The War On Hate

Posted on March 31, 2024 by

Bookmark the links in this article, readers, because Wings might not be here tomorrow and it’s important. According to the Scottish Government, our beloved country is in the grip of a terrible epidemic of hatred. That’s plainly an unacceptable – one could also say intolerable – situation, and every last one of us must play our part to end it.

Even if that causes some administrative difficulties.

Because we can’t give hate a free pass just because reporting it creates paperwork. Police Scotland have been absolutely clear that we MUST report anything that “feels wrong” to them, even if we’re not sure if it’s a crime.

So when the Hate Crime Act comes into force tomorrow, it is absolutely incumbent upon all of us to be good citizens and do what we’ve been asked. If you see anything on the internet that feels wrong, makes you feel upset or which you think might make anyone else feel upset, you must file a report with Police Scotland.

They’ve made it very easy. There’s an online form.

You don’t even have to give your name – it’s best not to, as that’ll save everyone some typing. It’s all very simple, it only takes a couple of minutes (these two screenshots are the entire form) and you can make as many reports a day as you want.

It doesn’t have to be about your transgender identity, although of course if it is your report will be given super-duper extra-double priority. This is especially the case if you have a hyper-minority identity like being “circumgender” – someone who was (for example) born as a woman but also identifies as a man who thinks they’re a woman.

Don’t worry if you’re a bit confused by all this stuff and don’t really understand it – Police Scotland will NOT challenge your perception. All that matters is that you “perceive” the thing that made you feel bad to have been motivated by whatever the hate criminal thinks you are, or that someone else is.

But remember, you don’t have to be a minority at all. We all have a race and a sexual orientation and an age. If you think someone hates you because you’re white and/or straight and/or old (eg calling you “gammon” or “boomer”), you’re protected too.

(The Police Scotland website strangely omits that the Act covers age.)

And you don’t have to be the subject of the hateful behaviour yourself. You can make a report on behalf of someone else, even if that person doesn’t appear to be upset by the thing that happened. You’re allowed to be vicariously upset FOR them and tell the police about that.

And they’ve repeatedly promised to investigate every single report.

So there are no barriers. It really is that straightforward. And no downsides either – Scotland’s media has assured us that there will be no issues with everyone clyping each other all the time (or if there are they’ll only affect “right-wingers” so it’s fine).

As Jean Johansson so astutely notes in today’s Sunday Mail, our national legislators have ensured that the Act is watertight and full of safeguards.

And before cynical readers suggest it, she’s not just some echo-skulled numbwit honking cretin-drivel about things she doesn’t have the slightest understanding of. Johansson is expert in the law, as she demonstrated just two weeks ago when she posted a tweet which breaches the HCA in at least two ways, by stirring up hatred of groups of people on the basis of their sexuality (hetero) and race (white).

(Fortunately sex isn’t included in the Act, so she wasn’t guilty of stirring up hatred against people because they were men.)

After a number of people helpfully pointed out the slip (or as she put it, instigated a hateful pile-on), Johansson first locked replies, then deleted the tweet, then locked her entire account so nobody could see it until she’d wiped all her comments and replies on the subject.

As the Hate Monster might put it:

So Jean Johansson isn’t, as some have unfairly suggested, a quacking idiot blasting stupid-bombs through a clown-cannon at an audience of tens of thousands of people – she’s a razor-sharp commentator putting her own liberty on the line to demonstrate just how insidious and sneaky hate can be, and how we all have to remain eternally vigilant against ourselves and everyone else.

(To that end, we should all also be filing regular Subject Access Requests with Police Scotland to see if any hate incidents have been recorded against us, to make sure we haven’t accidentally been doing hate without knowing it. The form for that is here.)

It’s not enough to fight hate for one day, readers. We can’t do it on 1 April for a laugh and then quit. Until hate is defeated forever in Scotland (or this law is repealed and the form isn’t there any more), every last one of us needs to report hate EVERY day.

Police Scotland and the Scottish Government need your help, readers. Please don’t desert them in their hour of need. Do your bit. Until there’s no more hate anywhere in Scotland, the battle has just begun.

0 to “The War On Hate”

1. Ali Clark

“and every last one of us must play our part to end it” Really? I’d review your actions to achieving that end if I were you… say one thing do another!

2. Republicofscotland

I clicked on the Online Form link and Police Scotland have removed the form at the bottom of the link.

3. Jim Tadgercock

Rev could you check your useful and public spirited helpful link to the hate monster form please. I am only getting a shorted version coming up. Also thanks for all your hard work and I wish you all the best for the future as you have gone above and beyond.

4. Jim Tadgercock

Sussed it you click no not yes and it opens up.

5. Tommo

I assume that I can make a complaint from outside Scotland in regard to anything I might have witnessed/seen when in Scotland, or seen ‘published’ in Scotland when viewing from elsewhere ?

6. robertkknight

Never mind the blokes who think they’re women who think they’re blokes who think they’re ostriches…

Look out all you bastards who think gingerism isn’t a thing, or the charlatans who claim to be suffering from ginger phobia…

The next son’a’bitch who calls me a “carrot top” or “duracel” is gonna get their name in print.

First one getting done tomorrow are the creators of South Park…

youtu.be/-nA54LxibLI?

Thank god for the SNP…justice is less than 12 hours away!

7. WingsOverFrance

The form has vanished.

