The best form of defence

Posted on February 28, 2024 by

More than three months have passed since Alex Salmond launched a lawsuit against the Scottish Government for its grotesquely botched handling of false allegations of sexual misconduct against him.

With Scottish politics currently in a completely moribund state, as the party of government disintegrates shambolically and the main opposition party keeps its mouth shut and its head down in an attempt to not destroy its newfound and extremely fragile status as a credible alternative, one might imagine that the political media would be desperate for the case to get under way and provide them with some juicy content.

So it’s slightly surprising that none of them has noticed the latest development.

To save readers hiring a lawyer to translate the legal jargon, it’s a very convoluted way of saying that the case has been postponed for another three months. And the reasons why don’t take a team of detectives to work out.

There are at the time of writing at least four serious criminal investigations in progress relating to the SNP, all of which would be likely to lead to imprisonment for anyone convicted:

• Operation Branchform, the long-running inquiry into the party’s finances;
  • Operation Newbiggin, concerning the illegal leak of confidential information from the Permanent Secretary’s report into the false accusations to the Scottish press (specifically the Daily Record);
  • a separate investigation into perjury by witnesses at Salmond’s trial (which hasn’t got a police operation name as it’s being conducted by the Crown Office directly rather than the police);
  • and a fourth investigation about which Wings is unable to report at this stage for legal reasons.

With all four still ongoing, it clearly makes sense for Salmond’s team to hold their fire before spending hundreds of thousands of pounds bringing their case to court, because if any of the latter three were to result in a conviction it would self-evidently make the claim a formality – the conviction of anyone for leaking or perjury would in and of itself establish beyond dispute the misfeasance of which Salmond is accusing the Scottish Government (and likely also the more serious offence of malfeasance).

But there are also procedural issues involved. It’s a matter of record that Salmond’s legal team has for years sought disclosure of numerous important documents from the Scottish Government, and that all such requests have been refused.

Obviously, should any of the four investigations proceed to a prosecution, it’s highly likely that the police and/or Crown Office will be seeking to recover the same evidence, and their powers to do so are (unsurprisingly) greater than those which can be exercised through civil court procedure.

The usual view of the court in such cases is that criminal investigations, and the recovery of relevant evidence, might be prejudiced by civil procedure and evidence recovery running concurrently with them, and so any case relying on them would risk being scuppered by the unavailability of crucial material until any criminal prosecutions had run their course.

In short, then, the Scottish Government has in effect adopted a defence strategy of being so dodgy that its conduct cannot be challenged in a civil court because the necessary evidence is being blocked by the possibility of one or more criminal trials.

The logical conclusion of the above is that Salmond’s claim may well never see the inside of a courtroom. Either someone (or someones) will be prosecuted and convicted over Branchform, Newbiggin or the other two investigations – in which case it would be highly likely that any defence against Salmond’s claim by the Scottish Government would collapse to such a point that it was legally unstateable – or all four investigations will come up blank and any reasonable prospect of success (or indeed simply being able to obtain the evidence) will effectively vanish.

(Although one interesting wildcard to consider is whether a new non-SNP government were to be elected to Holyrood in 2026, which would have no reason at all to conceal the misdeeds of the previous government.)

As with almost every notable facet of Scottish politics at the present, all that concerned citizens can do is continue to sit and wait patiently for events to unfold, in the sure and certain knowledge that at some point they must. Only then, perhaps, will Scots – and particularly those who seek independence – finally discover the full extent to which the governments of the last decade have betrayed their trust.

0 to “The best form of defence”

1. Mark Henderson

Given that the first two seem to be stalling at the Crown Office, I don’t hold much hope for number three. It does makes me wonder where the original ‘I’ve got a plan to keep us immune’ actually came from.

2. Breeks

I feel there’s an opportunity at Police Scotland for any of the long term unemployed, or elderly who need to top up their earnings, to break back into the employment market gradually and at whatever pace they’re comfortable with.

Criminal investigations could be progressed, (together with much needed funding raised, through raffles or tombolas), through juicy gossip sessions at regular coffee mornings.

With a new recruitment philosophy; less about ‘The wheels of the Justice grinding slowly, but they grind small’, and more about ‘The wheels on the bus go round and round, and round,… and round… and round and round….

Or for older retirees and the longer term serially unemployed…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Jc3lyGuT4o

3. Stravaiger

“But facts are chiels that winna ding,
    An’ downa be disputed”.

4. Geoff Anderson

Those HQ shredders must be working 24/7 these days…..

5. Frank Waring

Is there anybody who could conceivably come to power in Scotland (or England) who would not prefer to keep Alex Salmond off the playing field? — especially if all it takes to do so is inaction?

6. Molesworth

I wonder what the fourth enquiry is about. Je ne sais qua.

7. Ellie

For years, we’ve been calling out the corruption and scandals of Westminster and UK governments .. yet our own Scotgov are no better.
    I’m just wondering how long before the SNP diehards accept the truth

8. Mac

If Alex Salmond had committed 1% of the crimes of Team Sturgeon he would be serving life in a dungeon with no prospect of parole ten times over.

I can only guess that enormity of evidence is making it exceptionally difficult to construct reasons why COPFS/Plod are going to ignore it all and let them off for the umpteenth time running…

I mean the little bits that have come out like the motorhome suggests we are not dealing with master criminals here…

The person who is really enabling their nefarious activities is of course Lady Dorrian who provides the legal cloak of secrecy for them to operate.

So even when journalists find out the truth they can be threatened into silence. Craig Murray was ‘pour encourager les autres’ in this regard.

Murrell especially seems a real weak link but generally Team Sturgeon are generally not the brightest, if they were they would not have not the job. Quite a nasty bunch as well. So I would guess the left a trail of evidence everywhere.

COPFS and Police Scotland must be doing a real shift here working out how to ignore it all.

I am intrigued by the mystery investigation.

9. John Main

the Scottish Government has in effect adopted a defence strategy of being so dodgy that its conduct cannot be challenged in a civil court because the necessary evidence is being blocked by the possibility of one or more criminal trials

We’re leading the world again! A new age of Scottish Un-enlightenment dawns.

one interesting wildcard to consider is whether a new non-SNP government were to be elected to Holyrood in 2026, which would have no reason at all to conceal the misdeeds of the previous government

Governments are like professional football managers. Their loyalty to their fellow professionals far exceeds their loyalty to the fans (or voters).

But to be practical, a lot of evidence can be shredded, misplaced, binned and buried in 2+ years.

And if Scotland’s wee pretendy parliament is home to a Slab/SNP coalition in 2026? Foggedabahtit.

Still no fifth investigation into the flawed and fradulent “coronation” of oor ain deeply beloved Humza Yousaf?

Thon’s a sair peety.

10. Alexander Wallace

(Although one interesting wildcard to consider is whether a new non-SNP government were to be elected to Holyrood in 2026, which would have no reason at all to conceal the misdeeds of the previous government.)

Not to sure about any future non- SNP government not concealing the misdeeds. Remember its Alex Salmond who is the danger to the Union not the currant SNP government, who in my opinion are acting as protectors of the Union.

11. Graeme Hampton

With the 2nd last paragraph Stu we would be relying on one Hutchy old boy doing over another Hutchy old boy and that may not be a certainty.

12. Vestas

Is 3 months some sort of statutory figure for postponing action?

13. Rob

Re Newbiggin, how is it possible for a conclusion not to have been arrived at? Could this one also be “holding over” until other cases conclude – or do you think it’s simply shelved in hope it’ll go away?

14. Republicofscotland

What a sorry state the SNP is in, and it reflects badly on the indy movement even though we know now that the current SNP isn’t interested in dissolving the union.

Voters on the fence will be looking at the SNP and thinking if this is independence we don’t want it. The SNP under Sturgeon did her best to discredit the indy movement, and in the process she and her clique have not only damaged the SNP, but they have damaged the indy movement.

Convictions or not, the damage has been done, we need to move away from the SNPs tainted image, though I do hope that those that deserve it, find themselves staring out from inside a prison cell.

15. Oneliner

@Alexander Wallace

I note your reference to the ‘currant SNP government’. I do not think they should be preserved.

16. Bortwiskels

The offer to bring the SNP into a Scotland United ticket is looking like an increasingly generous one.

What particularly bothered me about the mystery door #4 was that I could immediately imagine a number of options for what lurks behind it, but knew it was likely something even worse than has been exposed on here and elsewhere.

17. Chris Avery

I may be wrong, but I believe part of the reason the SNP is not going for a more militant process to achieve independence, is because there is a whole pile of shite waiting to come out.

If that is the case, they should get off the pot and let someone else run an independence campaign.

18. Anton Decadent

That photo of Sturgeon and Swinney looks as if they are discussing the dates which the Greens have promised to them.

