The Wrecking Crew

Posted on March 10, 2021 by

We took the day off today because we didn’t trust ourselves to watch the Hate Crime Bill debate without doing something violent. By all accounts it was the smart call.

While the debate overran and will conclude with a vote tomorrow, there’s no suspense about the outcome. With the backing of the snivelling, hateful, misogynist Greens (one female MSP out of six, entirely by choice), the bill will pass and Scotland will become a country where almost anything you say could be a hate crime.

The bill is designed to terrify normal people into silence about almost any subject, as an automatic habit. Even in your own home you won’t be safe from denunciation.

And while an amendment by Adam Tomkins of the Scottish Tories – it has come to the stage, readers, where we’re reduced to needing the Tories to try to save us from the SNP – should help a lot of people escape being convicted, that’s not even the point. Malicious, vexatious complaints will have put them through months of worry and fear, effectively punishing them even though they’re innocent, and most people – especially women – will simply hold their tongue to avoid the trauma.

For the last couple of years this site has been critical of the SNP’s failure to make any sort of progress on independence. But this is far, far worse even than that. Because if they somehow miraculously achieved independence tomorrow, we’d be afraid to live in the Scotland they’re creating.

Our country doesn’t have a SINGLE political party remotely fit for government. Voters in May face a choice between the evil, the stupid, and the evil and stupid. And they can’t even be angry about it, because even the politest anger is now a hate crime.

We wish we had a constructive course of action to suggest to you, folks. But we don’t, because democracy has failed you. There is no way you can vote that will fix the ruins the SNP have made of Scotland. We cannot see a way forward. It is becoming nearly impossible to evade the conclusion that all is lost. Nicola Sturgeon has destroyed it.

Subscribe
Notify of

937 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
AYRSHIRE ROB

Scot Renewables

But you’re telling us to vote SNP on the day. “It’ll be alright on the night” scenario.

No it won’t. There’s more hell to come from them if they get a majority. More shit policies that will make HCB look tame with this current lot.

You have been told b4 do not demand from voters their mark in the box. Request by all means, never demand. Awe just one more time.We promise this time, we promise.

Fuck naw, I don’t like jam. How many times dae you need tae be telt Mr?

Dan

I’m not sure if it is caused by the dentist anesthetic that’s slowly wearing off, but I reckon that was three relatively sensible posts in a row from me, so for balance I best move into different territory.

1 minute footage of Pete Murrell and Nicola Sturgeon driving what’s left of the Indy vehicle.

Ruby

ScotsRenewables says:
11 March, 2021 at 1:12 pm
Is English Unionist a hateful description?

Your cover is blown, Ruby

You referred to me as Rubytube.
English Unionist troll was the description you used.

‘Your cover is blown, Ruby’

My cover was also blown in an earlier post. Then I was ‘outed’ as a ‘Typical Sturgeonite McWoke’ and referred to as RubyRoaster

Do you post under different names?

Robert Graham

Quite a funny Canadian series on Amazon Prime just now for those folk who might need a little lighthearted distraction because they sound as if they are about to blow a gasket ,

Anyway it’s called Corner Gas , lighthearted and stupid give it a try if you are at a loose end ,

Just in case anyone wondered yes it is Off Topic

Have a nice day now .

Bob Mack

@Andrew Morton,

No . It’s the Trans part that is “protected “,not the woman part

Pixywine

Been moderated on the Dugs blog

Cag-does-thinking

Before I wade though the comments in abject depression, this being the most up to date comment it is the only one I see do let me mention that Corner Gas though Canadian is very Scottish type of humour and I watched it a few years ago and it was very funny, especially if you come from a small town/village…. And today I need cheered up.

President Xiden

Scots Renewables said

Do I detect a Trumpster?

Oh dear. A bit of a credibility gap opening up here I fear.

You are the Joke character here my friend. YOU are the one lacking credibility.

ScotsRenewables

Dan says:
11 March, 2021 at 1:11 pm
@Scots Renewables

Just an observation, but it may be worth considering that some BTL commenters who are really struggling to vote SNP with their first vote, may live in particular constituencies that have SNP MSPs who have been hugely influential with their various activities which has led us into this crisis position.
Therefore, attempts to remove these specific MSPs is a valid position to hold. In chess, sometimes a necessary sacrifice requires to be made.

Dan, you have a point. Unfortunately, every SNP MSP not elected means a Unionist MSP.

I can almost see the point of voting for Anas Sarwar in Sturgeon’s constituency, and if she was not elected it would indeed send a very, very sharp message. However, she would get in on the List vote so it would all be a bit pointless really, and lets face it her personal vote will get her in anyway, I don’t thing Sarwar has a chance.

And Sarwar is hardly a paragon of virtue, having probably told as many lies to Parliament as Sturgeon in his time. So again, what would be the point?

The only way for honour to be satisfied and for a pro-indy majority to be returned is for the ISP to up their game dramatically, but they seem so useless that I suspect they are a Unionist front, designed to take SNP list votes but with no chance of getting a single seat.

Maybe something or someone will move before May, but the ISP and the AFI look like being as busted a flush as RISE were in 2016. I was half expecting Stu to stand, or at least comprehensively endorse them or gee thenm up in some way, but he has not done so so far.

I would love to see Robertson fail to get Edinburgh Central , but again the fat trougher will get in on the list so it’s all a bit pointless.

(If you think the SNP will let their self-id-ing tourettes and BAME candidates displace Robertson or Sturgeon you are nuts . . . the no.1 candidates will just withdraw on health grounds or similar )

We are in a bad place. I see no point in making it worse.

Pixywine

Scots Renewables. And….?

Pixywine

For comedy I go to Scots Renewables. I’m not Left or Right. I’m a bit of everything politically as I think most people are. It’s good to get both sides of an argument. Even at my age this past 5 years or so has taught me much and possibly mistified me more. What is most mystifying is the bone headed loyalty the Sturgeonette seems capable of.

Pixywine

Anyway time for some Alex Jones

Big Jock

Andy – I agree that the SNP need :” a skelped arse”.

However us giving them a skelped arse in the election will not be perceived by the Brits as that. They will use it as a signal to tell Scotland to get back in it’s box. It’s the optics that come into play with these things.

It’s been pointed out before by P Bell and others. That anything short of an SNP majority is now taken as a defeat for the independence movement. Even if we get 10 ISP list MSP’s . The unionists will say the SNP is a minority government. Don’t get me wrong, I know that is a democratic crock of shit. However it’s all that the Tories need to say to the world that Scotland rejected independence.

With every fiber of my body , I am raging at Sturgeon and her disgusting policies. But the logical part of my brain thinks. What is best for the momentum towards independence.

Momentum is very important. Without it we start going backwards. Regardless of whether the SNP are serious about independence, which they aren’t at the moment.

Do we force their hand by giving them a majority or denying them a majority. If they end up as a minority they will back peddle and say Scotland isn’t ready blah , blah, blah. If they get a majority then we demand they act , because there is absolutely no excuse they can come up with which is credible anymore.

How we force their hand is something the movement will have to agree on post election. Ideally a small band of independence opposition MSp’s might be the drivers of this.

Pixywine

Only joking Scots Renewables

LaingB French

This morning in my mail I received from SNP 2 x Spring Draw raffle books . first prize £10k, 2nd. £5k, 3rd. 10 x £1k. Even though I am no longer a member they still hope I will help them out. sadly as far as I’m concerned they can kiss my … oh ! look a squirrel!
NUTS!

Andrew Morton

My wife just came into the room and said, ‘Well that’s the SNP blown independence then!’

Big Jock

I also think the time to get rid of poisonous Sturgeon before May has gone. We tried , but somehow she has carried on like Terminator. The Greens are opportunists , so they would back her in a vote of no confidence anyway.

Can we dump her after May…time will tell!

Big Jock

Laing – Same. I left 3 weeks ago and still get mail shots and emails from the Kremlin.

ScotsRenewables

shocked says:
11 March, 2021 at 1:16 pm
@ScotsRenewables

So calling out corruption and criminality and the most sinister attempt in history to silence free speech in a western democracy is “SNPbaaaad”

Not much of a student of history, are you?

Captain Yossarian

Scotland’s 7 day average for vaccinations is an appalling 21,000.

Sturgeon told us it was due to a shortage of supply & now we find out there are 1 million doses sitting in fridges waiting to be used.

Republicofscotland

This quite telling I think, in all honesty I don’t why there’s SNP MP’s at Westminster they can’t really achieve anything for Scotland. Their presence only enhances the unions legitimacy.

“Patrick Grady suspension led to “dust up” between Ian Blackford+Joanna Cherry at Westminster group meeting. Cherry asked why she was sacked from frontbench but Grady had remained despite concerns. Blackford replied Q proved Cherry was “not a team player”

link to twitter.com

Ruby

Once checked in with the SNP Membership you can leave.

It’s an ‘Hotel California’ type membership

Ruby

tut I meant never leave!

Stuart MacKay

Finally, managed to get the time to read the latest and the place is on fire!

Scot Renewables – I’m impressed that you’re fighting your corner but I think most of the anguish is not directed at the SNP per se, but rather the realisation that the leadership and the MSPs just threw away the election because of hubris and arrogance.

If you remember back through the mists of time to oh, about a couple of years ago, the whole GRA calamity kicked off as people began to realise that 52% of the support for independence was in danger of walking out the door and not coming back. Well, yesterday’s little show of Progressive wilfulness just kicked the door open and is busy handing them their coats.

It’s no wonder that people are considering ditching the SNP. If they continue down the Road to Hell then any chance of independence is sunk. I doubt that half the population are going to be in a forgiving mood any time soon.

Anyways, there’s little point in continuing the squabbling here. If you want to save the May elections then you’d better start talking to all the women’s groups out there before they enact their revenge.

susanXX

Transwomen are men – jail me! Lmfao.

Big Jock

Ruby -That’s why I made sure I cancelled my direct debit. I dinnae trust them!

Cag-does-thinking

Well after a skim through that, I probably need my sense of humour. I don’t think it is all bad (if I am worng remember the nail file in the cake when I’m in the Thought Jail). The Hate crime Bill is just really the culmination of inadequate law from a Justice brief that I don’t think is up to the job. Bad law gets overturned usually because it is unworkable. In the meantime there will be an election. The SNP will lose despite the polls and it will give them a chance to reflect on how their downfall came about. It will be because they lost the electorate.

It’s probably best it happens before we are an independent country for we need robust checks and balances against such shennanigans again if we are truly in hope of making our country a better place to live.

The dream of independence is not dead but I think it’s fair to say that the scales have been pulled from our eyes that the SNP would be the vehicle to deliver it. I feel sadness for those people of courage that through the years dreamed big and wanted a different country placed their faith in a political generation who are not in any way their equals.

robertknight

RoS…

“I don’t why there’s SNP MP’s at Westminster they can’t really achieve anything for Scotland”

£££££££££££££££££££££££££…

Mia

“every SNP MSP not elected means a Unionist MSP”

Under Sturgeon, every single SNP MSP elected means at all practical effects a unionist, undemocratic MSP, one that has no regard for females’ rights nor freedom of speech, one who considers that popular sovereignty, our right to self determination and the raison d’etre of the party can be put aside for 6 years so Sturgeon can play sick, undemocratic political games so she can get in the good side of corporate America.

