Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Ian Brotherhood

I have a stack of WBBs, and they’ll be available in Ayr Main Street this coming Saturday.

I won’t bother posting full details here as we’re about to hit 5000 comments and shift to a new ‘page’, but they won’t be dished-out willy-nilly. Conditions are attached…

So, someone please post a few upbeat Youtube music links, then I’ll lay it all out…

2. Ian Brotherhood

@Joe Swan –

You’re right.

Saw brief snippets of the news earlier, and the footage of Alex Salmond and Nicola (wherever they were) looked celebratory.

The people are getting ready to party.

3. Ian Brotherhood

Beastie Boys, ‘Fight For Your Right’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=svTuSRiFPoc

4. cearc

Excellent choice, Ian.

Or… it could be changed to, ‘Vote for your right to party’.

Are you not coming to Invergowrie?

5. James Caithness

@Ian Brotherhood

I recall Neil Kinnock and the labour party in Sheffield a coupla days afore the 1992 GE.

Never celebrate till the prize is in your hands.

6. Liquid Lenny

Ian Brotherhood

What about this one, not on you tube but on fb hopefully you can see it http://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10153195842144896

See you on Saturday, will be in ayr for air show!!!
    lenny

7. Ian Brotherhood

Okay, right, so…

SSP Ayrshire will have a stall in the Main St, Ayr, on Saturday, from mid-day-ish until 2-ish, perhaps a bit longer depending on how many bodies we get out on the day and/or weather.

I’ve got stacks of WBBs, and yeah, I know, I know, I need to get them out there, but here’s the catch –

I’m not going to just pass them out to all-comers, because the whole WBB thing is getting a bit out of hand, and there’s no doubt some folk are planking them away, hoping to make a fast buck post-vote.

So – all I’m asking is that you give me your personal contact details. Then we (SSP) can message you about ongoing events etc. You won’t be press-ganged into the SSP, you won’t be harassed. I certainly won’t ask you for dosh. We need to know who’s interested in what we’re doing (however vaguely) because that’s how we grow the party.

We don’t have millionaire benefactors. The party members pay for the leaflets, the posters. We pay for the hire of venues. We get no payment. At all. No ‘expenses’ of any kind.

So – all I’m asking is your name, and a contact number, preferably an e-mail address. A phone number would be nice as well. In return, there’s your WBB. Nae probs.

If you want more WBB’s? Please help us get our stuff out. It’s mostly generic Yes material, but has our flyer/leaflet as a wraparound, with details of the final SSP Ayrshire meeting prior to the big day.

Please help us, this coming Saturday. And help us build the last SSP meeting (provisionally Sep 15th, in a community centre in Ayr).

It’s a chance to take part in some real streetwork. You’ll be able to say to your weans and grand-weans that you did something, and we’d be very very grateful for the help. (And, aside form anything else, it’s great fun – how else can you get a chance to stand in a Main Street and shout your head off with no penalty?)

If you give me your contact details, you get a WBB. If you then hang about for 15, 20 mins, whatever, and pass out leaflets, chat to us and passers-by? I’ll happily give you more if I feel you’re for real and will make every effort to get the things into the hands of Nos and DKs.

Does that sound fair enough?

Am I being harsh and/or manipulative?

In any event, please come to the SSP stall, on Saturday, near the Wallace Tower, and we can discuss it for as long as you like.

Love to all.

Hoots!

8. X_Sticks

Phew.

Think I’ve just about got on top of things thanks to some great people. Stress level back to just dangerous 😀

@Gerry

Yes, thanks Gerry. I spoke to Jim tonight and he’s been a great help. Found out at the end of the call that he knows my wife well, they worked together at a certain oil company for a few years. The name didn’t click until he said. I was working in the same place at the time, but different department, so didn’t know Jim. Funny all these little links you find through this.

This thing happening in Scotland is quite extraordinary. Nothing is ever going to be the same again whatever happens. There is a pride and solidarity in the country that isn’t going to go away.

Pedal to the metal folks, we’re on the final straight.

Think this might be apt for all sorts of reasons

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_nKf7BNqhA

9. BB

Sounds very fair to me, Ian! There’s a risk of hoarding and keepsakes going on when each one is a potential conversion to Yes. No point me, for instance, sitting there with a pile when everyone knows I’m 100% Yes. It’s not going to make my Yes vote count for any more. Stu is going to be printing keepsake ones anyway and the hundreds of thousands printed now will still be about.

I think you’re going to be very busy in these last days with the way the political awakening and movement is going! You’ll probably get mobbed compared to lonely BT folk just standing around, squeezing their balls…(that’s re their recent student related offering, honest, ahem).

@X_Sticks

Totally agreed! I’ve never seen or head of anything like this change happening to Scotland. Not even an anecdote like it in living memory. This is bigger than anything we’ve had. It’s important we stay awake and aware and if the people of Scotland do…WOW what a country we’re going to build!

10. BB

BTW, did Paula get her 5001 comment? 😀

11. Ian Brotherhood

@BB –

No doubt Paula Rose has kicked off her heels, and is taking some time out to stroke her pussy, content in the knowledge that the BTUKVNOBNOTHANNKers are worriedly squeezing their balls.

12. BB

Hahaha! Oh you’re even worse (better!) than she is with the innuendo. I’m glad none of us have faint hearts by this point. 😉

13. kininvie

@ian

I sense you are becoming just a tad over-enthusiastic for your party here (no shame in that). But the WBB HAS to go out with no party strings attached. It’s not a party-political document, and I’d expect you to hand to an undecided Tory voter as willingly as to an ultra-leftie

(no slapped wrists – just a jog of your elbow that YES is all that matters….we can deal with the rest later)

14. Joe Swan

@Ian Brotherhood

Thanks for that. Was listening to Mr Bateman and came back and switched it on. Have now been howked to bed for playing it too loudly (or was it my jumping up and down?).

Not over yet, but we all like a lift now and then. Cheers.

15. CameronB Brodie

I’m still waiting for No Better Together Thanks to contact me. They did promise. 🙁

The Hot Rats – Love Is The Drug
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sd9a5VRW4pA

16. Ian Brotherhood

@kininvie –

Understood, but I’d still want the undecided Tory’s contact details, and if he wants that WBB, and is genuinely undecided/open-minded, he won’t mind parting with them.

17. Tartan Tory

Hi Folks. Just a wee update from me as I’ve been extraordinarily busy these past few days and haven’t had the time to be frivolous in here. Getting to bed at 3am then up at 7am hasn’t been good for my looks either! I’ve also just had this weekend ‘knocked-out’ for me too, as I now need to be on an oil rig tomorrow. 🙁

The PV ‘thing’ for Angus is pretty well covered. You know what they say – if you want something done….! Both myself and Jim in Forfar will be handling much of the task there. As Colin has said earlier, it may not be as much of a task as we’d anticipated, but I’m certainly going to be there ‘full-time’ for the first couple of days, which is when the vast bulk of pv’s are dealt with.

@ Paula – I tried to call you at home yesterday but no reply. I hope you’ve not been busy upstairs with that brotherhood character when I’m hanging on the telephone?

I also tried to phone Alex and Pete the Camera, but nobody answered there either. What’s the point in having a mobile if you never use it!! 😉 At the back of my mind I have a strange suspicion that there are some shenanigans going-on involving stockings and high-heels with these guys over at Paula’s. I’m left doing all the leg-work while these boys work on legs……. 🙂

Re the night out, I’ve not even considered it and feel less inclined to be celebrating before the finish line. This week alone I’ve managed to convince/convert a significant number of people. I hope there are others here who have read an e-mail, or a forum post, from someone you’ve been trying with for months, which has actually made you cry (with joy)!! I’m man enough to admit I certainly have been greetin’ at the responses from a couple of people who I’ve been working on. And I’m not talking about traditional ‘lefties’ either 😉

Tried to set-up a ‘debate night’ in the local pub, but the landlord said that he couldn’t find anyone brave enough for ‘No’ to go on the panel against me, so it’s not happening! 🙂

18. Jim Thomson

Couple of things on the “Cap in Hand” single at number 1.

If you haven’t yet downloaded it, make sure you get the ORIGINAL one and NOT the 2011 remaster. They count as different singles.

I’ve been told that if you play it ten times on Spotify that counts as a single purchase (No idea if that’s true btw).

Also been told that the BBC have banned it from their playlist, even on the chart show. Again, no idea if that’s true or not but, it wouldn’t surprise me.

I get a copy of Music Week (industry bible for sales and trends) delivered so will be able to verify the chart position next week.

Wouldn’t it be nice to keep it No.1 for a couple of weeks – would REALLY piss off the BBC 🙂

19. Jim Thomson

Still on the Proclaimers tack …

Just been looking at the “official UK Charts” – no sign under any category. Search for Proclaimers has 2007 as the most recent entry.

Looked in the iTunes store – no Proclaimers at all

Looked in Amazon and they are at No.3 for sales

BBC charts nothing either.

All seems a bit odd based on the number of people that claim to have bought it.

20. Quentin Quale

On the music front, here is Andy Clark singing for independence
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z71RvEhV1VY

Great stuff!

21. pillandsave

Can anyone point me in the direction of a wee blue book poster with links and a QR code?
    I saw a picuire on twitter recently and want to print some off

22. Quentin Quale

http://wingsoverscotland.com/time-to-get-busy/

Has a pdf print out link.

23. BB

@pillandsave

I believe Stu put up that in his article about Wee Blue Book and getting promotional cards and leaflets to spread word, etc.? I think he put up the images for download fo you to use and print off your own stuff in those.

@Jim

Got a copy and it was the original one. Bonus is that it’s actually a nice song anyway. 🙂

24. BB

South Ayrshire forms for referendum going to be sent off any day now. Can’t wait too long, obviously. Last call for volunteers and the door will be closed.

Weirdly the local Yes lot aren’t getting back to me or the Greens about it or cooperation, despite emails. Don’t know what’s happened there.

25. Quentin Quale

Coupar Angus area Yes/Groups – few dozen WBBs waiting to find new homes. Can deliver, but they are going out the door at a heckuva speed!

26. gerry parker

BB – similar in North Lanarkshire.
    e mail me if you want to share info.

gerry[dot]parker[at]gmail.com

27. Paula Rose

Darlings!

Sorry I had to leave so abruptly last night – my pussy wasn’t content with a gentle stroke, what with her age she wanted a hard rub. By the time I’d finished there were well over 5000 comments.

Anyway, during the action I had a thought, after all this excitement the Rev could have a pets page!

He could post more pics of his adorable wee hairy things, I’ve got lots of my pussy playing with various toys, in fact we could widen it out.

I know lots of people are very fond of sheep, and although I’m a bit funny about hens – some of cocks would be delightful.

28. call me dave

Paula Rose..! You are awful..but I like you.

Anyhoo

Coventry v Gillingham free footie

http://u-peak.me/sky2.html

29. James Caithness

Paula Rose says:
    5 September, 2014 at 7:03 pm
    Darlings!

Sorry I had to leave so abruptly last night – my pussy wasn’t content with a gentle stroke, what with her age she wanted a hard rub. By the time I’d finished there were well over 5000 comments.
    ================

That conjures up some image for an ex-sailor imagination,

30. James Caithness

the image that into an ex-sailors mind……….?

31. Paula Rose

Tartan Tory honey! You must come – knocking on people’s doors whilst they’re watching Dr Who and X factor is not a good idea, if it makes you more comfortable come with the wife – that should keep your ardour at bay.

32. Smithie

Now see what you have done Paula Rose, you have caused a du-du du du double post, and before the watershed too.

33. Thepnr

You owe it to yourself to watch this. Class.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pZgu0KichKE

34. gerry parker

@ pillandsave

Go to the top of this page and click on the wee blue book link

35. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers. Meant to watch that t’other day but clean forgot.

If anyone wants to do a ‘compare and contrast’ exercise, have a swatch at this shite from VNOB:

‘Why Build Another Wall’ –

36. Ian Brotherhood

Rumour has it that VNOB, stung by criticism of their turgid ‘Why Build Another Wall?’ are set to release a jaunty follow-up entitled ‘Why Squeeze My Other Ball?’.

37. gerry parker

Appeal to all you keyboard warriors and Lurkers. I need volunteers for counting agents and polling agents to cover the North Lanarkshire area.

You don’t necessarily need to come from this area, any help would be appreciated, I’ve got one volunteer from Kilmacolm.

Now is your chance to get out and do something to show that Wings over Scotland is a responsible and professional participant in this referendum.

38. BB

I think my comment has fallen afoul of the spam filter as it had links. It was pointing out that the American chap who made the video laying out the facts in the indy ref over in the USA to their audience has reached his funding target so we’ll have him over here to cover it for us and them. 🙂

39. Paula Rose

Honeys – I’ve still got a comment on this thread awaiting moderation – gosh.

40. Ian Brotherhood

Anyone fancy helping SSP Ayrshire for the final push?

We’ve a final Public Meeting confirmed – Whittlets Activity Centre, Glenmuir Place, Ayr, on Monday 15th, 7.30 p.m.

Speakers: Liz Swan (Ayr SSP), Craig Murray ( Labour for Independence) and Richie Venton (SSP Regional Organiser)

‘The Socialist Case for Independence – why the working class would be better off.’

If you want to help us build this meeting (it’ll involve a lot of leafleting door-to-door in Ayr throughout next week, but you’ll be in a team) please pop along to our stall in Ayr Main St tomorrow between 12-ish to 2.30-ish, or drop me a message: ian@stevenston4.fsnet.co.uk

(Don’t forget – WBBs available tomorrow in Ayr. We’ll be at or near the Wallace Tower.)

41. Taranaich

@Taranaich – do you know a Ronnie Cowan?

Aye, he’s the campaign manager/coordinator/High Heid-Yin. 😀

Pop on to the wee blue book thread to discuss.

Will do!

42. Thepnr

Elaine C Smith (my hero) with Derek Batemen. Ian you will like this, any women out there please watch. My wife was fixated 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4SSxy49qVo

43. Jock Scot

Yew Choob heard there were still some people thinking of voting No..what gives..?

@ Paula..check out the shoes

youtu.be/G7fDzibjFmo

44. Ian Brotherhood

Yesterday afternoon I took my brother and his wife (up from Manchester for an overnighter) to Portencross (by West Kilbride), a favourite place when we were wee.

As we made our way back to the car-park we saw a couple of people leafleting the houses (many of which are magnificently dressed in Yes material). I recognised one of them as an SNP MSP, and got chatting to him. Before we parted, I asked him for his gut-feeling on the outcome.

He did his level best to appear circumspect, wary, but there was a smile dancing around his lips. Unfortunately, he was wearing reflective shades, so I couldn’t clock his eyes, but his demeanour and the final handshake spoke volumes.

Those ‘in the know’ know something we don’t. And I think they like it.

Marvin Gaye, ‘I Heard It Through The Grapevine’ (Live):

45. Thepnr

Hmmm!

Ian that’s your last two links going straight onto a Beastie Boys video.

Weird! My posts are being moderated too. Fuck Em!!!

46. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Thanks for the alert. I won’t post any more links for now.

Curious, too, that the WOS Twitter has been frozen for what seems like yonks…

The mischiefs may get some temporary satisfaction from fucking about with WOS, but it’s too little, and far too late.

Got speaking to a senior Union bloke today, lifelong Labour guy, and he’s utterly disgusted with what’s going on. He’s being forced to toe his Union’s (unilateral) line and present himself as a ‘No’ voter, even though he’s told the metropolitan bosses he’s already voted Yes (by post).

They don’t care, and insist that he present a ‘No’ face on behalf of Scottish members (who were not balloted) – as a result, he’s put his own head on the block for a public debate where he will be representing ‘No’. He’s also arranged for the most powerful ‘Yes’ reps he knows to be on the platform, and will act as whipping-boy for them.

This is the kind of arm-twisting tactic that principled, life-long ‘Labour’/trade union supporters/staff are being subjected to. It’s happening, for real, right now. We don’t know a fraction of what’s happening behind the scenes, and won’t get to hear it all for a long time.

If Scotland votes ‘No’, these repulsive characters win, and will be emboldened. If we vote ‘Yes’, they’re toast.

‘I just don’t have enough information…duh…’

47. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee song that get me giddy. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c90w2rcQ9QY&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

48. Thepnr

Michael McCabe rides to the rescue as usual.

