Stories of the week, 8/6/2014

Posted on June 08, 2014 by

The top five most-read stories on Wings Over Scotland in the last seven days.

1. OBAMA INTERVENES IN REFERENDUM
All two words of it. We’re not sure how to feel about that.

2. It’s about democracy, stupid
A more eloquent response from American Scot Jean Muir.

3. What Alistair Darling said
We’re still waiting for the New Statesman to release the tapes.

4. Zombies walk the Earth
The reason Labour have shoved Anas Sarwar off onto a bus.

5. How times don’t change
You’d already forgotten the Strathclyde Commission happened, hadn’t you?

This week’s theme: spot the sensible.

84 to “Stories of the week, 8/6/2014”

1. Croompenstein

@Rev Stu – All two words of it. We’re not sure how to feel about that

LOL 🙂

2. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Rev Stu – In your own words you are training each one of us to become thinkers, investigators, linkers, questioners etc in our own right. Simple, 2 words are enough.

I now use conversational techniques learned from Wings folks to promote thinking in No voters. Its so cool when you see the light bulb come on.

3. Calgacus MacAndrews

The fundraiser for the post-production costs of the ‘Scotland Yet’ movie is within £125 of its £8000 target with 9 hours to go.

A quality movie like this is exactly the sort of thing that should be shown in cinemas in the run-up to September.

So all you Wingers of legendary generosity, pretty please throw them a few (Scottish) Pounds to get them over the line:-

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scotland-yet-post-production-and-distribution

4. Ian Brotherhood

Makes ye wonder – is there a one-word post that could elicit an even bigger response?

There is. We’ll see it on Sep 19th.

5. heedtracker

A more eloquent response from American Scot Jean Muir, yup and try comparing her with slavering twerp’s like Cockers of the Torygraph. Worlds apart.

6. Calgacus MacAndrews

RESULT !!!!

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scotland-yet-post-production-and-distribution

Target made for ‘Scotland Yet’ post-production fundraiser !!!

7. cynicalHighlander

OT: Rev re twitter a Pet Corrector pocket size for Lesley will fit in pocket for unruly guests.

8. Calgacus MacAndrews

I mentioned a few days ago that 20th Century Fox had commissioned a new ‘Making of Braveheart’ documentary, with Scottish shooting and interviews having taken place in March, to be shown before the Referendum.

20th Century Fox have also organised a special commemorative (Braveheart 20th anniversary / Bannockburn 700th anniversary) screening of Braveheart on Tuesday 24th June at the Dominion Cinema in Edinburgh.

“It is our intention to reunite some of the cast and crew at the showing. The event will include a tartan carpet and themed performances, a Q&A, followed by a special screening of the film.”

Mrs Calgacus and I will be putting on the blue face paint for the evening …

9. Thepnr

Here are three facts:

1. The No crowd have a stranglehold over everything that we read in our newspapers and watch on TV with the exception of the Sunday Herald.

2. The Yes crowd have a monopoly on the blogs on the internet and are winning the cyber battle.

3. A majority of voters in Scotland and hence the referendum get ALL their news from number 1 above.

As well as the face to face discussions we must have we also must try to get people to the alternative media, the pro-indy blogs.

Which one isn’t important as there is something for all, this is why the Aye Right leaflets are very important. So if you are delivering Yes papers or green, SSP LFI try and deliver Aye Right leaflets along with them.

Email gavinlessells@yahoo.co.uk if you need some.

In the following weeks the more we can people we can get online the better. Everyone knows that the more knowledge a voter has the more likely to vote Yes.

A Yes chat each day keeps the Tories away. Do It.

10. Holebender

Ahem… *both* words, not “all two word”.

11. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Kin right.

And please don’t be shy about getting the Yes stickers out there. Out for a walk today, I happened across a lamp-post which had a curious full-colour sticker on it.

Have tried to locate the same sticker online, but failed. It looked quite old, weatherbeaten, featured a scary-looking character, the words ‘Union Bears’ at the top, ‘No Surrender’ at the bottom. (It now has a bright blue ‘Yes’ sticker over it.)