19. Ruby

This is a great article listing all these various police investigations. The forth one is a surprise & bloody annoying that we can’t know what it’s about.

Although I’m not totally sure what Operation Branchform is about either. It seems to be a lot more than just the missing £600K.

More of this please I do like “True Crime’ stories but maybe not ones that are such a ‘slow burn’

I’m wondering if ‘Operation Branchform’ could discover evidence helpful for the other three inquiries.
    Maybe that’s what’s taken them so long.

Could all these 4 police investigations be all group together to form one huge investigation?

Just trying to think what that operation could be called.

20. Corrado Mella

It must be really difficult to run an investigation while pulled in different directions by higher powers.

The BritNazi Establishment needs to destroy the SNP, but can only do so by annihilating Sturgeon, Murrell and their clique.
    This brings Alex Salmond back in the frame – with a rightful vengeance, I should add – so it’s even worse for the BritNazis.

Meanwhile the pervs lurking in the Greens are in for a surprise when the whole woke cult is exposed for the pedophilic sewage it is, with the whole party becoming poison, destroying the coalition in power at Holyrood.
    This wipes out all the leverage that Special Branch, the 77th, MI5/6 and all the rest of psyops players have in Scotland.
    Nobody to blackmail or corrupt.

It’s taking an inordinate amount of time to get these investigations to conclusion because it’s such a fine balancing act to build them without knocking down the whole house of cards and sway even the most amorphous Scot towards Independence.

Expect a limp carrot and a damp squib.
    These things cannot upset the Status Quo, the survival of the BritNazi Establishment depends on Scotland and its riches to remain strictly under the talons of these vultures.

When the BritNazis die, one of the pillars of the New World Order that the WEF is building crumbles, and the whole prison collapses.

Keep chipping away, folks.

21. sarah

COPFS don’t seem to be trying very hard. We could all give them the answer to Newbiggin and the perjury one is equally simple. They only have to read the allegation evidence and then the evidence that showed the woman wasn’t in the building on the date she claimed, and so graphically described, the “attempted rape”.

22. desimond

What’s the statute of limitations on these?

Suspect its long grass here we come while the Quangos, the Promotions, The Public Body Budget Increases all get sorted out for the stakeholders and eager benefactors…

Justice you ask?…no idea why that would be relevant comes their reply!

23. Ruby

https://archive.is/csDtI

Mr Findlay was asked about a story he had written about Nicola Sturgeon when he was a journalist in 2018, shortly before news of the government probe against Mr ­Salmond came to light.

Apologies in advance if this has already been posted.

Is there a link to this story that Neil Findlay wrote in 2018?

24. Ruby

Could the 4th investigation be about Sturgeon & Swinney lying under oath at the Covid Inquiry?

25. Ruby

Was this postponement in the ‘Alex Salmond sues SG’ case requested by Alex Salmond?

I vaguely remember seeing an newspaper article about that.

26. Sven

I wonder what stage the Liberty Steel/Sanjeev Gupta investigation has reached. This is certainly a complex one, incorporated to some degree with an international investigation involving Interpol and other parts of Mr Gupta’s commercial empire.
    Indeed, I was told of an alleged involvement of the Serious Fraud Office which suggested that investigators from London were brought to Ms Sturgeon’s house to be unloaded from their van out of camera view, within that much publicised forensic tent.

27. sam

@Ruby

“Just trying to think what that operation could be called.”

The Long Goodbye?

Farewell my Lovely?

The Big Sleep?

28. Ruby

https://archive.is/QkD0Q

Russell Findlay is a pretty interesting person.

What’s happened here?

Why am I the only person posting.

Could it be there are some just waiting until I make enough posts so there posts about ‘Palestine’ & ‘the Franchise’ will no be judged ‘off topic’

29. Ruby

Mornin’ Sam

Excellent suggestions!

Gotta go now!

See you later.

30. Johnlm

Maybe case 1 can not be tried because it might prejudice case 2.
    Case 2 cannot be tried because it might prejudice case 3.
    Case 3 cannot be tried because it might prejudice case 4.
    Case 4, which cannot be named, obviously cannot be tried because it might prejudice case 1.

31. Bob

Does anyone have a link to the Express article about Sturgeon holidaying in a remote part of Scotland for Christmas/Hogmanay 2020/21?

Or am I imagining it?

32. David Beveridge

Oneliner says:
    28 February, 2024 at 11:21 am
    @Alexander Wallace

“I note your reference to the ‘currant SNP government’. I do not think they should be preserved.”

Agreed. There’s absolutely no raisin for it.

33. David Hannah

Salmond needs to drive a steak into the heart of Nicola Sturgeon. And send that demonic bitch back to hell from which she crawled out.

I can’t recall ever liking Nicola Sturgeon. The day she dies. I will buy Champagne. I hope to outlive the old ned from Dreghorn.

We’re having a party when Sturgeon dies.

Release the Whatsapp messages.

34. David Hannah

She’s going to shred everything.

Vigilante justice needed by Alex Salmond. He’s got to get his pal David Davis on the phone. To read out what we all know to be true.

The names of those cunts. The alphabetties and the conspirators that Lady Dorian is protecting.

Scotland would be independent today. Were it not for Salmond’s witches. Send them back to hell.

35. David Hannah

10 years of our corrupted nationalist party crushing our spirit and destroying our lives.

The cost of haggis keeps going up and up. And the children are starving to death.

We need action. Scotland’s corrupt judge lady Dorian and Dorothy Bain are protecting Nicola. And protecting the union.

We need vigilante justice. Release the whatsapp messages. Read them out in parliament. Publish the names.

36. Craig P

Fair play to the crown office for investigating perjury, as I thought that had been swept under the carpet. And a *fourth* mystery investigation!!

37. AnneDon

I’m really losing my faith in the idea that the good guys are going to prevail anywhere in politics. In some cases, like Westminster, there are no good guys.

I’m seriously considering getting rid of the internet and wi-fi after the next General Election.

38. sam

@ David Hannah

“Salmond needs to drive a steak into the heart of Nicola Sturgeon.”

Smothered with onions.

39. David Hannah

I feel so sorry for Alex Salmond. Salmond’s trial was Scotland’s subjugation. We were contained.

Salmond would have steered the SNP towards Independence. Sturgeon the Judas ensured that could never happen.

Salmond would have set up the energy company to protect Scotland. Salmond wouldn’t have given away Scotland’s renewables energy future.

Salmond would have built the ferries.

Salmond would have duelled the A9.

Salmond would have kept the party united by not entertaining GRR insanity.

Salmond would have protected the women the SNP sex predators and the bute house agreement didn’t. There would be no male rapists in female refuges or jails with Alex Salmond. He was a protector of women and gay rights.

Salmond was building bridges. Staging the Commonwealth Games. Saving the Fergussons shipbuilding. The ferries would have been built.

Instead Sturgeon took him out. We all know what she’s done. I know all the details.

And then she’s got her corrupt judge to send an elderly statesman to jail.

They are sick in the heads. Scotland has no justice. Not with this Joe Farrell.

We’re fucked.

40. I. Despair

Ruby says:28 February, 2024 at 12:48 pm
    Was this postponement in the ‘Alex Salmond sues SG’ case requested by Alex Salmond?
    —–
    Yes, it was asked for by Salmond. “…the unopposed motion of the pursuer” means that the pursuer in the case, i.e. the person bringing the case to court (which is Salmond) asked the judge to put the case on hold for a further period, and “unopposed” tells us that the Scottish ministers did not object to this. Hence the judge granted the request.

41. David Hannah

Salmond would have been building houses for us all right now. We’d be independent or close to it. The country would be proud of ourselves. They’d be a new generation of Independence minds and hearts.

They’re would be houses being build. Not £200,000,000 cuts to the housing budget.

The only gold standard, would be Alex Salmond’s good governance. Labour and the Tory Party would be finished.

Theresa May’s brexit deal probably would have passed. There would be no Boris Johnson or Ricki 2 snacks.

There would be no covid care home deaths. That Sturgeon was responsible for.

Grangemouth wouldn’t be shutting down with Alex Salmond. Scotland would be on the world stage.

The false green agenda wouldn’t be suffocating the economy. There would be no LEZ in Glasgow.

Salmond would have protected us. Were it not for Sturgeon the Judas. The Stone of Destiny would have remained in Scotland. And Scotland would still be a nation.

I don’t have much hope for Scotland until Salmond’s reputation is fully restored.

42. Mia

“But there are also procedural issues involved. It’s a matter of record that Salmond’s legal team has for years sought disclosure of numerous important documents from the Scottish Government, and that all such requests have been refused”

I have not had training in law, but this comes across to the average voter as abuse of power to actively obstruct the delivery of justice.

