1. 02 10 15 17:24

Lies And The Lying Liars Who Tell Them | A Wilderness of Peace

134 to “When you lose your friends”

1. One_Scot

Yeah, do as yer telt, if yi ken whits good for yi.

2. bugsbunny

So “coming home to Labour”, is in effect stating that we are naughty spoiled children running away from Mummy and Daddy who are hard working and are bending over backwards to nurture and protect us?

Instead Labour is like a brothel keeper of young girls and boys, using us as a way to enjoy the easy life that they expect as standard. We in the meantime are being used and abused for others titillation. In other words we are being royally f**ked.

Stephen.

3. donald anderson

What’s the use of voting Labour.
    They are Tories in disguise.
    Send your Feet, Benns and Corbyns.
    Still the same old Porky Pies.

4. handclapping

“Come home” has been no no territory ever since the Coal Boards ‘Come home to a living fire’ got conflated with the arson attacks on English speakers second homes in Wales

5. Donald Urquhart

The only thing ‘coming home’ is Labour’s lies, they’re coming home to roost.

6. cynicalHighlander

Never been my home.

7. Finlay

Labour.

Go back home to London.

You have overstayed your welcome.

8. Bob Mack

This prodigal ain’t returning any time soon.
    The fatted calf can rest easy.

9. gillie

Labour Go Home

10. Big Jock

They are utterly predictable. Scotland has already left the UK. We just haven’t signed the missives yet.

11. Thomas William Dunlop

Lights on and nae biddie at hame. Sounds like the perfect description of the modern Labour party. So no wonder nobody wants to even drop by for a visit nowadays.

12. Thepnr

Same old. Same old.

Anyway, there is no “home” to come back to even if a very few may have felt that way. The home you speak of is manky has only abusive parents who want something in return for the illusion of taking care of you.

You’d think they would have found something a bit better to say after 30 years of trying.

13. CmonIndy

I believe I would rather marry Katy Hopkins than come home to Labour. I actually feel sorry for those keen but naive new Corbynistas, the promised policies and apologies already being ditched.

14. michael diamond

Come home to liebour ha ha .They are taking the p**s, right?.

15. galamcennalath

It’s all as if Labour don’t know what they’ve done/are doing to alienate so many Scots!

They’ve been told often enough, but clearly they just don’t listen.

16. muttley79

@Rev Stu

I don’t think it was Bryan Gould in 2007, he was never part of the New Labour crowd.

17. Lesley-Anne

There is only one thing “coming home” … a quadruped called Lassie! 😀

18. Kenny

What’s on the B side of that stuck record?

“SNP Bad” ???

19. Andrew

I always think of the Oceanlab song every time I get told to come home.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=qBNUphORDwI

20. Still Positive.

Flogging a dead horse.

Same slogan for nearly 30 years – that’s working well! 🙂

21. Cadogan Enright

Anyone seen announcement fromOrkney Shetland campaign ?

theorkneyvole.com/2015/09/29/orkney-voles-against-carmichael-campaign-update/

22. Training Day

Britnat media – that means you, STV – going on attack over Michelle Thompson, then informing us that Corbyn ‘still wants’ to abolish Trident, while unaccountably failing to inform viewers that Corbyn’s party just endorsed its replacement. Funny that.

23. iclare

Us chicks flew the roost long, long ago.
    If we even came from their home to start with.

24. cynicalHighlander

The National summed Labour up with this image.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CQBIcypW8AEuqNa.jpg

25. Iain

As someone said on twitter the other day,

“I came home to Labour and found them in bed with the Tories”

26. One_Scot

The arrogance of these people beggars belief.

27. Hobbit

As for Bryan Gould: according to Wikipedia, he returned to his native New Zealand in 1994. He was never part of New Labour, from what I can see?

28. Hoss Mackintosh

Looks like “Come home to Labour” is not really the best political slogan of all time?

Mind you I think Old-New Labour must really think their supporters have the memory span of a Goldfish.

By the way, Rev Stu, did you relaise that Slogan (sluagh-ghairm) is from the Scots Gaelic for a war(army) cry.

Interesting – Eh! 🙂

29. yesindyref2

“Did voters come home to Labour? No”

Well, there’s always Heisenberg’s Uncertainty Principle, where all the air around me might suddenly and simultaneously rush over to the corner of the room and stay there.

Whoosh!

30. louis.b.argyll

Come ashore, Labour.

31. Paula Rose

When will Labour come home to Scotland?

32. louis.b.argyll

If Labour ever does debate Trident..

..I wonder who will head up the ‘Labour For War’ group?

33. louis.b.argyll

Paula,
    Always tomorrow.. That’s when.

34. robertknight

Come into my parlour, said the spider to the fly.

“Not bloody likely” said the fly.

35. Andy Crossan

Just happy someone got the Einstein quote right

36. Patrician

If I was in the Labour Party, I would be more worried about getting the voters they lost to UKIP in the North of England to come home. Labour’s vote was only held up in some areas by the collapse of the Lib-Dems.

The only place Labour “grew” its vote was in London.

37. Tam Jardine

Duncan H appears to be reaching some kind of twitter climax over Michelle Thompson resigning the whip- what a hypocrite.

Duncan was piously lecturing everyone on how it was unfair to bring up Lord Watson’s spent conviction for fire-raising a matter of days ago:

“Mike Watson’s conviction is spent. Terribly sad to see so many people who apparently do not believe in the rehabilitation of offenders.”

Days later he is creaming himself over a vague allegation that is being investigated (albeit police sources have, according to the Herald emphasised that Ms Thomson was not currently subject of an investigation personally).