The ‘UB’ stickers can be seen on a lot of traffic signs, and they’ve been there for years. They usually consist of UB plus the year they were ‘stuck’ e.g. UB07, UB12 etc. If you’re not familiar with what the ‘Union Bears’ are all about, take two minutes to do a search. Not pleasant.

12. David Smith

Wings; grown-up journalism for grown-up thinkers.

13. Patrician

Apologies for going O/T now.

It was great to speak to all the Wings posters and lurkers who visited the Wings stall at Yes in the Park on Saturday. So a quick hi to everyone who popped in. There were far too many for me to remember all the names of the people we spoke to but the support was incredible. We had visitors from the far north to the south pop in, now that is dedication, all that traveling in a day to speak to some random people manning a stall.

Thanks to everyone who manned the stall for making it such a good day. Those vile cybernats were nice to everyone and they weren’t even doing it deliberately. On the roll call were:

Ronnie, the man never stopped all day, and had everyone laughing; Gerry for the banners and almost as importantly the coffee and food; Silvertay, who I referred to as the Man in the Jar at least twice, apologies to him and to anyone who was referred to him when looking for TMIJ. BTW, do you think the “No” you spoke to is going to convert?; The Man in the Jar and his wee dug, I hope you got to Fife in time and you got the dog dried out. Rab the Doubter always ready to engage in conversation with anyone; My wife after speaking to so many couples with one partner a commited winger is going to set up a Wings Widows site. She is marking down two undecideds as now yes after speaking to her; For myself all I can say is that it was probably about the quickest 7 hours ever of my life, there was so much to do and people to talk to.

Now after all the ramble, comes the sales pitch. We gave out 500+ Alert readers badges, 500 wings stickers, 100+ Hamish posters. We said they were free but getting them means you now have the responsibility of wearing the badges and displaying the posters whenever possible. The badges weren’t distributed to only be worn on Saturday or at Yes events, please wear them with pride.

Gerry informed me that I hadn’t put any titles or comments on the following link http://imgur.com/a/0WZlH?#0 I have rectified that oversight now. So if you haven’t had a look please do so now to put some names to faces and see what everyone was talking about.

Again, thanks to everyone who showed up and spoke to us.

p.s. We have lots of tips if anyone else plans to setup a stall for wings.

14. Patrician

And I forgot to a special mention for Kenny the proprietor of Canape wines in Bothwell for providing the soft drinks and bottled water. http://www.canapewines.co.uk/.

Thanks Kenny they were much appreciated by one and all.

15. Mary Bruce

Patrician, you guys did a great job yesterday, it was brilliant to meet you and Rab the D, and Ronnie, what a great team. Also hello again to Triangular Ears and Truth. And thanks for the Irn Bru, it was much appreciated.

Are there any plans for Wings stalls for the National Collective tour? I’d be up at helping at some in the south.

16. manandboy

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/jan/20/scottish-independence-becoming-only-option

I can guarantee it – you won’t be disappointed.

Some of the comments are top notch too.

17. Patrician

@ Mary Bruce, 1:32am.

I know the lads were all talking about when we could do it again once we had finished so I am sure they would be up for it.

My only issue with yesterday, would be that we didn’t have enough lady wingers to help out but that was our problem as we never thought to ask any to help. My wife, even though she describes herself as a wings widow, thoroughly enjoyed herself as she blethered non-stop for 7 hours to kids big and small and she got to make a fuss of all the dogs who visited. She also distributed a lot of the badges and posters to lots of visitors.

For her efforts she got a kiss and a hug from Ronnie, I had to treat her to dinner and some wine later on. So I would say that the more ladies to help at these events the better.

18. bookie from hell

SCOTS actor and comedian John Sessions has branded the prospect of independence “mad.”

some great quotes john sessions

The 61-year-old, who is originally from Largs but now lives in Wimbledon, said: “What was his (Alex Salmond’s) latest one? There will be an extra £1,000 for everybody. He has got to be joking. By the time you have changed the letterheads and the department (after independence) Scotland will be in the red from here until eternity. It is just so mad.”

He added: “People died for centuries to get these countries together and this guy turns up.”

