never going to happen either. The Tories have just won the most undecided election in years, and not only that, won it with a majority. As far as they are concerned, the system works great! So Nigel Farage and all the others who want a change to the system can whistle to the wind. It won’t be getting changed in this parliament. And if Labour are still in the wilderness in 5 years time, and the Tories win that election too, then it’s a full decade before we see change in the system. Scotland could be gone by then!

But back to the original question. What is Cameron to do? Basically, I think he has to give FFA, FFR or whatever we want to call it, and ride out the fury of England. His only hope of retaining the Union is to give the Scots what they want, and hope that they mess it up …mess it up so badly that the Scottish people ‘come to their senses’ and return to the Westminster and the Unionist parties. Better to be voted out of government on such an issue, than be derided into eternity as the party that lost Scotland, the Union …and England’s identity and place within the world.

18. Croompenstein

Topper Chris, oor Hamish will ruffle a few feathers. The disdain for our MP’s will be clear for all to see.

Getting a bit fed up with the doomwatchers moaning that we won’t have any say in the governance of Scotland as I’d rather have 56 Scots for Scots than 56 Scots for Party

19. Famous15

Full Fiscal Responsibility is Full Fiscal Autonomy with a key to escape the fiscal trap. It is less than a joke if you are given only the burden of collecting tax without the tools and levers to grow the economy.

We must have ALL the fiscus and only pay a levy for defence and foreign affairs. No agreement until there is a total plan in place and best have international oversight and not the “somewhat careless” IFS.

ALL the fiscus is onshore offshore shared wealth shared burdens and shared bounty wherever its source. We need to watch em like hawk or a lion!

20. james westland

I like the way the trees are SNP yellow as well!

21. Wulls

@ JLT….
    But how will he hang onto the oil revenue , Whisky duty, etc and how will he force us to cough up for Trident renewal under any kind of FFA ??????
    I agree that he is on a tightrope and will always default to support the English.

22. Gavin

Excellent detail Chris, my favourite are the coloured trees looking slendid in yellow and the shape reflecting constituencies.
    Change has come, a new chapter awaits, exciting times.

23. Ken500

Alex is back. Ace. Go get them.

Happy days

The Tory pollsters are manipulating the result. Gerrymandering

24. Desimond

Okay Hamish…claws oot!!

25. Edward

The next FMQ’s should be interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

The phrase ‘Didn’t see that coming’ would not be out of place

Perhaps Nicola should have all 56 SNP MP’s in the gallery?

By the way just realised that the UK Government doesn’t have a Advocate General for Scotland as sunny Jim Wallace has had to vacate the post ๐Ÿ™‚

26. Jim Thomson

The yellow spring growth on the trees too. ๐Ÿ™‚ nice.

New hashtag anyone … #YellowSpring ?

27. Robert Peffers

You never fail to amaze Chris. That one has put a great big grin all over this old man’s face.

28. Mealer

Who is covering Mr Carmichaels back now? How’s the inquiry into the smear campaign going?

29. Stoker

Red squirrel wrote:
    “Poisedโ€ฆ. Reminds me of our fabulous FM.”

Yes, Poised and nonchalant.
    Like so many of Mother Natures predators – very calm and adorable in appearance but get too disrespectful and its lights out.

Hasta la vista London.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

30. bookie from hell

Is Ian Murray the pigeon feeding on the crumbs.

31. Robert Peffers

Lion Rampant vs Lion Passant and may, if Nicola plays her cards right, result in the Lion Passant becoming a Lion Dormant.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lion_(heraldry)

32. Marie clark

Ha ha, well done Chris. Sums it up nicely.

33. ronnie anderson

@ Clootie 9.00am

JHC clootie I wiz reading your post awe ah could hear wiz Maggie Thatchers dulsete tones in ma heid,mibbes thats whit she meant tae say instead of St Francis of Assise.

34. Brian Powell

The election was a bit like the Referendum, but this time in a good way. It took me a while to think what happens now, just as in the referendum, and quite a few ideas have come to me.

On election day it was 23 hrs of working at poiling stations and chapping doors, so too tired then. But suddenly it seems very positive.

Westminster doesn’t know what’s coming.

35. Robert Peffers

Any truth in the rumour that keeping one of each Unionist MPs in Scotland was a deliberate act to save time and travel expenses?

With the SNP leader not being at Westminster she can deal with the monkeys who can then do the running to and from their respective Organ grinders.
    ;-))

36. Croompenstein

I’m thinking of sending this to the Labour Party in Scotland it may give them a few tips on getting rid of Creepy Jim ๐Ÿ™‚

http://tinyurl.com/lyw8b23

37. Paul

I haven’t seen much comment yet on the implications of the election result on Trident renewal.

As the election has reinforced uncertainty about Scotland’s long term future within the UK, will the Tories be willing to commit to spending ยฃ100 billion on a project based here?

Perhaps they will look to put the replacement in Devon, or perhaps it will force a rethink about the whole thing?

38. Petra

Just watching ‘Breakfast’ on BBC1. Some Scots are being questioned about the outcome of the Election and giving some decent, educated responses. One stallholder when asked if he thinks the SNP will have any power at Westminster at all said that ‘if we dont get the powers promised and more the next move will be another Referendum ……… this is their last chance’. So many people on the ball now!

39. scotspine

BBC News still banging on referring to Main Political Parties when they are referring specifically to Labour (Fair enough with 200 and odd MPs in England) and LibDems (Whiiiiittttt? with 8 MPs across the UK?!!!.

They obviously don’t consider SNP a Main Party yet.

40. JLT

Wulls says:

But how will he hang onto the oil revenue , Whisky duty, etc and how will he force us to cough up for Trident renewal under any kind of FFA ??????

