Us, now, or never

Posted on September 18, 2014 by

We have fifteen hours.

spiky

The next fifteen hours mark the only ones in the entire history of time in which the fate of Scotland has rested democratically in the hands of its people. In 1707 the country was sold from under its people’s feet by a tiny handful of “nobles”. Before that it was won or lost in blood and sorrow. Today, the will of the people – every man and woman with one equal vote, regardless of wealth or property – shall decide.

Voting Yes won’t magically solve our problems overnight. But they’ll be ours to own and solve for ourselves. We need not do things in the way they’ve “always been done”. We can take Scotland – a nation at once both proudly ancient and reborn afresh – and shape it in whatever form we choose.

It will be a land not inherited from our predecessors – for they never owned it to give – but lent to us by our children, to build into a place they can prosper and flourish, not be forced to leave in search of opportunity. For those already driven away, a home worth returning to. And for those who’ve never been, a welcoming beacon of hope.

All those Scotlands, shared by all of us. Something old. Something new. Something borrowed. You know the rest.

Our enemies are not the good people of England. They, like us and much of the rest of the world, suffer the injustices and indignities imposed by a ruling class which has no nation but power and no language but money.

A new feudalism grips the planet, a reversal of much of the progress of the 20th century. Workers have seen their rights diminished, and ever-greater toil yields an ever-smaller share of the rewards, which are greedily hoarded by the wealthy on a scale not seen since medieval times. Our children are placed under a yoke of enormous debt before their working lives even begin, our elderly pushed ever closer to the grave before they can rest.

Independence alone is not the solution. But it is the vital first step that makes the solution possible. Many of those in the rest of the UK, and elsewhere across the world, look enviously on the chance we hold in our hands today, and urge us to use it, to show that another way is possible.

If we vote Yes we will remain allies, comrades-in-arms and friends with our brothers and sisters to the south, and this time it will be a friendship forged from respect, not subservience or subsidy. But if we hand back power meekly to the Bullingdon elite like a cowed serf whose courage deserted him at the last moment we will have earned only their contempt, and it will be richly deserved and pitilessly exercised.

Those who rule over us had forgotten fear, except as a tool. They buy governments. They laugh in the face of the law. They own the press. The real, unelected holders and wielders of power are immune to transient politicians reliant on patronage.

But they’re afraid now.

You know it’s true. Have you ever in your life seen such blind, hysterical panic on the normally-serene faces of the insatiable rich? Have you ever before this day witnessed the privileged and powerful – the captains of industry, the commanders of armies, the self-proclaimed “masters of the universe” – in such abject, frenzied terror, cajoling and pleading and warning and bullying, saying anything they can think of to stop us?

Why do you think that is? Is it because they’re scared FOR us – they who’ve never previously cared about anything except our votes and our money, they who despise the frail and torment the vulnerable? Or is it because they’re scared OF us?

They have not been this weak in three centuries, and they will never be this weak again in our lifetimes. For let there be no mistake: they will not allow this unexpected, unforeseen peril, this democracy no longer de-fanged but suddenly red in tooth and claw, to threaten them twice.

We have no need of guns or bombs. This revolution will have no martyrs, no widows, no orphans. For fifteen precious hours our land can be won for a cross in a box. For one fleeting moment, our foes’ flank is exposed, all their mighty weapons useless.

On them, readers. On them. They fail.

2467 to “Us, now, or never”

1. David Whannel

Your work has been immense, well done and well said.

2. Gregg

Well said Rev. Campbell.
    This should be given to everyone going into a polling station today so they understand the imporance of their choice.
    Good luck from the Antipodies where I long for that “home worth returning to”.

3. Roger

Now is the hour.

4. malcb13

Once again Rev. right on the money. Thanks for all the hard work to show us all the facts behind the headlines.

5. Indigo

Thank you Stu x

6. Albanach

Alba Gu snooker loopy!

7. Firestarter

Simply outstanding, Rev (as we’ve come to expect). Thank you for everything. Scotland owes you a huge debt of gratitude. May your (and our) dreams be realised today.

8. Seasick Dave

Our time has come.

Tomorrow will be incredible ๐Ÿ™‚

9. JET JOCKEY

Well done ANDY MURRAY , We all knew Andy was on our side we are all on your side ANDY well done.

10. Robert Louis

Let’s make sure there is not one single YES voter who doesn’t get to the polls today. Every vote is going to count. Drag people (if necessary, and in a nice non-violent way) to the polling station.

Let’s make absolutely certain, that come Friday Morning, we’ll know everything that could be done, was done, to help us secure our independence from the cesspit of corruption, cronyism and nepotism, called Westminster.

When Winnie Ewing won the Hamilton constituency in 1967, she famously said “Stop the world, Scotland wants to get on”. Now is OUR chance to make that happen, for good.

The whole world is waiting, so we’d better not let them down. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

11. Ron

I have crossed the box. I did it at 07:01. There was just me and a man from UKOKBTNOTHANKS waiting outside the polling station for it to open; I told him I was a lost cause. I took my time looking at the paper before and after I marked it. Savouring the moment. This *has* to go the right way. Scotland *has* to have independence, nothing less.

Big YES now Scotland. This is the moment.

12. Gordon

That’ll do, Rev. That’ll do.

13. Balaaargh

It is done. I stared at the paper grinning like the Cheshire cat for about 15 seconds before I could make my mark. There was a steady stream of people already coming in and out of my local polling station, I think this is going to be a high turnout. ๐Ÿ™‚

Personally, I don’t feel I’ve done enough. I used to be an activist but I haven’t pounded any streets. I’ve given money to various places and I’ve introduced friends and co-workers to an alternative point of view. I’ve emailed links to the WBB to people. I’ve even got a bunch of onshore contractors from India at work, who are resident and eligible as commonwealth citizens, to vote YES but I haven’t done enough.

I want to thank every one here and Stu for their efforts which have been invaluable.

Let’s build a better Scotland.

Let’s do this.

14. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

I put up a saltire yesterday. First time I’ve ever fixed up a flagpole or flown a flag. It looks braw and makes a clear and lovely flapping in the breeze. Very much at home I think.

15. heedtracker

Thanks for everything WingsoverScotland. Andy Murray may be a Wings reader too.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/18/andy-murray-on-scottish-independence-vote-lets-do-this

GO SCOTLAND!

16. skozra

Just back from voting, voted Yes of course.

Thanks for all you’ve done Rev !

Now really is the time.

17. Nigerian Pirate

Absolutely Brilliant Rev

Today I board an oil rig half a world away for another month. My postal vote is done. Initially I was a No voter but between their own campaign and regular visits to Wings my mind was changed for the better.

This past 4 weeks I have managed to convert 4 people over to Yes voters, including my wife which was no mean feat. The main source of this conversion was the WBB. 4 is not a great number by any means but every little helps.

You and the Wings contributors have had a massive hand in the way this referendum has been seen and fought. It’s been done far more eloquently than I could ever hope but you have got the message across.

Thank you guys and girls, let’s make the next 15 hours count. Bring it home.

18. wee folding bike

Feck.

19. Dinnatouch

Thank you Stu, for everything you’ve done for Scotland.

20. scaredy cat

Thank you Stu. Brilliant as usual. This will be my last share before heading off to help my local yes group. It’s hard to believe how far we’ve come. Scotland is wide awake today.
    Onwards and upwards!

21. wee folding bike

First in the queue, bike folded at my side.

The jannie said there would be a wee wait and I said it was OK as I’d already waited 48 years.

Bike and I went to the booth and made our mark on history.

22. chipmonkey

Thank-you Rev Stu. Here’s hoping we still need Wings for a while to follow our 18 months of transition from Westminster rule to really being our own country.

23. Clootie

I don’t think many YES voters will need chased up. People waiting for polling station opening.

They were happy and smiling so the could’t be NO’s.

24. Linda McFarlane

Lump in throat, Tears in eyes.
    Beautiful, Inspirational – Thank You.
    I will continue to persuade undecideds to-day, with a printed copy of this in my hands and a smile on my face.

25. Ambrose Harper

An abridged version of this should be handed to everyone heading to their polling station. Thank you for the wonderful work you have done on this site. Well done indeed ๐Ÿ™‚

26. Jean

Thanks for your help Stu…I was always for yes but your info has helped me help others on their journey.
    I’m predicting an 84% turn out and a massive 65% for yes! Let’s show them.

27. Craig

I hope you don’t mind but I have copied and pasted this and posted your words on my FB

Many thanks once again for everything you have done, it has been an immense help in persuading my family, friends and work colleagues into voting YES.

28. AlexMcI

Thanks for your effort Stu, and everyone who has take the time to post on this site since it’s beginning. It has honestly been a political education for my self, and the btl comments have been as informative as the articles on most occasions.

29. James Sneddon

Just back from casting my vote. You can feel the buzz, even at this time of the morning. YES reps outside all very chatty and friendly. No sign of “NO Thanks’ reps. Which is strange considering Ian Murray is our MP and is notionally a ‘labour’ area. To paraphrase a movie ‘I can feel it in water’. From a wee look at my fellow voters I can say I saw no “NO’ badges just YES badges. It’s happening.

30. john mcgroarty

well done Stuart, Wings has been immense!

31. Craig Macinnes

Brilliant stuff Stu. Thank you and others like newsnetscotland, bella caledonia, wee ginger dug, Derek Bateman et al, places where we found inspiration and truth. Just voted and the place was buzzin!

32. Muscleguy

Voted!

Now to work, to get the vote out and pull my stint at the polling station this evening. No rest until the end.

33. Truth

Powerful stuff.

Walking to the train station this morning I became quite emotional about it all.

We have to do this Scotland!

34. Muscleguy

BTW my last 3 WBBs I left in local bus shelters for early commuters.

35. Edinburgh Quine

“This past 4 weeks I have managed to convert 4 people over to Yes voters,”
    At the start of this campaign 2 plus years ago there was about 30-35% of the population who were for independence. If everyone of them changed 1 person’s mind, we’d see victory today. You have converted 4; that’s amazing.
    We’ll win today and get rid of the Me-First politics and replace it with All-of-us-First politics.
    Rev – your article is moving and brilliant. Thank you. And thank you so much for “The Wee Blue Book”

36. Colin Church

Polling station queued out. Lots looking for a pen, and not to vote no! They want their matk in history in permamnent ink.

37. Steven Duncan

Stu, you and WoS have been an incredible source of enlightenment in face of the Westminster darkness.
    Thank you for your tireless effort.
    Today is the DAY of YES.
    *There was a queue a local polling station before door opened at 7am. There is never a queue.

38. Marian

I wonder what dirty tricks Project Fear will try on polling day?

One of their pet newspapers to suddenly release a new opinion poll with YES several points in the lead so their chums in the City can engineer an artificial run on the ยฃpound today?

Far fetched it might seem – but I wouldn’t put anything past them.

39. Keith Montgomery

This site and the comments left here have kept me sane for the last few months of waiting. I’ve never been involved in any kind of politics before and could be considered to be a “shy yes”. When I first told my workmates two years ago that I was a yes, they laughed in my face. Later when I tried to hand out “yes” pens, they slapped them from my hand, or shrunk back like I was trying to stab superman with a kryptonite dagger. Many are converted now, with only the boggle eyed bigots still hating. Off to vote now. Proud YES.

40. andy howie

Beautiful. Well said and thanks Rev for everything you have done

41. Calgacus MacAndrews

Heading off to vote shortly. Well done Rev. Well done everyone.

The People of Scotland will finally speak today.

42. Liz Quinn

Thank you Stu. A very powerful piece and hits the right note on this historic magical day.

43. Kristall

Thanks for the wonderful website. Go Scotland!! Take this fantastic chance to make a better future. Let common sense and hope triumph over the misrepresentations, mistaken assumptions and defeatism of the Better Together Campaign.

44. M Mackintosh

Brilliant, Stu and thank you. Your articles and the comments of fellow wingers have been inspirational and moved me at times to anger, tears and laughter. They’ve given me a focus during the MSM and establishment onslaught. I’m looking forward to casting my vote today and will savour the moment, thinking of my mum who always wanted Scotland to be free, as well as others who aren’t here to share this moment but I will feel their presence. Hail Alba!

45. blunttrauma

SAOR ALBA!!!

46. scunnered

youve just made me greet again stu
    even if we dont get the result today its because of your hard work that we have even got a chance at the polls
    youre a very clever man and i just thank god you were on our side….thanks for everything

47. Anne McLaughlin

I’ve really appreciated all the work that you’ve put in leading up to this momentous day! It’s made a difference and has truly helped me and others to feel more informed, more confident and more upbeat!

48. william digman symington

Just voted YES good turn out in Annan this morning and a big Thanks to Rev and team

49. Giving Goose

Good luck to everyone.
    The banter has been good, sharing thoughts, opinion and words.
    I’ve learned so much from the comments on Wings.
    Wings, you, all of you, are an inspiration.

If there is one thing that stands out from this campaign it is the sheer positivity and mental strength displayed by all of you, and all in the face of a machine that is the Westminster Establishment.

In an ironic way, Wings and the contributors on here are an example of what good old fashioned “British” values used to be about. Win or loose, we have won. We have set the bar for people power. The Establishment fear us now, the people and the momentum for change will not stop.
    Yes!

50. Elaine deighan

Thanks for everything, gave my wee blue books to various don’t know people, every one a yes now. Thanks for everything Stu xxx

51. Johnny

‘A new feudalism’ sums up how I have come to see what’s been going on. They’ve been striving to turn the clock back. I’m about to hopefully play my part in beginning the reversal of this process, as I’m just off to vote Yes. Thanks to Stu and the rest for all you’ve done. I was a latecomer to the site and away from the realms of the undecided, was already becoming a Yes but coming here and to places like WGD, Bateman etc armed me with the confidence , to debate with others. The part I have been able to play in convincing other people is small, but I was able to solidify a couple of wavering Yessers, and was proud when a friend messaged me for advice on social media, saying she trusted my opinion on the issue above all others. Even though she has a friend versed in economics who was talking her the other way, she accepted my argument that economists don’t know everything, that humans adapt to meet challenges, that Scots will do as humans do everywhere and that there are specialities that we will have in 20 years’ time that we do not know about. She accepted that, another undecided won over. I just hope we get enough in the end. God bless you all.

52. Grouse Beater

Am on my way to vote now.

The simple gesture of placing ‘X’ on a sheet of paper will alter my country’s opportunities for the better and for all.

Choose Free Will, Choose Hope – grousebeater.wordpress

53. Richard

I was late, I never voted until about 5 past 7. I put a thick cross in the YES box and delighted to do so. Leaving the polling station in Ayr a huge saltire made of jet contrails hung in the sky above.

What on earth am I going to do with the day, I doubt I’ll sleep tonight. In 24 hours we might be (practically) independent!

54. Juan P

Thank you Stu and thanks to the rest of you.

Let’s do this!

55. OneoftheHundred

Thanks for all the time and effort you spent. Your insight has been amazing. You will never have to buy a pint in Scotland again. I guarantee this.
    Good luck everyone.

56. Coolheads Prevail

Thanks for all you’ve done, Rev. C’mon Scotland, let’s do this!

57. davidb

Deed done. Postal vote handed to presiding officer. Would have been happier to see it go in a sealed box, but what can you expect in this pastiche of a democracy.

Lots of names scored out already. Lots of people going in. Hope the weather holds and the turnout is massive.

Im so glad I found this site. Thank you to Craig Murray from where I found the link that brought me here. Thank you to all those of you who have entertained me, brought me hope, sent me links to photographs and videos I sent on to others. Thank you for the WBB. Thank you Rev. Who would have thought it, a Campbell who should be welcome at any Clachaig.

And I think its disgraceful of wee folding bike to make a grown man like me cry.

Go Scotland. Vote YES!

58. Thepnr

Well done on getting us all this far Rev. I hope there is still a mountain of hard work ahead for you and all of us too.

59. heraldnomore

Just stop it folks, I can’t read this screen. Someone must have been peeling onions around here.

My cross marked after witnessing the sealing of the empty box. My one greatest legacy to my children.

60. KaMate

Gutted not to be making my mark on history ๐Ÿ™ at least I get to follow the count at a sociable hour !

Yes we can !

61. Frank mooney

Honestly, towards the end I was quite emotional. So well written. I embrace tomorrow and trust that you will be there.

62. Bugger (the Panda)

Thanks Stu and all the WoSers.

63. BB

This is it. This is the first time we have ever been truly sovereign and will remain so until 10pm. I hope the people of Scotland will be wise enough to hold on to that sovereignty for good by voting YES. (with credit to Jim Sillars for that) ๐Ÿ™‚

And thank you Rev Stu. Hope to celebrate and raise a glass to you one day over this. The hope pushing through the fear and the work gone in by so many has been incredible, especially compared to the other side. We deserve to win and win well, but we’ll not know if we will for about 24 nail biting hours…it’s going to be a long day.

64. stonefaction

Thanks Stu for all your tireless work these past few years. You have made a difference in this campaign, I think it is safe to say. Thanks also to all the Wingers for the facts and banter in the comments section also.

A wee suggestion for folks today. Today is a historic day regardless of the outcome. If you can, take photos/video of the sights around the country (but NOT in the polling station – that’s illegal apparently). Let’s document the day. It will be fascinating to look back on.

65. DaveDee

Thanks for everything Rev, you’ve played a blinder.

Pollng station was very busy earlier even at that time in the morning.

Weather forecast is good, It’s our time!

66. Marker Post

It’s time.

67. i'm a fan

Poetic and powerful.

Reading Wings has been revelatory for me.

I just felt I had to put on record my thanks to the editor of this site for his incisive insights and literally untiring efforts to reveal the truth behind the lies, and to the readership for their contributions and solidarity.

Thank you.