Sessions said he is a supporter of Ukip and wants to see the European and Scottish parliaments abolished.

bfh–I don’t think they died to keep countries together/votes UKIP

19. bookie from hell

20. ronnie anderson

@Patrician Photo’s very good like the comments addition,we need to explore that NC tour, I think most Yes Campainers
    see the value of having a Wings stall at events.

Cmon lads n lasses noddles ur no jist fur eating,awe it takes
    is a Gezebo ( with or without hairy string ) plenty badges badges badges an Hamish posters/some printed material from archives,an lots of Aye Rite cards/car stickers/window posters,you would be suprized how many people would help in donateing material,mind look after yourselves, Rolls n Sausages/Tea/Coffee/IrnBru/Snaw Balls( you’s need tae find yer ain Chef )Cmon take this site on A TOUR OF SCOTLAND 100 days to Free ourselves.

21. ronnie anderson

Gordon Brown ( Alex Salmond ) making Scotland look small

Him GB & hiz Ilk Scotland wont be small there will be NO

Scotland at all.

22. john king

Next up from the Sky anti independence road show we have a (quite hesitant)restaurantuer from Oban called Alan MaCloud
    who professes to be a no voter the proceeds to demolish the Better together campaign, Westminster,and Gordon Brown in his support for the union,
    complains that “there’s no point of jumping out of the union and then jumping into the Euro” and easily led by Holmes into making the yes campaign all about Alex Salmond,

Any of you lot live in Oban
    if ever there was a soft no waiting for someone to sit him down and explain what independence is REALLY about,
    Ive a good mind tae tak a run up tae Oban masel.

23. ronnie anderson

John K Euro lands taking over the fishing rights aroon Oban

how Mr McLeod operates buisneses in Oban I’m at a lose to understand.

24. ronnie anderson

Peterhead John Buchan jist happens to be at the fish market

ah thought he was a fisherman (Ret) NOB people will be on camera shortly.

25. ronnie anderson

Eamond Holmes pointing out the 2 flags flying together Saltire, Union Jack, got a tape measure Eamond measure the Flag Poles Union flag higher than the Saltire, yup there’s equality in the Union, unless your Scottish.

26. eezy

Polls swing a shift this morning apparently and all BT can come up with is that “The YES campaign are running out of arguements.”

Yeah….

27. eezy

swing….showing damn it!

28. caz-m

John
    Is the guest on Sky News, Bill Mcfarlan, not an Ex BBC Scotland presenter. He will be supporting England in the World Cup and is a proud Scot but..man.

Why is Eamonn Holmes surprised when a Scot tells him they will not be supporting England in the World Cup.

It’s simple Eamonn, WE ARE NOT ENGLISH.

And as for their Scottish reporter, James Mathews, he is a walking advert for Better Together.

29. john king

none other caz-m

30. john king

I

31. scottish_skier

In general, people would only support their derby rival if they don’t rate them / consider them no threat to their own team. So, if England were say San Marino standard, Scots would more likely back them. If they want England to lose, it’s because they see England as a better team than Scotland (and are sick of seeing the former all over the telly which adds insult to injury).

Of course this means if people from England support Scotland, then it’s because they see Scotland as being crap. So, if you hear stories that England supporters are backing Scotland, consider it an insult.

32. john king

oops (I really really hate this keyboard)
    sent an email to sky news to let them know how their (ahem) coverage is coming across, and I kept it polite but made it abundantly clear a complaint is on its way to OFCOM re their total unvarnished bias.

33. caz-m

John
    I called into Morrisons yesterday in the Govan and Paisley area and true enough, there are Union jacks hanging all over the place.

I asked to speak to the managers of these stores.

I put it to them that they supported the Better Together campaign and also why was their stores covered in Union Jacks while Scotland was in the middle of a Referendum Campaign?

This became very heated. They told me that they were neutral and the store in Stirling should not have been handing out Better Together material.

I finished by telling them I would not be using their stores because they are all draped in Union Jacks and that was bias against Scottish Independence.