I hear you, mate. The problem is …is that this is exactly the dilemma that Cameron faces! I have no doubt that the Tory backbenchers would shriek to the high heavens the minute Cameron tries to pass FFR to Scotland. He will have to convince (or send out Boris amongst them to chastise them LOL). In real terms, they can’t have their cake and eat it without real serious consequences happening. It’s either FFR to Scotland while losing the much hated Barnett Formula (from an English point of view), or watch the Scots walk out the door and take everything as well as pass on huge problems to England. Better to give the Scots FFR while still imposing Trident on them, rather than watch them walk away, and then England is saddled with ‘where do we put the subs?’.

Many Tory MP’s will tell Cameron to give the Scots absolutely nothing. Many will be pig-sick of hearing the word ‘Scotland’. They had enough of it during the referendum. Some will seriously want to punish Scotland. Some will demand that Scotland will just have to like it. We’ve heard it from a couple of them yesterday, and will no doubt hear it from Mundell also. They will say that Scotland voted in the election and ended up with a Tory government. Tough, in other words! You play the game, you take the prize that is given to you.

As I said, the problem ‘isnโ€™t how the SNP are going to get more powers from Westminster; itโ€™s how David Cameron keeps 2 nations happy.

Simply put, David Cameron has walked into a trap of his own making. First he wants us, then he says we can’t rule Westminster, and now …he ignores us? Not going to work! That will just kick off calls for Referendum 2, and this time, Cameron knows that ‘Better Together’, ‘we need you’, ‘lead by example’ will be utterly derided this time by the Scots. If he tries that, he will just be adding insult upon insult. 70% of Scots would vote ‘Yes’ easily the next time.

My belief is that the SNP will demand these powers knowing they are not really coming. Promises, delays, more promises, more delays will take place. Meanwhile, austerity, trident, and an EN Referendum will take place. The SNP will let these injustices build up, and then call Cameron’s bluff. When he refuses …Referendum 2.
    If he wishes to avoid that …then he gives Scotland FFR, and rides out the howls of derision and fury within the party. Boris (whom I must admit, I have great admiration for. The man is a mad genius) has stated that Scotland needs Federal Powers. What they are? I don’t know the extent. But, at least, Boris is on the right page. If need be, I can see Boris tearing anyone in the party a new one, should they shriek too loudly. This man has power emanating from him. He will silence dissent.

But let’s watch. As said, who knows how this is going to turn out?

41. gordoz

Dont you just love the unique way that the Beeb find it interesting to spend so much time pawing over how much of a problem it is for the SNP to have 56 new MP’s at WM.

Why did they even bother eh ??

Never mind that 50 new communities will now be well represented for the first time probably ??

42. HandandShrimp

Hamish contently observing the wild life having feasted on Unionist rump steak. ๐Ÿ™‚

43. JPJ2

Apologies if all are already aware, “The National” has issued a special Saturday edition today in response to Thursday’s triumph ๐Ÿ™‚

They don’t normally publish on a Saturday.

44. K1

Purrfect Chris…apt ๐Ÿ™‚

45. malcb13

Superb Chris! Puts everything completely into perspective.

46. Robert Peffers

Anyone else get the feeling Oor Hamish is after far bigger live game than a flock of smelly wee tree rats for his tea?, (and he hasn’t had his tea yet).

47. Tackety Beets

QT , Frankie Maude ” No one saw this coming ”

Just sums up how much attention WM pay to Scotland .
    As many here have said ” They havna got a scoobie ”

Great ‘toon as always Chris .

I hiv a toon playing in ma heid , Al Stewart’s ” Year of the cat ”

Some may be stuck with Mud’s. ” The cat crept in ”

I wish we could measure the impact this site has had on the process .

48. Luigi

Spot on Chris – you have a real knack of fixing the moment in time. I’m still haunted by that image of the establishment hand snuffing out the candle of hope!

Ah well, it’s another day, and the pigeons are fearful, wondering what this new, lean, fierce-looking, hungry beast is prowling around. They are also puzzled – where have those forty fat turkeys gone?

49. JLT

EN Referendum …tsk …EU Referendum. (sigh!)

50. Bob Mack

@JLT,
    I agree with your summation. Lord Tebbitt also predicted that The Conservative Party north of the border should be renamed the Unionist Party,as a constant reminder to certain people of their roots.
    This is in line with the thoughts of Labour,who feel that a separate identity for N Labour is inevitable,with its own constitution.
    They know they have a big problem. I think Chris has a great cartoon,but not nearly enough pigeons on this occasion.There is more than one hungry lion stalking the Halls of Westminster now.
    Interesting times ahead I think.

51. Socrates MacSporran

Now’s the Hour said @ 8,58am:

“o the 56 have to swear an oath to Brenda, or can they do so to the Scottish people?”

The answer might be to do as Wee Eck did when taking the oath at the opening of the Scottish Parliament in 1997. Then, before he took the oath, he reminded all present that in Scotland the will of the people is paramount. (I forget the exact wording of what he said, undoubtedly, Eck hasn’t).

If each of the 56 SNP MPs did this, Westminster would be well-aware of how things stood.

Again, since Eck is one of the experts on Erskine May, the Westminster “bible”, I do not see the SNP being out-smarted on any issue.

52. starlaw

Robert Peffers
    Liked your article on the lion in heraldry, my dad told me Lion subdued was the opposite of lion rampant. Lion subdued is what we normally see with claws facing the flag pole. Lion rampant has its back to the pole and claws to the world. A house nearby has been flying this flag since before the referendum. Have you heard of this, PS I enjoy reading your historic points, keep them coming.

53. Indigo

Perfect

54. K1

Good assessment by Prof Tom Devine, of how the rout of Labour (branch) has come about (brief) but succinct.

https://archive.is/rWVoV

55. broonpot

Quietly confident.

Teeth and claws present but well out of sight.

Wonderful.

56. Fred

Surely the very first thing the Scotbloc should demand is the abolition of this farsical Secretary of State for Scotland perquisite.