Ken

68. ScottieDog

Lovely piece. Well done and thanks for all your work.

69. stewart bc

It’s just getting ridiculous now. It started last night watching Nicola and Alex. I have tears in my eyes at the slightest thing. This is so emotionally draining.

Let’s Do This!

70. RMAC

@ Rev Stu, well said that man! They will never give us another opportunity like this again. Tomorrow it will be all over but today we can change our future for the better. There an only be one answer to the question and that is YES.

71. Dorothy Devine

The deed is done , my cross is YESSED .I had to queue for 10 minutes and never in my quite long life have I ever had to do that!

Must be called democracy in action or something!

Once again thank you Stu and Wonderful Wingers!

If there is a joyous party on Friday I will not be able to join in – grandparent duties call and since I am voting for the future of the children and grandchildren of Scotland, I don’t feel too bad about that.

Who am I kidding! I’ll be as sick as a parrot to miss the festivities and rejoicing and am putting in a request for at least a weeks worth!

It has to be YES!

72. piggy

Aye, it’s time.

73. stonefaction

Thanks, Stu for all your efforts throughout this campaign. I believe this site and the Wee Blue Book have made a difference.

A wee suggestion for folks. If you can, it would be worthwhile documenting the day in photos (or video), to be able to look back on today. Remember to NOT take any photos within the polling stations though as that is apparently illegal.

74. fionan

feeling very emotional, today is the day I have waited for for 58 years. Today I have to travel almost 100 miles for yet another interview to try to avoid homelessness, after being hounded from my home and away from family and friends last year and losing many of my personal possessions all thanks to bedroom tax and IDS policies. I feel nauseous with the fear that something will go wrong, some sabotage of the vote. I wish I could be working today to help bring a YES. Thank you to Stuart and all WOSsers for helping me to stay sane over this past year. Now to get ready to go mark my YES.

75. WantonWampum.

Scots wha hae
    Wi` Wallace bled
    Scots wham Bruce
    has aften led
    Welcome tae yer gory bed
    OR to victorie

Now`s the day
    Now`s the hour
    See the front
    of battle lour
    Welcome to your glory hour
    or to slaverie.

76. Haggis Hunter

A Nation Again, come on Scotland!

77. Garry

It’s been a privilege to read this and Derek Bateman’s final post of the campaign.

Amongst the best prose I have seen for a long, long time.

But tomorrow we require poetry.

Hail Alba!!!

78. Deepest Green

Today we are sovereign, its a feeling I enjoy and I don’t intend to give it up. Lets grab this opportunity and cherish it as we build a better country.

79. Scottishdragon

Voted at 7.10am, steady stream of people. Amazing feeling – just felt completely natural to be creating a country we can be proud of.

I had my 2-year old with me. I told him what I was doing, that it was important and that I was doing it for him.

80. Grouse Beater

Andy Murray says, ‘Let’s do this!’

81. Ian MacDonald

Thank you for everything.

82. todayinscotland

Many thanks Stu for the inspiration you and Wings have given us.
    Let’s do this.
    Hail Alba

83. KenC

Just heading out to vote, but logged on to say thank you rev for making this more achievable than it could have been. The quality of argument and personalities has been on our side. We only need the foresight and courage to follow it through. I am lucky enough to have two votes today. A friend of mine works in the oil industry and I have his proxy vote. I’ve waited since 1973 for this moment and I get to do it twice! My friend is working in the Claire Field at present, for the first time, and is excited by the pace of development there. For Scotland and the future. YES!

84. Achnababan

The big day is here and I just have a few words to say:

Robert Peffers โ€“ you are a true gent and I hope to chat with you some day and please write a book about your life as an independenista!

Lesley-Anne โ€“ top poster! Thanks.

Andy Murray โ€“ I did doubt you but you have real guts coming out for YES โ€“ thank you

Jim Murphy โ€“ you cant make a nation without breaking eggs!

85. Charlie Kidd

Stuart, thank you for the wonderful contributions you have brought us throughout this campaign. When an independent Scotland forges a new medal for it’s citizens I will have no fear in nominating you for our l’egionne d’honour or whatever WE choose to call it. We’ll done man, your a hero.

86. Nobby Power

I’m welling up just reading that. Spot on sir, well said.

Today we wrest hope from the grasp of fear. Here’s to new beginnings friends!

87. Wilma

My husband and my self both from Scotland him from Glasgow and myself from the Highlands wish our country the greatest success in deciding its own future today, we will be watching the results and having our own little party at home.

88. ochyes

thanks for all the work you have done. i’ve used it extensively and shared with friends across the globe. i know it has helped some move from No to Yes. i know it has made others question the MSM. your opening paragraph is brilliant.

89. Alastair Bishop

Thanks for everything Stuart, contributors and readers. Now let’s get out there and do this.

90. Kyle Mackay

People of Wings, I fucking love you all. I can’t quite believe our time has come, I feel sick with excitement and nerves.

I just met three great guys, council workers. One cheered for my Yes tshirt as I passed, gave two of them Aye badges and one covered himself in Yes stickers ๐Ÿ™‚ They stand out really nice on the hi-vis jackets. Such positive, confident, happy guys. Scotland’s waking up, we’re building a new country already.

Rev Stu you’re getting a statue whether you like it or not ๐Ÿ™‚

The Wingers I’ve met have been the best people, so warm and welcoming, you’ve made me and my family feel at home.

I hope to meet alot more of you in our Free Scotland.

I know Stu hates slogans in comments but it’s referendum day, what’s he gona do? ๐Ÿ˜›

Hail Alba!

91. mr thms

Taiwan says Scotland should vote Yes..

youtu.be/G58uCzZXfAE

92. Macart

Vote made.

Best morning walk EVER! ๐Ÿ™‚

Great post Stu and of course gets right to the heart of the issue as it really is. Beyond all the misdirection and misrepresentation of the past three years in the meeja, its only ever been about addressing the imbalance in our democracy and society. Identity played only the most minor of rolls in the play, as in what type of ideology do we identify with, neoliberal greed or social justice? We already know who we are and where we live, its about having the choice and freedom to make of ourselves what we will. Its about independence.

93. handclapping

Indeed, Westminster the tool of the “insatiable rich” is not for us, we need a different path.

Thanks for all your support Stuart.

94. gillie

F**k the weepy-eyed rhetoric – LET’S DO THIS

95. MajorBloodnok

Off to vote now and then to another polling station to stand outside it with a Yes rosette on for a few hours.

What a great journey this has been, my fellow travelers, and it’s only just beginning.

96. edward robinson

WINGS, fantastic job , no matter what happens.

97. Scot Finlayson

“Carpe diem” Scotland

98. Albaman

Hey Stew,
    Your going nowhere stick around, because what ever happens YOU will be needed.

99. Jim Bo

Spot on as ever Rev. Have really appreciated all you incredible efforts.
    Enjoy the day everyone who is lucky enough to be there to cast a vote!

100. Meindevon

Packing my back and flying home in a few hours. Bad news is my wee mum is unwell and may not make it the polls to cast her yes vote. I have faith that it won’t be needed.

It is scary and exciting and nerve racking and inspiring. If any country can make independence work it’s Scotland. I used to be a no, way back in the beginning, wanting to see more answers to all the questions. Thinking it was a bad time in financial timelines to go our own way. However, this vote is unprecedented and the lack of answers that could have been given but haven’t, from Westminster, has not helped their cause.

Living in England and being subjected to the English press it is clear Scotland is just thought of as somewhere to holiday, somewhere England subsidises and is nothing but ungrateful in return. I hear little comments from friends and neighbours which worry me if the vote is yes but if it is no this website has helped to show me what will happen to Scotland will be much worse. I am sure the first few years will be tough but we will pull through and hopefully in the end earn the respect of Middle England and become good friends.

Enjoy today, folks.

101. Croompenstein

Wonderful words Stuart, I must now gather myself for I am shaking like a leaf and play my part in my country’s history. You Stu have played a bigger part than any of us could ever imagine so thank you so much for your tireless effort in bringing us truth and justice where we only had lies and fear.

102. Simon Chadwick

We were in Dundee last night, presenting an intimate wee “Lament for the Union” concert, it was amazing beforehand to wander the streets and stumble upon the crowds in City Square with flags and freindliness.

Now off to cook a giant breakfast before heading out!

103. Red Squirrel

Polling station busy at 07:00; balloons, more Yes signs, flags and bunting flying…so proud of Scotland. Let’s do this.

104. Iain

Thanks Stu, for your endless tenacity, devotion and time youve put into this campaign. Whatever the result youve been a breath of fresh air.

105. Neil Mackenzie

I voted Yes for breakfast.

106. paul gerard mccormack

a big heartfelt thank you.

107. country gal

Fingers crossed in Australia for you.
    Hopefully we get a new flag out of a victorious YES vote.

108. Wee Copey

This last week has been agonisingly long. I’ve been like a cat on a hot tin roof and my hubby has been silently laughing at how passionate I’ve gotten about the whole thing.

We’ve agreed to go to the polling station together when he finishes work tonight and I don’t know how I’m going to get through the day without going insane lol.

Want to thank you Stu for all the hard work and dedication you have shown, your WBB has been a saviour as, like other people on this site, I’ve used it to great advantage when discussing this momentus vote with friends etc. I’ve also pointed everyone I’ve spoken to over the last year to your site.

Together we can do this, we have the power. I will never forget this momentus time and I don’t see how we can’t win this. Thank you do the bottom of my Scottish heart.

SOAR ALBA!!!

109. Big Al

What a feeling. Knowing that for once, my vote actually means something. I put my X in the Yes, folded it, held it in my hand then opened it and looked at it again. Just to make sure. 3 times.
    Thanks for everything you have done Stu. Can’t imagine you will be able to go into a bar now and have to buy a drink for yourself.

110. heedtracker

Check out the bile drips from the fake progressive democrats of teamGB. Never has running dog lackey made more sense than the sneering malice of the Guardian. They think they own Scotland but let’s find out.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/17/alex-salmond-blind-you-to-yes-campaign-dark-side

111. Doug Daniel

First time I’ve had to queue to vote (I’m assuming it’s not usually like that at 7am, but I’ve never voted that early before!) We are going to do it. No, we ARE doing it.

112. Hood

Thanks everyone, Stuart especially but also all the posters on this site and not forgetting all the other sites and blogs.

Took the dog a walk this morning and the only No Thanks sign I have seen in a house (plenty in fields) was down. I wondered if it had just fallen down so walked up the street at the back and the No Thanks sticker, that was in the back window, has also gone, looks like another has moved to the side of hope and away from fear ๐Ÿ™‚

113. steveasaneilean

Been to my local polling station to vote at my usual time. We only have about 600 registered to vote at ours and I am usually the only one there when I go. But this morning it was buzzing – people in front and people behind. And they all had the same smile as me on their faces. We should all be proud for we are all heroes.

114. Nana Smith

Rev stu….you are a bright shining star!

115. Ninja Penguin

When I voted Yes in the 1997 referendum my baby son was asleep in a sling on my hip. Today he walked to the polling station with me to vote for the first time. We both voted Yes. So proud.

116. JLT

Done …and hopefully there may still be a couple of undecideds to speak to. Who knows…

Stuart …it’s been a pleasure. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

And hopefully tomorrow …we will be in a new world …and a better one…

117. scotsbob

We CAN do this, it’s our country, let’s make a difference

118. Roger

Ha ha, I’ve been randomly posting the link to this article on the comments section in the Guardian. Some it will inspire, some it will enrage – and it will be those who deserve it in either case!

119. Jason Russell

See on the Herald Professor Adam Tomkins from Slovenia is throwing tantrums as usual:

“He has heard chat of the university’s entire philosophy department voting Yes. “I don’t think there’s a constituency which has made me more angry. This is an act of extreme selfishness by groups of people with no sense of solidarity. These are not the people to take the pain which will come with independence.

“They will have books to write and grants to apply for. There are people in the area who are the most fervent believers in this pernicious myth that we are a repressed social democracy waiting to be born from English neo-liberalism.

“Inequality has grown since devolution, educational performance is worse. There is a naรฏvety, a dangerous naรฏvety, in the west end.””

120. JPJ2

Beyond brilliant, Rev Stu, beyond brilliant.

A heartfelt thanks to you ๐Ÿ™‚

121. David Anderson

A big thanks to one and all, I have plagiarised this site and the links posted by ‘wingers’ unashamedly in my relatively successful quest to ‘lift the veil’ towards a YES vote. I just want to say ‘enjoy the moment and the feelings’…

122. Stoops

I arrived to vote at the polling station at 6:55, I was fifth in the queue. Got in, got my ballot, got in the booth and read the question about six times before putting a cross in the Yes box with a shaking hand. Read the ballot again to make sure my cross was in the right box, went over it again with a firm hand then read it again. Folded the ballot paper and put it in the box. It felt like a final exam, I was so nervous, even now I couldnโ€™t be sure I put my cross in the right box!

Anyone else feel like this, or am I just a fud?

123. JPJ2

Just seen the Adam Tomkins rant about the whole Philosophy department at Glasgow University apparently voting Yes.

As a graduate from just that very department, I salute them with pride.

124. Auld Sandy

Superb piece.

Go for it Scotland!

125. Hevghirl (@sanctuaryofheap)

Stu

I don’t often comment but, in advance, I would like to thank you for your tireless and gargantuan effort throughout, regardless of the result. I have rarely, or never, seen the sheer volume of output on a website by one person, nevermind the cogency of that volume. Without your dissection of what amounts to bombardment by the No campaign, many of us would not be as informed. It has been nothing short of miraculous and you must be exhausted. Whatever the result it won’t have been in vain. The fact that when you attend a meeting your website is advertised or the Wee Blue Book is an achievement in itself. When I talk to other yes voters they are all aware of it. Those who aren’t are directed towards the book so they can pass it on to undecideds. It’s one helluva achievement.

I would also like to thank all of those who have contributed to the site including the commenters. You have all done us proud.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
    Heather

126. boglestone

Hope has to triumph over fear. Let’s do this Scotland!

127. Socrates MacSporran

Bloody Andy Murray – he’s just a sportsman, a brilliant tennis player from a nation which doesn’t really DO tennis.

What right has he to come-up with the phrase of the day.

Brilliant Andy – LET’S DO THIS.

128. Hevghirl (@sanctuaryofheap)

I just put a huge comment in and it’s not shown up cos I used a different email address.

Oh well, anyway, it amounted to a massive thanks to Stu from the bottom of my heart.

Heather

129. Justin Ross

We are one more! My 23-year-old cousin has always been an undecided. Today he voted Yes! He said “How can we be Better Together when everything is just such an effort?”. Nicola Sturgeon in her last debate did the trick. Well done Nicola

130. Ian Brotherhood

@fionan –

Hang in there pal – what we’re doing today is for you and everyone else neglected by Westminster. ‘Darkest before the dawn’ and all that…

131. WantonWampum.

on A lighter note.
    Am I losing the plot.?

Do you know those little round LED-lights that you stick under wall-mounted cupboards to light your kitchen at night.

For months now, I`ve had a “YES” sticker on my living room window in my flat which is 3 x storeys-up and overlooks the Polling Station.
    Sticker is The white “Yes” on a blue background.

God help me

With a liberal coating of Pritt-stick – I stuck the wee LED-light on the shaft of a mash-hammer, stood the hammer on it`s head and shone it through the sticker.
    All night long.
    Like a window-mounted Xmas light.

It is a wee shining beacon in the dark – illuminating the way to YES.

Ma heid – hurts.

My brother says I shouldn`t advertise my personal lunacy on WoS.

132. No no no...Yes

*****FREE THE UNICORN****
    They say you learn something new everyday. Whilst out canvassing I learned that Scotland is represented by a unicorn on Royal Coat of Arms of the United Kingdom:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unicorn#mediaviewer/File:Royal_Coat_of_Arms_of_the_United_Kingdom.svg

“According to legend a free unicorn was considered a very dangerous beast; therefore the heraldic unicorn is chained”

We have been chained for too long, today is the opportunity to set free the Unicorn. VOTE YES

133. pussy nancy

Oh my God! I started greetin’ as soon as I swung my legs out of bed this morning! Even the dog is sitting with his head to the side wondering what on earth is the matter. I read Stu’s piece and that just made we worse. Beautiful.
    I cannot get that ("Tractor" - Ed) Brown out of my mind. Standing there, surrounded by Union flags, preaching to, no insulting, the people of his homeland. Everything he has said and done has been from behind closed doors to a well vetted audience. Relying on the BBC to carry his message. He is a coward and a creep. Look at Alex and Nicola who have roamed the streets freely, talking to both YES and NO. Anyone and everyone invited to their speeches.
    I truly hope that Scotland sends Brown to the gutter where he belongs!
    Polling station next stop, to vote for my country, my children and our FREEDOM!

Thanks for everything Stu.

134. Oneironaut

Just about to head out to the polling station in a bit to stand around in the hope that any last-minute undecideds will see me and think: “I should Vote Yes!”

Doubt that will happen, because I tend to look like a mugger and they’ll probably get the impression I’m trying to intimidate people and call the police.
    But oh well, I promised I’d be there, and I’ll be there… ๐Ÿ™‚

Seriously tempted to print this out and stick it to a placard or something though.
    So inspiring ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for everything Stu! I really believe that if it wasn’t for you and Wings over Scotland, counteracting the lies and tricks of the media, we would have lost this.
    Whatever the press think of you, you’ll be considered the saviour of an independent Scotland!
    If we ever meet, I’ll happily shake your hand and buy you a beer (or any other preferred beverage of choice)! ๐Ÿ˜€

Wishing everyone here a less tense day than I’m feeling right now. And here’s to our hopes! May they finally be realised!