34. john king

I watched a Sky news programme some weeks ago when the subject of Irish reunification was raised by the talking heads on his programme, ( Holmes is a Belfast catholic) but he couldn’t change the subject quick enough,
    I don’t know enough about Irish politics to have an opinion about it, Holmes would be well advised to remember he has no knowledge of Scottish politic (which is true of just about all unionist commentators including in fact ESPECIAllY Naughtie Smith et al,)and sit quietly and listen carefully.

35. john king

You saw my comment yesterday about my Wife’s call to Morrison’s in Perth and she was struck by how quick the woman answered her point, the wife said the response was scripted and it seemed to her not the first time that day the woman ha had that conversation.

ot what a nasty thing to say to a lady when Holmes just asked Nichola Sturgeon if she has reached “squeaky bum time”
    MIND YOUR MANNERS HOLMES.

36. R whittington

Not true scottish_skier. I rate the current England and Scottish teams as equally crap and I genually want to see Scotland do well (provided they’re not playing England!). Don’t take it as an insult, more a respect and acknowledgement of our two countries similarities and shared past. I’m English if you hadn’t guessed already.

37. Robert Kerr

@manandboy

Guardian also has this more recent one, good stuff too.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/jun/08/scottish-independence-referendum-galvanises-debate

38. scottish_skier

@ R whittington

I was speaking generally. As a rule of thumb, football supporters don’t normally support their local derby rivals, whether that’s Hibs / Hearts, Man U / City, Scotland / England. They might however back another local team in a lower league that they didn’t see as a threat to their own team. Of course some people will genuinely hope any home nation team does well, but such people are more likely not ‘hardcore’ football fans.

Independence should have the effect of reducing such rivalry as respective national teams would no longer be local derby rivals as they currently are due to the nature of the UK (one ‘state / country’ with more than one national team). England would be no different to e.g. France or Denmark to Scots fans and vice versa.

39. scottish_skier

To clarify a little further..

‘Anyone but England’ is a compliment, not an insult.

It says ‘You are good – better than my own team’.

40. westie7

@John King

I was in Oban on Saturday and from what I saw at the Charities day your hotelier from Oban is in the minority, Yes stall going great guns, Stickers and badges everywhere and the shop had a steady flow too
    Was most impressed

41. scottish_skier

Oh, and incidentally, I’m supporting England in the world cup. I pulled them out of the hat in the office sweepstakes…

42. caz-m

Sky News have got to be breaking every rule in the book regarding impartiality in the referendum debate.

So blatantly bias towards the Union.

43. R whittington

scottish_skier I take your point. But I suspect that I’ll still have an affinity (mixed with a friendly rivalry) for Scotland post independence though.

44. R whittington

Oh and best of luck with the sweepstake!!! 🙂 🙂

45. SquareHaggis

Ivan McKee – Business for Scotland
    Tuesday 10th June – 7 for 7.30pm
    New Inn Hotel
    Ellon
    Aberdeenshire

46. caz-m

Morning Scottish_skier

Are there any polls due out. They seem to be very quite lately.

The good Prof. saying this morning that the Poll of POlls showing gap is starting to open up again in favour of NO.

47. Training Day

Curious headline in the newspaper which supported Adolf Hitler and Oswald Mosely this morning. ‘Salmond thinks it’s in the bag’.

Dog whistle attempt to engender more ‘ah hate Sammin’ feeling or is there something more to it?

48. caz-m

Great level of debate on BBC Scotalnd radio GMS phone-in at the moment.

Martha phoned because she is worried about her pension if we “devide”. FFS man.

49. MochaChoca

Caz-m

In todays Herald:
    Poll by Populus for the Financial Times found
    Yes 40%, No 47%, Don’t Know 13%

46% YES 54% NO (excluding undecides)

Small (500) Scottish sample though.

50. lochside

Listening to ‘Morning Call’..absolutely dire. Louise ‘Lovely to hear your call’ constantly interrupting Yes spokesman, who is weak and ineffectual and backing up PRof. Jim Gallagher, smug and confident wiping floor with his opponent, with her help.
    In addition, Glen Campbell on hand to ‘help out’.

The news at nine led with Better Together promising a new deal with the three Unionist parties offering more jam after the REF. No response allowed from the Yes campaign.