Mundell….Oot.

57. Kenny

Have to say, while it is great to have so many new SNP MPs, especially women, I am absolutely delighted Alex Salmond is going to be back at WM! He is the UK’s wiliest politician by a mile and I really hope he can cause maximum destruction to the Tory Party.

Do not underestimate “only” 56 MPs (add 3 PC and 1 Green). They can run rings round pie-face and hopefully cause the Tories death by a thousand cuts, especially by exploiting issues such as Europe. We broke the Labour Party in Scotland… next on the list is the Tory Party in England!

58. K1

O/T again (soz Chris) I see that Alistair Carmicheal, Sec of State for Scotland, has resigned. Is this old news? Or am I reading this correctly? Will the post now be abolished, we no longer need nor want a Sec of State.

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/resignations-from-government-8-may-2015

59. Macart

That’s about right. ๐Ÿ™‚

Nice one Chris.

60. Grouse Beater

Best image so far, Chris. Terrific. ๐Ÿ™‚

Jim Murphy does not understand that he took part in a people’s revolution but from the wrong side of the palace gates.

61. Kenny

JLT: They have already lost us, just look at the political map of the UK, complete yellow north of the border, all that blue down south, two complete polar opposites.

So the treaty of union is like a marriage, eh? Well, we have stopped sleeping together, but just carrying on in a pointless marriage through inertia.

One partner, of course, is ready to rush to the divorce courts at the drop of a pin. Her partner only clings to her because she owns all the real assets and he has maxed out the credit card (and takes it out on the kids by not giving them any pocket money and banning birthdays).

62. sensibledave

@ JLT 9.09

After a stunning night for both the SNP and the Tories, the discussion now moves on to how to resolve the three issues. A) The Scots have voted left of centre, B) England voted right of centre, C) the recent referendum in Scotland rules out Scottish Independence for the time being.

I think it is probably up to the SNP now to detail their ideas for a solution – with reference to A & C above. Clearly more devolved powers are part of that process, but how far do you go in moving toward FFA, before we bump against C)?

From where I sit, I donโ€™t think English people have a problem with Scotland moving towards further autonomy. However, if FFA is brought in then it introduces all sorts of issues to do with raising debt, borrowing and accountability that, frankly, I do not know enough about to have a view.

On the subject of the UK FPTP voting system versus PR, a quick scan of the results suggest that a Tory/DUP/UKIP โ€œalliance governmentโ€ could have been achieved (50%), using the recent results, but using the popular vote. So, probably, the resultant government would have been further to the right – and more divisive.

I disagree totally with your comments in your final paragraph regarding Englandโ€™s identity, etc. I donโ€™t think the average Englishman cares whether Scotland is in or out of the Union. In addition, we are quite comfortable in our own skins and, frankly, take enjoyment from the fact that others find it hard to work out our national identity. Ok, we tend not to do the shouty, flag waving so much at our โ€œenemiesโ€ โ€“ perhaps itโ€™s more the creep up behind and the application of a strategically inserted stiletto knife!

Watching Question Time last night, I was struck by the lack of understanding of โ€œEnglish Nationalismโ€ by everyone other than the lady journalist. I assume Campbell and Ashdown are afraid of it and both see a bleak future for their parties in England, if Scotland goes FFA, and England is, effectively voting for a national government.

63. Almannysbunnet

For those that had to work or missed history unfolding as the election results came in, the whole of election night is now being replayed on BBC parliament. You have 2-3 hours before the excitement starts, enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

64. Muscleguy

Another tactic suggests itself that will have a much bigger resonance with 56 than 6. With sufficient provocation Nicola can recall the 56 to Edinburgh for ‘talks’ leaving a big hole in the benches, presaging Independence, flexing muscles and just perhaps giving the Establishment the jitters over UDI.

Use only when necessary but what a statement it will be!

65. Andy S

O/T. Great blog re GE result from Scottish voter perspective.

https://strengthtodoallthings.wordpress.com

66. DerekM

hehe great cartoon Chris ๐Ÿ™‚

67. fred blogger

looks like hamish is waiting for his cubs and missus, before lunch.
    dennis canavan did say this is a marathon rather than a sprint.
    the snp have hit the ground running, millions cheering them on from the stadium of light.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAd_f6Pdm3o passion from dennis.

68. EdinScot

You’re cartoon, as ever telling it like it is Chris.

Think the Scottish people just purred down the phone line to Cameron & Co.

69. JLT

K1

Excellent link! Professor Divine explains brilliantly over a time line what the errors that the Labour Party made; some small, some extremely critical, which in turn, when placed together, has literally killed the party.

Now going with that timeline of nearly 40 years, one may have to ask …how long will it take the Scottish Labour party to get back to a parity of say the early 1990’s should it try and change its ways for the Scottish people.

Certainly for half for Scotland, they will never go back to Labour. The Scottish Labour Party would have to do great deeds, and I mean, great deeds for the people of Scotland before many will give them a look. And to do that, would fly in the face of the main Party. That is the problem for Scottish Labour. How can it be truly independent (if it goes that way), when it has to answer in the end, not to an HO in Glasgow or Edinburgh, but still paying homage to the one in London. One nod to London, and folk will smell a rat. This is a problem that the SNP don’t have to worry about, and that is what the electorate will perceive. One party is totally independent and is truly based in Scotland, while the other whose roots are in Scotland, still looks southwards. The suspicion of that party will never end under those circumstances.

But yep …great link!!

70. handclapping

Should they not be chickens coming home to roost?
    Hamish is a wonderful creation, Chris, more power to your elbow

71. cynicalHighlander

Visiting Catacomb.

72. Cadogan Enright

What a great election! OnTroon ferry back to Ireland. See y’all next year?

73. One_Scot

Is it just me, or is the Scottish Sun no longer behind a paywall.

