Expressway To Fear

Posted on February 21, 2014 by

DOOM!

“Blair Stewart, head of the company’s Edinburgh Residential Department, said: ‘Going by the current movement in property market, I should think there will be a three to five per cent growth in the £300,000 to £800,000 bracket and the £1million-plus will remain static.

I am expecting a slowdown as we near the referendum with buyers adopting a ‘wait and see’ attitude.'”

GLOOM!

“Delaying introduction of average speed cameras on the A9 until after the referendum has been branded a ploy to avoid an anti-independence backlash.”

We’re not sure we can take many more blows like this.

But there’s more. Not content with the sheer TERROR that house prices might briefly stop spiralling, or that we might have to wait a bit longer for speed cameras, today’s Scottish Daily Express throws caution to the wind and pulls out all the stops:

“Respected Telegraph commentator Peter Oborne wrote yesterday that David Cameron might throw a spanner in Scotland’s constitutional works.

He wrote: Will the Queen be allowed to remain as Scottish monarch? I have no doubt that the Queen herself would strongly prefer that she did. But it is not simply a matter for her. She is constitutionally obliged to take the advice of the Prime Minister, David Cameron.

Cameron has already denied Scotland the pound sterling. He is entitled to deny the Scots the House of Windsor, especially since the Scots had their own separate monarch before James the VI and I unified the crowns of England and Scotland in 1603.”

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Insufficiently expensive houses we can take. Roads with 100 fewer speed cameras we’ll somehow bear for a while. But HAVING TO GET A WEIRD NEW QUEEN is just too much. We’ve learned the error of our ways. Everyone has their breaking point.

193 to “Expressway To Fear”

1. Jim T

Woohoo! another three percentage points to “Yes”!

Roll on the next poll ….

2. Shaun Milne

Elaine C Smith or Margo Macdonald. Sorted.

3. Anne (@annewitha_e)

That’s it the ba’s burst. I just cannae take it anymore Captain. Where’s the parachute.

4. nelliejean

*bursts into tears and unpins YES badge*

5. Jim

Is this the same queen who reigns in Australis, Canada, New Zealand and a dozen or so more countries that have become independent of Westminster? That queen?

6. Laura H

Well, I am sorry, but what with David Bowie’s heartfelt plea and now this Queen business, I have to change my vote. It took me long enough to get used to them without Freddie Mercury, but a whole, new weird Queen?? I am not sure my music collection could take that……

7. Mosstrooper

Run, run as fast as you can. Beware, beware the end is nigh. Scotland will become a republic and it is all Dave’s fault. Ochone ochone waes me for her Madge.

So, not all bad news then, eh?

8. Brian Powell

They own the Queen? Like a pet?

Is this “I’m keeping the CDs and the dog.”

9. patronsaintofcats

We’ll, I’m happy to throw my wimple into the ring 🙂

10. Keef

If it wasn’t so serious I’d find your wit hilarious Rev. My god can this campaign get any grimmer?

11. Keir

I’m not fussed tbh. I don’t think many Scots have a lot of love for the royal family compared to what I found down in Southampton when I was at uni there.

12. mogabee

Mr Oborne might be surprised by the answer! Would be interesting to publish how much old Liz and the rest cost us all.

EU, sterling, queen. Next!

13. patronsaintofcats

Well even – damn you autocorrect!

14. Dan Vevers

Coming soon to a Yes stall near you, the catchy new slogan:

“Vote Yes for a weird new queen!”

15. John Stewart

We could always have good old captain Jack as the queen!

16. X-Sticks

Whit? Nae Brenda! How will we cope? Nae mair pomp and privilege. Nae mair goons and garters. Woe, woe and thrice woe!

Still, maybe we could nationalise the Palace of Holyroodhouse, Balmoral castle, Craigowan Lodge, Delnadamph Lodge and Birkhall and use them for the good of the people of Scotland.

Maybe we’d just be better keeping the weird old queen though.

17. DaveyM

Who needs royalty in an independent Scotland? Although I suppose we can break with tradition and crown a gay man (John Barrowman, perhaps?) as the first Queen of our newly independent Scotland.

18. Stephen Brown

I would love a Scottish republic!

19. TheGreatBaldo

Sloppy Journalism Rev….

You missed this…..

https://twitter.com/jonsamuelhood/status/436822103388463106

Won’t anyone think of the cross border Office product dealers?

I’m leaning towards a NO in solidarity with our paper clip hawking brethren…

20. Fairliered

How about rUK keeps the Queen and we keep the oil?
    Win. Win!

21. Mosstrooper

I saw a weird auld queen in the closet.

22. liz

Re the monarchy – that will bring a few thousand more on board.

It just goes to show how completely out of touch Dave and pals are – remind me of how many street parties there were in Scotland when the jubilee celebrations were on?

23. Scottish climber

Let’s see if Helen Mirren fancies a reprise.

24. Appleby

As a keen member of the local speed camera spotter’s club I find this news devestating and will henceforth be changing my voting intention. Good day.

25. Peter Mirtitsch

There will also be the fact that everyone else in the UK will become foreigners. That means my family will all become foreigners with weird names…

26. Peter Brown

Don’t even dignify it with a response. Any relationship between the Westminster and the queen will be restricted to fUK and not impact on Scotland in any way. Absurd comment. Can’t believe anybody would even print it.

27. Mosstrooper

@ the great baldo.
    Ach jings, paper clips were a staple o mine tae.

28. auslander

Can’t help but think that the possibility of not having The Queen would be fairly popular. Maybe Dave should punish us further by threatening to take away Trident too?

29. bjsalba

If the UK doesn’t have a written constitution which law or act of parliament is involved. And since when does advice become an order?

