Absolutely brilliant Chris!

2. Jan Cowan

Says it all, Chris.

3. Marie Clark

Indeed Chris, indeed. Well done still LOL.

4. Dorothy Devine

Most excellent!

They are awfy quiet are they no??

5. duncanio

He/She Overboard!

6. Jo

Nicola picked the wrong side she is definately paying for it now

7. 100%Yes

The only people hiding her failures is the MSM and the British state, I don’ think the sinking ship goes far enough its more like a black hole.

8. Robert Hughes

SS SNP GOING DOWN .* MAN * THE LIFEBOATS . WOMEN AND CHILDREN LAST

Where are Rear Admiral Murrell & Petty Officer Sturgeon ?

Oh look , is that them away out there ,clinging to the flotsam ?

” Not waving , but drowning ”

Aye . Shark fodder now .

Excellent work as per , CC .

9. Tommo

She tripped and fell into the lifeboat

10. Checks Notes

Mayday! Mayday! Our waters have been polluted!!

Fantastic Chris, one of your best

11. Sharney Dubs

Yes! Sums it up.

Good chuckle, well done.

12. Tom

Police (allegedly) digging in the Murrells’ back garden ..

From The Ferret Fact-Check Service:

“Police officers were seen with shovels during the search of Peter Murrell and Nicola Sturgeon’s property, leading to speculation there had been digging in the garden of their home. This is incorrect. Ferret Fact Service has confirmed no digging took place – the spades were found in a shed and not used as part of the search.

“Journalists at the scene confirmed they did not see any officers digging in the garden. ITV News reporter Peter Smith reported the shovels were found in a shed in the garden, and lifted while officers searched inside.”

https://theferret.scot

13. Mac

Now it is clear why Sturgeon pimped herself around all the English media slop-houses immediately after she resigned. She felt she needed to cement-in all the lies she had spouted (as the reasons for her sudden resignation).

Murrell clearly should have resigned long ago. So that he was far removed from the SNP when all this hit the fan. The fact he didn’t until forced is a true disgrace.

This demonstrates yet again for the umpteenth time now that the greater good of the SNP and the independence movement does not factor at all in the Murrell’s thinking (and never has).

Instead it was far more important to get their stooge fixed into position. One can now only assume to help cover up all their crimes and misdemeanours. To ensure the Lord Advocate continues to remain ‘on board’ the sinking ship and that they continue to have a Police force slavering to go after (or not go after) whoever they want. Malicious-Prosecutions-R-Us. This is the real meaning of the ‘continuity candidate here.

Murrell not resigning long ago was ludicrous. He has waited and waited so that all of this detonated while he was still in the job and effectively hand picking the next FM…

While handpicking the next FM…To say that was a conflict of interest is putting it mildly.

That bizarre, rushed, truncated, rigged election is completely illegitimate as is Humza Yousaf as FM.

There is now a real smell that the rigged SNP election of Yousaf is in itself an other attempt to pervert the course of justice.

14. Luigi

Sigh. Aye Nicola, good job. Captain Salmond set you on a straight path to the lovely island called Independence. Sadly, you got cold feet and opted for the route of self-interest, before slamming into the rock of British establishment. How does it feel now? The media sharks are now circling. You get what you deserve. The sad part is all those people on board who trusted you. There is an Alba lifeboat on the horizon, with none other than Captain Salmond at the helm. Hopefully the people will spot him in time.

15. Stephen O'Brien

“Independence is not a dream, its very much going to happen, its a juggernaut that won’t be stopped.”

To put it another way. SNP’s worse nightmare, came true.

Expectation is a killer!

The next chapter does not include SNP. Bankruptcy would be merciful!

16. Bob Mack

Meanwhile the WGD supporters are playing the “Blue Danube” on the promenade deck to try and soothe the other drowning passengers on the ill fated vessel.

Never underextimate a human ability for stupidity.

17. Ottomanboi

SS DEVO has hit a titanic iceberg.
    SS INDIE should sail on by, nothing worth rescuing.

18. Neil in Glasgow

Great stuff!

In Toolstation earlier and could hear the two guys behind the counter talking about things. One says to the other, “Really not sure what’s going on, something about misappropriation of funds, but I’m pretty certain it’s got nothing to do with pornstars”. Couldn’t help but laugh!

19. Geoff Anderson

Much needs fixed – but it can be fixed

by Robin McAlpine | 7 Apr 2023
    If you’re not in despair at the state of Scotland you’re not paying attention. But if you believe that there is nothing that can be done about it, read on and hopefully feel more positive.

https://robinmcalpine.org/much-needs-fixed-but-it-can-be-fixed/

20. GlesgaJim

Shark infested waters, one hopes!?

21. Mac

What is very telling is that the mainstream media is studiously ignoring the fact that the Murrell’s were effectively given several weeks notice that their home and offices were going to be searched by the Police.

Pausing the police investigation was election tampering. That was effectively withholding vitally important information from entering the public domain in order to ensure it did not harm Humza Yousaf’s chances of getting elected and becoming FM.

All of this information should have broken long before the SNP election concluded and to say it would have changed the result is the understatement of the century. And they clearly knew it hence the truncated election…

All of this seems to have been coordinated with the help of the Police. The paused police investigation to give the SNP just enough time to squeeze in their rigged election is evidence the Police and the SNP were (and are) working together.

The paused Police investigation (which only benefited one candidate) and the abandonment of the SNPs own election process (which only benefited one candidate) so they could squeeze in the election / fix before all this became public (which only benefited one candidate) is truly outrageous.

This shows you the complete contempt that the Murrells have for democracy, truth and the rule of law. They are not even hiding it anymore, because they can’t. Desperate people do desperate things.

We should not be accepting this.

22. Paulk

Guaranteed to float because she’s so full of shit.

23. 100%Yes

We could have been cruising to Independence.

24. Den

Nice one Chris , maybe a torpedo in the sketch with trans self I’d written on it would have been apt .

25. jockmcx

When we all accept at least a bit the of blame,
    then we can start!…hopefully the right way…

No laughing matter!

26. ayemachrihanish

Here’s a suggestion. Don’t read the link below as an attack on Independence (which it obviously is)

It’s of more value if seen as the best-summary-to-date of Nicola Sturgeon’s SNP legacy. The baseline legacy she has inflicted on the people of Scotland.

https://newspaperscotland.mailplus.co.uk/data/2151/reader/reader.html?#!preferred/0/package/2151/pub/7227/page/15/content/378450

To which of course, in due course, further detail will be added!

27. Garavelli Princip

I see may namesake Dani has been whining about the fall of her heroine, whose tawdry reign she supported, promoted and assisted

I am grateful to Stu for this:

https://twitter.com/WingsScotland/status/1644625447135715328

“This petulant wail from the once-respected Dani Garavelli is quite the thing. Yes, Dani, that IS what we’re saying. We ARE more politically astute than you. And maybe if you hadn’t frantically stanned for her for so long, we wouldn’t be in quite such a big mess now”.

As Wings readers will know, Archduke Ferdinand was assisianated by Gavrilo Princip – which was used as a pretext for the almighty catastrophe of the First Wold War.

My moniker (above) was a reverse tribute to the would-be (character) assassin of Alex Salmond – Ms Gavarelli – who slavered over the Salmond trial, and who helpfully provided us with the details that allowed many of to identify a number of the alphabeties.

That she did this without prosecution for contempt (in contrast to Craig Murray) informed us greatly as to the methods an motives of the Brit state in the form of COPFS.

Now with the help of Rev Stu, I realise how inadvertently perceptive my handle is:

For by pumping up the already inflated ego of the Fallen One, she contributed to her hubris and delusions of invincibility. And it is that more than anything else that has led to her downfall.

Had Mrs Murrell read books on politics and history, rather than the trashy novels and police procedurals which constitute her er bibliophilia – she might have understood what perfidious Albion had in store for her – once her use to them was spent.

Well, now she knows more about police procedures than she might have wanted to do.

So well done Dani Garavelli – for your substantial contribution to the political self-assassination of La Sturgeon.

No longer a ‘would-be’ political assassin – but (inadvertently) the real thing!

28. Ian McCubbin

Well done Chris, pity most of SNP don’t see
    that SNP is finished.
    Alba and ISP are the jnky way for independence now.
    So for GE 2024 it’s ALBA and HR 2026 Alba 1 and ISP 2.

29. Muscleguy

GlesgaJim says:
    8 April, 2023 at 9:44 am
    Shark infested waters, one hopes!?

Those sharks are wearing blue uniforms with shields on them. Waiting behind the sharks are orcas in white wigs. Further back are large creatures rattling keys.

30. Caledonia

She could always identify as a Sturgeon and swim for it.

I will get my coat

(Edit) great cartoon btw just sums her up

31. John Main

Where’s abody else?

The SS SNP needed a crew of hundreds over the years.

There must be a few of them that need to be drooned too.

32. Caroline Wilson

Hardly surprising the SS SNP is sinking fast. It’s probably not finished, massively over-budget with painted on windows.

33. ayemachrihanish

Garavelli Princip, very nicely put.

34. Beauvais

Humza tweets ” In my first full week as FM, I have been focussed on… ”

Personal pronoun time again. There’s continuity for you.

35. Republicofscotland

Spot on Chris the SNP brand is damaged beyond repair now, just as BLiS was in Scotland all those years ago, Sturgeon/Murrell and their clique destroyed the SNP brand, its finished its over for the SNP.

Its time to move on to the Alba party who are willing to work with any other indy minded party for independence, lets get the SNP out and Alba in at every election, as long as the SNP are in government independence won’t be achieved.

Vote Alba, Join Alba.

36. James Devlin

It’s interesting to note that Scottish MSM journalists, like for example, Brian Taylor at the Herald, encouraging Yousaf to dump the Murrells, due to their toxicity and failures. The very same journalists, who up to a couple of months ago, regaled us with how successful their regime was, and how Scotland was profoundly more progressive than England. If journalists like Taylor had done their job properly, and investigated and reported on the Murrell’s failures, coercive control and need for secrecy, instead of writing sycophantic puff pieces, then things would have been different. For whatever reason, the Scottish MSM have contributed to the situation the SNP finds themselves in today. The signs were all there, and presented by WoS and others, but they chose not to see them, and were complicit in helping the Murrells to pull the wool over voters eyes. This scandal will now grow arms and legs.

37. Liz

Thanks Chris.

How did that “tractor” expect to get away with it?
    It shows how blinkered and stupid she was.

38. Robert G

Now that the SNP has been destroyed, It looks like those at the wheel of the GCHQ and COPFS life boat have decided to change course and let Sturgeon and Murrell drown. Job done.

39. Cynicus

Well, I suppose that’s something.

She can actually REMEMBER why she jumped ship!

40. Jontoscot21

In the middle of denial. keeping her head desperately above the waves fir a selfie.

41. Mike Fenwick

Info below may be of interest – an initiative started over two years ago with participation building steadily – (Specifically Non Party based – sole objective – regaining Scotland’s independence).

Latest Stage (One of a Series):

“The Declaration of a Sovereign Scot” initiative … Scotland’s Living History.

The first batch to arrive was at 10.48am on the 3rd of April 2023. The second batch to arrive was at 10.49am on the 4th of April 2023. The third batch to arrive was at 11.00 am on the 5th of April 2023.

With each batch the Secretary General of the United Nations had in his possession the individually signed Declarations of hundreds of Sovereign Scots, each batch sent as “track and sign” to be in New York on the 6th of April, to commemorate the anniversary of the Declaration of Arbroath 1320.

Each individually signed Declaration opens with this statement:

“Exercising my Claim Of Right as a Sovereign Scot, I declare:

I do not consent to the terms of, nor the continuation of, the Treaty of Union established through the Acts of Union in 1707.”

Scotland will regain its independence when Sovereign Scots, no longer simply talk of their Sovereignty, but truly act upon it!