Cheers Buddy.

49. BB

Poor wee furious Alan suggesting now that his side tries to form some sort of grassroots…with less than two weeks to go! LOL

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/scotland/11078776/Nows-the-time-to-stand-up-and-be-counted.html

This level of nonsense is why the tide has turned.

50. CameronB Brodie

A musical tribute a remarkable politician. Guess who? 🙂

Prince Buster Allstars – Prince of Peace
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4I9ig8rkSg

51. Thepnr

A wee bit sentimental but passionate all the same.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efQEjZgeqZk

52. BB

I think the spam filter hates me tonight! It must be cranked up high level with the constant attacks Stu’s been getting on the place. Understandable if it is on full alert. Hundreds of spam messages are PITA.

53. BB

I was just suggesting that SAINT MOTEL – “1997” might be a nice theme for us Yessers or used in the post-win parties. 🙂

Never felt more confident than now that not only we CAN win this but we WILL win this. And the feeling is only growing!

54. gerry parker

@Cameron B.

Another tribute to a politician.

Online competition, can you guess which politician this reminds me of?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f95UCJs2rUA

Ah – only 2 more working days till it’s Monday.

55. Cactus

Test, am having posting probs?

56. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop and Quentin Quayle.

Your other halves for Invergowrie also?

More news on Invergowrie over this weekend.

57. Jim Thomson

@Cactus – mega spam problem it seems.

one of my other comments this morning on another thread hit the “moderation” wall too.

58. Jim Thomson

@Cactus me too

59. Jim Thomson

@Brian Doonthetoon – we are most definitely considering it. Have to negotiate B&B with our son for the Tayport digs though 😉

60. john king

Thinking about starting a gardening post on off topic, so after (fingers crossed) we get a yes vote I propose we all plant saltires in out beds using Lobelia, and Allysums next spring, living Saltires, we may see them sprout (ahem) up in municiple plantings in parks as well, such as Princes street gardens.

61. CameronB Brodie

gerry parker
    ow you’re just egging us on. 🙂

62. gerry parker

Cameron

And T B Liar

63. James Caithness

Different folks follow different threads. This is a hoot

http://www.facebook.com/robert.middlemass.1/posts/258143147728948

64. Ian Brotherhood

Great to meet oor ain Gavster, and Bill Boyd, and ‘Alison’ this afternoon in Ayr.

We shifted 200 WBBs (with no strings attached, kininvie!) and it was not easy to locate hard Nos.

65. smout

My second attempt at a first post, so please still be gentle.

Lurked here for many months but haven’t posted before.

Just booked my flight to Glasgow, get in 8am the morning of the vote. If needed I am willing to help in any way, drive folk to vote in Glasgow and surrounding areas.

I don’t have a vote but as this is something that I have wanted for the last 35 years I really want to help.

66. chipmonkey

@Briandoonthetoon

I’m Quentin Quale’s other half- I made top of your last list:-)
    See you soon

67. CameronB Brodie

gerry parker
    Hi Gerry, I hadn’t thought of him, though I see where you are coming from. I was actually thinking of the First Minister, and the opportunity he’s made available. Nukes gone, and no more imperialist wars if we chose to leave them behind. What’s not to like? 😉

And he’s is from the east, as far as most Scots are concerned. 🙂

68. Paula Rose

Darlings – all day doing the dance, smout honey – big kisses and welcome to our wee forum, lots of kisses from me honey.

69. Quentin Quale

WBB – put out WBBs beside my big Yes sign at bottom of the garden on Thursday. Not the busiest wee Perthshire town but 15 taken over an 8 hour period. Bit annoyed yesterday as the steady drizzle put paid to any chance of them staying dry, so didn’t put them out. Mind you, mood was lifted when someone arrived at the door and asked if I had any because they had been told about the street side ‘box’. Had a great chat and a couple more WBBs out there doing the job.

70. smout

Thank you Paula Rose. And big kisses back

I’m off out now to my local in Cardiff Bay. Even down here I’ve managed a few worthwhile conversations with the Scottish tourists over the summer. Hope I’ll meet some of you on the 18th.

71. call me dave

@James Caithness

Thanks for that link. How have we got the folk with the talent?

Just wonderful.

72. Paula Rose

oh btw James Caithness honey – I didn’t mean to upset you a couple of nights back, big kisses honey.

73. Paula Rose

My favourite song sung by a goddess

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_1btp49Cwr8

74. X_Sticks

john king says:

“Thinking about starting a gardening”

Na, coos’n’bees, John – land of milk and honey 😀

Ian Brotherhood says:

“it was not easy to locate hard Nos.”

Paula will be very dissapointed 😉

Another braw day on the stall in Aberdeen although weather a little inclement in the afternoon. Still, it’s Scottish water. The bitters only turned up about 12 and lasted about 2.5 hours, the second heavy shower did for them, poor wee souls. I don’t think their heart is in it.

Up to Alford tonight to set up the YesMobile for the bike rally at the Alford Transport Museum http://www.gtm.org.uk/whats-on/

Be there tomorrow all day. Now to go catch up – see the Rev’s just tweeting YouGov poll 51 Yes 49 No. Just another 15 point to go. Let’s not flag or crow. Get out and go for it.

75. Ian Brotherhood

My boy has just taken a splendid snap of me with a Yes cupcake (from the excellent Kandy Bar in Satcoats) stuck to my head, and a WBB stuck to my cheek.

Unfortunately, I can’t share it as we can’t work out how to get a link in here. If I e-mailed it to someone with the techy skills, could you please do it for me?

Thanks. I’ll need your e-mail address. Obviously.

76. Paula Rose

Ian dear – which cheek?

77. Paula Rose

Not the one I lovingly caressed in that field in Oban I hope.

78. X_Sticks

@ ian

mines just up the thread a bit 😀

79. Graeme Kerr

writing on a phone. just read two stories on tomo observer. quite emotive language. massive new powers on offer. habloodyha. seems like they trying to change our direction of travel. not a happy bunny. however. as usual. no substance. but they msm prob be choca with new offer for no vote stories for next few days. do not get distracted. need people in top tier to think on their feet now. rebuttal asap

80. Paula Rose

Remind me – what’s the question being asked on the18th?

81. Graeme Kerr

good point paula. YEEEESSSSSSS

82. Graeme Kerr

keep it simple. yes for people power. no for abject failure. sorry getting morose. no for….. whats no for again????

83. Ian Brotherhood

@X_sticks –

Cheers amucho –

Please message me ian@stevenston4.fsnet.co.uk and I’ll send the thing by return.

84. Brian Doonthetoon

“‘Yes’ campaign lead at 2 in Scottish Referendum”

http://yougov.co.uk/news/2014/09/06/latest-scottish-referendum-poll-yes-lead/

85. X_Sticks

@Ian

http://t.co/qZAhDwhKKa

Lol, what that wbb is doing to people, eh?

86. X_Sticks

Sorry your sideways Ian. Don’t know why.

Aye, min we’ll hae a sup or twa richt enough and indeed it is historic times we are privileged to be living in.

When the unicorn broke the chain and the lion roared. That’ll do for me.

87. X_Sticks

GTG early start at Alford for the YesMobile at the bike rally. Going to be a cracking day.

Get our there and enjoy it folks.

It’s comin’ yet for a’ that.

88. Ian Brotherhood

Wee tune for lurking BTUKOKVNOBNOTHANKers –

Gonna Make You Sweat (Everybody Dance Now) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LaTGrV58wec

89. Ian Brotherhood

For all Wingers and Yessers generally:

Tom Jones & EMF, ‘Unbelievable’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ioT2WUbf_g

90. Michael McCabe

Quentin Quale put this Song up the other day. And I think it is Great So I am putting it up again. Give it a listen I think you,s will enjoy http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=Z71RvEhV1VY Vote Yes.

91. BB

Holy crap. I go to bed early and I miss an amazing YouGov poll. :O

@Ian Brotherhood

Hoped to see you in Ayr, but I ended up busy with work related stuff so just missed your gang, I think! I say at least a dozen people in town for the air show with Yes badges, stickers and wristbands in open display and only one No sticker on someone.

92. Jim Thomson

@X-Sticks 11:53pm

I only noticed that the unicorn was in chains for the first time a day or two ago when one of my sons pointed it out on the front of his passport.

That needs to be made more public.

I’m pretty sure most Scots are unaware of the symbology in the crest.

93. pete the camera

Its doors open day next weekend
    http://www.doorsopendays.org.uk/opendays/area_programmes.aspx?areaid=10

Could these venues be a good place to set up stalls nearby the link above is for Dundee might be worth checking the net for events in your area for suitable place to set up a stall, since its the last weekend before the vote it would be a shame to waste it

94. pete the camera

,,, sorry here are the missing commas

95. pete the camera

Looks like some of the doors open days are this weekend check here for your area

http://www.doorsopendays.org.uk/opendays/areas.aspx

96. CameronB Brodie

We haven’t heard from No Better Together Thanks for a while, but we shouldn’t have worried that Project Fear wouldn’t roll out the same old horror re-runs. 😉

The Marketts – Out of Limits
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXyeb8ND89M

The Tarantulas – Like-Spellbound
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ynS9bNMOZpg

Baron Daemon & The Vampires – Ghost guitars
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CsJKDybEOqs

97. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Jim Thomson

According to legend a free unicorn is a very dangerous beast…

98. Paula Rose

It’s to do with that horn.

99. Conan_the_Librarian

Unicorn porn…only you Paula 😉

100. call me dave

Georgia v Ireland Select footie option: on soon.

or watch anything on here.

You want to download ad blocker if required (30secs)

http://www.wiziwig.tv/broadcast.php?matchid=276303&part=sports

101. SquareHaggis

@call me dave

Call me duh!
    But I haven’t a clue how that website works.
    must be missing a plug-in or summat.

102. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cearc.

If you click on the link below, you’ll see where that path meets Mill Road. It looks like it’s tarred. You can then zoom out of the map to get your bearings.

http://goo.gl/maps/P37t1

Hi Jim Thomson. I’ll add your name to the list as I don’t believe the Troon Brigade will want to miss this get-together!
    Your B&B will be arranged, iye?

Hi Chipmonkey. I didn’t realise you were FionaF!

BTW: the phone number I gave for the Invergowrie Inn previously was totally wrong! If anyone wants to book a table for a meal, phone (01382) 562686 and mention of Wings Over Scotland will let you book a table up to 7pm. (General public up to 6.30pm.)
    But better to book sooner, rather than later, as they are always fully booked for Saturday teatime.

So, the current list of those attending the Friends of Wings Over Scotland night out at the Invergowrie Inn (last orders at quarter past midnight) is:-

chipmonkey
    Quentin Quayle
    Thepnr
    ronnie anderson
    Bob Sinclair
    Betty Boop
    Jim Thomson
    Quinie frae Angus
    cearc
    Paula Rose
    Tartan Tory

There’ll also be some lurkers from Dundee who are working their @®$es off, campaigning for a YES vote. I won’t be publicising this get-together on Facebook – it’s for Wingers.
    So, who else is adding their name?

Once again, here’s the link to the post where I gave hotel info:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-10/#comment-1843521

103. Paula Rose

Oh dear I keep commenting on main threads – I don’t mean to be naughty but you know how it is. Now – which of you are going to pick me up in Brechin? And I will want some lovely platters of deliciousness sweeties.

104. Paula Rose

Ronnie Anderson my darling – you do this for me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MifWlrkEBD4

105. Paula Rose

Oh so complex – darlings I will be there I will need food, can someone order me the special main course? My pussy is so demanding, I should really get au fait with the modern world.

106. BB

Hooray, managed to get hold of the Yes agent for my area and I’ve coordinated to fill up some slots so that’s perfect. Full set from the Wings front now. We’ll outnumber the opposition on the day in the counting rooms. 😉

107. gerry parker

BB, well done.managing to make a start on my allocations too.

108. ronnie anderson

Awe Paula Rose the distance is to great for me to keep you warm,I’ll send you a packet of firelighters n a bag of coal.

109. Michael McCabe

Here is a song for Westminster the Establishment Bitter Together. For the day after Scotland Votes Yes. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zI-iMy0aZM8&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

110. Taranaich

Well all, it’s 10 days to go, and we need to work hard:

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/09/07/rousing-the-sleeping-giant/

I took one final day off today for my health. The next ten days I’ll be doing everything I can until I crash – hopefully on the 20th – and Inverclyde’s 56,000 electorate need ALL the help they can get.

111. BB

TEN DAYS! Oh man, it’s really closing in fast, isn’t it?

It all seemed so distant when it was first announced it was going to happen.

112. Jim Thomson

@Brian Doonthetoon

Aye, indeedy. Mark us down for a wee nosh and a swally

113. Jim Thomson

Just had a look on Google Earth – they REALLY like their double yellow lines in ‘Gowrie. Jings, hope there’s a space in front when we arrive, or else we’ll have to walk from Tayport!

Table booked, btw. 🙂

114. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim.

If you want to have a meal before the shindig, you’ll have to phone the number above and book a table ASAP.

My ex says they’re always fully booked on a Saturday. Remember to mention ‘Wings Over Scotland’.

115. Jim Thomson

@Brian Doothetoon

Yes – the clue is in “Table booked btw” 😉

Also bringing one of our lads who’s at Abertay. He’s kindly agreed to put us up for the Sat/Sun 😛

116. Oneironaut

Nice pic Ian. 😉

Sorry I wasn’t much help with the picture posting.
    I’d gotten the idea in my head that you wanted it to actually display the pic in the post.

But yep, external links are easy enough.
    Going to set up a new image hosting account for myself later anyway, since I lost the password for the old one when my old PC blew up.
    So if you need any more pics posted up, feel free to pass them on 🙂

117. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim.

I was typing while you posted your “table booked” info.

8=)

118. Chic McGregor

Oops done that youtube thing again, forgot to strip off the http

Anyway, is this to rude to put out there?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvFK2pkiaW0

119. Bob Sinclair

Brian,
    sorry for the late change but I am not going to make it to Invergowrie. Got to drop my Daughter off at Uni. I will miss the last chance to meet up with you guys before we win but will be thinking of you all. You’ve all been an inspiration to me. YES THANKS

120. Quentin Quale

Was out delivering Yes materials today. Highlight? Being, ahem, thoroughly entertained by the delectable Paula Rose after handing over a load of WBBs. Ya beezer.

121. Jim Thomson

I’ve been trying to get my head round a small section of a weighty tome, known as CAP168, for a couple of hours now, but all this Wings stuff is sooo bloody distracting.

Gonnae no dae that!

On second thoughts, that document is quite dry and tedious so some light relief should be welcome amidst the dryness of the day job 😛

122. gerry parker

Jim, I sympathise with you as a former airport employee.

(Air Ground Radio and Airport Admin)

123. Jim Thomson

aahhh another distractee – I am NOT lone … woohoo 😛

124. Jim Thomson

Anyway, going to try and get “Architects for Yes” livestream event onto the telly downstairs now (see foot of “Finding sense to make it work” thread)

125. X_Sticks

So, there I was at the Postal Vote opening (nothing to see here, the ladies were meticulous in ensuring we saw no ballots)

Got speaking to the observer from the Labour party after the opening. She asked me my thoughts on a couple of indy issues and listened to my answers. We got on to the campaigns and I was telling her about the online campaign for Yes. She’s not very computer literate. Got around to telling the story of the WBB. “Oh, she says that sounds interesting.”

Well says I, “I just happen to have one here in my pocket and you’re welcome to it.”

“Thank you very much” she says, “what do I owe you for it?”

“It’s free. Courtesy of Wings over Scotland.”

“That’s very kind of you, thanks”

Into the bag it went. Strongly suspect it will get a good read. Strongly suspect it may well change another mind.

126. cearc

Well done x-sticks.

Fancy you ‘just happening to have one in your pocket’!

127. Thepnr

@X_Sticks

hahaha. Lets hope that one gets passed around a lot.

128. Bob Sinclair

Gerry,

Full box of WBB’s + about 50 I got from Glenrothes + about 100 from Interesting Books in Shawlands distributed over the weekend.

