Under the Ridge

Posted on March 28, 2017 by

One of the favourite sneering Unionist memes of the independence referendum was the mocking dismissal of claims by some Yes supporters that there might be “secret oil fields” in a location off the west of Shetland known as Clair Ridge.

So amused were the Unionists by this notion that they were still sniggering about it regularly years after the referendum, right up to earlier this month.

Curiously, they’ve gone a little quieter in recent days.

The potential existence of a large untapped field was discussed back in the summer of 2014 in a story by journalist Michael Gray published by Business For Scotland:

The piece specifically identified the supposed area as the small “Lancaster” field owned by Hurricane Energy. Which by a remarkable coincidence is the exact location of what today’s Daily Record describes as the “largest UK find of the century”.

“Exploration specialists Hurricane Energy said up to one billion barrels of oil could lie in the untapped Greater Lancaster area, 60 miles west of Shetland. The discovery is larger than finds in recent years, which have been about 25 million barrels.”

(“Larger” is quite a feat of understatement there. It’s about 40 times larger.)

The amount of oil recoverable from the field is yet to be definitively established. But it’s just one tiny speck in Scotland’s oceans. That might be worth keeping in mind the next time the No camp howls its mockery over any suggestion that Scotland might not be the hopeless economic basket case they desperately need to present it as.

We’ll say no more than that.

502 to “Under the Ridge”

1. Fred says:

For the tossers who never wanted the bridge in the first place, the bridge is early, very early!

2. Lenny Hartley says:

Derrick fae yell can u tell me on what constitutional grounds Shetland can seek independence from Scotland?
    As far as I am aware it is part of Scotland and has as much right in International law to break away from Scotland as Arran , that btw is zilch. And temporary invasions by Norse people won’t cut it either.

3. Old Highlander says:

The Transocean 712 platform has just left the Cromarty Firth under tow into the Moray Firth and is heading for the North East of Shetland.

4. Ray Visino says:

An earlier oil revenue paid for the M25, Westminster will already have their eye on this.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,775 Posts, 1,219,685 Comments

• James on What We Don’t Know Now: “Oneliner; You’ve upset the yoons.Jun 10, 00:05
    • Big Jock on Two Of A Kind: “Swinney was a shambles the first time he was leader of the SNP. Salmond rescued them. To reellect this man.…Jun 10, 00:04
    • Chris Downie on Two Of A Kind: “Not for the first time, the lunatic nonce cabal of the Green Party have taken enough votes to prevent an…Jun 9, 23:19
    • James on The Jokers: ““…You’re like one of those ignoramus loud mouthed Yanks who believes WW2 didn’t begin until the Japs bombed Pearl Harbor…”…Jun 9, 23:15
    • James on And No Great Mischief Should They Fall: “Prick.Jun 9, 22:43
    • Eddie Munster on Two Of A Kind: “With odds 15/1 for labour to win, if i lived there, I’d put a tenner or a hundred down and…Jun 9, 22:29
    • Bilbo on Two Of A Kind: “No right minded civilised person who shout and bawl at someone they are having a debate with but with idiots…Jun 9, 20:58
    • Bilbo on What We Don’t Know Now: “Hatey McHateface There is enough on the web that paints the picture of Sturgeon being a toxic personality who ran…Jun 9, 20:51
    • Geoff Bush on Two Of A Kind: “We underestimate both Swinney and Yousaf. If they were intent on independence then what they continue to do – ie…Jun 9, 20:30
    • 100%Yes on Two Of A Kind: “John Swinney is a moron. He deliberately lost the Hamilton seat, please don’t ask me to explain the mind of…Jun 9, 19:17
    • Nae Need! on Two Of A Kind: “The poor lassie just wants her pension. And she’ll sit tight, like the rest of them, until she gets it.Jun 9, 18:16
    • Mia on Two Of A Kind: “I opt for liars. Actually, labourites in disguise, to be more precise.Jun 9, 18:15
    • Mark Beggan on Two Of A Kind: “Aye. If yeh didnae laugh yid greet.Jun 9, 17:58
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on Two Of A Kind: “Yes.Jun 9, 17:50
    • Ian McCubbin on Two Of A Kind: “One is like his pal Anas really a unionist. Oh wait a minute so is the other one. Lol nae…Jun 9, 17:49
    • Ronnie on Two Of A Kind: “Serious question, is Joanne Cherry still a member of the SNP?Jun 9, 17:25
    • Hatey McHateface on What We Don’t Know Now: “On the plus side, after her maternity leave, she should be able to answer the question “What is a woman?”…Jun 9, 16:54
    • SilentMajority on Two Of A Kind: “The pair of them leave me black affrontit as a Scot. One was so useless at whatever he touched, and…Jun 9, 16:48
    • Nae Need! on Two Of A Kind: “Mark Beggan, Frequently you provide ME with a much needed giggle in these ‘trying’ times. Thank you. For ‘trying’ READ…Jun 9, 16:45
    • Nae Need! on Two Of A Kind: “Lying to them comes naturally – cos they are PLAYERS.Jun 9, 16:33
    • KiltedSplendour on Two Of A Kind: “I’d add OnanistsJun 9, 16:32
    • Nae Need! on Two Of A Kind: “Quite. What do we do about the captive, brainwashed party members who keep voting for them? Is it even possible…Jun 9, 16:31
    • Mark Beggan on Two Of A Kind: “Did you know that Wokes can give birth to their own puppy.Jun 9, 16:22
    • Nae Need! on Two Of A Kind: “Massive liars. And wot Jon Drummond said up thread.Jun 9, 16:14
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Of A Kind: “Yousaf would have been on safer ground predicting the colours of the horses. Predominantly white.Jun 9, 15:49
    • Effijy on Two Of A Kind: “I think they both proved they haven’t got a clue about politics. They are the Independence party who are not…Jun 9, 15:46
    • GM on Two Of A Kind: “There is always the chance these two mediocre administrators have plenty in the bank account and aren’t doing an awful…Jun 9, 15:42
    • Hatey McHateface on What We Don’t Know Now: “I know it’s exceptionally difficult for some people to get their heids around, but the idea that one wee wumman…Jun 9, 15:40
    • Jon Drummond on Two Of A Kind: “Aah! Yousaf and Swinney… A pair of (No, let’s include Sturgeon and all the rest of them while we’re at…Jun 9, 15:39
    • Nae Need! on What We Don’t Know Now: “BigJay – “That’s pretty much where the SNP management is now . . .” And unfortunately so is the party…Jun 9, 15:22