I actually wonder how much of a failed state the Uk and its institutions have become when this is allowed to happen in such a blatant fashion. It displays a level of contempt for the Scottish people so huge that is beyond any measurable scale that could be acceptable in a democracy.

I wonder if it is known who is currently advising (instructing?) the Sgov to continue denying the repeated requests for transparency.

Does a government have the ultimate word in what can be released, even when not releasing it could potentially hide criminal activity by members of the government itself?

What senior legal mind/minds is/are advising the government to continue obstructing the investigation and, by doing so, denying justice to be delivered?

Are the Lord Advocate and Crown Agent involved in this obstruction at all?

We should not forget that this refusal for transparency is spanning TWO separate Scottish governments (Sturgeon’s and Yousaf’s), the tenure of two different Lord Advocates, the tenure of two different Crown Agents, the tenure of two different Permanent Secretaries and the tenure of two different Police Chief Constables. So it is not just a matter of a particular corrupt government hiding itself. There is a wonderful mix of Scottish only institutions, institutions controlled by the crown and UK institutions. So where is the order for those institutions to collude and continue refusing transparency really coming from?

Why is Yousaf’s government obstructing the release of that information, knowing that this is totally tarnishing his own credentials and reputation and also those sitting in his gov Cabinet, and it is totally compromising any possible perception that his government is transparent and fair?

What does he and his gov Cabinet have to lose if those documents are released to the public?

The determination of Yousaf’s government and cabinet to refuse transparency for something that might have been done or not by a previous government with a different ministerial Cabinet can only be explained if somebody above the Scottish government is dictating and demanding that refusal of transparency from high, or if those denying the release of information are somewhat acting as gatekeepers of the information because they might be directly or indirectly, involved/affected by whatever it is the information is hiding.

How many of those currently sitting in the government Cabinet, COPFS, senior positions in the Civil Service and senior positions of the Police Force are directly or indirectly affected by that information being released to the public and could therefore have a vested interest in it to never see the light of day?

This, on its own, makes a compelling case for the need in Scotland of a People’s Convention of the States to keep tabs on a corrupt to the core government. It is clear as day, that the denial of democracy by decaying and corrupt to the core structures like the Procurator Fiscal, Civil Service, Police and a toothless parliament will never do so.

Who is controlling the controller? and even more importantly, who is the actual controller of the whole thing? Is this controller based in Scotland, are they based down in London, are they hiding in the bunker below a derelict mill, are they hiding behind a University used as a front, or are they lounging in the balcony of a refurbished mansion while enjoying the panoramic views of the beautiful estate?

43. GM

Alexander Wallace
    Ignored says:
    28 February, 2024 at 10:52 am

Not to sure about any future non- SNP government not concealing the misdeeds. Remember its Alex Salmond who is the danger to the Union not the currant SNP government, who in my opinion are acting as protectors of the Union.’

Aye, agree with this 100%. Either all bar the few good men and women gets cleaned out of the SNP or the SNP gets binned completely. 90% contemptuous, thieving, scumbags.

44. robertkknight

I get the feeling that the British State, who having successfully transformed the SNP into a kind of methadone treatment programme for those addicted to the idea of an independent Scotland, would rather not see the SNP stripped of its most useful idiots, both past and present. After all, somebody who gets a few years in the chokey might let their mouth run away with them…

45. Doug

“Until we achieve our independence, we [the SNP] will never leave Scotland voiceless in Westminster,” states Stephen Flynn, SNP MP.

Which explains why Flynn and the SNP show no sign of actually wanting independence or of actually wanting to forego the trough in Westminster.

46. John C

Although one interesting wildcard to consider is whether a new non-SNP government were to be elected to Holyrood in 2026, which would have no reason at all to conceal the misdeeds of the previous government

About the only positive about a potential Labour government in Holyrood is they’ll throw the doors open s to what the SNP have been covering up, especially in regards to Salmond as that’s too good a chance to wreck the SNP once and for all.

Had the SNP not been so flagrant in their deceptions, and done their best to wreck Salmond in a way that was obviously a set-up then they might have held some support. Whatever you think of Salmond, he was clearly gone after by those in the SNP who wanted him silent.

The problem with all of this is it’s rotting away confidence in Holyrood and Scottish politics a decade after we thought we’d reached a new, bright dawn. All that potential wasted for people’s personal longing for power and influence.

47. Mia

“It does makes me wonder where the original ‘I’ve got a plan to keep us immune’ actually came from”

Absolutely. Evans didn’t come across as the sharpest tool in the box and with a degree in Music, I doubt she had the deep of legal knowledge required to know how the proceedings would go. Somebody must have been advising her and “helping her plan”. Who? Would it have been the Lord Advocate? Would it have been the Crown Agent? Both? or was that somebody else entirely?

If I am not mistaken, the anonymity of accusers of sexual assault is guaranteed in England but not Scotland, which gives already a hint in itself as to where the original plan was concocted.

That anonymity of the accusers was central for that plan to work out, because that anonymity would be the lynch pin over which the excuse to redact documents on an industrial scale would sit.

Ensuring anonymity would be therefore the most crucial milestone over which the rest of the “plan” would rest.

What was the trigger that led to the enforcement of the anonymity? Do I remember correctly that it was in fact a reporter who, conveniently, mentioned the name of some accuser in twitter? So, how many different actors and institutions had to be brought to collude so that anonymity could be ensured?

Who would have sufficient power of persuasion to ensure a newspaper, a reporter and judges would play a part in this exercise of public deception? Were they bribed?

I do not remember the newspaper that reporter was from and now wonder if it might have been the same newspaper to where the Permanent Secretary report was leaked. But I am not sure.

In any case, it stands to the obvious that there are an awful lot of actors and institutions involved on this, so one really wonders if one of the reasons to refuse the whatsapp messages from The Vietnam Group being presented as evidence, etc, was really to protect the identities of the mastermind coordinating the whole thing and the authority enabling it.

Let’s not forget that the judge granted anonymity per life. In other words, gave the SGov the power to continue denying transparency to the public forever. That must have a significant price.

48. Dan

@ Mia

FYI The reporter was James Doleman, who passed away autumn last year. He comments btl of this article.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/partial-justice/comment-page-1/

49. Young Lochinvar

I thought Salvo had a legal action against ScotGov?

50. David Hannah

“What was the trigger that led to the enforcement of the anonymity? Do I remember correctly that it was in fact a reporter who, conveniently, mentioned the name of some accuser in twitter? So, how many different actors and institutions had to be brought to collude so that anonymity could be ensured?”

The court reporter was called James Doleman. He did that very thing. Then Lady Dorian gave the conspirators anonymity.

Even know she knows they were perjuers. And still knows. So she’s part of the fit up. I consider Dorian, Scotland’s corrupt judge. People like her should be locked up next to the Peter Tobin’s of this world. And not Craig Murray.

She’s part. She’s tainted. She knows everything.

51. David Hannah

“Let’s not forget that the judge granted anonymity per life. In other words, gave the SGov the power to continue denying transparency to the public forever. That must have a significant price.”

Let’s forget either, that Lady Dorian reprimanded woman H 4 times for trying to lead the jury, stating she’d be in contempt of court.

And that woman H was chasing Salmond. According to Craig Murray’s sworn affidavit.

So Lady Dorian is protecting a known criminal that lied in front of her very eyes. And then she sent away Craig Murray for telling the truth. She didn’t care about his health.

Ever since Scotland’s political prisoner. We know that the scottish establishment is pure evil. How they sleep at night. I’ll never know.

52. Jason marchant

Operation Branchform has being going on so long that the branch has died fallen to ground and turned to coal . That will upset the Green nut cases . I expect the Westminster election will be used as a reason to further delay . Utter embarrassing shambles

53. robertkknight

Perhaps the real reason for getting that camper van was to avoid having to risk travelling to a holiday cottage up north, perhaps in Wester Ross, where there might be the possibly having to drive late at night. You never know what tragic events might befall a person in such circumstances…

54. Mia

Thank you @Dan and @ David Hannah for refreshing my mind. I had forgotten the name of the reporter and the newspaper he worked for.

55. Sven

Robertknight @ 15.58

Nice to remember Willie MacRae from time to time, Robert. Just in case folk forget that some have died for independence.

56. fran

Am I the only one intrigued by the mystery investigation? cash in envelopes from an MPs Daddy perhaps

57. robertkknight

Sven…

Not only nice to remember those who have died but to remember the lengths to which the British State is prepared to go. Protecting duplicitous civil servants, enabling and encouraging corrupt politicians and facilitating perjury in the criminal courts isn’t that half of it.

58. David Hannah

Has anyone actually asked Salmond what he thinks of using Parliamentary privilege to blow the lid off the conspiracy once and for all?

