40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Cal

Sorry “I’ll”

2. Brian Doonthetoon

I think this is the first post I’ve done in Wings since my post of Friday evening. You may recall I mentioned the YES rally in City Square that evening.

Well… Below is the only (I think) post I’ve done in Facebook since the vote, from Saturday evening. I posted it in ‘The Indy Inn’ (now a closed group) and the ‘YES Bus… Scotland’s Dragon for Indy’ page. (Open.) It kinda carries on from Friday’s post.

I was a tad depressed early Friday but attended a YES rally in Dundee’s City Square, with around 150 others, Friday evening.

Today, there was another rally in Dundee City Centre, attended by a few hundred. Ordinary people from the crowd got up to say a few words.

Although the rally was originally planned to support the idea of asking for an investigation into vote rigging, people who had been at the count in Dundee’s DISC said that they had refused to leave the building during the THREE fire alarms and stood at the Fire exits, keeping their eyes on the counting tables.
    In their opinion, nothing untoward took place.

However, a number of speakers made similar points about our way forward. For the 2015 UK General Election, we have to replace as many Scottish Labour MP’s as possible with SNP MP’s.

This could have two effects.
    1. The old rule (pre 1999 devo), whereby a majority of Scotland’s 72 MP’s, elected with Independence in their manifesto, would have the democratic right to hold a referendum on independence, could be triggered if we can return at least 30 SNP MP’s of the 59 MP’s we now elect for Westminster.

2. Because of the way voting intentions are going in England, where it is thought UKIP could hold the balance of power, a strong block of SNP MP’s COULD hold the balance of power and become ‘kingmakers’.

The other upside of Scotland voting this way for the UK election, is that this would give the various, well-organised, campaigning groups within the YES Campaign, the time required to create a credible left-wing political opposition to the SNP for the Scottish 2016 election.

This scenario would also provide the opportunity for ‘soft NO’s’ to see how how they were duped by the Unionist parties, as the pledges, vows and promises are broken over the coming days, weeks and months.

Today’s Dundee rally was followed by a march round High Street, Commercial Street, Albert Square and Reform Street – the crowd filled the whole length of Reform Street, coz people were joining the march along the way.

We ended up singing ‘Flower of Scotland’ at the end of the march, before heading off to the Trades House and Counting House for much needed refreshment on a warm afternoon.

This evening, I am feeling a lot more optimistic about Scotland’s future, than I did on the drive home from the Arbroath count at 5am on Friday morning. The buzz in the air has returned…

Addendum: While we were singing ‘Flower of Scotland’ at the end, three guys with masked faces were seen to approach the rear of the crowd.

The Police, who were handily present in reasonable numbers, pounced on them immediately and shepherded them away.

Onnyhoo, looks like the grass roots YES Campaign is metamorphosing into a grass roots ‘Pro-Independence’ movement. Interesting times indeed.

3. X_Sticks

Off to my sister’s wedding and will be mostly offline for the next couple of weeks.

Will check in whenever possible, but not sure how good comms will be where I’m going.

Lots of initiatives springing up all over the place. I don’t think we’ll see the right way forward until the fog clears. I would just suggest not jumping in too quick. Let’s wait and see what materialises before we decide what is worth supporting.

I would like to see more collaboration between the pro-indy groups. If we stay as disparate groups its going to be difficult, if not impossible, to keep them all funded. Let’s try and use what resources we have to maximum effect.

Derek Bateman, Pat Kane and others are already talking about an alternative media outlet. Could be the start of something big.

I think we’re going to see things happening on the political front too. I suspect Alex has a plan..

They think it’s all over. It’s anything but.

4. Cal

If anyone that has a pension with HSBC, Std Life, HBOS, RBS, Scottish Widows, Virgin, Hargreaves Landsdown, Aviva or AXA, might I suggest you move it to Prudential? They were refreshingly neutral on the matter of Scottish Independence

http://www.international-adviser.com/news/tax-regulation/scottish-independence-to-create-uncertain

5. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one of Cameron Brodie and John Prescott’s favourite bands:

Chumbawumba, ‘Tubthumping’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kS-zK1S5Dws

6. BB

That could work very well as our own theme, Ian.

7. desimond

Folks
    Mate Billy has a sister Maureen in Australia and she is dying to have a YES Saltire fly high in Melbourne.

I searched web there but seems hard to find any for sale post the vote. Anyone know where I could get one for her?

All help greatly appreciated.

8. CamreronB Brodie

Cheers Ian, I do like a bit of Chumbawamba. How did you guess? 😉

Just a thought, as the elderly support for the Union diminishes over time, the battleground to save the Union will have to move on to younger minds. Let’s ban the BBC from schools, where it is not legally obliged to be. Yet.

Messer Chups – Chasing for Young Blood
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RCUyi5iBawY

9. X_Sticks

@desimond
    Tartanpigsy is the man who imported them. Maybe he could help.

10. BB

Bound to be some of the Yes saltires around. I think there were 10000 plus made! I’m hanging on to mine in the hope it’ll not be moth-eaten before round 2 comes about. 😛

11. Alex Clark

I’ve posted this in the other thread but was so late and will likely be swallowed and barely seen. It is just my view.

I’ve avoided posting like I might catch Ebola or something since the referendum. The threads are infected with all kinds of stuff that I didn’t want to catch.

I’ve suspect that this is just the attempt at the “bayoneting of the wounded”.

The conspiracy crap is purely to cause divide and clearly has, don’t engage in it for the sake of your own blood pressure. You can guarantee the more that fall for this then the sooner it will be exposed in the MSM as the “nutty” Yes supporters.

It is a tactic to divide us from the mainstream, lots and lots of posters I’ve never heard of doing just that these last few days.

I’m also not sure of this “45” movement. Absolutely smacks of 1745 and again another means of having the MSM slag you off as Nationalist and anti English, I personally will avoid.

I think we all need to have a wee rest and recharge the batteries, there are ways to win Independence and we can figure them out. The posts over the last few days don’t meet that criteria.

It is now that they want to break the YES support, because you are at your weakest mentally after the defeat. Don’t fall for that.

What I never said is that it is more than likely that a few posters who have been around for a while have been here for the sole reason of stirring the porridge after the referendum.

We are being deflected from our goal. Ignore.

12. Betty Boop

Re Yes Saltire

Mine is still flying about 25 feet up. Can be seen from the other side of the golf course where I know there are a lot of no voters.

Yes signs still in the windows for a while longer.

Alex aka thePnr
    (thank goodness you still have that gravatar)

Re the 45, I agree with you that 45 has its problems and could also imply exclusivity. That is why I still wear my Yes badges, that tells folk exactly where I stand anyway.

13. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m leaving my saltires up as well – until I get my collar felt by the planners for defacing a category A building.

I was at the RIC meeting in the Burgh Coffee House on Tuesday evening. They said that they usually had between 6 and 12 at meetings. A head count at the end showed around 80 had turned up.

Onnyhoo, there’s this on Sunday, 28th:-

“A public meeting to discuss how we organise from here and to bring together all the different groups and individuals that have fought so hard for a better Scotland.
    SPEAKERS TO INCLUDE ROBIN MCALPINE OF COMMON WEAL and BRIAN COX.

We have not – yet – won a country, but we have gained a mass movement. Now we need to plan the next stage in our campaign for freedom and justice.

We need to discuss how independence can now be won, we need to organise ourselves to resist the attacks on our communities coming from Westminster, and any negative consequences that may arise from so-called devolved powers, and we need to ensure that the Scottish Parliament uses every power at its disposal to move us towards that better fairer country that we all voted for.”

That’s Sunday at 14:00–16:00 in Dundee Uni’s Bonar Hall.

https://www.facebook.com/events/149379621899165/?ref=4

14. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m leaving my saltires up as well – until I get my collar felt by the planners for defacing a category A building.

I was at the RIC meeting in the Burgh Coffee House on Tuesday evening. They said that they usually had between 6 and 12 at meetings. A head count at the end showed around 80 had turned up.

Onnyhoo, there’s this on Sunday, 28th:-

“A public meeting to discuss how we organise from here and to bring together all the different groups and individuals that have fought so hard for a better Scotland.
    SPEAKERS TO INCLUDE ROBIN MCALPINE OF COMMON WEAL and BRIAN COX.

We have not – yet – won a country, but we have gained a mass movement. Now we need to plan the next stage in our campaign for freedom and justice.

We need to discuss how independence can now be won, we need to organise ourselves to resist the attacks on our communities coming from Westminster, and any negative consequences that may arise from so-called devolved powers, and we need to ensure that the Scottish Parliament uses every power at its disposal to move us towards that better fairer country that we all voted for.”

That’s Sunday at 14:00–16:00 in Dundee Uni’s Bonar Hall.

http://www.facebook.com/events/149379621899165/?ref=4

15. Brian Doonthetoon

Apologies for double post.

16. Brian Doonthetoon

Moving forward…

17. BB

Now that the the referendum is over, does the information on the various sides funding sources become public? I seem to remember suspicious funding regarding Vote Nob Orders…lots of very unrealistic donation patterns, etc. that were recorded.

Could be worth while holding their feet to the fire with all their rule bending and breaking (there was quite a few dodgy moments in this campaign) to undermine their ‘mandate’ to bash Scotland and empty our pockets.

18. Jim Thomson

and it still rumbles on …

Not sure if there’s any REAL mileage in this though.

http://beyondthe45.co.uk/legal-route/

19. Jim Thomson

Thinking about it though, if it does come to a review, I’d be happy to submit a written statement of my observations during the PV opening.

Might also comment on the lack of fixed timing for the sealing of “empty” ballot boxes before the official polling station opening time.

Damn it, on a roll now … there was also a wee bit of concern raised about the general tidiness of the counting table areas in the main count venue.

And don’t get me started about the free sandwiches and industrial coffee – oh hang on that’s not relevant is it. 😉

20. Paula Rose

Jim dear – I knew you were getting excited at your first sight of my high heels, now take yourself off to a quiet corner and relieve yourself of all that pent up testosterone.

21. Paula Rose

Oh well – nae chance of getting the decorating done with all those tenners in the air so –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUqXM7D2Lsg

22. Paula Rose

I’m just gonna play my favourite tunes…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTfyUqVqX-0

23. Brian Doonthetoon

Another successful crowdfunder going on for “Dateline Scotland”. They, and “BBC Scotlandshire”, injected a modicum of humour into the shenanigans over the past few months.

Let’s see ’em do it! YES we can!

http://wingsoverscotland.com/and-now-for-something-serious/

24. BB

Seems quite a few clinging on to conspiracy nonsense. Been blocked by a few for disagreeing with this approach. Too much paranoia and too little information. Do they really think there will be some big reveal like the end of an Agatha Christie novel, everyone gasps and then they award us independence? 😉

25. Tartan Tory (John Clark)

Alex is absolutely correct. People need to take a leaf out of the Salmond/Sturgeon book. All this conspiracy stuff just makes us all look like idiots.

Anyway, I’m still about, but keeping my head down for a bit. Loads of work to catch-up with too. It’s been a week of grief here. We’ve stopped greetin’ now, but the wife and I are still on short fuses. Needing a holiday I suspect. 🙁

26. Brian Doonthetoon

Good to see you’ve surfaced TT.

You might find the meet in Dundee on Sunday, 2pm, at the Bonar Hall, inspirational.

See my post above…
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-12/#comment-1899007

27. Ian Brotherhood

@Tartan Tory –

Missing you already man!

I remember when you first appeared on WOS, and folk were sceptical, giving you a hard time, but you just charmed your way through it all and remained steadfastly positive.

(And then you met Paula Rose – that, as I’m sure you’d agree, is ‘another story’…)

Hope you manage to have a rest in-between catching-up on the work. More power to ye, and yer missus!

Here’s a song for ye’s both:

Whisky Kiss, ‘Jocks Revenge’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6UabZV94is

28. Alex Clark

Hey Ian

That was something different but really good. Cheers.

29. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for you, with reference to an earlier suggestion of yours 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8kYQlEoBctc

30. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

“something different”???

This is something different. From the glorious years of the syndrum…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhRN-O0VakI

31. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Nice one.

(That’s Stevenston beach BTW…)

32. Ian Brotherhood

@Brian Doonthetoon –

I did watch, and I did last more than a minute…

Extraordinary stuff.

Cheers!

33. Michael McCabe

Ah Music. Good to see it back on Off Topic. And the Familiar Names too.www.youtube.com/watch?v=zwDQxz67ZxA&feature=player_detailpage

34. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one that Paula Rose brought to us many moons ago.

Laurel & Hardy, ‘Pretty Vacant’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nVAahsWM_2Y

35. Ian Brotherhood

The Skids, ‘Into The Valley’ –

A coconut for anyone who can transcribe a solitary line without cheating. N.B. ‘La-la-la la-la la-la-la-la-la’ doesn’t count.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9udxbvHiqGw

36. Brian Doonthetoon

Of course Ian, we can’t feature ‘Into The Valley’ without nodding in the direction of the B side; a thoughtfully put together ditty, which was a standard in the Bell Street Tech’s Students’ Union (the Bowlin’ Alley), for a year or three.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yMFfYJ_LvEo

37. Ian Brotherhood

Check out the crowd going mental here –

Sparks, ‘This Town Ain’t Big Enough For Both Of Us’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QAzESJ62irI

38. Ian Brotherhood

What’s happened to Paula Rose?

TT announces he’s taking some time-out, and she’s disappeared?

Mmm?

39. Ian Brotherhood

Where is a’body tonight?

Eh?