I had a thought about the one I got signed by The 7th Doctor from Doctor Who (Sylvester McCoy). Theres a wee bit of a Doctor Who crossover in that the book is Wee & Blue on the Outside & massive on the inside, a bit like the TARDIS.

129. Chic McGregor

OK despite some input elsewhere that it is funny, I’ll take the silence here as a no and dump it.

130. cearc

Chic,

You took it down and I hadn’t watched it!

131. cearc

Chic,

Everyone was away playing pilots on the ‘Too easy’ thread.

132. Thepnr

I thought the other thread WAS the Off-Topic thread LOL.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/too-easy/

133. cearc

An easy mistake to make!

134. kininvie

WBB Update

OK, so that is Wings Central officially cleaned out. The 230,000 copies that came off the presses in Glasgow are now all distributed across the country as best we could manage.

We shipped boxes to Stornoway, Shetland, Orkney, Skye, Campbeltown, Thurso, Laurencekirk and many other places. We delivered pallets of 10,000 or more to Troon, Dunblane, Perth, Dundee, Dunfermline, Inverness, Ladybank, Melrose, Livingston, Edinburgh, Dumfries, Aberdeen and more. We’ve put 40,000 copies out from the Glasgow hub. We’ve sent out thousands of individual ebay orders in addition.

We’ve watched in awe as the WBB has spread out to cover nearly every geographical niche. Copies have arrived in Barra (how?) and they are spreading from hand to hand in Strathpeffer, Elgin, Loanhead, Prestonpans….

We’re cleaned out, but the message is out there…

Most of you will maybe never know how much thanks are due to Wingers who have stepped up to whatever demands were made of them over the past couple of weeks – but we, on the 5 man/woman distribution team know, and are grateful.

135. Thepnr

I am grateful too. This will clinch it for the people of Scotland and rid us of the corruption of Westminster. I never realised you were delivering little books full of dynamite that could swing voters as well as it can.

I’ve witnessed it.

Thank you kinivie and the rest of the team

136. cearc

It is pretty impressive for an ad hoc logistics exercise. Well done one and all.

137. Silverytay

Kininvie
    I would just like to say a big thanks to you and your team for all the hard work you have done to make this possible .
    I would also like to thank all Wingers who have made this possible by digging deep into their pockets every time the Rev has asked them to .

138. X_Sticks

Huge thanks to Andrew and the rest of the WBB distribution team, what a superb job you folk have done.

Utter commitment. That’s why we ARE going to win this.

The establishment is in full panic mode.

The MSM is in full on panic propaganda mode with all pretence of fairness and lack of bias out the window.

Wings (And the Rev!) has played a significant part in this, more power to use.

Keep up the good work folks we’re winning!

139. Ravelin

Well done to all, and we know that if the same exercise had been carried out by the No side then it would have been splashed across all the news channels and newspapers. Only mention I’ve heard of it in the MSM so far was by John Beattie yesterday on Radio Scotland when he mentioned “Blue Book”.

140. BB

Managed to get some precious WBB out to some canvassers as well as a good variety of Wings related material – leaflets, badges, etc. 🙂

Don’t know about anyone else but I’m getting very skint now, war chest for campaign long since plundered. LOL

141. Betty Boop

Hi folks,

Just about to get myself out on the road again for more canvassing and finding those UDs, WBBs packed in the sack.

Although I reckon I have managed to turn quite a few voters to yes, I had a lovely experience a couple of nights back when I had just finished canvassing a particularly challenging street. Car stopped, reversed and the lady driver said “I was sure it was you, the wee Yes lady” and then gave me the thumbs up.

In the words of Jola, I was astonished! Spoke to her at length in front garden over 5 months ago; a fascinating/frustrating conversation which I thoroughly enjoyed nonetheless. She was a definite NO! I persisted with the conversation because she was obviously a very capable woman, but, she hadn’t really investigated the proposal. On parting, I gave her a list of weblinks I recommend and asked her if she would look at them. She said she would.

She said that she wouldn’t say I had turned her, but, had got her thinking. She was already there, totally fed up with the scare stories, etc., but, the last debate between AS and AD cemented it. She said that there has been a big change in attitude amongst people she knows.

I thanked her for stopping to let me know her change of heart and it certainly cheered me up.

The power of conversation – if only we could speak to everyone…

142. Chic McGregor

@Cearc
    “Chic,

You took it down and I hadn’t watched it!”

It was just a spoof using the iconic Meg Ryan restaurant scene where (presumably after having just swallowed a particularly nice piece of cheesecake) she expresses her approval by exclaiming Yes! Yes! Yes!… 2 min later… YES!.

Except the lady at the end of the clip who says “I’ll have what she’s having.” was redubbed into “I’ll vote what she’s voting”.

Never mind eh?

BTW my effort this morning seems to be popular:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2c6739a2y1hw9y9/NothingButTheRuth.jpg?dl=0

143. Doug D

Got my hands on my first actual wee blue book yesterday. I was like a kid with a new toy, it’s brilliant, and so wee! It’s now been passed on to a wavering Yes.

Just wanted to say thanks to the distribution team.

144. cearc

Chic,

They are so inept that we don’t even need to be creative to mock them.

Not that I am suggesting that you are not, you’ve done such great stuff.

145. Smithie

Wiz wondering,if onybody wi a wee van wiz just happening to be passing the big hoose in Lundinium, could they please bring oor stane back hame. I’m sure Oor Madge disnae need it onymair.
    Would mak a braw doorstop in Edinboro Castle.

146. BB

@Jim Thomson

Just letting you and the rest know that the paperwork for SA was handed in to reception at their offices. Did it in person to make sure! No “it’s in the mail, I promise” nonsense. 😉 I’ll see you on Thursday for the postal opening then, Jim!

Ian Brotherhood, I’ll see you at the ballot count. 🙂

147. Paula Rose

That’s me in from a day at the Yes shop – can’t be bothered cooking, shall I have a nice meaty Italian, Chinese or Indian?

148. BB

P.S.

Obv Ian I don’t mean you aren’t in for the postal openings any more, you still are, just that you’ll be on different days from me! Sorry if that caused confusion.

149. X_Sticks

With your class Paula it has to be Italian!

150. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi kininvie.

You and the team are due a large bag of Kudos (iScotland’s currency?) for the work you put in, and also all the local distributors who continued the work.

My box is being spread round Ninewells Hospital (nearly 6,000 employees). I’m asking people, “So, do you know anyone who hasn’t decided how to vote in the referendum?”

This usually results in a 5 minutes+ conversation and a couple of WBB’s left for passing on. Funny thing is, most seem to be voting YES – I’ve only met 2 hard NO’s; one a Labour ex-councillor and one a former member of the SNP.
    Strange, iye?

Hi Bob Sinclair.
    Sorry to read you won’t make our last ‘Wingding’ before the referendum. Never mind – there’s bound to be a mega Wingding in Glasgow or Edinburgh for you to get to after the 19th.

INVERGOWRIE UPDATE.

Have talked to Bob Costello who owns the ‘Scotland’s Dragon’ double-decker, the Business For Scotland coach and the ‘mini Dragon’.

He’s going to run the mini Dragon from Dundee city centre as follows:

From the bus/coach park at the Sensation Science Centre at Greenmarket (around 3-4 minutes walk from the rail station) to the Invergowrie Inn at 6.30pm and then at 7.15pm.

The return journey(s) will be arranged on the night, according to demand.

Trains and buses come into Dundee from Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Glasgow and Inverness all day. As Pete the camera pointed out in a previous post, it’s ‘Doors Open Day’ in Dundee that weekend, so you can spend a few hours discovering Dundee before you head for Invergowrie.

http://www.doorsopendays.org.uk/opendays/area_programmes.aspx?resPP=All&areaID=10

You should check at the Traveline Scotland web site for details of connections and so on…

http://www.travelinescotland.com

The last trains into Invergowrie and Dundee that I got from the Traveline Scotland web site are as follows:-

From Glasgow,
    To Invergowrie Rail Station
    Departs at 13/09/2014 17:03
    Arrives at 13/09/2014 18:44
    Duration 1 hours 41 mins

From Aberdeen,
    Departs at 13/09/2014 15:33
    Arrives at 13/09/2014 16:52
    Duration 1 hours 19 mins

From Aberdeen,
    Departs at 13/09/2014 16:37
    Arrives at 13/09/2014 18:44
    Duration 2 hours 7 mins
    (That one goes ‘the pretty way’! See Traveline Scotland for further info.)

From Edinburgh,
    Departs at 13/09/2014 15:35
    Arrives at 13/09/2014 17:38
    Duration 2 hours 3 mins
    (That one goes ‘the pretty way’ as well. See Traveline blah blah blah.)

Last trains home as follows:

From Invergowrie Rail Station
    To Edinburgh,
    Departs at 13/09/2014 22:00
    Arrives at 13/09/2014 23:49
    Duration 1 hours 49 mins

From Invergowrie Rail Station
    To Aberdeen,
    Departs at 13/09/2014 22:00
    Arrives at 13/09/2014 23:22
    Duration 1 hours 22 mins

Unfortunately, the last train to Glasgow is as follows:-
    From Dundee, Dundee To Glasgow,
    Departs at 13/09/2014 21:54
    Arrives at 13/09/2014 23:19
    Duration1 hours 25 mins
    which is a tad early. See the bus times below…

Now, last buses from Dundee…

From Dundee Bus Station,
    To Glasgow,
    Departs at 13/09/2014 22:40
    Arrives at 14/09/2014 00:15
    Duration 1 hours 35 mins

From Dundee Bus Station,
    To Aberdeen Bus Station,
    Departs at 14/09/2014 00:55
    Arrives at 14/09/2014 02:10
    Duration 1 hours 15 mins

From Dundee Bus Station,
    To Edinburgh Bus Station,
    Departs at 13/09/2014 23:05
    Arrives at 14/09/2014 02:59
    Duration 3 hours 54 mins
    (Another ‘pretty way!)

Sorry about Inverness. There’s no way home until Sunday, at the earliest.

Lastly tonight…
    As I typed previously, we are producing PERSONALISED badges for ‘Wings Over Invergowrie’. But, in order to do the needful, we need names for everyone who is intending to come along.
    So, if you’re coming to Invergowrie, stick in a post here to let us know. Otherwise, on the night, you’ll have to scribble your own name on your badge.

I’ll be keeping my usual eye on this thread over the next few days but not, necessarily, posting – got stuff to do!

151. cearc

I am about to book the nearby hotel for fri/sat B&B. It is only £14 more to make that for two people.

So if you are either female or someone I have met before and need a bed for the night let me know tonight.

The £14.00 is for one or both nights as that is the extra I would have to pay. (The pool looks nice so bring a cossie)

152. X_Sticks

@Brian Doonthetoon et al

I really won’t know whether I’ll make it or not until I get there.

Long hard weekend with the trailer in Aberdeen Sat/Sun. Can’t leave it in the city centre so will have to set up and pack both days.

Then again it is just doon the road, so if I possibly can make it I will.

153. Quentin Quale

BBC seem to have missed a trick – Mexican Bolsa down .95% & Brazil Ibovespa down .87% and they aren’t placing the blame on us.

154. Jim Thomson

Can someone please get Ronnie A to check his e-mail? I don’t have a number for him.

I’ve tried a couple of times to get him to respond to a lad in Airdrie who’s keen to help.

ta much

155. Jim Thomson

@QQ and that damn Brent crude just keeps getting cheaper and cheaper. THAT has nothing to do with the currency thing either.

There’s obviously just far too much of it 😉

156. Ian Brotherhood

@BB –

When will we know what ‘shifts’ we’re on? No hassle mister, but I’m running out of Brownie points (and have exhausted all means of bolstering those remaining…)

157. BB

@Ian Brotherhood

I’ve emailed you before on the shifts some time ago? You been checking your inbox in between your endless slog on the campaign front? 🙂

158. BB

I replied to the first email you sent and sent a further email with an update to your “Ian” one. Def sent a while ago as can see them in the gmail sent box! Not my old memory failing this time. 😛

159. BB

If you can’t find it just let me know and I can resend/copy&paste to the address of your choice! 🙂

160. BB

Yup. Just checked again. It was 8 days ago I sent the shifts to you! Also lot of info on what happens where, when, etc.

Might have gone into your spam folder?

161. Ian Brotherhood

@BB –

Sorry for tardy response here…

Haven’t even checked back yet, but just a heads-up that I’m aware of your alert and am checking…

162. Thepnr

Hello Ian

Gies a tune I might like, I’m knackered!

163. Ian Brotherhood

@BB –

It’s not in Spam, but I’ve maybe filed it wrongly.

Please re-send to ian@stevenston4.fsnet.co.uk

Sorry for any hassle.

164. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Don’t know if this’ll fit the bill, but it did it for me anyroad.

The Stranglers, ‘No More Heroes’ (Live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VSL12JeXCSs

165. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Here is a wee Whisky Kiss for You. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=U6UabZV94is Vote Yes.

166. Michael McCabe

I Kind of like this wee song just now. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=hnDWzg65IzU Vote Yes.

167. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

You should see the smile on my face, loved that song and the time.

Michael I’ll watch yours next, after this off to bed.

Thank you. Great to have friends who are going through the same turmoil as I am. Not hard work physically but mentally well that’s something else.

168. Oneironaut

@BB and Ian Brotherhood
    Gmail seems to have developed a disturbing habit of losing people’s E-mails.
    I’ve been getting that for at least a year or two now, and it seems to be getting worse.

Been meaning to create a new E-mail account within the deep dark depths of the Tor Network where no mail tampering gremlins can reach, but it’s so unreliable right now that I’m hesitant to try…

Anyways, just warning everyone that missing E-mail messages seem to be far more of a common occurrence than you’d expect.

169. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

That looks a lot different from when I remember it LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-gfIgA-PYyQ

170. BB

@Oneironaut

Thanks for letting me know that. I had no idea that was even possible! :S

This is what I see in the sent box there. It’s telling me my reply to the first email was sent okay: http://postimg.org/image/bsvzgnlnx/

@Ian Brotherhood

Same email now resent to your “Ian” address too!

171. Oneironaut

Ever since web designers started relying too much on fancy code to keep the marketers happy, the internet has been falling apart…
    Gmail (and Google in general) is one of the biggest users of such unnecessary bug-ridden fluff.

It might have been sent from your computer ok, but it may not have arrived in the other account.
    Difficult to tell when that happens, and I’ve lost friends before when they thought I’d suddenly started ignoring all their messages for no apparent reason…

It’s enough to make me wish for a return to old reliable “snail mail” again…

172. BB

Yeah, I do think the quality and reliablity of the interface has really gone downhill for most webmail too. Gmail responds very badly to slow connections since they dumped the old HTML based system and added chat, Google+, etc. to it.

Same thing happened with their rivals, sadly.

Do you know any decent ones these days?

173. BB

BTW Ian, sent you the other email that went missing too. ANY problems, just let me know. I can still contact the Counting Officer or their office by email. There’s still a reserve space too for you-know-who if it’s wanted. No problem for me to start asking about it if you give the nod.

174. Ian Brotherhood

@BB –

Me better half is already scunnered with the whole thing, so I don’t think I’ll even ask her!

175. Oneironaut

@BB
    You can still get the old HTML interface. Though you have to be quick.
    There’s a link to it, marked “(For slower connections)” while the new interface loading bar is on the screen.
    If you click that before it disappears, you can go back in time to when Gmail actually worked properly! 🙂
    I think there’s also an option to use the old interface as the default one all the time too.

I’m looking around for a better option. Though being the paranoid person that I am, I’m looking at anonymous mail servers in the Tor Network just now.
    They have to keep things simple with those services, since the bandwidth is severely reduced on there. (Though that might also make it less reliable under certain conditions).

I’ll see what I can find anyway 🙂

176. Quentin Quale

Any Yes groups in Coupar Angus, Blairgowrie, Dunkeld or Pitlochry areas looking for extra copies of the WBB? There’s more of a need for them out in the community than in my house! I’ll deliver.

177. Paula Rose

Darlings help – my half brother Paul doesn’t know how to cook anything other than cereal – what do I do?

178. Paula Rose

Oh btw a huge monster of a 4×4 paraded through Brechin today – we all leapt out of the way, no need to worry though it was our lovely Tartan Tory in town to share his love!