The only option we have left to stop unionists and charlatans getting our vote is to spoil your constituency ballot.

Bring it on.

Effigy

Al at 12.29.

Ask anyone in England if our prescriptions are free.
There are semantics here but I appreciate we either
have an all inclusive NHS or we don’t.

Yes we pay for everything in accordance with our priorities
and Scotland’s is very different to England’s.

The Tories will sell the NHS bit by bit and their rich supporters will
suck up the money but by bit and they will fund the Tory party with some
of the cash and policies will make the rich richer and the poor poorer.

All of a sudden there is no welfare system, no holiday pay, no pensions,
no hope for anyone not comfortably seated on the gravy train.

I heard on BBC radio that Scotland’s Covid death total is over 9,000?
I understand that figure is one that includes Excess Deaths.
The Daily Covid Figures always used everywhere else has us at over 7,000.

Why have the BBC used different figures for England?
Their Daily figure is over 110,000 and I understand that their
Excess deaths are circa 20,000 more.

Why are the public not remitted to see England’s real Covid Death Total?

BBC TV news reported on 4.66 million people on NHS England Waiting list
for treatment. To try and soften the blow of their incompetent and uncaring
heart of the Empire, they throw in Scotland has it bad too?
It seems we have 115,000 on our waiting list.

So there you are if our waiting list is one 40th of England’s we have it bad.

All part of the reason why I want the BBC and Westminster out of Scotland.

Footsoldier

If another party goes for Home Rule and spells out exactly what that means e.g. everything except defence and foreign affairs, that will be hugely attractive to those who swither on independence.

It would probably receive backing from the unionists who might sabotage it later but is likely to scupper independence. It would be difficult to defend the position on independence because we do not know anything about the SNP independence campaign and I suspect, nor do the SNP.

Ruby

Most of the emphasis seems to be on women’s rights & problems for women but there are also problems for men both straight and gay.

The main one being that men might discover too late that they have spent and evening with a woman with a penis or in the case of gay men a man with a vagina.

This could result in men getting angry (even violent) and landing up in trouble with the law.

I’m guessing this is the cause of most violence against transexuals.

Effigy

RE Scottish Vaccination figures-

Today will see some 2,000,000 vaccinations having
taken place in Scotland.

That figure includes 1st and 2nd doses.

The program is on track and the numbers of new cases is
falling as is hospital admissions, ICU cases and deaths.

As Scot Gov chose to vaccinate the more difficult members
in our Society it slowed down the initial numbers but we are doing well.

The U.K. media are experts at distorting the reality of life in Scotland.
They don’t need any misplaced help here.

Jack Murphy

Thanks to someone further up the Thread for this link to Gordon Dangerfield’s Blog, Scottish Solicitor Advocate.

TODAY:

‘WHAT THE SCOTTISH GOVERNMENT KNEW AND WHEN THEY KNEW IT’
link to gordondangerfield.com

Wullie B

@Pixywine
You haven’t got Ben Shapiro on that list of yours, like you I enjoy Crowder, especially his “Change My Mind” vlogs, he is the YouTube US version of Stu, ie researches then gets the ducks lined up with the evidence, I have posted on Crowders timeline to check out the nick of Scots Politics, just a pity he has never taken it up

John Martini

Its not often that It feels crap to be right. Independence looks like it is over politically for a least 20 years if not for good.

Barring the scottish people dragging themselves away from watching dancing with stars with bears on ice it is all over.

The netflix generation have killed the dream

ScotsRenewables

Mia,

There are plenty of good SNP candidates who are not wokie at all, including my own in Argyll and Bute. Also Kate Forbes, Joan Macalpine, Fiona Hyslop to name a few.

I suggest at the very least people look at their candidate personally before deciding to spoil their ballot paper.

AndyH

I think I’ll be a lot happier if the ISP and the other lot get their shit together and give something tangible to vote for on the list.

I’ll hold fire on the constituency for now until I see and hear a bit more.

Eight weeks is a long time. A LOT can happen before the vote.

It’s galling that the SNP are pushing through all that hate garbage without one iota of democratic mandate.

Have they all been taken over by alien lizards?

WTAF?

Bob Mack

@Scots Renewables,

All bar Joan McAlpine voted for Hate Crime Bill. No character. No moral compass.

Joanna Cherry asked why she was removed from front bench whilst accusations remained against Grady told by Blackford she was “not a team player”

I remember those type. Ronaldo. Law.Best. They weren’t team players either. Ms Cherry however has the perfect excuse. It’s called a brain.

Clavie Cheil

I think if we lived in a Nation where we had an impartial Press and Media then Sturgeon would be oot the door already. I think if we lived in a Nation with a competent opposition that believed in Scots Indy then she would also be gone. We have neither unfortunately.

Ottomanboi

Is it possible that the SNP is actually rather scared of the full implications of independence, the strategic, the economic etc?
The performance over the period when the party actually had a substantial majority and made little use of it even in the face of anglo-Brexit suggests either a lack of will or a dread of not sticking with nurse for fear of nurse turning very nasty.
The latter is a possibility. in that case the climate for pushing Scotland’s independence will never be benign enough.
What can you expect from a party that bends over backwards to not be ‘nationalist’?

Mia

“There are plenty of good SNP candidates who are not wokie at all”

How many of those stood up for females’ rights when the fraud and her cabal were throwing a wrecking ball against them?

How many of those stood up for freedom of speech? How many of those are going to show the balls to vote against this aberration?

How many of them ever dared to defy the whip from a fraud that is clearly wrecking the chances of the party as a vehicle to independence?

How many of them stood up and demanded the fraud to resign and to own her part in the disgraceful attempt to send an innocent man to prison?

How many of them stood up for Scotland’s popular sovereignty the day the fraud capitulated without as much as a wimp to the withdrawal bill?

How many of them stood up for Scotland’s autonomy and demanded the resignation of the fraud the day she handed over Scotland’s powers to England MPs?

How many of them stood up and demanded the malicious accusations to stop?

How many of them stood up and demanded an immediate location of the ring fenced money?

How many of them stood up and demanded our democratic mandates to be delivered without delay?

How many of them stood up and demanded the rogues in the NEC that abused power to block Ms Cherry to stand down and demanded Ms Cherry to be admitted to the race?

How many?

Any?

So do no tell me there are “good candidates” in the SNP when none of them has had the backbone to stand up to a fraud that is destroying the SNP, destroying Scotland, harming the Scottish people, making a mockery of Scotland’s democracy, democratic structures and rule of law and denying us our fundamental right to self determination.

I do not call those “good candidates”. I call them cowards.

Nally Anders

Well said Stuart MacKay @ 2.07
Yes, I consider I have been handed my coat and I’ll be walking.
There is not one single reason women should not have been added to the HCB.
Too long in the tooth to put up with shite.
Of note, leaflet posted frae SNP constituency MSP, not one mention of Independence.

Bartleby64

Effigy, the death figures you mention are available in both variants here for all UK nations.
link to coronavirus.data.gov.uk
Excess deaths are a little harder to find, here is England and Wales but not as up to date link to ons.gov.uk
And Scotland. Even harder to find but in there somewhere! link to nrscotland.gov.uk

cat-sith

Yousaf’s main amendment which was passed yesterday stands out to me somewhat.

Covering “Protection of freedom of expression”, it states that things are not to be taken as automatically threatening or abusive in certain circumstances.

However while for most of the protected characteristics this only applies to “discussion or criticism” Religion has been given it’s own entry.

“discussion or criticism relating to, or expressions of antipathy, dislike, ridicule or insult towards” religion, religious beliefs or practices, or a lack of religion.

Am I right in thinking that this would set a precedent where antipathy, dislike, ridiucle and insult of religion is okay (unless coupled with illegal actions), but the same is not true of age, disability, sexual orientation, transgender identity (including cross-dressers) and variations in sex characteristics?

This certainly sounds to me a lot like making a lot of Sectarianism less covered by this bill than the other characteristics.

I also just noticed that, unless it is part of other existing laws, there is no such protection of freedom of expression if Race is involved.

Anonymoose

ScotsRenewables says:
11 March, 2021 at 2:34 pm

There are plenty of good SNP candidates who are not wokie at all, including my own in Argyll and Bute. Also Kate Forbes, Joan Macalpine, Fiona Hyslop to name a few.

I suggest at the very least people look at their candidate personally before deciding to spoil their ballot paper.
—-
It’s alright saying look at the candidate not the party if your talking about local council elections, but general elections such as those for the Scottish Parliament are all about party politics and not about the candidates, for it is the winning party’s leadership that control the statute book not the party members outwith cabinet.

Sure you can base your opinion of a candidate based off of their own record either through their prior profession or through their time as an MSP, but to state you should vote for them “because they are a great person” is utter bollocks when it comes to general elections to the Scottish Parliament where party policy dictated by party leaders rules the roost.

Onlooker

Seen people here make reference to Himza Yousaf’s privileged background. Does he come from money? Anybody know what his story is?

Jon Mac

What do you mean “Our country”? You don’t live here and are just using that term to sow division. As long as this hate crime bill shuts down nasty wee hateful bigots like yourself I’m all for it.

ScotsRenewables

Anonymoose, not much hope of changing the SNP if you vote all the decent people out.

Robert Graham

Just trying to make a top ten list of the dumbest contributors on WGD it’s not complete yet
No 1 Dr Jim
No 2 Petrified
No 3 Hamish 69
No 4 Old Pete
No 5 cranky Jack
No 6 oh can’t be arsed they are all fkn dummies and truly believe the shit Princess Nicola is shoving their way Aye a referendum this year Ha Ha in yer dreams Suckers

I would have a discussion with them about their delusional thoughts on this version of the SNP but I am not allowed to say anything , in moderation means ” BIN ” so no point , anyone else manage to break through barrier and actually make a point ? . or is just fans that are allowed ? .

ScotsRenewables

Mia,

Joan Macalpine defied the whip yesterday. Not a ‘cowardly’ act. Time for you to get off that incredibly high horse you are on.

John H.

I’ve just heard that Baroness Jones (Green) has come up with the brilliant idea that all men should have to abide by a 6pm curfew after the tragic death of Sarah Everard. Our society is consuming itself, particularly politicians. Maybe it’s time for us all to self ID as women.

ScotsRenewables

Baroness Bonkers doesn’t have a lot of influence, fortunately.

What’s with a ‘Green’ peer? Weird concept.

Stuart

6pm curfew for men = no nightshifts for 1 of the 2 genders. I’m sure private sector will be delighted with that idea.

alzyerpal

The most worrying/annoying thing about it is, the sheepish unanimity from SNP backbenchers. They, like the rest of us, must see this for what it really is; a get out of jail free card for the corrupt leadership, in the short term. The long term consequences being, an actual, 100% police state.
The VERY first thing we’ll all HAVE to do is cancel our twitter accounts, rather than inadvertently supply thought-police people with ammunition.
Because of their total shitiness, there will not be a single SNP personage I would vote for.

