Facts First

Posted on March 30, 2024 by

The video below, which we just found today, is taken from a promo by the American news channel CNN in 2017. It’s deeply ironic now, because CNN has been thoroughly captured by gender ideology. But it’s the reason Wings Over Scotland won’t change what or how we write, even if it means we have to shut our doors.

The truth is everything. Non-negotiable. No matter what. It’s as simple as that.

0 to “Facts First”

1. Neil Mackenzie

Heh, ha ha.

Have you seen the “Everybody’s Fancy” video from Mr. Rogers video?

They don’t make ’em like that, any more.

2. Ruby

Ceci n’est pas une pomme! (This is not an apple)

3. John Main

The truth shall set us free.

4. Ruby

https://tinyurl.com/3udkhksr

This is not a banana

5. Mark Beggan

Illegitimi non carborundum.

6. robertkknight

I very much sympathise with this…

youtu.be/fmjbOygoKXE?

7. Ruby

I don’t know how the truth is going to set us free when the truth is a hate crime.

8. Effijy

It’s not all bad you know.
    If it was banana eaten in the garden of Eden we all get to return there.
    The down side is God might let the SNP and the Greens in and then we can all go to hell.

If the thought police are coming for me, I identify as a former Scottish Labour leader who doesn’t understand what she is saying.

9. Bortwiskels

It’s the Bolivian Navy on manoeuvres in the South Pacific!

10. Geri

Aye & stay awake people cause tomorrow banana may change their mind & decide they’ll now be a tomato.

Things are gonnie get ugly…LOL

11. Johnlm

This add was easily satirised by CNN haters (Trump supporters mainly) at the time.
    Simply use the same voiceover with a picture of a banana.

Eg
    This is a BANANA !!! – Bogus News Network

12. Ruby

The idea behind the Magritte painting ‘Ceci n’est pas une pomme’ is that it isn’t an apple it’s a painting of an apple.

(Do not eat!)

One thing I have definitely learned from Wings is to question what I read in the media.

I am going to apply these lesson I’ve learned from Stu to this video. 🙂

CNN are telling us this is an apple. It’s not an apple it’s a video of an apple. It may not even be an apple, it might be a plastic apple (looks too perfect), an apple scented candle, a dog’s squeaky toy or just a photo of an apple.

Be careful something might look like an apple but inside there might be a banana.

13. Tommo

CNN is a leftist propaganda channel.
    The latest ‘developments’ from your assembly indicate that the ‘not proven’ verdict is to be abolished. This would suggest that either;
    a. The Scottish criminal system was not quite the beacon to humanity we were told or
    b. The present system does not provide sufficient convictions for the powers- that- be per criminal charge brought
    It seems less certain that the attempt to create ‘judge only’ rape trials will succeed. Juries there -and in the UK-are stubbornly refusing to ‘believe all women’. It is said that this is due to ‘rape myths’; how does anyone know? This appalling crime (when there IS a crime) is normally one-against- one in evidential terms-supportive evidence is always sought and can be conclusive. If there is none, and -as usual-no independent witness, and sometimes undermining evidence in terms of previous intimacy etc. -how can any jury make a clear decision beyond reasonable doubt ? Or are the rules to be changed enabling judges to find guilt ‘on the balance of probabilities’ ?

14. Hatuey

Wasn’t the Magritte painting of a pipe?

Anyway, I don’t really care if people are wrong and call it a banana. They have the right to be wrong.

What I object to is the insistence that I be wrong too.

15. Campbell Clansman

Years ago (prior to the above video) CNN admitted to slanting the news to help Saddam Hussein, because they feared that otherwise they wouldn’t be allowed into Iraq.
    WE know it’s an apple. THEY know it’s an apple. But what are ordinary people to do if the government orders them to call it a banana?

16. DebzoHighland

I wonder how many of us will have hate crimes pinned on us by next Saturday? Not that we would even know!
    Stu, please keep posting well vetted material……if your legal team OK you doing that…..even if you have to dial down on the sarcasm! (In case it hurts anyone’s feelings….perish the thought. Clutches Pearls!)
    Turning off comments is probably best as any one of us could inadvertently drop you in it…..since we really don’t have a clue on what constitutes a hate crime….just like Police Scotland!
    So, it looks like we will all be winging it from Monday. Best of luck everyone.