Will you be part of this initiative, will future generations learn of your part in Scotland’s Living History?

42. Garavelli Princip

Thatcher, May, Truss, Sturgeon.

Why women make better political leaders than men.

Discuss.

43. Alf Baird

mmmm. There’s more to the sinking of the ‘SS SNP’ than meets the eye. I’m looking for a Brit sub aye lurking below the water still firing torpedoes, and an Alba/Salvo/Liberation.scot lifeboat speeding to the scene to pick up survivors and take them to the promised land.

44. PhilM

She’s “just a symptom of the moral decay that’s gnawring at the heart of the…ccoouunnttreeeee”.

45. Ian Brotherhood

Craig Murray has suggested, via Twitter, that we might want to have a closer look at the Gupta factor in all this shenanigans.

So here’s an article.

Could this be why the auditors bailed out?

https://thinkscotland.org/2021/03/how-the-snp-government-helped-mr-gupta-to-help-himself-at-the-expense-of-the-scottish-taxpayer/

46. Maureen

The only truth to pass sturgeons lips was when she said she suffered from imposters syndrome. Imposter her is.The wreckage left in her wake speaks volumes. Now its sink or swim for her.

47. Beauvais

The public disgrace of Sturgeon will not setback the cause of independence, for one very tangible reason.

And that reason is that it was Scottish nationalists who uncovered her wrongdoings. It was Scottish nationalists – the real ones – who succeeded in bringing her down, after years of effort and perseverance, and in some cases tribulation.

All the while, unionist parties, unionist media and prominent union supporters ignored the signs and warning voices and allowed this narcissistic cult leader to continue her evil reign.

The lesson must be crystal clear. The union is all about the promotion and maintenance of what is unhealthy for Scotland. While independence is about what is salutary and improving for our nation.

48. Frank Gillougley

Well, it all goes to show that truth is indeed stranger than fiction.

Of course allegories abound, but for me this is straight out of Breaking Bad, with Peter Murrell (aka Walter White) scrabbling about in his cellar looking for the non-existent getaway money for his family that has already been spent. Meanwhile the cartel of the Scottish polis are on the horizon comin’ lookin for them….

Mibbes when she was talking about the Imposter Syndrome, that was her confession right there. Because that’s all she was, really – a front? And forever and a day all the SNP was about was revenue made on the back of crystal meth (votes)?

Clearly, I need to go lie down.

49. Ian Brotherhood

More Gupta-related stuff – another tale featuring auditors chucking in the towel because they weren’t being given the information they needed to do their job.

‘Ultimately the scale and scope of this story is epic. The zeppelin-like political personality of the First Minister – so long dominating our politics – is trapped in a tale of political cynicism and breath-taking naivety. A depressing story where the leader of an electorally successful personality-cult is exposed as politically cynical and fawningly deferential to billionaire businessmen in return for political headlines.’

https://thinkscotland.org/2022/11/theres-not-just-a-ferry-fiasco-the-gupta-scandal-is-even-bigger/

50. Ottomanboi

The forecast is all about a very large bag of hot air forming over Scotland, just like devolution.
    https://archive.ph/2023.04.07-232855/https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/scottish-independence-irish-reunification-is-closer-academics-think-v30zg303p
    Something very dramatic will need to happen for the professional politicians have truly mismanaged, with not a little alien help, the enterprise.
    SS Britannic deserves to sink, with no survivors.

51. John Main

Where’s Wee Al when you need him?

That’s a stoater of an obnoxious post from Princip at 11:41, yet tumbleweed from our latest pearl clutcher.

On top of its ludicrous sexism, the post doesn’t even make sense. Sure, 3 of these women achieved nothing, but the fourth achieved so much of her agenda that she remains a hated, revered and divisive figure, and an obsessed about bogeywoman for many, decades after she left politics.

Here’s one we can think about without sexism. Thatcher or Blair. Who did the most to destroy the country us older Scots thought we were living in when we were young? Discuss.

52. craig murray

Ian,

Your tweet at 12.22pm is spot on but imagine what other words the two words “political headlines” in that quote might be replaced with…

53. James Jones

Beauvais @ 12:11

You’re espousing the right to self determination while asking why the Union didn’t ride to the rescue.

54. Frank Gillougley

The Delusion is strong in this one.

Mike Russell – “I don’t think independence can be secured right now; we need to work towards some coordinated campaigning. But I think this is achievable. My main focus is how we can create a new Yes movement that allows for different visions but conducted in an atmosphere of mutual trust.”

Two observations:

1. What was wrong with the old Yes movement? (It had its flaws admittedly, but post 2014, the SNP were NEVER even part of it).

2. This is an example of what happens in post-traumatic shock. You still talk the same drivel as if the political tectonic plates have not shifted one iota. We just need to ‘re-double our efforts’ and all that pish.

55. Graf Midgehunter

REV STU

https://twitter.com/WingsScotland/status/1644640427264417796?cxt=HHwWiIC9pajw99ItAAAA

Sr076509310gB

Don’t do Twitter but I do WANT, WANT a silver badge 🙂

56. Ian Brotherhood

@craig murray (12.47) –

Hmmm, let me think…

What about ‘cash’ and ‘hard’, but not necessarily in that order?

57. Beauvais

What’s this? Sturgeon gave lots of money to GUPTA.

Well at least she did something to help a trade union.

Shows that no one’s ever completely bad.

58. Daisy Walker

Brilliant cartoon Chris.

OT, Question for Craig Murray, is the Gupta stuff likely to be of Sub Prime levels of consequences?

59. Patsy Millar

Nailing it again!

60. John H.

Your cartoon says it all Chris. But I can take no pleasure from the downfall of the House of Murrell. They have cost Scotland dearly, and this mess will be used time and time again to demonstrate to Scots that they aren’t fit to run their own country. Those two fools have played into the hands of the British state, whether deliberately or not.

We urgently need a strong and honest leader to take control of the situation, but I don’t see one appearing just yet. I would have said Alex Salmond, but he seemingly wants to use the old failed franchise from 2014. It didn’t work then, and it wouldn’t work now. If he were to change his mind on that though I would welcome him as leader of the independence movement.

61. Breeks

Re Ferry fiasco and emerging Gupta fiasco…

Of all the people in Scotland, who would you want to put in charge of fixing this shambles?

Even leaving the politics to one side, leave Independence completely out of the equation, just for the straight up job of fixing all that’s gone wrong under Sturgeon. Who would you pick?

Answers on a postcard to the “Alex Salmond Safe Pair of Hands Competition”…

Convince me I’m wrong…

62. Stephen O'Brien

SNP has failed to take the necessary steps to prepare for independence. The mechanism to deliver, always kept at arms length. When the GE route was finally identified, that too, kicked into touch.

Out and out imposters.

Further to that shame, they have divided the independence movement, while legislative priorities prove the extent of their betrayal of the electorate.

Financial shenanigans or mismanagement, their time is up!

63. Antoine Bisset

The SNP is spent as credible driver for independence. The organisation may hang on, but who will contribute money and who will vote for its candidates?
    A much damaged and reduced SNP will restart the long haul to gradualism? “Gradualism” and referenda will fail, as they have failed.
    (Gradualism? Robert Bannatyne Cunninghame Graham was elected as an MP in 1886 on a ticket that included Home Rule for Scotland. Next up Robert MacIntyre was elected for the SNP in 1945. Then Winnie Ewing in in 1967. How gradual do you want it to be?)
    The door to independence via a majority vote of elected representatives was wide open in 2015. It never happened, as that door was used instead as an entree to easy undemanding jobs as MSPs and MPs. Those representatives preferred to prolong their employment rather than work through secession and its demanding aftermath.
    There have been some suggestions that those in power in the Scottish government over the last nine years have been tools of the UK government with the object of trashing the possibility of our achieving independence. There are also those who say that is fantastic nonsense.
    I do not care which it is, as it is no longer worth arguing over. Either way the outcome now is as good as any UK conspiracy might have dreamed of. (“A difference that makes no difference is no difference.” William James)
    There is a lot of work to do. Possibly a nonpolitical Independence movement?

64. Daisy Walker

http://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/news/scottish-news/indian-council-boss-warned-sturgeon-25603751

Warning letter sent Nov 2016 – no reply. Informed Nikla that banks in India were having serious repayment issues with Gupta and refusing to work with them anymore….

65. Daisy Walker

w.telegraph.co.uk/business/2021/04/17/scotlands-finance-minister-accepted-600-rugby-ticket-industrial/

Wee Katie back in 2021…

66. Astonished

Sadly, a great cartoon.

Garavelli and Beauvais. Well said.

James Jones – Just stop with the unionist pish. Our media badly let Scots down (repeatedly) by never reporting the Salmond defence, never reporting the Sturrell’s misdeeds and always kowtowing to our imperial masters. They always take the yoon shilling.

Hell mend them.

P.S. COPFS simply cannot let this one go.

67. Ottomanboi

FRANK GILLOUGLEY 1.02 pm

Mike Russell. «I don’t think, period»

Playing Snakes&Ladders with a nation’s destiny.

Intellectually bankrupt.

68. Daisy Walker

Question, Lawyers are not cheap.

At what point will those NEC members of the SNP realise,

1/ there’s no money in the kitty to pay for one, and

2/ they can be held liable for the repayment.

And as leader of the party, is Humza defacto a member of the NEC and does that role carry the same finacial liabilities?

Hmm, I’m going to hazard a guess and say that if it does, that part of the Party Rules is hastily being re-written.

I wonder if we are about to see rather a lot of NEC resignations.

69. Stephen O'Brien

Would SNP declaring bankruptcy and going tits-up, be their most noble act? Some legacy… The self-preservation society, calling it quits!

70. wull

For Michael Russell: if ‘we’ need to construct a new Yes movement, it must be because somebody destroyed the old one. And if ‘YOU’ destroyed the old one, that makes it impossible for ‘YOU’ to construct the new one.

It doesn’t matter whether the ‘YOU’ in that last sentence is the SNP, the Murrells, or all those (like Michael Russell) who sailed their (now overturned) ship for them.

Come on, Michael, admit it: the YES MOVEMENT was always far wider than the SNP. But the SNP exploited that movement, pretended it equated only with themselves (which it never did), and even set about quite deliberately torpedoing those members of it which were not in the SNP or which the SNP sought to destroy.

Not everyone gets on with everyone, in whatever walk of life, especially in politics. That the likes of you, Michael, may never have personally liked Alex Salmond is understandable. But that you, or your likes, colluded in bringing about his personal and political destruction is not.

The SNP under Sturgeon did NOT WANT a wide independence movement: it only used independence for its own selfish ends. No one political party can ever again claim to be ‘the independence movement’ as such. That the SNP over recent years tried to do so is undeniable.

And that Michael Russell was fully paid up to that plan, and fully involved in imposing it, is equally undeniable. Face up to it, Michael. Take responsibility for what you were part of. If you want to take a different tack now, at least admit how terribly mistaken you have been over these past few years. Before you start talking about creating a new Yes movement look square in the face at the part you played in the destruction of the old one. Are you not even going to say you are sorry?

No one Party can ever again claim to be the independence movement. Even if it were possible, which it isn’t, it would be extremely unhealthy. No genuine independence supporter wants to see a future free Scotland turned into an unfree ‘one-party state’. The people of Scotland do not want, and must thoroughly reject the ‘Government by Diktat’ that the Nu-SNP, of which you were fully part, Michael Russell, tried to inflict on them.

Anyone who has ever lived in a ‘one-party state’ knows that it is neither pleasant nor desirable, nor in any way democratic.

Having seen the antics of the Nicked-by-Nicola Nu-SNP over the past 8 years, aided and abetted by people like Michael Russell and Humza and the whole gang of them, we have already had more than enough of undemocratic ‘one-party-ism’. It is going to become increasingly clear in the next few months that the vast majority of the Scottish populace wants nothing to do with that Nu-SNP’s perverse ideological assumptions, or with the thoroughly irrational and untenable policies that arose from them, or with the extraordinary degree of personal and political corruption with which it was tainted, and which indeed filled it.