Mia

“not much hope of changing the SNP if you vote all the decent people out”

Sorry, but the time to change the SNP is over. They had 5 years to deliver and they failed miserably. They failed at every possible level. You do not reward losers and incompetents with votes. You chuck them out. The SNP for me is dead and I will never be fooled to vote for them ever again.

Those MSPs have wasted us our mandate for indyref, have given up on our autonomy, have given up on our rights, have shown contempt for our democracy, contempt for justice, contempt for female rights and freedom of speech.

Those “decent” people have made a complete mockery of our democracy and our yes vote.

Those “decent” people have indulged a fraud in destroying the democratic structures of Scotland, never mind our main pro-independence party. They have indulged her in riddling our government with sickening corruption, in wasting our indyref money, in abusing power, in wasting our taxpayers’ money to enact political vendettas against opponents, in defying parliamentary votes to release evidence and denying us democracy and our right to self-determination.

There are no “decent” politicians among those MSPs. If there was even one, they would have stood up and spoken out before this demanding the fraud to resign.

The SNP as a political party is dead. Sturgeon may be the one still holding the knife dripping with blood, but all those MSPs sat and watch while she did the business and not one stood up, took the knife away from her and restrained her (metaphorically speaking, that is).

Not one.

Beaker

@robertknight says:
11 March, 2021 at 2:16 pm
£££££££££££££££££££££££££…

That’s just Blackford’s expenses…

John H.

Remember lads…I mean girls, if you’re on board a sinking ship, it’s women and children first. 🙂

Bob Mack

All this to accomodate .1 % of the population. In addition remove the rights of 51% to make it possible. Policy created by Dumb and Dumber

Republicofscotland

Having a wee look through some SNP MSP’s and MP’s Twitter feeds today the emphasis is truly on women’s safety. Yet the party failed miserably in protecting the names of two of the women complainants in the complaints committee.

Yet not one, of these so called champions for women has spoken out about it, its like it never happened. The hypocrisy from those SNP MSP’s and MP’s is breathtaking. Of course the so called Justice Secretary Humza Yousaf’s Hate Crime bill, is not aimed at protecting real women as Joan McAlpine’s rebuttal has shown, its aimed more at shutting people up including women.

Effigy

Thanks Bartleby 64.

I spent 10 minutes trawling through all sorts of data
designed for me to make most people give in.

Why would you link England and Wales figures together?
I’ve noticed that frequently that when England’s figures stink
they add in another party to dilute their failure and allude that
another area is as bad.

As of last week England had 125,501 Covid Deaths.

If Scotland has over 9,000 then I presume the whole U.K. total
Is way other 145, 000 Covid deaths.

Cath

Well, after the HCB passes, I hope the wheeshters are ready and willing to do all the independence fighting. Because those paying attention know fine well it’s the loudest independence supporters who are targeted, as well as anyone not going along with the TWAW mantras. That’s what wheesthing for indy and not paying attention to what is actually happening has done.

Harry mcaye

It is wrong to say spoiling your ballot paper achieves nothing. The returning officer had a duty to announce how many are spoiled. If this number is tens of thousands more than last time that will be newsworthy.

And to John above, that was obviously directed at Rev Stu. If you honestly think he is a bigot I’m afraid you are an idiot.He’s standing up against bigotry. This bill protects transwomen but not actual women. Oops, I said actual women, naughty me! Do you not have any women in your life? Are they not worth making a stand?

Harry mcaye

Jon mac not John.

Captain Yossarian

@Effigy – you are kidding yourself. Scotland is an entirely different country with different population densities to England. You will find in amongst your data that Glasgow was one of the worst affected cities in the world per head of population.

John Martini

The trend is clear. Indy is an old scottish persons dream. It is over unless the people who are sovereign get off their arses.

link to order-order.com

ahundredthidiot

A relative left a few years ago for the South of England.

He was firmly of the view Scotland was a lost cause and becoming quite dangerous towards it’s own citizens.

Of course, I took an opposing view and we fell out over the matter. Now, I find myself reviewing my position.

Anonymoose

ScotsRenewables says:
11 March, 2021 at 2:58 pm

Anonymoose, not much hope of changing the SNP if you vote all the decent people out.
—-
I do see your point, but the SNP leadership have neutered the partys members ability to hold them to account, they performed a coup d’état on the party and the NEC by:

1) Manipulating the partys standing orders to wrest control from the ordinary members over to the party leaders.

2) Made the business convener fully in charge of all conference motions and debates, thereby shutting down ordinary members from proposing, debating on and voting on proposed party policies.

3) Filled the NEC with unelected affiliate organisations who cannot be held to account by the ordinary members, nor can ordinary members instigate a vote to have them removed from the NEC, they are “untouchable” and in larger numbers than elected members.

4) Allowed ex-NEC elected representatives to sit on the NEC via those unelected affiliate organisation seats.

5) Allowed the above ex-NEC members & affiliate organisation seats to vote themselves into constituency and list slots which is a clear conflict of interest.

6) Implementing and using a wholly undemocratic methodology of reserved slots over democratic party votes & the non publishing of the full results of the votes to the ordinary members.

7) As government created and implemented wholly flawed policy which was targetted at and seeked to demonise, defame and imprison an ex-politician who was at the time a private citizen.

So without an entire clearing out of the party from the leader down to and including the business convener along with their staff and a reinstatement / reversal of the standing orders to pre-Sturgeon times, then clearing out the SNP is literally impossible, for want of a better phrase they’re completely fucked as a democratic party.

The only way at the moment to force that change in the SNP is for them to lose the Holyrood Election and even then I don’t think that monster would leave the position of party leader, she does not have the ability to concede defeat.

Shocked

@Scotsrenewables

Over to you give us examples where other western democracies have tried to imprison people for expressing opinions in their own home and saying such “hateful and evil” things as transsexual women are still men…

Stuart MacKay

Mia

Even if you leave the issue of decency out of it. None of these Shock Troops for Independence had the spine to stand up and say anything. Not even a tweet.

I’m sure they will be fighting with every fibre of their existence when the real thing happens. They’re just keeping their powder dry and saving their best shots for Boris. Yes sir, I can sense it.

Mia

“Joan Macalpine defied the whip yesterday”

That means ONE out of 61.

WOW!

And you demand ME to get off my high horse?

The SNP is dead.

Bob Mack

John Finnie Greens describes those who would halt trans rights as “Terrorists”.

That’s me. A terrorist. Language can cause problems.

Effigy

AreaSorted column (descending) – Apply ascending sort.
DeathsUnsorted column – Apply ascending sort.
Rate per 100,000,000 populationUnsorted column – Apply ascending sort.
Wales 5,412 1717
Scotland 7,461 1366
Northern Ireland 2,087 1102
England 110,027 1955

It seems like England is set to become the First Nation on earth to
reach 2,000 Covid Deaths per million without including their Excess Deaths.

Hands up everyone who wants to keep this Tory government doing what they are doing for evermore

oneliner

@Beaker 3:16

How much for a Portree to London return?

Just askin’

Bartleby64

Effigy, purely because that’s how the ONS has them. Different on the gov.uk covid statistics page, they are separate there and therefore more useful.

Republicofscotland

So what is it that SNP MP’s actually do at Westminster all day long, I mean what have they done in the past to further our cause of independence. I know Joanna Cherry won some sort of court case, and that Ian Blackford walked out with his SNP MP’s on one occasion much to our delight, and that one SNP MP even grabbed the HoC Mace, I think it might have been Drew Hendry or Brendan O’Hara, both have since posted a picture of themselves with Nicola Sturgeon in sort of reaffirmation to their loyalty to her.

Others have taken relish in settling in instead of settling up, such as Pete Wishart whose so at home in the HoC that he desperately wants to become the Speaker of the House, and he doesn’t care who knows it. Then we have Stewart McDonald, whose obsessively doing Westminster’s dirty work for them by constantly commenting on how to hold China, Russia, and whatever other nations Whitehall doesn’t like at the moment to account.

We have Stuart Hosie, sitting on the Intelligence and Security Committee, you don’t get a seat on it unless the PM has vetted you personally.

So just exactly why are SNP MP’s at Westminster? and is the independence cause any further along from them being there?

Andrew F

Bartleby:

According to the ONS, in the last 50 years 2020 came in at 38 for mortality rate: link to twitter.com

And before anyone says ‘but the lockdowns and restrictions kept it low’, remember that the excuse for the lockdowns and restrictions was because it was SO EXTRAORDINARILY HIGH, not to prevent it but because so many people were actually dying.

The number of people per 100,000 dying was just a bit below the figure for 2007.

Nobody remembers 2007 as a particularly horrific year requiring totalitarian martial law.

Wullie B

oneliner says:
11 March, 2021 at 3:32 pm
@Beaker 3:16

How much for a Portree to London return?

Just askin

Dunno but it’s not far off £35 to Inverness , but one thing I do know, the peninsula he lives in has super fast broadband, upto 900mbs when rest of island struggles at most upto 50mbs in population centres, other areas not far from his own on a max of 2mbs

Wee Chid

Ruby says:
11 March, 2021 at 2:24 pm
“Most of the emphasis seems to be on women’s rights & problems for women but there are also problems for men both straight and gay.

The main one being that men might discover too late that they have spent and evening with a woman with a penis or in the case of gay men a man with a vagina.

This could result in men getting angry (even violent) and landing up in trouble with the law.

I’m guessing this is the cause of most violence against transexuals.”

Exactly. Men are entitled to their own spaces too, straight or gay.

Wee Chid

susanXX says:
11 March, 2021 at 2:10 pm
Transwomen are men – jail me! Lmfao.

I prefer Karen Davies’ description of “trans identified males.” I refuse to let the word woman anywhere near them.

Bob Mack

Now imagine this. Couple this Hate Crime nonsense with the proposed GRA Bill get to come. You won’t be able to identify any longer as one of two sexes.

What a treat we have in store just by voting SNP.

Bartleby64

Andrew F, good point. You find all sorts of interesting things if you drill right down into the statistics. I am waiting with some interest for the population density/cases/deaths statistics when reliable ones become available. My suspicion is that with the exception of a few countries (New Zealand for instance) nobody is going to come out of it looking great.

Cooper

Wondered why less posts.

Cudneycareless

Bartleby64 says: (New Zealand for instance)

My friends and family in NZ are getting mighty cheesed off with Jacinda . When they lift the lockdown then the virus will sweep through the vulnerable just like when explorers first landed in the “colonies”.

Dan

ScotsRenewables says: at 1:36 pm

Dan, you have a point. Unfortunately, every SNP MSP not elected means a Unionist MSP.

Thanks, though for clarity in this day and age and learning from Mark Hirt’s past experience, I must make it clear that the “point” you infer I have is not the end of a pitchfork which could be used as weapon.

With regard to identifying what is and isn’t a unionist MSP the area is more grey.
Alert readers who will have read the archived 2016 SNP Election Manifesto may have noticed the specific lack of “gender” or “hate” in any of the wording, yet there is the following:

Scotland’s future

We believe that the Scottish Parliament should have the right to hold another referendum if there is clear and sustained evidence that independence has become the preferred option of a majority of the Scottish people – or if there is a significant and material change in the circumstances that prevailed in 2014, such as Scotland being taken out of the EU against our will.