I’ll be staying offline till tomorrow, ‘cos I won’t be able to take the suspense of the “running total” reports. I just want to know the final count so I know whether to celebrate or start looking for tall buildings to jump off of…

See you on the other side folks ๐Ÿ˜€

135. manandboy

Another superb, inspiring piece.

You truly are a legend.

May you soon be back among us –

preferably to stay.

Do please come

and stay with us.

136. Archie [not Erchie]

OK just back from Polling Station – Did the voting business bit first or should I say the pleasure bit? Introduced myself to the ladies behind the desks as an authorised Wings Polling Agent [fuzzy warm feeling] and I would pop in from time to time.

137. galamcennalath

Yup, that’s what it’s all about! Well said!

138. Inbhir Anainn

Rise now and be a nation again. Yes duly crossed on the ballot paper. There’s a sea of change blowing in the wind we are going to do this. Many thanks first of all to the Rev. Stu Campbell in who we all owe a deep debt of gratitude for his Wings Over Scotland website.

Secondly to my fellow Wingers for their articles or posted comments and abounding enthusiasm.

Finally I am getting married tomorrow it would be dear to me and my future wife if when saying our vows to each other we knew that our fellow countrymen and women had took the sovereignty of our ain nation into our own hands.

139. David

Great read, very passionate. I voted at 0705 and the polling station was really busy. Thanks for all your great work over the course of this whole debate. If we vote yes, I’m at the front row of the first local meeting. Im not sitting back, I want to participate. Once again many thanks

140. NovaScotia

Thanks Stu for many very inspiring pieces on this amazing site.
    Just back from voting YES with a huge smile on my face.

141. Iain

That’s me in!!

142. HandandShrimp

I have voted and ticking that Yes box was the easiest thing I have ever done.

On Andy just saw a screen capture of a Tweet on one of my favourite Yes facebook pages, Yes Orkney. I wonder if the MSM will pick up on one of the nasiest Tweets I have seen in a while….probably not. However, I hope the police do.

143. Malegria

Ninja Penguin – Knew I shouldn’t have read this site before I go out to vote, greeting now at the thought of you and your boy voting together!

What a day to be alive, people. Savour it, drink it all in. There’ll never be a day like it again ๐Ÿ˜‰

144. Footsoldier

Sigh! If only this could be compulsory reading before voting.

An extremely well thought out piece which will be dismissed by the same people it attacks.

Anyone who has read the Ragged Trousered Philanthropists by the Irish writer Robert Tressell, will immediately relate to the tenor of the above article.

145. Helena Brown

I too want to thank you Reverend Stu, I came late to this party but I have never felt a stranger, here among my ain folk I have had laughs, reassurance, strength and companionship.
    I also want to thank all those who have tirelessly worked on behalf of the YES campaign and have been a tower of strength. Now the blue eye shadow is on, the dug is primes or will be very shortly, he is wearing the YES badges today. We are off round the road to the polls. I expect it to be busy. You know which way our votes are going, and good on you Andy Murray, better late than never and nobody minds, we understood your reasons.

146. john ferguson

Rev. you have done sterling work Sir. Thank you. However I think it is down to those who care and those who don’t. Listened to Brian Taylor with Hew (the welsh guy) saying that in 1707 the people of Scotland voted for the union. He calls himself a journalist?

147. Sandra

Thanks for your tireless effort on this brilliant website.

148. the dab

Thank you, Stu, for putting the time and effort into this. Circumstances have prevented me from playing as full a part as I’d have liked but I’ve lived the campaign vicariously through all of your well presented research and the erudite, insightful and humorous contributions of WoS followers.

It will be a nail-biting night but, come what may, this campaign has opened the hearts and minds of a new generation who will go on to press for greater democracy and social justice, and you’ve shown them what can be achieved through just one blog.

149. scottish_skier

Off tae vote Yes.

Top job Rev.

150. Ambrose Harper

‘Hope is like a road in the country; there was never a road, but when many people walk on it, the road comes into existence’ Lin Yutang

151. Craig P

Outside the polling station the ‘vote no’ sign says ‘its not worth the risk’. Anybody up for some ‘those who exchange liberty for temporary security end up with neither’ home-made posters on the approaches to polling booths??

152. David Mitchell

How I envy you all.
    As a son of Scotland who left in 1989, who couldn’t stomach Thatcherism any more, I am envious.
    To stand there and with the stroke of a pen…..
    I will come home one day.
    To a free Scotland ๐Ÿ™‚

153. cearc

Just back in for breakfast after spending the first hour as polling agent.

On the very scientific, ‘people with silly grins voted yes’criteria, we are doing very well indeed!

Bit more food and off to visit more stations. We had an inspector pop in who said,’ Ooh, a polling agent. First one I’ve met today.’

154. Tamson

@oneironaut:

No offence, but I hope your last line was in jest. Fact is, the Samaritans may well be busy if there’s a No vote.

This is why I don’t view today as our last chance. It’s our BEST chance, but others will come. This beast called hope has awoken, and it must not be allowed to fall asleep again.

155. tartanfever

The clouds are a little bit closer this morning..

cause I’m standing 10 feet tall.

So proud today, of you Rev, all you glorious wingers and of those passed who ever dared dream of our independence.

156. John O

Was just down the Aberdeen Torry polling station and what do I see labour party guy wearing his labour party rosette, thought it was not about party politics labour party people, looks like you can’t even tell the truth about that, they just get lower and lower.

157. Brian Ritchie

A massive well done Stu! What more is there to say? ๐Ÿ™‚

158. Calgacus

A Campbell, A Campbell!!!

159. katy hodgson

a time of enlightenment

160. Alex Grant

Well done Stu. You are a star

I have to admit to still being nervous.As I stood leafletting/chatting at the top of Leith Walk on Saturday (between two Germans supporting YES!) I was told by an ‘educated’ Scot that Scotland was only civilised by union with England. I’m afraid there are too many like this telling fearties to vote No. My pal tells me to have faith in the young and the newly registered and we’ll win by 60%. I hope he is right

Last night we toured the streets of Edinburgh playing Scottish songs on a loudhailer and the reaction from many was smiles and thumbs up which was inspiring but there still some shaking their heads or looking miserable.My home town of Glasgow I am pleased to say looked more positive!
    Anyway here’s hoping

161. G. P. Walrus

@Jason Russell

I am just back from Slovenia. a small country of 2 million people with no oil in a part of the world torn by two world wars and the wreck of Yugoslavia.
    It’s beautiful, relaxed and doing very nicely thank you, a peaceful member of the EU. I can’t understand Tomkins’ arguments for why Scotland should not also enjoy nationhood one again.

162. Valerie

Thank you for everything Rev and WoSrs. I don’t post much, but always come on at night in order to detox, and read the great banter and support. A haven from all the crap being thrown. May we all get the result, that the people of this country deserve. Free the Unicorn, and put the crown back on his proud head.

163. Roboscot

fionan

Good luck with your appointment – I’ve been there.
    YOU’RE NOT ALONE.

164. kendomacaroonbar

Thank you Stuart for everything you have done.

This will be one of the most important decisions we will ever have to make for those that follow us. I’m ready.

165. Tamson

Oh, and Rev, once again, many thanks for your efforts. We wouldn’t be this close to winning without you (salutes)

166. G. P. Walrus

Dear Rev. Campbell,

Your efforts in building Wings have been phenomenal. Thank you for your tremendous personal contribution to the independence cause and I hope you will continue your commentary long after the referendum. The flower of democracy is growing but fragile and your brand of journalism is sorely needed for it to flourish.

Regards,

John McCall

167. K1

Never been an early riser as I’m a night owl by nature. Woke at 6am, tried to get back to sleep, nae luck! At the polling station by 7.45, three Yes votes for me, 2 proxies for friends that are away!

Beautiful writing Stu, absolutely to the heart of what this is about. Thank you again, for everything. ๐Ÿ™‚

168. Livimo

Thank you Rev. You have been an enlightening, informative source of inspiration. Scotland owes you.

169. Ann

Well I hope Cameron, Milliband et al had a sleepless night. Right now each and every one of us is more powerful than them. It is our vote which will change Scotland forever – I am heading out the door now and feel great.

Thanks to everyone especially the Rev, Derek Bateman and the wee ginger dug.

170. A.N.Surgent

According to bbc North Queensferry is now in Kirkcaldy. Grrrr

171. fred blogger

tartanfever
    walk tall.

172. Kid Spotlight

173. William

I sat and watched the ‘Great British Break Up’ last night and once again the media have shown that they are biased and the NO campaigners have no substance to their arguments. Once again the media showed the live feelings on the crowd on the YES/NO monitor and every time the NO was ahead Mr Snow said lets look at the monitor to see how things are going. When the YES was ahead there was no mention of it and at the end when the YES were ahead they turned of the display. Once again Michele Mone (Moan) had the nerve to ask a Scottish actor if he had a vote in the referendum. This is the passionate Scot who said that she will leave Scotland in the event of a YES vote. If she leaves today I will personally pay her taxi fare to the Airport. She talks about having her business in Scotland but actually the manufacturing side is done elsewhere in low cost regions like many businesses. They will do anything these days to make the extra pound (or is it dollar or euro), seems they can’t make up their minds although it is very clear to the YES campaign that the currency will be the pound.

We need people who will put their money back into Scotland and get jobs back into this country. Businesses can still make a good profit by doing the manufacturing and other jobs here, maybe not as much as they could elsewhere but if they are serious about improving Scotland and making it a fairer society then squeezing every penny of profit out of businesses just for the sake of the share holders has got to stop.

174. Wee Jimmy

Thank you for all your hard work “man hug”!!

175. The Tree of Liberty

Rev, I may forget your face, but the contribution you have made to Scotland’s Independence, never! Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

176. desimond

Everyone here and beyond knows.

No more words needs said other than:

A nation thanks you.

177. dennis mclaughlin

Vote cast!,back home and Wishbone Ash’s finest album ARGUS playing on the turntable….wee cuppa and BLISS.

Enjoy the rest of the day folks!,thanks STU for getting us all safely to this juncture :).

178. Scot Finlayson

Well done Andy and Jamie Murray, a great antidote to the scaremongering Establishment `proud to be Scottish but`Rugby players.
    80 minute Scotchmen.

179. YouMe

Thanks, Stuart.

Your contribution to the debate has been vast. There are many lines of reason considered by those seeking comprehensive understanding that just wouldn’t be, had you not so exhaustively offered them.

This is a movement of millions but fuck me – you’ve been stand out. I’ve gone from complete apathy to ultra charged in the last two years and Wings was always my home square from which I’d read all relevant references, related articles and reports.

I honestly don’t know what I’m going to do with all this free time I suddenly have.

180. Indy_Scot

There is a point in life when you realise that there are people in the world that are more gifted and more talented than you will ever be. Stuart you are one of them.

You are a God among mere mortals.

181. David Dickson

You have been a constant companion throughout the last few months. I thank you for your diligence and your optimism and for providing a dissenting voice in a sea of state generated fearmongering. I hope for the future, I don’t fear our apathy any longer.

182. David Wardrope

Been and voted. I was shaking (still am). Then came to work listening to Big Country. I’m sorry, I’ve never quoted song here but I will today,

“Did we ever have it good,
    While we lived in El Dorado did we find the gold we should,
    If it really was the truth,
    Why are faces filled with anger that should only shine with youth

Its just a shadow of the people we should be!!!!!”

I had a wee greet.

183. Pennapely

We’re ready now.

184. Gavin

Thank you Stu. Hail Alba.

185. JimF

No no no…Yes
    The UK heraldic Unicorn is chained by the English crown around its neck. It looks quite different from the Scottish crown. There’s an older unchained stone Unicorn in Stirling.

186. Katherine hamilton

Their names are Jillian and Gareth. I’m voting yes for them and all the other children of Scotland.
    Now’s the day and now’s the hour. Go Scotland!

187. seanair

BT board outside Holy Cross polling station (Edinburgh) has an amazingly positive message for voters “Vote No if you can’t take the risk”. Don’t know if this message is all over Scotland, but in line with other BT pish.

188. Nancy Burge

Drove to work past the polling station where I saw lots of Yessers all smiling, so I tooted and gave them a big thumbs up. I am voting tonight so I can savour it and not do it in a rush.

Does anyone else find they are grinning and giving a thumbs up every time they drive past one of those big YES signs? Even though there is no one there to see it?

Lots of balloons and bunches of small saltires on gates all over the place here on Skye, so a lot of grinning as I drove in.

Stu, a big thank you for this site and the WBB.

I have met some great people these last few weeks in the Yes campaign.

189. Flower of Scotland

Thanks again Stu! A very emotional piece! I’m crying easily today!

Thanks Wingers for your company, humour and insight. We will have to still be wingers to make sure that Scotland gets a good deal in future negotiations!

I woke up to a message from my daughter, her husband and the two Grandchildren in California, wishing they could be here to vote YES

190. gillie

Scottish rugby players should be ashamed of themselves. Never will go back to Murrayfield until these knobs are replaced.

191. Penderyn

Dear Scots,
    today the decision is in your hands: country or colony.

I know on this site that 99.9% will be voting yes. I wish you the best of luck, from Wales. I hope we will be following you in the near future.

192. Brian Ritchie

Rev, I may forget your face…

You must be joking! Who could forget a mug like that! ๐Ÿ˜€

193. cockney lad

Last fag then I’m off to vote Y.

Please please please let it be so.

194. Proud Cybernat

@ Rev Stu

“This revolution will have no martyrs, no widows, no orphans.”

No, it won’t. But it will have one giant hero, Rev. Stuart Campbell.

195. Richard

I was up and voted by 5 past 7 this morning. I made a firm and bold X in the Yes box. On leaving the polling station a huge saltire (made of jet contrails) hung in the blue sky above Ayr, and the sun shone as I walked home for breakfast.
    My problem now is having to wait until tomorrow morning, I am impatient already…

196. Paula Rose

I could forget the beard.

197. WantonWampum.

Rev Stuart Campbell

Just voted but the guy at the table distributing Ballot Papers could not find my address.
    Couldn`t find my Reg.Number
    Couldn`t find my name,- despite the fact that I handed him my Polling Card with all the stuff on it.

I asked him if they had actually Practiced this procedure – and his excuse was – HE WAS A STAND-BY REPLACEMENT.? FFS.

Therefore, STAND-BY people, paid at public expense, who invigilate at Polling Stations – are not Trained and excluded from Practice – by THIS USELESS ELECTORAL COMMISSION.?

198. Marcia

Paula Rose

Shave before you vote.

199. Training Day

A superb rallying call. Kudos for everything you have done, Stu. We wouldn’t be where we are without you.

I have just voted. I gave due consideration to the carefully reasoned arguments of Better Together. Less than a nansecond later, I voted Yes.

On them. They fail!

200. MoJo

Thanks to Wings for sustaining us all on this journey of hope and helping channel all this positive energy into a community to help build the new Scotland from tomorrow…..

Two saltires flutter from our tenement windows this morning -as my daughter says – we are only going to do this once !

Tears and smiles at the polling station ….two more Yes votes in the box….

and to quote the famous Robert Frost poem:

I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and Iโ€”
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.

201. Tom Dailly

Yes

202. Ghillie Mackay

Hello folks! First time posting, and what a day to begin!

Thanks to my Mum and Dad,I have grown up always believing in Scotland regaining her independence! My own two sons and my eldest’s girlfriend, have campaigned tirelessly. I am so proud of them and of all the folk from every walk of life who have brought us all to this day.

I believe with all my heart that Scotland will choose independence today!

Thank you Wings and all WOSers for being a warm welcoming safe haven! And funny too!

203. Bill Fraser

Thank you

204. bookie from hell

Newsfox ?@theNewsfox ยท 2m
    Really getting the sense that Project Fear has got a lot of people’s backs up.

205. S.McLaughlin

Cheers Stu,Wos ,bellacaledonia,Newsnetscotland just to name a few ,If it was not for sites like these i would have been through 5 tvs by now with the misinformation of the London media.
    Well done to the folk that have been handing oot flyers ,wbb.

When we get an over 60% aye vote ,never mind the time frame for getting rid of trident ,Whats the time frame to get rid of the beeb once and for all.

206. Grizzle McPuss

Up off our knees, head up and forward we go.

Cheers to everyone.

207. Lesley-Anne

Sorry folks I haven’t read all the posts yet but I felt I had to post this first.

The next fifteen hours mark the only ones in the entire history of time in which the fate of Scotland has rested democratically in the hands of its people.

Sorry Stu I believe you are wrong here. Apparently, our most respected political editor, Brian Taylor, of that great and good institution of TRUTH and NEUTRALITY, the BBC, tweeted last night that it was the people of Scotland who made the decision to join with England over 300 years ago. As everyone knows I am one who has NEVER questioned the ability of the BBC or its reporters to tell the TRUTH, I have always believed the BBC to be the font of NEUTRALITY and TRUTH. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I can therefore conclude only ONE thing. Despite rumours to the contrary, that it was only a few of the political elite and landed gentry who voted FOR the union, I am now convinced, thanks to the never ending search for the TRUTH by our Brian, that it was in fact the PEOPLE of Scotland who voted for the union. All tales of unrest after the union was signed are clearly LIES! ๐Ÿ˜›

208. Capella

A day to remember.Thanks to you Stu and the fellow bloggers who shone a light into the deep darkness of the British media and political system. Let’s show the robber barons the door and make Scotland a beautiful peaceful country.
    Fabulous beast the Unicorn!

209. ailsa craig

Friends from Canada coming for Ryder Cup arrived early {Tuesday]. Just wanted to be part of this momentous day in their Scottish history and give a little to the campaign. Simple reason. It’s our time.
    A lovely surprise and a thought to hold on to today.

210. S.McLaughlin

Cheers Stu,Wos ,bella,Newsnet scotland just to name a few ,If it was not for sites like these i would have been through 5 TVs by now with the misinformation of the London media.
    Well done to the folk that have been handing oot flyers ,wbb.