Come on, FFS, it’s like a BTUKOKVNOBNOTHANKS party in here…

Steve Harley, ‘Come Up And See Me’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpJ0cyXbMbI

40. Michael McCabe

Ah the 80s. the Fashion the music. But we are where we are. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=ESy-Z8vqMrE We will start again though.

41. Ian Brotherhood

Yep. 80s.

Blue Nile, ‘Tinseltown’ (Live, on Jools Holland) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F0wkO0aTtec

42. cearc

Just when I thought it was getting safe to read the threads… they’re on about PVt AGAIN!

Sorry about the shout, there. Here’s something to calm down to.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wS21TV8aAEg

43. chipmonkey

Blue Nile. Now you’re talking. I’m not in tinseltown,but it is Saturday Night.(find own link please!)
    Goodnight boys and Paula (if you are around).
    ps Briandoonthetoon-don’t know where you got that thing I found when not sleepy at 5am and reading o/t,but maybe it would have been best left undisturbed LOL

44. chipmonkey

Sorry Cearc. Hadn’t spotted you there 🙂

45. Paula Rose

Hi honeys – just got back from a wedding party, two lovely boys who have been together for 30 years – never too late to tie the knot, so here is a love song…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rPsp8g46ivY

46. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chipmonkey.

You did utter, typographically,
    ps Briandoonthetoon-don’t know where you got that thing I found when not sleepy at 5am and reading o/t

I admit to being bereft of a scoobie as to what you are typing about…

47. Paula Rose

Gosh Briandoonthewotsit – was that your thingy that was bouncing all over the place at 5am, we all had to keep ducking dear, please keep it under control.

48. Paula Rose

Chipmonkey doll, its OK Brian doonthewotsit’s thingy is back under strict control – he’s just emailed me to that effect.

49. Paula Rose

One at a time boys – or not

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpA0oPR_EOQ

50. Paula Rose

What is it with these preacher men?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dp4339EbVn8

51. Paula Rose

Here’s my big sister xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QN56Hrggcvs

52. handclapping

She doesn’t do heels !

We’d better remember this ahead of our next mountain

http://www.metrolyrics.com/keep-on-keeping-on-lyrics-curtis-mayfield.html#/startvideo

53. chipmonkey

Sorry Brian DTT. I read o/t in middle of night,not as it was happening. I was joking re your ‘something different’ massacre 🙂 and using my multimedia device,not my computer. Like now,I couldn’t see properly what I was writing. You’d think I’d learn not to try:-)

54. Quinie frae Angus

Hello all

Glad to see you’re all still here, making merry and sipping sherry.

I have to go back to France for three weeks for work, and I will be in a forest with a load of hairy woodsmen and won’t have much in the way of internet connection. (Paula Rose, you’d be in your element here. But medieval garb is a must…..)

But will look forward to looking in here when I can, and hope to get stuck back into the campaign on my return.

Good luck to you all, dear Wingers. Let’s keep on keeping on.

Quinie

55. scaredy cat

Quinie frae Angus

Hairy woodsmen? Some people have all the luck!
    Enjoy your trip.

Hope to see you again sometime.

56. Patrician

This is too long a comment to go in the main thread and I suppose it should really be stuck on a blog somewhere.
    So here we are, one week and a bit after the referendum, and like most people I am thinking about how we got here, where we are now and how we go on. I like to think I am, at heart an optimist, tempered with a quite strong pragmatic streak. Therefore, I don’t see the loss of the referendum as a major defeat but more a celebration of how far we have travelled in the last few years. It has taken over 300 years to get Scotland to this point; we aren’t going to give up now.

The following are some random musings of mine for discussion, most aren’t fully thought through yet but I will throw them out there anyway.

I can understand those people who want to believe that the campaign was cheated in the counting halls; I was at the count and can assure you that the counting process was scrupulously monitored. To cheat at the level required to get 400000 extra votes would require manipulation on an industrial scale*, not the few hundred at most that could be accounted by the dodgy videos on You-tube and Facebook. The cheating that occurred in this referendum wasn’t covert; it was right in your face from day one. The people of Scotland were bombarded by negative propaganda in a psychological war. There was very little to balance that propaganda, it became the accepted way of thinking. A major lesson for the next campaign is about getting control of broadcasting. “No Thanks” winning this campaign has shown that no matter what people think about the power of new media and the internet, traditional MSM is still by far the more powerful force. One interesting note about this is that the most negative propaganda didn’t happen till the last two weeks by which time almost three quarters of the postal votes had been returned. If we had already lost the postal vote by that time, as some believe, what was the point carrying on with the propaganda? I think that right upto the last minute the result was too close to call.

This broader campaign now faces some hard decisions for the future. Will we, like many campaigns in the past:
    1) Die away. Having lost the campaign, we become demoralised and allow the fight to end. For some of us this has been a long campaign, over 3 years and counting. A campaign of this length was unheard of in any modern country. It has been physically tiring and emotionally draining, and frankly a lot of us need a rest to recharge our batteries. There is a danger for us in losing concentration and then the momentum stalls but conversely by hanging on we start to make the mistakes that only happen when you are tired. This is the time to allow fresher minds to carry on campaigning for a while. We don’t need to worry the fight isn’t going anywhere and will still be here when we return;
    2) Split into factions and infighting. This can be seen already in the lets blame the Yes campaign. I agree it did seem at times to be very happy-clappy but don’t forget how far it brought us. To suit my own personality, I would like the next campaign to be a bit harder hitting. As someone might have said, I come not to bury Yes but to praise it as it has primed the pump for the next campaign. Tommy Sheridan’s plea for everyone to pull together for the May elections next year is hopefully a signal that will be heeded and everyone will stay together, let’s hope so anyway;
    3) Be subverted. The most obvious example of this is Labour making advances towards the remaining Yes campaigners with promises of fighting a common foe, the Tories. Let’s not forget that for this campaign the enemy has been Labour aiding and abetting the Tories. There will also be groups who would like to infiltrate and discredit the campaign, false flag operations will not be out of the question until they have seen the end of the Yessers. We all need to be vigilant for any of these things happening;
    4) Use new media and the internet to stay mobilised. This is the new option for our age and with the help of social media we hold together. This can already be seen in the meetings arranged within a day of the referendum, letter writing campaigns, twitter and facebook interactions. Probably the most visible to non-internet users of this activity is the boost to membership of the Yes Alliance parties. Social media has allowed people who would have been sitting alone, feeling sorry for themselves to stay in contact and mobilise. Misery likes its own company but happiness always seeks a crowd. There have been various types of criticism about the 45ers and similar groups that have formed on twitter and Facebook, it is too exclusive or it is too reminiscent of failed endeavours in the past. What this criticism misses it that these groups are rallying points for people when they are feeling down and alone. Human nature tells us we need to feel part of something bigger; there is power and protection in the herd. In a year’s time no one will remember the 45 but at the moment it is important as a badge of belonging.

So after that rant, what else is there that I have found interesting in the last week. The Ashcroft analysis (if correct) that was published showing the breakdown of the poll by age group has, I think, some good news and some bad news. The good news is that the British state is in terminal decline and this vote has only delayed the inevitable. The bad news is that sadly a lot of our more senior readers will never live in an independent Scotland. Independence will most likely be achieved when the current generation of pensioners are no longer with us. Time will not be denied. tick-tock, tick-tock as the clock counts down on the union.

*For what it is worth, I have experience in working for a large utility company that could print, fold, insert into envelopes and post, 250000 bills in 5 days.

57. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve just done a post.
    It only had one link in it.

When I clicked on submit, the page returned to the previous page (as has been happening since the latest page was created).

However, when I clicked on ‘back’ then reload’, my post wasn’t visible. Did the same thing three times, then pasted in my comment and submitted again – only to get the message that a duplicate post was detected!

So I reloaded the page again – and still can’t see the post I submitted so I give up.

8=(

58. Ian Brotherhood

@Brian Doonthetoon –

Hey mister, don’t worry about it. I had a bad one, just before the big day – must’ve posted half a dozen comments, both here and whatever threads were ongoing, and not one of them made it through. Next day, fine…

59. Paula Rose

All my comments appear – maybe you are using double entendres?

60. handclapping

Cynical H’s nearly always appear in duplicate; surely he must be the one using double entendres?

61. Ian Brotherhood

Come on sumbdy, gie’s a song…

62. Paula Rose

One of the best ever Ian honey – it’s all about hope…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d7wLvPCoJc8

63. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Cheers for that.

You have brought stacks of new and interesting material to this place (especially Laurel & Hardy doing ‘Pretty Vacant’) and I salute you.

64. cearc

‘Pretty vacant’, is that Paula Rose’s theme song?

65. Alex Clark

Here’s an old tune for Paula.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6gEkfwozhE

66. Paula Rose

cearc – pretty dear but never vacant, one for the Rev as long as he has a shave…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8c4urtG7W80

67. Paula Rose

Hi Alex honey – a serious one…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6T9qp9XbRY

68. cearc

Paula Rose,

Not vacant? Wow, don’t say you’ve got engaged?

Kept that one quiet.

69. Alex Clark

@Paula Rose

A wee bit morose for me at the moment. Trying to be upbeat. Do not miss this. There is hope for us yet 🙂 🙂 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XoBMJAEOvPA

70. Paula Rose

Alex honey – if you want an upbeat I’ll be only to happy to oblige, now where’s that smiley spanky thingie?

71. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex Clark –

That Madrid video is brilliant. Cheers.

72. Michael McCabe

Not bad for her telly Debut. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=pdu_IWxSSk4 Still Yes

73. Alex Clark

@Michael McCabe

Ha! Michael if I remember correctly that was the first video you ever posted on Yew Choob?

@Ian Brotherhood

Yes it is good, shows that more than just the Scots want to do something to change the path we are treading. Change is on the way, that’s why I’m sticking around.

74. Quentin Quale

Who mentioned double entendres? If you hang on a minute I’ll give you one.

75. Brian Doonthetoon

Test, just for the sake of it.

76. Brian Doonthetoon

JEEZ! What has this page got against Chipmonkey and Quinie frae Angus?

I’ll try again, in three or more parts…

Part 1.

Hi Chipmonkey.

Now I understand! I bought that single (Deni Reid & The Kilts) when it came out – around 1979/80. It was fine to find it on YouTube.

Here’s another I bought in the late 70s. Not on YouTube so I uploaded an mp3 to an accommodating web site. Not too often you hear bagpipes and steel drums together. It was on the Decca label, and features ‘The Magnificent 7’ with ‘Reggae bagpipes’.

End of Part 1.

77. Brian Doonthetoon

Nope – I’ve just had 4 attempts at trying to post Part 2 and this page just isn’t playing ball. It doesn’t seem to like the paragraph that starts with “A-c-t-u-a-l-l-y-, I m-a-y” and ends with “R-e-g-g-a-e I-n-f-l-u-e-n-c-e”.

So, what I’ve done is take a screen shot of the comment and uploaded it, in a web-wise direction. Unfortunately, this means you can’t click on the link there – you’ll have to type it out by finger, then hit ‘Return’.

Let’s see if this works…

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-7/Rejected-WOS-Comment.png

78. Brian Doonthetoon

HA! This page doesn’t like one or more of the words “A-c-t-u-a-l-l-y”, “I”, “m-a-y”, “R-e-g-g-a-e” or “i-n-f-l-u-e-n-c-e”.

(I just tried to post that without the dashes in the words and, once again, it was rejected.)

So anyone is invited to ‘go figure’.

8=)

79. Brian Doonthetoon

Anyone want to try posting a sentence containing one of those toxic words?

80. Paula Rose

Well what about reggae.

81. Paula Rose

Ah ha no luck with the other four words when in the same sentence.

82. chipmonkey

I tried too! No luck.

83. Paula Rose

Hiya chipmonkey, honey xx

84. chipmonkey

Hiya Paula dear.

85. chipmonkey

We must meet up for a shopping spree soon,Paula. We can search for new heels to take over the march from the yes ones.

86. Paula Rose

I’ve just got myself a very spiky pair of boots – they’re made for walking! But I could do with some new outfits.

87. chipmonkey

@Briandoonthetoon I just lost another post! I’ll have to check out your link later. Not getting it just now. Funny you should mention Alistair MacDonald.I’ve been trying to remember his name re the Glencoe song. Remember him singing that (and something about a Kirkcudbright centepede …

88. chipmonkey

I’m jealous of the spiky boots! Look forward to seeing them soon. xx

89. Ian Brotherhood

Bon Jovi are now so old that they’ve re-named this song ‘Sittin’ On A Chair’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDK9QqIzhwk

90. Paula Rose

chipmonkey honey, I’ll wear them to the next Wings night out! Promise, but I’m not wearing them in the pool if there is one.

91. Brian Doonthetoon

The best version I could find, by the guy who claims to have written it…

The Kirkcudbright Centipede.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vjcdj6tbKyA

92. Alex Clark

@Brian Doonthetoon

Haha loved it. Nice find.

93. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

Yes it’s shit but we know what we’re up against. Now is the time to increase our resolve. I know you’ll stick around doing what you can, as will I. This is partly why.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhEwjCoGru8

94. Alex Clark

You see when people come together they can do wondrous things. I really mean that, we have been doing just that these last couple of years.

This is a great video that just shows what can happen when people collaborate. Check out Prince in the last third, a real star and would give Hendrix a run for his money.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6SFNW5F8K9Y

95. Michael McCabe

I am in this till the Queen stops Purring. Some of us have been waiting years for the chance to rule our own Country and some have just joined the Fight. But we are on a Journey and we will get there in the End. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=g5ZhiIbXh3U If you are not there already then Get on Board. Still Yes.