Very sorry, Michael, but anyone who is tarred with that particular brush needs to be kept very far away from the new and ever wider independence movement that will now emerge. Keep your hands off it, please.

This resurgence of the Yes movement will do so in continuity with the original one that you and your NU-SNP deliberately set about dismantling. It will have to be, and will become a stronger and wider movement yet, more comprehensive than it has ever been.

It will have to be built NOT on the devolutionist or evolutionist (i.e. gradualist) sand of the pretendy Holyrood parliament of old, which has only proved its uselessness, and the entrapment for which it was set up. Instead, it will have to be built on a firm foundation of clearly articulated constitutional principles, which will enshrine and uphold the rights of all Scottish citizens.

We need independence-supporting Scots to come together from across the whole political spectrum, in order to create a free and democratic Scotland. ‘One-partyism’ is dead! The new push for independence will be a cross-party movement. It will also be made up of a vast number of independent-minded people who value their freedom so much, and in such a way, they would never agree to become the lackeys of any one party. The Nu-SNP was taken over by lackeys. If anyone should know that it should be you, Michael Russell, because you became one of them. A Murrellite lackey. There is no point in bleating about it now that it is all unravelling. Too late, my friend, far too late!

One important lesson we can all learn from the subsequent debacle is this: Lackeys are not freedom-fighters. No matter what their self-image is. You can’t depend on them. Their lackey-ism will only destroy your movement.

71. Alf Baird

Frank Gillougley @ 1:02 pm

“Mike Russell – “I don’t think independence can be secured right now”

He’s been saying that his entire political career and is now ‘retired’ on a colonial pension like numerous others among the SNP hierarchy. Postcolonial theory tells us that a national party elite often end up running a colonial administration which protects the colonizer’s interest, an act which serves to delay independence (and worse), but this can only deceive the people and the independence movement for a while….

https://salvo-cor.s3.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/THEORETICAL+CASE+FOR+SCOTTISH+INDEPENDENCE.pdf

72. twathater

Great cartoon Chris , what would make it even better would be her surrounded by establishment SHARKS sensing blood in the water, whilst Peter with his abundance of floating muscle !!! swims away thinking he is safe

73. Debatable Lands

Reply to Astonished

It’s not any Yoon shilling. The Scottish media are owned by the SNP via the public money used for promoting government initiatives. Say something bad or stray onto territory they want ignored and your main revenue stream dries up and your reporters lose access.

Blaming Westminster or dark Unionist conspiracies is playing the SNPs game of blaming ‘others’. This mess is wholly home grown and by the nationalist community to boot. The movement created a space for opportunists and chancers whilst everyone turned a blind eye because they were part of a bigger goal.

74. Republicofscotland

Robin McAlpines latest article.

https://robinmcalpine.org/much-needs-fixed-but-it-can-be-fixed/

75. ABruce

Sr016509310gB, I think.

76. twathater

Really your twatter competition how about Jr016509310gB or Tr016509310gB

77. twathater

Re your twatter competition how about Jr016509310gB or Tr016509310gB

78. John Main

@wull says:8 April, 2023 at 2:42 pm

Great post. Thanks.

If we cast our eyes to Europe, we see popular political movements coming from nowhere to power in a very few years.

New people, new energy, new ideas.

It can be done.

79. SusanAHF

Mike Russell says a new independence movement must be set up. A “new” SNP led movement? Like the TRANTIFA AIM? That’s the last thing Scotland needs. Fuck the gender ideologues, just fuck right off. The independence movement already exists and will function better without the SNP and the pervs dipping their oars in.

80. Ian Smith

Has anyone issued a ‘sign of life’ video from Sturgeon since Wednesday?

81. James Barr Gardner

Ony identifyin’ as wumin tae git oan the lifeboats ?………

82. VerminInErmine

Whit’s this shady wee cow looking sae happy fir? She clearly kens a loat we dinnae.

https://uk.news.yahoo.com/nicola-sturgeon-latest-former-first-072700617.html

83. Sapri

The National has a video of Sturgeon, posted about an hour ago. Left hand/ring finger firmly in pocket throughout.

84. Ronnie McNeill

SR016509310YB?

85. Geoff Anderson

Mike Russell has another great plan…we all campaign hard for free and allow the freeloaders to collect a big salary by harvesting Indy Votes….AGAIN.

The first indication that the YES Movement is under SNP control and I walk away.

86. bipod

Nice one Chris. I love the painted on windows on the boat, very appropriate.

87. Cat-Sith

@John Main 12:44pm
    Funny how people can read the same thing in totally different ways.

What you saw as obnoxious and sexist I took to mean women are just as shite at everything as men are and to expect them to be any different just cause of a lack of dangley bits is daft.

Feminist vs Egalitarian view points I suppose.

88. Luigi

So, let me get this right – Mike Russell is more or less saying that there is no point whatsoever in voting SNP? Right? Right? Hello?

89. President Xiden

Luigi says:
    8 April, 2023 at 4:46 pm
    So, let me get this right – Mike Russell is more or less saying that there Is no point in voting SNP, right?

Not at all, vote SNP if you want men in women and girls changing rooms and toilets. A sure fire vote winner.

90. wull

That’s right, Luigi. Freedom for Scotland on the Never-Never, through the medium of the SNNNP (‘Scotland’s Never-Never-Never Party’).

91. Ottomanboi

The English expression «you cannot make a silk purse from a sow’s ear» applies to politics…worldwide.
    Why does this «occupation» attract so many sows?
    Rhetorical question…however, Scotland needs to grow up…FAST.

92. Stoker

Mike Russell being quoted by the BBC again. This time stating he doesn’t think independence can be achieved “right now” due to police investigations and that the party is facing its worst crisis in 50 years.

Take a bow Mr Russell, you and the rest of your incompetent self-serving colleagues are responsible for BOTH those positions. Strange how you seem to have more to say recently than you did throughout several years of Sturgeon’s dictatorship.

You are a comical disgrace who used and abused the indy vote. More fond of a dram and a blether than taking back our right to self-determination. We sent ‘It’s A Knockout’ contestants to a cage fight and we’re now paying the price. We will never forget nor forgive.

Resign you utter shameless failure.

93. jockmcx

I am beginning to feel good again,no sign of independence supporter’s being downhearted,angry …yes…good!

Get angry… YES!

94. John H.

From the Scotsman.

Scottish ministers face transparency calls as documents reveal tycoon Sanjeev Gupta paid just £5 towards Lochaber plant
    Scottish ministers are facing transparency calls after it was revealed a metal tycoon under investigation for fraud paid just £5 towards the acquisition of a Highlands smelting plant – with taxpayers financing the rest of the £330 million deal.

95. SusanAHF

Stoker, all the more reason for the independence movement to be free from single party allegiance. The risk of Alba being infiltrated is high especially if it makes a breakthrough in the polls. They need to be vigilant, and we need to be vigilant, never to put party before country – which is pretty much what has happened with the SNP

96. SusanAHF

Just did that gender role test on Stu’s twitter, I’m “casually masculine” lol masculinity:low, femininity:very low. Ye gads, I’m less than 100%, must be the depression!

97. Garavelli Princip

Cat-Sith (4:31).

Thanks for seeing the point of my post.

No better no worse. Equally awful.

Subtlety in intelligence always elude John Main.

In fact his own post actually makes the point.

Which is why I framed it as an exam question.
    Cat-Sith: Alpha Plus

Mr Main Delta Minus.

98. Garavelli Princip

And, incidentally, only an actual mysoginist would read my open question as ‘mysogeny’

99. Merganser

Cynicus @ 6.47.

Better ask Craig Murray.

100. Dan

@ Cynicus

Link to 20 page PDF from a FOI relating to Gupta. Interesting reading, plenty of redactions too!
    Have tiny’d the URL as it was so long.

https://tinyurl.com/2p8m2ca4

101. Andrew scott

Mrs murrell gives a nonsense interview to medja
    She is going to get on with her job
    What job????.?.?

102. Cynicus

The writer of the headline above Cockie’s article in yesterday’s Torygraph seems to have the idea as Chris:

“The SNP finally seems to be crashing into the rocks – so will Salmond have the last laugh?”

103. Cynicus

Merganser says:
    8 April, 2023 at 7:12 pm
    Cynicus @ 6.47.

Better ask Craig Murray.
    ==========
    You serious? I wouldn’t want to give the Crown an excuse to come for Craig again.

104. Cynicus

Dan @7.17pm

Many thanks for “tinying “that up. Very useful

C.

105. James Che

Excellent cartoon Chris,

Treaty or Colony of Westminster, I have heard say that if you are in a Colony someone else holds you under the laws of the Coloniser. And the laws of your own Country are airbrushed out of existence.

Here are a few examples of how Scots law has been altered by Westminster parliament since 1707.
    In no particular order.

Argriculture ( miscellaneous Provisions) act 1968.

Statue Law repeals act 1976.

Licensing ( Scotland) miscellaneous Financial Provisions act 1955.

Criminal Justice ( Scotland) act 1963.

House letting an Rating suspension (Scotland) act.

Duplicands of duties ( Scotland) act 1920.

Salmon Fisheries ( Scotland ) act 1828.

Secretaries of State act 1926.

Agriculture ( miscellaneous Provisions) 1944.

Forth & Clyde Canal Extinguishment of Rights of Navigation Act 1962.

Mental health ( Scotland) act 1960.

Treason Outlawries ( Scotland) act 1748.

Criminal Law (Scotland) act 1830.

Justiciary Court ( Scotland ) act 1863.

Summary Jurisdiction (Scotland ) act 1908.

Electricity Reorganisation (Scotland) act 1954.

Colonial Stock (Scotland) act.

Agriculture and Fisheries Board, Small croft land acqusitsion Colony ( Scotland) act.

This list os just a small example of (why the people of Scotland ) needs to learn its own history and the history of Westminster parliament treating Scotland as a COLONY.

It has systematically extinguished Scots laws to be replaced with A Colonising mentality and breached the treaty 1707 that it wrote into the treaty itself.

There are many more instances readily found from records.

Scotland does indeed need to grow up and become a adult in this game of Charades .

106. socratesmacsporran

Pardon me for channeling my inner sub-editor, but, when did Uddingston, the place where the Sturrells house has been identified as being located, get absorbed into Glasgow – it’s in South Lanarkshire.

Just another example of the lowering of standards in the Scottish mainstream media.

107. Ottomanboi

Reality check.
    Half Scotland wants to keep the status quo…
    What is to be done about that?
    The semiotics are suggestive of heals well dug in on the side of the status quo.
    Is this the point where «democracy» merely serves the enemy?.
    The enemy being the dull witted conformists within, and their «alien» allies without.

108. Stephen O'Brien

Whether Murrell, arrested, detained, helping with enquiries, in for questioning and fed cups of tea and digestive biscuits? That pathetic argument won’t repair the self inflicted damage to the party. He and Sturgeon have departed the political scene, leaving SNP in complete meltdown.

109. David Hannah

The Holyrood Parliament is a better place without Mike Russell.

He won’t have any role to play at the Independence Convention alongside the Alba Party. And Ash Regan.

He’ll go down with the rest of the criminals in the Sturgeon cabal of charlatans, thieves and crooks.

110. Stephen O'Brien

The only First Minister of Scotland worth trusting, is the one whom delivers independence. Until then, scrutiny of their every action within the devolved parliament, is essential.

111. robertkknight

“as much as there are things I may want to say” says Sturgeon.

https://news.sky.com/story/nicola-sturgeon-will-fully-cooperate-with-police-after-arrest-of-her-husband-12852804

LOL…

Would such “things” include “I don’t recall” or “I can’t remember” or “I’m unsure”?

Asking for a friend.