When we get an aye vote ,never mind the time frame for getting rid of trident ,Whats the time frame to get rid of the beeb once and for all.

211. bookie from hell

daily mash

ANDY Murray has backed Scottish independence and offered to pay the countryโ€™s state pensions when everything goes to hell.

The Scot, who has not won Wimbledon since 2013, said he was attracted to the โ€˜Yesโ€™ campaign because they like shouting aggressively whenever something goes wrong.

Murray, who lives near Walton-on-Thames, added: โ€œI make lots of money and Iโ€™d be happy to give it all to Scottish pensioners if, for some unknown reason, it doesnโ€™t work out.

โ€œI just have to clear it with my accountant. Letโ€™s do this!โ€

โ€˜Yesโ€™ follower Emma Robertson said: โ€œI just love Andyโ€™s blind faith, his use of exclamation marks and his massive, crazy promises.

โ€œHeโ€™s really getting into the spirit of it.โ€

212. Quentin Quale

Stuart Campbell, Wings Over Scotland and Wingers one and all – thank you.

213. Macart

@Lesley-Anne

Bottle of malt and choccy raisins at the ready. ๐Ÿ™‚

214. miro

Go for independance dear Scotland. Future belongs to brave ones. Take it, It is yours. Cheers from Slovenia.

215. Swami Backverandah

Thank you so much for your clear, concise, intelligent comment and information.
    We had no clear information from the mainstream press about the economic plight of Scotland.
    We owe you a debt of gratitude.
    Cheers from an ex-Guardian reader.

216. Paula Rose

(@ Marcia 9:45 – my skirt isn’t THAT short, honey)

217. west_lothian_questioner

Thank you Rev. Stuart Campbell, your work has been truly immense. My bairn’s already put 2 Yes votes in the box, (her own and a friend’s proxy) and in a while, after we eat some cereal, I’m going round the corner with the missus to add another 2 to our total. After that I’m on a 6 hour shift outside the polling station. It’s a lousy day in our corner of West Lothian, I only hope I’m going to be up to it (I’ve got M.E.)

Now’s the day… let’s do it…

218. Graeme Doig

Just voted. Welled up with pride. Doing it again as I type.

Get a grip of yourself man ๐Ÿ˜‰

Very proud and emotional day.

Come on Scotland!

219. Micky Ross

Not for the first time in the last few days…goosebumps.
    Thanks Stu.

220. gordoz

Well done Rev Stu and all at WoS – powerful rebuttal again and again on behalf of Scotlands.

Hope the proud Scots sleep well tonight (Scottish Rugby .. sadly, largely finished – I predict empty Murray field for a while former Captains complete self sell-outs; rest of game will reap the rewards unless there is a statement on 19th)

Have to say all credit to Andy Murray for 11th hr statement (with a name like that; what else could he do !)

So humbled by the WoS and YES campaigns – its been an honour and privilage to read this site and witness YES people in action.

(Also very proud of our new English / Scots YES supporters & the myriad of other nationalities for your help – we could not have got this far without you all)

Lets watch and see where we go now !

221. Stevie boy

Keep up the good work you incredible people.. almost over the winning line.

There are still undecideds out there! I popped into petrol station last night (wearing my Yes t-shirt) and the guy behind the counter started talking about it and said he still hadn’t made his mind up.

I asked him what he was unsure of and after a 10 minute chat he was on our side.

We CAN do this today!!

Scotland.. you will soon be free!!!

222. galamcennalath

Kay Burley on Sky last night …

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/scottish-independence/11103139/Scottish-independence-Sky-News-Kay-Burley-calls-Yes-campaigner-a-knob-during-live-broadcast.html

… Described Yes supporters as “campaigning against England”.

I’m literally speechless on that one!

223. HandandShrimp

โ€œVote No if you canโ€™t take the riskโ€

Really?

Why not

“Vote No if you are a big Jessie”?

224. chalks

There should be no political stuff on the grounds of the polling station folks.

Get the polling people told about it.

And get that labour prick telt.

225. Dave Beveridge

I ferried my first “fare” of the day down to the polls at 7. There was already quite a queue and many Yes badges.

I’m now on standby until 2. What a nightmare just staring at that clock.

Just want to add my thanks to the Rev and anyone on here. If you’ve as much as put a Yes sticker on your car then you’re a hero of mine. Bless you all.

226. Redrockg11

Just back from 7-9 stint at polling station. It was really busy first thing, settled down to a steady stream. it’s going to be a large turnout. In 37 years of political activity I’ve never seen the polls as busy so early.

My impression of things, in my area the Edinburgh commuter belt, is about 50/50. Based on experience of making eye contact with voters.

That’s is good as we are not the most fertile of yes areas.

227. cearc

Marcia,

Agree, her legs were looking a bit stubbly in the pool.

228. Andy McNamara

I voted for a fairer more equal society. I voted for a land with no nuclear bombs. I voted to live in a country that has democratic representation. I voted yes

229. Ron

“Ninja Penguin says:
    18 September, 2014 at 8:37 am
    When I voted Yes in the 1997 referendum my baby son was asleep in a sling on my hip. Today he walked to the polling station with me to vote for the first time. We both voted Yes. So proud.”

That’s amazing and brilliant in equal measure; it really has made my day. I was 11 years old in 97 when I went to the polling station with my parents so they could vote for a Scottish parliament. It’s still a vivid memory for me. I never thought I’d get the chance to vote on this today.

230. Juteman

Is it safe to watch the TV now?
    I don’t think I could have handled any more of that rantin and ravin Broonymonster!
    My stomach has been in knots for days, but i’m strangely calm this morning.
    Many thanks to the Rev and everyone involved in this campaign. Let’s do it.

231. Lesley-Anne

If any one needed a reason to vote YES, any reason at all then perhaps these might give them a few GREAT reasons.

This is a tweet sent to Andy Murray after he tweeted he was backing YES.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10203427868830611&set=a.2230064224317.2112828.1029181572&type=1&theater

These two tweets are from the great George Square event in Glasgow yesterday.

https://twitter.com/BjCruickshank/status/512375560509857792/photo/1

https://twitter.com/mku77/status/512330148092579840/photo/1

There is not much we can do, at the moment, about the numbskulls in the two pictures but we can certainly try and do something about that obnoxious tweet. I have done my bit, I’ve tweeted the police to ask that they investigate this. NO ONE should have to face this sort of ignorance and personal abuse.

p.s. Not only has Andy Murray come out for YES but his brother Jamie has as well. ๐Ÿ˜›

232. Sandra

Thanks so much for helping to counter all the misinformation out there.

233. Bill McLean

Just to say Thank You Rev!

234. Croompenstein

@Stoops – Anyone else feel like this, or am I just a fud?

I was the same stoops, I even kissed my ballot paper before posting it in the box, tears streamin doon ma face

235. Midgehunter

Can anyone remember way back, long before the Edin. Agreement when WOS was lucky to have 15-25 comments for an article? When the argument was about whether we could legaly hold a ref. and which paragraph was required. When Smart was ranting that there would never be a ref.

The WBB wasn’t even a twinkle in the Rev’s eye at the time… ๐Ÿ˜‰

The Rev provided us with the skeleton and the facts and you the Wossers put the meat on the bones.

My thanks go to the Rev first for doing what he did and then to all the Wossers who helped turn it into the diamond that it now is.

236. BrianW

It’s true, people who are informed are more than likely to vote YES.

I did at 08:53 this morning.

Stu you’re piece above will ring true with many folk. It did with me.

All I can is THANK YOU.

(sorry there’s no Generation Game style conveyor belt of gifts beyond your wildest dreams – I do know of a truck load of No branded Cuddly Toys that are looking for a new home though..lol)

Brian ๐Ÿ™‚

237. Iain Brown.

A huge thanks to Wings. A voice in the darkness.

238. Patrick Roden

Just to add my thanks Rev, as well as every commenter on wings, you almost feel like family. ๐Ÿ™‚

like most people on here I feel emotionally exhausted, and just realising that my life has been increasingly consumed with the referendum for the past two years, but often when I have felt demoralised or depressed, it has been an article as well as the comments that have energised me again.

I couldn’t sleep last night and when I did drop off I woke up about an hour later! I’m a nervous wreck today, but it’s all good.

So I’m off to vote now…at last!!!!!

239. Marian

The TARTAN REVOLUTION is underway!

240. Lesley-Anne

Macart says:

@Lesley-Anne

Bottle of malt and choccy raisins at the ready. ๐Ÿ™‚

Great news Macart. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m just going to wait and see what my partner buys today. ๐Ÿ˜›

241. Seasick Dave

Just got this from a work colleague:

I was a certain NO until last week when I started seeing through all the pi$h propaganda from the eejits south of the border. The Orange Walk in Edinburgh and its portrayal on Sky news was the “burning bush” moment and I stepped firmly into the YES camp.

242. faolie

Very well said Stu. “We need not do things in the way theyโ€™ve โ€œalways been doneโ€.

Aye, it’s a line I often use while canvassing. With independence, we’re not just going to be a ‘mini-UK’. We’re going to create a new, vibrant, exciting, fair, wealthy, nuclear-free country that will forge its own place in the world again.

Just voted Yes. Happy Day.

243. S.McLaughlin

@chalks Im sure i seen a no sign on the railings ootside the polling area when sky news was showing G broon going to vote.

244. Luigi

Just had a wee chat with my 25 year-old daughter, who very recently went to YES after two years on the fence (she steadfastly refused to sign for YES Scotland). Well, during the past month, she has persuaded three of her friends at work (one soft NO, two undecideds) to vote YES. She even pinched a couple of my WBBs to hand out to a couple of others. My daughter, who is as politically unengaged as you can get. My wife has also been at it, good for at least another 10 YES votes, I would say. The biggest surprise of all was my 22 year old son, who is sceptical far beyond his years (often claiming he will vote NO), came in yesterday and said he had converted one of his NO pals to YES. I have managed to persuade a couple, but I have focused more on sowing the right seeds with people, helping them on their way and leaving others to reap the harvest.

Folks, this is just one ordinary family (ok including my anorak self), but this is a national phenomenon – it’s happening all over! As Blair Jenkins rightly said: this willbe one in millions of conversation across Scotland, at home, in the workplace, in pubs and family gatherings.

What has greatly surprised me is the zeal of recent converts to YES – they cannot get out fast enough to spread the word to their own circles of friends and relatives. All the might of the British establishment cannot cope with this gigantic snowball that just keeps growing. It really is wonderful to experience, and it has restored just a wee bit of faith in humanity (not sure about my super-sceptical son, though, but at least he is voting YES)!

YES!, what a lovely word, YES!

Say it again – YES!

One more time YES!

245. WrinkleyReborn

I think undecideds are more likely undeclared, people that don’t wont to assist pollsters. I am confident that it will be a Yes but feel that the numbers are important so that rUK can slap Westminster into addressing their issues

246. Lesley-Anne

If anyone had any doubts about which way to vote today then perhaps this wee video may help them make their minds up. So if you all wouldn’t mind to be upstanding whilst this video is playing, thank you! ๐Ÿ˜‰

http://tinyurl.com/nbbqlxu

247. GrantPotter

Just back from casting my vote! Produced my pen as I was heading to the booth to be shouted back and told “You can’t use it a pen, it must be the pencil or it won’t count”
    I said I thought the EC had said it was ok to use a pen?
    “No or it won’t count”

I thought we had well established pen was ok, but I had a quick google when I got out on my phone and could only find an article on a newspaper website about it, nothing ‘official’ as it were.

Thoughts?

248. Gogs1958

I have not posted here before.
    I hope with all my being that I am one of the until now silent majority who votes Yes today, for all our and our childrens futures.
    Thanks for providing such insight and inspiration in the face of such a storm of self serving misinformation.

249. Albaman

Rev,
    What’s this 5 billion investment into Scotland by the Chinese ?, ought to have been announced days ago, when the other mob were saying investment would stall or reverse, buggers!.

250. Jimbo

Stu
    Words cannot describe the thanks we owe to you for all the endeavours you have been through in pursuit of fairness.
    Someone once said that the pen is mightier than the sword today we shall follow that saying and vote yes.

The People of Scotland Thank You!

251. Dave McEwan Hill

Heilan Mary cames out for YES at Dunoon

http://t.co/4JXGCZpg3d

252. Naina Tal

Working today, so voted early. Plenty voters at the station. No Yes Presence outside. Just a lone Nawbag. A lovely wee guy I’ve known for years. We stood and had a chat without mentioning the vote. Obviously we’re on opposite sides (in this and on many many other things!) I expect next time I see him we’ll be on the same friendly terms no matter the result. I know there are people who may be a bit different with me when Yes win the vote. But I’m a friendly sort of person and I don’t expect to make any enemies out of my position. Well maybe the local Labour cooncillor!!! but I’ll live with that. He knows how I feel about politicians anyway…..

253. S.McLaughlin

@Juteman Aye its safe to watch all news atm there not allowed to run with the usual stories on this until after 10 pm.

254. Onwards

Andy Murray is a great endorsement. Not just another celebrity.

Think about it.
    For years he has played under TeamGB and is usually seen with a union jack.

He demonstrates to undecideds that moving to a YES vote is ok. You can still have both identities.

He promised to keep out of the debate, but seems to be scunnered by the negative campaigning on the NO side. I think most people will agree there for sure!

Let’s do this!

255. Quinie frae Angus

Apologies for repeating my post of about 2 am last night, but I feel the urge to repeat it and honestly, I can’t think of anything more to say! Goes without saying, of course, that I share all the emotions and thoughts of fellow Wingers above….

Rev Stuart Campbell

Your intellect, tenacity, hard graft, sheer dogged pursuit of the truth, and utter professionalism have totally nailed this campaign as far as most of us who come regularly to this site are concerned.

You have armed us with facts, figures,and crucially, confidence in the accuracy of your output. Your attention to detail, and your integrity, has in turn made us confident in speaking to others, armed with the information you have provided us with. Wings over Scotland has powered our own participation in this grass roots campaign. And the growing community we have become, in sharing our different areas of expertise, our cameraderie and our humour, has been a phenomenon.

The Wee Blue Book has been a stormer of a tool (hmmm, steady now, Paula Rose!) for us to use. Iโ€™ve only delivered and distributed 400 (mostly to people I knew to be undecided or soft Noโ€™s), and the feedback I have received has been fantastic. From the huge distribution efforts of Kininvie et al; the fast and furious spread of the boxes throughout the land, to people like my sister who was a late addition to the Wings family but has been out with her Yes-stickered kids putting the last of my batch of WBBs through posh letterboxes in Broughty Ferry tonight. All of us have pulled together to do this. Inspirational and essential. Bit emotional tonight so bear with me!

We have all done our bit, and some older Wingers have been working hard for this for decades. The foot-soldiers and all of us whoโ€™ve simply been talking and chatting with our friends and family โ€“ as hard and painful as that has been sometimes โ€“ have all contributed to the momentum of what is about to happen to this country, and by extension, the rest of the watching world. However long it takes for the benefits of Scottish independence to materialise, and be seen to work, it will have so been worth it.

Words canโ€™t describe how much this site means to me. Because it has dug up the truth and proof that we were needing, to uncover and expose the darkness at the heart of the British Establishment, and its cohorts in the the supine, ignorant, and often malevolent, corporate media. As someone who works in the media, and by no means a naive or non-cynical person, I have been shocked to discover the extent of this cancer, through the revelations on Wings. This website and community has woken us up and helped us get active, get busy, and share the knowledge. I just LOVE the fact that it is so widely-read now among Wingers and lurkers, ordinary curious people looking for answers; the mainstream media (yes, we know you do!); and the Whitehall spooks (yes, we know you do!). And it will surely soon be included in the history books as having been a crucial and game-changing engine which drove the massive Yes vote that will take place tomorrow.

I wasnโ€™t, despite my enthusiastic pledge, able to afford a bung to put into the last WBB crowdfunder. Tardy pay cheques not arriving in time before the Indie go-go thingโ€™s timer was up. I feel bad about this, but am keeping my powder dry for the next Wings Thing, whatever that may be.

But if I can make a suggestion to fellow Wingers, because I canโ€™t see Stuart asking for this himself: Shouldnโ€™t we start up a wee holiday fund for Stu so that he can take a well-deserved rest?? He must be absolutely ragged after the prolific output and research he has put into this site.

We will probably end up with way more than even a Westminster expenses trougher could spend on an all-expenses paid holiday, though.

So hereโ€™s my next suggestion.

Stuart has worked away, morning, noon and night, for the minimum (or is it โ€œlivingโ€?) wage. It was a good thing that he did that. Apart from securing his place in our hearts as a โ€œgood eggโ€ (as would seem to be the mot du jour), it also prevented his enemies and naysayers from having any ammunition on account of him โ€œgetting richโ€ on the ill-gotten donations from the hapless and blind victims of his โ€œcultโ€. (Ha ha. It seems ludicrous now, doesnโ€™t it? But thatโ€™s where we were at not so long ago!!).

Anyway, I digress, as usual. My point is that from now on I think Stuart deserves a PROPER full-time journoโ€™s wage for maintaining this site. After his well-earned rest and recuperation, weโ€™ll need him to keep on keeping on, following the post-Yes negotiations in his own searing style.

Heโ€™s proved his worth โ€“ and then some. Now itโ€™s time, in my view, for him to receive his just rewards.

And a decent salary, commensurate with his skill and the service he provides, would be the least that we could do.

What do other Wingers think?