96. Bugger (the Panda)

Paula

A bit tired last night so went to bed earlier than normal.

Since the 18th my sleep pattern has all been upside down and I am wakening at 6 am and by 9pm I am waning.

I live a 7 hour journey from Paris by car but, there are air and rail alternatives that sometimes can beat the car cost, including autoroute tolls.

I was thinking of going up to Paris for the Auto Show but this starts the 3rd for 14 days.

What are you up for? A week-end, a week?

Paris is still bloody expensive but Oct / Nov it is cheaper, depending on exhibitions and conferences, when the room rate goes stratospheric.

As ED and myself live around Toulouse, it could be an alternative. The problem is access from Aberdeen ( I presume for you). Toulouse is where they assemble the Airbus and the twon has not suffered in the recession. A bit like Aberdeen really. It really has quite a small centre, walkable, although the with Metros, Trams and a good bus service. There is / was a direct flight twice a week from Edinburgh but I think that will be over sometime this month. It was / is a good deal by Jet 2 but is defintootly over this year.

That leaves KLM via Amsterdam which, if booked early and at weird hours is not too expensive in low seasons.

Easyjet do several flights a day from Gatwick which would mean two separate flights and check-ins with loads of time necessary between to compensate for delayed arrivals and the palarva of collecting bags at Gatwick and re registering in the Easyjet scrum to get onto the flights to Toulouse and Aberdeen and then going through the bollox of security and baggage screening.

Bizarre as it sounds, if you are in London, BA is cheaper than Easyjet at week-ends and many people fly to London on Saturday morning to buy sales stuff and high end small electronics, cameras (especially pro photographers) etc. I reserved my MacBook by telephone and flew up to collect on Saturday am and back in the evening for ÂŁ120. A day out and nearly paid by the discount price of something I was going to buy anyway.

Toulouse also has excellent, and I mean excellent restaurants, wine bars and the odd Irish pub. During the week, a lunch will cost about € 12-15 in a restaurant or bistro.

Let me know your thoughts. My e-mail thingy is

innerbearsden@gmail.com

I keep the odd burn e-mail address for porn and other personal services. I often get spam, from Barak Obama and Ed Miliband even written

Dear Bugger,

Stay as sweet as you are.

BtP

97. Bugger (the Panda)

An alternative all year service is Ryanair, Edinburgh to Bordeaux but that would then require a train or car journey to Toulouse and a connection down to Edinburgh.

98. crazycat

@ Bugger (the Panda)

There is also an airport at Carcassonne, with flights at certain times of year from Prestwick (the dreaded Ryanair) – trains from Carcassonne to Toulouse are quite convenient.

I flew from Glasgow via Amsterdam to Toulouse Blagnac a couple of times last year when I had a relative living there; it was much better than via Heathrow, which I also did once due to late booking and inherent tight-fistedness. There were direct flights from Edinburgh in the summer then, too. Toulouse is a great place, especially in its Occitan guise as Tolosa.

99. Bugger (the Panda)

Thanks

I have e-mailed Paula Rose about FlyBE which seem to be offering reasonable flights from Scotland with onward connection to Toulouse.

I always used to use Amsterdam as my international gateway in preference to Heathrow, or Gatwick, which is useless to connect to from Scotland, using BA.

100. Alexandra-M-

Hey everyone, hope you’re all doing well!

Do any of you fine people have any pictures from the various meetings/rallies that have happened after the 18th?

I’m writing an article on post-referendum Scotland and looking for some original pics to include. I’ve found a few on Twitter and managed to get permission to use, but I’m struggling to distinguish photos from before indyref from those taken after.

any help would be fab!

101. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alexandra.

Check out the “Yes Bus… Scotland’s Dragon For Indy” Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1449600478633420/

There are pics from the rally in City Square on the evening of the 19th, from the rally and march in Dundee City Centre on the 20th, and from the ‘full house’ YES meeting on Sunday 28th in the Bonar Hall that had Brian Cox (actor), Robin Macalpine (Commonweal) and Ewan Gurr (Trussell Trust)among the speakers.

102. Ian Brotherhood

Saw an interesting variant on the Bruce/spider story t’other day.

Was in me living room, pretending to study, lying back on the sofa, watching the clouds slowly crossing a gap of sky between the window frame and the gable end of the Community Centre across the road.

Suddenly, a fly struck the web spanning that corner of the window, on the outside, and the spider instantly appeared. I got up and moved closer. (Yes, it’s horrible, but seeing these fights does have a grim entertainment value.)

The ‘fly’ turned out to be a very small, black, shiny wasp of some kind, no bigger than an ant. It had a visible, rather nasty looking sting. The spider made his attack, then (heaven only knows how) realised that the creature was not safe. He backed-off, paused, checked the lines of the web, then swiftly snipped those holding the unwanted guest – the wasp dropped, still untangling himself, bounced off the window-sill and disappeared into the overgrown lawn.

And the moral is…?

103. Paula Rose

Couldn’t stop myself – all those naughty cats

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E3_XRsDP7eM

104. Paula Rose

Ian – Sting as you would be stung by?

105. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

I suppose you’ll be flying directly to Toulouse, then. But if ever you halt, even for a couple of hours, in Paris, drop me a line.

106. SquareHaggis

# National Poetry Day

//m.youtube.com/watch?v=AGcjW57no4M

107. SquareHaggis

Spiders can be fooled by flicking fag ash into their web.

I discovered this quite by accident.

Quite entertaining 🙂

108. Paula Rose

National poetry day?

O fearties of Scotland
    When will we see our like again
    That gave up the fight for
    our own independence
    And cast a no vote to continue
    Westminster rule
    And sent the money
    Down south again

The tills are bare now
    And politicians lie through and through
    We all did our duty
    Which we so dearly held
    And cast a no vote to continue
    Westminster rule
    And now we love being
    A region for sure

18th of September is passed now
    A genetically challenging day
    But we can still vote now
    In our wee pretendy parliament
    And cast a wee vote
    For B-list MSPs
    And make sure we never
    forget our place again

Night all

109. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

No, I don’t like that…

Next?

110. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Aha!

I posted my last before I saw your last, so my last was referring to your one-before-last, and was, in any event, a wind-up.

Good poem. I’m be working on the scansion into the small hours, but my gut’s telling me it’s quality…

111. Ian Brotherhood

P.S. Correction:

‘I’m be working…’

should read,

‘I’m do be will working…’

112. Alex Clark

Pubs are closing a wee tune for the insomniacs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yiPqeeMfmfA

113. Michael McCabe

Some Folk will use any Excuse for a day off Work. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZwGk5xmlq0&feature=player_detailpage Still Yes.

114. Bob Sinclair

Here’s my National Poetry Day Contribution:

Labour are Red
    The Tories are Blue
    David Cameron’s a Bawbag,
    Gordon Brown, He’s one too.

115. Alex Clark

Well Bob yer nae Rabbie Burns that’s for sure but good try 🙂

116. Alexandra-M-

Thanks Brian, those are great thanks!

117. goldenayr

Poetry Day???

Hell hath no
    Fury tho’
    We ane aw hae
    Peety tae
    Mak oor chimes
    Ring fest for aw

And oor dwams
    Comin real
    Richt we maybe
    Richt we dinnae
    Richt we hae
    Tae cry ill yokit
    An tae dae agin

Thon sangs
    Are sung
    Wir feelins fochten duin
    Time tae rise
    An get aff oor knees

Shit poetry
    True feelings

118. Taranaich

@Ian Brotherhood: The ‘fly’ turned out to be a very small, black, shiny wasp of some kind, no bigger than an ant. It had a visible, rather nasty looking sting. The spider made his attack, then (heaven only knows how) realised that the creature was not safe. He backed-off, paused, checked the lines of the web, then swiftly snipped those holding the unwanted guest – the wasp dropped, still untangling himself, bounced off the window-sill and disappeared into the overgrown lawn.

And the moral is…?

Even spiders know better than to mess with wasps? 😀

Another story. This’ll be the last post I make on Wilderness of Peace for a while, so I’m cross-posting on this threat too.

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/the-agony-and-the-ecstasy/

(Might return with another story, something about elephants and fleas)

119. Taranaich

*THREAD, of course. I wouldn’t dream of threatening anything on you fine folk!

120. Ian Brotherhood

Hamish Wool’s Friday Night All-Star Roadshow…

The Dandy Warhols, ‘Bohemian Like You’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CU3mc0yvRNk

121. Ian Brotherhood

Fleetwood Mac, ‘Oh Well’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8RhZDGLEXM

122. Ian Brotherhood

Dave Edmunds, ‘I Knew The Bride (When She Used To Rock ‘n Roll)’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8-gZ7V4Z_Y

123. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Paula Rose:

Dr. Feelgood, ‘She Does It Right’ (Live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=znRAbFIxPN0

124. Ian Brotherhood

b52s, ‘Rock Lobster’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDZy6-fMCw4

125. Paula Rose

Ian honey – until I met you I just didn’t know…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUqXM7D2Lsg

126. Paula Rose

And if anyone does not understand –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bac2wHZoT2Y

127. Paula Rose

Watch out darlings I’m angry –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogypBUCb7DA

128. Thistle

Hello All

Did any of you see out Tommy Sheridan live stream yesterday? We were using a new system for live streaming and had a few initial probs with sound but managed to sort them out. We will be putting up a video of this interview on our YouTube channel soon which was shot separately on other cameras.

We are doing 3 live streams Sat 4th Oct so you should checkout our website for details.

Anyway people I’m walking away from my own wee company to try and do the organisation of Scottish Independence Live Events proper and help in our/SILE own way to create an independent Scottish media with others.

If you can help us citizen live stream journalists, even if it is only ÂŁ1/month or contribute to our crowd funding that will go towards my wages then please follow below…

http://www.independencelive.net/suport-us

Peace & Love

129. cynical lowlander

Kevin, seen part of the interview( including the sound problems) best of luck with the new venture, will try and chip in some support, need to review my monthly outgoings first though.

G.

130. Paula Rose

I like three dimensions…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBGSLWKDMzM

131. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

How about Four Tops?

‘I Can’t Help Myself’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qXavZYeXEc0

132. Alex Clark

Kevin

Subscribed on a monthly basis, thanks for all your hard work and good luck with the venture.

133. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

I’ll raise your Four Tops with the Jackson Five. Call me if you dare!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xW1fXL3s7bk

134. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Good one.

Fun Boy Three, ‘Our Lips Are Sealed’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqQT3oKA3v8

135. Alex Clark

hehehe not watched it yet but couldn’t help laughing as soon as I saw it Fun Boy Three FFS 🙂

136. Alex Clark

We are a product of those times, didn’t the lead singer join The Specials famous for the song Free Nelson Mandela?

We also had the likes of UB40, what happened to the young team this time around? It beats me, seems this was mainly an oldies fight the youngsters not being motivated enough.

Maybe onec they lose their right to free tuition they will get off their arse or maybe not. Confused.

137. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Ye dancin’?

Ye askin?

Ah’m askin.

Ah’m dancin’…

S Club 7 – ‘Don’t Stop Movin”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2q3FJTFgtk

138. Alex Clark

55% v 45% ?

Here’s how you turn it around, you give them what they want.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdR6MN2jKYs

139. Michael McCabe

I Only like parts of this Song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XoRLIJJSG4o&feature=player_detailpage Still Yes.

140. Alex Clark

@Michael McCabe

Still Yes? I am.

If we keep hanging around like a bad smell they will never get rid of us. See you on the next night out. Cheers.

141. pete the camera

the kids say “get with the project” but we have to keep with the project, as Alex says “keep hanging around like a bad smell they will never get rid of us”

and if you are still a bit down here is wee a tune for you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jx6w2gGchoY

142. Balaaargh

Does anyone know if the search function only catalogs posters and detail within the posts themselves and not the comments?

I’m asking because there is an article on the Scottish Statesman site from a NO voter who is harping on about voting green and how iScotland needs a central bank so couldn’t get in to Europe and the SNP are all sheep who follow the cult of Salmond (I’m paraphrasing but you get the gist). I wanted to go back and look at all those posts earlier in the year from Leither, Tellen1 and some of the other trolls who came out with that nonsense and check for similarities.

143. Alex Clark

@Balaaargh

I don’t believe it’s possible to find posts by individuals using the search function. If it’s any use you can view all Tellen1’s comments on Cif here:

https://profile.theguardian.com/user/id/3276818

Some familiar arguments!

144. ewen

Alex Clark says:
    4 October, 2014 at 1:09 am

“We are a product of those times, didn’t the lead singer join The Specials famous for the song Free Nelson Mandela?”

Nah, I think they left the specials and formed fun boy three.
    Ghost town and the lunatics (are taking over the asylum)were my favourites.

145. Alex Clark

@ewan

Your right of course. It was also the reformed Specials that released Free Nelson Mandela after Terry Hall had left. Should have done a bit of research before posting, 01:00 in the morning was a bit late though!

My memory plays tricks on me at the best of times.

146. Brian Doonthetoon

‘Free Nelson Mandela’ was The Special AKA.

147. Alex Clark

This is excellant, Danny Macaskill: The Ridge short film of him and his mountain bike on Skye.

Scenery wonderful. Bravery and confidence, amazing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xQ_IQS3VKjA#t=400

148. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

That was stunning.