112. Ian Brotherhood

@robertknight (8.14) –

Most would probably prefer that she exercises her right to remain silent.

113. Ian Brotherhood

Just used the Wings archive button, searched for ‘Gupta’ and the link below was the only result.

Is it just me or did the whole Gupta thing just kind of pass by without much notice being taken?

Did we miss a trick? Or was there just so much else going on that it didn’t seem important by comparison?

(There’s certainly been a lot of attention on Twitter today, largely because of Craig Murray drawing attention to it.)

https://wingsoverscotland.com/a-game-of-two-halves/#comments

114. Zander Tait

The full repertoire of lies by Nikita Stalin and shoot me a beet Pete is known as “The Murrell Collection”:

I DON’T KNOW
    I CAN’T REMEMBER
    I WASN’T THERE
    I’LL HAVE TO LOOK THAT UP

I pity the polis who had to listen to 12 hours of that bollocks.

115. James Jones

7:42 pm James Che:

“Scotland does indeed need to grow up and become an adult in this game of Charades.”

Agreed. Astonishingly the grown ups appear to be in Westminster.

Which of those ‘altered’ old Scottish laws did you think should have been left alone, and why?

116. Lenny Hartley

Ib i sussed out Gupta yesterday after finding the FT article, i looked up about them because Daisy Walker had posted several mentions of them.
    I dont read msn or watch TV so dont know if much has been on there, but a google delivers quite a few mentions of dodgy dealings , i mentioned Gupta to the local rag reporter today at a local rugby game which never took place due to the Ardrossan players not being able to get over due to Cal-Mac being unable to provide a service that is fit for purpose, anyway i digress, he said they were well known in South Africa where he is from for Corruption and bribes.
    The thing is, there were warnings to the Scots government that they were dodgy , the UK Government pulled out of £400 million of Bank Guarantees , the Scots Government didnt,
    Im not saying anything more.

117. Saffron Robe

Another gem, Chris. Just what I was thinking, although she is so delusional and narcissistic she probably continues to self-ID as a victim and not the cause!

118. Dan

@ Ian B

There are a few more hits for Gupta in the btl comments over the years if an advanced search is used.
    Such as K1’s post from 2018.
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/justices-torn-blindfold/#comment-2337553

This short post by Fred in 2018 lists a few things.
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/summer-cleaning/#comment-2383191

Interestingly it looks like the proposed windfarm to be built by SIMEC Group (who are an independent company within GFG Alliance who S. Gupta is Executive Chairman of) was knocked back by Scottish Government Ministers in 2022.
    https://www.wind-watch.org/news/2022/03/09/monadhliath-mountains-wind-farm-refused-consent/

119. Ian Brotherhood

@Lenny Hartley (9.05) –

Craig Murray has been very careful to caution others about the sub-judice stuff. It was interesting during the week, the day after Murrell’s arrest, BBC Drivetime was going to great lengths to explain to the benumbed audience that discussing the whys and wherefores of such police actions is fraught with all sorts of unspeakable dangers and penalties.

But what if folk have no fuckin idea what it’s about, who the Murrells, Liz Lloyds, Lesley Evanses or Guptas are and what they’re alleged to have done or not done? Is genuine ignorance a defence?

You’ll maybe have seen some of the Alba gig at Coatbridge t’other night. Alex Salmond came out with a few crackers, one of which was: ‘Self-identification? Three-quarters of the people don’t understand it and the other quarter doesn’t like it.’

Poor auld Murrells, having to fight on all these fronts. It’d bring a tear tae a glass eye so it would…

🙁

120. sarah

O/T Kenny McBride’s Crowdjustice.com/case/mcbride-vs-sg [see Wings article “Inside the Cult”] is at £9,156. Target is £85,000.

It is another gender critical case going to employment tribunal. Please help if you can.

121. Xaracen

“Which of those ‘altered’ old Scottish laws did you think should have been left alone, and why?

All those that were ‘altered’ by English majority approval despite majority Scottish opposition. In other words, altered by a unilateral English decision.

Why? Because England, not being the Union on its own, hasn’t the authority to take any Union decisions by itself. It doesn’t even have the authority to take decisions for England on its own since 1707, let alone take decisions for Scotland.

122. Ian Brotherhood

@Dan (9.17) –

Thanks for those links. Interesting stuff.

123. Albury

Remarkably happy, brass neck on full show as the centre of attention. No mention of Hubby. But the long suffering neighbours get a mention. Painful to watch. She clearly lives in a parallel universe, keen to get back to the day to day grind of celebrity tele. Book deal to sign. Looks like mr. murrell has outlived his usefulness. But Saint Nic hanging around like a bad odour. No shame.

124. President Xiden

Hopefully someone can correct me if I’m wrong but I understood ‘subjudice’ only kicked in AFTER a suspect had been charged. This ‘live police investigation’ idea is neither here nor there. Could any of our learned friends please advise.

125. Paulk

From the Mail tonight: “Police probing SNP fraud claims have seized a £110,000 luxury motorhome from ex-chief executive Peter Murrell’s mother’s house.

Officers confiscated the state-of-the-art vehicle from outside 92-year-old Margaret Murrell’s home on Wednesday morning – 50 miles from the house in Glasgow where Mr Murrell lives with his wife Nicola Sturgeon.

The police swoop came just minutes after Mr Murrell, 58, was dramatically arrested at his home amid a long-running police probe into £600,000 of ‘missing’ party funds.

126. Paulk

The van has “felt-lined walls for cosiness”, so no slippers needed.

127. Leslie Ross

£110,000? That amount reminds me of something…

128. PhilM

https://www.pinsentmasons.com/out-law/guides/the-sub-judice-rule-and-contempt-of-court
    It turns out the police are correct and ‘neither here nor there’ is incorrect. Not sure why someone would be so categorical and then ask for confirmation from a passing lawyer.
    I’m not a lawyer but I managed to find an authoritative source within 30 seconds by typing in search words which any person can do for themselves.

129. Scotsrenewables

Breaking Bad – Murrell’s Mum’s RV Seized
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~^^~

When reached by a reporter Nicola Sturgeon said “I can’t recall ever seeing the motorhome parked outside my mother in law’s house, and even if I did, I don’t think it’s strange for a woman in her 90s to be off gallivanting around in a massive vehicle that I can’t recall seeing.”

Mike Russell said “I’m shocked. All they gave me was this crappy horsebox. A motor home – now that is true independence”

STV have denied rumours of plans for a Scottish version of Breaking Bad.

130. Bernard de Linton

A Motorhome like this could be affordable on Peters 225k wages? Leaving it sitting for two years ,will create problems withe the mechanics?

131. Ian Smith

It was to be the battlebus for Indyref 2, and would have saved on hotels stays into the bargain.

132. Stephen O'Brien

#Indytruckdavy

We are, where we are. Defending the indefensible, not a good look.

Interviewed under police caution, with charges pending further investigation. Is that not enough to cause grave concern? Especially given the vague reason for each resignation.

Panic stations setting in.

Grasping at straws, attempting to underplay the situation.

Your ALBA, 20 year theory is flawed, due to the climate for change and SNP consistent failure. Popularity for independence far greater now, than decades ago.

Ironically, SNP’s downward spiral, leaves the door wide open for ALBA to fill that vacancy. Especially, given the absence of any strategy from SNP.

Politicians will soon start bailing, a snowball effect.

ALBA will have many candidates on standby, including rebels from SNP. A coordinated coup, could be weeks away. A major boost for the fight for independence.

The wasted years, confirming the need for change.

Your loyalty to SNP has become dated. Years of effort, with no return, should cause concern. Instead, army instict, tells you to dig in. Lack of plan B has literally made SNP redundant. Any financial shenanigans, merely incidental to their downfall.

Purely by default, ALBA will come to the fore.

133. Paulk

“Anyone that doesn’t want a proven winner on their side, particularly in politics, I think that would be a little bit daft. Peter has done more for our party and our movement than just about anybody else… Peter Murrell is an election winner.”

134. Big Jock

I wonder how many folk have removed their SNP badges from their cars? I don’t think even the most loyal members will be brave enough to keep them on.

The remaining members definitely seem to be on the lunatic fringe. I judge this from their comments on Twitter. They are not the beliefs of sane individuals.

Apparently everything that’s happened is a conspiracy between Wings, the police and Alba.

They forget Alba only exist because Nicola lied to us. Because she is a failure married to a crook. The SNP were stolen from the people by two of the most obnoxious people ever to enter politics.

135. Big Jock

Apparently the motor home was purchased 2 years ago. Neighbours say it has never been moved. People who wish to disguise the source of money,often buy cars or other expensive items.

This just gets weirder everyday.

136. Brian Doonthetoon

ALBA was set up in February 2021. NOT by Alex Salmond.

He was subsequently asked to be leader, which he was by the time of the media launch in March, 2021.

Just ask Google…

See “Founding” at this link…

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alba_Party

137. Paulk

Murrell should rock up for his next interview with a huge fur coat and shitloads of hip-hop bling. Maybe even a cigar.

138. Maureen

the sleek vehicle is an ‘iSmove’, made by brand Niesmann + Bischoff, whose catchphrase is: ‘Breaking all the rules.’

That’s a catchy phrase for a campervan. Wonder if that was a deal-breaker

139. Angus Files

Express has David Henry telling Murrell to come clean in 2020

Sturgeon’s husband Peter Murrell was handed ‘transparency’ plan to ‘come clean’ in 2020
    EXCLUSIVE: A former Scottish National Party staffer sent a warning email to his then-Chief Executive Officer calling for action “before the membership turns on the party”.

140. Angus Files

Express

Sturgeon’s husband Peter Murrell was handed ‘transparency’ plan to ‘come clean’ in 2020
    EXCLUSIVE: A former Scottish National Party staffer sent a warning email to his then-Chief Executive Officer calling for action “before the membership turns on the party”.

141. Saffron Robe

“Police probing SNP fraud claims have seized a £110,000 luxury motorhome from ex-chief executive Peter Murrell’s mother’s house.”

They are now following significant leads to locate the other five!

142. Ian Murray

So a great chance for Humza. sadly he chooses Scottish lap dog at the Coronation of the King of England.

Going to court on the section 35 even though he said he wouldn’t based upon legal advice.

143. Al-Stuart

Thanks to some interesting points by Daisy Walker and then Stephen O’Brien in this BTL segment about the NuSNP being placed into insolvency, here is a piece of lateral thought…

1). It is a proven fact that over the past decade, this Wings website, led by Stuart Campbell and supported by readers who value quality journalism created by hard work and honourable causes has raised well over a million pounds.

2). Wee Blinkey in Chris Cairn’s cartoon is getting her karma for trying to stitch-up her friend and mentor, Alex Salmond.

Nicola Sturgeon is sinking fast BECAUSE of a LOT of forensic accounting analysis by Stuart Campbell. Well done Stuart. You also seem to have put a spring in Alex Salmond’s step.

Just watching and listening to Alex Salmond’s speeches and NOT ONE MSP has 5% of the Statesmanship of Alex.

3). An updated review of the SNP accounts may identify creditors. For example the loan from Chris Weir might not have been fully repaid. The auditors have resigned, so there is a high probability the bank to the SNP overdraft will send in their accountants in to assess the asset and their bank exposure to SNP default.

For those who know about these things, a STATUTORY DEMAND NAMING THE NuSNP is already being discussed by creditors.

Here’s my point: It is entirely possible to buy the debt of the SNP, subject to Electoral Commission assents etc.

What would happen if Wings plus Alba (and a number of High-Net-Worths top-up the new membership subs), ALL BOUGHT the SNP debts off of the SNP creditors?

Over three decades, our business has been to rescue failing companies and preserve jobs of businesses out of the hands of the Official Receiver by clearing the debts and bringing the badly run companies back to viability. Hundreds of jobs have been saved that way (on a non political basis). Surely there is a way to clean up this Scottish Political mess?