179. BB

@Ian

LOL! Don’t blame her. You’ve got to keep the peace on the home front too. 😉

@Oneironaut

Cheers for the info! If you get wind of something, let me know!

180. Paula Rose

Honeys – did you listen to our young people from East Renfrewshire on Channel 4? Fabulous.

181. Jim Thomson

@Paula Rose 7:06pm

Doesn’t his butler have the skills? Deary me what is the world of domestic servitude coming to [shakes head slowly whilst “tutting”]

182. Jim Thomson

@BB when you attended the training session for agenthood, how easy was it to get parked? Or, was that at the Citadel?

just looked at County Buildings on StreetView and there seems to be fairly limited parking at the building.

183. Paula Rose

Now – honeys, lovely meeting in inverwotsit, so how does this work? I will need a light repast and a lift – details please, I’m only coming for a personalised badge and/or Tartan Tory revving up his exquisite machine.

184. Paula Rose

Oh you are so dear to me you lovely boys – but lets get serious, I need a lift to inverwotsit any offers?

185. BB

@Jim

It was easy for me getting in as the training session was after work hours, so I wouldn’t take my experience that day as a given! I did go there during mid day when I handed in the forms and there were surprisingly parking spots outside it and so would be easy for anyone to get in. There’s limted parking around the courthouse gardens, the roads off towards the beach and few spots nearby.

I think they like to keep plenty spaces around there so the armoured wagons can get folk to the court.

It’s possible though that with the extra staff in for the count and two people for every permitted participant it could be jam packed. I’m getting dropped off to solve that one and picked up later.

There’s a nearby carpark and a street’s length of parking in front of the carpark that at this time of year is usually pretty empty.

186. BB

If I can get Google Maps to work I could put a link to the streets I mean. Bloody technology…

187. BB

If you look at Mews Lane on google maps that should (IIRC) have loads of nearby parking spots open and a walled carpark off it, if the courhouse spots are full. Give it a try if your internet connection is better than mine (any damp string should be).

188. BB

Wait! It’s Charlotte Street you’re after, Jim. My mistake.

189. BB

Stream of consciousness posting. Just as well this is off-topic.

190. Tartan Tory

@ Paula. It’s not a monster 4×4. You only leapt out of the way because you were soliciting on a street corner and even I can’t afford your rates to share any love!! Besides, that was my wife whose window you were chatting through as she sat there wondering about your stockings and high heels……;-)

My name’s down for Inverwotsit, but I didn’t put it there and I’m not so sure due to too many commitments I’m afraid. My exquisite machine is most unlikely to be revving round the circles on the Kingsway…. 🙁

I’m currently full of the cold, have conjunctivitis and I’m getting about 4h sleep per night. Here below is an example of (one of) the reasons for this. I’ve spent much time on a particular forum trying to convince other Tartan Tories about independence. I received this earlier this evening:

I’m one of a large majority who has switched from the No camp to Yes in the last few weeks and reading your responses to the constant bombardment of abuse is one of the main reasons for that. You’ve answered the questions with as much accuracy as we have at this time with some humour that has obviously been lost on some. Keep up the good work, fingers crossed it will be well rewarded.

This is from someone I don’t know, but who has been reading my responses to the bombardment from No’s since the beginning of this year. I have a number of similar messages too. 🙂

191. BB

@TT

Top man. 🙂 Hope your brace of diseases deserts you soon! Not right that they gang up on you like that.

192. gerry parker

@ Jim Thomson.

Get the lad in Airdrie to contact me directly.

gerry[dot]parker[at]gmail[dot]com

I should be able to help, but he needs to contact me ASAP.

I need Name, Address Postcode.
    phone number and e mail address.

TIA

193. CameronB Brodie

@ No Better Together Thanks

Marv Johnson – Come on and stop.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wm4tEj7C_wk

194. CameronB Brodie

Welcome to the digital age. 😉

Stylophone+DS-10 – The Girl From Ipanema
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Plt0IoqXrMc

195. CameronB Brodie

Do you think it ethical to target Scotland’s elderly, with scare stories that they would loose what little they have if they vote Yes? Neither do I don’t think folk will forget you comparing the indyref to a war, and attempting to dehumanise myself and my others by calling us a virus.

Rymdreglage – Old Style [Dubstep]
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XDN2I78tlg

196. CameronB Brodie

Sorry, that should have read.

Do you think it ethical to target Scotland’s elderly, with scare stories that they would loose what little they have if they vote Yes? I don’t think so and I don’t think folk will forget the indyref being compared to a war, nor the efforts made to dehumanise myself and many others by calling us a virus and cybernats. These are the techniques of totalitarian regimes, not modern and inclusive democracies.

197. Paula Rose

Really! Tartan Tory – you know full well I was on the street corner outside the Yes shop inviting people to come in and have a look at my wee blue book and nothing else!

198. Leo Foyle

If anyone is interested, I would like to offer – free –
    3 x 100 Scottish Passport Postcards, A6, 250g/m²
    that I have left over from my trip to Glasgow this weekend.

I had been itching to pop over to Scotland for ages, since just sitting in Belfast bunging money to Stu and reading WoS wasn’t soothing the raging passion in my heart: I had to see for myself, hear for myself, feel for myself, the vibe that you heroes were describing.

On top of that, the Pro12 season was about to start and I wanted to check out the big threats, Glasgow Warriors and Leinster, seeing as my team, Ulster, were playing in really remote Llanelli.

However, not wanting to be just a YES tourist and because “sentiment without action is the ruin of the soul” (remember that one?), I couldn’t mooch round Glasgow empty-handed. I quickly designed and printed several hundred postcards to pop through the letterboxes of the rather nice houses around Scotstoun Stadium, roaming from Jordanhill & Victoria Park down to the Dumbarton Road before my hip gave out.

Mercifully, I had a pit-stop in Murrin’s Coffee House and saw my first professionally-printed WBB, but my street-walking days are over for this month. However, I still have 300 postcards in bundles of 100 each which I can send to anyone who feels they can put them to good use.

Rather than try to rewrite the WBB or any of the many other excellent pieces of persuasion doing the rounds, I thought I’d offer a gentle nudge, something tangible with a subtle psychological appeal, so I imagined a full-size mock-up of a Scottish passport with the aspirational message “For People Who Are Going Places”.

Have a look for yourselves: Passport Card Front and Passport Card Rear. If you compare the design with those of other EU member states, you’ll see that I was leaning away from the ‘scrambled egg’ appearance of the British passport and towards the elegance of the Baltic states.

Anyhow, I propose posting a large letter containing 100 postcards to your local YES shop, with your name as an addressee, so that someone should be around to receive the post on Friday (100 postcards weigh under 500g and will fit into the cardboard envelopes my inkjet cartridges come in). I could pop one bundle each to the first three names who post back here saying “Pff, go on then.”

I won’t be too upset if you haven’t the time or inclination for these cards; from what I experienced this past weekend, YES is so far ahead that my little effort won’t be required. Besides, with those postcards, some scissors, a pot of glue and a can of paint, I can build that space rocket for wee Bruce.

199. Ian Brotherhood

@Leo Foyle –

‘Pff, go on then!’

Wow. They look brilliant. I’ll have some of them mister, and more if they’re going spare (so to speak).

Please mark them for my attention, at the Yes shop, 183 High Street, Irvine, Ayrshire. I’m sure they’ll go down a treat.

More power to ye!

200. Quinie frae Angus

Quinie frae Angus would LOVE a personalised Wings over Invergowrie badge!!

Really looking forward to seeing all the Wingers there who are able to make it….

I have had so much great feedback about the WBB. So fantastic to be able to pull one out of my bag each time I get a conversation going. I’ve given them out to many bus drivers and taxi drivers in Glasgow – too many to count but one taxi driver actually came back to my door to ask for more! (A former NO, of course…..)

201. cearc

Leo Foyle,

That is brilliant.

202. Cactus

Nice one Leo Foyle, I want one of them, burgundy front & back.

Howde Brian Doonthetoon ~ Kindly add myself and one guest for tomorrow evenings soireé chez Invergowrie.

Chairs,
    Cactus & Dixie

203. Jim Thomson

@Gerry Parker 11 Sep 12:41am

Done! 🙂

204. aye we can

Been reading for a while, any time I’ve been in here there’s been some songs posted. We all love a bit of music don’t we?

Well I’ve been writing a few independence tunes recently, got some of them recorded and put online. There’s 4 of them, just me and an acoustic guitar. They are a bit rough with a few mistakes, time was against me but I’m sure you’ll get the idea.

Soundcloud.com/aye-we-can

See what u think. You can download them if you want. Will try and put up the lyrics tomorrow. Cheers.

Love everybodys contributions btw.

205. Paula Rose

Um honeybunches – no offers of lifts or big expanses of night-time soloness, am I destined to spend tomorrow evening being jostled by Brechin Farmers as I try to lead them to the promised land?

206. cearc

Paula Rose,

Is there not a bus?

207. Paula Rose

There is a bus honey – but I will have to travel all day, where is my darling Thepnr?

208. Paula Rose

As per usual my pussy needs a stroke – be back in an hour.

209. cearc

Paula Rose,

If you can get down you can share my hotel room for the night. There is no extra charge for me having another person in the room.

210. Paula Rose

You will have to sleep on the floor honey – is that OK with you?

211. Cactus

Hi cearc, the guy sleeping on the floor is normal practice when sharing with Miss Paula, happened to me too before (or so I’m told).

You’ll find the sleep-talking quite entertaining.. be prepared!

212. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I thought you’d have been in Glasgow tonight to catch that naughty Farage chap and administer some of your infamous ‘correction’ – that’d wipe the smile off his fizog.

213. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Careful there mister.

Paula Rose has been known to persuade grown men to sleep UNDER her bed wearing nothing but a grin.

214. Paula Rose

My pussy has just taken a break from a stroke – Ian honey, I’ve got a lot of ‘correction’ to mete out in Edinburgh tomorrow. Oops she’s back.

215. Paula Rose

Honeys for you – the most beautiful woman ever…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AHe07HT5NQA

216. Leo Foyle

@ Ian Brotherhood, 22:27 yesterday (oops!)

Sorry for the extreme delay – I’ve been out in Belfast stockpiling champagne and tap shoes…

I’m glad you appreciated the design, and since a): You’re Ian Brotherhood, b): no-one else replied; I’ve posted all three packages to you at the YES shop in Irvine. Have a look at this blog post for some pictures of what you or your comrades should expect. With a bit of luck, they’ll reach you tomorrow lunchtime, right in the middle of the busiest Saturday of your life.

For those of you who also appreciated the card, you might like an alternative A3 poster of the passport (PDF, 4.7MB) or perhaps you could play around with this image showing just the front of the passport (JPG, 1.4MB).

There’s nothing more I can do from this island except wish everybody good luck in the week ahead, and to admit that I’m almost jealous I’m not a Scot.

217. Paula Rose

@ Leo Foyle – you have secured your place in the pantheon of Scots xxx

218. cearc

Cactus, Ian,

I’m not a guy! Cearc = hen, I met you both at CH1.

Paula,

There’s a small sofa or half a large bed. You can also have free breakfast courtesy of me just complaining about the room service

219. Cactus

Hehe, thanks for the reminder miss cearc hen, us guys eh? Still, two girls sharing a room.. sounds like a party!

X

220. cearc

Cactus,

Well I guess I’m not very memorable. Glad Quinie’s coming, I remember her as well.

I hope Paula does come, I haven’t met her only her fame.

221. Paula Rose

Cearc honey – I’m coming!!!

222. Ian Brotherhood

@Leo Foyle –

You’re a star mister.

Those cards will be in huge demand, and I’ll be careful about who gets them – only the carefree, smiling and sparkly-eyed will be in with a shout.

SSP street-stall in Ayr tomorrow, near the Wallace Tower. I’ll drop by Irvine on the way, hope to pick up your present to Scotland, and also have two fresh boxes of WBBs (big cheers to Stuart @ Mrs in Kilmarnock) to go along with them – a collector’s package or what?

More power to you and yours, and cheers aplenty.

Hoots!

223. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Sorry about that. I don’t remember very much about anything – especially CH1.

224. Paula Rose

Ian dear – I bet you remember CH2 in great detail xx

225. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

If that’s the one which led to my waking up underneath someone’s bed wearing nothing but a grin, no, I’ve no idea what you’re on about.

226. Paula Rose

No dear – that was Jolly’s in the Ferry.

227. cearc

Paula great, when are you getting down?

I’m at the Doubletrees, just off the last roundabout in Dundee. We can also get a free drinky here courtesy of said complaint.

Also nice looking pool bring a cossie.

I booked to eat at the Invergowrie at 6.45ish

228. Paula Rose

Cearc honey – email me at paulambrosewright then the atty thing then gmail. (its my employer’s account – he won’t mind.

229. S.McLaughlin

Scunnered wae the media this week thought i would try photoshop for a few hours ,this is what i came up wae.

tinypic.com/view.php?pic=34zyis9&s=8

230. cearc

paula,

sent one.

231. Paula Rose

Ooh look – me without my high heels!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=At8as-jujIs

232. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Have you found your cossie yet?

233. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Apologies for tardiness in the update sequence but I’ve been busy finalising the badge design for tomorrow, printing off badges for ‘Dundee’s Dragon’ (Team YES Bus), and getting the videos together for tomorrow night.

Have updated the list of those who have intimated that their attendance is more or less definite.

chipmonkey
    Thepnr
    ronnie anderson
    Betty Boop
    Jim Thomson
    Quinie frae Angus
    cearc
    Paula Rose
    Pete the Camera
    Brian Doonthetoon
    X_Sticks
    Cactus
    Dixie

Now, if you (and your partner/guest) are gonna be at Invergowrie, get your name posted in here pronto, ie before 1pm Saturday, to guarantee a PRINTED personalised ‘Wings Over Invergowrie’ badge, otherwise if you just appear, you’ll have to write your own name on your badge.

Remember, the ‘mini dragon’ will be running from the coach park at the Sensation Science Centre in downtown Dundee to Invergowrie at 6.30pm then 7.15 pm.

The return journey(s) will be played by ear on the night. Last orders at 12.15, bar closed at 12.30.

BTW: a pa and mic will be available but we couldn’t source a tuba stand.

234. Paula Rose

What! Where’s Tartan Tory – he promised me a ride!

235. Paula Rose

Ian dear I prefer to swim au naturel.

236. cearc

TT, said he wasn’t coming yesterday.

i assumed that was gmail.com? cos that’s where i sent it.

237. cearc

Errm, not sure that the hotel would appreciate au naturel.

238. cearc

paula,

Got your message offer still open for sofa.

239. Ian Brotherhood

@Brian Doonthetoon –

I was hoping to make a surprise appearance, but it turns out you won’t have a tuba-stand?

Fuck that. Count me out. With prejudice.

240. crazycat

@BB from a couple of days ago:

I may have misunderstood your comments about parking, but isn’t the count at the Citadel, not in Wellington Square (that’s only the postal stuff), so parking for the 18th will be different? (I’m going to the Kilmarnock count, but I also did jury service at Ayr Sheriff Court recently and you are right about the lack of parking spaces round there during the day – I parked behind what used to be MFI and walked.)

241. Thepnr

Anyone coming to Invergowrie tomorrow, I have spare rooms, only £30/night B&B LOL. You know I’m kidding 🙂

242. chipmonkey

@Brian Doonthetoon
    Please don’t forget Quentin Quale. You wouldn’t want me having to drive myself 🙂

243. BB

@crazycat

You’re right tha the ballot count will be at there, but the postal openings start off first few days at a different building and then move to it too for last couple of days of it. They like to keep us on our toes by moving it around. 😉

244. Quinie frae Angus

@ Briandoonthetoon

I am bringing my wee sister along tonight, so if there is still time could you do a badge for “Wee Quinie frae Angus”, or just “Wee Quinie” if there isn’t room on the badge?

Thank you!

245. Jim Thomson

Busy day ahead. Betty is doing her blue arsed fly impression between Troon and Prestwick (Wee Eck’s making an appearance) and a “Fun Day” at the Yes Stall until mid afternoon apparently.

We’ll need to be away from here by 4pm latest to make ‘gowrie via Tayport.