So Duncan believes in the concept of rehabilitation but not the concept of innocence until proven guilty.

I suppose when your party is more riven than the surface of Mars and you have but one MP left in Scotland you have to beat it for all its worth over the odd crumb of comfort and take solace where you can.

Lets wait and see what the police investigation reveals before teeing up the firing squad maybe? The timing is certainly fascinating- it almost makes one distracted from AC and today’s developments.

38. Michael McCabe

Come home to Labour. Not even if you were offering £3:00 a minute. Just F— O__ and take Trident with you. As far as Scotland is Concerned the party’s over. Bye

39. crazycat

@ muttley and Hobbit

That’s why it says Phillip Gould.

40. dakk

Paula Rose

‘When will Labour come home to Scotland’

If they ever do then it may be time for me to leave,unless of course Scotland is independent.

In which case I could thole them and maybe even the Tories but not Willie Rennie’s lot 🙂

41. Lesley-Anne

What a pair of ignorant Muppets on Sky Papers tonight. Apparently, according to them, Corbyn is the right man to start regaining Labour its power in Scotland. 😀

42. Thepnr

Corbyn and McDonell were the last glimmer of hope for those that still vote Labour in Scotland and over these last few days they have hammered their hopes.

Rather than come home to Labour I suspect they will be leaving in their droves. Let’s get real Kezia or Nicola?

No contest, another gift to a vote for Independence.

43. Thepnr

@Lesley-Anne

The last great hope for Labour in Scotland was Jim Murphy and look where that went. Fools.

44. heedtracker

UK’s blue toryboy world now and for another 2 terms of Gideon at least, once pig fancier Cammers toddles off. No matter how hard or how often SLab blame SNP voters, it’s not our fault. Good riddance to bad rubbish.

45. desimond

If the bold Torcuil doesnt have a good word for you..what chance do you have.
    Roll on the 2016 nail in the coffin.

46. caz-m

Leslie-Anne,

I heard the two of them Sky. SOOOOOO out of touch with what is actually happening in Scotland.

They, along with the majority of the English nation, just don’t get Scotland.

Also STV and BBC Scotland reminding us again that Corbyn is against Trident.

What has that got to do with the price of a loaf.

I don’t care if Corbyn is against Trident or not.

What I do know is that he is a London Unionist who knows F**k all about Scotland, end of.

47. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“That’s why it says Phillip Gould”

AND ALWAYS DID.

48. ArtyHetty

Tam Jardine@11.26pm

I think we can expect the front pages of the dirty rags to be full of the Michelle Thompson investigation once they get hold, like those dogs whose jaws clamp shut aren’t they.

The courts would be chocablock if many of the long standing, troughing mp’s were investigated for well, anything not quite legal really, expenses anyone?

Looks like the establishment have it in for Michelle. They probably think they can chip away at the 56, one by one. They will be getting very desperate between now and next May. Watch out.

Oh and Labour are truly deluded, I wonder what is in their tea, or rather, champagne these days.

49. caz-m

Thepnr

I wonder why Kezia refused to give any interviews after Corby’s speech today?

It was probably because she knew the Trident question would be asked.

50. heedtracker

Rancid The Graun really likes New new JC’s Lab. So from Bomber Bliar should face war crimes trial

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2015/aug/05/tony-blair-could-face-trial-illegal-iraq-war-jeremy-corbyn

JC “offered no direct apology for Tony Blair’s invasion of Iraq but said: “It didn’t help our national security when we went to war with Iraq in defiance of the United Nations and on a false prospectus.

“It didn’t help our national security to endure the loss of hundreds of brave British soldiers in that war while making no proper preparation for what to do after the fall of the regime.”

He also tried to drive home his message about a new kind of politics with a call for greater civility online, saying his aim was to “bring the values back into politics” in comments that drew a standing ovation.”

What about the hundreds of thousands of people killed in Iraq, civil war, mass refugee crisis, not only the hundreds of brave British soldiers JC? Lab will class that kind of query as not civilised.

No wonder El Tone and Crash Broon didn’t turn up.

51. Lesley-Anne

Aye Thepnr good old Murph the Smurph, and he certainly got the whole 9 yards of London centric media treatment about being the last great saviour for Scotland. 😀

I guess this is what happens when these paper review programmes only have *ahem* reviewers on who live in London and the immediate area Caz. What was really galling on another level was their fawning over how Labour have voted, apparently, not to renew Trident. 😀

As I pointed out to the poor wee souls on Twitter earlier:

so @SkyNews Labour will not renew Trident will they? https://www.politicshome.com/foreign-and-defence/articles/story/labour-votes-back-trident-renewal … you SURE about that? want to try AGAIN? #skypapers

You really do have to question the intelligence of these reviewers and more importantly their understanding of how things work in Scotland!

52. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/commentisfree/2015/sep/29/jeremy-corbyn-conference-speech-labour-forget-horror-may-election-defeat

SLab wipe gets not one mention with this lot all conference. Endless JC’s not the messiah but analyses, from these red toryboys but they could have at least slipped a little bit about their Scotland region. Maybe they’re all just assuming red tory Ian Murray is the Alamo. Its almost as if we were now only months away from escaping from the lot of them for good.

53. mealer

I think Mr Corbyn might manage to keep a decent share of the anti independence vote.For a while.Only a limited number of unionists will vote for an Etonian who does bizarre things with dead pigs.I doubt if he’ll manage to attract many voters from the pro independence half of the electorate.

54. muttley79

It is going to be very amusing watching the MSM in Scotland try and portray Corbyn as some sort of a political giant, while their counterparts in England do all they can to make his life a misery.