We will undertake new work, starting this summer, with the aim of persuading a clear majority of people in Scotland that independence is the best future for our country.

link to archive.is

Some folk may have noticed the lack of Scots being offered the chance to re-visit the question on whether Scotland should end the union and return to being a self governing country.
This denial of opportunity raises the pertinent question that the current Scottish Administration are also closet unionists who talk the Indy talk, but fail to walk the Indy walk.

Thanks again for acknowledging my non-pitchforked point that there is potential to electorally target those who have caused this crisis instead of them focusing on progressing the Independence cause.
The Deputy First Minister had a much smaller majority of just a few thousand back in 2016.

Bob Mack

Started already!!! Younger members of the cabal organising complaint against Joan McAlpine for being against Trans.

Maybe the SNP will make it retrospective just to get Joan, like they did with Alex. Happy New world!!

Mac

Wee Chid says:
I prefer Karen Davies’ description of “trans identified males.” I refuse to let the word woman anywhere near them.

————

Yeah I strongly agree. A big thing for these bullies is attempting to control the language you can and cannot use. All that pronoun guff for another example…

We should refuse to describe them as any kind of woman, trans, nearly, almost, whatever… they are all bullshit descriptions because they are men, big hairy ugly arsed blokes.

Effigy

My Backside !
Captain Yossarian

You would be as well to say a wee woman in Govan
had a case of Covid 19 worse than anyone else in England.

Stick your head in the big picture.

Daily deaths number in Scotland over 7,000
Daily deaths number in England over 110,000.

Their Death rate is 50% higher than ours and it’s not because Londoners
need to huddle together because a coal bunker down there cost £250,000.

We don’t have control of our own finances so couldn’t do furlough on our own.
We don’t get to close our borders when required because England controls it.

We are totally different people to the English.
We want to be Europeans
We would never dream of giving the Tories a majority
We wouldn’t invade foreign nations on a killing mission
We would accept the United Nations ruling on the Chagos islands
We wouldn’t break international laws
We wouldn’t try to shut down parliament

You can stick your Butcher’s Apron up where the sun no longer shines on your
Empire

Bob Mack

Weddings should be a hoot.

“Do you( legal desciption,) take this (legal description) to be your lawfully wedded chest feeder. I now pronounce you something and something(insert preferences) according to law.

Bill Buxton

What the hell has happened in Scotland. Is it vying to be the Woke capital of the world?

Mac

Bill Buxton says:
What the hell has happened in Scotland. Is it vying to be the Woke capital of the world?

————-

Actually Bill the SNP are. It is on their “Leading the World” list.

link to snp.org

Gregor

Either way, looks like some very dark times ahead:

“Home Office tests web-spying powers with help of UK internet firms”:

link to bbc.co.uk

Captain Yossarian

@Effigy – ‘We wouldn’t try to shut down parliament.’ You might find that WM decides to shut it down for you and don’t expect them to ask first before they do it. Holyrood is full of corruption and cover-up. The UK Gov has a new office all ready to go in cenral Edinburgh. They could run Scotland easily. Holyrood will be turned into a multi-plex with adjoining brothel. Both will do very well in Edinburgh.

ALANM

Anybody want to buy a raffle ticket? I’m looking to shift two books of 10 tickets for the SNP spring draw each of which offer the chance to win £10,000. You can put the money towards your defence costs when you get nicked for saying something out of turn at the dinner table.

Sylvia

I will post this again in case anyone has missed it.

Scottish Government/Judith Mackinnon

“Their claims that they didn’t know what their own policy actually meant are just more lies, and in what follows, I’ll tell you why”

ahundredthidiot

Gregor @ 4:17

Always makes me laugh that people never wonder why porn sites are free.

Paid for by the tax payer, too.

And not there to stamp out crime – far from it.

Clavie Cheil

Captain Yossarian says:
11 March, 2021 at 1:56 pm

“Scotland’s 7 day average for vaccinations is an appalling 21,000.

Sturgeon told us it was due to a shortage of supply & now we find out there are 1 million doses sitting in fridges waiting to be used.”

—————————————————————————————————————–

Hey come on there. That is a asinine comment to make when folk are putting their lives on the line to vaccinate us.

Gregor

@ahundredthidiot

Nothing is safe from the malicious rogue deep-state MONSTER.

So much timing and context stinks at the moment, under ‘The Age of The Banana’…

Andy Ellis

I doubt Wee Ginger Dug will allow this comment through moderation, so though I’d put my response to his latest article here. The BTL comments there are extraordinary – a total echo chamber of unreasoning SNP loyalists. 🙁

“Maximising the SNP vote in May won’t deliver an independence referendum, still less actual independence, in any meaningful timescale. Your criticise those disillusioned with the SNP for having no plan while presenting a plan yourself which lacks credibility. The SNP already has multiple mandates for holding a referendum. An SNP majority (or an SNP/Green coalition) is therefore redundant: it gives us absolutely nothing more than we have already.

Of course the Scottish government could and should have put the matter of a calling a non S30 Order sanctioned referendum beyond legal doubt years ago. Your plan now seems to involve, at some indeterminate date in the next few years, using a British nationalist refusal to sanction a “legal” referendum as justification for plebiscitary elections. Your assertion that this would somehow be better and more likely to succeed than making May 2021’s elections plebiscitary are unconvincing.

International recognition in your timescale isn’t on the face of it any more likely in 12 or 18 months time (and I have my doubts it would be then, more like 3-4 years). Similarly, your assertion that “soft No” pro-indy Labour voters would be more likely to switch to “Yes” after this additional mandate you insist is necessary, is no more convincing than the strategies of your opponents which you insist are mere opinion, not fact.

Your appeal is just a retread of “Trust Nicola, she’s got this”. Sadly, an increasing number of pro-indy folk no longer trust Nicola, and they feel that what she’s got isn’t something they want.”

Anton Decadent

Look at who has been pushing this the most here then, as I mentioned last night, look at the board of the establishment in England which is carrying out sex changes on children against the medical diagnosis’ of what were its own senior medical staff until they quit in protest at their diagnosis being overruled by the board for ideological reasons. Then look up the board of Mermaids, the ‘charity’ which lobbies for and promotes this (infact look at who is behind all of the woke charities you can find) then look at the list of woke entryists in both SNP and Greens, also look at the journalists who push this stuff.

AwakeNotWoke

Scotland is fucked. I read a quote on Twitter, “backdoor Sharia”…and it’s not far from where we are. That there are STILL people on social media, WOMEN on social media, saying “SNP 1/2” just makes me feel suicidal. My wife and daughter were furious last night, and have decided that spoiling/abstaining constituency vote is not enough, they’re voting Tory. They want to kick back, hard. I’m joining them. All we wanted was an independent country, but they’ve fucking destroyed the vision of what that may have been. Would you want to live with these people…anywhere…much less a country where they wield disproportionate power??

Totally scunnered and incandescent with rage.

Robert Louis

Quite sickened by the b****y-minded arrogance of Humza. He knows better than judges, he knows better than human rights groups, he knows better than legal experts, he knows better than women’s rights groups, he knows better than you or I, he knows better than the Scottish people.

Humza, the so-called ‘justice’ secretary, surrounded by corrupt lying Scottish government government ministers, so far up his own conceited backside, he cannot remember what daylight or common sense looks like.

a wee message to Humza and his wokey creeps. I’m gay, and remember the ACTUAL fight for gay rights (it was illegal in Scotland until 1982), and I will never agree to this woke gender ideology rubbish. It is truly the biggest pile of hogwash I have ever heard. A woman is an adult human female, and no amount of laws suppressing freedom of speech will change that.

robertknight

Thanks for this Sylvia…

Anyone still considering voting SNP, just remember that you are telling Sturgeon and her band of liars that their behaviour, an example of which is detailed in the above link, is ok by you, and they’re welcome to carry on doing more of the same.

And before anyone cries “but what about the Yoons?” Those bampots are not our responsibility. Sturgeon & Co. very much are…

The SNP has become a monster which is out of control. 5 years in a dungeon learning the error of it’s ways is very much in order.

Al

Mac says:
Actually Bill the SNP are. It is on their “Leading the World” list.

link to snp.org
Had to laugh at the first one on the list leading climate change- have they forgotten about the 6 new incinerators to burn household waste they agreed to? Probably needed to burn documents.
The Comuter games development- Grand Theft Auto is highlighted, have these cretins never played the game ?

Al

Humza was probably mentored in Law by the First Minister who’s a Legal Eagle

John D

This delay to Independence is a good thing having reflected. Yes, I do think the SNP political party has been ,er, politicised and undermined by Politicians and the UK state. Best to pass them over now.
The desire for Scotland Self determination is way beyond that . As a British Scotsman I feel we have to acknowledge and own our contribution to the United Kingdom good and bad .
Remember it was the Scottish King who United this kingdom and took his court from Edinburgh to London the Parliament not following for a century. Those rogues.
Over the next couple of years Scotland will be joined by Northern Ireland and Wales in calling time on the Cities of Westminster and London. A walkover.

Captain Yossarian

@Clavie Cheil – having a million unused doses lying in fridges and saying that we have supply problems sounds dishonest and negligent to me. By the way, those administering the vaccines have has their vaccine doses earlier-on. They are therefore at no great personal risk.

Ruby

“Woman who pretended to be man to trick friend into sex jailed for eight years

Gayle Newland sentenced to eight years in prison for disguising her appearance and persuading woman to wear blindfold while they had sex”

Had this happen now Gayle Newland could just have ‘self ided’
as a man and her friend would have been charged with a hate crime.

John D

Btw
The Star Trek timeline has the Ireland reunification in 2024

Ian Mac

Gordon Dangerfield absolutely nails the lies and conspiracy to cover it up. Great detective work. Evans and McKinnon in particular, but clearly a circle of people at the top of the government. Sturgeon clearly trying to keep a deniable distance, but it is barely possible she didn’t know what was going on.

There is absolutely no doubt that in a democracy which demands accountability and responsibility there would be a major judicial inquiry with legal powers, and not the faux and feeble effort that Fabiani chairs. And the result would be sanctions and sackings. It is a disgrace what they did, but even worse their efforts to destroy evidence and play dumb – that is an enormous insult to every citizen in Scotland but particularly those whose trust was placed in them for independence – the one issue they have ignored and done next to nothing to achieve.

But suddenly it has been revived in order to get your vote. Just ask any of the candidates for details of how exactly it will be achieved, and then what the new constitution and separation of powers will be. Answers will there be none.

Pixywine

Robert Grahame. Its only people paying Dugs mortgage who are allowed to post on his Micky Mouse site.

Captain Yossarian

@Ian Mac – and Gordon Dangerfield can do all of this in his spare time. There are many excellent lawyers in Scotland. Ironically, many work for the Scottish Government. I don’t know any of them but they must feel appalled at what is going-on at the moment. It is high time John Swinney was removed from public life to a jail cell somewhere and let us all get back to stable normality.