256. fred blogger

it is important to note that it is the power and passion of the YES campaign that has shaken the very foundations of the establishment
    if you want REAL POWERS for change, there is only one way to vote and that is YES.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_w1bbXIemFY

257. Maid_in_Scotland

It’s thick with fog here today, but I know my way to the polling station! Thank you, Stu, for all your hard work, invaluable and highly informative posts, and to everyone in this community for sharing your knowledge, feelings and pride in your country. It has been such an inspiration in the face of tremendous hostility from just about everywhere, including from many who ought to know better. I hope one day they will see the light – our light!

Good Luck, everyone.

258. ewen

My wife is in Italy at a conference which is why I can’t make it home. Kids need cared for. She just texted me to calm my nerves.

“The significant Journey has been made, celebration is near at hand! ”

She was just finishing school when her nation, Lithuania, got it’s independence and she sees the same passion and hope in Scotland and she is proud of the way Scotland has gone about this significant journey.
    A big resounding TAIP from her.

259. steven

well said Stuart, your work has been immense over the last few months and years and I for one are very grateful for people like yourself who have put in countless hours fighting for this cause. Once again great work and hopefully we’ll be waking up tomorrow in a society that stands up to the establishment and says that its not been good enough and a change is needed for the people living in this great country. the time is here people, VoteYes.

260. Eric D

Dear Stuart and Wingers,
    I’ve been following Wings since it was a guilty secret of around just 16,000 readers and this is my first and probably last post.

It has, along with hundreds of others, been my great pleasure to help modestly fund this website to allow Stuart to continue to live in the meager way to which he has become accustomed, whilst producing the most insightful and devastating journalism in the island that is Great Britain.

Not only that but we have benefited from some of his brilliant ideas, the best of course being the WBB.

However, this last piece is probably one of the most touching and inspiring I have read. (And I’m a Wee Ginger Dug addict!).

Thanks Stuart for all you’ve done and thank you too to the rest of the Wingers for their views, information and links which have allowed me to ensure that I’ve done my bit.

Will it be enough?

YES. Yes it will, because we are a movement that no one is going to halt.

All I can say now is: Alex, Nicky, John and co, watch out ’cause in our new independent Scotland, we are gonna be on your back too.

Very best wishes to everyone.

261. Devorgilla

Use a pencil.

Check before voting.

262. bookie from hell

Labour Party formed a scottish assembly to kill nationalists stone dead,not for Scotland,s future

Labour Party kept Devo + off ballet paper to kill nationalists stone dead!not for Scotland’s future

If no win but with a high Yes,

It’s even more dire,because of high turnout

this isn’t finished

263. Helpmaboab

That’s possibly your best piece of writing yet, Rev, saved for a particularly momentous day. Time and again you’ve risen to the challenge and treated the issues with honesty, wit and common sense. Thank-you for your huge efforts.

Of course you’re not the only one who’s learnt some new tricks recently. Across the country people are stepping out of three-hundred-year-old ruts to think and act in new ways.

Now I shall head out to the polling station to add my wee personal snowflake to the avalanche.

264. MochaChoca

Poor wummin in my office has voted NO by post, but now wishes she’d held off to vote in person cause she has changed to YES.

265. Craig P

Today we are all heroes.

266. Kenny

Magnificent writing! And thank you so much for all your hard work — along with the hundreds of other good folk who have spoken at public meetings over the past years, selflessly travelling the length and breadth of the country at no small cost to themselves.

Scots! It is time on this day to take you sovereignty and never ever give it back. Today you are sovereign — hold onto it today, tomorrow, forever and ever!

267. Archie [not Erchie]

@ kendomacaroonbar – What joy! The parcel arrived this morning and could not have been better timed. Thanks for the wee extras. Cloth Wings badge secured on my fleece and now am out again to the Woodside,Aberdeen,Polling Station as an agent.

Am also doing mah windae-hingin as I have a full view of the polling station’s comings and goings.

268. Mosstrooper

Just in from my first shift at the polling station here in the wilds of Renfrewshire. At 10 am 20% of the village have voted with a great many YESers at least 50%. On man and his family came out after voting and he had tears in his eyes such is the emotion among the YES crew. Of the NO mostly of the Rangers persuation ( in a village where Ali McCoist lives you get to know people) and the British Legion brigade but lots of winks claps on the back and even loud support by passing traffic. I feel good, if we can swing it here it will swing in the housing schemes.

FORWARD… Suas ALBA

269. Abaron Nomore

I feel disproportionately happy about Andy Murray. His support is worth a thousand Rupert Murdochs.

270. Proud Cybernat

For these 15 hours Scotland’s sovereignty is in our hands. We can vote No and hand it back to the ruling elite at Westminster or vote YES to keep it.

271. Kev

Great words Stu, just voted there, what a feeling!! Polling station very busy, its certainly going to be a big turnout and that can only be in our favour. Mon Scotland, we can do this!!

272. dmw42

In respect of the hopes and dreams of our ancestors, and as a legacy to our descendants,’sae come aa ye at hame wi freedom’.

273. Alan McHarg

On 7-9am shift at Livingston Station. Positive feeling. Yes voter on his way out from voting said “the best reason to vote Yes was sitting by the community Centre door”! I looked in and there was a shopping trolly collecting for the local food bank!!! VOTE YES for a better country!

Thank you rev for all the info and motivation. It has helped me convince many to vote Yes.

274. chalks

Folks, no political signs or anything is allowed on the polling station grounds, I am pretty certain about it.

Get them told. It’s not allowed.

If you are a polling station rep, please also check the booths for any better together stuff.

275. Jim McIntosh

People are asking what will happen to wings after today. I’d like it to be an advice blog for all Yessers who cancel their TV license. How to answer the bloke who comes to your door, how to react to a court summons etc.

We could set up a crowd funder to pay for anyone taken to court. Lets clog up the court system, and carry out the biggest act of civil disobedience since the poll tax. Lets finish off this corrupt, despicable organ of the state.

276. Proud Cybernat

@ Quinie frae Angus

Yep, great idea. I’m with you.

277. Tรฎm Criced i Gymru

Cariad o Gymru – Love from Wales!

I’d like to share another piece of positive news with you on such a momentously uplifting morning as this, the likes we here in CYMRU/Wales can only pipe-dream about…

I know how UTTERLY DISGUSTED WE ALL ARE at the way the BBC have conducted themselves throughout this campaign…

HOWEVER, Huw Edwards, the BBC frontline newsreader, is the son of the late Prof.Hywel Teifi Edwards, an extremely well-loved leading Welsh historian. He was an eloquent, powerful and mighty fiery orator who took no prisoners when it came to arguing the ‘national cause’. He was one who would take a soap-box onto the streets and dished out more flak than he took. He stood for PLAID CYMRU on numerous occasions for the Llanelli constituency in the 70s and 80s, increasing the vote and people’s awareness of their identity, aspirations and potential. Seems to ring a bell with me on seeing the brave people of ALBA taking to battle to the streets as you have.
    SO, my point is, watch the glint in Huw’s eyes from tonight onwards as he sees come to fruition in ALBA what his father had fought and dreamt for in Wales. Have no doubt, he is with us ‘all the way’ and he will be as seething as any of us with his fellow journalists and internally COMPLETELY cock-a-hoop at 6a.m. Friday morning when it’s a RESOUNDING IE/YES!!! I know, trust me!!!

278. Marcia

Just back from voting. My polling station is down a side street in a Sheltered Housing Complex. As I was getting near to it some flats opposite have Yes and Scottish flags in their windows with a gentle sound of Scottish Country Music wafting from the bottom flat as you pass it. Not loud but just enough for you to hear it. That flat has bedecked his garden with balloons and flags. ๐Ÿ™‚

279. fred blogger

“In person on Thursday 18 September: Most people vote in person at their polling station. It is straightforward and a member of staff will always help if you are not sure what to do. You will receive a poll card telling you where your polling station is. It is often a nearby school or a community centre. If you do not receive your poll card, you can contact your local council to find out where your polling station is.

Polling stations are open from 7am to 10pm.”
    http://www.aboutmyvote.co.uk/the_independence_referendum/guide_to_voting.aspx

280. Jim

A troll last night said something sneeringly about Stu not having a vote. This may be true but what the arsehole fails to appreciate is the amount of voters who have looked at this site and maybe changed from a no to a YES or read the WBB and changed from a no to a YES.

What does not having a vote matter when you have garnered the support of countless others? That has to be worth a lot more than one vote surely.

Well done Stu and I wish you all the best in the future and if we win this which I am sure we will, as someone said will the site continue for the support of Scotland during the negotiation period which could take some time I would imagine. Good luck folks.

Yours Aye
    Jim

281. I'veNeverSeenBraveheart

I’d always been a Yes voter, but didn’t really have the confidence that we could really do it. Ironically, it was seeing mention of the banned NewsnetScotland on the old BBC blogs (back when they allowed comments) that led me first to there, and then to here.

I remember seeing mentions of “The Rev” and Wings, but I wrongly assumed it was a site by some old Reverend and not for me – apologies to any old Reverends out there! Then one day I decided to look and that was that!

I don’t often comment on here, but I feel like I know you all (special mention to IndependenceLive for live streaming all the Wings meet ups and BBC demos!), and just want to say thanks to the Rev and everyone here for giving us the confidence, the info and keeping our spirits up!

Right, I’ve had my cereal ๐Ÿ˜‰ , so now I’m off to vote Yes – let’s do this!

282. Jim

Good luck guys.

283. Murray McCallum

What a day!

Really enjoying the positive messages from the Yes side and the voluntary graft still being undertaken.

284. Les Wilson

I am so proud of Stu and his helpers, I am so proud of Wingers and all those who have worked their butt of.I am so proud of all the people striving in the grassroot campaign. I am so proud of everyone who is and has made this happen.
    Scots, what are we like eh!

Guys and our great ladies have been magnificent, without equal. I heart is thumping now, a dream should now come true.
    WELL DONE EVERYONE!!!

285. Ronnie

I’ve been reading, and occasionally commenting on this site since early 2012. Rev Stu, mine was a lonely voice amongst my friends and family back then. You gave me the information and courage to discuss and defend my/our views with them. Thanks to you, I believe that I have converted most of them to ‘Yes’. (Though some won’t admit it!). My sincere gratitude for all that you have done. I hope that we meet again someday in an independent Scotland.

286. Colin

I was out last night, doing a bit of last minute canvassing, I spoke to a lady who said she was a yes voter, so I gave her two Yes flags, one for each of her kids.

When I went to vote this morning I passed her on her way to drop off her eldest child at school, the two yes flags I gave her were duck taped to the handles of her baby buggy ๐Ÿ˜‰

287. annie

Just got a laugh when opened my spam folder, emails from, Anas Sarwar, Johann Lamont, Ed Milliband and 2 from Gordon Brown.

288. grahamlive

Brilliant piece of writing Rev. I just wish every voter in Scotland could read it before they vote.
    I voted Yes. With the might of The State and almost the entire media against us, I voted Yes, and man did that feel good. We must win this, we simply must.

289. Douglas Macdonald

This morning, my wife and I strolled along to our local polling station in Stranraer. Apparently, there was a queue of voters before the station opened at 7am, which was unheard of before. This is only the second time since 1962 that I have voted, mainly because I have a deep distrust of politicians and their so-called promises. In my career as a research scientist and, latterly, a manager in the oil industry, truth, trust and integrity have been paramount in sensible and informed decision-making. I have, on this occasion, made an exception, since I am voting for the ordinary people of my country and not the political class, who invariably abuse their trust. Like all people on this website, I am earnestly hoping for a victory of common sense and, of course, a YES vote.

PS Thank you Marcia for the information about MORI poll for the London Evening Standard

PPS Apologies to regular thread readers, but I have also posted these comments on an adjacent thread.

290. Margaret smith

Rev, you are an inspiration, we the people of Scotland owe you a debt of gratitude, hope you stay around long after we gain our independence
    Hail Alba.

291. proudscot

Voted YES at 7.30am in a busy polling station – usually quiet and scantily used in parliamentary and council elections. Many of those both in and heading for the polling station wearing YES badges, like myself.

9am my decorator turned up to continue his work on my kitchen, and informed me excitedly he’d also voted YES, swayed from his previously undecided stance by both our conversation of yesterday, and then cemented by the Jon Snow Channel 4 programme of last night, which I actually missed.

If I can count him as at least partially persuaded by me, then that makes a proud total of 4 undecideds I’ve won over to a YES vote for our country’s independence. Final point, ANDY and JAMIE MURRAY have declared for YES too. Andy tweeted he was finally convinced by the sheer negativity of the NO Campaign. Maybe Gordon “North British” Broon helped make Andy’s mind up with his latest anti-independence rant of yesterday to the usual gathering of faithful pro-Union sheep?

Alba gu brath!

292. Robert Kerr

Been to vote with the better half.

Can’t remember how I voted! Honest! remember making certain that the cross was heavily marked though.

Two young women with pushchairs, weans and NO badges were politely removed by the police to the outside of the station.

Never been so nervous voting.

293. slackshoe

It’s coming. I just know it. Let’s do this.

294. Jim

Good luck today folks.

295. faolie

There’s loads of people just saying that they voted Yes over on Wee Blue Book’s Facebook page at http://facebook.com/weebluebook.

It has 6,711 Likes and counting. Away over and join them and say that you voted Yes too!

296. David Boddie

Wishing everyone here the best for a positive result today! You have all earned it. Let’s hope this is the start of something wonderful!

297. STARLAW

Voted early today in Livingston polling station, busy was accosted by two strangers offering me NO thanks leaflet, was proud to say “NO THANKS” local councillor stood behind them grinning like the cat that got the cream Polling station had double the usual number of register tables this will be big. ADVANCE CALEDONIA

298. Macca73

I’d like to say thanks to the Rev. Had it not been for this website the lies and deception of the NO campaign would be just taken on face value because there wasn’t the right people around to question it. Like many I can’t vote and I left to move south to find work but I feel something special happening today. I have a YES badge on my lapel and I got involved with the National Collective campaign’s work with a poster. I’ve spoken to friends and family and I’ve seen people who were once NO voters come round to YES over the course. I’m up in Glasgow next weekend and I prey that I return home to a new country of our own. Let’s do this!! x

299. Cuilean

the first few times I came to your site I saw the union jack and raf type ensign and I just thought you were some ranting unionist type, without ever reading your blogs. So I was very glad that one day I took the time to actually read your posts, realised you were the opposite of what you seemed to be, and I became hooked ever since! But I wonder how many like me were put off by your site’s strangely unionist first impressions? Voted YES.

300. Lesley-Anne

Well that is the deed done.

That was for you Margo!

Tears rolling down my cheeks all the way home, tears of PRIDE, tears of JOY and tears of BELIEF! ๐Ÿ˜›

C’mon Scotland THIS IS YOUR TIME!

GET IT DONE!

301. Abaron Nomore

On the way to the polling station with my wife, I was struck by the number of people smiling at us and saying “Lovely morning” where, sadly, the locals usually tend to keep themselves to themselves and look away to avoid a greeting.

There really is something in the air today!

302. Stevie boy

Jim McIntosh

Completely agree with you pal regarding the BBC.

The one thing I love most about this whole campaign is that ordinary people are taking the power back. After all politicians are there to serve the people.. not the other way round!

After we have won Scotland’s freedom lets (in a peaceful way of course) continue the work of holding these institutions to account and act accordingly in hitting them in the pocket (BBC must go full stop).

Scotland has seen the light and has had enough. We can lead the way by demanding a fairer society and kick the BIG business’ to the kerb!!

SAOR ALBA!!!

303. Rick Guthrie

Great Work Stu. REspect.

304. gillie

BBC complain of intimidation in Russia.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/statements/news-russia

Should they have our sympathy?

305. Antonio

Anxiously following the event from Lisboa, wish to the Scottish all the best: YES!

306. Socrates MacSporran

Just got back from voting Yes. The polling station is as busy as I have ever seen it in the 30= years I have lived in this village.

This is one of those former mining villages, where the Labour vote is weighed, rather than counted, but, this morning, our locak ciinsillor – who really is one of those tumpshies sporting a Labour rosette, is wandering around in the foyer with his face already tripping him – at 9.30am.

I think he knows the game is up and they’ve finally been rumbled.

He and I have had some lively two-way political discussions over the years, today, he couldn’t look me in the eye.

The dour, Scottish pessimism in me keeps whispering: “Keep the heid, we’re not there yet”, but, this time – Maybes Aye.

307. Cymru Rydd

I’m watching events unfold here in Wales, and praying that truth and justice will prevail in Scotland today.

Rev- this site has been a revelation(!) and a political master class for everyone, including nationalists in Wales who can only dream of what Scotland is about to achieve.

The fantastic YES grass-roots campaign allied to the social media has demolished the old media power model- and that can only be good for all of us on these isles.

A final word on Alex Salmond. His bravery, integrity, decency and steadfastness in the face of the torrent of co-ordinated media attacks, has been astounding. I’m sure this will not have gone unnoticed by the people of Scotland. I know that the YES campaign have gone out of their way to make the point that ‘it’s not about Alex Salmond'( and understandably so)- but I just think that his presence and authority over the past few days has just been outstanding and a huge plus for the YES campaign. He has come across as a leader of international standing( and even David Dimblebly in the television interview on Tuesday, seemed to defer to this with the respectful tone of his questioning). Scotland is so lucky to have him.

Pob lwc gan Gymru. Ni fydd nesaf!

( best wishes from Wales. We will be next!)

Hail Alba!

308. J.B. Turner

I voted with my 9 year old son. Felt proud. It’s in our hands. And we can so do this.

309. Bill Halliday

Heart felt thanks Stu, from us our 4 kids and 6 voting age grandchildren who’ve had Wings as part of their Modern Studies for months to counter act a very biased teacher.

If only we had been able to spread the word about Wings and Newsnet Scotland sooner,then the Oligarchs would be in even more of a panic.