8. Radical Cartoons

I started going through the form, and you’re right, Age is very strangely not in the pop-up list! However, I’m sure we can add it under ‘other’ or something, or type it in manually!
    From your article above, it seems like I could, as a person living in England, report any act I considered hateful against another person, who happened to be in Scotland at the time, without asking their permission, and without knowing if they had even seen it, or were likely ever to see it.
    See you on the oher side.

9. robertkknight

As a person suffering pedalophobia, I’ve agreed with my folically challenged neighbour that whenever I call him a “Bald C*nt” and he calls me “Duracell” we’ll fill out a form on each other…every day!

Good luck Plod!

10. John Burns

Ahh d better no post onything the morn aboot ma hatred for the SNP ( although surely ye canny be done fur hatin politicians, kin ye ?)

11. Hatuey

Let the games begin…

12. Jim Tadgercock

I’m going to report BBC Scotland’s weather map as it make me feel diminished.

13. MaggieC

Here’s hoping that you can continue with Wings after tomorrow but if you can’t thank you for all that you’ve done for Scotland but most importantly thank you for all the support that you’ve given to the women in Scotland in our fight to protect our rights. X

We will never forget just how much hatred has been thrown at you for supporting women and I’m sorry that happened to you.

We will never forget or forgive any politician and organisation that has stood against us.

Haste yea back. Xx

14. johnlm

Thanks Stu.

“By Grabthar’s hammer, by the suns of Worvan, by PolisScotland’s hate form, you shall be avenged.”

Sir Alexander Dane

15. Dan

I’m still in an awfy emotional state after someone called me a Porridge Wog last week, and on the same day a different person thought I looked like a poacher*! 🙁
    That’s just outrageous hateful conduct and classist stereotyping bigotry!
    Will the PW racist slur now have an additional oat aggravator derogatory factor kicking in seeing as consumption of oats is frowned upon…

* I was actually litter picking the riverbank and surveying & measuring the distance a more future proof village sewer pipe route could take.

16. Linda McFarlane

Now I’ve reached 65 I am very sensitive about ageist comments. Now I can report these hateful people.

17. John C

We all have a race and a sexual orientation and an age. If you think someone hates you because you’re white and/or straight and/or old (eg calling you “gammon” or “boomer”), you’re protected too.

This is where those who pushed for the act (TRAs mainly, though there’s clearly people who just wanted it to instil fear into people who don’t give a toss about the entire Trans thing beyond a surface level) have slipped up.They’re so convinced of their own righteousness that they don’t think they’ll ever commit a ‘hate crime’ under this law so if after a month or two, say, leading TRA’s are swamped with hate crime reports (and remember, every report is going to be investigated) then perhaps we’ll see demands for the SNP and Greens to ‘reform’ the law.

If that ever happens the damage to Scottish society will have been done and those people who have been subject to complaints will have had equipment seized, jobs lost, and an incredible pressure put upon them that is designed by those who wanted this bill in order to push people to ruin and suicide. This is the thing rarely spoken about in regards this law that the people who are going to report the likes of Stu or J. K Rowling as of tomorrow don’t just want them in a cell for a night, but they want to create enough distress to push people to kill themselves.

As for the likes of Jean Johansson, they’re part of a media class who think of themselves as ‘progressive’ when in fact, they’re deeply authoritarian and full of as much prejudice as anyone however they look at poorer, working class people as beneath them & full of hate. Not to mention these type of comfy middle class women are only too happy to throw other women under the bus of the Hate Crime Act.

It’ll be women & LGB people who’ll face the brunt of this law, and again, know fine well the people who drafted this law did so knowing fine well that excluding misogyny from it was a feature of it, not an error. Scotland is a country where women suffer pandemic levels of misogyny, not to mention violence & murder. Along with sectarianism (which this law is going to do nothing to help as it doesn’t tackle the reasons why sectarianism is rife) it’s a massive problem that can’t be dealt with until we as a country start answering some hard questions.

It is completely Kafkaesque that a man ‘identifying’ as a woman (man in a dress) is protected, yet a woman/girl can still be called a ‘bitch’ or a ‘whore’ by the same men in dresses and it isn’t a hate crime in this new law.

18. Vanessa McCulloch

I am looking forward to reviving the quaint old tradition of reporting family members. If I report my children, will they be taken into custody, thus saving me on babysitting costs?

19. alan_b

Congratulations, Rev.Your into-darkness post has made it into Eliza Mondegreen’s top reads of the week.

See you on the other side, I hope.

(I tried to post this yesterday with a link to the substack post, but it didn’t appear. So I’m trying again without the link.)

20. TURABDIN

Today is «International Transgender Day of Visibility».
    Citizen, on this most holy day why not become your streets «Hate Informant» log into https://safer.scot/

21. Highland Wifie

As women are not protected by this law it is vital that the age characteristic is used to the full extent by all of us. After all, most of the abuse aimed at gender critical women by activists is of the “dried up old bag” variety. Using the law against them is the quickest route to ending this nonsense.
    Hoping you’ll still be here after tomorrow Stu. We really can’t afford to lose you.

22. Sven

Getting told, “Brigadoon’s second on yer left, ya daft old coffin dodger” when ambling down to an Easter Sunday service wearing my kilt got me wondering how many hate crimes I could wring out of that one.
    Ageist I guess; abuse of my national dress perhaps; aspersion against my mental state undoubtedly.
    Maybe I’m going to have a bit of fun with this Act after all.