17. holymacmoses

Let’s hope that the people who think its a banana have eaten lots of them and thrown their imaginary skins all over the roads, pavements, lobbies and halls and cannot but slip and slide everywhere and of course, finally, fall.

18. Big Jock

“Being in a minority, even in a minority of one, did not make you mad. There was truth and there was untruth, and if you clung to the truth even against the whole world, you were not mad.”
    George Orwell, 1984

19. Big Jock

A human born with a penis is a man, a human born with ovaries is a woman. The earth is round,even if 10 million people tell you it’s flat.

A cult is an organisation who exist to brainwash the weak. They will use intimidation, shame and ridicule to bend the gullible.

When that cult becomes the lawmaker, then everyone is in danger.

20. Saffron Robe

Or, alternatively:

This is a banana…(picture of an apple)…if you see an apple you are very likely to be a right-wing extremist!

21. Ruby

Hatuey
    30 March, 2024 at 9:38 pm

Wasn’t the Magritte painting of a pipe?

He did more than one painting.

https://tinyurl.com/4nsmd94m

22. Anton Decadent

The sharing of information ATL and BTL has been a source of light in a dark age and long may it continue. Knowledge is power which is why they are targeting yourself and the rest of us.

23. Mark Beggan

Yes we have no bananas.

24. Martin Monaghan

That’s definitely an apple!

25. Alan Mackechnie

This seems quite important. If you are on benefits and you keep getting rejected for job interviews because you have hate incident recorded against you, can you lose your benefits?

26. Antoine Roquentin

Strange Fruit, indeed.

27. Anthem

I believe the whole idea behind this is to create public disorder. And who benefits from that? You don’t have to be a genius to work that one out. But I do believe the people of Scotland will take back control of their country and those who created and enabled this nightmare will pay a hefty penalty for their corruption.

28. Sven

Possibly the last opportunity I’ll get to post on the best informed and truthful source of Scottish news, so I thought I’d share a wee bit of medical logic from a suitably qualified source.
    100 people marooned on a desert island; 50 biological women, 50 biological men. Go back in 100 years, you will probably discover a thriving community.
    100 people marooned on a desert island; 50 trans women, 50 biological men. Go back in 100 years, you will discover a desert island with 100 skeletons.
    Just an informed observation from the medical community.
    Best wishes to each and every one of you as we all enter a strange new Scotland.
    Thanks once more to our Host for enduring thus far despite all his travails.

29. Jack McArthur

C. S. Lewis wrote the last part of his space trilogy in the late 1940’s “That Hideous Strength”. It describes how so called progressives lie and subvert the culture of a country and who are ultimately trans human in their aims. The classroom is a principle target for a presiding spirit which hates mankind.

They have in their service organisations such as the NICE which are anything but “nice” in intent (an organisation called NICE actually played its part decades later in UK covid control and lockdown). Propaganda is central to how the NICE works cf. the NUDGE units which appeared in Downing St, the White House and Canberra all at the same time.

A few years before That Hideous Strength C. S. Lewis wrote a non fiction book called “The Abolition of Man”. From Wikipedia:

“The final chapter describes the ultimate consequences of this debunking: a not-so distant future in which the values and morals of the majority are controlled by a small group who rule by a perfect understanding of psychology, and who in turn, being able to see through any system of morality that might induce them to act in a certain way, are ruled only by their own unreflected whims. In surrendering rational reflection on their own motivations, the controllers will no longer be recognizably human, the controlled will be robot-like, and the Abolition of Man will have been completed”

There is already a transhuman AI movement, billionaire financed, which is remarkably like what C. S Lewis wrote about in the 40’s. He, Aldous Huxley of Brave New World fame and JFK would all die within a few hours of each other on Nov 22 1963.

The links between the first two are obvious but the very last words from a psalm in the speech JFK never lived to deliver will also connect for some “For as was written long ago: “except the Lord keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.”

30. Patsy Millar

Reminds me of a scene in ‘Liar,Liar’ where Jim Carrey is trying to tell a lie about the colour of his pen and ends up with his face covered in the ink.