After Daisy and Stephen’s comment, it occurred to me that (subject to navigating electoral rules), 2023 may be the year for Wings and Alba plus those who genuinely care about Scotland’s future, to buy the dubious debt of NuSNP, then send our auditors in. Restructure Woke-Captured-Troughers-SNP into a new, cleaned-up organisation renamed, for example…

“Alba-SNP 2023”

Then with new, clean, transparent management, we sack the old-woke miscreants and dodgy elected (or co-opted) hangers-on.

Once the detritus is given the bums rush oot the door, the fresh “Alba-SNP” looks to reinstate a true statesman (framed by the utterly discredited Wee Blinkey & Beardy Murrell cabal).

That statesman, being First Minister Alex Salmond.

Stranger things have happened. If you look at Israel, they’ve had similar. Several countries have.

Neither Douglas Ross, nor Anas Sarwar have the long list of achievements that Alex Salmond secured.

When Alex Salmond was elected First Minister in 2007, I voted for him every subsequent election because Alex put the Scottish economy and Scotland first. Very cleverly, Alex ran Scotland well.

It was that approach that brought many new members into the SNP.

Just a thought.

lot of the Karma of that odious Sturgeon woman whimpering that she and Beardy indoors are distressed at this when her paw pr

Ref: https://wingsoverscotland.com/that-sinking-feeling/#comment-2751686

144. twathater

@ big jock who said “The remaining members definitely seem to be on the lunatic fringe. I judge this from their comments on Twitter. They are not the beliefs of sane individuals.

I was at a warehouse the other day and one of the guys there who is a unionist and who knows I am indy daft because I have been trying to convert him for years brought up the murrell topic and I said I hope they jail both the bastards for what they have done to Scotland and independence,

Another guy standing nearby said they were trying their best and it was only that it was taking longer than expected that sturgeon was losing support , I told him he didn’t know what he was talking about in Glasweegin terms and if he wanted to know the truth he should read WOS , he responded that he didn’t need to read WOS as he was a political blogger I asked him what blog he wrote for but he wouldn’t tell me , I responded with more Glasweegin and left it at that , BUT that shows the entire STUPIDITY that is widespread currently in the electorate and there is very poor signs that it is going to improve

145. Graeme George

”I responded with more Glasweegin and left it at that , BUT that shows the entire STUPIDITY that is widespread currently in the electorate and there is very poor signs that it is going to improve”

I don’t think it’s just stupidity,
    There’s a saying ”it’s easier to fool someone than convince them they’ve been fooled” I was fooled by Sturgeon for far longer than I like to admit and I would guess many others were as well sadly some still are

146. Breeks

Al-Stuart says:
    9 April, 2023 at 4:16 am
    Thanks to some interesting points by Daisy Walker and then Stephen O’Brien in this BTL segment about the NuSNP being placed into insolvency, here is a piece of lateral thought…

Mibees aye, Mibees naw… But if the motor home was seized due to sequestration process, I’m 99% sure it wouldn’t be the Police seizing it, and the Sheriff Officers wouldn’t take the vehicle away unless it was a repossession that hadn’t been paid for, (to be returned to the seller). When seized, it becomes an offence to remove goods from the site, and the stuff would stay put and be auctioned off online… I think. (In a sequestration, the owner would get first refusal to “buy” it back).

I could be proved wrong, but I don’t think what we’re seeing is evidence of insolvency or sequestration. It’s something else, like seizing stuff as the proceeds of crime, or something purchased with misappropriated funds if you follow me… Police do criminal stuff, Sheriff Officers tend to do the civil stuff… Police are sometimes there, but only if there’s an expectation of bother or likelihood of assault. But don’t quote me on that.

147. Geoff Anderson

Oswald knew…..the effort to hide it proves that

https://archive.ph/hDq4X

148. Geoff Anderson

Land ownership

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/

149. Robert Louis

Like many on here, I was in the SNP, when Mr Salmond was in charge, and then latterly cheered at the hydro on the big day when Sturgeon took over. I thought that with the massive upswing in SNP support post indyref, proving the desire was still there, it would be just a year before another attempt would be made for independence.

But, the history books showed that nothing of the kind happened. No effort whatsoever was made to push for independence, none. Even when the SNP won every single Scottish MP seat, except one, at the next election, still Nicola did not play the massive hand. All of England fully expected her and the SNP to march into London and state that the people of Scotland had spoken, and we wanted an end to the union. London was quite literally feart. I remember political interviews at that time, and it was clear, that England did not know what to expect. By pushing her hand at that time, she would have forced a massive transfer of new powers to Scotland under the Smith commission, AT THE VERY LEAST but she didn’t play the hand. She quite literally di NOTHING.

Then following multiple other electoral vistories she still did not even try to advance Scotland’s powers and rights. The ultimate failure was brexit.

On the day when England left the EU, she should have stood up and said the people of Scotland voted to stay in the EU, and that is exactly what we shall do. Of course it would be difficult, but it would have caused a ‘consitutional crisis’, as they are called. All of Europe and the world would be made fully aware that England was literally forcing Scotland to leave the EU.

It was like she just did not ever realise how strong a hand she had. London would have been so embarressed, on the world’s stage. They had a failing government in chaos, and Scotland digging in its heels would have been the final straw. It may even have prevented brexit really happening. But, as we all know, Nicola Sturgeon, with an overwhelming democratic mandate to keep Scotlandf in the EU, merely capitulated, with barely a whimper. ‘let’s just see how it goes’, was the stupid mantra. Stupid, stupid, stupid. Utterly pathetic.

As we all know, despite Scotland voting in every single electoral constituency to stay in the EU, with for example Edinburgh voting over 75% to stay in the EU, Scotland was forcibly removed from the EU and single market by England. Scots, wholly against their clear democratic wishes were forcibly stripped of their EU citizenship. Nicola and her SNP sycophants did NOTHING, except whimper and whine.

I will always be as furious at the SNP, as well as the English colonial barstewards, for brexit. Scotland is supposedly in a voluntary union, so England had no right whatsoever to forcibly remove Scotland from the EU.

I will never stop being angry at both England and the SNP for that. Absolute hatred and fury at both.

And now we see the demise of the SNP. All the good people have left for Alba. All that is left are the dregs, the careerists, the ‘colin Campbells’ you might say. They are like political leeches, clining on to ANY party in power, for personal gain. If it were Labour in power, then they would be there instead.

And how utterly pathetic it is, watching as Scotland is literally trashed by idiotic ‘green’ policies, forced on the SNP by the lunatic fringe greens. A party made up of a coterie of political no-hopers, who have not even graduated beyond student level politics. Not one of the green folk in the cabinet has ever won a constiuency seat. And so we see their policies enacted, with millions spent on cycle lanes in places like Edinburgh, whilst the council cuts (this year) the budget for social care, and other essential services.

What a mess. What a shambles. My vote next time around will be for Alba, a party with an actual leader, who really does want independence. A man who almost against the odds got us independence in 2014. A man who stood up to London. A man of real integrity. A man who was falsely set up by a wicked, vicious, out of control coven of political conspirators, in the most shocking manner.

The SNP are done. Humza useless as their so-called ‘leader’ is living proof. What a sham. What a joke.

My vote will be for the future of Scotland free of English colonial rule. My vote will be for the Alba party and Alex Salmond.

https://www.albaparty.org/

150. Robert Hughes

” STAND BY YOU MAN ” ? . Naw , D.I.V.O.R.C.E

I’m willing to bet they’ll never be seen together in public again . Except maybe – hopefully – side by side in the dock .

The record collection division will have been done by now : all the Shirley Bassey , Dusty Springfield n Barbara Streisand albums Petey’s . The Elton John , Dire Straits , Chris De Burgh ( n Runrig ..eg..never played * gifts * from Wishart ) Nikki’s .

Looking forward to seeing how The Sturge will attempt to blame her current predicament on one – or most likely all – the 4 Donkeys of the Progocalypse eg

* Racism * * Misogyny * * Transphobia * * Homophobia *

Because we know 100% NOTHING is ever the fault of The Immaculate Deception

If her dreams of being a playa in Global Prog Inc are disappearing over the hill ( in a top-of-the-range motorhome , for example ) my local GP Surgery is looking for a Receptionist

Perfect job for her , proximity to Power without all that annoying Responsibility malarkey ; and just think of all the opportunities she’d have to tell WHITE ! Male , Heterosexuals … ” Dr’s really busy , no , you can’t make an appointment , call back in 6 months ” .

Sticking it to The Man . Go girl

151. Geoff Anderson

Apparently the “Murrell Motorhome” was registered to a 92 year old Woman. This size of vehicle would require such an elderly owner to have passed a stringent medical to drive.
    I wonder if anyone else was on the vehicle Insurance?

When you hide things people start to get suspicious……

Interesting watching Sturgeon moan yesterday…..dozens if not hundreds of Woman spent months under Police investigation due to malicious complaints from the TransCult. It became known as “The punishment is the Process”. Sturgeon said nothing and did nothing to reign in her Cult.

This is Karma for that alone!

152. akenaton

On Sturgeon, I’m afraid it was the old story of power madness combined with an inbuilt bias towards extreme left wing social policies, heavily influenced by input from the lunatics of the Green Party.
    Finally it was all about retention of power at any cost, Not about fringe issues like Independence which would have brought her down eventually by way of the electoral system.

People like Sturgeon always end up believing their own propaganda and developing an invincibility shield, which can be difficult to break down…..she would still be ruling the roost had it not been for the efforts of Mr Campbell who after this affair is concluded should be suitably appreciated in political circles.

In conclusion, power almost always corrupts, just as unreasoned and unthinking support for any political ideology, even Independence, does.

Mrs Murrell should be an object lesson to us all.

153. Big Jock

Laundering money typically consists of three steps: placement, layering, and integration. Placement sneakily introduces “dirty money” into the legitimate financial system. Through a series of transactions and bookkeeping tricks, layering conceals the source of the money. The now-laundered money is withdrawn from the legitimate account in the final step, integration, to be used for whatever purposes the criminals have in mind for it.

154. Graeme George

I don’t believe Sturgeon is to blame for everything that’s wrong with Scotland,
    I think she just took advantage of a Judiciary and Police service already mired in corruption and cronyism long before she came to power not to mention a foreign Civil Service.
    You only have to look at the Luke Mitchell case recently highlighted on TASP to see just how corrupt the Police & Judiciary are in this country.
    We need to clean this mess up from top to bottom because quite frankly these institutions & people running them are making us look like a tin pot banana republic we don’t even look like a nation capable of running it’s own affairs it’s fucking embarrassing

155. akenaton

For the future, I was a great supporter of Salmond, e ven through the phoney trial, as his inspirational qualities transcended any personal flaws….and he had a few, like most people.
    Times have changed and the Salmond of today is not the confident hearty chap of twenty years ago.
    Like it or not, Mr Salmond has been badly damaged by the media and in the minds of many of Scotland’s women who are a “new breed” not yet fully understood in political circles…..intent upon flexing their muscles, not always sensibly or in their own interests.

Alex has become one of the old farts, and no longer the type of leader required for the twenty first century. We need energy and life to drive our country forward, as the leftists and sexual deviants have drained us dry I have studied politics for many years from all perspectives and can usually divine when someone has inspirational and leadership qualities; that person is waiting in the wings to become a real power in Scottish politics, Kate Forbes.

156. Mac

Has Sturgeon denied knowing about the motorhome yet?

Peter Murrell is pretty flush isn’t he. 110k on a motor home, and 107k as ‘loan’ to the SNP.

Getting on for a quarter of a million pounds there just in loose change it seems.

I guess if you had something to stash buying a motor home and parking it round your mum’s might seem like a foolproof plan. Or maybe it is a mobile meth lab and Peter has gone Breaking Bad on us.

I said a while ago that Peter Murrell is the weak link but this is surpassing my expectations.