Can anyone explain this?

30. Jimbo

I wonder, do the people who spout this nonsense ever reflect on what they’ve put in writing and think That’s a load of utter crap?

Here is Oborne’s offering in the Telegraph:

http://archive.is/eY2Iy

31. Roboscot

Beyond satire, but keep it up No people.

32. Douglas Guy

So Franz Bonaventura Adalbert Maria Herzog von Bayern, the eighty year old Dachau survivor and current Prince of Bavaria as rightful heir to the throne of the Kingdom of Scotland?

33. cearc

I’d love to be the fly on the wall listening to that little exchange.

Dopey Dave, ‘Maj, I advise you to renounce the throne of Scotland. You have to do what I advise.’

Maj, ‘…???’ (fill in as appropriate).

34. Bill Fraser

1) Avoiding another property bubble is a bad thing?????

2) Or was it because of complaints from Danny Alexander that caused the delay. http://www.inverness-courier.co.uk/News/MSP-launches-petition-to-halt-A9-speed-cameras-19022014.htm

3) Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha, “Respected Telegraph commentator Peter Oborne” he he he he he.

35. Murray McCallum

If David Cameron tells the queen what she is and isn’t monarch of, does that make him some kind of British Emperor?

It seems rUK, including Carwyn Jones, are headed for a constitutional crisis!

36. joe kane

The “Betty Battenburg lite” bombshell.

37. john king

“HAVING TO GET A WEIRD NEW QUEEN is just too much.”

Haud oan noo lets no be to hasty here,
    jist how weird?
    will her heed be sewn on or somethin?
    ahm pretty sure we’ll get used to her.

38. Greannach

The prospect of not having our monarch and family to support is the Trident missile in the No Better Together UKOK armoury.

Food banks, nuclear weapons, short lifespans, expensive gas and electricity, I can live with. But I am devastated at the prospect of not having the Duchess of Wessex around or no longer seeing Princess Ann assigned as the royal who adores Scotland at rugby.

39. Jim T

@TheGreatBaldo 11:51

He’s only tweeted 134 times and yet he has a few thousand followers. Wonder how many he bought.

He also doesn’t seem to have an issue with “Chicago” as a “foreign” location with trade/currency barriers.

40. Doug Daniel

Right that’s it, I’m definitely voting No now. The idea of losing every last remnant of unelected privilege is just too much to take.

41. AllyPally

That last sentence in the Express quote seems entirely free of logic.

‘Especially’?

Can anyone explain?

42. Fiona

If we become a republic we presumably have options about what to do with the castles and stuff.

I have long been a fan of Spanish paradors and I think this would be a tremendous idea.

43. bookie from hell

Cameron–“your majesty you know the balmoral estate which you love,might be in your best interest to stay at Windsor”

queen–“**** ***

44. Mosstrooper

Ah ha ha ha ha oh stop stop a canny breath, hee hee hee oh ma ribs na mair a’ve got papers tae deliver, haw haw haw a canny see for tears o laughter.

45. Donald

Well, I’m convinced. Where do I sign?

46. Shiehallion! Shiehallion!

Oh, no. What about the Queen’s English? Would that stop at the border too, like the molecules?

47. Stevie

Not letting us keep the Royals – oh woe is me.

48. David McCann

What next?
    Cameron promises a ‘midge’ fund, if Scotland remains in the union?

They just get dafter by the hour.

49. john king

“Ach jings, paper clips were a staple o mine tae.”

Well yea’ll jist need tae go on a (staple) diet then wint yea

ah’ll get ma coat. 🙁

50. Richard

Maybe we could vote Duncan Hothersall for queen. He’s decent enough for a unionist and would help bring the Labour Party back together

51. Training Day

Horrendous news. I’ve just bought a Prince Edward pencil case too.

But there is some hope.

We could elect Carwyn Jones as our new monarch.

52. Mary Bruce

“(Cameron) is entitled to deny the Scots the House of Windsor, especially since the Scots had their own separate monarch before James the VI and I unified the crowns of England and Scotland in 1603.”

Aye. That’ll be James the VI then.

I love it when they show themselves up like this, total ignorance presented as authority. The fools.

53. Famous15

Gosh!we are not going to get Queen Camilla . Like the guy on morning call yesterday I was a DK now I am certain !

54. Pin

The monsters.

Where do I send my CV for the monarch gig?

55. scottish_skier

reload

56. chalks

Anyone read the Daily Record article about the TSB?

I’d take that as them pre-empting a Yes vote by being registered in both countries….

57. Proud Cybernat

I heard of a guy some time ago who was intending to vote No because Indy Scotland would still be keeping the queen and he wanted a republic (I know, I didn’t get his reasoning either but there you go). I wonder if he’ll now be voting YES?

58. heedtracker

“Respected Telegraph commentator Rupert Cecil Smith Smyth Smith wrote” why do unionist always have to tell Scotland who’s “respected” anyway. BBC news always use the tag when in hard core vote No brain washing mode.

59. Ghengis D'Midgies

Huh weird. On my laptop I can see there are 43 comments listed for this article on your homepage but when I click to read the article and comments there are no comments even after ctrl F5-ing.

When I check the article on my phone however I can see there are 0 comments indicated on the homepage for this article but when I visit the page can in fact read the comments.

The perpetrators of the DDOS (hello GCHQ 🙂 must be having a good laugh.

60. handclapping

Its rude to call her weird, I think Anne will do us very well. She is probably the most sensible.

61. Jean

You published this at 11.41 I see on twitter. At 12.30 there was a brief flash of 41 comments on the loading screen but none visible. I take it the site is still under attack?