ScotsRenewables

Yossers, there are not a million doses of vaccine in the fridge, stop making stuff up.

Clavie Cheil

Captain Yossarian says:
11 March, 2021 at 5:30 pm

“@Clavie Cheil – having a million unused doses lying in fridges and saying that we have supply problems sounds dishonest and negligent to me. By the way, those administering the vaccines have has their vaccine doses earlier-on. They are therefore at no great personal risk.”

Disagree with you about the risk. You clearly haven’t been absorbing the blurb about the vaccines. They will not work on some folk and so on. Drop the Yoonery and engage your brain on the topic of Covid 19. There are other areas where you can safely slag off Sturgeon and the SNP.

ScotsRenewables

Yossers, what criminal offences should Swinney be charged with?

Natal XX and proud

How about misconduct in public office for a start

Hugh Jarse

I do hope they’re paying you well for this SR.
Piece work, obviously.

Breastplate

WGD has laid out the parameters for anyone posting comments there, they basically have to be approved by him. I’d imagine he may allow some dissenting voices for the appearance of debate but changed days indeed.
They really don’t like Wings and believe we’re all nutters.

I was commenting there a week or two ago and if I’m being polite, it’s an echo chamber but it’s more akin to a chimpanzee’s tea party without the tea.

Ruby

What is a Yosser?

Captain Yossarian

You may remember Lord Keane. He was a senior lawyer who resigned from the WM Government in protest at the proroguing of parliament. He’s now advising Sturgeon’s Government on the principles of law. I wonder if he’s sleeping at night.

robertknight

“How about misconduct in public office for a start”

Conspiracy to defeat the ends of justice for another.

Captain Yossarian

ScotsRenewables – In England it is called ‘malfeasance’. As Natal XX and proud says, here it is called ‘misconduct in public office.’

beflox

May as well go get a job then …

Captain Yossarian

@Clavie Chiel – Are you suggesting we are going at half-speed here in Scotland because the folk administering the vaccines are scared? If it’s not that, what is it? I said there are a million unused vaccines lying in fridges in Scotland. Does that not worry you?

Skip_NC

Breastplate, I saw that earlier this morning. It seems that any comment has to be broadly in line with WGD’s own thinking. When I was out leafleting with a fellow SNP member in the 1980’s he said independence is all very well, but we’d end up having elections every six weeks because we would always be arguing. It’s what Scots do.

In any case, shouldn’t politics involve respectful disagreement? I got told a few weeks ago that I have no dog in this race and felt obliged to point out that most of my family is in Scotland.

John Martini

What happened to the ‘ceaser’ option? Did brutus get stage fright?

ScotsRenewables

THERE ARE NOT A MILLION UNUSED VACCINES LYING IN FRIDGES.

STOP MAKING SHIT UP, YOU ARE WORSE THAN STURGEON!

Dan

Finally finding a moment to sit down and sup an ale after a busy afternoon spent trying to break the puzzle of actually speaking with a SEPA employee, then fixing a tractor. (Got to love retro David Brown simplicity from a bygone era, when men were men, women were women, and tractors had less wiring than the space shuttle)

Anyways, contemplating that humans are pretty adaptable creatures. After a year of training I’m pretty much lockdown acclimatised now, and what with the pending Hate Crime Legislation I’ve been considering the implications.
I’m thinking socialising with like minded fellow inmates, accommodation, washing facilities, no heating bills, and three meals a day, all without the hassle of having to scrape a living together due to badly managed covid strategy is pretty fucking appealing these days.

Woman = Adult Female Human

Who wants to be cellies? 🙂

Wullie B

Ruby says:
11 March, 2021 at 6:03 pm

What is a Yosser?

The only time I have heard the word Yosser, it was a character from the 80s TV show Boys From The Black Stuff, and it was a character Yosser Hughes played by the guy who was the King of Rohan in the Lord Of the Rings trilogy who had Grima Wormtongue whispering poison into his lugs

Clavie Cheil

Captain Yossarian says:
11 March, 2021 at 6:15 pm

“@Clavie Chiel – Are you suggesting we are going at half-speed here in Scotland because the folk administering the vaccines are scared? If it’s not that, what is it? I said there are a million unused vaccines lying in fridges in Scotland. Does that not worry you?”

——————————————————————————————————————-

Those who administer the vaccines are at risk – that is a fact you cant get around now Fuck of yah Yoon troll.

Al

Dan, you forgot about jumping the hospital waiting lists and coming out with a degree.

Breastplate

Skip,
Yes, there is absolutely nothing wrong with reasoned debate, it’s the name calling that is essentially an attempt to close down debate.
No matter what side of the debate people are on, they should be able to put reasonable points across to back their stance.
WGD doesn’t want to see the other points of view that question their perspective.

Dorothy Devine

Breastplate, I think Paul is more than capable of debating unfortunately those btl on his blog are not.

Captain Yossarian

‘Scotland’s 7 day average for vaccinations is an appalling 21,000.

Sturgeon told us it was due to a shortage of supply & now we find out there are 1 million doses sitting in fridges waiting to be used.’ The Scottish Sun

holymacmoses

Actually Mr Wings when you say
Our country doesn’t have a SINGLE political party remotely fit for government.

That is true – however, tbh i don’t think England does either , nor Wales nor Northern Irelend. Being in the European Union made running the country quite easy because the Union did most of it – now I don’t think WM has a clue how to do things. This being the case I’d rather go with Scotland because we can get ourselves back into the EU and back on track with the nuts and bolts of Government. Sturgeon is transient. People make parties and there’s lots of good people in Scotland all able to learn

Breastplate

Dorothy,
I think that was before, now there is a note at the bottom of his blog saying he won’t stand for views he doesn’t adhere to, I’m paraphrasing but it looks like debate is a thing of the past on his site if true.

Breastplate

“This is your reminder that the purpose of this blog is to promote Scottish independence. If the comment you want to make will not assist with that goal then don’t post it. If you want to mouth off about how much you dislike the SNP leadership ,or about some other issue not directly related to Scottish independence – there are other forums where you can do that. You’re not welcome to do it here.”

Just popped over and this is from WGD.
It’s basically telling people to fuck off if they don’t post things he approves of, a shame really.

Dorothy Devine

Breastplate , that is a shame because I have always loved his writing . I haven’t been on the site since he was ill other than to enquire about his progress.

I did try to ask a few questions and was smothered by ‘ get a life’ ‘ grow up’ and the best one yet ‘ we don’t want your student politics here’ – I will be 75 this year which has to make me the oldest student around.

Captain Yossarian

@Breastplate – Stuart Campbell himself posts plenty of comments which are not in compliance with your rule. Agreed?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Skip_NC at 6:17 pm.

You typed,
“When I was out leafleting with a fellow SNP member in the 1980’s he said independence is all very well, but we’d end up having elections every six weeks because we would always be arguing. It’s what Scots do.”

I have a pal, former SNP member, who emigrated to Canada after the 1979 referendum (Hello Sailor, if you’re lurkin’).

I paraphrase him but he’s always said that, even if everything in the garden was blooming, Scots would always have to freedom to argue about the colour of dog $h!†€.

Tinto Chiel

A long day here reading the SNP faithful’s stout/delusional defence and Unionist concern trolls scarcely able to contain their delight at the SNP’s journey down the rabbit-hole.

For a faint glimmer of hope for supporters of independence, I found Cag-does-thinking’s comment @2.16 to be calm and mature. We will still have to go through an ocean of pain to come out on the other side, though.

@Andrew F 3.36: yes, it’s worth taking the time to look closely at these stats from various sources and avoid the MSM’s hysteria. The WM government has blown billions on useless or corrupt measures like Track and Trace to line the pockets of its pals and that’s before we even think about the massive assault on our hard-won freedoms which have been pushed through to take advantage of the Covid situation.

And in the Scoddish Brave New World according to Sturgeon we can now expect large numbers of strange-looking women changing their names by deed pole to Iona Dick.

How the Gove did we end up in this situation?

Hatuey

Clavie Cheil: “ Drop the Yoonery and engage your brain on the topic of Covid 19. There are other areas where you can safely slag off Sturgeon and the SNP.”

Another one, calling people yoons for no good reason.

Scotland’s death levels by any objective standard are amongst the worst in the world.

You can argue that she isn’t really responsible since so many powers are reserved, but she’s not arguing that – on the contrary, she’s doing everything she can to give the impression she has full control and all the power she needs.

It’s all about Nicola.

I won’t be surprised if she plasters the words STOP COVID-19 on her campaign bus.

The first party to put STOP NICOLA on their bus gets my vote, and that’s a promise.

AYRSHIRE ROB

Thon we worm is working for Scotland he says

Aye working against the overwhelming majority of Scotland ya wee weasel.

Greens on telly there wae one o thon stupid Green party broadcasts.

Breastplate

Yes Dorothy,
It’s changed days indeed and WGD should be an example to everyone here that echo chambers are not only self defeating, they’re also incredibly boring and tedious.
I think it’s important that we can air differences of opinion and debate with each other in good faith.
Most of my opinions have come from debating others, it’s a good thing and I really appreciate having to look at something from a different perspective.
Considered opinion should be treated like gold dust whether it agrees with our world view or not.

John Martini

@holymacmoses

As some one who has lived in europe I can assure you it is not well run and very corrupt.

They will not welcome you back as they consider indy the ‘scottish separatism problem’.

AYRSHIRE ROB

Aye Brian maybe we do.From the weather,it’s too hoat, it’s too cald,the fitba,the price o breed.

But the majority of us ken wot a wumin is, I hope!

wull

I seem to remember a song to the tune of ‘She’ll be coming round the mountain when she comes’ being sung on football terraces all over Scotland in the 1960s / 1970s. It mentioned the hate word, with a conditional, as well as the opposing team of whichever supporters were singing it, and advised to clap your hands (which you did, if you were one of the singers, since that hand-clapping was all part of the song).

I don’t remember any real feeling of h—-d towards anyone among the singers in those days (maybe because my team was not one of the Old Firm, neither half of it nor all of it nor anything to do with it). And clapping hands has now become a sign of love, which we were supposed to do outside our homes or from our upstairs windows or something, encouraged by the government, for all those good and great and excellent NHS workers. Encouraged, that is, by the same highly paid and underworked government people who want to pay these genuinely heroic and overworked workers in … well, in handclaps, it seems, since a 1% pay-rise is surely well below the rate inflation, granted how much prices of so many everyday thing hace already moved upwards after Brexit.

But if you now sing ‘Coming round the mountain’ with words like ‘If you h–e the [Scottish / British / UK or whatever] government, clap your hands … and you do clap your hands … you might just get seven years in the nick. Maybe we’ll be OK if we sing it without clapping our hands, however … Would that be a way of ridding the whole thing of any malice, and get us out of the hands of any malicious attempts to prosecute us if, by some weird chance, there happened to be a malicious prosecutor out there trying to get us banged up?

Someone who loves the government or, rather, hates all those who hates it.