55. Cadogan Enright

There does not appear to be an easy way to complain to Sky News.

I have written to the program presenters in the past and received an intelligent reply aknowleding the mis-statements of fact that I had pointed out

Always worth writing in – as I know from my own days in the media long ago

56. The Dog Philosopher

No doubt Corbyn will woo a few of the old guard back to the fold. Those who generally buy the Herald or the Guardian and are relatively well-off, sending their kids to fee-paying schools but who take great pride in their ‘social conscience’, and who even dared to take a chance on the SNP at the GE because it seemed the right thing to do having voted NO in the referendum, well it was the safest option after all, and with so much uncertainty over the currency issue, and what exactly was supposed to be the Plan B if things hadn’t worked out? Do we really want to live in a third-rate economy such as Greece or Ireland?

But since Ms Sturgeon has taken over the helm they do seem to represent the Zeitgeist in Scotland, even the kids have been talking at breakfast about all the latest politico gossip they glean from the internet, well they seem to know so much more about the whole thing than I do nowadays, but then how much can you believe when it’s all written by anonymous amateurs, locked away in some dingy bedroom somewhere, not for me thank you very much, I’ll stick with good honest reporting by reporters who are not faceless nobodies, which reminds me where did I put today’s holiday supplement, thinking about a few weeks in Vietnam for next year’s summer hols …

57. David McDowell

“Come home to Labour” is good, but I still prefer McTernan’s catchy slogan for Holyrood 2016: “Who cares about the grassroots?”
    http://www.thenational.scot/politics/murphys-spin-doctor-john-mcternan-if-corbyn-is-elected-we-must-depose-him.5762

Yeah, I know. These Labour “grassroots” people still support them – even when they’ve been told straight to their faces they are just voting fodder to keep the likes of McTernan in high-paying jobs! Boggles the mind!

58. Grouse Beater

Must have heard the name ‘Jeremy Corbyn’ a million times today. Bores like a slow worm into your brain. No more, please. Too much gentrification. Independence would have put paid to English mores, woes and wails.

59. Lesley-Anne

You think you are sick to the back teeth with hearing Jeremy Corbyn’s name being endlessly mentioned GB?

Just wait till the Tory wine and dine at the expense of the poorest starts then it will wall to wall bacon n eggs, sausages n mash, Hambone and co, pork chops n mash etc etc. 😀

60. Tinyzeitgeist

Come home to what exactly? Yet more of the British state? Corbyn and the Labour party are now, and always have been part of the charade involving the MSM, that deliberately proposes that there are real differences between ukok nationalist parties, when the evidence suggests otherwise.

61. Malcolm

When Scotland is an independent sovereign nation I may consider voting Labour again.
    But if they continue to run down Scotland and it’s people even that is unlikely.
    Stained by Better Together like Lady Macbeth’s hands. It will take a long, long time to wash away the mark and the unpleasant odour.

62. K1

In essence, the Labour party can get tae. What we’ve done by removing the first layer of the Labour party in Scotland is unprecedented, bear that in mind and you can begin to fathom the relentless push by the established media and all who own that media.

Scotland’s out of their control as far their world view goes. And we all know…and so do they, when the results of next year’s Scottish elections come in, it is going to be nothing short of devastating for them!

This wasn’t ‘part of the plan’.

We are quite literally under siege. It’s gonnae get a whole lot worse too in the lead up to 2016, because there will be no ‘protest vote’ doubt to cling to, no ‘if only the election hadn’t been so close after the referendum’ to cling to. And how do they begin to characterise a majority SNP government voted in democratically by a nation of people as anything but a complete rejection of the current Westminster system, not just the current incumbents, but an entire establishment?

To my mind they characterise it as ‘a state of emergency’.

I don’t have a ‘tin foil’ hat. They are punishing us, they will continue to punish us for daring to challenge the hegemony on these Islands. I’m all for remaining positive and upbeat about our future, but like that scene in Shawshank Redemption, we’re gonnae have tae crawl through a sewer full of shite before we get a taste of that clean air again.

There’s nae ‘coming home’ for Labour. We want a clean new start without the parasitic spivs climbing up the political career ladder on the backs of the weak and vulnerable.

They have forgotten their roots, tawdry baubles and shiny boxes wi wheels and flying aboot in fancy suits spluttering pish. That’s the Labour party we’ve come to despise. We don’t want you. More saliently we don’t need you.

Now fuck off.

63. geeo

The howling gale of change, roars over every hill, and tears through every glen,
    a freshness never felt before, a truth forevermore.

An enlightened child arises from the eerie morning chill, looks to the sky and whispers….”come my time, i will”

That child has now awoken, and rides strong on the whispering wind, to the destiny of her making, to a Scotland she’ll one day see.
    A Scotland, strong and free.

64. Dr Jim

The English couldn’t vote for Nicola Sturgeon so they picked up on the only different thing they could get in the form of Professor Jeremy Crumbledor who’s whole policy strategy is to do more u-turns than Jeremy Clarkson in the Top Gear reasonably priced car

The entire Parliamentary Labour party can’t wait to get rid of him and his student union protesting until his Mum tells him to shut up and come in a bit like Monty Pythons Life of Brian

While he’s announcing to the world about peace and love and lets be nice, the real Labour party have got their little helpers the BBC and Print Media and Twitter trolls shouting as loud as they can SNP BAAAD in order to distract from the pathetically poor performance of their new Hogwarts Boss

Sit on my knee and I’ll tell you a (load of crap) story says Professor Crumbledor and while I’m distracting you from reality my forces will be doing my bidding of luring you over to the dark side young Padouins

Well Labourites, if you’re fooled on you’re own heads be it for this new Empire will fail in England because, let’s face it, England is now a right wing Tory leaning country and you’re stuck with it for the next fifteen years

Bet you’re glad you voted NO eh

Maybe Independence is sounding like a good idea right about now

65. Macart

‘Come home to Labour’?