I was writhing about in my seat for most of it though…

149. Paula Rose

Here’s a song by a person whose people have very little chance of caring for their land –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXDJneVbEC8

150. balaaargh

Thanks Alex. The bitterness really is strong in that one. Not quite that strong yet on Scottish statesman.

I can’t believe they published that article in the first place given that it really is weak and lacking any substance. The author wanders all over the place, cites personal opinion as fact with no point of reference and then finishes on a conclusion which has no relevance to the rest of the essay. My old English teacher would have given it a D-. Hopefully they will improve their contributors in the future.

151. Paula Rose

Gosh – Ian Brotherhood shows no sign of his biscuit wilting, he’s just arrived and as usual comes with plenty of enthusiasm.

152. Ian Brotherhood

Just for Paula –

A Benny Hill chase scene:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPJFS26gckk

153. Paula Rose

My big sister Claudia was in this movie and my Uncle Jason –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2s0-wbXC3pQ

154. Bob Sinclair

Paula Rose, Ian Brotherhood
    My cake just went all biscuit at that Benny Hill clip.

155. Paula Rose

Bob dear – do get a grip xx

156. cearc

Alex,

Wow, that was really something. Vertigo, what vertigo!

157. Paula Rose

cearc honey! mwah xx

158. Ninja Penguin

Here’s something new for Saturday night. Yew Choob’s post-referendum message to our imperial masters http://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_gwsX4TiHO1ktJ1flTUnJg?feature=watch

159. Ninja Penguin

Oops, sorry, wrong link. It’s this one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJXvWtQ3-_c&list=UU_gwsX4TiHO1ktJ1flTUnJg

160. Alex Clark

@Ninja Penguin

Glad to hear you and Jock intend to continue. Loved the sound effects at the end of the video. Very apt!

161. Jock Scot

@Alex Clark
    Would have posted earlier but my posts haven’t been making it on to either off-topic or main threads ??
    We ain’t going anywhere!

162. Morag

I’ve got a post refusing to appear in the most recent thread, so I’m going to use this as a sandbox to see if I can identify the word that’s causing it. I pray your indulgence.

163. Morag

If the BBC in particular had done its job, we’d be independent now. Its job was to hold both sides to account, not just one. Its job was to scrutinise the claims of the No campaign and expose where they were lying, and in particular where their attacks on the Yes posiiton were partisan and misleading.

Its job was also to look objectively at both possible futures. To examine not just a nightmare worst case scenario for independence, but also to give us a vision of what could be reasonably hoped for if after a Yes vote people simply behaved sensibly.

With nothing but a constant barrage of “you’ll be poverty-stricken international pariahs” to feed their dreams, is it any wonder some who genuinely want Scotland to be independent bottled it on the day?

Sorry, I’m getting depressed writing this, but the press and the BBC are our enemies and they seem to be untouchable.

164. Morag

Fine, that was the second 2/3rds of the post and it’s OK.

165. Morag

Well, Paula, the topic is really the allegation that the press “saved the union”, isn’t it. Or from where I’m standing, destroyed my country.

166. Morag

So, it’s something in the second paragraph that’s stopping it getting through. Now to salami-slice that.

167. Morag

I have no idea what to do about it. Despite the best efforts of a number of committed and talented people, it’s very difficult to launch a new newspaper or TV station and succeed in competition with the existing titles.

168. Morag

Now narrowed down to a single sentence which won’t post. None of the words seems unusual.

169. Morag

Worse than that, it may succeed through capturing the market of the existing Yes voters,

170. Morag

the No voters significantly.

171. Morag

I’ve narrowed it down to four words. All of which are unremarkable and commonly used.

172. Morag

but fail to

173. Morag

The banned word is….

i n f l u e n c e

That is completely and utterly bizarre.

174. Paula Rose

Morag any correlation with comments above 29th Sept circa 9:15?

175. Jim Thomson

Right folks,

dust off your unused fliers, leaflets, booklets and see if you can help the National Library of Scotland document the LOCAL aspects of the campaign.

Their plea for material can be found here http://www.nls.uk/media/1128810/2014-07-referendum-collecting-appeal.pdf

Probably a very worthwhile enterprise.

176. Jim Thomson

the explanation page is here:

http://www.nls.uk/collections/topics/referendum#help

177. Morag

Hi Paula. Looks as if someone else figured the same thing out above, as you say. It may be this is the cause of a lot of the vanishing posts. If we are aware not to use the word, it could save a lot of frustration.

178. Morag

flu

179. Morag

OK, flu is fine but i.n.f.l.u.e.n.z.a isn’t.

180. Morag

inf

181. Morag

CRACKED IT!

It’s the letter-string n-f-l!

Of course, that appears in corn-flakes as well, which is why the two words are vanishing.

182. Morag

nf (just in case!)

183. Paula Rose

Someone owns the national football league in all its permutations?

184. Paula Rose

whoah – no luck with c o n f l u e n c e !

185. Morag

Is it even faintly possible that Stu has set “N.F.L.” (without the full stops) as a banned term, to prevent some sort of contentious football posts?

186. Jim Thomson

not effing likely?

187. Paula Rose

More to do with higher powers not wanting wings used as a conduit for dubious betting.

188. Paula Rose

c o n f l a t e not getting through qed

189. Paula Rose

Also no chance with

i n f l a t e

i n f l a t i o n

i n f l a t i n g

is this explaining loss of comments?

190. Ian Brotherhood

Good sleuthing.

191. Paula Rose

Morag and me – the Rosemary and Thyme of Wings, the scented ones!

192. Capella

@Morag
    Your right. I just checked the last paragraph of my 38 degrees email which wouldn’t post till I rewrote it in simple words. It said:
    “Overall, the more people that sign the petition the more in-fluential it is likely to be. And publicity is bound to help gather signatures.”

Solved!Good thinking Tintin.

193. Jim Thomson

damn it the n-f-l filter hit my attempt at being helpful.

A list of words to avoid:

http://www.scrabblefinder.com/contains/n-f-l/

Remove dashes from n-f-l before using link

194. Jim Thomson

I’ve got a full box of unused hyphens here if anyone needs them 😉

195. Paula Rose

Now my evening will be complete if Morag and Ian Brotherhood send each other a kiss – go on pretty please.

196. Alex Clark

Haha “the Rosemary and Thyme of Wings”

More like Randall & Hopkirk (Deceased) 🙂

197. Paula Rose

Alex dear – be very very careful xx

198. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a big kiss for everyone –

Mwwwwwwaaaaaaaah!!!!

199. Alex Clark

Yes apologies to both you and Morag. Just my wee unfunny joke, though to be fair yours was crap as well LOL

I’ll send a kiss to Ian, Morag and yourself XX

200. Morag

I think the n-f-l thing is likely to explain the vast majority of the vanishing comments.

I know that Stuart set certain phrases to trigger the spam filter some time ago – things people were likely to use as shouty slogans, for one. I accidentally triggered it once by misremembering the name of the Dundee Courier monthly vote thing, and what I typed was one of Stuart’s banned slogans.

I can’t see any reason Akismet would choke on n-f-l without being told to, and I suspect Paula might be right, that it was set as a banned term for some football-related reason. So every post that innocently contained one of the words on Jim’s list has vanished into the great bit-bucket in the sky.

I did ask Stuart about corn-flake once, because it was the one CameronB figured out and it seemed so odd, but he just said he had no idea. Of course you wouldn’t automatically spot that three-letter string in the middle.

If that’s the problem, maybe Stu can take N.F.L. out of the profanity filter, and save us all a lot of annoyance. I just wish we’d figured it out a long time ago.

201. Morag

Hmmm. I typed a post above with one of the banned slogans in it, and it didn’t vanish – it went into moderation. Oh well, we’ll see.

202. Paula Rose

Morag honey – have you sent your kiss to Ian Brotherhood yet? I f not send me one and I’ll act as go-between. Ian dear be polite and send to Morag. I’m practising for my new role as twitter envoy.

203. Ian Brotherhood

Aye, no probs –

X

That’s specifically for Morag, so please deliver carefully, and I’ll give you one later.

204. Paula Rose

She’s coming to get it in person doll and I hope return one xx

205. Jim Thomson

dunno if this has been posted before but it was originally broadcast on 20th Sept. Keiser Report

Fear Mongering from Scottish No voters
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXJk2ZodaNw#t=65

206. chipmonkey

Well done Morag and Paula. That explains the 4 word debacle the other night. So close having it down to one word, didn’t think of just letters.

Brian Doonthetoon – Enjoyed the links (finally). Loved the centipede – transfixed!

Paula Rose and Bugger the Panda – a warning if you are thinking of meeting in Paris – if link works 😉

http://www.dropbox.com/s/yb5l9glshvsh7fi/Paris%20skies.wav?dl=0

207. Paula Rose

@ chipmonkey – I met BtP in Glasgow at the CH2, he is a total gent I went weak at the knees just looking into his eyes.

208. chipmonkey

Oh yes Paula… I remember 🙂

209. Cactus

Howde, hope you’re all doing groovily good. I’ve been spending a bit of time with friends in our countryside, away from the city. Loch-side, open fire n guitars. Time for reflection and reaffirmation was necessary.

Am going to the hope over fear gig this weekend in Glasgow.. hope to meet with some of you there again.

If you’re interested, check out my friends new WordPress website.. take a look at her article on the fricking fracking:

http://www.onewomanriot.com

Cheers!

210. Cactus

(Second repost)

Howde, hope you’re all doing groovily good. I’ve been spending a bit of time with friends in our countryside, away from the city. Loch-side, open fire n guitars. Time for reflection and reaffirmation was necessary.

Am going to the hope over fear gig this weekend in Glasgow.. hope to meet with some of you there again.

If you’re interested, check out my friends new WordPress website.. take a look at her article on the fricking fracking:

http://www.onewomanriot.com

Cheers!

211. Paula Rose

Cactus honey – I hope you behaved yourself sweetie, no bragging.

212. cearc

Cactus,

Ah, relaxation and reflection. You must be feeling less prickly now.

213. Paula Rose

cearc honey I’ll let you in on a wee secret – Cactus is the biggest misnomer of all time – when we did the Arbroath Seafest in a howling gale he divested himself of every stitch so that chipmonkey and I could shelter from the elements.

214. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus –

Welcome back Big Yin.

215. cearc

What even his hat? Shocking!

216. Cactus

Indeed ladies, tonic for the soul 🙂

This has probably been played before, but here it is again with ever-timely theme:

John Farnham ~ You’re the Voice
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tbkOZTSvrHs

217. Paula Rose

cearc – we had to let him keep his hat – gosh I kid you not, barely did the necessary, even Tartan Tory was showing signs of envy, and believe me he is a big boy.

218. Cactus

Cheers Ian Brotherhood, good to be back.

Word on the street is the HoF gathering this Sunday on George Square is gonna be a cracker.. most of the folk I know are going.

I’ll keep an aye out for you too Mr Thistle if you’re going live.

219. AuldA

N F L = New FoundLand?

Those Canadians…

220. Brian Doonthetoon

ATTENTION! Those in the Dundee area.

Team YES Bus is putting on a bus to go through to Glasgow on Sunday 12th for the shindig in Freedom (George) Square. Leaving the Sensation Science Centre bus park at 9.15am.
    Cost is ÂŁ8 to get there and back to Dundee.

If you’re on Facebook, go to the “Yes Bus… Scotland’s Dragon for Independence” page and book your seat(s) in the appropriate thread.

Bob has said that he’ll put on a bus to suit the numbers booking a seat, so anything from a minibus up to The Dragon.

If you’re not on Facebook, leave your name and seat requirements here and I’ll pass them on.

221. Bob Sinclair

HOF on Sunday,

I hope someone is bringing a Wings banner, could be difficult to find people otherwise. Looking forward to catching up with all those going. Really hope its a good crowd, we need to keep the pressure on.

222. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: Bob has said that the bus could pick up en route, ie Dundee – Perth – Blackford – Dunblane – Stirling – Cumbernauld – and so on, so get in quick!

223. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Bob Sinclair.

“a Wings banner”? I’m sure there are more than one floatin’ aboot…

8=)

224. Alex Clark

@Brian Doonthetoon

Book me 4 seats, I haven’t filled them yet but expect to 🙂

225. ronnie anderson

WINGS BANNER WILL BE THERE on Sunday maybe even Twa.

226. Thepnr

ronnie I will bring through the two banners you left at my place.

227. Brian Doonthetoon

I see Thepnr has returned!

Have just booked your seats Alex.

228. Alex Clark

Hello Brian

Was using the wifes computer and the old name was there.

Thanks for booking the seats, see you Sunday!

229. Willie John

I’m rotten at graphics so can anyone help out? I would like to be able to print out a roundel, same size as the now defunct road tax disc. The Saltire showing on the background with a ’45’ centred, around the top rim the wording ‘Lets make it ‘ and around the bottom rim ‘plus’
    If someone can come up with something punchier then feel free to change it.

230. ronnie anderson

THanks Alex maybee’s the Rev will finaly get his signed banner. I have taken one of the banners back to get the eyelets repaired also ordered a new one ÂŁ20, if anybody wants to order their own I will give you the contacts details that would be ÂŁ20 +postage,sees yous all on Saterday & Sunday.

231. Oneironaut

@Willie John
    Think I could help with that.

Do you know what size the discs are?
    Wikipedia says 75mm, but I don’t have one nearby to measure…

232. Willie John

@oneironaut

Sorry I have no idea of the size, and unfortunately I cannot check as I’m in Oz at the moment. Perhaps someone at home can help?

233. crazycat

@ Oneironaut

75mm it is, measuring from the outer tips of the perforations.