23. holymacmoses

The link from the first page of the form sends you to BBC news.
    I wonder are they collecting the names of those who go to the site in a different way?

Click here if you want to exit the form or leave this page quickly.

24. Steve

If a tory or Labour mp says hateful things about older people (anybody commenting on waspi farce for example) and its reported on BBC ‘news’…. do I report the mp or do i report the bbc? Do I get a two for one offer? And does it make a difference if the speech is made under parliamentary privilege? Is bbc guilty when they report but the mp protected? So many aspects to be considered….

25. English Dave

I think I’ll report Trump, as his comments can be read in Scotland. Then he’ll get arrested if he comes to his golf course.

26. Calum

It would be relatively trivial to automate the filling out of that form with randomly generated information. Just saying, not that I would ever do such a thing. And I certainly wouldn’t do it on a VPN that would hide my IP address. Of course not.

27. Calum

I think I’ll make my first report Humza Yousaf’s infamous white speech. As white Scottish I find it incredibly hateful that a public persona such as a government minister would use his platfrom to attack my race.

28. Patsy Millar

Hope this won’t be the last one but in the meantime just sending thanks and best wishes.

29. Jason Smoothpiece

I know what you are saying Stu I will be reporting everything.

I give fair warning now to the anonymous person who breaks wind in the lift at my work. I personally find that offensive damn right I want detectives working on this for starters.

I am also offended at anyone who marches I mean who wouldn’t be.

God damn cops are going to be busy. Will the system cope.

Friday and Saturday nights on my Main Street often people sing and shout.

Offended? Too right .

Then there is sporting events like every other fair minded person I am heavily offended by the chants and bad language I will be putting a stop to that.

Then there’s good old Humsa who is not to keen on white folk. Offended oh yes.

I’ll give the nonsense a couple of months before it gets repealed.

30. Mark Beggan

“It was a bright cold day in April and the clocks were striking thirteen.”

31. Chas

The new hate crime laws are an irrelevance to me as I have now self identified as an individual who cannot hate. If I am unable to hate, how can I possibly be charged with any offence? I have signed a piece of paper to this effect in confirmation of my new found status.

Scotland is going to lead the World and be the bestest country on the planet, thanks to our wonderful Government, although I expect one of our SNP/Loon politicians to make an erse of it very early this week. Get ready to get your form in to our brave Poileas, anonymously, of course.

32. Paul Olliebears

Strange but Police Scotland in their online form do NOT ALLOW hate related crime to be reported if its about age. Yet age is specifically mentioned in the bill.

33. AnneDon

If you can report it anonymously, how can you be charged with wasting police time?

34. Bob Johnston

The First Minister’s notorious ‘WHITE! WHITE! WHITE!’ speech surely made hundreds of thousands of White Scots fearful for their future in their own land. Say half a million complaints about that in the first week and we’ll see where things stand.

35. I. Despair

The polis’s guidance on https://www.scotland.police.uk/advice-and-information/hate-crime/what-is-hate-crime/ and the pop-up list on the online reporting form both omit the protected characteristics of age and variations in sex characteristics. This is clearly unfair discrimination against those characteristics and people who possess such characteristics. I perceive the motivation behind these omissions as hate. It is therefore everyone’s civic duty to report Polis Scotland to, er, itself for a hate crime.

36. I. Despair

And another thing – one or two commenters suggest picking the “Other” option on the online reporting form to get around the absence of the Age characteristic. That doesn’t work. If you pick “Other” no further lines in the form become active and you’re told “For any other reports which do not need an urgent Police response, please dial 101 or report using our online Contact Us form.” Making people use a different process to report their concerns is clearly unfair and discriminatory!

37. AnneDon

Well, as a woman I’m not protected, but as a trouser-wearing, football-supporting woman I suppose I can claim non-binary status (or do I have to dye my hair blue first?). Since religion is a protected characteristic, I can report any of the atheist shite that the Tartan Taliban come out with, and ditto their rampant ageism.

You know, I might actually rejoin twitter!

38. Tommo

I thought it might help viewers to se a list of the ‘drop-in’ centres where you can file a complaint in Forth Valley;
    ‘Organisation
    Alloa Mosque
    Central Advocacy Partners
    Central Scotland Regional Equality Council (CSREC)

Centre Space Adult Day Services
    Clackmannanshire Travelling Persons Site
    Falkirk Children’s Rights

Falkirk Islamic Centre
    Falkirk Mosque
    Forth Housing Association
    Rainbow Women’s Muslim Group

The Sensory Centre

Streets Ahead

Victim Support Scotland – Falkirk
    Victim Support Scotland – Stirling’
    Not one golf, soccer or rugby club.No pub.No cafe. Nae churches or chapels.
    One might almost think the powers that be have already decided the sort of complaints they actually want to see

39. Neil in Glasgow

I’m offended by the inference that Elaine C Smith is a comedian

40. Mark Beggan

Well that’s my family grassed for starters.

41. Mark Beggan

Humza claiming to be Scottish makes me puke.

42. Andy Ellis

Incoming! Hold on to yer hats folks….

https://twitter.com/WingsScotland/status/1774469830915006797

43. Republicofscotland

Big demo planned for tomorrow outside Holyrood with regards to the anti-free speech hate crime laws.