74. Famous15

Just noticed the statue of Sir Henry Havelock over to the left in the cartoon.

Sir Henry foughtin the first Afghan War and in various mutinies and uprisings in India. He was good at subjugating uppity colonial serfs.

Is this a subtle reminder from Chris?

75. Juteman

Wow! Dateline London is worth watching on catch up, for an excellent example of unaware English nationalism!

76. Grouse Beater

S Dave: From where I sit…

And where exactly is that?

It will help us assess you better before anybody engages you, particularly when your next sentence is so obviously more provocative bollocks: “We English tend not to do the shouty, flag waving so much at our โ€œenemiesโ€.

Troll alert

77. JLT

Hello SensibleDave,

I think it is probably up to the SNP now to detail their ideas for a solution

and

I donโ€™t think the average Englishman cares whether Scotland is in or out of the Union

First, to be honest, Dave …it’s not the SNP’s problem. Scotland has literally given the SNP a mandate to speak on their behalf. Under that authority, the SNP will go down to Westminster, highlight the political divide of the two nations, and ask the Tories what they intend to do about it. After all, true political authority lies at Westminster, and the Tories are the Party in power in that place of authority.

It’s Cameron’s problem …not Sturgeons. What Dave does next, will matter. I think personally, that he will feed the Scots promises while trying to keep kicking it into the long grass. Delay, delay, delay …but ‘yes, Scotland needs an answer’ he will cry. Sooner or later, Sturgeon will give him a date. Answer by then, or answer to the people of Scotland, and whether he likes it nor not (and he can’t stop it no matter how much he states), Scotland will aim for another referendum. How? Through the authority of the sovereign people of Scotland. Sturgeon has stated that this is who will command a referendum. The people of Scotland. And ‘No’ …we do not need Westminster’s permission.

To deny, or remove that ability from Holyrood will be perceived as an assault on basic Scottish liberty. It would be seen as some sort of medieval feudal act by absolute ruler. Scotland would erupt in fury.

As to you other point…

I donโ€™t think the average Englishman cares whether Scotland is in or out of the Union

Yes, I would agree with that statement in its present context

…and I stress ‘present context’

But what happens should Scotland have a referendum, and say, wins it next time? Apart from the stinging slap of realisation that everything has changed, what happens when the negotiations begin. Debt? Sterling? Osborne stated that the Scots were not entitled to Sterling. Well, Osborne is still here. No change then! No Sterling. No Assets, no Debt. Scotland walks away and starts afresh by borrowing a hell of a lot less from the IMF than be saddled with the proportion of UK debt. Next …where do you park the subs? Wales. OK. Do that and watch Wales begin to head for the door as nukes, fracking and god knows what else is imposed on the Welsh.

If Scotland walks, believe me …England will care! Once the problems start to mount, the griping, sniping and wailing will begin. As they say …it’s only when something is gone, does one reflect the true value of it. An attitude of indifference would change as the context of the situation changes …and that is a fact.

78. H Scott

FFA/FFR for Scotland means an end to the Barnet Formula, a full bloodied answer to the West Lothian Question through EVEL and a significant reduction in the number of Scottish MPs at Westminster, so there’s a considerable pay-off for the Conservatives.

79. JLT

SensibleDave

On the subject of the UK FPTP voting system versus PR, a quick scan of the results suggest that a Tory/DUP/UKIP โ€œalliance governmentโ€ could have been achieved (50%), using the recent results, but using the popular vote. So, probably, the resultant government would have been further to the right โ€“ and more divisive.

But the point is, that while the Tories, by themselves, managed to get a majority, they have no need to debate the matter of PR. Any talk of it in Parliament will be jeered out of the Commons by the Tory backbenches. PR or any other change to the system will not be forthcoming. The Tories have proven the point that any ‘threat’ such as the SNP or UKIP holding power in Westminster can be negated by one simple thing; scare the English electorate into voting the Tories into power with a majority. It killed 2 birds with 1 stone.

80. K1

Agreed JLT. I love the irony in the reverse postion we find ourselves in now:

We have our SNP MP’s down in London. Our MP’s could now be perceived as the ‘branch’ of SNP Scotland, in Westminster. ๐Ÿ™‚

81. ian

I think something that many may have forgotten is how this unbelievable result was attained it was basically using an army expression “boots on the ground”.The press/BBC had little positive to say on our behalf can you imagine the scale of the defeat had we had been given a fair crack by the media?
    This continuing engagement with the electorate is very important to biuld on this strong base and keep the momentum going.Its been fantastic watching a country coming alive and finding its pride and identity agian.

82. Hoss Mackintosh

@Robert Peffers

Strictly, the three english lions are leopards as they are passant guardant on all fours looking outwards.

Lions are normally shown in profile and only one lion is supposed to be used on a shield. If multiples are used they are leopards or lioncels.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leopard_(heraldry)

English heraldry has tried to muddy the waters on this as they do not like admitting that they have leopards not lions but the rest of European heraldry maintains the difference.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lion_(heraldry) see lions v leopards.

A suppose the English football song just would not sound right?

” …Three leopards on my shirt…”. ๐Ÿ™‚

Scottish flag – Lion.
    English flag – leopards.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

83. Meindevon

Just seen Janet Daley (Telegraph?) on bbc Dateline equate Scottish SNP supporters blood and soil nationalists.

It seems they will never learn.

84. ian

Dont have any illusions about Boris Johnson he is further right than Cameron and no lover of Scotland.

85. No no no...Yes

Juteman 11:56am Dateline London. That right winger Janet has no idea about the sentiment in Scotland and wee Owen was doing his best to counter her arguments.

The SNP 56 MPs and Nicola’s speech was the headline item on the 12 o’clock bulletin. I wonder how the average rUK voter feels about this?

86. Grouse Beater

K1:
    Our MPโ€™s could now be perceived as the โ€˜branchโ€™ of SNP Scotland, in Westminster.