The questions are by and large pretty stupid so far, e.g what about the National Lottery; how can we be rich after spending all the money on trams and the parliament?

This is what we are all faced with on a daily basis…a totally biased BBC loading the dice at every turn and a large percentage of lazy and frightened and frankly stupid voters. Probably one is linked to the other no doubt about it, but I feel so angry at the lack of attack, by YES, on this pernicious organisation’s policies which is pummelling ordinary punters day in and day out with falsehoods.

51. Silverytay

Patrician
    My wife is threatening to divorce me due to the amount of time I spend on Wings and Facebook .

As for the no voter I fear he may be a lost cause as the people he works for have said they will pull out of Scotland when we vote yes .

He did go away with plenty of information and he had not realised that our pocket money is away to be cut by another £5 billion as well as the threat to the Barnett Formula .

We can but hope that between his wife and the information we gave him he will convert at a later date .

52. westie7

SquareHaggis says:
    9 June, 2014 at 9:08 am
    Ivan McKee – Business for Scotland
    Tuesday 10th June – 7 for 7.30pm
    New Inn Hotel
    Ellon
    Aberdeenshire

Trying to make this one.

53. Edward

BBC ‘Morning Call’ getting away with murder as Jim Gallagher gets away spouting absolute crap unchallenged
    Latest being the interest rates would be 2 to 3 points higher than the rest of the UK. No balance, no challenge

Disgusting at this level of bias

54. seanair

I posted yesterday about this SKY programme being shown today, and hoped it wouldn’ t be a “Ponsonby” as shown on STV. It is and I’ve switched off the TV. My worst fears etc.
    Perhaps we should incorporate into the language a “Ponsonby” as shorthand for lying toads who manipulate the facts and get paid for it.

55. Nick

Yep, Stu. You are eloquent all right, but I have noticed that more can sometimes be said by saying less – just sayin’

This was one of them.

56. ronnie anderson

Sky Breaking News Banner, Obama was requested by the British Gov in support of the union.

No shit sherlock, we knew that when he made the speech,

ANY CHURNALIST OUT THERE,SKY’S OFFERING GOOD CELERY FUR HE HAW.

57. lochside

Morning Call 9.58am: Prof Gallagher: ‘ a slight adjustment on the Barnett formula’ after the next Parliament, and ‘Nicola Sturgeon supports the Barnett formula’…really??
    No challenges and the YES guy as inept as before…why no Ivan McKee?

58. Scots Renewables

Thoughts listening to morning call:

YES is struggling because of last year’s GERS figures and the drop in oil revenues. This is unfortunate because so much of the previous campaigning was based on good GERS figures.

How do we counter the numbers if they are all going to be based on last year’s oil figures? This is the first time that YES have been caught on the back foot, and I am not hearing anyone refuting the ‘Scots deficit greater than EUK’s’ argument – difficult because based on last year’s GERS it is true.

I for one could really do with an effective refutation of this. Ignoring it and speaking only of the positive aspects of independence can look evasive.

And – along with other comments on here – is this YES rep the best YES can [put forward, or were they chosen by the BBC because they are ineffective and weak ?

I am starting to feel things slipping away . . . please convince me otherwise.

59. Scots Renewables

Oh gawd . . . still got GMS on . . .

Caller wanting to know how health will be paid for in iScotland.

YES spokesrabbit utterly failing to emphasise that we already run our own NHS.

Who is this eejit, and why wasn’t he apprehended on his way into the studios and locked in a quiet room for a couple of hours to stop him doing any damage ?

The YES campaign has some great speakers, but this guy is just a droning nonentity. Gallagher has a richer voice, more expression and – dare I say it – more conviction .

I am getting really worried now.

60. MochaChoca

@Scots Renewables

On the release of the latest GERS figure the Scot Gov tactic was an immediate switch to comparing the last 5 years rather than just the previous year. That’s the only effective refutation.

Used along with OBR’s consistent low forecasting of oil price and the discrepancy between OBR and OIL & GAS UK’s production forecasts it’s a promising picture. But not the easy soundbite that we used to have (9.9% taxes vs 9.3% spending).