It’s Labour who left us and I’m pretty sure that they are the party who said they don’t represent the poor and disenfranchised.

“We are not the party of people on benefits. We don’t want to be seen, and we’re not, the party to represent those who are out of work,” Rachel Reeves

I take it they’ve noted that even the poor have a vote then?

Why would I vote for people who pick and choose who they wish to govern? You govern for all, or you govern for none.

Labour can shut the door on the way out.

66. john king

Ian says
    ““I came home to Labour and found them in bed with the Tories””

Snort
    so true!

YOU STAY RIGHT THERE
    Listen we’re trying to find
    listen we think we can see you.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ce3ym7PnXRs

67. Ken500

More folk will vote SNP because of Colbyn & Co. It’s like back to the future. Deja Vu. It didn’t work then and it won’t work now. Just total delusion. So boring, unbelievable and false, it’s embarrassing.

The SNP vote and support for Independence will increase. Especially when voters feel they have been cheated again. Same old, same old, Labour.Voters will never give Unionist politicians another chance. They are useless. They have blown it. Along with the sycophantic irresponsible Westminster controlled MSM.

Voters in Scotland only voted Labour to keep out the Tories, now they don’t have to. There is a
    more credible alternative. Support for SNP and Independence Parties will rise. Any second chance has now gone with this carry on. Unionist wipe out. 16/17. Attacking a good woman will not help.

68. Luigi

Macart says:
    30 September, 2015 at 3:05 am

‘Come home to Labour’?

It’s Labour who left us and I’m pretty sure that they are the party who said they don’t represent the poor and disenfranchised.

Exactly, Macart. Asking “their folk” to come home implies that the people were in the wrong. It was something they did that needs correction. Voters, you were bad, you were really stupid, but hey its okay we forgive you, now come home – please!

The people did nothing wrong. If Labour want to start to reconnect with the people, then perhaps a humble apology would have been a start.

69. mealer

We don’t need Labour.We’re cracking on without them.

70. Fairliered

Why would you come home to abusive parents who steal your pocket money?

71. scotspine

OT.

BBC Scotland Propaganda has SNP MSP Michelle Thomson front and centre this morning in their relentless effort to keep Scotland shackled like a gimp to the Union.

If there are people in Pacific Quay who work there and are Independence Supporters, you should be utterly fucking ashamed of yourselves.

72. rongorongo

The canonical “coming home” story is the parable of the prodigal son. The father’s younger son – the Wild Rover – asks for his share of his inheritance in advance, foolishly squanders it and ends up so destitute he has to live with pigs (no giggling at the back!).

Note that the homecoming works not only because the returning son is penitent but also because the father goes out of his way to accommodate and welcome him – despite the son’s previous transgressions.

Labour would do well to copy that template – rather than the one of telling their flock to come home (which works only with hungry sheep that don’t have fresher pastures).

73. Haggis Hunter

STV facebook site promoting Labour, was funny to see STV-Labour getting ripped to shreds by a generally politically aware public

74. Chitterinlicht

The reason people leave home is because they grow up and take responsibility for their own actions.

The only people it know that ‘came home’ to their parents as adults could nae manage toffee.

To be honest there are not many of them.

75. Ken500

The BBC relentless negativity and bias just turn people off. There is Police investigation into the affairs of a lawyer who broke the Law. Any clients can get drawn into the investigation.

The BBC protect abusers, illegally squander public money and are run by abusers lining their own pockets, yet bully others with their disreporting. The MSM just make it up. Regurgitate stories and spew lies. MSM bulky women if they think they are attractive. Not long ago they were writing articles suggesting an SNP spokesman for business ‘had no business’ or business acumen i,e had no business experience. It appears the opposite was true.

The line dancing Labour Lords (£1/2Million expenses). The Glasgow daughter had a £1/2Million property company on expenses, who suddenly when sick and resigned. No investigation.Unionist politician flipping houses and killing their own citizens on public expenses. £Billions. 7 Houses and jags.

Cameron/Osbourne defrauding the public purse of £Billions more,which is borowed from the Chinese, on nuclear and rail pozzi schemes. To line the pockets of their associates and family on fees,bank charges and contracts.Taking home the bacon. Pocketing the Royal Mail pension fund to defraud £30Billion of public money now on the debt. Selling off public assets on the cheap. Not a cheep No news about that. All covered by the ‘Official Secrets Act’. The Crown Office is a Law unto it’s self. Out of control.

76. Grouse Beater

Has anybody noticed Westminster and the media have us fixated on London as usual, and Captain Corbyn of the Puffer in particular, barely talking about our own politics at Holyrood?

Is Westminster discussing the Scottish Land Reform Bill?

Is there a difference between Cameron asking us to hug a hoody, and Corbyn asking us to hug a socialist?

77. ronnie anderson

And the other great phrase they use WE,RE LISTENING you fecking cloth ear’d ragged arse’d shower ,aye shower you,s great unwashed, before you,s aw flock back tae us.

You hiv tae laugh, memories who needs them when we have,the Labour party to remind us.