If not for the delay we put on autonomy forced to take the Westminster route, you have something there: https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2015/04/01/slipping-in-westminster-slop/

87. dakk

Sweet !

Wait till he starts roaring ๐Ÿ™‚

88. Almannysbunnet

Meindevon says:
    12:18 pm
    Just seen Janet Daley (Telegraph?) on bbc Dateline equate Scottish SNP supporters blood and soil nationalists.
    Yes I heard that, also on dealing with the SNP, “how does Cameron deal with an external threat.” When it was pointed out to her that this was exactly the type of language that was driving us apart she just couldn’t see it.

89. Barontorc

Good cartoon again Chris – what’s our little roarer got behind his back?

90. Ken500

‘The average Englishman doesn’t care whether Scotland is in the Union or not’

Comment in the Guardian.

Philip Bailey

‘Salmond should watch his back. There is a strong English contingent in Inverurie ready to shop him to M15’

91. BornOptimist

I thought this post was worth repeating and hope to hear Eck’s words (56 times) on the Parliament channel when Parliament reconvenes.

Socrates MacSporran says:
    9 May, 2015 at 10:34 am

Nowโ€™s the Hour said @ 8,58am:

โ€œo the 56 have to swear an oath to Brenda, or can they do so to the Scottish people?โ€

The answer might be to do as Wee Eck did when taking the oath at the opening of the Scottish Parliament in 1997. Then, before he took the oath, he reminded all present that in Scotland the will of the people is paramount. (I forget the exact wording of what he said, undoubtedly, Eck hasnโ€™t).

If each of the 56 SNP MPs did this, Westminster would be well-aware of how things stood.

Again, since Eck is one of the experts on Erskine May, the Westminster โ€œbibleโ€, I do not see the SNP being out-smarted on any issue.

92. Gavin

This time we won’t be stopped at Derby, we’re going all the way to London !

Who would have thought it. The SNP the third largest party in the commons, miles ahead of the Lib Dems. The bile and abuse thrown at us by the Tories and there media lackeys failed and did in fact have quite the opposite effect. They cannot ignore the will of the Scottish people any more.

93. MJS Dundee

Big fan of Tom Devine’s work and I think his take on reasons for demise of SLab are spot on.

Lab failed to adapt to a changing world from which heavily unionised mass labour had largely disappeared. When they did eventually attempt to change, they went to war with their Union base (albeit much diminished in size) by shifting way over to the right. New Labour positions would probably have been considered too far to the right by many 50s and 60s Tories. The only thing that made them still look vaguely leftist was the Tory rush to adopt extreme liberal economic ideology (Hayek-type) imported from the US during the late Thatcher/Major period.

Lab continually try to gloss over their right-ist policies with historical references to Hardie and Bevin. But truth will out and no amount of spinning and glossing can hide the obvious contradiction at their core – in policy terms they are simply not, and are obviously not, what they claim to be. Thus they come across as hollow and vacuous. And hence no surprise that we hear Lab itself asking what it is, what is it for, what are its ideas …, following their most recent hiding.

They have no coherent vision and instead cobble together policy items and slogans that seem vaguely consistent with their past and which they reckon might make a headline. Murphy’s recent nonsense, grasping at anything (football, x more nurses etc) is simply a more blatant (and idiotic) version of what Lab Inc have been doing as a whole for a long time now.

I doubt there’s anything special going on in Scotland with respect to our reaction to UK/S Lab. The main difference between here and the UK as a whole is that Scotland has a coherent, competent and realistic alternative to voting Lab – if you are not Tory inclined. You don’t need to go far to find vitriolic criticism of Lab UK from the English Left commentariat.

In time UK Lab will have to find itself or it will be replaced. As it has been here. I really can’t see SLab getting many, if any, of those seats back any time soon – IF we’re unlucky enough to be involved in another UK GE.

In the meantime, Labour uselessness down South means that we’re all stuck with yet another godawful UK Tory govt.. We’ll have to hope that the 56 can make some positive difference. Nicola had it right when she talked about adding backbone to Labour – we can’t expect much from such a confused cadre of gelatinous goo.

94. McBoxheid

Thanks Chris,

Love the SNP yellow trees

95. JLT

K1

Our MPโ€™s could now be perceived as the โ€˜branchโ€™ of SNP Scotland, in Westminster

Good point!

Let’s see how Westminster like it when the branch office starts dictating to the Head Office LOL

96. geo

meindevon at 12.18

Her reply when Owen Jones said it’s that kind of attitude that would make Scots walk away from the Union… “Good luck to them” and something along the lines of “all THEY have is oil and that’s went through the floor”.

Surprised I still have a telly.

Great cartoon BTW

97. sensibledave

@ Grouse Beater 11.56
    & JLT 11.59

Grousey, “from where I sit” is just a figure of speech. If it is so relevant to you, I live in a market town 30 mins, by train, from the West End of London. I am English born, bred and proud. I am interested in politics. I care. I care about the poor and the ill – and I care about businesses, profits, and taxation policies. I care about “fairness” and I want to live in a place where the government aims to provide health, wealth and happiness for all of its citizens. I care about democracy and the rule of law. Do you disagree with any of those ideals Grousey?

Where do you go to debate with people that have different politics to you? Or do you only visit sites where everyone thinks the same thing and where everyone tells you you are right? Is your definition of a Troll, on a political blog, anyone not from Scotland and who doesn’t vote SNP? You need to get out there more. Talk to people with different points of view, try and come up with solutions – rather than just shouting “Troll” every time that someone writes something that doesn’t adhere to the SNP party line

On Thursday, we had a general election. I voted for the party who’s policies I am sympathetic to and the party that I wanted to be in government. Try and get this next point into your head; my vote had absolutely nothing, zip, nada – to do with Scotland. I understand if your vote was all about the future of Scotland, Independence, self determination, etc, etc. Mine wasn’t. I have just one cross to make – to choose a government that reflects my personal politics.