What happens after the next election if his allies lose their seats?

How do you use parliamentary privilege. Especially with the Scotland hating moron Lyndsay Hoyle. Can you just stroll up and stand up?

It’s outrageous what’s going on. If the conspirators are trashed in Westminster. Then there’s more likelyhood of the other cases delivering the goods. Which is. Sturgeon in a cell.

59. David Hannah

I’m fed up waiting for justice for Alex Salmond. It’s a long grinding process. Justice for Salmond would = justice for the 45 per cent that voted for Independence.

We are the 45. Remember? Stand together! Hope over fear! Don’t be afraid?

Why are we waiting? We’ve lost 10 years of our lives to this.

60. Chas

Is David Hannah the secret love child of Alex Salmond?

Politicians do what they want, when they want and appoint people do assist them in doing just that.

Lots of posters do not like the SNP. It is unfortunate that nearly all of them will have voted the SNP into power in the first place. At least the majority have now woken up. Spare a thought for the WGD types who still think that the sun shines out of St Nicola of Sturgeon’s erse.

It will get worse.

61. twathater

As Mia has said @ 2.57pm a Convention of the Estates should be formed immediately and should consist of indigenous Scots determining the actions of this and the previous administration in HR

After independence IT should be the final ARBITER of ANY government actions and it should have overall blanket powers to FORCE referendums on the legality of governmental and judicial decisions

Is anyone else sickened and outraged by politicians and the judicial systems HIDING information under the auspices of the “Not in the public’s interest” tired excuse for secreting info that EXPOSES their LIES and CORRUPTION

This repeated chant is only designed to cover up information that HIGHLIGHTS to the ordinary citizen how despicable these corrupt liars are and protects their own incapabilities from being exposed

This direct INSULT impunes the ability and intelligence of normal people to interpret what is the rightful, legal or moral conduct of elected officials,it also infers that only those politicians, lawyers and judges have the morality and intellectual capacity to determine if any action is legal or correct , and unfortunately when you look at the actions and policies implemented over the past decade by those same politicians and judiciary it only increases the outrage that is felt when these despicable narcissists continue with their open insults

62. George Ferguson

Good work Stu. The general background of a lack of public confidence in Police Scotland and COPFS is prevalent given recent events, even today. So you would think multiple criminal investigations will result in charges and later prosecutions. Very difficult for COPFS to sweep public complaints and allegations below the carpet, despite the strong possibility of evidence being destroyed. In itself a criminal offence.

63. Ruby

Thank youI. Despair for info.

I cant find the article that I read about this. What I recall is that Alex Salmond said it would be postponed until ‘Operation Newbiggin’ had concluded or something like that.

You would think ‘Operation Newbiggin’ would be the easiest case to solve. ie Just ask the editor of the newspaper where he got the info from.

I was surprised that they had interviewed Russell Findlay but then the more I read about him the more I understood.

I would like to read the story he wrote about Nicola Sturgeon which caused the police to interview him.

64. Chas

Twathater

Simple questions.

Who decides who the individuals are that are appointed to the magical Convention of Estates? The Government? The people in an election? You and Mia? What qualifications/skills/experience do you need to be appointed? Only open to indigenous Scots irrespective if someone of any other nationality has skills and experience that are more suitable?
    Are candidate’s to be vetted prior to nomination? Who vets them? Assuming of course, that there is some nomination process? If the fantastic C of E is formed, is there any point of having a Government at all? If they are purely for oversight, will they be paid? Is yet another level of bureaucracy, with all the associated costs, what Scotland really needs? Will this be just a Scottish version of the House of Lords? How do you get rid of any individual who is not performing? Who decides?

Not sure if you have really thought this through but I admit it will appear fantastic to the romantics, fantasists and dreamers……..like yourself.

65. Ruby

fran
    28 February, 2024 at 4:47 pm

Am I the only one intrigued by the mystery investigation? cash in envelopes from an MPs Daddy perhaps

No fran you are not the only one.

See my post

https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-best-form-of-defence/comment-page-1/#comment-2826998

66. Mia

“What qualifications/skills/experience do you need to be appointed?”

Oh dear! it does indeed look like Twathater and I might have touched a raw nerve with the Convention of the States.

What is the problem, poppet? Would a convention of states elected, governed and controlled by the people of Scotland themselves threat to render the powers that be toothless in Scotland and would jeopardise the sustainability and applicability of the establishment’s favourite strategy of putting empty brains, gluttonous for money, paedos, womanisers, perverts and fraudsters in positions of power so they can easily be controlled and removed on demand from their position when a deflection story is needed?

Who elected David Cameron and, bypassing the democratic process, parachuted him to his current ministerial position? After the trail of destruction this man left in Libya, and after the illegality surrounding the pro-brexit campaign, the involvement of Cambridge Analytica etc operating right under his nose, who vetted him? Was he even vetted?

Who selects the “morality jewels and fountains of principles” currently gathering at the House of Lords to collect their allowance at our expense? Looking at individuals like Mone, are they actually vetted at all before they are given a blank card to put their dirty paws on our laws?

Looking at the trail of destruction Cameron left in Libya and looking at the number of perverts, womanisers, fraudsters etc that seemingly congregate in the HoL, it does not seem the British state is really that worried about qualifications and skills, don’t you agree?

If you are happy with those, where does this newly found concern about appointment to a convention of states in Scotland come from?

What is it, do you fear it will be too honest and principled?

67. Aunty Flo

David Beveridge says:

‘“I note your reference to the ‘currant SNP government’. I do not think they should be preserved.”

Agreed. There’s absolutely no raisin for it.’

Well said! There’s no rum nor raisin why anyone should want this, and anyone who suggests it is an absolute fruitcake.

68. Hatuey

If the mystery investigation is what I think it is, it’s probably going to be the biggest and slowest moving of them all.

I wasn’t aware of any special restrictions (beyond the usual) on the subject. Maybe I have it wrong. Maybe I didn’t get the memo.

Either way, it looks like the Scottish political system is heading for a great reset. We are going to need to wait for new planets to form amongst clouds of cosmic dust.

I don’t mind waiting but sometimes I wonder if the Gods forget men are mortal, that we only have so much time.

69. John Main

@ Aunty Flo says: 28 February, 2024 at 8:19 pm

an absolute fruitcake

How dare you mock people’s self-id! If that’s not already a crime in nuScotland, it bleedin well aught to be.

70. John Foerster

Dear Mr Campbell,

I seem to recall your electoral arithmetic published recently advising that, among all potential constellations, only a Labor/SNP coalition was realistic at the next election. So when you state “a new non-SNP government were to be elected to Holyrood in 2026, which would have no reason at all to conceal the misdeeds of the previous government” would you then think this legal aspect could provide some type of leverage for Labor in coalition talks along the lines of “if you, SNP, do xyz or give us this-and-that post we’ll graciously help you to evade any legal proceedings”?

71. sarah

Another thing that I think is affecting the choices, and the speed, of police enquiries is the fact of only having one police force.

I am sure that if their were 7 or 8 forces [or however many it was] there would be at least one Chief Constable with the gumption to say what needs to be said and to act accordingly. We wouldn’t have this “Pride” nonsense and we wouldn’t have Mark Hirst-type prosecutions.

72. John Main

@ Mia says: 28 February, 2024 at 8:14 pm

Convention of the States

It’s “Convention of the Estates”, Mia.

If you’re going to pillory Chas’s perfectly reasonable points, try to at least be clear in your own mind what is under discussion.

I suggest you are doing exactly what so many regulars on here do – assuming that you speak for the Sovereign Scots of Scotland, and that nobody else can do so, cos they’re not “ideologically sound”.

You have to accept the truth though, Mia, being a Sovereign Scot is not a two-tier classification. The opinion of every Sovereign Scot carries equal weight.

do you fear it will be too honest and principled?

Not me, Mia, cos in the unlikely event it ever happens, I intend to be on it.

Do you really think we rational Sovereign Scots are going to leave it to the usual coterie of roasters, liars and eejits that haunt this place?

Fat chance!

73. James Barr Gardner

Steak (blue) and onions (crispy) very tasty.

Stake and garlic for the vampiric parasite.

74. Hatuey

Dan,

Seeing as you mentioned Gupta and GFG…

reuters.com/business/finance/zurich-draws-lex-greensill-sanjeev-gupta-into-london-court-battle-2024-02-02/

Quite a lot of complicated unraveling to follow, I’d imagine.