I remember travelling up from London on the “Sleeper” in the early 90’s and hearing an ‘elite’ son of “Clan something” from Skye holding court with several of his ‘City Friends’. They were drooling over Thatcher and discussing the need for a “different kind of democracy” where uneducated plebs wouldn’t be able to vote.

I think you are so right, if we don’t go for it this time they will find some way to choke off sites like this. The Chinese manage it.

310. Helena Brown

Been to the polling station which had a queue at seven this morning. Very busy the woman said who was directing people. I said you look like you will not get bored, she said it was lovely to see everyone engaged. Policeman inside, first I have seen at a polling station since I was in my twenties, used to be handy for leaving the Dug with. Got a smile from a young woman, well the dug got a smile because he is wearing his two badges this morning, and husband got glared at by one of our neighbours in Aldi this morning, he is wearing the Saltire badge on his sleeve, the one that got him glared at by a couple of Englishmen in Rothenburg in Germany. Cheers everyone I think I big turn out is for YES.

311. ben madigan

Just do it Scotland – Vote YES

312. The Rough Bounds

Mur dean thu do vota mar seo (YES), chaneil annad ach leth Albannach.

[If you don’t vote like this (YES) you’re only half a Scot.]

313. Devorgilla

I am interested in what Mocha choca says about his colleague. My previous post didn’t get through. But basically I am keen to know if this was because of the attempts by David Cameron to change the terms of the ballot by promising additional powers – the devo max or more option he had previously ruled out. As this is undemocratic and possibly illegal but it invalidates the ballot.

314. Macart

@Lesley-Anne

For Margo and so many others.

315. call me dave

Been round all the local polling stations (5) all were busy with a steady stream of voters and the NO reps at the doors being refused their (labour style) tickets.

Many happy physogs on the electorate obviously voting with a confidence and no doubts. Huge YES posters and made up arrows with YES in the gardens pointing to the polling stations.

Oh! I’ve voted, YES box on top even on the ballot paper.

All the shakes and butterflies gone now and in the past they must remain, mildly euphoric. ๐Ÿ™‚

316. Laurie

I am not ashamed to admit that I, a 64 year old man, am sitting here crying as I read Stu’s words and all YOUR responses. I am now going to dry my eyes and go out and vote for my wee Scotland, whose YES vote can prove to be an inspiration to the world. Carpe diem, my friends, and a million thanks to you Stu.

317. Malcolm Pate

Hello from Cape Town all you Yes people. This is the day I have been waiting for for about 50 years. I left Scotland in the 70’s after Thatcher closed down everything. My wife and I listen to Radio Scotland most mornings to the talk in Show by Louise White and we get a laugh when we hear the No listeners with the Rev. I M Jolly voices. You know right away as soon as they speak who they are voting for. Great to read all your comments and lets hope for a resounding victory tomorrow.

318. Dal Riata

Terrific article Stu!

I’m hoping with all my being for that Yes vote that will change Scotland and its people forever and for the best.

I truly dread a No vote: all the passion, positivity and hope destroyed.

Let’s make sure that No vote does not happen. This is Scotland’s day in history. This is OUR day in history. This is our future generation’s day in history. Let’s do it for them. Let’s do this thing!

319. Sinky

Your contribution has been beyond immense Stu. Whatever the outcome – Respect!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

320. Tommy Kane

Well just back from polling station where I invested in the future for our kids and their kids. Felt so easy just having to put an X in a box.

Coming out I was a wee bitty tearful until a young fella passed in his bright yellow car with all the windaes open blasting out Caledonia. The youngsters will win this for us and more importantly for themselves

Thanks to Stu and all the posters on WoS, come Friday we will have our reward

321. Stevie boy

Laurie

I think we will all shed a wee tear at some point today mate.

322. Socrates MacSporran

My eldest daughter and my grandson are just back from voting and a trip to the supermarket.

She tells me the local Orange Lodge put up a huge sign last night at the entrance to the village: “Loyalist New Cumnock says No”.

It was taken down this morning, on the orders (apparently) of the official No campaign.

So, please remember, some of them do have principles and don’t judge them too-harshly.

323. Gordon E

A massive thanks to Stu for all the hard work that he has done, what would we have done without wings!
    Been round a few polling stations this morning, the last one at 10.30 I overheard them mention that it was at 24% voting already!

324. Nana Smith

My son who runs a website sent me this message…

Heap of people on my Facebook today who say they’ve voted or are voting Yes, who never said a word before.

325. Robert Peffers

@Robert Louis says: 18 September, 2014 at 7:20 am:

“Letโ€™s make sure there is not one single YES voter who doesnโ€™t get to the polls today. Every vote is going to count. Drag people (if necessary, and in a nice non-violent way) to the polling station.”

Been doing just that Robert Louis. At the polling station well before 07:00am. Stood in the rather damp Scotch Mist until it became a decent hour to flash-up the Tannoy on the van. Then I’ve been driving around until now taking a break before getting on the road again. Hope to later combine this with ferrying disabled and elderly folks who have bother boarding cars. It’s going to be a long, long day.

326. G S

I am in the Albanian capital Tirana today, sightseeing, and I visted the new Orthodox Cathedral and was chatting to one of the priests about the building.

He asked where I was from and when I said Scotland he smiled and said, “You have a big day today.

The cafe where I am now is decorated with flags of the world and they have a Union Flag with both the Saltire and the Lion Rampant beside it.

PS My proxy vote is in the box.

327. Yesitis

I have so much appreciation to you Rev Stu and to all guest writers, artists and fellow comment leavers. All those months, weeks, days and hours of work, worry and good times; I can`t thank you enough for helping build a wonderful community.

Thank you.

I`ll be voting around 6 o`clock this evening; I`ll be voting Yes.

328. Valerie

3 polling stations reported for illegal activity by BT distributing leaflets to voters before they voted.

329. John Donaldson

Stu—Seriously impressed by your tenacity, insight and fortitude. Thank you so much.

330. hi

“Postal Voting and Electoral Fraud”

http://www.craigmurray.org.uk/?s=postal+voting

331. Cassandra Lee

Oh Wow! What a wonderful piece of writing. If I hadn’t already voted I would be inspired to go out and do so immediately.

332. TD

Just heard that my niece, who was travelling home to vote having been away has missed her train and will now miss her ferry. Organising emergency proxy vote – not sure of procedure. Her (Yes) vote will be cast before the day is out.

333. crisiscult

just back from Russia (no, I didn’t attack any BBC news team). Hoping to get out to help with final push this afternoon. Just wanted to add to all the pats on the back for Rev Stu Campbell. I’m nervous as hell but excited too. Come on Scotland!

334. A.N.Surgent

Just took the short walk to Freedom.

Rev. Stu like many others around Scotland I am indebted to you.

335. Edward

Just reading tweets over on the WOS Twitter feed
    that Iain Mckenzie MP told to leave a polling station after screaming at voters to vote no.

A bit reminiscent of the scenes near the end of the film Trading Places, when the banker brother played by the fabulous Don Ameche, screaming to keep the commodities exchange open. Loved the bit when told that his brother was dying, said ‘F**k him, just open the exchange’

Think Iain Mckenzie is having that moment realising he will be on the dole!

336. ben

Holy shit Rev… what are you? That was fucking incredible.

337. Patrick Roden

Ok so now I’m very worried as I have just got back from the polling station and there was a pen at the polling booth which I used, but people are now saying that this invalidates the vote?

I was offered a flyer from an old geezer outside the polling station, but he said it was from Labour! I refused and saw another guy take it politely then crumple it up in a ball.

I’m sure I saw a number of tweets from someone who said that the EC had confirmed that either pen or pencil was fine, as long as people didn’t draw things or write slogans etc.

338. chalks

Hearing that pipers are marching people to polling stations at specific times in Edinburgh!?

339. stuart

Just like to thank you stuck, for the tireless work you have done for our noble cause.
    Voted YES first thing with no sign of a no campaigner anywhere.
    Your WBB has helped enormously.
    Thanks

340. Xaracen

Been and gone and went and done it!

Rev Stu, be proud of yourself because we all are! If we do this, it will have been due in no small part to your outstanding efforts over the past two years or so, and I reckon the first big fright you gave the No-ers was the first Wings official poll, which had previously been the preserve of the establishment alone, and which was followed by the enormous successes in crowdfunding this site and its various projects.

You showed the media and the establishment that they no longer had exclusive control of the information the public could see, and that their messages could and have been shown up as the hollow sham they were.

Scotland’s people have seen that they have their own power, and today they intend to exercise it.

Wha’s like us? Damn few, but we’re a’ waking up and discovering that we are many!

341. Nana Smith

Just saw this on Stu’s twitter feed…

Anyone voting in Hamilton West? Have you been prevented from putting your vote in the allocated box? Please RT

342. Dougiekdy

NEED HELP!

Undecided voter at work, 50/50 Yes or No – 2 colleagues said to him “well if you’re not sure you should vote no, it’s the same thing”.

Aaaarrrgghhhhhh!!!

343. G H Graham

POLLING BOOTH MYTH #1 BUSTED

You can use a pen, pencil or crayon if you want.

Best use black but as long as it’s a simple cross in ONE box only and no other marks have been made ANYWHERE on the slip, it will be counted as a valid vote.

Outlines of genitalia, messages of good luck or expletives etc will invalidate the vote.

344. Dan Huil

Just going out to vote Yes now. Before I do I’d like to offer my thanks to Rev and all wingers. You’ve kept me sane throughout the campaign, especially through the dark days.
    Rev, you’re a bloody star!

345. iheartScotland

Rev,
    Wonderfully said, and Thank You for everything.
    To everyone else, get out and vote Yes!!!!!

346. Archie [not Erchie]

Woodside Polling Sation, Aberdeen – Popped in to get numbers of votes cast [302] but I need to find the last vote percentages.

Helped YES campaigners outside. A Mum and 3 bairns apologised to us as one of the kids was wearing a Union Flag patterned anorak. When she came out the jacket was gone. I had to smile ๐Ÿ™‚

347. G H Graham

POLLING BOOTH MYTH #2 BUSTED

YOU DON’T NEED A POLLING CARD TO VOTE.

So just get to a polling station and give the officials your name and address.

That’s it!

Validation & security checks takes place AFTER the vote, usually not BEFORE.

348. Derek M

Thanks for all your hard work Stu ,what we would have done with out you i just dont know ,now is the time where did i put my claymore i am off to battle Freedom,Freedom,FREEDOM!!!

Hope you are going to continue with Wings because we are going to need you to help look after our wee but hill and glen ,see you all in the flip side my brothers and sisters.

CHARGE LONG LIVE SCOTLAND DOWN WITH IMPERIALISTS

349. cearc

Patrick Roden,

Ink is fine, in fact postal votes are supposed to be in ink. Pencil is just more reliable for polling booths I think and people don’t nick them.

It is actually very difficult to spoil a ballot paper unintentionally, it just has to show ‘clear intent’.

350. lumilumi

I’m feeling all jittery. Today is a historic day.

Even the Finnish media have stories about Scotland! A bit uninformed but not too bad.

I want to thank Rev Stu and other WoS contributors for all their hard work in countering the misinformation, obfuscation, scares and lies. I’ve directed all my Scottish friends to WoS and all but 2 of them are now YES voters!

Huge thanks also to all the Wingers, I love reading the comments for all the information, inspiration and banter.

I feel like wishing good luck but then again, luck doesn’t really come into it. It’s all about working hard for something you believe in.

If YES wins, the real heroes are the grassroots YES people who’ve chapped doors, manned stalls, talked to friends and family, delivered leaflets and WBBs, commented on social media and found countless creative ways of getting the positive YES message out there.

Go and do it, Scotland!

351. muttley79

I have just voted. Was it just me or was anyone else petrified that they would vote No by mistake, or that they did not write/draw a cross?…

352. Macart

@Dougiekdy

If he’s undecided, tell him to vote out of hope, not fear.

http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2014/09/18/today-is-the-day/#comment-98238

353. K Robertson

A Scot living in North East England – hoping for a Yes vote today.

Big thank you to the Indy websites over the last few months – have been my mainstay for understanding what’s going on, despairing at the coverage in the Guardian. Wings, ScotGoesPop, Bella C, Bateman and Wee Ginger Dug have been great – thank you all.

I have one question to ask – I’ll be watching results through the night. Is there anywhere to get a steer on expectations for each of the local authorities – which we expect to go which way, and which will give us early clues to the results?

354. ronnie anderson

Be ALERT out there people they’re,s dirty tricks afoot,keep your eyes peeled in the polling stations.

355. Barry Haniford

Just back from Polling Station shift, have more later – have emailed this to friends and posted on Facebook.

For once I have no better words!

http://wingsoverscotland.com/us-now-or-never/#more-61777

Now’s the hour!

Aye,
    Barry

If you knew me you’d know what a compliment that is!

356. EdinScot

Rev Stu, your words had me having to steel myself before i went up the road to vote via car and complete with air horn. What a moment to see that question on the ballot paper. I voted YES of course before kissing my paper three times in public view before dropping it in box. There is something in the air.

I hope the work at wings from the rev continues after the referendum as we will need you more than ever and a big thanks to all the contributors at wings for their fantastic uplifting team spirited posts, inspiring words and factual totally awesome links..theyve educated me so much and continue to do so.

As the article says its now or never. VOTE YES SCOTLAND.

357. G H Graham

POLLING BOOTH MYTH #3 BUSTED

Still have your postal vote? No need to use FEDEX in a fit of sweaty panic.

Take it to the polling station because there are usually special boxes to collect postal votes, not previosuly posted.

Cut off time is same as everyone else though: 10pm TONIGHT !

358. chalks

@Dougie

Why is he undecided, why isn’t he voting no outright?

Ask him. And go from there.

359. Big Jock

Socrates…not principles they just don’t want to lose votes!

360. Dick Gaughan

“It’s been a long, a long time coming
    But I know, a change gonna come, oh yes it is”
    –Sam Cooke

Today I vote, not just on behalf of myself, but on behalf of those of my family who have gone and will not see this great day they worked so hard for – my parents, grandparents, cousins and friends.

Stu, what you’ve done here over the past 3 years is unparalleled anywhere. You’ve shown that the real ordinary people of a country can stand up and face down the entire might of privilege, wealth and greed and all its minions and servants in the conventional media without a shot being fired or a petrol bomb thrown.

The problem for so many who claim to be “on the Left” is that they became so blinded by their concept of what a Revolution is supposed to look like that they can’t recognise the real one when it’s happening before their eyes.

The bad news is that after today the real job for all of us begins. Winning our country is merely another step on a lifetime’s journey – the real battle is keeping it and shaping it into what we all know it can be.

361. Ian Martin

Stuart and all on WoS, my hat is well and truly doffed to you. From where I sit, an office in London, I feel inspired by the efforts of all in a jaw-droppingly effective campaign.

Today, we change the way we look at the World and the World changes the way we look at it.

362. George

Stu you are an inspiration to us all lets hope this time we win for the first time since i was a child i have HOPE!!

363. Jim Finlayson

I kissed my ballot paper before it went into the box this morning and thought of all of my old SNP pals who never got to see this day. Now’s the day and now’s the hour.

364. turnbulldrier

Just finished my first stint outside a polling station. 17% of the electorate had voted before 11 am and the was a queue of 10 (including me) at 6.50am. Gonna be a long day, and have said “good morning” over 300 times.

Stopping for a coffee and Sandwich before or all kicks off again for me at 12..

Loads of smiles and waves, and a few no so smiley ;-), but here’s hoping ๐Ÿ™‚

365. Tom Garrett

No long winded words Stu, just grateful thanks for what you have done!

366. Colin Church

@Dougiekdy
    โ€œwell if youโ€™re not sure you should vote no, itโ€™s the same thingโ€.
    Don’t piss this away looking for certainty. We will make it work by our own efforts. Dispicable position from BT as a last gasp. Only one step up from counting the dead.

367. Onzebill

Rev Stuart……… Thank you a thousand times for all your efforts, your contribution to the whole campaign is immeasurable and also many thanks to all the contributors to this site who kept me informed and sane during the last months.

Quinie I’m with you, let us know what to do.

I feel total empathy with all of you have found this such a emotional day, everything crossed for a resounding YES

368. Colin Mccartney

Voted at 11.30 at the Gaelic school in Berkley Street, Glasgow. Dozens of people outside, Bitter together family – maw, paw and the wean – ( they looked bitter together in a family way as well ) with the wean being told to hand out the flyers.
    Christ, all they were missing was the dug on the end of a bit of string.
    Greeted the presented flyer with “you have got to be joking” which raised a laugh from all around.
    All Yessers chatting happily away with the exception of one guy in a suit with a LABOUR rosette on. They really, really dont get it.
    Asked the folks behind the table if they were busy, and they said they had hit almost 20% – and it had only been 27% in total at the Euro elections.
    Crossed the box, a black pen and wax pencil were provided!!!! and folded it, and unfolded it and checked it, and folded it, and unfolded it and checked it, and folded it and put it in the box.

I VOTED YES

369. Melvin penman

Hi Rev

If it’s a yes tomorrow, will you please stand for election so we can reward you properly.

May we all wake up tomorrow and say YES. We will be holding our heads high and will be celebrated by many other nations, looking for our lead to get their own independence.

370. Lou Nisbet

I would like to start a movement to invite Rev Stuart Campbell to stay FOC in any Scottish household. It is the very least we should do. So Stuart welcome at mine any time. Never mind the statue Eh!

371. vambomarbeleye

That’s my vote cast by proxie as I am sat on a oil rig in Denmark.
    My better half has been recovering at her daughters in Glasgow after major surgery and is still in some pain. How ever our polling station is in Wester Ross. So yesterday she and her sister drove the four and a half ours north. Votes cast this morning and then drive back down to Glasgow for the sister to cast her vote.
    Every vote counts.
    PS sister started out as a no along with all her family. Now converted to the path of light and truth.