Speakers required.

It starts at 1.30pm.

Glasgow Cabbie.

https://en-gb.facebook.com/glasgowcabbiepoetry/

44. John

Aren’t we all happy being part of the United Kingdom under Charles III , Jimmy Saviles favourite student? Our state broadcaster tells us today he was “smiling “ and touching people.
    The Britnat contributors here will be blissful. They can pretend their appointments to run Scotland into the ground on whatever pocket money they deign to allow are to blame. Deviant as they is, they enjoy the pain of others. Perhaps as retribution of fond memories of school
    Quite looking forward now the clocks have gone forward.

45. Mark Beggan

Nicola Sturgeon has caused me so much harm I can never bring myself to trust the Scottish Government again.

46. Republicofscotland

A recap of these vile bastards so you know who NOT to vote for, though some have already left Holyrood.

Adam, George (Paisley) (SNP);

Adamson, Clare (Motherwell and Wishaw) (SNP)

Allan, Dr Alasdair (Na h-Eileanan an Iar) (SNP)

Arthur, Tom (Renfrewshire South) (SNP)

Baker, Claire (Mid Scotland and Fife) (Lab)

Beattie, Colin (Midlothian North and Musselburgh) (SNP)

Bibby, Neil (West Scotland) (Lab)

Bowman, Bill (North East Scotland) (Con)

Boyack, Sarah (Lothian) (Lab)

Brown, Keith (Clackmannanshire and Dunblane) (SNP)

Campbell, Aileen (Clydesdale) (SNP)

Coffey, Willie (Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley) (SNP)

Cole-Hamilton, Alex (Edinburgh Western) (LD)

Constance, Angela (Almond Valley) (SNP)

Crawford, Bruce (Stirling) (SNP)

Cunningham, Roseanna (Perthshire South and Kinrossshire) (SNP)

Denham, Ash (Edinburgh Eastern) (SNP)

Doris, Bob (Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn) (SNP)

Dornan, James (Glasgow Cathcart) (SNP)

Ewing, Annabelle (Cowdenbeath) (SNP)

Ewing, Fergus (Inverness and Nairn) (SNP)

Fabiani, Linda (East Kilbride) (SNP)

Fee, Mary (West Scotland) (Lab)

Finnie, John (Highlands and Islands) (Green)

FitzPatrick, Joe (Dundee City West) (SNP)

Forbes, Kate (Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch) (SNP)

Freeman, Jeane (Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley)

(SNP)

Gibson, Kenneth (Cunninghame North) (SNP)

Gilruth, Jenny (Mid Fife and Glenrothes) (SNP)

Gougeon, Mairi (Angus North and Mearns) (SNP)

Grahame, Christine (Midlothian South, Tweeddale and

Lauderdale) (SNP)

Gray, Iain (East Lothian) (Lab)

Greer, Ross (West Scotland) (Green)

Griffin, Mark (Central Scotland) (Lab)

Harper, Emma (South Scotland) (SNP)

Harvie, Patrick (Glasgow) (Green)

Haughey, Clare (Rutherglen) (SNP)

Hepburn, Jamie (Cumbernauld and Kilsyth) (SNP)

Hyslop, Fiona (Linlithgow) (SNP)

Johnson, Daniel (Edinburgh Southern) (Lab)

Johnstone, Alison (Lothian) (Green)

Kelly, James (Glasgow) (Lab)

Lennon, Monica (Central Scotland) (Lab)

Leonard, Richard (Central Scotland) (Lab)

Lochhead, Richard (Moray) (SNP)

Lyle, Richard (Uddingston and Bellshill) (SNP)

MacDonald, Angus (Falkirk East) (SNP)

MacDonald, Gordon (Edinburgh Pentlands) (SNP)

Macdonald, Lewis (North East Scotland) (Lab)

MacGregor, Fulton (Coatbridge and Chryston) (SNP)

Mackay, Rona (Strathkelvin and Bearsden) (SNP)

Macpherson, Ben (Edinburgh Northern and Leith) (SNP)

Maguire, Ruth (Cunninghame South) (SNP)

Martin, Gillian (Aberdeenshire East) (SNP)

Mason, John (Glasgow Shettleston) (SNP)

Matheson, Michael (Falkirk West) (SNP)

McArthur, Liam (Orkney Islands) (LD)

McKee, Ivan (Glasgow Provan) (SNP)

McMillan, Stuart (Greenock and Inverclyde) (SNP)

McNeill, Pauline (Glasgow) (Lab)

Paterson, Gil (Clydebank and Milngavie) (SNP)

Rennie, Willie (North East Fife) (LD)

Robison, Shona (Dundee City East) (SNP)

Ross, Gail (Caithness, Sutherland and Ross) (SNP)

Rumbles, Mike (North East Scotland) (LD)

Ruskell, Mark (Mid Scotland and Fife) (Green)

Russell, Michael (Argyll and Bute) (SNP)

Sarwar, Anas (Glasgow) (Lab)

Smyth, Colin (South Scotland) (Lab)

Somerville, Shirley-Anne (Dunfermline) (SNP)

Stevenson, Stewart (Banffshire and Buchan Coast) (SNP)

Stewart, David (Highlands and Islands) (Lab)

Stewart, Kevin (Aberdeen Central) (SNP)