@BrianDoonthetoon if you could also make a badge for our son, also attending for the evening, that would be much appreciated. I’ll suggest “Betty’s Boy” for the name. Probably get a slap off him, but hey, if you can’t have fun at your kids’ expense what’s the point? 😛

I suspect we’ll also have a wee pile of WBBs still available that we’ll bring up with us for a bit of redistribution if that helps anyone.

246. Brian Doonthetoon

Have updated the list of those who have intimated that their attendance is more or less definite.

chipmonkey
    Quentin Quayle
    Thepnr
    ronnie anderson
    Betty Boop
    Jim Thomson
    Betty’s Boy
    Quinie frae Angus
    Wee Quinie
    cearc
    Paula Rose
    Pete the Camera
    Brian Doonthetoon
    X_Sticks
    Cactus
    Dixie
    Hanii Puppy (my son)
    I think Tartan Tory’s a ‘maybe but doubtful’.
    We’ll do a badge onnyhoo.

I may do one more update this afternoon but as I’m affie busy today, it may just be a case of “SEE YOU TONIGHT!”

247. Cactus

Hi Brian DTT, my pal Dixie canny make it tonight so I’ll be flying (driving) solo. See y’all at the party the nicht!

Also, YES is everywhere is sunny Glasgow today, from cars to bars.. bikes to trikes.

Scotland’s come alive!

248. Bob Sinclair

Today has been an emotional day for me, and it has also been a day full of symbolism.

Today, after 18 years and 10 months my daughter took the largest step of her life and set off on the road to her independent life.

It is not going to be easy, there will be worries, fears and probably a little self doubt as to whether she is doing the right thing. One thing is certain though, she has set off on a huge adventure and the world is full of new challenges for her. Some of these challenges she will take head on & deal with, some she will need help with and yes, some will be unsurmountable.

For the first time in her young life the world is hers to take on and shape to suit her needs. I am confident that she has the tools and skills to do this whilst considering the needs of others. I am immensely proud of her.

As we dropped her off at her university of choice I looked up to the Wallace Monument and at that time there must have been a sudden gust of wind blowing dust into my eyes, because they involuntarily started to get all watery.

Who wouldn’t want this opportunity for their daughter, and who wouldn’t want this opportunity for their country.

Laura, take the opportunity of a lifetime, give it your best and remember, we love you and will always be here to help you make the right decisions, but those decisions are yours and yours alone.

249. Nana Smith

@Bob Sinclair

That’s a beautiful post Bob. Its’ not easy being a parent. I wish your daughter well.

250. Conan_the_Librarian

Hi folks.

Went to work this morning; Cockburn St.

Crossing an Orange Walk, in my ain toon, wearing a YES badge…

Lots of abuse.

Some of it in an Norn Iron accent.

Most of it Weegie though.

Fuck them, and the white horse they rode in on.

251. Oneironaut

Was almost like a street party in Ayr today 🙂

Even the local BT mob tried to poke their nose in, but it looks like “too little, too late” for them.

A whole box-load of Wee Blue Books found new homes today, and the atmosphere there brought me back to thinking we might actually win this.

When I was younger and reading about historical moments that had a huge impact on society as we know it, I never expected to find myself only days away from the epicentre of one like this.
    It’s days like this when it really hits home what we’re doing here…

Whether we crash and burn, or succeed and soar high and far… Be proud of yourselves folks! 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-AL8yR11FyQ

252. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Well said that man. It’s been a wild and wacky adventure! All we need is the happy ending…

253. BB

I was in Ayr today too! It was AMAZING! It was like a Yes festival! Singing, dancing in the street, etc. Singing along with the crowd there. Nothing else like it in sight or memory.

I got to see what happened to the BT crowd and I was howling with laughter in the end.

They had set up at the top end road entrance to the high street.

[They very dishonestly set up with a “Help For Heroes” charity flags and banners. These charities should be non-political as police, fire, military, etc. folk all have their own individual votes and wishes and are not all No. BT is also not a charity so shouldn’t be sharing a space like that under their cloak.]

So the BT mob (many of them I recognise as paid staff) did their usual doom and gloom ranting saying that seperation was the end of the world…when brilliantly a street preacher set up RIGHT NEXT TO THEM with a microphone, soapbox and speaker set up and started his own DOOM AND GLOOM end of the world and ranting about seperation of the kingdom of god and earth, etc. almost as an echo of BT. The preacher drowned out BT and ended up making BT look ridiculous as they both seemed so much like two peas in a pod with their fearmongering and warnings. BT eventually all gave up and walked down the street looking miserable at the huge crowd of YES supporters down the street still gathered there.

Noteably there was many folk proudly wearing their Yes badges and not quite as many wearing No stickers, slapped onto people without asking in many cases as I talked to someone complaining about their kids getting it and another was a very mentally disabled person being stickered up and leaflets shoved in their hands, despite them not really wanting it and the carer/family member not wanting it. I think there’s a big difference in support between people wearing badges on a (semi)permanent basis and people getting a sticker slapped onto them for a few hours.

254. BB

Don’t know if any of you folk will recognise yourselves but caught tail end of the festival 😉 in Ayr:

http://postimg.org/image/a45qgz7wv/

Magic.

255. Ian Brotherhood

@BB –

Your account of what happened today in Ayr is spot-on. I didn’t venture up that far but my wife did, and had already told me 95% of what you wrote above, so you must’ve both been seeing it almost simultaneously. It does sound as farcical as it is hilarious, and is no more than those clowns deserve.

As an elderly Ayr couple pointed out to me – the Yes Scotland folk have been at that same patch (Wallace Tower) every week or other week, come rain, shine or bollock-dropping cold, for the past eighteen months (maybe more) and oor very ain Doonfooter has become part of the street furniture on Ayr’s Main Street. The venerable Gaavster, also of this parish, was there today too. No doubt there were WOS folk I didn’t get to meet.

Bottom line – BTUKOKVNOBNOTHANKS think they can turn up for ONE DAY and make any real difference to how ordinary punters perceive their wretched campaign?

No chance. They’re a busted flush, and everyone knows it.

Total respect for the regular Yessers – it’s been a real privilege to campaign alongside ye’s all, and here’s hoping we get more opportunities to work together as and when the welcome, long-overdue task of building a new country gets underway.

256. Bob Sinclair

Ian,
    Thanks. Thats all.

257. Ian Brotherhood

@Bob Sinclair –

Mister, I was in tears after reading your 5.58 comment.

My weans are 15 and 13. There’s scarcely a day passes when I don’t imagine what you’re going through right now and dread it more than anything I can imagine.

There can be very few families in this country who don’t have loved ones in Australia, New Zealand, Canada etc etc. They didn’t go to these places for a laugh. They went for work. They went to improve the chances for their ‘Lauras’ and ‘Aidans’ and ‘Joys’ and ‘Craigs’.

But we know that they didn’t have to. Those bastards at Westminster KNEW about the resources we have right here, and chose not to tell us. They feathered their own nests, saw their own families alright, and left us to watch fathers, sons, daughters, cousins, friends and neighbours succumb to despair and self-harm, addiction and suicide, and for what? So that it might enhance their party-political/personal ambitions?

They are criminals, and what they’ve done to the people of Scotland is unforgivable. Families are not meant to be split apart, unless by irreconcilable differences – point is, hundreds of thousands of our families were split apart, and there was no need for it. Nothing wrong with going overseas. Nothing at all. But we should have been given the choice.

Now, when we have a choice, they’re pulling out all the stops to prevent it?

Not this time my friend. Not this time. We will win, and start about the business of looking after one another properly.

258. BB

It was priceless, Ian! It’s like watching the icing being piped onto the cake. Glad that plenty folk got to see it, adds to their humiliation. 😀 Wee dregs of them slithered off. A handful compared to the two sides of a street full gathered at the tower for Yes.

The dedication, hope and support from the Yes side is amazing. Not seeing same from other side. People – actual ordinary people – emptying their pockets or giving their time in support. Not Tory millionaires funding it or paid for staff bussed in doing the legwork. It’s hard not to feel a lump in the throat at it. As you say Ian, the people like that elderly couple notice it too. The constant friendly and helpful Yes there regularly compared to bussing up people and gone with the wind BTNOBS.

The BT crowd were angry and desperate today and it shows. They’re doing too little, too late. Def a busted flush!

AND ON THAT NOTE:

New ICM “gold standard” poll :

Yes 54% (+9)
    No 46% (-9)

GET IN THERE!!!

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk/2014/09/yes-open-up-eight-point-lead-in.html

James will no doubt have more info as it comes in.

259. BB

When I think of the poverty forced onto Scotland – man made poverty at that – and the family, friends, etc. that I know have suffered on the west coast as the decline continued over many years it makes me sad and angry, but the chance to rectifiy that and bring a new boom and and new future for us under our own control…that really is like a pair of wings on me.

260. Bob Sinclair

Ian,
    For all our kids, there’s no bigger priority, and in 5 days time we can start to settle the account.

261. BB

@Ian 9:36PM

That rings so true for me too. Know what you mean. I’ve seen and heard people suffer from depression, alcoholism and self harm as suicide as jobs go and Scotland was stripped bare. Generations forced into the “Born To Fail” scenario. I’ve so much family lost abroad over generations too, which are missed and which also miss the “old country” in turn but knew they had to stay abroad just for opportunities. Almost the same thing happened with my father but a sheer fluke kept him here or else I’d have been raised in Canada, another Scot deprived of Scotland for purely economic reasons.

I can only applaud and cheer you on with your comment, Ian! Sock it to the buggers!!

We’re doing it for Laura and all the other weans, for the adults, for the elderly and for the Scots abroad dreaming of coming back home. We’ll do this for those who come after we’re long gone to dust who’ll stop as they read the history books and wonder why we didn’t do it sooner!!

262. Ian Brotherhood

Public Enemy, ‘Fight The Power’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PaoLy7PHwk

263. BB

Not a bad theme tune choice for today! 😉

The last episode of Mock the Week was good too, if anyone hasn’t seen it (still on iPlayer). First half mostly about Scottish independence. The host Dara said how remarkable it was here, how peaceful it was and how great it would have been for the Irish to get independence so cleanly and without people dying. No Scots on it but everyone praised us and they tore into how bad the BT side was and how it acted like an abusive partner! Amazing considering these aren’t folk with votes or voicing support for us, etc.

264. BB

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100007615517993

Amazing story. Lass needing lung transplants climbs rocks of Edinburgh castle at night with oxygen tanks on her back and puts up giant YES sign in defiance of Gordon Brown’s transplant scares!! Fucking hero, if you’ll pardon my language but damn…with folk like that and that sort of determination how can we NOT make a great country?

265. Michael McCabe

here is a wee song for the folk who made it to the Invergowrie inn. (Jealous ? who me. Never) Anyway hope all of you had a great time. Not long to go until the real party starts, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D_6qo260-FY&list=FLohWvR1oVMC8YHDQ5WYAhHA&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

266. Ian Brotherhood

We await Paula Rose’s report from ‘Inverwotsit’…

267. BB

Yes, the Paula Rose report on it is sure to be the most…definitive! 😉

I’m sure plenty chances for Yessers everywhere to come together after we WIN THIS!

268. X_Sticks

Just back from Inverwhatsit.

Braw catching up with everyone.

Wasn’t too rowdy even with Paula Rose there, I think everyone is pretty tired. Can a roller coaster be flat out? Similar reports from everyone, we’re going to do this.

Unbelievable day in Aberdeen. I almost thinking we can actually do it in Aberdeen and I never thought we would. Take a deep breath folks this last four days is going to be something else.

Stay strong, stay calm and keep the faith. It’s coming yet for a’ that.

Night all. Knackered and early start for the trailer in Aberdeen again tomorrow. All day at Markies and there’s a flashmob in the Castlegate at 12:00. Come along if you’re in the vicinity it should be quite something.

269. BB

Ayr’s the closest to a tory town outside of Borders and even it’s Yes team was making BT look two inches tall by comparison as so much bigger and livlier. 😀

The tension and waiting is going to get unbearable! I feel exactly like I did as a kid waiting for Christmas to arrive. Anyone else feel like that?

270. Oneironaut

@BB
    Nice pic there 🙂

Not sure if me and Ian were still there at that time, but if so, we were off-camera to the right somewhere.

I didn’t know about that little event with the BT stall though. Really wish I had seen that, would have been the perfect end to a great day! 🙂

271. Patrician

Scotland has anywhere between 25 and 100 years of oil left. Westminster has only 5 days of oil left.

272. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

You up for a random stall tomorrow?

We’ve got a table, plenty of stuff…

273. Patrician

How I wish I had a camera with me tonight. Driving along Chapelhall Main Road tonight when it was starting to get dark, I spied Pamela Nash MP with 2 followers using a small collapsible stepladder to put up No Thanks posters. Grass roots campaigning “No Scotland” style, PMSL.

274. Michael McCabe

Here is a song for all of you who man the stalls. Deliver the leaflets and papers. Do all the hard Work. I am Greatfull and proud of you all. You are an Inspiration. Cheers. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=zhker3RS-T0 Vote Yes.

275. BB

Here’s a pic of yesterday’s crowd further to the right.

http://postimg.org/image/ssm68qe3v/

It was so big I couldn’t get everyone in and at least twice as many on the side of the road I was standing on cheering! And this was late on after our Imperial Masters had given up.

276. Taysideterrier

Just been in tesco in Perth (edinburgh road) there are two cars parked in car park by entrance to store plastered with U-kok posters. One looks to have a camera set up in the window!

Phoned tesco on 0345 677 9532 to check parking rules (3hrs max) and they said theres nothing wrong with political advertising if its only a car with stickers in window.

Has anyone else noticed similar anywhere else?

Wonder if its even legal to film everyone going about their business shopping ect?

277. BB

It’s legal to film people in public places as a rule but on private property the owners CAN ask anyone filming while standing on their property to sod off as their land, obviously. So you could bring up issues to Tesco and say it’s making shoppers uncomfortable. Then they’d have to go to public owned spot.

278. Taysideterrier

Just been on the phone to them again, spoke to duty manager and complained about political campaigning.

Mentioned it might be filming people as it looks like there is a camera in window. So the manager is away to check. I was there around 8.30am so will check back at 11:30 and see if its still there.

279. chipmonkey

Taysideterrier. Maybe treat them like Trolls. Their film must be like watching paint dry -unless of course they capture you keeping coming back and set you up.Keep positive… only a few days,so we all need to keep on track 🙂

280. Jim Thomson

@Taysideterrier

If there’s no-one in the car with the camera, you could apply a suitably positioned PLAIN sticker on the window in front of the lens. Might take them a while to notice it (They’re usually no awfy bright 😉 )

281. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Sorry, I went to sleep after posting that. Only just got on here…

Up for a random stall any time! 😀

282. Oneironaut

@BB
    Another good pic.
    Though the strategically-placed bloke with the Yes hat is blocking the view of the place we were standing at.

Again, not sure if we’re even still there at that time.
    (Might also have been when I nipped across the road to grab a photo of the band) 🙂

283. Paula Rose

Well darlings – first off I must thank the manager of The Doubletrees hotel for opening the pool at midnight for us wingers, and not batting an eyelid as we all disrobed. Funny how the boys all jumped in straight away with their hands covering their naughty bits.

Might have had something to do with cearc’s tasteful abandoning of her beautiful attire!

284. Jim Thomson

@Paula

You do realise that the Courier stations a photographer nearby for all the celebrity skinny-dipping that the Doubletrees management encourages.

I’ll be first in the queue on Monday morning for my souvenir copy (I hear it has to be a double page spread to cope with the amount of detail in the image). ooo-err missus

285. Oneironaut

I hear they want to stop doing The Sun’s traditional “Page 3” though. So you might be safe from them 😉

Pity, that was the only thing that made The Sun worth reading…

286. Jim Thomson

@Chipmonkey

If you see this in the next half hour or so, (before 17:30) please e-mail me re piper. Ta Much.

287. Quentin Quale

@Paula and WaterWingers – Has anyone seen my snorkel?

288. Paula Rose

@ Quentin Quale – I thought that’s what you were hiding under your towel?

289. Brian Doonthetoon

It was a fine wee get-together last night at the Invergowrie Inn. “Select” would be an apt description.

Those attending came from as far as Troon, Lochinver, Airdrie, Glasgow, Aberdeen and various parts of Angus.