Moving on, yes I care about the Union – but I genuinely don’t care if any country wants to leave.

Why is that so hard for you to understand? Is it that you need me to beg you to stay in the Union so that you can make some point by leaving? Is it that you want some sort of retribution when you leave? What is it that you want Grousey?

JLT – I’m working on the basis that the GE produced a result that means that the issue of Scotland’s governance has to be addressed and a solution has to be found. Because of the divisions, within Scotland, on the subject of Independence, isn’t it obvious that any solution will be imperfect? Don’t we have to try and find a solution that moves ever closer to what the SNP wants whilst also respecting the wishes of the 55%? Surely you are not suggesting that Westminster should “evict” Scotland from the Union by disregarding the result of the referendum?

I totally agree that the SNP have the mandate to speak on behalf of the people of Scotland – so what do the people of Scotland want in terms of government and degree of autonomy- because I genuinely do not know.

You wrote: “But what happens should Scotland have a referendum, and say, wins it next time? Apart from the stinging slap of realisation that everything has changed, what happens when the negotiations begin.”

Firstly, like Grousey, you project that a YES vote would be a “stinging slap of realisation”. Sorry JLT, you are totally wrong. Again, you appear to be working on the basis that I want Scotland to remain part of the Union against its will. Why would I want that? What do I need to say to you to get you to comprehend, like most people I know, that we really don’t mind either way.

If there is another referendum and if the vote goes for a “yes” than we have to make that work don’t we? Wouldn’t we want everyone to come up with a plan to achieve that? Would there be difficulties or areas of disagreement? Of course there would. Do I know what all the problems will be and do I know all of the answers? No I don’t. Do I think we could achieve Independence for Scotland? Yes I do.

So, come on guys! let’s move on and address the issues we face.

Whilst, you say it is up to David Cameron, you also appear to be saying that the current proposals don’t go far enough. Given that Independence isn’t currently an option, and until such time as another referendum is held and a different result is achieved, what governance and degree of autonomy does the SNP want as representatives, at Westminster, of the people of Scotland?

98. Craig

Something has just hit me, if Scotland decides to run another Independence referendum, who do you think will represent the Unionist side? Ian Murray? A 5 yr old could run rings around him in a debate

Gordon Brown? He has no authority to pledge anything (We knew he never did in the 1st place)

Alistair Darling? (Again, he has no authority)

I really think that Scotland should take advantage of the lack of depth in the opposition

What do you folks think?

99. asklair

Very glad I was at home when I saw this, started laughing, magic, thank you.

100. K1

I read your blog Grouse, I think ‘events’ have overtaken since 1st April when you wrote this article.

There is no such ‘horse trading’ since there is no hung parliament. Perhaps this in a way serves to mainatin discipline as a cohesive sharpened arrow force at Westminster.

As we have all commented; the risks remain firmly on the Unions’s side, simply because of the unprecedencted message that we shouted loudly across the ‘road’ on Thursday.

It’s up to Westminister to screw this up. We won’t. And I feel we have the cards in the deck this time. The real ‘power’ isn’t Tories, it’s the ‘establishment’. They are who we are now dealing with.

And because of the Tory majority, we have literally ‘hit the ground running’. The Union knows it is ‘hung in the balance’. And they cannot avoid this, and also what also’serves’ us, is the that ‘all eyes’ are now watching: internationally. This is not like the referendum, with their army of naysayers in campaign mode. We by democratic means have entered into their territory legitimitely. They have to make major concessions: if they wish to retain their Union.

And if they do not. Well, as you know…our autonomy comes sooner rather than later.

That sewer will not consume our representatives. We have not come this far, to be bought off with tawdry and deceitful trinkets.

101. sensibledave

@ JLT 12:09 pm

“The Tories have proven the point that any โ€˜threatโ€™ such as the SNP or UKIP holding power in Westminster can be negated by one simple thing; scare the English electorate into voting the Tories into power with a majority. It killed 2 birds with 1 stone.”

Again, you seek to read all sorts of things into one cross on a ballot paper by one individual voter in England. The results of the general election suggest that the main reason that we ended up where we did is almost entirely due to disaffected Lib/Dems changing their vote and the rise of UKIP as a force. I can’t imagine why ex Lib/Dems would have any unique fears regarding the SNP? – and UKIP’s main policies have always been anti-european, anti immigration stance and took votes away from many different parties on that manifesto.

I think the problem here is that you, understandably, live, eat and breath Scottish politics and you assume everyone else is too. But we are not.

Work on the basis, as has been proved most of the time, England is predominantly Tory sympathetic – in the same way, in more recent times, Scotland has been left of centre. We vote for a political flavour we are most sympathetic too. Most voters in England, I assume, believe that Tory economic and social policies represent the best way forward – as opposed to labour, liberal, SNP or anyone else’s policies. Can you not except (whilst you totally disagree with Tory policy) that the English could hold such views and act purely on that basis?

102. Ruby

I don’t usually comment but I had to log in to say that cartoon is absolutely brilliant. I love it.

103. Grouse Beater

SD: If it is so relevant to you, I live in a market town 30 mins, by train, from the West End of London. I am English born, bred and proud.

You omit to tell us your politics other the general ‘Unionist’.

As far as I am concerned, you are not an acquaintance or colleague, therefore there is no obligation to engage you as a means of countering your wilful ignorance, sly tone, or take note of your calculated provocations.

Your days are over. We are in Westminster.

To be brutal: Take a hike.

104. Louis B Argyll

The “Lion in the South” will be the immediate focus for those soon to be dispossessed by ยฃ30Billion of Tory cuts.

Labour must decide quickly, whether to swing left or right. Their new leader must attack austerity. They have an election debate to play out, its going to take a while..