Al

holymacmoses says:
“we can get ourselves back into the EU”
Scotland should be Independant and that means Independant from other countries influence and corruption
The EU is worse than Westminster and Holyrood combined, do you not know what is going on in Europe ?
It is a toss up who leaves next, Denmark, Sweden, Netherlands or France. If it is a Euro country the house of cards will come down.
Google Eurocrisismoniter and have a look at the TARGET2 Balances published by Osnabruck University. Portugal, Italy, Greece and Spain are screwed all owing debts that will take until 2040 to clear because thay joined the Euro and got screwed over by Germany and Luxembourg. Do you want to take on a share of the debt when the Euro goes tits up ?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AYRSHIRE ROB at 7:11 pm.

you typed,
“But the majority of us ken wot a wumin is, I hope!”

When I was wee -I’m typing primary school age – I was taught how to pronounce words. This leads me on to something that really sticks pins in my buttocks.

I was taught the word “woman” – pronounced “woomun”. I was taught that the plural was “women” – pronounced “wimmin”.

Why is it, that so many “professional” broadcasters have difficulty in pronouncing the two different meanings, ie singular and plural?

So many times, I have heard news reader-outers say “woomun”, when the whole point of their utterance was about the plural, “wimmin”!

There are culprits on BBC Scotland AND STV. Get it sorted! I don’t want to live in an independent Scotland that doesn’t know the difference between “woomun” and “wimmin”, who are all “adult human females”…

OOH! That’ll be me expelled from the party…

Mac

I am going to go re-read 1984.

Someone provided the link with that Orwell quote which follows on with…

“This passage from the text speaks about a recurring symbol in “1984”, which is the Telescreens. In Winston Smith’s world, these Telescreens are everywhere. He never knows when he is being watched, or when he is being listened to. The telescreens existence in Winston’s world show the people of his community that they are being watched at all times. The telescreens ensure that “Big Brother” has ultimate control over its subjects. They are able to watch for any physical signs of “disloyalty”, and listen for any language of “disloyalty” as well. The use of Telescreens to further control and suppress the citizens, paints a negative view of technology in the novel. The government uses technology to manipulate and spy on their people. Big Brother uses technology to make the lives of the people miserable. Its startling to picture a world, in which, we are constantly monitored by a controlling power. Having to censor your every word and movement in fear of repurcussions is a terrifying thought. This is a reality for Winston in the novel. The telescreens are also used to brainwash the citizens as well. “Big Brother” spews whatever they desire over telescreens, and citizens are forced to listen to it. What the telescreens tell them, is essentially “fact”. This quotation describing the telescreens is important, because it shows how much “totalitarian” power The Party has over the citizens in the novel.”

link to alli2289.qwriting.qc.cuny.edu

That is crazy. Orwell in a way predicted the internet.

Look around you, everyone’s head buried in a screen, busy adding to their self-updating Stasi files (i.e. facebook), on devices that track their movements, communications, habits, well everything…

Is it so different from the all seeing and hearing Telescreens.

PacMan

I see that WGD has given the Rev and us, the wings readers to supply Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP a plan B to gain independence as well as putting our trust in her to do the right thing.

Firstly, you can give Nicola Sturgeon Plan B, C, D right through to Z and you won’t get independence. This has been shown by giving her numourous mandates through the ballot box and the cause for independence hasn’t been taken forward one bit.

In terms of trust, I don’t know what part she had in fitting Alex Salmond up but after he was acquitted of all charges by a jury, she continually runs her mouth off practically saying that he is guilty. Is this someone you can trust.

If you want to see where her and the SNP’s real priorities are, you just need to look at this Hate Crime Bill.

What should have been a progressive and welcome act to fight bigotry and intolerance, it has been just to sneak in American intersectionalist culture war nonsense.

I’m sure she is under the misguided impression that trying to start a culture war between a progressive and outward looking Scotland and conservative and insular UK will deliver independence but it just shows that she isn’t as smart as she thinks.

Such an ideology is not only destructive and divisive for society at large, it is a self-defeating one as has been mentioned previously on this site, purity spiral will ensure that these culture warriors will turn on themselves to ensure how more right than they are than us in that movement. In short, it will turn into rats fighting within a sack.

The people who follow the SNP in it’s current form are delusional if they think that party will deliver independence.

Carol Neill

Genuine question , are the majority of posters here of ,ahem , a certain age ? I really do ask as I try to discuss things with my daughter in law,like gra and hcb , and she thinks I’m making it up !
She’s a huge social media contributor ( I am not ) and she thinks Nicla is great

Carol Neill

And o/t I apologise

PacMan

ahundredthidiot says:11 March, 2021 at 4:46 pm

Gregor @ 4:17

Always makes me laugh that people never wonder why porn sites are free.

Paid for by the tax payer, too.

And not there to stamp out crime – far from it.

If you want to ‘relieve’ yourself in the comfort of our own home rather than travelling up to Ibrox to do so, get yourself a VPN to view porn and the super snoopers won’t know.

Gregor

During such emotive times of tribulation, I applaud those who tolerate, facilitate and embrace open public discussion/free-expression (respect Wings/participants, et al).

After all, cohesive society doesn’t appreciate being told what it can say (looking at you rotten SNP hierarchy).

ScotsRenewables

Hatuey says:
11 March, 2021 at 7:05 pm

Scotland’s death levels by any objective standard are amongst the worst in the world.

Do you have any links or statistics to back that up?

Al

Carol Neill says:
Confession time, a young 59. Brought up to respect other peoples religions, points of view etc. and to treat women as equals…I was out numbered at home and would have been beaten if I showed disrespect to my mother or my sisters.
Lost all faith in Politicians while working for MOD under Thatcher (I know her secrets), then came Blair another shiester and now we have one even worse and she is one of our own which enrages me.

AYRSHIRE ROB

“Woomun” and “wimmin” That’s a bit posh fur us in Ayrshire, Brian.

It could be worse.Could’ve said “bird”, or “hen”. A lot don’t like “burd” or “hen” meaning the wumin, but I assure you loads of them use that term themselves even talking tae each other, I swear they do too.

Aye, a ken hen! Lol

susanXX

Point taken wee chid, we must fight against the misappropriation of our language.

Scot Finlayson

From the ISP,

`The ISP now call on AFI to see sense, to do the right thing for the cause of independence, and fold. Let ISP carry the independence torch.`

i don`t know if either will have a chance of picking up a seat/s but splitting the pro indy vote in the regionals aint gonna help,

is there any figures out there on the chances of winning a seat for either party,

the Scottish people desperately need another pro indy party, we need to rid ourselves of the Green Goblin and his/its bunch of misogynists,

Al-Stuart

Stuart, all is not lost. Yet.

There is still time to remedy this mess.

If either I or my (female adult) partner or (female adult) sister walked into a polling booth on 6th May 2021 and were presented with this LIST part of the ballot paper, I bet you £100 you will guess correctly which way all three of we (former) SNP supporters would vote…

LIST PARTY VOTE

[__] Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party: Murdo Fraser. Let’s Move On.

[__] Scottish Green Party: Patrick Harvie. Transgender Men Have More Rights Than Adult Females.

[__] IndyRef2 Vote Guaranteed Party: Joanna Cherry QC. Protecting Women From Wokeism.

[__] Scottish Labour Party: Richard Leonard. Like A Political Klingon, I’m Still Here.

[__] Scottish Liberal Democrats: Alex Cole-Hamilton. Amadans Are People Too.

[__] Scottish National Party: Graham Campbell. You Pay My £4,500 Phone Bill Man.

This is an easy choice and…

AT LEAST WE WOULD HAVE A CHOICE.

All three of my family…

WOULD VOTE FOR JOANNA CHERRY.

If Alex Salmond stood on the LIST system elsewhere and he was on my LIST I would vote for him.

Chris McEleny too. Surely we can muster 15 candidates for…

#IndyRef2Guaranteed

#WomenMatterWokeOff

Stuart Campbell wrote a great article…

link to wingsoverscotland.com

…Stu advised that Wings was NOT LIKELY to form Wings Party as Alex Salmond being acquitted was by far the best positioned to do so

Will this happen?

I have no doubt we could fundraise the money to secure LIST places for genuine pro-inside a few days.

Stuart, please, for the love of God, can you ask Alex and Joanna if they will do this please?

Otherwise Scotland is ruined in so many ways that are worse than at any time in hundreds of years.

WHO WOULD YOU VOTE FOR IN THE ABOVE LIST?

#JoannaCherryForFirstMinister
#WomenMatter
@joannaccherry

Carol Neill

A/, thanks I’m not alone , I worked in sw in Fife in the early 90s and quickly got out ,corrupt even

Pixywine

7000 a day dying? Where is that number coming from?

Carol Neill

Then !

ClanDonald

So that’s the Hate Crime Bill through. 82 to 32. Labour backed it too, poor Johann.

Now I understand why the rev is so fucking angry and sweary all the time, now I’m fucking angry and sweary too. They can shove the SNP up their hairy arses. Fuckers.

AYRSHIRE ROB

Carol Neill

I too am under 60 . Like Al above , I’m x military- apparently to some on here that’s sacrilege .Apparently all x military are yoons of the English Army, even though theirs been no English Army for 313 years in May.

There’s more x military yessers than people think.

I’ve always been for Scotland, self determination and our own armed forces. Circumstances forced some of us into UK armed services because of lack of opportunity and I didn’t regret one bit of it. Good life when things were good, like Germany, Cyprus ,Far East etc.

Now.A sanger in Afghan or a shit time wae penguins 8000 miles from sanity.

Are you after a toyboy or what?

Tannadice Boy

@Ruby 6:03pm
Yosser a word of Arabic origin meaning something easy. I think he might have meant Yessers. And the answer to his question would be contempt of a Supreme Court ruling.

Dan

@ Scot Finlayson

Brian has put together some figures in several posts that may interest you starting with this one.

link to wingsoverscotland.com

Breastplate

Scot Finlayson.
I see 2 groups, one of them is saying “let’s work together for a mutual goal” and the other is saying “fuck off, you’re cramping my style.”

Pixywine

I think Sturgeon will find that culterally most of her voters are actually small c conservatives. The hate crime Bill will damage the SNP. I read the latest blatent nonsense on Ginger Drug and according to him her whatever the onus is on Us to come up with a plan B.Thats ridiculous of course. We voted for politicians to do that and they, the SNP” haven’t bothered their arses so fuck the bastards.

Scott

SNP have turned Scotland into the biggest snowflake nation on earth. Unforgivable what theyre doing. Ruining folks lives for offending someone is a freedom of speech outrage.

EPT

Obviously other parties have voted for HCB to ensure there is only 1 party you can vote for if you don’t want that shit and let’s face it we all know Labour are supporting Conservatives. We saw that when they coalesced in the last election. Jings didn’t take much to see that coming. We just need something new. If what we hear about Lavender Lil is true then that’s been compromised. We have to go it alone. If the people are truly sovereign can we all not just do what Iceland done and march their sorry asses out and declare ourselves Independent? I need something!!,

Tannadice Boy

@Ayrshire Bob 8:08pm
Same for me, with pretty much the same reasons. Germany, Belfast and England. Getting shot at whilst defending a polling station in Belfast. An Independent Scotland will need an army and not just for social strife but also natural disasters. Although the social strife has been moving up the priority ladder of late.