Funny thing was, although there is a Wings Referendum Agent for Dundee, none of his team showed up. The only Wingers from Dundee were my son (a lurker) and myself. The Angus referendum team showed up in strength – good on them!

BTW: we got a bill from the Inn’s management for the damage caused to the dance floor by Paula Rose’s almost needle-point stilletos. We were able to crowd-fund the bill, so all is well and we’re welcome back – as long as Paula wears plimsolls.

290. gerry parker

@ Jim Thompson.
    Ma brother Jim’s a piper. he’s fae Stonehaven. Got a braw kilt and everything. Black watch if I remember correctly.

The kilt, no ma brother.

He may not appreciate me telling you that though,

291. BB

Oh well, typical that someone would block the shot and hide you but I gave it a go! ;

292. Paula Rose

Darlings – I’m so sorry, it’s strappy sandals from now on.

293. Cactus

Good times in Invergowrie last night groovy people, looking forward to our Wingdependence after-party.. best thing about it, is everybuddies invited.

Let’s see.. anyone care to (in traditional Scottish fashion) start up a YESerendum Vote Sweep? Howsabout ‘X’ Scottish pounds per head for the first 30 people picking from 51% to 81% YES.

294. Paula Rose

Cactus honey – are you still embarrassed about your snorkel? Really dear it was nothing.

295. X_Sticks

Folks, a lovely wee lady, Olive M Hunter from Aberdeen has asked me to share her poem on the internet.

She’s been waiting all her life for this. How could I refuse.

I’ve tweeted it here.

https://twitter.com/X_Sticks_Real

296. Cactus

Naughty miss paula darling, that wasn’t a snorkel I was modelling for you.. you know I prefer to use my hat for keeping things in place.

Btw that’s some stroke you’ve got.. more champagne honey?

297. Oneironaut

@BB
    Despite being an amateur photographer, I have an odd aversion to being photographed myself.

The universe itself seems to conspire to keep me anonymous. Either the pictures don’t turn out right, or something inexplicably blocks the shot at just the right moment.

It all helps to contribute to the general aura of mystery that surrounds me… hehe.

@Paula Rose
    It’s not the size of a man’s snorkel that matters, it’s more about his stroke technique! 😉

298. BB

Maybe the media will catch you on camera instead during the big day or the celebratory aftermath, Oneironaut. 😉

299. cearc

Just in from Inverwotsit and have the management of doubletrees on the phone whingeing about how long it took to remove a large soggy hat which had blocked the pool filter and caused reception to flooded.

Paula Rose, did you nick my itsy-bitsy?

300. cearc

Patrician,

Great comment.

301. cearc

Nice one xsticks.

After we’ve shown them the front door we can kick them out of the backdoor.

302. Paula Rose

Sorry darlings – I did rather take my eye off the ball, I was rather concentrating on Ronnie improving my stroke.

303. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

As you well know, the real knack of snorkelling is making sure you blow at the right time. Avoid swallowing at all costs.

304. cearc

Quentin,

I’m sorry, I’m afraid we didn’t notice but then the water may have been a bit chilly where you were.

305. Paula Rose

Ian dear, can we have another of those private sessions?

306. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Certainly, but in the interests of fair-play I have to inform you that I recently reviewed my tariff.

307. Paula Rose

Ian honey – you want to pay more???

308. chipmonkey

@ Cearc As you know I was very impressed by your amazing motor bike and enjoyed our tootle together round Inverwotsit.

Could you remind me the make and model? Thanks.

309. Paula Rose

Chipmonkey honey – it certainly throbs doesn’t it!

310. Cactus

As this page is listed under Zany comedy relief, here’s some comedy 😉

Guy on a buffalo (Movie/Song)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iJ4T9CQA0UM

Check out the series..

311. Paula Rose

Cactus dear – the relief part is true.

312. cearc

chipmonkey

It;s one of pride elite traveller series (not going out to the car now to have a look). I bought it 3yrs ago but a quick shows several variations around £400/450.

313. cearc

OMG!! Calm down everyone, I didn’t really misuse a semi-colon. It was a typo, honest.

314. cearc

Chipmonkey,

You will be pleased to here that I told your ma that you weren’t even slightly tipsy and that behaved impeccably all evening.

She looked at me with blank astonishment!

(Of course I only said evening, we won’t go into the you and Jim in the Gym incident).

315. X_Sticks

So, you all waited until you got rid of me and then started the party.

Ach, at least I got a couple of fab badges from Peter.

Just yous wait ’til next time! 😉

316. Oneironaut

@BB
    Well I’m fairly certain I’ve been caught on CCTV a lot.

…Don’t ask! 😉

@Ian Brotherhood
    Sorry I missed the question about the stall last night/this morning.
    I tried calling you, but you weren’t home.

Maybe another day though. Still got 3 left! 🙂

317. BB

BTW, saw some TV cameras set up in Ayr yesterday near a hotel. I think they’re doing test or establishing shots.

318. chipmonkey

Thanks for the info and for covering for me at breakfast Cearc! We’d better gloss over the gym incident, I don’t fully remember how it came about. I think QQ was still snorkelling with Paula Rose at the time.

Mum tells me the hotel was very quiet most of the time, but some rowdies tried her door several times in the small hours. She was blaming those kilties from the wedding. We better not put her right!

319. BB

Caught on CCTV! I’m afraid to ask, frankly. 😛

320. Paula Rose

OMG – just got the first edition of the P&J, blush.

321. cearc

It’s in the p&J as well?

The Courier must have syndicated it! I hope the Northern Times don’t have it as well.

322. Paula Rose

cearc – are you sure its snorkels the boys are trying in vain to hide?

323. Paula Rose

Courier headline -” Wingers with Wangers”. Oh dear – a reputation in smithereens.

324. cearc

Well it wasn’t goggles! Especially when you were doing your butterfly dives.

325. Paula Rose

To be honest doll, you did get a wee bit giggly when Pete the camera practised his breast-stroke.

326. Paula Rose

Now honeys – all you have to do is use the word “Yes” instead of “Love” –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_HnBac5jWs

327. Jim McIntosh

Can someone tell me the difference between a Postal Ballot Agent and a Count Agent. Are Wings covering both?

328. Jim Thomson

I’m pretty sure they are the same – just the “Agent” for, in our case, Wings. They can nominate people to represent them at the various stages from PV opening through monitoring polling stations and then the count itself. The count will be limited numbers though (for obvious reasons).

329. gerry parker

JIm. Wings are covering both. The referendum agent can appoint a postal ballot agent and they can both be present at the postal vote opening and counting. the postal ballot agent I appointed is also a counting agent and a polling agent, too few wings volunteers to have separate posts.

hth

330. Paul

I’m putting the finishing touches to a black-metal / post-rock / folk album inspired partly by the referendum, and I need some help finding images for the booklet. I’m looking for a hi-res photo of EITHER 1) a street with lots of Yes signs, or 2) a tenement block with lots of Yes signs in the window. Ideally without people in the shot, extra points for arty angles.

This picture would be perfect, but isn’t really large enough (and has a watermark):
    pbs.twimg.com/media/BxGZ_fgCQAErgg-.jpg:large

Does anyone have any good snaps from their time on the campaign trail? Or even know where I could find a higher-res version of the aforementioned image?

331. Ian Brotherhood

Lloyd Bridges, ‘Airplane’ –

‘Looks Like I Picked The Wrong Week…’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeI5ke0BENw

332. Paula Rose

Ian honey – you missed the beauty of cearc – I bet you are kicking yourself now, us ladies had a wonderful gathering whilst the laddies huddled together near the towels – I’m sure you would have joined us in the deep end.

333. Jim Thomson

@have to admit Paula, I never knew watching synchronised swimming round floating handbags could be so emotionally draining. That was a clump of handbags wasn’t it?

334. Paula Rose

Jim darling – we so enjoyed your delight at being invited to dis-robe, cearc only had to caress you with her eyelid to result in a strengthening of resolve.

335. Paula Rose

And they say that real men have a beauty that is rarely seen – I have come face to face with the future!

336. Paula Rose

I’ve just had a wee look at the main threads – I’m ripping my clothes off and conjuring up the ancestors for a party – we are going to win, even with an hairy Rev.

337. ronnie anderson

Oh Paula Rose you are very very naughty but we like You

338. BB

Glad to get feet up now and catch up with Wings, etc. 🙂

Gotta say, Jim’s got some very nice and clued-up lads! Nice to think of folk like that getting more involved in politics in the future after the indy ref. Just hope we can get the indy Scotland they deserve to work in. We’ll find out Friday! Eeek.

Local council has the polling/counting agent passes ready here for collection and delivery. Thankfully everyone in my area should be fine. Anyone else remember to make sure the passes in their area all get to who they are meant to get to or tears will be shed on the day! If the passes are not all there for me I know I’ll be changing my name and using that open ticket to Cuba I’ve been holding in reserve tomorrow ASAP as it means all the paperwork was wrong. Ahem. Hah.

339. Paula Rose

I’ll put the kettle on – do ring the bell when you enter I don’t want to have to giggle at your excitement.

340. Paula Rose

Now dears – substitute the word ‘Yes’ for ‘love’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_HnBac5jWs

341. X_Sticks

@Paula Rose

I think you’ll like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NA4rwWAEXmY

342. Paula Rose

So many heroes my dearest X stickies

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2zicZqJb6U

343. X_Sticks

Must go try sleep – work tomorrow 🙁

Night all.

344. Paula Rose

Now I’m gonna dance to a different tune

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZ76LC_l8yk

345. chipmonkey

Paula Honey, how is that going to help? I needed a lullaby 🙁

346. Paula Rose

@ Chipmonkey honey -this one and then bed-time xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oa-mWuBY-is

347. chipmonkey

Ach it wouldn’t come up -but I scrolled down to sounds of silence instead 🙂 I’ll close my eyes and see if thst works this time. Night night.

348. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee Duet for anybody Still up. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=2EO0w9i5wmA Vote Yes.

349. chipmonkey

Lovely. Love it. (Maybe my sleep pattern will be back after we make history.)

350. Michael McCabe

Here is a version of Sounds of Silence I like. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=dG2b7mwEBYA Vote Yes.

351. chipmonkey

That’s a really different way of doing sound of silence,full of emotion.It must have felt even better to be there. I didn’t think I liked him. Middle of the night might be a good time to hear it.

352. Michael McCabe

Here is a Mellow one that I like most of the time. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ts6gZFEiMkM&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

353. kininvie

Final WBB Update

The very last of the ’emergency run’ of 10,000 are now out on the streets in the greater Glasgow area. Kestral deserves all the credit for that, as the run was managed single-handed from the Shettlestone hub.

Anyone who has been tracking the wbb on @weebluebook or on the Facebook page can see at a glance how (as we hoped) Wingers have picked up the challenge of getting them to where they are needed – by whatever means they chose. I read a tweet this morning that the WBB business cards were even to be found inside the packaging of curries in one of our spermarkets. The variety of distribution methods is too great to list – but imagination lies behind all of them.

It’s been a massive effort by all of you – all the more so since it has effectively been done as samizdat – far away from the ken of the official Yes or No campaigns. And (let us hope) it will be the weapon that wins the battle.

A final plea – if anyone is still sitting on a stock, however small – get them out today!

354. X_Sticks

@kininvie

10/10+ to everyone. Brilliant job folks.

There’s no doubt it has made a significant difference.

I don’t have any left. Last one went out today to a good home.

I hope we get a commemorative copy! 🙂

355. Cal

Please read this it’s VERY VERY important. Many voters have not received their polling cards and probably won’t in time for the referendum. Many are saying people in places where Yes support is strong are wost hit by this scam. Please spread the word that YOU DO NOT NEED A POLLING CARD TO VOTE.

356. X_Sticks

@Cal

“YOU DO NOT NEED A POLLING CARD TO VOTE.”

But you DO need identification such as passport or driving licence and means of proving your address – utility bill etc

357. CameronB Brodie

test

358. Paula Rose

@ CameronB – cricket dear?

359. chipmonkey

@Michael McCabe – the mellow one was just what I needed. Thanks!

360. Paula Rose

@ cearc – did I leave my thong on the side of the pool?

361. cearc

I expect it ended up in the filter with Cactus’s hat.

They probably thought it was a hatband.

362. tartanpigsy

Not been winging much lately.
    busy with getting back among the Clydesdale gang sampling Glasgow a bit.
    so what’s happening Friday.
    when’s the big winger after party any news.
    I’m planning going in to Glasgow Friday George Square Still Game then back into town I reckon

Love the lot of you.
    Are there any other countries we can liberate?

363. cearc

Tartanpigsty,

Next up Catalonia.

364. Paula Rose

twitty twitty silly silly – love you all xx

365. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one that Cactus may like, and even know.

A wee ditty for Lamont, Sarwar, The Alexander Brothers, Davidson, Rennie, McDougall, Darling, and all the other belters who professed to love us so much.

Take a hike, the lot of ye’s, and hum this as ye make yer way down to your nest in Westminster.

Shakin’ Pyramids, ‘Sunset Of My Tears’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ucW02s5epg

366. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

One thinger, one thong…

367. Bob Sinclair

I’ve got a sneaking suspicion that tomorrow is going to be a busy day, and apparently there’s something big happening all across Scotland on Thursday (anyone got any further info), so theres a fair chance I’ll be kept away from Wings.

If I don’t get the chance to post before Friday I just want to wish you all good luck & thanks. It’s been great and I’m proud to have been a tiny part of the most exciting, vibrant, engaged & positive campaign ever seen in British Politics

We have all been shown that whilst individually our voices may be quiet, when combined they create a roar that can be heard around the world. This evening at George Square I talked to people from all around the world, some working here, some tourists & some journalists covering events. They all had one thing in common, a desire to see us carry this through to the end & win back our country.

The world is watching and listening & I for one intend to make sure that my voice, carried along with millions of others, is heard.

Thank you all for letting me climb onboard the ride on the journey to our country’s freedom, I’m not getting off until we arrive.

368. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Good wee song There. Well Said Bob Sinclair. Vote Yes.

369. Michael McCabe

For Me this has been the Journey of a Life Time. One that I thought I would never see. It has been great Interacting with you all. And I feel Privileged to have met some of you. We are nearly there now. see you on the other side. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=n29w1PKWpnk Vote Yes.

370. Thepnr

To all my friends on Wings. Those I’ve met and those I’ve yet to meet.

Let’s face tomorrow with defiance, let’s use this final day to make our voice heard. No matter what the result of the vote says we will have won.

This, for me is much more than about Independence, it truly is about Democracy.

We have a voice and are not just the shite on someones shoe.

371. Atypical_Scot

good night, just a question. (hi Paula rose, Missed you)

For the twitterererers how about FFF – Follow Freedom Friday?

Just a thought.

372. Betty Boop

Last day and I will be out soon delivering and canvassing, then manning the wee stall this afternoon.

After tomorrow, I might even cook a meal again!

Anyhoo, just want to say before we get to the big day that it has been an absolute pleasure and privilege to be involved in this campaign. I think we have all been surprised at the intensity of our involvement, the company in which we have found ourselves and the fun we have had too.

To all the Wingers, those I’ve met, exchanged messages, all who post here (including lurkers), it feels as though I know you all.

Can’t forget the glue which sticks Wings together – thank you Stu for creating the means for this incredible family to flourish and for all your hard work.

Wings is the giant of this campaign.

Onward – let’s do this. x

373. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

Will be thinking of you and Jim and everyone else I’ve come to know in this very special place.

Have a good one!

374. Taranaich

It’s one more day.

Rather than write, I drew a picture.

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/09/17/one-day-more/

375. chipmonkey

Thank-you all. Meeting so many of you the first time I ever joined in anything remotely political (On Thepnr’s bus to CH2) changed my whole attitude to the referendum and to the future.

Hope I see many of you again soon.

YES

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4VFQwxCFe5A&list=UU2S0tLnA6jNmPsSR0eWuAYA&index=1

376. Patrician

We have wings because we are on the side of the angels.

377. Patrician

@Taranaich, love that graphic, well done.

378. Michael McCabe

@ chipmonkey I still have a copy of the First draft saved to my Favourites. Found a lot of great original songs posted on Wings. Along with great Comments and great People. Hope we all get what has Joined us all together. Vote Yes.