61. Scots Renewables

Now it’s ‘what currency will my pension be paid in, there won’t be a currency union because rUK would ‘feel silly’

Gallagher – currency union not desirable for either Scotland or rUK. Citing problems in Greece and Spain.

Caller does not believe that rUK will ‘change its mind’ . . . and neither do a lot of other people.

Help ma boab . . .

The only thing that is keeping me going listening to this pish is the hope that Salmond has something up his sleeve. This is a depressing start to the last 100 days – come on Wingers, cheer me up and give me hope.

62. Edward

Scots Renewables
    Its not slipping away , its a contrived perception by the BBC (and media at large)

Make no mistake the London based media will now do everything in their power, short of wearing Better Together badges, to persuade the Scottish people to vote No

But, think why they are stepping up the propaganda, could it be that they are all too aware that the No campaign are loosing (they are already admitting the gap is closing)

The London media are in bed with Westminster politicians, that’s how they ‘get the story’, its a bubble effectively and for them its a cosy arrangement that they don’t want to see changing.

How does anyone take on the media? Simple the media do not control the internet, the social networks are the Yes campaigns strength. (It harks back to the war years, when occupied countries were fed daily with Nazi propaganda, so the underground had to resort to underground news sheets – the internet and web blogs are the 21st century equivelant)

Were now in the last 100 days, make these 100 days count with being visible outside in the public, attending fairs and public events, as well as being very visible on Twitter and facebook.

Its 100 days to make history and to make the UK history!

63. MochaChoca

Another argument is that even in a very bad year for North Sea revenues Scotland raised almost £800 more per head in taxation than rUK.

So when the chips are down, is Holyrood or Westminster going to able to provide better public services?

64. Ivan McKee

@ Scots Renewables

Last years GERS had a slightly higher deficit in Scotland due to lower Tax take from Oil revenues, this due to the Oil companies record investment in 2012-13 (they can write this investment off against their profits for that year).

This higher investment due to confidence in the sector, and also pent-up investment delayed due to earlier uncertainty caused by 16 tax rule changes by UK government in the last 10 years around the oil sector.

Key thing to look at is the numbers over the past 5 years (that’s the way a business would look at it, not just on one set of data). And over that period (and earlier periods) Scotland’s deficit has been consistently lower than the UK’s.

Key other thing to remember is that even last year Scotland’s tax take per person was still £800 higher than the UK average. Spending in Scotland is higher hence the slightly higher deficit last year (in almost all other years previously the higher tax take in Scotland more than offset the higher spend).

Key point here is who believes that the rest of the UK will allow Scotland to have higher spending per head after a NO vote ???…

65. Ivan McKee

@ lochside

…why no Ivan McKee?

I’m up in Orkney today for a few Yes meetings, but they do have a BBC studio here … no-one asked me, always available to help where the campaign thinks I can add value.

66. Scots Renewables

Thanks Ivan – filed away for future reference.

Why aren’t you on GMS taking on the fruity voiced Gallagher?

67. CameronB Brodie

Re.Kevin McKenna’s apparent change of heart. I wonder if this crept up on him, or has he had an epiphany? I wonder if he might not be concerned about the “blood and soil” zeal, that drives the independence movement?

68. Lochside

Morning Call: this is the worst performance I’ve heard yet from the ‘Yes’ campaign. Stewart somebody, lead information officer? on what??

Honestly, this guy was so bad that he must have cost us thousands of votes from DKs…what on earth are the ‘YES’ top brass thinking about?

It is not fair or right to put somebody in this position who is obviously not equipped to provide media soundbites required.

Combined with BT having a mass call in with an assortment of numpties..plus Lovely Louise and oleaginous Gallagher..it was a massive own goal for the Yes campaign

It’s time to get smart..the NO lot are getting their act together with unspecified sources of loadsamoney…so we must use our best people to counter them at this level.

69. scottish_skier

The good Prof. saying this morning that the Poll of POlls showing gap is starting to open up again in favour of NO.