372. muttley79

I am an absolute shambles today, a nervous wreck. So many fears and not one about voting Yes! Incidentally, what if you drop your ballot paper, and it does not go in the ballot box? Do the attendants put it in? What a nervous wreck I am today!

373. chalks

I think Yes or No we should try and fund a Scottish paper, as well as a scottish polling company which Mr Kelly can run.

If it is a no, it’s clear to all of us, why. The media.

374. Lors

That’s me voted YES. An exciting and emotional day.
    Thanks Rev. for all your posts, they’ve been brilliant.
    Just hope this goes the right way.

375. alistair

Just been for a wander round Stirling to check the mood. A lot of women going about with Yes badges on today – which weren’t there before.
    Went up to the castle to look out over Stirling Brig and over to the Wallace monument and the Ochils beyond for a spot of reflection and a thought for all those before us who have died for this opportunity and trying to keep our country intact.
    An old lady stopped me on way back to town and said she had come back from Manchester with her daughter just to be here for today and tomorrow. She didn’t have a vote but she started to cry when she was retelling how she and her husband (passed on) would have done anything for the chance we have now. Brought a tear to even my cynical eye. Lets hope the Scots people will have stood up and been counted by this time tomorrow for a new future.

376. Indy_Scot

Listening to Dougie MacLean Caledonia with watering eyes as I type this.

Went to polling station with my four boys, Ethan 11, Kyle 9, Brandon 6 and Calvin 5.

Will never forget today.

377. Sue

It’s YesToday today!

Hubby and I just off to add two more English-Scots votes to the total.

Vote YES today for all our tomorrows, forever.

378. Seasick Dave

It was obviously exuberant over confidence that has caused Iain McKenzie MP for Labour to scream at people to vote No.

Either that or he’s keeching it.

379. muttley79

@Dick Gaughan

Great post. I think part of the problem about some on the Left is that they theorise too much. They envisage and imagine a revolution as being like the October Revolution of 1917 in Russia, and not a peaceful, quiet one.

To me quiet ones are the best because they don’t involve loss of life. Sometimes that is not possible if you are up against a dictatorship. In Scotland most people will just vote Yes and not let the MSM, British state know their intentions. We will know in less than 24 hours whether a quiet revolution has occurred or not.

380. Nana Smith

That’s it, YES vote in the box. Lump in throat!

381. Derek M

Just back fae the battle all looking good only the yes campaign there no no thanks bunch (did they hear i was coming and ran away lol )
    Had to check my paper 5 times and a 6th as i was putting it in the box the wee lassie was trying no to burst out laughing said dont worry sir your not the only one ๐Ÿ™‚

382. Dr JM Mackintosh

On polling station with a No supporter – really nice old gent.
    Told me after a while that he changed his mind and voted Yes this morning.
    That is the power of the people.

Thanks Stu – You are a hero.

383. Eleanor

This is so exciting. I am not a Scot and nor do I live there now, but my heart is right behind you.

384. Roger

Does anybody else think this thing with Shetland is a serious issue? I mean what has happened is the Shetlands have been told that if they vote No they will be given mini-independence (provided, of course, the rest of Scotland vote Yes) That was a massive interference in the referendum. It’s a divide and rule policy – what they have said to Scotland is ‘You can be independent or you can be united, but you can’t be both’. It is a deliberate attempt to create divisions.
    Few points, Scotland entered the Union as a united country, not in bits and pieces, the Edinburgh Agreement was about ALL of Scotland, not bits of it. This stunt is outrageous. Here’s a really serious point – can the Edinburgh Agreement actually be enforced if London tries to get out of it? It’s not like the Good Friday Agreement, between two sovereign states, it’s just an agreement between London and a devolved body – is there any course of redress if they try to renege on it? And, if there’s a No victory, can the Shetlands now insist that they can have a referendum on indepnendence or becoming like the Isle of Man or whatever? These are serious questions and we had better start thinking about them.

385. Gordon Innes (Gin)

So many comments I cannot read just now. But thank you Stu – #WeeBlueBook finally home and found one today Fantastic !!!!

Keep working – just a few more hours; a short wait; and then a re-newed country to make work for all. The real work is yet to come ๐Ÿ™‚

386. BrianW

@ muttley79 11:46

I know what you mean. It was like an out of body experience I went through. I know I done it, I seen myself do it, I felt myself do it, the deep breath and ‘the back of the neck tingles.’ (it was 07:53 not 08:53 as I said before)

But when I came out and walked along the pavement.. that was when it kicked in.. Did I mark the cross right? Did I press too lightly with the pencil.. ARGH..

Weird sensation..

387. chalks

Shetland is on the Scottish Continental Shelf, if Scotland votes Yes, then Shetland is nothing in international law terms, as they are part of Scotland.

They are entitled to 15 miles off their coast if they were to decide to TRY and declare that they wish to stay as part of the UK….in short, it wouldn’t matter a fucking jot. The Scottish Continental Shelf is the key factor.

See UNICLOS III

388. alistair

Neil Oliver letting the side down in the telegraph….

389. Peter G

Shetland is a s Scottish as Skye. Both occupied by the Norse. Both full of Norse names. Funny how only islands with connections to oil are the target for partition.

And the Nawbags complain when people call them ("Tractor" - Ed)s? On less enlightened countries they could be in prison for attempting to destroy the integrity of the state.

Off out to vote. If anybody tries to press vote no to Scotland leaflets at me it will be assault and I shall respond appropriately.

390. Black Douglas

That’s it done Alea iacta est (“The die is cast”) the Rubicon crossed.

Thanks Rev and every single one of you wingers for a place of sanity in a mad ukok world.

๐Ÿ˜€

391. Ross

I have cast my vote at 7:35 this morning (of course YES). Every desk had a short queue of a half dozen or so and when I left, the queue was slightly longer. I have been a long-standing YES but my wife was originally a NO voter. This site and its clarity showing the real facts behind the polititians shenanigans, half-truths and the jaw-dropping lies so now she too is a YES.

Well done to you all in your efforts!

Fingers crossed for the rest of the day!

Go Scotland!

392. Castle Rock

@Mutley

Calm doon man calm doon you’re making me nervous!

We’ll do it, have faith.

393. Brian

Best of Irish Luck for a clear win today

Scotland will be a much better place, governed

by the Scottish themselves..

394. Jim McIntosh

@muttley

Exactly the same sentiment. I had a panic attack looking at the card in front of me thinking I’d put the cross in the wrong square. I read the text ‘Should Scotland be an Independent Country’ several times, before I convinced myself I’d crossed the right box.

After I put my ballot in the box unconsciously I kissed my hand and touched the top of the box, the wee wifey sitting at the desk gave a little laugh, I’m sure I wasn’t the first.

395. chalks

Reports coming in that Better Together are standing INSIDE the polling stations with their pish.

FOLKS IF YOU SEE THIS HAPPENING REPORT THEM!

IT IS ILLEGAL, DO NOT FUCKING TAKE IT OFF THEM.

396. Milady de Winter

Deed done..came over all emotional in the booth..could have had a good greet. Stu and fellow Wingers..you have been awesome, I feel like part of a huge community and I hope it will continue whatever the result. Stu..i hope you know just how much your work and efforts are appreciated, I feel proud I was able to help fund the WBB even in a very small way but it was your gargantuan effort that really made it happen. AND it has been the most amazing thing to see how it has informed people and taken them to Yes! I don’t believe god so I can’t say you will get your reward in heaven but know that we will never forget your efforts. All the very best. Lynne.

397. muttley79

@Brian W

I know what you mean. It was like an out of body experience I went through. I know I done it, I seen myself do it, I felt myself do it, the deep breath and โ€˜the back of the neck tingles.โ€™ (it was 07:53 not 08:53 as I said before)

But when I came out and walked along the pavement.. that was when it kicked in.. Did I mark the cross right? Did I press too lightly with the pencil.. ARGH..

Weird sensation.

Yes, that was me as well. I am sure I voted Yes, and folded ballot paper and put it in the ballot box. However, I have terrified something went wrong! Might have a lie down! ๐Ÿ˜€

398. BakuScot

My vote is in by proxy at 07:30 this morning. Thanks Kate.

After reading this article this morning I was discussing the referendum with one of my Azerbaijani colleagues. He recounted the black days in Azerbaijan in 1990 when they were trying to leave the USSR. Many people died for their independence and when they achieved it they had nothing – literally nothing. The Roubles in their banks were worthless. Thankfully, things are much improved now and there is much optimism for the future. Would Azerbaijan like to be part of a new USSR? – no chance.

Our own freedom does not come at such a high price – simply mark an X in the YES box.

Thanks WoS for inspiring me and giving me material to help convince others to vote YES today.

I am very disappointed that I won’t be in Aberdeen tomorrow to celebrate. It will be an amazing day.

399. Roger

@chalks and @ Peter G

Thanks for your responses. I hope it all turns out well, but I wouldn’t underestimate the treachery of the British state when its back is against the wall. ANY negotiations with them will have to be done with every term and every word of any agreement scrutinised by a very sceptical legal team on the Scottish side.
    Beir Bua!

400. chalks

I hope you are sticking them in the correct Ballot boxes…

; )

401. Jim McIntosh

I literally came out of the town hall today with a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes, I bet not many NO voters can say that. How do you get emotional over ‘pooling and sharing’.

402. Bingo Wings Over Scotland

Had 3 Wee Blue Books left this morning, so went into Tesco and discreetly left them on top of the newspapers. Pleased to watch a Daily Mail reader immediately pick one up and read the front and back covers, flick through it, then drop it into his basket. It might just make a difference.
    It’s not too late folks, and the WBB’s won’t do any good if they’re not handed out. If you have any spare please make one last effort to get them out there. Today is not the day for being shy, so raise the subject of independence with everyone you meet and hand them out. Leave the WBB’s on trains and buses, on pub tables, in the bookies, at the cashpoint…

403. highseastim

Nana Smith

Yer way behind the times, my YES was in just over a fortnight ago!!

Although the odds seem stacked against us, I have a good feeling about today, and that a shock is in store for the powers that be!!

404. bookie from hell

Jim Finlayson says:
    18 September, 2014 at 11:55 am
    I kissed my ballot paper before it went into the box this morning and thought of all of my old SNP pals who never got to see this day. Nowโ€™s the day and nowโ€™s the hour.

brilliant

405. cockney lad

so my darling and I
    make love in the sand
    to salute the last moment
    ever on dry land
    our machine has done its work
    played its part well
    without a scratch on our bodies
    and we bid it farewell

Jimi Hendrix

406. Croompenstein

Has the First Minister voted yet ?

407. chalks

He has Croompenstein, now touring Turriff with a merry band of Yessers including my wife : )

408. The mcQueen

Stu…Thanks for the memories…Hail Alba

409. Jim Mitchell

The Thistle is the badge we wear
    Our flag’s the blue and white
    The cause of freedom do we bear
    Our cause it is the right

So here’s the badge
    And here’s the flag that ever mine shall be
    We’ll drink a toast tae Scotland yet
    Wae Aw the honours free

410. jackie g

The Lady at polling station let me keep my card with a little wink, also nodded when i put in box must be a yes supporter..this was at 7.10 place was busy people chatting and smiling.I then waved to the yes van going past great feeling.The two clowns who sit across from me at work were all sneering bile this morning, oh i have voted for freedom sneer sneer..another comment was they guy in the Sctsman was right? also sales of Braveheart have gone up ha ha,could not take any more plugged in my ipod..tossers

411. Croompenstein

@chalks @Nana – thanks for that, I am staying away from MSM today so hadn’t seen anything

412. James

Just back from the polling station. Had to check my ballot paper about 3 times to make sure I’d marked it yes and then put it in the box with butterflies in my stomach. I jumped out of a plane last month with less emotion than that! Bring on tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

413. Baheid

Mutley,

Went up to vote with my daughter, walking back down the road had a minor panic attack. Alison, “what’s up with you” ? Me, “shit, I have just had a thought,what if l put the x in the wrong box aghhhh”.

No way I got it wrong but couldn’t get it out of my head for a wee while.

Anyway, thanks to wings and contributors this has been an inspirational few years.

Fa’s like us.

414. ChrisB

K Robertson at 11:47 am

Is there anywhere to get a steer on expectations for each of the local authorities โ€“ which we expect to go which way, and which will give us early clues to the results?

All I’ve found is this list showing expected results times
    https://twitter.com/Greetinfaced1/status/510557183046860800/photo/1

Like so many others, I would like to thank the Rev and hope that this site will continue and perhaps form the basis for a new, independent news site in the new, independent Scotland.

I’m sure you could get crowdfunding for something like that – not just from Scots but from the rUK who will surely soon wake up to the criminal bias of the MSM.
    Scotland will be at the heart of a new Enlightenment and the Rev will be recognised as the man who screwed the bulb in.

415. Lemon

Electoral Fraud ?

My father has just been to vote and someone has already voted for him ! He voted using a pink slip and that was put into a seperate ballot box.
    Maybe it is a gunuine mistake, maybe I am being paranoid but if we dont call out these incidents, then we wont know if it’s happening.

416. Clarinda

Just phoned by BT asking whether I had voted yet and for which option had I voted. On informing the caller that I had voted YES she asked whether I realised that a YES vote would mean YES forever. I replied that “forever” was virtually the whole underpining point of voting YES. Bless her – she did give a little giggle – all very courteous.

417. Robert Louis

Shetland is a non issue. Yet another scare story, with no foundation in fact.

Most of the West coast of Scotland was ruled by the vikings, yet as others point out, the unionists imply that only Shetland has that ancestry – it just isn’t so. Indeed travel the western Isles and you will find many Norse words as placenames, such as Uig, which roughly means inlet or harbour (It is not of gaelic origin). I can’t remember exactly, but I think within the Hebrides there are ten or eleven places called Uig. And of course there is the Calmac terminal in Uig, in the North of Skye.

However, to the matter of substance, regarding the oil. If Shetland decided to be part of the rUK or not part of iScotland, it would only be entitled to exploit that portion of the continental shelf which extends for 12 miles from the shoreline of Shetland. There is NO oil within that area.

In short, it is utter, utter bollocks of the highest order. Typical of the mendacious lying and deception which is a hallmark of Westminster, and the anti independence campaign.

418. dramfineday

Thanks Stuart, more moving words, you and that Bateman fellow have put lumps in my throat and tears in my eyes. So here’s your payback – 7 Drams for YES, all voted and in the box.

419. Robert Kerr

Mutley,

I have already posted that I can’t remember whether my cross was in the correct box.

If we lose by one vote this shall haunt me for the rest of my life.

Shook hands with the official Yes observer. On leaving he wished me a good day. I responded that tomorrow shall be an even better day.

I am like a teenager on the first date. In a way that is true. My date is with my country.

Best stop now.

420. GrahamB

I’ve waited 50 years for this day, ever since I was politically aware.
    Went over the cross three times just to be sure, stood and looked at it for a while and was almost reluctant to part with it into the ballot box but what a wonderful feeling to eventually get to do this.
    Re. Shetland, I’m not up to speed with any recent developments but are they wanting independence even though they have never been an independent country or do they want to be part of Norway again? Has anyone asked Norway if they are interested?

421. Robert Louis

Bookie from hell

Well said.

422. fred blogger

#voteyesscotland is trending, in the uk.

423. Fiona

On my way to vote I stopped at the corner shop. The owner is nice guy, a pakistani scot but we have never discussed the referendum. Today he asked if I had voted and I told him I was on my way to do that. He asked which way and I told him I was for Yes. He said, all my customers say that: I have been asking them all week and they almost all say yes. And he wondered why the papers all say it is neck and neck, so we had a chat about that. He told me he is voting yes as well. So that was a wee boost for me. Today is the first time I have got out of the house for days and I am buggered, but hopeful.

424. yerkitbreeks

12.50pm and the BBC still can’t bring themselves to mention Andy Murray.

Nothing changes.

425. kininvie

Did my first polling station shift from 7 to 11. The two No reps there during that period were both old acquaintances from various campaigns. They were pretty annoyed by the tone of their polling day leaflets, which were the usual doom&gloom ‘don’t take the risk’ whereas ours were a double-sided Scotland’s future in Scotland’s hands.

Within the first hour or so it was obvious that everyone coming to vote had already made up their minds. We started giving away the leaflets to people coming out as ‘souvenirs to be kept for your great grandchildren’ Some people took both, others refused either the Yes or No.

Great atmosphere, no hostility or hint of any, and a good turnout. Based on ‘souvenir’ exit poll (highly reliable :-)) probably 50-50 – but mostly over 60s voting, so skewed.

426. muttley79

I am glad I am not the only one bricking it before and after voting today! LoL

There is around 9 hours of voting to go, nearly 6 hours so far. MSM reckon we should know by 5 am tomorrow morning.

427. Breeks

I just texted a NO voter to say I’d just voted in favour of free education, free healthcare etc and a list of all the other benefits of a YES. Took 3 texts to write it all, and even then, it struck me that a YES result is just the very beginning.
    Thanks Rev Stu. You’re a noble Lieutenant for Scotland’s best interests and a thorn in the side of our enemies, and I mean the word enemies quite deliberately.
    I’ve seen it said a couple of times, but win lose or draw, YES can hold it’s head high for it’s conduct and discipline throughout.

428. Faltdubh

Thank you.

Just voted Yes, felt marvellous!

429. Susan McKellar

Stuart, whatever happens today your readers know what you’ve done for Scotland. It won’t be forgotten. I hope you’re home to stay.

430. Haggis Hunter

Still got to cast my vote, on the way home from work tonight.
    One No-ist I kin came up to me and said you guys have got it, there has been a tide against No.
    Hope he is right!