31. Dorothy Devine

Rev , just a BIG thank you.

32. Shug

Could the hate crime be turned on the SNP for calling names at the tories and get rid of all tories

33. Colin Alexander

Happy Easter

34. Ruby

I believe that if Stu tells me something is an apple it is going to be a apple. A fresh poison free apple.

With others I am worried that I may bite into their apple and be sent to sleep until such times as a ‘handsome prince’ comes along and kisses me on the lips.

It looks like a lot of people in Scotland have been bitten into the poisoned apple and are all fast asleep.

https://tinyurl.com/5eb95a6u

35. Anthem

Take care Rev. We will need you.These imbeciles will try anything to nail you. You will always have our support.

36. Ruby

Correction

It looks like a lot of people in Scotland have bitten into the poisoned apple and are all fast asleep.

Will we be awaken by a handsome prince or will it be by a big group of noisy women who just won’t wheesht.

37. Stuart MacKay

That the neo-liberals need ever more repressive rules to keep the population in check means that the battle is already over. It’s just a matter of time before the whole system collapses. Doubly so because the “ideology”, if you can call it, that is so easily compromised by groups with ulterior motives. Sooner or later it will turn on itself.

That doesn’t mean that there aren’t dark days ahead. However you already see the signs of the coming professional-managerial-caste’s apocalypse. Mental health is pretty much at an all time low in the latest cohort of youngsters. All they’ve been fed in their formative years is fear. So much so that in many cases they simply can’t function. They’re bereft of hope and crippled by inaction.

Spring is inevitable.

38. Cuilean

I have deleted my facebook page and twitter account. I am having to self-censor because I cannot risk having my business closed if Police Scotland take away my computer and ipad or phone. All because I have stated that it is not possible for a biological man or woman to be medically transformed into the opposite sex.

I now know how East Germans had to self censor and how North Koreans, Chinese and Russians today must self censor and watch every word they utter, out of fear.

I know how Gallileo must have felt confronting state authority that the earth was round and circled the sun

I always voted SNP my whole life but never again. But it’s not just that party. Labour, Libdems, Greens and many Tory MSPs voted for this Hate Bill. We now live in an authoritarian estate. It can’t and won’t go after the plebs, like me, but no pleb can afford that risk. I now loathe the SNP with every fibre of my being.

Can you please put updates of what is happening on your crowd funder page, as I will no longer be able to keep up to date online, as of course, the BBC and all other MSM channels have been captured and choosing to ignore the death of free speech.

Once Labour win in the next GE, well that will be it. The end of free speech. The actual ‘hate monster’, this new belief system, will be able to attack at will and pick us off, one by one.

“This is Ripley, last survivor of the Nostromo, signing off”.

39. John H.

Thank you Rev. for all you have done. I hope to read your log tomorrow or very soon.

40. John H.

Blog even.

41. Scotsrenewables

You don’t need to shut. Just hide all the existing content (easy), turn off comments to stop the ‘hate monster’ appearing btl and use the blog to keep us posted on developments.

We need your ongoing reporting on this. Just stop the opinion pieces for now until things settle down or explode.

42. Frank Gillougley

‘The Best Wee East German Country in the World.’

No longer a subjective opinion, but fact, just like that apple.

43. SteepBrae

Jack McArthur 8.06am:
    C. S. Lewis wrote the last part of his space trilogy in the late 1940’s “That Hideous Strength”. It describes how so called progressives lie and subvert the culture of a country and who are ultimately trans human in their aims. The classroom is a principle target for a presiding spirit which hates mankind.

Well said, Jack. Wings’ readers will be all too familiar with the sort of mind-numbing brainwashing that now passes as education thanks to political interference. How dare those grey policy makers try to fill children’s heads with twaddle and deny them the opportunity to learn inspiring facts – including facts about science, art, music, their own cultural heritage?

It’s heartbreaking to see our heritage being lost while the classroom is being painted grey, grey, grey. Tell children about phenomena in the real world, stuff that will open their eyes rather than close their minds. For example, so much of our traditional art and design differs from elsewhere and deserves to be celebrated.

Scotland was noted for its world-renowned centres of excellence and its influential and highly skilled people. It is enraging that the treasured Glasgow art school has gone. Notre Dame in Paris has been restored in five years at a much greater cost but where is the political will to restore GSA?