Sturgeon, Nicola (Glasgow Southside) (SNP)

Swinney, John (Perthshire North) (SNP)

Todd, Maree (Highlands and Islands) (SNP)

Torrance, David (Kirkcaldy) (SNP)

Watt, Maureen (Aberdeen South and North Kincardine)

(SNP)

Wheelhouse, Paul (South Scotland) (SNP)

White, Sandra (Glasgow Kelvin) (SNP)

Wishart, Beatrice (Shetland Islands) (LD)

Yousaf, Humza (Glasgow Pollok) (SNP)

Save this website link below to keep a hold of the above names so when the time comes you’ll remember who voted for the HC Laws.

https://care.org.uk/news/2021/03/find-out-how-your-msps-voted-on-the-hate-crime-bill

47. Yesbot

Tommo

The Glasgow list is predominantly Housing Associations!

48. Shug

Can i report humza’s white white white speach

49. Jim Tadgercock

@Republicofscotland just to be clear Ash Denham AKA Ash Regan Alba or are we wheeshting about that.

50. twathater

A wee question for those in the know , if making a report to the polis re the HCA and giving your name and details will you be given a crime reporting number and will you be informed when an investigation starts and when the investigation finishes and the outcome or decision of the investigation and whether it is considered a hate incident or hate crime

Unfortunately my trust in the polis has been seriously undermined by their actions over the past sturgeon decade, consequently their insistence and promise that every claim will be investigated in this hate infested country (courtesy of Fool ton MacGregor) may have to be revised or seriously monitored and confirmed

We wouldn’t want the polis to insist that EVERY complaint will be investigated and then to find that they are understaffed , overworked and can’t cope with the volume of HATE, so more serious crime will have to be ignored , or they will just lie about investigating it

51. Mia

Let’s just think for a moment on the extremely offensive insult “karen”

This deliberately offensive word has been often directed to middle aged, straight, white women, who hold the fundamental belief that sex is binary and can never be replaced, swapped or created artificially. Even MPs and MSPs have had the nerve to display their hate towards us by insulting us with this hateful word when they should have known better.

In my personal opinion the insult “karen” is hateful in several levels:

1. it represents hate towards age- the insult “karen” intends to mock and undermine women’s age. It is designed to make middle age women feel as if we were second rate citizens and if we were already on our way to the scrap yard. It is extremely ageist.

2. hate towards disability – the insult “karen” has a two-prone intention to offend: a. it seeks to present our age as a form of disability or handicap to thought processing and b. it seeks to actively discriminate against disability, because whoever called us “karen” perceives in their mind that our “disability” of age must be forcefully discriminated against when it comes to freedom of expression.

3. it represents hate against race – we are hated because of our white race. If we were black women, or women from any other ethnic minority, it is very unlikely this insult would have been directed to us.

4. hate towards our own lack of religious beliefs – we are hated because we do not believe in the queer religion. It is discriminating our own fundamental right to choose no religion

5. hate towards fundamental core beliefs – we are hated because we refuse to give up our fundamental beliefs

6. hate towards our sex orientation – we are hated because we do not find females with butchered bodies self-identifying as men or males wearing wigs, dresses, panties and make-up sexually attractive.

7. hate towards our sex characteristics – we are hated because:

a. we have been naturally blessed with ovaries, a womb, breasts and chromosomes XX
    b. we are approaching or are undergoing menopause and therefore we do no longer adhere to the barbie-woman stereotype some males identifying as trans have in mind.

7. hate related to transgender identity – we are hated and discriminated because we do not have nor recognise in ourselves a transgender identity.

When you think about it, the insult “karen” is hateful towards every protected characteristic in that new legislation. It is demeaning and offensive and every time it is seen to be used to demean or undermine a middle age woman, or simply read in a past tweet, interview, article or post directed to a middle age woman, should be reported to the police.

My question is how to report it. Should I chose only one of the types of hate I perceive this highly offensive insult targets, or should I file an individual complaint for each one of the types of hate I perceive it targets?

Because, really, when you think about it, it is not just one hate episode. It is at least 7 episodes of hate concentrated in one single event.

52. Kiwi Mike

If a man, wearing a ‘Kill all Terfs’ T-shirt, claims he is a woman and I claim he is not a woman’.
    Who is committing a ‘hate crime?

53. Scotsrenewables

I have been searching fruitlessly for a y evidence in law of what Craig Murray calls “the doctrine of continuing publication”

I can find nothing that supports the assertion that anything originally published prior to the Act coming into force can be the subject of a valid complaint.

I hope that when Stu gets his legal advice it shows that on this matter Craig was wrong.

54. Mike Fenwick

I simply made a list of things I’ve said all my life, that might be dodgy in today’s climate – but I’ve numbered them.

Expect to hear me shout 5 – 11 – 18?quite often!?But 22/23 is my favourite!

55. PacMan

Scotland’s media has assured us that there will be no issues with everyone clyping each other all the time (or if there are they’ll only affect “right-wingers” so it’s fine).

The supporters of this legislation are too thick to realise that it will only happen to ‘the other’.

Some people can only learn the hard way…

56. PacMan

AnneDon says:
    31 March, 2024 at 5:08 pm

Well, as a woman I’m not protected, but as a trouser-wearing, football-supporting woman I suppose I can claim non-binary status (or do I have to dye my hair blue first?). Since religion is a protected characteristic, I can report any of the atheist shite that the Tartan Taliban come out with, and ditto their rampant ageism.