78. Were Alex

I watched Corbyns speech. His words were fine, nothing that an old socialist like myself can argue against. I’ve heard it all before though and am still waiting to see it delivered.

unless the Blairites are routed, Corbyn cannot deliver. The only way to make that happen is at Branch level where new members, and what’s left of the socialists, instruct their MP/MSP to support Corbyn or face deselection. They also need to replace local executives who have grown up with Blair and Broonie.

Vested interests will stop that happening. Expect a bloodbath at you CLP very soon.

79. Angra Mainyu

The idea is that, under Corbyn, labour has come home to labour. So we don’t need to go anywhere, labour are coming home to us this time.

Poor Dugdale doesn’t know if she’s selling the pig or selling the poke.

80. caz-m

STV are as bad as BBC Scotland when it comes to doing their bit at saving the Union.

Colin Mackay, there Holyrood editor, told us last night on their Scotland Tonight programme, that the Michelle Thomson case will be brought up at First Minister’s Questions.

So there you have it, STV know already what the opposition Parties will be talking about at FMQs.

Listen out for the ten second sound bites about Ms Thomson from STV and BBC Scotland on their Thursday evening news bulletins. All part of their Grand Plan.

(“Good Morning Britain” even had the Michelle Thomson case running across their strapline as breaking news this morning.)

81. heedtracker

BBC getting hysterically excited now-

Analysis by Glenn Campbell, BBC Scotland political correspondent

What a difference a minute makes.

At 18:22 the SNP issued a statement on behalf of Michelle Thomson MP.
    It confirmed that she would not represent the party while the police investigate property transactions carried out on her behalf.
    The statement reads:
    “I am aware of the police investigation and will cooperate fully if required to do so. I have always acted within the law and look forward to being cleared of any wrong doing. I have this afternoon decided to withdraw from the party whip whilst an investigation takes place. Once the investigation is concluded I look forward to returning to play a full role in party activities. I will be making no further comment on this matter.”
    Yet just one minute earlier, at 18:21, a statement issued by Michelle Thomson’s personal media adviser made no mention of her stepping down from SNP duties.

It reads:

“I am aware of the police investigation and will cooperate fully if asked to do so. I have always acted within the law and look forward to being cleared of any suggestion of wrongdoing. I will be making no further comment on this matter.”
    Makes you wonder whether she really did jump or was she pushed?
    Either way, she is no longer the SNP’s business, innovation and skills spokesperson at Westminster.”

Its nice to a BBC propagandists literary getting down to the actual minutiae. Talk about the pack scenting blood but great display of British attack propaganda in Scotland though. Outcome of any investigation’s irrelevant now. Smear, smear, smear… then you win, get Kezia First Minister.

Will we ever be rid of this hideous outfit?

82. gerry parker

Meanwhile our own SNP is giving credence to the BBC by posting direct links to them on its very own website.

http://snp.org/media-centre/news/2015/sep/labour-quietly-rubberstamps-trident-renewal

I refuse to click on direct links to a propaganda machine that allows Scotland to be lied to.

I have pointed them at http://archive.is/ on more than one occasion and will continue to do so.

I sent them a U tube link to the Marr/Corbyn interview.

The BBC are not a news organisation, they are a propaganda unit of Westminster and the establishment.

The last people who should be supporting them are the SNP “Media Centre”

83. Almannysbunnet

Labour’s message is “you’ve had your fun, sown your wild oats now come home and stop messing about”. The problem is that their supporters left “home” and labour took in Tory lodgers. Once you see through something you cant un-see through it. Labour are a perfect example of “those that don’t learn from their mistakes are destined to repeat them.” My message to labour is awatae!

84. galamcennalath

heedtracker says:

“Will we ever be rid of this hideous outfit?”

Soon. They, like the whole Unionist rag tag pack, hasten the day.

85. CameronB Brodie

The 97-page report by the Nobel Peace Prize-winning doctors’ group is the first to tally up the total number of civilian casualties from US-UK led interventions in Iraq, Afghanistan and Pakistan.

Yet this report has been almost completely blacked out by the English-language media, despite being the first effort by a world-leading public health organisation to produce a scientifically robust calculation of the number of people killed by the US-UK-led “war on terror”.

http://www.globalresearch.ca/shocking-truth-of-british-involvement-in-the-deaths-of-6-8-million-in-iraq-and-afghanistan/5478758

86. Training Day

@caz-m

Aye caz, Scotland Tonight was an exercise in pure propaganda last night. Start with SNP Bad (Thompson), with ‘I’m John Mackay’ treating the story as akin to the Kennedy assassination; then follow up with Corbyn good (he’s against Trident, dontcha know, although we won’t bother reporting that his party aren’t).

Then some inane blather from Murray, Foulkes et al on how well Corbyn’s platitudes will go down in Scotland; and finish with an attack on Fiona Hyslop/SNP ‘corruption’.

I’m John Mackay!

Incidentally, if you want a laugh read Daisley’s hagiography of Mackay and STV (linked on the Rev’s twitter). Mackay thinks the BBC weren’t biased during the indyref and Daisley thinks opposition to the lies of the MSM is fed from ‘the dark corners of nationalism and/or the ‘old firm’.

It couldn’t possibly be an opposition based on analysis, of course.

87. Johnny

A couple of people have hit on the main thing here. Corbyn nor anyone else in the Labour party has apologised for spending years portraying Scotland and its people as a hopeless basket case. I don’t think they ever well. Hence a sizeable number of people will never forgive them.

88. manandboy

To everything Jeremy Corbyn says, just add ‘except for Scotland’. Hypocrisy plumbs new depths in Corbyn’s Labour and Unionist Party.