In the meantime, and until Labour actually wins an election, the SNP will stay true to its principles in opposition, by exposing the realities of the effects of government policies.

One day England will come to it’s senses…until then WE must be just as stubborn and awkward as they are.

Maybe the SNP can still force the argument (at least to the UK public) that the cuts can be avoided… Whats bigger ยฃ30B cuts program, or TITP. A time for protest.

105. Grouse Beater

K1There is no such โ€˜horse tradingโ€™ since there is no hung parliament.

Thanks for taking the time, K1.

True, but that wasn’t the essence of the essay.

The problem is getting tarnished by playing Westminster’s game by Westminster’s rules. And horse-trading includes seeking support from non-Tory parties in return for our support. There are Ulster elements with which to contend.

You also don’t take into account the British press which is sure to whip up anti-Scottish sentiment by blaming an SNP vote or abstention for some unpopular policy or other imposed on England.

That’s a certainty.

106. Louis B Argyll

… You have to admire Jims’ INDEFATIGABILITY..

107. sensibledave

@ JLT 12.09

… and furthermore, read the Rev’s recent posting “The Polls were not wrong”.

The Rev’s final line is that he has been saying that we were going to get this result since 2012 – ipso facto, absolutely not as a result of some “scaremongering” in the last couple of weeks of the campaign.

There seems to be a constant theme JLT that every vote that gets a result that you don’t like is apparently the result of scare tactics in the final hours – never anything to do with conviction politics held by an individual.

108. Cactus

Remembering our last Burns day commemoration earlier this year, when oor Rab had a tartan scarf put round him on Freedom Square..

Eh, was thinking there’s a couple of lovely lions over by the Cenitaph that could use some warmth..

Afterall it’s traditionally acceptable to cone Wellington..? Just think of the tourism it would draw.. all them post-cairds ๐Ÿ™‚

Rwaaaaar!

109. K1

Fair points re horse trading Grouse.

But this:

“You also donโ€™t take into account the British press which is sure to whip up anti-Scottish sentiment by blaming an SNP vote or abstention for some unpopular policy or other imposed on England.”

Yes…in England, that may still work.

Here: We have Wings ๐Ÿ™‚ (The National, Sunday Herald)

Seriously and more broadly speaking regarding the msm, we certainly need devolved broadcasting so that we have a much more fairer representative narrative that reflects the politcal situation in Scotland now.

This would go some way toward countering and challenging the consensus and seek to neuter the bias and propaganda that would emanate from the South when ‘horse trading’ leads to an outcome that they are spinning as SNP’s fault.

Still, I remain positive at present and hopeful for the future, that our reps. won’t get ‘dazzled’ by the ‘bright light’s’ nor ‘attracted to the darkness’ as our former reps. did, to their cost.

110. Grouse Beater

K1: This would go some way toward countering and challenging the consensus and seek to neuter the bias and propaganda that would emanate from the South when โ€˜horse tradingโ€™ leads to an outcome that they are spinning as SNPโ€™s fault.

Interesting! Thanks, K1. ๐Ÿ™‚

111. sensibledave

@ Grouse Beater

This is your whole, reasoned and thought out response?

“Grouse Beater says:
    9 May, 2015 at 2:00 pm
    SD: If it is so relevant to you, I live in a market town 30 mins, by train, from the West End of London. I am English born, bred and proud.

You omit to tell us your politics other the general โ€˜Unionistโ€™.

As far as I am concerned, you are not an acquaintance or colleague, therefore there is no obligation to engage you as a means of countering your wilful ignorance, sly tone, or take note of your calculated provocations.

Your days are over. We are in Westminster.

To be brutal: Take a hike.”

… Given that you are happy to put normal niceties to one side in dealing with me, I hope other commenters here will forgive me when I respond to Grousey in a more robust fashion.

Firstly Grousey, which part of my politics is is that you have failed to grasp yet from all my comments? OK …. I will work on the basis that you have the cognitive skills of a 5 year old. I AM A TORY VOTER THAT LIVES JUST OUTSIDE OF LONDON IN ENGLAND.

There, my “secret” is out. You cleverly tricked it out of me – when all my previous missives were designed to convince you that I am a tree-hugging Greenie.

I am in favour of the “Union” – by consent of the will of the people of any individual country within the Union.

“Your days are over”????? I assume that is some sort of threat to someone? For God’s sake think man. Who’s days are over? Is that the level of your politics? Is that your level of intelligence and debate?

I have nothing but admiration for Sturgeon and Swinney as politicians representing their views, opinions and objectives – I have increasing contempt for people like you Grouse Beater – so if that was your aim, then “mission accomplished”.

112. dramfineday

Once again Chris you are on the money, you brought a great big grin to my well lined old coupon. Thank you.

I must say that so did the front page photograph in today’s Record. FM looking forward with respectful but steely determination. Looking all the inch a stateswoman (reminded me of Angela Merkel somehow). You’re in trouble Dave.

113. Valerie

Great cartoon, Chris, as always. I like Hamish is always subtle when he appears. This time, poised, quietly confident.

I’m watching the rerun of Election night, what a geek! Just picking up on some of the comments I missed, and paying more attention to down south, as I’m interested in the swing to Tory down there, and where it comes from.

Lots of rhetoric over the last couple of days about Indyref 2, and that’s perhaps natural, but I hope it dies down a bit, to focus on the present, and Holyrood.

Personally, I don’t want to see another indyref, until we know the outcome is positive. Unless you know the answer, don’t ask the question, is always a useful adage in business and negotiation.

114. JLT

SensibleDave

I think the problem here is that you, understandably, live, eat and breath Scottish politics and you assume everyone else is too. But we are not.

Obviously, you don’t see the wonderful and ‘impartial’ media news in Scotland. What you get, we get! We up here, know exactly what happens in the rest of the UK. It’s literally like indoctrination from the BBC. I don’t just live and breathe Scottish politics; I consume English too …thanks to the BBC.