431. gillie

Tory rebellion grows.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/scottish-independence/11103710/Dont-give-Scotland-financial-party-bags-Tory-minister-warns.html

“Claire Perry, the rail minister, has warned against giving Scotland a ‘whole raft of goodies’ paid for by taxpayers in England”

432. Croompenstein

I haven’t seen Taranaich post for a wee while hope all is ok

433. Bill Halliday

Stuck on a Rig in Norway. (2 weeks on then 4 weeks off, State Pension we couldn’t dream off, full year sick pay then year re-habilitation allowance if needed etc etc etc)

But I digress. Norwegian colleague this morning was joking with me that when the Shetlands were sceeded to Scotland we agreed to pay an annual rent which we haven’t done since 16xx something. So now they want the Shetlands back.:-)

ps Postal Yes went in Monday before I left.

ps ps Blair and Brown fought the EU for years to prevent UK side Oil Workers getting decent leave and holidays.

ps ps ps English based Unions sold out to the Oil companies on the Working Hours directive when they agreed UK Oil Workers only worked a 10 hour day. That was so they could continue with the Check-off system to get their dues collected for them.

434. Nana Smith

@Croompenstein

I saw a post by Taranaich on off topic. It’s a drawing!

I posted this link last night so if you haven’t seen it watch and pass on….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yP7xG_bHOIs

435. Indigo

There are still lots of undecided people out there, I put an ‘ask me anything’ graphic up on my Facebook feed last night and had two private messages from undecideds with very personal questions, all of which I was able to answer. I was really surprised that these people hadn’t asked before now, they seemed disappointed in themselves to not have made a decision, so now is clearly a good time to put yourself out there as a source of information to help these remaining undecided voters reach a decision with confidence x

436. David Stevenson

Estimate 40% have voted so far at the station I was standing at in Cambuslang. Only had a discussion with one voter (over that leaked Scottish Government document). Obvious difference in reception between young and old. The polling seems right about that at any rate. Cordial interactions with the representative of the other side. Back there in an hour….

437. R-type Grunt

We delivered leaflets this morning from 6 so we could catch the service buzzers in the closes. Then I did three hours at a polling station where an old guy, maybe around 70,abused me from across the street. Apparently we’re all “("Tractor" - Ed)ous wankers”. Who knew. Then another guy told me he didn’t think he’d ever see the day he’d be voting for “that slimeball Salmond & Jimmy Krankie”. I pointed out that he wasn’t voting for them but for the bairns in the school we were at. We’re winning.

438. one less day

Archie [not Erchie]

I though about you this morning and wondered if you would be windae hingin. Count the smiling faces and you will not be far wrong

439. Iain (orri) McCord

Said on other thread that I think Labour’s Don’t Know, Vote No might just backfire. When finally faced with the paper there may be a lot of them, the majority possibly, who were genuinely undecided but pick Yes. The final irony might be if those people who weren’t going to vote are the ones who tip the balance to YES.

440. Hayzo69

You’ve been a rock in dark cold seas..

441. Neil

I seem to recall a link to a document in a previous article which showed which constituencies would declare when tonight but also how likely they were to vote yes – my nerves are shredded as it is – so when the first declarations are made, would love to know whether we have polled better or worse than expected.

442. tombee

Burley should be ashamed of herself, doing a BROWNIE while on mic. Silly bitch.

Natzi salutes in Glasgow from NO yes, NO voters flying union jacks.

Jim Murphy and Alister Darling will be on BBC TV any minute now to apologise. WON’T THEY?

Maybe at the same time they’ll condemn the atrocious remarks on social media About Andy Murray too.

443. Tรฎm Criced i Gymru

I hope the SNP restart the clock on their website Home Page the very second the result is announced tomorrow morning – a NEW DAY dawning, a NEW AGE dawning – looking forward – NO looking back over the shoulder anymore in fear that Big ‘Brother’ is creeping up on you!

444. Inkall

Thank you Rev for all the great words you have put up on this site, and to those who’s comments I’ve spent just as much time reading.

As I marked the paper with the wee pencil on a string I was gripped by a clawing feeling (something I am sadly predisposed too)and proceeded to repeat the cross a second and third time, not hard enough to damage the paper but enough to make sure it would take some effort to remove.

445. Indy_Scot

For anyone having doubts about whether they put their cross in the right box, like I did for a moment,

http://tinyurl.com/lm6t273

Once I saw this image, I knew there was no way I put it in the wrong box.

446. tombee

VOTED YES AT 0710 AM. It felt great.
    I know we can. Yes we will ????

447. James Kay

If we want change, we must have the courage to make the change.

The only thing each of us can do is mark a cross in the box which represents that change.

After that, comes acceptance … Of whatever follows.

448. misteralz

Torphins is dead. Deader than dead. Took the kids to nursery this morning and the nursery wifey asked my eldest if he’d voted yet. He said ‘No!’ and ran inside. We got chatting. She said she was swithering. She’d taken a right wobble. She was always a hardcore ‘No’, but this past week had caused her to think about it again. She’d noticed the ramping up of the propaganda on the BBC. She’d even seen the ‘He refused to answer’ bit. And she’d started reading the Wee Blue Book on her laptop. We talked for a while and she agreed to read the rest of the Wee Blue Book this evening with a glass of wine, and then she was heading out to vote. She hates the Tories and UKIP. I think we’ve got another Yes there.
    I came back up the road and dragged the 964 out of the shed and gave it a wash. Then went in and had a long, hot shower. Got dressed up in my dress tartan and headed down to the Polling Station. Got a few smiles, and the election officer told me I didn’t need to dress up. We had a bit of banter about it being anti-climactic, and that I was making the most of it. Robert Smith was there as well. Wouldn’t look me in the eye. Which was a shame, as if he had I would have shaken his hand and wished him well in his new career. ๐Ÿ˜€

449. Famous15

Just had a call from the Liberal Democrats asking how I will vote.so asked him was he for yes or no as libdems confused me. I also asked him how the weather was where he was and he said the weather in London was fine!!

I said to him that his sense of entitlement to have Scotland in the bag was nauseous and he said no need to get unpleasant so I said sorry that he was so sensitive.His Etonian accent began to annoy me so I said you phoned me and thereby intruded unpleasantness.He said I am just wasting my time and I said no you are wasting MY time. I was childish and regret not having made more of my comments about Jo Grimond but I sensed he had never heard of him.
    Why do they feel so entitled to rule my country.

450. Sinky

Andy Murray has tweeted that thanks to the NO campaign’s negative onslaught that he is hoping that YES wins for Scotland.

Pity he waited until the tie break before serving his winning volley.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/andy-murray-tweets-support-for-yes-1-3545338

451. Liquid Lenny

I was at another villages polling station at 6.45am, the staff were looking for No people to witness the boxes getting sealed, none available only a YES observer and me representing another YES organisation. first customer just before seven an elderly lady out of the nearby sheltered housing home, first off all she lectured us on Scottish History before she went in to cast her X for YES. In another village an old guy of the same vintage was there in his kilt at 6.30am ensuring he was the first to vote in his village. I finished my first stint at 9.00am %20 turnout, went to vote where I live about 9.30 turnout % 25 plus, got txt from mate in Aberdeenshire they are getting about 10% per hour as well.

Looks like everybody will have voted for Tea Time, we should start the count early and get the PARTY Started ๐Ÿ™‚

452. Simon Chadwick

Well we went up and voted yes about midday. Amazing to see the little slip of paper. Truly a historic day for Scotland.

453. heraldnomore

Skullduggery at our local polling station. The two big signs I put up at 6.30 this morning, with the consent of the counting reps, were gone within half an hour. And I know whodunnit (which to be fair as not part of the campaign team).

But I’ll put more out, and keep doing it. And they’ll probably go again.

Yeah that’ll make a huge difference. They’re in full panic mode. The role in our hall is 420. On the street all week they have been utterly invisible.

454. scotspine

Report on Sky News. A man arrested for assault at a polling station in Glasgow (I think). Anyone know anything about this?

455. Marion

I am just back from voting and, just like you, I had a moment of panic when I thought I might have ticked the wrong box. you are not alone in this.

456. jackie g

There is nothing on the BBC pages about Andy and his comments this morning,not surprised really!his brother Jamie came out as on our side a while back looks like the NO campaign and his big bro had a word, better late than never.I have two pictures of him on my desk at work with his grand slam trophies he knows it makes sense.

457. vambomarbeleye

I wonder if any no’s have crossed the wrong box. They would flagalate them selfs for years to come. Should any way for wanting to vote no.

458. JimnArlene

For the generations to come, we have voted YES. JimnArlene

459. English Nationalist

Do you want to live like lions or are you all just sheep?

460. Luigi

Quite a few undecideds who recently changed to YES have now voted.

The vibe I am picking up from some of those long-term undecideds, more often than not, seems to be that voting YES was not as scary as they expected, in fact a number have already reported that it was a liberating experience.

Lovely.

461. ChrisB

Neil at 1:10 pm

I seem to recall a link to a document in a previous article which showed which constituencies would declare when tonight but also how likely they were to vote yes

Just realised this link I posted earlier showing the declaration times also has a “Yes” rating column:
    https://twitter.com/Greetinfaced1/status/510557183046860800/photo/1

462. Vince

I used to think I was intelligent till I read some of the wonderful articles about independence on this blog and elsewhere. I have been truly humbled. Thank you to all the great contributors.
    Of course, I cherished my vote today. It was so emotional after waiting all these years.You know, I think we’ve made it. If not, Scotland has been changed for better and forever. The future is everyone’s in this great country.

463. bookie from hell

unsourced

Leaked Edinburgh postal vote result has 58% for Yes.
    Both Sky and the Telegraph published the leak on their respective sites then wiped them again. Currently trying to source some screen-shots.

464. The Earthshaker

If anyone still needs help deciding Cardiff writer Dic Mortimer has a barn storming piece on his blog called ‘Scotland the Brave’

http://dicmortimer.com/2014/09/17/scotland-the-brave/

Go for it Scotland VOTE YES for your freedom

Stu you have be an inspiration to many outside Scotland too, so thanks for from this Welshie as well!

And to the many Wingers you all deserve a pat on the back and a rest after the effort you’ve put in, a big thanks and well done on the campaign you’ve inspired many in Wales too.

465. Orla

@meindevon

“Bad news is my wee mum is unwell and may not make it the polls to cast her yes vote. I have faith that it wonโ€™t be needed.”

Could someone please urgently tell @meindevon that his mother can get an emergency proxy vote:

http://www.aboutmyvote.co.uk/how_do_i_vote/voting_by_proxy.aspx

“If you have a medical emergency after the deadline, you can apply to vote by emergency proxy (until 5pm on the day of the election) if the emergency means that you cannot go to the polling station in person.”

466. Chic Stewart

Have had a sick feeling in my stomach, not normally pessimistic I think we are going to lose by a marginal vote. I hope not because the consequence doesn’t bear thinking about. Hopefully it’s just nerves. After watching Programme’s last night they seemed to having been more for a no vote very little in the way of Yes or maybe it TV companies doing what they have done over the last wee while. You can forget about the media we all no what they want.

467. gillie

“Leaked Edinburgh postal vote result has 58% for Yes.”

Now that would be a turn up for the books if correct.

468. Caroline Corfield

oo, bookie I don’t think that’s allowed, that’s why they’ve wiped them, are we factually reporting what Sky and the Telegraph have done and not actually doing it ourselves?

469. Robert Peffers

@Neil Mackenzie says: 18 September, 2014 at 8:29 am:

“I voted Yes for breakfast.”

Careful Neil, It’s fattening.

470. sydthesnake

Done the necessary this morning, put 3 votes through all YES as instructed
    1 x me 2 x my sons via proxy, felt really great, the PEN is indeed mightier than the sword.

long live Stu & WOS

471. steveasaneilean

My local polling station was at 50% turnout by 1pm (including postal votes). So turnout going to be huge.

472. cynicalHighlander

Voted and staff at polling station doubled from 2 to 4 must be expecting a high turnout.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmjdxxAnsB4

473. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Youโ€™ve been a rock in dark cold seas..”

What, a dangerous jagged thing you wouldn’t want to bump into? ๐Ÿ˜‰

474. Paul Murphy

How would it be possible to leak postal results anyway – thought they were all getting opened and counted together. Doesn’t sound believable to be honest.

475. heraldnomore

Away out to cut the grass for an hour or two. Lot of sweat and nae tears. It’s bloody hard reading these comments.

476. Kevin Brown

Miserable weather in Dundee today, but that wont put off any Yes voters. It might however put off some older NO voters though.

Before I voted today, I came downstairs to find my Mum finally reading the Wee Blue Book that I downloaded onto her laptop weeks ago. I had been gently persuading her for a while but she seemed reluctant for some reason.
    Well it has worked again as she has just come with me to vote Yes. She was a No leaning undecided until this morning.

My 3 brothers are also voting Yes today but my Dad is a definite No. I’m quite happy with the 5-1 split for my family though.

This site has played a huge part in getting us to this point and I hope it will continue to call out the media when they don’t do their jobs properly.

Thanks again to everyone on this momentous day for Scotland!

477. chalks

I too thought that the postal votes were counted tonight, after 10?

478. Kell

As a man living south of the border I shall be very pleased with a yes vote. The Scots have a different outlook on life to the English and deserve to be self-determined. Also it means that English politics and the fate of England will no longer be decided by Scottish labour MPs who don’t have what’s best for England at heart. This is best for everyone really. So good luck to you ๐Ÿ™‚ Please feel free to visit and I’ll be sure to make the odd trip to Scotland, though to be honest I prefer the Mexican sun!

479. Malcolm

Well, my wee vote is cast. And I felt so, so proud. Win or lose, I will go to my grave knowing I voted YES!! Who can vote no and proudly tell that to the future generations??

480. pussy nancy

Sorry if this has been asked before and I have missed the answer. After polls close, I believe ballot boxes are then transferred to their designated counting centres. Is that right? If so, how secure is the transfer?
    Hope someone can lay my anxiety to rest!

481. Helena Brown

Reply to Graham b regarding Shetland and Independence. Of all people they were asked that very question by of all people the Aberdeen P&J, they whole heartedly said they wanted to stay in Scotland. All this hoo ha can be laid firmly at the feet of Liberal Democrats and a few people who Labour would describe as foreigners.

482. faolie

Seems, from Twitter, that there’s a wee trend of No voters who just couldn’t go through with it in the polling booth and voted Yes.

It’s the Fuck it Factor coming into play. After all the warnings, scare stories and downright lies over the last two years: Should Scotland be an independent country?

Fuck it – Yes.

483. Media

“Rupert Murdoch and the Corruption of the British Media”

http://educationforum.ipbhost.com/index.php?showtopic=14556&page=1

484. Midgehunter

Who says we won’t be in the EU from day one. ๐Ÿ™‚

Read today in Germany.

The German Social Democrat, Jo Leinen, a member of the European Parliament and in the powerful EU Constitution Committee, has said that a smooth transition for Scotland to EU membership will be made possible.

“Scotland has now already fullfilled all the necessary requirments to be in the EU and I just cannot imagine that one would slam the door in the country’s face when the country is independent in 2016.

I think it’s possible to hold parallel negotiations for the continued membership in the EU.

Scotland would not be a normal applicant candidate like Albania or Moldawia, it is a part of the EU.

It would be quite unbelievable that this part of the European Union would suddenly not belong to it any more, especially as all the rules/regulations are already in use.”

485. Kilty

Thank you once again to Rev Stu. And thank you to all the people who have campaigned so vigorously over the past months for our new beginning. Going to be up all night, looking forward to the results tomorrow.

Let’s make an amazing new Scotland. ๐Ÿ™‚

486. Kilty

Thank you once again to Rev Stu. And thank you to all the people who have campaigned so vigorously over the past months for our new beginning. Going to be up all night, looking forward to the results tomorrow.

Let’s make an amazing, new Scotland. ๐Ÿ™‚

487. muttley79

I got my polling card back. Is this normal? They usually take it from you and don’t give you it back.

488. a2

Don’t relax yet folks.

There are still those who haven’t voted, Have just had my main target soft no, tell me he may vote yes yet. pushed to do his homework he now has done the reading and even if he votes no , it’s from an informed position which is as much as can be asked.

his partner has decided to vote yes IN THE LAST FIVE MINUTES!

489. Macart

Last undecided in the work decided this morning. ๐Ÿ™‚

Take a wild guess. ๐Ÿ˜€

490. Andy

Any exit poll numbers yet or is to early

491. jackie g

MSM are spouting usual guff today, just looked at Sky News and pictures of Gordon Brown smiling with labour voters and three fat folk (same family i presume with no thanks t-shirts and hats) no Yes people at all very different from comments posted here this morning..

492. Now's the Hour

Kissed my voting paper before I popped it into the box. Daft, but it seemed the right thing to do.
    Lots of positivity in the air. I even managed to convert a DK as I was chapping the doors. Every vote counts, it’s never too late.
    Re Andy Murray – gaun yersel big man!

493. EdinScot

Have been in two minds to put out the following as didnt want to raise hopes but…a senior manager from Ipsos Mori who a friend of mine works in same building with has told my friend this morning that the polls have consistently been showing a win for yes particularly for last couple of weeks! The weighting & inabiltiy to reach certain groups has badly skewed the data put out to the media.

Its apparantly the talk of that building today so the guy wont get into trouble hence why i now post. The guy is a very reliable source. My pal gets on very well with him that why he divulged it after being asked. As far as im aware Ipsos Mori only phone landlines i think (?) which would tend to suggest its the older vote they reach which is very good news.

Not getting carried away though as us supporting independence dont do complacency Just wanted to share this snippet. Fingers crossed folks.

494. fred blogger

Macart
    i can imagine the smiles on their face, sheer joy.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.