I’ve just come across a fascinating article on 19th century Scots architecture and design by artists such as Leiper, Mackintosh & Cottier. They were artists as well as designers. Teach things like this: there’s a relationship between the harmony of musical sounds and the harmony of proportion in buildings such as some very impressive Glasgow churches, thankfully not all yet demolished.

Inspire children with the complexity and beauty of what’s out there and with the achievements of previous generations so that they’ll want to learn more; give young folk the best places to study; fund them. Return teaching to the teachers and keep clueless politicians out of the classroom.

Whether it’s white/grey, brown/grey, black/grey or yellacapink/grey is all the same. That’s what the Holyrood rant should really be about: Grey! Grey! Grey!

44. BLMac

I think I may get a T-shirt made

45. Campbell Clansman

Cuilean: “many Tory MSPs voted for this Hate Bill”

That’s calling an apple a banana.
    In reality, the Conservative MSPs voted 28-1 AGAINST the Bill. They were joined in voting NO by the 1 Reform Party member, and 3 Labour MSPs.

46. TURABDIN

LA TRAHISON DES IMAGES….The treachery of images.

https://www.pipe.fr/img/cms/blog/ceci-n-est-pas-une-pipe/tableau-ceci-n-est-une-pipe.jpg

Everything is Edit Hack, no need for smoke and mirrors, reinvent yourself on SocMed, be a politician, an influencer, an expert, a new gender.
    Fake is the new real.

47. rogueslr

One improvement to the bill would be the publishing of league tables of ‘sinners’ who have garnered the most complaints and a list of ‘snowflakes’ who have wasted the most police time. It would certainly help in who to follow and who to shun.

Good luck Stu with your legal advice.

48. Republicofscotland

Well not long now until the fear and loathing combined with anger begins as Scots, those that pay attention anyway, find themselves on the end of evil laws designed to shut up free speech in Scotland, and the Scottish Stasi aka Police Scotland will enforce it.

Of course the HC Laws are completely unworkable as there are nowhere near enough Stasi officers in Scotland to arrest everyone who has allegedly committed a so called hate crime.

What next for Scots will the Scottish Stasi star saying to Scots Ver are your papers! who knows.

Anyway we MUST vote out the SNP at the GE get every single last one of them out, lets hit the bastards where it hurts.

Here again before the blog goes into stasis is a list of the vile b*stards that voted for the HC Laws, some are no longer MSPs, the ones that are still MSPs need to be voted out when the chance arises.

Adam, George (Paisley) (SNP);

Adamson, Clare (Motherwell and Wishaw) (SNP)

Allan, Dr Alasdair (Na h-Eileanan an Iar) (SNP)

Arthur, Tom (Renfrewshire South) (SNP)

Baker, Claire (Mid Scotland and Fife) (Lab)

Beattie, Colin (Midlothian North and Musselburgh) (SNP)

Bibby, Neil (West Scotland) (Lab)

Bowman, Bill (North East Scotland) (Con)

Boyack, Sarah (Lothian) (Lab)

Brown, Keith (Clackmannanshire and Dunblane) (SNP)

Campbell, Aileen (Clydesdale) (SNP)

Coffey, Willie (Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley) (SNP)

Cole-Hamilton, Alex (Edinburgh Western) (LD)

Constance, Angela (Almond Valley) (SNP)

Crawford, Bruce (Stirling) (SNP)

Cunningham, Roseanna (Perthshire South and Kinrossshire) (SNP)

Denham, Ash (Edinburgh Eastern) (SNP)

Doris, Bob (Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn) (SNP)

Dornan, James (Glasgow Cathcart) (SNP)

Ewing, Annabelle (Cowdenbeath) (SNP)

Ewing, Fergus (Inverness and Nairn) (SNP)

Fabiani, Linda (East Kilbride) (SNP)

Fee, Mary (West Scotland) (Lab)

Finnie, John (Highlands and Islands) (Green)

FitzPatrick, Joe (Dundee City West) (SNP)

Forbes, Kate (Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch) (SNP)

Freeman, Jeane (Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley)

(SNP)