89. Sinky

Cobyn love in is on BBC Radio Scotland at 9 am

Apart from fact that no one thinks he is electable by middle England his idea of free votes on every subject just means that no one knows what Labour stands for and ducks the hard questions on collective responsibility.

Impossible to run a local council on free votes far less a government.

90. Grouse Beater

I can’t be the only person to have detected Corbyn is bloody evasive when asked questions that don’t involve hugging him.

91. Alison Rollo

Why would anyone want to ‘come home’ to a broken home with everybody fighting each other?!! I’ll be staying on in the nice warm and friendly SNP abode!!!

92. Glamaig

This is really odd… I watched BBC News Channel last night and GMS this morning and endlessly get JC anti-trident, big cheering noises from conference crowds, but not a peep about this –

https://www.politicshome.com/foreign-and-defence/articles/story/labour-votes-back-trident-renewal

Has it been reported at all on BBC? I haven’t heard it.

93. Phronesis

The MSM continue with their catastrophising of Scotland’s party of independence- perhaps they actually believe that puts us back in the naughty step where we clearly belong.

Unfortunately for the MSM and their UKOK accomplices we are living in a pre-truth politics and those in the YES movement are hard wired to seek the truth for themselves because the MSM won’t do their jobs as ethical and responsible journalists.

The YES movement is not dependent on the failings or strengths of 1 MP or MSP-it is a collective, educated and articulate democratic movement. It is evolving and strengthening and there’s absolutely no amount of print ink or vapid sound bites that can change its final destination.

94. Tinto Chiel

Some really good comments here this morning.

Labour have lied to themselves for so long that they have created an alternative world which denies the reality which they cannot face up to today: they are finished in Scotland, although the illusion of their existence as a real force is maintained by an increasingly desperate BBC and Daily Record.

No one wants to come home to an abusive and dishonest relationship.

The extent to which they just don’t understand the new situation can best be summed up by their representative for the People’s Socialist Republic of Morningside, speaking just a few days ago and reported in The Independent:

“There’s not a psephologist in the world that can work out how a party that’s been in power for eight years and has a dreadful record can be riding at 50 per cent plus in the polls, on a 25 per cent approval rating,” he said. “If that’s your starting point, your conclusion is it’s going to be damn difficult come next May.”

Might I paraphrase for Mr Angry Murray?

“See they voters? They’re bloody stupid! Come home, bloody stupid voters, come home……”

95. galamcennalath

Sinky says

“Free votes”

For most policies, voting should be on party lines. At elections we primarily vote for parties based on manifestos. If individual politicians express personal preferences on too many issues, then no one knows what’s going on and (as you say) who stands for what! Chaos.

Corbyn is beginning to look like he doesn’t know where he stands! If he had principles, he seems to quickly abandoning them. If he was anti Trident, then why are Labour as positive about it as ever?

96. Alan Wyllie

“Will voters come home to Labour?”

Im genuinely considering it.

97. desimond

You know how, when you really dont like a band you just dont even hear their music regardless of how often or how loud its played and you sigh when folk tell you “but their new sound is really really good”.

Labour FM…shitting in your ears.

98. Onwards

Leaving aside the patronising nature of the message.. coming home like little lost sheep.. what valid reason is there for people in Scotland to vote labour again? Even assuming they have changed.

We have a genuine Scottish party that can side with Labour on any worthwhile policies, yet at the same time will stand up for Scotlands interests, and push for more powers for our parliament? The best of both worlds surely?

99. galamcennalath

Agree London and Westminster knows best!
    Want to keep/renew Trident?
    Agree with austerity?
    Perhaps have the odd illegal war?
    Think Scottish democracy should be thwarted?
    Tories have the right ideas, but want to go Lite?

Then Labour is the party for you.

Otherwise, SNP + SNP in May !

100. Ruby

Sorry the only time I’ll be coming home is for your funeral.
    I picked up a nice suit in a charity shop yesterday so I’m all ready for the event.

I’m not happy about my inheritance if only there was some way I could be excluded from your Will.

101. Ruby

Alan Wyllie you might be better to read the NSPCC’s report ‘Returning Home From Care’ before making any rash moves.

102. Les Wilson

Well, Union Kate just getting started on the new messiah Corbyn.
    She is asking if “kinder politics” will work, as spoken of by Corbyn.

She needs to have listened to the Party speeches where the common thread was bad SNP, littered with lies with no kindness offered. The over riding attitude on Scotland was an appeal to rejoin Labour. Hum, no way when they still think they own Scotland.

OT, for those who have the latest Firefox for Windows10 ( maybe earlier versions too, there is a great add on available called “awsome screenshot”. This allows any viewed page to be captured with the press of a button.

This may be of great use to Wingers where photo’s of articles are likely to be pulled, as they frequently are.

103. Free Scotland

Come home to labour? It’s like being asked to feel good about coming home to find your house occupied by aliens.

The thought of snuggling up to Kezia Dugdale on a big sofa, in front of a log fire, arouses a feeling in my gut akin to that which must have been felt by the cowpunchers of the Wild West when they witnessed the arrival of the first sheep farmers.

104. Lollysmum

Given that Catalonia had their vote at the weekend & did well, SNP (Humza Yousaf) & Alex Salmond have offered to support them in their upcoming fight with Madrid.

I call that a very good move whilst at the same time rubbing unionist noses in it by reminding them that Indyref2 is still very much an option for Scotland. I do like to see Scots involved in the international political scene 😉

Bet MSM isn’t/hasn’t reported that yet it will have ramifications if Catalonia move forward towards being an independent nation & a member of EU in its own right. A template maybe???