75. George Ferguson

A few comments lamenting the performance of Police Scotland. Noted. But when you centralised and politicised a Police Force what did you expect? I remember in the first few days of Police Scotland, ex-Strathclyde Poice arrived in numbers stopping traffic in Dens Road Dundee aggressively it has to be said. I knew then centralisation was a mistake. I stayed calm all documents in order. The damage these guys did that day. Mostly young policemen that had forgot they Police by public consent. Later multiple failures of Policing, malicious prosecutions and moribund criminal investigations but I reluctantly still support them. Lions led by donkeys. Young people needing real leadership.

76. Alf Baird

George Ferguson @ 9:45 pm

“Police by public consent”

In a colony?

Militarisation of police and coercive laws should be expected whenever ‘colonialism is imperiled’; i.e. the rise of an independence movement. British rule is hingin by a threid.

77. Dan

@ Hatuey

Well, seeing as you mentioned…
    I did post some of this previously.

19/12/2016 Media Releases

GFG Alliance companies complete £330m Scottish acquisition and unveil major new investment plans for the Highlands

https://archive.is/0mRIo

Contains the line: “This is one of the largest single investments yet made by the global GFG Alliance businesses.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/that-sinking-feeling/#comment-2751858

Re. Gupta / GFG Alliance and SIMEC’s proposed windfarm near Ben Nevis getting knocked back by Scottish “Government” ministers a couple of years back. Just wonder if “promises” were previously made in deals with powerful people, and when elements of any deals weren’t able to come to fruition someone got pissed off. That’s what happens in high stakes / value games.

Also still can’t get my head around the way the ScotWind auction giveaway was handled.

78. Mia

“It’s “Convention of the Estates””

Oh well of course. When your counterargument is weak, better resourcing to deflection by criticism of trivial things like spelling or grammar to undermine the opponent. If that fails, then go directly for ad hominem.

I see you resource to both strategies within the same comment. It denotes both, own awareness that you have no credible counterargument and the profound discomfort that mentioning the Convention of Estates causes on you. I wonder why.

Among all your waffle I see no real argument against the Convention of the Estates. Just a claim that somehow I believe I speak for the whole of Scotland. That is weak, John Main. If you are going to deflect with ad hominem, surely you could do much better than that.

My mentioning of the Convention of the Estates was as an entity to keep tabs on a corrupt government, corrupt COPFS, corrupt Police and toothless parliament. I asked in my comment who controls the controller and who was that controller. Do you and Chas work for the controller perhaps? That could explain your discomfort with the Convention, which could leave that controller out of a job.

The current decay in Scotland’s structures of government is a direct consequence of the self-servitude of Westminster when creating the Scotland Act. The UK powers that be designed that Act with a deliberate flaw: a back door for the crown and Westminster themselves to waltz in and keep tabs on things to stop independence from within.

That is exactly what we have seen with the current dodgy position of the Lord Advocate in what should have been a democratically elected cabinet. Instead, the lord advocate is giving the crown control, in practice, over both, the executive and legislative powers.

We also see the dodgy position that an office of the crown, seemingly exclusive for Scotland, has by hanging around the neck of what should have been an independent prosecution service representing the judicial power if Scotland was a democracy. When the crown controls the three powers, then you do not have a democracy, you have absolute rule. That is why the Convention is needed.

Chas’ points would have been reasonable if he was not advocating for Scotland to remain prisoner of a political union infested with decaying political corruption, cronyism on industrial scale, abuse of power as the norm, random appointments of dodgy characters to positions of power and deconstruction of democracy. When you expect/demand/work for Scotland to remain subjected to such situation, then the exaggerated pearl-clutching at the mere mentioning of the Convention and the knee-jerk reaction at how it is selected becomes laughable hypocrisy and absurdity.

“we rational Sovereign Scots”
    Who is “we” and under whose measure and authority you deem yourself to be a “rational Sovereign Scot”?

79. David Hannah

I’m no Salmond love child. I just believe in the truth. And I know the truth thanks to Wings Over Scotland.

I don’t trust Police Scotland. I don’t trust Sir Ian Livingstone. Remember when he burned the house down on his way out.

But remember most of all. He headed the 24 man police task force, that interviewed over 400 people known to Alex Salmond. To did dirt. To get them to commit perjury? Remember his special task force went fishing for perjurers.

To get them back in the game!

Then the not so secret meeting with Sturgeon the week before she resigned. Not so secret at all. And then he burned the entire force to its knees. Trashing its reputation on the way out.

The honest officers of police Scotland. Labelled racist. Misogynistic and sexist.

Then they give the job to a wokie with a rainbow lanyard around her neck. For her to abuse her position of power and take a cop off the beat, to drive her fat arse back to Durham.

NO. I don’t trust, police Scotland. They’ve trashed their reputation.

80. George Ferguson

@Alf Baird 10:15pm
    Thank you for willing to lay down your life by my side on the Colonial barricades. I was supporting young people in Police Scotland that are being directed by erroneous leadership. I rather think the centralisation and politicisation of Police Scotland is a function of Holyrood. I note Westminster has done that.

81. Alf Baird

Mia @ 10:19 pm

“The current decay in Scotland’s structures of government is a direct consequence of the self-servitude of Westminster when creating the Scotland Act.”

Its not decay. All anyone can expect in a colony is colonial institutions and colonial procedures. Its aye been like this, Holyrood or nae Holyrood.

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2021/08/01/the-determinants-of-independence-institutions/comment-page-1/

82. robertkknight

Re. my earlier comment…

“Not only nice to remember those who have died but to remember the lengths to which the British State is prepared to go. Protecting duplicitous civil servants, enabling and encouraging corrupt politicians and facilitating perjury in the criminal courts isn’t the half of it.”

For the avoidance of any doubt, I include the current SNP administration within the term “British State”.

83. George Ferguson

@Alf Baird 11:04pm
    So laying down your life for others is not your narrow definition of Colonialism. We are clear on that. I can’t remember if a denoted a pound or two to the ring fenced Scottish Independence fund. I can tell you I have never taking a pound from a Scottish Independence supporter. That much I know. The Scottish Independence industry is taking Hundreds of thousands or more from honest Independence supporters. Your selling books. The opposite side of the fence from me. It’s over no more revenue from the Scottish Independence movement.

84. Ruby

I did know much about Russell Findlay I certainly didn’t know about the Acid Attack.

https://theferret.scot/russell-findlay-journalist-acid-attack/

In the audio interview below Findlay explains how he was confronted on the doorstep of his Glasgow home shortly before Christmas 2015, by William ‘Basil’ Burns, who was disguised as a postman.

disguised as a postman

Shona Robison would say this would never happen.

Sam
    In your link it says

Mr Findlay was asked about a story he had written about Nicola Sturgeon when he was a journalist in 2018, shortly before news of the government probe against Mr ­Salmond came to light.

This is the story I was looking for. I haven’t found it yet but found the above.

I was wondering what he said in this story that cause these elite detectives to question him.

Also Russell Findlay made a lot of sense during the GRR shit but all his amendments were voted down.

85. radgie gadgie

Stu supposes that if Scottish Labour win the 2026 Scottish election, they “would have no reason at all to conceal the misdeeds of the previous government.” I disagree. Salmond destroyed them once and he could do it again. They will be in no hurry to rehabilitate him.

86. twathater

@ Mia 8.14pm Thank you Mia for responding to the Chasm comment and the obsequious follow up by John MOAN, my how the britnat apologists LOVE to deride and denigrate any comment that would possibly make Scotland’s governance and future politics better, it is a so obvious repetitive trait by the USUAL SUSPECTS (an oft used phrase) whenever those USUAL SUSPECTS feel that their engerlishuk is threatened by positive actions or proposals
    They would be far better explaining and producing facts on how Scotland is better staying within the uk and exposing the wide ranging benefits that our people are given due to the munificence of our illustrious neighbours, I wonder why they just don’t do that, (Oh Wait!!!)

87. Stoker

“Although one interesting wildcard to consider is whether a new non-SNP government were to be elected to Holyrood in 2026, which would have no reason at all to conceal the misdeeds of the previous government.”

LOL 🙂 The shredders will be working overtime.

88. Johnlm

Fun fact

The Leap Day was invented by Julius Caesar in 45 BC when he created the ‘Year of Confusion’ – 445 days long, 15 Months!
    He was in coalition with the Scottish Green Party.

What’s Case 4 about?
    Today in 1692 the arrests started in Salem, Massachusetts.
    Just sayin’

89. robertkknight

Rev Stu says…

“Although one interesting wildcard to consider is whether a new non-SNP government were to be elected to Holyrood in 2026, which would have no reason at all to conceal the misdeeds of the previous government.”

I suspect that enough reasons would be found to persuade a Unionist administration at Holyrood not to air the SNP’s dirty laundry in public – the principal reasons being the identities and roles of those individuals acting on behalf of the British State who enjoy(ed) positions of influence within the Civil Service in Scotland, within the Scottish judiciary and within the SNP itself, and who have successfully brought the SNP and wider Yes movement to where we are today – support for Indy flatlining, support for the SNP plummeting and no closer to achieving our goal than we were a decade ago…

Gongs at Buck House for all concerned, no doubt.