234. Oneironaut

@crazycat
    Thanks!

Nice meeting you again last night by the way! 😀

235. Thistle

Hi All
    Del is going to be live streaming on Sunday so say hello if you make it to George Square and get interviewed.

The last time I posted for support, I put in the wrong web link much to my shame.

Anyway, If you would like to help out we really could be doing with it as the money is going to pay for me to go full time to take Scottish Independence Live Events to a new level. Asking for ÂŁ4000 in crowdfunding which will pay me about ÂŁ200/week for 3-4 month plus some expenses involved in running SILE. There are currently 11 people involved with SILE all giving their time free to make things happen. If you can support us please visit our website.

Thanks to everybody who has donated so far, but I need a lot more than what we have reached at the moment and time running out.

Loads of stuff happening including an interview with Ivan McKee on Thu 9th using our hi-end equipment. Also checkout the Darren Carnegie from Glasgow’s Needy foodbank on our website as he discusses what he is doing including police harassment.

Don’t Hate The Media, Become The Media
    We are citizen live stream journalists. People like you, are us.

http://www.independencelive.net

236. caz-m

Ronnie Anderson

Will meet up with you on Sunday Ronnie, my 15 yr old boy Martyn is coming along with his mates, all new SNP members.

237. Thistle

Forgot to say in last posting we are looking for a second hand transit van to convert to an outside mobile broadcast vehicle. If you can helpout and would like your branding on the van then please email us: liveindependence@gmail.com

http://www.independencelive.net

238. X_Sticks

Hi all, the reprobate returns. Just about caught up with everything. Still processing the situation, bit like it seems we all are.

Pissed I won’t make it to the rally on Sunday. I’m away to the US on Sat for a week. Work not pleasure unfortunately. I’ll just have to wait until the next get together 🙁

@Ronnie
    Haven’t forgotten about the granite, just not had time to sort it out yet.

@Thistle
    Added a bit https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scottish-independence-live-events–2
    I’ll have to catch the recording of the rally. Tell Del not to run around too much it makes me seasick 😉

239. cearc

Any sanity here tonight?

Serious stuff? Cake recipes?

Anything but the pointless argument on the main thread, that despite being observed, does not cease to exist.

240. Oneironaut

@cearc
    Yep, starting to feel like I chose a bad time to return to Wings, only to find it wasn’t the same friendly place I remembered…

Might just go back to occasional lurking again.

First though, I’m still working on Willie John’s tax disc design…

Just to check, is that 75mm across (as in diameter) or is it 75mm from the centre to the edge?

Trying it 75mm diameter and it looks a bit smaller than I’d expected.
    Need to see if I can find one to measure tomorrow when I’m out…

241. Ian Brotherhood

This is dedicated to ‘Schrodinger’s Cat’, who has been getting him/herself all wound-up over on the ongoing thread.

Hey, SC! Chill baby!

Dig this!

Yeah!

Wooooooh!

It’s Tina Charles, with ‘I Love To Love’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9rA2Zir8xs

242. ronnien anderson

@caz-m good caz more the merrier do they know they’re under instruction of Wings over Scotland I have ordered a new banner guess who’s up for a crash course in banner hawding.

X Sticks ( reprobate) not at all a gentleman of the 1st order, take care in the land of the free.

Cearc, dinny fash yersel it’l awe blaw away, i’m pissed aff wie it masel but Wingers will prevale.

243. cearc

75mm sounds about right, a tad over 3 inches.

I rather like the the yes/saltire on http://www.independencelive.net front page and have nicked a copy to print when my new printer arrives (print head died on the last one).

Don’t just lurk, we all love you really (especially Paula Rose)

244. ronnie anderson

Ian Brotherhood you must be mellowing in your auld age, its a Fur Baw ah would send SC,hope to see you Sunday.

245. cearc

Ronnie,

A box wouldn’t go amiss.

XXX.

246. TJenny

cearc – that would be a ‘sand’ box? 😉

247. crazycat

@ Oneironaut

75mm diameter

Nice to see you again too.

248. cearc

TJenny,

That would do nicely.

Now get yourself over to the main thread and choose your lipstick.

249. TJenny

cearc – posted re lipstick oor Paula Rose might need if she gets cross – but comments taking forever to appear.

250. K1

For Ian…nice and mellow…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6Jvp3QBwgY

251. Alex Clark

@cearc

75mm sounds about right, a tad over 3 inches.

No it’s not, 3 inches is 76.2mm get your facts right or you won’t be allowed to post on Wings again 🙂

I’m just kidding but factually correct lol.

252. Betty Boop

@ Oneironaut

Good to see you back.

Wings is still a friendly place, but, some folks are a wee bit edgy tonight.

When the smoke clears, it will be back to normal service 🙂

253. Alex Clark

Hello Elizabeth

You didn’t mean me I hope? Though I know you did.

One thing you can be assured of is that Wings is still a friendly place and that I am a friendly person. Who was it that was saying we were to “nicey nicey”?

Wasn’t me, I call it as I see it.

254. cearc

Whoops!!

Slip of the brain – a tad less than, of course.

255. Brian Doonthetoon

Nothing worse than brain slip – but you can get an ointment for it…
    8=)

256. Alex Clark

@cearc

Your post on the other thread about the Crimson King was a reference to Stephen Kings The Stand I take it? You might have missed my post on the other thread.

Been busy tonight.

257. Michael McCabe

Who Live in a House like this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vi81DkeTkLo&feature=player_detailpage Still Yes.

258. cearc

Alex,

Actually, I was thinking of the band King Crimson.
    Didn’t think of the Stand until I saw your comment.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n56rtgtpwKA

That might be appropriate for you tonight.

259. Alex Clark

@Michael McCabe

You are an absolute nutter, but so am I so not complaining!

Official DJ for Wings still gets my vote, hope you can make it to Glasgow on Sunday as it would be good to see you again.

Cheers

260. Alex Clark

Oh dear cearc.

Crossed wires then haha. Sorry but Crimson King doesn’t do much for me. Must be too young lol. First time I’ve ever said that 🙂

261. Michael McCabe

Don’t know if I can make it on Sunday ? Will try to though. Kind of heated on the other thread there eh. What you we’re trying to say in a Sing along kind of way I agree with. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXo6G5mfmro&feature=player_detailpage Alex Clark hope you have a great time on Sunday. Still Yes.

262. Alex Clark

@Michael McCabe

Want to know something? That really cheered me up, and is the point I was trying to make with little success.

I don’t go out of my way to argue futile points with people I’ve never met but I will stand my ground.

Cheers

263. Oneironaut

@crazycat
    Oki doki. 75mm it is 🙂

For some reason the drawing app I’m using seems to glitch out and get stuck on 75.14mm (turned off all the “snap to grid” type options, but it still insists on that extra .14). So might have to trim the edges down a little if I can’t resize it later.

Anyways, working on it…

@Willie John
    Do you have an E-mail address to post it to?
    Otherwise I might leave it in Dropbox or something.

264. Willie John

Can you send it to wj@griminish.ndo.co.uk please. Can it be made public? It would be fun to see 45% of the cars in Scotland sporting it in the place where the road tax disc resided!
    Many thanks for your help.

265. Betty Boop

@ Alex Clark, 1:34am

Hello Elizabeth

You didn’t mean me I hope? Though I know you did.

Sorry, didn’t see your post earlier probably because I had headed off to the land of nod.

Actually, I thought you were rather restrained (in a clenched teeth sort of way), all things considered! Then I found you, Ronnie and the Brotherhood (last seen accosting yessers outside Ayr town hall) chilling out with Tina Charles here in the lounge. 🙂

266. Oneironaut

@Willie John
    E-mailed it to you.
    Is it anything like you had in mind, or am I way off? 🙂

267. Ian Brotherhood

From now, until next May…

Frankie Goes To Hollywood, ‘Two Tribes’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2QAMqTgPKI

268. Alex Clark

Everybody hurts, not like this though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KWGL3SbhLDQ

269. Tackety Beets

There are new on-line publications everyday .

http://www.thehighlandtimes.com/columnists/2014/09/15/tonyblack/

Nothing will ever take me away from my ” Wings” addiction tho’

270. Natasha

Wow, why didn’t I discover this place sooner? Loved the link to Jasmine Thompson, Alex Clark. Can I come and join the party on Sunday? I’m bringing extra recruits . . . 🙂

271. Michael McCabe

Some Folk are just not for Waiting. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMmGUHk9W5w&feature=player_detailpage Lovely Voice and full of Passion. Still Yes.

272. Alex Clark

@Natasha

Great if you can make it, as they say the more the merrier. You won’t miss us we will be arriving in the big Yes bus from Dundee.

See you Sunday xx

273. Ian Brotherhood

Apropos of nothing in particular…

Stone Roses, ‘Fools Gold’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NSD11dnphg0

274. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s another belter.

Radiohead, ‘Bodysnatchers’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRka8e6d8hw

275. Ian Brotherhood

The Clash, ‘I Fought The Law’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KsS0cvTxU-8

276. Ian Brotherhood

The Pogues, ‘Broad Majestic Shannon’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rcfhg2JK6a8

277. chipmonkey

@ Ian Brotherhood – Dad- is that you under an alias? I’ve never heard another soul say apropos of nothing (except me copying).

xx 🙂
    ps if so your musical taste has improved!

278. Ian Brotherhood

@chipmonkey –

Just out of curiosity, what sort of stuff did I used to like?

279. Ian Brotherhood

Maybe stuff like this?

James Last, ‘Non-Stop Dancing!’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KrHr6MLUnrs

280. Ian Brotherhood

Or this?

Sydney Devine, ‘Please Release Me’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BL3hejkomUU

281. Ian Brotherhood

Or this?

Daniel O’Donnell, ‘My Lovely Island Home’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JucnV0W1DOI

282. Jim Thomson

@Ian Brotherhood

OK, If it’s a “torture-off” you want, how about this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_3ld_Cre3BQ

(2nd attempt – fogot to strip off the https bit fist time … grovelling apologies to Stu)

283. Jim Thomson

and has the nfl filter been fixed yet?

284. Jim Thomson

woohoo!

285. Ian Brotherhood

Maybe I was into this stuff…

Star One, ‘Intergalactic Space Crusaders’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fqYusr9LqE

286. Paula Rose

Any more of this and you can go to Quarantine!

287. chipmonkey

Dad are you winding me up? You haven’t sunk to Sydney and Daniel before. I’m off to a wee concert and can’t join in the link sending for the moment. Later…

288. Natasha

Is there actually a Quarantine? I don’t want to end up there; I called someone a troll the other day and got told off by Morag. 🙂

289. Natasha

Just went and had a look; I don’t like it there, it’s scary.

290. Paula Rose

Natasha honey, don’t worry about Morag she’s a wee bit up herself at times.

Now, quarantine is for naughty people who want to have a go at each other for no good reason and anyone who wants to play Sydney Devine or Daniel O’Donnell and their ilk.

Usually this room is far more fun than the main thread – so keep an eye out for when comments are shown appearing here xx

291. Morag

I came here to say something but I’ll go away again. 🙁

292. Ian Brotherhood

The Beach Boys, ‘Barbara Ann’ (live…just about)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogn79KaLe5k

293. Natasha

Come back Morag, we love you! 🙂

294. Ian Brotherhood

@Jim Thomson –

Two minutes of The Kennedy?

That’s not enough to stop me. Not by a long chalk.

Renee and Renato, ‘Save Your Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfpgE1EoOjs

295. Ian Brotherhood

Aw man, I’m on a roll here…

George Baker Selection, ‘Una Paloma Blanca’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfpgE1EoOjs

296. Jim Thomson

@Ian Brotherhood

OK, that’s it. I need to engage the Pracatan attack…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSUJos8Y01M

297. Ian Brotherhood

@Jim Thomson –

Hmmm. Pracatan?

Interesting. I wasn’t expecting that. Nice move.

I need to have a good think about this.

298. Oneironaut

Someone let me know when it’s safe to click on the music links again! 😉

299. Ian Brotherhood

@Jim Thomson –

Okay.

No more mister Nice Guy.

I’ll see your Pracatan and raise you a Dolce!

Joe Dolce, ‘Shaddap You Face’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFacWGBJ_cs

300. Brian Doonthetoon

Catching up with the past 24 hours in this hell-hole…
    8=)

For Cearc and Alex Clark – this is probably my favourite album track of all time in the world ever…

Must be listened to with eyedroves closure to let the brainbockers implodey in rioty fashlode.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGTy7eOmL7M

For Ian Bros…
    You heard this version of Barbara Ann, from when they still hadn’t quite figured out the lyrics?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Io8SO4FrLQ

301. Ian Brotherhood

@Briandoonthetoon –

Superb.

In my heid, that’s what they always sounded like.

302. Ian Brotherhood

A pre-emptive strike:

Lena Zavaroni and Bonnie Langford duet, 1978 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7u3-TQ1tiU

303. Betty Boop

Test

304. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

That’s more like it some real music for a change!

Loved Sydney Devine and Renee and Renato, was really looking forward to Una Paloma Blanca only to find you got the link wrong 🙁

The correct link is here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gQK9k42ongU

305. Alex Clark

@Brian Doonthetoon

Barbara Ann. Just brilliant LOL

The Young Ones from an old One!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DXS4_y6fU0&index=4&list=PLNJaWRoqDmXO4jfRJ6729SrB_Kl3ZmIhE

306. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Jackie Wilson/Jocky Wilson confusion:

Check out the screen behind DMR (good shot about 50 secs) as they perform this on TOTP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jC6goaOrEvQ

307. chipmonkey

A quick look at the titles makes me realise this was a good night to be out! Out at a brilliant gig by Lulo Reinhart Latin Swing Project – in the little theatre in Birnan Arts centre. You can all feel jealous 🙂 xx

308. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood
    Hahaha Just saw Jocky. 1982? Jeez was it that long ago, I guess I’m getting on a bit now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Es3Vsfzdr14

@chipmonkey
    Hope you had a good time, you deserve it.

309. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

That last one you posted was brilliant. Cheers mister.

310. Michael McCabe

It is hard to Imagine other People Singing this Song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVAQl7qq-aI&feature=player_detailpage Still Yes.

311. Michael McCabe

Ok Ian I will see your Sydney Devine And I will raise Jim Thomson’s Pracatan and hit you with. You Know My Name. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9DkaRUtp3w8&feature=player_detailpage Kinda hard to beat Brian Doonthetoon’s Barbara Ann Though. Still Yes.

312. Alex Clark

@Michael McCabe

I’m still smiling at your post from 1.24 so haven’t looked at your latest yet. I don’t know what’s happening but at least our choice of music appears to be getting smarter!

Sydney Devine and Renee and Renato for example were a master stroke. All you NO voters watch it and weep LOL.

313. Michael McCabe

Hi Alex No No No Yes Has put up a good wee link over on by way of Example at 1-20am A Letter from pete Wishart to David Cameron. Makes a few good points.

314. Betty Boop

@ Ian Brotherhood and (now) Michael McCabe,

I tried to post on this thread last night (or in the wee, sma’ hours anyway), but, couldn’t for some reason. So, I am trying again as proxy for Jim Thomson who had disappeared off to the land of nod by then.

As a counter bid in the awfulness stakes and staked against your Joe Dolce: Shaddup ya face and the Beatles: You know my name, the offering from the Thomson household is ta dah…,

William Shatner: Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds. Be grateful it is NOT the live version.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8obtRtealE

315. Betty Boop

Another test cos I’m having a problem with this page

316. Betty Boop

Okay, so page seems to be working now I have switched to Chrome, which I usually avoid.

Can somebody post some good music – pleeeease…? Save us from ourselves!

@ Michael McCabe, 2:04am

Read that letter from Wishart – seems to be the start of “holding their feet to the fire”. Mind you, Cameron usually ignores Pete Wishart by shouting abuse at him.

317. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

After last night I’m not at all sure what ‘good music’ is any more. Marguerita Pracatan has been dominating my thoughts all day.

Someone else will have to kick off the Friday Night Special…

318. Paula Rose

Ian honey – time to kick off my heels and dance barefoot – little red rooster by god.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Vr-DR5HdKw

319. Oneironaut

@Betty Boop
    Works ok for me without Chrome. I’m using a modified version of Firefox 26 here.

If it helps, I’ve got script filters running that are currently blocking the Google Analytics and Google+ scripts.

Heard some conspiracy theories around that they’re interfering with non-Chrome browsers. But can’t say if it’s true or not.
    Wouldn’t really put anything past Google these days though…

320. Paula Rose

Ian honey – my favourite sisters – ( I heard it somewhere )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bac2wHZoT2Y

321. Paula Rose

So true Ian honey – so true

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Id_UYLPSn6U

322. Paula Rose

Roses are so important –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXH9DVS76yM

323. Michael McCabe

Why do I come on to this web site ? Well lots of reasons. Mainly for the great articles the Analysis and the Humour. But the great People are http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuQvja_t1FY&feature=player_detailpage Still Yes.

324. Tam Jardine

Off Topic, old friend…I have missed you these last few weeks. Am preparing to visit the wunderful Northumberland coast the morn to build sandcastles and write ‘END LONDON RULE’ in the sand with my kids.

I have a nagging feeling that we’re due a Wings night out. I am free in November. Let’s go drinking in November. I am missing Hope over Fear this weekend and the Scotland double header. Can I please have some suggestions – a sat night in Glasgow or Edinburgh in November. And if anyone kens a publican who wants some bizniz then speak up.

325. Paula Rose

But I also smile xx Hi Tam honey xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUUSdvwEC_Y

326. Paula Rose

Oh yeah – I believe xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XfuBREMXxts

327. Paula Rose

Irresistible darlings – what more can I say?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbyAZQ45uww

328. Michael McCabe

@ Betty Boop You win hands down with William Shatner. Then I found This. And I was Surprised. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4nACM44Xn00&feature=player_detailpage Still Yes.

329. Paula Rose

Babes – you have unleashed all sorts of hell –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9NSpAdGxgU

330. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Superb. Never knew he did that type of thing.

Nimoy wrote an autobiography called ‘I Am Not Spock’. A few years later he released a sequel called ‘I Am Spock’.

He’s a mixed-up dude…

331. Paula Rose

I just don’t know – but I walk the line

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEV58ztuihs

332. Tam Jardine

Paula Rose

Hi Paula… any ideas for a suitable date to hook up? It has been too long. Much longer and a film will grow over it

333. Paula Rose

Oh Tam honey – I was entering a maudlin’ hell of despondency and then your youthful exquisiteness awakes the fire in my heart – you are a gem, let us arrange a meet up in Edinburgh, I’m sure TJenny will let me stay in recompense for having been very beastly in the last 15 minutes.

334. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

In the last day or three, probably in this very thread, somebody suggested ‘Friends of WOS’ 6 / ‘Friends of WOS Glasgow’ 3 on 22nd November to coincide with something going on that day (RIC Conference?)
    Nobody intimated agreement with the suggestion…

335. Michael McCabe

The Man in Black Explains. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t51MHUENlAQ&feature=player_detailpage Still Yes.

336. TJenny

Paula Rose + Tam – I also want another Wingers’ night out. Was/is there an Edinburgh equivalent of the YESBar in Glasgow? I know there were pubs which were giving out copies of the WBB, maybe we should try and support them?

Paula Rose – didn’t mean to be beastly, more to highlight that clearly, we cannot always take what folk tell us face to face as fact. We live among liars and deniers.

If we have night out in Edinburgh, of course you can stay and this time, I might even have ……. comestibles , ooh, and mugs! 😉

337. Paula Rose

I’m not still yes – I am a very active yes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rpeOipJmsXM

338. Paula Rose

TJenny honey – sorry doll I ‘m still in your debt, your bed was so comfy, I am a naughty girl I really should of stopped you having to share the floor with Cactus. Never mind we live and learn.

339. Paula Rose

They tell me there is nothing unique about Scotland – I beg to differ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0hr3WmMgb5w

340. TJenny

Paula Rose – tis OK, both our hats afforded protection from jaggy bits.;-)

341. Paula Rose

I love this country that gave me a home

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6qWWgntTdO0

342. Ian Brotherhood

Need some help here friends –

A song, a ‘hit’ around ’76, ’77, thenabouts.

It was a mellow soul tune by a group, and the singers (all male) introduced themselves, then named their star-sign, and described the kind of ladies they preferred.

Anyone know what I’m on about?

“I’m Brian…I’m Gemini, and I like a lady who…”

343. Paula Rose

Ian dear – I can’t be bothered, no more your juvenilia or mine, I am loving the beauty that is Scotland – my dearest home.

344. Tam Jardine

TJenny & Paula & Brian

22nd sounds guid for Glasgow if there is RIC action through there. Maybe scope for a pub crawl in Edinburgh the weekend afore or after.

Let me think on it. My brain is working as slow as my Samsung right now.

G’night friends x

345. Paula Rose

TJenny honey – I think you rather scared young Tam with your over concern, next time can I have him all to myself?

346. Paula Rose

Or we could share

347. TJenny

And it’s nighty, night from me too.

348. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Float on Brother. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZklwTGZutc&feature=player_detailpage Still Yes.

349. Paula Rose

Yes darlings I’m this old –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9Eck6rox0s

350. Paula Rose

btw – this is the last time I saw these exquisite men –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-mMd6D1Gw1g

351. K1

Paula Rose, 12.10am.

Hauntingly beautiful, thanks for that, soul moving.

352. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee folk song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iaN8M0pDOeM&feature=player_detailpage Still Yes.

353. Paula Rose

I can’t do still yes – I can only do yes movement –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Io-n-WIcj_M

354. Paula Rose

And I suppose as we are not doing still but are keeping on trucking – another genius is called for –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0c4l_T3KRNo

355. Paula Rose

Of course when we were doing england’s dreaming you did –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytii7-bUxuk

356. Paula Rose

but we did this –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytii7-bUxuk

357. Paula Rose

Ooops messed up there – eek, try this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8z2M_hpoPwk

358. Michael McCabe

For all those with a sweet tooth. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yLuQidPuFTc&feature=player_detailpage next song is for Paula Rose.

359. Paula Rose

Michael dear – be gentle.

360. Paula Rose

Not still Yes – moving onward yes –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fASRDQ6QQA

361. Michael McCabe

Moving onward Yes. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jb9AuSVu1Yw&feature=player_detailpage Yes till I die

362. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Thanks so much for locating that. It’s been annoying me for a long time.

Bit of an unfortunate name, ‘The Floaters’, but a great tune all the same.

363. Oneironaut

“Nimoy wrote an autobiography called ‘I Am Not Spock’. A few years later he released a sequel called ‘I Am Spock’.

He’s a mixed-up dude…”

And now he’s playing Spock while someone else is playing Spock too.
    It’s all very illogical!

364. Betty Boop

@ Michael McCabe, 10:15pm, 10/10/14

@ Betty Boop You win hands down with William Shatner. Then I found This. And I was Surprised. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4nACM44Xn00&feature=player_detailpage Still Yes.

LOL – You have found me! What was so bad about my song? I may have to be known as Mae Questel now! 🙂

365. Jim Thomson

A salutary tale, with specially included mention of a slippery nipple for Paula.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJxCS5gjtZk

366. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

BTW, did you arrange your French escapade with Bugger (the Panda)?

367. Paula Rose

@ AuldA – hi honey, its not going to happen this season but there will always be another chance.

368. AuldA

@Paula Rose:
    Bummer! He was so excited about it. We’ll have to solace him now…
    You should be careful with pandas’ hearts. They are fragile!
    I fear he decides to go into hibernation…

369. Paula Rose

It’s alright AuldA – pandas cannot choose to hibernate and their hearts are more robust than many are aware, they have steel where it counts (I know).

370. Natasha

You’re all on drugs! 🙂 PS can I have some?

371. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – just touch the screen whenever you comment or refresh and the force will be with you xx

372. Jim Thomson

ahhh, @Natasha you need one of these

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DyEjXgpD-n8

373. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

Very well. It seems you’re leading by far when it comes to panda tending. I take your word for it. Steel, I’d not want our local Panda to look like Terminator.

@Natasha:

It’s called « Calissons » : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calisson

374. Ian Brotherhood

The Blue Nile, ‘Saturday Night’ –

375. Ian Brotherhood

The Blue Nile, ‘Saturday Night’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uLPVgCZtXiM

376. Paula Rose

@ AuldA – between you and me, it was fairly obvious the lovely Panda was very excited to meet me, luckily I had my needle and thread to hand – no one at CH2 noticed.

377. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Huh?

WTF did you do to the guy?

378. Paula Rose

Ian honey he showed his excitement a bit obviously, being the gentle person I am, I popped it back in and mended his zip.

379. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I surmised that it involved some kind of compromising protuberance, but I feared you had stitched it to one of his legs.

As Archie might say, ‘Wooooof!’

380. Paula Rose

Ian darling – considering the number of times I have had to hide your blushes, really dear.

381. Michael McCabe

@ Jim Thomson 6:17pm that Song was Class. Cheers.

382. Michael McCabe

It is Amazing what you hear down the Pub. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WwaPv1rZiQ&feature=player_detailpage Yes till I die.

383. Croompenstein

or the Jayhawks….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=USJ-gaQQAD0

384. Croompenstein

The other boss(apart from Stu)…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hc-xXOE1Jws

385. Croompenstein

Nothing seems to be posting..I’ll try another one.. Scottish music..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ej9BRaf1egY

386. Paula Rose

@ AuldA honey – I always walk barefoot in sacred spaces, I have visited many mosques, cathedrals, temples and ashrams. I do not know of an important place in the UK that I have not visited – I have an aversion to bringing the outside world into our precious spaces. I always get funny looks when I choose to walk carefully in places considered sacred, why do people wear boots in temples?

387. Croompenstein

This poignant ballad written by Frank and Sean O’Meara in 1985,and recorded by Jim McCann in 1986 ,tells the sad story of the wedding of Joseph Plunkett,one of the leaders of the 1916 Rising in Dublin and Grace Gifford his sweetheart,a Protestant who converted to Catholicism, whom he married a few hours before his execution in Kilmainham Prison.The Easter Rising began on the 24th April 1916 and ended seven days later with the surrender of the Irish soldiers.The leaders of the rising were executed by firing squad and their bodies dumped in a mass grave at Arbour Hill.Joseph Plunkett and Grace Gifford,having been engaged the previous Christmas were due to be married on Easter Sunday 1916 but the rising changed all that. As Joseph was condemned to death,Grace purchased a wedding ring at a jeweller’s shop in Dublin City centre and she and Joseph were married in the chapel of Kilmainham Jail in the presence of armed soldiers.Grace died in 1955.This video presentation is for educational purposes and social commentary only. No copyright infringement is intended

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EvOfcF6dkxU

388. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

I suppose BtP had guessed you were a darn mistress!