62. heedtracker

Reverend you still cant see any comments on WoS until you submit one, on chrome or firefox here in ABZ at least.

63. mrsspykes

I didn’t want to have to do this.

I nominate me.
    There.

You may bow.

64. Ghengis D'Midgies

.. and now having posted the above I can see the comments on my laptop.

65. Midgehunter

Blair MacDougals willy

(Just trying to see what actually happens with the comments thingy)

66. fittie

test

67. Taranaich

Cameron has already denied Scotland the pound sterling.

Surely it’s Osborne who’s presumed to deny the Scots the pound sterling? Cameron’s just been sticking to the “it’s unlikely” line he always has.

In any case, why in God’s name would Scotland be “denied” the queen when Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Jamaica, Barbados, the Bahamas, Grenada, Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize, Antigua and Barbuda, and SAINT KITTS AND FREAKING NEVIS are “allowed”?

Even as scare stories go, this is surely near the top. The only threat to Scotland “losing” the queen is if we become a republic. Cameron, any Prime Minister, can do nowt.

68. Midgehunter

Let’s just dump the Queen, Charles and William are both booked up, so how about Harry.

He’s got the right colour of hair and would probably be more fun.

69. Clarinda

C ameron
    O sbourne
    B rown
    B owie
    L amont
    E lizabeth 1
    R ajoy
    S arwar

Are they doing this deliberately?

70. Fiona

I am surprised we are getting such silly stories at this stage: wonder what they will have left for nearer the vote because this looks like the very dregs already

71. heedtracker

@ cearc

Dopey Dave, ‘Maj, I advise you to renounce the throne of Scotland. You have to do what I advise.’

Maj, ‘…???’ “Who ate ones fackin Asda Fruit and Nut Mix, again”

72. Ron Burgundy

The attitudes here are worse than those displayed Black African nationalists in the 1950’s.
    OK there was a racist contempt displyed by London that “these people” would never manage their independence but at least there was no attempt to coerce them into remaining in the Empire.
    Scotland is on the receiving end of the coercion AND the racism. The British establishment really thinks we are scum.
    I wonder if the next move will be to insist that we all wear an armband with a thistle logo for easy identification.

73. Roddy Macdonald

And there was me reeling from this gem:

We should change to driving on the right just to annoy them. Cars could be cheaper too. pic.twitter.com/bHgwxRavcZ— abigdoob (@abigdoob) February 21, 2014

74. dmw42

Ah, I see what you did there Stu; by losing the Queen, then Balmoral, Birkhall, Holyroodhouse, Craigowan etc will all be on the market, ergo £1million plus properties will remain static because of the competition.

But who’s heid do we put on the stamps?

75. Flower of Scotland

O/t
    Jackson Carlaw on big debate ! Trying to get a foot in both camps for his future ….you think !!

76. Ian Brotherhood

Taylor’s roadshow in Glasgow. Audience sounds broadly pro-Yes.

Any idea where in Glasgow they are? Missed the start.

77. Mathie Wallace

Not that I’m suggesting we want to keep QEII and her entourage after independence, but should as England didn’t have a monarch and we shared ours, surely it should be the right of Alex Salmond to tell rUK that they can’t have the queen, as presumably the principle is the same as that of the pound???

78. yerkitbreeks

Hang on a minute – if there’s no monarch who’s going to head up the Ponzi scheme of the Lords lieutenants and other shady power mongers ?

79. heedtracker

“Scotland is on the receiving end of the coercion AND the racism.” It’s working too. I’ve been a called a Scots c_nt once in a while over the years and it always made my day.

80. Thomas William Dunlop

Being denied the House of Windsor? The new fear factor?

Pinch me, I must be dreaming.

81. David Martin

Dave Cameron can’t stop us using the pound (as previously discussed ad nauseum)and inviting the Queen to remain Queen of Scots, if we the people of Scotland so choose. If we do is another matter entirely and nowt to do with Westminster.

82. HandandShrimp

WTF!

If that is fair representation of Oborne’s position by the Express then Oborne is a loon.

However, I really don’t think Cameron would dare tell HRH that she could not be Queen. The corgis can get peckish.

Can’t say I am bothered either way though.

83. Flower of Scotland

Cameron really throwing toys out of pram ! Can’t have this ! Can’t have that ! Who cares ! I don’t want or need any of them .
    I agree with Fairliered ….. Keep oil ….Get rid of Queen !

84. Gordon SMith

On the Queeen, the royal linage must now be Scots surely. So if anybody has a claim , we have.

85. Heather McLean

“Shiehallion! Shiehallion! says:
    Oh, no. What about the Queen’s English? Would that stop at the border too, like the molecules?”

BBCScotlandshire has already reported on that scenario! hahahaha!

http://www.bbc.scotlandshire.co.uk/index.php/city-news/659-scots-could-be-banned-from-speaking-english-warns-academic.html

86. HandandShrimp

PS we have our own Queening devices plus the stone. We can enQueen whoever we bloody well like without Dave’s say so.

87. Lanarkist

Casino Royale, this is an attempt to introduce a new scare meme into the propaganda programme as they have realised that just recycling the rota of scare stories has become ineffective.

Has Mr. Cameron asked and been given permission to introduce his distant cousin into the debate in this way.

“Our Queen, our money, our way, or else!”

Can anyone please obtain and leak the section of the project fear manual of scary things, titled “Absurd and desperate measures, break seal in case of Emergency only”

88. patronsaintofcats

Waiting for Quinie frae Angus to weigh in on this development.

89. heedtracker

“Can anyone please obtain and leak the section of the project fear manual of scary things”, yes its stored here http://archive.is/ysqiz, next to skid marked Dail MailExpress.