90. Stuart MacKay

This will get your brain cells buzzing, https://aurelien2022.substack.com/p/the-power-of-absent-things

It’s mostly about European wars, past and present, and how the politicians are constrained by decisions, past and present, in situations they don’t have much control over, and have even less understanding of.

So why is this relevent?

Two things. First, as has been said by many, is that independence for Scotland does not exist in isolation. Progress can only be made if there is a general acceptance of it internationally. Sure it can be done unilaterally but there’s nobody around with the force of presence who could pull that off. All the players want a positive image on the world stage and nobody is bloody-minded enough to put that at risk. That means you can rule out an armed struggle, simply because of the bad PR it would generate 😉

Second, the SNP is a pro-business, neo-liberal, woke socialist party. Much like all the others in the West. It’s filled to the rafters of pro-business, neo-liberal, woke socialists, who all think alike, and all want the same things. Nationalism, we may as well start calling it, Make Scotland Great Again, is fundamentally at odd with this for all the reasons you can possibly think of. There’s no Moses within the SNP who will free the children of Scotland from the slavery of the Pharaohs of Finance in London. Should one emerge, you can be sure they’d be expelled in short order. The middle managers of the SNP can only deliver the status quo which is why they go to great lengths to ensure that’s all there is on offer.

The political landscape is pretty well mapped out. The SNP, just like the Democrats of Clinton and the New Labour of Blair have mapped out the middle ground in which they operate. With the soft-right conservative parties occupying the rest of the mainstream. That does not leave much room for manoeuvre for anybody else. Alba want to be where the SNP are, but that seat’s taken. Only a complete collapse of the SNP will free up enough space for them to operate. However, if a largish faction of women up in arms about gender identity can’t dislodge them, or, in a sense, gain any traction at all, then who can?

The Rev.’s right. There’s not much of interest happening in politics, and intentionally so. Maybe things will start to fall apart in ways that are unavoidable and cries for change will be inescapable. We’ll have to see how the privatisation of the NHS and the return of the workhouse fair, before meaningful change can be enacted.

So the SNP will continue to say the things that get a general nod of approval from the electorate, despite the obvious short-comings, which will be hand-waved away as being the Tories fault, and not much will change. If this is not to your liking then changing the players will be a futile exercise, instead you should start changing the playing field.

91. John Main

@ Mia says: 28 February, 2024 at 10:19 pm

Thanks for dealing with the perfectly reasonable questions about the Convention Of The Estates raised by Chas last night.

Haha, I crack me up.

And big respect for politely and gracefully acknowledging your error in your earlier post, and not turning it into yet another chip-on-the-shoulder grievance.

Haha, I crack me up again.

Who is “we” and under whose measure and authority you deem yourself to be a “rational Sovereign Scot”?

I’m one of the many Scots who doesn’t have a well-gnawed carpet around their computer station, so that’s the “rational” bit covered.

And maybes you too are starting to see the problem with your Sovereign Scot wheeze.

You’re Sovereign, I’m Sovereign, he’s Sovereign, she’s Sovereign, that cat-pronoun weirdo is Sovereign too. And all these Sovereignties cancel each other out.

Tak yer time, ye’ll get the idea eventually.

Anyhoo, like Breeks with his impeachment idea, your Convention Of The Estates, if it has any reality whatsoever, needs only one of the regulars calling for it to get out from behind their keyboard and get on with it.

Make a start. Book a hall. Post an invite on X. Something. Anything. Heck, I might turn up myself.

Yet the years come and the years go, and nobody ever does.

I’m not going to apologise for pointing this out. Somebody has to.

92. John Main

@ Stuart MacKay says: 29 February, 2024 at 6:44 am

That’s generally a good post, but hoo boy, you didn’t think this bit through:

There’s no Moses within the SNP who will free the children of Scotland

Somebody will be along in a minute to accuse you of associating with genocide.

Or, … tumbleweed …, proving that whilst a week may well be a long time in politics, on Wings BTL, 48 hours is a geological epoch.

Proving also just how fickle and synthetic most of the posted outrage really is.

93. John Main

@ twathater says: 29 February, 2024 at 2:42 am

Chas raised some good points. There’s nothing obsequious (good word, BTW) about pointing that out.

If you think the Convention Of The Estates is such a great idea, then as a Sovereign Scot, get aff yer lardy erse and set it up.

Run it up the flagpole, see who salutes.

If you lack the energy and drive to do that, but still think it’s a great idea, work it up into a fairly detailed prospectus that can be handed over to somebody younger, ambitious, dedicated, and committed to its ideals.

Use Wings BTL to exchange ideas and get feedback from the faithful, Mia, for example. Man up to enable yourself to deal with any online criticism or insults you get along the way – sticks & stones, an a’ that.

There’s plenty of Indy blogs always on the look out for articles and guest posts. Use them to get your ideas out there. I bet Rev Stu would give you a spot if you asked.

I can’t say fairer than that, and I honestly don’t think anybody else can either.

94. Johnlm

Is it some form of Tourette’s?

95. Mac

I wonder if fannybaws gets paid by the comment…FFS.

In other news George Galloway is pretty confident he is about to get elected as an MP in Rochdale.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvosiQeLfns&ab_channel=GeorgeGalloway

He is being a bit of an opportunist here I feel but if he wins I welcome him being there (parliament) to noise those arseholes up a bit.

96. Chas

Mia and Twathater

Why is it you are unable to answer ANY of the points I raised. For brevity I stopped where I did, there are a lot more.
    Airy fairy proposals are not worth the paper they are written on.
    WE should do this, We should do that, is a common theme on Wings, but nobody ever explains who the WE actually is. It surely can’t be just the few, probably well intentioned, but ultimately misguided souls who pop up here all too regularly.
    Rather than answer any points it is easier to go down the ‘Brit Nat Apologists’ route again and again and again. You are only fooling your selves in thinking that the chosen few speak for all of Scotland.
    Mia-there is a key word in my post. Did you spot it? It is brevity. You might want to look up what it means and maybe apply it to most of your posts.

97. Robert Hughes

Stuart Mackay @ 6.44

Bom dia , meu amigo . Top post .

” Alba want to be where the SNP are, but that seat’s taken. ”

Quite . Has anyone pointed this out to ALBA yet ?

Maybe they should try something a bit different ; why are they so eager to be the next batch of Scottish Reps to head South to be condescended to , ridiculed , ignored ?

Is this not so much an expression of the so-called ” Scottish Cringe ” as the less-well documented ” Scottish ( Political ) Masochism ” ?

I’m loath to be too harsh on ALBA , they’re comprised of a lot of good people and are trying to provide a much better option for Independence supporters than the terminally shit Nu SNP , but…..

They’re getting on my fckn nerves : all the stupid internal petty * personality * clashes , resulting in founding members storming out , slamming doors , rattles n dummies slung out of prams and the usual tedious ” he said / she said ” script ; it’s as if they’re intent on replicating the same mistakes that have all but destroyed the SNP , but REALLY quickly !

That stuff can be resolved , but it won’t make the slightest difference without the Party adopting a significant departure from the failed * strategy * of ultimate deferrence to WM/Brit State authority .

BRITS OUT ! ( of our Liberation Process )

ALBA need to takes their eyes off WM and focus them on Holyrood and the wider world . It’s Anglo strabismus is seriously impairing it’s Vision .

98. Ruby

My advice to Mia would be either ignore them or take the piss.

‘Old Chastitty’ is complaining about folk not answering his question yet he failed to answer my very simple question which I repeated several times.

Who is your Arab friend Chastitty?

99. Sven

Whilst politically speaking I have little time for the ever opportunistic Mr Galloway, more so after meeting him a couple of decades ago; what a somewhat malicious delight I have at the thought of the mischief and mayhem he could cause in the HoC should he be returned as an MP.
    In fact, I’d suggest that the “George Galloway Playbook” would be a great study for any SNP MPs who were more interested in disrupting the cosy club at Westminster than filling in expenses forms and fine wining and dining at public expense.

100. John Main

@ Chas says: 29 February, 2024 at 8:58 am

WE should do this, We should do that, is a common theme on Wings, but nobody ever explains who the WE actually is

Ah, c’mon now Ted. They’re feeling fragile BTL again and as a result, the name calling has been triggered.

To answer your question.

WE is what the educated call the “deus ex machina”. In this context, it’s a means of getting to Indy without doing any of the work, or convincing any of the small ‘c’ conservative Sovereign Scots, and thus the favoured route for the congenitally lardy ersed and the time-served experts at watering their drams with their own tears.