Gibson, Kenneth (Cunninghame North) (SNP)

Gilruth, Jenny (Mid Fife and Glenrothes) (SNP)

Gougeon, Mairi (Angus North and Mearns) (SNP)

Grahame, Christine (Midlothian South, Tweeddale and

Lauderdale) (SNP)

Gray, Iain (East Lothian) (Lab)

Greer, Ross (West Scotland) (Green)

Griffin, Mark (Central Scotland) (Lab)

Harper, Emma (South Scotland) (SNP)

Harvie, Patrick (Glasgow) (Green)

Haughey, Clare (Rutherglen) (SNP)

Hepburn, Jamie (Cumbernauld and Kilsyth) (SNP)

Hyslop, Fiona (Linlithgow) (SNP)

Johnson, Daniel (Edinburgh Southern) (Lab)

Johnstone, Alison (Lothian) (Green)

Kelly, James (Glasgow) (Lab)

Lennon, Monica (Central Scotland) (Lab)

Leonard, Richard (Central Scotland) (Lab)

Lochhead, Richard (Moray) (SNP)

Lyle, Richard (Uddingston and Bellshill) (SNP)

MacDonald, Angus (Falkirk East) (SNP)

MacDonald, Gordon (Edinburgh Pentlands) (SNP)

Macdonald, Lewis (North East Scotland) (Lab)

MacGregor, Fulton (Coatbridge and Chryston) (SNP)

Mackay, Rona (Strathkelvin and Bearsden) (SNP)

Macpherson, Ben (Edinburgh Northern and Leith) (SNP)

Maguire, Ruth (Cunninghame South) (SNP)

Martin, Gillian (Aberdeenshire East) (SNP)

Mason, John (Glasgow Shettleston) (SNP)

Matheson, Michael (Falkirk West) (SNP)

McArthur, Liam (Orkney Islands) (LD)

McKee, Ivan (Glasgow Provan) (SNP)

McMillan, Stuart (Greenock and Inverclyde) (SNP)

McNeill, Pauline (Glasgow) (Lab)

Paterson, Gil (Clydebank and Milngavie) (SNP)

Rennie, Willie (North East Fife) (LD)

Robison, Shona (Dundee City East) (SNP)

Ross, Gail (Caithness, Sutherland and Ross) (SNP)

Rumbles, Mike (North East Scotland) (LD)

Ruskell, Mark (Mid Scotland and Fife) (Green)

Russell, Michael (Argyll and Bute) (SNP)

Sarwar, Anas (Glasgow) (Lab)

Smyth, Colin (South Scotland) (Lab)

Somerville, Shirley-Anne (Dunfermline) (SNP)

Stevenson, Stewart (Banffshire and Buchan Coast) (SNP)

Stewart, David (Highlands and Islands) (Lab)

Stewart, Kevin (Aberdeen Central) (SNP)

Sturgeon, Nicola (Glasgow Southside) (SNP)

Swinney, John (Perthshire North) (SNP)

Todd, Maree (Highlands and Islands) (SNP)

Torrance, David (Kirkcaldy) (SNP)

Watt, Maureen (Aberdeen South and North Kincardine)

(SNP)

Wheelhouse, Paul (South Scotland) (SNP)

White, Sandra (Glasgow Kelvin) (SNP)

Wishart, Beatrice (Shetland Islands) (LD)

Yousaf, Humza (Glasgow Pollok) (SNP)

49. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh

A friend a while back got me looking at the analysis of the contemporary Italian philosopher Giorgio Agamben. A central focus of Agamben’s political thought is on what he calls the “state of exception”. We had an example of such with government restrictions during Covid. A more stark example would of course be full-on martial law. Agamben’s insightful observation is that the person (ie head of state or “sovereign”) who suspends normal law is in a sense putting themselves above the law (indeed he/she is thereby “outside” the law). Someone who breaks curfew rules, for example, and gets shot by the military is also “outside the law” in the sense that there is no appeal to normal court procedures. Nasrullah Mambrol, founder of and contributor to the ‘Literary Theory and Criticism’ website) summarises this aspect of Agamben’s thinking very helpfully: 

“There is thus a correlation between the sovereign and the ‘exception’. The exception has no power as such (for the exception is determined by the sovereign); however, without the exception, it would be impossible for sovereignty to be and to maintain itself. Following Jean-Luc Nancy, Agamben invokes the old German term ‘ban’ to describe this situation. He who is banned by the law is not simply set outside the law, but is ‘abandoned’ by it, that is, exposed and threatened on the threshold in which life and law, outside and inside, become indistinguishable. 