90. rab_the_doubter

Bonnie Prince Charlie portrait found
    Bonnie Prince Charlie portrait found http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-26287887

Its a sign

91. Findlay Farquaharson

does this mean i wont be a subject anymore? bummer.

92. Triangular Ears

Spot the logic error in the statement about us having our own monarch in the past. The implication is that after the royal union we got to have England’s monarch. Doesn’t he realise that it was the other way round?

If anything it’s England that should be looking for a new monarch!

93. Red Squirrel

Please please let it be true – independence and a republic!

Never mind old queenie, what on earth do we put on the coins or our newly minted Scottish currency? I’d like the saltire please and a series of respected Scots from our history.

94. Desimond

Well Beyonce is in Glasgow at the moment..that would be one fine stamp.

If only the Union of the Crowns and Union of the Parliaments were 2 different Unions…if only, if only…

95. Patrician

Isn’t his guy next in line if Lizzie is not allowed.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franz,_Duke_of_Bavaria

96. Grouse Beater

We can clear all the ghastly Royal tat sold in Holyrood Palace gift shop, and put a For Sale sign up on Balmoral. Great.

97. sneddon

How about we have a monarchy (stick with me here) and every mid winter we sacrifice them to ensure summers return? As a solution to climate change it gets my vote. It might not work strictly in the scientific sense but it gets you out the house and meeting folk and isn’t that what’s really important? 🙂

98. Jim Kennedy

DC will still insist we chip in for her giro.

99. teechur

I’ve had a rummage around in the back of a forgotten drawer and managed to find a Scottish Queen who might do at a push and if we felt we’d really need to have one (for the tourists and all)…

Ladies & Gentlemen, Comrades, and fellow Cabernats, may I present the ‘official’ Queen of Scotland in her strip:

Blimey O’Reilly people… it looks like even the Torygraph is getting rattled… the Scottish Throne is a completely separate thing… the clue is in the whole Union of the Crowns thing in 1603… Here’s the Torygraph last year: http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/culture/allanmassie/100069415/elizabeth-queen-of-scots/

This whole thing is just making me think that they are grasping at straws… surely they can’t be this incompetent?

100. Brotyboy

OT

Five Million Questions seminar 27th February 12noon -2pm, speaker Prof John Kay.

John Kay is one of Britain’s leading economists, his interests focusing on the relationships between economics and business. A visiting Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics and a Fellow of St John’s College, Oxford, he is also a regular contributor to the Financial Times. More recently, Professor Kay has been an incisive commentator on economic aspects of the independence debate, chiefly currency.

I’ve googled him but can’t find out much about his comments on the currency thing. Anyone more familiar with his viewpoint?

101. Clarinda

http://pikdit.com/i/so-umm-this-is-the-spanish-duchess-of-alba/

She is the Duchess of Alba afterall?

102. teechur

Darn it… the photo didn’t show up. Here’s a direct link: http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/culture/files/2013/05/queen0.6-460×288.jpg

(BTW & O/T, it’s a superbly well taken photo!)

103. Colin

Republic, republic, republic, the current royal family do nothing for Scotland and cost us a fortune.
    And no doubt if we keep them Cameron will want us to pay for them.

104. scottish_skier

Those damn post boxes. It’s Lizzie I!

105. Muscleguy

In that case they cannae have the Stone of Destiny back for the next coronation. Not even if they ask nicely.

106. hetty

mogabee says,
    Mr Oborne might be surprised by the answer! Would be interesting to publish how much old Liz and the rest cost us all.

Mogabee,
    There is a book, called ‘Living off The State, a critical guide to royal finance’ by Jon Temple, its hard to get hold of, took me about a year from Amazon, published by ProgressBooks.
    Not had time to read it yet, but when you look at the cover it says it all really!

I was at a friends last night who was watching the Ukraine uprisings on RT news. An American dood was wheeled on to comment and he ranted about right wing forces wanting to bring down the Western states, and er…after only a second or two, and out of context, said, ‘and then we have, Scotland, and their Independence referendum, and countries like Spain, Barcelona and Catalans!’. He was actually trying to equate Scotland’s Indy ref with horrendous apparent revolutions in Ukraine. He was wheeled off too quickly I didn’t get his name, sorry no link either as it wasn’t my computer. My friend wasn’t too perturbed, but I thought it was very dangerous speak.

107. uilleam_beag

They must have some stonker conversations around the Telegraph contributors’ coffee machine just after lunch as they try to dream up ever more fanciful and nonsensical lines to take on the referendum debate.

108. mato21

Hi

109. Nkosi

In truth I do not seem to have a problem using chrome.

110. jingly jangly

Let them keep Lizzie twa, weil keep Lizzie wan

111. sausage fingered luddite

Can’t decide if the threat of losing auld liz and her subsidy junkie family is lovebombing or fear mongering?
    However, if it was a Scottish monarch who united the crowns, does that not make her even more our monarch…

112. MajorBloodnok

Midgehunter says: Blair MacDougals willy.

I hope you’re not serious in proposing that appendage’s appendage as our new monarch. It’ll never stand up at court.

(I thangyew)

113. Ukp42

Now, am going to predict the next scare story, Defence! I’ve not heard anything from Westminster about our armed forces.
    When am proven right, should I also buy a lottery ticket, while we still can?

114. Jimsie

I am assuming tenancy of this building beside my name post independence. If there is no queen I bags Holyrood palace as well.

115. msean

I think the Tories have never heard of the Declaration of Arbroath. If our Queen/King doesn’t act in Scotlands’ interests,we reserve the right to dump her/him and install a new one,like getting a new telly. 🙂
    Or even better,none at all.