Surely to fuck someone hasn’t been stupid enough to get caught with his hands in the cookie jar, kickbacks I think they call them… but then I remind myself that Peter Murrell himself did not hold any real power in government and so why would anyone kickback anything to him… unless of course he was acting more as a middle man and ‘bag-man’.

It has always been a curiosity to me how relaxed Murrell was raising the 666k under blatantly false pretences and then just spending it. Totally brazen attitude which may have extended into other areas it seems. Guy seems to have believed he was a made-man, untouchable. Overconfidence may have resulted and that usually ends badly somehow.

They may actually be looking for money (a kickback) in which case the money laundering thing may well have some validity as you can’t deposit it in a bank obviously, you have to launder it.

Wow this is mental…

157. Big Jock

Graeme. I don’t think the SNP brand can ever be salvaged. It needs to die. The good people need a new party, completely separate from the SNP. They have lost the trust of Scotland. Once that’s gone , it’s incredibly difficult to restore.

A bit like a cheating husband. Once the damage is done, his every move is interrogated by his wife. Indeed only circumstances may prevent his wife from walking out the door. Same for the SNP members. They need somewhere else to go.

158. Mac

If Murrell paid cash for the motorhome that would be it for me.

Also Id’ like to know if he lent the SNP the 107k in cash or did that come from a bank account?

If either of those were in cash it is game over.

159. Stephen O'Brien

The media circus has done the Scottish electorate, the greatest of services.

You may come to recognise that fact in the coming months.

SNP monopoly of the issue of independence is coming to an end. Their stranglehold of the electorate is over.

The sooner ALBA comes to the fore, long overdue. That advance is immanent and irreversible.

Bad news for SNP but not for the independence movement.

SNP could disappear up its own arse, if not careful.

Hooray for caravans and circuses!

160. Luigi

Some say we should be at 60% YES by now. Naww, folks, we should be independent by now. Can you imagine if Alex Salmond had been in charge when the Brexit result came through? What an opportunity.

161. Big Jock

Mac. He bought the van and never used it. Its not like an investment. That in itself indicates he needed to burn some cash. It makes no sense to buy a campervan and never move it.

162. Lynn

Now let’s look closer at those who chaired the meetings . If K Oswald was in the know it’s time her voting public got to know the details .
    Time for a spotlight on those hiding in the shadows .

163. Graeme George

Big Jock says:
    9 April, 2023 at 9:10 am

”Graeme. I don’t think the SNP brand can ever be salvaged. It needs to die. The good people need a new party, completely separate from the SNP. They have lost the trust of Scotland. Once that’s gone , it’s incredibly difficult to restore.”

I agree 100% Jock, I’m not a Sturgeon apologist believe me I just think there’s a lot more wrong with this country than her

164. Ian Smith

For a family that have had 200K+ income for a decade, no kids, regularly invited out on both public and private accounts, and the most generous expenses scheme on the planet hardly ever requiring themselves to put their own hand in their pocket, having £110K for a motorhome, and £107K for a loan would be chicken feed.

165. Stephen O'Brien

I wonder what made Murrell believe he’s untouchable? Perhaps he is!

Any entanglement of Whitehall beaks, would explain this farce.

As with all farces, the outcome is unpredictable, to the viewer. Is this spiral of events having any unintended consequences? Could ALBA be unforeseen spoke in the wheels of the establishment?

I doubt it. A clean slate would be unique.

The Scottish electorate is heading down another path. SNP having outlived their usefulness, the British state, already preparing for the next instalment.

166. Mac

If you were an unsophisticated criminal, say a crooked councillor guilty of steering a planning decision the way of a developer for example, and you received a large bung for it, then dealing with the bung can be a real problem.

One solution might be an offshore bank account in a secretive jurisdiction. But of course sooner or later you will want to spend the money somehow. So this is not problem solved but more a problem postponed.

If an offshore account is not used you also have the physical problem of cash storage. Maybe a safe deposit box or just stick it in the attic. Pablo Escobar had so much cash he resorted to burying it.

People then launder it bit by bit, chipping away at it, by using it to pay all their regular expenses in cash, but also they will buy a new kitchen, a car, build that extension and pay everything in cash. Which works unless for some reason you come under any kind of scrutiny.

If you had a cash business (getting rarer now) you could also start putting the cash through it. You will pay taxes though getting it out but it then is laundered.

It is a real problem now laundering a large cash lump as the banks are all over it with the money laundering rules. The source of anything significant has to be explained.

So if the cops were searching for a stash that might explain a lot of what we are seeing.

I keep coming back to weird phrasing Sturgeon used when denying knowledge of the 107k loan. It was something like ‘that came from his resources’. It seemed a strange thing to say at the time.

Well the plot has certainly thickened.

167. Pat Blake

Robert Louis at 7:25. Whatever you think of Sturgeon, she is party to information about re-joining the EU that you aren’t. Almost certainly entry to the EU would only happen if departure from the UK was legally achieved and acknowledged by the UK Parliament and courts. That’s what the court case was about and the SNP lost. She will have been told that entry to the EU would never happen if Scotland just pulls away, 100% election or no. Entry to the EU would be vetoed by Spain because it won’t give hope to its own seperatists. If departure was legal, then there is a chance because Spain would never recognise breakaway elections and so Scotland wouldn’t set a precedent. However it might think it still too risky. So if you leave the UK it will be on the understanding it might be total independence, not swapping one union for another. I very much doubt that a UK government would endorse a new Scottish independence referendum in under 10 years and maybe not for 20. By which time the UK may be back in the EU or have made a go of being out of it.

The UK party leaders know all this. Neither Labour nor the Tories will give a Scottish leader the chance to break up the union before they reasonably have to.

168. Republicofscotland

Bog Jock @8.49am.

Yes the contest should be rerun, Murrell should not have been within one-hundred miles of that contest whilst helping out in a live police investigation. Also I cannot understand why a live police investigation was paused to allow this contest to conclude.

Then there’s the part GCHQ played in the leadership contest, GCHQ like Murrell should not have had any part in that contest, it all reeks to high heaven none more so than the SNP MPs and MSPs coming out for Yousless, and the aid he received from the SNPs HQ.

If by some chance it is rerun only a win for Ash Regan could save Scotland from this rancid prison like union.

However the SNP brand may now have been fatally damaged Murrell/Sturgeon and their clique have not only seriously damaged Scotland but they have all but killed off the SNP.

169. Ron Clark

Big Jock

With Murrell having total control of the finances, I would say he took a lot more than the £600K indy fund.

I would say he has taken many thousands of pounds more over the period he has been in his position as CEO.

His greed was his downfall.

And Sturgeon’s crave for power was hers.

And did you see the pictures of Sturgeon outside her house yesterday? By fuck she looks rough.

170. 100%Yes

Mike Russell saying that Independence will have to be put on hold, he’s been the problem from the start. Its obvious why Yousaf was elected and called the continuity candidate it was so that the people running the SNP could keep there positions without any reprisals from the new leader.

What ever happen Nicola Sturgeon position as a MSP has to be in doubt and HUmza should be calling now for Mr Murrell to be suspended from the party and he’s not, so why not this is the question I’d expect from the MSM.

Mr Salmond was suspended and was never allowed back in to the SNP, AUOB needs to start marching in Bute house to get rid of Humza continuity candidate before he destroys it all.

171. Ron Clark

I wonder if the Murrells have invested in buying up property to let?

A good way of hiding dodgy money.

172. Republicofscotland

As if there was any doubt whatsoever where Yousless priorities lay.

“Humza Yousaf will NOT attend the AUOB independence rally on May 6 – with a spokesperson confirming he will be at the coronation of King Charles in his capacity as First Minister of Scotland”

The SNP are finished as a party for Scottish independence you know it I know it the dugs in the street know it.

Vote Alba, Join Alba, the sooner we get Alba into office the sooner we dump this fetid union.

173. Alf Baird

Graeme George @ 9:01 am

“we don’t even look like a nation capable of running it’s own affairs”

Well, isn’t that the objective of a colonial power? The compromised national party elite that has taken an independence movement up successive blind alleys is only part of the picture.

At least a people in the process of decolonization have a valid template (i.e. postcolonial theory) to consult:

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2021/07/18/determinants-of-independence-colonialism/

174. Mac

Big Jock,

Say you had a dirty great wad of bung money from somewhere you’d really rather not explain. One thing you might do is buy some expensive second hand cars or other high value items and pay cash for them. You might then have them sit in your garage for a year and then sell them on. Sure you might take a small hit on the deal but when you sell them you deposit the proceeds into your bank and the money becomes legit.

But even things like that become a problem if you do too much of it. Someone might notice it and start asking why there are no visible purchases of these cars…

So you really have to mix it up. Bit here bit there…

But if you are dealing with really big money this is not going to make much of a dent.

It is a real problem and crazy as it sounds burying it Escobar style is not a bad short term solution.

I’d honestly be looking in his Mum’s loft. They may well have already. “Other addresses”.

Well this is fantastic entertainment while it lasts.

175. David

From the Herald,

POLICE Scotland has reportedly seized a high-end campervan as part of their probe into the SNP’s finances.

According to the Mail on Sunday, the Niesmann + Bischoff motorhome – which normally sells for around £110,000 – was taken from outside the Fife home of Mr Murrell’s 92-year-old mother.

176. Ron Clark

Pat Blake 9.50am

Have you heard of EFTA?

That is the more desirable route in the short term.

So calm down with the EU theatrics, as if that is the only game in town.

We can sort all sorts of things out once we are an independent nation.

177. Stephen O'Brien

@ Al-Stuart 4.16

I did, in jest, earlier mention Sevco SNP as a possibility, in relation to the buy out of Rangers FC.

I’d be very interested in your proposition of a buy out by members past and present, in creation of a brand new, confederated Independence party.

I’d prefer Salmond as chief advisor, than First Minister, in this modernisation.

SNP will require major adjustment.
    Change is coming. Individual involvement in that design, would boost morale.

178. Ottomanboi

English media ecstatic.
    UK saved. Scottish dog brought to heel.
    God shave the king!
    His majesty’s britannic farce booked for another season.
    Opportunities do not come finer than this.
    Revolutions have begun with less material.

179. Pat Blake

Ron Clark 10:21. You assume that Spain and/or the EU can’t veto that too but even if they can’t that’s not what is being pushed as the independence option. If Brexit has taught us anything it’s that stabilising the trading future of a country takes time and that having no firm plan for after a vote is somewhat problematic.

180. John Main

Princip writes:

‘mysogeny’

at 6:55, in amongst a post celebrating his own cleverness.

FFS

Here’s the thing though P. Your intelligence, whilst obviously self-evident to you, is much harder to discern for us onlookers.

Maybes even impossible.

I guess you won’t be responding to my original reply, in which I pointed out that your list of 4 so-called failures of female politicians actually contained one who by the standards of her supporters was very far indeed from being a failure.

And by the standards of her sworn opponents and detractors too. Otherwise, her opponents would still not be endlessly banging on about her evil regressive policies to this day.

Anyways, feel free to stay in your comfort zone. Post another reply about how clever you are. Maybes deploy the ‘F’ or ‘T’ words. That’ll do.

181. Merganser

Today’s WORDLE describes the SNP perfectly: SNAFU.

182. John Main

@Robert Louis 7:25

Your “absolute hatred and fury” is affecting your memory of events.

First off, Scotland was not taken out of the EU against her will. I suggest you take the time to remind yourself of the referendum question. The most that can be said about the result is that the UK was taken out of the EU against Scotland’s will.

Maybes you can’t see the difference, or maybes you truly believe there was some ‘magical’ interpretation of the question that meant Scots were voting for Indy in Europe or some such nonsense.

Naw, we weren’t.

Second off, it’s a mere matter of weeks since you were posting on here, almost daily, about how Kate Forbes’ regressive and intolerant personal faith made her unfit for office as FM. Well, you got what you wanted, so suck it up.