Al

AYRSHIRE ROB says:
Nothing wrong with being X-military, Scots have always been well respected by auld enemies and have made more than their fair share of sacrifices for the UK.
The thing that gets me is all this wokey nonsense and politicians who have never experienced the “high giggle factor” when you get out a situation alive.
Bring in National Service, make them live with discipline and other people to sort their shit out.

Jack McArthur

Many of you are experiencing what it is like to stand at the doors of hell. The Ancient Egyptians called it isfet and it led to an upside down world with an extremely bad ending. The sexes were meant to be complementary – woman filled with grace unique to them and men filled their own masculine graces.

Assuming that most who read here will likely to have been exposed at sometime to Christianity at school maybe I should point out that the reason why you are now ruled by a multitude of wicked women and brainwashed children is explicetely given in the Book of Isaiah i.e. not for being homosexual by inclination (only one is perfect) but for parading your sin like Sodom and Gomorrah.
link to dailyrecord.co.uk

On this this hell on earth the wokes all claim to be conceived without sin. They dismember babies in their mothers womb but describe people who tell the truth as hate crime criminals.

Like I say this is the entrance to hell.

Lothianlad

The SNP under sturgeon is now a unionist party. Where do the real indy supporters go from here?

Pixywine

I see EU leaders have OKd the health passport which means no one will be allowed a life without a vaccine. A bet no one saw that coming?

Carol Neill

Ayreshire rob , I’m sorry if you totally understood me , or I you , no need for a toy boy thanks all the same

Republicofscotland

“even though theirs been no English Army for 313 years in May.”

Ayrshire Rob.

I think that sentence is a bit misleading Rob, the British army is controlled completely by England, oh there’s Scottish serving troops in the British army but the big decisions such as invading Iraq or training Saudi troops and pilots on how to bomb and kill civilians in Yemen aren’t jointly made by Scotland and England, England calls the shots.

EPT

All those saying ‘What you doing in Bath?’ Just as well you’re in Bath from now on cos this bill hopefully can’t touch you. How much will it truly cost us all to keep you going Rev? If there are around 500 of us and we want to keep you in business for the duration. How much would it cost us? I will up my monthly sub to you if you give me a figure.

Scot Finlayson

There should be a Class action lawsuit against Humza Yousaf for endangering 2,500,000 Scottish woman with his Hate Bill.

Pixywine

Jack McArthur. SNP policies read like a Grimoire up is down bad is good. Satanism.

AYRSHIRE ROB

RepublicofScotland

Don’t blame the troops. They didn’t sign the f’ing Treaty man.Blame the scum in that cellar.

Carol Neill

Ffs meant misunderstood

Scot Finlayson

Thanks Dan,

Brian do you have a simplified numbers count,

(even at 25% it seems a non SNP pro indy party would pick up maybe 7 or 8 seats)

something simple that might stop the SNP/SNPers in their tracks and make them think.

ScotsRenewables

Pixywine says:
11 March, 2021 at 8:30 pm
I see EU leaders have OKd the health passport which means no one will be allowed a life without a vaccine. A bet no one saw that coming?

Vaccination certificates have been a travel requirement forever in some countries. I used to carry typhus, hepatitis and yellow fever vaccination certificates in my passport when travelling outside Europe as a matter of course.

So of course most of us who aren’t still living with our parents saw this happening.

No big deal. If you don’t want one, don’t travel.

Republicofscotland

AyrshireRob.

I’m not blaming the troops, I’m merely pointing out the British army and all the British forces for that matter, are controlled from England.

As for who to blame for this union, every Scotsman should know the names of who sold Scotland out.

They’re all here.

link to en.m.wikipedia.org

AYRSHIRE ROB

Nae worries Carol Neill ,only jesting.

Gregor

(PUBLIC DISCLAIMER: THIS SPEECH IS NOT INTENDED TO STIR-UP HATRED):

H*11 M3** *N9 Bast**dz 111

PacMan

Pixywine says: 11 March, 2021 at 8:30 pm

We are all going to get the chance to be vaccinated soon so I don’t know what the issue is with a health passport.

If is is to do with it being some sort of ID where you will be tracked, everybody already has one. It is a called a bank card. Now that everybody is paying for things by card and not money, your movements can be easily traced.

Pixywine

Captain Yossarian. Not everyone wants or needs to take an experimental ” vaccine” I won’t take it because I do not trust lying bastards like Bozo and Hancock. Tories are making money out of this so that alone makes me skeptical.
If anyone feels or thinks they need a vaccine they of course are free to do so but the Government should stay away from me and my family. Our immune systems are healthy enough

Pixywine

Pac man. I don’t want the vaccine. I’ll take a bull it through the head before I take any untrialled drugs

Black Joan

This morning on Twitter Jeggit was complaining about feeling depressed. I replied asking about the great promised event that was meant to cheer us all up about now, according to earlier messages of his — surely that should cheer him up, too? No reply. Instead he appears to have blocked me for presuming to ask. Charming.

So it looks as if the Great Promised Event was a fantasy. In which case being thoroughly fed up looks like a pretty reasonable option right now. Nicola Sturgeon — destroyer of hope.

EPT

Stop eating and tell me seriously how much. Shall I just stick my own figure on it? My daughter, she’s mental pays defranco her cawfee money. I know I know I’m not doing well educating her but she pays him 5 quid a week. I think if we all sub’d you 20 quid a month if we can afford it we can keep this going. If we want the truth and we want to stay informed and pay you a fookin decent living wage. Right if you won’t suggest it I’ll go with Numero unos defranco cawfee cup donation of 5 quid a week. Right readers get your fingers in and let’s get this going. We read him(sorry hoping still him!although you in a frock?) sorry ? but we do and we are getting freebies. How much does truth and good debate cost?

Captain Yossarian

@Pixywine – Whilst I admire your indefatigability my friend, even the Amazon tribes are taking the Oxford Astra-Zeneca vaccine just now. It is a world-beater; a winner. The Oxford lab is run by a Scotsman.

PacMan

Pixywine says: 11 March, 2021 at 8:46 pm

Captain Yossarian. Not everyone wants or needs to take an experimental ” vaccine” I won’t take it because I do not trust lying bastards like Bozo and Hancock. Tories are making money out of this so that alone makes me skeptical.
If anyone feels or thinks they need a vaccine they of course are free to do so but the Government should stay away from me and my family. Our immune systems are healthy enough

You do realise that commercial and safety necessities will dictate having to produce some sort of proof of being vaccinated to visit for example restaurants, pubs and allowing to do certain work occupations?

Given the choice of never ending lock downs or mass vaccination, most people are at the point that they will want to get back to a bit of normality.

For those who don’t want to be vaccinated, it could well mean a life of self-imposed lock down.

Carol Neill

Ayreshirerob
Gtf

Gregor

Should ‘banter’ be banned/is it banned: BANANA Scotland ???

“Should banter be banned?”

link to bbc.co.uk

Cenchos

Well. Isn’t it just utterly fabulous that the Government’s very well thought-out Hate Crime Bill has been passed .

I am absolutely sure that it has been formulated with all the best of reasons foremost, and that only a cynic could ever think that there were any nefarious reasons behind its very clear and unambiguous guidance to the police and lawmakers.

I will sleep well tonight knowing that it is not capable of being used for any other reasons than protecting those who really need protecting.

Billy

Well last week the membership was cancelled, today it was the direct debit. Reached the stage I cannot stand to watch NS on tele, however after reluctantly watching FMQ’s today she’s back to her old super confident ‘butter wouldn’t melt in her mouth’ self. Can’t believe the Scottish public cannot see through her and her motely crew (not sure if I am allowed to use these terms anymore). Only a matter of time before the’Wee Blue Book’ appears with the rules according to Chairperson Nicola having to be followed. Thank God I can escape to this site and realise that I am not the only person with an independent mind.

Pixywine

Don’t equate bankcard with coerced vaccinations with 24 surveillance. More and more I get the impression our politics are a distraction from a bigger game.maybe I’m wrong but the policies in Holyrood are UN policies and all the parties are signed up to it. If that seems a little way out there please be patient. I was originally inspired by Stu Campbell and the many interesting posters on here to do my own ” research”. With a computer or a phone it is now easy to” do your own research ” and dig deeper into news stories. We have different takes. We all know time will tell.
So far many predictions I made to friends a year ago have been borne out by political reality. I must be researching in the right places. I disagree with the politics of many of the you tubers I sometimes recommend but where there is a common political interest we can come together. If only the SNP had a common interest in Independence and not a ” Common Purpose” with Tony Blair.

shug

I see Nicola is in the Herald again wailing about how traumatising she found the Salmond affair to be and how she failed the poor women.
Nothing about the women were not believed by the jury. Alex being found innocent, and he lost 2 years of his life and a lot of money fighting for his reputation.
The real joke of course is even she must realise it is only a matter of time till the unionists release the whatsapp message by fair means or foul and her plot will be released to the world for all to see. My guess is in the week before the election.

Al

Pixywine says:
I had the same suspicions about the speed of deveoplment and approval. Fortunately this is my sister’s field, working for independent verification of new vaccines for departments like the FDA. The reply I got was that normally, funding is released slow in stages, with only a few people working on say a flu virus at any one time which will take a year. In the case of COVID 19, all funding for research and testing was up front with all resources possible thrown at it.
Pity this isn’t done with cancer drugs etc.
I have a vaccine passport with all sorts on it like Typhoid, hepatitus, polio, yellow fever so don’t see the problem adding to it. Unless I need rabies vaccination, it’s through the stomach wall…several times.

Alf Baird

Captain Yossarian @ 8:55 pm

“The Oxford lab is run by a Scotsman.”

Is this supposed to make the colonized feel pride? Shades of surprise at such an event merely reveals racial prejudice.

Barely 10% of academics in some of Scotland’s ancient universities today are Scottish. This is what Prof Michael Hechter described as a ‘Cultural Division of Labour’ within the UK Internal Colonialism ‘model’. Which basically means the best jobs in Scotland are not reserved for Scots, and this is nothing new.

Why do you think Scots want independence if not to throw off our colonial oppressor and develop our own people and nation without external interference?

Breastplate

ScotsRenewables,
Why do you not have those vaccines for travelling in Europe?
I’ll take a guess and say it’s because they are not needed in Europe which brings me to the obvious question, why would you need to take a vaccine that you are in no danger from?

Presumably the vaccine was to protect the vulnerable, at least that’s what we were initially led to believe, so why do people who are not considered vulnerable need to get a vaccine?
Remember that 80% of the population have either mild symptoms or no symptoms from this coronavirus, so why would these people need a vaccine?