116. Jimsie

Hey Stuart what have you done with my avatar?

117. Thomas William Dunlop

O/T I posted above but it has disappeared. Has this happened to anybody else? Is the atacks on the server still going on. Is this related to dissapearing posts?

118. Peter Macbeastie

Delay of average speed cameras to avoid the backlash? Aye, right. I’m an SNP member and believe me delaying it makes me phenomenally pleased. They’ll do sod all to curb the accidents because, and why this isn’t clear to everyone is utterly beyond me, it will not stop idiots overtaking where there’s no room to do it. That the concession is to not install them on dual carriageway sections is because, apparently, of technical issues is funny, because if the intent is to stop accidents and fatalities they’re not needed on the bloody dual sections ANYWAY. And if they get put in along them at some point anyway I do not in any way, shape or form trust that they’ll be taken out again when the dualling is completed. Because it will undoubtedly stabilise traffic speeds, reduce accident levels to negligible levels, and cost money to remove again. And be totally and utterly unrequired on a modern standard dual carriageway trunk road.

I detest average speed cameras. I think putting them on the A9 is right up there with the medal winners of the stupid f’ing idea competition. But it doesn’t affect my intention to vote yes if they go in or not; it just affects my inclination to drive to Inverness.

@ Roddy Macdonald – I don’t know who the guy who tweeted that line is, but that’s exactly what I thought when I first heard some muppet MP had said it. ‘Aye, let’s drive on the right; it’ll just be like getting off the ferry or the train in France for you. We all know how much you hate that.’

I think the whole ‘drive on the right’ nonsense is two things. 1. Standard Westminster drivel 2. Xenophobic stupidity.

119. Thomas William Dunlop

Oh now it has appeared again. Sorry. Weird things ongoing.

120. Alexandra-M-

If the pro unionists don’t stop their crusade of terror, I fear my eyes may actually roll right up into the back of my head. They can keep the queen, lets see how they manage to keep her in the life to which she has become accustomed, without the Scottish tax payer helping to subsidise it!

121. faolie

I could be king if you like and Mrs Faolie could be queen. We wouldn’t need much. Castle or two obviously, loadsabenefits from a new civil list and of course we’d want Britannia re-commissioned, and launched as Caledonia. Oh and the FM would have to visit us every Tuesday to pass his/her government business by us, but that’s really about it.

All those for, say aye! and vote Yes.

122. Linda's Back

ON Brian’s Blether another ill informed guy in audience referred to Scotland not being able to bail out the Scottish Banks and has resonance due to lack of lender of last resort claims.

The format of these kind of shows never gives the Yes / SNP representatives(s) a chance to answer this or all the crazy myths that are out there.

Any suggestions on how this is to be resolved.

The Yes campaign should tackling the BBC on this as audience assertions should not be allowed if panellist is not given a chance to respond.

123. msean

@grouse beater: I think Balmoral might actually belong to the Queen as a personally owned thing,albeit in a round about trust fund sort of way. Even if she got the boot,it would still be hers.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Balmoral_Castle

124. WP

Paddy Power. 11/4

125. chicmac

“How about rUK keeps the Queen and we keep the oil?Win. Win!”

Bit, bit,… they’ve a’ready said they’re keepin’ Poondland as weel. Snaw fair.

126. Jamie Arriere

OT – quality English humour

https://soundcloud.com/nicholas-pegg/ukip-shipping-forecast

127. BigSteveChisholm

Enough! It’s too much to take.

First they deny us the pound. Then the queen. Now it’s the National Lottery.

http://www.civilsociety.co.uk/governance/news/content/16975/alistair_darling_scottish_national_lottery_funding_will_fundamentally_change_with_independence?utm_source=21+February+2014+Fundraising+&utm_campaign=21+Jan+2014+Fundraising+&utm_medium=email

‘COULD fundamentally change’ says Darling.
    ‘WILL fundamentally change’ says the headline.

“You’ve got to be in it to win it”
    Forget it, I’m oot.

128. Triangular Ears

I’m worried about this, because I remember the young Rangers fellow telling us that “The Queen brings in twinty mullion a year” and that we’d all be on “tenner giros” if it wasn’t for her.

129. Bugger (the Panda)

We can always chose David Starkey?

I’m sure our share of Libby’s frocks and stuff would look good on him.

Do you think that her is up for it?

130. Grant Cruickshank

Hi, would you mind very much taking down the Better Together fake poster obscenity on your Facebook page?

I doubt you put it there but it’s not making your other-wise excellent work look very good at all.

131. wee_monsieur

Wow, what a belter of a scare story!

Wouldn’t mind being a fly on the wall at the next weekly audience between DC and HM

132. Bugger (the Panda)

Helen Mirren does it for me and she has the advantage of being a Paisley Buddy, sort of Russian side of the family.

Maybe she is related to the Tsar; the last Russian one.

133. Peter Macbeastie

@ Thomas William Dunlop; far as I know the DDOS attacks are still going on; can’t imagine they’ve stopped, anyway. Did notice that there were meant to be a hundred posts on this entry when I clicked on it and found seventy-five when I got onto it.

Since this is not Better Together I assume it’s a symptom of DDOS.

134. Bugger (the Panda)

and right on cue the Daily Express has a suggestion for our new Queen

http://tinyurl.com/onfy3y9

Do you think they all go down the pub, get smashed, dream up this nonsense and then next morning waken up, read their notes and think that they were briefed of the next new front against the chippy Jocks. No one has a fucking clue who had the idea but that doesn’t matter a toss. Into print it goes.