That’s nothing more than a symptom of the way the PoP is done. In reality, it makes little sense to average polls conducted by different pollsters using different methodologies. If you get a run of more no friendly polls coming after a few Yes friendly, then even if the No friendly show a gap closure since their own last findings, this can cause the PoP gap to widen, telling you the opposite of what is actually happening.

Which is what happened recently.

70. Lochside

@Ivan McKee
    Hi Ivan, just saw your post…you were sorely missed. But your point tells all…you weren’t asked. So the BBC decides who to pitch for YES…explains it all really.

71. MochaChoca

@ Ivan / Scots Renew

Got to say I’m getting a bit worried that the YES campaign are leaving it too late to get this info out though.

Though hopefully the YES side a plan of attack, and know the optimum timeframe for these (and a host of other pro-indy facts) to be released.

Got to strike a balance between giving it enough time to peculate through the electorate, but not so long before the vote that everyone will have forgotten it all.

72. K1

Cameron, that guardian article from McKenna is dated 20 January 2013…is this an Alert reader Alert! 🙂

73. Ian Brotherhood

Total face-palm material.

Befuddled old dear gleefully frightened witless by Louise White…’Will Jessie have to get off the bus at the border and change her money before she can carry on with her journey?’

Prof: ‘That’s exactly what would have to happen.’

Yes man: ‘Can you repeat the question? Erm, eh, well, um, yes, I suppose so, but, but…’

All paraphrased of course, but that’s the level of debate we’ve just been treated to.

Utterly shameful.

Yes is full of ‘nice’ people. We all know that. BBC Pacific Quay is no place for them.

FFS Blair Jenkins, get people with some fire in their bellies!

74. CameronB Brodie

K1
    Time for a day off I think. 🙂

75. Jim Duthie

Scottish Renewables and the other pessimists

FFS get a grip. Just how many people do you think listen to that abysmal programme? Very few and most of them are committed political nerds like yourself. The idea that the wider Scottish public listen to or pay any attention to such pish is risible so please don’t punt that tripe. Leaving aside the fabricated MSM opinion polls, every public debate recorded so far has seen impressive wins for YES.

Trust Mr Salmond, Mr Sillars, Tommy Sheridan, RIC and all the other people who are winning the battle in the streets – that’s where the referendum will be won and lost (not in some studio at Pathetic Quay).

76. Craig P

scottish_skier:

In general, people would only support their derby rival if they don’t rate them / consider them no threat to their own team.

I followed England at the last World Cup, partly because the media were a bit more realistic about their prospects and were less annoyingly jingoistic than in the past.

Also, just to see what it felt like 🙂

77. Nana Smith

@Scots Renewables

I have just had a friend on the phone who manages a charity shop. She tells me every day there are more and more folks going from undecided to yes.
    This morning a staunch no voter was in the shop raging about the Obama intervention. He said it turned his stomach to see a uk prime minister begging for help from a yank.
    This is good…..

78. John H.

Incredibly, some people seemed to think that during this phase of the campaign the BBC would have to play fair.

No chance.

79. ronnie anderson

@ Jim Duthie 11.10, hear hear the man,an thrice times.

80. Dan Huil

Well said, Jim Duthie.

81. YESGUY

Seems to me that the unionists are trying to get off to a wee flyer , (again) and when you hear all the guff on GMB you have to ask , are these people for real?

Pensions are sorted if folk don’t know that by now then they never will. Every time some one comes on with one of the old scare questions , i can understand and hear the groans but, honestly this is typical and has been for a long time now.

We’re winning and they are getting desperate. Sooner or later they will fade out like before. Keep the faith folks this is just more of the same and people do know now that the BBC, MSM are biased and pro union. Far too many of the folk i spoke to over the weekend say they are sick of the hype and bile on the BT side. They are angry at being treated as fools.

They are doing a good job for us YES voters. All the NO and DK voters look to the BT for support and info and get bile and drivel back. It’s working in our favour.

I ask them to give me ONE reason for staying in the union and more often than not they can’t …… says it all eh

82. bookie from hell

fair dues to SKY

covering Scotland for 1st time in their lives

KAY & ADAM 100 DAYS OUT

next broadcast sept 18th

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.