Regarding churches and temples, my biggest scunner, apart from tourists clad in shorts or miniskirts, are the boors who wander and chat loudly during the offices. The churls that mistake sacred places for malls or stations.

389. pete the camera

Hi all just a wee update on the Dundee team Yes buses visit to freedom square Glasgow for today’s hope over fear rally we took donations for badges with all money going to food banks in Dundee and Glasgow, we raised ÂŁ86.05 for the Dundee food bank and Ronnie Anderson will update with the amout raised for Glasgow later tonight, a big thankyou to all that donated.

390. Alex Clark

@Jim Thomsom

Sorry I missed you today, I tried phoning back as I couldn’t get near the stage when I returned due to the crush. We had my brothers grandson with us and it wasn’t worth the effort.

I hope you found the others though.

391. Betty Boop

I’ve been working my way through the music posted here, some funny, some nostalgic, some beautiful and quite a lot really BAD. Coming to Off Topic is a bit like going to a pub, conversations going in every direction and none and it is good to be less than serious for a time.

@ Michael McCabe, 11:14pm, 11/10/14

Loved the Lisa Hannigan song. Note to self, remember to visit Eire some time.

@ Croompenstein, 12:36am, 12/10/14

Lodi, CCR – Brought back memories of sitting on chairs in the shallow water at the edge of the Colorado River with our fellow rafters on a still, balmy summer evening, during a G Canyon trip 11 years ago. Someone had brought a cassette player and we were listening to very similar music, the sound rolling around the canyon walls. It was really very surreal (especially as we were all eating dinner and dressed for the occasion!). We were a strange bunch and it would take quite a bit of explanation – but, thanks for the nostalgia.

@ Jim T, 6:17pm, 11/10/14

Thanks for reminding me of the hilarious Dave Gibb. Laughed just as much as the first time I heard The Night of the Fiery Mitt.

and

Paula Rose,

Loved your choice of Scottish music – beautiful.

392. Betty Boop

@ Alex Clark, 8:39pm

Yep, sorry Jim and I missed you today. Understandable if you had the wee lad with you – the middle of that big crowd wouldn’t have been much fun for a youngster.

We found everyone thanks to your directions and it was good to be back amidst the Wingers again.

We’ll catch up with you next time 🙂

393. Alex Clark

Hi Betty

Wasn’t all lost though, we just “retired” to the bar in the Millenium Hotel opposite the square and had this best view posssible 🙂

Also who would you believe came and stood right outside the window we were standing at? It was only Cactus and his sister came along so we didn’t get bored.

Hope this is not too boring but shows what’s possible!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TYJzcUvS_NU

394. Paula Rose

Well seems you all had a great day in Glasgow.

My mac is dysfunctional so seeing if I can comment using my mobile.

395. Alex Clark

Hi Paula

Sorry you missed it, hope things went well at your other appointment.

396. TJenny

Been looking at all the pics from Freedom Sq today – looks like everyone had a great time in the sunshine, and the sight of the crowd must have sent a few shivers running round Blab, looking for spines to run up. 😉

O/T – do we all think that the Rev’s absence from here and Twitter since yesterday, is ’cause he’s got better at being on holiday rather than he’s been kidnapped – his last tweet’s somewhat ominous.

397. Betty Boop

@ Alex Clark, 11:47pm

I wondered where Cactus had gone – in the pub, eh? (well, hotel).

Had a look at the video and I am not sure whether you think, if I put the effort in, I shall one day be able to play piano like Vangelis or run a 4 minute mile!

Enjoyed the music though 🙂

398. Betty Boop

@ pete the camera, 8:37pm

Good to see you and Briandoonthetoon at the rally today. Hope you had a good, comfy seat on the way back to Dundee!

Good result on the collection.

I will treasure my two new Dundee badges. Especially like the “Dundee pehs for Eh!”

Till the next time! 🙂

399. Michael McCabe

A Wee song for all the simple souls like Myself. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dgHxqzsIeeE&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die.

400. Alex Clark

Well Michael McCabe

A first for me with the drums as her legs, quite sexy legs too though not seen often enough 🙂

401. ronnie anderson

Pete the Camera / Briandoonthetoon I got mugged on the way home in the train Tipical Dundonian, tain the 57% Dundee badge but she wiz a nice wee Dundee wifie.

Maryhill foodbank donation ÂŁ68.10 makeup ÂŁ70 Thanks Guys, posted on main thread earlier.

402. Alex Clark

ronnie

Kin you no sleep 🙂

403. Alex Clark

Right I definitely played this song many months ago, it’s a good song but I don’t even think I had the whole story till now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zMzN9sIFI9g

404. X_Sticks

Hi all, good to see Wings still flapping and glad I was able to make it.

Sorry I missed you Alex and never got a chance to speak to Cactus either – too busy holding up the Wings banner and by the time I was relieved you had disappeared. Next time.

Thoroughly enjoyable day and amazing amounts raised for the foodbanks just from selling a few badges. Well done all.

405. Jim Thomson

I’ve just uploaded the George Square photos to my Dropbox account.

There are a lot which aren’t Wings specific but, the ones that are can be picked out as:

DSC_0043; 0055; 0056; 0073; 0075; 0077 & 0078.

The jpgs are all quite large at around 10MB each so might take a wee while to download.

If anyone needs/wants the higher resolution raw images let me know. They are much larger at around 23MB each.

Enjoy 😛

http://www.dropbox.com/sh/zk3hwe3br4n09gf/AAAojL9RGabqOOez4NAILJUTa?dl=0

406. Jim Thomson

@Betty Boop

the whole lot are also on the P: drive in the 2014 folder 😉

407. Jock Scot

Great to meet up with the Wingers yesterday and my head has a few ideas rolling around it so you have been warned..speaking of warnings and as promised..

Content warning..1 sweary

Hi folks…Cut to the chase..wee Ruthie pissed off Ninja Penguin..thanks to Janet for help with the images and placating an ‘Angry Bird’..phew.. NEXT!!!!!!!!!!

408. Betty Boop

Just trying to figure out what is going on with posting and retention of posting details …

409. Betty Boop

mmmm … not retaining name and e-mail details. Weird.

410. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

What did you do to your Mac to render it dysfunctional? Hmmm…
    Nothing to do with the webcam I hope! 😉

411. AuldA

@Jim Thomson:

Nice pictures. Out of mere curiosity, what’s your camera?

412. Morag

I totally don’t understand this. I’m having precisely zero problems on any of my devices – new PC with Firefox, old PC with ancient version of IE, or phone. No vanishing posts, everything posts immediately, and my name and email address stay in the fields.

Why is the problem affecting some people and not others?

413. AuldA

@Morag:

You’re going to be a real goos sleuth if you want to solve this computer mystery.
    Clearly, it seems so other form of automatic moderation is needed.
    Maybe something based on IP address recognition and/or email?

414. Morag

Redundant comment. I happened to find a text file on a memory stick, called “vanishing post”. I’d saved one of the Wings posts that wouldn’t post for me earlier. It did indeed have the word “influence” in it.

I wonder if there’s another character-string trap, if some posts are still disappearing?

415. Morag

AuldA, I don’t know how many IP addresses I use. There’s my home broadband, and my work network, and then there’s anywhere I can latch on to with my phone, which includes cafes and any unsuspecting householder with a BT Home Hub installed.

No problems anywhere.

416. AuldA

@Morag:

What I do see here is that when I post a message, it appears. Then I go back to the (clotted) main thread, come back, then my message has magically vanished.
    But then it reappears later on.
    I admit that can be unsettling to some.

417. Morag

The only things Stu does is put all new posters into moderation for their first post, and he has certain “profanity filters” that either zap posts completely (like NFL did) or put them into moderation (slogans like s-a-o-r a-l-b-a or the good old r-e-f-r-e-s-h p-a-g-e). I can’t see why these should affect some regular posters and not others. (I do wonder if there is another lethal letter-string though, as I said.)

The log-in details not being retained is something that happened during the early stages of the defence against the DDOS attacks, before the server upgrade, when cacheing was increased. But then it happened to everyone, not just some people, so far as I know.

If someone would retrieve a post that’s vanished and salami-slice it, we might at least discover if there’s another character-string causing problems.

418. Morag

That doesn’t seem to be happening to me either. I can’t understand why I have such a charmed life on three very different devices, either.

419. Morag

Posts with a lot of links also go into moderation, but as far as I know they’re visible to the poster with a note saying “awaiting moderation”.

Un-cropped YouTube links will vanish, but I imagine anyone that has happened to will realise why.

This is weird.

420. Patrician

@Betty Boop, re. not retaining login details. Please check your browser setting for retaining cookies. Your login details are stored in a cookie stored in your browsers cache, so each time you login the browser reads this file and autofills the boxes. Depending on the browser and when it is updated, it can clear out your cookies or change the setting of how long the cookies are kept on your device.

421. AuldA

@Morag:

Frankly, I have no idea. I am very leery when it comes to syntactic filtering, such as ditching whole posts because of patterns, precisely because, as you point out, it may remove what it is intended to cut off, but can also chuck a lot of ‘normal’ words and messages and create a mess. My point of view is that it’s more harmful than useful. But I’m not Stu.

Maybe Stu has whitelisted you so that you messages pass through whatever you write. It’s possible. I do it regularly on my server to adjust the spam filter.

At least, I think he should publish the current list of fatal patterns. That would help people debug the problem.

I was thinking about an IP filter, but since (I surmise) lot of people post from smartphones whose IP address shift constantly, this is just unfeasible. I wish IPv6 would already be deployed.

422. AuldA

@Betty Boop:

BB, Patrician is right. There is a fair chance you’re using some kind of private browsing, that does not allow cookies to be stored locally for privacy sake.

423. Morag

Honestly, I don’t think Stu has whitelisted anyone for special treatment. (I’m not getting special treatment anyway, I’m just getting normal Wings behaviour.) And as far as I know he’s only blacklisted a small handful of people who were either trolling or posting death threats.

The NFL thing suggests the profanity filter hasn’t been used in a very selective way. I’d at least have set ” NFL” and “NFL ” on the basis that the initials would almost always have a space either before or after, but these letters were very unlikely to begin or end a legitimate word. But Stu just banged in the three letters and he didn’t realise what he’d done when I asked him if he had any idea why “cornflake” was being rejected. So it’s not impossible he’s put some other elephant trap in there without realising it.

That doesn’t explain posts that appear and then vanish again, or details not being retained in the comment forms though.

424. AuldA

@Morag:

You never know.

I don’t know how that ‘profanity’ filter works. I’d expect it to be based on PERL, therefore using RE (regular expressions) rather than plain text specifications. In the former case, I’d also expect an expert programmer such as Stu to master them. So I am reluctant to admit he’d fall in such blatant traps.

It would be nice if the filter would, for example, colorize or highlight in real time the words that are not going to pass through, but that would require some AJAX programming maybe beyond what this CMS allows. Alternatively, people could get an error message saying ‘Your message has been rejected because it contained XXX or YYY’; that would be so more informative than just putting them in a black hole, rotating or not.

425. Patrician

@AuldA, Stu is not programming here, this is a Word Press site. All entry will be done in text boxes.

426. AuldA

@Morag:

Sorry if let you solve this pickle alone, I am frazzled. If you succeed or gather any significant clue, please tell me!
    ’night!

427. Ian Brotherhood

Tumbleweed:

428. Paula Rose

I’m having problems with h-o-n-e-y, d-e-a-r and d-a-r-l-i-n-g xx

429. Ian Brotherhood

@Morag,

This is for you:

Craig Murray, in interview.

(N.B. It’s approx 12 minutes long, so you might want to let that time lapse before responding.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mhv4_lCOzXc

430. Michael McCabe

A Nice wee mellow song for this time of day. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iIwl5VrqEfw&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die.

431. AuldA

@Patrician:

Yeah, I know. That’s the problem of this kind of blogs. You trade off power for ease of use. But nevertheless, I’d expect the filter to let people enter regular expressions rather than brute letter combinations.

@Paula Rose:
    I suppose ‘darling’ has some unseemly tones, especially with a capital D…

Good day to everyone!

432. Jim Thomson

@AuldA
    re the camera – it’s a Nikon D5300 with one of their 18-140 lenses.

I’ve used Nikon hardware since the late 1970s (Fe body and a variety of lenses and a bizarre range of film stock from infra-red sensitive to pretty slow, high density, colour stock).

Though about Canon when I was considering this current one, but had too much invested in lenses from previous purchases 😉

433. Jim Thomson

Though = Thought

434. AuldA

@Jim Thomson:

I see. I bought a D3300 recently to replace my old D90 (too heavy and too blind in twilight). I considered the 5300 but finally decided it wasn’t worth the extra money.

Have been also a Nikon fan since about the same date (had a FM body). Still owning a lot of lenses. I too have used Infrared Ekta that had to be stored in the fridge. 320 T for incandescent inversible shots. When it came to print, my best film was the mythical Velvia 400 from Fuji. I still have the tank and some Ilford sheets dating back in the 90’s when I was developing and printing my own B&W shots… (For B&W, I stuck to Kodak T-Max 100/400).

That was another epoch. As if we were Neanderthals… 😉

435. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

Does it surprise you that D-a-r-l-i-n-g be banned? 😉

436. Jim Thomson

@AuldA

I used one roll of IR stock, can’t recall the brand but was probably Ekta, and donated a second to a pal of mine who was into wild-life photography (many, many, years ago). His results were much better than mine 🙁

437. AuldA

@Jim Thomson:

As far as I remember, you could find two brands of IR film. One was panchromatic with extended sensibility. Together with a deep red filter, you could get astounding B&W shots featuring the famous Wood effect. What I tried was a color film, though, where each band was shifted one position (IR -> R; R -> G; G -> B and no blue); if I remember correctly, those films had to be stored in the freezer then used and processed as quickly as possible.