135. Les Wilson

O/T one of the papers today had front page ( I did not note what one as I was disgusted and turned away ) Bowie’s son has apparently has tweeted that “Salmond is worse than Bin Laden”.

This is the making of our Media across the UK with the personal demonisation of Alex Salmond, cranks creep out from under every rock. Bowie’s son? who the Ff is he to get on the front page? They reap what they sow.

136. john king

o/t
    Seems the Tories attack dogs ATOS have gone greetin to them about people being rude to them (aw the wee shame) and they want out of their contract early, meanwhile the Tories are spitting blood and feathers at ATOS going public as they will be put at a disadvantage with another bidder asking for a higher fee three words,

wheels
    coming
    off.

137. TYRAN

I read a few years ago that Scotland invented driving on the left. Anyone?

138. Ian Brotherhood

re MacDougall’s willy.

‘When he was circumcised they threw away the wrong bit.’ Anonymous.

139. Les Wilson

Weedeochandorris says

If the Queen “owns” the Crown Estate that robs out coastal communities, I guess we will not have her long.However, given this, do not put it past Westminster to sell it to some hedge fund.

140. Reider O'Doom

Seems fair enough. After all, the Queen’s not like a CD collection, to be shared out…

141. boglestone

Yesterday I heard the worst reason for voting No. My friend’s mother-in-law said she couldn’t vote Yes because she “couldn’t do that to the Queen”! She’s in her 80s, bless her.

142. Murray McCallum

David Cameron the Kingmaker

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kingmaker

This man’s power and privilege has no limits.

143. Roboscot

I, I will be king
    And you, you will be queen
    Though nothing will drive them away
    We can beat them, just for one day
    We can be Heroes, just for one day

September 18, 2014

144. Gillie

Of course in the event of a Yes victory we could be magnanimous and install John Barrowman as the WEIRD NEW QUEEN.

145. Luigi

John Barrowman for queen!

146. Bugger (the Panda)

Ian Brotherhood says:
    21 February, 2014 at 1:57 pm

re MacDougall’s willy.

‘When he was circumcised they threw away the wrong bit.’
    Anonymous.

That was David Starkey.

147. Luigi

Gillie:

Great minds and fools alike (beat me to it)!

148. Gillie

Maybe we could have a WWE type Royal Rumble with all the contestants fighting to become iScotland’s WEIRD NEW QUEEN.

Anyway Lizzie II was never crowned Queen of Scots. There has always been a vacancy.

149. Grouse Beater

@msean

We shall just have to pass a Bill in Parliament stating all property and lands held by the Crown of England shall become the possession of the Scottish Republic at the point of the owner’s death … you know, a death tax.

150. Boorach

No queen, wonder how trip advisor would rate a night in Scotland’s most expensive nationalised hotel… Holyrood Palace Hotel got a ring to it don’t you think?

151. Les Wilson

My mother who came from the harbour area of Aberdeen always referred to her as “Bubbly Lizzie !” I imagine it was a common name for her amongst the older fishing communities.

152. Andy-B

I’m hoping that we ditch old queen Lizzie permanently, the sooner the better.

Speaking of doom.

Here we have David (I wish I was a journalist) Clegg, trying to spread the gloom with his take on the TSB saga, Clegg adamantly ststaes the TSB is leaving Scotland and it all the fault of the independenc movement.

However in yesterdays Telegraph newspaper, the owners stated that, they’re moving the TSB to England, in order to float it, not because of independence but because england has larger market.

Oh! the doom and gloom, I’d better check the sky hasn’t fallen in.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/scottish-independence-alex-salmond-urged-3168327

153. john king

“But who’s heid do we put on the stamps?”

Ian Davidsons,
    he’d stick the heed on anything! 🙂

154. Proud Cybernat

The point of all this is to spread fear–divide and conquer. There will be people in Scotland who are perhaps thinking of a YES vote who wish to keep the queen. If they see that being threatened in any way (however ridiculous the threat actually is), they might think again.

Project Fear are merely playing on people’s fears, real or perceived.

Most Scots want the pound–scare them into no, “Osborne rules out currency union”.

Most Scots want the EU–scare them into voting no, “Barroso says it’s impossible.”

Most Scots don’t want the Euro–scare them into voting no, “You’ll be forced into the Euro”.

Most Scots (presently) want the Queen as Head of State–scare them into voting no, “Scots will not have the Queen”.

Most Scots like driving on the left side of the road–scare them into voting no, “You’ll have to drive on the right side of the road”.

A majority of Scots (presently) want to stay in NATO–scare them into voting no, “NATO won’t have you.”

Most Scots want to keep our food prices affordable–scare them into a no vote, “Supermarkets will increase food prices in Scotland.”

Most Scots would be happy for our big business to remain in Scotland–scare them into voting no, “BP, RBS will quit Scotland if it goes indy.”

Something there for everyone with many, many undoubtedly to come. All of the above examples are, of course, utter bunk but are being peddled as gospel by Project Fear’s complicit BBC & MSM propaganda machine. A lot of people will believe these utter lies and fabrications and if Project Fear can put out enough of them with their scatter-gun approach, their hope is that there will be at least one or two that will scare people, scaring them towards no.

Truth is entirely irrelevant to them. Irrational fear and its widespread dissemination is the name of their game, hence ‘Project Fear’ (‘project’ as in ‘to cast’ and ‘to plan’). The more fear stories they can get out there, however ridiculous, the hope is it will register with some poor soul, turning them to no.

“Fish will boycott Scottish waters if we vote YES.” I really wouldn’t put it past them.

155. Bugger (the Panda)

RBS is going to pull out of Investment Banking, lose 30,000 staff and concentrate on High Street and SME Banking.