EPT

Seriously. Wingsland podgamer??? Get a better page! Upped my offering to 20 a month to hear the truth. Thank you so much for all your stuff love the navvy chat. Love the abuse whilst we can still do it and like JC said, if you haven’t got a stomach for this kind of speak fook off! But seriously get that return podgamer page changed!!! Keep doing what your doing cos I think your getting on their nerves.

stuart mctavish

Äyrshire Rob
Ironically the one saving grace might be the decriminalisation of blasphemy in Part 4, since that now sets the minimum threshold for something to be considered offensive –

ie, if God could not be offended by whatever is being complained about then neither should a sane or reasonable or religious person. Consequently if the complainant insists on pursuing the complaint further, despite such clarification, they expose themselves to be not sane or not reasonable or not religious and help or direct action can then be provided as appropriate.

Pixywine

Yossarian. OK you can have that Section 8 any time you like.

Jim Bo

SNP awaiting a hand-delivered Section 30 by Boris Johnson as depicted by Monty Python:
youtu.be/XslcgQJMZaY

Captain Yossarian

@Alf Baird – My old university is run by many Russians nowadays. When I was there in the 80’s, it was all Scotsmen and a few Englishmen.

Many, many bright Scotsmen and women are leaving these shores to make a better living for themselves overseas.

If you look at the grotesquely crooked hobgoblins we have running Scotland just now you cannot be surprised by that.

AYRSHIRE ROB

Stuart Mctavish

Eh ,What did I say?

Pixywine

Al. Thank you. Something for me to think on.

Breastplate

Jim Bo,
I’m guessing when it comes to getting a Section 30 from Boris, he may beat the Olympic record at hide and seek.

John Martini

It’s all over now baby blue..

The empty handed painter from your streets
Is drawing crazy patterns on your sheets
The sky too is fallin’ in over you
And it’s all over now, baby blue

Al

Pixywine says
Forgot to say that I wouldn’t take the Chinese or Russian vaccines- don’t trust them to not to insert a ethnic bioweapon into the vaccine. Boss in South Africa were developing ethnic bio weapons in the 1980’s google Project Coast….I think.

Confused

I wonder if anyone has looked into the Murrells PERSONAL WEALTH, starting with the mortgage on their house. When you have lost trust in people, you really need to examine everything about them.

But the trouble with corruption in modern politics is that the payoff happens AFTER you leave office – cf Obama, Blair. Being prez, PM etc is just a buff for the CV which allows one to sup from global capital having done service.

We are used to politicians being opportunists who would “do anything for votes”; the behaviour of the SNP leadership seems to be the opposite, they seem willing to throw anyone and anything “under the bus” simply to do this “trannyism uber alles” and “woke-fascism”. Certainly they despise “populism” (democracy) seeing it as reactionary; gotta be in the vanguard and the right side of history. Having done this service, in the process wrecking the SNP and derailing the YES movement, they can skip off, job done. Maybe this was the point. Whether or not the FM is a true believer, compromised / “got at”, intimidated, a sleeper agent, constrained by facts on the ground – is irrelevant as the outcome is the same.

Pixywine

Pac man ” a life of self imposed lockdown” the Government locked us down. Will I get a yellow star to wear?

Pixywine

People who are not sick being quaranteened. Pac man how did this happen? A 99 % survival rate and here we are. Why would you trust the Tories?

Onlooker

So we have supposedly Scottish people here talking about voting Tory. Incredible. I never thought I would hear the day. Has this site really turned your brains to whipped yoghurt so much you would sell us out like that? Tell you what, here’s a thought exercise. Take a deep breath. Think. You are not allowed to say:

Sturgeon is a unionist
The SNP is not fit for purpose
A man is not a woman
A woman is not a man
Alex Salmond should lead us from darkness
Anything to do with woke
We will never get independence
You are a unionist troll or plant
MI5 lurks everywhere
The HCB will destroy us all
We need to start a new party

And so on and so forth. What will you talk about now? I see the same tired, angry posts bandied about here all the damned time. Nothing ever gets solved, people only get angrier and angrier. It’s like watching a wasp batter against a window trying to escape, when the window is open, and if it flew two inches to the left it could be gone. The SNP are a mess, yes. But they are transient, and can be fumigated. Imagine being Scottish and wanting to vote for the party that hit you with the poll tax, who spits on you every day in Holyrood and Westminster, who sucks your country dry, murders the disabled, who despises you, who wants you – us – all to die so they can just steal our resources. Many of you have totally lost the plot over a couple of horrible sticking points. I am actually laughing here. How utterly tragic. It really is. Talk about lost….

“You make me feel ashamed
At acting attitudes
Remember ridicule
It should be clear by now
Clear by now

Your words are useless
Full of excuses
False confidence
Someone has used you well (Oh, used you)
Used you well”

Daisy Walker

re WGD, I noticed a change in him after he got married.

He became increasingly more ‘tetchie’ around the time he got ill.

I contributed to his new home as a thank you for all the times before, but no longer visit his site.

I used to really like his writing, but – not with standing the btl comments – I genuinely can’t stand his writing anymore, every now and again he starts off well, then ends up dancing on the head of a pin as to why we need to give Nicla yet another mandate.

I wish him well, but I no longer trust him.

Daisy Walker

Someone posted about ISP chibbing the other lot to join them.

Well, sorry ISP but you said you were all for Plebiscite Indy Election and now its nowhere to be seen in your party policy… I smell carrots.

At least Tommy Sheridan’s new party has it front and foremost.

Breastplate

Onlooker,
I agree that the SNP should be fumigated, the sooner the better.
You seem to be angry that others here are angry enough to start that fumigation process before your ready to.

Effigy

STV Broadcasting a show about the Dunblane massacre.

Unfortunately most of the show is about how Lorraine Kelly
was sent to report on it and now returns to meet some parents.

What a waste not to investigate why Tony Blair made the details behind
the massacre top secret for 100 years?

The blogger Guido Fawkes put forward that Labour minister George
Robinson was friendly with the man behind it, murderer Thomas Hamilton.
As a suspected Paedo the police rejected his fire arms application.
Geo Robertson apparently applied pressure to police vouching for Hamilton?

Robertson was also friendly with bachelor Gordon Brown?

Police in the area acquired a valuable yacht under proceeds of crime.
All such items were to go to public auction to maximise the public purse.
For some reason a broke Hamilton was given the yacht outside of the auction
for £5,000, a fraction of what could be easily expected?

Where did that money come from?

Some say boasts were a favourite of the paedo gangs as kids could be excited to go aboard
and threatens of drowning when at sea if they didn’t behave?

No one to see or hear what might be going on.

It is quite a story but why wasn’t this Guido sued for putting this story up.
Why a 100 year cover up made top secret?

Back to Lorraine.

Breastplate

Daisy,
There has been a change and I thought that maybe he had been promised a job something in the SNP for his unflinching loyalty.
I hasten to add, I have no idea the reason and could be way off the Mark.

Breastplate

My earlier post to onlooker should have been “you’re” rather than your.

stuart mctavish

@Ayrshire Rob @9:17
Sorry -Losing focus, possibly from something similar, but me @9:12 meant for Pixywine @8:33

beflox

Breastplate says:

Just popped over and this is from WGD.
It’s basically telling people to fuck off if they don’t post things he approves of, a shame really.

… which is also exactly how Wings has always operated as well, don’t forget.

Willie

Interesting story Effigy @9.38.

It is certainly most strange that there is a 100 year ban on releasing information. That usually is indicative of concealing something that would be harmful to the national interest. Indeed, exposing a paedophile ring, as an example, at the heart of Government would be the type of reason that a 100 year ban on info release would be imposed.

Of course when it comes to allegations there are reports that a young Tony Lyndon Blair was charged and fined £500 at Bow Street Magistrates Court for importuning in a public toilet but that this has been hidden because he was prosecuted under his middle name.

Likewise there were many reports of friend of conservative establishment Sir Jimmy Saville was a paedophile and part of a wider group. Disregarded and suppressed the truth later emerged that he was a sexual pervert most vile.

So, yes, why the hundred year ban. What were Thomas Hamilton’s connections, and how far in the firmament did they extend. The British establishment has a lot to hide.

Al

Effigy Says;
Thomas Hamilton was convicted for tampering with young boys on his boat on Loch Lomond while he was a youth leader. He was rejected and vilified by the parents in Dunblane.
No gun club in Scotland would have him as a member, I recall he once tried to join the club of which I was secretary and was instantly rejected due to his reputation.
He had no reasonable reason to hold a firearm as he did not have a club or private land to shoot on. There is no way his firearms should not have been siezed. Weirdly I had applied for the post of Firearms Licencing Officer in that area at the time, I believe the post went to a former WPC.
The feeling at the time was that he wanted to get back at the people who had rejected him, the Dunblane families and the Gun clubs. The main fact missing is that he used a legally held 9mm pistol in the massacre when he had an illegally held 9mm Sterling sub machine gun with a 32 round magazine which would have been more devastating. The use of the legally held weapon was to get back at the gun clubs who rejected him and to get back at the parents who rejected him.
There were a number of rumours around that time that he was part of a large peodophile network including some important people, judges etc. I believe this to be true as the 100 year ruling “to protect the families” just does not wash with me.
If you look at Government secrets, at the most, they have a 75 year ruling for Top Secret documents.
After Dunblane I was so sickened that I gave up my firearms and explosive licences, just incase something like a brain tumour altered my personality.

Gregor

“Cybernat”: ‘hate speech’ (‘stirring-up’) ???

link to en.wikipedia.org

Gordon Brown PM “that woman is bigoted”: ‘misogynistic hate speech’ ???

link to theguardian.com
bigoted-woman

“go back to Skye”: ‘xenophobic & bigoted hate speech’ ???

link to thetimes.co.uk

ScotsRenewables

Breastplate, do you really not understand how vaccines work?

It’s called herd immunity.

You need to be vaccinated do you don’t infect the vulnerable.

true scot

Free speech – leave a light on for Scotland.

John Martini

Scotsrenewables

As somebody who helped develop a test for covid I bet you don’t know your affinity from your avidty.

Stop spouting shit.

Jontoscots20

That’s brilliant.

The SNP have hogged all the talent in Scotland for the last 20 years. But now the Rev has crossed the floor, we have a chance now.
At the very least he is not playing against us.

Maybe I missed the point here? Talent? Failed Westminster and Brussels bampots and student politics hacks. No talent on show there except for Salmond, Cherry, McAskill etc.

Hatuey

ScotsRenewables: “Do you have any links or statistics to back that up?”

Covid-29 deaths in Scotland stand at 183 per 100 thousand. That’s based on the NRS data which accounts for 10 thousand deceased where covid-19 is mentioned on the death certificate. link to nrscotland.gov.uk

It’s a simple calculation. 5.45 million divided by 100k = 54.5

10k deaths divided by 54.5 = 183

In comparative terms, looking at other countries, 183 per 100k of the population is amongst the very worst. It’s actually identical to the UK morbidity rate and you can validate all that here; link to statista.com

If you were to go further and factor in population density, Scotland would overtake the UK as a whole and look a lot worse… possibly the worst of all.

James Horace

Has Wings given up on any hopes of Nicola Sturgeon resigning this year then?

Al

Hatuey says:
Factor in that Heathrow is the 7th busiest airport in the world and in terms of international passenger traffic the 2nd busiest in the world…covid central.

ScotsRenewables