Before the D90 I had a D70. It seems you can tweak the sensor by removing a anti-IR filter and get a fully functional IR camera. The only problem is that you’ll have to focus manually, but that is not much of a chore.

438. AuldA

BTW, and this is completely O/T, does somebody knows a good website to find a job in Scotland? Thanks –

439. Jim Thomson

@AuldA

jobs websites:

http://www.s1jobs.com
    http://www.scottishjobs.com

and if you want to mess with the Daily Record et al there’s always http://www.scotcareers.co.uk

440. AuldA

@Jim Thomson:

Thanks!

441. SquareHaggis

Test

442. crazycat

https://www.facebook.com/ScrapTrident

There’s a demonstration at Faslane on November 30. Details in the above link.

“Trident still has to go now!”

“Following the result of the Scottish independence referendum we believe that the issue of Trident nuclear weapons in Scotland is still not settled. Scrapping trident was a central part of the Yes campaign…..and a significant percentage of No voters also believe passionately that there is no place for Trident in Scotland. This means that a clear majority of the people in Scotland want to see Trident scrapped……..

In order to demonstrate the size and strength of the popular opposition to Trident, the Scrap Trident Coalition intends to hold a mass public demonstration at Faslane at 12 noon on Sunday 30 November……”

The possibility of organizing a coach from Ayrshire is being investigated.

443. AuldA

@crazycat:
    You forgot to mention that, in order to thank them for their sedulity, every person attending will receive a free nuclear warhead torpedo as a souvenir of this day.

444. Patrician

Please ignore: test

445. Patrician

I have worked out why people are losing their login details. I am going to drop Stu an email with details to get it sorted out, so hopefully it won’t be an issue soon.

446. Bugger (the Panda)

Gordon Brown at his very very best.

Marigolds ready

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kwgTvM1DtQo

447. Alex Clark

@BtP

That was his giant brain escaping and Gordy trying to put it back in 🙂

448. Alex Clark

Looks quiet around here, where are the music lovers?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hic-dnps6MU

449. Alex Clark

That wasn’t music! but just a means of conveying a message 🙂

Sorry.

450. Michael McCabe

Here is Amy Winehouse with a wee reggae mix added to the song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L9ev-tlT4o8&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die.

451. Michael McCabe

This is what I think of there Union. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F8O1E-2jfpE&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die.

452. Alex Clark

Back on form Michael, Cheers.

453. Betty Boop

Good morning – just testing Explorer again – posting at 9:18 17/10

454. Betty Boop

Jings, it worked!

455. Betty Boop

@ Patrician, 9:10am, 16/10/14

I had hopes at 9:18am this morning that the website problems had been solved when I posted using Explorer and the comment immediately appeared. Still had to populate the the name and email details, but, thought it was working.

Almost immediately posted a victorious “Jings, it worked” and that has not yet appeared as I am typing this which is posted at 9:28am

456. Betty Boop

Okay, 9:34am posting on Explorer.
    Looks like there has been an improvement as the previous posts are appearing albeit sometimes a wee bit slower than usual.

Thanks to anyone trying to solve this 🙂

457. Bugger (the Panda)

If anyone is wondering where the ISIL / IS /ISIS group have obtained their weapons, read this;

https://archive.today/MCVPf

You’ve got to turn a penny to survive?

458. Devereux

Hi all. My comments started disappearing six weeks before the referendum. Strangely, the week after the referendum the problem went away but now it is back. It has happened on all my devices. Like others, very frustrating as can read but not take part yet if I try to re-post it says I have already put up that post. Again checked the obvious and can’t find a reason. On another matter would like (if I can ever get back on to this site) to start using my real name. How do you change that? All attempts seem to fail.

459. Devereux

Ok, just tried the main comment thread and that has not worked but this has. Go figure!

460. Jim Thomson

@Deveraux

Change of name – drop Stu an e-mail (or use the “Contact” form via the link at the top of this page) and let him know. Your should then simply post something with your new name and existing e-mail address.

He will have to rescue you from the pending tray and “approve” your post. After that I think your new name will stick.

The only reason I suggest dropping Stu a quick note is that he has a mountain of junk that he has to wade through regularly to extract the good from the bad and ugly. He’ll be able to find you more easily that way.

461. Devereux

@Jim
    Thanks Jim will try that.

462. SquareHaggis

Last weekend our wee village in NE Scotland held a referendum re-run.
    The idea behind it was to find out if we were a YES or NO area.
    796 individuals took part from 467 settlements and took in 82% of eligible voters. Everyone agreed to vote exactly as they had done on the 18th of September.
    There were a small n7mber of absent voters, who were allowed to vote by proxy.
    The vote took place at the village hall under the observance of volunteers.
    Votes were cast using coloured cards, red for Yes and green for No.
    Cards were placed all-together in a single wooden posting box.

At the end of the vote the votes were tallied before a group of witnesses.

The results were as follows

Red / Yes = 514
    Green / No = 282

A few eyebrows raised as we are in the Aberdeenshire area (a 60-40) against independence.

Don’t know how representative these results are and perhaps we are a strange anomaly but nonetheless we’re plaesed to say by and large, We Voted Yes!

It is therefore unanimous that the YES sign at the village entrance will remain.

463. Brian Doonthetoon

I just don’t know commenters are able to keep a handle on responses to comments they may make. I, unfortunately, have to work through the daylight hours so don’t have a great deal of opportunity to follow the threads.

As it is, it’s taking me two days plus to get to get to the end of a thread and, by that time, anything I wanted to post has been done by somebody else.

How do yooz manage it???

Onnyhoo, gonna collect my recent thoughts into one post here.

1. Getting info out to soft no’s and so on. The idea of A4/A5 posters/leaflets came up at a meeting of Dundee’s ‘Team YES Bus’ earlier this week. I think if local groups can produce their own info for local consumption, then share via Wings or Facebook, etc, that could be a way to go forward, in advance of the May 2015 GE.

2. A pal of mine emigrated to Canada, in the wake of the 1979 referendum. I repeat his opinion here.
    He told me, in his opinion, Scotland was split 3 ways – 1/3 for no change under any circumstances (Unionist), 1/3 for independence (Nationalist) and 1/3 ‘Don’t Know, but open to persuasion’.
    He also opined that independence would never happen because Scots ‘couldn’t agree the colour of $hi†€’. Of course, back then, the bias of the media wasn’t as big a concern, as far as I’m aware.
    (Discuss…)

3. There were fleeting mentions, in this very topic, around 10 days ago, about the possibility of a ‘Friends of Wings’ get-together in Glasgow around 22nd November.
    WOS 1 – Glasgow
    WOS 2 – Jolly’s Broughty Ferry (Dundee)
    WOS 3 – Glasgow – Counting House
    WOS 4 – Edinburgh – Newsroom
    WOS 5 – Invergowrie Inn (Dundee)
    WOS 6 – ?

On 22nd November, we have the RIC Conference in Glasgow.
    On the same date, we have Nicola Sturgeon at the Hydro in Glasgow.
    On the 23rd, the Scottish CND Conference.

Had a wee blether with Ronnie Anderson at Freedom Square on Sunday…
    Should the Glasgow Wings contingent not be organising WOS 6 at the Counting House for the 22nd November? If you don’t, we’ll just have to revert to the default – ‘Yes City, Dundee’…
    The ba’s on your slaties…
    8=)

464. Ian Brotherhood

Apologies if I appear to be ignoring comments here. Still reading, watching, but don’t feel like saying much.

Here’s a wee tune though. ‘Twas a powerful one in its day…

Elvis Costello, ‘Oliver’s Army’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ow1S4DJtLOk

465. Jim Thomson

and I bring you the next Tory manifesto

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BwHPzd2s_vg

466. Brian Doonthetoon

On Sunday, 30th November, (St Andrew’s Day), an event is being organised in Dundee, in City (Indy) Square.

Speakers, bands, and so on, similar to George Square on the 12th. Could be a biggie. ‘Yes City’ an’ a’ thah’.

I think I’ve got the nod that we can can have a Wings stand on the day. Can we do it?
    (Discuss.)

467. Paula Rose

I can stand all day doll but not in high heels xxx

468. Jim Thomson

@Paula

I’m sure we could forgive you wearing kittens for one day

469. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

over lofty hills maybe?

470. Ian Brotherhood

The Undertones, ‘Jimmy Jimmy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fgIhtJtsfo

471. Ian Brotherhood

Blurt, ‘Get’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlhXllHSvj8

472. Flower of Scotland

Hi Paula Rose. Do you remember me? Flower from the newsroom in Edinburgh. We had a great night. Someone called Natasha sent me here. I’m an old dog. She is a bit of a NEW girl but lords it a bit!

I’m really worried about Edinburgh! They voted NO. However all the attention seems to be in Glasgow. I know it’s great that they voted Yes, but they are converted! Edinburgh is a NO and needs lots of love and help. Am I the only one seeing this for gods sake!

473. Flower of Scotland

@ Briandoonthetoon.

Yeah that’s great! Another YES city! Why all the impetus on YES cities? Edinburgh meantime is a No city with poor wee girls trying to get things going for YES with NO support from the main people like Tommy , Gerry Cinnamon, whoever.. It’s appalling! Why am I the only one banging on about it?

474. Fairliered

Why not have Wings meets all over Scotland? Surely it doesn’t matter if we don’t all get to every gathering?
    What about meeting in Glasgow on October 30th – to meet & greet the SLABbering troughers, follwed by Edinburgh on November 29th after the United 45 plus rally. The Aberdeen, Inverness, Dundee, and wherever we want to meet.

475. Valerie

I think as the Wingers are spread, then having different meets seems the sensible thing to do if we want to meet up, and the 30th would be a good one with a purpose of finding the Slabbers

476. Alex Clark

Hello again FoS

Welcome to the wacky world of wings that is Off Topic.

I agree with you! We need more visibility in the areas that supported No and that is a large part of Scotland.

It is not surprising though that the main action is taking place where the Yes support proved strongest. we just need to give it a bit of time though and like the roots of a great tree we will spread wider and further.

Meantime we support what we know about in our own areas and others if we can get there. Never forget, this type of thing is not for all. Let’s say 10,000 attended George Square last week, well that is only 0.6% of those that voted Yes.

The VAST majority will never do much other than offer support, that’s where you and I come in, there will be much to do before the GE and much to do after. We are all after the same goal, if you have info of an event then please share it here. Don’t be disheartened!

477. Croompenstein

We were standing by peaceful waters………..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=te7x8s9P4U8

478. Croompenstein

Message for Westminster….one of the great unsung guitar heroes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8Ojjn35kP8

479. Ian Brotherhood

I hope this is appreciated – took me five days to identify this song from nothing more than a vague memory of some dodgy voice saying ‘I’m sorry…’

This is the culprit. Cheesy shite, but a big hit back whenever. It turns out that ‘intergalactic operators’ must’ve been obliged to hold their noses when speaking…

Rah Band, ‘Clouds Across The Moon’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4R97AeM6IE

480. Croompenstein

Wee song for Skull Murphy and Anas…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ICqY2t7OGEI

481. Stoker

Hey, I’m liking it in here, not had a chance to look right through yet, but liking what i see so far, lots of good music posts. Think i’m going to be around here pretty often.

482. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Come on then, give us a tune!

Another 14, 15 comments here, then we shift to a new page, so it’s a good time to let-rip, try stuff out.

What’s yer bag mister/missus?

If I had to guess, just by your handle and gravatar, I’d plump for…ehm, pure total stab in the dark…ehm, er, well…okay…here goes…Meatloaf!!

Howzat!?

483. TJenny

IB – missing you too, honey. 😉

At the risk of rubbing salt into FoS’s raw wound, apols, I’m going through to Nicola’s gig in SSE Hydro in Glasgow on 22nd Nov – was thinking there’ll be Wingers there too (Morag) and we could maybe meet up afterwards, in some pub, YESBar?, for a wee afternoon soiree.

Any other Wingers going and up for a gathering?

484. Alex Clark

@Ian

I’m embarrassed to admit I remeber that song lol.

Here is a good one with a twist! Us and Them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2oQhEi3SC20

485. TJenny

IB – people probably not ignoring you but may have same probs I do in that all my posts take 21mins to appear on my screen, although show time stamped as time of posting, and all my details have to be re-entered ever time too, happening for months – Ah, well, darling peeps, patience is a virtue. 🙂

486. Croompenstein

Nice Irish song..and singer..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1cu8Jmw7R4

487. Stoker

Ian, i’m still getting delaying problems when posting.
    Don’t know if you can see it or not, i can’t, but i did post a reply.

488. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Sweetest, you know I would wait forever and a day for any message from you.

I watch the clouds drift across the moon, pull the implausibly gigantic ear-piece away from my napper after the dodgy intergalactic operator tells me that ‘he’s sorry’, and purr to meself, ‘Ach well then, mibbes next year…’

Some things are worth waiting for, solar flare activity notwithstanding.

489. Ian Brotherhood

P.S.

TJenny –

Just watch yourself if you’re going to that SSE gig – there might be a 250-foot tall orang-utan knocking about the place.

490. Michael McCabe

@ Croompenstein Some good songs you played there. Anybody fancy a Waltz ? Where’s Matilda when you want her. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=PFCekeoSTwg Aye till I die.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.