You don’t get to join in the dissing of Yousaf. You aided and abetted the campaign to do down his most plausible rival.

183. dasBlimp

Ottomanboi says:
    9 April, 2023 at 10:41 am
    English media ecstatic.
    UK saved. Scottish dog brought to heel.
    God shave the king!
    His majesty’s britannic farce booked for another season.
    Opportunities do not come finer than this.
    Revolutions have begun with less material.

True, but you voted to stay dependent in 2014. You are also right about the ‘English’ media (whatever that is) but there are many English who supprt Scottish independence (but not for the same reason as you.)

184. dasBlimp

John Main says:
    9 April, 2023 at 11:12 am
    @Robert Louis 7:25

Well said that man.

185. Etticus

I see Queen Nicola’s performance yesterday has triggered team Humza. How dare the media question the party! As with everything they expect Queen Nicola to receive sympathy but in reality any sane minded Scot will have seen yesterdays performance and reacted with revulsion at the bare faced lying on display. Far be it from me to suggest they are a troll acting out instructions from new SNP HQ. Throwing out ethnic nationalist diatribes to try and get wings closed down.

Team Humza has no care for Scotland or its people, just an ingrained hatred of those who helped end the barbaric genocidal and frankly medieval regime he celebrates mixed with a serious case of historical ignorance.

Unfortunately for them it looks like they’re going to have to face reality, the new SNP are finished and it’s only going to get worse from here on in. Who knows what other crimes the police have uncovered in their investigations and all it will take is for a bit of pressure to be applied to the right person and the veil of secrecy will fall.

This scandal goes so much deeper than the missing £600k, we’ve got Gupta and various other financial scandals and of course the corporate homicide of thousands of care home residents. Scotland was the only country in the world that deliberately sent covid infected patients into care homes and when the inevitable deaths came Sturgeon lied about it. If justice is truly done Nicola Sturgeon will be lucky to taste freedom again once she is locked up. Bring it on.

186. Andrew Davidson

TOTAL aside.

If you get a suspension on twitter for 12 hours with the option of deleting the post, then delete the bloody post.

I on the other hand, appealed the 12-hour suspension and argued they had taken my tweet out of context but lost the appeal and so they decided that from a 12-hour suspension which would have gone if I’d just deleted the post, it went to a permanent suspension!? Had that account for 14 years, first time I’ve ran afoul of them and boom, and gone just like that.

187. John

https://www.goboony.co.uk/
    “Are you ready to find out what your motorhome could do for you? Check out our earnings calculator to work out how much your motorhome could make in the times that you’re not using it.”

188. Scotsrenewables

Has John Main been replaced by a badly written bot, or was he always this stupid? Asking for a friend.

189. socratesmacsporran

Jings, crivvens, help ma Boab – it looks as if the polis have nicked the getaway caur.

190. Den

Why did the polis confiscate the camper van ? I’d say Murrell or his maw could not show how the money to buy has from a legitimate source(savings other income) either that or this super duper LA lawyer they are hiring is shite.

191. John Main

On 15th May 2022, the Guardian reported that Scottish support for the monarchy was at 45%.

It may have dipped a bit since, fucked if I know, but let’s say it’s still at 35%.

Only a few days since posters on here were hailing the fall of the Sturrells as a great opportunity to rebuild the Indy movement, start afresh, but this time appeal to a broad church, get all Scots enthused and committed for Indy. Nobody to be left out, etc. etc.

Yet here we are today, and the usual suspects are happily back in their comfort zone. The 35% of Scots in favour of the monarchy won’t be needed, won’t be welcome, and can just do one. We will get Indy over the line with only the support of the ideologically pure republicans.

It’s the same with the EU. Over a million Scots voted out, some of us because we really do know what Independence means. In the interim, the EU has continued to decline, and is now heavily embroiled in an existentialist armed conflict. Yet still on here, the posts greeting about the EU continue, and another million Scots are given the idea they won’t be needed for Indy.

Looks to me like the lesson of the past few years just won’t be learned. Oh well.

192. Lenny Hartley

Geoff Anderson Wont be a big motorhome, (at that price for a N&B , they are the luxury brand of Hymer, ) great vans I had one called a Flair but at 20mpg could not afford to run the bloody thing!
    I would think that would be the size of a small to medium van at that price, whether a 92 year old should be allowed to drive anything is another story.
    So we will agree she wasnt driving it, but just putting out there that its not a massive big motorhome.

193. Etticus

Andrew Davidson

I’m not on Twitter anymore but when I was I got banned 3 times with different accounts for sarcasm. Last time I said something about vegans slowly starving themselves to death. It’s easy enough to set up a new account with a different email but after the last time I was bored of it and haven’t bothered going back.

Meanwhile twitter tolerate accounts that promote paedophilia and child sex abuse and all manner of depraved stuff and do nothing about them. Paedophillia ok, sarcasm not so much. S’rew twitter.

194. Colin

Re the Motorhome.

Nothing to see here as clearly was purhased for use in the next referendum campaign to transport the Murrell’s to rallies across the country. Hence still in as new condition.

195. John Main

@Etticus 11:27

I have seen the claim that Covid sufferers were put into care homes before. Do you have a link that corroborates that story?

It certainly seems like dynamite but I would hesitate to repeat it without evidence.

Thanks.

196. Ottomanboi

PAT BLAKE
    There will never be a good time for independence, events move simply too fast for a favourable time scenario.
    Likewise planning for it. Independence is a risk, for most it is a risk worth taking because at least there is some control over internal governance.
    Scotland has no effective control in that area. The powers retained by Westminster are far greater than those granted to Holyrood. The parliaments of Catalunya and Québec have more competencies and compared to the Flemish and Wallon parliaments of Belgium, which have powers to conclude international treaties, it is a county council and that by deliberate design.

197. John Main

@SR 11:30

Sure that’s a friend?

Maybes a feart Scot pandering to your protected privilege as a New Scot.

So difficult to get to the truth of anything these days.

198. Stephen O'Brien

Learning to drive, it’s starting to make sense now. #Campervan

Pity she drove up a one-way street, for so long! #IndyRef2

When will second-hand independence party, go up for sale? #SNP #DebtBuyOut

199. PacMan

@ Mac 10:14 am

The purpose of money laundering is to hide the trace of money gained from illegal activity so that it can’t be proven in a court of law.

If the purchase of the luxury camping van by Murrell was to do this, he is a complete and utter Moron.

tinyurl.com/y6cj4eyx

200. Confused

“caravan … for me ma …”

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/10491377/cops-confiscate-motorhome-peter-murrells-mum-house/

I think that was a line from a film, somewhere.

What if reality was far -stupider- than you could possibly imagine?

Keep wondering what’s at the bottom of all this; that house, and where it is, just “doesn’t look right”, not right at all.

and 600K, that is a stupidly small amount of money to be getting huckled for.

Also, if someone was going to sellout the country, I would hope they would do it for a proper amount, at least 100M.

Other possibilities swirl around … what if Murrell has been taking MASSIVE payoffs from the Guptas, the Pritzkers (tranny billionaire freaky fucking weirdoes), the oil companies, organised crime, the colombians, the lot … and he controls a vast worldwide property empire held under shell companies (facilitated by the city), and his ill made gains are all held in bitcoin, and the bitcoin wallet is worth 100M or so, all simply stored on a micro-SD card, which he secretes up his own wastepipe, and grins that inane grin, like Gollum finally got the ring (and up his ringpiece to boot).

… and the loose thread of the 600K was this – he couldn’t repay it from his stash otherwise it would reveal this network of dodgy accounts.

And/Or maybe he is a kind of Moriarty figure who controls all the crime in Scotland especially in the narco-gangster / footballer/ middle class white collar criminal hub of Bothwell, just up the road.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/10490686/families-living-in-fear-gang-war-erupts-bothwell/

– you can have a bit of respect for that. Maybe. The talented criminal extracts our grudging admiration. But –

“caravan”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySyBMTo-1sc

??? – does he tarmac folks driveways on the side, and do a bit of illegal dog breeding/fighting?

201. Mia

” if departure from the UK was legally achieved and acknowledged by the UK Parliament and courts”

“legally achieved”. Legally achieved according to whom?

This union is the result of an international treaty, therefore this separation can only be “legal” if it is done under the context of international law, not domestic law.

Under this context, you can argue that deliberate frustration of Scotland’s legitimate right to self determinate and to unilaterally terminate the treaty by a domestic English court of dubious legitimacy over Scotland under the treaty of union, by a crown only interested in its own self-preservation, by a UK government which is nothing more than a byproduct of an international treaty which Scotland owns as much as England, and by Scotland’s own representatives who, for the last 300 years have been fabricating every obstacle under the sun to deceive the Scottish people and stop that self-determination, might have been illegal under international law.

They might have been illegal under international law not just because it is a violation of a fundamental principle under international law. It is also because forcing Scotland to remain in this union when clearly a majority of the natives voted against, might be a sign of imposition of absolute rule over Scotland, which constitutes a breach of the Claim of Right and therefore a direct violation of one of the fundamental conditions of the treaty of union.

Of this, the crown, Westminster and our own Scottish representatives are as much to blame as each other. This charade of deception of the Scottish people can only continue if they are all willing participants, which clearly they are.

When the majority of Scotland’s natives voted to end the union but their vote was frustrated by purposely including in the franchise a significant percentage of individuals from outwith Scotland and with allegiance to the colonial power, you cannot credibly claim “Scotland voted to keep the union”, or “Scotland’s voice has been heard”. No, it hasn’t. Scotland’s voice (that of its natives) was gagged by the colonial vote.

When you use a fraudulent wow to artificially get a No vote, you cannot claim “Scotland voted to keep the union”.

When you immediately move the goalposts the day after the vote to revert to a status quo you know had been comprehensibly rejected by Scotland’s natives, so much so that it forced you to issue promises of Devo Max or federalism as the alternative to independence on the days before the vote, you cannot claim “Scotland voted to keep the status quo”. Scotland rejected the status quo which existed before the vote but this status quo is still forced upon Scotland on the back of a vote knowninly achieved with a fraudulent vow.

The UK of GB only exists because of an international bilateral treaty agreed over 300 years ago. Two entities (coerced by a self-serving and self-preserving crown) entered into that voluntary treaty as independent, sovereign states: The kingdoms of Scotland and England.

Coerced they might have been, but after all it was the choice of Scotland’s parliamentary representatives to disgrace themselves by betraying the people of Scotland with their embracing of personal financial and otherwise benefits that came with taking the crown’s side. It was therefore a voluntary affair. Just not voluntary for the people of Scotland.

Just as in 1706, is has been a voluntary affair of our allegedly “anti-union” SNP MPs to legitimise the triggering of Article 50 against Scotland’s will, together with every other assault on Scotland’s democratic rights, Scotland’s economic and demographic interests, and Scotland’s popular sovereignty.

They have done this by willingly participating in the votes, legitimising with their participation the right of this England as UK parliament to claim it can rule over Scotland.

This is not what was or is expected of them. What was and is expected of them is to remove the right of that parliament to continue calling itself and operating as “UK” parliament when it is at all practical effects an England-only parliament.

They could have stopped that legitimacy every day of the last 8 years by temporarily suspending the treaty of union and act of union with England until either brexit, or any legislation toxic to Scotland, was called off, or the union ended. Clearly they have not backbone for such a thing, but at least they could have disrupted procedures every day until Scotland got its way.

Instead, they chose to preserve that union what come may and betray Scotland’s interests for the sake of those of the crown and England.

When a majority of Scotland’s MPs vote AGAINST something in that parliament, you cannot take it as a mutual/union agreement. It is a unilateral decision of the kIngdom of England and the crown, and therefore imposition of absolute rule on Scotland and a violation of the claim of right. Our MPs and life peers in the HoLs have allowed this to happen when they should have stopped it. They are clearly not representing Scotland but themselves at best, or at worse, the interest of a self-serving crown that only sees Scotland as another possesion in its portfolio of properties.