When claiming you are non-binary, which falls under the Trans umbrella, and somebody confronts you by saying you are lying or ‘at it’ then they are denying what you identity as and putting you in a state of fear then that person is surely committing a hate crime?

If they are saying what you identity isn’t true than the same can be said of all Trans people then that person is spreading hate against a protected group and again, is committing a hate crime?

57. Effijy

Can we report broadcasters for showing all England International games on terestrial
    TV here in Scotland but very seldom a Scottish international.

Boris must be reported multiple times as he called Scots Vermine.
    He wants to put Scots in a ghetto and eliminate us.
    He said black women have watermelon smiles and Muslim women look at life through a letter box.

The BBC was guilty of breaching impartiality rules when it allowed the then Scottish Conservative leader, Ruth Davidson, to accuse the Scottish government of corruption on air.

The broadcasting regulator Ofcom said BBC Radio 4’s news programme World at One had failed to properly balance Davidson’s allegations, made during a long interview last year on the controversies surrounding the Alex Salmond inquiry by the Scottish parliament.
    They really have it in for Scotland and they make me feel inferior.
    Police Scotland must arrest the leaders at the Quay and close down their offices.

58. Bob Johnston

John @ 5.45pm Charles III is also King of Scots and a lot of nationalists want to keep the monarchy when they achieve independence.

59. Young Lochinvar

First thing tomorrow I’m going after Satan, or is it Santa?
    What the heck, do both..

60. Andrew scott

I hate the Hate monster
    Where do i go next-the mushroom farm?

61. MaryB

Twathater@6.45
    From police Scotland website

After reporting the incident, the police will:
    give you an incident reference number – you can use this when you want to contact them about your case
    carry out an investigation – they will submit a report to the Procurator Fiscal if there is evidence to support a prosecution.
    The Procurator Fiscal will decide if there is enough evidence to proceed with the police report and what action should be taken.

Action could include a warning, fines, compensation or going to court.

Check what happens after reporting a crime on mygov.scot.

62. Mia

Let’s think now in the hateful and unbelievably hurtful insult “menstruator”

1. it is hateful against age – It is exclusively directed to specifically singling out females of certain age, therefore actively discriminating premenarche, menopausal or post-menopausal females.

2. it is hateful against sexual characteristics – To have menstruation you need functioning ovaries and a womb. These two organs are determined by sex. They are therefore sexual characteristics. The hateful term “menstruator” discriminates Young women in possession of functioning ovaries and womb and reduces the entirety of their female sex to the single function of menstruating. It is demeaning and extremely hurtful and offensive.

3. It is hateful against females not self-identifying as having a transgender identity and it is a punishment for not being actively poisoning their bodies with chemical castration or surgical mutilation. Trans females who menstruate are not called “menstruators”. They are called transmen.

I wonder if this offensive, hurtful, discriminating and hateful insult should also be reported every time we see it directed against a female.

63. Bob Johnston

Well that’s me put up a link to Police Scotland on Facebook and encouraged Scotland to get reporting hate. I’m rather excited to think that hate will be abolished in our ancient land by May. Great days.

64. Lenny Hartley

Scotsrenewables @7.23, it’s a well established principle in Scots Law and is the same as got Mr Thompson jailed for publishing names of alphabetties from France ( so I read);. ( if this law was not in existence you could publish anything outwith Scotland and not be in contempt of court for example)
    Somebody, can’t remember who asked Roddy Dunlop KC’s Opinion on X and Roddy confirmed that any reading of a publication in Scotland , no matter where published or when, is deemed to be a new publication in Scotland, so anything read online after April 1st is deemed to be a new publication by the author of the article.

65. Henry Wood

What David Kennedy. General Secretary of the Scottish Police Federation, should have said is, “This is a bad law. A poorly drafted and realistically an almost unenforcable law. This law should never have been passed.”

66. sarah

When did Charles Philip Arthur George take the Scottish Coronation Oath?

Someone upthread said he is King of Scots but until he takes the oath he can’t be.

67. Dan

Spare a thought for poor Taylor Swift coz she’ll have a tough gig making this scan next time she plays Scotland…

Coz the players gonna play play play play play
    And the haters gonna get reported reported reported reported reported…

Ach, maybe folk need grow their skins a wee bit thicker and jist Shake It Off

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nfWlot6h_JM

68. Scotsrenewables

Lenny Hartley
    Ignored says:
    31 March, 2024 at 8:15 pm
    Scotsrenewables @7.23, it’s a well established principle in Scots Law and is the same as got Mr Thompson jailed for publishing names of alphabetties from France

I’m not arguing against the ‘read in Scotland published in Scotland’ doctrine.

I find no evidence though that material originating prior to 1st April is admissable.

69. Lenny Hartley

Well I would think that a Roddy Dunlop would know, why don’t you ask him to confirm? , the way it was put that any new reading is deemed to have been published when it was read so anything read after April 1st falls under the act.

70. John Main

The Brahan Seer predicted “policemen will become so numerous in every town that they may be met with at the corner of every street”.

I think he was foretelling clyping Scots dobbing each other in as a national pastime.

Spooky!

We owe it to the Brahan Seer to make it true. Get dobbing!