379. Oneironaut

Hey folks! 🙂

Feeling very nervous this close to the vote, so I’m thinking I might just head down to that rally in George Square at 2 and lose myself in some positive euphoria.

If anyone else is heading there, might see you around, if we don’t get lost in the crowd.

Wanted to make some comment like the ones above on this whole thing, but right now I can’t quite find the right words. (Only one I can think of right now is “Yes!”, hehe 😉 )
    Maybe after this I’ll have more of them than I know what to do with.

Have a good day everyone! The finish line is in sight! 😀

380. Jim Thomson

@Taranaich

Brilliant! I was only made aware, by one of my eagle eyed sons, of the chains on the unicorn a few weeks ago.

There will have to be quite a few coats of arms re-worked following our wee fare-thee-weel wave to rUK. Is that a potential consultancy role for you I wonder 😛

@All
    I can only echo my better half’s sentiments with regard to the Wings team, nay, family.

I’ve been bowled over by the wide range of political views and talents evident in our group and the totally selfless dedication shown. If we can continue as a freed nation with such resource and skill we will be a loud and generous voice on the global stage.

Tomorrow really is our time and, I know, we are all ready for the challenge that lies ahead and, we are humbled by the very opportunity that we have been given. (Eck, if you read this, feel free to crib it for your speech 😉 )

Folks, onwards and upwards.

381. Betty Boop

Well then, Thepnr !

Fame at last – caught on the telly drinking a pint of beer. I am presuming you were refreshing yourself for the next round of canvassing 🙂

Thepnr seen on BBC1, Reporting Scotland, 7.09pm )(ish)

382. BB

I’m a bag of nerves. I hope I can get to sleep tonight. It will be a long day tomorrow!

Amazing people involved in all of this. It’s been a privilege just to meet them all and see them in action. Hope we’re all full of cheer come Friday morning and optimism for building a new sovereign nation.

I can’t say for certain which way the results will come in but I can say we really do deserve to win this.

383. Oneironaut

Definitely going to be a long day tomorrow.

I’ll be spending it standing outside the polling station set up in Glencairn Primary School in Stevenston with a pack of Yes leaflets in the hope of making any No folks grow some free will at the last moment.

If anyone is in the area, feel free to drop by and say Hello.
    You might stop me going insane! 🙂

384. Paula Rose

Honeys – we are going to win I can feel it deep inside!

385. ronnie anderson

@Gerry Parker I would like to know why you never put my name forward as a Polling Agent thereby denying me of a ticket to the Count,after all the time we spent working together to this End.

386. Betty Boop

@ Ian Brotherhood, 9.05pm

Thanks Ian.

@ BB Just get your head down and dream, but, remember to set the alarm – we need your vote! 🙂

387. cearc

Just popped in to say,

See youse all on the other side.

Then I saw your message Ronnie. I am so sorry, have a big hug from me.

388. StevieMcB

dunno if this has been posted,here goes, Hope over fear.
    http://t.co/SXnaZlp1XJ

389. Paula Rose

cearc, Ronnie and many others – I have never met such beautiful people as I have on Wings, we will win dears – and if you are around Rev, well done lad – we might consider re-newing your employment status xx

390. Michael McCabe

@ StevieMcB Not seen that Song before. Great post. Cheers. Vote Yes.

391. Cactus

Cheers

Wall of Sound ~ Slade (“WoS power” / “24 hours of power”)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LvKiObD2pYU

Stay tuned to this frequency.

392. Ian Brotherhood

‘…we wanna be free, to do what we wanna do…’

Kin right.

We want to get shot of Westminster control and start looking after ourselves.

It’s really not THAT complicated…

Primal Scream, ‘Loaded’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YuAl6ie6UFQ

393. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee track I posted on another thread for Rev Stu And I think most People on Wings would agree with me. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M1bVMW2XVNI&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

394. Tam Jardine

I just wanted to say thank you to all my friends on Wings – the next few days will be crazy like the last few.

I couldn’t have struggled on without you, and the movement has become bigger than any of us imagined.

youtu.be/xIVy5XdQhOM

I love you all.

Let’s build a new country, starting the morn

Tam x

395. StevieMcB

We will win this. we’ve got the nice people on our side, love you all, especially Stu, who created such a platform for such a bunch.
    see you on the other side in a grown up Scotland. 🙂

396. Thepnr

@Betty Boop

Yeah, you weren’t the only one to spot that even though it’s around 6 months old and was spotted too the first time 🙂

I went to Perth tonight to hear the First Minister and Nicola Sturgeon, they were great. Tomorrow I believe we will win, there are still undecided and soft No’s so we keep it going until the polls close.

Good luck, this is something I will never forget and I do love all of you generous people I have met. Soon we will meet again of that I am certain.

397. BB

Andy Murray just came out as a YES. Hahaha! The media will be FUMING.

398. X_Sticks

Love to all you very special people who inhabit the anarchy that is the O/T.

Let’s break on through to the other side

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cJQwnAhXnBk

Off to lie flat for a while. It’ll be a hard day’s night today. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zSm0M-BbVdY

399. Michael McCabe

Right now I am on edge. But do you know when I will be Happy. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cu-H8koWU4&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes.

400. Ian Brotherhood

Time-out…enjoy this –

Marvin Gaye ‘How Sweet It Is To Be Loved By You’ (Live, Montreux, 1980)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VHaKEAAj6oA

401. Ian Brotherhood

Spandau Ballet, ‘I Don’t Need This Pressure On’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aKb0SSSGm-8

402. Ian Brotherhood

Peo Kindgren, ‘Cavatina’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwvDon1_iKs

403. Jim Thomson

@Ian Brotherhood

will be heading down to Citadel to be there around 9pm.

Not sure I can take a full night drinking Red Bull though, and strong coffee ain’t my favourite 🙁

Just hoping that watching the YES piles getting much taller than the NO ones will inject some life into the ol’ frame.

404. Ian Brotherhood

@Jim –

As usual, I’ll be slightly later!

405. BB

Was a pleasure working on this with you all. Feels like we were robbed. Heard some dodgy stuff going on, but don’t know how much. Scotland deserved better than this.

406. Betty Boop

@BB, 6.25am

I’ve met some really decent, talented and dedicated folks on this campaign and that has been the brightest spot. We were robbed, probably in more ways than one.

Everybody in else in bed now, but, I needed some time to myself to mourn that Scotland really does not believe in itself. Maybe I am being too harsh; maybe it is just gullibility.

Maybe some will have fight enough left to try to salvage this country.

407. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

If we’ve done nothing else, we’ve forced some dark forces out where everyone can see them.

Whether or not anyone has the appetite to fight them?

That’s another matter.

(It’s like the old ‘dentist’ joke – ‘Your teeth are perfect, but your gums will have to come out.’ The ‘United Kingdom’ may be alright, but Westminster has to go. One way or another, it will.)

I still haven’t had a greet, but it’ll come later, and it’ll be for my pals and my weans. We tried, and we know we did.

Now? We take the gloating and the guffaws (such as those being issued by the grotesque Brian Donohue this evening, at the South Ayrshire count, surrounded by fawning nonentities) and we grin and bear it all – our time will come yet.

Love ye’s all.

408. Jim Thomson

@Team Wings

I’m pretty sure this isn’t the end of the line for us but, we do need to pause for a wee breather, marshal our thoughts and consider what we’ve learned as well as acknowledge our talents and capabilities.

As noted above by BB there have been more than a few “issues” that seemed to be conveniently occurring during the whole collection/storage and counting of ballots. It may simply be that the system is flawed and needs to be significantly improved or it may be that there are sinister happenings associated with those flaws.

Right now, I just need to rest a wee while and will try to record my thoughts about the whole journey at some point in the not to distant future. Some of those might be for sharing, some will more probably be for the “lessons learned” drawer.

I am genuinely proud to have been associated with such a wide ranging (in every sense) group of truly dedicated individuals and don’t intend to sever the ties just yet (sorry about that 😛 ).

One lost battle isn’t a lost war.

In particular, the Reverend Stuart Campbell has been an absolute inspiration, and I’m sure we have all fed on his intellect, determination, morals and strength during that past year or two. Somehow we must reward him in a way that will be meaningful and not crass or tacky. If there are any ideas on how we do that, please let’s have a chat in another channel (we pretty much have each other’s email addresses now) to make it happen.

409. chipmonkey

We need first to accept. Superficially I think I have. No gains for the future come from being sore losers. There was a huge task and a huge difference was made.I read someone’s post on facebook saying she had voted ‘not proven’. Before we point out the case was indeed pretty well proven or call her names for wasting a vote maybe we have to understand people really felt that way. We live in a society where the media controls how people see the world and is not bound to seek the truth or give any evidence to support what they say-I didn’t really fully understand the significance of that before. Maybe that is worth fighting. Also the definite problems in the polling system. If it would have made no difference this time,it’s still worth putting right.
    There were of course also facts in this debate which we accepted as worth accepting which others truly did not.
    I have felt truly sick with disappointment,but no tears yet.I think they will come.

410. BB

I think it’d be wrong and a shame for Rev Stu and others to simply give up on their dream of reform. It’s further out of reach than we expected, but it isn’t gone.

The result wasn’t what we hoped for but appears to have been above board as far as the overall process we are aware of. The few cases we’ve heard of of human error, etc. probably account for a tiny number of ballots across Scotland. Not the many thousands needed for a swing. There’s some people missing off register or made mistake voting with postal or something else and not realising it, etc. The few oddities with Glasgow (only ten ballots) that were caught and so on. Anything else would have to be far greater in scale than the small things we’ve seen so far in the news, I guess. There will be scrutiny from third parties but unless truly large/industrial scale fraud is found it’s a valid result. I think Alex and others realise this and that’s why they asked people to accept result and move on from there to get the reform promised.

Still, 45% is no mean feat and a large base of people who want independence. Many in the 55% also want change too. That’s a large group of sympathetic people for reform who have identified something wrong with current situation and are clearly unhappy with it. All those people saw everything the government and media threw at it and still wanted change and reform.

It’ll be a longer road working within the democratic system, but doesn’t mean it is the end of the road.

411. BB

Well the hurt is fading and you know what…it could have been worse. The closeness of the race still works in our favour. They’ll try to make us forget that and big up their win but it was far too close for them to be comfortable. Jon Snow picked up on that early on and he was right.

http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/politicsandpolicy/political-and-constitutional-turbulence-in-the-uk-looks-set-to-continue-to-2020/

Prof Dunleavy feels it’s possible we could be looking at another indy ref in 2018. This is exactly what we should be thinking about. Round 2. As soon as we follow the Westminster/BBC manufactured and planned narrative that this is over forever then we are letting them win instead of letting them simply delay it as they have with this.

While there is still a shred of democracy left we can have a referendum any time we choose. Not up to the BBC or newspapers to decide that.

We’ll have the unfortunate but real “advantage” that we know things will get hard for next few years and already promises of more powers looking wobbly. This would only galvanise reform demands, bring about outrage and make No voters regret. We’ll also have new young voters coming up by then simply by passage of years bringing them in.

Instead of starting from scratch we’ll have many experienced campaigners to draw on. All of us started from almost nothing, in a very tight schedule, total outsiders and we ran them to the wire on this. Now we have countless people who can organise meetings, do research, speeches, etc. Next time we’ll have an established network AT THE START (I agree with Jim on NOT just walking away or losing contact. That’s what Westminster would dream of anyway), people who can express faults and mistakes, we’ll have endless post-mortems of the campaign to correct faults. While all Westminster will have is the same campaign, people and efforts they ran this time to do all over again.

Round 2. Keep Wings alive.

412. Jim Thomson

Just wondering if it’s worth a legal challenge on all of the issues where the Edinburgh Agreement was breached and the purdah period also ignored by Westminster, hence skewing the outcome with false (now) signed vows.

413. Jim Thomson

In other words, annul the referendum and do it again within 6 weeks.

414. BB

If they really shaft us ASAP and break vows in short order I think an organised petition campaign could potentially force a new referendum sooner than they feared. Westminster/BBC is utterly desperate to make this a once in a lifetime thing and that tells me we need to make sure it isn’t as they know their hold is growing weak.

415. BB

Worth keeping in mind that Quebec’s first referendum suffered a significantly worse defeat and yet managed to get another referendum in less than a generation. We’ve a closer run thing with far more insane behaviour and promises from WM for them to live up to. WM have opened up a can of worms for themselves by making these promises closely tied to the No from the start and then reaffirming it right before the end and with all the media.

blogs.lse.ac.uk/politicsandpolicy/political-and-constitutional-turbulence-in-the-uk-looks-set-to-continue-to-2020/

This game isn’t over. The end has simply been delayed. In the longest run the voting demographics alone tell us it will happen as more come on board the social media and internet.

416. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi BB.

I hadn’t actually intended to post tonight, because I haven’t really got my thoughts together (been keeping up with Wings, Newsnet and Facebook stuff though), but I had to respond in short fashion to a couple of points you raised.

“…bring about outrage and make No voters regret.”

There will be some No voters who, over the next week or three, will regret their vote. But (and I don’t claim originality here; I’m sure I read it somewhere today), there are a considerable number of people who can be considered “Hard NO”, because of their own particular circumstances.

I work with one of them. Retired, with a full pension as a ‘civil servant’, in their 50s, carrying out a full time job to supplement their generous pension, until their spouse, still working full-time and contributing to the household budget, retires.

They have two or three foreign holidays yearly, their mortgage is paid off and they are comfortably well-off, thank you very much.

He just was NOT interested in engaging in conversation about the referendum – “I’m voting NO!”. I offered him a Wee Blue Book, to get all the facts – no interest. From his point of view “things are aw’ right as they are.”

Round 2. Keep Wings alive.

Yeah, must be done. It’s not gonna be 15 years before the demand for another independence referendum raises its head. A lot of “The ordinary people” are now too savvy to brushed off with the kr@p from the Westminster Establishment.

There was a spontaneous get-together in Dundee’s City Square tonight, where we confirmed solidarity with Glasgow and the other council areas that voted YES, but also with all the YES voters in every other council area.

We are not going to go away. We need Wings to do the stuff for us. Wouldn’t a crowd-fund to start up a new, independent, Scottish newspaper be a rather cracking idea?
    Could it be done?

I haven’t got a clue!

But the revolution in civic politics is not going to go away. We have a lot to thank Rev Stu for – mainly training us to read between the lines when we read something in the online or print media.

For that, I thank you. More power to your keyboard!

417. Paula Rose

I would just like to thank Jim Thomson, Brian doon the wotsit and Pete -the-camera for their loving caresses of my calves in the early hours of Friday morning, without them I would have been in tears.

Without Tartan Tory I would have been bereft.

418. Ian Brotherhood

Held off crying since leaving the count at the Citadel, Ayr, last night.

Doing it now, watching this, fu’, while cuddling y’all.

Moby, ‘Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QGEdc6HxhVA

419. Thepnr

Thanks Ian

That has awoken me from my slumber. I’ve spent all day by myself, didn’t want to see anybody or take part in the world. I’ve just been contemplating.

We done as much as we could have and I need some time to get my head around this new situation. I know one thing though now that this political activism has been awoken in me it will not just fade and die.

Just need a wee bit of time to fathom out the next step. There are still foodbanks on our high streets, we have ATOS and the bedroom tax is not yet abolished.

Although we failed to achieve Independence at this time there is still a great deal we can do to halt or at least slow down the relentless march of those that wish to drag us down.

I will not be giving in, we lost this time but there are many battles yet to fight.

420. Paula Rose

Thepnr honey – we are all re-grouped and ready to win, we were wondering where you were xx

421. Paula Rose

Oops sorry – Ian do you need something special?

422. Paula Rose

Now wake up boys – I’m fucking angry now…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rzwWS2yN9dQ

423. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Man alive! Last time I saw an image of Siouxsie, it was a vulgar poster involving a guy called ‘Budgie’. Must be, erm, thirty years ago. She’s certainly looked after herself. (I’ve no idea what happened to ‘Budgie’.)

@Thepnr –

If your heart is half as broken as mine, it’s twice as strong as mine was when this whole WOS palaver started off. Know what I mean ? (I don’t, but it sounded good at the time…)

424. cearc

Hi lads and lassies.

Got back from the at 10.30 this morning and slept most of the day.