I wonder if we will get the residual bank offered to us during the negotiations post Sept 2013 but, at what cost and what will the catches be?

156. alexicon

@ Les Wilson.

That was the Scottish Sun.

157. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Hi, would you mind very much taking down the Better Together fake poster obscenity on your Facebook page?
    I doubt you put it there but it’s not making your other-wise excellent work look very good at all.”

I did put it there, and yes I would mind.

158. Jim Mitchell

Just when you think those unionists can’t get any more bitter and twisted! lol

159. proudscot

Margo fur queen! That’ll do me.

160. SquareHaggis

Whatever happened to the slogan T YES B? And it’s nice to say YES?

161. David MacGille-Mhuire

Yayyyy!!! No Queen!

No monarch or “Anglo” pound or Devo-Max question! Three in a row for Brer Rabbit and the Briar Patch Ploy.

How intellectually challenged are these people? Watching FM’s Question Time earlier and sampling the huckster-hysterical wares of the Unionist troika of Lament, Woofie D, and the Wee Wullie, very.

162. David Mulrine

It’s probably because I’m not a royalist but I’m a bit confused by the whole ‘can’t keep Lizzie’ stuff. Don’t they say that she’s queen ‘By The Grace of Almighty God’. Surely then, Cameron’s argument over dispensing with God’s first choice for the job is with The Almighty and not Alex Salmond. Maybe he could go head to head with God on a televised debate on the BBC.

Incidentally, if we HAVE to have a new queen, my mum makes a lovely cup of tea.

163. Macandroid

@ John King

“But who’s heid do we put on the stamps?”

Naw – Eric Joyce has got form in that dept. Sorry Eric!

164. Roll_On_2014

@Les Wilson

Think you have given us the wrong link.

165. Dal Riata

Whichever party in an independent Scotland promises a referendum on the continuation of the monarchy and all its royal associations will get my vote. The sooner an independent Scotland becomes a republic the better.

166. Look Skye Walker

I would like to put forward the wee half of the Krankies as new Queen of Scotland. Arise Queen Wee Jimmy, a bottle of buckie in one hand and a kebab in the other. Well, that’s the working class and the transgender vote sorted. Next!

167. Derick Tulloch

OHO. Nice housing development site coming up down Balmoral way.

I saw it first: keep your greedy mitts off!

168. cirsium

X-sticks, Grousebeater – Balmoral was bought by the Royal Family not the nation so it is the Queen’s private property or more accurately, it is the property of the off-shore trust set up to avoid taxation.

169. Alba4Eva

What about this image for the back of the new Scottish currency…

http://i286.photobucket.com/albums/ll116/joelion38/david-bowie-bw.jpg

We could call it the ‘Bowie’… and have 100 Ziggy’s to the Bowie. 🙂

170. Bugger (the Panda)

My understanding is that all the Royal palaces in Scotland are owned by us, the People. We are sovereign, she or he is not.

Thus if the monarch is not sovereign it follows that they should be subject to tax rules, under Scottish Law?

Therefore Albert was advised to register the privately owned Balmoral Estate as an offshore (Jersey or close by) company to avoid death dues?

Anybody know different and can back that up?

171. Bugger (the Panda)

beat me to it Cirsium

172. Theunicorn

If we’re being told we canny huv the Queen, can we have the Crown Jewels back please as they were commissioned by King Charlie the second, after Cromwell melted the first lot doon and spent the proceeds on himself. Does that also mean that not only will we have the oldest Crown Jewels in Europe but we’ll have a spare set to boot.

173. twenty14

Just in – weekend looming, in a good mood and merrily singing the national anthem when the news filters through – now in tears ” who is God going to save now ??? )

174. Macandroid

@ Theunicorn
    The Scottish Crown Jewels are safe and well in Edinburgh Castle. At the opening of Parliament HRH doesn’t even get to wear them, the crown is carried in on a cushion.
    Hands off Betty

175. K Mackay

Right troops, let’s do our best tar-baby attack, everyone call in to radio shows, write to your MP, write to DC, tell them how terrified we are that they might take Lizzie away!

“O please Mr establishment man, don’t make us have to become an independent republic! We really couldn’t handle that.”

😛

Just realised, if they do carry on with this line (and I really hope they do) the prophecy of David Icke coming out for Yes may yet be fulfilled! Is that their cunning plan?

Personally I think it would be hilarious having Icke onside, obviously we wouldn’t want him trying to persuade folk to vote Yes but I’m sure we could find some strategic use. Maybe send him into post-referendum negotiations, a weapon of mass insanity or WMI if you will.

176. Grant Cruickshank

I did put it there, and yes I would mind.

…really? Well if that’s the case it’s a low I’d never have believed you capable of descending to. Have Better Together offered you a position? Because that’s about the standard they produce.

It’s a very sad day for the Yes campaign when someone as gifted as yourself seeks to score cheap points the same week 75 are confirmed dead in riots in Ukraine. FYI, I did a fake BT poster last year; it had much more punch than this sorry effort.

177. Croompenstein

We will have our monarch.. King Alex, Dictator Eck, Head Honcho of Honchoness Salmond, the rest of the UK including Carwyn Jones can keep Lizzie

178. Clootie

…and I thought it was God that appointed her,not David Cameron?

I’m still trying to figure out the downside of these stories.

179. Mad Jock McMad

Oh dear … how ignorant of Mr Oborne not to know his constitutional facts …

Anyone who has bothered to check knows the Liz was Queen of Scots the night before she was boiled in religious oil at Westminster to become Liz 2 of England.

Liz is Queen of Scots because we the people of Scotland agree she is, under the terms of the Claim of Right 1689 which Liz agreed to so she could wear the Scottish Crown.