Hope my post has not been too obsequious for you, but if it has been, man up and deal with it. 🙂

101. John Main

@ Robert Hughes says: 29 February, 2024 at 9:01 am

Facts:

1. WM GE in 2024.

2. 59 Scottish MPs to be elected.

3. Ergo, 59 good and true Scots needed, one per constituency, to stand as Plebiscitary candidates for Indy.

They can do that through Alba, or as Independents, if Alba won’t play. All they have to be able to do is not feck up in front of a camera, explain the Plebiscitary concept, and have no shameful online or real-life past that can be dug up and used against them.

It doesn’t matter if the BBC won’t play ball either – people don’t get their news about popular happenings from the BBC.

Every candidate stands to coin it in if elected. Raise the money needed from Indy supporters and pay it back from the generous salaries and expenses on offer once in place.

I repeat, 59 good and true Scots needed, from a population of 5.5 million. Is that really so much to ask?

102. Stuart MacKay

Robert Hughes @9:01am

The good folks in Alba are undoubtedly thinking they are doing the right thing. Problem is, no matter how hard they try it won’t be enough and it won’t make the slightest difference. Replace one set of neo-liberal socialists with another? Well, what’s the point in that?

At the risk of getting Main getting all worked into a lather, they should be taking a more absolutist position like, the AfD in Germany, or getting the farmers sufficiently agitated that they roll into Edinburgh and cover Holyrood in shit. Only when they can show they will offer real, not pretend, change can there be any progress.

They all want a seat at the table. Instead they should be figuring out how to chop the table in to sticks and set fire to it. The current mess was created over decades and decades. Nobody can wait that long to undo it – the problems are simply piling up too fast.

103. Ruby

Wow! Emma Caldwell.

104. Ruby

Wow! Cat killer is a woman.

A woman in a male prison.

105. Ruby

WOW J.K Rowling is sick of this shit!

“Ideologically driven misinformation is not journalism.”

106. Geri

Why are people so easily manipulated by outside foreign owned media?

The SNP, twits tho they are, showed the *mother of all parliaments* to be an absolute den of corruption, misinformation & downright dangerous precedent.

Rather than pressure put on the absolute corrupt & racist speaker of the house & *Sir* prince charming to be removed from post immediately for breaking rules & showing how corrupt they are – the lamas all rush to berate the SNP as being time wasters who knew this would fail (isnt that the role of the opposition? You know, to highlight the weakness in their armour? D’oh!)

How peaceful protest is now being pumped as Islamists are taking over the UK FFS!

No, corruption is & it has been for a very long time.

*The SNP was denied their debate.
    *The speaker & Starmer colluded between themselves to deny democracy & parliamentary rules & gave bare faced lies for doing so. Demonising Palestine protesters as hateful ppl in the process.
    *Then denied that debate being scheduled again.

People need to stop being manipulated & turning their anger towards the wrong people. The UK has been at this racist shit for so long now (Brexshit, UKip) that it seems to be second nature to buy their shit instead of looking past their *go to* excuses of Islam & see the real reason.

Salmonds case is the exact same. Throw in some accusations & everyone follows like fckn sheep. Zzzz

No matter what we think of the SNP – Scotlands place in Westminster was over the moment that farce took place. It’s one in a long history of many but that should’ve been taken as the final straw.

SNP is lost. The chances of them growing a spine & walking out is futile but let this be a cue for Alba to declare they will NOT take seats from now on.

Scotland is in danger of going back to it’s slumber because Westminster is absolutely fckn pointless & at the moment there is no one worth voting for so ppl will just not bother.

107. Ruby

WOW! Blackford splits with SNP over ‘friend’ Hoyle

108. Ruby

Wow! One SNP MP said: “Blackford needs to wind his neck in, and get in line.” Blackford was not available for comment.

109. Ruby

Wow! Test heat pumps in public buildings to prove they work, say Tories

110. John Main

@ Stuart MacKay says: 29 February, 2024 at 10:04 am

At the risk of getting Main getting all worked into a lather, they should be taking a more absolutist position

I just posted my take on the Plebiscitary Election idea. IMO it offers scope for progressing Indy without stretching the current law past breaking point.

Evolution, not revolution. Revolutions seldom end well.

If you want to see a revolution getting under way, look at the Rochdale by-election. A straightforwards sectarian battle, soon to be fought out on the streets, between immigrants and the indigenous.

Not what I want to see in Scotland, but no doubt opinions will differ, as always.

https://unherd.com/2024/02/rochdale-has-already-lost-this-election/

https://unherd.com/newsroom/will-labour-introduce-a-blasphemy-law/

111. Mia

“Scotlands place in Westminster was over the moment that farce took place”

Absolutely. Unfortunately, it seems the only ones in the entire UK who refuse to accept that are the SNP themselves. Should they have a spine, and they would never return to that cesspit after the collusion of labour with the speaker to deny Scotland of a voice. If they had any respect for Scotland, they would have walked away from the place to not return. Instead, the cowards in this useless party choose to prolong their 9 years’ long humiliation of Scotland by embarrassing us all and coming back with the tail between the legs, begging for a second chance at “debating” at the cesspit.

The SNP under Yousaf has become even more pathetic, embarrassing and unelectable than the SNP under the political fraud Sturgeon.

What exactly do these people stand for, other than enlarging their bank accounts and pension pots?

112. Ian Brotherhood

Check out this tweet from Prof V O’B –

Blackford may have drawn attention to himself once too often.

Prof. Vivian O’Blivion
    @VivianBlivion

Blackford was Treasurer of British American Parliamentary Group.

BAPG are exempt from declaring State Dept gratuities in their Register of Interests.

BAPG are intertwined with US/UK/Israeli Security State.

10:14 AM · Feb 29, 2024

113. Ruby

Watch out for those links posted by John Main

They are very dodgy links.

114. Southernbystander

John Main

I admire your attempts to actually talk sense on here (mostly). It clearly makes no difference to those you directly address but lurkers may notice I suppose. Trouble is the damage is done over and again by so many posts that cast the nationalist movement in quite possibly the worst light possible.

Sadly, as an English living in England this site has alerted me to just how a hated the English are by some nationalists, how bigoted they are against England and how ignorant of it. This is ironic given where Rev Campbell has made his life and career, and obviously likes to live, though this irony is lost on most. No doubt my endorsement of you will be another reason to hate the English and undermine your words. ‘Soz’.

Still, there is some reading fun to be had from time to time, like your response to the comment below, which is one of the funniest:

I’m one of the many Scots who doesn’t have a well-gnawed carpet around their computer station, so that’s the “rational” bit covered.

115. Mac

Funny, looking at the BBC news website you would not know there is a by election in Rochdale today. I could only find it by searching for Rochdale.

I’d say that is another sure sign Galloway is going to win.

116. Hatuey

Stuart MacKay: “ Only a complete collapse of the SNP will free up enough space for them to operate.”

With 4 serious criminal investigations underway, I think a complete collapse is highly likely… so likely that you’d need a pretty agile imagination to contemplate alternative futures.

Any single one of those investigations could bring about a complete collapse.

I think we are all either consciously or subconsciously waiting for it to happen and it probably explains the stasis. I know I am.

How do you plan for something like that? What could Alba do now to prepare for and capitalise on the expected collapse of the SNP? Honestly, they’re probably doing it.

There are people on here saying Alba should do this, and do that, be more radical, set themselves apart, but I think when the collapse happens people will look for something kinda boring and familiar that they can hang their coats on. Alba ticks a few boxes.

We should probably give Salmond the credit he deserves and assume he knows all this. He’s the smartest guy in the room by a long shot and, when you think about it, they had good reasons for wanting him out of the way.

117. Ruby

Southernbystander

Sadly, as an English living in England this site has alerted me to just how a hated the English are by some nationalists, how bigoted they are against England and how ignorant of it.

Spot on I hate the English. Here’s a thing to consider. The only English people I have had any contact with over the last few years is yourself, Das Blimp, John Main, Andy Ellis and the other arrogant English people who have posted here.

You might need to take some responsibility for that hatred.

Same applies to the accusations of White, White, White racism.

All the bloody accusations of Anti English & racism has led to being racist and hating the bloody English.

You are just going to have to learn to live with being hated.

118. Ruby

Southernbystander

Sadly, as an English living in England this site has alerted me to just how a hated the English are by some nationalists, how bigoted they are against England and how ignorant of it.

Spot on I hate the English. Here’s a thing to consider. The only English people I have had any contact with over the last few years is yourself, Das Blimp, John Main, Andy Ellis and the other arrogant English people who have posted here.

You might need to take some responsibility for that hatred.

Same applies to the accusations of White, White, White racism.