The UK parliament is a byproduct of that treaty. The treaty ends, the legitimacy of Westminster as “UK” parliament ends. Scotland’s real parliament reconvenes and the UK parliament ends. Any of those two entites, the parliaments of the Kingdoms of Scotland and England, can terminate the treaty at any time of their choosing, no matter what an English court, of dubious legitimacy under the treaty of union, claims.

It can be argued that the external pressure and “obligation” of Scotland to remain in this treaty against its will, as exercised by England’s political parties abusing their position of power to stop Scotland’s self-determination, is a direct breach of the Claim of Right, a fundamental condition of the treaty, ergo reason enough to declare the treaty void.

It can also be argued that the determination of Scotland’s own representatives to frustrate the will of the natives to self-determine by continue to include into the voting franchise a sizeable number of migrants imported from the colonial power with no allegiance, nor intention to ever have allegiance to Scotland, is also a violation of the Claim of Right.

Scotland’s natives in 2014 voted yes. Scotland is forced to remain in this union by voters coming from the colonial power. If this is not a direct assault on the right of Scotland’s self-determination what is.

If the treaty ends, then Westminster loses its legitimacy to continue acting as “UK” parliament in the same way the “UK” government loses its legitimacy to continue ruling over Scotland. The same happens to the English court otherwise known as “supreme court”, if under the treaty of union this entity ever had that legitimacy in the first place. If the legitimacy of those institutions to act on behalf of Scotland ends, then they are in no position to establish if the independence of Scotland has been achieved “legally” or not. That is for an international court to establish.

Let’s be clear. The only reason why any “UK” entity, and that includes the English court otherwise known as “Supreme” court continues to exercise legitimacy over Scotland on the back of that treaty is becasue it is convenient to our political class, namely our MPs and life peers, to continue ignoring the breaches of the treaty and our claim of right and instead keep handing over to England and the crown legitimacy to rule Scotland. But this does not mean we, the voters, simply have to accept their betrayal as gospel.

The fastest legal route to Scotland’s independence is and has always been the unilateral revoking of the Treaty of Union and the Act of Union with England. This can be done unilaterally by Scotland in its own parliament. For as long as it continues to operate under the straight jacket of the Scotland Act, Holyrood is not Scotland’s parliament, it is an appendage of Westminster. It is England’s parliament in Scotland. Scotland’s parliament is represented by Scotland’s MPs and what is left of Scotland’s life peers in the House of Lords and it is these who continue to preserve the union against the will of the majority of Scotland’s natives who voted in 2014.

Why on earth this international law route has not been pursued in the last 8, almost 9 years when we have had absolute majorities of, what we thought, were anti-union MPs, is beyond me. There is only three explanations:

1. The SNP since Sturgeon and now under Yousaf never had the intention to pursue independence, or/and

2. There is no appetite to revoke the treaty of union and act of union with England becasue that would not automatically grant the Kingdom of England the title of UK continuator state.

3. The crown continues to put pressure in the preservation of this union for pure self-interest and self-preservation, just as it did in 1706 and, unsuccessfully, before that.

In line with international law, there are three possible exits from that treaty:

1. a breach of the fundamental principles of the treaty – this has happened repeatedly over the last 300 years. Point 3 would be a direct violation of Scotland’s Claim of Rigth which the king swore allegiance to.

2. A material change in circumstances – this has happened repeatedly over the last 300 years

3. Mutual agreement between the two parties.

YOu don’t need the three of them to happen simultaneoulsy. Just need one.

The political fraud Sturgeon was spoled for choice. A material change in circumstances happened already on the 18 September 2014, the day the majority of the natives voted to end the union. Another change in circumstances happened on the 19 September, the day EVEL was announced and when it become obvious the “vow” was a fraudulent political offer the colonial political parties never had any intention to deliver. Another material change in circumstances happened on the 8th May 2015, the day Scotland sent 56 anti-union MPs to Westmisnter. Then we have brexit. Then we have the attempt for the crown to put in law English convention of parliamentary sovereignty to frustrate Scotland’s popular sovereignty. But she chose not to pursue it because she was never interested in independence. All what she was interested in was to fabricate obstacles to stop independence.

But she did not do this alone. MSPs and MPs indulged this political fraud in her anti-independence stance instead of challenging her at every possible move. Just like they indulged her, the corrupt executive and NEC of the party in the present finances fiasco or the farce that was the last leadership contest, instead of rebelling in masse, lance the boil, expose the whole thing and demanding it to be put right when suspicions first emerged. The situation of the party today is therefore the result of the MPs and MSPs indulgence to politcal frauds, their inaction and blind eye attitude to all what has been happening.

So, quite frankly, may the lot of them and their faux claims of legality when they have been allowing continuous breaches of Scotland’s right to self determination and Claim of Right for the last 8 years, rot in hell. We should not be wasting any more of our time talking about how to restore the SNP our own SnP MPs and MSPs enthusiastically helped to destroy and sink or, at least, chose to not stop to sink. We should talk about how to finally bury its dead carcass, which is now an albatross around the independence movement’s neck, so the independence movement can finally move forward and recover the ground the political frauds within Sturgeon’s SNP and their indulgent MPs and MSPs made us lose.

202. PacMan

I see that there is more controversy concerning trans TikTok star Dylan Mulvaney being involved in promoting woman’s bra’s for Nike.

Those that support this say this is a generational decision as the company is aiming this towards the younger generation who are more accepting of Transgender people.

There is truth in that but how long is this acceptance going to continue particularly as it is mostly driven by TikTok and other social media where trends come and go? Trans may be the big thing now but for how long?

The other thing is that we constantly hear the evil’s of political populism in the MSM. You could also say that the usage of social media influencers are also pandering to populism.

These private sector companies who use Trans influencers and push ‘woke’ agendas are riding the wave of current populism. What is popular today might not be so popular tomorrow.

It’ll be interesting to see how much Trans and other ‘woke’ issues are really that popular with the young generation in even a year or two’s time?

203. Etticus

@john main

It’s been covered in the media and someone posted a link to an article about it btl another recent wings post.

Patients with symptoms were put in care homes without a test being done. Patients who tested positive were put in anyway. Staff who tested positive were expects to finish their shift instead of go home.

I remember at the time Sturgeon claimed in a press conference that they didn’t know covid could spread between people, this was at the same time they were telling all of us to lock ourselves in our homes.

This can’t be anything other than corporate homicide, I expect that once the UK gov inquiry gets laid into sturgeon that criminal charges will follow. She has no defence and she contradicted herself and lied constantly on her press conferences which will all have been recorded. She’s done.

204. barelybare

Could a motorhome have furnishings and fittings and be used as an office? Are there any on-board computers?

Still wondering if we will ever find out how the SNP splurged £386K on furniture and £230K on computer equipment in 2020.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/homework-exercise/#more-130459

205. Pat Blake

Ottomanboi, what internal governance is it that you want? Easier gender recognition? More borrowing? higher taxation? Are you sure that what you want will a) happen under the future Scottish Government or b) that Scotland can afford it? What governance would you still retain if you joined the EU? Has the SNP shown itself to be responsible with the remits it does have? As Brexiteers have ruefully discovered, just because we’re independent doesn’t mean that MPs and Civil Servents will suddenly be able to achieve goals they couldn’t before.

If things will be tough say so. Far better that people vote for a treasured goal that they intend to work hard for, than they blindly walk into something they didn’t vote for. Not least because people aren’t blind and resent being jollied along wih ‘it’ll be ok in the end’. They want evidence that there is a plan and want to be able to examine it for credibility. Politicians are never as capable as they claim to be and I very much doubt that Scottish Civil Servants are more keen to serve public will than Westminster’s are. Build a view of a future independent Scotland and it will attract more votes than vague hopes.

206. Ottomanboi

Next time you read «according to experts» whether political, scientific etc.
    https://www.history.com/news/cigarette-ads-doctors-smoking-endorsement
    Those who pay the «expert» get the answer they want.
    Twas ever thus.

207. Geoff Anderson

Lenny Hartley 11:44

Big is over 3.5 tonne in this case. At 70 your licence approval is automatically restricted. You have to apply for a medical dispensation and new licence every 3 years.

That vehicle is well over the permitted 3.5 tonne on a standard license. It is the all up loaded weight.

Half my previous “competencies” vanished from my license at 70. Many people don’t look and assume they still have the same validity.

208. DJ

Mia @ 12:12 pm

Well said Mia. Agree with you all the way.

209. Ottomanboi

PAT BLAKE

I suspect that you miss the target, you focus on the particulars of governance not the general principles of how governance may function when power is not circumscribed as is the Scottish case.
    The SNP was consumed by the particulars, failing to see the wider power context, or rather the lack of effective power their government had. They talked about popular sovereignty but did nothing to further the principle by assuming more powers and competences regardless of possible threats from the centre. Pushing the envelope is I believe an English expression for that.
    The gender fiasco is a product of the big fish in a rather small pond mentality. Doing something within the limited available powers, at best virtue signalling about something nobody could give a damn, certainly not the London power brokers.
    Small kids just being naughty.
    The result…..

210. Alf Baird

Pat Blake @ 12:49 pm

“Scottish Civil Servants”

There is no ‘Scottish Civil Service’, only a ‘UK (Home) Civil Service’. UK Civil Servants are unlikely to help “Build a view of a future independent Scotland” primarily because they are tasked to maintain and protect the UK.

211. JockMcT

Personally, I’m so glad that sturgeon fell from grace, for the simple reason that for her to be the leader who took us to Indy and became the President of a free Scotland would have been a travesty. Of course, it could never have been, again for the simple reason that she was put in place to ensure that never happened. Bring back the giant of Scottish politics and let’s get over the winning line, and please, no more bs and waiting on the SNP. That ship has sunk.

212. Cactus

Abandon ship.

Between Murrell and Sturgeon, who exactly was the Captain of their ship and who was the First Officer – or were they both Co-Captains in command of the SS SNP – which they personally placed Under Siege for shameless financial and political gain.

Sturgeon’s head may be above the waterline for now, however, that Captain’s hat floating on the surface may actually belong and be attached to the head and body of Murrell who has since gone sub-aqua in more ways than one.

This husband & wife partnership (together with all of their calculating accomplices) have completely sold-out and terrorised all genuine indy supporters who sailed upon the SS SNP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nO4z6AGloqI

213. highlander

Alf Baird says:
    9 April, 2023 at 1:53 pm

“Scottish Civil Servants”

primarily because they are tasked to maintain and protect the UK.

—————-

Nothing in the civil service code would back that claim up, but they will change the cc code soon.

214. gregor

Tide Lines (2022): Eye of the Storm: Wreck of a Ship:

“…Now I sing with my eyes wide open
    Cause I can’t bear to close them these days
    And I’ve got nothing here left here to remind me
    I’m a wreck of a ship
    Tossed on the waves…”:

https://tinyurl.com/45z8m8pz

215. Pat Blake

Alf Baird says:
    9 April, 2023 at 1:53 pm
    “primarily because they are tasked to maintain and protect the UK.”

So all the failing projects in Scotland are down to orders from London? So who tasks English Civil Servants to fail at the things the English want? The EU? The WEF? The truth is that lawyers, judges, activists, journalists and politicians, from inside the UK and outide, especially the EU have tied countries in knots made from red tape and law.

Examine the problems the UK government is having dealing with new arrivals in boats. If MPs were really in control it would have happened by now. Each knot has to be unpicked, such that it doesn’t create new and different problems. It’s hard work. Why would the Civil Service jump to it? So what you see in Scotland is just your end of the knot pile. Even if you take a sword to the knots, you still don’t escape from them as the UK has found after Brexit. There are people making knots faster than others unpick.

Scotland leaving the UK would be no different. You’d still have laws and lawyers and countless people who are determined to keep the staus quo, even if that status is failure.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.