The problem Westminster has is they try to ignore the constitutional precept in Scots Law and constitutional practice, conceded by the UK Parliament in 1953, asserted by the UK Supreme Court in the AXA case in 2012 – the considered will of the people of Scotland is paramount.

It has nothing to do with the UK Parliament or Dave whether Liz stays as Queen of Scots – it is up to us Scots.

This mistake crops up time and time again because of the erroneous belief, peddled in the UK Parliament, that Scotland was subsumed by England in 1707 and only English Law and constitutional practice that are law. It is the same ignorance that caused Osbourne to make his daft and unsustainable Sterling currency claims last week. This whole bag of nails was deconstructed by Lord Cooper in McCormack vs the Lord Advocate in 1953 who made clear any such assumption in terms of the 1706 Treaty of Union were legally and constitutionally flawed.

180. Theunicorn

@ Macandroid

The Q of E’s are held in the Tower of London, its worth a visit even if its just to see where KIng John was held prisoner.

181. Edward

I really do despair at the utter crap that comes from the ignorant unionist press
    It all panders to the English thinking that the Queen is some how exclusive to – the English!

Her Grace Queen Elizabeth the first of Scotland (giving her full proper title) IS the Queen of Scotland and IS descended via the house of Hanover, from the house of Stuart.
    It was my mutual agreement that, following the death of Elizabeth the first of England that King James VI of Scotland could also have the crown of England, and so the union of the crowns, which is a sharing by two Kingdom’s of the same monarch.
    Technically Scotland could insist that the current monarch is hers and that England will have to find someone else, perhaps some distant descendent of the house of Tudor

If we want to be serious about this, then we have to look at Norway and Sweden, who also had a union of the crowns and shared the same monarch, until Norway ended the union with Sweden

182. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“It’s a very sad day for the Yes campaign when someone as gifted as yourself seeks to score cheap points the same week 75 are confirmed dead in riots in Ukraine. FYI, I did a fake BT poster last year; it had much more punch than this sorry effort.”

Ah well, can’t please all the people all the time.

183. willie fae Irvine

Robert the Bruce was my 35x great grandfather, I bags it. I would make a great King Billy.

184. john b

First time on so I’m not going to say much.

Mad Jock McMad is spot on. I had not previously been aware of the coronation timing of ‘Queen of Scots’ before ‘Queen of the UK’.

I’ve spent hours today on another website trying to break through the barriers of ignorance (genuine – I do not mean it as an insult) that folk in the south have about constitutional niceties.

One slight correction, however. Lizzie Windsor did not become Queen of England. No such job as monarch of England has existed since 1649.

185. Ian MacDonald

But, errr, James VI brought the crowns together in a personal union, so unless Scotland went back and cancelled the Hanoverian succession, and allowed Catholics to be monarch, which let’s face it, would be a respectable reform of unjustifiable hereditary power, Elizabeth Windsor would still personally be Queen Elizabeth I of Scotland, unless she abdicated. No other country on the planet would be able to tell us who could be monarch or not. To prevent this, Cameron would have to threaten to throw her off the thrown in England. As if! LMAO!

186. Caroline Corfield

O/T the Glasgow 2016 spoof BT poster –

When you hear Better Together and other unionists talk about how crap Scotland is and how rubbish the Scots are and how difficult it would be, and how sectarianism would tear the country apart if it weren’t for the shared hatred we all have for the English and how Wee Eck wants to be King then you pretty much have a scenario describing the current Ukrainian situation.

A situation where a President has allocated himself powers via a democratic parliament and where two groups of Ukrainians now fight over the future of their country once ruled by their larger neighbour Russia, a neighbour that some want to reconnect to with closer economic ties, and indeed where people have died – it’s not quite satire even, it’s actually a warning, this really is the way unionists think Scotland will go, they tell you so, ( how many people have told you Alex Salmond wants to be king or president?), they really think people will die as a result of Scottish independence. Satire is not a joke, it’s not making fun of the people that died – it’s a device that points up the ridiculousness of what BT say about Scotland.

187. Alexandra-M-

O/T re: The spoof poster Caroline has just mentioned.

I will admit when I first saw the poster, I did a double take; sucked the air in through my teeth and felt a bit uncomfortable – who wouldn’t? it is an uncomfortable sight. I then realised that this wasn’t a “cheap point scoring tactic” by Rev, but in actual fact something which is not outwith the realms of possibility for Scotland in the event of a no vote. With £25billion worth of UK-wide cuts implemented and ongoing, and a proposed further £4billion worth of cuts to Scotland alone – people are going to find themselves in some hefty desperate times. And what happens when people have nothing left to lose, feel desperate and backed into a corner?….

They fight, even if it means destroying what they fought to protect in the first place.

188. Chickenhawk 2

Caroline Corfield.

Yep, I was told that very scenario by a guy I know a few weeks ago. He is not going to vote at all, for that reason. Mind you, I doubt if he ever has. Voted, I mean.

And his brother told me some years ago that, the old chestnut, the Jews were going to take over and control the world. No joking involved. Gees.

189. Colin mccartney

Did I read that Cameron claims to be 5th cousin to the queen and also has Scottish ancestors? What a family of hoors !!

190. Barontorc

zxc

191. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“zxc”

Okay, I’m done with warnings. Bannings from now on. No kidding.

192. proudscot

Do we Scots really need a “shared monarch” with E/W/NI? It is one huge anachronism, rooted in the middle ages, which we can survive well without. Let the monarchist-loving Westminster elite keep wee Lizzie Saxe-Coburg-Gotha. If we really decide to have a monarch, how about oor Nicola for the job?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.