All the bloody accusations of Anti English & racism has led to me being racist and hating the bloody English.

You are just going to have to learn to live with being hated.

119. Johnlm

Main responds to Stewart MacKay (twice) but appears not to have read the Aurelien substack linked to.

Main is full of sediment.

https://aurelien2022.substack.com/p/the-power-of-absent-things

120. Vivian O’Blivion

Ian Blackford refuses to sign motion against Speaker Lindsay Hoyle. Hoyle’s serpentine machinations were geared specifically to protect the Zionist state from the (wholly justified) charge of collective punishment against the Palestinian people (this being an item defined as a War crime). Hoyle’s papa founded Labour Friends of Israel. Let’s join the dots.
    Blackford was a Treasurer of the British American Parliamentary Group. The BAPG are mysteriously and uniquely exempt from declaring gratuities from the State Dept. in their Register of Interests. This includes going on lengthy all expenses paid trips to the US while Parliament is in session. Apparently their constituents don’t need to know what they’re up to while on the clock. As the bard of Falkirk, Aidan Moffat said, “if you’ve nothing to hide why hide it?”.
    This is all established fact, the question is why did Blackford break cover now?
    Blackford clearly intends to while away the end of his miserable existence in London. SNP prohibition against taking a seat in the HoL be damned, Blackford will take his seat as an independent.
    The precedent is already set, Blairite MPs John Woodcock, John Mann and Ian Austin (amongst others) were awarded Peerages and cozy QUANGO posts by Theresa May’s Tory administration. Again, this was specifically in recompense for services rendered to the Zionist state.

121. Ruby

Southernbystander

Self-fulfilling prophecies occur when a belief does lead to its own fulfillment

The more you believe the English are hated and the more it’s believed the White, White, Whites are racist the more it will come true.

Get it?

122. Ruby

Is there any examples of colonial masters being loved?

Were they not generally hated?

WTF would anyone expect us not to hate ‘the English’?

Shame that ordinary people have to pay the price for their politicians actions but that’s life.

The English just have to learn to live with being hated.

I think ‘Southernbystander’ ‘John Main’ ‘Andy Ellis’ ‘Chas’ and all the other English who post here love it. As does Humza & Sarwar love playing the race card.

123. Anton Decadent

@Father Vivian O’Blivion

That is why I come here, the sharing of information which those wretches do not want us to know. Bravo.

Re further upthread, the smearing as a feckless racist of anyone who has found themselves a hated and targeted minority on their own doorstep are the tactics of the Labour Party and the SNP.

124. Ruby

Wow Ex-SNP council leader Jordan Linden charged over alleged sex offences

125. Ruby

Mr Linden is the cousin of David Linden, the SNP MP for Glasgow East.

126. Geri

Southernbystander

Fresh news for you.

No one likes the English. The great colonisers aren’t held in high regard outside of blighty.

I’m surprised you aren’t aware of this obvious fact. It’s demonstrated every World Cup. You’ll only ever find the English cheering on the English.
    Same happened in the EU parly with Ukippers despite 27 other countries being there.
    Same happens in Westminster despite three other Nations present.

Maybe you need to work on why that is?

The world doesn’t revolve around you.
    You are no one’s centre of the universe.

An independence blog certainly isn’t going to be either. Rather that sort out yer own problems & world view you seem to bother herself playing victim & it’s everyone else’s fault.

127. sam

Geri @10.31

I think Salmond’s appearance at the Scottish Affairs Committee looking into inter- governmental relations was interesting.

His aim as FM was to govern effectively to show (not just to Scots) that the SNP could govern competently devolved and independent.

Good relations between the governments (all) was a necessary part of being competent.

I guess he still holds that opinion.

For all I know he may also think there is political value in making and keeping good relations in Westminster with those he thinks may be helpful ingaining Scottish independence.

Alba’s aim is to use each election as a possible mandate for independence negotiations. Total votes of all independence parties that reach at least 50% + 1 give the mandate.

A small study ( not representative) finds that ex-pat Scots may now be more in favour of independence than agin. It would need more representative study to confirm that and it might be useful to have that study as ex-pat Scots can now vote in a UK GE.

128. Robert Hughes

@ Stuart Mackay

” They all want a seat at the table. Instead they should be figuring out how to chop the table in to sticks and set fire to it. The current mess was created over decades and decades. Nobody can wait that long to undo it – the problems are simply piling up too fast. ” . Couldn’t agree more , Stuart .

The WAR ON FARMERS currently being waged by the * Net Zero * kidologists & fanatics is a good example of where ALBA could be much more vocal/visible , likewise the obscenity of Energy Corps posting ” record profits ” when so many are struggling with ever-increasing charges . A few words in WM now and again is welcome , but not nearly enough . The Corporate plunder will continue unchecked until someone in a position to do so says ” FUCK YOU , ENOUGH ” and actually ORDERS these mercenary bastards to lower their charges .
    There’s not a sliver of a chance of any of the legacy Parties – Nu SNP included – standing-up to Corporate muscle : on the contrary , they’re all lining-up to declare how ” Business Friendly ” they are .

So , champagne all round in the boardrooms . Real pain all round in the housing estates

Energy , like Housing , Education , Health and other essential services should NEVER be left in the predatory * care * of Private Capital . Yd think that was fckn obvious by now .

@ Hatuey . I hear you , but I don’t think offering people a more pallid version of Nu SNP will be attractive to many . It’s not as if the latter have been in any way ” exciting ” and people need a more tranquil respite . I’d say the opposite is the case.

I’d use the ” watching paint dry analogy ” but it may be more accurate to say it’s been like watching a highly caustic material .eg Nitromors cause the epidermis of the SNP to bubble n blister making it easy to scrape/brush off .

I’ll repeat what I’ve said before in a different way ( this time excluding all the previously stated qualifiers n caveats ) …..

Alex Salmond may by now be a star too faint to shine , too distant to glow . Much as we may wish it otherwise

129. Hatuey

Great contribution, Vivian, I agree.

The BAPG is a deeply sinister group.

Those who say foreign affairs have nothing to do with the case for Indy are either wilfully blind or simply dumb when it comes to framing arguments.

So, let me spell it out for them: establishing and drawing attention to criminal adventures of the British State abroad, including its axis-of-evil-like alliance with Israel and the US, at a time when the world is teetering on the brink of Armageddon (precisely because of those adventures and the antics of that alliance), is probably one of the most powerful arguments you could make for independence right now.

It’s actually remarkable that I need to spell that out, up there with having to explain to a battered wife that it might be a good idea to leave her serial killing partner while he’s out on a murderous drinking binge with his pals…

Free Palestine. Victory to Galloway.

130. Hatuey

And I hear you, Robert. None of us know what will happen when the SNP disintegrates but I think a lot of those who vote for them now, and I’m talking about the essentially apolitical and somewhat bovine masses here, will go looking for something boring and familiar, as I said.

We could be talking about a collapse and a crisis unlike anything any of us have seen before. All it takes is one of those investigations to reach certain conclusions and we are right in the middle of that shit-storm. Don’t we all look for a return to boring normality when the shit hits the fan?

131. Duncan Clark

“Don’t we all look for a return to boring normality when the shit hits the fan?”

New chant for Yes rallies: ‘What do we want?’ ‘Transparent, representative and competent leadership based on membership of EFTA, protection of NHSScotland and rebuilding the trust and hopes of the peoples of Scotland.’

‘When do we want it?’ ‘Within a realistic, and openly measurable timescale that works with public will.’

Not overly catchy, but unless we outline a positive, but challenging route, we face Truth and Reconciliation Committees – or another set of Vows and Smith Commissions.

132. twathater

@ Duncan Clark 4.46pm I am personally against any form of truth and reconciliation committee, the people responsible for the despicable governance of Scotland over the last 10 years should be shown NO MERCY , as they have shown by their continuous lies and corruption that the safety and security of the citizens that they are supposed to SERVE has been totally and completely abused and ignored

Every last one of the snp contingent without exception has BETRAYED Scotland and Scots by allowing a narcissistic deviant pervert and her coterie of perverted clowns to destroy and dismantle an independence movement through policies and actions that were vehemently opposed by the majority of the electorate, policies and actions with paedophilia undertones that were despised and fought against by the masses

133. Tinto Chiel

@Duncan Clark 4.46: new SNP chant to WM Establishment……

“What do we want?”

“Independence!”

“When do we want it?”

“Any time you see fit!”

*Settle lardy arses on the green leather benches and watch their incomes and pensions accumulate*

134. Jab64

Interesting article and I learned the difference between Misfeasance and Malfeasance. One being ineptitude and the other on purpose. I just wondered if Humza could be used as an alternative for Misfeasance and Nicola could be substituted for Malfeasance ?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.