The ladies shouldn’t feel excluded, the Brahan Seer was a product of an earlier time when women were naturally excluded from many things. But if any superstitious woman feels uncomfortable going against the letter of the prophesy, just self id as a man, and get dobbing.

You’ll be grand.

71. Lenny Hartley

Scots renewables, I have gone through Craig’s tweets and response from Roddy, all he says is “Craig is absolutely correct here. If it’s published online and read in Scotland then – in law – it is published in Scotland.” so no clarification if something published originally before April 1 and read after is admissible.
    Sorry got that one wrong.

72. Andy Ellis

@Lenny Hartley et al

Roddy Dunlop KC did clarify it in recent tweets

In response to the following question from @vc_flashman:

“…please can you adjudicate this, if you make a statement that isn’t criminal but becomes criminal under new legislation, then say that you agree with the statement during the period of the new legislation, then would the secondary statement be criminal?”

Roddy responded as follows:

“Yes. On the hypothesis you state, there would be a fresh publication by reference of the now-criminal statement.”

So it is possible.

73. Republicofscotland

“Jim Tadgercock
    Ignored says:
    31 March, 2024 at 6:43 pm
    @Republicofscotland just to be clear Ash Denham AKA Ash Regan Alba or are we wheeshting about that.”

No we are not wheeshting about that, well I’m not.

Also from ISP’s website.

“Joanna Cherry thinks this law may prove to be another embarrassing legal car crash, and it is hard not to see it falling foul of the GB-wide Equality Act 2010. So far it is a giant April Fools’ joke, but the joke may be on women.”

I fuckin loathe Westminster but they stepped in and stopped the outrageous GRRB from becoming law. I’m hoping that they do the same with the HC Laws.

Those vile bastards at Holyrood are trying to impinge upon free speech in Scotland with these farcical laws.

I read in one of the links that you can report a hate crime at a sex shop in Glasgow, a mushroom farm and a Salmon retailer.

74. dearieme

I always used to laugh to see some tedious Trot outflanked on the Left.

Should I be laughing to see a Scotnaz outflanked on the Naz? Aye, but only for a day or two.

75. JB

I’d suggest that the approach to the form omitting age as a criteria is obvious.

Simply select another reason, I suggest ‘Race’, then in the ‘what’ box state that it relates to an ‘Age’ incident.

In the alternate, there is the ‘Additional Information’ box, where you could indicate that your requirement is to correct the inadequate form to correct the selection of ‘Race’ to one of ‘Age’.

Either way, you have 2000 characters available for each of the ‘Additional Information’, ‘What’, ‘Where’, ‘When’, ‘Who’ boxes.

So with 10000 characters, I’m sure one could find a place and way to express that the perceived Hate Crime was actually one related to ‘Age’. It is their duty to take the report of the perceived crime, irrespective of any inadequacies in their form (or your form filling), and correctly record it, then process it. For them to ignore / discard a report because of a silly clerical issue would be them failing in their duty.

So I’d suggest simply starting say the ‘What’ box with: “This is a Hate Related Incident – Age.”, then enter the rest of the complaint.

76. Republicofscotland

From ISP.

“Police Scotland won’t bother investigating what they regard as ‘minor’ crimes, but will fully investigate EVERY hate incident. In one year they wrote off 24,000 ‘minor’ crimes, but ALL hate crimes will be recorded as non-crime hate incidents, and last year police recorded over 5,500 of them even before the new law came in, with guidelines stating that even if no crime is committed, it will be recorded ‘if the victim perceives it to be a hate crime’. ‘Third party’ hubs have been identified where people can anonymously report ‘hate incidents’.

One of the 97 Glasgow hubs is Luke and Jack’s, an LGBT venue -‘Passionate Purveyors of Pleasure Products’; other reporting centres include Monaghan Mushrooms in North Berwick, Farne Salmon & Trout in Duns, Berwickshire and West Dunbartonshire Council Equality and Diversity department. Will these venues put people at their ease?

Joanna Cherry thinks this law may be weaponised against women’s right to free speech. A Scottish government short-term working group will evaluate third-party reporting, and how to improve support for victims, but says nothing about evaluating whether complaints are vexatious.”

“Police Scotland are coming under fire over a training event where participants had to consider a scenario of a fictional character called ‘Jo’ who thinks sex is binary and immutable and who wants trans people to be sent to gas chambers. Critics claim it is a clear reference to JK Rowling. The event was jointly organised by the Scottish LGBTI Police Association, but police could only bluster that the training event was not mandatory for all officers and not part of Police Scotland training.

And in the purple corner Joanna Cherry, who effectively says ‘Be afraid. Be very afraid’, claiming ‘stirring up hatred’ is vague, and extends past trans people to include cross-dressing men. Biological sex is not protected as a characteristic, and she says cross-dressing men will be better protected than women, who form the majority in society, and who are still waiting for an anti-misogyny bill to be passed, which seems to have disappeared from view.

Men have spat on and punched gender-critical women at public events in Dundee and Aberdeen, with the police refusing to act meaningfully or even at all. Lord Bracadale had recommended a tailored ‘freedom of expression’ protection for women to be included in the HCA. When Joanna Cherry approached Humza Yousaf with her concerns, he did include a tailored defence for gender-critical women, which was published by the SNP government, but then Cherry was labelled transphobic for tweeting her support for it, she was sacked from her front-bench position as Justice spokesperson, and the amendment was ditched.