“‘It is literally not possible to say whether the one who has been banned is outside or inside the juridical order’ (Agamben 1998). Thus, the law both posits the sovereign and makes the sovereign the one who is also outside the law. This is the paradox of sovereignty.

“The issue arising for contemporary societies with their juridical systems, and in particular, for Western style liberal democracies, concerns the extent to which the empty space beyond (and within) the law is taken up by violence. For, with the law (legally) suspended, the will of the sovereign becomes supreme. This ‘will’ can be imposed on a situation with any means chosen by the sovereign, and these might well include violence.

“Here then is the worry behind the paradox of sovereignty: the risk that a sovereign might resort to violence in an irresponsible way. Agamben points, for example, to the suspension of law (including the suspension of the Geneva conventions on the conduct of war) in the ‘war on terrorism’ with respect to those interned by America at Guantanamo Bay in Cuba. There, prisoners have no legal identity and recall the plight of stateless people between the wars referred to by Hannah Arendt (who was a key influence on Agamben).

“Agamben also cites the arbitrary policies involving the suspension of the law being employed to deal with asylum seekers. Increasingly, asylum seekers are purposely processed and their claims assessed outside the boundaries of any state, in international territory. They thus have no legal status and thus cannot appeal to any authority if their human rights are violated. They are non-persons.

“Agamben’s further point is that the condition of the asylum seeker seems to be the general condition on the horizon, as ever larger numbers of people find that conditions have become impossible within the state of origin. Increasingly, too, therefore, the political entity of the nation-state is unequal to meeting the challenge of this new political reality. It is unable, for example, to guarantee human rights by virtue of a person’s humanity, founded as the state is on essentially legal principles. Law can be in force without significance, as illustrated by Kafka’s THE TRIAL”

“As Hannah Arendt said, human rights are connected to the fate of the nation-state, and that when the latter declines, so does the defence of human rights. The implication is that globalisation impacts negatively on human rights.”

More here:

https://gobha-uisge.blogspot.com/2023/09/is-scots-law-infringing-womens-human.html

50. Hatuey

Scotrenewables, Wings, the most powerful voice for independence left standing, is being targeted and forced to close by The SNP.

As is the historical norm, the persecution and oppression is being carried out under the guise of “we need to protect society”. Every bunch of extremists in history, from Salem to the Soviet Union, has used that sort of excuse for attacking their enemies.

Wings is the most visited website in the world for people interested in Scottish politics. It is being forced to close down by the SNP.

Thats the story.

51. Jack McArthur

On Good Friday the leader of the West put out the following just in case you didn’t notice:
    https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-room/presidential-actions/2024/03/29/a-proclamation-on-transgender-day-of-visibility-2024/

52. Scotsrenewables

Hatuey, not sure what the point is of your fatuous remark apparently addressed to me.

Wings is not being ‘forced to close’, Stu is merely taking sensible precautions in order to ensure that he can continue to operate.

Making all past content temporarily unavailable while he seeks legal advice is prudent in light of the avowed intention of the lunatic transactivist fringe to deluge Police Scotland with spurious complaints at one minute past midnight tonight.

I for one have faith that Wings will be back on the front foot in the very near future, and in the event of any legal shenanigans I am sure we will all contribute generously to the fundraiser.

53. Hatuey

Scotrenewables, maybe your belief that it’s fatuous is at the root of your misunderstanding.

Leaving aside your expert understanding of WordPress Dashboard features, it seems you agree that it would be prudent for him to at least significantly close down the website.

By the same token, if a bully threatens to beat up a kid unless he surrenders his lunch money, you might say he would be prudent to do so but I don’t think being credited with prudence is any sort of consolation or comfort.

Words, huh?

54. Ian McCubbin

Good to see you are keeping the cause going Stu.
    Thanks and stay on the plan.
    Scotalnds independence cause needs you.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.