The Revโ€™s final line is that he has been saying that we were going to get this result since 2012 โ€“ ipso facto, absolutely not as a result of some โ€œscaremongeringโ€ in the last couple of weeks of the campaign.

Eh!!! What the Rev said is irrespective in regards to your claim. We got scaremongering. We got it wall-to-wall drivel from the Tories and the mainstream media that painted the SNP as some sort of demented party ready to wreck England. You’re on this site, Dave. You’ve been here for weeks. You seen the newspaper clippings that the Rev posted up. Seriously …What? It doesn’t matter that Miliband lost. What did matter is the serious slandering that the people of Scotland had to endure thanks to the media and Tories from down south. You going to say now that you don’t have a TV or radio and you didn’t hear or see any of that nonsense? Rubbish! You know full well what went on. Now, at this point, I agree with GrouseBeater, I have to assume you’re trolling.

You also know fine well, that the Tories won by scaring the English electorate into voting for them by painting the SNP as the bogeyman, while they also pointed the finger at Labour as a party willing to bring this ‘monstrous’ party down south and letting them loose in Westminster.
    You also state that you couldn’t care less if Scotland leaves …then seriously …why the f*** are you here? If you, the patriotic Englishmen who comes from a wee country town, couldn’t give 2 figs about Scotland …then why are you here? Why are you on a very Pro-Indy site? Why are you interested in opinionating on something that in one sense, has hee-haw to do with you? Simply put …you who does not care …it clearly DOES bother you …and we, as in Scotland, haven’t even left the Union yet!!! That’s how much it clearly does bother you!

You’re trolling, mate. You’ve showed your hand in your last two posts. From this point, stay if you wish. Post if you wish, but I from this point on, will be ignoring you. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

115. mogabee

It sure is Chris.

‘Citing times.

116. K1

lol mogabee

117. sensibledave

@ JLT

“Youโ€™re trolling, mate. Youโ€™ve showed your hand in your last two posts. From this point, stay if you wish. Post if you wish, but I from this point on, will be ignoring you. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.”

… Tolling = asking difficult questions I assume? Trolling is asking you what you want or how do you think we should get there? Basically, as far as I can see, your definition of Trolling seems to be not being an SNP voter?

Is your political stance is so lightweight and ill thought out that you don’t have any views – now you have got 56 MPs and you actually have to act on behalf of the people of Scotland rather than just shouting at the nasty men in Westminster?

I really don’t know what you are afraid of. Am I some sort of threat to you or others here? Is it that now you have got 56 MPs at Westminster and a no vote in the referendum – you have no idea and how to move forward.

Nothing I have written today has been anything other than to discuss how you want to move forward – and not a single response! Is that because you are scared of me? Or, now you have got the MPs at Westminster, you don’t have any idea what to do?

118. JLT

SD

Your questions were answered.

119. Ken500

Does it mean Scotland will get to watch Outlander now? Dave banned it.

120. maureen

Got a question about FFA. would we still have MPs in westminster if we had FFA?
    I am still learning and need educating on this!

121. Valerie

@Maureen, FFA usually means everything except foreign policy and defence in terms of revenue and expenditure.

There would still be many areas discussed in WM which could affect how our finances work. Such as transport policy which might affect our revenues, so it would depend if the ability to legislate was also devolved. Lots of areas are very intertwined, so it’s not a straightforward answer.

I don’t have the pat answer

122. donald anderson

Scottish Lion goes to English lying Parliament.

123. maureen

Valerie, thanks for your answer, every bit of information given is appreciated as I am a novice regarding politics, but willing to learn.

124. sensibledave

JLT says: 4:20 pm

You wrote: “Your questions were answered.”

No JLT, they weren’t. They were too hard for you so, once again, you played the “troll” card. The “what are you doing on this site unless you agree with us card” – anything but answer the questions. But hey, I’ll mark it down as all bluster and no substance.

125. velofello

With only 56 MPs we are outnumbered at Westminster,but then,so is Hamish against all these pigeons.

Identify your strengths,your objectives, and. act smart.And if necessary,we have a worked example to follow, the Irish MPs simply left Westminster and regrouped in a Dublin parliament.

126. FatCandy

+1

127. crazycat

@ sensibledave

The results of the general election suggest that the main reason that we ended up where we did is almost entirely due to disaffected Lib/Dems changing their vote and the rise of UKIP as a force

I agree, but what you may not have seen is the reaction to the results of English Labour supporters on other internet sites (in particular UK Polling Report). They are absolutely certain that this is all Nicola Sturgeon’s fault: by pressing Miliband in the debates about co-operating to keep the Tories out (a reasonable request since the received wisdom was that there would be a hung parliament; the electorate is entitled to know how parties would combine, and it was the failure to declare their hand in 2010 that has led to the collapse of the LDs that you refer to) she was apparently “helping the Tories”, or even perhaps in cahoots with them, to terrify English voters that someone is coming to “break up their country”.

These Labour supporters appear to genuinely believe this, so even if you don’t agree with them, they are perceiving something very real to them. It also conveniently allows them not to accept any blame for their preferred party.

128. Ghillie

JLT, K1 and Grouse Beater : Spot on and very insightful comments!

Chris, thank you again! Love your cartooning, especially this one!

Our Hamish, calm and self contained in the midst of that squawk of panicking pigeons! =)

Yet it’s not the Scottish Lion that’s spitting feathers right now!!

129. chic mcgregor

Scottish lion in Westmister. No change there… well, not phonetically anyway ๐Ÿ˜‰

130. Sensibledave

Crazy at 11.55

The trouble with these post result rationalisations is that parties rarely come to the conclusion that the reason they lost was because people didn’t like their policies. That is too hard to accept so they look for outside factors that were beyond their control – and blame them instead.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.