Although religious beliefs can be criticised, and even insulted, critics of gender identity do not have the same protection, so may incur police interest if they say, for example, ‘trans women are men’ or ‘lesbians don’t have penises’, particularly as police training is being framed and delivered by gender ideology activists.

She and others see a major problem with the fact that police have engaged a charity involved in trans rights activism to train police in operating this act, and says the director of a prominent trans rights charity encouraged people to report stickers saying ‘Woman. Noun. Adult Human Female’ and similar to police as hate crimes because, it was said ‘We need the stats’.

She believes anyone charged would have a good defence under freedom of belief and freedom of expression under the European Convention of Human Rights, but calls the noting of ‘non-crime’ hate incidents by police sinister and unfair.”

77. President Xiden

Radical cartoons said”I started going through the form, and you’re right, Age is very strangely not in the pop-up list”

I perceive this omission as a hate crime in itself . I shall be reporting Police Scotland asap.

78. JockMcT

I’m sick to death of the HCA already, I fkn hate it. Should I be arrested, or hand my self in to a sex shop? Said my best friend whom I hereby daub in via said form.

Can’t wait until Trump comes back here and I can get him finally out of the race, the election race – is that a crime…?

Rest assured, I will be diligent in my submission(s). As the Carpenters sang, and the carpenter surely said….It’s only just begun…

Let’s get this sorted and back to some form of normality asap.

Mobilise…

79. Willie

I see that the Tory chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee has issued ststemts to say that the Government has received formal legal advice saying that Israel has broken international humanitarian law.

That is a hate crime. But will from tommorow we be able to say we detest the Isralies for what they do.

Meanwhile in Malaysia, Muslims have been attacking the big convenience store KK with petrol bombs due to a couple of their stores selling socks with Allah printed on the side. Seems that this is an offence to have Allah poot on a piece of apparel that goes on the foot. From tommorow will it be a hate crime to criticise those Muslims whose religious beliefs allows them to react in the way that they have done.

Me I think the Israelis are bad for what they do to. And ditto many Muslims for what they do too. But from tommorow can I say so. Or would that be a Hate Cri Crime against a protected class of people.

80. Graf Midgehunter

I don’t think the Rev will be gone too long, his pen (keyboard) will be itching to get the SNP ba****ds on the run again. 🙂

81. Steve

Do not go gentle into that good night…..
    ….
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light…

So long, and thanks for all the fish.

82. John Moss

Let’s use the Hate Crime Act against our enemies.

Full stop.

Let the war for freedom begin ?

83. John Moss

Let’s use the Hate Crime Act against our enemies.

Full stop.

Let the war for freedom begin ?

84. sarah

“The Night before Hatemas” – a great poem by Eva Comrie on Onelegged Woman Speaks via Voices for Independence.

Is she saying the Rev is safe?

85. Lenny Hartley

Andy Ellis , I THOUGHT HE SAID THAT ALONG THE LINE BUT COULD NOT FIND A REFERENCE TO IT AND WAS Questioning MY MEMORY.
    Sorry for caps I’m no shouting really lol, don’t know what happened there!

86. Bob Johnston

JockMcT @ 10:10 pm

Should I be arrested, or hand my self in to a sex shop?

Either. Both will have handcuffs to make sure you stop all your hating. The sex shop ones might have a fluffy lining, much more comfy, so go there, you horrible hating hater you.

87. Lenny Hartley

Well biee biee folks, it’s been a pleasure (Mostly apart from obvious suspects)
    Let hope I see y’all again in the not to distant future.
    Stu, thanks a bunch, I’ll keep my sub going until we find out either way.

88. sarah

I can’t bear the idea of no Wings. I’ve been looking in, several times a day, for years in order to hear the news and get the truth. Also for the laughs, the Bear Patrol, swan photos, the crowdfunders for sweeties etc etc. Life won’t be the same, nor as good, without your presence, Rev.

89. moixx

Today I’ve got a wee bit of a head cold – not too bad at all, except that it’s really gone for my throat and I can barely speak.

I’ve not been ill for years, but that it should happen today, of all days – that I’ve lost my voice – is beyond ironic.

90. PhilM

23.55 and nothing…going right up to the wire?

91. Bob Johnston

As Scotland steps into its Endarkenment, and as this may be my last chance to share anything on this site, I want to thank the Rev and everyone who has shared their thoughts over the years. I have my views, other have theirs. This has been a place where everyone can say their piece; something that is anathema to those we have foolishly handed power to. But Scotland is over 1100 years old, one of the oldest nations in Europe. It’ll take more than Sturgeon and what’s-his-name to destroy it. The lamps are going out all over Scotland tonight, we may not see them lit again in our life-time, but the darkness never wins in the long term. Good night, Rev, and good luck!

92. JB

Oh look – 00:12 . He must have decided to stay online.

93. sgritheall

Can I report Humza’s rant against white people in leading positions?

94. twathater

@ MaryB 8.01pm thanks for that info Mary I just wanted to clarify that when this lunacy ends up being sorted oot by adults with brains (obviously nae point in looking at the parties in HR) then the polis,COPFS and hate claimers like Fool ton MacGregor will be able to produce proof of the tsunami of hate they used to force this reviled legislation through

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.