We have Jamaica demanding reparation from UK for slavery so Porkie gives them £25m for a prison-is this to shut down the reparation claim??

Carmichael case is going back to court-bet that was a spanner in in MSM/LibDums/BBC works given they did all they could to trash the petitioners case. Making UK history by having the case televised ended that farce.

Osborne in China whilst pulling the strings for Porkie’s downfall. Denunciation of Porkie very conveniently timed to coincide with ‘conference recess’ at WM-ergo no PMQ’s for 3 weeks.

Corbyn carve up of a conference being played for all it’s worth. Tories next & massive domonstrations being held over the coming weekend.

6,000 junior doctors demonstrating in London this week-again blanked in the press.

Of course they will concentrate on Michelle Thomson-SNP Baaaad 🙂

105. Wee Alex

I watched Corbyns speech. His words were fine, nothing that an old socialist like myself can argue against. I’ve heard it all before though and am still waiting to see it delivered.

unless the Blairites are routed, Corbyn cannot deliver. The only way to make that happen is at Branch level where new members, and what’s left of the socialists, instruct their MP/MSP to support Corbyn or face deselection. They also need to replace local executives who run the party and have grown up with Blair and Broonie.

Vested interests will stop that happening. Expect a bloodbath at you local CLP very soon.

106. manandboy

Carmichael fails to fool the judges.

“Lady Paton and Lord Matthews issued a legal opinion yesterday, which propelled the four Orkney and Shetland constituents who mounted the action over their first hurdle, by finding that Carmichael did have a case to answer under section 106 of the Representation of the People Act.

The judges said that former Scottish Secretary Carmichael’s statement about when he became aware of the leaked memo was “untruthful, as he was well aware”.

They said: “It was a deliberate attempt to conceal the truth, namely that he was not only aware that the leak of the memorandum had come from the Scotland Office but that he had been directly involved in its release.

“The fact that the first respondent [Carmichael] saw fit to tell untruths in this regard, and to deliberately conceal his role in the leak of the memorandum, relates directly to his personal character. It calls into question his integrity as an individual. It thus calls into question his suitability to represent the constituency at Westminster.” (The National)

107. Al Dossary

From what I have seen of the London papers in the newsstands over the last few days the Love in continues unabed with Corbyn. Could not bring myself to buy even 1 newspaper so had to make do with the Metro and Evening Standard which both happen to be free.

Both seem to be praising him up also.

Are his supporters really so stupid that they can not see his duplicity, constant betraying of beliefs and the games that the MSM are playing with their beloved Red Tory (or is it pretend socialist) party.

Obviously not.

108. Macart

@Luigi

Agreed.

Labour isn’t a home for anything and they don’t own the copyright on common weal, care in the community or fellow feeling. That they claim this as their preserve is not only wrong, but deeply insulting.

Parliamentary Labour are a political party who seek to govern as all parties do. The question is does the dog wag the tail or does the tail wag the dog?

I’m done with parties deciding my future and manipulating our emotions and opinions. I’m for parties who will carry out the wishes of the public and be trusted to do so. Mr Corbyn over the weekend, his shadow chancellor and his branch manager have already been seen to be no change on the honesty and straight talking front. There is no olive branch there to be had and certainly no consideration for Scotland’s electorate or their desire for greater fiscal and governmental autonomy. I’d say Mr Corbyn has already made that more than clear.

“Home’ is the people, the public, the electorate and where they say it is. Its for political parties to come home to them, not the other way round.

109. galamcennalath

manandboy says:
    “Carmichael fails to fool the judges.”

I may be wrong, but I sense that we may see Carmichael stand down rather than be cross examined on oath. The risks, from his perspective, of continuing at this stage are significant. He may choose to cut and run.

There is the wider question of others being implicated. If this were a possibility, there may be added pressure to go.

What is Michelle Thomson being accused of? Having a dodgy lawyer? There are a few of those around!

110. manandboy

As an MP for 32 years, Jeremy Corbyn has concentrated on his own left-wing list of favourite concerns, like being anti nuclear weapons. But now as leader, he has to lift his eyes to view the national interest, only to be found uninformed, and especially so with Scotland. There seems little doubt that he is a decent guy, it’s just that he seems to be a little incompetent.
    He has a bit to go yet mind you, before he can be regarded as a real Labour leader; he has to become a bit crooked and talk as if he had nothing to say.

111. turnbulldrier

I haven’t seen that James video in years.. ta for posing Rev.

112. Andrew Coulson

The first link, to ‘Neil Kinnock 1987’ appears to be wrong — just thought you’d like to know…….

113. Robert Louis

Now that we know the case against Carmichael will go ahead (unless he does the honourable things and resigns), just a wee reminder that the funding campaign continues.

Currently, it is sitting at 94,320 pounds, so let’s hope it can reach 100k soon.

You can find the funding page at

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-people-versus-carmichael#/updates

If Carmichael does go, unused funds will be used to help foodbanks across Scotland.

114. mike cassidy

Is the BBC reporting correctly about Labour and Trident?

They are now!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news

115. Alan Crerar

Hope you all paid your £3 by credit card. That means you can claim it back from Visa for non-delivery!

116. michael diamond

Agree entirely with dr jim 2.41am. I have lived down here in britain, sorry engerland, for over 40yrs and as i said before the last election, this is a right wing shy/sly tory voting country who will never ever vote liebor. So there you have it nawbags.

117. K1

Mike, no they’re not, they are reporting on what Corbyn’s personal opinion is regarding Trident renewal re his interview on Radio 4. We all knew this. The fact is his not supporting renewal is not the same as Labour not supporting renewal.