Half the count agents quit halfway through when it was obviously going to be lost, even before all our boxes had been delivered (our own WoS referendum agent amongst them).

PaulaRose,

I’m glad the lads were there to give you a hug and wipe the mascara off your cheeks.

425. Paula Rose

Oh cearc they were so kind – I was distraught but no fucking longer, I have grandkiddies – this was a battle with a set back, but we are Scots and we will not give up. My family pride themselves on being descendents of Hereward the Wake – we do not give up!

426. BB

Thought I’d pass this message on to you guys.

Was at a campaign after party for yes. Hope you folk attend anything like that in your areas. Got to see a lot of people there including some well known faces. Good crowd. What I saw in that hall wasn’t broken people or defeated people. What I saw were people who realised they had made tremendous gains and that their setback was merely a delay. Not an end to the goal.

We will have our rest and recovery. It is more than deserved and needed. We’ll take stock. Plans are going to be coming into place for next approach. Keep your ear to the ground. Get word out. Don’t lose contacts.

The opposition are relying on us giving up or believing their bullshit about this being settled forever. It only is if we allow it. They utterly dread us getting back up after they have knocked is down. The fear is clear between the lines before the result and in their language and spin afterwards on the BBC, etc. Don’t give them an easy win. They’ve made promises and painted themselves into corners that leave them open to attack.

Most of us went into this as relative political novices. We had never tasted defeat like mainstream parties have many times before in elections and so on. So it hurt and was all the more raw as a fresh new experience. I was hurting bad after it. It was like a bereavement for me and others. What will tell for the future is how we handle that defeat and what we do afterwards. Few great victories in war or politics never lost a battle or faced a setback. We need to accept this, see our mistakes and correct them. That is how a war or a cause is won. We learn, adapt, build on gains and move it forward.

Eventually (and probably far sooner than they think) we will have them by the short and curlies. Even Prof Dunleavy has said this isn’t over. Others too see this as unsettled for any long term. While we have democracy itself we have our goal in sight – even if it takes longer than the 18 months or so we hoped for.

You are all fantastic, capable, intelligent, successful people and I would be honoured to work with you again in the future. We can do great things.

My regards to you all, you magnificent underdogs.

427. Paula Rose

I’ve been playing airs from my collection, but still to sad to play them here – go back 4000 comments and there may be one. I am saddened but not lost – Caledonia is everything it is my home.

428. Alex Clark

Thepnr has retired.

The point of no return is past.

Alex Clark will be taking his place. Look forward to meeting some day with you all.

429. BB

Gaun yersel Alex! 🙂

430. Jim Thomson

Good morning Alex.

Gie Thepnr a big man-hug fae me. He’s been a rock IN a hard place for long enough.

If the born-again Alex is just as game, you’ll be a continuing strength for those around you.

(just re-read that mince, but I’m sure you get the gist 🙂 )

431. X_Sticks

For what it’s worth I’m still here.

I’m not going to go away.

I am seriously considering giving up work to concentrate full time on the political fight ahead.

I’m inspired by Robin MacAlpine’s article in Bella and I think that is where I may put my effort.

We need a cohesive front to move forward. I’m not sure how that will materialise over the coming days and weeks, but I believe it will happen.

We should hold our heads high. We may have lost the battle, but the fight goes on.

432. Patrician

This is like a boxing match:

we lost the first round on a technicality in 1979;

We won the next round on points in 1997;

We lost the latest round, due to some biased refereeing.

And as the bell goes for the next round to start, we stand bloodied but not bowed. We know we only have to win once but they have to win every time.

WE ARE THE 45, WE WILL NEVER BE BEATEN.

433. Bob Sinclair

Alex,
    I’m sorry to read of the untimely passing of thepnr, but I’m sure you will carry on his good work. I honestly can’t think of anyone better qualified.

434. Bob Sinclair

Some of you may have read my post last week about my daughter starting University. A wee postscript to that post, inscribed on the numberplate on her door in her student residence:

‘THE CATALAN’

It transpires that this was already there before she moved in, bu fact that she sees the significance of this is one of my comforts.

She & all the kids of her generation are our future and I am so proud that they have the tools to carry the movement forward.

We who are the 45 should be happy that we can pass the baton to her generation who supported independence – the 71.

435. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

You around mister?

436. cearc

Alex,

Totally agree with Bob Sinclair, you’re the man for the job.

ps. Should we send flowers?

437. Paula Rose

Hi honeys – put the kettle on xx

438. Alex Clark

Hey!

Thepnr has not passed away, just retired to a beautiful wee cottage next to the beach. I’m just taking up the mantle as there is a lot of work to be done going forward.

Bowed but not broken!

439. Paula Rose

Now dears we need some tunes, some love and now we will win.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5F44WfZoIN4

440. Paula Rose

Can’t help it dolls –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DegGwZnySmk

441. Paula Rose

Oi you lot – us warriors have picked ourselves up and are ready for action, come on you wee arty types gie us some tunes!!

442. Paula Rose

One effing battle and I’m standing here alone – get a grip, where are the pipers?

443. Thepnr

Dundee showed the wey in the vote and will continue to do so.

Why is this? Mostly because we are like this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ofxq-i_fPQc

444. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Yes dear, that’s very good, but here’s the original and best – please watch out for the big hairy cow at approx 14 secs:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZrdo1PuUvQ

445. BB

For as long as but a hundred of us remain alive!

Or 1.6 million for that matter… 😉

446. Alex Clark

Paula, Ian, John, Irene, Jim, Graham, Fiona, Ronnie, Betty, Brian, Pete, cearc and for ALL my wings friends.

This is for you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjBwAYIxUso

447. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex Clark –

Good shout mister, and a suitable note for me to say nicht-nicht.

Nicht-nicht!

448. Michael McCabe

Alex Clark informed me how I could post songs on here. So this Song is for Alex. And all the Yes Folk. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXW-sL5gzHQ&feature=player_detailpage

449. Alex Clark

Brilliant again Michael and so apt. The lion has awoken and Westminster has no idea what it has unleashed.

Lick your wounds, get up again for the battles yet to come.

450. Michael McCabe

They Cant keep us down. Not when we are. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=92IvoNpogNE Onwards and Upwards.

451. Alex Clark

@Michael McCabe

Yes, you cannot keep a good man down for long. Anyone still feeling down should watch these last three videos.

It is who we are, next time it will be 65%.

452. Michael McCabe

What do you play in the wee small hours of the Morning. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlw9BjXDBTE&feature=player_detailpage

453. chipmonkey

Alex, thank-you. Good choice. Made me cry- about time, I need to. I think I’ve got delayed reaction, since I was OK on Friday and most of yesterday. Now I’m a wreck. Just a phase we all have to go through. The dawning realisation as things unfold that we were definitely right all along to be worried about where ‘Great’ britain goes now. Right that we were being lied to. They don’t even bother covering their tracks.

Paula, we haven’t gone anywhere hun. Our bad sleeping patterns just don’t match 🙂

xx Fiona

454. cearc

Chipmonkey,

Sleeping patterns? Ahhh yes, I do seem to vaguely remember them.

455. Quentin Quale

Alex, that is one very emotional video. Brilliant stuff. We must meet up and chat about it and many other things. It’s a pleasure to know you, sir.
    Graeme

456. Jim McIntosh

Does anyone know (i mean 100%) whether you can watch ‘Catch up TV’ on Sky if you cancel your TV license?

457. chipmonkey

Jim -I’ve been wondering too. I#ve read other places that you can’t watch any live tv at all – any as it is broadcast tv (even sky), without a licence, and you can’t record as it happens to watch later.

I wonder what would happen if a movement of people all wrote to sky and asked if they can do a package without BBC, and without license necessary – would they be interested since we otherwise have to take our custom from them too?

Just a thought.

458. Cactus

Hi all, words fail me the now, I’m still here and remain ready for the next round.

Thanks for the subsequent articles / comments, keep em coming.

459. Jim McIntosh

OK first of all I’m not a conspiracy theorist, and I don’t think ‘we wus robbed’ in a strict sense, but can anyone give me any idea of what is happening in the second video down (43 seconds long) from the link below.

In the video one woman walks in front of the box (not sure if it’s a ballot box, all ot ours were black) and the other starts stuffing it with papers.

http://tinyurl.com/obsfkl3

460. Jim McIntosh

Sorry ignore my last comment, the box is see through so it’s obviously not a ballot box – suspicious behaviour though, whatever it is.

461. Nana Smith

Could they be shredding the missing postal votes.

There are rumours on social media saying there were thousands of postals missing

462. Thistle

Hi all

We did out first live stream after ref today which was very interesting you can check it out via our website.

I’m contemplating going full time with Scottish Independence Live Events but would need crowd fund it. Do you think there is an appetite at the moment for this?

KG

http://www.independencelive.net

463. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus and Thistle –

Good to see ye’s back.

464. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

You back with us yet mister?

465. Paula Rose

I think we’re all still standing Ian honey, now we will win the easy way – every general election in the UK is a referendum for Scotland. If we all work together and with the first-past-the-post system we can do it.

466. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Indeed. And I’m sure we will.

I’m not privy to SSP membership details, but someone, somewhere in the ongoing threads, mentioned that we’ve gained 1,200 new members since Friday. If true, that is mind-boggling.

467. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

‘Broadsword calling Oneironaut…Broadsword calling Oneironaut…come in Oneironaut…’

468. Ian Brotherhood

@Thistle –

Hope you’re alright there mister. I daresay you’re bruised, but we can all swap sob stories after the job is done.

On the crowd-funding thing – was the last one worth doing? If so, do it again. In any event, things have changed so utterly that you may be able to ask for more, and get it faster than you thought possible.

And have you approached the Weirs? I wouldn’t know how to go about it, but they are right on the ball and know what’s worth backing. For all I know they’re readers here…

469. Cal

Can someone help?

1. I want to change my internet supplier. Can anyone recommend a supplier who has not disgraced themselves by speaking out against Scottish Independence?

2. I need to buy a new laptop. Where should I buy it? Did Argos say anything bad about independence?

3. I want to move my current account to a more reputable bank. Which ones have spoken badly about Scotland?

4. I need to move my AVC pension from the odious and mendacious organisation where it currently resides to a more respectable one. Can anyone recommend a bank or building society?

5. I intend to change my mobile phone network supplier. Which suppliers have remained neutral on independence?

I have stopped shopping in Asda. I am joining the SNP.

470. Paula Rose

Cactus honey – I’m rushing about checking for wounds etc are you OK or do you need special attention, just had to deal with Ian Brotherhoods attack of cramp in a delicate area, but it’s sorted now.

471. X_Sticks

@Thistle

Have you seen Derek Batemans blog?

http://derekbateman.co.uk/2014/09/20/here-i-come/

Something worth considering?

Glad to see all the usual reprobates still here 😉

472. Paula Rose

Ian honey is Oneironaut still MIA? I’m sure I spotted them earlier, someone check please.

473. Paula Rose

Blimey its like being Mary Seacole, any more dressings needed?

474. Michael McCabe

I do not have a Bank Account or a Credit Card so have never chipped in to Crowd Fund anything or chipped in towards the wee blue book. Though I wanted to. So if anything happens and there is another way to chip in without bank details or credit cards ? Then I am willing to chip in a few bob. As they say. All in a good cause.

475. Paula Rose

Right I’ve gone down the list – number one still missing is Oneironaut – honey please report in, I can provide some much needed relief.

476. Thepnr

Here’s a wee picture, see if you can recognise anyone?

http://i60.tinypic.com/2zdygxy.jpg

477. Paula Rose

Hmm – beautiful Ronnie in the centre, some oik on his left, probably some troublesome trot, but whose the hunk on the far left!!!

478. cearc

I see Ronnie got the gal, as usual!

479. Paula Rose

Ronnie always does – gosh he certainly knows how to hug!!

480. Alex Clark

That’s the brave young girl that climbed the castle in Edinburgh to put up the Yes sign. The 3 guys behind the banner are also well known Wingers.

481. BB

Just the NEW members joined in last few days alone of the three main pro-indy parties – SSP, SNP, Scot Greens – have already totalled more than the entire membership of Scottish Labour!

They’re gonna reap the whirlwind. 😉

482. cal

Coming up. Some Chinese restaurants and carry outs to avoid in the Glasgow area and some others to use in their place.

483. Jim Thomson

@Jim McIntosh 21 Sep 3:33pm

First – those aren’t ballot papers, they look like A4 sheets and Ballots were around A5 in size.

second – the first woman def looks as though she is positioning herself (badly) between a known camera and the box and not acting in a natural way.

third – where is it? When was it? There is an ID stamp along the top of the clip but it doesn’t allow easy location or date/time verification.

Fourth – the container looks as though it has a seal on the edge nearest the camera.

Thoughts:
    Until there is absolute proof that was in a referendum centre of some sort, conjecture isn’t helpful.

If it was in a ref location, was there a reason for positioning that see-through container in view of a camera, or was that just random placement?

If it was a ref location, what were those papers in that box on the chair? Was it in a “controlled and restricted” area? I didn’t notice if the people had passes round their necks. (All people in the South Ayrshire count either had distinctive “Count Staff” clothing or were wearing passes that clearly identified their roles.

I would love to believe that there was skullduggery afoot during the whole ballot to count to declaration process, but all I’ve seen and heard so far has been conjecture and (to use your own words) conspiracy theory. If this is to be progressed, we need hard evidence and verifiable proof. There’s a lot of water muddying going on just now.

484. Ian Brotherhood

Let’s have a dance and cheer up…

Cee Lo Green, ‘Forget You’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bKxodgpyGec

485. BB

Got to agree with Jim here. Without hard evidence we risk wasting our energy on a wild goose chase and damaging our repuation with tin foil stuff or unfair accusations.

486. Ian Brotherhood

Indulge me friends.

An old favourite…

House Of Pain, ‘Jump Around’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7IVAH1JauE

487. Cal

Update on my plans to move money around and purchase various things.

Internet service provider
    Looks like BT, Talk Talk, Telephonica, Vodaphone, EE and Three UK are out. https://archive.today/A8gw9 so that just leaves Sky. Best of a bad bunch I’m afraid but I can’t find any quotes from them directly criticising independence. Anyone?

Purchase of a new laptop
    This looks like an easy choice. It’s got to be Dixon group’s PC World/Currys. They actually said independence wouldn’t make much difference to them
    http://www.retail-week.com/city-and-finance/sir-ian-cheshire-predicts-scottish-independence-price-hikes/5063983.article

Moving my current account
    Like most people, it seems,I’m going to settle on the Airdre Savings Bank

Moving AVC pension
    I think it’ll be Santander. They don’t seem to have said anything nasty about us recently. Does anyone know differently?

New mobile phone supplier
    I’m struggling here! Vodaphone, EE and Talk Talk are all out – see the archive link above. Does anyone have any ideas?

488. BB

Nice choice, Ian! Great pick me up tune. 🙂

489. cearc

Cal,

I’ve used https://www.utilitywarehouse.co.uk/home/index
    for ages phone/electricity and it formerly internet until my 7 1/2 mile phone line could no longer support it and I had to change to satellite.

Always found them very good. Call centre in W. London, usually answer quite quickly.

They also have a referral programme, so if you do please ask me what info you need to put me down as your referer.

490. cearc

Ian,

I remember having a demo of that before the US release. Everybody who heard it liked it and were rather ratty that I wouldn’t let them copy it as it was a not going to be UK released for a couple of months.

Bouncing car music, eh?

491. crazycat

@ Cal

I’ve been using The Phone Co-op (it uses “the co-operative” brand under licence, but is separate from the shops, bank, funerals, etc) for landline and broadband for years – because they are more ethical and owned by their members – and they have recently started offering mobile packages and now a FairPhone smartphone (I don’t have this). http://www.thephone.coop/home

I have had some problems with the broadband, but that is due to my rural location and distance from the exchange, not the provider. (They’ve got a referral system too! I’m not wanting to be in competition with cearc, though.)

492. cearc

crazycat,

No competition. Just mentioned it, as you did because we would be daft not to.

Re long line, it will only get worse. Mine packed up when a dozen holiday chalets got connected five miles down line. Dedicated satellite (Q-Sat) is great! No problems at all since I changed. Dearer but worth it (no referral scheme though!)

493. Cal

cearc and crazycat

Thanks guys I look into that.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.