They insert this a wee bit further into the ‘report’, this is not the same as reporting that the motion was passed at conference silently, with no debate.

“But a large number of his shadow cabinet, including defence secretary Maria Eagle, and many Labour MPs do not support his position.
    Labour is to hold a review of defence policy, which will include future nuclear capability.”

This is ‘spin’ in it’s most insidious form from the BBC. It’s all about keeping the ‘illusion’ going that he has some sort of position of ‘power’ because he’s their new Labour ‘leader’. In reality it doesn’t matter what he ‘says’, the truth is they the Labour party have already voted to retain Trident.

There is no analysis in this report, no truthful reporting of what has actually taken place.

Please archive links to BBC and other papers. That way they don’t get their ‘clicks’ proving to themselves they have veracity because of the ‘numbers game’.

https://archive.is/QVHWo#selection-1155.0-1164.1

118. Chic McGregor

OT RT reporting Russia to begin air support for Assad against ISI?.

119. Nana Smith

Someone should provide anatomy lessons for Mr Corbyn as he seems not to know his arse from his elbow.

120. Robert Peffers

@Iain says: 29 September, 2015 at 10:48 pm:

” … “I came home to Labour and found them in bed with the Tories”.

Way I heard it, from a former Labour supporting lady, was : – “When I went to go home to Labour I found they had divorced me and married the Tories”.

121. Hamish100

If Corbyn won’t use trident is there any point upgrading or replacing from a Dugdale perspective? Of course there is! Spend billions and at the same time greet about no resources does take a certain kind of mindset.

Re the lying Carmichael. Not sure if it is possible but wouldn’t it be great to also call Rennie as a witness, then Mundell, the torygraph journalist and all those on the circulation list of the lying memo. Any bets the grandees of the lib dems and Tories in Scotland got advance copy of the leak as well as the PM ( verbally of course) what a pig in a poke.

122. Glamaig

MSM love JC saying TRIDENT BAD, that’s why they are playing it over and over again.

Because this has the dual purpose of making JC BAD and left wing scary in England, where ‘they’ (whoever ‘they’ are) want him to lose, and GOOD and lefty in Scotland, where ‘they’ want him to take votes off the SNP thus saving the Union, but safe in the knowledge that Labour won’t get in unless England votes for him.

Joy for propaganda types, on this one they can tell the same story north and south.

When they start playing an item over and over again, theres always a reason.

123. maxxmacc

The ‘insanity’ quote is often attributed to Einstein, but he was not the author. A bit like his famous E=mc2 theory which he reputedly ‘lifted’ off his wife who was also a scientist. Tesla accurately described Einstein as a “patent clerk” who concocted crazy theories which could not be proved or disproved. Tesla was the real genius of the 20th century. Sorry to go off topic a bit!

124. Jim McIntosh

@maxxmacc

“a patent clerk who concocted crazy theories which could not be proved or disproved”

Amazing, who would have thought being a ‘patent clerk’ would be a good apprenticeship for the job of Pope. 🙂

125. galamcennalath

mike cassidy says

“Is the BBC reporting correctly about Labour and Trident?
    They are now!”

“correctly”?

It’s all bit woolly. Is he continuing to speak personally or Labour leader and potential PM?

Would his Labour Party support unilateral disarmament, or never never multilateral?

Why did is party sneak through a commitment to renew?

The BBC report clarifies of consequence.

126. mike cassidy

It was meant as a joke to say the BBC were reporting it correctly.

I knew that exclamation mark was too subtle!

127. K1

Aye Mike…my bad, it wiz too suttle fur me… 😉

128. manandboy

Jim McIntosh says: at 11:59 am

“a patent clerk who concocted crazy theories which could not be proved or disproved”

“Amazing, who would have thought being a ‘patent clerk’ would be a good apprenticeship for the job of Pope. “

..Therefore the Pope is someone who concocts crazy theories which could not be proved or disproved.

Which crazy theories are you thinking of Jim?

If we don’t allow Jeremy Corbyn to talk rubbish about Scotland, then we don’t allow anyone to talk rubbish about anyone, including the Pope, who is respected, appreciated and listened to in almost every country in the world – except of course in those parts of Scotland and NI where FTP is a mantra of the pope haters.

129. DerekM

And so we see the PLP in action as they strangle all debate before it has a chance to happen ,this is the true face of your labour party England.

I know you all thought a miracle had arrived and that Jeremy would sweep away the old and bring in the new,well he might want to but his party will not let him.

You must take a leaf out of Scotland`s book and do not trust an establishment party which labour is,if you really want all the things you claim to then get of your arses and do it yourselves,be the boss or be the fools your choice but one thing is certain Labour are not the answer.

But dont expect us Scots to sit about waiting on you getting your act together we are off first chance we get and then you can sort out your own damn mess and we can fix ours.

130. shug

BBC will go into war status shortly with wall to wall corbyn is a wonderful socialist just the sort Scotland likes and full suppression of any truth about his policies
    All activities in Holyrood will be bad and every snp mp, msp, and councillors better watch out because every financial transaction they make will be monitored and fed to the press
    Welcome to the free world!!

131. Lou Nisbet

It now appears that possibly more than half the Labour party want to be able to press a button and consign MILLIONS of human beings to death. Would ANYONE in their right mind even want to ASSOCIATE with such vile creatures let alone be governed by them?

Please people make it clear that these sort of potential war criminals should be condemned and not allowed to reign over our country.

It goes without saying that ALL the Con men (and women) are ALSO in favour of this despicable crime against humanity.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.